About Stonehouse at San Ysidro Ranch

900 San Ysidro Lane
Santa Barbara, CA 93108
View Larger Map

Located in a 19th-century citrus packing house, the Stonehouse Restaurant features a relaxing lounge with full bar service and a separate dining room with a crackling fireplace and creek side views. Chef Matthew Johnson evocative regional cuisine is prepared with a palate of herbs and vegetables harvested from the Ranch’s organic chef’s garden.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 565-1724

Website:
http://www.sanysidroranch.com/

Executive Chef:
Matthew Johnson

Private Party Facilities:
San Ysidro Ranch offers three unique Private Dining Rooms. The Adobe, a Santa Barbara County historical Landmark, can accomodate 10 guests. The beautiful Wine Cellar can accomodate up to 30 guests. Our spacious Hydrangea Cottage can comfortably seat 50 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Maxine Rutledge: 8055651702x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bacon and eggs
Mimosa
Prosecco
Blueberry Muffin
Smoked Salmon And Idaho Trout
Iced  Tea
Huevos rancheros
grand marnier souffle
Chicken and Waffles
Granola Yogurt Parfait
Warm Berry Cobbler

Stonehouse at San Ysidro Ranch Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.9

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
California Central Coast
Best Food
California Central Coast
Best Service
California Central Coast
11 More
Best Ambiance
California Central Coast
Contemporary American
California Central Coast
Best Overall
Santa Barbara
Best Food
Santa Barbara
Best Service
Santa Barbara
Best Ambiance
Santa Barbara
Best Value
Santa Barbara
Outdoor Dining
Santa Barbara
Romantic
Santa Barbara
Special Occasion
Santa Barbara
Most Booked
Santa Barbara
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

Special Occasion (81)
Romantic (79)
Great for Outdoor Dining (66)
See All
Scenic View (57)
Fit for Foodies (54)
Notable Wine List (53)
Great for Lunch (19)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for Groups (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Hot Spot (8)
Late-night Find (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
932 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful food and LOVE the gardens!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful food and LOVE the gardens!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a lovely spot with an extensive ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

This is a lovely spot with an extensive wine list. The service and food were both very good. Not specular.

The ranch is an exquisite setting. Worth a trip. Appetizers $18-25, entrees $28-40, desert $18

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Storehouse provides one of Santa Barbara ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 3 days ago

Storehouse provides one of Santa Barbara's most elegant dining experiences with an excellent fare and outstanding service. The abalone is sublime and the cod was delicious. The garden vegetables and brussel sprouts were also exceptionally well prepared. Sitting by the indoor or outdoor fireplace is always a pleasant augmentation to the experience. This is not fancy but simply classy.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Happily we arrived an hour early for lun ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Happily we arrived an hour early for lunch. We wandered around the organic garden and the main building. The spirit of this delightful, peaceful and satisfying experience is worth the preparation. The service was thoughtful, unobtrusive and pleasant. The food was full of rich and fresh flavors, balanced and beautifully presented. Now I know why this restaurant is #1

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I had lunch there, seated ou ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

My wife and I had lunch there, seated outside. The food was outstanding! I had the fried chicken sandwich – very flavorful with superb complexity. Be sure to order it, you will not be sorry. My wife had the shrimp salad and enjoyed it immensely.

We did not sleep at the Ranch. However, we did arrive early to walk around some of the beautiful grounds, and returned to them after lunch as well. It is a not-to-be-missed experience!

We live 300+ miles away… but now want to return, and stay and dine at the Ranch for our wedding anniversary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our prior dinners have been Outstanding, ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Our prior dinners have been Outstanding, but this one failed because of warm rose wine being served without the waiter adequately addressing the problem. Our dinner was at the end of a long and very hot day, which made a rose perfect for the dinner. The rose should have been chilled to 40 to 45 degrees, not at 70 degrees. It took an ice bucket 15-minutes to get the rose to a proper temperature. The balance of the meal was great. Our review would have been great if the waiter had comped a glass of rose ($14 cost - versus a $200+ tab for dinner for 2). It will be a while before we return to Stonehouse, if ever.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Wonderful in every way

