About Stonewood Grill & Tavern - South Sarasota

1894 Stickney Point Rd
Sarasota, FL 34231
View Larger Map

Stonewood Grill & Tavern offers a complete dining experience for both your eyes and your palate. You don’t want to have just another ordinary night out — so tonight, make it extraordinary!

We oak-grill each steak to lock in its juices and enhance its natural flavors. Plus, only the freshest seafood has the honor of being prepared by one of Stonewood’s gourmet chefs.

Adding our innovative wine list featuring rare selections and exceptional pairings makes Stonewood a great place for couples, friends, and coworkers, for date night, happy hour, special occasions, and holiday parties.

So the next time you’re looking for the perfect night out, come to Stonewood Grill & Tavern.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:


Mon - Thurs 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Fri - Sat 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Sun 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 927-3969

Website:
http://www.stonewoodgrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Mike Drury

Specials

Crafted Tuesday

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Wine-Down Wednesday

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Three Olives Thursday

Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Crafted Tuesday

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Chef Inspired, Hand-Crafted Burgers & $2 off all Craft Drafts all night!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 1, 2016 - Mar 1, 2017 on Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Wine-Down Wednesday

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

1/2 Off Select Bottles of Wine all Night!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 1, 2016 - Mar 1, 2017 on Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Three Olives Thursday

Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

All Three Olives Vodka Cocktails and Martinis $5 All Night Long. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 1, 2016 - Mar 1, 2017 on Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Stonewood Grill & Tavern - South Sarasota Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Restaurants in Sarasota ›

Special Occasion (11)
Cozy (7)
Happy Hour (7)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Casual (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Business Meals (5)
Fun (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Romantic (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Seasonal (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Sports (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
S
285 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food all the way around. All our ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great food all the way around. All our plates were very good - great menu options too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

meal served too fast,, did not have time ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 24, 2016

meal served too fast,, did not have time to have a cocktail or salad

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Thanksgiving Day. Felt badly that folks ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving Day. Felt badly that folks had to work but grateful that we had a place to go (no family nearby to share the day).

Good wait staff. Food was generally very good although special requests (no dark meat and additional whipped cream) were not honored.

Breads were amazing! Three Olives special martinis were excellent!

Dining room is attractive but noisy as tables are positioned too closely!

Plan to return on a "normal" day.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Delicious Thanksgiving dinner. Food was ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Delicious Thanksgiving dinner. Food was perfect, complimented by suburb service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food,great service,welcomed at doo ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great food,great service,welcomed at door and made to feel like family.Anthnony our server was terrific.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Family Style, Casual, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is consistently good, wh ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This restaurant is consistently good, which is why I always bring people here for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was all very good

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Food was all very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We liked our 1st visit so much we went b ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We liked our 1st visit so much we went back the next night. Lisa and mary were both helpful and very busy keeping our drinks full. Great reviews on the different salmon sighed and the prime rib rocked. The happy hour was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Stonewood Tavern is one of our favorite ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Stonewood Tavern is one of our favorite places to dine. The food is consistent and staff is knowable and friendly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fabulous for our anniversary dinner. The ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Fabulous for our anniversary dinner. The food is wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food & service. The seasonal dishe ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food & service. The seasonal dishes were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Stonewood is one of our "go to" restaura ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Stonewood is one of our "go to" restaurants. It is nearby, always good and we like the

atmosphere along with the excellent service. We have been coming here for years

and they are consistanly good.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner was good, as always. Alex was ou ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Dinner was good, as always. Alex was our waitress and she was extremely nice and accurate.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very good meal, the service was ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We had a very good meal, the service was great and was very pleased with the restaurant as a whole.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Lovely evening here as always. The stea ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Lovely evening here as always. The steak was delicious!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Very nice and our waitress was excellent ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Very nice and our waitress was excellent. We like to go here for a quiet evening out while in Sarasota

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service level from Carissa and her team ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Service level from Carissa and her team was good. However, pace of meal seem rushed as we were in and out in an hour. Our Open Table reservation we noted 53rd Wedding Anniversary - but no mention or recognition during service to us. The short ribs with butternut squash ravioli was one of the entrees selected and we have had that at this location in prior visits with some rib bones still in. Current service is not to include rib bones and the meat is not as tender - in our opinon - in fact somewhat misleading without rib bones. The noise level from the next aisle was very very loud because of a wedding party. Not a very satisfying night overall - but we will be back in the future.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Our waiter, Alvaro, was excellent. He wa ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Our waiter, Alvaro, was excellent. He was spot-on with his service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

We loved Stonewood Grill! Nice ambience, ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We loved Stonewood Grill! Nice ambience, and delicious food with a modest price. Much better than local fried seafood places. I highly recommend their seasonal dish, chicken magnolia, or their chicken pot pie with a puffed pastry topping . Their soft pretzel sticks are delicious! We will probably go back one more time before we head home .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We made a reservation for a Friday eveni ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We made a reservation for a Friday evening around 8PM. We had no trouble getting in, as the restaurant was nearly empty. We enjoy going to the Stonewood Grill in Tampa, where the service, food, and dining experience is exceptional.

