About Stonehouse at San Ysidro Ranch

900 San Ysidro Lane
Santa Barbara, CA 93108
View Larger Map

Located in a 19th-century citrus packing house, the Stonehouse Restaurant features a relaxing lounge with full bar service and a separate dining room with a crackling fireplace and creek side views. Chef Matthew Johnson evocative regional cuisine is prepared with a palate of herbs and vegetables harvested from the Ranch’s organic chef’s garden.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Friday 11:30am - 2:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 565-1724

Website:
http://www.sanysidroranch.com/

Executive Chef:
Matthew Johnson

Private Party Facilities:
San Ysidro Ranch offers three unique Private Dining Rooms. The Adobe, a Santa Barbara County historical Landmark, can accomodate 10 guests. The beautiful Wine Cellar can accomodate up to 30 guests. Our spacious Hydrangea Cottage can comfortably seat 50 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Maxine Rutledge: 8055651702x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Stonehouse at San Ysidro Ranch Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
California Central Coast
Best Food
California Central Coast
Best Service
California Central Coast
10 More
Best Ambiance
California Central Coast
Contemporary American
California Central Coast
Best Overall
Santa Barbara
Best Food
Santa Barbara
Best Service
Santa Barbara
Best Ambiance
Santa Barbara
Notable Wine List
Santa Barbara
Outdoor Dining
Santa Barbara
Romantic
Santa Barbara
Special Occasion
Santa Barbara
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

special occasion (63)
romantic (63)
scenic view (54)
See All
great for outdoor dining (53)
fit for foodies (45)
notable wine list (44)
great for lunch (22)
great for brunch (15)
neighborhood gem (11)
good for groups (9)
hot spot (7)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
876 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4

Dinner was fabulous! And the grounds at ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Dinner was fabulous! And the grounds at SYR where Stonehouse is located are absolutely gorgeous. Unfortunately the disaffected & bored attitudes of both the hostess & host were incongruous with an otherwise very enjoyable evening.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stonehouse at San Ysidro Ranch hooked up ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Stonehouse at San Ysidro Ranch hooked up some free sparkling wine as I was celebrating with my fiancé after proposing. We loved the attention to detail in beautifully prepared and presented appetizers and cocktails. Main courses were delicious and cooked to perfection! The atmosphere was super romantic with breathtaking views and the service was warm and accommodating. We felt pampered and would highly recommend this establishment for a special occasion as you'll surely be wowed and have a memorable time. Thank you and well done!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great setting for a meal.

Dined on May 16, 2016

Beautiful location and ambience. The wait staff was very attentive and the food was very good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place for a romantic date. The w ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Amazing place for a romantic date. The wine list is absolutely amazing. Everything on the menu looks delicious. Amazing service!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Reserved as a special special visit

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

The Stonehouse is a beautiful beautiful restaurant. The atmosphere is breathtaking. But at 50 to 60 dollars per entree, the experience should exceptional. Service was spotty. I loved my dinner, other two in our party, not so much. Strongest part of meal : appetizers, cocktails and dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic dinner in a romantic setting

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

We love coming to the San Ysidro Ranch and dining at the Stonehouse is no exception. It's the perfect blend of incredible food, outstanding service and over the top gorgeous setting. If you need a special place, if you love dining in spectacular settings - this place is for you!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magical

Dined on April 25, 2016

I truly think this is my favorite restaurant on this planet. From the moment you pass the gatehouse you'll feel you have been transported to a wonderland. As noted above everything was superior. I tell all that come to the Santa Barbara area, go and truly enjoy a marvelous meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful ambiance. Well-trained wait staff.

Dined on April 24, 2016

Highly recommended for a special occasion, romantic dinner or group get-together. Outdoor patio seating is spectacular if weather is cooperative. Wine cellar and outdoor patio can be fully reserved for group gatherings. What an evening! We'll be back...

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Stonehouse grows a lot organic in their ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Stonehouse grows a lot organic in their onsite garden, the food is always incredible and the service is top notch. I love the ambience of the restaurant and it's a gorgeous estate! You won't be disappointed here

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A gem of a place!

