Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

The NashThe Nash
(374)
$$$$
Canadian | Inglewood, Calgary
Booked 49 times today
Ten Foot HenryTen Foot Henry
(733)
$$$$
Contemporary Canadian | Calgary, Calgary
Booked 87 times today
Deane HouseDeane House
(257)
$$$$
Canadian | Inglewood, Calgary
Booked 37 times today
RougeRouge
(217)
$$$$
Canadian | Calgary, Calgary
Booked 10 times today
ANJUANJU
(279)
$$$$
Contemporary Korean | Calgary, Calgary
Booked 38 times today
charbarcharbar
(666)
$$$$
Canadian | Downtown, Calgary
Booked 76 times today
PigeonholePigeonhole
(426)
$$$$
Tapas / Small Plates | Downtown, Calgary
Booked 25 times today
CHARCUTCHARCUT
(3177)
$$$$
Northwest | Calgary, Calgary
Booked 56 times today
500 Cucina500 Cucina
(370)
$$$$
Italian | Inglewood, Calgary
Booked 7 times today
River CaféRiver Café
(2857)
$$$$
Canadian | Downtown, Calgary
Booked 73 times today
The GuildThe Guild
(386)
$$$$
Steak | Calgary, Calgary
Booked 58 times today
Bridgette BarBridgette Bar
(206)
$$$$
American | Downtown, Calgary
Booked 67 times today
Vero Bistro ModerneVero Bistro Moderne
(953)
$$$$
Italian | Calgary, Calgary
Booked 19 times today
Model MilkModel Milk
(406)
$$$$
Contemporary French / American | Calgary, Calgary
Booked 35 times today
Gyu-Kaku - CalgaryGyu-Kaku - Calgary
(175)
$$$$
Japanese | Calgary, Calgary
Booked 43 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.52mi
  2. Distance: 0.52mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

About Sugo Italian Food & Wine

Feast on authentic cuisine at Sugo Italian Food & Wine. It offers a comfortable setting for families and friends to dine. Sugo Italian Food & Wine prepares its dishes from scratch using locally sourced ingredients. An appetizer of calamari or a platter of organic meats and cheeses will tantalize the palate. Guests can try an entrée of rigatoni with beef short ribs, clam linguini or spaghetti with meatballs. This restaurant also serves desserts and has a three course menu option.

Sugo Italian Food & Wine offers spirits, cocktails and other libations with meals. It has a happy hour Thursday through Saturday with specials. This restaurant delivers and offers catering services.

1214 9 Ave SE
0
Calgary, T2G 0T1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Saturday 5pm till close.

Cross Street:
11 St SE

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:

Website:
http://sugo.ca/

Parking Details:
Street parking is available in front of the restaurant and all along ninth avenue with two public parking lots on either end of the block.

Executive Chef:
Angelo Contrada

Private Party Contact:
reservations@sugo.ca: (403) 263-1115

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
S
493 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We had an enjoyable night out celebrating a friends milestone. Food was tasty. Service was a bit slow but when present..very pleasant.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Excellent meal but portions were quite small, more so than in previous visits. Service was excellent and food taste and quality was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 8, 2016

The service was terrible. Food took over an hour to be served and our server did not communicate well with us. When speaking with the manager, she blamed the kitchen and blamed us. From a food perspective, my fettuccini was over peppered and my wife's risotto was undercooked.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 8, 2016

The food was very good. Reasonable wine price. Pasta was excellent. Cooked just right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Terrible service. The sever seemed more intent on helping his friend at another table than us...we were an inconvenience to him.
We were in an out in 50 minutes. Didn't come and take drink order, and when he did, also took the meal order. He also couldn't provide any valuable menu advice. Appetizers came out in 5 mins, but no drinks yet (he forgot to give them to the bartender). Meal came out when we got our drinks.
Basically, we got no service, then everything hit us at once.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food was very creative and tasty. The ambiance reminded me of the small family run restaurants in Italy. Owner operated, welcoming atmosphere. Unlike the big chain restaurants (move them in move them out .... all look the same)

