About Stonehouse at San Ysidro Ranch

900 San Ysidro Lane
Santa Barbara, CA 93108
View Larger Map

Located in a 19th-century citrus packing house, the Stonehouse Restaurant features a relaxing lounge with full bar service and a separate dining room with a crackling fireplace and creek side views. Chef Matthew Johnson evocative regional cuisine is prepared with a palate of herbs and vegetables harvested from the Ranch’s organic chef’s garden.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Wednesday - Friday 11:30am - 2:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 10:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 565-1724

Website:
http://www.sanysidroranch.com/

Executive Chef:
Matthew Johnson

Private Party Facilities:
San Ysidro Ranch offers three unique Private Dining Rooms. The Adobe, a Santa Barbara County historical Landmark, can accomodate 10 guests. The beautiful Wine Cellar can accomodate up to 30 guests. Our spacious Hydrangea Cottage can comfortably seat 50 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Maxine Rutledge: 8055651702x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bacon and eggs
Blueberry Muffin
Granola Yogurt Parfait
grand marnier souffle
Smoked Salmon And Idaho Trout
Iced  Tea
Huevos rancheros
Mimosa
Chicken and Waffles
Prosecco
Warm Berry Cobbler

Stonehouse at San Ysidro Ranch Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
California Central Coast
Best Service
California Central Coast
Best Ambiance
California Central Coast
11 More
Romantic
California Central Coast
Contemporary American
California Central Coast
Best Overall
Santa Barbara
Best Food
Santa Barbara
Best Service
Santa Barbara
Best Ambiance
Santa Barbara
Notable Wine List
Santa Barbara
Outdoor Dining
Santa Barbara
Romantic
Santa Barbara
Special Occasion
Santa Barbara
Most Booked
Santa Barbara
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

romantic (65)
special occasion (63)
scenic view (54)
See All
great for outdoor dining (53)
fit for foodies (48)
notable wine list (47)
great for lunch (15)
good for groups (12)
great for brunch (11)
neighborhood gem (11)
hot spot (7)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
898 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Another great meal under the loquat tree ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Another great meal under the loquat trees on the patio. Best friendly and competent service in SB/Montecito. Beet salad, fettucine, truffle fries and soufflé very good. SUGGESTIONS: 1) this is the second time that we had to send back our Palmina nebiola by the glass because the bottle had been opened and sat around for at least one day. Need a gas system or throw out left over wine every night. At $20 a glass, customers deserve freshly opened. 2) Chef Matt needs to bring back the old roast chicken, heck it deserves to be permanently on menu under "classics". The tandoori chicken is way to bland, every time we decide to try it, have to request extra Moroccan spices. Also, we always enjoyed the old Hamachi crudo that was on the menu for at least a year (best in town): last visit a month ago it had been changed and didn't even resemble the old favorite so we didn't order it this visit. It seems that when ever a great dish is created and we look forward to having it again, chef knocks it off the menu! (or maybe Ty throws it off??) Will miss manager Larry and good luck to new manager Ryan.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff at Stonehouse was very helpful ...

Dined 6 days ago

The staff at Stonehouse was very helpful in planning and flawlessly executing a special dinner to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. The food was great, outdoor seating was wonderful, and our server Adrian was excellent. Thanks so much for making it a memorable evening for us both.

food5
ambience5
service5

Very pleased with my experience. Thank y ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Very pleased with my experience. Thank you.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Had an amazing Fathers Day brunch here. ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Had an amazing Fathers Day brunch here. The food was so delicious. Everything we ordered was great - the chef did an excellent job!!!!! We sat on the patio under the trees in, it was a beautiful setting and was very relaxing. I enjoyed the duck spring rolls (to die for!) and a lobster avocado omelette. The Chicken and Waffles looked great too! The desserts were beautiful. Great portion sizes and drink choices were also top notch!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Most beautiful restaurant I've ever been ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Most beautiful restaurant I've ever been to! Good was excellent. Main waiter could have been more attentive but the rest were amazing.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Incredible meal, view, service, and expe ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Incredible meal, view, service, and experience! Very special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice lunch. Attentive hostess and ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Very nice lunch. Attentive hostess and servers. Amazing wine selection and very pleasant outdoor seating area. Food selection was good and the dishes were excellent. Very quiet area with fantastic views.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You could not ask for a better environme ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