The Sarasota location left little to be desired. We were served under cooked meat and our credit card was charged for another table's meal. Our server was extremely hard to track down to fix these issues, but once we had his attention he was apologetic, professional and fixed both issues in a timely manner.

Overall this was an underwhelming experience. If we had not previously received impeccable service in the Tampa location, I might not visit a Stonewood Grill again. Sarasota needs to step up their game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Our starter, bruschetta (recommended by ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Our starter, bruschetta (recommended by our server), was delicious but nothing else was spectacular. Everyone stated their food was salty, my clam chowder was cold & I had to ask for it to be reheated. The seared ahi tuna was decent, however the sauce wasn't good.

Our server, Aaron, was absolutely amazing! He definitely made the entire experience more enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

Our waiter was especially cheerful and a ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Our waiter was especially cheerful and accommodating.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Aaron is the best waiter at the locatio ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Aaron is the best waiter at the location. We've been going there 10 years and he's tops hands down.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food excellent service. Will d ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Excellent food excellent service. Will definitely return. Much thanks for a wonderful experience!!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb dining experience. Always has be ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Superb dining experience. Always has been and we have eaten here many times. Always good food, prepared just right. Once we were neglected by service personnel, complained and were comped our before dinner drinks as part of the apology.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nice atmosphere for a family birthday fo ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Nice atmosphere for a family birthday for all generations. Not noisy so we could hear each other. Good food, nice variety for all.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was blown away by by the roses, the ca ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 10, 2016

I was blown away by by the roses, the card, and the champagne that was arranged for our anniversary! Oh, and the complimentary dessert! I thought I would see a charge for the goodies, but it was all on the house! Stone wood Grill went the extra mile for us on our special day (25th anniversary)! The staff was awesome, and the food delicious. The manager and the regional (?) came to each table throughout the restaurant and asked the guests if everything was good, and did it with such sincerity.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food, the waiter and the bus boy wer ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 3, 2016

The food, the waiter and the bus boy were all great. We have eaten there many times and never disappointed

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was good, ambience pleasant but ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Service was good, ambience pleasant but food quality was lacking.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent as always Rachel is an outsta ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 5, 2016

Excellent as always

Rachel is an outstanding waitress the salmon is one of the favorites of our group

The chicken floritine and beef are great

Hard to make a choice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Rachel our hostess was an absolute delig ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Rachel our hostess was an absolute delight. She was very knowledgeable as far as the menu and wine selections were concerned. She made our initial meeting and first date fun and memorable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Enjoyed it very much

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Enjoyed it very much

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great plank salmon

 
 (Naples)·Dined on June 15, 2016

Great plank salmon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The hostess was fantastic and the manage ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2016

The hostess was fantastic and the manager said hello and recognized us:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Nothing went right!

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Service was lacking. Had to ask for water and bread. Crab cakes were cold and soggy. My husband ordered Prime rib medium and it came very rare. Meanwhile as his went back, I was eating alone. They did offer us a free dessert. The prices they charge I think service and food could have been a little bit better. We live real close so will probably go back again, but not for awhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Great menu! I wanted 1 of everything. I ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 18, 2016

Great menu! I wanted 1 of everything. I guess I will have to come back a few more times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

What happened? We have been going to Sto ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 18, 2016

What happened? We have been going to Stonewood at Stickney Point for years and always come away happy.

No such luck this time was very disappointing. I'll start with the cranberry rolls I love .... stale.... very stale. When I mentioned it to the waitress she said they just came out of the oven. Yes last weeks oven. I had the salmon boring. You used to have spiced that made the fish good without resorting to rich sauces which I can not eat. My husband was equally disappointed. Even the orange cake was different and not as good. Come on!!!!

We'll come back next season for one more try but we are taking a break for a while.

The only exception is the tomato bruschetta which is wonderful. I think we will skip the dinners and come for wine and bruschetta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Service was great. Our waitress was ver ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 17, 2016

Service was great. Our waitress was very sweet and attentive. Food was "ok" a thought add ons were pricey. TOO MUCH PEPPER on everything.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Good Food, Poor Drink Pour

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 12, 2016

I am a frequent diner at this Stonewood. Our guests (locals) have never eaten at this Stonewood. I witnessed the ugliest unacceptable "pour" in my life. I ordered a Martini, up. My guest ordered a Vodka, up. The drinks came quickly. My guest received a 1 shot vodka all most noticeable in the glass. I received my martini, filled to the top. Explanation......the manager was very friendly, but told us that a martini, up is a 2 1/2 oz pour and a call vodka or gin up was a 1 oz pour. Unbelieveable. I learned something. Don't make that mistake. Make sure you say "martini" when ordering an "up".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great visit with Granddaughter

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent food, good service, great wine list.... but a little pricey...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.