About Stonewood Grill & Tavern - Jacksonville

3832 Baymeadows Rd # 3
Jacksonville, FL 32217
View Larger Map

Stonewood Grill & Tavern offers a complete dining experience for both your eyes and your palate. You don’t want to have just another ordinary night out — so tonight, make it extraordinary!

We oak-grill each steak to lock in its juices and enhance its natural flavors. Plus, only the freshest seafood has the honor of being prepared by one of Stonewood’s gourmet chefs.

Adding our innovative wine list featuring rare selections and exceptional pairings makes Stonewood a great place for couples, friends, and coworkers, for date night, happy hour, special occasions, and holiday parties.

So the next time you’re looking for the perfect night out, come to Stonewood Grill & Tavern.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm, Sunday; 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 739-7206

Website:
http://www.stonewoodgrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Mike Drury

Private Party Facilities:
Stonewood Grill & Tavern is perfect for corporate events and special occasions. Our Jacksonville restaurant is located off Baymeadows Road, just steps away from the St. Johns River and minutes from Interstates 95 and 295.

Private Party Contact:
Matthew Sgroi: 9047397206x

Specials

Wine-Down Wednesday

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Three Olives Thursday

Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Crafted Tuesday

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Wine-Down Wednesday

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

1/2 Off Select Bottles of Wine all Night!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 1, 2016 - Mar 1, 2017 on Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Three Olives Thursday

Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

All Three Olives Vodka Cocktails and Martinis $5 All Night Long. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 1, 2016 - Mar 1, 2017 on Thursdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Crafted Tuesday

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Chef Inspired, Hand-Crafted Burgers & $2 off all Craft Drafts all night!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 1, 2016 - Mar 1, 2017 on Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Stonewood Grill & Tavern - Jacksonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Neighborhood Gem
Jacksonville
Special Occasion
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

Special Occasion (49)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
See All
Good for a Date (25)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Bar Seating (21)
Romantic (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Happy Hour (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Casual (17)
Cozy (17)
Comfort Food (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Business Meals (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Open Kitchen (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Authentic (8)
Healthy (8)
Disabled Access (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Family Style (4)
Seasonal (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great Beer (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
People Watching (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Waterfront (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Private Room (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
505 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were from out of town with a birthday ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

We were from out of town with a birthday for my sister. They were completely accommodating, welcoming and attentive. Service was great and the food was awesome. Love to come here when visiting Jacksonville!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely love the food . Waiter was on ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely love the food . Waiter was on point . Very nice elegant and very classy . Chef came out to say good nite and thank us for coming , that was priceless . The food was amazing .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stonewood Grill and Tavern again made us ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

Stonewood Grill and Tavern again made us all happy with its service, food and atmosphere. Two couples met for dinner and drinks on Sunday evening and we were greeted at the door, immediately acknowledged (along with a special request) and seated. The Happy Hour specials included the buffalo shrimp, fish dip and Tavern wings, all of which were prepared perfectly. We had several of the House Specialty Cocktails, including the blueberry martini and maple old fashioned - well mixed. For dinner, we had two orders of the ahi tuna steak (large portions, and prepared Pittsburgh-rare per request), lamb chops and blackened chicken pasta. All of the entrees disappeared and we all left satisfied as usual!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always good food and service, the always ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Always good food and service, the always have new options to try out and enjoy a different options. We like the place is very quiet but also has a great Bar with TV and great p;ace for conversation. The environment is very good for group or romantic dinners.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I live in the neighborhood and got marri ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I live in the neighborhood and got married this last Saturday. We had a party of 11. My new mother in law, who has, let's say, unique tastes, was absolutely amazed at the atmosphere, the service, and the food. She paid the bill and it was $200 less than she expected. When we got home, she said: "I am going back there again and now Longhorn is history." LOL... Thank you Stonewood staff for pleasing a 75 year old woman and making the bride and groom happy too. Keep up the good work.