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Wonderful in every way

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and wine

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Amazing food and wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our last night in Santa Barbara a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

It was our last night in Santa Barbara and wished we had discovered it before. The place is like a dream: beautiful, romantic, great food, amazing service. The gardens are spectacular! I will go back every time I'm in SB.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal experience.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Phenomenal experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a very special place in every wa ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is a very special place in every way! Wonderful food and cocktails! The ambience is uniquely lovely and romantic as are the property grounds. Service is always personal and helpful and beyond attentive! It's an all time fave & we live 2 hours South & return again & again for special occasions!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The setting is stunning and the service ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The setting is stunning and the service was perfect; however for the quality/quantity of food, it was severely overpriced. The wagyu appetizer was $34 and was barely enough for one person...but good!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Fantastic waiter called Richie from Live ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Fantastic waiter called Richie from Liverpool made an already great experience even better.

Tags: Lunch, Outdoor Eating, Special Occasions, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant in grams are in a word go ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The restaurant in grams are in a word gorgeous. The food is presented very nicely but is uninspired. Definitely worth a special occasion trip if you are looking to be astounded by the cooking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and creatively prepare ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Excellent service and creatively prepared and flavorful food. Comfortable seating with a scenic view and nice ambiance. If prices were less expensive we would dine here on a regular basis as opposed to once a year for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic, expensive restaurant. Surpris ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Fantastic, expensive restaurant. Surprised how they rushed us through the entire meal even though the place was empty, otherwise it's great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Unbelievable food and service. It was o ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Unbelievable food and service. It was our 8th wedding anniversary and Staff so nice. They had a special table for us outside. The ambience is to die for. So romantic yet vibrant. We will go back again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I like children but to allow very young, ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

I like children but to allow very young, rambunctious kids at an 8:15 seating did not seem appropriate for the $300 meal. It ruined what should have been one of the most special dinners of our vacation. The staff refused to move us except inside which defeated the purpose of the evening. Definitely ask when booking if you will be seated somewhere you can enjoy a peaceful dinner.

The food and service were otherwise exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Poor service, Overpriced for the qualit ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Poor service, Overpriced for the quality. Too dark. Very dated. There are a dozen better places to go in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

The Stonehouse Inn is our favorite resta ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The Stonehouse Inn is our favorite restaurant. We drive from San Juan Capistrano, just to dine there. We have recommended to many of our friends and relatives, and they have now become regulars, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful location, quiet, serene. Delic ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Beautiful location, quiet, serene. Delicious and varied menu. Absolutely lovely!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hands down, our favorite restaurant in C ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Hands down, our favorite restaurant in California. We had the most perfect dinner one night, liked it so much, we went back for lunch the next day. Pricey, but worth it. Everything was outstanding, but my absolute favorite is their homemade mint chocolate chip ice cream, made with mint from their gardens. The chocolate soufflé is amazing as well. Our server, Eric, was wonderful and made the evening very special for us. Would absolutely recommend and hope to return soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A beautiful evening under the loquat tre ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

A beautiful evening under the loquat trees! Thanks to chef Matt for making my requests for the his old style brussels sprouts with sea salt and the Hamachi crudo without uni which was how he used to make it! Now if our favorite roast chicken reappears, we'll really be happy.

Server Diego did a very good job this evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful location and terrace. Dinner w ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Beautiful location and terrace. Dinner was delicious and wine (sea smoke Pinot noir) excellent however the wine list was daunting and intense. Was not offered much assistance from staff and was disappointed but found something perfect on my own. We closed the place and went to valet to get car to find them gone and keys no where to be found. After 20 min we found someone who got someone who got the keys. Maybe our Tesla was not fancy enough? But it's worth the trip so don't let this spoil your dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

This was a wonderful dining experience m ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

