About Stissing House

Michel and Patricia Jean, owners of Stissing House, bring decades of noted culinary experience, including Provence in New York City, to their restaurant in the Hudson River Valley.
The Jeans came to Dutchess County, NY where they discovered The Stissing House, an historic 1782 tavern, after an almost 20-year run at their New York City restaurant Provence. One of America’s oldest and longest-operating restaurants, The Stissing House features a wood-burning oven and grill sizzling with Michel’s Provençal-inspired cuisine. With a more sophisticated décor but period details intact, The Stissing House has become a landmark culinary destination. The food: simple, delicious, robust and compelling Provençal cuisine. In every meal: seasonal, locally-sourced, organic grass-fed beef, poultry and vegetables.The vintage tavern room features a special cocktail menu drawing locals and visitors alike to eat, drink and socialize at the bar or the tables. Available for private parties as well.

7801 South Main Street
Pine Plains, NY 12567
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Contemporary French / American, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 12:00pm - 8:00pm

Dinner: Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Friday 5:30pm - 10:00pm Saturday:

Lunch 12:00pm - 3:00pm , Dinner 5:30pm - 10:00pm Bar is open for cocktails beginning at 5:00pm Thursday - Saturday, stay open 12:00pm - Close on Sunday.

Cross Street:
Church

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(518) 398-8800

Website:
http://www.stissinghouse.com/

Entertainment:
We offer live entertainment 4-5 times a year when we"re moved to do so by some rocking talent. No cover charge upstairs in our beautiful 19th century ballroom. Check our website or Facebook page for times and dates.

Catering:
Off-site catering is available

Parking Details:
Gravel parking lot right off entrance. adequate room for up to 60 cars.

Executive Chef:
Michel Jean

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Stissing House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Cozy (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Wood Oven (9)
See All
Bar Seating (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Historic (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Fireplace (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Private Room (7)
Authentic (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Romantic (5)
Casual (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Family Style (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Fun (2)
Healthy (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
People Watching (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Sports (0)
Sort By:
S
94 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was delicious and memorable. We were with a chef and two other industry professionals and they were impressed.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

One of our local favorites in Dutchess County. The owners/chef are the loveliest people. Food is superb!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Cozy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Casual, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Always a lovely dinner. One of my favorite restaurants.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 13, 2017

While searching for a stop as we drove through the Taconic, we happened to ring this one on open table.... A diamond in the rough. former chef of Provence in Soho, find homy quality comfort food with quality ingredients in the middle of Dutchess County. One of the Oldest restaurant in the country, 1789, can't make that up! Decent wine list (I mean, you get a good bottle for 90$ that would cost you 150$ in NYC). Warm welcome, true attention to details, family style. A great find that deserves to be know. If they were a burger place, they would serve you the best homemade burger... What I mean is country cooking at its best, makes you feel at a sophisticated home... The best of America and Europe under one roof.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Historic, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

It is an old inn and the interior is gorgeous!!! Many seperate little rooms for dining. The food was wonderful duck confit and hanger steak that melts in your mouth. I had a dessert that I have seen before floating island which was poached egg sites in an English cream with pistachios and splash of Grand Mariner. Service was excellent Caitlyn .

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The Stissing House is a classic -- from the chef to the waitstaff and creative bartender -- everyone seems committed to delivering a warm and satisfying experience. Whether we are going for a casual dinner or a special occasion, they never disappoint. The menu offers something for everyone. It's our go-to place for a Friday night dinner, Mother's Day brunch or birthday. Sitting at the bar and eating is just as satisfying as spreading out in one of the historic dining rooms.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Most excellent spot for dining for any occasion. Food is always the best and there are a lot of menu selections !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Love Stissing House, new to the area, and enjoying your restaurant, chef's appearance gives a personal touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Always consistently great - fantastic menu and good people. A treasure

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fireplace, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Groups, Historic, Authentic, Organic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fun, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Our favorite place to eat in Dutchess County!
Great food. Casual. Cozy. Easy. Great chef/owners. We always fell welcome.
We count on it.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Seasonal, Fun, Wood Oven, Cozy, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Truly Excellent service and lovely atmosphere. Very attentive staff. Only had soup, so can't comment on the rest of the menu, but the soup was good.

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I just love everything about Stissing House. From the simple but delicious lamb burger, to the more complex French dishes Chef Michel creates as part of his daily specials.
Wonderfully warm and welcoming setting. Dinner for two or a party of 20 they're very accommodating, even without a reservation.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Casual, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Private Room, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was great although dessert was only OK. Tables a little too close together. Bench seat was worn out so avoid the tables with a bench.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We love the cozy feel of the Stissing House. Perfect on a Winter night. Wonderful and warm service and delicious food. Highly recommended!

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace, Open Kitchen, Historic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We love Stissing House--the food and ambiance were wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Good food not great. But great feeling with the semi private room with lovely fireplace. Amazing service focused on the children in a very nice way. We enjoyed the dinner

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I have been at the Stissing house before and this time didn't disappoint either. This time I invited some friends and they were amazed at such a great jewel of a restaurant in that area. After a day of site seeing and Distillery tour, the Stissign House had Great food, and a magnificent ambient. The experience was great overall.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We always enjoy the Stissing House for Brunch/dinner. Great ambience, wonderful service/staff & food. Highly recommend. Best, DLA

Tags: Great for Lunch, Private Room, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Warm and historic atmosphere. Delicious food with a menu of many options. Great place for friends to gather for Sunday lunch with attentive and gracious service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Historic, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Organic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had a wonderful experience. It was our first time to this restaurant and my wife was a little hesitant when she saw pizza and French cuisine on the menu. Food was excellent, ambience superb. Loved it and will definetly return. And the waiter, Mr Brows, can't say enough about his service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was excellent as was the waitress and atmosphere. The only negative was a busboy, who was either poorly trained, indifferent and somewhat surly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

we love the cozy ambience, great cocktail menu and wpnderful food at stissonh House!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Thank you Chef Michelle, all was great again! So nice to visit with you.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 3, 2016

First visit. Will become a regular. Great food. Great service and wonderful ambiance. Creative chef and delicious menu choices. Excellent wine list with reasonable prices.
We started with fresh oysters. Followed with moules frites for my wife and grilled delicious salmon.
Coffee was perfect. One of the tests of a excellent restaurant.
Worth every penny.

