About Studio at Montage Laguna Beach

30801 South Coast Highway
Laguna Beach, CA 92651
View Larger Map

With a panoramic oceanfront location and modern French cuisine with California influences, Studio is the portrait of beachside indulgence. A refined and inventive menu reflects masterful attention to detail accented with an elegant, creative touch. Ocean breezes, panoramic views and lush landscapes create a refreshing sense of place at the water’s edge and a fitting backdrop for the shared enjoyment of fine food and wine. Menus include à la carte selections of starters, entrées, cheeses and desserts; and a six-course seasonal prix-fixe Chef’s Tasting Menu. The wine list includes more than 2,200 wine labels, an extensive menu of wines-by-the-glass and suggested wine pairings for each dish. Small plates are also offered at the communal table and the turn-of-the-century bar.
Please note that Studio’s dress code does not permit shorts, tennis shoes, open-toed shoes, athletic or beach wear.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Contemporary American, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 715-6420

Website:
http://www.studiolagunabeach.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking ($15 after validation)

Executive Chef:
Craig Strong

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
For the most cherished celebrations, only private dining will do. Montage Laguna Beach offers a variety of ways to combine the finest Southern California cuisine with an ambiance of complete comfort, privacy and impeccable service.

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Fri 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For the most cherished celebrations, only private dining will do. Studio at Montage Laguna Beach provides a plethora of opportunities to combine the finest Southern California cuisine with elegant comfort and impeccable service.

Studio at Montage Laguna Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Orange County
Best Service
Orange County
Best Ambiance
Orange County
8 More
Notable Wine List
Orange County
Romantic
Orange County
Best Overall
South Orange County
Best Service
South Orange County
Best Ambiance
South Orange County
Notable Wine List
South Orange County
Romantic
South Orange County
Special Occasion
South Orange County
Best Restaurants in Laguna Beach ›

scenic view (36)
special occasion (35)
romantic (33)
See All
notable wine list (30)
fit for foodies (29)
great for outdoor dining (18)
neighborhood gem (5)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (1)
late-night find (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
good for groups (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
604 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Dined here with my wife on a Saturday ni ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined a day ago

Dined here with my wife on a Saturday night. This really should have been a 5-star experience, but it turned out to be a 2-star disappointment, and we were not the only ones. Other diners were visibly and audibly upset - some just got up and left as their food was arriving 1 ½ hours later. My wife and I had the wine paired tasting menu ($250 x 2) and it took them 4 hours to finalize it. Wine served with no food, food served with no wine. Nothing served at all for long periods of time. It was really bad. I don’t know if they were just having an “off” night, but it was unacceptable. It was my wife’s birthday, so I tried to remain upbeat, but they really didn’t execute their dinner service well at all.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

Had the tasting menu paired with the pre ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Had the tasting menu paired with the premium wines. Very worthwhile. The champagne to open with was a little flat and I pointed that out . The sommelier came over and admitted the bottle was from the day before . He opened a new bottle and it was a huge difference . The sommelier was very apologetic and made up for it big time after that. The food was outstanding , the service outstanding and you cannot beat the view .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always spectacular food, service and amb ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Always spectacular food, service and ambiance at this very special restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to the Studio on a number of ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I have been to the Studio on a number of occasions, 7 to be exact. I always walk away hungry and disappointed. I go over and over because of the spectacular one of a kind setting. This charming craftsman structure on the cliff below the resort is a gem of an experience. The food however is a different story. The menu is limited, lots of creative seafood dishes with essence of this or that. nothing of substance and the portions are laughable. I eat all over the world on a regular basis and I just don't understand how a top notch resort with such a fantastic space and staff can serve such subpar food.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

All around great

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

All around great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Incredible views, only trumped by the ex ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Incredible views, only trumped by the exceptional service and unbelievable food. This was the 2nd time that Studio delivered us our "best meal we've ever had". In my opinion, this is the best restaurant in the country.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From the time you walk into the lobby of ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

