About Studio at Montage Laguna Beach

30801 South Coast Highway
Laguna Beach, CA 92651
View Larger Map

With a panoramic oceanfront location and modern French cuisine with California influences, Studio is the portrait of beachside indulgence. A refined and inventive menu reflects masterful attention to detail accented with an elegant, creative touch. Ocean breezes, panoramic views and lush landscapes create a refreshing sense of place at the water’s edge and a fitting backdrop for the shared enjoyment of fine food and wine. Menus include à la carte selections of starters, entrées, cheeses and desserts; and a six-course seasonal prix-fixe Chef’s Tasting Menu. The wine list includes more than 2,200 wine labels, an extensive menu of wines-by-the-glass and suggested wine pairings for each dish. Small plates are also offered at the communal table and the turn-of-the-century bar.
Please note that Studio’s dress code does not permit shorts, tennis shoes, open-toed shoes, athletic or beach wear.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Contemporary American, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 715-6420

Website:
http://www.studiolagunabeach.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking ($15 after validation)

Executive Chef:
Craig Strong

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For the most cherished celebrations, only private dining will do. Montage Laguna Beach offers a variety of ways to combine the finest Southern California cuisine with an ambiance of complete comfort, privacy and impeccable service.

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Fri 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For the most cherished celebrations, only private dining will do. Studio at Montage Laguna Beach provides a plethora of opportunities to combine the finest Southern California cuisine with elegant comfort and impeccable service.

Studio at Montage Laguna Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Orange County
Best Service
Orange County
Best Ambiance
Orange County
7 More
Notable Wine List
Orange County
Romantic
Orange County
Best Overall
South Orange County
Best Service
South Orange County
Best Ambiance
South Orange County
Notable Wine List
South Orange County
Romantic
South Orange County
Best Restaurants in Laguna Beach ›

Romantic (50)
Special Occasion (48)
Scenic View (46)
See All
Notable Wine List (42)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for a Date (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Authentic (2)
Waterfront (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Private Room (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Cozy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
Newest
641 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The ambiance and view are spectacular an ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The ambiance and view are spectacular and the food was excellent. However, I was definitely impressed with the friendly service by all staff members. Great job.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Okay. For $450 for two, I left feeling ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Okay. For $450 for two, I left feeling a bit underwhelmed. The setting is very, very nice. Lovely ambiance for dinner, and they had the appropriate lighting and background music. The food was very good, but not excellent by any means. The sea bass was very fresh and perfectly cooked. The 'sphere' dessert was wonderful. The tomato salad was disappointing, to say the least. Gorgeous hotel and restaurant setting. The staff (except for one person) was excellent, and tried very hard to be attentive and anticipate one's needs. The maitre d' would be my biggest complaint. Snobbish, rude, and full of himself. Unfortunately, that is a hard first impression to overcome; he did not exude a 'welcome mat' by any means. Perplexing. The restaurant is generous with your time, and should be, but not good value by any means. If you are expecting the "Chef's Table," you might reconsider.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Food was excellent. Corkage fee was a bi ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Food was excellent. Corkage fee was a bit steep. Service was great although they didn't decant the wine we brought despite 2 requests (hence the 4 stars). Possibly the most tender piece of beef I've ever had. We've been there for our wedding anniversary for 13 straight years and we'll be back next year.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The bartender was very personable and ma ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The bartender was very personable and made a great martini. The ambience is wonderful with beautiful ocean views. The service was spotty. My main complaint is the food. The food lacked flavor. The sauces were tasteless and added no value to the meal. The price value was poor.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Bar none one of the best restaurants in ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Bar none one of the best restaurants in the world.

It's not only the spectacular setting; it's the way you're made to feel from the moment you arrive 'til the moment you reluctantly depart.

The dining experience is magnificent; the servers know the menu as though they've been offering it for years. One dish is more remarkable than another, and they graciously accept diet-required changes.

