About Stone Mountain Grill

15719 Brixham Hill Avenue
Charlotte, NC 28277
View Larger Map

Located across from the Ballantyne Hotel & Resort and Wells Fargo Bank. Please note our address has changed to 15719 Brixham Hill Ave.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Sunday Brunch 10:00am-2:00pm, Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Conlan Circle

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(980) 207-2326

Website:
http://www.stonemountaingrill.com/

Catering:
Full Catering menu for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Matt Starnes is our Catering Specialist. Please call our phone number at (980) 207-2326

Executive Chef:
Chef Matthew Starnes

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Stone Mountain Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (48)
Special Occasion (35)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
See All
Great for Lunch (32)
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Kid-friendly (16)
Great for Brunch (16)
Hot Spot (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Romantic (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Scenic View (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Sort By:
Newest
428 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was our second time at Stone Mounta ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

This was our second time at Stone Mountain Grill and it's officially our favorite restaurant. We had filet kabobs and wing as appetizers, wine and salads. Entrees were the barrel cut filet, which was fork-tender and cut perfectly and the crab-encrusted mahi mahi. The beurre blanc that came with the fish was the star of the night and we were literally looking for more things to dip into it. Our server was Alicia and she was wonderful. Still not a negative thing to say about this place. Love it.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there with my wife to try a new pla ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Went there with my wife to try a new place for dinner. Simple menu with good food that was priced really well. Cost me the same as Hickory Tavern, but better food, service and atmosphere. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food good service great.

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Food good service great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Stone Mountain Grill is our go to restau ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Stone Mountain Grill is our go to restaurant because the food,service and prices are marvelous.

The food is not only fresh but delicious. It really doesn't matter what you are in the mood for because there are so many options. The salads are fantastic. The regular main course menu has something wonderful for everybody. We took guests for dinner this past Saturday evening. They had never had the pleasure of going there before. They loved it and vowed to return.

We know that we'll be back to Stone Mountain Grill very soon.

Thank you Jeremy, you were as fabulous as ever. Our friends were very impressed with your excellent service,especially considering how busy the restaurant and you were.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Salmon pesto special should have ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Awesome Salmon pesto special should have that all the time on the menu it was the best yet.

When we dine here we always know the food will be the best. Hats off to the chef and Thank you.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was somewhat disappointing. Had be ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Food was somewhat disappointing. Had been once before and it was better. Unfortunately this was a business dinner so more was at stake

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Large group, good food and device. Goo ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Large group, good food and device. Good experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was very nice, attentive and ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Our server was very nice, attentive and knowledgeable. It was very noisy in the restaurant. We went for restaurant week and the offer was a great deal. The food was good

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and awesome waitress! Would h ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great food and awesome waitress! Would highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This location has changed names/ownershi ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This location has changed names/ownership at least three times that I can remember. Unfortunately they still do not have it right. Underwhelming is really the only description I can give. Food below average, interior dark and "old". On the plus side the service was very good. Too many good restaurants in Charlotte to spend money here, sorry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

Stone Mountain Grill is our go to restau ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Stone Mountain Grill is our go to restaurant. We love the ambiance.

The food is marvelous and the choices are plentiful and delicious. Their choices of salads are fantastic! The ribs cannot be beat and the crab encrusted Mahi-Mahi is fantastic.

We really love this restaurant and frequent it often.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic and very generous whe ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food was fantastic and very generous when you consider that it was Restaurant Week.

Our waitress was extremely helpful with recommendations and suggestions, an absolute delight to have been at her table. She even moved us to another table when she realized that the booth we were in was a little tight.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My dining experience was great! Our wai ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

My dining experience was great! Our waiter was attentive, courteous, and pleasant and the food was very good. The bacon wrapped bbq shrimp appetizer and caramel cheesecake are both addictive. The portion sizes were also good. I would definitely return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was just OK. Nothing special i ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food was just OK. Nothing special in either selection or the quality. The ambiance was poor and the noise level was terrible. Your form labels it energetic but I would label just noisy. difficult to have a conversation. The ambuiance of "unfinished" building interior, although now popular, is not attractive and causes noise levels to go up. Will not go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

I was there twice during Restraunt week ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

I was there twice during Restraunt week and both times the meal was very good. The first time we sat at a high top table in the bar and the waitress was very efficient and pleasant . The second time our waiter was as attentive to our table .

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I ordered the blackened grouper. It was ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

I ordered the blackened grouper. It was uncooked so I had to send it back. The appetizers were amazing. I suggest the appetizers and drinks.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice portions....cool and energetic wait ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Nice portions....cool and energetic wait staff....on time reservation...and awesome cheesecake

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The rib eye steak was cooked to perfecti ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The rib eye steak was cooked to perfection! How do they get it so perfect? My husband order his medium; me, medium rare. There was perfection in the meat. The green beans were overcooked but I enjoyed them anyway. (My Mom always overcooked the green beans!) Dessert was fabulous (caramel salted cheesecake.)

