Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.30mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.62mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.30mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.62mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.30mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.62mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.30mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.62mi

About Stonehouse at San Ysidro Ranch

Located in a 19th-century citrus packing house, the Stonehouse Restaurant features a relaxing lounge with full bar service and a separate dining room with a crackling fireplace and creek side views. Chef Matthew Johnson evocative regional cuisine is prepared with a palate of herbs and vegetables harvested from the Ranch’s organic chef’s garden.

900 San Ysidro Lane
Santa Barbara, CA 93108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 565-1724

Website:
http://www.sanysidroranch.com/

Executive Chef:
Matthew Johnson

Private Party Facilities:
San Ysidro Ranch offers three unique Private Dining Rooms. The Adobe, a Santa Barbara County historical Landmark, can accomodate 10 guests. The beautiful Wine Cellar can accomodate up to 30 guests. Our spacious Hydrangea Cottage can comfortably seat 50 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Maxine Rutledge: (805) 565-1702

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Stonehouse at San Ysidro Ranch Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

5.0

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (65)
Special Occasion (63)
Good for Anniversaries (57)
See All
Scenic View (49)
Great for Outdoor Dining (46)
Good for a Date (45)
Worth the Drive (39)
Quiet Conversation (37)
Notable Wine List (35)
Local Ingredients (34)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Cozy (26)
Great for Lunch (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Authentic (13)
Organic (12)
Historic (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Fireplace (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Business Meals (7)
Fun (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Seasonal (6)
People Watching (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Tasting Menu (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Casual (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Vegan (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1210 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic venue, service and food! The wine list is amazing. We had a wonderful time and would strongly recommend sitting in the lower courtyard (near the fireplace). Quiet, romantic and venue that reminded us of a beautiful setting in southern France.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing food, amazing wine list, amazing atmosphere. We celebrated our engagement and had a fabulous time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Beautiful setting with truly wonderful food, with warm and friendly service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The cuisine is outstanding. The staff is personable, thoughtful and attentive. The restaurant and grounds are beautiful and very well kept. This is a very special place for people with an appreciation for true culinary artistry.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 13, 2017

This restaurant has a beautiful garden. It sits high on a hill. It has a patio section in addition to indoor restaurant. It is maintained very well. It is very elegant.

The food was prepared well and tasty. It did not have a tasting menu like other fancy and expensive restaurants.

We sat in the patio this time. The fruit flies bothered us. Our glasses of fine wine attracted the fruit flies. All 7 glasses had flies dropped into our wine. The waiter took the flies out of our glasses and gave us napkins to cover the top of our glasses. He did not considered it unhealthy; so we drank them. Our neighboring tables had similar problems and also covered the wine glasses with napkins. I had digestive problems the next morning and went to the toilets 3 times around my breakfast time.

This is not good for a fine restaurant. Similar problems must have happened before in the patio. They should have alerted us at the beginning and advised us the option to cover the wine glasses with napkins. They should also study the health issue of drinking the wine with fruit flies. I had irregular bowl movement afterwards and they could have more serious public health problems in the future.

I also find it strange that there was no indication of apology from the waiter nor the manager. It is like a standard practice and nothing abnormal in having fruit flies in your expansive wines.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

A truly special experience that is the essence of not only its unique location but a definition of quiet elegance that is increasingly lost in today's "reality tv" world. Nothing flashy or ostentatious, just the same essence of indoor/outdoor that defines life in Montecito. If the lore and the romance are not enough of a temptation, then go for the gardens, the ideal "appetizer" to any meal. Fine dining to be sure, but they also offer a kids' menu and my 10-year-old was enchanted by the Baked Alaska.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 7, 2017

The outdoor seating view at the Stonehouse was beautiful with flowers in bloom all around. Service was impeccable. Had a peach sangria which I'm afraid tasted very watered down. The peach Bellini was much better. I had the organic chicken entree. It was excellent, very tender and tasty. A very nice memorable meal with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Good overall. Service was a little spotty. Nice but not the level of attention given price point and number of staff. Perhaps because it was brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2017

There is a saying, "Everyone should see Venice, Italy at least once." Well, I will add that - "everyone should dine at the Stonehouse at the San Yasidro Ranch at least once." Delicious for your eyes and your pallet."

