Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.30mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.62mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.30mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.62mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.30mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.62mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.30mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.62mi

About Stonehouse at San Ysidro Ranch

Located in a 19th-century citrus packing house, the Stonehouse Restaurant features a relaxing lounge with full bar service and a separate dining room with a crackling fireplace and creek side views. Chef Matthew Johnson evocative regional cuisine is prepared with a palate of herbs and vegetables harvested from the Ranch’s organic chef’s garden.

900 San Ysidro Lane
Santa Barbara, CA 93108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 565-1724

Website:
http://www.sanysidroranch.com/

Executive Chef:
Matthew Johnson

Private Party Facilities:
San Ysidro Ranch offers three unique Private Dining Rooms. The Adobe, a Santa Barbara County historical Landmark, can accomodate 10 guests. The beautiful Wine Cellar can accomodate up to 30 guests. Our spacious Hydrangea Cottage can comfortably seat 50 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Maxine Rutledge: (805) 565-1702

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Stonehouse at San Ysidro Ranch Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.9

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (44)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Special Occasion (31)
See All
Good for a Date (29)
Scenic View (27)
Notable Wine List (25)
Fireplace (24)
Worth the Drive (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Local Ingredients (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Historic (15)
Cozy (15)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Authentic (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Healthy (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
People Watching (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Business Meals (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Organic (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fun (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1117 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful restaurant and gardens; the service and food were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 23, 2017

expensive but a wonderful experience... beautiful setting

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Excellent meal starting from the bread and finishing with the dessert.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 21, 2017

First time visitors--found Stonehouse to be a total gem. Ambiance beautiful, romantic & peaceful. Food delicious. Staff superb & friendly. Will return!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Beautiful setting for daytime dining. Gorgeous gardens surround the SYR property. Food was fresh and delicious and wait staff knowledgeable and professional.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The Stonehouse, nestled in the hills of Montecito, is a pleasant location offering great food, attentive service, along with peaceful grounds and surrounding to explore. It makes for a good spot to enjoy with friends or a quiet, romantic afternoon with someone special.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Absolutely outstanding meal, wines and ambiance. Service was impeccable and accommodating.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Fabulous experience in every respect. SYR never disappoints.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We loved this place!! Can't wait to return! Great service, ambiance, and delicious food!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Wonderful setting and superb food. Our server, Chomari, was charming and helpful.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 9, 2017

My friend and I were on vacation in the area and wanted to try the food here. It was amazing! The flood was delicious and the restaurant was gorgeous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 7, 2017

I was so disappointed with a recent SYR lunch and although the service was outstanding as always - our food was disappointing to the point that neither of us ate our entrees. My guest had the fish tacos and she said the fish was cut in too large of pieces and was dry. I had the flat iron state and it was totally charred on the outside but very rare and I had ordered it medium rare.
I hope this was just an off day for the kitchen because I enjoy taking people to this charming restaurant but if the food isn't predictably good - it becomes less a less attractive choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

One of the worst experiences I've ever had and for two without a bottle, only three glasses, of wine, over 400$. I didn't touch my food. They didn't notice. Hit in the head twice by the same server. Didn't see our server again after food was ordered.
Don't bother!

Tags: Scenic View
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This was the best restaurant by far that we have dined in in all of Santa Barbara! Service was great, they didn't miss a beat, and the food was absolutely delicious. The ambiance was lovely and romantic. Ask to be seated upstairs on the terrace. You have a view of the ocean and gorgeous sunsets.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Outstanding personal attention received throughout the evening. The ambiance was relaxing and warm; just the right mood for a special occasion. Looking forward to a return visit.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Exquisite food and dining experience in comfortabe, lovely surroundings. Excellent service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Superb dining experience all the way around. The restaurant is beautiful, the service is outstanding and the food is amazing. Whether it is the Steak Diane or one of their amazing desserts, they excel at flambé. The ice cream is also unbelievably great! Even the hostess and the valets were wonderful to us. A special night for us. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 28, 2017

