About Stoic & Genuine

1701 Wynkoop
Suite 105
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Welcome to Stoic & Genuine! Denver’s iconic multi-coastal seafood, oyster house and granita bar committed to impeccably fresh, sustainable, and creative seafood preparations set in the grand ambiance of Denver's newly renovated historic Union Station. An exhibition kitchen opens up to a fresh raw bar with ever-changing selections of shellfish. The beverage program is centered on a creative granita bar, craft and classic cocktails and a broad grower champagne selection by the bottle and glass. No ocean. No worries.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
17th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 640-3474

Website:
http://www.stoicandgenuine.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is offered through Union Station

Executive Chef:
Jorel Pierce

Private Party Facilities:
Denver’s historic Union Station is the perfect setting for Stoic & Genuine, an iconic multi-coastal seafood, oyster house and granita bar. This is the latest restaurant from the team that brought you Rioja, Bistro Vendôme and Euclid Hall including James Beard Best Chef Southwest Jennifer Jasinski and her business partner Beth Gruitch. The full restaurant is available for receptions.

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Stoic & Genuine
  • Stoic & Genuine
  • Stoic & Genuine
  • Stoic & Genuine
  • Stoic & Genuine
  • Stoic & Genuine
Stoic & Genuine
Stoic & Genuine
Stoic & Genuine
Stoic & Genuine
Stoic & Genuine
Stoic & Genuine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Stoic & Genuine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Denver / Colorado
Seafood
Denver
Best Restaurants in Downtown / LoDo ›

Fit for Foodies (122)
Special Occasion (79)
Great for Outdoor Dining (64)
See All
Hot Spot (58)
Romantic (33)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Great for Lunch (31)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Good for Groups (20)
Scenic View (20)
Notable Wine List (16)
Great for Brunch (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
563 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food is good and creative. The drink ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food is good and creative. The drinks are very tasty and unusual. For a high-end restaurant, I was surprised that the servers brought all of our appetizers and entrees at once. (We had even requested that they space the dishes). There was no place on the table and it made it difficult to eat the food and enjoy it at a leisurely pace. The restaurant gave us complimentary desserts since we were celebrating birthday which was very nice and generous (and delicious). Overall it was a nice experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Stoic & Genuine Was great!!! Our third ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 4 days ago

Stoic & Genuine

Was great!!! Our third time and it has never been so good!

Keep p the great job.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Time after time a restaurant claims to b ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

Time after time a restaurant claims to be able to prepare seafood in Denver and invariably I'm left wondering if my definition of seafood is from another planet. I have yet to find a place in Denver that has actual fresh seafood and can treat it properly. Stoic & Genuine is undoubtedly on that growing list. The service was great, salads were definitely playful for summer but the entrees fell short. Dry, overcooked halibut that did not marry with the sauce and random peaches that were an afterthought at an attempt to be unique but were incongruous. Again I'm reminded to avoid "seafood" places in Denver. To be fair, I grew up on the east coast where fresh seafood is literally fresh. As in caught that afternoon and on my plate an hour or so later. So with that in mind, it is nearly impossible for anywhere in Colorado to provide that type of quality. With that said there is one place, Sushi Den, that can at least treat seafood properly so I know it is possible. My search for an edible seafood concept in Denver continues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

We ate outside. There was a strong odor ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We ate outside. There was a strong odor of sewerage

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Always delicious! Ahi Tuna and oysters ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Always delicious! Ahi Tuna and oysters were both treats

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The evening started out fine (except for ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The evening started out fine (except for my friend being VERY late for our reservation). Our reservation was very early so when I arrived the place was mostly empty. When my friend didn't show for a while I ordered a drink and appetizer so as to not take up a table that wasn't spending any money. When my friend arrived the waiter kept coming back to the table to see if we were ready to order. He seemed to be getting irritated when we didn't order fast enough. All through the evening he seemed to be rushing us through our meal despite the fact that there were 2+ empty tables next to us the entire time. He wasn't friendly and seemed put off. I have the feeling that a different server would have changed the entire tone of the evening. Or even this guy on a different night.

