About Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant

701, Côte de la Place d'Armes
Montreal, QC H2Y 2X6
View Larger Map

Ranked #1 of the top 10 VIP lounges in Toronto and Montreal by Askmen in 2011, Suite 701 Restaurant lounge is well known by Montreal's elite. The hotspot is famous for its tasty cocktails, all crafted with care by the city’s best mixologists. Indulge in a laid-back atmosphere with a creative, urban menu courtesy of Executive Darryl Crumb. It offers delectable choices such as the black cod Dieppoise style, duck confit cassoulet and home-made tagliatelle and eggplants. Knowned for its 5@7s and many events, the restaurant guarantees memorable evenings punctuated by gourmet delights.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST
Monday to Friday:
6:30am to 10:30am
Saturday and Sunday
6:30am to 11am

LUNCH
Monday to Friday:
11:00am to 3:30pm
(bar opens at 10:30am)

DINNER
Sunday to Wednesday:
3:30pm to 11pm
Thursday to Saturday:
3:30pm to midnight

BRUNCH
Saturday and Sunday:
11:30am to 3:30pm

Cross Street:
St-Jacques

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(514) 904-1201

Website:
http://www.suite701.com/

Entertainment:
Live DJs play every Thursday, Friday, Saturday night and Sunday brunch.

Parking Details:
Valet parking offered by Place d'Armes Hôtel & Suites for $16. Car dropoff is at hotel reception at 55, rue St-Jacques, Old Montreal.

Public Transit:
Metro: Place d'Armes (Orange Line)
Bus: 55

Executive Chef:
Darryl Crumb

Private Party Facilities:
Suite 701 offers various private dinning rooms for groups starting at 12 people and has banquet facilities for up to 200 people.

Private Party Contact:
Romain Vignal: (514) 788-4085x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Brunch
strawberry parfait
Kobe Beef Burger with Foie Gras
Beet Salad
Key Lime Tartelette À La Lime Des Îles Keys
Le Pavé
Passion Flakie Maison / Homemade Flakie Pastry
Le Risotto
Montréal Old Fashion
La Courge En Salade
French Citrus / Agrumes Français
Le Carpaccio
Fraises Fumées
Raspberry Dark And Stormy
Tagliatelle Quatres Fromages
Creme Brulee, Chocolate Mousse And Vanilla Mousse
Wagyu Beef Burger, Foie Gras On Onion Bread
Smoked Salmon Salad
Beer Marinated Chicken
Vegetarian Poutine
Smoked Bacon Parmentier
Cream Of Fish Soup With Scallops And Lobster Salsa
Veal Burger
Bison Carpaccio
Chef's Dessert
Duck Confit
Vegetarian Poutine: Roasted Nugget Potatoes, Caramelized Onions, Cheese Curds & Miso Gravy
Chicken Supreme
Drinks
Cheese and Fruit Plate
Cheesecake
Salmon Tartare
Kobe Burger
Molten Chocolate Cake
Apple Crumble
Verrine Dessert
Creme Brulee
Mushroom soup
Black Cod
Kobe Beef Burger
Steak-Frites

Suite 701 Lounge Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (21)
special occasion (21)
good for groups (18)
See All
romantic (18)
hot spot (16)
great for brunch (15)
great for lunch (12)
vibrant bar scene (12)
late-night find (11)
neighborhood gem (8)
notable wine list (7)
great for outdoor dining (6)
scenic view (5)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
203 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

Friendly staff. Fancy restaurant & bar. ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Friendly staff. Fancy restaurant & bar. The food was expensive but it tasted great.

food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Poor service at breakfast

Dined on May 29, 2016

Went for breakfast. They seemed to be mostly focused on setting up for lunch. Despite few customers, service was very slow. Waitress dropped the ball on too many requests. My wife's omelet was very mediocre. My Eggs Benedict with duck confit was a nice change and pretty good, though served a bit cold.

food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Outstanding

Dined on May 24, 2016

Went here for a birthday dinner and loved every aspect of the food and the ambiance. The escargot, the tartare, the duck carpaccio and the scallop risotto were all exquisite. The only thing is that the service was a little slow, and considering that there were barely any clients in the restaurant this made no sense. Other than that, everything was amazing!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Disappointing

