Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 46.36mi
  2. Distance: 69.64mi
  3. Distance: 71.33mi
  4. Distance: 71.78mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 46.36mi
  2. Distance: 69.64mi
  3. Distance: 71.33mi
  4. Distance: 71.78mi

About Stingray Café - El Conquistador Resort

Seafood restaurant at El Conquistador

1000 El Conquistador Avenue
Fajardo, PR 00738
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
We are currently closed.

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(787) 863-6616

Website:
http://www.elconresort.com/Things-to-Do/Dining/Fine-Dining/Stingray-Cafe/Stingray-Cafe-Reservations

Executive Chef:
Dayn Smith

Private Party Contact:
Angel Maldonado: (787) 863-6616

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Stingray Café - El Conquistador Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.8

ambience

4.2

value

3.1

noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (10)
Waterfront (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
See All
Casual (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Fun (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Romantic (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Healthy (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Authentic (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Cozy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Business Meals (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
63 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

This was our best fine dining experience at the El Conquistador resort in Puerto Rico. Excellent fish entrees (both the swordfish and sushi-grade yellowfin tuna were fresh and cooked perfectly in two very different styles), attentive service, and a spectacular waterfront location were the highlights. We would highly recommend this for special occasions and any time guests want a more romantic setting than the other restaurants at the resort.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent. Beautiful scenery and very relaxing. Wait staff was perfect and very helpful and attentive.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Fun, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food was good. Service was not. Servers ignored us most of the night.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Mixed drinks are overpriced; at other resort locations too!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Viewed menu on Open Table and when we sat down, the menu was completely different. Disappointed that none of the items we planned to order were available. Service was very slow and it wasn't even busy at the time. Food selection and quality was overall unimpressive, although the lamb chops were good. Pricing was pretty high.

Tags: Happy Hour, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

There were only our table and one other table in the whole restaurant, they completely forgot to bring our food after 45 minutes we reminded them, food was lukewarm, children starving, forgot to refill water after asking 3 times, and brought out bread and butter after the meal, asking if we would like more when we never had the first one. Very slow, forgetful and disorganized, go to Kasavista for all your meals while in Fajardo, best food, service and prices by a million.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food was very good overall. Sesame crusted seared tuna was outstanding. The host, Angelito, was incredible. He was willing to do whatever it took to please us. Including preparing special meals for our kids. Very nice restaurant at the resort.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent meal while on vacation in Puerto Rico. Resort vacations can be hit-or-miss... you often end up with either fast food or overpriced "good" food as your only options. This was a refreshing change of pace. Excellent food (much of it consistent with local fish, spices and cooking), high-quality service and a beautiful view. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was very disappointing especially for the price. Overcooked Durado and Tuna dish seemed to have been sitting too long in the kitchen, served cold. Very expensive for what was served. Waited very long for meals. Waitress very nice and apologetic for delay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 16, 2017

To be a "high profile" restaurant we were disappointed. Service was fair and the vegetarian option was pasta with Raju sauce. Nice place to sit outside though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I had the swordfish and my wife had the red snapper...both were very good. Service was attentive, especially since the restaurant was quite empty. Very nice outdoor dining area. Our only complaint was the dessert which did not seem fresh which was taken off our bill. Overall, I thought this was the best restaurant at the hotel.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Food was good not great, the Chillo was overcooked and everything was quite salty. That goes for almost all meals at El Conquistador dinner restaurants. Very heavy on the salt...and all are very expensive. 2 people at Stingray, 1 shared salad, 2 glasses of wine, 2 after dinner drinks...$180 with tip.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Service was at best fair. Although we ordered a desert coffee was never offered and out waitress clearly wanted to be somewhere else

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food was variable - overpriced for quality . A hot soup was served cold. Dishes were brought out with no regard to the person who ordered or the course requested.
We had a better dining experience at a casual bar and grill 25 feet away enjoying a well made Cubano.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The service was slow, food overpriced but location was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Restaurant had no air conditioning working on a very hot steamy night. Dining outside was not an option for us. At 8 pm there was not any other alternative for dining since we were staying at the Conquistador Hotel and it was too late to make other arrangements.
Table service was a disaster; servers reaching across the table to place plates, handing us the plates instead of placing them on the table: not the service you expect in a fine dining restaurant.
The manager kept on opening the front door for no reason at all letting what little coolness inside the restaurant to escape. We let the hostess know about this and her answer was that he was the manager and we should not complain because we were told about the problem with the AC. We are PR residents and will not accept this poor service. We should have been emailed about the problem earlier.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great overall experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 16, 2016

