About Stonewood Grill & Tavern - Port Orange

1078 Dunlawton Ave
Port Orange, FL 32127
View Larger Map

Stonewood Grill & Tavern offers a complete dining experience for both your eyes and your palate. You don’t want to have just another ordinary night out — so tonight, make it extraordinary!

We oak-grill each steak to lock in its juices and enhance its natural flavors. Plus, only the freshest seafood has the honor of being prepared by one of Stonewood’s gourmet chefs.

Adding our innovative wine list featuring rare selections and exceptional pairings makes Stonewood a great place for couples, friends, and coworkers, for date night, happy hour, special occasions, and holiday parties.

So the next time you’re looking for the perfect night out, come to Stonewood Grill & Tavern.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Thurs 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Fri 4:00pm - 10:30pm
Sat 4: 00pm- 10:30pm
Sun 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(386) 760-2282

Website:
http://www.stonewoodgrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Mike Drury

Stonewood Grill & Tavern - Port Orange Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Daytona Beach
Best Food
Daytona Beach
Best Service
Daytona Beach
3 More
Best Ambiance
Daytona Beach
Special Occasion
Daytona Beach
Most Booked
Daytona Beach
Best Restaurants in Port Orange ›

special occasion (59)
neighborhood gem (36)
fit for foodies (32)
See All
good for groups (30)
romantic (26)
notable wine list (16)
vibrant bar scene (13)
hot spot (8)
kid-friendly (7)
great for lunch (7)
great for outdoor dining (6)
late-night find (5)
great for brunch (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
278 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My first time at Stonewood Grill & Taver ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

My first time at Stonewood Grill & Tavern... ...and I will be coming back. Although I initially thought the price for my meal seemed kind of high, I was repaid with a great Ribeye (the evening's special). The steak was not only full of flavor, but also it truly melted in my mouth. And what I couldn't finish (it was 20-oz), was good the next day. Our waitress was attentive and on the ball; and even though it was crowded, we didn't have to wait forever to be served our dinner. Plus, the OpenTable reservation helped get us in and seated right away without having to wait (the dinner line was growing)!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had dinner there for Father's Day but ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We had dinner there for Father's Day but we eat there several times during the year and are never disappointed, food an service always outstanding, looking forward to our next trip.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent as always! No place on online ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent as always! No place on online reservations for server's name or seating type.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best prime rib and whipped potatoes I've ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Best prime rib and whipped potatoes I've ever had. Pretzel rolls were amazing and service was perfect! It was last night of a 4 day weekend vacation and this place was the perfect way to top off a great vacation!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When visiting Daytona Beach, we never miss a trip

Dined on June 10, 2016

It was our friends birthday, one turning 89 and the other 70. Thanks to Stonewood and staff for making their birthdays special. We love to come to Stonewood when we come to Daytona from North Georgia Thanks again. See you soon

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

What a great find!

Dined on June 5, 2016

We head to Daytona Beach at least once a year and have a favorite steak place but it's a bit out of the way so we thought we'd try something new and boy were we happy! I booked the table, we were seated immediately and greeted right away by our server Taylor! While she had her hands full with another table, we never felt ignored as she always made a point to stop and check on us. From the minute we sat, she made us feel welcome, like she was truly happy we were there! The food was very very good, timed perfect - so we didn't feel rushed! The salads were generous and you could tell they were freshly made! The steaks were cooked to perfection! Overall we were very happy, we've already told a few folks about our experience and are looking forward to coming back next year!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice

Dined on June 5, 2016

The food was great and a good for the food and the service was excellent

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Good and service was excellent. Troy and ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Good and service was excellent. Troy and Jenna took great care of me.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, excellent food. I got the ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Great service, excellent food. I got the prime rib, super delicious. Will definitely return

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was excellent as was the food. ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Service was excellent as was the food. We were dining with our teen-age grandchildren and they enjoyed the meal as well as the attention to detail by the staff.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a winner

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great entrees and appetizers. Wonderful svc by Justin

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was delicious as always. This is m ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was delicious as always. This is my "go to" restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

The service when we first arrived in get ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The service when we first arrived in getting seated was not the best. There seemed to be a lot of confusion around seating guests at tables. After that the service was fine and the food was good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On mothers day you took my reservation and kept it

Dined on May 8, 2016

Because of heavy traffic we were late (20 minutes) Reservations were honored in spite of the busy mothers day. Once we got our table everyone was gracious and caring. Will be going back for certain.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Went for Mother's Day, ordered $39.99 pr ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went for Mother's Day, ordered $39.99 prime rib/lobster tail special for my mother. The prime rib was awful. It had no flavor at all, absolutely no seasoning! Sent it back and asked for another lobster tail and they were very accommodating and gave her one. Our salads had way too much salad dressing on them. Service was terrific, but I did leave disappointed as I had wanted to make it a wonderful Mother's Day. Not a great experience.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My grouper was wonderful. My wife had t ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

My grouper was wonderful. My wife had the rack of lamb and it had a lot of fat and gristle.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The surf and turf was very good, generou ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

The surf and turf was very good, generous portions of both meat and lobster tail, however the flounder with couscous was very bland. The couscous was stuck together in one solid lump. Loved the blueberry cheesecake.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous

Dined on May 6, 2016

Fabulous dinning. We made reservations. Our table was ready on time. Michael our waiter was fantastic. Loved him. He was super friendly and knowledgeable. We will go back again. Oh and the food was amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

lived up to its reputation

Dined on May 6, 2016

We were not disappointed with the restaurant, service or food. Went for an early dinner so the restaurant was quiet. The prime rib was done to perfection. The meal was nicely paced.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall very enjoyable experience

Dined on May 5, 2016

My first time at this location very crisp, modern and well kept. The menu choices while not earth changing are varied and more upscale than most in the area. A foodie would be very happy here. The staff was very friendly and attentive, but might want to work a bit on their coordination between servers and runners. The only disappointing thing about this visit: While they took and honored the reservation, it was PAINFULLY obvious they took no notice of the comments / requests I added for this visit

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

First visit... steak was a little dry...

