About Stingray Café - El Conquistador Resort

1000 El Conquistador Avenue
Fajardo, PR 00738
View Larger Map

Seafood restaurant at El Conquistador

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
We are currently closed.

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 863-6616

Website:
http://www.elconresort.com/Things-to-Do/Dining/Fine-Dining/Stingray-Cafe/Stingray-Cafe-Reservations

Executive Chef:
Dayn Smith

Private Party Contact:
Angel Maldonado: 7878636616x

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Stingray Café - El Conquistador Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Puerto Rico
Best Restaurants in Fajardo ›

scenic view (8)
great for outdoor dining (8)
romantic (7)
See All
special occasion (7)
fit for foodies (3)
kid-friendly (3)
notable wine list (3)
good for groups (3)
hot spot (1)
neighborhood gem (1)
Sort By:
Newest
42 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

attention to service

Dined on May 7, 2016

From the greeting as you arrive to the attention to every detail once you are seated, not only the experience is gratifying but outstanding as well. Food is brought to you as ordered . You are taken thru a complete dinner experience with the best care and suggestions if needed by a highly trained team work. Looking forward to visit again

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good meal

Dined on April 7, 2016

Food and service was great. We sat outside and enjoyed the beautiful weather and view,

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4

Nice place but way too expensive because ...

Dined on March 28, 2016

Nice place but way too expensive because of where they are.

food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely restaurant!

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Lovely restaurant!

food3
ambience5
service4

Lovely place but the menu was not the me ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Lovely place but the menu was not the menu posted in open table. We were looking forward to shrimp and lobster hush puppies and lobster tails but there was not one lobster dish in this seafood restaurants menu. Very disappointed.

food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Big price little flavor

Dined on January 21, 2016

The food here is way overpriced for the quality. The food is just bland and service takes forever.

food3
ambience4
service4

While the food at Stingray cafe was just ...

vip
Dined on January 18, 2016

While the food at Stingray cafe was just all right, the views of the marina were quite pretty. We had great service while we were there, particularly from one busboy Peter! He was easily the most attentive staff member constantly checking on every patron there. Filling water, taking away dishes and offering extra menus, refills, more wine etc. exceptional service and made us feel very welcome!

food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Mixed review

Dined on December 31, 2015

We were there for New Year's Eve, but the menu was the same as other nights, so we assume the food is the same as well. The ceviche appetizer was excellent. We had two of the fish offerings. Dorado was OK, but you can get a dish that is just as good at the nearby waterside café for about 30% less. The second fish, called Chillo, is a heavy, oily fish with a somewhat unpleasant taste. It was definitely not worth what we paid for it. Dessert (crème brule) was nice. Wait staff, while clearly busy, were pleasant and attentive.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and great atmosphere.

Dined on December 31, 2015

Wonderful food and great atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful night out

Dined on December 28, 2015

While my wife and I visited the El Conquistador we ate at this gem. The atmosphere was wonderful. Had a table overlooking the marina. Both of us chose the swordfish. Delicious! We would definitely go back!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience2
service3

Not good

Dined on November 22, 2015

The service was good and there was a great view but the food was not good. There wasn't a good selection on the menu either. 2/10 would not recommend

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Inventive and delicious appetizers

Dined on September 20, 2015

I had the octopus escabeche and prawns with red curry. Both were outstanding. Great balance of flavors and beautiful presentation. I also ate at Blossoms and Piccolo at the resort and this was the best food by far. I also had the piña colada panda cotta, which was delicious with toasted coconut and ice cream.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food and service, everything was go ...

vip
Dined on September 7, 2015

Good food and service, everything was good but nothing over the top impressive.

food4
ambience5
service5

really nice

Dined on August 21, 2015

Great food, nice atmosphere, especially outside. The desserts are wonderful! We recommend the Paella and the salmon. Octopus escabeche was really excellent too.

Tags: fit for foodies, outdoor eating, romance, special occasions, scenic view
food1
ambience2
service1

Waiting

Dined on August 2, 2015

We waited 15 minutes to get drinks then left. $40 per plate meals and never even had the chance to order a beverage, I don't think so.

food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful food

Dined on May 7, 2015

Outdoor marina seating is wonderful. The service is outstanding. White table cloth dinner. Seabass with lobter risotto was outstanding and the prawns are great as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Tucked away gim.