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion, People Watching, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Amazing food and great staff (Patrick).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Everything was great, however, both of our pasta dishes were too salty.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We had to send our Calamari back because it was cold when it arrived but the rest of the food was good. The service was also good

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 22, 2016

the food is always amazing here and the service was good too!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Organic, Comfort Food, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Service was excellent, food incredible, and the very pleasant experience.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Have never been to this restaurant before, was looking forward to a good traditional Italian food experience. The ambiance was good and the service was excellent…BUT, The food was sub par☹️. We ordered lasagna and it wasn't good at all! It was under cooked and tasted like they added sugar to the sauce? We also ordered the seafood ravioli, and for the price the dish was way too small in comparison to the lasagna, but it was what I expected as far as flavour.. Overall we enjoyed our experience of the people and the price was fairly reasonable at $120 including wine, but it was underwhelming given we went there for the food and to try somewhere new. Can't say I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We went on a Wednesday night for our Anniversary dinner with the kids. Had a great night ~ the food was excellent! My husband and I shared an appetizer and we each got a main dish to split. The caesar salad was delicious ~ quite unique & very tasty. The halibut special over a mushroom risotto was superb. In fact, it was the best restaurant halibut I have ever had ~ cooked to perfection. The kids had a pasta with butter and cheese that they loved. For dessert, our white chocolate cheesecake with black cherries was the best cheesecake I have had in a long time. The kids had gelato and the gluten-free chocolate cake ~ Yummy! Everything was great ~ we will definitely go back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Fantastic food again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Second time eating here and a really enjoyable meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We went here for our anniversary. We took our 3.75 year old and were unsure what to expect. Staff were friendly with our child and made her a yummy bowl of spaghetti with cheese. Enjoyable experience!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food is delicious, fresh and always yummy. We usually have outstanding service as well, must have been an off night that night.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 14, 2016

It started with a dirty napkin, then progressed with flies in a cocktail. We ordered the fixed price menu. It was 55 minutes before we received our first course , which was a salad course. Our second and third courses were pulled off the regular menu, even though we were made to think it was being created to order. Altogether our meal took just shy of three hours even though those around us had come and gone before we had finished.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Awesome food and service. A definite must go in Inglewood.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I love this restaurant for the food but was disappointed with the ambiance. I had requested a table by the window but was placed beside a table of 20 people who totally overwhelmed any attempt to have a conversation with my friend. The waiter was constantly bumping our table in an effort to serve the huge 20 person table. Great food as always but pay some attention to seating especially when someone has requested a specific table for a special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Unfortunately our experience was not ideal. Great round table but very noisy. Out of 6 meals, 2 were satisfactory. We had to send back 2 dishes that were tasteless and a complete rip off. Calamari was decent. As they say 'price is only an issue in the absent of value'.
Unfortunate because we recently moved to the hood and were hoping to find that great place to frequent a lot. Waiter though did come through with discounting our bill. We may return for a glass of wine and appie.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Our server was very helpful and efficient. He helped with our menu choices and had a great send of humor. Always, nice when you are out to have a fun evening.

The food was terrific. We had the prawn appetizer (delicious and plump prawns) and two pasta dishes (both exceptional).

We are definitely going back.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Enjoyed the atmosphere, meal at a reasonable value.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food and ambience are very good but not appropriate for our special occasion. The room was loud and I was hoping for a more intimate setting for an anniversary dinner. Our waiter was energetic, fun and helpful with the menu. Overall, a very good dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Although I have been to Sugo many times, none of my four companions had been before. All enjoyed it and confirmed they'd go again. The owners and staff were very friendly, helpful and welcoming.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 11, 2016

What an awesome meal
My guests were so impressed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 9, 2016

The food exceeded my expectations; amazing seafood special! The egplant parmesean serving was much larger than we expected, as we had ordered it as a side; but it was delicious nonetheless. Service staff was not very knowledgable about the wine list, outside of the fact that all the wines were Italian. Restaurant was nearly empty. Server was very nice, although somewhat inexperienced. We enjoyed her company and she was very attentive. We ended up staying for a few hours and making friends with other tables. Wonderful evening!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 4, 2016

food was extremely salty.. was literally burning my mouth

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Superb execution! Everything was delicious and service was very good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 28, 2016

