Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

RPM Italian - DCRPM Italian - DC
(1040)
$$$$
Italian | Mt. Vernon Square, District of Columbia
Booked 147 times today
Boqueria - DCBoqueria - DC
(1376)
$$$$
Spanish | Dupont Circle, District of Columbia
Booked 74 times today
Founding Farmers - DCFounding Farmers - DC
(20700)
$$$$
American | Foggy Bottom, District of Columbia
Booked 560 times today
Joe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DCJoe's Seafood, Prime Steak & Stone Crab - Washington DC
(2675)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown, District of Columbia
Booked 138 times today
FIG & OLIVE DCFIG & OLIVE DC
(1121)
$$$$
Mediterranean | Downtown, District of Columbia
Booked 94 times today
Old Ebbitt GrillOld Ebbitt Grill
(16812)
$$$$
American | Downtown, District of Columbia
Booked 321 times today
Harold BlackHarold Black
(286)
$$$$
American | Capitol Hill, District of Columbia
Booked 25 times today
OyamelOyamel
(6584)
$$$$
Mexican | Penn Quarter, District of Columbia
Booked 154 times today
Farmers & DistillersFarmers & Distillers
(1277)
$$$$
American | Mt. Vernon Square, District of Columbia
Booked 296 times today
The Smith – Penn Quarter, Washington, D.CThe Smith – Penn Quarter, Washington, D.C
(344)
$$$$
American | Penn Quarter, District of Columbia
Booked 133 times today
Iron GateIron Gate
(499)
$$$$
Mediterranean | Dupont Circle, District of Columbia
Booked 79 times today
GhibellinaGhibellina
(485)
$$$$
Italian | Logan Circle, District of Columbia
Booked 66 times today
Carmine's - Washington DCCarmine's - Washington DC
(3630)
$$$$
Italian | Penn Quarter, District of Columbia
Booked 57 times today
TicoTico
(699)
$$$$
American | U Street Corridor, District of Columbia
Booked 37 times today
Bombay ClubBombay Club
(3391)
$$$$
Indian | Downtown, District of Columbia
Booked 70 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Stonefish Grill

Stonefish Grill is an upscale restaurant and lounge that specializes in seafood dishes. The restaurant has been serving the area since 2013. It uses fresh, organic fish and local ingredients to prepare each of its creative dishes. Stonefish Grill also offers a variety of specialty cocktails from its full-service bar. It's a good spot for a business lunch, dinner with family or drinks with friends.

Start off with an appetizer like skillet corn bread served with honey butter, crab cakes, crispy chicken, calamari or jumbo shrimp. For the main course at Stonefish Grill try a dish like grilled or blackened salmon, tilapia or chicken breast served with choice of rice or seasonal vegetables. End the meal with a sweet dessert like New York cheesecake, bread pudding or the classic chocolate brownie.

1708 L Street NW
Washington, District of Columbia 20036
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
mon-thursday 11am-10pm
Happy hour 4-7pm

Friday 11am-4pm
happy hour 4pm-9pm
lounge 9pm-3am

Sat- 9pm-3am (Lounge)
Sun -closed

Cross Street:
17th and L street NW

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 827-4980

Website:
http://www.thestonefishgrill.com/

Catering:
We are proud to announce our brand new catering program. Please visit our website for more info or contact us via 202.999.2814 for further details.

Public Transit:
Farragut North Metro (Red); Farragut West Metro (Blue, Orange);Mcpherson Sq Metro (Blue, Orange)

Private Party Facilities:
A spacious venue, featuring state of the art sound system, 2 full bars, full kitchen and capable of accommodating over 200+ people.

Private Party Contact:
Olga Lavinchy: (855) 970-2166

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Looking for a place to host your next special event or meeting? Look no further. Stonefish Grill is located in the heart of downtown DC, equipped with 2 bars and a full kitchen which makes it a perfect venue for any function. Please visit our website for further details.

