Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.30mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.62mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.30mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.62mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.30mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.62mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 1.30mi
  3. Distance: 1.41mi
  4. Distance: 1.62mi

About Stonehouse at San Ysidro Ranch

Located in a 19th-century citrus packing house, the Stonehouse Restaurant features a relaxing lounge with full bar service and a separate dining room with a crackling fireplace and creek side views. Chef Matthew Johnson evocative regional cuisine is prepared with a palate of herbs and vegetables harvested from the Ranch’s organic chef’s garden.

900 San Ysidro Lane
Santa Barbara, CA 93108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 565-1724

Website:
http://www.sanysidroranch.com/

Executive Chef:
Matthew Johnson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Stonehouse at San Ysidro Ranch Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

5.0

value

4.3

Noise

Quiet

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (56)
Romantic (54)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (41)
Good for a Date (40)
Worth the Drive (35)
Notable Wine List (34)
Scenic View (33)
Local Ingredients (31)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Cozy (21)
Great for Lunch (17)
Authentic (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Organic (15)
Healthy (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
People Watching (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Seasonal (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Business Meals (7)
Fun (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1236 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

After a nice hike this was the perfect lunch with excellent salads, fish and gourmet pizza. We thoroughly enjoyed and we’re impressed by the quality of ingredients and preparation.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

Most beautiful setting, delicious food and blood orange margarita was an extra treat!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Terrific birthday lunch. Everything delicious, from strawberry salad to hamachi, to mains of scallops and steak. Complimentary dessert to cap our celebration. Attractive presentations. Attentive but not cloying service. Historic, classic ambiance, yet casual.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Beautiful location. Delicious, fresh food. Impeccable service. Special. Highly recommend.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 12, 2017

This is one of the finest dining experiences I have had in my lifetime. From the moment you drive up the tree lit driveway, to the valet parking, and magically lit grounds, it is all perfect. The service was impeccable. The food was exquisite. We will be back to celebrate more special occasions at this very delightful restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

Every single bit of fabulous. So romantic and the gardens for a stroll is a lovely way to enjoy a fresh mixed cocktail. The food was Devine and our server, Dave, was so knowledgeable but not pushy in the least, he knew when we needed something but gave us all the space and time we needed for conversation and savoring every bite. Excellent in every way, I would recommend it to anyone who will listen.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Gorgeous setting and the food was absolutely delicious. The one drawback, the price for Sunday brunch (which included unlimited champagne) was the same regardless if you were drinking ice tea! I would definitely go back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Again another wonderful dining experience at The Stonehouse Inn. What a beautiful setting! We all thoroughly enjoyed our tasty meals and desserts. This is our favorite restaurant, hands down. It never disappoints. The staff is friendly and so professional. Thank you again Stonehouse Inn! We love you!

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 28, 2017

We visited the Stonehouse Reataurant on Sept 27, 2017! I had not been to the San Ysisro Ranch since 1964, when I was at the Plow and Angel Bar, The atmosphere was superb, the food was excellent, and the architecture of the Main Dining space was memorable!
Wonderful experience!

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

STAFF WAS EXCELLENT [WAITER ERIC] AND FOOD WAS DELICIOUS. AMBIANCE IS ALWAYS A DELIGHT. EXCELLENTLY APPOINTED

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We always have superbly delicious meals along with outstanding service from all! This is our favorite restaurant hands down. The food is always fresh, tasty, and beautifully presented. We love everything about San Ysidro Ranch and The Stonehouse Inn.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Great place, great food, super recommend for a special occasion. Not so expensive though ..

