About Stillwaters Restaurant at Stonewall Resort

940 Resort Drive
Roanoke, WV 26447
View Larger Map

Savor the finest traditional and regional cuisine, along with our very own New Appalachian creations. Prepared by our talented culinary staff, local game, fish and produce have never tasted better. When the weather is just right, enjoy patio dining lakeside amidst relaxing views of Stonewall Jackson Lake and the rolling hills of West Virginia.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 10:30am; Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Interstate 79

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(304) 269-8880

Website:
http://www.stonewallresort.com/

Catering:
Please contact us for full service catering opportunities from our 4 Diamond Resort Staff.

Executive Chef:
Tim White

Private Party Facilities:
Stonewall Resort offers private dining facilities and menus for small private meetings and socials up to 500 guests for your dining pleasures.

Private Party Contact:
Chris Steffich: 3042698830

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Stillwaters Restaurant at Stonewall Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
West Virginia
Best Value
West Virginia
Most Booked
West Virginia
1 More
Most Booked
Roanoke
Best Restaurants in Roanoke ›

Scenic View (31)
Kid-friendly (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
See All
Great for Brunch (16)
Special Occasion (15)
Good for Groups (11)
Great for Lunch (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Romantic (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Waterfront (6)
Cozy (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Family Style (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Casual (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great Beer (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Business Meals (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
People Watching (1)
Healthy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
242 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Stillwaters was ok. Service wasn't grea ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Stillwaters was ok. Service wasn't great. It took too long for the server to clear the used dishes from our table that were from the buffet. Expected it to be a little "classier" restaurant.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

This was our second Labor Day at the Sto ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This was our second Labor Day at the Stonewall and couldn't be more pleased with everything. We had family come in from the Washington/ Baltimore/Annapolis area and they also found everything to be a 10. Thanks for your hospitality.

Tags: Business Meals, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice restaurant at Stonewall resort ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Very nice restaurant at Stonewall resort. Dinner buffet has many items to choose, but my wife and I ordered from the menu. I had the scallops which were great. My wife had a vegetarian meal prepared and she loved it.

Also had breakfast at Stillwaters. They also have a buffet for breakfast but again we ordered from the menu. We both had the egg white omelet with spinach and potatoes which we enjoyed.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We tried Stillwater on a Monday evening, ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

We tried Stillwater on a Monday evening, so the (high-end) buffet options were a little limited. The food that was there was good, however. Good beer selection. I went with a craft IPA, and it was delicious. The vegetable and pasta options were great. The roast beef was a big tougher and chewier than I would have liked. My wife did not enjoy it at all. The desserts tasted a bit "store-bought." I would go back and try it on a weekend, just to see if the options were better - as I have heard they are supposed to be. I would also dine outside on the patio. The view and ambiance is really nice out there. All in all, not a bad dining experience, but it could have been much better. Maybe after a Saturday on the lake, it would be better.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Waterfront, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

The service is wonderful. The food overa ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The service is wonderful. The food overall is just ok though. A few gems (the scallops for dinner and the scrambled eggs for breakfast), but overall, just ok.

Tags: Disabled Access, Waterfront, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Buffet was pretty good. The fish entrees ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Buffet was pretty good. The fish entrees seemed to be overcooked. Then again, it's hard to keep fish warm for extended time and it not be overcooked on a warmer. It is expensive (I think) for the buffet. The breakfast buffet is definitely the way to go.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Seated immediately. Waitress came and g ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Seated immediately. Waitress came and got us iced tea, then disappeared. We had to go to

The greeting station to ask for coffee with our dessert. Emily there said she would find her. Brought coffee and disappeared again until we asked for our check. Good food, great location , but very poor service. Have to think twice before returning. Mandy was our waitress.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

We were a little disappointed in the res ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We were a little disappointed in the restaurant. There were 2 restaurants in the Stonewall resort, they both seemed to have the same menu. It would be nice to have more choices when staying a weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We have always experienced excellent ser ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We have always experienced excellent service at Stillwaters. The first evening this past weekend was no exception. On the second evening, we sat for 15-20 minutes before being waited on. But the staff was expecting a large group to arrive, and immediately upon a "friendly reminder" from us, they gave us excellent service, profuse apology, and a voluntary discount on our bill. No complaints at all.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was delicious and service was great ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Food was delicious and service was great. Very noisy. We could hardly talk together for dinner. Was better at breakfast. I thought the prices were high.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What I originally wanted off the menu th ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