I made a reservation for 8 pm on Open Table and we arrived exactly on time. Our table was not ready and in fact we waited for over 20 minutes to get seated because they couldn't get the previous table to settle up their bill. We ordered a drink as we waited in the doorway as there really is no place to wait. The restaurant was full and bustling,however, 3 tables left just as we were seated. Even when we were finally seated no server came over to us until we asked for some service. By that time it was 8:45. We were frustrated and not impressed and almost just paid for our drinks and left. Instead we stuck it out and ordered lamb and calamari from the appie menu. The lamb was very thin and over done ... Like they had taken one lamb chop and sliced it very thinly ... Then grilled it. I wanted the seafood risotto ... But by the time they took our order they were out of scallops. The waitress appeased me by getting the risotto made with just salmon and extra prawns. The pene and spaghetti were easily forgettable. This may be a hot spot but I would not make a late reservation again. It seems if you are not there for the first seating you are screwed. Very disappointing experience.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food at Sugo is amazing. So good that after 2 horrible service experiences we thought we would give it one more try. However, once again, the service was absolutely terrible. We sat for 20 minutes before our server greeted us with an excuse about not realizing we were her table. Then she brought the wrong drink. An appetizer that we did not order arrived next and then the one we did actually order, we were told half an hour further still that they were out of it. We picked something else and when she came by again about 45 minutes later to ask how it was, it shouldn't have surprised her that we hadn't received it yet since she hadn't brought it. I'm sure she just forgot to order it as she forgot the second drink order. So then of course, the mains were ready immediately after the appetizer and dessert came in rapid succession as well. Despite all the food coming within 20-30 minutes of each other, followed very quickly by the bill, we weren't out of there until 10:15pm and we first sat down at 7:30. I felt bad for her as she was clearly nervous and inexperienced but come on Sugo, don't put a newbie on Saturday night who obviously isn't ready for it. No mgmt. acknowledgement of the bad service, no attempt to make it right, we will not go back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 25, 2016

They were very accommodating in providing me 2 half orders of 2 delicious pasta dishes and the wine recommendation was spot on.!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Outstanding vegitables , fresh perfectly cooked. Sugo is a consistently good quality restaurant in Calgary, over the years they just keep getting better.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 21, 2016

This restaurant had good pastas and appetizers but their meat/fish dishes were quite plain and definitely not worth the price. They also took over an hour to get us our food and were unapologetic about this, even when they left one of our dinners alone without his food for over 10 minutes while the rest of us had ours. Overall I would let them iron out their fairly obvious kinks and lose the attitude before I would return

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Food was delicious! I had the oricchette and my boyfriend had the penne. Both were fabulous! Only downside was our server was very forgetful and forgot numerous times to bring drinks, sides etc.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Horrible service, average Italian food. Out of what we wanted at 7:30pm on a Wednesday.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Love this place! You can taste the care and love put into the fresh food! Angelo does a fantastic job cooking, and running the place - such a wonderful human being! Try this!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Bad dining experience tonight at Sugo. We live in Inglewood, so always choose to eat local first. We entertained a visiting business associate from the US, having enjoyed our previous meal there. Regrettably, Sugo came up short by making us wait to be served for 1.5 hours (party of 3, pasta entrees) The wait staff was pleasant, but rushed and unaccommodating. The small talk dwindled while the wait staff avoided eye contact. Give it a pass.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Felt ignored by the waiter people who came in after us had their meal before our order was even taken. The wine was served but it was placed on a shelf not the table and we had to refill glass on our own as we were tired of waiting for the waiter To return. He finally appeared and took our order . The octopus Appetizer we ordered was tough and almost dry ,the batter was quite nice.the ice cream desert was not explained that it had three flavours served we thought it was a choice of the three. The main was o k but not exceptional at all
This restaurant did not meet our expectations

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Not every special occasion requires a 4 or 5 course meal. Great appetizers and salads, when combined with wonderfully drinkable wines and a pleasant environment, can provide a delightful alternative.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.