About Sugo Italian Food & Wine

1214 - 9th ave SE
Calgary, AB T2G 0T1
View Larger Map

Made from scratch in the heart of Inglewood. Serving fresh pasta, house-made cheese and daily specials. We support local farmers and producers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday 5pm till close.

Cross Street:
11 St SE

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(403) 263-1115

Website:
http://sugo.ca/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available in front of the restaurant and all along ninth avenue with two public parking lots on either end of the block.

Executive Chef:
Angelo Contrada

Private Party Contact:
reservations@sugo.ca: 4032631115x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Sugo Italian Food & Wine
  • Sugo Italian Food & Wine
  • Lemon Panna Cotta With Marmalade And Grapefruit Coulee
  • Spicy Prawn Flatbread
  • Risotto & Lamb Shank
  • Goat Cheese & Pear Salad
  • Grilled Ribeye And King Oyster Mushrooms
Sugo Italian Food & Wine
Sugo Italian Food & Wine
Lemon Panna Cotta With Marmalade And Grapefruit Coulee
Spicy Prawn Flatbread
Risotto & Lamb Shank
Goat Cheese & Pear Salad
Grilled Ribeye And King Oyster Mushrooms

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:30PM 8:30PM - 9:45PM

Fri - Sat 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Sugo Italian Food & Wine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Calgary / Southern Alberta
Italian
Calgary
Best Restaurants in Inglewood ›

Special Occasion (21)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
See All
Romantic (15)
Notable Wine List (11)
Good for Groups (9)
Great for Lunch (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Casual (4)
Authentic (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Historic (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Family Style (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Cozy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tapas (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
Newest
451 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food and ambience are very good but ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food and ambience are very good but not appropriate for our special occasion. The room was loud and I was hoping for a more intimate setting for an anniversary dinner. Our waiter was energetic, fun and helpful with the menu. Overall, a very good dining experience.

Tags: Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Although I have been to Sugo many times, ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Although I have been to Sugo many times, none of my four companions had been before. All enjoyed it and confirmed they'd go again. The owners and staff were very friendly, helpful and welcoming.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

What an awesome meal My guests were so ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

What an awesome meal

My guests were so impressed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food exceeded my expectations; amazi ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The food exceeded my expectations; amazing seafood special! The egplant parmesean serving was much larger than we expected, as we had ordered it as a side; but it was delicious nonetheless. Service staff was not very knowledgable about the wine list, outside of the fact that all the wines were Italian. Restaurant was nearly empty. Server was very nice, although somewhat inexperienced. We enjoyed her company and she was very attentive. We ended up staying for a few hours and making friends with other tables. Wonderful evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

food was extremely salty.. was literally ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

food was extremely salty.. was literally burning my mouth

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Superb execution! Everything was delicio ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Superb execution! Everything was delicious and service was very good.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made a reservation for 8 pm on Open Ta ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I made a reservation for 8 pm on Open Table and we arrived exactly on time. Our table was not ready and in fact we waited for over 20 minutes to get seated because they couldn't get the previous table to settle up their bill. We ordered a drink as we waited in the doorway as there really is no place to wait. The restaurant was full and bustling,however, 3 tables left just as we were seated. Even when we were finally seated no server came over to us until we asked for some service. By that time it was 8:45. We were frustrated and not impressed and almost just paid for our drinks and left. Instead we stuck it out and ordered lamb and calamari from the appie menu. The lamb was very thin and over done ... Like they had taken one lamb chop and sliced it very thinly ... Then grilled it. I wanted the seafood risotto ... But by the time they took our order they were out of scallops. The waitress appeased me by getting the risotto made with just salmon and extra prawns. The pene and spaghetti were easily forgettable. This may be a hot spot but I would not make a late reservation again. It seems if you are not there for the first seating you are screwed. Very disappointing experience.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

The food at Sugo is amazing. So good tha ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food at Sugo is amazing. So good that after 2 horrible service experiences we thought we would give it one more try. However, once again, the service was absolutely terrible. We sat for 20 minutes before our server greeted us with an excuse about not realizing we were her table. Then she brought the wrong drink. An appetizer that we did not order arrived next and then the one we did actually order, we were told half an hour further still that they were out of it. We picked something else and when she came by again about 45 minutes later to ask how it was, it shouldn't have surprised her that we hadn't received it yet since she hadn't brought it. I'm sure she just forgot to order it as she forgot the second drink order. So then of course, the mains were ready immediately after the appetizer and dessert came in rapid succession as well. Despite all the food coming within 20-30 minutes of each other, followed very quickly by the bill, we weren't out of there until 10:15pm and we first sat down at 7:30. I felt bad for her as she was clearly nervous and inexperienced but come on Sugo, don't put a newbie on Saturday night who obviously isn't ready for it. No mgmt. acknowledgement of the bad service, no attempt to make it right, we will not go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

They were very accommodating in providin ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

They were very accommodating in providing me 2 half orders of 2 delicious pasta dishes and the wine recommendation was spot on.!

