About Stone Mountain Grill

Located across from the Ballantyne Hotel & Resort and Wells Fargo Bank. Please note our address has changed to 15719 Brixham Hill Ave.

15719 Brixham Hill Avenue
Charlotte, NC 28277
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Sunday Brunch 10:00am-2:00pm, Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Conlan Circle

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(980) 207-2326

Website:
http://www.stonemountaingrill.com/

Catering:
Full Catering menu for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Matt Starnes is our Catering Specialist. Please call our phone number at (980) 207-2326

Executive Chef:
Chef Matthew Starnes

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Stone Mountain Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (35)
Casual (35)
Fireplace (22)
See All
Special Occasion (20)
Great for Lunch (20)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Comfort Food (19)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Kid-friendly (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Cozy (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Fun (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Business Meals (10)
Romantic (10)
Live Sports (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Authentic (5)
Family Style (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Seasonal (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great Beer (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Healthy (2)
People Watching (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Private Room (1)
Spicy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
552 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined a day ago

Steak had to be sent back twice. When ordered medium well & it comes out rare, someone messed up. I'll try them again, but wasn't the best first impression. I realize medium well isn't the perfect steak but that's how my wife wants it. Plate had blood all over it when she cut into it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Something on the menu for everyone. Quiet enough for conversation. Lots of appetizer choices. Food was good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

The service left something to be desired! Our waiter was insistent on taking both our drink and food orders immediately. We asked him for some time to catch up first, but after the third time he came by (with less than five minutes between each visit to our table), we gave in, quickly scanned the menus and ordered. I can't speak to my friend's meal, but I got a chicken salad that I only ate one-half of. The chicken had no flavor and was rubbery; I wondered if it had been cooked long enough. The salad dressing was not good! Once we ordered, we never saw our waiter again. I had to ask another waitstaff for a second drink. Our check was eventually brought to us with no question as to whether we wanted dessert or not. When we asked about dessert menus, the waiter rattled off three options. My friend asked about something she thought she had seen on the menu when we ordered our entrees and the waiter replied, "Oh yeah, we have that too." Terrible service; less than mediocre food. I will, most likely, not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Conveniently located close to our hotel, this spot was a gem. The food was fantastic. I had the cedar plank salmon and my husband had the jerk chicken tacos. Service was great and it was not difficult to get a table. Highly recommend.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Paleo Friendly, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Enjoyable ambiance. Extensive menu options. Good service. Loved that we had a round table for group of six.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Once again I have the pleasure to review one of our favorite go to restaurants.
The food , no matter what you choose, is always delicious and fresh.
The service is nothing less than wonderful. Thank you Ana.
If you have not been to Stone Mountain Grill then you are missing a great dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I have to say our meal was great. My only flaw was our server.

Tags: Fireplace, Wood Oven, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went for Easter brunch! The food was good...great variety on the menu. Our server, Jake, was incredible!!!! Very personalable and attentive to both our kids and my husband and me. We have also gone for a couple date night and have had great experiences at dinner as well!

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Where do I begin… The service started out OK, but even with two servers we had empty glasses for the majority of our meal. Neither seemed to have a clue about what ingredients were used in the food--one of our guests had a gluten allergy. She ordered what she was told was gluten free only to have to send it back as it was covered in panko. Everyone's food came out at different times, and after receiving our meals some were sent right back (hard boiled poached eggs). After picking at our food for a while we managed to flag down one of our servers for the check. When we were finally able to escape we all agreed we would NOT be back. Overall, a very disappointing (Easter) brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We celebrated a family Birthday here and enjoyed our evening. Rob and his staff are professional, attentive and well prepared. I have frequented Stone Mtn for business lunches and have never been disappointed in the service or quality of the meal.

Tags: Family Style, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Food was average. Creole Grouper had strange seasonings, crab cakes were decent, mac n cheese tasted like it was made with a powdered cheese. Bourbon Salmon entree and firecracker shrimp app were the best things we ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Company lunch, all food was awesome an server was right on it. In and out in around 1 hours love it. thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Hamburgers we're undercooked
Fatty greasy taste
Fist bad meal after many great meals

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Stone Mountain Grill has become one of our fall back restaurants for a quick and good meal. The service is excellent and the menu offers a full range of items for any taste.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We were there for a nice anniversary dinner and that it was not. It took 35 minutes to get a salad and when the main course came a half hour later, the fish was cold, vegetables were over cooked and steak was rare not medium. The steak was sent back and we were told it would be comped as it took more than 10 minutes to get it back. It was NOT comped as promised. The only good part of the meal was that the waitress felt bad and treated us to a piece of key lime pie, that was very good. We will not ever go back and would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Before the bad, the good. Our waiter was fantastic. But,my goodness, the food was terrible. We had a party of 5 and each ordered something different. Every entre was tasteless. By 8:00 pm the place was deserted, which tells you something. I can't see how this place will be in business much longer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I come here frequently, sometimes with my husband and other times with friends. I'm never disappointed in the food or the service.

