About Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant

701, Côte de la Place d'Armes
Montreal, QC H2Y 2X6
View Larger Map

Ranked #1 of the top 10 VIP lounges in Toronto and Montreal by Askmen in 2011, Suite 701 Restaurant lounge is well known by Montreal's elite. The hotspot is famous for its tasty cocktails, all crafted with care by the city’s best mixologists. Indulge in a laid-back atmosphere with a creative, urban menu courtesy of Executive Darryl Crumb. It offers delectable choices such as the black cod Dieppoise style, duck confit cassoulet and home-made tagliatelle and eggplants. Knowned for its 5@7s and many events, the restaurant guarantees memorable evenings punctuated by gourmet delights.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST
Monday to Friday:
6:30am to 10:30am
Saturday and Sunday
6:30am to 11am

LUNCH
Monday to Friday:
11:00am to 3:30pm
(bar opens at 10:30am)

DINNER
Sunday to Wednesday:
3:30pm to 11pm
Thursday to Saturday:
3:30pm to midnight

BRUNCH
Saturday and Sunday:
11:30am to 3:30pm

Cross Street:
St-Jacques

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 904-1201

Website:
http://www.suite701.com/

Entertainment:
Live DJs play every Thursday, Friday, Saturday night and Sunday brunch.

Parking Details:
Valet parking offered by Place d'Armes Hôtel & Suites for $16. Car dropoff is at hotel reception at 55, rue St-Jacques, Old Montreal.

Public Transit:
Metro: Place d'Armes (Orange Line)
Bus: 55

Executive Chef:
Darryl Crumb

Private Party Facilities:
Suite 701 offers various private dinning rooms for groups starting at 12 people and has banquet facilities for up to 200 people.

Private Party Contact:
Romain Vignal: (514) 788-4085x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Brunch
strawberry parfait
Kobe Beef Burger with Foie Gras
Beet Salad
Key Lime Tartelette À La Lime Des Îles Keys
Le Pavé
Passion Flakie Maison / Homemade Flakie Pastry
Le Risotto
Montréal Old Fashion
La Courge En Salade
French Citrus / Agrumes Français
Fraises Fumées
Le Carpaccio
Raspberry Dark And Stormy
Tagliatelle Quatres Fromages
Creme Brulee, Chocolate Mousse And Vanilla Mousse
Wagyu Beef Burger, Foie Gras On Onion Bread
Smoked Salmon Salad
Beer Marinated Chicken
Vegetarian Poutine
Smoked Bacon Parmentier
Bison Carpaccio
Cream Of Fish Soup With Scallops And Lobster Salsa
Veal Burger
Chef's Dessert
Duck Confit
Vegetarian Poutine: Roasted Nugget Potatoes, Caramelized Onions, Cheese Curds & Miso Gravy
Drinks
Chicken Supreme
Cheese and Fruit Plate
Kobe Burger
Cheesecake
Salmon Tartare
Apple Crumble
Molten Chocolate Cake
Verrine Dessert
Mushroom soup
Black Cod
Creme Brulee
Kobe Beef Burger
Steak-Frites

Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Hot Spot (7)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Romantic (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Authentic (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Scenic View (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Historic (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Business Meals (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Cozy (2)
Fun (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Music (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Casual (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
Newest
215 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Outstanding experience! Had a large bus ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding experience! Had a large business dinner here and was very happy. Service was good, food variety was great and the food quality was off the charts.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

This is the first time I ate at your res ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

This is the first time I ate at your restaurant the service was excellent and I will return to your restaurant again alone or with my wife.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was great, our waiter was ve ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The service was great, our waiter was very attentive. We were there for our wedding anniversary, the hotel where we got married. The food was good, dessert amazing! The doghnuts :Mmmm ! Great ambiance and music as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Just love it! Little expensive but worth ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Just love it! Little expensive but worth it !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

"Too much booze made boyfriend stupid" - ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

"Too much booze made boyfriend stupid" - pretty lady

10/10 *would recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We celebrated a wedding anniversary at 7 ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We celebrated a wedding anniversary at 701 and it was so lovely! Excellent service and amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great vibe. Good food. Our waiter was f ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great vibe. Good food. Our waiter was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a Friday night, there is a DJ, so ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

It was a Friday night, there is a DJ, so it was a little louder than normal. Food was excellent, portions were decent sized. We had a risotto that was very well made. Drunken chicken was just so-so.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The staff is amazing and friendly. It wa ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The staff is amazing and friendly. It was a bit expensive for what we ordered. Due to its location across Notre-Dame Basilica, it make this restaurant a true gem in the old port. Therefore, the brunch option with its open bar on the weekend & after 11am make it all worth it! Definetly will be going back soon

