About Stoic & Genuine

1701 Wynkoop
Suite 105
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Welcome to Stoic & Genuine! Denver’s iconic multi-coastal seafood, oyster house and granita bar committed to impeccably fresh, sustainable, and creative seafood preparations set in the grand ambiance of Denver's newly renovated historic Union Station. An exhibition kitchen opens up to a fresh raw bar with ever-changing selections of shellfish. The beverage program is centered on a creative granita bar, craft and classic cocktails and a broad grower champagne selection by the bottle and glass. No ocean. No worries.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
17th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 640-3474

Website:
http://www.stoicandgenuine.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is offered through Union Station

Executive Chef:
Jorel Pierce

Private Party Facilities:
Denver’s historic Union Station is the perfect setting for Stoic & Genuine, an iconic multi-coastal seafood, oyster house and granita bar. This is the latest restaurant from the team that brought you Rioja, Bistro Vendôme and Euclid Hall including James Beard Best Chef Southwest Jennifer Jasinski and her business partner Beth Gruitch. The full restaurant is available for receptions.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Stoic & Genuine
  • Stoic & Genuine
  • Stoic & Genuine
  • Stoic & Genuine
  • Stoic & Genuine
  • Stoic & Genuine
Stoic & Genuine
Stoic & Genuine
Stoic & Genuine
Stoic & Genuine
Stoic & Genuine
Stoic & Genuine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Stoic & Genuine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Denver / Colorado
Seafood
Denver
Best Restaurants in Downtown / LoDo ›

fit for foodies (125)
special occasion (82)
great for outdoor dining (64)
See All
hot spot (60)
romantic (34)
neighborhood gem (33)
great for lunch (30)
notable wine list (25)
good for groups (23)
vibrant bar scene (22)
scenic view (21)
late-night find (8)
great for brunch (6)
kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
532 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We really enjoyed the lobster roll excep ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

We really enjoyed the lobster roll except the price was a bit steep. Wait staff seemed rushed.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

What a great find Spectacular food Hist ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

What a great find Spectacular food Historic Union Station location Extensive menu of oysters Service was outstanding -so good I kept complimenting the bussing staffstaff Just the right balance between responsive and intrusive

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful staff....just a friendly place ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful staff....just a friendly place!! I regret that the restaurant itself is so small! Very hard to get a reservation!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife thought the lobster roll was a b ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

My wife thought the lobster roll was a bit heavy on the mayonnaise, but did enjoy the arugula salad. I had the fish and chips and although the fish was good there was a lot of breading, the fries were trendy thin fries which is weird for fish and chips, but the sauce was excellent except not enough for fish and fries considering there was no tartar sauce. And no ice in the water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Cocktails=stellar. Small plates=amazing. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

Cocktails=stellar. Small plates=amazing. Entrees=great, but we were so blown away by the small plates and oysters, they seemed underwhelming. Service? Hum. Not *bad* but clearly our server had was either annoyed (we had a GC and servers are always annoyed by that, though I don't know why, we spent over double the amount of the GC and tipped well, even if we felt the service was worth it) or had friends at the bar so, low marks for disinterested service. Overall, great place, we'll go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

A hidden treasure in Union Station! Foo ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 7 days ago

A hidden treasure in Union Station! Food and presentation were excellent. I will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Picked the restaurant at random. We trav ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Picked the restaurant at random. We traveled downtown and forgot to look at events walking into Baseball and Cirque crowds. Parking was a challenge not knowing about the valet parking. We were quite worked up by the time we arrived and seated. We had reservations for two and added a few to our crowd. They were very gracious and accommodated us immediately. Our wonderful server "Miranda" was an absolute perfectionist. The food came and we were extremely pleased by the presentation, quality, taste and proportions. Decent wine list and pricing. Given the shape we showed up in for the dinning experience, this had the distinct possibility of going really bad. Instead, the wonderful folks at Stoic made this a memorable evening and lovely experience. Our RTD train line will be in service this fall and we think Stoic will be our go-to dinning spot. Thank you Stoic & Genuine, Jim and Pat

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food is top notch. Ambiance reminded us ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Food is top notch. Ambiance reminded us of a great little place in NYC or SF - tables close together, lots of movement, amazing background din that says "busy local place."

We drew the short straw on service. I have been many times for lunch and had great service. That night we had an amazing bussing staff and brief but excellent interaction with other waiters, so we could tell that our particular waiter was an an anomaly -- just not up to the S&G standard. He made our very special anniversary dinner a challenge, so we focused on the meal and each other and made it a great night. We will give S&G another chance.

