About Stonewood Grill & Tavern - Jacksonville

3832 Baymeadows Rd # 3
Jacksonville, FL 32217
View Larger Map

Stonewood Grill & Tavern offers a complete dining experience for both your eyes and your palate. You don’t want to have just another ordinary night out — so tonight, make it extraordinary!

We oak-grill each steak to lock in its juices and enhance its natural flavors. Plus, only the freshest seafood has the honor of being prepared by one of Stonewood’s gourmet chefs.

Adding our innovative wine list featuring rare selections and exceptional pairings makes Stonewood a great place for couples, friends, and coworkers, for date night, happy hour, special occasions, and holiday parties.

So the next time you’re looking for the perfect night out, come to Stonewood Grill & Tavern.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm, Sunday; 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 739-7206

Website:
http://www.stonewoodgrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Mike Drury

Private Party Facilities:
Stonewood Grill & Tavern is perfect for corporate events and special occasions. Our Jacksonville restaurant is located off Baymeadows Road, just steps away from the St. Johns River and minutes from Interstates 95 and 295.

Private Party Contact:
Matthew Sgroi: 9047397206x

Stonewood Grill & Tavern - Jacksonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
American
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Neighborhood Gem
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

special occasion (81)
neighborhood gem (76)
romantic (50)
See All
good for groups (44)
fit for foodies (41)
notable wine list (25)
vibrant bar scene (24)
hot spot (10)
great for lunch (10)
kid-friendly (7)
late-night find (4)
great for brunch (3)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
403 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great meal of steak and vegetables ...

Dined 6 days ago

Had a great meal of steak and vegetables on their summer menu. Everyone enjoyed their food. $2 off craft beers was good also

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The filet mignon was one of the best I h ...

Dined 7 days ago

The filet mignon was one of the best I have ever had. Not a bit of fat and cooked perfectly. Shrimp and scallops were fabulous, too.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Off my list.

Dined on May 21, 2016

Service was slow.they were not busy.Steak special was full of grisel.Coffee was cold.Replacement was so strong it was undrinkable. Manager did waive the charges for said items.

food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Stonewood is one of our favorite neighbo ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Stonewood is one of our favorite neighborhood restaurants. It's often our go-to Friday or Saturday date night choice. Everything was excellent. I only gave a lower review on value as wine by the glass seems pricey.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been going to Stomewood for many ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We have been going to Stomewood for many years to celebrate happy occasions and just An evening out, our go to place Love the food and the service is always above board, everyone is great to deal with I have never been disappointed, never

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious

Dined on May 12, 2016

Food at Stonewood is delicious. The menu is diverse and everything we have had there so far is very good. I had the fish with the lobster sauce and shrimp. It was very good and I would order it again.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4

Great service. Fun atmosphere. Great p ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Great service. Fun atmosphere. Great place to have a birthday. They leave a card at the table before you arrive and then offer a free dessert with candle.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two night in a row

Dined on May 11, 2016

Our food was so good at Stonewood that we booked the next night to return and have some more good food. I had Stone bits off the appetizer menu and it was fabulous. The filet is cut into bite size portions and you get about 7 or 8 pcs. My husband had the fish with the lobster sauce and shrimp topping. He said it was a 10 out of 10.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I go to Stonewood regularly and its always good!

Dined on May 11, 2016

Stonewood is always consistent with good food and service. I go there regularly and always enjoy it!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Unacceptable for a restaurant of this caliper

Dined on May 8, 2016

With reservations waited over half an hour to get seated. Management knew this and avoided us. Service was bad, servicer forgot items, didn't checkup up on us except one time. Food took very long time and steaks were over cooked. Drinkers we empty, overall very disappointed with the experience of this restaurant. Will not go back! Mike

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

1st choice 4 dining ,in Tampa-Daytona-and Jax

Dined on May 8, 2016

My Husband and I were at the opening night of this restaurant many years ago . Has been my favorite and first choice for dining . Last visit was a disappointment. Had a party of six. Service was marginal at best. Had to ask for things more than once then sat and waited. Ginger dressing was actually watered down. Very disappointing since I bragged about it so much to other parties. . Never told about the specials until we ask . Please do not lower the quality of the food. I could always count on quality food and outstanding service. Please do not disappoint me in my next visit. Thank you

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

Bar Area Seating

Dined on May 8, 2016

My family did not like sitting in the noisy bar area staring at golf on TV on Mothers Day. My wife especially did not like it. Also, since when are there no standards for dress? At another table there was a man dressed in shorts and an undershirt. We were properly dressed. Was the management afraid to not serve this guy for some reason so they let him in? I wonder what would happen to us if we showed up in our underwear? We would have probably been shown he door. Guess even high prices does not keep out the riffraff. This is not the place it used to be. The menu has been changed and pared down from what it once was. Prices are high, but the food was excellent. I am going to have to think twice before I go here again.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Server needs more training. Lots of issues.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Not what we are accustomed to. Disappointed. Hope this was an anomaly.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Best customer service and the food is to ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Best customer service and the food is to die for!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice Mother's Day venue

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Free mimosas for the ladies on Mother's Day, but not a brunch place...however, the menu is varied enough that everyone found different things to eat depending on their tastes and hunger. Steak salad, filet mignon, Crispy GrouperSandwich, Tuscan Chicken, etc. Trevor provided excellent, unrushed service, everyone enjoyed their food. Very pleasant overall!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a great time as usual. We took mom there for Mother's day, had fantastic service and great food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great restaurant!

