About Stuzzi - Richmond

1 North Belmont Street
Richmond, VA 23221
View Larger Map

Naples is the birthplace of pizza, and Neapolitan pizza captures the pure essence of this simple and delicious Italian food. True Neopolitan pizza (or D.O.C. pizza, which stands for 'Denominazione di Origine Controllata') is so pure, there are only a handful of restaurants in the US to make it! Stuzzi creates that authentic product. Our wood fired oven was hand built, on site, to exacting standards. The oven's unique "beehive" design allows the temperature to be maintained at a blistering 1000+ degrees Fahrenheit -- hot enough to turn raw dough, tomatoes, cheese and basil into a blistering bubbling pizza in about sixty seconds.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 308-3294

Website:
http://www.stuzzirichmond.com/

Restaurant Photos

Minature Cannoli
Italian Sausage (Salsiccia) Pizza
Caprese
Pizza Margarita
Fennel Salad
Nutella Ice Cream Sundae
Spicy Sopressata Salami Pizza
Quattro Formaggi Pizza
Forte Pizza
Carnivori Pizza
Rigatoni Vodka
Arugula Parm Salad
Rigatoni With Pumpkin Sauce And Sausage

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Stuzzi - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.7

ambience

3.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Richmond
Italian
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

Neighborhood Gem (19)
Good for Groups (13)
Kid-friendly (10)
See All
Fit for Foodies (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Authentic (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Casual (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Fun (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Spicy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Family Style (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sort By:
Newest
333 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fresh ingredients and great food. Servi ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Fresh ingredients and great food. Service continues to be rude. I hope the owner will address this important issue.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Place was DIRTY , some abusive black and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Place was DIRTY , some abusive black and white movie on TV ...stupid

food was nasty all but pizza was ok ...wait staff was great !!!! will not returm umless new owner !!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

The worst experience ever. I brought som ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The worst experience ever. I brought some work colleagues from Italy to show them how close this restaurant was to fast of Italy and the pizza was disgusting. I have been to Stuzzis multiple times and have not been impressed the last two times I will not be back. Your wasting you money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Pizza is the star at Stuzzi and it doesn ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Pizza is the star at Stuzzi and it doesn't disappoint. Hand tossed crust and a wood fired grill along with imported tomatoes and cheeses, the pizza here is about as close to the pizza in Napoli as it gets in this part of the world. The atmosphere is rather pedestrian with no real style or flair and the service was fine. There's a full bar with some great happy hour deals. There is a large patio for outdoor dining. I might just get the pizza to go next time.

Tags: Wood Oven, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Love stuzzi, but the experience is diffe ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Love stuzzi, but the experience is different every time. The past few times I've been there the crusts have been really thick. Which is fine, except I think they might need a few more sec in the oven so the middle isn't completely uncooked. Also, we miss the wings! It's the only appetizer we ever ordered and we love them! Bring them back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

OK place but not great. Pizza is so-so. ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

OK place but not great. Pizza is so-so. Service is fine. Place looks like it needs a deep cleaning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Great pizza. Favorite wine was out of st ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great pizza. Favorite wine was out of stock but server offered me a taste of several alternatives.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Service was abhorrent. There had been so ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Service was abhorrent. There had been some issue with the wine delivery so none of the wines were available, but then only one cocktail was available due to a lack of alcohol. The waiter took our order for the one drink, and then failed to put in the order.

The food was quite delicious but I had a pasta appetizer and mussels. My table mates had pizza and they said it was "meh".

After speaking with a bartender the next night at a different restaurant, she stated that the locals don't hit this restaurant any more because the service is so consistently poor.

