About Stone Mountain Grill

15719 Brixham Hill Avenue
Charlotte, NC 28277
View Larger Map

Located across from the Ballantyne Hotel & Resort and Wells Fargo Bank. Please note our address has changed to 15719 Brixham Hill Ave.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Sunday Brunch 10:00am-2:00pm, Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Conlan Circle

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(980) 207-2326

Website:
http://www.stonemountaingrill.com/

Catering:
Full Catering menu for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Matt Starnes is our Catering Specialist. Please call our phone number at (980) 207-2326

Executive Chef:
Chef Matthew Starnes

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Stone Mountain Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (32)
Good for a Date (25)
Good for Groups (20)
See All
Good for Birthdays (19)
Comfort Food (18)
Special Occasion (17)
Cozy (17)
Fireplace (17)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Kid-friendly (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Business Meals (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Fun (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Romantic (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Seasonal (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Family Style (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Authentic (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Live Sports (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Great Beer (2)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
People Watching (1)
Private Room (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
520 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

This was my 2nd time at Stone Mountain, first time was good and we came back, this experience was much different. The outdoor patio is excellent for a casual night out with friends and menu has plenty of options.

The service was not great, she was even rude and kept commenting on my wife's purse and even said "wow its so big, must have a lot of money in there" . The server had no interest in making our night enjoyable, was always in a rush and pushy. And it was not even busy!

Now for the worst part, we left around 1030ish and parked near the back, when my wife and I went to our car, we found two kitchen workers sitting on the outside curb smoking and smoking the good stuff. My car was parked near the back door. Was pretty ridiculous to come out to the smell of pot while entering my car!

I'd like to say we will be back but I will think twice! Food was good and the outside patio is nice, so it has some positives!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

To say that we enjoy dining at Stone Mountain Grill is a massive understatement.

The food is very good and choices are many. Anything that you choose will be wonderful.

The salads are fabulous. There are many to choose from here.

Ribs are a must. They are plentiful and delicious. The crab encrusted mahi-mahi is absolutely delicious.

Our server, Dena is amazing. She anticipates what is needed by her customers without having to ask. If you are going to Stone Mountain Grill, and I strongly suggest that you do, I recommend that you request Ana, Jeremy or Dena. You won't be sorry.

Bernard, kitchen manager, is out and about checking that you are more than satisfied with your order. He is a true gem.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Casual, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

Didn't have much time but the service was quick and food great

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was good, however, portion sizes were rather small. Our biggest complaint was the slow service on what appeared to be a slow night there. Mistakes with our order were made which is normally forgivable, however, it became excessive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Looking at the reviews and pictures online, I was excited to try this place. My family and I came for Sunday brunch - maybe it was an off day, but the food was average at best. We tried the bloody marys, buffalo chicken dip, fish tacos, west coast benedict, and 2 eggs any style. The bloody marys were delicious, best thing we had! Buffalo chicken dip was ok, but I honestly have no idea where the chicken was. Maybe it was chopped up super fine? Fish tacos were average, nothing special to them. Eggs benedict were very underwhelming, equivalent to fast food portions and looks. Grits were great, turkey sausage not so much. The 2 eggs any style didn't even look appealing. The service however, was great. Our waitress was very nice, attentive, and engaged our son, and I could see the other waiters doing the same with smiles on their faces.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 19, 2017

First time eating here but the food and waiter was Fantastic, we will be back.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This is my new favorite restaurant! We arrived early for our reservation and were seated immediately. The wait staff was spot on, and the food was absolutely delicious!! I highly recommend the Firecracker Shrimp appetizer....best I've ever had. Will definitely be going back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 18, 2017

One of my favorites. Great food, service and atmosphere. Good for couples and larger groups. Handheld foods to Steaks. Have not been disappointed yet. Mild weather, ate on the patio with the fireplace!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

A bit noisy a little more of a casual atmosphere than I wanted for Valentine's Day . The food was good and served hot in a reasonable time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Hubby made reservations for Valentine's Day. We had a lovely time and the food was fantastic. We will definitely visit again soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Seasonal, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Joined another couple for a last minute get together and Stone Mountain Grill was close. Neither of us had been here before so we were open minded. We made a 8:30 reservation at around 6:00. In route we noticed we were ahead of schedule and modified the reservation on the way for 8:15. We arrived at 8:10 and was promptly seated after confirming our 8:15 time slot. The wait staff was attentive without over doing it. We each had something different and each of us loved our meals. We'll be back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Greeting was nice and prompt, front of the house refused to provide the requested seating saying it was not available, although it appeared seating was more than available. Food was enjoyable and I cared more about my date than the loud environment.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The Stone Mountain Grill is my favorite Ballantyne area restaurant. I eat there at least once per week and have never been disappointed. The food is great and the service is outstanding. If you go there you have to try the "Firecracker Shrimp", it is their specialty. Of course Wednesdays are always special with 1/2 price wine and $5.00 appetizers. I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Kid-friendly, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great local hangout for comfort food at reasonable prices and beer, drinks, basic wine selections. Good burgers, chicken wings and filet kabob with side dishes.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Casual, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great place. Very busy on a Saturday night so best to have reservations. Good pricing. We all ended up having seafood and was very good. Something on the menu for everyone. Waiter was great!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Pot roast special was to die for, awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Our service was very prompt and courteous which allowed us to enjoy our meal without being rushed.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 30, 2017

I cannot rave enough about Stone Mountain Grill. Their food and service is wonderful. We had a new server, for us, and Deana was fantastic. She is pleasant, professional and did not find the need to write anything down. My beverage order was complicated and I was beyond impressed that without writing it down she got everything in our order perfect.

