About Stiegler's Austrian/Continental Restaurant

3535 North Moose - Wilson Road
Wilson, WY 83014
View Larger Map

NOTE: Stiegler’s will be closed for the off-season from October 16th thru December 1st. Reservations for Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, New Year's Eve and New Year's Day are not available online. In addition to our normal schedule, Stiegler's will also be open on Monday, December 26th.

For a unique and memorable evening, come to dinner at Stiegler’s. For 33 years, Peter Stiegler has provided guests Austrian and Continental favorites with attentive service in the charming ambiance of a Tirolean home. Stiegler’s is located at the Aspens, between the Town of Jackson and Jackson Hole Mountain Resort and serves dinner Tuesday thru Sunday from 5:30 – 9:30 PM.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Austrian, Continental, European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Highway 390

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(307) 733-1071

Website:
http://www.stieglersrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
DIRECTIONS: From Jackson, head north on Highway 22 towards Teton Village. Take a right on the Village Road (Hwy 390) and drive 2 miles. Turn left at The Aspens. Take the next left and turn right immediately into the Stiegler's Austrian Restaurant's parking lot.

Public Transit:
Stiegler's is located at The Aspens START bus stop on the Teton Village Road.

Executive Chef:
Peter Stiegler

Private Party Facilities:
Groups may rent out the entire 60 seat dining room or the 25 seat Copper Bar.

Private Party Contact:
Peter Stiegler: 3077331071x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Rocktoberfest will be held Friday and Saturday, October 14th and 15th. The 15th will also be our last night of the summer season. Stiegler's will be closed from October 16th thru December 1st, 2016. Reservations for Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, New Year's Eve and New Year's Day or by phone only. Please call 307-733-1071.

Stiegler's Austrian/Continental Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
Best Food
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
Best Service
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
7 More
Best Ambiance
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
Best Value
Jackson Hole / Wyoming
Best Overall
Jackson Hole
Best Food
Jackson Hole
Best Service
Jackson Hole
Best Ambiance
Jackson Hole
Best Value
Jackson Hole
Best Restaurants in Wilson ›

Special Occasion (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
See All
Romantic (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Comfort Food (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Fireplace (4)
Authentic (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Historic (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Cozy (3)
Scenic View (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Music (1)
Business Meals (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Fun (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
191 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of my favorite places and I come f ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 5, 2016

One of my favorite places and I come from Maryland to dine here. Food is fantastic and service superb!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The owner/host visited our table several ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The owner/host visited our table several times to check on our service and offer meal selections. The wait staff was efficient, personable and very helpful as well. Meal selections were varied and all offered a new experience for us. It was a dining experience typical of very good European restaurants.

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful find! Beautiful place, great ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Wonderful find! Beautiful place, great food & service. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic!!!'n

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Fantastic!!!'n

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Both the service and the food were outst ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Both the service and the food were outstanding. We will definitely put this on top of our list of favorite restaurants.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has been a Jackson Hole ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 11, 2016

This restaurant has been a Jackson Hole standard for decades. Peter Stiegler continues to be a true host. Everything in the restaurant reflects his Austrian heritage. My family has come for years as couples up to a table for fourteen. Of course we have developed favorites over time but the daily specials keep the menu fresh. This is our first "must go" dining experience when we are hosting people new to the area.

As is true of many restaurants in this resort area, Stiegler's main dining room menu is not inexpensive but there are very affordable dining options on the bar menu. The bar is a great place for couples as it offers small tables as well as bar seating.

Don't miss eating here.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always delicious Austrian specialties in ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Always delicious Austrian specialties in cozy european atmosphere. The owner, Peter Steigler makes it a point to visit every table for a nice personal touch.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service!!! A nice oppo ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great food, great service!!! A nice opportunity to try food with Austrian flare!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic and charming. Delicious food a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Authentic and charming. Delicious food and excellent personal service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was one of the best dinners we have h ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 21, 2016

It was one of the best dinners we have had during our 66 day road trip. We left Florida 7/6/16

This s chef was excellent! The food was excellent

Give it 5 stars all around!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was such a pleasure to enter into thi ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 17, 2016

It was such a pleasure to enter into this restaurant and feel like you were their best customer, especially since we had never been before. The staff, food and ambience were spectacular. A definite repeat.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best in the Valley. Peter Stiegler, ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on August 15, 2016

The best in the Valley. Peter Stiegler, graduate of a top Austrian hotel and restaurant school, is there every day, paying careful attention to detail.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

What a great fining experience. Always i ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 14, 2016

What a great fining experience. Always is and this was as amazing as ever!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited restaurant since 2010 but not th ...