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

If you are looking for good food, nice cocktails, historic location and great ambiance this is the place!

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Terrific.....
Lovely atmosphere, delicious food, great service.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2016

As usual, the food and drinks were prepared and served with the usual historic Stissing House attention to detail: fresh foods, excellent service, and comfortable surroundings . . . Perfect!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 1, 2016

My 3rd time dining at Stissing House. Always great! chef Michelle is amazing and makes the dining experience extra special by mingling around the restaurant chatting with everyone. Brought my uncle from California and it's his new favorite.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

My favorite place to eat on my way upstate or on my way home. Mikey Brows is the best waiter too, always a smile and a willingness to accommodate us. The food is absolutely delicious and freshly made to order. The ambience is reminiscent of the history behind this place and that gives it a lovely, quaint charm. I will be back as often as I can because place is a must for me and my family!!

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

A beautiful restaurant in a historic building that needs no apologies for comfort and convenience. The menu is very interesting and the dishes and sauces are carefully and skilfully crafted. Service is excellent and prices are resonable. Wonderful excuse to take a drive to very scenic country.

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2016

It had been a long time since I'd been to Stissing House. having heard good things about it, I was looking forward to the visit. The food was good, and the prices, for the most part, what would be expected. The service was very good. We also ordered a bottle of wine.

When the bill arrived, one of our party noticed a $4.00 charge for splitting salads. Three of us ordered two salads and asked that they be split among the three of us. Apparently, the menu states that there's a $2.00 charge for splitting a serving. While I may have been able to understand the charge if two of us were splitting one main dish, we all found it rather appalling to find a $4.00 charge for splitting the salads.

I frequent many of the restaurants in the surrounding area. We often ask to split the salad. No restaurant has ever placed a charge on this service. The word for this is "chintzy." With so many good restaurants in the area, I see no reason to return to Stissing House.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We are drawn to dining in historic buildings, and Stissing House has the character of an old rural inn from around 1800. We were seated in the bar area, as the place was quite filled already when we reserved. But the bar is clearly very popular, and has the same menu and a convivial feel, so we enjoyed ourselves. The dining rooms look very inviting; they have fireplaces and seem better suited to a fine dining experience, so we aim to return for seating there in the winter. The food was quite satisfying. A pizza that is a specialty of the house was recommended by one of the locals; it is quite good, rich, and filling. A glass of wine that tasted spoiled was promptly replaced with something better, no questions asked---a sign of proper hospitality.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2016

In spite of a crazy thunderstorm the evening was perfect. We had not been to the Stissing house in a while. We will be back. Totally enjoyed our evening out!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 31, 2016

I found an article on Stissing House in a local magazine to celebrate belatedly a friend's milestone birthday. The renovated 1778 facility looked interesting; the menu had lots of options; the prices were reasonable; and the travel distance was right. Once we got there, expectations continued to be exceeded - Owner Michael Jean was a gracious host and shared lots of personal stories with us. Dinner began with a Watermelon Margarita cocktail, a delightful twist on the usually tart original. The food was superb - flash fried wild mushroom appetizer, the red and white gazpacho soup, entrees of D'artangnan Duck Magret breast with peach sauce (!) with local veggies, and even the simple Margarita pizza was flavorful and crisp. Then came the special birthday dessert - Fantasy(?) Tower, a surgary tower of whipped, creamy egg whites surrounded by a golden, sugarstring fence. And I could not pass on the Marquis Au Chocolat -très magnifique! With coffee came complimentary macaroons, another sweet confection. To be sure, we didn't leave hungry. This is definitely a place to return to.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was good however I was very unhappy that the servers spilled a cup of hot coffee (being sent to another table) down my husband's back. Other than giving him a wet towel to clean up and belatedly apologizing, they did not offer to cover dry cleaning, let along comp my husband even his expresso, despite our very high bill for dinner. Most unprofessional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food, service, and ambience were all excellent - as usual. The Stissing House creates an atmosphere of easy luxury that all who dine there appreciate. This charming place is open to comfort in dress and satisfaction to all who eat a Stissing House meal or have a drink with friends. Definitely the place to go for locals and tourists! A great spot for one of the best restaurants!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Just love this place. It is always a great time. Food, service and the setting is great. Highly recommend the Stissing House. Must have is the escargot or short ribs.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Found this place on Open Table while looking for a place to stop on the way back to NYC from MA. What a find! Food was outstanding and the place was charming (don't let the outside look fool you). We shared pizzas (Stissing and Margarita) which were thin-crusted and beautifully cooked in their wood burning stove. We had the steak and trout which were both excellent, especially the trout.

There are different rooms to dine in and private ones if you have a large group. Can't say enough about it - will definitely return and recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2016

The food and ambiance has always been excellent. A really good French restaurant in a small rural community.... what more could you ask for?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 1, 2016

New to the area, foodies from Rhinebeck came to meet Chef.. Awesome experience we have brought friends back. Thank you Tom & Cat.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.