About Stuzzi - Richmond

1 North Belmont Street
Richmond, VA 23221
View Larger Map

Naples is the birthplace of pizza, and Neapolitan pizza captures the pure essence of this simple and delicious Italian food. True Neopolitan pizza (or D.O.C. pizza, which stands for 'Denominazione di Origine Controllata') is so pure, there are only a handful of restaurants in the US to make it! Stuzzi creates that authentic product. Our wood fired oven was hand built, on site, to exacting standards. The oven's unique "beehive" design allows the temperature to be maintained at a blistering 1000+ degrees Fahrenheit -- hot enough to turn raw dough, tomatoes, cheese and basil into a blistering bubbling pizza in about sixty seconds.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 308-3294

Website:
http://www.stuzzirichmond.com/

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Stuzzi - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

3.7

ambience

3.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Richmond
Best Restaurants in Richmond ›

neighborhood gem (19)
great for lunch (13)
good for groups (13)
See All
fit for foodies (11)
kid-friendly (10)
great for outdoor dining (6)
late-night find (6)
hot spot (2)
notable wine list (1)
great for brunch (1)
special occasion (1)
romantic (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
304 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

I've been here twice. Two totally diffe ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

I've been here twice. Two totally different experiences. First time was later in the evening. Place had dimmed lighting, crowd was more adult and the noise level wasn't too bad. Second time was more the dinner hour, full on lighting and there were a number of kids there and it was loud. It was almost too loud to have a conversation. We eat and went walking in the fan. My wife did say she thinks the sausage, onion and mushroom pizza was the best she has ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best Pasta & Pizza...anywhere

Dined on May 14, 2016

How gracious to accommodate our last-minute graduation celebration! Our waitress' recommended selections were perfect choices for a family style gathering of out-of-town family to share food and stories with our graduate and his friends. Good times. Great food. Superd service. May God continue to shower His blessings on this tiny gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Cramped and not a WOW Factor

Dined on May 6, 2016

If you have to have a Neapolitan style pizza, then this is the place for you. Disappointingly, the neighborhood pizzeria is unable to accommodate a family of six or any groups above that number with any comfort, four would be the reasonable max if you looking for a relaxing evening meal and drinks with friends. The uniquely cooked pizza with its irregular shape and bubbly browned outer crust was good but overpriced. The larger 14” size is not much larger than the personal 12”, so ordering your own 12” with the toppings of your choice would be a wise decision. The marinara sauce for the calamari is less than spectacular with a little heat, which I liked. The bowel filled mussels were tiny in a standard white wine sauce with only two pieces of toast for the entire table. Don’t expect any pre-game bread at the table while waiting for appetizers or your entrée. The pizzeria tries to come off as upscale but misses the mark by not doing anything special to make the dine-in experience worth the effort to make a reservation. I found myself regretting my choice in dinning having to expend such a large tip base on the cost of the meal.

food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Pizza shop

Dined on May 1, 2016

Ambiance of a pizza shop with the prices of a better restaurant. 2 personal size pizzas, 1 salad, and 4 drafts= $80! The pizza was good, the arugula salad dressing was awful and the beer barely cold and the service abysmal. Stuzzi's advertises some great specials which were not available at the time we ate dinner. The quality of the Napoli pizza was better than most local pizza, and the pizza oven and chefs are front and center. So go ahead and advantage of one of those lunch specials, but I wouldn't go there again for a dinner as a couple.

food5
ambience5
service5

Easily the best calzones you'll find

Dined on April 26, 2016

Easily the best calzones you'll find

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great lunch deals!

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

great lunch deals and the happy hour deals are great!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Not disappointed

Dined on April 17, 2016

We were here a year ago and had to try it out again. Brought our granddaughter and husband for the first time. Pizza was just as delicious as last time. Have never had flavor on a red sauced pizza that makes the taste buds rejoice like this before.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Best pizza

Dined on April 8, 2016

One of the best pizzas I have ever had. Great food at a reasonable price. Family friendly. Make a reservation because there was a line.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great lunch specials with great pizza!

