About Stonewood Grill & Tavern - Port Orange

1078 Dunlawton Ave
Port Orange, FL 32127
View Larger Map

Stonewood Grill & Tavern offers a complete dining experience for both your eyes and your palate. You don’t want to have just another ordinary night out — so tonight, make it extraordinary!

We oak-grill each steak to lock in its juices and enhance its natural flavors. Plus, only the freshest seafood has the honor of being prepared by one of Stonewood’s gourmet chefs.

Adding our innovative wine list featuring rare selections and exceptional pairings makes Stonewood a great place for couples, friends, and coworkers, for date night, happy hour, special occasions, and holiday parties.

So the next time you’re looking for the perfect night out, come to Stonewood Grill & Tavern.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Thurs 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Fri 4:00pm - 10:30pm
Sat 4: 00pm- 10:30pm
Sun 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(386) 760-2282

Website:
http://www.stonewoodgrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Mike Drury

Stonewood Grill & Tavern - Port Orange Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Daytona Beach
Best Food
Daytona Beach
Best Service
Daytona Beach
2 More
Best Ambiance
Daytona Beach
Most Booked
Daytona Beach
Best Restaurants in Port Orange ›

Special Occasion (27)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Romantic (12)
See All
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Good for a Date (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Business Meals (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Seasonal (1)
Cozy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
Newest
299 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our server, Heather was outstanding. Sh ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Our server, Heather was outstanding. She has a great personality, knows the menu and was very attentive to our table. My filet was best one I've tasted in the Daytona Beach area. My choice of side was the chefs vegetables, which were a mix of sauteed summer veggies. The chop steak was another choice at the table and was excellent with the potatoes, gravy and steamed broccoli.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated quickly, everyone was ver ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We were seated quickly, everyone was very courteous and friendly. The food was very good and the restaurant was very clean.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ribeye and steak medallions were ordered ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Ribeye and steak medallions were ordered cooked medium-well but came out medium and medium-rare, respectively. If the chef can't cook steaks -to-order properly, they are in trouble!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

It's been a long time since we have been ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

It's been a long time since we have been in the area to eat at Stonewoods. Still just as good as always. Steaks and seafood are both great choices, but also tried the quesadilla appetizer as well as the crab cake appetizer. The chocolate bread pudding is my husband's all-time favorite dessert anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The service, wine, food and the chocolat ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The service, wine, food and the chocolate martini were spectacular!!! Everything was wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

FABULOUS AS ALWAYS!! A reward for a tou ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

FABULOUS AS ALWAYS!! A reward for a tough day of moving furniture!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall good food, not real busy for a S ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Overall good food, not real busy for a Saturday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

food was tasty...the most expensive plat ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

food was tasty...the most expensive plate at table was smallest portion taste good but not best taste...service was acceptable...seating was quick..suggest making reservations...it is pricey but would go back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Three of our party orderedfilet mignon w ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Three of our party orderedfilet mignon which was excellent. The fourth had the rib eye which had too much gristle. Sides were great as were the desserts. The soevial Limoncello cake was tasty and light.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Steak was undercook even after sending i ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Steak was undercook even after sending it back. We have been to this restaurant numerous times and never experienced this issue. Manager was immediately responsive and took care of the meal that was incorrect.

The ambiance seems to have change. Much brighter as I seem to believe the lighting was much more romantic in the past.

Overall a great resturant and staff very courteous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Our experience here was amazing! We have ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our experience here was amazing! We have spent many summers in Daytona Beach Shores, however this was our first visit to Stonewood. The food was expertly prepared and presented. The service was impeccable. Mike, our server did a first class job. His recommendations were outstanding and his table side manner was superb. We will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I loved my lambchops. The steak was a li ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I loved my lambchops. The steak was a little too fatty for our liking. My only issue was that the server seemed to forget we were there towards the end of the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

A gem in Port Orange for foodies! Servi ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

A gem in Port Orange for foodies! Service and ambiance was wonderful. Please try it and you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I ordered the $31 NY Strip medium rare, ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I ordered the $31 NY Strip medium rare, and it came out medium well. Typically I would wait for a new steak to be properly cooked, but having a 1 1/2-year-old does not make for long restaurant visits. They did take the steak off of my bill, but I would have preferred to just have the steak cooked right the first time. That being said, EVERYTHING else was outstanding. Our server was fast and attentive, and management was very visible. We had salmon, a cheeseburger, and the chicken pot pie at our table, and everyone raved about the food. I will definitely go back the next time I am in the area.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good experience. Food was great, se ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Very good experience. Food was great, service was great. No complaints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Better than average restaurant. Good foo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Better than average restaurant. Good food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service is always very good. We ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food and service is always very good. We ordered the blue cheese chips and they were not up to par. They immediately took them away, thanked us for bringing it to their attention and then made them again perfect. I never expect perfection every time but that always do a great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We arrived early and went to the bar to ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We arrived early and went to the bar to take advantage of the happy our. The bar area filled to capacity by the time we left. Good drinks, good bartenders.

