About Stonewood Grill & Tavern - South Sarasota

1894 Stickney Point Rd
Sarasota, FL 34231
View Larger Map

Stonewood Grill & Tavern offers a complete dining experience for both your eyes and your palate. You don’t want to have just another ordinary night out — so tonight, make it extraordinary!

We oak-grill each steak to lock in its juices and enhance its natural flavors. Plus, only the freshest seafood has the honor of being prepared by one of Stonewood’s gourmet chefs.

Adding our innovative wine list featuring rare selections and exceptional pairings makes Stonewood a great place for couples, friends, and coworkers, for date night, happy hour, special occasions, and holiday parties.

So the next time you’re looking for the perfect night out, come to Stonewood Grill & Tavern.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:


Mon - Thurs 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Fri - Sat 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Sun 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 927-3969

Website:
http://www.stonewoodgrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Mike Drury

Stonewood Grill & Tavern - South Sarasota Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Restaurants in Sarasota ›

special occasion (34)
neighborhood gem (33)
good for groups (28)
See All
fit for foodies (26)
romantic (15)
vibrant bar scene (10)
kid-friendly (9)
great for lunch (7)
notable wine list (5)
hot spot (4)
late-night find (2)
great for brunch (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
248 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

Great menu! I wanted 1 of everything. I ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Great menu! I wanted 1 of everything. I guess I will have to come back a few more times.

food2
ambience5
service5

What happened? We have been going to Sto ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

What happened? We have been going to Stonewood at Stickney Point for years and always come away happy. No such luck this time was very disappointing. I'll start with the cranberry rolls I love .... stale.... very stale. When I mentioned it to the waitress she said they just came out of the oven. Yes last weeks oven. I had the salmon boring. You used to have spiced that made the fish good without resorting to rich sauces which I can not eat. My husband was equally disappointed. Even the orange cake was different and not as good. Come on!!!! We'll come back next season for one more try but we are taking a break for a while. The only exception is the tomato bruschetta which is wonderful. I think we will skip the dinners and come for wine and bruschetta.

food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Service was great. Our waitress was ver ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Service was great. Our waitress was very sweet and attentive. Food was "ok" a thought add ons were pricey. TOO MUCH PEPPER on everything.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good Food, Poor Drink Pour

Dined on May 12, 2016

I am a frequent diner at this Stonewood. Our guests (locals) have never eaten at this Stonewood. I witnessed the ugliest unacceptable "pour" in my life. I ordered a Martini, up. My guest ordered a Vodka, up. The drinks came quickly. My guest received a 1 shot vodka all most noticeable in the glass. I received my martini, filled to the top. Explanation......the manager was very friendly, but told us that a martini, up is a 2 1/2 oz pour and a call vodka or gin up was a 1 oz pour. Unbelieveable. I learned something. Don't make that mistake. Make sure you say "martini" when ordering an "up".

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great visit with Granddaughter

Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent food, good service, great wine list.... but a little pricey...

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3

Nice meal but.....I have bee trying to o ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Nice meal but.....I have bee trying to out my finger on exactly what came up short. The ambiance, menu and food quality were all good. The disconnect is the staffing. While they did an adequate job, it felt like a 4 star meal staffed with 2-3 star people.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our favorite neighborhood spot is the St ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Our favorite neighborhood spot is the Stonewood Grill on University. We were meeting friends here from Venice.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4

Martinis were really small. Steaks were ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

Martinis were really small. Steaks were good, but one was too rare. They fixed it though. Waitress was really sweet.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

consistently great food

Dined on April 9, 2016

We dine at Stonewood probably 6-8 times per year. We have used it for special occasions like graduation dinner, book club Christmas dinner, birthdays and anniversaries, as well as last minute decisions. Never dissapointed! The herb crusted grouper is served piping hot and is a large enough portion I could not finish. The rib-eye, which my husband cannot resist turned into 2 meals for him. The staff is courteous and attentive. Great martinis! Too full for dessert, but so tempting.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Food was overcooked and arrived cold.

Dined on March 30, 2016

Not impressed with this place. Although the waitress was friendly, she was not very efficient. We asked about garlic bread with cheese, but she never came back to say if they could do it or not. We had to remind her & she said it was coming right up, however it was then another 15 minutes before it arrives. Service was slow and my food was overcooked, shrivelled up & cold. At the end of the meal, we were even asked if we wanted dessert, they just brought the bill to us! We didn't complain about anything, so I'm not sure why they wanted to get rid of us?! One good point is that the White Sangria was delicious!