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

If you're looking to spend a few hours and a couple $100's then you've find the best spot. This place is gorgeous. The setting and the grounds are beautiful with stunning trees, grounds, lights and spots to view. Leave time to walk around the grounds, you won't be disappointed. The soufflé was delicious. The dishes are beautifully prepared, but not sure worth the $50-$65 per entree fee but you're paying for the ambiance, name and of course the food is excellent. If you're in the area, San Ysidro Ranch is in the Top 5 places to visit. You won't be disappointed!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Stonehouse - April 9th

Dined on April 10, 2016

Gorgeous pricey restaurant at a gorgeous pricey location, the SYR. But, deservedly so. Service was my only complaint. Our waiter wasn't 5 star quality and its a 5 star restaurant. He rarely looked my way....always talked to my husband. When our first round of drinks were done. He was very late in the game for stopping by to get an order for our second round. Still had not brought them when our dinner course arrived. That server had to remind our waiter that we still needed our drinks. They arrived at some point after we began our second course. So, either they are short staffed. Or, this guy needs a reminder on service at a 5 star restaurant. But, otherwise, its a fabulous place to eat.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent, service was spot on. ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Food was excellent, service was spot on. $$$$ indeed, but when everything is just perfect, it is well worth it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enchanting!

vip
Dined on March 28, 2016

This restaurant is in an exceptional setting, outside an old millhouse. Cozy seating, beautifully landscaped with a fireplace and heaters, to ward off the chill. Peagravel on one side, so don't wear stilettos. Loved the Hamachi and the duck appetizer. Pork entree and bananas foster were underdone, but the chocolate pot de Creme was delicious!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening

Dined on March 28, 2016

Stone house had been highly recommended, but it exceeded our expectations. We enjoyed everything about our evening, food, service and ambiance. We highly recommend it for a special evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere, food and service... Lo ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Great atmosphere, food and service... Lovely and quiet place!

food4
ambience5
service5

Setting is everything here. Limited menu ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

Setting is everything here. Limited menu but what is served is worth it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best spot in town!

Dined on March 24, 2016

We had the best time dining at San Ysidro Ranch. From the food to the service, everything was spectacular. A must visit for a special night out.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Ambience, knowledgeable staff, thoughtfu ...

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Ambience, knowledgeable staff, thoughtful food and an unhurried pace made for a memorable evening

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A most memorable lunch

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

I have no words for how charming this is. Had a long lunch on a rainy Friday afternoon and it was among the most memorable Grounds are lush and immaculate - ate on the outdoor terrace with a roaring fire to fight the chill. Service was attentive without being intrusive. Wine recommendation was excellent. Roasted chicken was perfectly prepared and juicy. All entrees were light and fresh and beautifully presented as were apps and dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A truly memorable meal.

vip
Dined on March 7, 2016

Delicious start to finish. The ceviche was outstanding as was the parmesan crusted halibut.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Rainy night, rescued

Dined on March 6, 2016

Came to Santa Barbara expecting some rain, but this night it poured. We'd seen some good reviews and booked a table in advance. Unfortunately, it was dark and wet when we arrived, so we didn't get a good look at the grounds. But the inside was cozy and had a rustic air. That said, this is a nice place and not a cook shack. The service was impeccable. The menu was enticing. And the wine list was an inch thick. We started with a perfectly prepared Old Fashioned, which kicked things off well. Everything was perfectly prepared. Service was attentive without too much hustle. Just right. We ordered the Grand Marnier souffle, which requires some advance and it was delightful. We'll be back...when it's lighter outside.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly spectacular

vip
Dined on February 16, 2016

The place is stunningly beautiful. I took my boyfriend, something of a wine snob, here for his birthday. It's been weeks and we're still talking about it. The food, the wait staff, the environment, the ambiance, and yes, the wine list - were all utterly superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Gorgeous views and delicious food

Dined on February 14, 2016

Terrific experience! If you haven't ever been, San Ysidro Ranch is a gorgeous gem, and brunch at Stonehouse on a glorious day is about as good as it gets. The food is terrific and the service is even better. Bottomless Mimosas and Bellinis round out the meal. For $75, it is also a bargain. Ask to be seated on the upstairs terrace - the views are great. But the downstairs terrace is cozy if you can't get a seat upstairs.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

San Ysidro = Amazing!

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and I went to Santa Barbara from Chicago and had not really looked at a good restaurant for our Valentine's celebration on Saturday night Feb. 13th. I had looked at this ranch as a possible resort to stay at but due to the holiday and the Film festival was just a tad out of range. Luckily they had availability for dinner - I am SO glad we were able to go. From the time we walked in it was a nice atmosphere with catered attention. Food was thoughtfully prepared, the waiters and servers were courteous, professional, thorough and warm. Cocktails were well prepared and delicious as was all the food. Bravo!!! The outside seating in the evening was lit with lights in the trees that just added to the already great atmosphere - a must GO!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

More than wonderful

Dined on February 14, 2016

The location and setting is lovely. Better yet, the food is truly remarkable. It is by far the best dining experience I have had in a very long time. The food was amazing - fresh, well prepared, well presented. Every aspect was perfect and well worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Great cocktails, outstanding service, gr ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Great cocktails, outstanding service, great food

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Valentines

Dined on February 10, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant. The food is great and the setting is near perfect. Everytime we visit Santa Barbabra or the Central Coast we stop in for a visit. This visit was special, a two hour drive each way, an early Valentines Day celebration.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gorgeous!