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Visited restaurant since 2010 but not the last two years; our visit was an anticipated event to dine on European food in a friendly atmosphere.

The head waiter seemed pre-occupied though there were only two couples in the restaurant; he asked us six times for our names and reservations..

Seated in the main dining room, our waiter arrived before we sat down and seemed perturbed that we did not know what we wanted to drink, and his second appearance was not until 20min later, though the restaurant was nearly empty.

Service: The support staff was excellent, prompt, and always with a smile. Our waiter was standoffish at best...

Food: (1) Appetizer plate was exquisitely presented but the taste was less than desirable. Too much vinegar in the potato and cucumber salads made this dish nearly unpalatable

(2) Soups/gaspacho was yet again presented very well but was completely tasteless; Hu goulash soup resembled that of canned vegetable soup with pieces of beef.

(3) The liver was over cooked, twice its normal thickness and marred with gristle which made the simple chewing an Olympic sport; the Zuerich Schnitzel was buried under a mass of overcooked vegetables and sauce.

(4) Dessert/apple strudel was baked to perfection and literally melted in the palate. Equally good was the dessert coffee!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

Splendid dining and attractive restauran ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Splendid dining and attractive restaurant with attentive management.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Fabulous! Great Food, Great Service and ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Fabulous! Great Food, Great Service and Great People!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have enjoyed Stiegler's ambiance and f ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 3, 2016

I have enjoyed Stiegler's ambiance and fine Austrian food and wine for many years. I dined alone, and had a fine meal and a great evening. Service was a slight bit slow as I arrived shortly after two large groups, bur all was well. The greeting at the door was warm, and I enjoyed a short chat with Peter Stiegler, the owner, before being seated. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

One of the best places to eat in Jackson ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on July 29, 2016

One of the best places to eat in Jackson. Every meal is perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were excited to find a restaurant on ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 29, 2016

We were excited to find a restaurant on our vacation that could prepare an Austrian menu gluten free. It was pricey, but because of the gluten free diet (due to celiac disease) we haven't been able to have good Austrian/German food for 18 years, so price wasn't a consideration this time. We made a reservation, which was recommended. The restaurant needs to put on their website that there is a dress code. I don't think there is, but when we came in from driving 8 hours wearing jeans and t-shirts, the waiter seemed to think less of us because of our attire. The food was wonderful. We enjoyed it very much. Service was very slow. We waited for 15-20 minutes for the bill. We were going to order dessert, but decided against it, since the waiter took so long at getting back to our table. After we left, we received a call from the manager of the restaurant apologizing for the service we received. He offered a free dessert next time we come back. While I appreciate the phone call, our initial experience was not favorable and we will not visit again.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Peter Steigler is a true professional. H ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Peter Steigler is a true professional. He greeted every customer, assisted the wait staff and bus staff when needed, watered the flowers on the patio -- he is involved in every aspect of his business. We enjoyed an authentic Austrian meal and authentic Austrian wine and spirits. This is a gem in the Jackson/Teton area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was not flavorful and certainly not ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food was not flavorful and certainly not worth the price, meat tasted old. Coffee was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Wonderful Austrian/Continental fare and ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Wonderful Austrian/Continental fare and attentive staff. Peter Stiegler often stops by to see how you are enjoying your meal. We always stop for dinner when we are in Jackson Hole.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Stieglers has awesome food that is serve ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Stieglers has awesome food that is served by very professional servers. I highly recommend it for special evenings or family get togethers. It is somewhat pricey so only affluent folks could dine there on a regular basis, but the value is very good.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Fantastic sleeper restaurant in the Jack ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Fantastic sleeper restaurant in the Jackson area. Great drinks too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Recommended by friends in Scottsdale. ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 4, 2016

