Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. Find a similar spot.

Restaurants you may also like

The NashThe Nash
(166)
$$$$
Canadian | Inglewood, Calgary
Booked 30 times today
RougeRouge
(122)
$$$$
Canadian | Calgary, Calgary
Booked 3 times today
500 Cucina500 Cucina
(311)
$$$$
Italian | Inglewood, Calgary
Booked 9 times today
Jacqueline Suzanne's Bistro/The Carmichael Dining LoungeJacqueline Suzanne's Bistro/The Carmichael Dining Lounge
(793)
$$$$
Continental | Inglewood, Calgary
Booked 5 times today
Deane HouseDeane House
(88)
$$$$
Canadian | Inglewood, Calgary
Booked 18 times today
The Fine DinerThe Fine Diner
(209)
$$$$
Comfort Food | Inglewood, Calgary
Booked 2 times today
charbarcharbar
(523)
$$$$
Canadian | Downtown, Calgary
Booked 12 times today
La Brezza RistoranteLa Brezza Ristorante
(767)
$$$$
Italian | Downtown, Calgary
Booked 10 times today
La Vita E BellaLa Vita E Bella
(1165)
$$$$
Italian | Calgary, Calgary
Booked 10 times today
WHITEHALLWHITEHALL
(245)
$$$$
Contemporary European | Downtown, Calgary
Booked 11 times today
Villa FirenzeVilla Firenze
(309)
$$$$
Italian | Downtown, Calgary
Booked 9 times today
Bookers BBQ + Crab ShackBookers BBQ + Crab Shack
(771)
$$$$
Barbecue | Calgary, Calgary
Booked 14 times today
Teatro RestaurantTeatro Restaurant
(1188)
$$$$
Italian | Calgary, Calgary
Booked 7 times today
Centini Restaurant & LoungeCentini Restaurant & Lounge
(42)
$$$$
Italian | Downtown, Calgary
Booked 1 time today
Embarcadero Wine and Oyster BarEmbarcadero Wine and Oyster Bar
(79)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown, Calgary
Booked 4 times today

About Sugo Italian Food & Wine

1214 - 9th ave SE
Calgary, AB T2G 0T1
View Larger Map

Made from scratch in the heart of Inglewood. Serving fresh pasta, house-made cheese and daily specials. We support local farmers and producers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday 5pm till close.

Cross Street:
11 St SE

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 263-1115

Website:
http://sugo.ca/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available in front of the restaurant and all along ninth avenue with two public parking lots on either end of the block.

Executive Chef:
Angelo Contrada

Private Party Contact:
reservations@sugo.ca: 4032631115x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Sugo Italian Food & Wine, Calgary, AB
  • Sugo Italian Food & Wine, Calgary, AB
  • Lemon Panna Cotta With Marmalade And Grapefruit Coulee - Sugo Italian Food & Wine, Calgary, AB
  • Spicy Prawn Flatbread - Sugo Italian Food & Wine, Calgary, AB
  • Risotto & Lamb Shank - Sugo Italian Food & Wine, Calgary, AB
  • Goat Cheese & Pear Salad - Sugo Italian Food & Wine, Calgary, AB
  • Grilled Ribeye And King Oyster Mushrooms  - Sugo Italian Food & Wine, Calgary, AB
Sugo Italian Food & Wine, Calgary, AB
Sugo Italian Food & Wine, Calgary, AB
Lemon Panna Cotta With Marmalade And Grapefruit Coulee - Sugo Italian Food & Wine, Calgary, AB
Spicy Prawn Flatbread - Sugo Italian Food & Wine, Calgary, AB
Risotto & Lamb Shank - Sugo Italian Food & Wine, Calgary, AB
Goat Cheese & Pear Salad - Sugo Italian Food & Wine, Calgary, AB
Grilled Ribeye And King Oyster Mushrooms  - Sugo Italian Food & Wine, Calgary, AB

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 9:45PM

Fri - Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Sugo Italian Food & Wine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

3.9

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (19)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Fit for Foodies (13)
See All
Special Occasion (13)
Casual (13)
Romantic (10)
Authentic (8)
Comfort Food (6)
Cozy (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Modern Decor (3)
People Watching (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Historic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Business Meals (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Tapas (2)
Fun (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Healthy (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
475 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had an enjoyable night out celebratin ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We had an enjoyable night out celebrating a friends milestone. Food was tasty. Service was a bit slow but when present..very pleasant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent meal but portions were quite s ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Excellent meal but portions were quite small, more so than in previous visits. Service was excellent and food taste and quality was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The service was terrible. Food took over ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 8, 2016

The service was terrible. Food took over an hour to be served and our server did not communicate well with us. When speaking with the manager, she blamed the kitchen and blamed us. From a food perspective, my fettuccini was over peppered and my wife's risotto was undercooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

The food was very good. Reasonable wine ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 8, 2016

The food was very good. Reasonable wine price. Pasta was excellent. Cooked just right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Terrible service. The sever seemed more ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Terrible service. The sever seemed more intent on helping his friend at another table than us...we were an inconvenience to him.

