About Stonewood Grill & Tavern - South Sarasota

1894 Stickney Point Rd
Sarasota, FL 34231
View Larger Map

Stonewood Grill & Tavern offers a complete dining experience for both your eyes and your palate. You don’t want to have just another ordinary night out — so tonight, make it extraordinary!

We oak-grill each steak to lock in its juices and enhance its natural flavors. Plus, only the freshest seafood has the honor of being prepared by one of Stonewood’s gourmet chefs.

Adding our innovative wine list featuring rare selections and exceptional pairings makes Stonewood a great place for couples, friends, and coworkers, for date night, happy hour, special occasions, and holiday parties.

So the next time you’re looking for the perfect night out, come to Stonewood Grill & Tavern.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:


Mon - Thurs 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Fri - Sat 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Sun 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 927-3969

Website:
http://www.stonewoodgrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Mike Drury

Stonewood Grill & Tavern - South Sarasota Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Restaurants in Sarasota ›

Special Occasion (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for Groups (10)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Great for Lunch (3)
Romantic (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
260 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Superb dining experience. Always has be ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined 4 days ago

Superb dining experience. Always has been and we have eaten here many times. Always good food, prepared just right. Once we were neglected by service personnel, complained and were comped our before dinner drinks as part of the apology.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nice atmosphere for a family birthday fo ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Nice atmosphere for a family birthday for all generations. Not noisy so we could hear each other. Good food, nice variety for all.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was blown away by by the roses, the ca ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

I was blown away by by the roses, the card, and the champagne that was arranged for our anniversary! Oh, and the complimentary dessert! I thought I would see a charge for the goodies, but it was all on the house! Stone wood Grill went the extra mile for us on our special day (25th anniversary)! The staff was awesome, and the food delicious. The manager and the regional (?) came to each table throughout the restaurant and asked the guests if everything was good, and did it with such sincerity.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food, the waiter and the bus boy wer ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The food, the waiter and the bus boy were all great. We have eaten there many times and never disappointed

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was good, ambience pleasant but ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Service was good, ambience pleasant but food quality was lacking.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent as always Rachel is an outsta ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Excellent as always

Rachel is an outstanding waitress the salmon is one of the favorites of our group

The chicken floritine and beef are great

Hard to make a choice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Rachel our hostess was an absolute delig ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Rachel our hostess was an absolute delight. She was very knowledgeable as far as the menu and wine selections were concerned. She made our initial meeting and first date fun and memorable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Enjoyed it very much

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Enjoyed it very much

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great plank salmon

 
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great plank salmon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The hostess was fantastic and the manage ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The hostess was fantastic and the manager said hello and recognized us:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Nothing went right!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Service was lacking. Had to ask for water and bread. Crab cakes were cold and soggy. My husband ordered Prime rib medium and it came very rare. Meanwhile as his went back, I was eating alone. They did offer us a free dessert. The prices they charge I think service and food could have been a little bit better. We live real close so will probably go back again, but not for awhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Great menu! I wanted 1 of everything. I ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Great menu! I wanted 1 of everything. I guess I will have to come back a few more times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

What happened? We have been going to Sto ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

What happened? We have been going to Stonewood at Stickney Point for years and always come away happy.

No such luck this time was very disappointing. I'll start with the cranberry rolls I love .... stale.... very stale. When I mentioned it to the waitress she said they just came out of the oven. Yes last weeks oven. I had the salmon boring. You used to have spiced that made the fish good without resorting to rich sauces which I can not eat. My husband was equally disappointed. Even the orange cake was different and not as good. Come on!!!!

We'll come back next season for one more try but we are taking a break for a while.

The only exception is the tomato bruschetta which is wonderful. I think we will skip the dinners and come for wine and bruschetta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Service was great. Our waitress was ver ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Service was great. Our waitress was very sweet and attentive. Food was "ok" a thought add ons were pricey. TOO MUCH PEPPER on everything.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Good Food, Poor Drink Pour

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

I am a frequent diner at this Stonewood. Our guests (locals) have never eaten at this Stonewood. I witnessed the ugliest unacceptable "pour" in my life. I ordered a Martini, up. My guest ordered a Vodka, up. The drinks came quickly. My guest received a 1 shot vodka all most noticeable in the glass. I received my martini, filled to the top. Explanation......the manager was very friendly, but told us that a martini, up is a 2 1/2 oz pour and a call vodka or gin up was a 1 oz pour. Unbelieveable. I learned something. Don't make that mistake. Make sure you say "martini" when ordering an "up".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great visit with Granddaughter

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent food, good service, great wine list.... but a little pricey...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice meal but.....I have bee trying to o ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Nice meal but.....I have bee trying to out my finger on exactly what came up short. The ambiance, menu and food quality were all good. The disconnect is the staffing. While they did an adequate job, it felt like a 4 star meal staffed with 2-3 star people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Our favorite neighborhood spot is the St ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Our favorite neighborhood spot is the Stonewood Grill on

University. We were meeting friends here from Venice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Table for 8 was ready when we got there. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Table for 8 was ready when we got there. Everyone enjoyed their meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Martinis were really small. Steaks were ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Martinis were really small. Steaks were good, but one was too rare. They fixed it though. Waitress was really sweet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

consistently great food

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

We dine at Stonewood probably 6-8 times per year. We have used it for special occasions like graduation dinner, book club Christmas dinner, birthdays and anniversaries, as well as last minute decisions. Never dissapointed! The herb crusted grouper is served piping hot and is a large enough portion I could not finish. The rib-eye, which my husband cannot resist turned into 2 meals for him. The staff is courteous and attentive. Great martinis! Too full for dessert, but so tempting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was overcooked and arrived cold.