The food is consistently terrific. It really doesn't matter what you order, I'm telling you that you'll be much more than satisfied.

If you have not been here yet,what are you waiting for????

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We went for Restaurant week and wanted to try something new. The food was wonderful and nicely priced.We ordered off the Menu because the prices were very reasonable. I will be going back again. Want to try other things on the menu. You do not need Restaurant Week to try this great place.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent restaurant week menu and appetizers

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Delicious prime rib for restraunt week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

On our recommendation, my wife and I brought a group of friends here for a casual evening out during Restaurant Week. The parking lot was packed - there was barely an available spot to be found - which we took to be a good sign. Not so surprisingly, wait staff seemed a bit harried and rushed; not rude or inattentive, just all business. Appetizers and entrees were quite good. However, when one of the desserts arrived with a hair in it, the response from wait staff and management was sadly inappropriate. Rather than concern over the revulsion this engendered in our group, we were presented with an unapologetic "I'll get you another one". When that offer was refused and countered with a request for a credit for the dessert, we were told that would not be possible due to the fixed pricing. We asked to speak with a manager, who somewhat reluctantly agreed to a reduction in the fixed price, but offered little in terms of actual regard for how this impacted our dining experience. Needless to say, none of us will be returning to this restaurant, nor can we in good faith recommend it to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great friendly service. Prime rib was good. Cajun pasta bland. Great appetizers. We will definitely visit again soon

Tags: Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 26, 2017

My husband and I decided on Stone Mountain as our Queens Feast restaurant. I am so very happy we did! I am a Prime Rib kind of girl and let me just tell you, I had The Best cut I have had in my life. It was cooked to perfection as well! My husband had the Creole Pasta and said it was fantastic! It was spicy but not overwhelming, just perfection. We will definitely be back!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Delicious food. Good service. Excellent menu choices. A little noisy :-(

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We went for the Queen's feast and it was great. The food was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Awesome it was my birthday celebrations with co-works Our server Michael T was great, he got us in and out in just a little over an hour so all back to work on time. Food is always amazing hats off to the chef best salmon special in town. This is our to go to place when we get together. Thank you Stone Mountain for an Awesome Birthday see ya soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Great food and great service. What more can you ask for.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 22, 2017

restaurant open seating. wait staff very charming and efficient. food good and value good. adjoining table loud. overall enjoyed experience and will return.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food was average, certainly nothing I would venture back for a 2nd visit for. The filet Oscar was too heavy of hollandaise sauce and the crab had some type of creamy substance mixed in to help it go further. The potato sides were just potatoes, nothing meaningful. I asked for my filet to be prepared medium but it was well, I didn't see a point sending it back because it had already taken enough time to begin with. The restaurant itself is lovely. Nice decor and ambience. The staff is very friendly. I just wish the food was more of a wow moment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Exceptional food, service, value. Worth the money. Great for dates or family or friends.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Casual, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Queens Feast - great food & Service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We went for restaurant week. The food was great. And so was the sevice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food and service is always exceptional every time I come here whether it's just with my husband or with a large group of friends. My personal favorite are their tacos. The best!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

It was date night for my husband and me. We chose to go to dinner and wanted to avoid the crowd therefore making our reservation at 7:45. The server was very friendly, recommended a great starter and had an overall knowledge of the menu items. When our meal came the filet I ordered was over cooked. When this was brought to the servers attention he had another one cooked appropriately and delivered it in a timely manner. When the experience took a turn is when the server came out with the desert menu options, he returned with the dessert choice never taking notice that my husband was not finished with his entree. The server never offered an after dinner drink instead delivered the check and wanted to cash out the bill. I have never felt so rushed through a dinner. If you are in the mood for a quiet but rushed dinner I would suggest this restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Our first time and it was a success. Food and drinks were very good. Service was a little slow but they kept our drinks coming. I would recommend it!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The service was great, food was good...I had the steak and it was fair, nothing special...all in all a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Celebrating Angie's birthday for a business lunch. Our server Marc took awesome care of us! Food was amazing as always hats off to the chef. We had Salmon special and the taco special . Both were to die for. This is NOW our go to place for lunches.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was amazing. We had Mahi Mahi and Salmon they were both delicious. We have been here for girls night 3 times and we keep going back. We will probably go back on Wednesdays when wine is their special. It's a great restaurant where you can actually talk and hear your friends. I don't think there is a TV in the main restaurant which is hard to find anymore.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was really good, great for dates or a family dinner. Atmosphere is comparable to Firebirds. Very open concept, tall ceilings. I would definitely go again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.