About Stillwaters Restaurant at Stonewall Resort

940 Resort Drive
Roanoke, WV 26447
View Larger Map

Savor the finest traditional and regional cuisine, along with our very own New Appalachian creations. Prepared by our talented culinary staff, local game, fish and produce have never tasted better. When the weather is just right, enjoy patio dining lakeside amidst relaxing views of Stonewall Jackson Lake and the rolling hills of West Virginia.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 10:30am; Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Interstate 79

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(304) 269-8880

Website:
http://www.stonewallresort.com/

Catering:
Please contact us for full service catering opportunities from our 4 Diamond Resort Staff.

Executive Chef:
Tim White

Private Party Facilities:
Stonewall Resort offers private dining facilities and menus for small private meetings and socials up to 500 guests for your dining pleasures.

Private Party Contact:
Chris Steffich: 3042698830

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Stillwaters Restaurant at Stonewall Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
West Virginia
Most Booked
West Virginia
Most Booked
Roanoke
Best Restaurants in Roanoke ›

Scenic View (27)
Good for a Date (18)
Waterfront (18)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Special Occasion (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Cozy (12)
Kid-friendly (12)
Family Style (11)
Casual (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Great for Lunch (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Romantic (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fireplace (6)
Seasonal (6)
Business Meals (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Healthy (4)
Great Beer (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Authentic (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
People Watching (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Historic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
258 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Have eaten here many times and continue ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined 3 days ago

Have eaten here many times and continue to return. This visit was for breakfast. Due to an after-the-holidays low census, they did not offer their buffet. Instead we ordered from the menu and the food was generous and delicious. In fact, the next trip I think I will skip the buffet and order from the menu. You have to try the French Toast made with banana nut bread. Also, the breakfast wrap is tasty. I highly recommend both! Super service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience. Ordered from the menu ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined 4 days ago

Great experience. Ordered from the menu as the buffet was not available. Excellent food and service. Steak for me and salmon for my wife. Great spinach salad.

Tags: Seasonal, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First ever visit to Stonewall Resort and ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 24, 2016

First ever visit to Stonewall Resort and over Thanksgiving weekend. Ate multiple times in Stillwater restaurant and our Thanksgiving dinner was wonderful! Table ready at time of reservation, very attentive staff, delicious and bountiful food that pleased from 4 to 76 year olds in our party. Love the Chrismas decorations evolving all weekend and ending with breakfast with Santa this morning before checking out. Will definitely return!

Tags: Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a group of 9 for Thanksgiving Din ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had a group of 9 for Thanksgiving Dinner. Everyone was pleased with the selection, quality, and price. Special requests were met without hesitation. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We also enjoyed the breakfast buffet in the morning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was tasty, with a good variety. Ser ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food was tasty, with a good variety. Service was outstanding and attention to special dietary need (gluten allergy) was extraordinary. Will definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Came to Stillwater's for a weekend dinne ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Came to Stillwater's for a weekend dinner. Had the buffet which was excellent. Creative comfort food. Service was excellent. Staff was very friendly. We enjoyed it so much we came back for breakfast the next morning.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Buffet was very good and affordable. Pri ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Buffet was very good and affordable. Price was similar to entrees with several options. Service is great. Waitstaff are very attentive and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Wonderful birthday dinner. Food was deli ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Wonderful birthday dinner. Food was delicious. We were a party of 14. Our waitress and the rest of the staff took excellent care of us.

Tags: Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend and I both got the dinner b ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My boyfriend and I both got the dinner buffet which included dessert and complimentary coffee which our waiter even gave us to go in a to go cup. He came over to check on us multiple times and the food on the buffet was very good for 25 dollars the restaurant was beautiful the wait staff was wonderful we had a great experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

My wife and I had a great time. We will ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My wife and I had a great time. We will be back to stay at the resort too. We live in Parkersburg.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience and food! Our server wa ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great experience and food! Our server was Tyler and he was awesome :)

Tags: Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Fireplace, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was great. You can either eat ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 11, 2016

The food was great. You can either eat from the buffet or order from the menu

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The meal we had featured beef, pork and ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The meal we had featured beef, pork and fish and it was very average. The last time we were there, everything was better,

Tags: Modern Decor, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

This restaurant was reasonably priced fo ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 3, 2016

This restaurant was reasonably priced for the offerings. I really enjoyed the steak and ale soup, as well as the frips. My husband and I felt the menu was a little limited, considering that we had eaten next door the previous night at TG Muskies and they share an exact menu. We did not however try the buffet, so I cannot comment on it. Just to be honest for other guests we did not like the fried green tomato blt or the seafood pasta.