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Great lunch specials with great pizza!

food5
ambience2
service3
value4

Restaurant was very loud and crowded. Di ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Restaurant was very loud and crowded. Didn't enjoy eating with people's backsides in my face. Service poor, food great!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Restaurant

Dined on March 14, 2016

The best Pizza in Virginia...nothing even close....everything is amazing...If you have not tried it you are missing a true GEM

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3

Pleasant waitress. Prompt service. Owner ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Pleasant waitress. Prompt service. Owner shook our hands as we left. Nice!

food2
ambience1
service1

Unbelievably slow service it shouldn't t ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

Unbelievably slow service it shouldn't take an hour to get a drink

food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Not terrible but not great

Dined on February 20, 2016

I probably had my expectations set too high for Stuzzi. The white bean crostini was the best item from the entire night. The quattro formaggi pizza was bland and needed salt in the crust. The crust texture was wonderful! The service was mediocre, and it was loud. The prices are too high for what you get. Stick to going at happy hour where prices look reasonable.

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Funfoodie

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

The food was good, but the service was very spotty. We ordered dessert and it took longer to get that then our dinners.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!

Dined on February 14, 2016

I just visited Naples in September and had pizza at the highly recommended Gino Sorbillo's. The Margherita pizza at Stuzzi is so good, a wonderfully authentic Italian pizza right in Carytown! So happy to find you! You are on my highly recommended list!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It’s All About Pizza Here

Dined on February 13, 2016

Welcoming atmosphere but it is all about the pizza coming out of the brick oven on the center back wall. The menu offers some pasta dishes and the risotto balls of the day are delicious, but there is little else to the menu. Nice wine list and rocking bar scene on a Saturday night.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great spot for pizza and drinks

Dined on February 6, 2016

I have been to Stuzzi about a dozen times and the food is consistently good. Handmade thin pizza with fresh dough cooked in a brick oven. Also good beer, Italian wines, and drinks, but gets crowded in the evening. Good spot for lunch, with a small (8") pizza and salad.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Their gluten free pizza is amazing. This ...

Dined on February 4, 2016

Their gluten free pizza is amazing. This is the only gluten free pizza that I've ever liked.

food5
ambience3
service2

If you're in a rush, don't go there for ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

If you're in a rush, don't go there for lunch. Took 2 hours with only 2 other parties there. They are much faster for dinner, though.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Pizza and Baked Ziti are outstanding

Dined on January 10, 2016

I had Grandma's Pizza (deep dish) on the first trip, Pepperoni pizza on the 2nd, and the Baked Ziti this time and all I can say is WOW. Incredible place to eat.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service2
value4

Overall disappointing

Dined on January 9, 2016

Food prep was very slow - took about 90 minutes for simple apps and pizzas for a party of 5. Ironically the pizzas would have benefited from a few more minutes in the brick oven - crusts were somewhat doughy/soggy. Restaurant was very loud, making conversation tough. Music was turned up, making other diners talk loudly, causing us to barely be able to hear each other

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AWESOME!!!

Dined on January 8, 2016

Hands Down... Best Pizza in Richmond... Great wood fired oven.....Pasta Fazool soup was outstanding

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Great pizza and Italian food. Really li ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Great pizza and Italian food. Really like how the pizza oven is right in the center of the restaurant, it adds to ambiance and really brings out the spirit of the restaurant.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Last Minute New Years Eve Choice

vip
Dined on December 31, 2015

The entire family plus one enjoyed the Italian specialties on a last minute NYE visit. I've noted it before, but if you go try the pasta faggiole. It's the best this Italian has ever had....The pizza never disappoints with the crust having those little bits of char to go with perfectly cooked pie. My only suggestion for the owner is to consider adding more local beer on tap choices. Richmond has so many good local brews now it's a shame not to have them along with the delicious food.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

food was served cool, waitress had serve ...

