About Stoic & Genuine

1701 Wynkoop
Suite 105
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Welcome to Stoic & Genuine! Denver’s iconic multi-coastal seafood, oyster house and granita bar committed to impeccably fresh, sustainable, and creative seafood preparations set in the grand ambiance of Denver's newly renovated historic Union Station. An exhibition kitchen opens up to a fresh raw bar with ever-changing selections of shellfish. The beverage program is centered on a creative granita bar, craft and classic cocktails and a broad grower champagne selection by the bottle and glass. No ocean. No worries.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
17th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 640-3474

Website:
http://www.stoicandgenuine.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is offered through Union Station

Executive Chef:
Jorel Pierce

Private Party Facilities:
Denver’s historic Union Station is the perfect setting for Stoic & Genuine, an iconic multi-coastal seafood, oyster house and granita bar. This is the latest restaurant from the team that brought you Rioja, Bistro Vendôme and Euclid Hall including James Beard Best Chef Southwest Jennifer Jasinski and her business partner Beth Gruitch. The full restaurant is available for receptions.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Stoic & Genuine, Denver, CO
  • Stoic & Genuine, Denver, CO
  • Stoic & Genuine, Denver, CO
  • Stoic & Genuine, Denver, CO
  • Stoic & Genuine, Denver, CO
  • Stoic & Genuine, Denver, CO
Stoic & Genuine, Denver, CO
Stoic & Genuine, Denver, CO
Stoic & Genuine, Denver, CO
Stoic & Genuine, Denver, CO
Stoic & Genuine, Denver, CO
Stoic & Genuine, Denver, CO

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Stoic & Genuine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Denver / Colorado
Best Restaurants in Downtown / LoDo ›

Fit for Foodies (45)
Good for a Date (38)
Special Occasion (38)
See All
Creative Cuisine (34)
Modern Decor (21)
Worth the Drive (21)
Romantic (20)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Business Meals (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Open Kitchen (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Fun (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Bar Seating (16)
People Watching (14)
Authentic (13)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Casual (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Historic (11)
Healthy (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Notable Wine List (8)
Seasonal (7)
Tapas (7)
Cozy (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Scenic View (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great Beer (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Spicy (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
640 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We showed up early and still got seated ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined a day ago

We showed up early and still got seated made me happy. Food was tasty and well thought out. We like to have our food searing hot right out of the pan, and ours was a little cool but not cold. Portion sizes were fine. We didn't walk out hungry. We are of the type, if you are still hungry order more! Corn bread was very good too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Outstanding food, we lingered and didn't ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding food, we lingered and didn't feel rushed and really enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed the meal and the service. My ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We enjoyed the meal and the service. My only frustration was that each course came so fast that we felt we rushed our meal. The service and our server were great, not their fault. We were finished much sooner than we wanted to be. Would have liked a slower, more relaxed pace.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was prepared to perfection. T ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Everything was prepared to perfection. The presentation was excellent. The originality of the food was excellent. Despite all this, the dish I had, curiously, didn't leave me salivating for more, perhaps it was the fried fish skin that wasn't my thing. I didn't give them 5 stars on all marks because perfection is difficult to achieve in all things. Though our server was prompt she was all business. Some people like this in a fine dining environment, for us we generally find it awkward. Minus a few minor imperfections, it is an overall fantastic place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Stoic & Genuine is my favorite seafood r ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Stoic & Genuine is my favorite seafood restaurant in Denver.

While it is expensive you definitely get amazing service, food and cocktails.

All the cocktails are Tom Cruise related. Very fun.

TheTalk To Me Goose is made with Exotico tequila, apple ginger shrub, pear brandy, dry curacao, lemon juice and uses a fresh apple as a frozen rock.

The Mapother IV is spicy and made with Exotico tequila, lime juice & chili citrus granita. Definitely good with the oysters and colder seafood.

The oysters are amazing. My favorite of the three I tried were the genuine as they were full of flavor.

The surf and turf suggested by our waitress was devine. It is steak (cooked to order) wrapped around rare tuna and paired with a green sauce and delicious brown & purple potatoes. It comes with three pieces and is something I would eat over and over again.

If we hadn't run out of time I would have definitely tried some of their desert.

Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I treated a client and his w ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 30, 2016

My wife and I treated a client and his wife. They had the whole fish special, lobster roll and Paella. Their meals were very good. I had the Game fish entre' . It was fishy, over cooked, the Bok Choi was not ripe, it was not particularly well seasoned and you used pickled Jalapenos from a jar. Very disappointing. I live a block away and really want to see you succeed.... You will have to do better than that to get my business. Good news, my wife loves the place!

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Food was great, the Tuna Benedict is ama ...

 
 (Puerto Vallarta)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Food was great, the Tuna Benedict is amazing!!!!! Wow...