Tags: Quick Bite, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We love dining at Stiiwaters, we enjoy t ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We love dining at Stiiwaters, we enjoy the atmosphere and the quality of the place. There is variations in the food, sometimes it's good, sometimes not good at all. Sometimes it's boring, sometimes it's fun. They should vary the food a bit more, like having Italian night, Asian night, Mexican night, and ect. The service at the carving station is poor, because the same person also replenishes the food on th buffet, so when you want a carved meat, he is nowhere to be found. We want Stonewall resort to flourish and be there for a long long time, so please, do better...

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great family dinner. Our waiter was wond ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great family dinner. Our waiter was wonderful - he took excellent care of us. Our daughter enjoyed a meal off the kids' menu and we enjoyed the delicious food off the bar! Afterwards, we roasted marshmallows by the outdoor fire and walked by the lake. Absolutely beautiful!!!

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stillwaters was ok. Service wasn't grea ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Stillwaters was ok. Service wasn't great. It took too long for the server to clear the used dishes from our table that were from the buffet. Expected it to be a little "classier" restaurant.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

This was our second Labor Day at the Sto ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on September 4, 2016

This was our second Labor Day at the Stonewall and couldn't be more pleased with everything. We had family come in from the Washington/ Baltimore/Annapolis area and they also found everything to be a 10. Thanks for your hospitality.

Tags: Business Meals, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice restaurant at Stonewall resort ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Very nice restaurant at Stonewall resort. Dinner buffet has many items to choose, but my wife and I ordered from the menu. I had the scallops which were great. My wife had a vegetarian meal prepared and she loved it.

Also had breakfast at Stillwaters. They also have a buffet for breakfast but again we ordered from the menu. We both had the egg white omelet with spinach and potatoes which we enjoyed.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We tried Stillwater on a Monday evening, ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on August 29, 2016

We tried Stillwater on a Monday evening, so the (high-end) buffet options were a little limited. The food that was there was good, however. Good beer selection. I went with a craft IPA, and it was delicious. The vegetable and pasta options were great. The roast beef was a big tougher and chewier than I would have liked. My wife did not enjoy it at all. The desserts tasted a bit "store-bought." I would go back and try it on a weekend, just to see if the options were better - as I have heard they are supposed to be. I would also dine outside on the patio. The view and ambiance is really nice out there. All in all, not a bad dining experience, but it could have been much better. Maybe after a Saturday on the lake, it would be better.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Waterfront, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

The service is wonderful. The food overa ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The service is wonderful. The food overall is just ok though. A few gems (the scallops for dinner and the scrambled eggs for breakfast), but overall, just ok.

Tags: Disabled Access, Waterfront, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Buffet was pretty good. The fish entrees ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Buffet was pretty good. The fish entrees seemed to be overcooked. Then again, it's hard to keep fish warm for extended time and it not be overcooked on a warmer. It is expensive (I think) for the buffet. The breakfast buffet is definitely the way to go.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Seated immediately. Waitress came and g ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Seated immediately. Waitress came and got us iced tea, then disappeared. We had to go to

The greeting station to ask for coffee with our dessert. Emily there said she would find her. Brought coffee and disappeared again until we asked for our check. Good food, great location , but very poor service. Have to think twice before returning. Mandy was our waitress.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

We were a little disappointed in the res ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We were a little disappointed in the restaurant. There were 2 restaurants in the Stonewall resort, they both seemed to have the same menu. It would be nice to have more choices when staying a weekend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We have always experienced excellent ser ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 19, 2016