The restaurant was not busy at all when we got there. I think we were the only ones. But it was nice sitting down in the marina. The service was wonderful. The food was pretty good. Nothing spectacular. Unfortunately it started to rain on us towards the end of our dinner. The waiter was more than accommodating: moving us and offering us a new dish. Overall it was pretty good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on July 1, 2016

The restaurant is beautiful, the food was excellent and the service was fantastic. However, on the night my family and I dined there to celebrate an engagement, there was no a/c and it was very hot and humid inside. We could not enjoy the meal and had to get up periodically to get some fresh air outside. The meal was fairly expensive so I was a bit disappointed with the lack of a comfortable environment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Great service!! Food was lukewarm, seafood chowder was thin and bland, mussels appetizer was great flavor but only warm, salmon entree mushy and paella was all rice...very little seafood. Also paella pretty darn salty. Again, service was lovely! Sat outside on the patio...nice choice of seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Food was okay for the price. Resort dining price but not for the quality. Service was hospitable and offered suggestions in the menu. Great relaxing views of the marina and ocean from the outside deck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on May 7, 2016

From the greeting as you arrive to the attention to every detail once you are seated, not only the experience is gratifying but outstanding as well. Food is brought to you as ordered .
You are taken thru a complete dinner experience with the best care and suggestions if needed by a highly trained team work. Looking forward to visit again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2016

Food and service was great. We sat outside and enjoyed the beautiful weather and view,

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2016

Nice place but way too expensive because of where they are.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2016

Lovely restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Lovely place but the menu was not the menu posted in open table. We were looking forward to shrimp and lobster hush puppies and lobster tails but there was not one lobster dish in this seafood restaurants menu. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2016

The food here is way overpriced for the quality. The food is just bland and service takes forever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 18, 2016

While the food at Stingray cafe was just all right, the views of the marina were quite pretty. We had great service while we were there, particularly from one busboy Peter! He was easily the most attentive staff member constantly checking on every patron there. Filling water, taking away dishes and offering extra menus, refills, more wine etc. exceptional service and made us feel very welcome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2015

We were there for New Year's Eve, but the menu was the same as other nights, so we assume the food is the same as well. The ceviche appetizer was excellent. We had two of the fish offerings. Dorado was OK, but you can get a dish that is just as good at the nearby waterside café for about 30% less. The second fish, called Chillo, is a heavy, oily fish with a somewhat unpleasant taste. It was definitely not worth what we paid for it. Dessert (crème brule) was nice. Wait staff, while clearly busy, were pleasant and attentive.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2015

Wonderful food and great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 28, 2015

While my wife and I visited the El Conquistador we ate at this gem. The atmosphere was wonderful. Had a table overlooking the marina. Both of us chose the swordfish. Delicious! We would definitely go back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 22, 2015

The service was good and there was a great view but the food was not good. There wasn't a good selection on the menu either. 2/10 would not recommend

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 20, 2015

I had the octopus escabeche and prawns with red curry. Both were outstanding. Great balance of flavors and beautiful presentation. I also ate at Blossoms and Piccolo at the resort and this was the best food by far. I also had the piña colada panda cotta, which was delicious with toasted coconut and ice cream.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 7, 2015

Good food and service, everything was good but nothing over the top impressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (London)·Dined on August 21, 2015

Great food, nice atmosphere, especially outside. The desserts are wonderful! We recommend the Paella and the salmon. Octopus escabeche was really excellent too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 2, 2015

We waited 15 minutes to get drinks then left. $40 per plate meals and never even had the chance to order a beverage, I don't think so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 7, 2015

Outdoor marina seating is wonderful. The service is outstanding.
White table cloth dinner.
Seabass with lobter risotto was outstanding and the prawns are great as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2015

If your looking for great seafood options this is it on this resort. You have a great view of the ocean and marina to look at. There is a out door bar also. Food was great. Service was spot on. It's worth the trip down on the cable car.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2015

This is the only real fine dining restaurant at the resort. A good value. Everything was fresh and prepared with care. Local lobster tails were huge. Loved it all.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on February 23, 2015

Wait staff was uninformed and unaccommodating. I asked to sub a side salad for one of the sides being offered and was told "no". My wife has an allergy so she needed to do the same. She was given a reluctant yes with the third degree on her medical condition (she just wanted a side salad). We also called ahead to request a table outside and reminded them it was our anniversary which we indicated when making the original reservation, and they said "no-first come first served". It wasn't the no, it was the delivery. So final, with no why and no apology. We are Hilton Gold members. Disappointing but good was great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.