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We really enjoyed the ambiance and the food. The chocolate souffles were wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Awesome meal and service! We enjoyed celebrating our anniversary at the Stonehouse restaurant. Thanks! 😃

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

My wife and I went to Stonehouse for a romantic dinner for our 5 year anniversary and we were very impressed with the ambiance and service.

However, we had a bottle of wine we had saved since our wedding to drink on our 5 year anniversary and they charged a $50 corkage fee, which is probably more than the bottle was worth. For dinner, I ordered the duck and my wife ordered the special which was Yellowfin tuna. We were both very unimpressed with the meals and contemplated sending the Tuna back because it was that bad. If Stonehouse is going to charge that much for their food with such limited options, I would think that it would taste better.

Looking back we should have ordered a dessert so we might have hopefully left with a better opinion of the food at the restaurant.

For $245 I would expect a little more out of the food. I'm sure there are better options for food at half the price in Santa Barbara.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great food and awesome garden. Would come back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Beautiful Setting. Great ambiance food was sublime and service was impeccable!

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 2, 2017

wonderful lunch followed by a stroll in the fabulous garden.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 31, 2017

My experience was terrible. I have traveled the world and spent a lot of time in big cities like Miami, New York, San Francisco, London so I am accustomed to what one would expect as one of the top hotels of the world and supposedly one of the best restaurants in Santa Barbara/Montecito. When I told the waiter that I cannot eat onions or garlic, he basically told me there is nothing on the menu and I can just eat a piece of grilled chicken and steamed vegetables which defeats the entire purpose of going out to eat. When I go to other 5 star restaurants I have never had a problem before finding something that fits in with my dietary needs. Instead of asking the chef to recommend some ideas he refused to bring him out to talk to me and just said he can tell him anything I want to say- even the Maître D brushed me off. Finally, the chef came out and told me the waiter is stressed out (as if it’s my fault)- he then offered some great ideas for food and did a great job with the food, but only after the waiter and maître D had made me feel completely uncomfortable and unwelcome and created such a scene. It was so embarrassing and uncomfortable -instead of being accommodating I was ostracized. In addition, the service was extremely slow - we waited a very long time for drinks and bread took more than 30 minutes. They blamed it on a private party that night so basically our patronage isn't important, even though we live in the area and have been to hotel and restaurants before. I would not go back. For the prices the restaurant charges, one would expect a much better experience than this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

Another amazing meal at the Stonehouse! Cocktails and wine list are second to none, service is top notch (thanks, Adrian!!), and the chocolate soufflé is life changing. I've been here a lot, and will be back again soon!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Terrific, Fabulous,Can't wait to return
This is my third time here and I am never disappointed. This time I was able to bring my spouse and he too went crazy. We couldn't have been treated nicer. The wine was out of this world, as was the food. The ambiance just brings it all together.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 27, 2017

simply the best in every way. Very expensive, and worth every penny

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

As long-time Santa Barbara residents, eating at the San Ysidro Ranch has long been on our to-do list. We were not disappointed. It was the perfect anniversary celebration. We had a small corner table in the patio, under a loquat tree (The waiters had to duck to reach the table.) It was quiet, and we could talk privately, but also had pleasant exchanges with our near-neighbors. The staff was attentive, and readily available to help in any way they could. Now we have memories, and something we want to do again for a very special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 24, 2017

This restaurant always delivers for ambiance, service and food. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a special evening out, but warn that it is pricey.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Magical environment. Wonderful food and excellent service. We drive an hour and 45 minutes over and over since 1986.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Authentic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Food was excellent. Our server was fantastic. She even made me unflavored ice tea. I have never had anyone go to the trouble to satisfy the dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Great place, wonderful service. worth the drive and the price.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Amazing atmosphere, service and food. Best dining experience in years and we have had some great meals. Relaxed and elegant, superb service and great food. The duck spring rolls, halibut, miso cod, and deserts outstanding. Nothing could have been better.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 19, 2017