We have always experienced excellent service at Stillwaters. The first evening this past weekend was no exception. On the second evening, we sat for 15-20 minutes before being waited on. But the staff was expecting a large group to arrive, and immediately upon a "friendly reminder" from us, they gave us excellent service, profuse apology, and a voluntary discount on our bill. No complaints at all.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Food was delicious and service was great ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Food was delicious and service was great. Very noisy. We could hardly talk together for dinner. Was better at breakfast. I thought the prices were high.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What I originally wanted off the menu th ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on August 8, 2016

What I originally wanted off the menu they were out of. So I ordered the buffet and it was terrible. Cold chicken, dry pork, and overcooked beef.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Very disappointed in the food. We had r ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Very disappointed in the food. We had reservations for 9, celebrating my mom's birthday. We had to wait while they put tables together. Three of adults in our group had the buffet. They were finished eating by the time the other 6 got their meals. We ordered appetizer for children while waiting on meals, it didn't come till our meals finally did. Buffet food was not good at all. After waiting almost 45 minutes for the other 6 meals, they were just bland. Again, was a disappointment especially after being a special occasion for our family, and then paying over $200! I don't believe we will plan a family meal there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

The dinner buffet was fabulous!

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The dinner buffet was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Both my wife's meal(scallops) and mine ( ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Both my wife's meal(scallops) and mine (pork chop) were over cooked, dry and over seasoned. The dessert was the highlight of the evening. We did not complain to wait staff about meal due to the fact of how busy they were.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Appetizers were great! Dessert was the b ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Appetizers were great! Dessert was the best part! Highly recommend the flourless cake.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Anyone you come in contact with while di ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Anyone you come in contact with while dining:servers, waitstaff, etc. are excellent. Very competent and wonderful interaction. The food ... NO... the only good thing that me or my adult children ate while we were there were the french fries. Neither my son nor daughter liked their food (except the fries) and I had the buffet (and I'm NOT a picky eater and assume all bad reviews are from people who are much more "foodie" than I am) but this food was awful.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

There are 2 restaurants at the Stonewall ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on July 28, 2016

There are 2 restaurants at the Stonewall Resort. We dined at both. Stillwaters was loud and filled with young children. The buffet was average but the service was poor. Our waiter disappeared for 10-15 minutes at a time so we were left with a pile of dirty plates and empty drinks. The wine and beer selection is limited.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

We were 90 minutes early for our schedul ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were 90 minutes early for our scheduled reservation and were seated out on the patio upon arrival. What a lovely view of the lake! We have been to Stillwaters on many occasions and overall enjoy our dining experience each time. However, the meat offerings this trip were not as tender and moist as in the past. The vegetable offerings and salads were great as usual.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

A wonderful view of the Lake or golf cou ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 8, 2016

A wonderful view of the Lake or golf course...your choice. Food was excellent and the staff awesome and friendly! Relaxing and enjoyable!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The evening dining experience was great ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on July 3, 2016

The evening dining experience was great for our party of ten. Breakfast was a different story. The last day of our stay I called at 7am to make reservations for eight. When I arrived I was disappointed to find that we were actually placed in TJ Muskies, NOT stillwaters. It was quite a walk to the buffet for my wife who is handicapped and has two bad knees. Worst part: no one even asked us if that was acceptable. Dropped over $2000 on a weekend for a family get together. I felt that we should have received a little more consideration than that.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

We were disappointed in the meet offerin ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on June 22, 2016

We were disappointed in the meet offering. The beef was dry, cold, and tough. The broccoli

was overcooked and cheese topping was cold.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

This place would be a home run if it had ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on June 18, 2016

This place would be a home run if it had good food. You have a buffet but run out of or will not refresh with the hours of operation still 2hrs to go. The atmosphere/wait staff are wonderful. A nice wine list for the property. The food is the weakest link to this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

Food fresh and tasty. A bit pricy but w ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food fresh and tasty. A bit pricy but would eat there again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food! The buffet is always a d ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent food! The buffet is always a delight- beautifully presented food and delicious. Staff are always very good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.