About Stone Mountain Grill

Located across from the Ballantyne Hotel & Resort and Wells Fargo Bank. Please note our address has changed to 15719 Brixham Hill Ave.

15719 Brixham Hill Avenue
Charlotte, NC 28277
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Sunday Brunch 10:00am-2:00pm, Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Conlan Circle

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(980) 207-2326

Website:
http://www.stonemountaingrill.com/

Catering:
Full Catering menu for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Matt Starnes is our Catering Specialist. Please call our phone number at (980) 207-2326

Executive Chef:
Chef Matthew Starnes

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Stone Mountain Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (30)
Special Occasion (15)
Good for a Date (15)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Business Meals (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Cozy (7)
Romantic (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Fun (5)
Great Beer (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Authentic (3)
Live Sports (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Spicy (2)
Fireplace (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
People Watching (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
607 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

Firecracker Shrimp Tacos were top notch! Drinks were superb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Food for every taste - vegetarians, grand kids, middle age and seniors. Service particularly good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 9, 2017

I was very please with the food and more so the presentation and the service was impeccable. I would highly recommend this restaurant especially for business dining

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We had a nice time. Chicken was advertised as half a chicken, but only got a breast and leg. One order was incorrect, but was quickly corrected

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

This is a great place to meet friends and have a good meal. We love the shrimp!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Live Sports, People Watching, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 2, 2017

The atmosphere and waitstaff was real nice. I sat in the lounge but the outdoor seating looked really nice and if I go back, will try to sit there. The food was middling. I had the Baja fish tacos. They were flavorless.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great experience and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 30, 2017

My steak was very good, cooked medium rare, perfect . My wife's seared tuna appetizer was a tad over done. The lighting was wierd at our table, felt like we were under a spotlight.

Service at the bar and at the table was excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Excellent service, food and drinks! We visited for Charlotte Restaurant Week and were very pleased with the choices and the food was phenomenal! Looking forward to visiting again soon!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

We went during Charlotte's Queen' s Feast. There were more babies and young children than I was expecting, and they were loud! My food was excellent, which in part made up for the lack of ambiance. Prices seemed a bit high, from the menu the choices we were given were higher priced than on the regular menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Every time we come we have a great meal. We just love all the meals we have had. We recommend to everyone to try. We have had great service each time except for this past time. But the food was still amazing.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

We came during Queen's feast to try a variety of items. They were all good and our server was great.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Food and service are always top notch. Bring a sweater though because it is always chilly inside.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Casual, Special Occasion, Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Went for Charlotte Restaurant Week. Excellent menu. Great service and wonderful food. Have been several times and will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Convenient location . Good food, atmosphere and service. One of my favorite restaurants.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Service was great and a seating accommodation was made upon request. Food was delicious and very generous portions for Charlotte dining week.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Wonderful dinner! This was our second trip here and honestly, despite the awesome service and food, those trips have been very far apart. It's overwhelmingly noisy. The minute you enter the restaurant the noise almost sets you back physically! I hadn't been back in quite a while due to this. The owners should seriously consider adding some form of acoustical ceiling panels.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 21, 2017

The food we ordered was delicious and generous portions. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Great prices, food was good with large portions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 15, 2017

They're going for the "lodge" look, and if that's your thing, I think Firebirds is much better at delivering it. That said, the food was well prepared and tasty, the service was pleasant and competent and, overall, I'm sure we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Good for large groups, as the vicinity is spacious and noisy. The menu is pretty extensive and offers a wide variety of items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We ordered ribeye steak and it was tough and stringy. Previous orders of ribeye were excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Outstanding for location to meet and share dinner with friends.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 12, 2017

The restaurant was very loud and busy. The food presentation was messy and the food itself was very unappetizing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Food was awesome. Salmon special is the best a must have. Cory our server was great. Everything came out as we ordered and we never had to ask for a thing, he also made sure we had what we needed and our drinks were full. Very enjoyable business lunch. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We were very disappointed with our Sunday brunch. After our food came we had to wait, and finally ask for tableware. My elderly uncles spilled his water. We had to go get someone to help us. They brought one small towel. The rest of my meal was on a wet table and wet chair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Staff and kitchen were too busy with a 60 person party. We waited an hour for our entrées before we had to leave because the children were very hungry and cranky.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Food was great. Waiter was a little less than enthusiastic. The restaurant was too cold. We asked if they could turn down the AC & they didn't oblige. I would try again on the strength of the food & hope for a better waiter & a slightly warmer facility.

Tags: Great Beer, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food was amazing. Really enjoyed the pimento cheese and also loved the bacon wrapped scallops

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Good brunch menu!! Didn't know they served Sunday brunch.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Very loud... hard to hold a conversation across the table

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We were seated at a remote table blocked by a wall despite the fact there was plenty of room with a more open view. Then we found out they had cancelled the half price wine on Saturdays. Our waitress was great and the food was okay but it's doubtful we'll do this again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Food was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had 4 adults, 1 three year old and a baby. We were seated at an indoor table which was perfect for our Fathers Day celebration. We all got something different and there were no complaints. Our waitress was excellent and on top of all our needs. When we are back in the Charlotte area we will certainly dine there again! We are from Decatur, GA.

Tags: Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Comfort Food, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Disappointed would be the only word I can think of for this restaurant. It is way too noisy and the service is just fair. We waited at least a half hour for the wait person to take our order. I ordered the bourbon salmon, which was initially served with hardly any bourbon glaze. Upon contacting the manager, it was made right, which I appreciated. However, it was very salty and not at all comparable to the bourbon salmon I've had elsewhere. My friends ordered the babyback ribs, which, according to them, were mediocre at best.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Not bad overall, but not exceptional in any specific area

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 12, 2017

This is my go to restaurant. It is a varied menu and the food never disappoints. I always order fish. They will make a special even if it's not a special of the night of grilled fish topped with a crab cake. To die for!!! The crab cakes are delicious by themselves. Never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 8, 2017

This restaurant is average - nothing special. My quesadilla was rather tasteless. It's not a place I would make an effort to go to again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 29, 2017

No bread served. No water served. Server said that restaurant doesn't serve bread. Really? Why not? Doesn't cost that much! Not crowded, but had to ask for refills on iced tea. Server only came back once after meal was served. Didn't even ask about dessert. Food was really quite tasty and prices ok. Will go back, and hope for another server. We asked to sit in dining room but music from bar was still too loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We really enjoy Stone Mountain Grill. The server seemed to be new this trip but overall did a pretty good job. Was not quite like the seasoned servers. Food was good. Drinks were good. Overall we really enjoy our visits here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.