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Outstanding vegitables , fresh perfectly ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Outstanding vegitables , fresh perfectly cooked. Sugo is a consistently good quality restaurant in Calgary, over the years they just keep getting better.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This restaurant had good pastas and appe ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

This restaurant had good pastas and appetizers but their meat/fish dishes were quite plain and definitely not worth the price. They also took over an hour to get us our food and were unapologetic about this, even when they left one of our dinners alone without his food for over 10 minutes while the rest of us had ours. Overall I would let them iron out their fairly obvious kinks and lose the attitude before I would return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Food was delicious! I had the oricchette ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Food was delicious! I had the oricchette and my boyfriend had the penne. Both were fabulous! Only downside was our server was very forgetful and forgot numerous times to bring drinks, sides etc.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Horrible service, average Italian food. ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Horrible service, average Italian food. Out of what we wanted at 7:30pm on a Wednesday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Love this place! You can taste the care ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Love this place! You can taste the care and love put into the fresh food! Angelo does a fantastic job cooking, and running the place - such a wonderful human being! Try this!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bad dining experience tonight at Sugo. W ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Bad dining experience tonight at Sugo. We live in Inglewood, so always choose to eat local first. We entertained a visiting business associate from the US, having enjoyed our previous meal there. Regrettably, Sugo came up short by making us wait to be served for 1.5 hours (party of 3, pasta entrees) The wait staff was pleasant, but rushed and unaccommodating. The small talk dwindled while the wait staff avoided eye contact. Give it a pass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Felt ignored by the waiter people who c ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Felt ignored by the waiter people who came in after us had their meal before our order was even taken. The wine was served but it was placed on a shelf not the table and we had to refill glass on our own as we were tired of waiting for the waiter To return. He finally appeared and took our order . The octopus Appetizer we ordered was tough and almost dry ,the batter was quite nice.the ice cream desert was not explained that it had three flavours served we thought it was a choice of the three. The main was o k but not exceptional at all

This restaurant did not meet our expectations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Not every special occasion requires a 4 ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Not every special occasion requires a 4 or 5 course meal. Great appetizers and salads, when combined with wonderfully drinkable wines and a pleasant environment, can provide a delightful alternative.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Glenn was an excellent server! The port ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Glenn was an excellent server! The portions were well-balanced and appealing to both the eye and the pallet. There was a special party that had been moved inside so it was rather noisy. I would also say that the light bordered on being a little too dark so when added to the noise, it didn't quite achieve the ambiance that a boutique restaurant like this would suggest. Overall I look forward to going back and I will request Glenn if at all possible!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Didn't love the wine list Service was ho ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Didn't love the wine list

Service was however excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

The food was great and our experience fr ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was great and our experience from the first welcome as we came in to all the servers during our dinner was wonderful. Will definitely go again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The restaurant had been booked out for a ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The restaurant had been booked out for a retirement party and only 4 tables were left at the front of the venue to sit at. Loud music was playing the whole time and the group was noisy, we even had to sit through speeches about "Bill" and what a stellar employee he was. Good on you Bill but I don't need to hear about it on a date night with my wife. If it wasn't for that group taking away from what would have been a nice ambiance, as the restaurant itself is cute and cozy, we would have had a nicer time. The Spaghetti Carbonara was way too salty but the wine and antipasto were excellent. They really should not take bookings when 90% of the restaurant is booked by a large and noisy group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Celebrating an anniversary! we are avid ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Celebrating an anniversary! we are avid Italian food fans and especially after our visit to Italy. My husbands meal was very good, mine however was very disappointing. Pasta was good but overall it tasted like a can of chef boyardee, a $20 can :(

Should have went with the gnocchi.... I will absolutely try this spot again. One mediocre meal won't deter me from the freshness of ingredients and in house home made authentic Italian.

Try try again ❤️❤️❤️👍🏼

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

We have gone to this restaurant for birt ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We have gone to this restaurant for birthdays and anniversary, but never again!