Dined on May 22, 2016

Our waiter was wonderful, the service of the hostess is what earned a poor rating. Food was good; a tasty eggs Benny and Ceasar, although tiny portions and not really worth the value. An $11 Ceasar for instance should be brimming with garnish and larger in size. It's just that I made the reservation a few weeks before I attended as it was for a special occasion. We went for brunch for my sister's bachelorette party so I booked ahead. They sat us in the sun on the patio on a hot day and when I asked if we could sit inside, they said they had no tables although there were many. And we had to sit next to the road with the vehicle exhaust... Just wasn't pleasant considering we were kind of in rough shape (although we didn't look it ;))

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service1

The food was original, tasteful and acce ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was original, tasteful and acceptably priced for the type of place it was. The service was very nice but extremely slow. We were a group of 9 and it took forever to take our drink and food orders and the timing between drinks, appetizers and main course was very lengthy. Presentation was nice, ambiance was there, great music, but definitely very loud and rowdy past 10pm. I would recommend this place for groups of 4 or more...especially past 9pm. Not necessarily your "first date" or "romantic evening for 2" unless you're there around 6-7pm.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Outdoor dining on a perfect spring day - ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Outdoor dining on a perfect spring day - the food was excellent, the server very pleasant and attentive. I would readily come back to try the menu items I couldn't get to.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Disappointed in the food.

Dined on May 17, 2016

We did not like our meal. Maybe other items would have been good. Pretty restaurant.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

The atmosphere at Suite 701 is more appr ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The atmosphere at Suite 701 is more appropriate for cocktails and bar snacks than a sit down meal. The acoustics of the room make it difficult to have a conversation without yelling. Having a DJ that starts at 7 pm on weekends adds to the noise and detracts from the dining experience. The food was good but not epic. The service was acceptable but lacking . More attention was needed to have meals arrive together for the table with the appropriate cutlery.

food4
ambience5
service5

It was a great dining experience. Amazin ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

It was a great dining experience. Amazing bloody Ceasar. There was a glitch with the reservation, but the staff and management were very accommodating. This was my second visit and it did not disappoint at all. I highly recommend this place for brunch or dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5

I had a superb experience visiting Suite ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

I had a superb experience visiting Suite 701 for dinner. The food was excellent and the service was even better. The escargots au gratin and smoked duck carpaccio are very delicious and the presentation for each dish is very neat. For cheese lovers, the seared scallop risotto is definitely worth a try.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great!

Dined on April 22, 2016

Our table had the burger, risotto and cheeks. The food, music and server were great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful place, really good food. The m ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Beautiful place, really good food. The music can be a little loud, but not too much.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Place, you should go there!!!

Dined on April 3, 2016

The reservation was quick and easy, great service, great ambiance and nice girls to pickup if you're single.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Very good brunch. Nice music by the DJ.

Dined on March 27, 2016

Very good brunch. Nice music by the DJ.

food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Waited for my appetizers for 45 min!!!

Dined on March 20, 2016

Waited for my appetizers for 45 min!!! They told it's because they had a large group before my order. Actually they were supposed to serve me in between, so I would be happy as well

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classy, elegant, yet hip atmh amazing food!

Dined on March 16, 2016

Suite 701 is located in the charming Hotel Place d'Armes right on the eponymous square of the same name. the room has vaulted ceilings, creative chandeliers, and really comfortable seats. Like the hotel its style is classic and elegant, but the mood in the room was quite hip. and excellent "first cocktail" stop. Which is what we did. our prosecco came filled to the brim and the charcuterie plate was a delightful hit to the taste buds. Our server (Gavin) was charming and well-informed. This room would be great for almost any fun occcasion: drinks after work, a romantic dinner for 2, or a friend's brithday group. Style it up a bit, and reserve a space at Suite 701!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4

Saturday brunch hours was super busy. Th ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Saturday brunch hours was super busy. The service was nice. Food was good. But quite noise.

food5
ambience5
service4

had a great time with delicious food. th ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

had a great time with delicious food. they did not read the notes about it being a birthday dinner but overall we had a good time

food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Disappointing

Dined on March 6, 2016

The look is absolutely beautiful. The place is gorgeous with its high ceiling and outstanding decor. However the food and service fall short. It was a friday night, not busy in the least and the service was extremely slow. The drinks were mediocre and the food was not good at all. Salmon tartare was quite fishy, the burger was burnt and dry. Overall, very disappointing.

food4
ambience4
service5

Love the decor! Went for mom's birthday. ...

