About Stonewood Grill & Tavern - Jacksonville

3832 Baymeadows Rd # 3
Jacksonville, FL 32217
View Larger Map

Stonewood Grill & Tavern offers a complete dining experience for both your eyes and your palate. You don’t want to have just another ordinary night out — so tonight, make it extraordinary!

We oak-grill each steak to lock in its juices and enhance its natural flavors. Plus, only the freshest seafood has the honor of being prepared by one of Stonewood’s gourmet chefs.

Adding our innovative wine list featuring rare selections and exceptional pairings makes Stonewood a great place for couples, friends, and coworkers, for date night, happy hour, special occasions, and holiday parties.

So the next time you’re looking for the perfect night out, come to Stonewood Grill & Tavern.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm, Sunday; 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 739-7206

Website:
http://www.stonewoodgrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Mike Drury

Private Party Facilities:
Stonewood Grill & Tavern is perfect for corporate events and special occasions. Our Jacksonville restaurant is located off Baymeadows Road, just steps away from the St. Johns River and minutes from Interstates 95 and 295.

Private Party Contact:
Matthew Sgroi: 9047397206x

Stonewood Grill & Tavern - Jacksonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Neighborhood Gem
Jacksonville
Special Occasion
Jacksonville
Best Restaurants in Jacksonville ›

Special Occasion (64)
Neighborhood Gem (57)
Good for Groups (35)
See All
Fit for Foodies (33)
Romantic (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Notable Wine List (17)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Cozy (7)
Casual (6)
Business Meals (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Healthy (4)
Seasonal (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Scenic View (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
Newest
464 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My dish came out cold. I never got to t ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 4 days ago

My dish came out cold. I never got to tell the server because she was busy with the person at our table who got the wrong order. The correct thing was ordered, but the wrong thing was brought out. I complained later by email to Stonewood, but got no response.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Nice place. I had a ribeye and baked pot ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Nice place. I had a ribeye and baked potato. Very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

excellent experience....Emily and Chriss ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

excellent experience....Emily and Chrissy met all needs.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We enjoyed the food and our waiter was v ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We enjoyed the food and our waiter was very nice but it took forever to get our food and the restaurant was not busy at all. We arrived at 4pm and did not leave until 6:15pm. It took us 20 minutes just to get our drinks (just water and tea), then another 45 minutes to get our salads to us, then the food was about 20 minutes after our salads and then it was another 30 minutes just to get paid and head out. Another thing that I was disappointed in, was I ordered a side salad and I wanted a small, side of the Stonewood Salad and the waiter said that it would be $3 for a salad added to a meal so I did that, well I was charged like $7 for a side Stonewood Salad that was not very big at all...I would suggest with the cost of the steak on the menu that the side salad should be included in the cost of the meals.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Our server Cameron was very nice. He was ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our server Cameron was very nice. He was very attentive and overall he had a great personality. He made our first time at Stonewood a great experience and we will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! The pretzel stick bread is t ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great food! The pretzel stick bread is to die for. All food was great, service great

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Looking forward ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great food and service. Looking forward to another dining experience at Stonewood.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food, attentive waiter, great ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Excellent food, attentive waiter, great drinks. Wine on Wednesday a good idea!

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice restaurant, good location and parki ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Nice restaurant, good location and parking. The interior design was excellent with comfortable spacious seating. The wait staff was attentive but the food was poor dressed up factory fare.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Had to make an adjustment to our reserva ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Had to make an adjustment to our reservation at the last minute - staff was more than helpful and we were seated promptly. The atmosphere allowed us to enjoy getting together with old friends and we were never rushed. Had an excellent meal - salmon with Asian slaw - a great combo. Another had short ribs with butternut ravioli, also excellent. All in all a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Stonewood because they have a ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We went to Stonewood because they have a citrus salmon dish that was on their original menu back when they first opened up in Jacksonville that is back on the menu. It was my favorite dish back then and it was just as I remembered. It is apparently a seasonal dish so it won't be on for long. I was very happy with my choice. I just wish they would keep it on the menu permanently. The food is always very good at Stonewood. We had an added bonus as it was a Wednesday night where select wines are half price all night!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Requested a table for 8 for a special re ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Requested a table for 8 for a special reunion of old friends at least two weeks prior, probably more. On arrival, staff seemed to be surprised. Ended up being seated at a six person table with an extension right next to the usual screaming children and up near the front which was a "choke point" for traffic, waitresses, etc. Our server was great, but the food was less than great. Believe five of us ordered the crab encrusted flounder and the portions were shockingly small. It took far too long for the dinner to arrive causing our guests to comment on 'what was going on?' For the past couple of years we have been noticing a decline in the quality of food, and a large increase in prices. Personally, I don't mind the price increases if the food had stayed the same as they originally put out when it opened. Nobody will eat the bread now offered, bring back the original sourdough offering, or at least something better than what is now served. I would say that we have experienced this same poor food, appetizer bread, etc. for the past couple of years which makes me wonder why I hoped this would be a special occasion. It is a wonderful atmosphere for chatting, etc. But, sorry, I won't be back until I hear of a major change.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Seating is private enough that you can't ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Seating is private enough that you can't hear others conversations. Restaurant laid out nicely. Quite relaxing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was very pleasantly surprised. From r ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I was very pleasantly surprised. From reading other reviews I thought there was a mix of good and bad so I did not know what to expect. Atmosphere, food, service all were very good. Prime Rib was excellent and reasonable priced. I would highly recommend and will definitely go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Prior to going to Stonewoods I read the ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Prior to going to Stonewoods I read the menu on line. They had several appetizers and entre that sounded good. If the food had tasted even a quarter of how good it sounded I would have been happier.