Dined on May 7, 2016

The restaurant is a nice place that is recognized by many who have lived in Jacksonville for a while. The location is great and the place looks great both inside and out. The service was good, though it took a while for us to get our food with a party of 5. All of the dishes were great in presentation and taste. The prime rib was good but a tiny bit chewy and is not the absolute best I've had. I am very particular about my steaks, so take this comment for what it's worth. The other plates such as salads and pastas were great.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day

Dined on May 7, 2016

My husband took my mother and I out for dinner to celebrate Mothers Day. The ginger lime salmon was fabulous! Great atmosphere, very nice staff.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Not like it used to be.

Dined on May 6, 2016

Service was a little slow especially considering the restaurant was no where near full. Food was lackluster. Steak was fair. Broccoli was unseasoned and barely warm. My husband's blackened chicken pasta was not hot and the small amount of chicken was dry and just thrown on top. This used to be a really great place. But the last few times we've been there, food has just not been really good.. Too bad.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner

Dined on May 6, 2016

service and food are always excellent.............Seated almost immediately.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a good time

Dined on April 21, 2016

Our server Kylie was terrific the food was pretty good for the most part 3 people out of 6 had the chicken spinach in some sauce that was a disappointment very bland absolutely no flavor but the chicken was very moist sat in a soup type sauce. Everyone else's was excellent. Thank you for the great service.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Stone wood Grill

Dined on April 21, 2016

Always good food reasonably priced. Good service. Love the aroma of the open kitchen

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

Our favorite item is the herb encrusted ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Our favorite item is the herb encrusted grouper, but tonight, it was a complete disappointment. Unusually small portion, especially for a $30 entree. That would have been okay, except that it was completely over cooked - to the point of the herbs being burnt. Really bummed. The Stone bits were the highlight of the evening, however. Perfectly cooked filet mignon bites with a wonderful zesty aioli. So the night wasn't a complete disaster. We love this place so we'll be back.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fresh Food

Dined on April 15, 2016

Once again another great dining experience at Stonewood. The staff and food was awesome. The stuff beef and vegs were fresh and well seasoned.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Consistently good food.

Dined on April 14, 2016

Short ribs done to perfection. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service as always from Alisa ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Outstanding service as always from Alisa. one of our favorite places.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Ratchet

Dined on April 3, 2016

Very good food. I had a special. One person in our group had the same thing and had to send it back because it was WAY over cooked. She asked for rare and got medium well!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stonewood is always a treat!

Dined on April 2, 2016

We enjoy coming to this restaurant. The cocktails are perfect. Best cosmopolitan in town! Starting with the fresh and tasty bruschetta and blue cheese chips to our entree it was a great dining experience. My husband and I are a creature of habit and ordered the Chicken Pot Pie. It never disappoints! The price is so reasonable.Look forward to going again

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere.

Dined on April 1, 2016

All the meals were great. The wood fired grilled filet was fantastic.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a great choice!

Dined on March 27, 2016

I have been a customer since opening. Always great food, drinks an service!

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Place.

Dined on March 27, 2016

The food and service is always good. Great place to go for dinner

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rich

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Went for Easter and the special - roast leg of lamb - was superb. Even crowded, service was impeccable, One of my favorites in the JAX area.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2

We had high hopes for this place since i ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

We had high hopes for this place since it was recommended to us but we were disappointed. The service was slow and the food unappetizing. The blue cheese chips were good but not great. Our meals were served lukewarm at best. Either the knives needed to be sharpened or the meat was just a poor quality, as it was very difficult to slice it.

food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Our last visit , meaning never again

Dined on March 27, 2016

with early reservations , 11:30 , it was totally understaffed . Waiter pleasant but overwhelmed by multiple large seatings in a short amount of time . Later, too late, we noticed more servers . several of our 8 had disappointing meals. Not up to standards in the past . As this is the second less than professional experience in two weeks we won't be returning. I think management problems exist as after all they do the schedualing and QC. Visit Moxie's for examples of " how-to ".

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome restaurant , delicious food, atm ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Awesome restaurant , delicious food, atmosphere is superb and staff outstanding !

food5
ambience5
service5

The staff were welcoming and very attent ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

The staff were welcoming and very attentive. A great meal in a friendly quiet atmosphere .

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great neighborhood go-to restaurant

Dined on March 18, 2016

We love Stonewood as one of our great neighborhood go-to restaurants for Friday or Saturday evenings or after an early movie.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb Choice!!

Dined on March 15, 2016

Excellent food from a wide range of menu offerings. Engaging staff provides individualized service. A real neighborhood gem with a clientele that you're happy to have dinner with. Recommend highly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

A really good night

Dined on March 12, 2016

The food and the service was amazing! I could not have picked a better restaurant to celebrate my favorite person's birthday! service was nice and the food was amazing, the steak was cooked perfectly and the dessert was to die for!

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Whenever I'm in Jax ...

Dined on March 9, 2016

I -- or my wife and I -- bring my nonagenarian mother to Stonewood Grill each time I'm in Jacksonville, 3 or 4 times a year. Mother lives in Atlantic Beach, and we followed Stonewood over from Ponte Vedra. Sure wish you'd find a place over that way again. Anyway, though we've never had a meal, out of dozens, that was less than very good, the dinner that my wife, my mother and I enjoyed on Wednesday, March 9, was at a level higher than any other so far. From the request for quieter seating so my mother could here, to the excellence and good humor of the server (does Mela ring a bell? That might have been her name), to the gins and tonic all around, to Mother's lobster bisque and my lettuce wedge with a generous topping of bacon pieces (these were a lot bigger than "bits"), to my N.Y. strip and my wife's planked salmon and my mother's lamb chops, to the mint-chocolate we shared, everything was memorable. All was prepared the way it was supposed to have been prepared: The steak was medium-rare, juicy and tender, and my dining partners said their entrees, too, were perfect. We can't be back as soon as we want to, but we'll be back as soon as we can be. Sorry this was so long, but for once I had to gush.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.