About Stillwaters Restaurant at Stonewall Resort

940 Resort Drive
Roanoke, WV 26447
View Larger Map

Savor the finest traditional and regional cuisine, along with our very own New Appalachian creations. Prepared by our talented culinary staff, local game, fish and produce have never tasted better. When the weather is just right, enjoy patio dining lakeside amidst relaxing views of Stonewall Jackson Lake and the rolling hills of West Virginia.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 10:30am; Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Interstate 79

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(304) 269-8880

Website:
http://www.stonewallresort.com/

Catering:
Please contact us for full service catering opportunities from our 4 Diamond Resort Staff.

Executive Chef:
Paco Aceves

Private Party Facilities:
Stonewall Resort offers private dining facilities and menus for small private meetings and socials up to 500 guests for your dining pleasures.

Private Party Contact:
Chris Steffich: 3042698830

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Stillwaters Restaurant at Stonewall Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

4.1

ambience

3.8

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
West Virginia
Best Food
West Virginia
Best Service
West Virginia
4 More
Best Ambiance
West Virginia
Special Occasion
West Virginia
Most Booked
West Virginia
Most Booked
Roanoke
Best Restaurants in Roanoke ›

scenic view (26)
special occasion (17)
great for brunch (17)
See All
good for groups (15)
great for outdoor dining (15)
kid-friendly (11)
great for lunch (9)
romantic (8)
fit for foodies (4)
notable wine list (3)
neighborhood gem (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
225 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were 90 minutes early for our schedul ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were 90 minutes early for our scheduled reservation and were seated out on the patio upon arrival. What a lovely view of the lake! We have been to Stillwaters on many occasions and overall enjoy our dining experience each time. However, the meat offerings this trip were not as tender and moist as in the past. The vegetable offerings and salads were great as usual.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

A wonderful view of the Lake or golf cou ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

A wonderful view of the Lake or golf course...your choice. Food was excellent and the staff awesome and friendly! Relaxing and enjoyable!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The evening dining experience was great ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The evening dining experience was great for our party of ten. Breakfast was a different story. The last day of our stay I called at 7am to make reservations for eight. When I arrived I was disappointed to find that we were actually placed in TJ Muskies, NOT stillwaters. It was quite a walk to the buffet for my wife who is handicapped and has two bad knees. Worst part: no one even asked us if that was acceptable. Dropped over $2000 on a weekend for a family get together. I felt that we should have received a little more consideration than that.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

We were disappointed in the meet offerin ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We were disappointed in the meet offering. The beef was dry, cold, and tough. The broccoli

was overcooked and cheese topping was cold.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

This place would be a home run if it had ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This place would be a home run if it had good food. You have a buffet but run out of or will not refresh with the hours of operation still 2hrs to go. The atmosphere/wait staff are wonderful. A nice wine list for the property. The food is the weakest link to this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

Food fresh and tasty. A bit pricy but w ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food fresh and tasty. A bit pricy but would eat there again.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food! The buffet is always a d ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent food! The buffet is always a delight- beautifully presented food and delicious. Staff are always very good.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Advertised as the signature restaurant a ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Advertised as the signature restaurant at Stonewall. Doesn't live up to its advertising compared to Lightburn's

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our first stay at Stonewall and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

This was our first stay at Stonewall and it was an excellent experience. We had 4 buffets at Stillwaters, 2 breakfast and two dinners. They did a wonderful job at changing the menus for each meal, we didn't feel we ate the same thing twice.

The breakfasts were delicious whether you are the preparedness or waited for a made to order omelet. All was very fresh and tasty, nothing was bland. The dinners we very good the sides were not disappointing either night, however the main meats the first night were a bit dry, I was expecting the brisket to be tender and a bit more fatty, but it was not; the pork was the same way. Taste was good just a little On the dry side.

The second night they served prime rib which was cooked and seasoned to perfection, we really enjoyed it. The salmon crab cakes were good, but it would have been better with a little sauce to go over it, but still not bad.