Tags: kid-friendly
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Easter dinner special: Lanb was overcooked

Dined on March 27, 2016

Though we asked for rare lamb , most servings were medium well, or well done, and too many in our group were served "end " pieces which were well done.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on March 26, 2016

Excellent each and every time. We had Rachell agsin and we just love her!!! She is very attentive, remembers you and she had excellent customer service skills!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Birthday Bust

Dined on March 20, 2016

Our server was young and clearly untrained which is unacceptable when you're paying a goodly amount got dinner. He brought he mains before clearing out appetizers. That's when the bread basket came too. We had dropped off my son's 20th birthday cake earlier to surprise him with which my husband secretly told our waiter when we arrived, yet he brought a dessert menu and when we gave him the eye he said, "oh yeah, the cake!" Ruining the surprise. Then, inconceivably he brought out a slice of cake and ice cream from the kitchen. We stared at him. "Oh yeah, your BIRTHDAY cake" he said adding insult to injury before running away to get the cake we'd brought. When my husband went to tell the manager what had happened, he asked if we'd like some free appetizers. "We've EATEN" said my husband. "We just want the cake we brought." Clueless and unfortunate. Not rushing back

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Nice experience

Dined on March 17, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner with 2 other friends. The food was good, and although our server was accommodating, some of the food did not arrive and had to be reordered, and we had to get our server's attention to reorder drinks. We do like the atmosphere and food, and generally the service is better than this, so we still recommend this restaurant and we will go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Consistently wonderful

Dined on March 13, 2016

Always find the food to be excellent, well prepared and a value for the money. Excellent place to dine - which i do often.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

No waiter for 20 minutes, then only afte ...

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

No waiter for 20 minutes, then only after talking to a mgr. could not be seated at a booth even tho reservation was made 4 days in advance. Not offered rolls or bread.

food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently great food and service!

Dined on March 4, 2016

Consistently great food and service!

food5
ambience4
service5

This is a place I go to a few times a mo ...

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

This is a place I go to a few times a month. They recently added some new items for a limited time. I didn't really care for the oyster appetizer. It was rather bland and the oysters were really tiny. I also order the asian chicken salad and it was very good. I would definitely recommend it but I would suggest light dressing it on the side. It was too much for me almost soupy in my opinion. No room for dessert the salad was big and filling.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thoroughly enjoyable

Dined on February 25, 2016

It was a first visit to Stonewood for our group of five, and we were very impressed. Although we had visited the area many times, we missed putting this gem on our "restaurants to visit" list. It will now be at the top of the list. The crab cakes were right up there with our favorites in San Francisco. The bruschetta app was fantastic. Steaks were melt-in-your-mouth delicious. We will definitely be back on our next trip, probably once a week during our six-week stay. We loved the extremely knowledgeable wait staff and appreciated the menu suggestions. Despite the full house, the restaurant design provided the quiet atmosphere we enjoyed for conversing among ourselves.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

We won't stop there again

Dined on February 21, 2016

We had a 5 o'clock reservation and chose to sit in the bar area. Our waitress was prompt in greeting us and then everything went down hill from there. WE waited and waited for our salads and remarked to the waitress that we didn't want our entrees to come before or with the salad. She reassured us this would not happen. Well, we were eating our salad and our entrees arrived. We were asked if we wanted them returned to the kitchen and we chose not to since they would only put them under a warming light. The waitress and the server agreed that was exactly what they would do. We spoke to the manager who was walking by and his response was" I will have to talk to the kitchen staff." When it was time to get our check I had to ask the manager for it since our waitress was not around. She eventually brought it and left it. Time was passing so we brought it to the hostess to check us out. The Manager quickly took it and returned with the credit card swiftly. Unfortunately the waitress who was very bust talking with other customers suffered because a minimal tip was given to her. The manager had the nerve to tell us to enjoy the rest of the evening as we left the premises.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stonewood NEVER disappoints. Everything ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Stonewood NEVER disappoints. Everything is wonderful, from the staff, to the food to the ambiance. Love it. One of our favorite places to dine.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Always a good place to go. Food is excel ...

