About Stoic & Genuine

1701 Wynkoop
Suite 105
Denver, CO 80202
View Larger Map

Welcome to Stoic & Genuine! Denver’s iconic multi-coastal seafood, oyster house and granita bar committed to impeccably fresh, sustainable, and creative seafood preparations set in the grand ambiance of Denver's newly renovated historic Union Station. An exhibition kitchen opens up to a fresh raw bar with ever-changing selections of shellfish. The beverage program is centered on a creative granita bar, craft and classic cocktails and a broad grower champagne selection by the bottle and glass. No ocean. No worries.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
17th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 640-3474

Website:
http://www.stoicandgenuine.com/

Parking Details:
Valet is offered through Union Station

Executive Chef:
Jorel Pierce

Private Party Facilities:
Denver’s historic Union Station is the perfect setting for Stoic & Genuine, an iconic multi-coastal seafood, oyster house and granita bar. This is the latest restaurant from the team that brought you Rioja, Bistro Vendôme and Euclid Hall including James Beard Best Chef Southwest Jennifer Jasinski and her business partner Beth Gruitch. The full restaurant is available for receptions.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Stoic & Genuine
  • Stoic & Genuine
  • Stoic & Genuine
  • Stoic & Genuine
  • Stoic & Genuine
  • Stoic & Genuine
Stoic & Genuine
Stoic & Genuine
Stoic & Genuine
Stoic & Genuine
Stoic & Genuine
Stoic & Genuine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Stoic & Genuine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Denver / Colorado
Seafood
Denver
Best Restaurants in Downtown / LoDo ›

Fit for Foodies (94)
Special Occasion (63)
Great for Outdoor Dining (57)
See All
Hot Spot (46)
Romantic (29)
Great for Lunch (28)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Good for Groups (18)
Scenic View (17)
Good for a Date (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Modern Decor (10)
People Watching (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Business Meals (6)
Authentic (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Fun (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Historic (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Casual (3)
Tapas (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Healthy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Cozy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
Newest
592 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was delicious. The attendant wa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was delicious. The attendant was good. Only thing my plate came dirty. I asked to change. The rest all fine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It was a beautiful day and we sat outsid ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 5 days ago

It was a beautiful day and we sat outside. The food was good and the wait staff were attentive and helpful in helping us choose the right oysters and salad. The service seemed a bit slow but were really were in no hurry. Good place to kick back and enjoy.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

A little pricey for lunch but the meal w ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

A little pricey for lunch but the meal was very good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Stopped in on our way to the Def Leppard ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Stopped in on our way to the Def Leppard. So glad we did. The food was great. The shrimp flavor was so unique and the pork chop was incredible. Very creative and so tasty. Glad we stopped in.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Great service. Night out on ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great food. Great service. Night out on the patio was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Had the salmon tacos - there were very g ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Had the salmon tacos - there were very good; the service was also quite good. The very casual location inside Union Station has great ambiance and good atmosphere - would definitely go again!

Tags: Historic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Octopus mortadella was excellent. Waterm ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Octopus mortadella was excellent. Watermelon was creative with bits of bacon. Peaches grilled with beans, interesting. Liked how got the long/thin strand of honeydew melon. Paella moderna is inquest twist. Crunchy rice toast with American seafood, like salmon. Savory broth. Granitas are their speciality alcoholic drinks, infused with herbs or locally distilled liquors.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, People Watching, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Overall the place is great. The locatio ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Overall the place is great. The location is amazing in Union Station and the decor is very hip.

The food is unique and high quality. However, the dessert fell short sadly. The Pie of the day was not set properly and was runny and inedible. The waiter was awesome, but when we first arrived no one approached us, they just looked at us and wondered what we wanted. I made reservations for a special celebration and nothing was ever mentioned or any special treatment was given. So I think I might go back to the bar and see how that goes.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Historic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

For the most part a very nice experience ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

For the most part a very nice experience, our server did an outstanding job. Food was quite good, and taste met our expectations. My main disappointment was the quantity of some dishes, and therefore my perception of lesser value. In particular was one special of the night, a scollop dish. Quite overpriced in my opinion. As long as price doesn't bother a guest, this is a very good place to visit.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Love the decor and general ambiance of S ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Love the decor and general ambiance of Stoic & Genuine! So nice to have a small quaint spot to enjoy in the big city. Great oysters, love the paella rendition they serve.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Meh... Had oysters that were fab, but th ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Meh... Had oysters that were fab, but the peck/halibut offering was unimaginative (rolled up soaking wet cantaloupe coupled w/ equally drowned peach slices, and chewy beans) and bland. Waitstaff was doing the New York hustle and constantly pushing a decision. We thought we could patio the night w/ friends and enjoy conversing and eventually get to dinner, but every single waitperson was abrupt and aggressive - on a very slow Sunday. Clearly the bloom is off the Rose at S&G and I'll stick (if I do go back as there's a ton of other nearby choices) to the oyster bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Good but not great. Very very fresh fi ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Good but not great.

