About Stone Mountain Grill

Located across from the Ballantyne Hotel & Resort and Wells Fargo Bank. Please note our address has changed to 15719 Brixham Hill Ave.

15719 Brixham Hill Avenue
Charlotte, NC 28277
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Sunday Brunch 10:00am-2:00pm, Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Conlan Circle

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(980) 207-2326

Website:
http://www.stonemountaingrill.com/

Catering:
Full Catering menu for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Matt Starnes is our Catering Specialist. Please call our phone number at (980) 207-2326

Executive Chef:
Chef Matthew Starnes

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Stone Mountain Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (22)
GoodForDates (18)
SpecialOccasions (17)
See All
Fireplace (16)
Birthdays (15)
NeighborhoodGem (14)
Brunch (13)
SundayLunch (13)
Lunch (13)
ComfortFood (12)
OutdoorDining (12)
Groups (12)
Anniversaries (11)
WorthTheDrive (11)
BusinessMeals (9)
Foodies (8)
ChildFriendly (8)
BarSeating (7)
HappyHour (6)
CreativeCuisine (5)
Cozy (5)
ModernDecor (5)
LiveSports (5)
VibrantBarScene (5)
Authentic (4)
Romance (4)
Fun (4)
LateNightFind (3)
HotSpot (3)
QuickBite (3)
QuietConversation (3)
HandcraftedCocktails (3)
GreatBeer (3)
Spicy (3)
OutstandingValue (2)
FamilyStyle (2)
LocalIngredients (1)
NotableWineList (1)
VegetarianOptions (1)
PeopleWatching (1)
Seasonal (1)
PrivateRoom (1)
WoodOven (1)
PaleoFriendly (1)
Healthy (1)
AfternoonCoffee (1)
ScenicView (1)
Sort By:
S
449 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

Good brunch menu!! Didn't know they served Sunday brunch.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

Very loud... hard to hold a conversation across the table

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

We were seated at a remote table blocked by a wall despite the fact there was plenty of room with a more open view. Then we found out they had cancelled the half price wine on Saturdays. Our waitress was great and the food was okay but it's doubtful we'll do this again.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Disappointed would be the only word I can think of for this restaurant. It is way too noisy and the service is just fair. We waited at least a half hour for the wait person to take our order. I ordered the bourbon salmon, which was initially served with hardly any bourbon glaze. Upon contacting the manager, it was made right, which I appreciated. However, it was very salty and not at all comparable to the bourbon salmon I've had elsewhere. My friends ordered the babyback ribs, which, according to them, were mediocre at best.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Not bad overall, but not exceptional in any specific area

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 12, 2017

This is my go to restaurant. It is a varied menu and the food never disappoints. I always order fish. They will make a special even if it's not a special of the night of grilled fish topped with a crab cake. To die for!!! The crab cakes are delicious by themselves. Never disappoints.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 8, 2017

This restaurant is average - nothing special. My quesadilla was rather tasteless. It's not a place I would make an effort to go to again.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 29, 2017

No bread served. No water served. Server said that restaurant doesn't serve bread. Really? Why not? Doesn't cost that much! Not crowded, but had to ask for refills on iced tea. Server only came back once after meal was served. Didn't even ask about dessert. Food was really quite tasty and prices ok. Will go back, and hope for another server. We asked to sit in dining room but music from bar was still too loud.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We really enjoy Stone Mountain Grill. The server seemed to be new this trip but overall did a pretty good job. Was not quite like the seasoned servers. Food was good. Drinks were good. Overall we really enjoy our visits here.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Love love love the food, patio, and drink specials!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Service was disappointing and sloppy. Usually when you order a bottle of wine, you are given a taste before the server starts pouring. Not here. She opened the bottle and proceeded to serve everyone. Main courses came out too quickly as we were still in the middle of appetizers with hardly any room on the table. Once the check was dropped off, we never saw our server again, just in case we wanted refills on some drinks.

There's also an art form to interrupting a conversation at the table. Bull in a china shop comes to mind, but the managers definitely need to train their servers to pay attention to what's going on at the table.

Food was average for a bar and grill, but it's very overpriced for what you get. There are at least a dozen other similar places in the Ballantyne and Fort Mill area that are a better value. I'm sure the bar is fine here. But if you're going out for dinner, go elsewhere.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The restaurant is convenient to our home and the food is consistently excellent. We go here frequently.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Celebrated Mothers Day and the noise level was very robust to say the least. We had eaten there once before and now I remember that we asked to be seated in and enclosed area where the noise level wasn't so loud. The food is good and reasonably priced but unfortunately is overshadowed by the noise. It was not a pleasant experience. Don't plan to go back

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Chad is a superior server! We had him once before and he is great!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Good food and service, we were on the outside deck on a beautiful day. It was nice. Prices ok too. I would recommend.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went to Stone Mountain Grill for brunch on Mother's Day. One guest ordered two eggs over hard, break the yolk. It was recieved over medium, and then took almost 20 minutes to get a the eggs replaced. We also ordered a side of pancakes and received those after everyone was finished eating. The manager did apologized and picked up the tab for the entire table.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I have been for dinner before and it was okay (not bad at all, but just normal), but their brunch is OUTSTANDING!!!! I love brunch and was pleasantly surprised how great this one was! Can't wait to go back!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We made reservations for a very special occasion. It was our first time to this restaurant and it will be our last. The service was terrible, the food was old and not prepared as we had requested. Such a disappointment.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 11, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants! Excellent food, service and atmosphere!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Service from waitress or chef was poor: too many errors in getting our food right the first time.

