About Stonehouse at San Ysidro Ranch

900 San Ysidro Lane
Santa Barbara, CA 93108
View Larger Map

Located in a 19th-century citrus packing house, the Stonehouse Restaurant features a relaxing lounge with full bar service and a separate dining room with a crackling fireplace and creek side views. Chef Matthew Johnson evocative regional cuisine is prepared with a palate of herbs and vegetables harvested from the Ranch’s organic chef’s garden.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 565-1724

Website:
http://www.sanysidroranch.com/

Executive Chef:
Matthew Johnson

Private Party Facilities:
San Ysidro Ranch offers three unique Private Dining Rooms. The Adobe, a Santa Barbara County historical Landmark, can accomodate 10 guests. The beautiful Wine Cellar can accomodate up to 30 guests. Our spacious Hydrangea Cottage can comfortably seat 50 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Maxine Rutledge: 8055651702x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bacon and eggs
Mimosa
Prosecco
Blueberry Muffin
Smoked Salmon And Idaho Trout
Iced  Tea
Huevos rancheros
grand marnier souffle
Chicken and Waffles
Granola Yogurt Parfait
Warm Berry Cobbler

Stonehouse at San Ysidro Ranch Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.9

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
California Central Coast
Best Service
California Central Coast
Best Ambiance
California Central Coast
10 More
Romantic
California Central Coast
Contemporary American
California Central Coast
Best Overall
Santa Barbara
Best Food
Santa Barbara
Best Service
Santa Barbara
Best Ambiance
Santa Barbara
Notable Wine List
Santa Barbara
Romantic
Santa Barbara
Special Occasion
Santa Barbara
Most Booked
Santa Barbara
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

Romantic (78)
Special Occasion (74)
Great for Outdoor Dining (63)
See All
Scenic View (49)
Notable Wine List (48)
Fit for Foodies (47)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Great for Lunch (18)
Good for a Date (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Fireplace (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Historic (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Cozy (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Authentic (4)
Business Meals (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Private Room (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fun (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Healthy (1)
Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
Newest
958 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went here during honeymoon on recommenda ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Went here during honeymoon on recommendation. Setting incredible; main courses sensational. Wine list hefty in content and cost. Would recommend for a very special occasion as it's pretty hefty on the wallet. Almost fully justified. Almost. Both lower and upper deck seating breathtaking.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Wine list is notable, but relatively exp ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Wine list is notable, but relatively expensive. A person with good knowledge of wine will be able to find some reasonably priced, older vintages, though.

Our server, Adrian, was in the top three we've had at the best restaurants in cities like Paris, London, New York, Singapore, Houston or New Orleans. Simply fantastic.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Probably the best service we have ever r ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Probably the best service we have ever received in a restaurant in the US. Matthew our server was a gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating an 80th birthday, an ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We were celebrating an 80th birthday, and she was delighted with the ambience, service, and food. Everything was wonderful--Garrett even showed us a cottage...

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing dining experience worthy of 5 st ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Amazing dining experience worthy of 5 stars and return visit. Every aspect of the restaurant was

truly an exceptional experience.

Tags: Historic, Business Meals, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful, but the most expensive meal I ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Wonderful, but the most expensive meal I've ever had. If you are a foodie/wine person with the means, it is amazing. Unfortunately, it's not something most people you can do very often. To me, it's a great one time thing to say you have tried a place like this.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We visit 1-2 times per month. The food ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We visit 1-2 times per month. The food and ambiance are are always exceptional. However, on our last visit we were very disappointed that the restaurant made no mention of the anniversary we were celebrating even though it was noted in our reservation and mentioned again in our confirmation call (despite making special recognition with desserts for many other tables that evening). Our waiter was not attentive and had to be reminded about a couple different requests. The restaurant has a phenomenal wine list yet the sommelier was unfamiliar with the bottle of 2004 Dal Forno we brought and turned up his nose while informing us of the $50 corkage fee. Bottom line, we'll continue to visit but the service is not commensurate with the quality of the food or the atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

The food came out cold. A bit on the pri ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food came out cold. A bit on the pricey side. We really were not a fan of the taste of the vegetables. The waiter was real good and also the other people that seen to our table. I reserved a table for inside dinning and they gave us outside.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Amazing. A fantastic place with great se ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Amazing. A fantastic place with great service, views and food!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fireplace, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a fantastic birthday dinner! We wer ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Had a fantastic birthday dinner! We were in the outdoor garden area...very romantic, lovely setting. The food was all delicious. The highlight of the meal for us was the duck spring roll - sooooo good!! Definitely recommend Stonehouse.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful atmosphere with knowledgeable ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Beautiful atmosphere with knowledgeable and very pleasant wait staff. Enjoyed the wonderful decor and all the flowers overlooking the mountains.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Cozy, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is unbelievable!!! I happen t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

This place is unbelievable!!! I happen to find it on the internet to celebrate our anniversary.

This place is beautiful and the food will not disappoint. Excellent service, excellent food and I must say I need to book a weekend to stay here. It's gorgeous! 5 stars all the way

Tags: Notable Wine List, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Fireplace, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fabulous from start to finish ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Absolutely fabulous from start to finish.

The ambience, the food.