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Beautiful ambience and setting. Top notch food. Fish was slightly over cooked but still flavorable. Impeccable service. Our first time there but will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 22, 2017

The evening starts off not well. We weren't seated on the upper terrace, where we have been seated in the past, but down underneath where I was already chilly and no view. The menu was very odd. What I would call trying too hard gourmet. No soup offered for a first course and I think only one over thought salad, other offerings read like main course fair. We thought about leaving, I remembered that in the stone cave the food was more casual. We asked to be reseated and had a delicious dinner with wonderful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 21, 2017

The restaurant is absolutely romantic and unique. I love the decor and surroundings. The service is excellent and food is great. I would say this is the best Santa Barbara has to offer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Was the night just before our 7th anniversary and exceeded expectations. I had the parmesan halibut and my wife had the duck breast. Exquisite. Great setting. Had stayed there at the Ranch many years ago but had never eaten there. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I had a group of academic dermatologists from around the United States as my guests from around the United States. They all raved about this restaurant for everything from the food, the wine, the service and the ambiance.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Amazing experience at Stonehouse. Food, wine, service -- all exceptional. The Octopus appetizer was a standout -- funny mix of ingredients but tastes amazing.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We recently had a very special dinner at the Stonehouse at San Ysidro Ranch. I booked the table at the Stonehouse with a little bit of trepidation. From reading other online reviews I knew it was expensive, but had delicious food and could be less than friendly to diners who were not guests at San Ysidro Ranch. But since this was a special evening for my wife's birthday I decided to go ahead and make the reservation for a Saturday evening. It turned out to be a very wonderful celebration.

We arrived on time for our 6:30 PM reservation.It is a good idea to have a reservation before sunset so that you can enjoy the outdoor dining area while it is still light enough to see the gardens. And, even though we were not guests at San Ysidro Ranch we had a wonderful outside table that was nice and large and we were able to sit side by side for our meal.

The Stonehouse has a reputation for a large and expensive wine list. But we had arrived in the Santa Barbara area with a special bottle of champagne we had been saving for a special occasion. Even though I knew there would be a $50 corkage charge we decided to bring our champagne with us.

The food was absolutely delicious and pricey. I started off with the abalone appetizer and then the rack of lamb. My wife selected the duck spring-rolls appetizer and then halibut for her entree. All of the dishes were delicious.

I thought the service was a little slow, but we just decided to linger over our meal and enjoy the lovely evening.

Great place for a special occasion celebration. Just know it is going to be an expensive evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 8, 2017

One of the best dinners ever. Though expensive, the overall experiences wa incredible. Would absolutely recommend it to anyone looking g for a special place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We were advised by friends not to miss The Stonehouse Restaurant at San Ysidro Ranch for a family reunion. The restaurant met or exceeded all expectations. Service and food were outstanding. We were able to arrange seating inside rather than on the patio during a heat wave, and that was huge towards enabling a relaxed evening. Wine list is impressive but not cheap. We brought some wine and paid the $50 corkage, then bought a few bottles of excellent reds off the menu. Be prepared to pay for this unique experience, which is well worth it for a special occasion or event with those that matter in your life.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Although the food was delicious and the service impeccable, as outside guests we were made to feel like second class citizens. All other diners were seated on the patio, we were inside, the only diners there, seated at a table with no window or view with waiters walking past serving all the others. Very disappointing.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 26, 2017

I love this place and have been here several times. You would have to travel abroad to get the same sense of a country house with it beautiful gardens. I love the patio dining but the indoor tables are lovely too. On this occasion we celebrated a birthday. The spaghetti puttanesca delicious, the lavender lemon tart yummy. The waiter, Eli was attentive and gracious. What a lovely place to spend the afternoon!

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 26, 2017

This is the time for outdoor patio dining: always beautiful, quiet, great service and very good food. Efficient and friendly valet crew. We're 25 year regulars.
Food highlights: downstairs octopus, soup of the day, special order brussels sprouts with sea salt, Hamachi crudo.
Food challenges: 1. have had the fried chicken twice, both times it's dry. nice coating but looks like maybe it's finished or parked in the oven too long. 2. bring back the gran marnier soufflé, it was the best in town until taken off the menu!!