Do yourself a favor, go elsewhere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

My steak was cooked way beyond. Tasted l ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My steak was cooked way beyond. Tasted like shoe leather.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Varied menu selection. Everything looke ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Varied menu selection. Everything looked delicious! Love the oak fired grill!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

They finally added an ahi tuna entree..i ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

They finally added an ahi tuna entree..it was AMAZING! Perfectly cooked, with a delightful and delicious flavor!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Outstanding service from the minute I en ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Outstanding service from the minute I entered the front door. Perfect seating and the server for my table was top notch. Went out of the way to answer questions and get the right answer. The food that I ordered was served at a great pace. Salad entree arrived soon with the main course following after salad was finished. Parking availability was also good. I will return and bring lots of people. Keep it up Stonewood! I give you the WOW high sign.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently good food and service. Ver ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Consistently good food and service. Very convenient location. Makes for a pleasant dining experience .reasonable prices.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a nice dinner. Food sel ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great place for a nice dinner. Food selection is great, the waiter was rather new but tried hard and did ok.

The food quality and quantity was very good. Presentation was very good as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

It was my first time dining there and th ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

It was my first time dining there and the experience was great. Although they were out of the prime rib, my wife and I was still very satisfied with our meals, dessert and beverages. Not to mention the great service Josh provided.

We have already recommended the establishment and we will return with friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I want to like this place because it is ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I want to like this place because it is so close to home but the food continues to go downhill. Outside of going for drinks at the bar, I doubt I'll be back. Also wouldn't honor a wine ecard i got from them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

The food is always above par at Stonewoo ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food is always above par at Stonewood and the service is outstanding. I had the chicken pot pie the last two visits and was not disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I have been dining at St ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

My husband and I have been dining at Stonewood Grill & Tavern from the time they opened. We went for our anniversary. We had a coupon for a free appetizer plus received a free dessert for our anniversary. John was our waiter and did a wonderful job as a server and as a very personable person who appeared to be interested in going above & beyond in his attention to all the tables he was serving .

We always go to Stonewood when we have visitors from out of the area. Have never had a "bad" experience at Stonewood.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

great service and food. never had a bad ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

great service and food. never had a bad meal there and the food is always fresh

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have never had disappointing meal (fo ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We have never had disappointing meal (food) until this time. The Tuna was not eatable and my dates food was just warm. This was highly unusual for this place, which is our favorite. The Manager and wait staff did everything they could to fix it but it was best not to say or do any more. They Compt the food and I compt the waiter because it was not his fault but the Chiefs. We will go back because, like I said, it is one of our favorite places. We had many birthday, engagement and special event meals here and will go back. Thank you for trying to fix it, you were all great.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent. Food and service awes ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Always excellent. Food and service awesome. Our special occasion restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoy Stonewood. The service ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We really enjoy Stonewood. The service was very good. My meal was not hot and they took it back and warmed it up for me. They were having a special Wine Wednesday. The wine bottle we ordered was out of stock so we were not able to get the special deal. They did give us a free desert because of the wine issue. The food was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food, served in a reasonable amount ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Good food, served in a reasonable amount of time, wait staff attentive without intruding. Bar area noisy, dining area quiet and great for conversation and a relaxing meal. Price for drinks good during happy hour.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent meal as always. Fantastic spec ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent meal as always. Fantastic specials and drinks every time too! Truely enjoyable!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy Stonewood when we go the ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We always enjoy Stonewood when we go there....... The food and service is excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our thirtieth year anniversary. ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This was our thirtieth year anniversary.

Our service with Josh and Robert was wonderful! The acting manager was very eager to fix our evening and very apologetic and kind. However, the food was cold, inaccurate, mine was to be medium sirloin my sons was to be rare , we had our dinners reversed, my brother in laws Mahi showed up when the other nine of us were finishing. Only two bathroom stalls were in service, we were seated next to a leak from air conditioning unit was dripping and my sister in laws bench seat almost dropped her whole 125lb body out on floor. Now we were with family so we had a good time but our dinner reservation was at 7:30pm we were there for three hours. The acting manager compted a free round of drinks , BIL Mahi , and gave us dessert and gift cards, but my anniversary was ruined. We spent our twenty fifth anniversary with Stonewood and had a memorable time. This was not the case this time.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value3

This is our fourth trip and we have nev ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This is our fourth trip and we have never been disappointed*. The food is great, the service is great and they have a good wine list. * I was disappointed in the Mojito I had at the bar. Too sweet and margerita like.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently good. Good food, good value ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Consistently good. Good food, good value. Consistent menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service as always!

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great food and service as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was exceptional. Food was great. ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Service was exceptional. Food was great. Price for drinks and dinner were good value for a nicer restaurant. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My nieces food was poorly prepared, whic ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

My nieces food was poorly prepared, which is unfortunate, however the staff went ABOCE AND BEYOND trying to make up for it, which was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The food is outstanding and the service ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The food is outstanding and the service is excellent.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant itself and the service wa ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The restaurant itself and the service was excellent. The food was not flavorful at all, very bland and way over priced (over $100 for 3 people with tip, no alcoholic beverages). Not on my return list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.