Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Stiegler's Austrian/Continental Restaurant

4.7
231 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Austrian
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Romantic

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. NOTE: Stiegler’s will be closed for the off-season from October 16th thru December 1st. Reservations for Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, New Year's Eve and New Year's Day are not available online. In addition to our normal schedule, Stiegler's will also be open on Monday, December 26th.

For a unique and memorable evening, come to dinner at Stiegler’s. For 33 years, Peter Stiegler has provided guests Austrian and Continental favorites with attentive service in the charming ambiance of a Tirolean home. Stiegler’s is located at the Aspens, between the Town of Jackson and Jackson Hole Mountain Resort and serves dinner Tuesday thru Sunday from 5:30 – 9:30 PM.

Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Austrian, Continental, European
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(307) 733-1071
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Peter Stiegler
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Groups may rent out the entire 60 seat dining room or the 25 seat Copper Bar.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Peter Stiegler: (307) 733-1071
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Highway 390
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
DIRECTIONS: From Jackson, head north on Highway 22 towards Teton Village. Take a right on the Village Road (Hwy 390) and drive 2 miles. Turn left at The Aspens. Take the next left and turn right immediately into the Stiegler's Austrian Restaurant's parking lot.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Stiegler's is located at The Aspens START bus stop on the Teton Village Road.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Rocktoberfest will be held Friday and Saturday, October 14th and 15th. The 15th will also be our last night of the summer season. Stiegler's will be closed from October 16th thru December 1st, 2016. Reservations for Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, New Year's Eve and New Year's Day or by phone only. Please call 307-733-1071.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 231 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.7based on all time ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.6
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on April 1, 2017

sorry to see Peter retiring. Good luck and congratulations!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2017

Friends got together to enjoy Stieglers delicious dinner.We wanted to pay tribute to Peter Steigler as he is retiring next week. Over the years Steiglers has been delicious and delightful!! I will miss you Peter!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2017

Stieglers is the BEST!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2017

We will miss you and wish you all the best. Thank you for years of wonderful warm dining.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 16, 2017

We have dined at Stieglers three times this year and loved it on all three occasions. This is traditional Austrian food prepared beautifully. The wine list has many interesting selections from Austria. The bar is a JH treasure. We hope that the new owners preserve this gem.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 10, 2017

The food was wonderful. Worth the wait.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2017

Awesome experience. Can only hope this continues under new management.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2017

Everything about our dining experience was perfect! Our server, Christine, was the very best!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2017

Dinner party of 6 - everyone's order was served at the same time, excellent food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2017

Austrian food restaurant, with original twist created by the owner. Great tasting food. Very fesh, prepared to order. Great service. Little pricy, but worth every penny.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 28, 2017

Great restaurant.
Would go back next year but closing for good in April 2018

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 28, 2017

It's always perfect! The food is always delicious, and the service is excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2017

Always one of the best in Jackson Hole! So sad that Peter is closing and retiring in early April. Happy for him though as he deserves it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2017

You need to enjoy this wonderful restaurant before it closes. We always go early to enjoy a cocktail in the bar before dinner. We will miss them. ❤

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2017

The best restaurant in Jackson. Charlotte is by far the best server and ski instructor in all of Jackson. Wonderful experience-but hurry!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2017

Glad we finally tried this place, and sad to hear the owner/chef has sold the business. At least we got to try it before the chef retired! Food was fantastic!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2017

Always a lovely dinner with attentive service. One of our favorites and it will be missed.
Thank you Peter.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2017

A Jackson institution. Fabulous Austrian specialties. A perfect old world setting plus a lively bar. Food, and service unparalleled. Closing for good soon. So sad.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2017

We celebrated our parents 45th wedding anniversary with Peter and his staff. As always, amazing! Love, love, love this wonderful dining experience and all the amazing kitchen and front of house staff who make this restaurant the most memorable and joyful dining experience in Jackson Hole.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 1, 2017

Probably our favorite Jackson Hole Restaurant. We will miss it (closing in April) and will go as often as we can before it is over. The lamb chops...schnitzel style...amazing. The sides are all worth fighting over! The food is plentiful, invariably delicious and actually a pretty good value for the valley. Don't make the mistake of passing on the rye bread in the bread basket...it is phenomenal, and if there is Russian creme for dessert (not a given) make sure to order one for everyone!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 29, 2017

The Best!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 28, 2017

This was the second time we have used Stiegler's for a ladies night. Both times the food has been fantastic, authentic, and prepared well. We loved all of the wine that we have gotten there. The service is excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 22, 2017

The best! We had a wonderful time and Mr. Stiegler and staff were all so welcoming.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 22, 2017

Visited while on vacation in January this year. Everything was excellent, made for a wonderful and memorable evening. Everything was on point, will be sure to return if ever in the area again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 21, 2017

We loved this little slice of Austria in Jackson Hole. Think Wurst, spatzli, schnitzels, streussel- and some very interesting Austrian wines to match

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food and service, unique Austrian cuisine, very nice ambient

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2017

Great place, friendly staff, greeted by the proprietor. Good selection of German, Austrian and continental dishes. Really enjoyed it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 8, 2017

Celebrating daughter's short visit home, this wonderful little place never disappoints. It has always been a family favorite and the food, service and atmosphere are always superb. We always feel at home here, never rushed. Thanks Peter!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 7, 2017

Made reservation through Open Table to celebrate 29th anniversary. They gave us a free desert to help us celebrate (very appreciated and unexpected).

Ordered the mini brats as appetizer. 10 to an order. Very tasty.

Ordered special: Elk Tips stew. Very tasty.

Ordered two deserts, one was free. Very tasty.

Owner came to table and asked us how we were enjoying our dinner. Very nice touch.

Maitre D, Waitstaff courteous and attentive. Waitperson was very helpful in explaining what we could expect with our orders.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 3, 2017

Consistently well turned out authentic Austrian fare. A family favorite for many years now!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 30, 2016

I have dinner at Stiegler's every year on my birthday and it never disappoints. The food is superb, the wait staff is very friendly and attentive without being overbearing. The Apfelstrudel with rum sauce for dessert is to die for. Best to make reservations about two weeks in advance to get a table during the Christmas/New Years time period.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 23, 2016

Outstanding as usual !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 18, 2016

We will be back!!! SO much fun and wonderful, authentic cuisine!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 4, 2016

One of my favorite places and I come from Maryland to dine here. Food is fantastic and service superb!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 1, 2016

The owner/host visited our table several times to check on our service and offer meal selections. The wait staff was efficient, personable and very helpful as well. Meal selections were varied and all offered a new experience for us. It was a dining experience typical of very good European restaurants.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 29, 2016

Wonderful find! Beautiful place, great food & service. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 17, 2016

Fantastic!!!'n

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 17, 2016

Both the service and the food were outstanding. We will definitely put this on top of our list of favorite restaurants.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 10, 2016

This restaurant has been a Jackson Hole standard for decades. Peter Stiegler continues to be a true host. Everything in the restaurant reflects his Austrian heritage. My family has come for years as couples up to a table for fourteen. Of course we have developed favorites over time but the daily specials keep the menu fresh. This is our first "must go" dining experience when we are hosting people new to the area.

As is true of many restaurants in this resort area, Stiegler's main dining room menu is not inexpensive but there are very affordable dining options on the bar menu. The bar is a great place for couples as it offers small tables as well as bar seating.

Don't miss eating here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 2, 2016

Always delicious Austrian specialties in cozy european atmosphere. The owner, Peter Steigler makes it a point to visit every table for a nice personal touch.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
6