Very very fresh fish, but pretty standard preparations - can't overcome that with trendy venue or modern plate design, though my wife and I appreciate both.

The Surf in Turf is probably the most interesting dish.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our first time here and it was a fantast ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Our first time here and it was a fantastic experience for date night. The seafood was all fresh and beautifully prepared. Highly recommend!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had fresh oysters and half of a lobster. ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Had fresh oysters and half of a lobster. Just the ticket and they were great! I have been several times and have never been disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The restaurant has an appealing location ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

The restaurant has an appealing location within the busy Union Station development, but the food was expensive and not good enough to justify the price. My entree was halibut wrapped in speck. The speck hardened as it was cooked which made it very difficult to cut and the inner fish was mashed to bits by the sawing required to access it. At the end of the process, the taste was not worth it.

I HIGHLY suggest walking across Union Station and going to Mercantile instead. The food was absoluetly fantastic there and the price was comparable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Great location. Good menu options but ma ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Great location. Good menu options but many items were already 86ed when we arrived for dinner at 6pm!?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

Server was friendly and efficient and th ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Server was friendly and efficient and the food was quite good with imaginative pairings. Main course took far too long to get to us and was not as hot as I prefer when it did arrive. Very limited dessert menu. We sat outside by the fountains and watching kids playing in the water and people watching did occupy our time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

A lovely experience. We enjoyed amazing ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

A lovely experience. We enjoyed amazing oysters from the Raw Bar -- tasted fresh as if we were on the seashore. The tuna tartare with panko mixed in was divine. Mussels were plump and just as fresh, although would have like for the flavor of the broth to have been a bit more developed (the jalapeno and fennel were nonexistent). Overall a very enjoyable meal. We will be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waitress didn't have much of a personali ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Waitress didn't have much of a personality. Seemed as if she didn't really care about much. Food was marginal. Halibut was very over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

This was the second time we were fortuna ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This was the second time we were fortunate enough to have Bryce as our waiter. He his great, and next time we will call and ask for him.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We felt the food was limited in choices, ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We felt the food was limited in choices, small portions, and generally mediocre and very expensive. Having previous experiences at two of Chef Jen's other restaurants, we were surprised that this did not come close to her standards for excellent food. Overall, a huge disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Excellent small plates, oysters, and ent ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Excellent small plates, oysters, and entrees. I had eaten here before and wasn't impressed with the paella( a modern rendition). However, this meal was excellent all around. Oysters, small seafood plates, and surf and turf was stellar( tuna inside a small beef filets. Really tasty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We love to spend celebrate special occas ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

We love to spend celebrate special occasions with a great meal, in the past Chef Jen's restaurants have done a wonderful job of helping us celebrate.

This was our 14th wedding anniversary and S&G kind of missed the mark. The staff was great, very kind and excited to help us celebrate. However the food was a little underwhelming

We started with the Ceviche Granita Parfait. It sounded great but lacked notable qualities. It just came across as bland. We also ordered the Fritto Misto, this one knocked it out of the park. We also had a few oysters which were delicious when accompanied by the creative granitas

For our entrees, my wife ordered the Seared Hawaiian Gamefish and me the Whole Striped Bass. The Gamefish was bacon wrapped but the fish was dry as it could be, she could not enjoy this. When I ordered the whole bass I asked the waitress how user friendly this was because I wanted to spend time with my wife not working away on a meal. She said it’s pretty user friendly so that's what I went with. Turns out this was quite a bit of work for not very much reward. The fish was not very tasty and it was full of bones that I could not navigate around. I can't fault them for my inexperience in tackling a whole fish but I did ask first

To finish we ordered the Banana Bread Pudding Ice Cream Sandwich which was amazing. We also had the special which was a coconut cream pie which did not meet the mark

So all in all about 50% of our meal was amazing, the other 50% was not. In the future I think I'll stick to some of the other Chef Jen restaurants

One other tip, don't set anything down you don't want to disappear. The staff will remove anything from your table that you are not actively eating or drinking. This was rather frustrating after we had ordered a few oysters and several granitas. The minute the last oyster was gone the entire plate was whisked away. We had planned to order more since we had all these great granitas but before we saw our waitress it was all over.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The seafood was fine at best and it was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

