About Stissing House

Michel and Patricia Jean, owners of Stissing House, bring decades of noted culinary experience, including Provence in New York City, to their restaurant in the Hudson River Valley.
The Jeans came to Dutchess County, NY where they discovered The Stissing House, an historic 1782 tavern, after an almost 20-year run at their New York City restaurant Provence. One of America’s oldest and longest-operating restaurants, The Stissing House features a wood-burning oven and grill sizzling with Michel’s Provençal-inspired cuisine. With a more sophisticated décor but period details intact, The Stissing House has become a landmark culinary destination. The food: simple, delicious, robust and compelling Provençal cuisine. In every meal: seasonal, locally-sourced, organic grass-fed beef, poultry and vegetables.The vintage tavern room features a special cocktail menu drawing locals and visitors alike to eat, drink and socialize at the bar or the tables. Available for private parties as well.

7801 South Main Street
Pine Plains, NY 12567
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French / American, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner
Thu 5:30 pm–9:00 pm
Fri, Sat 5:30 pm–10:00 pm
Sun 5:00 pm–9:00 pm

Cross Street:
Church

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(518) 398-8800

Website:
http://www.stissinghouse.com/

Entertainment:
We offer live entertainment 4-5 times a year when we"re moved to do so by some rocking talent. No cover charge upstairs in our beautiful 19th century ballroom. Check our website or Facebook page for times and dates.

Catering:
Off-site catering is available

Parking Details:
Gravel parking lot right off entrance. adequate room for up to 60 cars.

Executive Chef:
Michel Jean

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Stissing House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Cozy (11)
Casual (10)
Special Occasion (10)
See All
Fit for Foodies (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Authentic (7)
Romantic (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Fun (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Seasonal (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Business Meals (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
110 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Have eaten here many times. This was the best. Service, food, ambiance in the grill room, and noise level we're excellent.
Four diners , four distinct dinners, all superb.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

This was a total find! The chef is inventive and the food is simple but very delicious

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

I had been sick but we had promised to take our 13 yr. old grand daughter there. She loves it but lives in CA. I notified the maitre'd who told the chef I could only eat the plainest possible thing. He made a beautiful little cake of perfectly cooked Quinoa, no oil or butter and presented it with a little tomato rose. So kind to take that trouble! And it was actually delicious in a very plain way. This is an example of really good service from chef to server to maitre'd.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 19, 2017

This is a beautiful old inn/restaurant. Since it was a nice summer evening, we ate on the front porch, which looks out on the main street of quaint Pine Plains. The town is straight out of a Norman Rockwell painting. We ordered small dishes: crab cakes, wild mushrooms and mussels along with a glass of wine and local beer. Everything was delicious, and the small-size mussels were very fresh (a freshness hard to find in upstate New York, far from the water). Stissing also serves steak, pork and fish, etc., with daily specials. I like the fact that a lot of their food is locally sourced. Take note: they don't serve lunch during summer but will serve it again starting in the fall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Excellent food, service, and ambiance. Delicious, fresh salads and fish. We had a lovely meal, delicious wine, and a wonderful experience. It is fortunate that we have such a fine French restaurant here in Pine Plains.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Aside from the grumpy hostess who was pretty rude when we asked to change tables to the main room (that had plenty tables available), we had another nice evening at Stissing House. Food was solid and table service was pleasant and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

After ordering a salad as my dinner, I received a very small amount of greens, a few beet slices and pea-sized pieces of goat cheese. The salad was listed under "Salads", apart from appetizers, but the server said it was an "appetizer salad" and I would have had to specify a dinner salad if I wanted it larger. How would I know that? For $14 it was completely overpriced! Fortunately the company I was with made up for the lack of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Was let down by the food quality at this old and charming room. My steak was over cooked and replaced by one with so much gristle it was inedible. No effort was made to remove from bill. Wine list decent and well priced. Limited great options for vegetarians. Great whipped potatoes and fries!
Fine night out but one should except more of a pub meal than fine dining

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 22, 2017

High recommendation. Always love the food and welcoming service.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Seasonal, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We stop here often. Service is second to none in Dutchess County. Food always good and Chef highly visible and genuine. This should be on everyone's rotation. The waitresses here are polite and knowledgeable and do a great job.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We had dined with friends and family well over 10 years ago. We liked it then, but the current owners have taken it to the next level. They've found the perfect blend of Provençal dishes and local ingredients. Bravo!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great time, wondeful food and service will go again and again

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Good service. Pleasant waitstaff. Very good food. Noise level not at all disturbing, or distracting.
Good conversation with chef/proprietor. My friend and I were left to talk past closing time. Bartender generous with his drinks. The Cape Cod oysters were fresh and crisp. A pleasant time was had by all.