No part of your experience is left to chance, from candles, roses, meticulously pressed linens and breathtaking outdoor lighting, to service that never misses a beat. It's a 6-star experience to be savored and treasured. Thanks, Paul and Team Studio Montage. You did it yet again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow... We've been to The Studio a few ti ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Wow... We've been to The Studio a few time and it never... I mean never lets us down. The food and service are always 1st class. It will cost you for the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Extraordinary food, wine and service; hi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Extraordinary food, wine and service; high price tag.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This might be the best Restaurant in Ora ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

This might be the best Restaurant in Orange County. Everything was perfect. The Food, Service, Ambience, Staff and Décor. There was nothing you could criticize. They make this a perfect experience. Yes, it is expensive, but what a treat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant has impeccable service. ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

This restaurant has impeccable service. My congratulations to the chef as our meal was perfect in all regards. I will definitely return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always excellent! I would recommend for ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Always excellent! I would recommend for any occasion.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've eaten at Studio twice before and or ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

I've eaten at Studio twice before and ordered off the a la carte menu. I highly recommend going this route if you dine at Studio. Those meals were excellent. Studio is a gorgeous setting and usually the service is exceptional. The night I am reviewing for was a Tuesday and there was a large party in the private room near our table. I think we were not given very good service because the waiters were overwhelmed with the other group. My issue however was with the food. We did a six course tasting menu paired with wine. Including tip the meal was $650 for two people. That is about the same price as we paid for a three star Michelin restaurant in Paris (Epicure- incredible!) For that price we have high expectations and they simply were not met. My husband chose the meat and fish price fix and I had the vegetarian, meaning we tried twelve dishes between the two of us. I'd say five were 4 star, four were 3 star and five were two star. Try Madison at Grand Del Mar instead- the food, wine pairings and service is much better.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Our favorite place to eat and enjoy the ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Our favorite place to eat and enjoy the best views of the Pacific Ocean. Always great food and excellent service. Tasting menus are fabulous and always a treat!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We come from Los Angeles to eat here. Th ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We come from Los Angeles to eat here. This is one of the best restaurants we've been to and we are huge LA foodies. Food, service and ambience impeccable. The vegetarian tasting menu will satisfy any meat eater. Only room for improvement is desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional in every way!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Exceptional in every way!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I used to believe this was the finest di ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I used to believe this was the finest dining in south OC. Not anymore. Service was astonishingly poor. Tasting menu dinner was also uninspiring. Sad to see the old girl go downhill like this. Still am amazing location though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

Outstanding venue. Attention to detail ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Outstanding venue. Attention to detail by the staff was terrific

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If you're looking for memorable dining e ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

If you're looking for memorable dining experience with great service, great wine list and unobstructed view of the Pacific ocean, this is the place in South Laguna. I recommend it for special occasions. Expect to spend lots of money here but I think the experience is well worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Location was spectacular - views of the ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Location was spectacular - views of the ocean everywhere. Food was also great but very expensive - my entree which was the most expensive was $65.00. Entrees ranged from $49 to $65. and high twenties for the appetizers. Service was also very good. The tables were also nicely spaced so you weren't listening to a neighboring table's conversation. The only negative was that the waiters seemed disappointed that some of us didn't order appetizers -and they kept insisting the portions were small. We all had big lunches that day so didn't want to overeat and don't like waiters pushing us to order more. Other than that it was a very nice restaurant and amazing relaxing views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

A jewel of a location and experience. C ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

A jewel of a location and experience. Consistently superior experience.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellence in every possible way. The m ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Excellence in every possible way. The menu is limited yet always changing and the food has been outstanding in our dozen or so dinners over the past year. The views and the ambience rival any fine dining venue in the world. As for the service it is quiet, appropriate and friendly. Perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went there for our Anniversary. Ambiance ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Went there for our Anniversary. Ambiance was nice. They could not Valet our car due to big wedding so ended up being late because we had to find street parking. (Ridiculous). Appetizers were very good. Sea bass was very disappointing. Desserts were not that great. Was expecting an amazing meal and it was just okay. A bit disappointed. Wish we could have a do over!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

We dine at the Studio once or twice a ye ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We dine at the Studio once or twice a year for special occasions - in this case our 10 year anniversary. They have the best service of any restaurant in Orange County, by far. Though I have to say this time they weren't quite up to their usual standard. Our waiter seemed to forget about us a few times, which is extremely unusual for the Studio - seemed like he was a little off his game that night. Nothing too bad - just not up to their usual high standard. We had a dessert that came 10 minutes later than another dessert that was served. And I had to get up to find our waiter to request our check after an unusually long delay - we were long finished with our meal - again, not the usual experience at the Studio - usually their service is extremely well timed and effortless.

As usual, the kitchen is amazing - incredible flavors, wine pairings (love their sommelier). I almost always go for the tasting menu and have never been disappointed by the chef's creativity. My wife has a gluten allergy, and we are both totally addicted to their gluten free rolls - better than the regular bread!

