About Stone Mountain Grill

15719 Brixham Hill Avenue
Charlotte, NC 28277
View Larger Map

Located across from the Ballantyne Hotel & Resort and Wells Fargo Bank. Please note our address has changed to 15719 Brixham Hill Ave.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Sunday Brunch 10:00am-2:00pm, Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Conlan Circle

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(980) 207-2326

Website:
http://www.stonemountaingrill.com/

Catering:
Full Catering menu for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Matt Starnes is our Catering Specialist. Please call our phone number at (980) 207-2326

Executive Chef:
Chef Matthew Starnes

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Stone Mountain Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (14)
Fireplace (13)
Good for Groups (12)
See All
Comfort Food (12)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Cozy (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Business Meals (8)
Special Occasion (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Fun (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Authentic (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Family Style (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Great Beer (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Live Sports (2)
Private Room (1)
Healthy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Romantic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
484 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our first time and it was a success. Foo ...

 
·Dined a day ago

Our first time and it was a success. Food and drinks were very good. Service was a little slow but they kept our drinks coming. I would recommend it!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The service was great, food was good...I ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The service was great, food was good...I had the steak and it was fair, nothing special...all in all a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Celebrating Angie's birthday for a busin ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Celebrating Angie's birthday for a business lunch. Our server Marc took awesome care of us! Food was amazing as always hats off to the chef. We had Salmon special and the taco special . Both were to die for. This is NOW our go to place for lunches.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing. We had Mahi Mahi a ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was amazing. We had Mahi Mahi and Salmon they were both delicious. We have been here for girls night 3 times and we keep going back. We will probably go back on Wednesdays when wine is their special. It's a great restaurant where you can actually talk and hear your friends. I don't think there is a TV in the main restaurant which is hard to find anymore.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was really good, great for date ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was really good, great for dates or a family dinner. Atmosphere is comparable to Firebirds. Very open concept, tall ceilings. I would definitely go again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Celebrating holidays with family. Delici ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Celebrating holidays with family. Delicious food and great service, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stone Mountain was advertising a New Yea ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Stone Mountain was advertising a New Years Eve special, with seating as late as 11pm, so they were clearly anticipating people staying to ring in the new year at midnight. We arrived at 10:15pm so that we wouldn't be rushed, could enjoy a bottle of wine and several course of food as we count down the new year. When we arrived the restaurant was surprisingly empty, though some larger parties were present. First we ordered wine. The advertisement said they had some half-priced bottles (on Wednesday, almost all wines are half price, so we were expecting the same deal), but we found out there were only two bottles offered that night, and both were very expensive (nearly $100) so half-price was no real bargain. Then we ordered appetizer, salads, and entrees. From that point on, we were increasingly rushed. We were not even halfway through the appetizer when the salads came out, and then the entrees came out almost immediately after that. My date was still on the appetizer at this point and ended up having to eat the entire salad AFTER the entree because the steak was already getting cold. My date was still working on the appetizer when the waitress attempted to take away. Meanwhile, all the TVs were on sports (replays of games)--none on New Years events--with no volume. We asked for one of the TVs to be changed to a countdown. About 10 min later it was changed, but still with no volume. Then, before we even received the dessert, we were asked to close out the check. We then received our desserts (and were asked a 2nd time to close out), ate in silence, watching employees hurriedly clean. Clearly they just wanted to leave so we departed, with dessert half eaten and a full glass of wine untouched. The food was fine (except for the mushy, bland green beans), but the service was so lacking that I cannot recommend this place for a special occasion, especially NYE. And don't even think about booking a table any time close to late evening if you don't want to be hurried.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

Great service and we always enjoy eating ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great service and we always enjoy eating at bar..The two bartenders are Great..

Tags: , Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Casual, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Great Beer, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First and last time to the restaurant... ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

First and last time to the restaurant...we went for new years eve and was surprised when we were able to get a reservation last minute. although the restaurant looked nice, the food was very basic- nothing to write home about. drink specials were nothing to write home about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

The 2 for $50.00 special is a great valu ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

The 2 for $50.00 special is a great value. (1 app, 2 salads, 2 meals and 1 desert)

Tags: Cozy, , Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to dine! We love the wedge,b ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great place to dine! We love the wedge,best in town!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time visit on 12/30/16. Server (A ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

First time visit on 12/30/16. Server (Ana) inputted the order incorrectly to the kitchen (steak instead of salmon) resulting in me eating my meal before her corrected meal came out nearly 15 minutes later. Other than one apology, no effort was made to make things right for the disrupted meal for the server's mistake. The food was good enough to bring me back in spite of the sub-par service experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Our first visit and we will be back. T ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our first visit and we will be back. There are alot of restaurants that offer great food, great/excellent service is not ALWAYS the norm. This restaurant was a nice surprise. Food was very good and the service was even better! We will be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Tacos were great and service fantastic.

 
·Dined on December 19, 2016

Tacos were great and service fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

It was our 45th wedding anniversary and ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

It was our 45th wedding anniversary and we had never been to Stone Mountain Grill before. So it was very important to us, on that night, to dine at a very special place. I'm happy to say, we found that place at Stone Mountain Grill. It was everything and more we had hoped for.

It truly was a special night for us. One we will never forget. The food, the service, the ambiance......couldn't have asked for more.