Oyster lovers: our beloved Barcat has been dethroned by the Stoic. Try them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

It is very easy to find great restaurant ...

 
 (Berkshire)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

It is very easy to find great restaurants in Denver, almost too easy. You get used to great service, really good food and a great ambiance. So when something does stand out as being exceptional it really does indicate that it is of a level over and above, and frankly that's not easy!

Our first course was a selection of mussels and wow, what a treat, they all matched the tasting notes and were all distinctly different. The main course was the Surf in Turf, yep tuna cleverly encased in steak. I tell you now, you have to order this (assuming you are not a vegetarian) I don't know how they do it, but the transition from tuna to steak is seamless it is like they are a single piece of meat. I know, you're reading this thinking 'huh?! what does that even mean!'. Seriously, go, order it, it is magical! Finally we had a great ice cream banana bread bar. It was huge, easily enough for two to share.

I finally have to mention our server, he was polite, warm, welcoming and friendly without being familiar. Great sense of humor as well, as did all the staff we dealt with. I will be back again without question, my idea of what is great food in Denver has just been reset.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter was great but other staff was ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Our waiter was great but other staff was rude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Love, love this place. We drive down to ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Love, love this place. We drive down to Denver just to go to Stoic & Genuine. The food is always incredible. We love the Tower of Power. And the atmosphere is super fun. Nothing like eating high end amazing food while listening to Vanilla Ice or Ice Cube. Love it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was a great disappointmen ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The restaurant was a great disappointment. While the server was pleasant enough and reasonably helpful, the kitchen seemed overwhelmed. The result was salads coming before appetizers and very long waits for food. Although there were no major missteps with the food, neither were there any memorable dishes. The room's noise level was made worse by the loud and incessant shouts of "SERVICE" by someone in the kitchen as he put out dishes. Given the long waits, average food, and noise, the bill seemed quite high. Finally: "The freshest fish in Denver"? Stoic and Genuine's marketing team should give Sushi Den a try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

I went to Stoic & Genuine because I had ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I went to Stoic & Genuine because I had a friend visiting from out of town and wanted to take her to a nice place inside Union Station. The cocktails were amazing and we both got salads to start. The entrees were delicious and I can't wait to go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I had the fish and salad combo with sear ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I had the fish and salad combo with seared albacore - delicious! The salad could have been a little bigger, but it was very good as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous oysters especially the "Stoic". ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Fabulous oysters especially the "Stoic". Also excellent snapper crudo. Lovely evening on the patio for people watching.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent, atmosphere was p ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The food was excellent, atmosphere was pleasant and certainly a reasonable value. But we found our (otherwise pleasant) server to be quite inattentive. As a result, what was planned as an approximately one-hour business meal turned into a two-hour experience, with long stretches where our server was absent. I would think twice about returning, unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Loved everything about Stoic & Genuine! ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Loved everything about Stoic & Genuine! The food was fresh and the service was impeccable. I am so glad that I found this restaurant. It will definitely be a go-to the next time I'm in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Expert service. Outstanding fresh tasty ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Expert service. Outstanding fresh tasty seafood prepared perfectly.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu is limited and although the lob ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The menu is limited and although the lobster roll was good and the watermelon salad very good I was disappointed at the limited dinner choices. There were only 4 dessert options and none were chocolate. We skipped desert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The entire dinner was superb, fresh and ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The entire dinner was superb, fresh and flavorful. The service was friendly, knowledgable and didn't hover, but there when needed. We sat outside, which was quiet and perfect for people watching. We were surprised how low our bill was in comparison with other establishments, and considering how good the meal was, but one or two more bites of fish in the entree would have been nice. We will recommend and return. A must try is the ceviche with coconut granita, as well as the ice cream sandwich. Raw or cooked fish...this is the place to go.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lobster very chewy. Did not think it was ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Lobster very chewy. Did not think it was worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Oysters and entrees were delicious. This ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Oysters and entrees were delicious. This is one of our favorite dinner spots.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Very good overall.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Very good overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

This was our second visit to Stoic and G ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

This was our second visit to Stoic and Genuine. The food and atmosphere are warm and inviting. The noise level is really very tolerable. The carrots and peas dish was stellar. The clam chowder was outstanding. The seafood tower was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service! Excellent food! Loved sit ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Great service! Excellent food! Loved sitting outside during a warm summer evening. Great ambiance.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

While the customer service was excellent ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

While the customer service was excellent, the food was far from it. We began with the pea salad which was very creatively assembled and tasty. This first dish was excellent both in taste as well as in presentation. But then the dishes began to disappoint. The Hamachi Crudo was fishy and relatively bland and the mussels were chewy and big-lipped. Definitely not the way we wanted to end our meal.