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Delicious meal, phenomenal service, and a picture-perfect atmosphere. By far the best meal we had in Santa Barbara.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Fantastic venue, service and food! The wine list is amazing. We had a wonderful time and would strongly recommend sitting in the lower courtyard (near the fireplace). Quiet, romantic and venue that reminded us of a beautiful setting in southern France.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Amazing food, amazing wine list, amazing atmosphere. We celebrated our engagement and had a fabulous time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Beautiful setting with truly wonderful food, with warm and friendly service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The cuisine is outstanding. The staff is personable, thoughtful and attentive. The restaurant and grounds are beautiful and very well kept. This is a very special place for people with an appreciation for true culinary artistry.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 13, 2017

This restaurant has a beautiful garden. It sits high on a hill. It has a patio section in addition to indoor restaurant. It is maintained very well. It is very elegant.

The food was prepared well and tasty. It did not have a tasting menu like other fancy and expensive restaurants.

We sat in the patio this time. The fruit flies bothered us. Our glasses of fine wine attracted the fruit flies. All 7 glasses had flies dropped into our wine. The waiter took the flies out of our glasses and gave us napkins to cover the top of our glasses. He did not considered it unhealthy; so we drank them. Our neighboring tables had similar problems and also covered the wine glasses with napkins. I had digestive problems the next morning and went to the toilets 3 times around my breakfast time.

This is not good for a fine restaurant. Similar problems must have happened before in the patio. They should have alerted us at the beginning and advised us the option to cover the wine glasses with napkins. They should also study the health issue of drinking the wine with fruit flies. I had irregular bowl movement afterwards and they could have more serious public health problems in the future.

I also find it strange that there was no indication of apology from the waiter nor the manager. It is like a standard practice and nothing abnormal in having fruit flies in your expansive wines.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

A truly special experience that is the essence of not only its unique location but a definition of quiet elegance that is increasingly lost in today's "reality tv" world. Nothing flashy or ostentatious, just the same essence of indoor/outdoor that defines life in Montecito. If the lore and the romance are not enough of a temptation, then go for the gardens, the ideal "appetizer" to any meal. Fine dining to be sure, but they also offer a kids' menu and my 10-year-old was enchanted by the Baked Alaska.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 7, 2017

The outdoor seating view at the Stonehouse was beautiful with flowers in bloom all around. Service was impeccable. Had a peach sangria which I'm afraid tasted very watered down. The peach Bellini was much better. I had the organic chicken entree. It was excellent, very tender and tasty. A very nice memorable meal with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Good overall. Service was a little spotty. Nice but not the level of attention given price point and number of staff. Perhaps because it was brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2017

There is a saying, "Everyone should see Venice, Italy at least once." Well, I will add that - "everyone should dine at the Stonehouse at the San Yasidro Ranch at least once." Delicious for your eyes and your pallet."

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We really enjoyed the ambiance and the food. The chocolate souffles were wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Awesome meal and service! We enjoyed celebrating our anniversary at the Stonehouse restaurant. Thanks! 😃

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

My wife and I went to Stonehouse for a romantic dinner for our 5 year anniversary and we were very impressed with the ambiance and service.

However, we had a bottle of wine we had saved since our wedding to drink on our 5 year anniversary and they charged a $50 corkage fee, which is probably more than the bottle was worth. For dinner, I ordered the duck and my wife ordered the special which was Yellowfin tuna. We were both very unimpressed with the meals and contemplated sending the Tuna back because it was that bad. If Stonehouse is going to charge that much for their food with such limited options, I would think that it would taste better.

Looking back we should have ordered a dessert so we might have hopefully left with a better opinion of the food at the restaurant.

For $245 I would expect a little more out of the food. I'm sure there are better options for food at half the price in Santa Barbara.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great food and awesome garden. Would come back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Beautiful Setting. Great ambiance food was sublime and service was impeccable!

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 2, 2017

wonderful lunch followed by a stroll in the fabulous garden.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.