I ordered the $10 garden salad and what I got was absolutely pathetic. A half bowl of wilted, blackened lettuce with 3 thin strips of cucumber on top and an oily dressing. When I sent it back the waitress returned to the table saying the chef says its red romaine. Well maybe it was but it was old and should have been thrown in the garbage. I then asked for the soup special which was minestrone. After 15 minutes of waiting and my husband finishing his minestrone soup, I told the waitress to forget it. Finally after 1 & 1/4 hours we received our entrees. The waitress was very rude following the salad incident and basically ignored us.

This was terrible service and food and I will never recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Had the chefs selection for 6 and was ve ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Had the chefs selection for 6 and was very impressed. The six of us hadn't all been together for 20years and the pace of the food. Service was perfect. It allow led for us to visit between courses and enjoy our time together. Picked the perfect spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it! Food was delightful, wine pair ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Loved it! Food was delightful, wine pairing was ideal and atmosphere was great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal. Great vibe.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great meal. Great vibe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent !!

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Always a great Night with Angelo, Jesse & the Team at Sugo !!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My girlfriends and I always like to try ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

My girlfriends and I always like to try new places. We landed on Sugo after determining none of us had ever been there before. Our server was excellent, very friendly and accommodating with helpful suggestions. I appreciated they didn't rush us out upon finishing our meals. We arrived at 5:30 and it was quiet, but towards 7:00 it started to fill up and had a nice buzz. The food was excellent, nice menu made it difficult to decide what to have. The lobster special was fantastic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely as always. The best Italian in th ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Lovely as always. The best Italian in the city!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Out of towners.

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We come here at least 2-3 times when we are visiting family in Calgary 2-3 times a year. It is a great spot and we have always had wonderful food. Inglewood is a nice area in the SE end of city and worth the drive, but only if you are wanting a great dinner for a great price.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Waited 45 min. with a reservation

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

When we arrived for our reservation we were asked to wait while they cleaned off tables. However, we waited more than 45 minutes just to be seated. And let me repeat - we had a reservation and were on time. Nobody every apologized for the wait. We had to ask for water and to order drinks as they were never offered. Again, when we got to our table, we had to continue to wait to order our food -- which was good, but nothing fantastic.

Will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Awesome homemade cheese, REAL italian mo ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Awesome homemade cheese, REAL italian mozzarella. Very generous portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

A week prior to my booking a birthday dinner for my mom, my husband had a lengthy business dinner with colleagues and am thinking with the amount they spent on food and drinks it increase the waiters level of service and attention at Sugo. Unfortunately, for my mother's dinner we did not get this level of service at all. I booked a table for 7, we were excited to enjoy a delicious meal and eachother's company. The waiter was very rude and impatient with us almost immediately after everyone's arrival when we did not order right away. We decided to try the bruschetta and olives as a appetizer. We did not understand that on the menu it is priced for just one single bruschetta not as a plate. The waiter did not take the time to explain, he just got more impatient, snarky and frustrated. The appetizers (nothing fancy I might add, a bowl of olives and a few bruschetta pieces) took 20 minutes to get to our table. I think he was trying to send a message😉 I was hoping that once we ordered it might get better but unfortunately from then on, he was horrible about filling up our waters, he took away the lemon wedges I asked for before I was finished with them, it seemed as though we were wasting his time and he could not get us out fast enough. We basically felt very rushed the whole evening . After we finished our meals he brought the cheque right away and then stood there looking impatient after we payed waiting for us to leave so he could clear the rest of the table. Not sure how we were deserving of such rude service. We may not have chosen to drink alcohol that evening but we were paying customers celebrating a special evening. It was so unfortunate that what was supposed to be a lovely evening was ruined by such horrible service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Another great meal

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

This was our second time at Sugo and will continue to return. The food is delicious and the service was exceptional. Inglewood is a great area in Calgary and watching the people go by as we sat in the window is always fun. We shared the fettuccine carbonara and I'm always impressed by the presentation with the egg perfectly done, right on top.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing as always. Lindsay our server, w ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Amazing as always. Lindsay our server, what a peach!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Long term client

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

It happens. I was there on a business meal. We both ordered arctic char and it was really over cooked. The shrimp that came with it was out of a can and not good. I should of turned it back but i did not. Normally the place is great, but it was not a good meal this time. I will go back however, one bad experience is tolerable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

We have always enjoyed Sugo. We were a ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

We have always enjoyed Sugo. We were a little surprised that the overpowering tomato sauce was used in both of our entrees. Won't prevent us from going back. Our server was really great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic as usual. No complaints.

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Fantastic as usual. No complaints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

this is a great restaurant

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

The food is excellent the service is amazing the overall experience was outstanding

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Italian

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

21st birthday for my daughter. Fabulous food and drinks. Authentic Italian food. Portion size generous. Would definitely go again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.