You could not ask for a better environment in which to celebrate an anniversary. The staff is thoughtful and competent, the food excellent, and the service everything that you would expect in a 5 star! And then you have the location and the view--pretty and spectacular not simply pretty spectacular. A lock for a special occasion, but the Plow and Angel below is also a great place for a drink and a bite, and then you could venture up to the Stone House for a sweet! JA

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good food, very, very, very pricy. ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Very good food, very, very, very pricy. Get your wallet ready.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

This is an expensive adventure and it's ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

This is an expensive adventure and it's worth EVERY DOLLAR!! Ok crazy thing. We're walking up to valet to get our car ... It's already n the way up. Food was beyond beautiful and amazing !! Can't wait to return!

food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent wine list. The lamb chops and ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Excellent wine list. The lamb chops and steak Dianne are both very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Far exceeded high expectations

Dined on June 2, 2016

Unbelievable experience at San Ysidro. Most beautiful restaurant and grounds, we were speechless before we even sat down to eat. Every bite was delicious and the waiters were wonderful, even sweetly accommodated my 10-month-old grandson. It truly is a special gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Elegant, but way, way expensive!

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

Great food, service and huge wine list BUT really overpriced! We live in NYC and even there a $60.00 entrée is rare. $29.00 appetizers also over the top. Wine list is very good but heavy on +$300/600 bottles. We celebrated an occasion so I looked the other way, but not returning soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food4
ambience5
service4

Amazed at the tranquil setting. Take the ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Amazed at the tranquil setting. Take the time to walk around the gardens either before or after dinner.

food1
ambience5
service1

The food was subprime and nothing at all ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was subprime and nothing at all special. For this restaurant we were expecting so much more. The service was beyond lacking as well. It was obvious he had better things to do. The only part we enjoyed about dinning here was the view.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic. Soooo beautiful we cannot to ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Fantastic. Soooo beautiful we cannot to try theother restaurant on the property. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing location!

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Food was not exceptional, but the location, ambiance and service more than made up for it. Food presentation was great, but steak Diane was average, and halibut overcooked and not much flavor. Be sure to walk the grounds and visit the bar before dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food with new chef. A little p ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Excellent food with new chef. A little pricey but excellent for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food in great location

Dined on May 27, 2016

This was not our first visit to the the Stonehouse Restaurant. The upper patio at the San Ysidro Ranch commands majestic sweeping views over Monticito and the ocean - the food and wine match the view. This is perhaps the best fine dining restaurant in the Santa Barbara area. The menu presents multiple choices of excellent meals, the wine list is outstanding, and the service impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful setting and stellar food!

Dined on May 26, 2016

Beautiful setting and the food lived up to its stellar reputation. Warm, helpful service. We'll be back on our next trip to Santa Barbara.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on May 21, 2016

We have been here in the past but it is always such a treat! It is almost too sophisticated for me however my husband adores it!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Dinner was fabulous! And the grounds at ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Dinner was fabulous! And the grounds at SYR where Stonehouse is located are absolutely gorgeous. Unfortunately the disaffected & bored attitudes of both the hostess & host were incongruous with an otherwise very enjoyable evening.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stonehouse at San Ysidro Ranch hooked up ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Stonehouse at San Ysidro Ranch hooked up some free sparkling wine as I was celebrating with my fiancé after proposing. We loved the attention to detail in beautifully prepared and presented appetizers and cocktails. Main courses were delicious and cooked to perfection! The atmosphere was super romantic with breathtaking views and the service was warm and accommodating. We felt pampered and would highly recommend this establishment for a special occasion as you'll surely be wowed and have a memorable time. Thank you and well done!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great setting for a meal.