Food was good and tasty.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Wife's birthday
Joined by two other couples
We ate on the patio and had a great time

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Steak had to be sent back twice. When ordered medium well & it comes out rare, someone messed up. I'll try them again, but wasn't the best first impression. I realize medium well isn't the perfect steak but that's how my wife wants it. Plate had blood all over it when she cut into it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The service left something to be desired! Our waiter was insistent on taking both our drink and food orders immediately. We asked him for some time to catch up first, but after the third time he came by (with less than five minutes between each visit to our table), we gave in, quickly scanned the menus and ordered. I can't speak to my friend's meal, but I got a chicken salad that I only ate one-half of. The chicken had no flavor and was rubbery; I wondered if it had been cooked long enough. The salad dressing was not good! Once we ordered, we never saw our waiter again. I had to ask another waitstaff for a second drink. Our check was eventually brought to us with no question as to whether we wanted dessert or not. When we asked about dessert menus, the waiter rattled off three options. My friend asked about something she thought she had seen on the menu when we ordered our entrees and the waiter replied, "Oh yeah, we have that too." Terrible service; less than mediocre food. I will, most likely, not return.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Conveniently located close to our hotel, this spot was a gem. The food was fantastic. I had the cedar plank salmon and my husband had the jerk chicken tacos. Service was great and it was not difficult to get a table. Highly recommend.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Kid-friendly, Paleo Friendly, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Enjoyable ambiance. Extensive menu options. Good service. Loved that we had a round table for group of six.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Once again I have the pleasure to review one of our favorite go to restaurants.
The food , no matter what you choose, is always delicious and fresh.
The service is nothing less than wonderful. Thank you Ana.
If you have not been to Stone Mountain Grill then you are missing a great dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I have to say our meal was great. My only flaw was our server.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fireplace, Wood Oven, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went for Easter brunch! The food was good...great variety on the menu. Our server, Jake, was incredible!!!! Very personalable and attentive to both our kids and my husband and me. We have also gone for a couple date night and have had great experiences at dinner as well!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Where do I begin… The service started out OK, but even with two servers we had empty glasses for the majority of our meal. Neither seemed to have a clue about what ingredients were used in the food--one of our guests had a gluten allergy. She ordered what she was told was gluten free only to have to send it back as it was covered in panko. Everyone's food came out at different times, and after receiving our meals some were sent right back (hard boiled poached eggs). After picking at our food for a while we managed to flag down one of our servers for the check. When we were finally able to escape we all agreed we would NOT be back. Overall, a very disappointing (Easter) brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We celebrated a family Birthday here and enjoyed our evening. Rob and his staff are professional, attentive and well prepared. I have frequented Stone Mtn for business lunches and have never been disappointed in the service or quality of the meal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Family Style, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Food was average. Creole Grouper had strange seasonings, crab cakes were decent, mac n cheese tasted like it was made with a powdered cheese. Bourbon Salmon entree and firecracker shrimp app were the best things we ordered.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Stone Mountain Grill has become one of our fall back restaurants for a quick and good meal. The service is excellent and the menu offers a full range of items for any taste.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Before the bad, the good. Our waiter was fantastic. But,my goodness, the food was terrible. We had a party of 5 and each ordered something different. Every entre was tasteless. By 8:00 pm the place was deserted, which tells you something. I can't see how this place will be in business much longer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Great, attentive service. Great menu. Good value. Good seating

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Excellent food and service as always!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Not impressed with their "rules". Daughter turned 13 on Feb 12th and was refused the right to order off the kids menu because she was over 12yrs old. We visited on March 25th. We won't be back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Stopped by for lunch, service was quick and food was fresh and delicious

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 22, 2017

This restaurant is a fave and I love introducing friends to this place! The food is always fresh, hot, delicious, and satisfying! Also, a great place for kids!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This was our first time eating at Stone Mountain Grill, and thought that they had a nice, well-priced brunch menu. The food was tasty, and the portions were ample. In fact, it is probably the best value for brunch we've experienced in a long time. Ryan, our waiter, was friendly, helpful, and efficient. The place was empty when we walked in at 10 am (yes, it had just opened), but was filling up by the time we left around 11:15. It's a bit of a trek for us, but we will definitely be back on another Sunday!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.