About Stoic & Genuine

1701 Wynkoop
Suite 105
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Welcome to Stoic & Genuine! Denver’s iconic multi-coastal seafood, oyster house and granita bar committed to impeccably fresh, sustainable, and creative seafood preparations set in the grand ambiance of Denver's newly renovated historic Union Station. An exhibition kitchen opens up to a fresh raw bar with ever-changing selections of shellfish. The beverage program is centered on a creative granita bar, craft and classic cocktails and a broad grower champagne selection by the bottle and glass. No ocean. No worries.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
17th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 640-3474

Website:
http://www.stoicandgenuine.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is offered through Union Station

Executive Chef:
Jorel Pierce

Private Party Facilities:
Denver’s historic Union Station is the perfect setting for Stoic & Genuine, an iconic multi-coastal seafood, oyster house and granita bar. This is the latest restaurant from the team that brought you Rioja, Bistro Vendôme and Euclid Hall including James Beard Best Chef Southwest Jennifer Jasinski and her business partner Beth Gruitch. The full restaurant is available for receptions.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Stoic & Genuine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (39)
Special Occasion (37)
Good for a Date (35)
See All
Creative Cuisine (32)
Modern Decor (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Business Meals (20)
Great for Lunch (16)
Open Kitchen (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Authentic (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Fun (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Romantic (11)
Healthy (10)
Historic (9)
Casual (9)
Cozy (9)
Happy Hour (7)
Seasonal (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
People Watching (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Tapas (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great Beer (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Spicy (2)
Scenic View (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Live Music (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
681 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome design and beautifully executed ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 2 days ago

Awesome design and beautifully executed food. Service was outstanding . Thanks again Kale!

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Crab Chowder and Paella....foo ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent Crab Chowder and Paella....food is fresh and flavorful. This was our first visit and we will definitely return. Waiters are professional. At first visit this appears to be the best seafood in Denver.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oysters were fantastic. Dinner, amazing. ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined 3 days ago

Oysters were fantastic. Dinner, amazing. A must for anyone who is wanting to check off the best restaurants in Denver.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

LOVED everything we had here. Amazing S ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 17, 2017

LOVED everything we had here. Amazing Seafood and really creative options! Cannot say enough wonderful things about my meal here. From the Broccoli & Avocado salad, to the sardines (OMG so good) to the bass & the gamefish...DELISH! And I am not an oyster eater, but my oyster eating friends loved them!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Really top notch selection of seafood. E ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Really top notch selection of seafood. Especially liked all the oysters available. Also it's conveniently located in Union Station, if you're coming in from or going out to the airport, this served as a cool last meal before we left town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Made reservation for a Sunday evening to ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Made reservation for a Sunday evening to celebrate my birthday. Service was excellent, Kael knew the menu extensively and was able to recommend gluten free items and modifications for some dishes that could be modified to be gf. Food was excellent. Started with hibachi and an avocado, apple, kale, sunflower seed salad. Dinner included a stone bass dish with a delicious coconut sauce that was similar to cake frosting -yum, yum! Also enjoyed a gf lentil cracker.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The tuna benedict was delicious, but min ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The tuna benedict was delicious, but miniscule, especially considering the price. The Hawaiian Gamefish was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and service. Nice spot inUnio ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great food and service. Nice spot inUnion Station. A cozy cove just steps from all the action.

Tags: Modern Decor, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love this place for the oysters and othe ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Love this place for the oysters and other fresh seafood. They make a pretty mean cocktail as well!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great offering from Jennifer Jas ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Another great offering from Jennifer Jasinsky and Beth Gruitch, the team that brought us rioja, Bistro Vendomme, Euclid Hall - all among the best in Denver.

Stoic & Genuine innovates with seafood like rioja innovates with Mediterranean cuisine; it's a busier, noisier room, which works as a part of Union Station's environment.

We started with the house salad, which introduced us to wakame - added the perfect savory crunch! Next up was He Crab Soup, very smooth and rich, and just the right amount of spicy. Our entree was the Stone Bass, with coconut sunchoke veloute, kimchi brussel sprouts, crab cream cheese wontons - the best crab-cheese wontons ever - and it was also delicious. The spicy brussel sprouts were nicely offset by the sweetness of the coconut and sunchoke.