And there was no need to make a reservation through open table. There were plenty of open tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

A boutiquey restaurant with a lot of 50' ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

A boutiquey restaurant with a lot of 50's personality, from the music to a t.v. movie of that era to the wall mural. Music a bit too loud but food great in the classic authentic Neapolitan style, i.e., no thick crust with an overabundance of cheese!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Place was really great, food was fantast ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Place was really great, food was fantastic. It was a little louder than we like.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

All of the food is wonderful, and made w ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

All of the food is wonderful, and made with fresh ingredients. Pizza's are cooked in a food fired brick oven for a distinct flavor. Dessert and coffee is a great way to end a great meal. This neighborhood gem is so popular all of the time so reservations should be considered if your part is greater than 2.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and service. Laid back and ca ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Good food and service. Laid back and casual. The noise level was moderate and the menu was varied for a pizza place. Overall, I would return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best pizza in RVA. They import many ing ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Best pizza in RVA. They import many ingredients from Italy. This is the best Italian I have had since little Italy.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Every body is made to feel welcome. Ver ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Every body is made to feel welcome. Very accommodating of special requests. Very reasonably priced for everything. Don't be afraid to try anything on the menu - you will be pleasantly surprised. Don't forget dessert and coffee.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food. Got the prosciutto and ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Delicious food. Got the prosciutto and mozzarella to start - was yummy (they make their own mozzarella). We then had pizza and calzones from the brick oven along with the half off bottle of wine (on Wednesday)

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We did not get 100 points for going thro ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We did not get 100 points for going through Open Table.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great neighborhood restaurant, with fant ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Great neighborhood restaurant, with fantastic brick oven pizza and delicious list of Italian desserts. Lived in Naples and Stuzzi's is as good as being there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We had a great meal! The homemade sausag ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We had a great meal! The homemade sausages that came on our pizza was outstanding! Thank you!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dependable and imaginative, Stuzzi serve ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Dependable and imaginative, Stuzzi serves delicious food in a friendly atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

we ordered two pizzas and the brought so ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

we ordered two pizzas and the brought something different...we did not know that it was the wrong pizza until we started eating. the pizza was so spicy hot that it gave all of us stomach ache afterwards. We told the waiter the pizza was wrong and did not understand we were given this pizza. The waiter did nothing to correct the action. He walked away. I wont be back for awhile

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Came in with the family for our pre wedd ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Came in with the family for our pre wedding anniversary lunch and even made reservations . No table was ready they didn't even know we were coming . The hostess candor was polite and kind but clueless never the less it had begun to rain outside . Noting we are a party of 4 with a baby in a car seater carrier. We were placed in the first table close to all the foot traffic as well as closest to the bar and oven. Again mind you we have kids and a baby. I asked politely for one of those high chairs that every restaurant in America has and the owner came out and said why do you have your kids on the floor especially in high traffic area. I said this is where your host sat us. They did not offer a chair for her either. Well he began to lecture me and I reminded him this is his establishment and we are in his hands and he placed us here. He began to lecture me in kids safety and told me that those high chairs are illegal in the state of Virginia and was very abdoment about it . Hmmmm. So we got up and left thanked him kindly for the hospitality and went on to the mellow mushroom. Tired wet frustrated , we were hungry and gave our business to another establishment. If a restaurant has no time for accommodation and kindness then they don't need my money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

This was our second time to Stuzzi. See ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This was our second time to Stuzzi. Seems to be our place to go when in Richmond, VA. We're generally in Richmond for Lacrosse Tournaments. Have the best pizza in Richmond, from what I've eaten. Can make a team/large group reservation thru OpenTable, which is convenient.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

floppy crust

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Thin-crust pizza should be crispy. All toppings just slid off of the soft dough like a mudslide. We asked for it to be cooked some more....not received very well and did not result in any significant difference.

We had been to Stuzzi 6 months ago ...maybe a handful of times in the last few years. Always good. Something has changed. Maybe just a bad night?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Hands down the best pizza, calzones in RVA.

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

My only problem now is whether to get grandma (thick crust) or standard (thin) pizza. They are both delicious. The kind of pizza you crave and think about often. Calzone is made correctly with Ricotta cheese. I want to try the pasta but cannot get off the pizza.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We went on a busy Friday evening and we cannot wait to go back! We had the pasta with the pears and gorgonzola sauce, I'm pretty sure I could eat that everyday. Also we shared a couple of pizzas, meatballs and the profiteroles. Everything was delicious and the service was on point even on a very busy night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Awesome GF Pizza!

