About Sterling's Seafood Steakhouse at Silver Legacy Resort Casino

407 N. Virginia St
Reno, NV 89501
View Larger Map

Recently voted one of the Top 100 Restaurants in the nation for "Best Service" by OpenTable. Sterling's Seafood Steakhouse is an award winning classic American Steakhouse featuring an extensive menu and wine list as well as world class hospitality. Sterling's has been voted Best Restaurant in Northern Nevada by Nevada Magazine, Best Casino Restaurant by the Reno Gazette Journal, Best Wine List by the Reno News and Review and Reno Gazette Journal, Best Sunday Brunch by Casino Player Magazine and is the recipient of 12 consecutive Awards of Excellence from the Wine Spectator Magazine. Sterling's enjoys a 4.5 star rating on all social media sites.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday 9:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Daily 5:00pm - closing. Please no sleeveless shirts for our gentleman guests.

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 687-8733

Website:
http://www.silverlegacyreno.com/dining/sterlings-seafood-steakhouse/

Entertainment:
If you’re looking for exciting Reno entertainment and hip nightlife that has a little something for everyone, then look no further than Silver Legacy. With six different venues to choose from, Silver Legacy offers a large variety of Reno events including live performances and shows. Voted Best Entertainment, Best Concerts and Best Comedy Club by Casino Player Magazine, we have just what you are looking for.

Parking Details:
Parking is convenient and free in our 11-story self-parking garage. Complimentary valet service is also available.

Executive Chef:
Neil Campbell

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bread
Appetizer
Wine
Trio Of Crème Brulées
Wedge Salad
Vegetarian Napoleon
Seafood Buffet
Prime Rib
Oysters Rockefeller
crab
Pepper Seared Ahi Tuna
Cocktail Shrimp, Oysters & Mussels
Petite Filet Mignon With Shitake Mushrooms
Breakfast Buffet
Chocolate Covered Strawberries
Grilled Salmon Oscar
porterhouse steak

Sterling's Seafood Steakhouse at Silver Legacy Resort Casino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Service
Tahoe / Reno Area
Notable Wine List
Tahoe / Reno Area
12 More
Romantic
Tahoe / Reno Area
Special Occasion
Tahoe / Reno Area
Steakhouse
Tahoe / Reno Area
Most Booked
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Overall
Reno
Best Food
Reno
Best Service
Reno
Best Ambiance
Reno
Best Value
Reno
Romantic
Reno
Special Occasion
Reno
Most Booked
Reno
Best Restaurants in Reno ›

special occasion (112)
romantic (83)
notable wine list (61)
See All
fit for foodies (47)
good for groups (38)
great for brunch (15)
neighborhood gem (10)
hot spot (10)
late-night find (7)
kid-friendly (3)
great for lunch (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
775 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent meal with service to complemen ...

Dined 6 days ago

Excellent meal with service to complement the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2

Our dinner was very good but service was ...

vip
Dined on June 21, 2016

Our dinner was very good but service was slow and not very attentive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sterling's is our 'Go To' restaurant for ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Sterling's is our 'Go To' restaurant for all of our special occasions. We went for Father's Day and the experience was superb! My wife especially enjoys all the attention paid to us by numerous servers. We had 4 different wait staff attending to our needs. I usually get the bone in rib eye and it's a glittering jewel of culinary exquisiteness. I just can't say enough good things about Sterling's. I highly recommend this as one of Reno's finest dining experiences. I can't wait for our anniversary! Alan L.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most consistently good restaurant of all ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

Most consistently good restaurant of all we go to. Menu is extensive, rivals those we go to in Las Vegas. Atmosphere is excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always have a great dinner experience wh ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Always have a great dinner experience when we dine at Sterling's. Great steaks and sides.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for our anniversary dinner. We w ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We went for our anniversary dinner. We were greeted with our table decorated and anniversary card. Sterling's is our favorite restaurant in Reno. Our meal was delicious and perfect!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ribeye steak and rack of lamb were grill ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Ribeye steak and rack of lamb were grilled perfectly, very tender and full of flavor. New England clam chowder was full of chunky clams and the right viscosity. Service was excellent as usual, very courteous, efficient and professional. It's a great restaurant for any occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Have dined here just about every time I' ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Have dined here just about every time I've visited Reno. Each and every time ( Brunch or Dinner) it has been great & that is why I go back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have dined at Sterling's many times, t ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

I have dined at Sterling's many times, the food and service has always been wonderful. Great place to celebrate a special occasion. I always make a reservations and let them know of the occasion and everytime they help to make it special. It is a little pricey but you get what you pay for. I highly reccomend Sterling's for a fine dinning experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always outstanding service and food. Exc ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Always outstanding service and food. Excellent wine list. I have NEVER had a bad meal in Sterling's.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service are simply amazing. ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The food and service are simply amazing. The price is a bit more, but well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server Stanely was exceptional. He ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Our server Stanely was exceptional. He was professional did a great job on recommending food and wine!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Service was fantastic. Food was average ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Service was fantastic. Food was average at best, and priced rather high.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Food

Dined on June 7, 2016

We were celebrating our 52 yr wedding anniversary and wanted it to be special. Was mildly disappointed. Ordered a half dozen oysters, half were so "hard" could not eat them, they were all very small and not worth the price. Ordered a bone in ribeye, done like I wanted but it was tough and fibrous, not prime beef quality, I can get a better one at Sam's club!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday dinner

Dined on June 5, 2016

I made reservations to surprise my hoyfriend for his birthday dinner. When we arrived, we were seated in a booth (perfect) and the table was decorated and he also received a birthday card. The look on his face was priceless. The server was wonderful....he treated us as if we were the only two people in the restaurant. It was a memorable evening!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

usually good food

Dined on June 5, 2016

I have been to this restaurant many times and never had a bad meal. This time I had surf and turf, a mix of filet min. and prawns. The filet was good but the prawns were chewy and fishy tasting. The first ones were cold when they came to me. I sent them back and the second ones were hot but still tough and fishy. I recommend staying with the beef dishes.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always consistently Great!