Dined on May 2, 2016

I've been hearing about Stonewood Grill, so when a friend was visiting for a conference, I suggested we try it out together instead of going to the typical chain steakhouse. I didn't know it was going to be so pricey, but figured for $20 for just a steak and potato (doesn't include salad or soup), it would be a GREAT steak. It looked like a nice cut of meat, but it was surprisingly dry... asked for medium rare, and it was cooked correctly. Baked potato was excellent with toppings on the side, as requested. Bread basket was okay. Service was perfectly attentive--kept my iced tea filled (new glass every time, versus bringing a pitcher--I prefer it this way so my sweetener doesn't get overly diluted). Will try it again... not sure when I've had a "dry" steak. Weird. Maybe it was a fluke.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrating a birthday

Dined on April 23, 2016

There were five of us and we each enjoyed everything we ordered: wine, fish, steak, appetizers (especially the bruschetta), salads. The service was great, not intrusive but just right. Only issue was a relatively loud table next to us, but after several minutes I guess their loud chatter blended into the rest of the surroundings. Overall, this is a great place to wine and dine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always have a good meal, usually with ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

I always have a good meal, usually with my friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Gluten Challenge

Dined on April 15, 2016

So we decided to try Stonewooc as we were visiting Daytona for a competition. My daughter has celiac disease, and can't eat wheat or wheat containing products, so I let the waiter know. She ordered a chicken breast and ceaser salad without croutons. The waiter brought her salad, and despite looking like it had some crumbs on a piece of lettuce, I was trying not to be the psychotic parent. Low and behold, she ate about 1/4 of the salad and uncovered a crouton, supporting the fact that someone had just tried to pick them out..... What?!?! Anyway, her chicken came, and beside it, a tomato half with broiled cheese and breadcrumbs on it.... Which wouldn't have been too big of an issue, but the breadcrumbs were smeared all over the side of the chicken. Mind you, this was after we had to ask for a salad without croutons..... Dinner was nice, but I'm not sure after all of the mistakes that we would return.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good choice in Port Orange

Dined on April 8, 2016

Had dinner here. The bruschetta was outstanding. It comes on garlic bread that is so light it does not fill you up before the main course. Service was very good. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

April 3, 2016

Dined on April 3, 2016

We went to Stonewood grill for the first time 4-3-16 for our 51 st wedding anniversary. We went early to avoid crowding. We were not disappointedly! The food was excellent. Our waiter Justin brought everything together to make it an outstanding evening. We will ask for him next tome, he was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food. Large selection on menu.

Dined on March 27, 2016

Very good food. Large selection on menu. Service was on point.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service2

We put in an order for bruschetta and ab ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

We put in an order for bruschetta and about 10 minutes later we placed our entree orders. The salads came out first so we cancelled the appetizer. 5 minutes after we cancelled it the bruschetta showed up. We had to ask 2-3 times to get drinks besides water. My daughter ordered buerre blanc with her dinner. It wasn't brought out with her meal. She had to ask twice for it. Overall the food was very good but the service was awful.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easter

Dined on March 27, 2016

Had never frequented this restaurant... Food and waiter were fabulous!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

We had amazing service and the food was ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

We had amazing service and the food was tasty

food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service are terrific.

Dined on March 25, 2016

The food and service are terrific.

food5
ambience4
service5

Service and food

Dined on March 19, 2016

Service and food

food4
ambience4
service5

Nice evening @ Stonewood. There was a m ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

Nice evening @ Stonewood. There was a moderate wait but my OT rez was honored as soon as I walked in the door. The service exceeded my expectations. The food was very good. A return trip is definitely in our future.

food4
ambience4
service4

The food was delicious though the entree ...

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

The food was delicious though the entrees should have been timed better. They were servrd before our salads were finished.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

Dined on March 13, 2016

The food is top notch. Steaks are always cooked to perfection. Save room for the chocolate bread pudding !!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stonewoods of Port Orange.

Dined on March 12, 2016

Great food and wonderful craft beer selections Service was prompt and friendly. I was very pleasantly surprised with the fine draft beer.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience1
service4

Good food. Slow but very friendly servic ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Good food. Slow but very friendly service and manager. Sat in a Denny's style booth with bright lights and a party for 16 next to us after I requested a nice table for 2. There are nice places upscale in the restaurant but we didn't get to enjoy that ambiance .

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Like a rock

Dined on March 4, 2016

This is a well designed and well executed restaurant. The food is excellent and the service is professional without stiffness. This is the go-to place. They will get it done. However, it is not a gourmet palace; and there is not much fussiness. It fits with J. Alexanders, Village Tavern and Houstons.

food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Burnt meal

Dined on March 3, 2016

My husband and I ordered the medium well cooked burgers which took over 30 minutes to get to us. When I got mine it was burnt. Didn't get offered any bread or any kind of appetizers while waiting. Everyone around us was getting free appetizers to try. The manager came by to say she was sorry and she was getting me another burger but no appetizer offer or anything else.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent

Dined on February 27, 2016

We are very lucky to have SW in the neighborhood. They are the best in town by far.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.