About Stratus

79 Wellington St. West
TD Waterhouse Tower- 36th Floor
Toronto, ON M5K 1J5
View Larger Map

Located high above the sky, Stratus is one of Toronto’s best kept secrets.


Stratus restaurant has been providing its guests with exquisite cuisine and impeccable service for more than a decade. We invite you to experience our spectacular dishes from around the world that will impress and
awe your guests as they enjoy the breathtaking views of the city, harbour and islands.


Our staff and chefs will ensure your dining experience is high above the rest.


At Stratus, the sky’s the limit.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, International, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:30am

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am -4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Bay and Wellington

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 865-1924

Website:
http://www.stratusrestaurant.com/

Catering:
We are now taking reservations for Fall and Winter event bookings.
Please contact us at: events@stratusrestaurant.com
or 416-865-0900 ext. 5225.

Parking Details:
There is parking available directly under our building in the South TD Tower

Rates: $10 after 5:30pm, $20 if there is an event at the Air Canada Center.

Cadillac Fairview Contact:(416) 366-1423

Public Transit:
If you are arriving via the TTC the closest subway station is Union Station. Via the King Streetcar the closest intersection is King and Bay.

Executive Chef:
Martha Wright

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Stratus Restaurant is one of Toronto's best kept secrets. Sitting 36 floors high, diners can enjoy stunning views of the harbour, islands and city. Specializing in corporate and landmark occasions, several private dining spaces are available for presentations, dining and cocktail events.

Stratus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Global, International
Toronto / Ontario
Scenic View
Toronto
Best Restaurants in Downtown/ Financial District ›

scenic view (52)
great for lunch (36)
special occasion (35)
See All
fit for foodies (28)
good for groups (19)
romantic (15)
neighborhood gem (12)
notable wine list (9)
vibrant bar scene (8)
late-night find (5)
great for brunch (5)
hot spot (5)
great for outdoor dining (3)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
107 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Visited Stratus with my business partner ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Visited Stratus with my business partners from Australia and we had a very nice dinner. Food and view are great. Maybe better selection of Canadian wines

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Really slow to get our food.

Dined on May 2, 2016

We were there for a business lunch and it took over 50 minutes to get our food after ordering...

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great as usual!

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

We love coming here - everything is always so good. The views are great so we often bring visitors to Toronto here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A fun Toronto foodie destination with ex ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

A fun Toronto foodie destination with exceptional bar tending... and then there's the view of the setting sun from the 36th floor! Our visiting friends from England loved it and even took a photo of the scatter cushions! We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

second time visit

Dined on April 14, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed a late night business meeting at Stratus. The salmon and duck confit were both very well prepared. My only wish, however, would be for some kind of beef dish to be a regular item on the menu. There are specials that come up during the week but when you're traveling from outside the city, that doesn't always work out. Twice I've missed out! Wine list has price points for a variety of tastes and overall very nice choices. Ambiance and view is hard to beat.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Elegant room, spectacular view, excellen ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

Elegant room, spectacular view, excellent food and great service. Awesome way to start the day.

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great except for servers.

Dined on April 12, 2016

I liked everything about this restaurant but the servers. They constantly interrupted conversations, where it was clear that we wanted privacy. Also interrupted as in order to remove dishes. I found it quite disturbing.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere and fantastic views

Dined on March 21, 2016

Our party of three thoroughly enjoyed our lunch at Stratus. The service was excellent and recommendations were spot on. When I'm in the downtown area it's my go too restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Great service and awesome view! Waiter ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

Great service and awesome view! Waiter was very attentive and food tasted good...

food5
ambience5
service4

Went for my Dad's birthday dinner, had a ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

Went for my Dad's birthday dinner, had an amazing view of the city. Food was excellent, everyone enjoyed their time. I especially enjoyed the Duck Confit Carbonara. Would definitely go again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and excellent service

Dined on March 8, 2016

We went for a lunch there. Ordered soup of the day which was pear & parsnip – was very delicious. For main we ordered trout, the catch of that day, which was very tender juicy with crisp skin – yummy yummy …

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for business lunches

Dined on March 4, 2016

Great for business lunches

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

View spectacular. Food was good. Requir ...

Dined on February 29, 2016

View spectacular. Food was good. Require a little more variety on the menu and more vegetarian options.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food, view, and service! ;)

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Amazing food, view, and service! ;)

food5
ambience3
service3

The carrot ginger puree was outstanding.

Dined on February 12, 2016

The carrot ginger puree was outstanding.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great atmosphere

Dined on February 12, 2016

Enjoyed the fantastic view over lunch. Excellent wine selection, the food was good. Everyone seemed to arrive at once so the waiter didn't bring my mango chutney until I was most of the way through my meal.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

Not a very extensive menu. I had the pas ...

Dined on February 4, 2016

Not a very extensive menu. I had the pasta; it was good but not amazing. Wine was pricey by the glass.

food5
ambience5
service5

Here for a mid-afternoon meeting and it ...