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My husband is one a gluten free diet and we have been on a "search" around Richmond for a local restaurant that has a good GF crust. Most restaurants have an option, but the crust is more of a cracker. Not Stuzzi's!! It looked and tasted like a normal pizza crust, so much so that we had our server double-check that he put in our order correctly. We will definitely be going back soon, either to eat there or take-out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Service needs help

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

We arrived at 11:45 on a Wednesday morning, to an almost empty restaurant. With very few people there, it still took WAY too long to get our food, and as the place filled up, the single waitress was too busy to get to our needs in a timely fashion. Our server was nice and did everything she needed to do for our table, but she could have used help to get to everything quickly. We love the food at Stuzzi, but they need to work on service and timing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Trying the daily special pizza has alway ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Trying the daily special pizza has always worked for me. I actually look forward to a new experience in tastes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been here twice. Two totally diffe ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I've been here twice. Two totally different experiences. First time was later in the evening. Place had dimmed lighting, crowd was more adult and the noise level wasn't too bad. Second time was more the dinner hour, full on lighting and there were a number of kids there and it was loud. It was almost too loud to have a conversation. We eat and went walking in the fan. My wife did say she thinks the sausage, onion and mushroom pizza was the best she has ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Best Pasta & Pizza...anywhere

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

How gracious to accommodate our last-minute graduation celebration! Our waitress' recommended selections were perfect choices for a family style gathering of out-of-town family to share food and stories with our graduate and his friends. Good times. Great food. Superd service. May God continue to shower His blessings on this tiny gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Cramped and not a WOW Factor

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

If you have to have a Neapolitan style pizza, then this is the place for you.

Disappointingly, the neighborhood pizzeria is unable to accommodate a family of six or any groups above that number with any comfort, four would be the reasonable max if you looking for a relaxing evening meal and drinks with friends.

The uniquely cooked pizza with its irregular shape and bubbly browned outer crust was good but overpriced. The larger 14” size is not much larger than the personal 12”, so ordering your own 12” with the toppings of your choice would be a wise decision. The marinara sauce for the calamari is less than spectacular with a little heat, which I liked. The bowel filled mussels were tiny in a standard white wine sauce with only two pieces of toast for the entire table. Don’t expect any pre-game bread at the table while waiting for appetizers or your entrée.

The pizzeria tries to come off as upscale but misses the mark by not doing anything special to make the dine-in experience worth the effort to make a reservation. I found myself regretting my choice in dinning having to expend such a large tip base on the cost of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Pizza shop

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Ambiance of a pizza shop with the prices of a better restaurant. 2 personal size pizzas, 1 salad, and 4 drafts= $80! The pizza was good, the arugula salad dressing was awful and the beer barely cold and the service abysmal. Stuzzi's advertises some great specials which were not available at the time we ate dinner. The quality of the Napoli pizza was better than most local pizza, and the pizza oven and chefs are front and center. So go ahead and advantage of one of those lunch specials, but I wouldn't go there again for a dinner as a couple.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Worst service I have ever experienced in ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Worst service I have ever experienced in Richmond. Noise level was extremely high. The food was ok, and completely over priced. Have given it a few try's and will now never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Easily the best calzones you'll find

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Easily the best calzones you'll find

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great lunch deals!

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

great lunch deals and the happy hour deals are great!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not disappointed

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We were here a year ago and had to try it out again. Brought our granddaughter and husband for the first time. Pizza was just as delicious as last time. Have never had flavor on a red sauced pizza that makes the taste buds rejoice like this before.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Best pizza

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

One of the best pizzas I have ever had. Great food at a reasonable price. Family friendly. Make a reservation because there was a line.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great lunch specials with great pizza!

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Great lunch specials with great pizza!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Restaurant was very loud and crowded. Di ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Restaurant was very loud and crowded. Didn't enjoy eating with people's backsides in my face. Service poor, food great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

Awesome Restaurant

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

The best Pizza in Virginia...nothing even close....everything is amazing...If you have not tried it you are missing a true GEM

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.