Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Teton Pines RestaurantTeton Pines Restaurant
(80)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Wilson, Jackson Hole
Booked 7 times today
Rendezvous BistroRendezvous Bistro
(1153)
$$$$
American | Jackson, Jackson Hole
Booked 35 times today
The Gun Barrel Steak & Game HouseThe Gun Barrel Steak & Game House
(486)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Jackson, Jackson Hole
Booked 12 times today
Piste Mountain BistroPiste Mountain Bistro
(131)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Teton Village, Jackson Hole
Booked 13 times today
Il Villaggio OsteriaIl Villaggio Osteria
(704)
$$$$
Italian | Teton Village, Jackson Hole
Booked 8 times today
Spur Restaurant and Bar at Teton Mountain Lodge & SpaSpur Restaurant and Bar at Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa
(250)
$$$$
American | Teton Village, Jackson Hole
Booked 6 times today
The Granary RestaurantThe Granary Restaurant
(477)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Jackson, Jackson Hole
Booked 13 times today
Westbank Grill @ Four Seasons Jackson HoleWestbank Grill @ Four Seasons Jackson Hole
(266)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Teton Village, Jackson Hole
Booked 16 times today
The Handle Bar – Four Seasons Jackson HoleThe Handle Bar – Four Seasons Jackson Hole
(85)
$$$$
American | Teton Village, Jackson Hole
Booked 1 time today
Amangani GrillAmangani Grill
(77)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Jackson, Jackson Hole
Booked 1 time today
Noodle KitchenNoodle Kitchen
(62)
$$$$
Asian | Jackson, Jackson Hole
Alpenrose at the Alpenhof LodgeAlpenrose at the Alpenhof Lodge
(124)
$$$$
Swiss | Teton Village, Jackson Hole
Booked 1 time today
The PinsetterThe Pinsetter
(1)
$$$$
American | Jackson, Jackson Hole
Booked 2 times today
Trio An American BistroTrio An American Bistro
(936)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Jackson, Jackson Hole
Booked 6 times today
Local Restaurant and BarLocal Restaurant and Bar
(665)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Jackson, Jackson Hole
Booked 9 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Permanently Closed - Stiegler's Austrian/Continental Restaurant

This restaurant is permanently closed. NOTE: Stiegler’s will be closed for the off-season from October 16th thru December 1st. Reservations for Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, New Year's Eve and New Year's Day are not available online. In addition to our normal schedule, Stiegler's will also be open on Monday, December 26th.

For a unique and memorable evening, come to dinner at Stiegler’s. For 33 years, Peter Stiegler has provided guests Austrian and Continental favorites with attentive service in the charming ambiance of a Tirolean home. Stiegler’s is located at the Aspens, between the Town of Jackson and Jackson Hole Mountain Resort and serves dinner Tuesday thru Sunday from 5:30 – 9:30 PM.

3535 North Moose - Wilson Road
Wilson, WY 83014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Austrian, Continental, European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Highway 390

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(307) 733-1071

Website:
http://www.stieglersrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
DIRECTIONS: From Jackson, head north on Highway 22 towards Teton Village. Take a right on the Village Road (Hwy 390) and drive 2 miles. Turn left at The Aspens. Take the next left and turn right immediately into the Stiegler's Austrian Restaurant's parking lot.

Public Transit:
Stiegler's is located at The Aspens START bus stop on the Teton Village Road.

Executive Chef:
Peter Stiegler

Private Party Facilities:
Groups may rent out the entire 60 seat dining room or the 25 seat Copper Bar.

Private Party Contact:
Peter Stiegler: (307) 733-1071

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Rocktoberfest will be held Friday and Saturday, October 14th and 15th. The 15th will also be our last night of the summer season. Stiegler's will be closed from October 16th thru December 1st, 2016. Reservations for Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, New Year's Eve and New Year's Day or by phone only. Please call 307-733-1071.

Stiegler's Austrian/Continental Restaurant - Permanently Closed Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on all time ratingsThis restaurant has not received enough recent ratings to display a current ratings snapshot
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (306)
Fit for Foodies (253)
Romantic (244)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (196)
Notable Wine List (120)
Good for Groups (82)
Vibrant Bar Scene (61)
Great for Outdoor Dining (54)
Kid-friendly (27)
Hot Spot (22)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Authentic (20)
Scenic View (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Cozy (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Bar Seating (9)
Comfort Food (7)
Fun (6)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Business Meals (3)
Great Beer (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Healthy (1)
Live Music (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Casual (1)
Sort by
S
231 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on April 1, 2017

sorry to see Peter retiring. Good luck and congratulations!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Friends got together to enjoy Stieglers delicious dinner.We wanted to pay tribute to Peter Steigler as he is retiring next week. Over the years Steiglers has been delicious and delightful!! I will miss you Peter!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Stieglers is the BEST!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We will miss you and wish you all the best. Thank you for years of wonderful warm dining.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We have dined at Stieglers three times this year and loved it on all three occasions. This is traditional Austrian food prepared beautifully. The wine list has many interesting selections from Austria. The bar is a JH treasure. We hope that the new owners preserve this gem.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The food was wonderful. Worth the wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Awesome experience. Can only hope this continues under new management.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Everything about our dining experience was perfect! Our server, Christine, was the very best!

