About Stonewood Grill & Tavern - South Sarasota

Stonewood Grill & Tavern offers a complete dining experience for both your eyes and your palate. You don’t want to have just another ordinary night out — so tonight, make it extraordinary!

We oak-grill each steak to lock in its juices and enhance its natural flavors. Plus, only the freshest seafood has the honor of being prepared by one of Stonewood’s gourmet chefs.

Adding our innovative wine list featuring rare selections and exceptional pairings makes Stonewood a great place for couples, friends, and coworkers, for date night, happy hour, special occasions, and holiday parties.

So the next time you’re looking for the perfect night out, come to Stonewood Grill & Tavern.

1894 Stickney Point Rd
Sarasota, FL 34231
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:


Mon - Thurs 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Fri - Sat 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Sun 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 927-3969

Website:
http://www.stonewoodgrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Mike Drury

Specials

Crafted Tuesday

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Wine-Down Wednesday

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Three Olives Thursday

Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Crafted Tuesday

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Chef Inspired, Hand-Crafted Burgers & $2 off all Craft Drafts all night!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 1, 2016 - Mar 1, 2017 on Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Twin cold tail lobster tail dinner. Served with Chef's vegetables and choice of rice pilaf or roasted garlic mashed potatoes. $39

6oz filet and cold water lobster tail dinner. Served with Chef's vegetables and choice of rice pilaf or roasted garlic mashed potatoes. $39

Wine-Down Wednesday

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

1/2 Off Select Bottles of Wine all Night!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 1, 2016 - Mar 1, 2017 on Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Three Olives Thursday

Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

All Three Olives Vodka Cocktails and Martinis $5 All Night Long. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 1, 2016 - Mar 1, 2017 on Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Stonewood Grill & Tavern - South Sarasota Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
See All
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Cozy (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Business Meals (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Fun (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Family Style (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Healthy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Seasonal (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Romantic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
People Watching (1)
Authentic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
309 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The steak was tasteless. Ordered a ribey ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The steak was tasteless. Ordered a ribeye. Didn't look like a ribeye upon arrival. There was a hair cooked into the steak. Yuck. Steak was expensive and potato ala cart. Not worth the price.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We loved the food...very slow getting ou ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We loved the food...very slow getting our wine order...but would recommend Stonewood as a good place:)

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Stonewood has become our "go-to" restaur ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Stonewood has become our "go-to" restaurant for a nice meal at a reasonable price. The food and service is always good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Acknowledged right away at bar and serve ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Acknowledged right away at bar and served promptly. Very friendly attentive staff. Food was presented well, ample portions.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

After having driving by many times decid ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 5, 2017

After having driving by many times decided to give it a try. Glad we did. Quiet ambience - loved decor. Menu was varied but something for everyone. Great staff. Live entertainment in bar area which had been sound-proofed for dinners. Could hear the music easily, but you could also have a conversation without raising your voice.

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Pretty good food. Reasonably decent atmo ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Pretty good food. Reasonably decent atmosphere. Nice casual dining spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We were disappointed with the restaurant ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were disappointed with the restaurant as we were there to celebrate New Year's Eve and thought it would be a festive place - unfortunately all the holiday decorations had already been removed leaving a blah atmosphere for a holiday celebration.

Tags: Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Vegetarian requested a salad without bac ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Vegetarian requested a salad without bacon...got bacon. No apology or compensation for a MAJOR error. Waitress laughed about it. Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

I was disappointed in the flounder dish ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I was disappointed in the flounder dish I ordered. It was supposed to be stuffed flounder. I didn't find the small about of stuffing especially tasty. I will say that there was a large piece of fish. I will return to try a shrimp dish at some time in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Good Food and Varied Menu, Never Disappo ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Good Food and Varied Menu, Never Disappointed and a restaurant I will be back to

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

It would be great to see gluten free bre ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 27, 2016

It would be great to see gluten free bread and desserts available along with the menu items you asterisk as "gluten free."

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were not expecting much, as it was th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We were not expecting much, as it was the only place with last minute availability on xmas eve, but service was horrible, food less than mediocre and ambiance non existent.

Steer clear.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Have been dining here for many years. T ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Have been dining here for many years. The food is great and a very good selection of items to choose from. Excellent service and a relaxing atmosphere!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fun,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A gluten free diner, meat eater only, 2 ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 24, 2016

A gluten free diner, meat eater only, 2 picky little boys, and a diabetic. We all found something delicious! Excellent wait service.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had not been here in quite a few years. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Had not been here in quite a few years. We had a great server & the food was very good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server Rachael was outstanding, funn ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Our server Rachael was outstanding, funny and knowledgeable about the menu. She was great! Food was great as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very friendly and not rushed ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Service was very friendly and not rushed. Food was excellent and well prepared. Definitely will visit again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food all the way around. All our ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Great food all the way around. All our plates were very good - great menu options too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

meal served too fast,, did not have time ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 24, 2016

meal served too fast,, did not have time to have a cocktail or salad

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Thanksgiving Day. Felt badly that folks ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving Day. Felt badly that folks had to work but grateful that we had a place to go (no family nearby to share the day).