While no restaurant will ever replace rioja as my Denver favorite, S&G could easily become a Top 10 fave!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun place. Lovely location in Union Stat ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Fun place. Lovely location in Union Station. Wonderful oysters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife had the lobster roll and she tho ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My wife had the lobster roll and she thoroughly enjoyed it. I ordered the surf and turf and everything from the presentation to the meal itself was excellent. Great service and atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Oysters were delicious and good variety ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Oysters were delicious and good variety offered. Our fish dinners were fantastic. Looking forward our next dinner here!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I have been to S&G a few ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My husband and I have been to S&G a few times, but this was the first time we booked through OpenTable. We booked over a month ago to ensure our group could get a good space at prime time on a Friday for our group of four. We were seated at one of the worst tables in the room. Right at the edge of the kitchen where the waitstaff gathered and where we felt we were constantly in the way. The two people seated on the outside were bumped repeatedly. It was also noisy, but that was to be expected. When seated, we asked if there was a better table and told that this was the one reserved for us. I really felt like the action of making a reservation ensured we'd get this crappy table. Our waitress was sublime, the food so delicious and the drinks on point, but that table... I'm honestly not sure how to avoid this in the future because I'll be back, but if that table is it, I'm out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Enjoyed a lovely lunch here with my pare ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Enjoyed a lovely lunch here with my parents after arriving in Union Station. The Brussels were out of this world!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a cold, snowy night so the restau ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 5, 2017

It was a cold, snowy night so the restaurant wasn't as crowded or full as usual. Our server was excellent. Lovely dinner.

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Authentic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

After reading all the positive reviews, ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

After reading all the positive reviews, decided to give it a try. Dined on New Year's Eve. Unfortunately, was disappointed in the experience . Was seated right next to the kitchen and all we heard all night was severs yelling "corner". The space was also littered with trash and clutter. Not what you expect from a highly rated restaurant. You would think they would put up a barrier or something to block off the kitchen from the dining room. Was surprised that there were zero non seafood menu options with the exception of a New York strip wrapped in ahi tuna. We asked if we could get the steak separate from the ahi and were informed they they could not accommodate us. I realize this is a seafood restaurant but assumed there would be at least a few non seafood options as my wife is not a seafood person. So she had a broccoli and avocado salad and cornbread. The salad was minuscule with 2 small pieces of avocado. Not good !! The cornbread was ok. I had the seared Hawaiian fish. The fish was very good, however the portion was extremely small. The rest of the plate was consumed with fennel salad. Not what we were expecting. Maybe they just had a bad night. There are just way to many other outstanding restaurants in Denver to experience to return to this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

I love Stoic and Genuine! It's so fresh, ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I love Stoic and Genuine! It's so fresh, the service is terrific, the ambience is stellar.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the squash chowder and the fish s ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had the squash chowder and the fish soup. Both were expertly prepared and delicious. I had the cauliflower salad which was good but I think the house salad, which I have had before is better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We went for some drinks before dinner on ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We went for some drinks before dinner on NYE. Drinks were okay, the names of the specialty drinks were after GOT. Our waiter was kind of firm while explaining drinks, didn't care for it. I had a good giggle while watching the kitchen staff have fun at work. The oysters were really good!

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

This place was great. The oysters were f ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This place was great. The oysters were fresh and the surf n turf was an interesting but delicious take on a steak/tuna pairing.The paella had a lot of bold flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good - but not remarka ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was very good - but not remarkable. Nice setting but tables very close together so little intimacy. Our server was good until he forgot to put our entree order in. 40+ minutes after our appetizers we received our entrees. Will try again - maybe not the week between Christmas and New Year's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

We appreciate Stoic and Genuine for thei ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We appreciate Stoic and Genuine for their great food and service. It is always a pleasure to be there!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun, laid back yet well appointed ambian ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Fun, laid back yet well appointed ambiance, Creative fare and spot-on service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

El Personal poco amable

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

El

Personal poco amable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I have never gotten shell bits in my oys ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I have never gotten shell bits in my oyster in the 6+ trips I've made to this restaurant. I've ended up with shell bits in my oysters in every other oyster bar I've ever been to. But not here and it's amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic drinks all referencing Game Of ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Fantastic drinks all referencing Game Of Thrones, so fun and so good.