From the time you walk into the lobby of the hotel you know your are in for something special. Wandering down to the restaurant you get to see the beauty of the property and once you walk in to the restaurant itself, the view takes your breath away. We were promptly seated at a fabulous table outside. The service is incredible, so attentive. The food was amazing!! Whether your a seafood person or a carnivore there is something on the menu for every taste. It was my birthday and they made it one of the most memorable. I'll definitely be going back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Studio is fine dining at its best. The ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Studio is fine dining at its best. The plates are as beautiful as the ocean views. Every taste is wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was exceptional and so was t ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The service was exceptional and so was the food. We enjoyed everything we ordered from small dish to entree. The hazelnut creme brulee was amazing! They even brought us a sample of some calamari to try which was also delicious. The view sitting outside was gorgeous especially during a warm evening. We had a fantastic anniversary dinner. One I will remember always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a special treat, everything was p ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Always a special treat, everything was perfect. The level of attention, the spectacular view, the immaculate menu, this is fine dining at it's very best. I don't think there is a better "special occasion" restaurant in all of Southern California.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best dinner date since the last time we ...

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Best dinner date since the last time we were there!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I can't say enough about the Sudio at Mo ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I can't say enough about the Sudio at Montage. Our waiter Roger was amazing in every way, the food far exceeded any expectation we had, the ombiance, view and the staffs total commitment to detail and service made for one of the best dining experiences of our life. The chef came to our table to assure satisfaction , we greatly appreciated that. Thank you again to Roger and the Studio at Montage. Five stars all the way!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service likely best in orang ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Outstanding service likely best in orange county. superb view, food incredible.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful restaurant on the ocean. Lots ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Beautiful restaurant on the ocean. Lots of tables outside with the waves crashing. The service was fabulous. The food was all very good. It is expensive but not to be missed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We got the best seat in the house with a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We got the best seat in the house with amazing frontal view of the ocean and made the special occasion we were celebrating much more memorable! I absolutely loved the butter selections, the prawn and lemon risotto, sea bass, veal, and the imploding chocolate and caramel dessert! Mixed with the ambiance and great service created an awesome experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We requested a better seating for 4 . To ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We requested a better seating for 4 . To my surprise, they gave us a huge round table indoors can easily accomodate 6 people. However, when we requested to seat outside, after checking back with us few times, probably we didn't look wealthy to them, they decided to change us to a square table about half size of our previous table at a very quiet corner. I already lost my appetite at that time.

After we had a dinner at Studio for 3 hours, they sent birthday cake to my wife not to me by mistake.

We didn't feel welcome at all at this place. We recommend Napa Rose at Disney if you want to have a better dining experience in Southern California.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

"Happy with an empty wallet"

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The Studio is pricey and portions a bit small. However, the quality was excellent and service was superb.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Studio

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

This restaurant was divine. All services were spot on from the bell hops to the car service. The shop at the hotel was highly overpriced. But that is the only negative. Everything else was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing!

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

What an absolutely AMAZING experience! Service was impeccable; food was marvelous; ambiance was unequalled! Our server Georgia was a delight and everyone who attended to our every need made the experience incredible!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best dining experience ever! Top-notch ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Best dining experience ever! Top-notch serving staff and superb cuisine. Presentation was exquisite.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Last night in CA

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

We live in Arkansas and came to CA to move my mother back to AR with us...it was our last night in CA, so we wanted to make it special. The Studio delivered! The food was superb as was the service, and the sunset made it spectacular. We are still talking about the homemade brioche rolls and three kinds of butter! Thank you for making mom's night special...and ours!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Marvellous

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Everything was wonderful. Decided to try the tasting menu with the wine selection. Service and timing was impeccable, not that easy with all those courses. Great to get there a bit early and enjoy world class views of the coastline and beaches south.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing setting. Wonderful view of the o ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Amazing setting. Wonderful view of the ocean. Impeccable service. Too expensive. So so food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Special

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Yes, it's out of the way (for those who don't live in Orange County); but, for a special occasion or a weekender out of town, it is an exceptional experience worth the drive. Very attentive staff.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Fantastic Evening

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

We had an absolutely delightful evening watching a beautiful sunset while enjoying the tasting menu. Everything was superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unimpressed

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Disappointed in vegetarian tasting menu. Price point way too high for the overall experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent in every possible way

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

One of the only really fine dining restaurants in Orange County. exceptionally creative chef, professional service staff, fine wines, no pressure and no rush. Always a great evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First expect to spend a lot. This is a s ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

First expect to spend a lot. This is a special occasion place for sure. That being said, if you know that coming in you won't be disappointed! The food was unbelievably imaginative and outstanding. Some of the best I have ever had. I have never had better service in my life. We had 4 or 5 different servers throughout the evening and they were all incredible. Saul was our main sever and he was incredible. Bobby the sommelier was second to none. We had the tasting menu and each dish came out promptly and was explained to us every time. The plating was unbelievable. If you do the tasting menu plan on being there 2 - 2.5 hours. Well worth the time. My only issue was that we were seated outside (no complaint there, as the view was breathtaking) but we were next to a wedding ceremony and that kind of intruded on the quiet dinner we were looking forward to. If not for that it would have been 5 stars across the board.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Perfect in every way! Food, Service, View & Decor.