Just a little disappointing that their service was a bit off that night, but again, 90% vs. their usual 110%. Just left a bad taste given how much we spend for a special evening there.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

It was a perfect California summer eveni ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

It was a perfect California summer evening. The view was lovely as we watched the sun set over the Pacific and the food was exquisite. The service was impeccable and the special birthday cake we ordered was one of a kind...rich, moist and delicious. We took photos and sent it to close friends and family. They all commented about the beautiful nautical decorations, which they knew I loved. Thank you Studio staff and chefs for an outstanding celebration.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

Great service, and food. I was our 42nd ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great service, and food. I was our 42nd anniversary and service and warmthness made dinner experience most remembered one. Three course dinner was great and we had to pass our desert but a big surprise was waiting for us. We are treated with special desert.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was insane. I am a carnivore, b ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was insane. I am a carnivore, but the 6-course vegetarian menu selections I sampled made me seriously think about converting - they were THAT good!

The wait staff was exceptional. Wonderful wine recommendations and they made our special evening that much nicer.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Made for a memorable and romantic 30th a ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Made for a memorable and romantic 30th anniversary dinner. The service, food and setting were perfect

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Outdoor patio table at sunset --- best f ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Outdoor patio table at sunset --- best food and view combination in Southern California. Hands down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the most elegant, yet welcoming ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This is the most elegant, yet welcoming restaurant we have ever encountered. That's after having dined at restaurants in Europe, Hong Kong, mainland China, Bali. The staff to guest ratio is impressive, the food is wonderful and amazingly served, and sitting at the edge of the Pacific Ocean is this lovely cottage that holds many culinary treasures. The staff is knowledgeable, engaging and never far from fulfilling a need.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, service and atmosphere were perfec ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food, service and atmosphere were perfect!!! Was a little reluctant to dine here with our 6yo and 3yo but they behaved and our server was very accommodating with our children's meals.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic restaurant in one of the most ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Fantastic restaurant in one of the most beautiful settings in the world. Excellent food, excellent service, simply flawless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrating 34 years of marriage with ou ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Celebrating 34 years of marriage with our 2 great kids ! Outdoor seating unbelievable service , food, view and people. The entire staff was so aware so friendly and so great in orchestrated effort to exceed our every need and want. WoW !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A dining experience not just a meal .ent ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

A dining experience not just a meal .enthustic greeting,seated outdoors,with breathtaking views,food served was perfect,with well trained personal.Will go again when ever near. Herb & Elizabeth Anderson

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Perfect. Each dish was well-thought out ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Perfect. Each dish was well-thought out and executed with skill and finesse. So delicious and so uniquely wonderful. You can't beat the food, the wine and the setting!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a fine dining experience- Lots an ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Always a fine dining experience- Lots and lots of staff, and therefore attention!

Food always well prepared and relatively special. Expensive, so I suggest as an extra special dinner...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Dined here with my wife on a Saturday ni ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Dined here with my wife on a Saturday night. This really should have been a 5-star experience, but it turned out to be a 2-star disappointment, and we were not the only ones. Other diners were visibly and audibly upset - some just got up and left as their food was arriving 1 ½ hours later. My wife and I had the wine paired tasting menu ($250 x 2) and it took them 4 hours to finalize it. Wine served with no food, food served with no wine. Nothing served at all for long periods of time. It was really bad. I don’t know if they were just having an “off” night, but it was unacceptable. It was my wife’s birthday, so I tried to remain upbeat, but they really didn’t execute their dinner service well at all.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

Studio is amazing! Everything from the ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Studio is amazing! Everything from the food to the wine to the service to the view. We really loved the Tasting Menu where they bring you small plates continuously throughout the meal. Be prepared to pay for this top notch restaurant. You probably will not get out of there for under $500 for 2 people. Save it for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the tasting menu paired with the pre ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Had the tasting menu paired with the premium wines. Very worthwhile. The champagne to open with was a little flat and I pointed that out . The sommelier came over and admitted the bottle was from the day before . He opened a new bottle and it was a huge difference . The sommelier was very apologetic and made up for it big time after that. The food was outstanding , the service outstanding and you cannot beat the view .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always spectacular food, service and amb ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Always spectacular food, service and ambiance at this very special restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to the Studio on a number of ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I have been to the Studio on a number of occasions, 7 to be exact. I always walk away hungry and disappointed. I go over and over because of the spectacular one of a kind setting. This charming craftsman structure on the cliff below the resort is a gem of an experience. The food however is a different story. The menu is limited, lots of creative seafood dishes with essence of this or that. nothing of substance and the portions are laughable. I eat all over the world on a regular basis and I just don't understand how a top notch resort with such a fantastic space and staff can serve such subpar food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

All around great

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

All around great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.