Dined on March 26, 2015

If your looking for great seafood options this is it on this resort. You have a great view of the ocean and marina to look at. There is a out door bar also. Food was great. Service was spot on. It's worth the trip down on the cable car.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Best at El Conquistador

Dined on March 6, 2015

This is the only real fine dining restaurant at the resort. A good value. Everything was fresh and prepared with care. Local lobster tails were huge. Loved it all.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food4
ambience5
service1

Service Unaccomodating

Dined on February 23, 2015

Wait staff was uninformed and unaccommodating. I asked to sub a side salad for one of the sides being offered and was told "no". My wife has an allergy so she needed to do the same. She was given a reluctant yes with the third degree on her medical condition (she just wanted a side salad). We also called ahead to request a table outside and reminded them it was our anniversary which we indicated when making the original reservation, and they said "no-first come first served". It wasn't the no, it was the delivery. So final, with no why and no apology. We are Hilton Gold members. Disappointing but good was great!

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience4
service2

Great Scenery, but food and service needs work

Dined on February 23, 2015

I took my wife to the resort for her birhtday and we dined at the Stingray Cafe for her birthday dinner. We really enjoyed the outside dining by the Marina, however the service was not great and the food was ...well not what I would think for the price. I had the Sea Bass and she had the Salmon. This fish was served on a small portion of of rice and mash potatoes...that's it for $100+. Serious? We didn't have any drinks or salad, that was all and dessert. The service was sloppy and slow. I have dined at many levels of 2,3,4 & 5 star restaurants, this was one of my worst experiences.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding!!

Dined on February 17, 2015

The restaurant has both inside and outside dining options. While the outside is beautiful on the marina, we chose a table on the inside of the restaurant and loved the ambiance; elegant yet simple decor. Two of us got the Sea Bass with lobster risotto and one got the Salmon. The food was outstanding! I can speak for the sea bass in particular as being perhaps the best preparation I've ever experienced, especially the lobster risotto...to die for! Our server Rey was awesome! He was very friendly and took the time to get to know us a bit instead of just serving our food and moving on. He was also very knowledgeable about the menu items and he went out of his way to make sure we were accommodated in a special request. I highly recommend Stingray and we will definitely be going back!

food2
ambience4
service4

Lackluster Food

Dined on February 14, 2015

Paella was four morsels of fish in a mound of tasteless rice. Not worth the price or the title, far from Paella and what was expected. Small portions and the salad lacked "glazed walnuts" or any walnuts at all when I pointed it out the chopped walnuts were brought but the glaze was nonexistent. Food was not the reason to return.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service4

Pretentious resort pricing for average food.

Dined on January 18, 2015

The unremarkable, expensive dishes offered do not live up to the name Hilton. You go there for the beauty of the surroundings, not the food!

food4
ambience4
service4

Best food yet!

Dined on December 30, 2014

Lovely atmosphere with best service at this resort. Food was diverse and interesting and yummy. Lobster hush puppies were good with an interesting sauce. Scallops with butternut squash puree was delicious. Wine list was good. Good choices and willingness to be flexible for the kids was nice. Definately come here. If i had time i'd eat here twice!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome in every way!

vip
Dined on December 30, 2014

The atmosphere was lovely, right on the water overlooking the small harbor for the resort. Food was wonderful all around - the only miss was the Walnut goat cheese salad as the dressing was too vinegary for me. However, that was the only thing I chose without a recommendation from the waiter. Everything that was recommended was wonderful - the cream cheese guava soufflé was a treat, and the scallops delish! (There's a decent salad which comes with the scallops which was far better than the goat cheese one!). Service was great considering how busy they were. I was fascinated by how effectively they used the team approach - each waiter covered about 12-14 tables and had a team of servers to assist. It was very effective.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4