All in all we were pleased with the food. What they served on the buffet was very hearty and more on the comfort side, heavy on the cheese and bacon...very tasty.

Service was excellent they were all very helpful and attentive.

We enjoyed our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Very good food, disappointed staff did n ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Very good food, disappointed staff did not sit us near the window with a view any of the three times we ate there... Even though there were lots of tables available there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Dinner was good. Breakfast pancakes were awful.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We ate two meals at Stillwaters. We had our first meal on the evening of our arrival. Our dinner was very good. We each had beef; a steak for one and the short ribs for another. The short ribs were very good but the steak really was the best with a great flavor. Salad was fresh and roasted vegetables were very good too. We had excellent service. All in all we enjoyed our dinner.

Unfortunately, our other meal was not so good. We had breakfast on our last morning there. There is a buffet as well as ordering off the menu. I had the buffet and while there were some good items like the bacon and biscuits, the eggs were very overcooked and dry. The sausage gravy wasn't bad but needed some zip. There was plenty of items from the buffet like fresh fruit, cereal, different kinds of bread. One morning there had been french toast, pancakes and waffles but on the morning that we ate there was only very small chocolate chip pancakes. Those were very dried out and even hard on the edges so I didn't bother. My partner decided to order off the menu as she only wanted regular pancakes. They came and were 3 large pancakes but after one bite she couldn't eat them. They had no taste and were very heavy. I tasted them myself and really awful. On a good note, our server did take them off our bill without even my asking.

It was rather weird that dinner was good and breakfast so mediocre at best. I don't know how you mess up pancakes. Even Bisquick ones taste better than those.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

nothing to brag about....

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

My husband and I stayed at stonewall for our 11 yr anniversary.. We had 2 adult dinner buffets and 2 sweet teas anf an order of crab dip bill was 72.00 without tip....very loud very crowded wedding party and prom goers buffet was nothing to brag about I ate fish and steamed broccoli everything else I tried and didn't like. Dessert had been sitting out and was dry. The crab dip was good but was served with crackers that were awful we used our dinner roll for dipping instead waitress was very nice by mistake brought out unsweetened tea no big deal she checked on us as often as she could it was very busy several large parties We awoke in the morning and decided to give it another try with the breakfast menu and ordered room service biscuits were gummy not fully cooked and sausage gravy was gross...he had the gravy train and took 3 bites out of it and was done . I had plate of fruit which was good muffin was very dry . Waste of 42 bucks still left resort hungry.. I love the property it is beautiful we would love to come back and bring our kids if we do we will definately be trying light burn no more wasting money on stillwater .....

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

Excellent, but pricey

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We have enjoyed eating at Stillwaters several times and this was no exception. While the service was just a little slow they were quite busy and everyone was exceedingly pleasant. The food was excellent. The only complaint would be the pricing. There were four persons in our party and the total buffet pricing came to over $160. When including tip the total neared $200 for four persons. THAT is far too high for the area and the style of meal. We are not likely to return as a result and that is a shame.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

we were so impressed with the service. ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

we were so impressed with the service. Cheryl (?), DR supervisor at Stillwaters, and I had spoken by phone earlier in the week regarding flowers for my 93 year old mother, on our table, for Mother's Day. I decided not to do it. Cheryl took it upon herself to have a flower in a cute little cup, with a MD balloon, in the middle or our table, for my mother to take home. Mom absolutely loved it, and is still talking about it. This is great customer service. This is the third time we have been to Stillwaters, and it absolutely will not be our last.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent gem

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

9 ladies ranging from 40 to 69 gathered at this restaurant the service was fantastic. Friendly, polite, efficient, tidy, timely. The resteraunt was beautiful with a spectacular view and kind and courteous staff.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

The atmosphere and food was wonderful. We are not well educated on wines and would have appreciated if the waitress had offered her expertise.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Amazing that they charge 25 a head for a buffet