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great, fresh seafood, plus an attentive ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great, fresh seafood, plus an attentive wait staff. My daughter was visiting from Chicago and we actually managed to go here twice. We enjoyed lunch on the patio with a glass of wine the first time we visited. Their historic location in Union Station is a lot of fun, so we browsed and shopped after lunch. Our second visit was after attending The Nutcracker ballet in the afternoon. We stopped in for oysters and caviar and were seated in the bar area. The food on both visits was outstanding. We're already thinking about a return visit during the Christmas holidays!

Tags: Fun, Historic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Parents came in from North Carolina and ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Parents came in from North Carolina and took them for an early dinner. Tuna Tartare, Octopus Mortadella, crab soup, Shishitos and cornbread were all outstanding. All entrées for the five of us were on point(personal favorite was the Whole Haddock but had a taste of dad's surf and turf and it was awesome!!). We had to miss dessert due to prior obligations back down south but we will return to try them. Overall it was great service, fantastic food, and the cocktails did not disappoint..

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I had high hopes for this establishment ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 23, 2016

I had high hopes for this establishment based off their location, menu, and ambiance but left unimpressed with the experience.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

The food was very good although overpric ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The food was very good although overpriced, in my opinion. Also, the seating area is quite small and, consequently, the tables are very close together so having a private conversation is impossible. The service was impeccable, attentive but not overly so.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

We've been there multiple times in the p ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We've been there multiple times in the past with great experiences. This time, the seafood was terrible (3 dishes). Two of us ordered lobster. One didn't come out because they "cut into it and it was bad so we are making you another one". That entree came out well after everyone else was almost done with their meals, and it was still old and the consistency was really off. They brought 4 pieces of sushi for HR person who had no food and it was terrible-very fishy and old. They didn't comp that meal. The waitress was rude. We won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

We had an early Sunday dinner following ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We had an early Sunday dinner following a matinee performance at the DCPA. The food was excellent. My tuna tartare was fantastic and my partner loved her broccoli salad. For our main courses, she had the Stone Bass, which was excellent. I had the Squash Chowder and loved it: rich, creamy and very spicy with several clams and clam strips. We ended with the Chocolate Bread Pudding and the accompanying Chocolate Cherry ice cream. We had an inexpensively priced bottle of Crozes Hermitage that was quite good. Service was quite attentive. All-in-all, a wonderful meal.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Had Seafood Tower of Power - Oyster, Cra ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Had Seafood Tower of Power - Oyster, Crab Legs, Caviar, and Shrimp. It was a delicious dish. Service was good. Really enjoyed the whole experience and dinner. Will come back again. P.S. The light rail train from Westminster directly to Union Station without stopping only took 11 min was very convenient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is the best seafood restaurant in D ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This is the best seafood restaurant in Denver that I have ever been to. The paella is superb. The service is outstanding. They did a great job of adapting the preparations to my partner's dietary needs.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed a wonderful table for two (#2 ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful table for two (#2) via Sara, excellent service (Jason?), and a fantastic whole halibut.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is outstanding. Not rushed through ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food is outstanding. Not rushed through dinner. Cocktails are great. Everybody is very nice and the service is terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We really liked food. Smaller portions-t ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We really liked food. Smaller portions-tapas style in my opinion. Great quality and awesome oysters. Small, busy spot. Great server and were promptly seated with our reservation on a busy night.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

The food was amazing! Our server was nic ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was amazing! Our server was nice - not the best service, but good. The food was FANTASTIC however the overall experience didn't wow me. With an energetic and engaging server and a bit more variety of menu items to mix and share - it would be phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Wife and I dined at Stoic and Genuine fo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Wife and I dined at Stoic and Genuine for a Friday date night. Made a last minute reservation and got in at peak time (6:15). The place was busy and energetic. We started with some cocktails that were pretty good. I had the Epic Sour IPA. It was very good. I'm not usually one for sour beers, but this was a treat. My wife had the carrot juice based drink--drawing a blank on the name. Neither of us were huge fans of that one, but it wasn't terrible. We decided to eat lighter. We started with the lobster bisque, and then we shared the paella for our entree. We also ordered a side of cornbread. The bisque was very tasty, but it wasn't the best lobster bisque I've tasted. It had a very butternut squash soup overtone to it. Nevertheless, I still enjoyed it. My wife did not enjoy it, and let me finish hers.

The cornbread was good. Nothing much to write about on that one. The paella was also tasty. It was a different take on traditional paella with the rice coming in the form of a wedge. The mussels in the dish were divine! I wish I had ordered an entire meal of mussels.

We ended our meal with the chocolate bread pudding. This was a disappointment. I can get much better at Sylvi's restaurant in Arvada.