Tags: Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've had many excellent meals at Stonewo ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I've had many excellent meals at Stonewood. It's always been a favorite. Thanksgiving was disappointing. The food tasted good, but my dinner was cold, while my husband's was fine. It was mostly dark meat. The pumpkin pie was good but was just a sliver and the whipped cream...well I wonder if they could spare it since there was not more than a drop on the pie. I should have ordered from the menu, but felt that Stonewood would make a good Thanksgiving meal. I was wrong. I'm not trying to be mean, but frankly Bob Evans' normal turkey dinner is much better. Maggiano's does a great TG meal. Great value too because there are always leftovers to take home. There's so much included you can't possibly eat it all.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Food is always excellent and this night ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food is always excellent and this night was no exception. Highly recommend.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stonewood always delivers with both grea ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Stonewood always delivers with both great food and perfect ambiance. We went there for

Thanksgiving dinner and it was delicious. Rob was our server and made our dinner even

more enjoyable with his attentiveness and great personality. Love this place!

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They go out of their way to make the bes ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

They go out of their way to make the best dining experience possible. We have been coming here for over a year and never had a bad experience. Awesome food, great people! Thanksgiving meal was simply great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went there for a Thanksgiving Day Dinner ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went there for a Thanksgiving Day Dinner. The Turkey was in pieces almost like gibbets? Everything else was OK but may think of alternative for Next year. Rob was our server and the whole team did a great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We went to Stonewood for Thanksgiving. T ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went to Stonewood for Thanksgiving. They had a traditional Thanksgiving menu that my wife had and really enjoyed. I had the short ribs on butternut squash ravioli. I loved it, the squash was sweet and the ribs off the bone and cooked perfectly. Chocolate Indulgence and pecan pie for dessert. It was a great way to spend the holiday. They wee busy, but service was great and it wasn't too noisy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We celebrated Thanksgiving with older pa ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We celebrated Thanksgiving with older parents.

The Thanksgiving entree was excellent and good value. This was a perfect semi-casual venue for our holiday as we did not want a buffet or loud and crowded atmosphere.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Bar Seating, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The special occasion was Thanksgiving. ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The special occasion was Thanksgiving. Having never had a mid-day Thanksgiving dinner in a restaurant before, we weren't sure what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised. The Stonewood staff prepared a very tasty traditional Thanksgiving dinner. That was probably the best (unsmoked) turkey I've ever had.

The only unusual thing that happened was that we were both given spoons, not forks, with our dessert pie. The pumpkin pie was cold, i.e., below room temperature. The pecan pie had an unusually thick crust and so was really difficult to eat with a spoon. I had to ask for a fork.

The staff was very friendly.

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have eaten at Stonewood many times and ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I have eaten at Stonewood many times and it has always been the best. I took family for Thanksgiving and was very disappointed. The food was so so and by the time it got to the table it was luke warm at best.

Disappointed AND embarrassed!

May return, may not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Every time we eat at Stonewood it is ver ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Every time we eat at Stonewood it is very good. Service is exceptional and the food is delicious although the portions could be a little larger.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have never had a bad meal here till la ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I have never had a bad meal here till last Friday drinks and food were not good. We had quest who had never been to a Stonewood restaurant and probably won't be back. We know they are better than last Friday and will give them another chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Our daughter wanted to come here for her ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Our daughter wanted to come here for her 16th Birthday celebration and the server was nice, upbeat and energetic. The only issue I had was plate presentation. Food did not look exactly how it was advertised. I felt like it was splattered all over the overly large plate that was provided. Even though it was a sampler it just seemed like there was no taking pride into making my meal appealing. They forgot my chicken that was part of the special. If you are going to be advertising a special then at least make the meal look appetizing. It's like there was no effort to make it right. The manager could have came to our table to make sure that the food was exactly to my liking. Won't be heading back here for awhile. Other than that my daughter enjoyed her special day with whatever she wanted and topped it off with her creme brulee

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Best steak in town. You get what you pay ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Best steak in town. You get what you pay for. Never been disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always an excellent choice. Our favorit ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Always an excellent choice. Our favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Cameron and Trevor were great.

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Cameron and Trevor were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had to ask for bread 5 times. Finally go ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Had to ask for bread 5 times. Finally got some to go after asking twice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

The trout was bland, the broccoli was pl ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The trout was bland, the broccoli was plain, the garlic mashed was small but good, the tuna was a 10 from my wife

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Friendly staff. Love the menu. Stonewood ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Friendly staff. Love the menu. Stonewood near us has closed . We miss it.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A delightful evening celebrating a speci ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

A delightful evening celebrating a special birthday. Food was great, and service was amazing. Seating arrangement was planned ahead, and the birthday girl got a special treat.

