About Stone Mountain Grill

Located across from the Ballantyne Hotel & Resort and Wells Fargo Bank. Please note our address has changed to 15719 Brixham Hill Ave.

15719 Brixham Hill Avenue
Charlotte, NC 28277
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Sunday Brunch 10:00am-2:00pm, Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Conlan Circle

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(980) 207-2326

Website:
http://www.stonemountaingrill.com/

Catering:
Full Catering menu for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Matt Starnes is our Catering Specialist. Please call our phone number at (980) 207-2326

Executive Chef:
Chef Matthew Starnes

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Stone Mountain Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (31)
Good for a Date (17)
Great for Lunch (15)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Business Meals (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Cozy (6)
Romantic (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Fun (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Great Beer (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Live Sports (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Authentic (2)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
626 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

VERY ACCOMODATING KITCHEN. IT WAS GREATLY APPRECIATED. HUGE OUTDOOR DECK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Four friends met at the Stone Mountain Grill to enjoy a Saturday dinner. We had reservations at 6:45 and were seated promptly. Even though the restaurant was 2/3 full, the noise level was such that the server could not hear the orders of the women at our table. We had cocktails and wine and the bar took quite a while. When ordering the server and the women at our table were frustrated with each other--they had questions and our server could not understand. The food was all hot (2 orders of heavily sauced ribs, one New Orleans grouper over rice and a salad with chicken). Food was good, as usual. Frankly, we felt like we were an imposition and were less than satisfied, but it was Saturday night and we still tipped 20%.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Both casual and formal. Food is fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Great food and service .
Good value for your dollar

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 3, 2017

The restaurant is conveniently located in Ballantyne, the service was excellent. The overall experience was excellent, I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone in or visiting the Charlotte area.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The overall experience was a bit lacking. Great ambiance and patio dining. The decor is excellent and conveys the feeling of a mountain lodge. Some of the dishes were lacking. The steaks in particular were not up to the quality of what was being charged.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Second time eating here and we love it!!! Food is great, service is amazing, and the drinks are awesome!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

I chose this restaurant based on driving by on my way home from work daily and seeing a packed parking lot all the time. When a very special lunch came up, I figured this must be the place to take my international friends who drove many hours to visit me.

I was at once disappointed to see it so dark inside on a beautiful sunny day. The waiter was cordial but slow and the restaurant was not crowded at all. I felt the menu was very limited compared to what is shown on line. I chose a chicken pear salad. The greens were all stems and there were only three slivers of pears on the entire salad. The dressings on all the plates left a lot to be desired.

Whereas the apple cobbler was very good, I will not be returning to The STone Mountain Grill.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Wait Staff was very pleasant from the minute we walked in. The food was excellent. One of the best steaks I have had in a long long time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We had friends in due to Irma and were looking for a convenient place with good food and a casual atmosphere. The service was great, with the waitress greeting us and assuring that our needs were met. I had the trout which was as good as I remembered from a prior visit. My wife had the Daisy Duke sandwich which was well prepared and actually more than she could handle. Our friends had the ribs which were excellent and not overwhelmed with sauce and the chicken and pasta which was more than he could handle. Overall a very pleasant evening. The one area which does need to be addressed is the noise level. There is no system to control the sound and this makes discussion difficult. This seems to be a generic problem with most restaurant in the Charlotte area.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The smothered chicken was wonderful. Tag on the the firecracker shrimp and a couple of beers and it becomes a great dinner. Service was excellent too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Totally awesome birthday lunch. we all had different salads and they were all perfect just as we ordered Hats off to the chef. Thank you, You made the birthday girls day!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The food, as usual, was outstanding. I hate the service. One waitperson took our orders, then disappeared. The food came out with two other delivery people. They didn't know who got what. Two of us were eating ribs and had to flag down another employee to get a bone bucket and paper napkins. The napkins never arrived. I don't know the age of the wait staff but a bunch of high school kids with no training would have done better. Stone Mountain needs to invest in some staff training.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great service and they split our meals for us so we could share which was great, but the NBA chicken was a little overdone and dry. Everything else was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We had the ribs and 1/2 chicken. Both were very good. You can substitute any of the sides. They offered a special discount, which made our experience so much more enjoyable. The service was very good as well.