Dined on January 27, 2016

Here for a mid-afternoon meeting and it was very quiet. Just what we were looking for. Service was unobtrusive but there when needed.

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Excellent experience!

Dined on January 20, 2016

Great spot for a business meeting with a fantastic view! It is definitely the best kept secret in downtown TO.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Great for business breakfasts, but slow service

Dined on January 7, 2016

Great location, ambiance, food, etc. All guests (arriving at different times) had to wait for the hostess to return, and we had to ask twice for coffees and jam. I'm assuming it was an off-day for an otherwise excellent place. View, food and ambiance were all excellent, and while service was off a little, everyone was very polite and the experience was overall good.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved Stratus

Dined on December 29, 2015

Went for a pre-game meal and were blown away by the value, the food and the view. Great place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service3

Nice group get together place

Dined on December 11, 2015

Spectacular scen on the 36th floor of TD Waterhouse buidling. Food is ok in general. My friends ordered the fisg taco, butter chicken and they said it's good, but the Blue crab cobb salad is a disappointment. Servers are very friendly and provided good service.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Wonderful spot, great view good food, a ...

Dined on December 9, 2015

Wonderful spot, great view good food, and excellent service

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Always good food with great service

Dined on December 2, 2015

It is a bit of a secret in the financial district. It is a gem. You will need to book a reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Senior Managing Partner

Dined on November 20, 2015

Very good food and service. Excellent place to network with other senior executives

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great View - Not Canoe

vip
Dined on November 18, 2015

Great mushroom soup, trout feature cooked to perfection, cheese plate underwhelming.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Great for lunch with a spectacular view ...

vip
Dined on October 28, 2015

Great for lunch with a spectacular view of the city.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service is always excellent ...

Dined on October 22, 2015

The food and service is always excellent thanks you

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food & a spectacular view

Dined on October 15, 2015

Evan our server was really great, anticipating our group's need to talk at length before ordering. The food was so fresh tasting and light, and packed with flavour. We had a table in the middle of the room and still had breathtaking views of the Toronto skyline and lake. We'll be back for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service5

Food was excellent for 2 of us, but one ...

vip
Dined on October 8, 2015

Food was excellent for 2 of us, but one person had a poorly made lunch (tasted burnt). She should have sent it back but did not.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

After eating the catch day, I've decided ...

Dined on September 29, 2015

After eating the catch day, I've decided to go ahead with hosting a formal event at the venue. If you like spectacular views, great food and service this is the place.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Lunch Spot

Dined on September 17, 2015

One of my favorite places for lunch - especially on a clear sunny day The food and the service is always great.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience2
service5

Stratus - Excellent service, but average overall.

Dined on September 9, 2015

I'd expect a view of the harbour from the 36th floor to be more impressive - and it would have been, had the windows been relatively clean (worst I've seen in any tower view restaurant). If you want to be awed by the view, stick to evening dining. Food was good, but not good value for the price. Service was exceptional - our waiter was very attentive without being intrusive, but I would not recommend this restaurant for the venue itself (it doesn't help that the washrooms are in the change rooms of the athletic club located on the same floor).

food4
ambience4
service5

always a great breakfast spot

Dined on August 19, 2015

elegant and simple - always delicious - a nice change from eggs & toast

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

never a bad meal

Dined on August 13, 2015

i frequent this venue....almost on a weekly basis. My client is always impressed with the nice view, great/sincere service, good food & good wine. We had their beef carpaccio and prosciutto as appetizer. I ordered an omelette. 2 of my client ordered the veal and 1 ordered the butter chicken. Everything is delicious. We ordered a bottle of Tempanillo for $65. We are loved the wine. Service is great as usual. Not pretentious but attentive and courteous. Just keep coming back for more and more!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4

I was disappointed that the tacos were n ...

Dined on August 4, 2015

I was disappointed that the tacos were no no longer on the menu

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

excellent breakfasts

Dined on July 30, 2015

Inventive omelettes and excellent granola, Stratus makes breakfast a lovely meal

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

I thoroughly enjoyed the lunch and the a ...

Dined on July 27, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed the lunch and the atmosphere of the restaurant. i have made another reservation for next week

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience1
service2

Boy's Club?

vip
Dined on July 21, 2015

Just had my last ever visit to Stratus. Had been noticing a pattern that tables of women (or where a woman is the first to arrive for a reservation) seemed to be relegated to the interior tables, behind pillars and at the door. Reconfirmed yet again this past visit. Have no patience for this anymore.

food3
ambience1
service5

Normally I really enjoy this restaurant. ...

Dined on July 20, 2015

Normally I really enjoy this restaurant. Great view and very good food. We arrived intending to have a nice quiet dinner, but had to put up with an ongoing event behind panels that were not very soundproof and often with the door open and people wandering very close to our table to socialize. Our server was very nice and apologetic and they comped us a dessert, but overall it was not a pleasant experience. Beef carpaccio was excellent. Dessert tart a bit soggy.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.