About Stuzzi - Richmond

1 North Belmont Street
Richmond, VA 23221
View Larger Map

Naples is the birthplace of pizza, and Neapolitan pizza captures the pure essence of this simple and delicious Italian food. True Neopolitan pizza (or D.O.C. pizza, which stands for 'Denominazione di Origine Controllata') is so pure, there are only a handful of restaurants in the US to make it! Stuzzi creates that authentic product. Our wood fired oven was hand built, on site, to exacting standards. The oven's unique "beehive" design allows the temperature to be maintained at a blistering 1000+ degrees Fahrenheit -- hot enough to turn raw dough, tomatoes, cheese and basil into a blistering bubbling pizza in about sixty seconds.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 308-3294

Website:
http://www.stuzzirichmond.com/

Restaurant Photos

Minature Cannoli - Stuzzi - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Italian Sausage (Salsiccia) Pizza - Stuzzi - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Caprese - Stuzzi - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Pizza Margarita - Stuzzi - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Fennel Salad - Stuzzi - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Nutella Ice Cream Sundae - Stuzzi - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Spicy Sopressata Salami Pizza - Stuzzi - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Quattro Formaggi Pizza - Stuzzi - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Forte Pizza - Stuzzi - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Carnivori Pizza - Stuzzi - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Rigatoni Vodka - Stuzzi - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Arugula Parm Salad - Stuzzi - Richmond, Richmond, VA
Rigatoni With Pumpkin Sauce And Sausage - Stuzzi - Richmond, Richmond, VA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Stuzzi - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.5

ambience

3.3

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Virginia
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

Neighborhood Gem (12)
Casual (6)
Wood Oven (6)
See All
Good for Groups (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Authentic (4)
Family Style (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Fun (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Spicy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Business Meals (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
351 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very disappointing! After reading the r ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

Very disappointing! After reading the reviews on this restaurant I booked a reservation for 6 people (including 2 kids) for 7:00 this past Saturday night. I was in Richmond visiting my family for the holidays and this was our night out. When we arrived a bit before 7:00 the Owner told us that they were running behind and we would be the next seated for a large table. Bottom-line, at 7:45 I finally sat us all at the bar (kids included!) so we could eat. The girl behind the bar tried very hard to care for everyone but the place was up for grabs! She didn't know how to use the register for ordering, wrong food was brought out, we actually went in to the kitchen to get our own plates, and on and on it went. The Owner did acknowledge the chaos and bought us a carafe of wine but really he didn't seem to be overly concerned that he was not able to honor our reservation. NOW, I will say that there was a very large party there that occupied about 1/2 the tables in the restaurant. They were not vacating and so many waiting patrons were not seated. I tried to stay upbeat and happy since this was a holiday celebration and I gave him the benefit of the doubt that this was truly a service anomaly but after reading reviews more carefully I am afraid this is the norm. The food was good but not worth the hassle we experienced. Richmond has plenty of restaurants to choose from - I won't be choosing this one again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Stuzzi was great. They accommodated seve ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

Stuzzi was great. They accommodated several large parties at once. The food was delicious and reasonably priced.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely best pizza I have ever had. T ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

Absolutely best pizza I have ever had. This is a must if you are in Richmond

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food! Peter, the owner, is ever p ...

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great food! Peter, the owner, is ever present making sure customers are happy and things running smoothly. Best pizza in Richmond.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

This place was horrible and didn't even ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

This place was horrible and didn't even honor my reservation with Open Table!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Owner was very rude and the reservation ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

Owner was very rude and the reservation did not mean anything as far as getting a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1

Outstanding food. Festive atmosphere. L ...

 
·Dined on November 11, 2016

Outstanding food. Festive atmosphere. Less than satisfactory service.

Tags: Wood Oven, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

It is hard to go wrong with Stuzzi's/ bu ...

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

It is hard to go wrong with Stuzzi's/ but for some reason the quality of the food wasn't as great as usual. Maybe it was what we ordered...music was really loud, we asked them to turn it down and they were happy to oblige. Waiter was a young man who couldn't have been more pleasant and attentive. Next time he needs to bring an extra clean tee shirt to work.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food and good service. Thx!

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great food and good service. Thx!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

There was great food and service, but th ...

 
·Dined on October 22, 2016

There was great food and service, but the host gave our reservation away when we were 5 minutes late and had already called ahead of time to say so. He then continued to be rude and it took 45 minutes to find another table. We were loyal costumers but will NOT be returning due to this host.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Love love love Stuzzi's. Our waiter was ...

 
·Dined on October 21, 2016

Love love love Stuzzi's. Our waiter was excellent. The food was perfect and I love that the owner is very present and clearly loves what he does.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took our boss here to celebrate Boss' ...

