About Sugo Italian Food & Wine

1214 - 9th ave SE
Calgary, AB T2G 0T1
View Larger Map

Made from scratch in the heart of Inglewood. Serving fresh pasta, house-made cheese and daily specials. We support local farmers and producers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday 5pm till close.

Cross Street:
11 St SE

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 263-1115

Website:
http://sugo.ca/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available in front of the restaurant and all along ninth avenue with two public parking lots on either end of the block.

Executive Chef:
Angelo Contrada

Private Party Contact:
reservations@sugo.ca: 4032631115x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Sugo Italian Food & Wine
  • Sugo Italian Food & Wine
  • Spicy Prawn Flatbread
  • Risotto & Lamb Shank
  • Goat Cheese & Pear Salad
  • Grilled Ribeye And King Oyster Mushrooms
Sugo Italian Food & Wine
Sugo Italian Food & Wine
Spicy Prawn Flatbread
Risotto & Lamb Shank
Goat Cheese & Pear Salad
Grilled Ribeye And King Oyster Mushrooms

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 9:45PM

Fri - Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Sugo Italian Food & Wine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Italian
Calgary
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Calgary
Best Restaurants in Inglewood ›

neighborhood gem (34)
fit for foodies (27)
special occasion (24)
See All
good for groups (18)
romantic (14)
great for lunch (11)
notable wine list (8)
hot spot (4)
scenic view (3)
late-night find (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
426 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4

Great meal. Great vibe.

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great meal. Great vibe.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent !!

Dined on May 29, 2016

Always a great Night with Angelo, Jesse & the Team at Sugo !!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My girlfriends and I always like to try ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

My girlfriends and I always like to try new places. We landed on Sugo after determining none of us had ever been there before. Our server was excellent, very friendly and accommodating with helpful suggestions. I appreciated they didn't rush us out upon finishing our meals. We arrived at 5:30 and it was quiet, but towards 7:00 it started to fill up and had a nice buzz. The food was excellent, nice menu made it difficult to decide what to have. The lobster special was fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely as always. The best Italian in th ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Lovely as always. The best Italian in the city!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Out of towners.

Dined on May 26, 2016

We come here at least 2-3 times when we are visiting family in Calgary 2-3 times a year. It is a great spot and we have always had wonderful food. Inglewood is a nice area in the SE end of city and worth the drive, but only if you are wanting a great dinner for a great price.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Waited 45 min. with a reservation

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

When we arrived for our reservation we were asked to wait while they cleaned off tables. However, we waited more than 45 minutes just to be seated. And let me repeat - we had a reservation and were on time. Nobody every apologized for the wait. We had to ask for water and to order drinks as they were never offered. Again, when we got to our table, we had to continue to wait to order our food -- which was good, but nothing fantastic. Will not be returning.

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome homemade cheese, REAL italian mo ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Awesome homemade cheese, REAL italian mozzarella. Very generous portions.

food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Disappointed

Dined on April 24, 2016

A week prior to my booking a birthday dinner for my mom, my husband had a lengthy business dinner with colleagues and am thinking with the amount they spent on food and drinks it increase the waiters level of service and attention at Sugo. Unfortunately, for my mother's dinner we did not get this level of service at all. I booked a table for 7, we were excited to enjoy a delicious meal and eachother's company. The waiter was very rude and impatient with us almost immediately after everyone's arrival when we did not order right away. We decided to try the bruschetta and olives as a appetizer. We did not understand that on the menu it is priced for just one single bruschetta not as a plate. The waiter did not take the time to explain, he just got more impatient, snarky and frustrated. The appetizers (nothing fancy I might add, a bowl of olives and a few bruschetta pieces) took 20 minutes to get to our table. I think he was trying to send a message😉 I was hoping that once we ordered it might get better but unfortunately from then on, he was horrible about filling up our waters, he took away the lemon wedges I asked for before I was finished with them, it seemed as though we were wasting his time and he could not get us out fast enough. We basically felt very rushed the whole evening . After we finished our meals he brought the cheque right away and then stood there looking impatient after we payed waiting for us to leave so he could clear the rest of the table. Not sure how we were deserving of such rude service. We may not have chosen to drink alcohol that evening but we were paying customers celebrating a special evening. It was so unfortunate that what was supposed to be a lovely evening was ruined by such horrible service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another great meal