Dined on December 24, 2015

food was served cool, waitress had served several tables which were seated after we were. we had a pizza and 3 entrees + a bottle of wine, salad.

food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Horrible Experiance, Never going back

Dined on December 22, 2015

What a horrible experiance. We had made a reservation in advance for 15. I called the day before and let them know it would be 20. They said no problem. We got there and they had us a two tables. There was plenty of space against the back wall for 20 but they had already sat customers there. They were very rude and kept making comments all evening about how hard a big group was to handle. The owner huffed and puffed and kept staring at us. Our main waitress was nice but had been there 3 days. The pasta was cold and they were out of processo and some food items. Everyone was very uncomfortable being there and we will never return.

food5
ambience4
service4

Best pizza around RVA!

Dined on December 4, 2015

Best pizza around RVA!

food4
ambience3
service4

Good place

Dined on November 20, 2015

Food was very good Highly recommend this place. Bar is eh ok,noisy place to carry on a conversation. Don't sit near the door at winter. You will freeze

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Best pizza!

vip
Dined on November 17, 2015

We all ordered small pizzas of different types and they were all great. Mine had a gluten-free crust and it was the best I've had- and I have tried g/f crusts lots of places. the others also enjoyed the rice balls as an appetizer. They can cook a pizza in 60 seconds in their extra-hot oven, so it was great to be able to order 4 small pizzas and have them come hot and quickly!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Pasta Faggioli is Back!

vip
Dined on November 15, 2015

The one thing I like about winter is that Stuzzi brings back its pasta faggioli soup! It's awesome and reason alone to eat here. On top of the great soup the pizza is fantastic - it really is. Anyway, try it and make sure to make reservations for weekend nights.

food4
ambience3
service4

Worth the noise

Dined on November 14, 2015

The pizza was excellent and priced appropriately. The noise level was quite high and the scene was hectic, bordering on chaotic. However, that just seemed to add to the ambiance and experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Gluten Free

Dined on November 13, 2015

We were visiting for the Richmond Marathon. Found this restaurant because a friend needed a gluten free menu. It was fantastic. The pizza was amazing as well as the Nutella dessert calzone. Hope to head back there for a family vacation.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Very Good Meal and Outstanding Service

Dined on November 11, 2015

Amy took great care of our party. She was very knowledgeable about the specials and took time to explain them and answer questions about the menu. They also offered great Happy Hour deals, not only drinks but also food.

food3
ambience3
service4

Just okay

Dined on November 8, 2015

I like the atmosphere and location, but the food at Stuzzi is nothing to write home about. Pizzas are fine, apps are fine. We had the pasta carbonara and it had the taste of flour and the consistency of paste. This should be a pretty easy dish to make, and they don't excel at it. all in all, I would probably return, but only if other locales nearby are booked. I will say that the servers are very sweet and professional.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service3

Wow

Dined on November 7, 2015

I had been to Stuzzi before, and had absolutely loved it. I took a few friends, one of them coming from an Italian family, and very picky taste regarding authentic food. She was blown away by the food, and how true to home it was. The food is amazing, and our waitress was kind, but it took them a while to get the food out and give us the check. This restaurant is a great place to go if you're seeing a show at the Altria Theater, because it's just a short drive to the VCU parking garage.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Unique pizzas

Dined on October 23, 2015

Unusual and tasty finds, not your ordinary pizza crust and same ole topping. Best white pizzas ever with homemade toppings.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

A pleasant surprise!

vip
Dined on October 23, 2015

We visited for a late lunch recently, our first visit ever, and we were very pleased with the food and service. We will be back!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Great pre-Homecoming dinner for high school kids

vip
Dined on October 17, 2015

Stuzzi was fantastic for accepting a reservation for 14 on short notice, albeit early in the day. When they called to confirm and I explained that it was my daughter, from a nearby high school, and a horde of friends, they were totally understanding and said "we had a group from that high school last year!" And I promised them at a minimum, the kids would be well dressed. The kids had a great meal, loved the pizza, staff was friendly and took good care of them. Perfect pre-homecoming dinner out. Thanks!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3

The Ovens Make it

vip
Dined on October 17, 2015

Great pizza made in special oven. The investment worth it. Crust is crisp, and variety of toppings cover all taste buds. Good wine selection. Prices very reasonable. If you want pizza in Richmond this is the place to go.

Tags: neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.