 
·Dined on October 17, 2016

We took our boss here to celebrate Boss' Day, and it was a huge success. The menu had something for everyone in our office, from 12" 'personal' pizzas to filling salads. The service was great, we were a group of 10, our food was timed perfectly, and our waiter was attentive. The food was delicious, it was a great atmosphere to enjoy an office lunch.

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed about the food- pizza crust ...

 
·Dined on October 15, 2016

Disappointed about the food- pizza crust was mushy and restaurant was extremely loud. Not a pleasant eating experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

They seemed to have no record of our inf ...

 
·Dined on October 14, 2016

They seemed to have no record of our information, though we made it through OpenTable and they had confirmed by telephone earlier in the day. But, the restaurant was empty, so we were seated, though the table was too crowded. The wine was terrible and served in a cheap small glass. We had to remind the server three times to bring soft drinks. Pizza was good. Pasta was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Fantastic food! Definitely during the fa ...

 
·Dined on October 14, 2016

Fantastic food! Definitely during the fall make sure that you get the pumpkin pasta! It's made in an actual pumpkin!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What has happened here? This used to be ...

 
·Dined on October 7, 2016

What has happened here? This used to be one of our favorite places. Our recent dining experiences was quite horrible. Service was so bad and slow. Our waiter acted like he didn't care. We sat at the bar waiting for our table, no one ever asked us for a drink order. Got to our table and waited for service. Appetizer took 45 minutes to get to the table. My husband ordered the regular dinner of eggplant parm. The waiter asked if he wanted the family style dinner and both were like no its only him eating the meal. Once we finally got our food, the waiter says sorry but the kitchen made you the family style meal and places the entire huge pan of food in front of him and acted like he was just going to dig in and eat directly from the pan. It was gross, we were like maybe a dinner plate would be more appropriate!!! I maybe ate two slices of pizza and was expected to place all of this in two small pieces of foil to take home. I asked for a pizza box which seemed like I was asking for gold. Really!! When we got the bill we had been charged for the family meal even though it was not ordered. So lets just say the waiter put in the incorrect order and profited from it. We didn't complain because we wanted to get out of there. Not sure what is happening here, maybe the kitchen can't keep up with the massive family style dinners and it is backing them up but somethings got to give or customer's will not return to the chaos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Very disappointed in the service at Stuz ...

 
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Very disappointed in the service at Stuzzi. We were seated for fifteen minutes without being approached by a server. We asked two different servers for assistance. Once a server did show up, it was clear she had too many other tables. She brought our appetizers but had not yet brought silverware. We ordered two large pizzas. One was burnt - black on the bottom. I asked for a manager, who told me he would comp the pizza and get another one to us asap. While the second pizza did arrive quickly and was good, the manager did not remove it from our bill. Rather than make a fuss, I paid the bill and left. There are many restaurants in Richmond - I suggest avoiding Stuzzi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Fresh ingredients and great food. Servi ...

 
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Fresh ingredients and great food. Service continues to be rude. I hope the owner will address this important issue.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Place was DIRTY , some abusive black and ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Place was DIRTY , some abusive black and white movie on TV ...stupid

food was nasty all but pizza was ok ...wait staff was great !!!! will not returm umless new owner !!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

The worst experience ever. I brought som ...

 
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The worst experience ever. I brought some work colleagues from Italy to show them how close this restaurant was to fast of Italy and the pizza was disgusting. I have been to Stuzzis multiple times and have not been impressed the last two times I will not be back. Your wasting you money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Pizza is the star at Stuzzi and it doesn ...

 
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Pizza is the star at Stuzzi and it doesn't disappoint. Hand tossed crust and a wood fired grill along with imported tomatoes and cheeses, the pizza here is about as close to the pizza in Napoli as it gets in this part of the world. The atmosphere is rather pedestrian with no real style or flair and the service was fine. There's a full bar with some great happy hour deals. There is a large patio for outdoor dining. I might just get the pizza to go next time.

Tags: Wood Oven, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Love stuzzi, but the experience is diffe ...

 
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Love stuzzi, but the experience is different every time. The past few times I've been there the crusts have been really thick. Which is fine, except I think they might need a few more sec in the oven so the middle isn't completely uncooked. Also, we miss the wings! It's the only appetizer we ever ordered and we love them! Bring them back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

OK place but not great. Pizza is so-so. ...

 
·Dined on August 30, 2016

OK place but not great. Pizza is so-so. Service is fine. Place looks like it needs a deep cleaning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Great pizza. Favorite wine was out of st ...

