Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Stillwaters Restaurant at Stonewall Resort

4.0
271 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Scenic View
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Groups

About

Savor the finest traditional and regional cuisine, along with our very own New Appalachian creations. Prepared by our talented culinary staff, local game, fish and produce have never tasted better. When the weather is just right, enjoy patio dining lakeside amidst relaxing views of Stonewall Jackson Lake and the rolling hills of West Virginia.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Comfort Food
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast: Daily: 6:30am - 10:30am; Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(304) 269-8880
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Tim White
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Stonewall Resort offers private dining facilities and menus for small private meetings and socials up to 500 guests for your dining pleasures.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Chris Steffich: (304) 269-8830
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Please contact us for full service catering opportunities from our 4 Diamond Resort Staff.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Interstate 79
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 271 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.0based on all time ratings
3.8
food
4.1
service
4.1
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on January 13, 2017

We always enjoy this restaurant while staying at the resort. The staff is simply wonderful - they aim to please- one more friendly than then next. Simple menu - good food. The homemade granola is the bomb!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 7, 2017

Servers were attentive and kind. The buffet was just OK.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 6, 2017

For our anniversary, enjoyed our time with you....the restaurant was a nice
option, and the buffet was plentiful. Service was excellent...Rooms were
ok, I think we will try a lodge or cabin next time.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 31, 2016

Brunch much better than dinner

Dinner choices of meats were all dry.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 25, 2016

So it's Christmas. My family is now just my sister, her husband and me. I convince them instead of cooking a holiday meal for ourselves we should try going to one of my favorite parks and enjoy what should be a great treat. I called the restaurant after making the reservation to determine the menu options for Christmas Day. They told me the menu would be available or a buffet option. Menu turned out to be the bar menu - sandwiches, pizza and salad. The buffet was very disappointing. Most of the food was a casserole style, and mostly cold. Even the bread didn't seem fresh. Only one veg option, green bean casserole in overly thick mushroom sauce. Stillwater's definitely needs to up their game to appropriately represent Stonewall as a destination resort.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 25, 2016

A meal at Stonewall Resort is always delicious and the atmosphere is always welcoming. This Christmas dinner was no exception. The fireplace, holiday decorations, food and friendly staff made this a special event for our family.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 18, 2016

Fantastic service. Food was not up to its usual standards, but was OK.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 29, 2016

Have eaten here many times and continue to return. This visit was for breakfast. Due to an after-the-holidays low census, they did not offer their buffet. Instead we ordered from the menu and the food was generous and delicious. In fact, the next trip I think I will skip the buffet and order from the menu. You have to try the French Toast made with banana nut bread. Also, the breakfast wrap is tasty. I highly recommend both! Super service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 28, 2016

Great experience. Ordered from the menu as the buffet was not available. Excellent food and service. Steak for me and salmon for my wife. Great spinach salad.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 24, 2016

First ever visit to Stonewall Resort and over Thanksgiving weekend. Ate multiple times in Stillwater restaurant and our Thanksgiving dinner was wonderful! Table ready at time of reservation, very attentive staff, delicious and bountiful food that pleased from 4 to 76 year olds in our party. Love the Chrismas decorations evolving all weekend and ending with breakfast with Santa this morning before checking out. Will definitely return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 24, 2016

We had a group of 9 for Thanksgiving Dinner. Everyone was pleased with the selection, quality, and price. Special requests were met without hesitation. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We also enjoyed the breakfast buffet in the morning.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 24, 2016

The food was just ok. The setting is lovely. The staff is very nice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 24, 2016

Food was tasty, with a good variety. Service was outstanding and attention to special dietary need (gluten allergy) was extraordinary. Will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 12, 2016

Came to Stillwater's for a weekend dinner. Had the buffet which was excellent. Creative comfort food. Service was excellent. Staff was very friendly. We enjoyed it so much we came back for breakfast the next morning.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 29, 2016

Buffet was very good and affordable. Price was similar to entrees with several options. Service is great. Waitstaff are very attentive and friendly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 27, 2016

Wonderful birthday dinner. Food was delicious. We were a party of 14. Our waitress and the rest of the staff took excellent care of us.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 22, 2016

My boyfriend and I both got the dinner buffet which included dessert and complimentary coffee which our waiter even gave us to go in a to go cup. He came over to check on us multiple times and the food on the buffet was very good for 25 dollars the restaurant was beautiful the wait staff was wonderful we had a great experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 22, 2016

My wife and I had a great time. We will be back to stay at the resort too. We live in Parkersburg.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 15, 2016

Great experience and food! Our server was Tyler and he was awesome :)

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 11, 2016

The food was great. You can either eat from the buffet or order from the menu

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 9, 2016

The meal we had featured beef, pork and fish and it was very average. The last time we were there, everything was better,

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 3, 2016

This restaurant was reasonably priced for the offerings. I really enjoyed the steak and ale soup, as well as the frips. My husband and I felt the menu was a little limited, considering that we had eaten next door the previous night at TG Muskies and they share an exact menu. We did not however try the buffet, so I cannot comment on it. Just to be honest for other guests we did not like the fried green tomato blt or the seafood pasta.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 2, 2016