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

The view is really nice and the wine list as well, but it is high end institutional food. This isn't Las Vegas and the only thing it has going for it really is the friendly staff and the fact that there really isn't any other option.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

It was my husbands birthday and the wait ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

It was my husbands birthday and the waitress made it very special by bringing him out a great hot fudge cake. The whole restaurant experience was great. We will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing time

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Me an my wife recently visited Stillwaters for Valentines Day an we had an exceptional experience an the food was amazing ! Top notch

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good experience

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

We arrived early and were seated anyway. A good comedy show was happening in the facility after dinner which we were able to attend. The wait staff took good care of us.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Below par

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Not up to standards. All of the hot food was cold. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

New Years package

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We purchased the New Years package, dinner was good except it was not kid friendly. We are brunch the next day, I will never eat brunch there again, poor selection for adults and differently not kid friendly...

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Good for the most part

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Their dinner buffet has been up and down over the years. This one was about average. Salad, soup, seafood, and cheesecake were exceptional. The rest was fair. Service was excellent.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Breakfast & Dinner Buffet

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

Dinner buffet was horrible, not a lot of choices, all meats were over cooked and very dry. Not worth $25 at all.

Breakfast was great, lots of choices and well worth the price.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

Absolutely Loved It!!!

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on December 23, 2015

I brought my children here for a pre-Christmas get away. We had a beautiful time and the food was delicious! !!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Slow night

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on December 23, 2015

Was slow night so no buffet which is usally very good. Service was a bit slow for the place to be empty. Food was good. Sat next to the fireplace which was nice.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Always enjoyable

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on December 18, 2015

Buffet has a good variety. Always fresh. Some nights are better than others, but never a bad experience. Service is excellent. Friendly staff.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Not impressed

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on November 30, 2015

During our stay we had three breakfasts and dinners at Stillwaters.

We had the breakfast buffet each morning of our stay. All items on the buffet were barely warm. We were not informed of the omelette and waffle stations, I happened to notice another guest with an omelette our second morning. Both mornings we had to wait several minutes for someone to come out of the kitchen in order to request an omelette. Over all the breakfast buffet was adequate.

Our first dinner we had the walleye and the buffet. The pan fried walleye was extremely greasy. The items on the buffet were average and everything seemed to be barely warm. Our server offered a different entrée but we declined. She removed the entrée from our bill and apologized.

Our second night we had one small plate of the blackened shrimp skewer and one buffet. Again the items on the buffet were barely warm and both of our meals were average.

The last night of our stay we begin our meal with roasted red pepper soup that was delicious. We both selected the grilled New York strip. Our steaks were well seasoned and cooked. We both enjoyed our meals very much with the exception of the herb bread pudding.

All of the waitstaff and hostesses were extremely friendly however our experience would have improved by being informed of all of the items that were offered on the buffet as well as being told about the specials. We noticed a card on our table after we had ordered. I most certainly would have tried the scallops if the specials were offered verbally.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Not what I expected

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

The food was good. I got the buffet so there wasn't much to the service. My husband and I went for a romantic getaway. There were a lot of children that were tired and didn't want to be there. The atmosphere was a disappointment. It looked like the inside of a chain restaurant. I gave it 4 stars for the food but I wouldn't go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Still waters restaurant

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

Food was so-so. Nothing special- Buffet looked as though it had been sitting awhile. Liked the resort a lot but not much about the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

Beautiful Restaurant & Atmosphere

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

We (wife, young daughter and I) took a break from camping and had dinner at Stillwaters Saturday evening. The staff and service was top notch. The food was just ok. We did have the buffet. All of us agreed that next time we will order from the menu. We will/would go back for a second try. Overall, a good experience.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Excellent staff, lovely atmosphere, mediocre food

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on October 12, 2015

Service knowledgeable and friendly, very kind, good burgers, soups, salads, and desserts - but if you go beyond this at dinner, overcooked and tasteless. Breakfast server was impatient when we didn't want to get buffet.