I think of this as a steak restaurant, but oddly enough, this night, we both ordered fish from the menu. I ordered schrimp and scallops, my wife ordered flounder. We both thoroughly enjoyed our meals. The service was just right

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love Stonewoods. Eat there a lot! ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We love Stonewoods. Eat there a lot! Food is always great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My first time at Stonewood Grill & Taver ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My first time at Stonewood Grill & Tavern... ...and I will be coming back. Although I initially thought the price for my meal seemed kind of high, I was repaid with a great Ribeye (the evening's special). The steak was not only full of flavor, but also it truly melted in my mouth. And what I couldn't finish (it was 20-oz), was good the next day. Our waitress was attentive and on the ball; and even though it was crowded, we didn't have to wait forever to be served our dinner. Plus, the OpenTable reservation helped get us in and seated right away without having to wait (the dinner line was growing)!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had dinner there for Father's Day but ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had dinner there for Father's Day but we eat there several times during the year and are never disappointed, food an service always outstanding, looking forward to our next trip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent as always! No place on online ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent as always! No place on online reservations for server's name or seating type.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best prime rib and whipped potatoes I've ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Best prime rib and whipped potatoes I've ever had. Pretzel rolls were amazing and service was perfect! It was last night of a 4 day weekend vacation and this place was the perfect way to top off a great vacation!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When visiting Daytona Beach, we never miss a trip

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

It was our friends birthday, one turning 89 and the other 70. Thanks to Stonewood and staff for making their birthdays special. We love to come to Stonewood when we come to Daytona from North Georgia

Thanks again. See you soon

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great find!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We head to Daytona Beach at least once a year and have a favorite steak place but it's a bit out of the way so we thought we'd try something new and boy were we happy!

I booked the table, we were seated immediately and greeted right away by our server Taylor! While she had her hands full with another table, we never felt ignored as she always made a point to stop and check on us. From the minute we sat, she made us feel welcome, like she was truly happy we were there!

The food was very very good, timed perfect - so we didn't feel rushed! The salads were generous and you could tell they were freshly made! The steaks were cooked to perfection!

Overall we were very happy, we've already told a few folks about our experience and are looking forward to coming back next year!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nice

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food was great and a good for the food and the service was excellent

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good and service was excellent. Troy and ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Good and service was excellent. Troy and Jenna took great care of me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service, excellent food. I got the ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Great service, excellent food. I got the prime rib, super delicious. Will definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent as was the food. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Service was excellent as was the food. We were dining with our teen-age grandchildren and they enjoyed the meal as well as the attention to detail by the staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a winner

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great entrees and appetizers. Wonderful svc by Justin

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious as always. This is m ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food was delicious as always. This is my "go to" restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The service when we first arrived in get ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The service when we first arrived in getting seated was not the best. There seemed to be a lot of confusion around seating guests at tables. After that the service was fine and the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

On mothers day you took my reservation and kept it

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Because of heavy traffic we were late (20 minutes) Reservations were honored in spite of the busy mothers day.

Once we got our table everyone was gracious and caring. Will be going back for certain.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for Mother's Day, ordered $39.99 pr ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Went for Mother's Day, ordered $39.99 prime rib/lobster tail special for my mother. The prime rib was awful. It had no flavor at all, absolutely no seasoning! Sent it back and asked for another lobster tail and they were very accommodating and gave her one. Our salads had way too much salad dressing on them. Service was terrific, but I did leave disappointed as I had wanted to make it a wonderful Mother's Day. Not a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

My grouper was wonderful. My wife had t ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My grouper

was wonderful. My wife had the rack of lamb and it had a lot of fat and gristle.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The surf and turf was very good, generou ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The surf and turf was very good, generous portions of both meat and lobster tail, however the flounder with couscous was very bland. The couscous was stuck together in one solid lump. Loved the blueberry cheesecake.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Fabulous

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Fabulous dinning. We made reservations. Our table was ready on time. Michael our waiter was fantastic. Loved him. He was super friendly and knowledgeable. We will go back again.

Oh and the food was amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

lived up to its reputation

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We were not disappointed with the restaurant, service or food. Went for an early dinner so the restaurant was quiet. The prime rib was done to perfection. The meal was nicely paced.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall very enjoyable experience

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

My first time at this location very crisp, modern and well kept. The menu choices while not earth changing are varied and more upscale than most in the area. A foodie would be very happy here. The staff was very friendly and attentive, but might want to work a bit on their coordination between servers and runners.

The only disappointing thing about this visit: While they took and honored the reservation, it was PAINFULLY obvious they took no notice of the comments / requests I added for this visit

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First visit... steak was a little dry...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

I've been hearing about Stonewood Grill, so when a friend was visiting for a conference, I suggested we try it out together instead of going to the typical chain steakhouse. I didn't know it was going to be so pricey, but figured for $20 for just a steak and potato (doesn't include salad or soup), it would be a GREAT steak. It looked like a nice cut of meat, but it was surprisingly dry... asked for medium rare, and it was cooked correctly. Baked potato was excellent with toppings on the side, as requested. Bread basket was okay. Service was perfectly attentive--kept my iced tea filled (new glass every time, versus bringing a pitcher--I prefer it this way so my sweetener doesn't get overly diluted). Will try it again... not sure when I've had a "dry" steak. Weird. Maybe it was a fluke.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.