About Stuzzi - Richmond

1 North Belmont Street
Richmond, VA 23221
View Larger Map

Naples is the birthplace of pizza, and Neapolitan pizza captures the pure essence of this simple and delicious Italian food. True Neopolitan pizza (or D.O.C. pizza, which stands for 'Denominazione di Origine Controllata') is so pure, there are only a handful of restaurants in the US to make it! Stuzzi creates that authentic product. Our wood fired oven was hand built, on site, to exacting standards. The oven's unique "beehive" design allows the temperature to be maintained at a blistering 1000+ degrees Fahrenheit -- hot enough to turn raw dough, tomatoes, cheese and basil into a blistering bubbling pizza in about sixty seconds.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 308-3294

Website:
http://www.stuzzirichmond.com/

Restaurant Photos

Minature Cannoli
Italian Sausage (Salsiccia) Pizza
Caprese
Pizza Margarita
Fennel Salad
Nutella Ice Cream Sundae
Spicy Sopressata Salami Pizza
Quattro Formaggi Pizza
Forte Pizza
Carnivori Pizza
Rigatoni Vodka
Arugula Parm Salad
Rigatoni With Pumpkin Sauce And Sausage

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Stuzzi - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.7

ambience

3.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

neighborhood gem (14)
good for groups (12)
kid-friendly (10)
See All
fit for foodies (8)
great for lunch (6)
great for outdoor dining (6)
late-night find (3)
scenic view (1)
special occasion (1)
Sort By:
Newest
316 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a great meal! The homemade sausag ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had a great meal! The homemade sausages that came on our pizza was outstanding! Thank you!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dependable and imaginative, Stuzzi serve ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Dependable and imaginative, Stuzzi serves delicious food in a friendly atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

we ordered two pizzas and the brought so ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

we ordered two pizzas and the brought something different...we did not know that it was the wrong pizza until we started eating. the pizza was so spicy hot that it gave all of us stomach ache afterwards. We told the waiter the pizza was wrong and did not understand we were given this pizza. The waiter did nothing to correct the action. He walked away. I wont be back for awhile

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Came in with the family for our pre wedd ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Came in with the family for our pre wedding anniversary lunch and even made reservations . No table was ready they didn't even know we were coming . The hostess candor was polite and kind but clueless never the less it had begun to rain outside . Noting we are a party of 4 with a baby in a car seater carrier. We were placed in the first table close to all the foot traffic as well as closest to the bar and oven. Again mind you we have kids and a baby. I asked politely for one of those high chairs that every restaurant in America has and the owner came out and said why do you have your kids on the floor especially in high traffic area. I said this is where your host sat us. They did not offer a chair for her either. Well he began to lecture me and I reminded him this is his establishment and we are in his hands and he placed us here. He began to lecture me in kids safety and told me that those high chairs are illegal in the state of Virginia and was very abdoment about it . Hmmmm. So we got up and left thanked him kindly for the hospitality and went on to the mellow mushroom. Tired wet frustrated , we were hungry and gave our business to another establishment. If a restaurant has no time for accommodation and kindness then they don't need my money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

This was our second time to Stuzzi. See ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This was our second time to Stuzzi. Seems to be our place to go when in Richmond, VA. We're generally in Richmond for Lacrosse Tournaments. Have the best pizza in Richmond, from what I've eaten. Can make a team/large group reservation thru OpenTable, which is convenient.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

floppy crust

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Thin-crust pizza should be crispy. All toppings just slid off of the soft dough like a mudslide. We asked for it to be cooked some more....not received very well and did not result in any significant difference.

We had been to Stuzzi 6 months ago ...maybe a handful of times in the last few years. Always good. Something has changed. Maybe just a bad night?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Hands down the best pizza, calzones in RVA.