Recommended by friends in Scottsdale. We enjoyed our evening and also would recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Austrian cuisine is not particularly ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2016

The Austrian cuisine is not particularly well executed, but the atmosphere is adult and service is good. The wine list is pretty decent and there is a well-stocked bar. The owner is always around to make sure every thing goes smoothly. All told, a civilized dining experience in a town where would-be cowboy eateries are the norm. Prices are high, but no worse than anywhere else in Jackson.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience at Stiegler's. Food wa ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great experience at Stiegler's. Food was great and we were able to eat outside which was fun. I have always had a good experience and will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Pretty darn good Austrian-German food. T ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 30, 2016

Pretty darn good Austrian-German food. The Elk and the Burger are worth the trip on their own right. Excellent wine list. Horrible (lack of) beer selection. All in all a must do while in Jackson. We went back twice during our week :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

While the service was top-notch the food ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on June 29, 2016

While the service was top-notch the food fell a bit flat (except for the dumplings and onion-dill soup - that was amazing). The meat tasted freezer burned and was not tender. So while the soups and appetizers shined, the entrees were too blase', especially for the price we paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

The Austrian food and the wait staff wer ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on June 20, 2016

The Austrian food and the wait staff were outstanding! Wiener schnitzel, potato salad, and spatzle was wunderbar!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and great service! If you a ...

 
 (London)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Amazing food and great service! If you are in Jackson, this is a place you can't pass up!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very helpful staff and after hearing the ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Very helpful staff and after hearing the specials we decided to order one of each. A group of 4 of us enjoyed everything by sharing plates. The meal could not have been better and we ended up staying until closing and got a photo with the staff. One of the highlights for our trip to Jackson Hole and look forward to returning soon. Highly recommend trying it all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was beyond delicious and the gl ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 8, 2016

The food was beyond delicious and the gluten free menu for our daughter was quite extensive. Great service and great food. What a wonderful dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We needed somewhere to celebrate with ou ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 6, 2016

We needed somewhere to celebrate with our god-daughter and her brand new husband. She has been going to Steiglers for years and made a special request to do it there. It was perfect - the ambiance the food, and, of course, the company. The menu and the wine list are both very interesting and the staff are wonderfully attentive in an understated way. Everyone who visits Jackson should go there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious and authentic but expensive

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Delicious and authentic but expensive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place to eat in Jackson Hole!

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on March 28, 2016

Best place to eat in Jackson Hole!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner at Stieglers

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Our special dinner with the family included 2 young children this year. The service was excellent and our wait staff was very attentive. The trout was wonderful as was the Mama Stieglers dish. We loved that they hid some vegetables in with the kids french fries! The atmosphere was wonderful and it is our tradition to dine at Stieglers on our last night of vacation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Welcomed then not welcomed

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 18, 2016

Was welcomed the moment we walked through the door. Sat at a table and had a nice meal, nothing outstanding, then when we were finished and paid the bill. We weren't welcome anymore. The server took everything off the table. The lit candle, the flower, the salt and pepper mill, out table had nothing on it but the table cloth. Don't know if they were in a hurry to get home or what but it certainly didn't make us feel very wanted.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The best restaurant in Jackson Hole

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on March 11, 2016

My wife's mother is from Germany and also my family generations before so we often eat German and Austrian cuisine. We've been to numerous German and Austrian restaurants in Texas where we live. Some are very good but none as good as Stiegler's. We have been vacationing and dining in Jackson Hole for 20 plus years and always make it a point to eat at Peter Stiegler's restaurant. The food is beyond excellent and the bar is very cozy with a nice stone fire place perfect for a romantic dinner on vacation. (Note: Children not allowed in the bar dining area.) Try the schlipfkrapfen appitizer and Salat Teller. You'll be happy you did.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Austrian Delight!

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on March 5, 2016

We just loved Stiegler's! The European ambiance along with the Austrian cuisine made for a lovely dining experience! The food was fantastic, all the staff were professional and attentive, the restaurant has an old world feel to it~loved the fireplace! My only complaint is that there isn't much for vegetarians in the entree department, even the scallops were encircled by bacon. I ended up with a double order of the appetizer potato filled ravioli...which was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.