Worth a repeat & we did

vip
Dined on November 14, 2014

While at El Conquistador we dined at Stingray and were very impressed with the food - perfectly prepared and seasoned to a T. Dined inside one night starting with a salad with goat cheese and a second one with pears and gorzongola, then on to fabulous Sea bass and a great Swordfish with a Szechuan sauce --- yummy. Also pleased that the wine list offers plenty of diverse choices across a decent price range. It was so great we repeated the experience on our last night at the resort selecting Sesame Tuna and a Paella that was impressive. Everything was lovely and Rey took great care of us both evenings. Top it off with the view of the marina and the sea -- a great experience.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4

Pretty Good Resort Dining

Dined on July 17, 2014

Food was pretty good, ambiance was lovely. Service was excellent. The spicy ahi tuna appetizer was delicious!

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Stringray Cafe

Dined on July 17, 2014

The service was the very best, food was great (lobster tail), the view was very relaxing. I will go again.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service3

Great view outside. so-so food.

Dined on July 15, 2014

I was hoping for a great dining experience when I booked at Stingray. Yet all four of us got adequately prepared food. Nothing was worth writing about in this review. The wait staff did what they're supposed to but did not check on us unless we waved them over. I would not say it was over priced, but I will not go back either.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic meal

Dined on June 27, 2014

My husband and I ate at Stingray twice while staying at El Conquistador. This was, by far, the best restaurant we experienced on site. The tuna, dorado (mahi-mahi) swordfish and lobster were all outstanding. The lobster was the best I've had anywhere including Maine. The service was excellent.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent

Dined on June 22, 2014

Delicious seafood perfectly cooked. Excellent service. Quiet and relaxing. Worth the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great seafood

Dined on June 7, 2014

My wife and I ate here a couple of nights ago and really enjoyed it. I had the scallops and they were cooked really well. My wife had the salmon and she claims it's the best salmon she has ever eaten. The restaurant was empty - we were literally the only people there from 6 until we left about 7:30. The price was pretty much like everyone described. Our two dishes plus iced tea and tip came out right at $90. We sat outside and really enjoyed the views. We would definitely go back again

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent

Dined on May 23, 2014

This is was our first trip to Puerto Rico and our first trip to Stingray Café, and we were not disappointed. The food was one of the best that we have had in a very long time and that says a lot considering that we live near NYC and have an endless selection of options. I had the Pan Seared Halibut and the rosette was absolutely amazing. The wait staff was friendly and made our dining experience pleasant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Nice spot on-resort for couples

Dined on May 21, 2014

Pretty view of the marina, lively vibe coming from bar and the food was delicious. Scallops cooked to perfection and my husband's steak was outstanding.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

An Outstanding dinner

Dined on May 18, 2014

Stng Ray was simply great . Julie was our wait staff person and she was superb. The food was excellent and the wine list extensive and deep. A great choice for dinner

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Great vacation spot

vip
Dined on April 24, 2014

We always go to stingray at least 2x when staying at the el conquistador. The fish never disappoints and the ambience is great. They offer the best options for kids, the traditional stuff you would expect plus they can half order anything on the menu which is great. Excellent halibut and lobster risotto.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3

ocean view

vip
Dined on April 15, 2014

our third visit to the island and we just love this place in the hotel. great seafood and the view is grand

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food prsentation

vip
Dined on April 6, 2014

Had great seafood here....felt it was the only resturant that focused on food presentation! Loved the seafood and loved the soufle! Nice outdoor seating...perfect for us as we stayed in the Marina.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

Enjoyable family meal at Stingray

vip
Dined on March 30, 2014

If you have stayed at El Conquistador before as we have, you may know that the food on the resort is OK, but pricey. Stingray's food is great (I had the scallops...delish), definitely one of the best. Reco making a reservation here, along with Blossoms and Chopped if you enjoy steak. My 4 rating is just based on the price. The food is really good, just not as good as you'd hope given the cost (keeping in mind this is at a resort, and a Waldorf at that).

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food1
ambience5
service4

Good view, bad expensive food

vip
Dined on March 28, 2014

The location and setting are great, but the food is very expensive and less that mediocre. Unfortunately, it's probably the best of the hotel restaurants. All are expensive with not great food. I wouldn't mind paying these prices if the food was at least above average.

Tags: great for outdoor dining

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.