Dined on May 16, 2016

Beautiful location and ambience. The wait staff was very attentive and the food was very good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place for a romantic date. The w ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Amazing place for a romantic date. The wine list is absolutely amazing. Everything on the menu looks delicious. Amazing service!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Reserved as a special special visit

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

The Stonehouse is a beautiful beautiful restaurant. The atmosphere is breathtaking. But at 50 to 60 dollars per entree, the experience should exceptional. Service was spotty. I loved my dinner, other two in our party, not so much. Strongest part of meal : appetizers, cocktails and dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic dinner in a romantic setting

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

We love coming to the San Ysidro Ranch and dining at the Stonehouse is no exception. It's the perfect blend of incredible food, outstanding service and over the top gorgeous setting. If you need a special place, if you love dining in spectacular settings - this place is for you!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magical

Dined on April 25, 2016

I truly think this is my favorite restaurant on this planet. From the moment you pass the gatehouse you'll feel you have been transported to a wonderland. As noted above everything was superior. I tell all that come to the Santa Barbara area, go and truly enjoy a marvelous meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful ambiance. Well-trained wait staff.

Dined on April 24, 2016

Highly recommended for a special occasion, romantic dinner or group get-together. Outdoor patio seating is spectacular if weather is cooperative. Wine cellar and outdoor patio can be fully reserved for group gatherings. What an evening! We'll be back...

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Stonehouse grows a lot organic in their ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Stonehouse grows a lot organic in their onsite garden, the food is always incredible and the service is top notch. I love the ambience of the restaurant and it's a gorgeous estate! You won't be disappointed here

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A gem of a place!

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

If you're looking to spend a few hours and a couple $100's then you've find the best spot. This place is gorgeous. The setting and the grounds are beautiful with stunning trees, grounds, lights and spots to view. Leave time to walk around the grounds, you won't be disappointed. The soufflé was delicious. The dishes are beautifully prepared, but not sure worth the $50-$65 per entree fee but you're paying for the ambiance, name and of course the food is excellent. If you're in the area, San Ysidro Ranch is in the Top 5 places to visit. You won't be disappointed!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Stonehouse - April 9th

Dined on April 10, 2016

Gorgeous pricey restaurant at a gorgeous pricey location, the SYR. But, deservedly so. Service was my only complaint. Our waiter wasn't 5 star quality and its a 5 star restaurant. He rarely looked my way....always talked to my husband. When our first round of drinks were done. He was very late in the game for stopping by to get an order for our second round. Still had not brought them when our dinner course arrived. That server had to remind our waiter that we still needed our drinks. They arrived at some point after we began our second course. So, either they are short staffed. Or, this guy needs a reminder on service at a 5 star restaurant. But, otherwise, its a fabulous place to eat.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent, service was spot on. ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Food was excellent, service was spot on. $$$$ indeed, but when everything is just perfect, it is well worth it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enchanting!

vip
Dined on March 28, 2016

This restaurant is in an exceptional setting, outside an old millhouse. Cozy seating, beautifully landscaped with a fireplace and heaters, to ward off the chill. Peagravel on one side, so don't wear stilettos. Loved the Hamachi and the duck appetizer. Pork entree and bananas foster were underdone, but the chocolate pot de Creme was delicious!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening

Dined on March 28, 2016

Stone house had been highly recommended, but it exceeded our expectations. We enjoyed everything about our evening, food, service and ambiance. We highly recommend it for a special evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere, food and service... Lo ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Great atmosphere, food and service... Lovely and quiet place!

food4
ambience5
service5

Setting is everything here. Limited menu ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

Setting is everything here. Limited menu but what is served is worth it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best spot in town!

Dined on March 24, 2016

We had the best time dining at San Ysidro Ranch. From the food to the service, everything was spectacular. A must visit for a special night out.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Ambience, knowledgeable staff, thoughtfu ...

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Ambience, knowledgeable staff, thoughtful food and an unhurried pace made for a memorable evening

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A most memorable lunch

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

I have no words for how charming this is. Had a long lunch on a rainy Friday afternoon and it was among the most memorable Grounds are lush and immaculate - ate on the outdoor terrace with a roaring fire to fight the chill. Service was attentive without being intrusive. Wine recommendation was excellent. Roasted chicken was perfectly prepared and juicy. All entrees were light and fresh and beautifully presented as were apps and dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.