Tags: Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Excellent service and atmosphere. Menu was filled with delectable choices - it was hard to pick a meal!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Casual, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Stissing House is wonderful: elegantly-prepared yet approachable food that changes seasonally. Good service and lovely ambience. They are also very chilled out about us bringing our toddler and the high chair is always ready and waiting at the table when we make a reservation. Great, local restaurant, it's always such a treat to go!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Fun, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Excellent as always. Great staff, owners and delicious French-style cuisine.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, People Watching, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was delicious and memorable. We were with a chef and two other industry professionals and they were impressed.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

One of our local favorites in Dutchess County. The owners/chef are the loveliest people. Food is superb!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Cozy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Casual, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Always a lovely dinner. One of my favorite restaurants.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 13, 2017

While searching for a stop as we drove through the Taconic, we happened to ring this one on open table.... A diamond in the rough. former chef of Provence in Soho, find homy quality comfort food with quality ingredients in the middle of Dutchess County. One of the Oldest restaurant in the country, 1789, can't make that up! Decent wine list (I mean, you get a good bottle for 90$ that would cost you 150$ in NYC). Warm welcome, true attention to details, family style. A great find that deserves to be know. If they were a burger place, they would serve you the best homemade burger... What I mean is country cooking at its best, makes you feel at a sophisticated home... The best of America and Europe under one roof.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

It is an old inn and the interior is gorgeous!!! Many seperate little rooms for dining. The food was wonderful duck confit and hanger steak that melts in your mouth. I had a dessert that I have seen before floating island which was poached egg sites in an English cream with pistachios and splash of Grand Mariner. Service was excellent Caitlyn .

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The Stissing House is a classic -- from the chef to the waitstaff and creative bartender -- everyone seems committed to delivering a warm and satisfying experience. Whether we are going for a casual dinner or a special occasion, they never disappoint. The menu offers something for everyone. It's our go-to place for a Friday night dinner, Mother's Day brunch or birthday. Sitting at the bar and eating is just as satisfying as spreading out in one of the historic dining rooms.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Most excellent spot for dining for any occasion. Food is always the best and there are a lot of menu selections !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Love Stissing House, new to the area, and enjoying your restaurant, chef's appearance gives a personal touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Always consistently great - fantastic menu and good people. A treasure

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Groups, Authentic, Organic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Our favorite place to eat in Dutchess County!
Great food. Casual. Cozy. Easy. Great chef/owners. We always fell welcome.
We count on it.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Seasonal, Fun, Cozy, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Truly Excellent service and lovely atmosphere. Very attentive staff. Only had soup, so can't comment on the rest of the menu, but the soup was good.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I just love everything about Stissing House. From the simple but delicious lamb burger, to the more complex French dishes Chef Michel creates as part of his daily specials.
Wonderfully warm and welcoming setting. Dinner for two or a party of 20 they're very accommodating, even without a reservation.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was great although dessert was only OK. Tables a little too close together. Bench seat was worn out so avoid the tables with a bench.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We love the cozy feel of the Stissing House. Perfect on a Winter night. Wonderful and warm service and delicious food. Highly recommended!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We love Stissing House--the food and ambiance were wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Good food not great. But great feeling with the semi private room with lovely fireplace. Amazing service focused on the children in a very nice way. We enjoyed the dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I have been at the Stissing house before and this time didn't disappoint either. This time I invited some friends and they were amazed at such a great jewel of a restaurant in that area. After a day of site seeing and Distillery tour, the Stissign House had Great food, and a magnificent ambient. The experience was great overall.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We always enjoy the Stissing House for Brunch/dinner. Great ambience, wonderful service/staff & food. Highly recommend. Best, DLA

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Warm and historic atmosphere. Delicious food with a menu of many options. Great place for friends to gather for Sunday lunch with attentive and gracious service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Organic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had a wonderful experience. It was our first time to this restaurant and my wife was a little hesitant when she saw pizza and French cuisine on the menu. Food was excellent, ambience superb. Loved it and will definetly return. And the waiter, Mr Brows, can't say enough about his service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food was excellent as was the waitress and atmosphere. The only negative was a busboy, who was either poorly trained, indifferent and somewhat surly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

we love the cozy ambience, great cocktail menu and wpnderful food at stissonh House!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Thank you Chef Michelle, all was great again! So nice to visit with you.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 3, 2016

First visit. Will become a regular. Great food. Great service and wonderful ambiance. Creative chef and delicious menu choices. Excellent wine list with reasonable prices.
We started with fresh oysters. Followed with moules frites for my wife and grilled delicious salmon.
Coffee was perfect. One of the tests of a excellent restaurant.
Worth every penny.

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.