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was outstanding. Prime rib ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The service was outstanding. Prime rib was the best I have had in a long time.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Due to its location, SG&T has become our ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Due to its location, SG&T has become our go-to restaurant for fine dining. The parking, decor and noise level suit us. Up until this last visit, we have always been pleased with the way our small filet mignons were cooked. However, this time my "medium" and my wife's "medium rare" were both well done, i.e., no pink. Since my steak was not too far from "medium" and was not dry or tough, I still enjoyed it. My wife however, had reason to complain and she did. They did not charge us for her steak and we appreciate that. Because that is the first time that has happened, we do plan to return. However, on a previous visit with a different couple, one of them ordered prime rib and after it was served, declared it "inedible" because it was all fat and gristle. She too complained and was not charged for the prime rib. Nor did she eat it.

Again, we will not let these incidents deter us from returning. Now, if something similar happens again on our next visit, we may be looking for another restaurant. We hope that will not be the case, as we have been very pleased with the service, wine specials, noise level (quiet) and decor.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My date and I had an awesome time at the ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 23, 2016

My date and I had an awesome time at the Jacksonville Stonewood Grill & Tavern. The service was very attentive and friendly, the drinks were great and the food was off the charts. Add to that a comfortable, cozy atmosphere and it made for a very nice evening. I'm surely coming back!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Private Room, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered the oak grilled trout which was ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Ordered the oak grilled trout which was excellent a few years ago, but did not meet my expectations this time. Side dishes got cooled off while waiting for trout to get plated.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious food... stone bits, pork chops ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Delicious food... stone bits, pork chops, onion soup and key lime pie..... had a great time out without the kids...a nice adult meal and conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expectations were high based on what we ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Expectations were high based on what we had heard. Food was nothing special and not as flavorful as we would have expected. Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Went to eat late afternoon early evening ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Went to eat late afternoon early evening on a Saturday for a birthday meal. Food was amazing, little surf and turf with appetizer.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This was our first time at Stonewood an ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 21, 2016

This was our first time at Stonewood and we loved it. The steaks were perfectly cooked, the sides were delicious and my wife loved the pretzel bread. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Emily was a great server! It's always ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Emily was a great server! It's always a positive experience at the Stonewood!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Host and waiter were very personable and ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Host and waiter were very personable and made sure the birthday person felt special Waiter was very attentive and made great suggestions. Food was delicious and the ambience was warm and comfortable. Great experience!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been eating at Stonewood for 15y ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We have been eating at Stonewood for 15years. The food is dependable

and delicious. The steaks and prime rib cannot be beaten.

The drinks, the appetizers, are imaginative and just plain good.

We have seasons tickets to the Jacksonville Pops and go to many concerts

in Jacksonville. We always stop at Stonewood for dinner before

the show.

The staff are capable and courteous . We usually split the prime rib or the filet. Have drinks

in the bar and are ready for the show.

This place will not let you down.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a reliable dinning experience, th ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Always a reliable dinning experience, this time we tries some new menu options which were very good. The service is very good , friendly and accommodating. We like the ambiance as well with a very energetic bar. Highly recommended good food and won't break your budget.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a group of 12 and the two servers ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We had a group of 12 and the two servers they gave us were very accommodating and took excellent care of us. The reservation was booked for a monthly dinner we have as a group, but we ended up turning it into a special occasion as one of the couples announced their engagement. The couple brought in a cake to share with everyone and the staff was great to cut and serve the cake for us and box up the leftovers. The food was well prepared and delicious. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and atmosphere with great cus ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Great food and atmosphere with great customer service. I really enjoyed it.

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

All just marvelous food excellent and s ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 8, 2016

All just marvelous food excellent and service good

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stonewood is always consistent, always g ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Stonewood is always consistent, always good food and service. Their wait staff is definitely a cut above. Nice ambience with, as one might expect, a lot of stone and wood. You can dine informally at the bar or in bar area booths or else you can dine more formally in the regular dining room. There's plenty of parking.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.