As for the food, it was fine. There was nothing bad about it but nothing so outstanding that I'll be back. Being a Rioja sister, I expected to love it like I do Rioja even though it's a completely different type of food. Next time I'll go to Rioja.

We had the paella and the halibut. Two very different dishes but both good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Really enjoyed our waitress and the grea ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Really enjoyed our waitress and the great food / drink options.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent. Our main server ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The food was excellent. Our main server and bus staff was delightful and attentive. The woman who delivered our dishes to the table, though, left a lot to be desired. She would rush the delivery, state what it was in a very monotone voice and quickly walk away like she had something better to do. Besides her not so friendly attitude, the dinner was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

First Visit here and very enjoyable dini ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

First Visit here and very enjoyable dining experience. Their dishes are unique and very well prepared--I had the Pork Chop and my wife the Lobster Roll and both were very good. Also had oysters which were terrific for an "inland" city. The outdoor dining is spoiled by the somewhat distracting water fountain which becomes a kids play area. We will return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Portion sizes were very small given the ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Portion sizes were very small given the prices. Service was also mediocre; it wasn't bad but was the kind of service you would expect from a chain restaurant not this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Great food. The only off putting moment ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great food. The only off putting moment of the night was seeing that management allowed Red Bull girls to walk into the restaurant and were giving away Red Bulls to mostly staff. I understand the staff works really hard and probably needs an energy drink, but its the last thing I want to see when going to Stoic and Genuine for a special occasion.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great seafood place in Union Station, wh ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great seafood place in Union Station, which the whole place has great ambiance. Loved the tuna tartare appetizer and the surf & turf main course. Lots of interesting combinations of flavors in all the dishes & even the very unique parsley cake (who knew green cake with garlic ice cream could be so good?). Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Location is awesome in Union Station. Se ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Location is awesome in Union Station. Service (table side) was excellent. Service in terms of special requests not so good - we'd grabbed the only reservation time available which was late. Restaurant said they would call us if there was cancellations. No call but we got there early and they had many open tables. Instead of late night, we could have eaten at a reasonable hour. My companion's food was excellent. My food, one of the more expensive on the menu (Surf & Turf) was just okay - over cooked. No bread comes with meal - each roll is $1 each. I figured if they charge for the bread it must be outstanding. It was not - hard and cool - obviously been sitting around for a while. Wasted dollar. The scene is cool though but there are quite a few places to dine in that venue, so it is not your only option.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Overall the food was good. I just don't ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Overall the food was good. I just don't know if I think it was worth the price. We ordered 2 of the crudo dishes, 2 non crudo, one entree and 8 oysters. The entree, curry muscles, was very good. All of the smaller dishes were just okay or stuff I've seen before. The only way I'll come again is if it is only for the oysters. Those were amazing and the price during happy hour is great

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Really great experience, food and servic ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Really great experience, food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My second time at Stoic and Genuine. Whi ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

