About Studio at Montage Laguna Beach

30801 South Coast Highway
Laguna Beach, CA 92651
View Larger Map

With a panoramic oceanfront location and modern French cuisine with California influences, Studio is the portrait of beachside indulgence. A refined and inventive menu reflects masterful attention to detail accented with an elegant, creative touch. Ocean breezes, panoramic views and lush landscapes create a refreshing sense of place at the water’s edge and a fitting backdrop for the shared enjoyment of fine food and wine. Menus include à la carte selections of starters, entrées, cheeses and desserts; and a six-course seasonal prix-fixe Chef’s Tasting Menu. The wine list includes more than 2,200 wine labels, an extensive menu of wines-by-the-glass and suggested wine pairings for each dish. Small plates are also offered at the communal table and the turn-of-the-century bar.
Please note that Studio’s dress code does not permit shorts, tennis shoes, open-toed shoes, athletic or beach wear.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary French, Contemporary American, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 715-6420

Website:
http://www.studiolagunabeach.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking ($15 after validation)

Executive Chef:
Craig Strong

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
For the most cherished celebrations, only private dining will do. Montage Laguna Beach offers a variety of ways to combine the finest Southern California cuisine with an ambiance of complete comfort, privacy and impeccable service.

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Fri 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For the most cherished celebrations, only private dining will do. Studio at Montage Laguna Beach provides a plethora of opportunities to combine the finest Southern California cuisine with elegant comfort and impeccable service.

Studio at Montage Laguna Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

noise

Quiet

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Orange County
Best Service
Orange County
Best Ambiance
Orange County
9 More
Notable Wine List
Orange County
Romantic
Orange County
Best Overall
South Orange County
Best Food
South Orange County
Best Service
South Orange County
Best Ambiance
South Orange County
Notable Wine List
South Orange County
Romantic
South Orange County
Special Occasion
South Orange County
Best Restaurants in Laguna Beach ›

special occasion (34)
scenic view (32)
romantic (30)
See All
notable wine list (28)
fit for foodies (27)
great for outdoor dining (15)
neighborhood gem (5)
great for lunch (2)
hot spot (2)
great for brunch (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
good for groups (1)
Sort By:
Newest
582 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Marvellous

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Everything was wonderful. Decided to try the tasting menu with the wine selection. Service and timing was impeccable, not that easy with all those courses. Great to get there a bit early and enjoy world class views of the coastline and beaches south.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

Amazing setting. Wonderful view of the o ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Amazing setting. Wonderful view of the ocean. Impeccable service. Too expensive. So so food

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Special

Dined on May 1, 2016

Yes, it's out of the way (for those who don't live in Orange County); but, for a special occasion or a weekender out of town, it is an exceptional experience worth the drive. Very attentive staff.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Fantastic Evening

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

We had an absolutely delightful evening watching a beautiful sunset while enjoying the tasting menu. Everything was superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Unimpressed

Dined on April 24, 2016

Disappointed in vegetarian tasting menu. Price point way too high for the overall experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent in every possible way

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

One of the only really fine dining restaurants in Orange County. exceptionally creative chef, professional service staff, fine wines, no pressure and no rush. Always a great evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

First expect to spend a lot. This is a s ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

First expect to spend a lot. This is a special occasion place for sure. That being said, if you know that coming in you won't be disappointed! The food was unbelievably imaginative and outstanding. Some of the best I have ever had. I have never had better service in my life. We had 4 or 5 different servers throughout the evening and they were all incredible. Saul was our main sever and he was incredible. Bobby the sommelier was second to none. We had the tasting menu and each dish came out promptly and was explained to us every time. The plating was unbelievable. If you do the tasting menu plan on being there 2 - 2.5 hours. Well worth the time. My only issue was that we were seated outside (no complaint there, as the view was breathtaking) but we were next to a wedding ceremony and that kind of intruded on the quiet dinner we were looking forward to. If not for that it would have been 5 stars across the board.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect in every way! Food, Service, View & Decor.

Dined on April 16, 2016

Impeccable service with food to match! Had the Chef's tasting menu and was surprised and delighted with every course. Hard to describe every course nor would I do it injustice by trying. Suffice to say, I cant imagine anyone leaving here disappointed with either the food or service. The service was attentive without being over bearing, gracious and professional, informative without a hint of condescension. Perfectly balanced in every regard.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Husband's 60th

Dined on April 10, 2016

We had a wonderful time celebrating my husband's 60th birthday at Studio. We ordered a la carte (not a tasting menu), but were able to choose things from the tasting menu as well, which was wonderful. I had the Dutch white asparagus starter - yum. Husband had grilled octopus, which he also enjoyed. For entrees, i had the seared sea bass (Mediterranean, not Chilean), which was *wonderful*, and husband had roasted veal ribeye, also delicious. We were so full we couldn't do dessert, but since it was a special occasion, the kitchen provided a fabulous complimentary birthday dessert (can't even remember what it was, but it was presented beautifully). It is *very* expensive, so, while i would heartily recommend it to friends, i'd have to give that caveat! We would go back if in the area (we were visiting from KY), and would love to stay at the inn too!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fantastic dining experience!