What a beautiful setting, perfect for a special occasion. The food and service were outstanding. Table side steak diane was delicious. The gorgeous manicured gardens and property is spectacular. Outside dining is where you need to be.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Always a wonderful experience at Stonehouse! Halibut is out of this world and wine selection is immense!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 27, 2017

My boyfriend and I were recommended Stonehouse by a friend to try while visiting Santa Barbara for a weekend getaway. Our dinner was nothing short of the magical experience it was promised to be. The outdoor dining is incredibly romantic and cozy. The food was excellent and our server, Lisa, was lovely. We will most definitely be coming back!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Beautiful Restaurant, menu limited. They leave door to patio open on a cold night so entire restaurant is chillly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Outstanding in every way! I was a female dining alone and felt very comfortable. They even brought me a magazine in the event I wanted to do something while I was waiting for my meal. I really appreciated the small flashlight to read the menu. One of the best meals I've ever had. Much of it was fresh from the garden or locally sourced. My server Lisa was the consummate professional, top-notch service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Lovely setting, exceptional service, outstanding food. Wh could ask for more?

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Truly one of the MOST AMAZING dining experiences ever.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We had a beautiful dinner on the outdoor patio. It was raining. Here to celebrate a baby shower. Had the black cod and halibut. A punched filled plate of flavor! Great customer service by Lisa! Great selection of cocktails and wine. The ambience was so romantic and the stone house had so much charm!!! Will look to book for my anniversary dinner!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent place for brunch! Surrounded by natural oaks, you can see wildlife around as you dine. Always enjoy our Meals there. The decor is rustic and warm.
Lunch during the week is very relaxing as well...not to mention dinner!

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I'm always happy at the Stone House. They have a $43 3 course lunch of very high quality. Its a great way for someone like me, who could never afford the elegance of San Ysidro Ranch rooms, to experience this beautiful property. Service is always impeccable from valet to bussers, real pros here.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The patio covered dining was outstanding and the service could not have been better! The meal would bring me back and though the weather did not allow us to enjoy the grounds it was a great evening.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Honeymoon dinner. It was fantastic. Could not have been better.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Superb! Always outstanding. Fine dining visits wine country "relaxed", refined.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Beautiful but expensive

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Always wonderful. Try the gluten free roles even if you are a gluten lover. Fabulous

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Fantastic meal! Beautiful setting and views. Wonderful waiter. Enjoyed the black cod!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We'd been to a lovely wedding with excellent food here previously, but were disappointed on our return for dinner the next year. The main draw is the scenery-high in the hills over Santa Barbara-a beautiful and romantic setting in historical buildings. Food was good (although not outstanding as I would have expected given the price you are paying for dinner). The wine list was inaccessible unless you were willing to pay well over $100 for a bottle of wine (we were but others more budget conscious should take note-dinner for 2 with a bottle of wine is well over $300). The main complaint was the service. Our waiter basically took our order and then ignored us. We had to flag down other servers and even the sommelier to get any sort of follow up. Not acceptable for a restaurant supposedly of this type of calibre. We likely won't return as there are better values in lovely settings in Santa Barbara and Montecito.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Even on a damp misty evening , sitting outside on the heated patio was perfect , service and food was just what you expect .
Beautiful place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We came here for brunch on Sunday after a romantic getaway in Santa Barbara for our 27th wedding anniversary. We woke up and hiked the San Ysidro trail and this brunch was the perfect place to head after we got cleaned up and ready for brunch. It has a $75 per person menu with choices of appetizers, main course, and dessert. We loved the choices, unique flavors, and the ambiance in a historic setting were ideal. It was very comfortable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Historic, Afternoon Tea, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Outstanding restaurant with an ambiance that engages your guest. Service and Food was very memorable, would highly recommend---

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We've been to the Stonehouse at San Ysidro Ranch for at least five different occasions now and each time our experience is so memorable and 5 star delicious! The Stonehouse will remain one of our all time favorite spots to meet with friends and loved ones for a special dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent food and service in a truly spectacular setting!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.