Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 1 time today

Stissing House

4.5
133 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French
Perfect For:
  • Romantic
  • Authentic
  • Quiet Conversation
Michel and Patricia Jean, owners of Stissing House, bring decades of noted culinary experience, including Provence in New York City, to their restaurant in the Hudson River Valley.
The Jeans came to Dutchess County, NY where they discovered The Stissing House, an historic 1782 tavern, after an almost 20-year run at their New York City restaurant Provence. One of America’s oldest and longest-operating restaurants, The Stissing House features a wood-burning oven and grill sizzling with Michel’s Provençal-inspired cuisine. With a more sophisticated décor but period details intact, The Stissing House has become a landmark culinary destination. The food: simple, delicious, robust and compelling Provençal cuisine. In every meal: seasonal, locally-sourced, organic grass-fed beef, poultry and vegetables.The vintage tavern room features a special cocktail menu drawing locals and visitors alike to eat, drink and socialize at the bar or the tables. Available for private parties as well.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
French, Contemporary French / American, Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch
Sun 12:00 pm–5:00 pm
Dinner
Thu 5:30 pm–9:00 pm
Fri, Sat 5:30 pm–10:00 pm
Sun 5:00 pm–9:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(518) 398-8800
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Michel Jean
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Off-site catering is available
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Church
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Gravel parking lot right off entrance. adequate room for up to 60 cars.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
We offer live entertainment 4-5 times a year when we"re moved to do so by some rocking talent. No cover charge upstairs in our beautiful 19th century ballroom. Check our website or Facebook page for times and dates.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 133 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.8
service
4.7
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Quiet
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Charming, historic restaurant with superb ambiance and great country French food. Perfect evening in the country.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Food was just okay, thought it was going to be much better. We wouldn’t go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Wonderful food, excellent service. Loved talking with Chef.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Stissing House has delicious food, gracious service and warm ambiance. Recommend it highly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

The Stissing House Restaurant is located in a marvelous 236 year-old building. The proveçal (French/Mediterranean) food is excellent and sourced locally. The wine list is international and reasonably priced. The classic cocktails are prepared perfectly. The service is personal, friendly and professional the way it can only be in family owned and deeply cared about establishments.
The lighting in the dining room seemed a little bright so we chose to sit in a charming side room with a cozy fire burning. This is truly a special place and I highly recommend you make the trip to go there for dinner or brunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 25, 2018

The food was absolutely great,and the service was first class

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2017

as usual, outstanding service, excellent food and drink

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 16, 2017

Stissing is always a cozy place on a cold night with consistently good food and excellent service by an experienced wait staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 16, 2017

Food was very good, staff was friendly and attentive. My wife and I went here for a date night and brought our 6 and 4 yr old boys (our boys are very well behaved). The building has beautiful woodwork inside and a two sided fireplace. It feels as if we were in somebody’s house having dinner. Overall our experience was great and we will definitely be back. A nice gem in a small village, if you’re in the area you won’t be disappointed! Thank you Stissing House for a great night out!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 24, 2017

Wonderful "destination" restaurant, in a beautiful little town. Great food, lovely ambience and I particularly enjoyed our "hosts". The owners are a fabulous couple who really know how to create a perfect dining experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 24, 2017

In my opinion, this is the best restaurant in the Millbrook area, delivering s consistently all around high quality dining experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 11, 2017

We are regulars at the Stissing House. They never fail to satisfy. Food quality and selection is impeccable, and the service is always polite and attentive.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 28, 2017

First time we've been there in about 10 years and we were kind of disappointed with the food. My husband was served undercooked chicken and less-than-tasty French onion soup. The other three of us had better outcomes, but thought it should be a 4 out of 4 restaurant, considering the prices for this area.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 28, 2017

Enjoy Stissing House for its country charm and diverse menu. Pine Plains is a bit of a drive but Stissing is unique offering a variety of dining rooms making it especially attractive weather dining alone or with a private night out with friends. The food, prepared by a French chef is not strictly French but his culinary skill is on display.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 20, 2017

Always good food and great service, one of our favorite places to eat.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 14, 2017

We dine at the Stissing house frequently. We were seated in a weird location that did not add tot he dining experience. Overall, the food is delightful and still a favorite place to eat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 8, 2017

Wonderful as always!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 7, 2017

We were on a girl's weekend, and this was our only dinner in a restaurant. What a pleasant surprise to find this gem of a dining experience. The flash fried mushrooms were a hit!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 7, 2017