Sort By:
S
19 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2015

Stonefish Grill had delicious food. Ambiance is that of a dance club that puts out tables for lunch. Big concern was, we had a reservation. But when we arrived they were not aware of the reservation and were not set up. Place was not busy so it was not an issue.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 21, 2015

Read my full review here: http://confidenceiskeyblog.blogspot.com/2015/05/resaurant-review-stonefish-grill.html

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 19, 2014

The food was great from the appetizers to the main course. We had mango chicken, cornbread, calamari, and fish tacos. Everyone loved their selections!! I was nervous because I thought they were connected to the Stonefish at Capital blvd and they are not. The food was just as good so they lived up to the Stonefish name!! I will definitely be back!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 7, 2014

The food was horrible! The host was tired and boring not a person that should be greeting guest. The decor though white looks like it's spray painted over top of old dark furniture. I will not visit this place again....yuck!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 25, 2014

Food was great and so was the service. I will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 14, 2014

This place is a night club selling food. The food I ordered was okay but but not good enough to want to go back a second time. Plus there were only 6 other people in the restaurant for lunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 9, 2014

Lunch at Stonefish Grill was very good. We went their as an office for an employee who was leaving our Agency and both the food and service was good.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2014

This place is quite possibly the most odd restaurant in all of DC. It is a seafood restaurant that is in a dark basement, that is furnished like a Miami pool club. The decor is the first part that is jarring about this experience. The bar is immaculate and seems to be the first part of the place that was built. As you move further from the bar you can notice less effort going into the decor. By the time you reach the opposite wall you notice white furniture with scratches and scuff marks all over it. The host stand is on wheels and looks more fit to be outdoors and the host sits on a rolling office chair. My soda came in a plastic cup. This is ridiculous for a place that has an entree that is almost $30. Food was fair. I wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2014

The food was great, the staff was very attentive. The animal print decor, gauze covered booths with couches and pillows and the lighting is definitely more suitable for a romantic or a club scene night out. I would not recommend going there for a work lunch.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 13, 2014

Went for a business lunch and it was very good. The service was the phenomenonal. It was raining profusely when I was leaving. The owner offered me an umbrella. It was very kind.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 11, 2014

This was our first time coming and and everything was great, the only thing I have to say is, that some foods I wanted to enjoy, I couldnt because it was spicy, and the people serving the food could smile more. But my mon, son, friend and I had a great time. It was the firt time I had drinks with my mom

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 11, 2014

We too my mom for a $35 mothers day brunch. Bottomless mimosa and a great buffet. Mom loved it.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2014

Went there for lunch. Food was just ok. Ambience was nice considering there were only about 10 other people in the restaurant. Decor was nice. Seemed to be more of a lounge than a restaurant.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 11, 2014

The restaurant was conveniently located near the National Geographic where we were going for a lecture. Given our schedule, we went before 6 PM which might have influenced our experience. It is located downstairs in a basement with no windows. It was mainly set up with the bar and then soft sofa seats and tables. Clearly it is meant to be for dancing and drinking and not really eating. We were the only ones there and the service was slow as people were setting up for the evening of music and dancing. My husband had the crab cakes which had little taste and my fish was not very exciting either. Sorry that i cannot recommend this one as a place to eat but maybe later in the evening it is hopping as a bar and dancing scene.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 24, 2014

I would never recommend this establishment to anyone. My reservations were not honored even though I was there on time. Management and the hostess were very unprofessional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2014

Good place to meet for lunch. Food was fine. Had the salmon ceasar salad and salmon was grilled nicely and HOT when served. Contemporary white Euro lounge seating and nice alcoves for small groups or intimit gathering. It was EMPTY for Monday lunch, perhaps is busier on other days and evenings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 28, 2014

Don't let the fact that this restaurant requires a flight down below street level to deter you.I have been to Stonefish several times and am always surprised to find it isn't more packed. The food is great, it offers a nice atmosphere -- white table cloths, good service -- and quiet ambiance so you can talk to your friends without shouting! Highly recommend for both lunch and dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 6, 2014

This was my first visit and it was very pleasant. Welcoming service and great ambience. Food selections were excellent. Would recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 14, 2013

The only positive that I will give this restaurant is that it had a neat south beach ambiance. The wait staff was awkward and sloppy. The food was uninspired and blah. I ordered a salmon dish and it was overcooked. Served with bok Choy that was in edible. The crab bread ap tasted fishy and the crab was not picked well. I will not be back and neither will anyone in my group of 5. Oh and we made reservations and had to put the table together ourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.