This was such a great place to bring my boyfriend for his birthday! The view was amazing. I was worried that it was going to be hazy and smoky due to the recent Whittier fire we had. The food was delicious and their wine list was like a book. We didn't really take any pictures until after the dinner under their arch. A really fine dining experience!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Inspiring location and views especially in the upstairs dining patio. Unparalleled experience for the wine, drinks, food, and service. We celebrated our 25th Anniversary and it was nothing short of perfect for the occasion. So grateful to the wait staff for treating us like royalty.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Business Meals, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The Stonehouse Restaurant has won many awards for a reason. You pretty much can't go wrong no matter what the occasion. It is of course an expensive restaurant but the three dining options (dining room, patio, or garden) have something for everyone. Give yourself enough time to stroll the incredible grounds and take pictures in front of the amazing landscaping. It will be a very memorable meal.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Perfection on the west coast! We were visiting Santa Barbara for the weekend and drove to this beautiful resort. The setting was amazing- gorgeous gardens and sweet cottages. We loved sitting outside on the patio- very romantic ambience. The service and food were outstanding. We look forward to visiting again and staying there.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This visit was our second time dining at the Stonehouse. It's a lovely location, and Richard, our server, was very good. The food, while well prepared is good, but nothing earth shattering. One misstep was the Tagine, a very specific meal and always presented in the signature Tagine Dish. I was excited to order this dish as we were celebrating a special occasion and it would be a festive choice. Well, when mine was delivered, it was in a white soup bowl, no Tagine. When I asked the food runner about the presentation, he said they're all out now. Immediately two things came to mind, the meal is cooked in another pot and then just ladled into the Tagine, and second, at a restaurant of this caliber, the dish should always be available in the signature style. While the management was very accommodating, no accommodation would have needed to be made at all had attention to detail been paid to plating, this comes from the chef or the food expeditor. I would recommend dining here to anyone once for the beauty of the setting and the experience, but it is unlikely we'll be back for another visit.

Tags: People Watching, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We love this romantic spot. The food is incredible and the service is impeccable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Beautiful setting, attentive (but not too) waitstaff and delicious food.
San Ysidro Ranch is an absolute gem. It has the most wonderful gardens so allow some time to meander either before or after dinner. It is our go to restaurant for a special occasion.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Richard was an amazing waiter and provided excellent service. He made my wife's birthday very memorable. We will return due to Richard and the excellent food and atmosphere of this very special restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 9, 2017

My husband and I have just dined at a Michelin star restaurant Addison in Del Mar few weeks ago and gave it a high rating; however, Stonehouse just topped that review, it was the best dinner we've had by far! The classic steak Duane flambé was so unbelievably tender, and my hubby's rack of lamb was equally delicious. Our server was very informative, although I had to remind her of my husband's glass of Cabernet that took a bit longer to be brought out and we had to wait to make a toast to his birthday when I already had my martini! Be that as it may, truly an enchanting dinner. We'll definitely go back in the near future!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Amazing setting at San Ysidro Ranch overlooking Santa Barbara. The service was spot on. Available but didn't feel rushed in the least. Food was excellent start to finish. Exhaustive wine list but some good sommelier recommendations at the start that helped. Pricey but worth it. Great for a special occasion.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 3, 2017

A perfect 10 as always. Incredible food, incredible service and tasting lunch was even an incredible value.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Exceptional dining. The food was good, and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Really appreciated their accommodation. Had such a delightful, memorable meal. Will definitely be going back! xo

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Organic, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The Halibut was excellent and the service outstanding. I would highly recommend it for anniversaries or any special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Organic, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 1, 2017

This is our absolute favorite restaurant in Santa Barbara. And we have been to several of them (Bacara, Four Seasons, Belmond). Every single time we go to SB we always go there. The entire Ranch is absolutely beautiful, the food is amazing and all staff is friendly. We always get the same waiter, Chovani who is amazing. He always remembers us. They have customers in us for life. I highly recommend it. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.