My second time at Stoic and Genuine. While some of the dishes were quite good, my wife's corn chowder was way over-salted and not good at all. Place is pretty expensive and we were a bit disappointed in the meals overall, will probably not return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Party of 3. Lunch with a friend who is a ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Party of 3. Lunch with a friend who is a CIA (Hyde Park,NY campus) grad and pastry chef currently employed with 5-diamond restaurant on the coast. You made our week! We ordered most of the appetizers, wines, ales, three entrees, three desserts, and all the while were texting chef friends who urged us to add the octopus mortadella to our order. We were so glad we did. Chef Jen and crew, you've won our hearts. Exemplary execution, great service and atmosphere. Wish we could dine here every day. We can't wait to try Ultrea when we're in town again! Thanks to the entire crew.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some of the finest seafood fare ..and st ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Some of the finest seafood fare ..and still 1,000 miles away from the nearest considerable body of water... cool vibe ....good service ....and in the middle of the new epicenter of LoDo Denver -Union Station.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We choose Stoic and Genuine for a birthd ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We choose Stoic and Genuine for a birthday celebration and they did not disappoint. We opted to sit outside and really enjoyed that. It's fun to watch people around Union Station. We started with the Heirloom salad and the Big Eye Tuna Tartare. Thumbs up on the Tuna. Highly recommend that. The heirloom tomatoes were hard so that was a disappointment. I ordered the pork chops for my main and they were cooked just like I like them. The goat cheese tater tots were delicious as well. I have been craving the pork chops all week. My husband ordered the Crispy Whole Haddock . The presentation and the flavor were both amazing. The fish was cooked perfectly. Because it was my husbands birthday the gave him a complimentary dessert so he ordered the Banana Bread Pudding Ice Cream Sandwich. Yum! Other than the tomatoes the only other problem was they served a Moscow Mule in a glass. Just not the same if it's not in a copper mug. That being said, we will be back soon. That amazing Pork Chop is calling me.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Love the energy of this fun spot in the ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Love the energy of this fun spot in the fabulous newly renovated Union Station. My salmon salad with corn bread croutons was delicious. Ordered the corn bread just to get more of a dose. Yum. We'll be back!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

While the food was fresh and beautiful i ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

While the food was fresh and beautiful it lacked in seasoning throughout. I would return for apps and drinks but that's all. The the location in the station is great and the space looks great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

This was my second time for lunch. My fi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This was my second time for lunch.

My first visit was in early May 2016.

I do not remember the lobster roll being as small as it was when we ordered it on July 31st. It was good but the size for the price was very disappointing. I would not order it again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was great. Service mostly good. R ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was great. Service mostly good. Read reviews before beforehand that commented on spotty service. Ours was better than that, but still spotty at times. Had to leave to catch curtain at theater before dessert arrived, after telling server we were pressed for time - yet no dessert after 20 minutes. They did give us drink coupons. Will certainly return because food was really good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Pros: Excellent Service, Convenient Loca ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Pros: Excellent Service, Convenient Location, Energetic Ambiance

Cons: Food (small portions, high prices, limited menu; trying too hard to be inventive but woefully short on taste as the inclusion of diverse ingredients sometimes resulted in startling to unpalatable flavor combinations)

Really disappointed because I love some of S&G's sister restaurants and had hoped for/expected similar food quality. The rest of my party also had the same reaction, so all in all, not a bad experience. But probably won't repeat it. We ended up going out to eat afterward because we were still hungry despite the large tab.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

3 of 4 folks had great seafood choices a ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

3 of 4 folks had great seafood choices and 1 had pork chop. All really great, tho some outside options not stellar, like ours. Overall, really great, but might be inside next time

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous food and excellent service! Gr ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Fabulous food and excellent service! Great location at Union Station. The Tuna Crudo is best anywhere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been here 8 times or so. Always excellen ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Been here 8 times or so. Always excellent. They always have a nice selection of oysters and everything on the menu that I have had so far is very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice location in Union Station, close to ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Nice location in Union Station, close to lots of shopping and downtown activities. Pleasant, casual atmosphere; clean and inviting. Excellent service; plenty of original, fresh seafood choices. Food was timely, well prepared, and nicely presented. Reasonable prices for downtown Denver.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

had a fantastic birthday dinner for 2 de ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

had a fantastic birthday dinner for 2

decided to do all apps and it was wonderful

service was exceptional

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

One of the best meals I had this year. D ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

One of the best meals I had this year. Definite star-rating and a gem for Denver's dining scene. Outstanding dishes were the 'deconstructed' paella and the pork chop.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I booked the reservation based on a reco ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