Fine dining in cozy country setting. Lively tap room as well as small dining rooms and rooms for small private parties. The menu offers an array of food, entres as varied as burgers to gourmet preparation of fish, chicken and steaks. The food is as appatizing as the setting. A great place for friends to meet in a small private dining room or the buz of the tap room make this restaurant a memorable evening out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 6, 2017

One of my very favorite restaurants all around.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 21, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants in a charming setting with
superb food and a happy helpful staff and great
ambiance. We are there often!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 8, 2017

Have eaten here many times. This was the best. Service, food, ambiance in the grill room, and noise level we're excellent.
Four diners , four distinct dinners, all superb.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 3, 2017

This was a total find! The chef is inventive and the food is simple but very delicious

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 24, 2017

I had been sick but we had promised to take our 13 yr. old grand daughter there. She loves it but lives in CA. I notified the maitre'd who told the chef I could only eat the plainest possible thing. He made a beautiful little cake of perfectly cooked Quinoa, no oil or butter and presented it with a little tomato rose. So kind to take that trouble! And it was actually delicious in a very plain way. This is an example of really good service from chef to server to maitre'd.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 19, 2017

This is a beautiful old inn/restaurant. Since it was a nice summer evening, we ate on the front porch, which looks out on the main street of quaint Pine Plains. The town is straight out of a Norman Rockwell painting. We ordered small dishes: crab cakes, wild mushrooms and mussels along with a glass of wine and local beer. Everything was delicious, and the small-size mussels were very fresh (a freshness hard to find in upstate New York, far from the water). Stissing also serves steak, pork and fish, etc., with daily specials. I like the fact that a lot of their food is locally sourced. Take note: they don't serve lunch during summer but will serve it again starting in the fall.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 19, 2017

Great atmosphere but food was just ok

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 18, 2017

Excellent food, service, and ambiance. Delicious, fresh salads and fish. We had a lovely meal, delicious wine, and a wonderful experience. It is fortunate that we have such a fine French restaurant here in Pine Plains.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 12, 2017

Aside from the grumpy hostess who was pretty rude when we asked to change tables to the main room (that had plenty tables available), we had another nice evening at Stissing House. Food was solid and table service was pleasant and attentive.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on August 11, 2017

After ordering a salad as my dinner, I received a very small amount of greens, a few beet slices and pea-sized pieces of goat cheese. The salad was listed under "Salads", apart from appetizers, but the server said it was an "appetizer salad" and I would have had to specify a dinner salad if I wanted it larger. How would I know that? For $14 it was completely overpriced! Fortunately the company I was with made up for the lack of food.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 28, 2017

Was let down by the food quality at this old and charming room. My steak was over cooked and replaced by one with so much gristle it was inedible. No effort was made to remove from bill. Wine list decent and well priced. Limited great options for vegetarians. Great whipped potatoes and fries!
Fine night out but one should except more of a pub meal than fine dining

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 21, 2017

High recommendation. Always love the food and welcoming service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 29, 2017

We stop here often. Service is second to none in Dutchess County. Food always good and Chef highly visible and genuine. This should be on everyone's rotation. The waitresses here are polite and knowledgeable and do a great job.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 24, 2017

We had dined with friends and family well over 10 years ago. We liked it then, but the current owners have taken it to the next level. They've found the perfect blend of Provençal dishes and local ingredients. Bravo!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 24, 2017

Great time, wondeful food and service will go again and again

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 16, 2017

Our food was terrible. We ordered lamb, how difficult is it to prepare rack of lamb? It tasted terrible. When we complained, the chef/owner came out and argued with us. It is a beautiful atmosphere, but the culinary experience does not compare to the aesthetics.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2017

Good service. Pleasant waitstaff. Very good food. Noise level not at all disturbing, or distracting.
Good conversation with chef/proprietor. My friend and I were left to talk past closing time. Bartender generous with his drinks. The Cape Cod oysters were fresh and crisp. A pleasant time was had by all.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2017

Excellent service and atmosphere. Menu was filled with delectable choices - it was hard to pick a meal!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2017

Stissing House is wonderful: elegantly-prepared yet approachable food that changes seasonally. Good service and lovely ambience. They are also very chilled out about us bringing our toddler and the high chair is always ready and waiting at the table when we make a reservation. Great, local restaurant, it's always such a treat to go!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2017

Excellent as always. Great staff, owners and delicious French-style cuisine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was delicious and memorable. We were with a chef and two other industry professionals and they were impressed.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4