About Stratus

Located high above the sky, Stratus is one of Toronto’s best kept secrets.


Stratus restaurant has been providing its guests with exquisite cuisine and impeccable service for more than a decade. We invite you to experience our spectacular dishes from around the world that will impress and
awe your guests as they enjoy the breathtaking views of the city, harbour and islands.


Our staff and chefs will ensure your dining experience is high above the rest.


At Stratus, the sky’s the limit.

79 Wellington St. West
TD Waterhouse Tower- 36th Floor
Toronto, ON M5K 1J5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, International, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:30am

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am -4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Bay and Wellington

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 865-1924

Website:
http://www.stratusrestaurant.com/

Catering:
We are now taking reservations for Fall and Winter event bookings.
Please contact us at: events@stratusrestaurant.com
or 416-865-0900 ext. 5225.

Parking Details:
There is parking available directly under our building in the South TD Tower

Rates: $10 after 5:30pm, $20 if there is an event at the Air Canada Center.

Cadillac Fairview Contact:(416) 366-1423

Public Transit:
If you are arriving via the TTC the closest subway station is Union Station. Via the King Streetcar the closest intersection is King and Bay.

Executive Chef:
Martha Wright

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Stratus Restaurant is one of Toronto's best kept secrets. Sitting 36 floors high, diners can enjoy stunning views of the harbour, islands and city. Specializing in corporate and landmark occasions, several private dining spaces are available for presentations, dining and cocktail events.

Stratus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (17)
Business Meals (16)
Great for Lunch (11)
See All
Special Occasion (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Romantic (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Healthy (6)
Casual (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Seasonal (2)
Waterfront (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Organic (2)
Private Room (2)
Cozy (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
People Watching (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Authentic (1)
Fun (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
147 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I really wanted to enjoy this place with ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined 7 days ago

I really wanted to enjoy this place with all the awesome reviews but the meal was rather disappointing. Had the mushroom soup, catch of the day (scallops) and short rib risotto. Food came out lukewarm. Scallops were cooked lightly- waitress confirmed they are supposed to remain raw inside which I was not expecting since the menu only described it as pan seared scallops. Risotto was a Berry risotto which is much more fiberous and chewy, I would've preferred the traditional creamy risotto to be honest. The view was great and service was attentive. Came with a complimentary bread basket with humus which was a nice touch. However, not sure that I would come back for the food.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent location for a downtown busine ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent location for a downtown business lunch or special occasion . The service was great. The waiter noticed the sun was coming in on our table and made a point of closing the blinds.

His knowledge f the food was excellent.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tables too close together for a business ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Tables too close together for a business lunch. Very loud. Use to be a lot better.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value3

Great food. Great service. A great view ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great food. Great service. A great view of Toronto especially... 10/10 would recommend for a tourist or a romantic date with your partner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants in downto ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 1, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in downtown Toronto

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and views of downtown Toro ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Great service and views of downtown Toronto.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was perfect! The food, service and at ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 27, 2017

It was perfect!

The food, service and atmosphere was exactly what I was looking for.

The staff also left a hand signed birthday card for my daughter.

Great evening was had by all.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service. Great view. Had a salad ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great service. Great view. Had a salad with chicken breast. Perhaps i missed it or it was not entirely clear in the menu but the dressing was blue cheese based. Waiter should have called this out as blue cheese is a love it or hate it type of flavour.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

A gorgeous view and fresh, classic menu ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 25, 2017

A gorgeous view and fresh, classic menu delivered by efficient and competent servers

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great atmosphere, good food and ambiance ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great atmosphere, good food and ambiance but disappointed with the service. Had we been trying to get to the theater on time we would have been late. Waiter forgot to bring glass of wine with meal, in fact never saw him again until it was time for the bill. That being said, the rest of the staff was great, very friendly and helpful.

We will be back!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Really great location and atmosphere!

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Really great location and atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I meet at Stratus, pre-Ra ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

My husband and I meet at Stratus, pre-Raptors game. It's a great way to end the work week and slide into the weekend. Service is wonderful, food is very good, wine list is impressive. We really enjoy it.

Tags: Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Organic, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place, spectacular view, and exc ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 9, 2017

A great place, spectacular view, and excellent service. A very nice place to have a meal.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A great view. Good food and service. Win ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 21, 2016

A great view. Good food and service. Wine list charges are high, with a 9 oz glass starting at $20.

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Always a great meal. My favorite place i ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Always a great meal. My favorite place in the city. It's just too bad it's not open on the weekends. :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stratus consistently delivers great food ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Stratus consistently delivers great food and customer service.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view was awesome, the food was very ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The view was awesome, the food was very good, slightly pricey but the taste and quality were worth it. The service was great. I would recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I have been several times in the past an ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 2, 2016

I have been several times in the past and had a great experience. On this occasion the service was really quite terrible. We received our food almost 45 minutes after ordering! I understand that restaurants get busy, but it's how it was handled that was disappointing. There was no pro-active apology or updates on our order. In addition, although all other tables had a bread basket, one was not provided to us until we asked for one to help tide us over.

