Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Sterling's Seafood Steakhouse at Silver Legacy Resort Casino

Recently voted one of the Top 100 Restaurants in the nation for "Best Service" by OpenTable. Sterling's Seafood Steakhouse is an award winning classic American Steakhouse featuring an extensive menu and wine list as well as world class hospitality. Sterling's has been voted Best Restaurant in Northern Nevada by Nevada Magazine, Best Casino Restaurant by the Reno Gazette Journal, Best Wine List by the Reno News and Review and Reno Gazette Journal, Best Sunday Brunch by Casino Player Magazine and is the recipient of 12 consecutive Awards of Excellence from the Wine Spectator Magazine. Sterling's enjoys a 4.5 star rating on all social media sites.

407 N. Virginia St
Reno, NV 89501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday 9:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Daily 5:00pm - closing. Please no sleeveless shirts for our gentleman guests.

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 687-8733

Website:
http://www.silverlegacyreno.com/dining/sterlings-seafood-steakhouse/

Entertainment:
If you’re looking for exciting Reno entertainment and hip nightlife that has a little something for everyone, then look no further than Silver Legacy. With six different venues to choose from, Silver Legacy offers a large variety of Reno events including live performances and shows. Voted Best Entertainment, Best Concerts and Best Comedy Club by Casino Player Magazine, we have just what you are looking for.

Parking Details:
Parking is convenient and free in our 11-story self-parking garage. Complimentary valet service is also available.

Executive Chef:
Neil Campbell

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sterling's Seafood Steakhouse at Silver Legacy Resort Casino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (49)
Special Occasion (43)
Good for a Date (37)
See All
Romantic (36)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Notable Wine List (24)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Cozy (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Business Meals (13)
Authentic (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Family Style (6)
Casual (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Healthy (3)
Fun (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Fireplace (2)
People Watching (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vegan (1)
Seasonal (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Private Room (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
1023 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 3 days ago

Superior staff. Will and Brian were excellent. Carlos Torres, Maître d', is the most splendid, knowledgeable and attentive to customers Maître d' we have experienced in any restaurant we have visited world wide.
The steaks here are superb and cooked exactly to order.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (London)·Dined 5 days ago

Superb food, great atmosphere, friendly informative service and attention to detail

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 7 days ago

Sterling steakhouse is one of my favorite places for a really nice steak and a delicious glass of wine. We took some clients out for dinner here, and the service was severely lacking. I ordered the bone-in ribeye, which did not disappoint! The food is rarely an issue at this place. Sterling's is very consistent, and you always know what you are going to get in flavor and portions. I was very disappointed is our service this trip. We were seated right away, and waters served immediately. It took quite some time to get our drink order we didn't get our order taken until about 45 minutes after being seated. Considering the reservation was for 830pm, we didn't actually get our plates for dinner until almost 10. The restaurant was closing as we were finishing our entrees. Our server never even offered us dessert, which is one of the reasons I love going to this place. Their dessert menu is astronomical! My only recommendation, would be get a table earlier in the evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Came here for an anniversary dinner with my wife. The service was excellent. My wife wanted a fruity cocktail, but didn't know exactly what. Our waiter suggested something that she really liked.

For dinner, my wife ordered the Filet Mignon medium rare. It was cooked perfectly. I ordered the 20 oz Porterhouse medium. I was slightly disappointed as it was rather thin and had more gristle and fat than I expected from a higher end steakhouse. All the sides were perfect though.

Dessert was very nice. They bring out a cart with an example of all of their desserts. My wife ordered the three small creme brulees. They came out on fire to finish caramelizing the sugar which was a nice touch. I ordered the fudge cake with vanilla ice cream. I order chocolate cake at nearly every restaurant that offers it. This was the best chocolate cake I've ever had. They also poured warm chocolate syrup over it which gave it kind of a lava cake taste and feel. The frosting was soft and creamy without being sticky.

The only atmosphere issue we had was a couple gentlemen sitting at a center table right next to our booth. They were fairly loud with their conversation which bled into our dining experience. The restaurant was fairly empty, so there was no reason to cram everybody together in a small area.

Overall, it was a special, expensive (for us) dinner that we do once a year. The food and service were worth the money.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Only basic service. Asked about desserts. Tim only brought the iPad menu. Asked about the dessert cart. Tim said everything in the cart is on the menu. Didn't order dessert.

Didn't come to check on us. Had to wait over 20 minutes between salad/soup course and appearance of main meal.

Didn't ask about drink refills.

Had to ask twice about bread.

This is our fourth visit and it was terrible. Not at all worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Everything was amazing. The food, the wine, the service. It was all perfect.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Filet was too thin and over cooked. Came with one shrimp that was over cooked as well. Should have ordered the Prime Rib!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Expensive steaks, not cooked to order (medium rare), tough overdone meat. Waiter not bringing a pen for the room charge as he had to first verify I was genuine..."it's for your own protection". Waiter not asking why I had taken just 4 bites out of my $50 steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Best of the best!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Very good food and service. The portions are very large. Excellent service by our waiter Jesse

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 8, 2017

When we have time we always hit this place. While it is more expensive than some of the other nearby restaurants it is a real treat.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Atmosphere was,nice , but honestly it was way overrated and overpriced . I had,the swordfish and my host and had the filet....I had the fish plain... and the taste bad ..I was told that I needed the extra sauces on to make it to make it better...really ...I actually like the taste of fish. As for my husbands steak definitely was,not worth the price.
The desserts are nice to look at and are good...overall I would not come back or,recommend it to anyone...sorry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 6, 2017

In RENO the Sterlin is our alltime favorite Restaurant, we most like the chateau brinad

also we like the French Onion soup an the clam chowder much

its worth the extra mile !

