About Stratus

79 Wellington St. West
TD Waterhouse Tower- 36th Floor
Toronto, ON M5K 1J5
View Larger Map

Located high above the sky, Stratus is one of Toronto’s best kept secrets.


Stratus restaurant has been providing its guests with exquisite cuisine and impeccable service for more than a decade. We invite you to experience our spectacular dishes from around the world that will impress and
awe your guests as they enjoy the breathtaking views of the city, harbour and islands.


Our staff and chefs will ensure your dining experience is high above the rest.


At Stratus, the sky’s the limit.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, International, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:

Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 10:30am

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am -4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Bay and Wellington

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 865-1924

Website:
http://www.stratusrestaurant.com/

Catering:
We are now taking reservations for Fall and Winter event bookings.
Please contact us at: events@stratusrestaurant.com
or 416-865-0900 ext. 5225.

Parking Details:
There is parking available directly under our building in the South TD Tower

Rates: $10 after 5:30pm, $20 if there is an event at the Air Canada Center.

Cadillac Fairview Contact:(416) 366-1423

Public Transit:
If you are arriving via the TTC the closest subway station is Union Station. Via the King Streetcar the closest intersection is King and Bay.

Executive Chef:
Martha Wright

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Stratus Restaurant is one of Toronto's best kept secrets. Sitting 36 floors high, diners can enjoy stunning views of the harbour, islands and city. Specializing in corporate and landmark occasions, several private dining spaces are available for presentations, dining and cocktail events.

Stratus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Global, International
Toronto / Ontario
Scenic View
Toronto
Global, International
Toronto
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Financial District ›

Scenic View (23)
Great for Lunch (21)
Good for Groups (10)
See All
Fit for Foodies (7)
Romantic (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Business Meals (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Waterfront (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
Newest
119 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I loved breakfast here. Went for a busi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

I loved breakfast here. Went for a business meal, we sat in the window which views all of Toronto Island from high up above The Royal York. I had a bagel and smoked salmon. I would have thought I was eating it in NYC as it tasted like it tastes there. Friendly, accommodating and professional staff. Coffee was also delicious. I thought the price tag would match the view but it was very reasonable. I can't wait to go there again. Best Breakfast view in Toronto! Likely all of Canada

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view is spectacular and the service ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

The view is spectacular and the service was excellent. The waitress provided menu details that made selection easy. It was a business luncheon and the atmosphere enabled an interesting discussion. It was a very successful and interesting meeting! Thank you.

Tags: Scenic View, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great view of the water. For this price ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great view of the water.

For this price range the food was disappointing. I was underwhelmed by apps, main and dessert. Need better vegetarian options - the eggplant main was raw in the middle. The creme brule dessert was not great at all.

Locations and views are excellent for a business meeting - but food was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

It's interesting when I mention this res ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

It's interesting when I mention this restaurant to people how many of them haven't heard of Stratus. This was our third visit to this restaurant and each time the food has been great. The butter chicken was amazing as was (my favourite) the organic salmon. The menu choices aren't as plentiful as what you might find at other restaurants but they do offer one of every protein which is okay. Wine list was suitable for a variety of budgets. Aside from the great food, the view was spectacular atop the TD tower. Definitely will go back for seconds ... or 4ths now.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fantastic view out to the lake and goo ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

A fantastic view out to the lake and good food carefully prepared. Service was attentive without being intrusive.

A great lunch option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice view, enjoyed the service and the f ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Nice view, enjoyed the service and the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always delish! I love Stratus. I was int ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Always delish! I love Stratus. I was introduced to this place by a friend that works on 100 Wellington and my husband used to work at 79 Wellington and never knew about this place! Now it's our favourite place to dine and bring friends to.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My waitress promised to take my credit c ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

My waitress promised to take my credit card for payment when I spoke to her before meal. I thanked her for not taking my friend's credit card when my friend made her first attempt to pay after lunch. However, when my friend tried to pay by cash, the waitress gladly accepted it and pretended that I was fine with it though I kept telling her it was NOT okay. To worsen the situation, she never bother to come back with the change. The total of our bill came to $48.59 while my friend gave her $60 cash. I had no clue what made her think she's entitled to keep the change without asking first. I am petty certain there was no misunderstanding as we waited a good 15 minutes at our table and she never turn up again after she took the cash.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Disappointing Experience

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Hosted a business dinner for out of town business guests. I chose Stratus based on the location, the view and the great experience I had previously with the affiliated Toronto Athletic Club. I made a reservation a week or so in advance, and was not told that there was a large event happening, resulting in the dining room being completely closed off. In fact, there was a pre-dinner cocktail event that also took up most of the lounge area as well. We ended up at a table next to the bar, with the bartender as our server, and constant slamming of the door that leads behind the bar, right next to our table. Over-all not a very impressive experience. I would have appreciated being told that the restaurant was not available due to a private party, and having an opportunity to make other arrangements if the bar wasn't going to be suitable.