Dined on February 26, 2016

Love the decor! Went for mom's birthday. Nice round tables!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

delicious

Dined on February 21, 2016

everything was AMAZING. Except it was cold in the resto. Very easy to fix. Will definitely be back again soon!!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old town not to be missed!

Dined on February 15, 2016

We have been in Montreal a week and Suite701 has ,by far, been our favourite restaurant! Do not miss this treat! The fois gras is incomparable!

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food and variety of alcohol dr ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Delicious food and variety of alcohol drinks

food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Good food and made up for errors

Dined on February 14, 2016

First, the excellent part of our experience - the food was great. The pastries, scones, fried chicken and scallops that we had were all first rate, and nicely presented. Also, the place was cozy, boisterous but not so loud as to prohibit conversation, and the couple of cocktails my husband had were very good too. So, I would certainly like to return and give Suite 701 a chance to provide us with service to match their food and drink quality. We arrived early for a 2:30 brunch reservation and were seated right away. Friendly staff took a drink order, and brought coffee and my husband's cocktail and took our food order right away. And that was the end of "right away" service. As our wait extended, the staff was kind enough to offered us pastries as we were clearly hungry, but I still could not understand why scones and fruit took 45 minutes to arrive. Coffee refills also were not forthcoming. Apologies and pastries were acceptable consolation until the table of 6 who arrived after us received main courses and several rounds of drinks before us. We pointed this out, and asked again what the problem was, before our main courses arrived. Further, I asked four separate times for a glass of rosé (over the course of 1.5 hours) before being brought a glass of pink champagne, which my husband had to take to the bar to exchange. Again, more apologies, and our mains were given "on the house," so the staff were trying to make up for the many errors, but it did not make for a good impression overall. Again, I will say that the food was wonderful and it seemed like one could get good service if you were...not us?

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bumpy start but well made up for

Dined on February 13, 2016

Our first order the appetizer didn’t turn out so well, but cooking is an art form and it happens, its how the restaurant handles it that matters. They were happy to take it away and have us order something else, but more so the manager came over to apologize and discuss what could have been done better. Every other plate we had was incredible, and desert… get the doughnuts! Overall great experience and I was very impressed with the staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Martini lovers beware

Dined on February 13, 2016

Suite 701 is on a few lists as having some of the best martinis in Montreal. I booked an evening there in order to try a few of them. The martinis are exotic in nature and tasted good, maybe a little watery. They were pricey, from 14 to 19 dollars each and were served in small punch-style glasses. On the subject of martinis, I was left disappointed. However, the ambiance was great, the food was very good, live DJ and fireplace seating; all added up to a very nice experience. It's worth a try on any occasion, as long as the purpose of your visit is to try what are touted as some of the best martinis in the city.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Modern cuisine and decor. Good quality. Nice staff

Dined on February 7, 2016

Beautiful, eclectic, space: inside and out. Very friendly, attentive staff, but not overbearing. Well presented and tasty food. The price was only amazing because we went for La Fete Gourmande, but we would return at the regular price. You could go as a group, with kids, or as a romantic couple, very versatile.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was to die for, I can still tas ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

The food was to die for, I can still taste the creamy polenta and melt in your mouth braised beef. It was perfection!

food3
ambience4
service4

Dinner was alright. I would skip the mea ...