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Our first time there and we were not impressed with the food - steaks not done to order - bread not exceptional - house salad boring. For the price, go to Harrah's or Roxy's - both are much better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great food and service. Steakhouse meal with very good prices.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We went to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday. We had a party of 8 and asked the server to split the check for 3 different groups. He did not hesitate and took care of it. Most of us got different meals and everyone thought the food was great. The deserts were excellent. The service was first class. We never had a water or drink glass go more than half full before someone filled it. The manager and his manager checked on us to make sure everything was meeting our expectations. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone. Being in the casino the dress is casual with the service that of a formal restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 26, 2017

What a great place to duck away from the noise and crowds of the Casinos and enjoy a relaxed and elegant meal. Top shelf bar and extensive wine selection. We had a starter of shrimp cocktail, followed by melt-in-your mouth Fillet Mignon, charbroiled to perfection. Wish I saved space for something off their amazing dessert cart. Service was excellent from the time we arrived til the end of our meal with no delays. Cost was somewhat high but very appropriate for the quality. Well worth it for a special dinning experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Our food was exceptional and we were provided with outstanding service the entire night. Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 22, 2017

They sell the sizzle, too bad the food does not live up to the sizzle.
If the food was as good as the service it would be very good. They are very willing to charge a lot for very nice presentation. Will not be back and will tell my friends.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on March 21, 2017

The food is outstanding and the restaurant is warm and beautiful.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Once again Sterling's did not disappoint. It was my fiancés birthday dinner. I had a boquet of roses delivered earlier in the day and the staff had them on our table waiting when we sat down. Every time we go to Reno this is our one and only must visit location!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Classic steak house with great food, good wine, and attentive service.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

My husband and I took a mid-week getaway to Reno and dined at Sterlings. The atmosphere was quiet (it was a Tuesday evening), which was nice. The food was excellent and our waiter was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Had another fantastic visit and dinner at the steak house. Never, never a disappointing visit. Service (Erick) is fantastic and the food is always delicious. And Carlos is a terrific greeter at the front door. You will not be disappointed with your visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Fantastic service, but just a little disappointed in the 2 appetizers and soup we had. I really don't like to complain but the crab cakes (flavors didn't mash well and soggy), shrimp scampi (Dried out shrimp), lobster bisque fell short (super salty, but otherwise great). Our prime rib was tremendous and I was very very pleased with the service. Couldn't have been better. We had Cody and some very pleasant young woman on 3/18.

Thank you and if we come back to Reno we will definitely eat there!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We took friends to dinner at Sterlings for their 50th Anniversary . The food was delicious , the service outstanding , and dessert knocked their socks off! Thanks for making it a great occasion!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Great service food was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Once again, outstanding service and spectacular food. My Filet Oscar had two huge chunks of perfect crabmeat and was simply delicious. The waiter was appropriately diligent in checking on the food but not bothersome. Cocktails were perfect. Another sensational experience at Sterling's; absolute top notch in Reno!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 6, 2017

our service was very exceptional. i felt our dinner sat for a while before getting it to us. the noodles in the beef stroganoff were stuck to the plate and were stuck together. not like a dish that would have been served fresh and tossed together just before serving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Glad to finally get a reservation for this restaurant after visiting Reno for several years. Booked in advance and recommend anyone to do so to get your date and time.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 27, 2017

I can't recommend Sterlings based on this trip. The food was just OK at best. We chose it because it stated it's a "seafood" restaurant, if it is it missed the mark on my Diver Scallops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Every year the wife and I make a trip to Reno. During our stay we like to try out different restaurants while we're here. However, I always reserve our Saturday night dinner plans at the Sterling Steakhouse. They have a great staff, a great decor and most of all, amazing food.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Salmon and scallops were out of this world. PERFECTLY cooked. Steaks are always delectably cooked to your liking. French onion soup outstanding. Every time! Lemon drop martini yummy, well made! Great bread! All in all great. Only negative feedback are House salad needs work, not enough in it and dressing too overpowering. Salad presentation in pastry is nice. Purple princess yams not good. Dry and uninviting. All in all, a favorite place of ours to go when in Reno!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Our favorite place to have an excellent steak! Friendly and familiar faces. We are always treated wonderfully and look forward to our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Was anticipating an outstanding experience based on reviews. Steak was great but raw oysters were very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We needed a place to meet a client that wanted steak while in Reno for business. We chose Sterling's due to convenience for our guest, ratings and recommendations on Yelp, and having an open table for the time we desired. It was amazing, the food was spectacular, and the service was perfect, not overly done, very pleasant and professional. I would consider this one of the best dining experiences I've had in Reno so far! BRAVO!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We always go to Sterlings on our yearly trip, love the food, love the service I had the salmon it was truly wonderful with lots of wonderful vegetables very happy

Tags: Cozy, Outstanding Value, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Wonderful once again. Love the fact that we see familiar faces from year to year. Dinner at Sterlings, always gets our trip off to a great start. We must do Brunch next time as well.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I was disappointed when I showed up for my dinner and I saw the price list. On average things on the menu were 45$ and up. I looked at reviews on yelp and what I was looking at wasn't what I showed up too. I was very disappointed. I ended up leaving before ordering anything and went to the buffet down the way and got all I could eat snow crab for 30$ a person.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was very good: NY strip steak, oysters Rockefeller, spinach and mushrooms. However, my Caesar salad was served without dressing and I had to send it back. The service was also really slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.