At first glance, I thought I had been handed a lunch menu because the selection was small and literally there were two dinner entrees to choose from in addition to some omelettes and a few salads. This is not what I was expecting based on having looked at their website. The food was good but really nothing special. Maybe this had to do with the big event taking place at the time.

Overall - disappointing. I would only go again for a cocktail to show off the view to visitors, then have dinner elsewhere, especially given so many great places in the neighbourhood.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great fish. Beautiful view.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Great fish. Beautiful view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Visited Stratus with my business partner ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Visited Stratus with my business partners from Australia and we had a very nice dinner. Food and view are great. Maybe better selection of Canadian wines

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I love coming here. Great lunch spot wit ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

I love coming here. Great lunch spot with nice views

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really slow to get our food.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

We were there for a business lunch and it took over 50 minutes to get our food after ordering...

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great as usual!

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

We love coming here - everything is always so good. The views are great so we often bring visitors to Toronto here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A fun Toronto foodie destination with ex ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

A fun Toronto foodie destination with exceptional bar tending... and then there's the view of the setting sun from the 36th floor! Our visiting friends from England loved it and even took a photo of the scatter cushions! We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

second time visit

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed a late night business meeting at Stratus. The salmon and duck confit were both very well prepared. My only wish, however, would be for some kind of beef dish to be a regular item on the menu. There are specials that come up during the week but when you're traveling from outside the city, that doesn't always work out. Twice I've missed out! Wine list has price points for a variety of tastes and overall very nice choices. Ambiance and view is hard to beat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Elegant room, spectacular view, excellen ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Elegant room, spectacular view, excellent food and great service. Awesome way to start the day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great except for servers.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

I liked everything about this restaurant but the servers. They constantly interrupted conversations, where it was clear that we wanted privacy. Also interrupted as in order to remove dishes.

I found it quite disturbing.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great atmosphere and fantastic views

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

Our party of three thoroughly enjoyed our lunch at Stratus. The service was excellent and recommendations were spot on. When I'm in the downtown area it's my go too restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and awesome view! Waiter ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Great service and awesome view! Waiter was very attentive and food tasted good...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Went for my Dad's birthday dinner, had a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Went for my Dad's birthday dinner, had an amazing view of the city. Food was excellent, everyone enjoyed their time. I especially enjoyed the Duck Confit Carbonara. Would definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Delicious food and excellent service

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

We went for a lunch there. Ordered soup of the day which was pear & parsnip – was very delicious. For main we ordered trout, the catch of that day, which was very tender juicy with crisp skin – yummy yummy …

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for business lunches

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Great for business lunches

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

View spectacular. Food was good. Requir ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 29, 2016

View spectacular. Food was good. Require a little more variety on the menu and more vegetarian options.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Amazing food, view, and service! ;)

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Amazing food, view, and service! ;)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The carrot ginger puree was outstanding.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

The carrot ginger puree was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Great atmosphere

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Enjoyed the fantastic view over lunch. Excellent wine selection, the food was good. Everyone seemed to arrive at once so the waiter didn't bring my mango chutney until I was most of the way through my meal.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Not a very extensive menu. I had the pas ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

Not a very extensive menu. I had the pasta; it was good but not amazing. Wine was pricey by the glass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Here for a mid-afternoon meeting and it ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

Here for a mid-afternoon meeting and it was very quiet. Just what we were looking for. Service was unobtrusive but there when needed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent experience!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 20, 2016

Great spot for a business meeting with a fantastic view! It is definitely the best kept secret in downtown TO.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great for business breakfasts, but slow service

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 7, 2016

Great location, ambiance, food, etc. All guests (arriving at different times) had to wait for the hostess to return, and we had to ask twice for coffees and jam. I'm assuming it was an off-day for an otherwise excellent place. View, food and ambiance were all excellent, and while service was off a little, everyone was very polite and the experience was overall good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Loved Stratus

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

Went for a pre-game meal and were blown away by the value, the food and the view. Great place.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for dinner and wanted a quiet pl ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 21, 2015

We went for dinner and wanted a quiet place to enjoy the night. Loved the quality of food and the service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Nice group get together place

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 11, 2015

Spectacular scen on the 36th floor of TD Waterhouse buidling. Food is ok in general. My friends ordered the fisg taco, butter chicken and they said it's good, but the Blue crab cobb salad is a disappointment. Servers are very friendly and provided good service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Wonderful spot, great view good food, a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 9, 2015

Wonderful spot, great view good food, and excellent service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Always good food with great service

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on December 2, 2015

It is a bit of a secret in the financial district. It is a gem. You will need to book a reservation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Senior Managing Partner

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on November 20, 2015

Very good food and service. Excellent place to network with other senior executives

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great View - Not Canoe

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on November 18, 2015

Great mushroom soup, trout feature cooked to perfection, cheese plate underwhelming.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for lunch with a spectacular view ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on October 28, 2015

Great for lunch with a spectacular view of the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food and service is always excellent ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on October 22, 2015

The food and service is always excellent

thanks you

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.