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

What a beautiful setting - fabulous food, superb service - quiet, romantic, perfect for a special occasion - major wine list, they have it all!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional Monticito Jewel

Dined on February 5, 2016

I know I can always count on a warm welcome by the friendly staff. The food is always wonderful and of course ambience, the best! Expensive but worth every penny! Congratulations to Beanny Baby, Ty Warner!! Well done!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most Romantic Birthday Lunch

Dined on February 4, 2016

San Ysidro Ranch is upscale with tranquil and amazing grounds. Its restaurant is no exception. We had a beautiful outdoor lunch and it was pleasant and delicious. They have an amazing wine list suitable for connoisseurs. The whole experience was most romantic and savory. We'll definitely be back for more important and special occasion celebrations.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional Experience

Dined on February 3, 2016

Driving to the Stonehouse along the coast it was a stunningly clear day. We even saw an cruise ship on the ocean. There are beautiful flowers everywhere you look at the San Ysidro Ranch. Even the guard at the gate was delightful. We were seated outside but not in direct sunlight. There were beautiful, colorful plants near our table. Our waiter was friendly, knowledgable and charming. I think his name was Chomari. I had the Grilled Flat Iron Steak with Garden Arugula with Aged Manchego, Fingerling Potatoes and Wild Mushrooms and Chimichurri Sauce. It was excellent. My friend had the Roasted Organic Chicken with Sweet Corn Risotto with Arugula, Pine Nuts and Feta Cheese Meyer Lemon Nage. It was equally as wonderful. We each tasted the others dish. We shared the lemon tart which they brought out on a piece of slate with "Happy Birthday" written on it. We didn't want to leave. I've already booked another visit for next week.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Unbelievable in every way. This is a pla ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

Unbelievable in every way. This is a place everyone should experience once in their lifetime. The grounds are stunningly beautiful- rivaling places we have been in Itlay. The restaurant is the most romantic and beautiful my husband and I have ever experienced. The service impeccable, friendly and relaxed. The food is top notch. This is a must do if you are in the area.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the most Magical Restaurants Anywhere

Dined on January 30, 2016

What a magical setting in beautiful Montecito. Outside stone terrace, fireplace, twinkling white lights in the trees, beautiful grounds, delicious/delicious food. The grilled artichoke (not on the menu) is amazing. One of the loveliest nights.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

We went on a Sunday, they only had a pri ...

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

We went on a Sunday, they only had a prix fixe menu option at $75.00 a person with bottomless drinks. This was not mentioned on open table but all and all I would recommend this place. Everything was up to our expectations. Will not disappoint, at least for lunch.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular

Dined on January 18, 2016

Stonehouse restaurant on the San Ysidro Ranch property was everything I expected it to be. Outstanding service, knowledgeable staff regarding the property and the food recommendations. We had an opportunity to stroll the property prior to dinner and I was in awe. I hope one day to be able to afford to spend a weekend on the property to enjoy all the amenities. Thank you to all the staff.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Stonehouse exceeded our expectations!

Dined on January 17, 2016

Location, charm, ambiance, stellar service (table side Steak Diane or Crepe Suzette). Like heaven here on earth. Bravo Stonehouse, Bravo!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

World-class setting, ambiance & food...top-flight

vip
Dined on January 11, 2016

Without question one of the truly great dining experiences on the Coast of California.....exceptional setting, service, ambiance, food, drink and sense of arrival....for someone looking to see the best of California's restaurant world this must be included on the list

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Marvelous marv

Dined on January 4, 2016

The stonehouse offers exceptional and creative food. The service on this night was not up to previous visits. The ambiance of the outdoor patio was lovely. Overall a wonderful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Kee[s on Getting Better

Dined on December 27, 2015

My husband and I have been going to Stonehouse Restaurant for over 20 years whenever we are in Santa Barbara. The menu keeps getting better, the ambience is romantic and the service is always top flight. It is pricey and so we consider it a special occasion place. Spoil yourselves and make it your special occasion place and you won't be disappointed. After dinner, it's always great to walk through the San Ysidro Ranch property which is beautiful.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service4

Storehouse is a very beautiful, romantic ...

vip
Dined on December 27, 2015

Storehouse is a very beautiful, romantic setting. The grapefruit martinis are spectacular! Over several visits, we have found the food to be good, but not exceptional or very interesting. On our last visit, the peaceful loveliness of the place was disturbed by a large party of three generations of family. The adults completely ignored the four shrieking, constantly loud children. Even though it wasn't the restaurants fault, they gave us a complementary dessert to try to compensate. To me, that's true customer service.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.