About Stonehouse at San Ysidro Ranch

900 San Ysidro Lane
Santa Barbara, CA 93108
View Larger Map

Located in a 19th-century citrus packing house, the Stonehouse Restaurant features a relaxing lounge with full bar service and a separate dining room with a crackling fireplace and creek side views. Chef Matthew Johnson evocative regional cuisine is prepared with a palate of herbs and vegetables harvested from the Ranch’s organic chef’s garden.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday 11:30am - 2:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 565-1724

Website:
http://www.sanysidroranch.com/

Executive Chef:
Matthew Johnson

Private Party Facilities:
San Ysidro Ranch offers three unique Private Dining Rooms. The Adobe, a Santa Barbara County historical Landmark, can accomodate 10 guests. The beautiful Wine Cellar can accomodate up to 30 guests. Our spacious Hydrangea Cottage can comfortably seat 50 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Maxine Rutledge: 8055651702x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bacon and eggs - Stonehouse at San Ysidro Ranch, Santa Barbara, CA
Mimosa - Stonehouse at San Ysidro Ranch, Santa Barbara, CA
Prosecco - Stonehouse at San Ysidro Ranch, Santa Barbara, CA
Blueberry Muffin - Stonehouse at San Ysidro Ranch, Santa Barbara, CA
Smoked Salmon And Idaho Trout - Stonehouse at San Ysidro Ranch, Santa Barbara, CA
Iced  Tea - Stonehouse at San Ysidro Ranch, Santa Barbara, CA
Huevos rancheros - Stonehouse at San Ysidro Ranch, Santa Barbara, CA
grand marnier souffle - Stonehouse at San Ysidro Ranch, Santa Barbara, CA
Chicken and Waffles - Stonehouse at San Ysidro Ranch, Santa Barbara, CA
Granola Yogurt Parfait - Stonehouse at San Ysidro Ranch, Santa Barbara, CA
Warm Berry Cobbler - Stonehouse at San Ysidro Ranch, Santa Barbara, CA

Stonehouse at San Ysidro Ranch Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.9

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
California Central Coast
Best Service
California Central Coast
Best Ambiance
California Central Coast
8 More
Outdoor Dining
California Central Coast
Romantic
California Central Coast
Contemporary American
California Central Coast
Best Overall
Santa Barbara
Best Food
Santa Barbara
Best Service
Santa Barbara
Best Ambiance
Santa Barbara
Most Booked
Santa Barbara
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

Romantic (61)
Great for Outdoor Dining (53)
Special Occasion (50)
See All
Good for a Date (37)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Notable Wine List (33)
Scenic View (33)
Historic (24)
Fireplace (24)
Worth the Drive (24)
Cozy (23)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Local Ingredients (19)
Great for Lunch (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Authentic (8)
Seasonal (7)
Business Meals (6)
People Watching (5)
Healthy (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Private Room (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Fun (4)
Organic (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Casual (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Waterfront (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
996 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A little difficult to find but what a be ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 5 days ago

A little difficult to find but what a beautiful setting. Service was wonderful and food as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We are never disappointed. The Stonehou ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We are never disappointed. The Stonehouse Inn is our favorite place! Only wish we lived closer. We love Neil. He is the most wonderful server and always has the perfect recommendation. We will return as soon as it is possible. Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had a lovely dinner at Stonehouse with ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 21, 2016

I had a lovely dinner at Stonehouse with my husband and two adult children. Unfortunately, we were there on the rare evening when it was pouring rain, but we still enjoyed dining on the covered patio under the plentiful heaters. We were offered a place to park our wet umbrellas, but not a place to hang coats, which we just draped over the backs of our own chairs. The rain hitting the roof was somewhat loud at times, but we could have a conversation above the sound. The food was delicious (including: mushroom soup, chicken tangine, tuna, scallops, pork, cod, Brussels sprouts, and 2 dessert soufflés) as was the variety of wine glasses and cocktails we ordered. While we had no complaints, this would not be my choice for one of the best restaurants in the U.S. It was not very crowded, but we were seated right next to the door and by the waiters' station (not the best spot, but it was okay in this restaurant). We found the service to be very good. Our main waiter was attentive and knowledgeable, though we didn't appreciate his repeating what we said with his own pronunciation, as if to correct us (though we still believe he was pronouncing one dish wrong). My son had just moved to the area and we were just visiting, so we requested a few leftovers for him to take home. At the end of the meal, as we were about to leave, I asked the waiter about the to-go food and he explained that it would be given to us outside of the dining room (with a short explanation regarding how it would not be in good taste to deliver such a bag to the table). We had to ask the hostess about the to-go bag when she requested our car from the valet. There was one bag with food in it and she gave it to us. When my son opened the bag at home, it turned out to be someone else's dinner! It was pizza and some other kid-friendly items. So, while we were disappointed that our extremely expensive leftovers could not go to my son, we figure the kid who got the Brussels sprouts was even more unhappy!