I think Stoic and Genuine's claim to fame is their raw bar, but we passed on the oysters this night. In hindsight, I would have ordered the mussels, and maybe another fish dish for an entree. I recommend you skip dessert here, or pass on the bread pudding. I was probably expecting too much from Stoic and Genuine, and I over-hyped it in my mind. Nevertheless, I would still recommend Stoic and Genuine with the caveat; it's good not great. Perhaps you'll have better luck than we did.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Surf and turf ROCKS!! Unique place and ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Surf and turf ROCKS!! Unique place and the staff was great. Highly recommend for unique

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Denver has a number of really good seafo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Denver has a number of really good seafood restaurants, but very few really imaginative seafood restaurants. The menu selections were uniformly beyond excellent. Not only was the food preparation exceptional, but the presentation enhanced it to make it even more appealing...and that applies to everything we had, from appetizers to entrees to the unique cocktails. The wait-staff was well informed, attentive and friendly. I can recommend this venue to anyone.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food generally was good, the oysters ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The food generally was good, the oysters and fish were excellent. The other items on the plates were only ok, too many undercooked Brussel sprouts and too much bok choy. The wine list is very good with appropriate selections to accompany fish and seafood.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

What could be better- late Sunday lunch ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

What could be better- late Sunday lunch on the patio (Nov 6), Denver sunshine, Happy Hour $2 oysters and wine, beautifully cooked fish entrees. We wanted to pick one of the 5280 Top 25 and couldn't have been happier.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious seafood tower! Oyster were mel ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Delicious seafood tower! Oyster were melt in your mouth- add caviar and cocktail sauce for an awesome flavor combo. Succulent king crab legs with lemon butter and large shrimp cocktail! Ken our waiter exemplified wonderful service. My friend and I had a great eating experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

It has an interesting but small menu, we ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

It has an interesting but small menu, we were happy with the food and beverage.

It was deafeningly loud with a loudspeaker blaring non-nondescript music just above our table, so we moved outside, which was good noise wise but definitely not luxurious. Waiter was good but service was kind of slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

Excellent sea food. Went for birthday m ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Excellent sea food. Went for birthday meal and can't stop thinking about how fresh and delicious the oysters were!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious seafood & lovely space. Servic ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Delicious seafood & lovely space. Service was attentive & welcoming. We enjoyed the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had the hamachi collar braised with chil ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Had the hamachi collar braised with chilis and In a brown butter sauce for our amuse, I had the corn chowder which was just as amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was an over the top experience at t ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This was an over the top experience at the chef counter. Of all the cities I've traveled and lived, having this dining experience in Denver was unexpected. The food was flavorful and presented beautifully. The service was attentive without being intrusive even at the chef counter. The wine pairings are the way to go. Fun and memorable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was absolutely delicious, although ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Food was absolutely delicious, although quite pricey. The ambiance and decor were nice, but the music didn't seem to fit the ambiance- we were there late night and there was Eminem playing in the dining room. It was an interesting contrast.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

Great Service. The courses were timed pe ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great Service. The courses were timed perfectly and the waiter was excellent at pacing our meal and drinks. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice for a lunch. Will come back ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Very nice for a lunch. Will come back and next time.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful raw bar, imaginative cocktails ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Wonderful raw bar, imaginative cocktails and delicious sides and mains. A not-to-be-missed experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food especially for seafood lovers ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Great food especially for seafood lovers. Great service. We were running a bit late and they were very accommodating.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a really nice dinner at Stoic and ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 17, 2016

We had a really nice dinner at Stoic and Geniune with some friends. The drinks were interesting all though a bit small, very tasty. I had heard good things about the Lobster Bisque and was honestly disappointed. The flavor was great, but the consistency was more broth than the creamy thick bisque I'm used to, and again the bowl was tiny. My husband and I split the paella, expecting the usual large, rice-filled bowl or skillet one might see in Spain. It came out in two small bowls, with only a tiny fried triangle of rice. Luckily it was still flavorful and had plenty of seafood, and we filled up on oysters (yay!) and brussell sprouts (yum!) as sides.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We went for lunch before a matinee at th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We went for lunch before a matinee at the Performing Arts Center. We certainly did not need reservations for lunch, there was hardly anyone there. We sat outside on a beautiful fall day and had the brussel sprouts and each of us got a different fish/seafood dish. All of the food was excellent, the service was attentive and they had a good white wine that was only $3/glass for happy hour! Would certainly go again for lunch or dinner but lunch was definitely delicious but more reasonably priced than dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great service and excellent seafood.

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great service and excellent seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a wonderful surprise. Everythin ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This was a wonderful surprise. Everything we ordered was delicious! The waiter was very knowledgeable with the menu ideas.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The oysters were fantastic! really enjoy ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The oysters were fantastic! really enjoyed our lunch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.