Dined on February 17, 2016

Always a good place to go. Food is excellent and the ambience is fine. Price is reasonable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Return visitor

Dined on February 16, 2016

We try and get to Stonewood every winter while we vacation in FL. We are never disappointed. Food and service is always good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great find

Dined on February 16, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised with this restaurant, expected to have an average dining experience but ended up having a great server and memorable food at a reasonable price. Also, our open table reservation was honored on time when we went to the head of the waiting line.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant

Dined on February 15, 2016

A wonderful little gem of a restaurant. Good food, service, specials and drinks.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Date Night

Dined on February 14, 2016

Our favorite restaurant when we vacation in the Sarasota area! The prime rib is outstanding, cooked to perfection. The ambiance of the restaurant is conducive to romantic outings.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Date night

Dined on February 14, 2016

Top end weekly date night. Very enjoyable, clean with high quality food. On the negative side, site has constant staff turnover, it's hard to cultivate a relationship with the wait staff.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

My wife and I enjoyed our evening at Sto ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed our evening at Stonewood Grill , our waiter was prompt and congenital . The food was excellent as well as the atmosphere. We would recommend it to our friends.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Dined many times and always satisfied wi ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

Dined many times and always satisfied with food quality and service Also enjoy the ease of making reservations with Open Table

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good!

Dined on February 11, 2016

consistently good food and great service. Like the happy hour drink pricing special.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Was very pleased. Our waitstaff was Alan ...

Dined on February 11, 2016

Was very pleased. Our waitstaff was Alana and honestly, she was the best. We asked what the house specialty was and what they cook best. She was spot on. Lamb chops and prime rib.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Have been here many times, was disappoin ...

Dined on February 9, 2016

Have been here many times, was disappointed in last visit. If this 1st visit wood not recommed

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best experience so far

Dined on February 8, 2016

On vacation here in Siesta Key. Nice that we could make reservation at last minute. Four of us. All enjoyed our selections of wine and food. Definitely one we will repeat visit. Our server ("AJ") was excellent -- personality, attentiveness.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service2
value4

We always enjoy Stonewood and really lik ...

Dined on February 4, 2016

We always enjoy Stonewood and really like AJ as our server . On this occasion we had to move from the assigned table as the table next to us was so loud you could not hear yourself speak . We were given another table . Our meal was not up to the normal standard . Two of us companined about the vegetables which were almost cold and my Rice Pilaff was more like Risotto , it was a soggy mess . I always book using Open Table . I have found on every occasion this winter that the reception staff are not looking at the notes in the reservation as they used to . I always request a booth and a specific server if possible .The last three times I have been there none of my requests have been read and I have had to ask the reception to read the notes .

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fast and friendly service!

vip
Dined on February 3, 2016

Our Server Justin was very helpful and knowledgeable with the wine list and friendly! The establishment was clean and offered a tasteful decor. Although we only had appetizers, the food was good.

Tags: great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Food

Dined on January 31, 2016

This is one of my grandpa's favorite restaurants in the Sarasota area. While I was visiting we dined here and I would have to agree. Their fish was delicious, service was great and I love the environment too!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Nice surprise!

Dined on January 29, 2016

This time of year, you need a reservation to eat at a decent restaurant. We hadn't been to Stonewood for a few years, so we gave it a try. We were early for our reservation, but they were able to seat us anyway. The waitress was pleasant, attentive and helpful. The food was very good and came out in a timely manner. We will be going back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Stonewood an old reliable in Sarasota

Dined on January 29, 2016

We have been coming to Stonewood for a decade now and always enjoy it. Nice selection on the menu, from expensive steaks and seafood to moderate items. We especially like the ginger-lime salmon and the (cheap) chicken pot pies. Good wine list. Very good service. Pleasant ambiance.

food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Mixed Experience

Dined on January 27, 2016

Our meal started off well waiter was charming and very attentive. When our entrees arrived one that was just a plain fish was over cooked to a point that it was inedible and I sent it back but they were out of the other fish. They did remove it from the bill. The other persons entree was fantastic. So it was a mixed experience. Will give it another try.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

consistently good - visit often

Dined on January 25, 2016

Am always delighted with my meals especially how salmon is prepared there. Always cooked perfectly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.