This restaurant has a tremendous amount of potential. I look forward to seeing some improvements in the near future.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We had the worst service ever encountere ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We had the worst service ever encountered. Luis was too busy talking to coworkers than to pay us attention. We finally ordered food but he let our drinks sit empty for a while before taking another order. The food was not what we had envisioned (tuna tartare, that was all beets, tho beets were listed as the 3rd item on the menu. In fact, when he delivered the food he called it Beets 3 Ways. We hate beets, would be been nice to know). Luis neglected to check in on us, but eventually another server saw we were unhappy and took care of it. Nice that they comped the items, but service lacked overall, especially when he told us it was ok we didn't like the food. Too bad we were still hungry. Then Luis didn't bring any pens to sign our cc slips. Poor all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Food was delicious, but the portions for ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was delicious, but the portions for the gamefish and halibut dishes were very very small, favoring presentation over quantity.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

This was one of the most elegant, creati ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This was one of the most elegant, creative, delicious meals I have had in Denver. The unusual use of ingredient, unexpected combinations and artfully presented drinks and food was enchanting. Sitting on the patio watching the goings-on of Union Station and being served by the highly knowledgable and friendly Kal-El made for a wonderful romantic dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you love oysters you need to go here, ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

If you love oysters you need to go here, I have never experienced such buttery, tasty mollusks in my entire life! S & G also have these amazing accompaniments to go with the oysters including several unique granitas. The wine and cocktail list was outstanding. Now to the not so good; the tuna tartare appetizer was tasty enough but not outstanding, the haddock and fish and chips were very average, the dessert of bread pudding was like eating Thanksgiving stuffing--not a sweet way to end the meal. Service was excellent. We will return just for the raw bar.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

One of the best meals, I've had in Denve ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

One of the best meals, I've had in Denver!!! Every dish we ordered was perfectly cooked and delicious, I highly recommend the paella!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Stoic and Genuine was lovely! I got the ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Stoic and Genuine was lovely! I got the surf and turf which was delicious and very unique. The service was great and the server was very knowledgable about wine and food. The environment was lively. They have a great outdoor seating area. Overall, it was a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great time...will be back for sure ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Had a great time...will be back for sure. Food and drinks were fantastic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We met some friends here for dinner last ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We met some friends here for dinner last night and EVERYTHING was amazing!! From the excellent service to the fabulous food and drinks. My husband and I were seated first, as we were a bit early, and we shared (or should I say DEVOURED) the fritto misto appetizer while we waited for our friends. It was DIVINE! Our server James was AWESOME (if I could give him more than five stars I would!!!! ) The granita cocktails (which I'd never had before) are marvelous too. Our dinners were all so delicious and creatively done (I have never raved this much about a restaurant before...even Rioja which I love!) The service was wonderful, attentive, caring, and fabulous!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful experience from start to fin ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

A wonderful experience from start to finish. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food order was not taken until 40 minute ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Food order was not taken until 40 minutes into service. Even 1/2 dozen oysters arrived in a very untimely manner. Food was good but not worth the money.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

We had dinner here but I think it's a be ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We had dinner here but I think it's a better place to go to have lunch. Very casual and pricey. Enjoyed our dinner but had a few hiccups. One entree was luke warm (the fish dish) and my pork was hot, so obviously the fish was done and waited around. A lot of flavors in each dish. King Crab legs for an app was good. Wine by glass ok, not much of a pour. Would return for lunch, not dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Mediocre food at expensive prices. Serve ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Mediocre food at expensive prices. Servers held a meeting right beside our table. At 70 dollars a person, I expect some thoughtfulness. Meh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

It was beautiful. Loved every bite

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

It was beautiful. Loved every bite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated my husband's birthday at S ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We celebrated my husband's birthday at Stoic & Genuine. The food is outstanding, but the service was even better! We sat on the patio and it started to rain about half way through our meal. We wanted to stay outside, and the staff were great about setting up some umbrellas and moving our table twice (when the storm got a bit worse). I'm not sure about it being kid-friendly if you sit inside, but if you sit on the patio the kiddos can play in the fountains and open space of the Union Station courtyard. I love this place and would definitely go back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.