We had fun trying 4 different oyster types.

Also shared the Paella, it was excellent..so was the cornbread.

Dessert was pecan pie, with vanilla ice cream...amazing....

and a key lime coconut ice cream pop covered in semi sweet dark chocolate...

It may be our new favorite restaurant....

Did I mention Miranda, our server....Made it even better.

Tags: Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After living in South in Florida for 15 ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

After living in South in Florida for 15 years and eating seafood all the time.....this is without a doubt the BEST seafood in Colorado! Going back next week for more and it's a 65 mile drive for me.

Tags: Modern Decor, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this restaurant. First off, it's ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We love this restaurant. First off, it's in a fun location in Union Station which is very cool now that it's been redone. Secondly, the food is delicious. The tuna benedict appetizer was so amazing we ordered it twice.

Tags: Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tragic mistake to replace whole haddock ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Tragic mistake to replace whole haddock to bottom feeder catfish!! Highly disappointing- can't return until haddock returns!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very fresh seafood, creative menu, open ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Very fresh seafood, creative menu, open kitchen in downtown Denver's historic Union Station. Lunch menu had lots of options: from oysters to raw fish options to grilled fish with a salad, sandwich options (lobster roll) and full course plates, too. Tables are spaced a little close so it is a bit noisy. Service was thorough, unobtrusive, and precise.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, although a little overpriced ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Good food, although a little overpriced in my opinion. Great location!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great oyster selection. Main course cho ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great oyster selection. Main course choices very intriguing and delicious.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First off, we were a little early for ou ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 17, 2016

First off, we were a little early for our reservation, but they seated us right away (always a nice surprise!). We did not feel rushed...our server was wonderful, attentive but not overly so. Very helpful and pleasant. The food we had was all very good. We started with the Big eye tuna tartar...a nice start. Then my friend had the lobster roll, and I had the surf and turf. Both were very tasty. The texture contrast in the surf and turf was interesting...and the mushrooms and potatoes with the sauce on the plate were beyond yummy. We'd go back again and try something different...

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A little disappointed for an expensive m ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 16, 2016

A little disappointed for an expensive meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great spot for a business lunch in Denve ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great spot for a business lunch in Denver Union Station. Everything with the service was going really well until the runner dropped the crab cake lunch at the table. Another employee bumped her from behind. I completely understand things like this happen. Another crab cake was plate was prepared from scratch so it took about 15-20 minutes. I appreciate the fresh preparation. What I was surprised by was I was not offered a discount on the dish or any type of compensation for the inconvenience. I would recommend the place. The food was great. I think a little better customer service is needed for a restaurant wanting to be high class.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Pre-dinner drinks at the bar were okay. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Pre-dinner drinks at the bar were okay. Service at the bar was a bit lack luster. Maybe the bartender could have used extra help? Attitude wasn't great.

Once we figured out the drink specials and how the granitas worked, we were good. The bartender made special drinks that included some of the flavoring/ingredients of the granitas that were very tasty. Next time I will definitely ask for the same drink.

Food was amazing! Server was great and very well informed about food and oyster/wine pairings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This place always delivers! If you appre ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

This place always delivers! If you appreciate fresh seafood this place brings it to CO! We've tried many menu items and have always been impressed, you can develop favorites, but you can't go wrong :)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We showed up early and still got seated ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We showed up early and still got seated made me happy. Food was tasty and well thought out. We like to have our food searing hot right out of the pan, and ours was a little cool but not cold. Portion sizes were fine. We didn't walk out hungry. We are of the type, if you are still hungry order more! Corn bread was very good too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Quiet spot at Union Station. Food is cr ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Quiet spot at Union Station. Food is creative and very tasty, but portions are miniscule. Plural of scallops = 2. Would probably look elsewhere in the neighborhood next time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.