 
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Not impressed with this place. Although the waitress was friendly, she was not very efficient. We asked about garlic bread with cheese, but she never came back to say if they could do it or not. We had to remind her & she said it was coming right up, however it was then another 15 minutes before it arrives. Service was slow and my food was overcooked, shrivelled up & cold. At the end of the meal, we were even asked if we wanted dessert, they just brought the bill to us! We didn't complain about anything, so I'm not sure why they wanted to get rid of us?!

One good point is that the White Sangria was delicious!

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Easter dinner special: Lanb was overcooked

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Though we asked for rare lamb , most servings were medium well, or well done, and too many in our group were served "end " pieces which were well done.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Excellent each and every time. We had Rachell agsin and we just love her!!! She is very attentive, remembers you and she had excellent customer service skills!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Bust

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Our server was young and clearly untrained which is unacceptable when you're paying a goodly amount got dinner. He brought he mains before clearing out appetizers. That's when the bread basket came too. We had dropped off my son's 20th birthday cake earlier to surprise him with which my husband secretly told our waiter when we arrived, yet he brought a dessert menu and when we gave him the eye he said, "oh yeah, the cake!" Ruining the surprise. Then, inconceivably he brought out a slice of cake and ice cream from the kitchen. We stared at him. "Oh yeah, your BIRTHDAY cake" he said adding insult to injury before running away to get the cake we'd brought. When my husband went to tell the manager what had happened, he asked if we'd like some free appetizers. "We've EATEN" said my husband. "We just want the cake we brought." Clueless and unfortunate. Not rushing back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Nice experience

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner with 2 other friends. The food was good, and although our server was accommodating, some of the food did not arrive and had to be reordered, and we had to get our server's attention to reorder drinks. We do like the atmosphere and food, and generally the service is better than this, so we still recommend this restaurant and we will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Consistently wonderful

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Always find the food to be excellent, well prepared and a value for the money. Excellent place to dine - which i do often.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

No waiter for 20 minutes, then only afte ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

No waiter for 20 minutes, then only after talking to a mgr. could not be seated at a booth even tho reservation was made 4 days in advance. Not offered rolls or bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Consistently great food and service!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

Consistently great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a place I go to a few times a mo ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

This is a place I go to a few times a month. They recently added some new items for a limited time. I didn't really care for the oyster appetizer. It was rather bland and the oysters were really tiny. I also order the asian chicken salad and it was very good. I would definitely recommend it but I would suggest light dressing it on the side. It was too much for me almost soupy in my opinion. No room for dessert the salad was big and filling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Thoroughly enjoyable

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

It was a first visit to Stonewood for our group of five, and we were very impressed. Although we had visited the area many times, we missed putting this gem on our "restaurants to visit" list. It will now be at the top of the list. The crab cakes were right up there with our favorites in San Francisco. The bruschetta app was fantastic. Steaks were melt-in-your-mouth delicious. We will definitely be back on our next trip, probably once a week during our six-week stay. We loved the extremely knowledgeable wait staff and appreciated the menu suggestions. Despite the full house, the restaurant design provided the quiet atmosphere we enjoyed for conversing among ourselves.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We won't stop there again

 
·Dined on February 21, 2016

We had a 5 o'clock reservation and chose to sit in the bar area. Our waitress was prompt in greeting us and then everything went down hill from there. WE waited and waited for our salads and remarked to the waitress that we didn't want our entrees to come before or with the salad. She reassured us this would not happen. Well, we were eating our salad and our entrees arrived. We were asked if we wanted them returned to the kitchen and we chose not to since they would only put them under a warming light. The waitress and the server agreed that was exactly what they would do. We spoke to the manager who was walking by and his response was" I will have to talk to the kitchen staff." When it was time to get our check I had to ask the manager for it since our waitress was not around. She eventually brought it and left it. Time was passing so we brought it to the hostess to check us out. The Manager quickly took it and returned with the credit card swiftly. Unfortunately the waitress who was very bust talking with other customers suffered because a minimal tip was given to her. The manager had the nerve to tell us to enjoy the rest of the evening as we left the premises.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Stonewood NEVER disappoints. Everything ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Stonewood NEVER disappoints. Everything is wonderful, from the staff, to the food to the ambiance. Love it. One of our favorite places to dine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good place to go. Food is excel ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

Always a good place to go. Food is excellent and the ambience is fine. Price is reasonable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Return visitor

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

We try and get to Stonewood every winter while we vacation in FL. We are never disappointed. Food and service is always good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised with this restaurant, expected to have an average dining experience but ended up having a great server and memorable food at a reasonable price. Also, our open table reservation was honored on time when we went to the head of the waiting line.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great restaurant

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

A wonderful little gem of a restaurant. Good food, service, specials and drinks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Date Night

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Our favorite restaurant when we vacation in the Sarasota area! The prime rib is outstanding, cooked to perfection. The ambiance of the restaurant is conducive to romantic outings.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Date night

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Top end weekly date night. Very enjoyable, clean with high quality food. On the negative side, site has constant staff turnover, it's hard to cultivate a relationship with the wait staff.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

My wife and I enjoyed our evening at Sto ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed our evening at Stonewood Grill , our waiter was prompt and congenital . The food was excellent as well as the atmosphere. We would recommend it to our friends.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.