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Went for brunch when in Montreal for a f ...

vip
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Went for brunch when in Montreal for a friends bachelorette party. The decor of the place is very nice and trendy, but that was the only good thing about the brunch. The service was very poor, took forever to get our food, and never had a refill of coffee or waters. My friend had to ask multiple times to get a refill of coffee. We had the Eggs Benedict, and the spinach on it was way too soggy, and the hollandaise wasn't very good. I also tried the fried chicken, which was a big disappointment. Three smallish cold pieces of chicken, and the maple syrup was hidden under the fruit. And it wasn't cheap either. I wouldn't recommend, there are tons of way better brunch options in Montreal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Unfortunately, we had to wait 1 hour and ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Unfortunately, we had to wait 1 hour and 15 minutes to get our meals! The waitress said it was because we were a large group (10 people) and yet the terrasse was full of other groups and they had no difficulty getting their meals. Sorry, but won't be going back there soon :(.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Friendly staff. Fancy restaurant & bar. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Friendly staff. Fancy restaurant & bar. The food was expensive but it tasted great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Poor service at breakfast

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Went for breakfast. They seemed to be mostly focused on setting up for lunch. Despite few customers, service was very slow. Waitress dropped the ball on too many requests.

My wife's omelet was very mediocre. My Eggs Benedict with duck confit was a nice change and pretty good, though served a bit cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Outstanding

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Went here for a birthday dinner and loved every aspect of the food and the ambiance. The escargot, the tartare, the duck carpaccio and the scallop risotto were all exquisite. The only thing is that the service was a little slow, and considering that there were barely any clients in the restaurant this made no sense. Other than that, everything was amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Disappointing

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Our waiter was wonderful, the service of the hostess is what earned a poor rating. Food was good; a tasty eggs Benny and Ceasar, although tiny portions and not really worth the value. An $11 Ceasar for instance should be brimming with garnish and larger in size.

It's just that I made the reservation a few weeks before I attended as it was for a special occasion. We went for brunch for my sister's bachelorette party so I booked ahead. They sat us in the sun on the patio on a hot day and when I asked if we could sit inside, they said they had no tables although there were many. And we had to sit next to the road with the vehicle exhaust... Just wasn't pleasant considering we were kind of in rough shape (although we didn't look it ;))

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The food was original, tasteful and acce ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was original, tasteful and acceptably priced for the type of place it was. The service was very nice but extremely slow. We were a group of 9 and it took forever to take our drink and food orders and the timing between drinks, appetizers and main course was very lengthy. Presentation was nice, ambiance was there, great music, but definitely very loud and rowdy past 10pm. I would recommend this place for groups of 4 or more...especially past 9pm. Not necessarily your "first date" or "romantic evening for 2" unless you're there around 6-7pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Outdoor dining on a perfect spring day - ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Outdoor dining on a perfect spring day - the food was excellent, the server very pleasant and attentive. I would readily come back to try the menu items I couldn't get to.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Disappointed in the food.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

We did not like our meal. Maybe other items would have been good. Pretty restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The atmosphere at Suite 701 is more appr ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The atmosphere at Suite 701 is more appropriate for cocktails and bar snacks than a sit down meal. The acoustics of the room make it difficult to have a conversation without yelling. Having a DJ that starts at 7 pm on weekends adds to the noise and

detracts from the dining experience.

The food was good but not epic. The service was acceptable but lacking . More attention was needed to have meals arrive together for the table with the appropriate cutlery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

It was a great dining experience. Amazin ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

It was a great dining experience. Amazing bloody Ceasar. There was a glitch with the reservation, but the staff and management were very accommodating. This was my second visit and it did not disappoint at all. I highly recommend this place for brunch or dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I had a superb experience visiting Suite ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

I had a superb experience visiting Suite 701 for dinner. The food was excellent and the service was even better. The escargots au gratin and smoked duck carpaccio are very delicious and the presentation for each dish is very neat. For cheese lovers, the seared scallop risotto is definitely worth a try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great!

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Our table had the burger, risotto and cheeks. The food, music and server were great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful place, really good food. The m ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Beautiful place, really good food. The music can be a little loud, but not too much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Place, you should go there!!!

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

The reservation was quick and easy, great service, great ambiance and nice girls to pickup if you're single.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good brunch. Nice music by the DJ.

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Very good brunch.