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

My only problem now is whether to get grandma (thick crust) or standard (thin) pizza. They are both delicious. The kind of pizza you crave and think about often. Calzone is made correctly with Ricotta cheese. I want to try the pasta but cannot get off the pizza.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We went on a busy Friday evening and we cannot wait to go back! We had the pasta with the pears and gorgonzola sauce, I'm pretty sure I could eat that everyday. Also we shared a couple of pizzas, meatballs and the profiteroles. Everything was delicious and the service was on point even on a very busy night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Awesome GF Pizza!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My husband is one a gluten free diet and we have been on a "search" around Richmond for a local restaurant that has a good GF crust. Most restaurants have an option, but the crust is more of a cracker. Not Stuzzi's!! It looked and tasted like a normal pizza crust, so much so that we had our server double-check that he put in our order correctly. We will definitely be going back soon, either to eat there or take-out!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Service needs help

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

We arrived at 11:45 on a Wednesday morning, to an almost empty restaurant. With very few people there, it still took WAY too long to get our food, and as the place filled up, the single waitress was too busy to get to our needs in a timely fashion. Our server was nice and did everything she needed to do for our table, but she could have used help to get to everything quickly. We love the food at Stuzzi, but they need to work on service and timing.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Trying the daily special pizza has alway ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Trying the daily special pizza has always worked for me. I actually look forward to a new experience in tastes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been here twice. Two totally diffe ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I've been here twice. Two totally different experiences. First time was later in the evening. Place had dimmed lighting, crowd was more adult and the noise level wasn't too bad. Second time was more the dinner hour, full on lighting and there were a number of kids there and it was loud. It was almost too loud to have a conversation. We eat and went walking in the fan. My wife did say she thinks the sausage, onion and mushroom pizza was the best she has ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Best Pasta & Pizza...anywhere

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

How gracious to accommodate our last-minute graduation celebration! Our waitress' recommended selections were perfect choices for a family style gathering of out-of-town family to share food and stories with our graduate and his friends. Good times. Great food. Superd service. May God continue to shower His blessings on this tiny gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Cramped and not a WOW Factor

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

If you have to have a Neapolitan style pizza, then this is the place for you.

Disappointingly, the neighborhood pizzeria is unable to accommodate a family of six or any groups above that number with any comfort, four would be the reasonable max if you looking for a relaxing evening meal and drinks with friends.

The uniquely cooked pizza with its irregular shape and bubbly browned outer crust was good but overpriced. The larger 14” size is not much larger than the personal 12”, so ordering your own 12” with the toppings of your choice would be a wise decision. The marinara sauce for the calamari is less than spectacular with a little heat, which I liked. The bowel filled mussels were tiny in a standard white wine sauce with only two pieces of toast for the entire table. Don’t expect any pre-game bread at the table while waiting for appetizers or your entrée.

The pizzeria tries to come off as upscale but misses the mark by not doing anything special to make the dine-in experience worth the effort to make a reservation. I found myself regretting my choice in dinning having to expend such a large tip base on the cost of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Pizza shop

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Ambiance of a pizza shop with the prices of a better restaurant. 2 personal size pizzas, 1 salad, and 4 drafts= $80! The pizza was good, the arugula salad dressing was awful and the beer barely cold and the service abysmal. Stuzzi's advertises some great specials which were not available at the time we ate dinner. The quality of the Napoli pizza was better than most local pizza, and the pizza oven and chefs are front and center. So go ahead and advantage of one of those lunch specials, but I wouldn't go there again for a dinner as a couple.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Worst service I have ever experienced in ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Worst service I have ever experienced in Richmond. Noise level was extremely high. The food was ok, and completely over priced. Have given it a few try's and will now never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Easily the best calzones you'll find

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Easily the best calzones you'll find

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great lunch deals!

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

great lunch deals and the happy hour deals are great!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not disappointed

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We were here a year ago and had to try it out again. Brought our granddaughter and husband for the first time. Pizza was just as delicious as last time. Have never had flavor on a red sauced pizza that makes the taste buds rejoice like this before.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Best pizza

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

One of the best pizzas I have ever had. Great food at a reasonable price. Family friendly. Make a reservation because there was a line.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great lunch specials with great pizza!