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Dinner party of 6 - everyone's order was served at the same time, excellent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Austrian food restaurant, with original twist created by the owner. Great tasting food. Very fesh, prepared to order. Great service. Little pricy, but worth every penny.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Great restaurant.
Would go back next year but closing for good in April 2018

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 28, 2017

It's always perfect! The food is always delicious, and the service is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Always one of the best in Jackson Hole! So sad that Peter is closing and retiring in early April. Happy for him though as he deserves it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

You need to enjoy this wonderful restaurant before it closes. We always go early to enjoy a cocktail in the bar before dinner. We will miss them. ❤

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The best restaurant in Jackson. Charlotte is by far the best server and ski instructor in all of Jackson. Wonderful experience-but hurry!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Glad we finally tried this place, and sad to hear the owner/chef has sold the business. At least we got to try it before the chef retired! Food was fantastic!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

A Jackson institution. Fabulous Austrian specialties. A perfect old world setting plus a lively bar. Food, and service unparalleled. Closing for good soon. So sad.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Always a lovely dinner with attentive service. One of our favorites and it will be missed.
Thank you Peter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We celebrated our parents 45th wedding anniversary with Peter and his staff. As always, amazing! Love, love, love this wonderful dining experience and all the amazing kitchen and front of house staff who make this restaurant the most memorable and joyful dining experience in Jackson Hole.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Probably our favorite Jackson Hole Restaurant. We will miss it (closing in April) and will go as often as we can before it is over. The lamb chops...schnitzel style...amazing. The sides are all worth fighting over! The food is plentiful, invariably delicious and actually a pretty good value for the valley. Don't make the mistake of passing on the rye bread in the bread basket...it is phenomenal, and if there is Russian creme for dessert (not a given) make sure to order one for everyone!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The Best!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This was the second time we have used Stiegler's for a ladies night. Both times the food has been fantastic, authentic, and prepared well. We loved all of the wine that we have gotten there. The service is excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The best! We had a wonderful time and Mr. Stiegler and staff were all so welcoming.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Visited while on vacation in January this year. Everything was excellent, made for a wonderful and memorable evening. Everything was on point, will be sure to return if ever in the area again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We loved this little slice of Austria in Jackson Hole. Think Wurst, spatzli, schnitzels, streussel- and some very interesting Austrian wines to match

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food and service, unique Austrian cuisine, very nice ambient

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great place, friendly staff, greeted by the proprietor. Good selection of German, Austrian and continental dishes. Really enjoyed it.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Celebrating daughter's short visit home, this wonderful little place never disappoints. It has always been a family favorite and the food, service and atmosphere are always superb. We always feel at home here, never rushed. Thanks Peter!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Made reservation through Open Table to celebrate 29th anniversary. They gave us a free desert to help us celebrate (very appreciated and unexpected).

Ordered the mini brats as appetizer. 10 to an order. Very tasty.

Ordered special: Elk Tips stew. Very tasty.

Ordered two deserts, one was free. Very tasty.

Owner came to table and asked us how we were enjoying our dinner. Very nice touch.

Maitre D, Waitstaff courteous and attentive. Waitperson was very helpful in explaining what we could expect with our orders.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Consistently well turned out authentic Austrian fare. A family favorite for many years now!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I have dinner at Stiegler's every year on my birthday and it never disappoints. The food is superb, the wait staff is very friendly and attentive without being overbearing. The Apfelstrudel with rum sauce for dessert is to die for. Best to make reservations about two weeks in advance to get a table during the Christmas/New Years time period.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Outstanding as usual !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We will be back!!! SO much fun and wonderful, authentic cuisine!

Tags: Great Beer, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 4, 2016

One of my favorite places and I come from Maryland to dine here. Food is fantastic and service superb!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The owner/host visited our table several times to check on our service and offer meal selections. The wait staff was efficient, personable and very helpful as well. Meal selections were varied and all offered a new experience for us. It was a dining experience typical of very good European restaurants.

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Wonderful find! Beautiful place, great food & service. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Fantastic!!!'n

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Both the service and the food were outstanding. We will definitely put this on top of our list of favorite restaurants.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 10, 2016

This restaurant has been a Jackson Hole standard for decades. Peter Stiegler continues to be a true host. Everything in the restaurant reflects his Austrian heritage. My family has come for years as couples up to a table for fourteen. Of course we have developed favorites over time but the daily specials keep the menu fresh. This is our first "must go" dining experience when we are hosting people new to the area.

As is true of many restaurants in this resort area, Stiegler's main dining room menu is not inexpensive but there are very affordable dining options on the bar menu. The bar is a great place for couples as it offers small tables as well as bar seating.

Don't miss eating here.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Always delicious Austrian specialties in cozy european atmosphere. The owner, Peter Steigler makes it a point to visit every table for a nice personal touch.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.