I booked the reservation based on a recommendation, and the oysters did not disappoint. The food was good, but my paella was a 'take' on the standard which I do not feel needs any interpretation. Dessert was good enough to indulge and was terrific too, nice wine, ready service, though a little more experience with the foods might have helped. We enjoyed the ambiance and had a terrific time.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We really enjoyed the lobster roll excep ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We really enjoyed the lobster roll except the price was a bit steep. Wait staff seemed rushed.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

What a great find Spectacular food Hist ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

What a great find Spectacular food Historic Union Station location Extensive menu of oysters Service was outstanding -so good I kept complimenting the bussing staffstaff Just the right balance between responsive and intrusive

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful staff....just a friendly place ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Wonderful staff....just a friendly place!! I regret that the restaurant itself is so small! Very hard to get a reservation!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife thought the lobster roll was a b ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My wife thought the lobster roll was a bit heavy on the mayonnaise, but did enjoy the arugula salad. I had the fish and chips and although the fish was good there was a lot of breading, the fries were trendy thin fries which is weird for fish and chips, but the sauce was excellent except not enough for fish and fries considering there was no tartar sauce. And no ice in the water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Cocktails=stellar. Small plates=amazing. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Cocktails=stellar. Small plates=amazing. Entrees=great, but we were so blown away by the small plates and oysters, they seemed underwhelming. Service? Hum. Not *bad* but clearly our server had was either annoyed (we had a GC and servers are always annoyed by that, though I don't know why, we spent over double the amount of the GC and tipped well, even if we felt the service was worth it) or had friends at the bar so, low marks for disinterested service. Overall, great place, we'll go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

A hidden treasure in Union Station! Foo ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

A hidden treasure in Union Station! Food and presentation were excellent. I will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Picked the restaurant at random. We trav ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Picked the restaurant at random. We traveled downtown and forgot to look at events walking into Baseball and Cirque crowds. Parking was a challenge not knowing about the valet parking. We were quite worked up by the time we arrived and seated. We had reservations for two and added a few to our crowd. They were very gracious and accommodated us immediately. Our wonderful server "Miranda" was an absolute perfectionist. The food came and we were extremely pleased by the presentation, quality, taste and proportions. Decent wine list and pricing. Given the shape we showed up in for the dinning experience, this had the distinct possibility of going really bad. Instead, the wonderful folks at Stoic made this a memorable evening and lovely experience. Our RTD train line will be in service this fall and we think Stoic will be our go-to dinning spot. Thank you Stoic & Genuine, Jim and Pat

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food is top notch. Ambiance reminded us ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Food is top notch. Ambiance reminded us of a great little place in NYC or SF - tables close together, lots of movement, amazing background din that says "busy local place."

We drew the short straw on service. I have been many times for lunch and had great service. That night we had an amazing bussing staff and brief but excellent interaction with other waiters, so we could tell that our particular waiter was an an anomaly -- just not up to the S&G standard. He made our very special anniversary dinner a challenge, so we focused on the meal and each other and made it a great night. We will give S&G another chance.

Oyster lovers: our beloved Barcat has been dethroned by the Stoic. Try them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

It is very easy to find great restaurant ...

 
 (Berkshire)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

It is very easy to find great restaurants in Denver, almost too easy. You get used to great service, really good food and a great ambiance. So when something does stand out as being exceptional it really does indicate that it is of a level over and above, and frankly that's not easy!

Our first course was a selection of mussels and wow, what a treat, they all matched the tasting notes and were all distinctly different. The main course was the Surf in Turf, yep tuna cleverly encased in steak. I tell you now, you have to order this (assuming you are not a vegetarian) I don't know how they do it, but the transition from tuna to steak is seamless it is like they are a single piece of meat. I know, you're reading this thinking 'huh?! what does that even mean!'. Seriously, go, order it, it is magical! Finally we had a great ice cream banana bread bar. It was huge, easily enough for two to share.

I finally have to mention our server, he was polite, warm, welcoming and friendly without being familiar. Great sense of humor as well, as did all the staff we dealt with. I will be back again without question, my idea of what is great food in Denver has just been reset.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.