 
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great pizza. Favorite wine was out of stock but server offered me a taste of several alternatives.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Service was abhorrent. There had been so ...

 
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Service was abhorrent. There had been some issue with the wine delivery so none of the wines were available, but then only one cocktail was available due to a lack of alcohol. The waiter took our order for the one drink, and then failed to put in the order.

The food was quite delicious but I had a pasta appetizer and mussels. My table mates had pizza and they said it was "meh".

After speaking with a bartender the next night at a different restaurant, she stated that the locals don't hit this restaurant any more because the service is so consistently poor.

And there was no need to make a reservation through open table. There were plenty of open tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

A boutiquey restaurant with a lot of 50' ...

 
·Dined on August 16, 2016

A boutiquey restaurant with a lot of 50's personality, from the music to a t.v. movie of that era to the wall mural. Music a bit too loud but food great in the classic authentic Neapolitan style, i.e., no thick crust with an overabundance of cheese!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Place was really great, food was fantast ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Place was really great, food was fantastic. It was a little louder than we like.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

All of the food is wonderful, and made w ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

All of the food is wonderful, and made with fresh ingredients. Pizza's are cooked in a food fired brick oven for a distinct flavor. Dessert and coffee is a great way to end a great meal. This neighborhood gem is so popular all of the time so reservations should be considered if your part is greater than 2.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and service. Laid back and ca ...

 
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Good food and service. Laid back and casual. The noise level was moderate and the menu was varied for a pizza place. Overall, I would return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best pizza in RVA. They import many ing ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Best pizza in RVA. They import many ingredients from Italy. This is the best Italian I have had since little Italy.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Every body is made to feel welcome. Ver ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Every body is made to feel welcome. Very accommodating of special requests. Very reasonably priced for everything. Don't be afraid to try anything on the menu - you will be pleasantly surprised. Don't forget dessert and coffee.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food. Got the prosciutto and ...

 
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Delicious food. Got the prosciutto and mozzarella to start - was yummy (they make their own mozzarella). We then had pizza and calzones from the brick oven along with the half off bottle of wine (on Wednesday)

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We did not get 100 points for going thro ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We did not get 100 points for going through Open Table.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great neighborhood restaurant, with fant ...

 
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Great neighborhood restaurant, with fantastic brick oven pizza and delicious list of Italian desserts. Lived in Naples and Stuzzi's is as good as being there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We had a great meal! The homemade sausag ...

 
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We had a great meal! The homemade sausages that came on our pizza was outstanding! Thank you!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dependable and imaginative, Stuzzi serve ...

 
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Dependable and imaginative, Stuzzi serves delicious food in a friendly atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

we ordered two pizzas and the brought so ...

 
·Dined on July 14, 2016

we ordered two pizzas and the brought something different...we did not know that it was the wrong pizza until we started eating. the pizza was so spicy hot that it gave all of us stomach ache afterwards. We told the waiter the pizza was wrong and did not understand we were given this pizza. The waiter did nothing to correct the action. He walked away. I wont be back for awhile

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Came in with the family for our pre wedd ...

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Came in with the family for our pre wedding anniversary lunch and even made reservations . No table was ready they didn't even know we were coming . The hostess candor was polite and kind but clueless never the less it had begun to rain outside . Noting we are a party of 4 with a baby in a car seater carrier. We were placed in the first table close to all the foot traffic as well as closest to the bar and oven. Again mind you we have kids and a baby. I asked politely for one of those high chairs that every restaurant in America has and the owner came out and said why do you have your kids on the floor especially in high traffic area. I said this is where your host sat us. They did not offer a chair for her either. Well he began to lecture me and I reminded him this is his establishment and we are in his hands and he placed us here. He began to lecture me in kids safety and told me that those high chairs are illegal in the state of Virginia and was very abdoment about it . Hmmmm. So we got up and left thanked him kindly for the hospitality and went on to the mellow mushroom. Tired wet frustrated , we were hungry and gave our business to another establishment. If a restaurant has no time for accommodation and kindness then they don't need my money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

This was our second time to Stuzzi. See ...

 
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This was our second time to Stuzzi. Seems to be our place to go when in Richmond, VA. We're generally in Richmond for Lacrosse Tournaments. Have the best pizza in Richmond, from what I've eaten. Can make a team/large group reservation thru OpenTable, which is convenient.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

floppy crust

 
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Thin-crust pizza should be crispy. All toppings just slid off of the soft dough like a mudslide. We asked for it to be cooked some more....not received very well and did not result in any significant difference.

We had been to Stuzzi 6 months ago ...maybe a handful of times in the last few years. Always good. Something has changed. Maybe just a bad night?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.