We were in an out in 50 minutes. Didn't come and take drink order, and when he did, also took the meal order. He also couldn't provide any valuable menu advice. Appetizers came out in 5 mins, but no drinks yet (he forgot to give them to the bartender). Meal came out when we got our drinks.

Basically, we got no service, then everything hit us at once.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

The food was very creative and tasty. Th ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food was very creative and tasty. The ambiance reminded me of the small family run restaurants in Italy. Owner operated, welcoming atmosphere. Unlike the big chain restaurants (move them in move them out .... all look the same)

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion, People Watching, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Amazing food and great staff (Patrick).

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Amazing food and great staff (Patrick).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great, however, both of o ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Everything was great, however, both of our pasta dishes were too salty.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

the food is always amazing here and the ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 22, 2016

the food is always amazing here and the service was good too!

Tags: Organic, Comfort Food, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had to send our Calamari back becaus ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We had to send our Calamari back because it was cold when it arrived but the rest of the food was good. The service was also good

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was excellent, food incredible, ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Service was excellent, food incredible, and the very pleasant experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have never been to this restaurant befor ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Have never been to this restaurant before, was looking forward to a good traditional Italian food experience. The ambiance was good and the service was excellent…BUT, The food was sub par☹️. We ordered lasagna and it wasn't good at all! It was under cooked and tasted like they added sugar to the sauce? We also ordered the seafood ravioli, and for the price the dish was way too small in comparison to the lasagna, but it was what I expected as far as flavour.. Overall we enjoyed our experience of the people and the price was fairly reasonable at $120 including wine, but it was underwhelming given we went there for the food and to try somewhere new. Can't say I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

We went on a Wednesday night for our Ann ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We went on a Wednesday night for our Anniversary dinner with the kids. Had a great night ~ the food was excellent! My husband and I shared an appetizer and we each got a main dish to split. The caesar salad was delicious ~ quite unique & very tasty. The halibut special over a mushroom risotto was superb. In fact, it was the best restaurant halibut I have ever had ~ cooked to perfection. The kids had a pasta with butter and cheese that they loved. For dessert, our white chocolate cheesecake with black cherries was the best cheesecake I have had in a long time. The kids had gelato and the gluten-free chocolate cake ~ Yummy! Everything was great ~ we will definitely go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Fantastic food again.

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Fantastic food again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Second time eating here and a really enj ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Second time eating here and a really enjoyable meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went here for our anniversary. We too ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We went here for our anniversary. We took our 3.75 year old and were unsure what to expect. Staff were friendly with our child and made her a yummy bowl of spaghetti with cheese. Enjoyable experience!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

The food is delicious, fresh and always ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food is delicious, fresh and always yummy. We usually have outstanding service as well, must have been an off night that night.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

It started with a dirty napkin, then pro ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 14, 2016

It started with a dirty napkin, then progressed with flies in a cocktail. We ordered the fixed price menu. It was 55 minutes before we received our first course , which was a salad course. Our second and third courses were pulled off the regular menu, even though we were made to think it was being created to order. Altogether our meal took just shy of three hours even though those around us had come and gone before we had finished.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Awesome food and service. A definite mus ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Awesome food and service. A definite must go in Inglewood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love this restaurant for the food but ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I love this restaurant for the food but was disappointed with the ambiance. I had requested a table by the window but was placed beside a table of 20 people who totally overwhelmed any attempt to have a conversation with my friend. The waiter was constantly bumping our table in an effort to serve the huge 20 person table. Great food as always but pay some attention to seating especially when someone has requested a specific table for a special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Unfortunately our experience was not ide ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Unfortunately our experience was not ideal. Great round table but very noisy. Out of 6 meals, 2 were satisfactory. We had to send back 2 dishes that were tasteless and a complete rip off. Calamari was decent. As they say 'price is only an issue in the absent of value'.

Unfortunate because we recently moved to the hood and were hoping to find that great place to frequent a lot. Waiter though did come through with discounting our bill. We may return for a glass of wine and appie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Our server was very helpful and efficien ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Our server was very helpful and efficient. He helped with our menu choices and had a great send of humor. Always, nice when you are out to have a fun evening.

The food was terrific. We had the prawn appetizer (delicious and plump prawns) and two pasta dishes (both exceptional).

We are definitely going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Enjoyed the atmosphere, meal at a reason ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Enjoyed the atmosphere, meal at a reasonable value.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and ambience are very good but ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food and ambience are very good but not appropriate for our special occasion. The room was loud and I was hoping for a more intimate setting for an anniversary dinner. Our waiter was energetic, fun and helpful with the menu. Overall, a very good dining experience.

