Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.30mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.62mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.30mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.62mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.30mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.62mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.30mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.62mi

About Stonehouse at San Ysidro Ranch

Located in a 19th-century citrus packing house, the Stonehouse Restaurant features a relaxing lounge with full bar service and a separate dining room with a crackling fireplace and creek side views. Chef Matthew Johnson evocative regional cuisine is prepared with a palate of herbs and vegetables harvested from the Ranch’s organic chef’s garden.

900 San Ysidro Lane
Santa Barbara, CA 93108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 565-1724

Website:
http://www.sanysidroranch.com/

Executive Chef:
Matthew Johnson

Private Party Facilities:
San Ysidro Ranch offers three unique Private Dining Rooms. The Adobe, a Santa Barbara County historical Landmark, can accomodate 10 guests. The beautiful Wine Cellar can accomodate up to 30 guests. Our spacious Hydrangea Cottage can comfortably seat 50 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Maxine Rutledge: (805) 565-1702

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Stonehouse at San Ysidro Ranch Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.9

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (55)
Good for Anniversaries (52)
Special Occasion (48)
See All
Scenic View (44)
Good for a Date (40)
Worth the Drive (38)
Great for Outdoor Dining (38)
Local Ingredients (32)
Notable Wine List (30)
Fireplace (29)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Historic (26)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Cozy (23)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Authentic (9)
Healthy (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Seasonal (7)
Business Meals (6)
Good for Groups (5)
People Watching (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Organic (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vegan (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Fun (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
1147 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Birthday and mothers day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Extraordinary dining experience. Wonderful food! Beautiful restaurant!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Amazing! From start to finish. Beautiful property, delicious food and spot on service. My Mother's Day lunch was perfect in every way. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food, service, and especially the grounds are wonderful. Surpassed anything I thought I would be. Such a beautiful setting. Highly recommend. A must do.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Historic, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Enjoyed anniversary lunch with family on May 11. Lovely setting on covered porch with garden setting. Everyone commented on the delicious tortilla soup and the chocolate souffle was terrific. Service was professional and attentive.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Outstanding food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 8, 2017

This was the most romantic restaurant that I've ever been to. Everything about it was perfect. The food and service were outstanding. The waiter was casual and unpretentious as well as healthy. Don't miss dessert!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic, Vegan, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This restaurant was impeccable! The most amazing atmosphere that I have ever experienced!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

It was absolutely and always has been amazing. Really loves the ambiance, cuisine, service. James our waiter was incredible....amazing service

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

What a treat! My husband and I looked for a romantic location for a dinner during our Santa Barbara stay, and The Stonehouse turned out to be exactly what we wanted. Delicious cocktails and dinner, more than professional and attentive staff, and a great romantic ambience. Definitely worth paying for a nice dinner to experience The Stonehouse and San Ysidro Ranch. The only thing we will do differently next time is come earlier to enjoy more time in the lounge or gardens before dinner!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fireplace, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This restaurant was on our wish list 40 years ago but we couldn't afford it then when we lived in Santa Barbara. Now that we could afford it as visitors, it did not dissappoint. It was a lovely, warm night on the upper terrace with impeccable service. We had the special sea bass & the soufflés & Brussels sprouts, all wonderful!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Historic, Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 1, 2017

My friend who is a chef came from the east coast for a special lunch. We loved everything Chomari was our sever and he did a great job! Also Robert, Jaime, and Francisco made our day very special. The Manager Jonathan was great and the chef Matthew Johnson was amazing! The most delicious food and fantastic ambience in California. We will come back as soon as possible!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Service stuff were all really nice and professional. Food was delicious. Atmosphere was fantastic. We are very satisfied with our experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