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Impeccable service with food to match! Had the Chef's tasting menu and was surprised and delighted with every course. Hard to describe every course nor would I do it injustice by trying. Suffice to say, I cant imagine anyone leaving here disappointed with either the food or service.

The service was attentive without being over bearing, gracious and professional, informative without a hint of condescension. Perfectly balanced in every regard.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Husband's 60th

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

We had a wonderful time celebrating my husband's 60th birthday at Studio. We ordered a la carte (not a tasting menu), but were able to choose things from the tasting menu as well, which was wonderful. I had the Dutch white asparagus starter - yum. Husband had grilled octopus, which he also enjoyed. For entrees, i had the seared sea bass (Mediterranean, not Chilean), which was *wonderful*, and husband had roasted veal ribeye, also delicious. We were so full we couldn't do dessert, but since it was a special occasion, the kitchen provided a fabulous complimentary birthday dessert (can't even remember what it was, but it was presented beautifully). It is *very* expensive, so, while i would heartily recommend it to friends, i'd have to give that caveat! We would go back if in the area (we were visiting from KY), and would love to stay at the inn too!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A fantastic dining experience!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

This was by far one of the best restaurants I have ever eaten at. The ambience and service was impeccable along with the food. I can not say enough great things about this restaurant. We had oysters and steak, was delicious. Had a chocolate ice cream dessert. So yummy! I definitely recommend this restaurant for a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great dining experience. Our waiter R ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

A great dining experience.

Our waiter Roger was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Experience

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

This was our second visit and both were fabulous. Having to be Gluten Free was absolutely not an issue here. They even made GF cheese rolls so I had bread, and amazingly tasting bread! Each course was so good that I actually wanted to see the menu after the fact to remember what I ate. A romantic amazing night!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a memorable dining experience. B ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Always a memorable dining experience. Beautiful location with outstanding food and service. Wonderful wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sad that James Boyce's is gone.

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

Studio was once our 'go to' place for a special occasion. We used to enjoy the outstanding culinary creations by James Boyce. His flavors were unique, sophisticated and creative. Those days are gone, as is the sophistication of the restaurant. The sommelier was not very helpful, having never traveled abroad. His descriptions of the champagnes and wines was rather simple and basic. The food served was not only bland, but completely uninteresting. The price point was definitely not worth it. The oysters were just bland. The sashimi had no flavor. And the worst part was that the truffle risotto (which admittedly was delicious - the only flavorful thing we ate) was outrageously expensive. The waiter should have told us the cost before we ordered. We are well aware of the cost of truffles, but generally they are sold by weight and one can determine the cost by the amount shaved on your dish. Here, unfortunately there was nothing mentioned. VERY, VERY disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Great dinner with a view

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

We chose to order off the menu rather than a tasting menu. The food was fantastic and the wine very good. Our server seemed to be struggling to provide as attentive service as we have experienced at Studio previously.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Our favorite

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 3, 2016

When my wife and I want to have a romantic dinner we always go to The Studio. It is not just the food which is outstanding but the service and the ambiance of the restaurant is very sensual. It is not often you have the quality of the food you find at The Studio without a stuffy feeling. The service at The studio is personable and attentive without being over bearing. It is a very comfortable environment to have a wonderful mea.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

disappointed

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

The plates were described as art. unfortunately, this required infinitely small portions. My wife's bean smear for her sea bass appeared like something from a babies diaper. Disappointed, i love the location especially Lucy and Desi, the palms.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Although we waited a bit for our table, ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Although we waited a bit for our table, management made up for it. The best dining experience in Laguna!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely Evening!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

What a Treat! I had been to the Studio about five years ago and thought it was such a special place. I was lucky to able to bring my son, for his birthday and my husband. We had such a nice experience. The food was wonderful and the service couldn't have been better. Everyone one was very attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.