We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Business Meals, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Special Occasion,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Four of us went for Sunday brunch. This ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Four of us went for Sunday brunch. This was our second visit, both were very satisfactory. Restaurant wasn't crowded but service was good and we had a nice table in front of a fireplace on a wet. cool afternoon. Belgian waffles were especially good. Server was attentive. Good value in the Ballantyne neighborhood.

Tags: Fireplace, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Big fan of Stone Mountain Grill. Never ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Big fan of Stone Mountain Grill. Never let's ya down!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Took my boyfriend here for his birthday ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

Took my boyfriend here for his birthday nice staff but the waiter we had forgot the appetizer I ordered and a drink. Food was super good though. I may go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Server was Corey, did an excellent job. ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

Server was Corey, did an excellent job. Other wait staff were also attentive. Everyone's food was delicious, especially the shrimp tacos. Had the chip & dip trio as an appetizer which all of us enjoyed. Can't wait to go back and enjoy the patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really good food. All 4 of us really enj ...

 
·Dined on December 15, 2016

Really good food. All 4 of us really enjoyed our meals.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our favorite restaurant in town. We usu ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in town. We usually go for date night, but decided to try taking a group of 8, including 3 small children. Our table, including high chairs, was ready when we got there. The food and wine were spot on and our server could not have been better. Stone Mountain never disappoints.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really like this place. It's simple, ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

We really like this place. It's simple, casual, and the food is great. It's family friendly and comfortable. There is a vibrant bar area however we have only eaten in the dining room which is separate. This is quickly becoming a go-to dinner spot for us when we are in the Ballantyne area.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A must go to the chef there is amazing. ...

 
·Dined on December 2, 2016

A must go to the chef there is amazing. The salmon special is Awesome!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family really enjoyed the ambiance of ...

 
·Dined on November 29, 2016

My family really enjoyed the ambiance of the restaurant. We sat outside on the patio and it was a very comfortable environment. Our waitress was very attentive and catered to my son's off menu request. I would definitely recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Stone Mountain Grill is conveniently loc ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

Stone Mountain Grill is conveniently located in Ballantyne. Food is constantly good. Looking forward to our next meal there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our waitress was exceptional.

 
·Dined on November 25, 2016

Our waitress was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The quality of the food was exceptional! ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

The quality of the food was exceptional! The prices are very reasonalble also! Wine specials are a plus!

Tags: Fireplace, Kid-friendly, Fun, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stone Mountain Grill is a fantastic rest ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

Stone Mountain Grill is a fantastic restaurant to enjoy with friends. The atmosphere is perfect for catching up while enjoying really marvelous food.

Brunch is marvelous,lunch and dinner are great! There are so many wonderful choices here and none will disappoint.

The food is of excellent quality so if you fancy salads, ribs, chicken or fish you are going to be more than pleased with your decision.

Service is extra special,especially if you are lucky enough to have Mike as your server. This young man is a true professional. WOW!!! Bernard,the kitchen manager, is a gem. He is completely hands on to make certain that all guests are more than happy with their food and service.

If you have not been to Stone Mountain Grill you are missing a marvelous restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Cozy, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious for a reasonable ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was delicious for a reasonable price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I love the cedar plank salmon. You can ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

I love the cedar plank salmon. You can choose one of their sides to go with it. My husband loves the ribs, and you can also choose one of their sides.

Conveniently located in Ballantyne.

We are going back soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good selection of appetizers and there w ...

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

Good selection of appetizers and there was a 1/2 price bottle of wine special. Was all great for sharing with friends on a girls night out.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Fun evening Very good service. Ok foo ...

 
·Dined on November 2, 2016

Fun evening

Very good service. Ok food. Too noisy to talk

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We came for happy hour and ended up stay ...

 
·Dined on November 2, 2016

We came for happy hour and ended up staying for dinner. The firecracker shrimp is easily our favorite appetizer here. I had the cedar planked salmon which was delicious. My husband had the ribs, which have been hit or miss in the past. This time they weren’t quite as tender as they could be. The bartender was fabulous making us amazing cocktails. Certainly will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Loved my meal and experience

 
·Dined on November 2, 2016

Loved my meal and experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food was very good had the bourbon Salmo ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food was very good had the bourbon Salmon and asparagus. I personally think meal should have come with some sort of potatoes or salad seemed like something was missing to make it a complete meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

This was our first visit. The menu is v ...

 
·Dined on October 27, 2016

This was our first visit. The menu is varied with several entrees moving away from the typical Americana. I had the crab encrusted Mahi Mahi. It was very tasty, though I would describe it as encrusted. The lump crab was place on top of the fish, but it was still very good. The portions sizes were good and the prices were reasonable. They have a good wine and craft beer selection as well.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Service was exceptional. The 2 for 50 do ...

 
·Dined on October 16, 2016

Service was exceptional. The 2 for 50 dollars deal is definitely a great special!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Everything was great until they refused ...

 
·Dined on October 15, 2016

Everything was great until they refused to take my visa gift card as payment. Gave some poor excuse. Would have been good to know this before I went as I received the card as a gift to take my wife to dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The outdoor patio area was a wonderful p ...

 
·Dined on October 15, 2016

The outdoor patio area was a wonderful place to eat and watch the games

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Enjoyed the ambience and decor. Reminded ...

 
·Dined on October 8, 2016

Enjoyed the ambience and decor. Reminded me of a ski lodge. A lot of food for your dollar. Could get better lighting, maybe candles too.

Tags: Family Style, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Casual, Cozy, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Fireplace, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Kid-friendly,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.