We love dining at Stiiwaters, we enjoy the atmosphere and the quality of the place. There is variations in the food, sometimes it's good, sometimes not good at all. Sometimes it's boring, sometimes it's fun. They should vary the food a bit more, like having Italian night, Asian night, Mexican night, and ect. The service at the carving station is poor, because the same person also replenishes the food on th buffet, so when you want a carved meat, he is nowhere to be found. We want Stonewall resort to flourish and be there for a long long time, so please, do better...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 1, 2016

Great family dinner. Our waiter was wonderful - he took excellent care of us. Our daughter enjoyed a meal off the kids' menu and we enjoyed the delicious food off the bar! Afterwards, we roasted marshmallows by the outdoor fire and walked by the lake. Absolutely beautiful!!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 17, 2016

Stillwaters was ok. Service wasn't great. It took too long for the server to clear the used dishes from our table that were from the buffet. Expected it to be a little "classier" restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 4, 2016

This was our second Labor Day at the Stonewall and couldn't be more pleased with everything. We had family come in from the Washington/ Baltimore/Annapolis area and they also found everything to be a 10. Thanks for your hospitality.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 2, 2016

Very nice restaurant at Stonewall resort. Dinner buffet has many items to choose, but my wife and I ordered from the menu. I had the scallops which were great. My wife had a vegetarian meal prepared and she loved it.

Also had breakfast at Stillwaters. They also have a buffet for breakfast but again we ordered from the menu. We both had the egg white omelet with spinach and potatoes which we enjoyed.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 29, 2016

We tried Stillwater on a Monday evening, so the (high-end) buffet options were a little limited. The food that was there was good, however. Good beer selection. I went with a craft IPA, and it was delicious. The vegetable and pasta options were great. The roast beef was a big tougher and chewier than I would have liked. My wife did not enjoy it at all. The desserts tasted a bit "store-bought." I would go back and try it on a weekend, just to see if the options were better - as I have heard they are supposed to be. I would also dine outside on the patio. The view and ambiance is really nice out there. All in all, not a bad dining experience, but it could have been much better. Maybe after a Saturday on the lake, it would be better.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 28, 2016

The service is wonderful. The food overall is just ok though. A few gems (the scallops for dinner and the scrambled eggs for breakfast), but overall, just ok.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 28, 2016

Buffet was pretty good. The fish entrees seemed to be overcooked. Then again, it's hard to keep fish warm for extended time and it not be overcooked on a warmer. It is expensive (I think) for the buffet. The breakfast buffet is definitely the way to go.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 21, 2016

Seated immediately. Waitress came and got us iced tea, then disappeared. We had to go to
The greeting station to ask for coffee with our dessert. Emily there said she would find her. Brought coffee and disappeared again until we asked for our check. Good food, great location , but very poor service. Have to think twice before returning. Mandy was our waitress.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 20, 2016

We were a little disappointed in the restaurant. There were 2 restaurants in the Stonewall resort, they both seemed to have the same menu. It would be nice to have more choices when staying a weekend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 19, 2016

We have always experienced excellent service at Stillwaters. The first evening this past weekend was no exception. On the second evening, we sat for 15-20 minutes before being waited on. But the staff was expecting a large group to arrive, and immediately upon a "friendly reminder" from us, they gave us excellent service, profuse apology, and a voluntary discount on our bill. No complaints at all.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 15, 2016

Food was delicious and service was great. Very noisy. We could hardly talk together for dinner. Was better at breakfast. I thought the prices were high.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on August 8, 2016

What I originally wanted off the menu they were out of. So I ordered the buffet and it was terrible. Cold chicken, dry pork, and overcooked beef.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 7, 2016

Very disappointed in the food. We had reservations for 9, celebrating my mom's birthday. We had to wait while they put tables together. Three of adults in our group had the buffet. They were finished eating by the time the other 6 got their meals. We ordered appetizer for children while waiting on meals, it didn't come till our meals finally did. Buffet food was not good at all. After waiting almost 45 minutes for the other 6 meals, they were just bland. Again, was a disappointment especially after being a special occasion for our family, and then paying over $200! I don't believe we will plan a family meal there again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 31, 2016

The dinner buffet was fabulous!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 30, 2016

Both my wife's meal(scallops) and mine (pork chop) were over cooked, dry and over seasoned. The dessert was the highlight of the evening. We did not complain to wait staff about meal due to the fact of how busy they were.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 29, 2016

Appetizers were great! Dessert was the best part! Highly recommend the flourless cake.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on July 29, 2016

Anyone you come in contact with while dining:servers, waitstaff, etc. are excellent. Very competent and wonderful interaction. The food ... NO... the only good thing that me or my adult children ate while we were there were the french fries. Neither my son nor daughter liked their food (except the fries) and I had the buffet (and I'm NOT a picky eater and assume all bad reviews are from people who are much more "foodie" than I am) but this food was awful.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7