Dined on March 16, 2016

This was by far one of the best restaurants I have ever eaten at. The ambience and service was impeccable along with the food. I can not say enough great things about this restaurant. We had oysters and steak, was delicious. Had a chocolate ice cream dessert. So yummy! I definitely recommend this restaurant for a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A great dining experience. Our waiter R ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

A great dining experience. Our waiter Roger was fantastic.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Experience

Dined on February 28, 2016

This was our second visit and both were fabulous. Having to be Gluten Free was absolutely not an issue here. They even made GF cheese rolls so I had bread, and amazingly tasting bread! Each course was so good that I actually wanted to see the menu after the fact to remember what I ate. A romantic amazing night!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a memorable dining experience. B ...

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

Always a memorable dining experience. Beautiful location with outstanding food and service. Wonderful wine list.

food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Sad that James Boyce's is gone.

vip
Dined on February 5, 2016

Studio was once our 'go to' place for a special occasion. We used to enjoy the outstanding culinary creations by James Boyce. His flavors were unique, sophisticated and creative. Those days are gone, as is the sophistication of the restaurant. The sommelier was not very helpful, having never traveled abroad. His descriptions of the champagnes and wines was rather simple and basic. The food served was not only bland, but completely uninteresting. The price point was definitely not worth it. The oysters were just bland. The sashimi had no flavor. And the worst part was that the truffle risotto (which admittedly was delicious - the only flavorful thing we ate) was outrageously expensive. The waiter should have told us the cost before we ordered. We are well aware of the cost of truffles, but generally they are sold by weight and one can determine the cost by the amount shaved on your dish. Here, unfortunately there was nothing mentioned. VERY, VERY disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great dinner with a view

vip
Dined on February 4, 2016

We chose to order off the menu rather than a tasting menu. The food was fantastic and the wine very good. Our server seemed to be struggling to provide as attentive service as we have experienced at Studio previously.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite

vip
Dined on February 3, 2016

When my wife and I want to have a romantic dinner we always go to The Studio. It is not just the food which is outstanding but the service and the ambiance of the restaurant is very sensual. It is not often you have the quality of the food you find at The Studio without a stuffy feeling. The service at The studio is personable and attentive without being over bearing. It is a very comfortable environment to have a wonderful mea.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

disappointed

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

The plates were described as art. unfortunately, this required infinitely small portions. My wife's bean smear for her sea bass appeared like something from a babies diaper. Disappointed, i love the location especially Lucy and Desi, the palms.

food5
ambience5
service5

Although we waited a bit for our table, ...

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

Although we waited a bit for our table, management made up for it. The best dining experience in Laguna!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Evening!

Dined on January 17, 2016

What a Treat! I had been to the Studio about five years ago and thought it was such a special place. I was lucky to able to bring my son, for his birthday and my husband. We had such a nice experience. The food was wonderful and the service couldn't have been better. Everyone one was very attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The kitchen lacks creativity. When asked ...

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

The kitchen lacks creativity. When asked to provide a beef tenderloin with a non-dairy sauce, it was served un-sauced and was very dry. The smoked trout appetizer had only a minimal trace of smoked trout. The wine list is comprehensive, but at up to 4X retail it seems unnecessarily over-priced. Oh, service was efficient and friendly.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection in Dining!

Dined on January 17, 2016

This was my 5th or 6th visit to the Studio and the place never dissappoints. It's not just the food, it's also the staff and the setting. The place is expensive but well worth the price!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Definition of perfection.

Dined on January 16, 2016

Definition of perfection.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Food in Laguna

Dined on January 10, 2016

Celebrated 28th Anniversary, the meal, service and atmosphere was absolutely outstanding! Can't wait to go back and try some other items on the menu and watch the sunset again, congratulations to the chef and his staff for creating one of best meals we've ever had! Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were above expectat ...

Dined on December 12, 2015

The food and service were above expectation. The wine that was paired with each course was spot on. Our experience was made special for a special occasion.

food5
ambience5
service5

What can I say....special and spectacular

vip
Dined on November 27, 2015

Don't miss this location, excellent on all levels. Bring your black card!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5

Pillows of pleasure

Dined on November 26, 2015

If you order the most expensive things (and if you don't, don't bother) you will know/experience how heaven treats their VIPs. The staff is 100%, the chef is 81%.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Julia Radovcich

Dined on November 18, 2015

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary here and we were treated like royalty! The food was fabulous and each dish was presented as a piece of edible artwork! The service was second to none! I highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A wonderful Birthday Dinner