Dined on January 26, 2016

Dinner was alright. I would skip the meal and go just for really awesome cocktails and great desserts. We had a brownie and the beignets and they were honestly delicious. Waitress was great, she noticed (even before we did) that dinner was taking a while and she came by to apologise and offered us wine.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice experience overall

Dined on January 26, 2016

All the service staff, male or female are very appealing and kind; the ambiance is good, the quantity of food is more than enough. Because we went for the even Gourmet Happening, the price was very satisfying. I think I will come back for night outing someday

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Happening Gourmand

Dined on January 22, 2016

Had great service by Melanie and the food good. The only minor detail is the music volume which is a bit louder than what I enjoy for a date night. Overall good experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Good but..

Dined on January 17, 2016

The place is very beautiful and warm, the decor is spectacular. Food was really good .. Service was good at first end the our waitress shift was over and she was pushing for us to pay.. which I tough was annoying as we wanted to spend the evening/night there .. The cocktails are over priced which is disappointing , it would be appreciated to have a couple of them at 9-10 $ instead of 15$ .. In general my experience was good . Would I go back probably not !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great for a nice brunch!

Dined on January 15, 2016

Very beautiful, great food. Had a birthday brunch for my sister, would definitely recommend!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The waitress was hurrying us from orderi ...

Dined on January 10, 2016

The waitress was hurrying us from ordering to finishing our meal. Coffee should be better for the price. Nice decor and location. But my eggs Florentine were greasy and the bread ordinary I expected more from suite 701.

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

New Years Day Brunch

Dined on January 1, 2016

We were a large table for New Year's Day brunch. We knew that the menu was prix fixe, and that there was an option for 2 hours of unlimited drinks. All the food served was below average when considering the price point - some of our main courses were cold as well. The unlimited drinks was cut down from 2 hours to 1.5 hours, and no price adjustment was given. While we anticipated some mediocrity given a large party, and a set menu for NYD, this was a rather poor experience. Our server was very friendly, and doing the best she could. I have dined here before with moderate to fair results, but after this experience, I will not be back.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Multi-courses brunch? Nice!

Dined on January 1, 2016

Opting to skip the line at 'Eggspectation', we ended up in 701 -- a nice hotel that is set besides the Notre-Dame Basilica we spotted a day earlier. I really liked the logo of the hotel! Upon entering, this high-ceiling room is elegantly decorated without going over the top. There was a live DJ playing casually. DJ at a brunch? That's a novelty, and a lovely one at that! The holiday-special brunch is broken down to ... 3-courses with a choice of smoothie. Appetizer, main course, and dessert. I had the fried chicken, while my friend had the Eggs Benedict (it looks great). You can also opt for the $25 for 2 hours of open bar. It may be a holiday menu special. We didn't take advantage of that -- but our neighboring table had ordered at least 4 mimosas by the time they started ordering food, so I would so it's a good value. :)

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful interior, good food, great service

Dined on January 1, 2016

Spent New Year's Eve at 701. Nice place. The interior was beautiful - great decor, trendy, very nice. The food was good - presentation, etc. Service was excellent - our hostess/waitress was super nice, made our evening! The place is a lounge/restaurant with a DJ, so the music gets progressively louder as the evening goes on. It has a large bar, so a nice place to hand there as well. The DJ was ok... but that's a matter of taste. I felt the music was a bit bi-polar :} But others in the group enjoyed - so that's a taste thing I think...

food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Too noisy for a diner.

Dined on December 26, 2015

Impossible to have a conversation during diner. Expensive for the proposed menu.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas Morning Brunch - and allergy friendly!

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

Great way to start our Christmas while on holiday in Montreal. Right on the corner connecting Old Montreal (Ville-Marie), downtown, and Chinatown. Can see the famous basilica out the large windows of the historic building - ask for view when reserving. This is the only restaurant we've ever eaten at multiple times on our visits...Montreal has such a variety of truly phenomenal establishments! Suite 701 have always been welcoming of our teenagers & a family member with allergies to gluten, dairy, & nuts. Excellent wait staff & typically a live DJ spinning tunes in their elegantly hip setting -- you can eat a tables, high-tops or couches!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Breakfast in Montreal

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

We were visiting Montreal over the Christmas holidays. We had a very nice breakfast at 701. Looks like it was a bank or government building at one time. Enjoyed.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.