What I originally wanted off the menu they were out of. So I ordered the buffet and it was terrible. Cold chicken, dry pork, and overcooked beef.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Very disappointed in the food. We had r ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Very disappointed in the food. We had reservations for 9, celebrating my mom's birthday. We had to wait while they put tables together. Three of adults in our group had the buffet. They were finished eating by the time the other 6 got their meals. We ordered appetizer for children while waiting on meals, it didn't come till our meals finally did. Buffet food was not good at all. After waiting almost 45 minutes for the other 6 meals, they were just bland. Again, was a disappointment especially after being a special occasion for our family, and then paying over $200! I don't believe we will plan a family meal there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

The dinner buffet was fabulous!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The dinner buffet was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Both my wife's meal(scallops) and mine ( ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Both my wife's meal(scallops) and mine (pork chop) were over cooked, dry and over seasoned. The dessert was the highlight of the evening. We did not complain to wait staff about meal due to the fact of how busy they were.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Appetizers were great! Dessert was the b ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Appetizers were great! Dessert was the best part! Highly recommend the flourless cake.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Anyone you come in contact with while di ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Anyone you come in contact with while dining:servers, waitstaff, etc. are excellent. Very competent and wonderful interaction. The food ... NO... the only good thing that me or my adult children ate while we were there were the french fries. Neither my son nor daughter liked their food (except the fries) and I had the buffet (and I'm NOT a picky eater and assume all bad reviews are from people who are much more "foodie" than I am) but this food was awful.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

There are 2 restaurants at the Stonewall ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

There are 2 restaurants at the Stonewall Resort. We dined at both. Stillwaters was loud and filled with young children. The buffet was average but the service was poor. Our waiter disappeared for 10-15 minutes at a time so we were left with a pile of dirty plates and empty drinks. The wine and beer selection is limited.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

We were 90 minutes early for our schedul ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were 90 minutes early for our scheduled reservation and were seated out on the patio upon arrival. What a lovely view of the lake! We have been to Stillwaters on many occasions and overall enjoy our dining experience each time. However, the meat offerings this trip were not as tender and moist as in the past. The vegetable offerings and salads were great as usual.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

A wonderful view of the Lake or golf cou ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

A wonderful view of the Lake or golf course...your choice. Food was excellent and the staff awesome and friendly! Relaxing and enjoyable!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The evening dining experience was great ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The evening dining experience was great for our party of ten. Breakfast was a different story. The last day of our stay I called at 7am to make reservations for eight. When I arrived I was disappointed to find that we were actually placed in TJ Muskies, NOT stillwaters. It was quite a walk to the buffet for my wife who is handicapped and has two bad knees. Worst part: no one even asked us if that was acceptable. Dropped over $2000 on a weekend for a family get together. I felt that we should have received a little more consideration than that.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

We were disappointed in the meet offerin ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We were disappointed in the meet offering. The beef was dry, cold, and tough. The broccoli

was overcooked and cheese topping was cold.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

This place would be a home run if it had ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This place would be a home run if it had good food. You have a buffet but run out of or will not refresh with the hours of operation still 2hrs to go. The atmosphere/wait staff are wonderful. A nice wine list for the property. The food is the weakest link to this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

Food fresh and tasty. A bit pricy but w ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food fresh and tasty. A bit pricy but would eat there again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food! The buffet is always a d ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent food! The buffet is always a delight- beautifully presented food and delicious. Staff are always very good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Advertised as the signature restaurant a ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Advertised as the signature restaurant at Stonewall. Doesn't live up to its advertising compared to Lightburn's

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our first stay at Stonewall and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

This was our first stay at Stonewall and it was an excellent experience. We had 4 buffets at Stillwaters, 2 breakfast and two dinners. They did a wonderful job at changing the menus for each meal, we didn't feel we ate the same thing twice.

The breakfasts were delicious whether you are the preparedness or waited for a made to order omelet. All was very fresh and tasty, nothing was bland. The dinners we very good the sides were not disappointing either night, however the main meats the first night were a bit dry, I was expecting the brisket to be tender and a bit more fatty, but it was not; the pork was the same way. Taste was good just a little On the dry side.

The second night they served prime rib which was cooked and seasoned to perfection, we really enjoyed it. The salmon crab cakes were good, but it would have been better with a little sauce to go over it, but still not bad.

All in all we were pleased with the food. What they served on the buffet was very hearty and more on the comfort side, heavy on the cheese and bacon...very tasty.

Service was excellent they were all very helpful and attentive.