Again at the end, after we had to inhale our meals in 5 minutes to get to a meeting (for which we were late) there was no apology or acknowledgement about the slow service. Overall, a disappointing experience.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

We went for drinks with friends from out ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We went for drinks with friends from out of town and a view of the city. Service was very very slow and drinks were small and bill was big (relative to size of the drinks) - there are better alternatives!!!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Business lunch. I enjoy the view and loc ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Business lunch. I enjoy the view and location. Service is attentive. Food is quite good. We both had the Kale salad with chicken. Price is reasonable for the location and food quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service always top notch. Setting and vi ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Service always top notch. Setting and view excellent. Food never disappoints. Great value for the "top of the house" experience.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

There was a private function and during ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 5, 2016

There was a private function and during our dinner the door swung open and smashed into one of my guests sitting in the chair. No injury but could have been ugly. Ended up moving chairs.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Stratus is always excellent, never disap ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Stratus is always excellent, never disappoints. I'm only sorry that reserving a week in advance didn't get me a seat by the window.

Tags: Fit for Foodies,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was good however service was except ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Food was good however service was exceptionally slow. Waiting over 12 minutes to be addressed after I was seated. On two different occasions we had to get up to locate our server.

Tags: Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

I loved breakfast here. Went for a busi ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 13, 2016

I loved breakfast here. Went for a business meal, we sat in the window which views all of Toronto Island from high up above The Royal York. I had a bagel and smoked salmon. I would have thought I was eating it in NYC as it tasted like it tastes there. Friendly, accommodating and professional staff. Coffee was also delicious. I thought the price tag would match the view but it was very reasonable. I can't wait to go there again. Best Breakfast view in Toronto! Likely all of Canada

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just went for drinks. Loved the view. Wi ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Just went for drinks. Loved the view. Will go again and try dinner. Enjoyed the experience...more than the date!

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The view is spectacular and the service ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 1, 2016

The view is spectacular and the service was excellent. The waitress provided menu details that made selection easy. It was a business luncheon and the atmosphere enabled an interesting discussion. It was a very successful and interesting meeting! Thank you.

Tags: Scenic View, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great view of the water. For this price ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great view of the water.

For this price range the food was disappointing. I was underwhelmed by apps, main and dessert. Need better vegetarian options - the eggplant main was raw in the middle. The creme brule dessert was not great at all.

Locations and views are excellent for a business meeting - but food was a disappointment.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

It's interesting when I mention this res ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 19, 2016

It's interesting when I mention this restaurant to people how many of them haven't heard of Stratus. This was our third visit to this restaurant and each time the food has been great. The butter chicken was amazing as was (my favourite) the organic salmon. The menu choices aren't as plentiful as what you might find at other restaurants but they do offer one of every protein which is okay. Wine list was suitable for a variety of budgets. Aside from the great food, the view was spectacular atop the TD tower. Definitely will go back for seconds ... or 4ths now.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fantastic view out to the lake and goo ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 14, 2016

A fantastic view out to the lake and good food carefully prepared. Service was attentive without being intrusive.

A great lunch option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice view, enjoyed the service and the f ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Nice view, enjoyed the service and the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always delish! I love Stratus. I was int ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Always delish! I love Stratus. I was introduced to this place by a friend that works on 100 Wellington and my husband used to work at 79 Wellington and never knew about this place! Now it's our favourite place to dine and bring friends to.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My waitress promised to take my credit c ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 22, 2016

My waitress promised to take my credit card for payment when I spoke to her before meal. I thanked her for not taking my friend's credit card when my friend made her first attempt to pay after lunch. However, when my friend tried to pay by cash, the waitress gladly accepted it and pretended that I was fine with it though I kept telling her it was NOT okay. To worsen the situation, she never bother to come back with the change. The total of our bill came to $48.59 while my friend gave her $60 cash. I had no clue what made her think she's entitled to keep the change without asking first. I am petty certain there was no misunderstanding as we waited a good 15 minutes at our table and she never turn up again after she took the cash.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Disappointing Experience

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 6, 2016

Hosted a business dinner for out of town business guests. I chose Stratus based on the location, the view and the great experience I had previously with the affiliated Toronto Athletic Club. I made a reservation a week or so in advance, and was not told that there was a large event happening, resulting in the dining room being completely closed off. In fact, there was a pre-dinner cocktail event that also took up most of the lounge area as well. We ended up at a table next to the bar, with the bartender as our server, and constant slamming of the door that leads behind the bar, right next to our table. Over-all not a very impressive experience. I would have appreciated being told that the restaurant was not available due to a private party, and having an opportunity to make other arrangements if the bar wasn't going to be suitable.

At first glance, I thought I had been handed a lunch menu because the selection was small and literally there were two dinner entrees to choose from in addition to some omelettes and a few salads. This is not what I was expecting based on having looked at their website. The food was good but really nothing special. Maybe this had to do with the big event taking place at the time.

Overall - disappointing. I would only go again for a cocktail to show off the view to visitors, then have dinner elsewhere, especially given so many great places in the neighbourhood.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great fish. Beautiful view.

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 1, 2016

Great fish. Beautiful view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Visited Stratus with my business partner ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 16, 2016

Visited Stratus with my business partners from Australia and we had a very nice dinner. Food and view are great. Maybe better selection of Canadian wines

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I love coming here. Great lunch spot wit ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 6, 2016

I love coming here. Great lunch spot with nice views

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really slow to get our food.

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 2, 2016

We were there for a business lunch and it took over 50 minutes to get our food after ordering...

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great as usual!

vip
 (London)·Dined on April 21, 2016

We love coming here - everything is always so good. The views are great so we often bring visitors to Toronto here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A fun Toronto foodie destination with ex ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 19, 2016

A fun Toronto foodie destination with exceptional bar tending... and then there's the view of the setting sun from the 36th floor! Our visiting friends from England loved it and even took a photo of the scatter cushions! We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.