Tags: Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Although I have been to Sugo many times, ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Although I have been to Sugo many times, none of my four companions had been before. All enjoyed it and confirmed they'd go again. The owners and staff were very friendly, helpful and welcoming.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

What an awesome meal My guests were so ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 11, 2016

What an awesome meal

My guests were so impressed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food exceeded my expectations; amazi ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 9, 2016

The food exceeded my expectations; amazing seafood special! The egplant parmesean serving was much larger than we expected, as we had ordered it as a side; but it was delicious nonetheless. Service staff was not very knowledgable about the wine list, outside of the fact that all the wines were Italian. Restaurant was nearly empty. Server was very nice, although somewhat inexperienced. We enjoyed her company and she was very attentive. We ended up staying for a few hours and making friends with other tables. Wonderful evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

food was extremely salty.. was literally ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 4, 2016

food was extremely salty.. was literally burning my mouth

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Superb execution! Everything was delicio ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Superb execution! Everything was delicious and service was very good.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made a reservation for 8 pm on Open Ta ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 28, 2016

I made a reservation for 8 pm on Open Table and we arrived exactly on time. Our table was not ready and in fact we waited for over 20 minutes to get seated because they couldn't get the previous table to settle up their bill. We ordered a drink as we waited in the doorway as there really is no place to wait. The restaurant was full and bustling,however, 3 tables left just as we were seated. Even when we were finally seated no server came over to us until we asked for some service. By that time it was 8:45. We were frustrated and not impressed and almost just paid for our drinks and left. Instead we stuck it out and ordered lamb and calamari from the appie menu. The lamb was very thin and over done ... Like they had taken one lamb chop and sliced it very thinly ... Then grilled it. I wanted the seafood risotto ... But by the time they took our order they were out of scallops. The waitress appeased me by getting the risotto made with just salmon and extra prawns. The pene and spaghetti were easily forgettable. This may be a hot spot but I would not make a late reservation again. It seems if you are not there for the first seating you are screwed. Very disappointing experience.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

The food at Sugo is amazing. So good tha ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food at Sugo is amazing. So good that after 2 horrible service experiences we thought we would give it one more try. However, once again, the service was absolutely terrible. We sat for 20 minutes before our server greeted us with an excuse about not realizing we were her table. Then she brought the wrong drink. An appetizer that we did not order arrived next and then the one we did actually order, we were told half an hour further still that they were out of it. We picked something else and when she came by again about 45 minutes later to ask how it was, it shouldn't have surprised her that we hadn't received it yet since she hadn't brought it. I'm sure she just forgot to order it as she forgot the second drink order. So then of course, the mains were ready immediately after the appetizer and dessert came in rapid succession as well. Despite all the food coming within 20-30 minutes of each other, followed very quickly by the bill, we weren't out of there until 10:15pm and we first sat down at 7:30. I felt bad for her as she was clearly nervous and inexperienced but come on Sugo, don't put a newbie on Saturday night who obviously isn't ready for it. No mgmt. acknowledgement of the bad service, no attempt to make it right, we will not go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

They were very accommodating in providin ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 25, 2016

They were very accommodating in providing me 2 half orders of 2 delicious pasta dishes and the wine recommendation was spot on.!

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Outstanding vegitables , fresh perfectly ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Outstanding vegitables , fresh perfectly cooked. Sugo is a consistently good quality restaurant in Calgary, over the years they just keep getting better.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This restaurant had good pastas and appe ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 21, 2016

This restaurant had good pastas and appetizers but their meat/fish dishes were quite plain and definitely not worth the price. They also took over an hour to get us our food and were unapologetic about this, even when they left one of our dinners alone without his food for over 10 minutes while the rest of us had ours. Overall I would let them iron out their fairly obvious kinks and lose the attitude before I would return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Food was delicious! I had the oricchette ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Food was delicious! I had the oricchette and my boyfriend had the penne. Both were fabulous! Only downside was our server was very forgetful and forgot numerous times to bring drinks, sides etc.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Horrible service, average Italian food. ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Horrible service, average Italian food. Out of what we wanted at 7:30pm on a Wednesday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Love this place! You can taste the care ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Love this place! You can taste the care and love put into the fresh food! Angelo does a fantastic job cooking, and running the place - such a wonderful human being! Try this!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bad dining experience tonight at Sugo. W ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Bad dining experience tonight at Sugo. We live in Inglewood, so always choose to eat local first. We entertained a visiting business associate from the US, having enjoyed our previous meal there. Regrettably, Sugo came up short by making us wait to be served for 1.5 hours (party of 3, pasta entrees) The wait staff was pleasant, but rushed and unaccommodating. The small talk dwindled while the wait staff avoided eye contact. Give it a pass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Felt ignored by the waiter people who c ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Felt ignored by the waiter people who came in after us had their meal before our order was even taken. The wine was served but it was placed on a shelf not the table and we had to refill glass on our own as we were tired of waiting for the waiter To return. He finally appeared and took our order . The octopus Appetizer we ordered was tough and almost dry ,the batter was quite nice.the ice cream desert was not explained that it had three flavours served we thought it was a choice of the three. The main was o k but not exceptional at all

This restaurant did not meet our expectations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Not every special occasion requires a 4 ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Not every special occasion requires a 4 or 5 course meal. Great appetizers and salads, when combined with wonderfully drinkable wines and a pleasant environment, can provide a delightful alternative.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.