Don't miss it.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Stone House several times ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

I have been to Stone House several times and it gets better each time. It is expensive but great for special occasions. Food and service is outstanding. Beautiful grounds. Also, check out the hotel lobby with information about when Jackie and John Kennedy visited the hotel and restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always love going to the San Ysidro Ranc ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Always love going to the San Ysidro Ranch. Have been going there for years and it rarely disappoints.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Romantic, Historic, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

First time there, celebrated my wife's b ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

First time there, celebrated my wife's birthday. Food was wonderful, service beyond compare. Will be back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The atmosphere and food are excellent. T ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The atmosphere and food are excellent. There is also an enormous wine list with a few by-the-glass options. A meal here is pricey but definitely worth it for special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Been here many times. It's solid if huge ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Been here many times. It's solid if hugely overpriced and the menu is stale.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Excellent food, lovely setting, perfect ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Excellent food, lovely setting, perfect service. We really enjoyed our dinner (LOVED the Steak Diane), the drinks and the garden setting. The staff was pleasant, efficient, and I was impressed with our server's knowledge of the dishes and the wines.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Again, superb! Never disappoints. The ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Again, superb! Never disappoints. The most wonderful food in the most beautiful atmosphere. It's our favorite restaurant and Neil is our favorite food server. Service is always impeccable, and we always take his recommendations. We hope to be back very soon!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Could not have been happier with our vis ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Could not have been happier with our visit to San Ysidro Ranch - it has the most wonderful ambience, particularly if you are able to get one of the outdoor tables. Service was superb and food outstanding - pork belly appetizer and classic Steak Diane, cooked table side. Highly recommended!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place! The food is exquisit ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

I love this place! The food is exquisite and the service, exceptional.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fabulous! Service as always o ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Absolutely fabulous! Service as always over the top . My family was very impressed. I will be back soon!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Quick Bite, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been here a number of times. Drivi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We've been here a number of times. Driving up from Los Angeles it may seem like a long 1-1/2 hours but, if you choose your reservation with foresight it'll go quickly. The atmosphere is what we think of when the Stonehouse is mentioned. It is just wonderful. Then the food comes to mind. Just excellent. We love this place.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Hands down one of the most gorgeous rest ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Hands down one of the most gorgeous restaurants from an aesthetic appeal. White lights, stone, fireplaces, gas lamp lanterns, extensive wine list. Only issue is that this restaurant/resort is difficult for an Uber to locate so it might be best to take a taxi since they know area much better. Highly recommend Steak Diane and the lamb.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The staff at Stonehouse went above and b ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The staff at Stonehouse went above and beyond our expectations. The food was excellent, the view from where we sat which was upgraded upon hearing it was our anniversary was a big bonus.

The best part, the souffle w/ the chocolate mint complemented each other. A great way to end our anniversary.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and LOVE the gardens!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Wonderful food and LOVE the gardens!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a lovely spot with an extensive ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This is a lovely spot with an extensive wine list. The service and food were both very good. Not specular.

The ranch is an exquisite setting. Worth a trip. Appetizers $18-25, entrees $28-40, desert $18

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Storehouse provides one of Santa Barbara ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Storehouse provides one of Santa Barbara's most elegant dining experiences with an excellent fare and outstanding service. The abalone is sublime and the cod was delicious. The garden vegetables and brussel sprouts were also exceptionally well prepared. Sitting by the indoor or outdoor fireplace is always a pleasant augmentation to the experience. This is not fancy but simply classy.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Happily we arrived an hour early for lun ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Happily we arrived an hour early for lunch. We wandered around the organic garden and the main building. The spirit of this delightful, peaceful and satisfying experience is worth the preparation. The service was thoughtful, unobtrusive and pleasant. The food was full of rich and fresh flavors, balanced and beautifully presented. Now I know why this restaurant is #1

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I had lunch there, seated ou ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

My wife and I had lunch there, seated outside. The food was outstanding! I had the fried chicken sandwich – very flavorful with superb complexity. Be sure to order it, you will not be sorry. My wife had the shrimp salad and enjoyed it immensely.

We did not sleep at the Ranch. However, we did arrive early to walk around some of the beautiful grounds, and returned to them after lunch as well. It is a not-to-be-missed experience!

We live 300+ miles away… but now want to return, and stay and dine at the Ranch for our wedding anniversary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our prior dinners have been Outstanding, ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Our prior dinners have been Outstanding, but this one failed because of warm rose wine being served without the waiter adequately addressing the problem. Our dinner was at the end of a long and very hot day, which made a rose perfect for the dinner. The rose should have been chilled to 40 to 45 degrees, not at 70 degrees. It took an ice bucket 15-minutes to get the rose to a proper temperature. The balance of the meal was great. Our review would have been great if the waiter had comped a glass of rose ($14 cost - versus a $200+ tab for dinner for 2). It will be a while before we return to Stonehouse, if ever.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Wonderful in every way

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Wonderful in every way

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and wine

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Amazing food and wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our last night in Santa Barbara a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

It was our last night in Santa Barbara and wished we had discovered it before. The place is like a dream: beautiful, romantic, great food, amazing service. The gardens are spectacular! I will go back every time I'm in SB.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal experience.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Phenomenal experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a very special place in every wa ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is a very special place in every way! Wonderful food and cocktails! The ambience is uniquely lovely and romantic as are the property grounds. Service is always personal and helpful and beyond attentive! It's an all time fave & we live 2 hours South & return again & again for special occasions!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The setting is stunning and the service ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The setting is stunning and the service was perfect; however for the quality/quantity of food, it was severely overpriced. The wagyu appetizer was $34 and was barely enough for one person...but good!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Fantastic waiter called Richie from Live ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Fantastic waiter called Richie from Liverpool made an already great experience even better.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant in grams are in a word go ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The restaurant in grams are in a word gorgeous. The food is presented very nicely but is uninspired. Definitely worth a special occasion trip if you are looking to be astounded by the cooking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.