Tags: Live Sports, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Great, attentive service. Great menu. Good value. Good seating

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Excellent food and service as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Not impressed with their "rules". Daughter turned 13 on Feb 12th and was refused the right to order off the kids menu because she was over 12yrs old. We visited on March 25th. We won't be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Stopped by for lunch, service was quick and food was fresh and delicious

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 22, 2017

This restaurant is a fave and I love introducing friends to this place! The food is always fresh, hot, delicious, and satisfying! Also, a great place for kids!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Great rib eye for the money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This was our first time eating at Stone Mountain Grill, and thought that they had a nice, well-priced brunch menu. The food was tasty, and the portions were ample. In fact, it is probably the best value for brunch we've experienced in a long time. Ryan, our waiter, was friendly, helpful, and efficient. The place was empty when we walked in at 10 am (yes, it had just opened), but was filling up by the time we left around 11:15. It's a bit of a trek for us, but we will definitely be back on another Sunday!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Very generic but ok as a family dinner place or if you happen to be staying around that part of town and want a safe place to eat. They do have some good seafood entrees such as grilled mahi and grouper. Kids get good choices, including grilled salmon for next to nothing. Service was really good. We were just not overwhelmed with happiness there and the place had the feeling of one of those restaurants outside Disney world with this outdoorsy theme. I would go again though if I was close by and wanted to have a decent dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great place for friends and family to get together for dinner. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fireplace, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Enjoyed the shrimp tacos with family. Enjoy the decor ... looks like a lodge

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had the filet mignon and the wedge salad. Both were delicious. I love the balsamic glaze they put on the wedge salad and asked for some for my filet as well. It really adds the perfect flavor to the steak as well.

We did have a coupon which made our value much better but we will certainly go again.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great personel service, good food choices, comfortable and warm

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Once again , it is my pleasure to do a review on Stone Mountain Grill.
If I sound redundant I cannot help it.
The food, service and warmth of the staff goes beyond the call of duty.
No matter what you may order, you are going to be happy and more than satisfied. The choices are plentiful. There are fabulous salads , sandwiches, main courses and wonderful appetizers.
As I said before, service is great and we thank Dena , again, for beyond incredible service.
You must try Stone Mountain Grill if you have not done so already.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Brunch was really delicious!! The best part was it was relaxed and easy. No huge wait or difficult parking or cramped tables like pretty much every other place I have been to brunch in Charlotte.

They have a great kids menu for brunch including a big yummy waffle. I think everything on the kids menu is about $5 and comes with side, drink, and dessert.

The eggs Benedict was popular with all the adults - we tried every version and loved them all.

The restaurant is big and spacious so it doesn't get too loud or crowded. The outdoor patio is beautiful with a big stone fireplace and heaters so you can sit outside year round.

Our server wasn't the most personable and for some reason kept getting my dad's orders wrong but it was always quickly fixed so no big deal.

Overall, we loved our brunch and want to go every week!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Once again , I feel compelled to tell you just how much we enjoy Stone Mountain Grill.
The food is consistently wonderful, as is the service. Thank you Dena you are fantastic.
Salads and sandwiches never disappoint and there are so many choices, each excellent.
If you are looking for platters, there too you'll have lots to choose from here.
So, I strongly suggest you pay a visit to Stone Mountain Grill.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Casual, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 22, 2017

To say that we enjoy dining at Stone Mountain Grill is a massive understatement.
The food is very good and choices are many. Anything that you choose will be wonderful.
The salads are fabulous. There are many to choose from here.
Ribs are a must. They are plentiful and delicious. The crab encrusted mahi-mahi is absolutely delicious.
Our server, Dena is amazing. She anticipates what is needed by her customers without having to ask. If you are going to Stone Mountain Grill, and I strongly suggest that you do, I recommend that you request Ana, Jeremy or Dena. You won't be sorry.
Bernard, kitchen manager, is out and about checking that you are more than satisfied with your order. He is a true gem.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Special Occasion, Casual, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Didn't have much time but the service was quick and food great

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was good, however, portion sizes were rather small. Our biggest complaint was the slow service on what appeared to be a slow night there. Mistakes with our order were made which is normally forgivable, however, it became excessive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Looking at the reviews and pictures online, I was excited to try this place. My family and I came for Sunday brunch - maybe it was an off day, but the food was average at best. We tried the bloody marys, buffalo chicken dip, fish tacos, west coast benedict, and 2 eggs any style. The bloody marys were delicious, best thing we had! Buffalo chicken dip was ok, but I honestly have no idea where the chicken was. Maybe it was chopped up super fine? Fish tacos were average, nothing special to them. Eggs benedict were very underwhelming, equivalent to fast food portions and looks. Grits were great, turkey sausage not so much. The 2 eggs any style didn't even look appealing. The service however, was great. Our waitress was very nice, attentive, and engaged our son, and I could see the other waiters doing the same with smiles on their faces.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 19, 2017

First time eating here but the food and waiter was Fantastic, we will be back.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This is my new favorite restaurant! We arrived early for our reservation and were seated immediately. The wait staff was spot on, and the food was absolutely delicious!! I highly recommend the Firecracker Shrimp appetizer....best I've ever had. Will definitely be going back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 18, 2017

One of my favorites. Great food, service and atmosphere. Good for couples and larger groups. Handheld foods to Steaks. Have not been disappointed yet. Mild weather, ate on the patio with the fireplace!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

A bit noisy a little more of a casual atmosphere than I wanted for Valentine's Day . The food was good and served hot in a reasonable time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.