Tags: Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Absolutely beautiful location- this is o ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Absolutely beautiful location- this is one of the most beautiful settings we have been in !!! I highly recommend this restaurant for all types of special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a magical evening with longtime f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 11, 2016

It was a magical evening with longtime friends. An absolutely gorgeous spot outdoors with sparkling lights everywhere, candles, and the balmy air in the evening of a warm November day. Three had the halibut and found it spectacular (well it should be for $50) I decided to have the Chicken Tangine and was completely disappointed. It had all the ingredients but no flavor at all. I left three quarters of it and certainly wasn't going to take it home. Obviously no one tasted it before giving it to the public.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing ambiance, incredible food. Ask t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Amazing ambiance, incredible food. Ask to sit outside.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Took some clients for lunch and it was p ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Took some clients for lunch and it was perfect! The service and atmosphere made for a great place to connect and talk. The grounds were stunning!

The food was outstanding! Especially the fried chicken sandwich. I was afraid to order that because it say "fried" but it was light and not an ounce of oil left like you'd think.

Overall it was gorgeous and I'll certainly be back for a romantic weekend with the husband!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another awesome dining experience at the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Another awesome dining experience at the Stonehouse!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch absolutely fabulous !!!! Excellen ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Brunch absolutely fabulous !!!!

Excellente quality

Amazing champagne !

Memorable moment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The table bread was no better than that ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The table bread was no better than that from Albertsons bakery, left out at the end of the day. Pork belly appetizer was well cooked, good flavors and the orange marmalade complimented it well. Jerusalem artichoke soup (on special) was average, would expect as much from Panera. The lamb rack entree was a hit- entire dish worked well. The halibut entree was a joke. More flavor from the shoe lace in a well worn pair of tennis shoes - at least a hint of salt in a tennis shoe lace. Halibut was well over cooked, so the dry shoe lace seems very comparable the more I think about it. Nice location but that's no excuse for serving up average food on a friday night. Maybe the head chef was ill and the grunts were running the show. Otherwise my recommendation- Get a trained head chef that didn't just receive their plastic certificate from Cordon Bleu

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

It was a perfect evening to celebrate a ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 3, 2016

It was a perfect evening to celebrate a big birthday. Beautiful view of the coast at sunset, great food and service. It's worth the drive and walking around the lovely grounds. Yes, it's expensive but worth it for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is our fourth time visiting San Ysi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 1, 2016

This is our fourth time visiting San Ysidro and the restaurant has never disappointed. We sat out on the patio and enjoyed the candle lit setting while sipping fabulous wine from their extensive wine list. The food as always was superb and there's always a creative element for us "foodies" to enjoy. Can't wait to come back again on our next vacation through California. 😘

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an excellent experience. The win ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had an excellent experience. The wine list is over priced.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful time, beautiful setting , our ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Wonderful time, beautiful setting , our lunch was very good

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic! One of the best restaurants i ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Fantastic! One of the best restaurants in the world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply spectacular. We have dinner here ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Simply spectacular. We have dinner here every 6 months when we visit Montecito. Food is always great, fantastic atmosphere. Foie gras appetizer is wonderful as are the scallops. Black cod is my favorite entree. The mac n cheese from the Plow and Angel menu is a must.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food(halibut) was dry. Food delivery was ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Food(halibut) was dry. Food delivery was beyond acceptable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful get-away spot for loggia dinin ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Wonderful get-away spot for loggia dining with view of the ocean in the distance. Excellent food - especially love the abalone!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a fantastic restaurant. The servic ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 24, 2016

What a fantastic restaurant. The service was fantastic from the get go, from the valet, then a quick stop by the bar for a drinks to take while walking the the garden area, unbelievable. Service level was fantastic, then came the food !!!!! Dessert to die for!!!! A truly great experience .