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

This was our second time at Sugo and will continue to return. The food is delicious and the service was exceptional. Inglewood is a great area in Calgary and watching the people go by as we sat in the window is always fun. We shared the fettuccine carbonara and I'm always impressed by the presentation with the egg perfectly done, right on top.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing as always. Lindsay our server, w ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Amazing as always. Lindsay our server, what a peach!

food1
ambience4
service4
value3

Long term client

Dined on April 20, 2016

It happens. I was there on a business meal. We both ordered arctic char and it was really over cooked. The shrimp that came with it was out of a can and not good. I should of turned it back but i did not. Normally the place is great, but it was not a good meal this time. I will go back however, one bad experience is tolerable.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We have always enjoyed Sugo. We were a ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

We have always enjoyed Sugo. We were a little surprised that the overpowering tomato sauce was used in both of our entrees. Won't prevent us from going back. Our server was really great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic as usual. No complaints.

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Fantastic as usual. No complaints.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this is a great restaurant

Dined on April 8, 2016

The food is excellent the service is amazing the overall experience was outstanding

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Italian

Dined on April 8, 2016

21st birthday for my daughter. Fabulous food and drinks. Authentic Italian food. Portion size generous. Would definitely go again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Intrusively loud. Could not understand waitress.

Dined on March 27, 2016

Have eaten here before a few times and always enjoyed the experience. This time, not so much. Very loud to the point you could not hear your companions speak. Could not understand the waitress. Service was slow and while the starter was great the entrees were missing a starch and veg. Did not stay for dessert. Note - even though the restaurant was half empty they chose to sit a family with a child next to four adult diners.

food4
ambience4
service5

The food was excellent . The only issue ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

The food was excellent . The only issue I had was that my egg on my spaghetti carbonara was well done. The waitress offered to send it back , but then the rest of my dish would have gotten cold. Really , when you realize the yolk was hard as a rock, would it have killed you to make a new egg? The yolk should be soft and runny, to ooze into the rest if the dish . Total laziness on the cooks part, and it wasn't even busy.

food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Not worth it

Dined on March 26, 2016

When a restaurant charges $16 for an "orange salad" appetizer, I would expect to see more than 6 small citrus slices and 4 strands of endive. Whatever was on top for crunch was tasteless and annoying. My husband's calamari was not much better. In fairness, the entrees were very good (daily special) but again at the end, dessert was a disappointment for the prices they are charging. Don't think we will go back again.

food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Not what we were expecting!

Dined on March 25, 2016

Our first visit and most likely our last. We were expecting home style Italian food (based on other reviews on this and other sites) but instead got some type of new age cooking. While we did check out the menu before we left - it still didn't reflect the actual tastes. Saffron infused penne? Really? Short Rib bolognese? Again - really? The penne had a taste bordering on "sour". Anyway - the bread and dip appetizer was amazing, but the grilled romaine "salad" - basically a head of romaine submerged in a creamy dressing - was way too "wet" for our taste. All in all - a disappointment to be sure. But - the waitress was great - even removed the Penne from the final bill..... Probably won't be back.

food5
ambience5
service5

The best! Lovely place to spend an after ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

The best! Lovely place to spend an afternoon.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service, wonderful food

Dined on March 12, 2016

My partner ordered the Cornish Game Hen and I had the Basa Filet with Lobster Risotto (one of the specials that night) - both of which were very tasty, well cooked and presented beautifully. But we also noted the wonderful service, our server was attentive without being pushy, showed up just often enough as we were ordering to make sure we didn't feel alone and not being pushed, as well as stopping by to pour wine at the right times without interrupting us. That may have been the best service in a Calgary restaurant that I've seen.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Food

Dined on March 6, 2016

The food from the antipasto platter to the mix grill was exception to say the least. Excellent execution and flavour! The highlight as always is the pillow like gnocchi. So delicious we will be back soon!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic spot for lunch or dinner. So goo

Dined on March 4, 2016

We tried the Caesar salad and had two pasta dishes - everything was fantastic. We were full at the half -way point and neither of us could stop eating! Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good overall...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Linguini had clams and was good but the portion size was tiny. Arctic Char & 1/2 Lobster tail on top of Risotto was also good but again, portion size left us hungry. We moved to a nearby pub to fill up :(