We enjoyed our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Very good food, disappointed staff did n ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Very good food, disappointed staff did not sit us near the window with a view any of the three times we ate there... Even though there were lots of tables available there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Dinner was good. Breakfast pancakes were awful.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We ate two meals at Stillwaters. We had our first meal on the evening of our arrival. Our dinner was very good. We each had beef; a steak for one and the short ribs for another. The short ribs were very good but the steak really was the best with a great flavor. Salad was fresh and roasted vegetables were very good too. We had excellent service. All in all we enjoyed our dinner.

Unfortunately, our other meal was not so good. We had breakfast on our last morning there. There is a buffet as well as ordering off the menu. I had the buffet and while there were some good items like the bacon and biscuits, the eggs were very overcooked and dry. The sausage gravy wasn't bad but needed some zip. There was plenty of items from the buffet like fresh fruit, cereal, different kinds of bread. One morning there had been french toast, pancakes and waffles but on the morning that we ate there was only very small chocolate chip pancakes. Those were very dried out and even hard on the edges so I didn't bother. My partner decided to order off the menu as she only wanted regular pancakes. They came and were 3 large pancakes but after one bite she couldn't eat them. They had no taste and were very heavy. I tasted them myself and really awful. On a good note, our server did take them off our bill without even my asking.

It was rather weird that dinner was good and breakfast so mediocre at best. I don't know how you mess up pancakes. Even Bisquick ones taste better than those.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

nothing to brag about....

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

My husband and I stayed at stonewall for our 11 yr anniversary.. We had 2 adult dinner buffets and 2 sweet teas anf an order of crab dip bill was 72.00 without tip....very loud very crowded wedding party and prom goers buffet was nothing to brag about I ate fish and steamed broccoli everything else I tried and didn't like. Dessert had been sitting out and was dry. The crab dip was good but was served with crackers that were awful we used our dinner roll for dipping instead waitress was very nice by mistake brought out unsweetened tea no big deal she checked on us as often as she could it was very busy several large parties We awoke in the morning and decided to give it another try with the breakfast menu and ordered room service biscuits were gummy not fully cooked and sausage gravy was gross...he had the gravy train and took 3 bites out of it and was done . I had plate of fruit which was good muffin was very dry . Waste of 42 bucks still left resort hungry.. I love the property it is beautiful we would love to come back and bring our kids if we do we will definately be trying light burn no more wasting money on stillwater .....

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

Excellent, but pricey

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We have enjoyed eating at Stillwaters several times and this was no exception. While the service was just a little slow they were quite busy and everyone was exceedingly pleasant. The food was excellent. The only complaint would be the pricing. There were four persons in our party and the total buffet pricing came to over $160. When including tip the total neared $200 for four persons. THAT is far too high for the area and the style of meal. We are not likely to return as a result and that is a shame.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

we were so impressed with the service. ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

we were so impressed with the service. Cheryl (?), DR supervisor at Stillwaters, and I had spoken by phone earlier in the week regarding flowers for my 93 year old mother, on our table, for Mother's Day. I decided not to do it. Cheryl took it upon herself to have a flower in a cute little cup, with a MD balloon, in the middle or our table, for my mother to take home. Mom absolutely loved it, and is still talking about it. This is great customer service. This is the third time we have been to Stillwaters, and it absolutely will not be our last.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent gem

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

9 ladies ranging from 40 to 69 gathered at this restaurant the service was fantastic. Friendly, polite, efficient, tidy, timely. The resteraunt was beautiful with a spectacular view and kind and courteous staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

The atmosphere and food was wonderful. We are not well educated on wines and would have appreciated if the waitress had offered her expertise.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Amazing that they charge 25 a head for a buffet

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

The view is really nice and the wine list as well, but it is high end institutional food. This isn't Las Vegas and the only thing it has going for it really is the friendly staff and the fact that there really isn't any other option.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

It was my husbands birthday and the wait ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

It was my husbands birthday and the waitress made it very special by bringing him out a great hot fudge cake. The whole restaurant experience was great. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing time

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Me an my wife recently visited Stillwaters for Valentines Day an we had an exceptional experience an the food was amazing ! Top notch

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good experience

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

We arrived early and were seated anyway. A good comedy show was happening in the facility after dinner which we were able to attend. The wait staff took good care of us.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Below par

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Not up to standards. All of the hot food was cold. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

New Years package

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We purchased the New Years package, dinner was good except it was not kid friendly. We are brunch the next day, I will never eat brunch there again, poor selection for adults and differently not kid friendly...

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Good for the most part

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Their dinner buffet has been up and down over the years. This one was about average. Salad, soup, seafood, and cheesecake were exceptional. The rest was fair. Service was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.