A very special spot-the setting is amazing. Outdoor dining at its best! A historic site, it is worth the money! We love the Steak Diane, prepared table side. The breads are amazing-our favorite is the seeded lavosh. All of the entrees and first courses are excellent. We have never made it to the dessert because we are too full! A real gem and wonderful treat for dining.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The Stonehouse was wonderful. The setting is beautiful. My husband and I toured the grounds at the San Ya Sidro Ranch prior to having lunch at the Stonehouse. The farm to table food was outstanding and the views we're breathtaking. I would recommend a visit!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Romantic, Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Very good, just a couple things that won't stop nagging me. One is being told that the earliest reservation available was 8:00 and then see half the restaurant empty when we get there at 7:45. Then having one of the waiters take a glass away for a refill and never seeing the waiter or the drink again. Little things can happen but you are not expecting it when you are paying the premium price. Romantic place. I like the appetizers better than the main dish.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Great time, took my fiance there after the proposal. Lots of fun excellent food and service in amazing surroundings. Richard, our waiter, went above and beyond ten-fold! Be prepared to spend your life's savings! Two SODAS, an appetizer, two entrées, and a side came out to $175 dollars, before tipping out the waiter and valet another $50. I can only imagine the shocking check people who drink get! I think it was overpriced, but I was expecting as much from the richest part of Santa Barbara, CA. I enjoyed the experience immensely, all except for the bill. Next time we will go for dessert only. It gets a ten out of ten otherwise, probably more like an eleven out of ten.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Went here for brunch for our 1st anniversary the staff couldn't have been nicer and more attentive. I think I will come back next year!!! Cheers Sean.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The most beautiful setting for this amazing restaurant. The food was the best I had ever had in my entire life and I travel a lot. We saw Ellen Degeneres walk by, a wedding, and a proposal all on the same night. The grounds are so fragrant. You don't want to leave. If you are vegetarian/vegan, they have another menu for you. Just ask! Highly recommend the gnocchi. Expensive, but worth it for an anniversary or special occasion.

Tags: Vegan, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Expensive, but they deliver. Stonehouse had fallen off of our personal list of really nice places to go for a special dinner. My wife wanted to give it another try. She was right! We will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food and ambience is amazing! Checking in was a bit odd- the maitre-d couldn't find our reservation even though I showed him my open table app. At times it felt a bit impersonal, as if our server was pitching us to upsell- instead of genuinely interested in our personal dining experience. But we ignored him and had a great meal. The space is truly the most romantic.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Might be the best meal we ever had. Seriously. Very romantic spot for a date.
Our server, Eric, was superb. Perfect level of professionalism mixed with friendliness.
Franco, who I believe manages the restaurant, is doing an incredible job. He even gave us tips for an upcoming trip to Rome.
Very memorable night- book a table, you won't regret it.

Cheers.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Delicious tortilla soup, sea bass and lemon tart set lunch amidst the beautiful gardens of SYR.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Food and setting were fantastic. Very expensive but great for a special occasion.

Tags: Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Breaks my heart but so disappointed in our evening. My husband and I had our wedding reception here. We wanted to celebrate our anniversary at the Stonehouse. We have NEVER celebrated a nice anniversary!
We rented a car to pick us up. We showed up and found out that the Stonehouse had been rented out for a special event and we were eating in the restaurant below (which is quaint BUT NOT what we wanted for our ONE nice anniversary in years). Surprisingly, they had called to confirm only two days prior AND had NOT mentioned this.
My husband and I would have picked a different weekend for our anniversary dinner!!!

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 3, 2017

The experience we had at the Stonehouse was sublime. Attention to detail from the time you enter the property until the time you leave catapults this establishment above all others in the area. The meal was delicious and our server was patient and giving. A must do splurge when visiting the Santa Barbara area!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Everyone is kind and attentive. The service was great with
wonderful food. I would highly recommend it to anyone that is
seeking a special place to have dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Beautiful restaurant and gardens; the service and food were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 23, 2017

expensive but a wonderful experience... beautiful setting

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Excellent meal starting from the bread and finishing with the dessert.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 21, 2017

First time visitors--found Stonehouse to be a total gem. Ambiance beautiful, romantic & peaceful. Food delicious. Staff superb & friendly. Will return!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Beautiful setting for daytime dining. Gorgeous gardens surround the SYR property. Food was fresh and delicious and wait staff knowledgeable and professional.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The Stonehouse, nestled in the hills of Montecito, is a pleasant location offering great food, attentive service, along with peaceful grounds and surrounding to explore. It makes for a good spot to enjoy with friends or a quiet, romantic afternoon with someone special.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Absolutely outstanding meal, wines and ambiance. Service was impeccable and accommodating.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Fabulous experience in every respect. SYR never disappoints.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We loved this place!! Can't wait to return! Great service, ambiance, and delicious food!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Tremendous venue. Elegant. I enjoy sitting on the west side of the restaurant and arriving at a time to enjoy the sunset. Great service, interesting menu selections and ample cocktail list. One of my favorites in Santa Barbara.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Wonderful setting and superb food. Our server, Chomari, was charming and helpful.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.