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A great experience

Dined on February 26, 2016

Four friends went for lunch at Sugo; two had been there before but not for awhile. The other two had never been. All of us were very impressed by the food. The bruchetta is the best I have ever tasted. The service was timely and friendly. We will all be back soon. What a find.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food, service and experience. Co ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Amazing food, service and experience. Coming back soon!

food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Lookin' Good-Tasting Great

Dined on February 19, 2016

After fifteen years, this Inglewood neighbourhood Italian/Mediterranean restaurant has had a good makeover. An awkward wall that always divided the room has been replaced, the bar area has been upgraded and the place is freshly painted and detailed. Food is great! The menu changes almost every day, but their soups are consistently amazing. There are always excellent pasta dishes as well as seafood and beef or pork entrees. a good experience is almost guaranteed, not trendy, not over the top, but well prepared food at a reasonable price.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

happy valentine

Dined on February 15, 2016

my wife and I had 8:30pm reservations on Valentine's Day. Place was packed. Everything was fantastic. Highly reccomend the antipasto platter. Was a wonderful experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Yikes

Dined on February 15, 2016

Tables are to close together. Food portions are small and expensive! Zero ambiance and underwhelming food quality.

Tags: late-night find
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Fabulous Valentines dinner. Great table, and fabulous service.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food!!

Dined on February 14, 2016

We live in the local neighbourhood and heard that the food was very good here, so we booked! When we arrived, we were greeted with a smile and taken to our table. We did however have to wait a while until our server came to take our drinks order. After that, our server was great. She answered our questions truthfully and when dessert time arrived, she recommend having the Domenica, which was absolutely delicious!! We will be going back again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic cheeses made right on the prem ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Fantastic cheeses made right on the premises. Wonderfull menu as well. My meal was excellent

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One word will describe it all "brilliant"

Dined on February 5, 2016

I love this place, the staff are so very helpful, pleasant and always smiling and willing to do whatever it takes to make customers happy. I will continue to visit on a regular basis, as I find the Italian food second to none, and if you're lucky you'll find a night when they make Gnocchi - it's amazing!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Favorite Place!

Dined on January 31, 2016

The first place we go for dinner is Sugo! They have a great staff and always a great dining experience, can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great

Dined on January 24, 2016

Had a great evening fabulous food and service was impeccable

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Waiter

Dined on January 19, 2016

Food and restaurant is great. Service needs improvement

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Food and ambience were lovely. We were ...

Dined on January 10, 2016

Food and ambience were lovely. We were really hoping to try the burata having just returned from Italy and craving it still, but unforutnately they were out. The alternative that was offered was just not the same. Food and ambience were great and we definitely enjoyed our experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service made the evening for us

Dined on January 9, 2016

The food was delicious and very authentic. The server we had made the evening. She was very knowledgeable on the food, quick to ensure we had what we need yet wasn't in our face. Not to mention she had a beautiful accent which made the experience even better! The price of the food is very reasonable considering how delicious it was.

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Enjoyed the new Sugo's

Dined on January 1, 2016

Nice new menu, lighter fare. Food was very tasty!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

UTTERLY DISAPPOINTED

Dined on January 1, 2016

Somehow, we missed the transformation and something definitely got lost in the process... from the classic warm red and crystal chandeliers to cold tin cups and austere post-modern art... what got lost was the food. We just booked for a New Year's dinner but never checked the ever-changing restaurant scene and never tracked the change in ownership... who has time? But this experience, again, just felt typical of the brash boomtown Calgary "fine dining" scene, fueled by chef's egos, trend-hungry designers and too much blind cash. We were so utterly disappointed by this overpriced menu! I had the special: $32 (that's almost a $40 entree with tip and GST) for a shallow bowl of farfalle pasta, dotted with naked green peas and a few shreds of chewy lobster in an utterly bland white sauce, that needed both salt and pepper to get close to stimulating the senses. Really? My partner sent her grilled pork shoulder steak back to the kitchen. She replaced it with the chicken dish and it was undercooked, tough, uneventful and accompanied by undercooked, stringy rapini greens. I've eaten in hundreds of fine restaurants, traveling across North America, Europe and Asia, so there's some reference for this review. I've had decent pizza upstairs at Without (pretension) Papers but I don't recommend Sugo, even at half the price.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.