The seafood was fine at best and it was very pricey. The service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Third time there. Great food as usual bu ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Third time there. Great food as usual but service was spotty and slow (but friendly).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

Fantastic menu. Surf and turf is probabl ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Fantastic menu. Surf and turf is probably the best meal my boyfriend has had since we moved to Denver. My father enjoyed it as well. I had the speck wrapped halibut- amazing flavor. Highly recommend this restaurant!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Absolutely loved the food and the servic ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Absolutely loved the food and the service was fantastic. Please try the pistachio ice cream. You won't be disappointed. Can't wait to dine with them again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Oh my word...best food I've had in a lon ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Oh my word...best food I've had in a long time! This restaurant has a super cool atmosphere and the drinks are amazing! I definitely want to come back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is good and creative. The drink ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food is good and creative. The drinks are very tasty and unusual. For a high-end restaurant, I was surprised that the servers brought all of our appetizers and entrees at once. (We had even requested that they space the dishes). There was no place on the table and it made it difficult to eat the food and enjoy it at a leisurely pace. The restaurant gave us complimentary desserts since we were celebrating birthday which was very nice and generous (and delicious). Overall it was a nice experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Stoic & Genuine Was great!!! Our third ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Stoic & Genuine

Was great!!! Our third time and it has never been so good!

Keep p the great job.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Time after time a restaurant claims to b ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Time after time a restaurant claims to be able to prepare seafood in Denver and invariably I'm left wondering if my definition of seafood is from another planet. I have yet to find a place in Denver that has actual fresh seafood and can treat it properly. Stoic & Genuine is undoubtedly on that growing list. The service was great, salads were definitely playful for summer but the entrees fell short. Dry, overcooked halibut that did not marry with the sauce and random peaches that were an afterthought at an attempt to be unique but were incongruous. Again I'm reminded to avoid "seafood" places in Denver. To be fair, I grew up on the east coast where fresh seafood is literally fresh. As in caught that afternoon and on my plate an hour or so later. So with that in mind, it is nearly impossible for anywhere in Colorado to provide that type of quality. With that said there is one place, Sushi Den, that can at least treat seafood properly so I know it is possible. My search for an edible seafood concept in Denver continues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

We ate outside. There was a strong odor ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We ate outside. There was a strong odor of sewerage

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Always delicious! Ahi Tuna and oysters ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Always delicious! Ahi Tuna and oysters were both treats

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The evening started out fine (except for ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The evening started out fine (except for my friend being VERY late for our reservation). Our reservation was very early so when I arrived the place was mostly empty. When my friend didn't show for a while I ordered a drink and appetizer so as to not take up a table that wasn't spending any money. When my friend arrived the waiter kept coming back to the table to see if we were ready to order. He seemed to be getting irritated when we didn't order fast enough. All through the evening he seemed to be rushing us through our meal despite the fact that there were 2+ empty tables next to us the entire time. He wasn't friendly and seemed put off. I have the feeling that a different server would have changed the entire tone of the evening. Or even this guy on a different night.

As for the food, it was fine. There was nothing bad about it but nothing so outstanding that I'll be back. Being a Rioja sister, I expected to love it like I do Rioja even though it's a completely different type of food. Next time I'll go to Rioja.

We had the paella and the halibut. Two very different dishes but both good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Stoic and Genuine is the perfect place t ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Stoic and Genuine is the perfect place to meet friends in downtown Denver at Union Station. A great menu with lots of emphasis on fresh fish but great choices for all appetites.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really enjoyed our waitress and the grea ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Really enjoyed our waitress and the great food / drink options.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent. Our main server ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The food was excellent. Our main server and bus staff was delightful and attentive. The woman who delivered our dishes to the table, though, left a lot to be desired. She would rush the delivery, state what it was in a very monotone voice and quickly walk away like she had something better to do. Besides her not so friendly attitude, the dinner was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

First Visit here and very enjoyable dini ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

First Visit here and very enjoyable dining experience. Their dishes are unique and very well prepared--I had the Pork Chop and my wife the Lobster Roll and both were very good. Also had oysters which were terrific for an "inland" city. The outdoor dining is spoiled by the somewhat distracting water fountain which becomes a kids play area. We will return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Portion sizes were very small given the ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Portion sizes were very small given the prices. Service was also mediocre; it wasn't bad but was the kind of service you would expect from a chain restaurant not this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Great food. The only off putting moment ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great food. The only off putting moment of the night was seeing that management allowed Red Bull girls to walk into the restaurant and were giving away Red Bulls to mostly staff. I understand the staff works really hard and probably needs an energy drink, but its the last thing I want to see when going to Stoic and Genuine for a special occasion.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.