This was a wonderful dining experience mostly because it is serene and beautiful. It was not crowded for a Monday lunch so we had time to visit, linger and just enjoy.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Would rank way up there as one of the be ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Would rank way up there as one of the better restaurants I've ever experienced. And I've had the honor of eating in some great ones in different ares of the world.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've eaten here time and again over the ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We've eaten here time and again over the years, and we always feel that it deserves 5+ stars every time! Great place! Beautiful place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Gorgeous place, delicious food, great se ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Gorgeous place, delicious food, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Among the best restaurants in the SB are ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Among the best restaurants in the SB area. The ambience is unbeatable especially if you sit in the Garden or on the Terrace. A varied menu with no losers. A spectacular wine list. As is usually the case - you get what you pay for and this place is worth the price.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This was our second time at the Stonehou ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This was our second time at the Stonehouse and we were not disappointed. This is a very upscale restaurant with a casual feel. Our waiter made us feel welcome and appreciated. We live in the Seattle area so it had been a year since we had been there; I had been dreaming for their superb Steak Diane the whole time. It was just as I had remembered it; every bite a delight. I had the beet and asparagus appetizer and we shared a delicious chocolate cake with homemade mint ice cream for dessert. The flavors in each course were wonderful. It is fairly expensive, still I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Sitting outside will give you the full experience as the view is grand. We sat outside on our first visit and unfortunately, having made the reservation on Open Table, were not able to reserve outside seating. The restaurant did call and leave a message at our home asking if we wanted outdoor seating but by that time were already in California so we did not get the message.

Go, eat enjoy!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

SYR is a beautiful property in a great l ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

SYR is a beautiful property in a great location in the foothills above Montecito Village, CA. The room/cottages are very expensive -- too expensive in my opinion.

I recall that the least expensive wine by the glass was $18. SYR should have a few less expensive choices.

The service at SYR is outstanding. We go about every three years.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We came here to celebrate wedding annive ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We came here to celebrate wedding anniversary and I couldn't be more happy wit ha choice. The food, service, overall atmosphere was amazing.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great meal under the loquat tree ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Another great meal under the loquat trees on the patio. Best friendly and competent service in SB/Montecito. Beet salad, fettucine, truffle fries and soufflé very good.

SUGGESTIONS:

1) this is the second time that we had to send back our Palmina nebiola by the glass because the bottle had been opened and sat around for at least one day. Need a gas system or throw out left over wine every night. At $20 a glass, customers deserve freshly opened.

2) Chef Matt needs to bring back the old roast chicken, heck it deserves to be permanently on menu under "classics". The tandoori chicken is way to bland, every time we decide to try it, have to request extra Moroccan spices. Also, we always enjoyed the old Hamachi crudo that was on the menu for at least a year (best in town): last visit a month ago it had been changed and didn't even resemble the old favorite so we didn't order it this visit.

It seems that when ever a great dish is created and we look forward to having it again, chef knocks it off the menu! (or maybe Ty throws it off??)

Will miss manager Larry and good luck to new manager Ryan.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything about the Stonehouse was five ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Everything about the Stonehouse was five star except the $50.00 corkage fee they charged for the special bottle of wine we brought with us. Put a "little" damper on our special dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The staff at Stonehouse was very helpful ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The staff at Stonehouse was very helpful in planning and flawlessly executing a special dinner to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. The food was great, outdoor seating was wonderful, and our server Adrian was excellent. Thanks so much for making it a memorable evening for us both.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very pleased with my experience. Thank y ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very pleased with my experience. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had an amazing Fathers Day brunch here. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Had an amazing Fathers Day brunch here. The food was so delicious. Everything we ordered was great - the chef did an excellent job!!!!! We sat on the patio under the trees in, it was a beautiful setting and was very relaxing. I enjoyed the duck spring rolls (to die for!) and a lobster avocado omelette. The Chicken and Waffles looked great too! The desserts were beautiful. Great portion sizes and drink choices were also top notch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Most beautiful restaurant I've ever been ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Most beautiful restaurant I've ever been to! Good was excellent. Main waiter could have been more attentive but the rest were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Incredible meal, view, service, and expe ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Incredible meal, view, service, and experience! Very special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice lunch. Attentive hostess and ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Very nice lunch. Attentive hostess and servers. Amazing wine selection and very pleasant outdoor seating area. Food selection was good and the dishes were excellent. Very quiet area with fantastic views.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.