Conveniently located in Ballantyne, and we recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great meal as always. Two things I notice is that bread is never served or even offered which would be nice with soup or salad prior to main course. Just had Sunday Brunch a few hours ago and toast came with our omelets but that situation differs from what I mentioned above. The other thing is that nothing is ever done or mentioned if the occasion is special. We had our 54th wedding anniversary dinner this past Friday evening and not a mention of the event! Mr.Curtin needs to take corrective action!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Second time as good as the first

This was my second visit and this time for dinner. Great value and good service. Their crock age is 10.00, which I consider to be reasonable. Great place for a friendly dinner or lunch. Try it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Stone Mountain is a great neighborhood restaurant with excellent outside covered patio. Friendly service and good prices.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

An after movie dinner. Delicious. Waiter very attentive, even though it was crowded....$5 pomegranate martini special. What's not to like.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Firecracker Shrimp Tacos were top notch! Drinks were superb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Food for every taste - vegetarians, grand kids, middle age and seniors. Service particularly good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 9, 2017

I was very please with the food and more so the presentation and the service was impeccable. I would highly recommend this restaurant especially for business dining

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We had a nice time. Chicken was advertised as half a chicken, but only got a breast and leg. One order was incorrect, but was quickly corrected

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

This is a great place to meet friends and have a good meal. We love the shrimp!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Live Sports, People Watching, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 2, 2017

The atmosphere and waitstaff was real nice. I sat in the lounge but the outdoor seating looked really nice and if I go back, will try to sit there. The food was middling. I had the Baja fish tacos. They were flavorless.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great experience and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 30, 2017

My steak was very good, cooked medium rare, perfect . My wife's seared tuna appetizer was a tad over done. The lighting was wierd at our table, felt like we were under a spotlight.

Service at the bar and at the table was excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Excellent service, food and drinks! We visited for Charlotte Restaurant Week and were very pleased with the choices and the food was phenomenal! Looking forward to visiting again soon!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

We went during Charlotte's Queen' s Feast. There were more babies and young children than I was expecting, and they were loud! My food was excellent, which in part made up for the lack of ambiance. Prices seemed a bit high, from the menu the choices we were given were higher priced than on the regular menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Every time we come we have a great meal. We just love all the meals we have had. We recommend to everyone to try. We have had great service each time except for this past time. But the food was still amazing.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

We came during Queen's feast to try a variety of items. They were all good and our server was great.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Food and service are always top notch. Bring a sweater though because it is always chilly inside.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Casual, Special Occasion, Live Sports, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Went for Charlotte Restaurant Week. Excellent menu. Great service and wonderful food. Have been several times and will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Convenient location . Good food, atmosphere and service. One of my favorite restaurants.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Service was great and a seating accommodation was made upon request. Food was delicious and very generous portions for Charlotte dining week.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Wonderful dinner! This was our second trip here and honestly, despite the awesome service and food, those trips have been very far apart. It's overwhelmingly noisy. The minute you enter the restaurant the noise almost sets you back physically! I hadn't been back in quite a while due to this. The owners should seriously consider adding some form of acoustical ceiling panels.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 21, 2017

The food we ordered was delicious and generous portions. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Great prices, food was good with large portions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 15, 2017

They're going for the "lodge" look, and if that's your thing, I think Firebirds is much better at delivering it. That said, the food was well prepared and tasty, the service was pleasant and competent and, overall, I'm sure we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Good for large groups, as the vicinity is spacious and noisy. The menu is pretty extensive and offers a wide variety of items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.