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Great lunch specials with great pizza!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Restaurant was very loud and crowded. Di ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Restaurant was very loud and crowded. Didn't enjoy eating with people's backsides in my face. Service poor, food great!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

Awesome Restaurant

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

The best Pizza in Virginia...nothing even close....everything is amazing...If you have not tried it you are missing a true GEM

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant waitress. Prompt service. Owner ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Pleasant waitress. Prompt service. Owner shook our hands as we left. Nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Unbelievably slow service it shouldn't t ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Unbelievably slow service it shouldn't take an hour to get a drink

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Not terrible but not great

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

I probably had my expectations set too high for Stuzzi. The white bean crostini was the best item from the entire night. The quattro formaggi pizza was bland and needed salt in the crust. The crust texture was wonderful! The service was mediocre, and it was loud. The prices are too high for what you get. Stick to going at happy hour where prices look reasonable.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Funfoodie

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The food was good, but the service was very spotty. We ordered dessert and it took longer to get that then our dinners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Amazing!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I just visited Naples in September and had pizza at the highly recommended Gino Sorbillo's. The Margherita pizza at Stuzzi is so good, a wonderfully authentic Italian pizza right in Carytown! So happy to find you! You are on my highly recommended list!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It’s All About Pizza Here

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Welcoming atmosphere but it is all about the pizza coming out of the brick oven on the center back wall. The menu offers some pasta dishes and the risotto balls of the day are delicious, but there is little else to the menu. Nice wine list and rocking bar scene on a Saturday night.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great spot for pizza and drinks

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

I have been to Stuzzi about a dozen times and the food is consistently good. Handmade thin pizza with fresh dough cooked in a brick oven. Also good beer, Italian wines, and drinks, but gets crowded in the evening. Good spot for lunch, with a small (8") pizza and salad.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Their gluten free pizza is amazing. This ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

Their gluten free pizza is amazing. This is the only gluten free pizza that I've ever liked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you're in a rush, don't go there for ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

If you're in a rush, don't go there for lunch. Took 2 hours with only 2 other parties there. They are much faster for dinner, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Pizza and Baked Ziti are outstanding

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

I had Grandma's Pizza (deep dish) on the first trip, Pepperoni pizza on the 2nd, and the Baked Ziti this time and all I can say is WOW. Incredible place to eat.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall disappointing

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

Food prep was very slow - took about 90 minutes for simple apps and pizzas for a party of 5. Ironically the pizzas would have benefited from a few more minutes in the brick oven - crusts were somewhat doughy/soggy. Restaurant was very loud, making conversation tough. Music was turned up, making other diners talk loudly, causing us to barely be able to hear each other

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value4

AWESOME!!!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 8, 2016

Hands Down... Best Pizza in Richmond... Great wood fired oven.....Pasta Fazool soup was outstanding

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great pizza and Italian food. Really li ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Great pizza and Italian food. Really like how the pizza oven is right in the center of the restaurant, it adds to ambiance and really brings out the spirit of the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Last Minute New Years Eve Choice

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

The entire family plus one enjoyed the Italian specialties on a last minute NYE visit. I've noted it before, but if you go try the pasta faggiole. It's the best this Italian has ever had....The pizza never disappoints with the crust having those little bits of char to go with perfectly cooked pie.

My only suggestion for the owner is to consider adding more local beer on tap choices. Richmond has so many good local brews now it's a shame not to have them along with the delicious food.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

food was served cool, waitress had serve ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

food was served cool, waitress had served several tables which were seated after we were. we had a pizza and 3 entrees + a bottle of wine, salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Horrible Experiance, Never going back

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on December 22, 2015

What a horrible experiance. We had made a reservation in advance for 15. I called the day before and let them know it would be 20. They said no problem. We got there and they had us a two tables. There was plenty of space against the back wall for 20 but they had already sat customers there. They were very rude and kept making comments all evening about how hard a big group was to handle. The owner huffed and puffed and kept staring at us. Our main waitress was nice but had been there 3 days. The pasta was cold and they were out of processo and some food items. Everyone was very uncomfortable being there and we will never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Best pizza around RVA!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on December 4, 2015

Best pizza around RVA!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.