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Staff was wonderful and very attentive. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Staff was wonderful and very attentive. Food was good!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We've been coming here for 3-4 years now ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We've been coming here for 3-4 years now and have never been disappointed. The food is top notch as is the service. I especially like their salmon and tacos - the best anywhere! My husband loves the strip steak and burgers. I've also attended functions with 15 to 25 people. The food and service was still outstanding!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great meal here! Fillet kabobs, su ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Had a great meal here! Fillet kabobs, surf and turf, and key lime pie. Great food and drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner experience was great! Chad our se ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Dinner experience was great! Chad our server was personable, knowledgeable and attentive. Food portions were plentiful, food was cooked to order and taste was terrific. Although restaurant was busy the noise level was not overpowering. The ambiance was warm, inviting and comfortable. I will definitely visit again and highly recommend to others.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They managed to burn a medium rare steak ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

They managed to burn a medium rare steak. Like for real how do you even do that?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

It was EXTREMELY loud inside, granted it ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was EXTREMELY loud inside, granted it was a Friday night at the start of restaurant week, but it was very hard to carry on a conversation with the person seated beside me.

I ordered a Moscow Mule which was quite watered down and just had a hint of mint, not worth the money. For dinner I had the bourbon glazed salmon which didn't even have the taste of bourbon, just was a grilled piece of salmon. The asparagus was grilled nicely however, so that portion of the entree was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

We were just looking for a new place to ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We were just looking for a new place to dine out and found this place on Open Table during Queen's feast. Ordered the surf and turf and it was very good. Our server was very pleasant (Sandy) and other than it was a little busy and our food was a little slow getting out, it is a place we will definitely come back too again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Was there for restaurant week. Seemed a ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Was there for restaurant week. Seemed a little rushed. Got the surf and turf. Steak was fantastic but the shrimp were small and dry on a skewer. Waitress wasnt the best. Wanted to asked for a lemon for the shrimp but she never came back until we were done. Would go back for happy hour only. Brie plate was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Business lunch was awesome! Food always ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Business lunch was awesome! Food always the best and our server was great. Highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spare ribs and Bourbon Salmon are tops. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Spare ribs and Bourbon Salmon are tops. Ribs may be best this side of Memphis. Service has always been very efficient and friendly. Lunch is good too - and quiet enough to hear your fellow diners conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Their meatloaf was amazing! Baked but th ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Their meatloaf was amazing! Baked but then grilled and topped with pimento cheese, it was an inventive and flavorful way to prepare an old stand-by. My girlfriend got the shrimp and grits and loved it!

One other thing that I noticed was that our server pretty much got triple with three other tables than ours and two of those being tables of 5-6 which understandably put him instantly in the weeds. Please don't misunderstand, this isn't a criticism of him or anyone else (except maybe the host staff). The other servers around his section each stepped up to check in on our table and our server still made sure to check in with us on his way by with either a question or simply just making eye contact. He never got rattled and remained friendly and professional. Excellent teamwork, excellent food, and a friendly and helpful staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Great variety on menu. Food quality was ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great variety on menu. Food quality was excellent. Fine filet, Mahi, specials, salads, everything was cooked to order and came out perfect. Service was excellent as well. The 8 of us were very pleased and look forward to returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stumbled in by chance and will not be re ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Stumbled in by chance and will not be returning. The food is all warmed up frozen food. The kids pizza had the dreaded "dots" on the bottom of the crust which showcases its frozen. The fried cheese among the worst we have ever had (more cheese outside if the batter than inside. And the buffalo chicken dip was cold (needed to be microwaved more...). Decent service and good looking place, but terrible food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

We went to Stone Mountain to enjoy our 4 ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We went to Stone Mountain to enjoy our 4th of July celebration with friends. The food was very tasty. Our server was friendly and funny. We'll be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not a negative thing to say about this p ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Not a negative thing to say about this place. We chose it randomly from the open table app and could not have been more pleased. We were seated immediately, our server (Dom) was patient as we made our selections and great with recommendations and from appetizer to dessert, our entire meal was wonderful. Especially enjoyed the wedge salad and crab crusted mahi mahi. One of the best meals out we've had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our meal and service was excellent. Than ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our meal and service was excellent. Thanks Ana for the extra special service.

We have never been disappointed at Stone Mountain Grill. I'll say that my husband would have liked some warm bread or rolls with his salad but that is not available.

Whatever you are in the mood for you easily can find something wonderful here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Table was ready when we got there. Donav ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Table was ready when we got there. Donavan was awesome took 7 peoples different orders did not write them down. All can out perfect as ordered. Our glasses were always full did not have to ask for anything. Awesome waiter. In and out in just a little over an hour Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stone Mountain Grill is one of our favor ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Stone Mountain Grill is one of our favorite restaurants in the area. The service is always great, and the food is almost always outstanding. Their tacos are the best! I also love their salmon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with a group of 5 and everybody lov ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Went with a group of 5 and everybody loved there food. We went for lunch/brunch and will be going back for dinner to get some steaks. Inside decor is a vegans nightmare but that's totally cool with me.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous meal! Great service!

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Fabulous meal! Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. The kabob appetizer feels sm ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great food. The kabob appetizer feels small, but it's so good you don't really care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great varied brunch menu. Nice stmospher ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great varied brunch menu. Nice stmosphere. Lunch looked great too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.