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambience reminded me of staring into ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The ambience reminded me of staring into a Monet painting and being lost in the artistry of the colors except in this case it was the artistry of the 5 senses.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Healthy, Seasonal, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant ever. Service was beyond ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Best restaurant ever. Service was beyond amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place nested in San Ysidro Ranch. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great place nested in San Ysidro Ranch. Outdoor seating is perfect for nice nights. Food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Food!! Amazing Restaurant!!! A mus ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great Food!! Amazing Restaurant!!! A must try if you are in the area.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply the best, from the moment you dri ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Simply the best, from the moment you drive in until you depart.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

'Had another wonderful lunch with a frie ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 21, 2016

'Had another wonderful lunch with a friend - a favorite place to chat leisurely over delicious food on the terrace. The market menu was excellent as usual. The sashima was very fresh tasting and perfectly accented by avocado. The fish entre (bass?) was also very good, served over cannellini beans. I usually opt for the lemon tart, but I must say that it could be made better if the filling were not so soft and almost-runny; however, the flavor has the perfect tartness and crust is well made. The market menu could use a third choice for dessert. I'm already looking forward to another lunch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Organic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was visiting Santa Barbara for one day a ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Was visiting Santa Barbara for one day and told by a friend about this restaurant. Realized later he was talking about downstairs restaurant probably. Loved the scenic view as we ate outdoors. Service was impeccable but food was average. Tried chicken tortilla soup because was touted as a specialty recipe and if was less than stellar. More like a cream based tomato soup. Also had fish (was eating off prixe-fixe menu. Dessert was fabulous! My friend has a highly touted salad and it was very average. Expected higher quality food, especially st this price level.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The abalone with delicate mushroom sauce ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The abalone with delicate mushroom sauce was excellent. The hint of lemon in the sauce was delightful. Unfortunately the watercress underneath was bitter. The scallops served on a bed of corn were good. The corn was too sweet and too starchy for the scallops. The table side prepared beef sauce was fun to watch, not so much fun to eat. It tasted as though it came from a bottle. The garden fresh mint ice cream was quite intriguing. The vanilla bean ice cream was missing the bean! I guess I should not be surprised at the lack of depth to the wine. I know better than to order a glass of wine. The Nebbiolo was uninspired and without depth.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Most memorable dining experience on outs ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Most memorable dining experience on outside patio with lights and fountain and gardens. Food was amazing and was rivaled only by the wine and the staff. Worth every penny!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I only wish I had been told the restaura ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I only wish I had been told the restaurant was closed for a wedding. I would have come back another time verses sitting in the garden. Was hot , no umbrella and flies everywhere. The benches don't match up to the tables so if you're tall its very uncomfortable.

Absolutely one of the most beautiful hotels in the world though and I will certainly be back. Next time I will ask more questions though before booking.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Historic, Seasonal, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

This is an excellent destination restaur ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This is an excellent destination restaurant. The experience is memorable and sets a high standard for other restaurants.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the prettiest places on earth, an ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2016

One of the prettiest places on earth, and the food is wonderful. Not cheap, but definitely worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Setting was unbelievably beautiful!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Setting was unbelievably beautiful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Drive up from Calabasas often just for t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Drive up from Calabasas often just for this restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Liked the little flashlights provided as ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Liked the little flashlights provided as the lighting is more romantic than illuminating. Staff very warm and friendly. Nice wine list. The food was well prepared, nicely plated and the menu varied but felt the flavors muted. Lovely, relaxed atmosphere and pretty setting (although our taxi driver had trouble locating it after dark). Expensive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

This was our first time at this restaura ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This was our first time at this restaurant and it was wonderful! We went to celebrate my birthday and it was a perfect night out. We got there 15 minutes early and had a drink at the bar first. Lots of good choices and the blood orange margarita was great. We had a wonderful waiter, super sweet and attentive. The food was delicious and even though we opted to skip dessert, he brought us two salted caramel truffles that were out of this world! I can't wait to eat here again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Stone House restaurant is very charm ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The Stone House restaurant is very charming with excellent ambience. My complaints have been about their service. It can be quite slow, and if ordering a white wine there is frequently a long wait for them to chill it. This time I pre-ordered to have a chilled bottle waiting at the table. It made it a better experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Went here during honeymoon on recommenda ...

 
 (London)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Went here during honeymoon on recommendation. Setting incredible; main courses sensational. Wine list hefty in content and cost. Would recommend for a very special occasion as it's pretty hefty on the wallet. Almost fully justified. Almost. Both lower and upper deck seating breathtaking.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We enjoyed a beautiful lunch at the Ston ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 21, 2016

We enjoyed a beautiful lunch at the Stone House while visiting Santa Barbara. The setting is so beautiful and the staff are warm and professional. Most importantly, the food was outstanding. If we had the time, we would have gone back again or to Plow & Angel for dinner. Oh well, something to look forward to!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine list is notable, but relatively exp ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Wine list is notable, but relatively expensive. A person with good knowledge of wine will be able to find some reasonably priced, older vintages, though.

Our server, Adrian, was in the top three we've had at the best restaurants in cities like Paris, London, New York, Singapore, Houston or New Orleans. Simply fantastic.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Probably the best service we have ever r ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Probably the best service we have ever received in a restaurant in the US. Matthew our server was a gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.