Nice music by the DJ.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Waited for my appetizers for 45 min!!!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Waited for my appetizers for 45 min!!! They told it's because they had a large group before my order. Actually they were supposed to serve me in between, so I would be happy as well

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Classy, elegant, yet hip atmh amazing food!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

Suite 701 is located in the charming Hotel Place d'Armes right on the eponymous square of the same name. the room has vaulted ceilings, creative chandeliers, and really comfortable seats. Like the hotel its style is classic and elegant, but the mood in the room was quite hip. and excellent "first cocktail" stop. Which is what we did. our prosecco came filled to the brim and the charcuterie plate was a delightful hit to the taste buds. Our server (Gavin) was charming and well-informed. This room would be great for almost any fun occcasion: drinks after work, a romantic dinner for 2, or a friend's brithday group. Style it up a bit, and reserve a space at Suite 701!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saturday brunch hours was super busy. Th ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Saturday brunch hours was super busy. The service was nice. Food was good. But quite noise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

had a great time with delicious food. th ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

had a great time with delicious food. they did not read the notes about it being a birthday dinner but overall we had a good time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Disappointing

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

The look is absolutely beautiful. The place is gorgeous with its high ceiling and outstanding decor. However the food and service fall short. It was a friday night, not busy in the least and the service was extremely slow. The drinks were mediocre and the food was not good at all.

Salmon tartare was quite fishy, the burger was burnt and dry.

Overall, very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Love the decor! Went for mom's birthday. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Love the decor! Went for mom's birthday. Nice round tables!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

delicious

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

everything was AMAZING. Except it was cold in the resto. Very easy to fix. Will definitely be back again soon!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Old town not to be missed!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We have been in Montreal a week and Suite701 has ,by far, been our favourite restaurant! Do not miss this treat! The fois gras is incomparable!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and variety of alcohol dr ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Delicious food and variety of alcohol drinks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and made up for errors

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

First, the excellent part of our experience - the food was great. The pastries, scones, fried chicken and scallops that we had were all first rate, and nicely presented. Also, the place was cozy, boisterous but not so loud as to prohibit conversation, and the couple of cocktails my husband had were very good too.

So, I would certainly like to return and give Suite 701 a chance to provide us with service to match their food and drink quality. We arrived early for a 2:30 brunch reservation and were seated right away. Friendly staff took a drink order, and brought coffee and my husband's cocktail and took our food order right away. And that was the end of "right away" service. As our wait extended, the staff was kind enough to offered us pastries as we were clearly hungry, but I still could not understand why scones and fruit took 45 minutes to arrive. Coffee refills also were not forthcoming. Apologies and pastries were acceptable consolation until the table of 6 who arrived after us received main courses and several rounds of drinks before us. We pointed this out, and asked again what the problem was, before our main courses arrived. Further, I asked four separate times for a glass of rosé (over the course of 1.5 hours) before being brought a glass of pink champagne, which my husband had to take to the bar to exchange. Again, more apologies, and our mains were given "on the house," so the staff were trying to make up for the many errors, but it did not make for a good impression overall. Again, I will say that the food was wonderful and it seemed like one could get good service if you were...not us?

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Bumpy start but well made up for

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Our first order the appetizer didn’t turn out so well, but cooking is an art form and it happens, its how the restaurant handles it that matters. They were happy to take it away and have us order something else, but more so the manager came over to apologize and discuss what could have been done better. Every other plate we had was incredible, and desert… get the doughnuts! Overall great experience and I was very impressed with the staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Martini lovers beware

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Suite 701 is on a few lists as having some of the best martinis in Montreal. I booked an evening there in order to try a few of them. The martinis are exotic in nature and tasted good, maybe a little watery. They were pricey, from 14 to 19 dollars each and were served in small punch-style glasses. On the subject of martinis, I was left disappointed. However, the ambiance was great, the food was very good, live DJ and fireplace seating; all added up to a very nice experience. It's worth a try on any occasion, as long as the purpose of your visit is to try what are touted as some of the best martinis in the city.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Modern cuisine and decor. Good quality. Nice staff

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Beautiful, eclectic, space: inside and out. Very friendly, attentive staff, but not overbearing. Well presented and tasty food. The price was only amazing because we went for La Fete Gourmande, but we would return at the regular price. You could go as a group, with kids, or as a romantic couple, very versatile.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was to die for, I can still tas ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

The food was to die for, I can still taste the creamy polenta and melt in your mouth braised beef. It was perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner was alright. I would skip the mea ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 26, 2016

Dinner was alright. I would skip the meal and go just for really awesome cocktails and great desserts. We had a brownie and the beignets and they were honestly delicious. Waitress was great, she noticed (even before we did) that dinner was taking a while and she came by to apologise and offered us wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.