Did not serve butter, or even offer it - who does that? And key - WORST COFFEE I HAVE EVER HAD ANYWHERE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Great Resort Dining

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

We stayed at Stonewall Resort for our anniversary. We chose Stillwaters because of the menu, and the more relaxed atmosphere for dinner. The food was delicious from the appetizer all the way to the desert.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Skip the buffet

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2015

Here in mid September, before leaf season after summer rush. Restaurant seemed understaffed and not very crowded. Salad choices merely okay and hardly any leafy greens available, this was a 6:45 reservation. Cooke green beans not cooked. Catfish excellent. Partners chicken was good. The roast beef is what I call banquet fare, a round roast style. Server slices 1/4 inch slice, when I asked for second slice, she obliged but I think I could see thru it it was so thin. Not very high quality meat. In addition, this one carver seemed to be in charge of the entire buffet section, and she had a habit of disappearing for extended periods. With hardly anyone in the place, there managed to be a line of 5 people waiting for her return from the back to carve the meat.. Desserts are excellent, coffee was not hot. Service by wait staff at table was very good. Choices Al a carte were fairly limited besides the buffet. Walleye, strip steak,salmon pretty much rounded out your choices. Not what I expected at what is billed as Appalachian cuisine. By the way breakfast buffet was average overall too. Bacon cold, eggs cold, frittata okay, again, bakery items, muffins and rolls very good. Although our room choice included breakfast, which you pay for, you get a choice of one beverage, so if you order coffee, you pay for juice. C'mon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Great atmosphere and Dining Experience

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on August 28, 2015

My wife and I had a wonderful time celebrating our anniversary. We enjoyed everything: being outdoors, the view of the lake, starting off with a great salad and seafood chowder. We loved the selections of the buffet. Maybe one thing we noticed was the desserts weren't being replenished. But, this isn't a complaint. We're grateful to have gotten away and enjoy Stillwaters and Stonewall Jackson Resort. Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointed

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 9, 2015

I'm not much of a complainer, however the buffet on Sunday night was rather disappointing. The salad consisted of mixed field greens and that was it. The turkey unfortunately was tough and dry. I did not try the spaghetti with marinara sauce my daughter did and didn't care for it.The beef was delicious so we filled up on that. The mini loaves of bread that came to the table were crusty and light but did not have that just baked bread taste- eemed like they probably were baked from frozen loaves. The desserts were OK but seemed more suited for a church dinner then a four star resort restaurant.

Our overnight resort package included the buffet breakfast so we tried Stillwaters again in the morning. It was actually pretty good. Only complaint about the breakfast were the maid to order Belgian waffles. They used regular waffle mix and not the malted waffle mix that you typically get when you order a Belgian waffle. No fruit or other toppings offered with the waffle just syrup .

Overall pretty disappointed with this restaurant. I was definitely expecting a much more quality restaurant. Liked the resort. Would not rush back for the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Great Food

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on July 27, 2015

The service was wonderful and the food was delicious. We r here for our honeymoon and its great to have a resturant on site that has great food. I love that you can have a buffet for every meal

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not worth it at half the price

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 24, 2015

Stillwaters bills itself as fine dining, but it is anything but. It's an old-school sad buffet in a room with musty carpeting. The food is functional at best. And it's expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Anniversary Group

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 27, 2015

Made a reservation for 16 to celebrate our anniversary. When we arrived at the restaurant, they had us at 2 tables of 6 and one table of 4. When we talked to the manager, she said she never makes a table of 16. She finally did move tables and we could sit together. Open Table should make this policy known to its subscribers. Food was good, service was excellant.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Perfect Brunch before Golf

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 12, 2015

My husband and I were spending the night at Stonewall and were looking forward to our morning brunch at Stillwaters. We have eaten here before on previous trips and were not disappointed! There was a great selection of some standard breakfast items with a twist that could satisfy anyone's palate. It was a great atmosphere and looked like there were several groups that would be attending breakfast together after we left. Our server was very cheerful and put us in a great mood to start our day.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.