Dined on October 31, 2015

The Studio is a high end restaurant, so bring your wallet. Excellent views of the Pacific Ocean from both inside and outside tables. The restaurant features a top end wine list, with Dom Perignon and Caviar available for a nice starter. The menu offers excellent entrees featuring Steaks, Pork and Seafood. The service is excellent and they make you feel welcome and special when celebrating a Birthday or Anniversary. Gary, the wine sommelier, is quite knowledgeable and very friendly and professional. The whole experience, while at the top end of my price scale, was quite worth the dollars spent.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Special Occasion

Dined on October 30, 2015

We absolutely loved our dining experience...very expensive and we won't be going often, but for a special occasion we would treat ourselves here again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great way to Celebrate a Wedding Anniversary

Dined on October 24, 2015

My husband and I had a phenomenal evening celebrating our 42nd Wedding Anniversary with very close friends. The cocktails as starters were exceptional. The serving staff were fabulous and anticipated every thing you might need to enjoy your meal, and everyone was served at the same time like a well orchestrated unit. Our meals and the food presentation were beyond compare. The atmosphere being near the ocean was superb! Worth every dollar we spent!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful restaurant with amazing food.

vip
Dined on October 19, 2015

Beautiful restaurant with amazing food.

food4
ambience5
service5

Great night

vip
Dined on October 16, 2015

Had the tasting menu here again and was able to tweak it a bit to suit tastes. Nice option. Also tried the Grand Wine Tasting. Wasn't perfect but very nice. Always a special evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb dining experience. It is outrageo ...

vip
Dined on October 12, 2015

Superb dining experience. It is outrageously expensive but worth every penny. The setting, service, and food were all spectacular. I will definitely be back.

food3
ambience5
service5

Location, Location, Location...

vip
Dined on October 10, 2015

True, cant beat the view and spectacular position on the bluffs over the Pacific; we watched the sunset. Its not the first time (and probably not the last) we have dined here. The service is impeccable, knowledgeable staff with the proper manners befitting a restaurant where diners typically spend over $100 per person. And now the food. I must say my wife and I were disappointed with the main dishes; tenderloin and lamb were both on the dry side and somewhat 'tasteless'. (Perhaps its because we had had foie gras and a speck risotto beforehand, which were outstanding, by the way.) The meat was simply dry and a let down for us. Nevertheless their wines are good, value priced for the lesser ones (St Supery was less than $50), so we consoled ourselves with that and the fantastic California sunset over the Pacific. Auf wiedersehen, Studio.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service2

Overraterd

Dined on October 9, 2015

The view here is amazing but the food did not live up to our expectation. Service was very slow and considering the restuarant was not busy we felt it was not worth the money. My husband and I ordered 4 courses each and we both only love 1 each the rest were mediocre.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent. We had the duck ...

vip
Dined on October 8, 2015

The food was excellent. We had the duck and fillet. It was prepared great, the presentation was high class and the taste was outstanding. Our service was even better. Miguel catered to our every need. He did an excellent job. This is a 5-star restaurant with exceptional service. I recommend the Studio for all occasions from a friendly gathering to a romantic night.

food4
ambience4
service5

Amazing Service innovative food and wine

Dined on October 3, 2015

Fantastic service to be had at Studio as well as amazing views over the Pacific and very interesting wine list! Tasting menu along with paired wines not cheap but great for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect Birthday Celebration

Dined on October 3, 2015

A few years ago I took my wife to celebrate our anniversary and the experience was not one I remember well. From average food from a bland menu to service that was fair at best, I admit trepidation to taking her there with our boys for her birthday. How time changes things. We had a fantastic time, from Roger and his impeccable attentive staff to enjoying a wide array of expertly and perfectly prepared and paired foods. Memories have no price. While some may find the prices high, when everything is perfect, when your adult and adolescent children feel comfortable and welcome while enjoying everything as much as you and your wife do, there is no price too high to pay for that memory. Whether you are trying to impress a business associate or celebrate a special occasion, there is no finer place to do than so than the Studio.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The absolute best.

vip
Dined on October 1, 2015

We have dined at many of the best restaurants in the country, and this stands as our absolute favorite. The entire experience was 5 star. Service is off the charts and VERY personable. The food was out of this world and creative. The tasting menu is the way to go, let Chef Craig do his thing! Jesse, the sommelier was the most impressive and informative that I have ever experienced. When you combine the food and service with the setting (on the cliff overlooking the Pacific), this is the absolute best. How Michelin hasn't yet recognized this place is beyond m e!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5

disappointing, overpriced nibbles

Dined on September 19, 2015

food quality was average, certainly not 5*; disappointingly micro portions - i had a 5 course meal, and literally had taken 6 bites of food by the 4th course. Best part of restaurant was service and ambience. Food far too average tasting to be 5*. No French Laundry, No Charlie Trotters.

Tags: fit for foodies

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.