Good wait staff. Food was generally very good although special requests (no dark meat and additional whipped cream) were not honored.

Breads were amazing! Three Olives special martinis were excellent!

Dining room is attractive but noisy as tables are positioned too closely!

Plan to return on a "normal" day.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Both my husband and I enjoyed our dinner ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Both my husband and I enjoyed our dinners. We ordered one thanksgiving dinner and one short ribs and portobello ravioli to have some of each. I want to return just for the rib/ravioli. Really tasty. And, since it was a Thursday, we hit the $5 martini day. Yum. The atmosphere feels relaxing. It's attractive and the server was so attentive. He seemed to apppreciate our being there. We will definitely return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Thanksgiving dinner. Food was ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Delicious Thanksgiving dinner. Food was perfect, complimented by suburb service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food,great service,welcomed at doo ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great food,great service,welcomed at door and made to feel like family.Anthnony our server was terrific.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Family Style, Casual, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is consistently good, wh ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This restaurant is consistently good, which is why I always bring people here for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was all very good

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Food was all very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Stonewood Tavern is one of our favorite ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Stonewood Tavern is one of our favorite places to dine. The food is consistent and staff is knowable and friendly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We liked our 1st visit so much we went b ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We liked our 1st visit so much we went back the next night. Lisa and mary were both helpful and very busy keeping our drinks full. Great reviews on the different salmon sighed and the prime rib rocked. The happy hour was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous for our anniversary dinner. The ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Fabulous for our anniversary dinner. The food is wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food & service. The seasonal dishe ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food & service. The seasonal dishes were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Stonewood is one of our "go to" restaura ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Stonewood is one of our "go to" restaurants. It is nearby, always good and we like the

atmosphere along with the excellent service. We have been coming here for years

and they are consistanly good.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner was good, as always. Alex was ou ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Dinner was good, as always. Alex was our waitress and she was extremely nice and accurate.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very good meal, the service was ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We had a very good meal, the service was great and was very pleased with the restaurant as a whole.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Lovely evening here as always. The stea ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Lovely evening here as always. The steak was delicious!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Very nice and our waitress was excellent ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Very nice and our waitress was excellent. We like to go here for a quiet evening out while in Sarasota

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service level from Carissa and her team ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Service level from Carissa and her team was good. However, pace of meal seem rushed as we were in and out in an hour. Our Open Table reservation we noted 53rd Wedding Anniversary - but no mention or recognition during service to us. The short ribs with butternut squash ravioli was one of the entrees selected and we have had that at this location in prior visits with some rib bones still in. Current service is not to include rib bones and the meat is not as tender - in our opinon - in fact somewhat misleading without rib bones. The noise level from the next aisle was very very loud because of a wedding party. Not a very satisfying night overall - but we will be back in the future.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Our waiter, Alvaro, was excellent. He wa ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Our waiter, Alvaro, was excellent. He was spot-on with his service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

We loved Stonewood Grill! Nice ambience, ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We loved Stonewood Grill! Nice ambience, and delicious food with a modest price. Much better than local fried seafood places. I highly recommend their seasonal dish, chicken magnolia, or their chicken pot pie with a puffed pastry topping . Their soft pretzel sticks are delicious! We will probably go back one more time before we head home .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We made a reservation for a Friday eveni ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We made a reservation for a Friday evening around 8PM. We had no trouble getting in, as the restaurant was nearly empty. We enjoy going to the Stonewood Grill in Tampa, where the service, food, and dining experience is exceptional.

The Sarasota location left little to be desired. We were served under cooked meat and our credit card was charged for another table's meal. Our server was extremely hard to track down to fix these issues, but once we had his attention he was apologetic, professional and fixed both issues in a timely manner.

Overall this was an underwhelming experience. If we had not previously received impeccable service in the Tampa location, I might not visit a Stonewood Grill again. Sarasota needs to step up their game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Our starter, bruschetta (recommended by ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Our starter, bruschetta (recommended by our server), was delicious but nothing else was spectacular. Everyone stated their food was salty, my clam chowder was cold & I had to ask for it to be reheated. The seared ahi tuna was decent, however the sauce wasn't good.

Our server, Aaron, was absolutely amazing! He definitely made the entire experience more enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

Our waiter was especially cheerful and a ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Our waiter was especially cheerful and accommodating.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.