Dined on June 4, 2016

We haven't been to Sterling's for some time. Service was wonderful as always . Dinner was very tasty. Enjoyed the large portion of vegetables. Service was friendly and attentive. Part of the atmosphere. We felt very welcome. Had filet mignon and pecan tart for dessert. Salad that came with dinner was unique and very good.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday dinner

Dined on June 2, 2016

We drove to The Silver Legacy and Sterling's Steak and Seafood Restaurant from Auburn, CA specifically to celebrate my wife Betty's 85th birthday. We were not disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mom's Special B-Day

Dined on May 31, 2016

My mother's B-day lands on Memorial day every 4 years. I told the gentlemen over the phone when I arrived that she would need a wheel chair from valet to the restaurant. It was waiting. I also informed them that it was her birthday. When we arrived at the table there were party sprinkles all over the table as well as a Birthday card from The Silver Legacy Staff. This was so much more then I was expecting. All I really had asked for was a special cake with a candle. She was surprised, delighted, and thankful to the entire staff as was I. The meal was beyond reproach and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The cheesecake with the candle was very well plated, and delicious! Thank you to everyone at the Sterling's Seafood & Steakhouse for making mom's b-day a night to remember. She went home feeling like a queen.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Rib eye! Awesome staff. My glass was nev ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Rib eye! Awesome staff. My glass was never empty.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome evening

Dined on May 28, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner , the service was impeccable! The manager even came by to make sure all was well ....We highly recommend this restaurant

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a large party of 16, but the rese ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

We had a large party of 16, but the reservation was only for 15. They had no problem accommodating us. We were a bit late but the reservation was held. A birthday cake was ordered and they picked it up, sliced and served it along with a GREAT meal. The prices were very reasonable and a fantastic time was had by all.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5

The chateaubriand and risotto are Fabulo ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

The chateaubriand and risotto are Fabulous!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Last minute business meal with one of my ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Last minute business meal with one of my favorite customers. Since this was a business meal cost was not as critical. However, the only negative mark is that I would say prices were a little high, but the food was delicious, wine list was plentiful and our waiter, Larry, was outstanding. Overall an easy five stars, just be prepared to bring your wallet.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

Dined on May 23, 2016

We always have a great time in this restaurant. Food and service is outstanding. We try to go here once a month and we have to drive 3 hrs to get there but to us it is well worth it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

The food was good - we ordered oysters o ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was good - we ordered oysters on the half shell, a bone-in rib eye and the lobster mac and cheese. My husband I been trying to eat at Sterling's for years but was never successful getting in because they are usually booked several days before our visit. Because this was our first visit, we were looking forward to our dining experience. It looks like a typical steakhouse and the ambience is nice, but the staff did not feel welcoming nor did we feel attended to. The food was good, particularly for the price, however our waiter (Larry) made us feel rushed. Although he never said "hurry up", his energy was definitely reflecting that and that could have ruined our entire dinner experience. However, there was a very nice waiter's assistance (is that the appropriate name?) who assisted Larry and was very friendly. I'm not sure if we would suggest Sterling's to anyone based on the wait staff and hostess, but we would visit it again because we enjoyed the steak. Unfortunately, we were treated better in the casino cafes than we were at this high end steak house.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My family and I eat at Sterling's every ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

My family and I eat at Sterling's every time we are in Reno. It is pricey but the food, service and ambiance are well worth it. I especially recommend it if you are looking for somewhere to go for that special occasion!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Celebrated my husband's and his brother' ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Celebrated my husband's and his brother's birthdays at Sterling's. The service and ambiance were excellent. We ordered the diver scallops, the rack of lamb and the chicken fettuccine. All meals came with clam chowder which was very good or a salad which was also very good. My husband didn't like the scallops, he thought the Outback's were better. He only ate 3 out of the 4 of them. The rack of lamb was very good and tender as was the chicken fettuccine although a little on the expensive side ($28). All in all a very nice experience.

food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Ok Restaurant

Dined on May 21, 2016

Sterling's is a very classy and nice place for date night or special occasions. The service is excellent but the food/drinks are overly priced and small portion sizes. My fiance and I spent about $70 on a small dish of lobster mac n chesse and shrimp over rice. The shrimp over rice was $18 and came with two shrimp on a small scoop of rice. Couldn't believe it. We will never dine at Sterling's again simply because it's overly priced for the portion sizes given. Again, service and ambiance is fabulous.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were in Reno for the National Bowling ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We were in Reno for the National Bowling Tournament and went to Sterling's twice. The steaks were great. I had a New York Strip and my brother had a bone-in ribeye (twice). While my NY Strip came out a little too rare (I ordered medium), they cheerfully fixed it and the meal was outstanding. Our first time was with a larger group and I ordered only a salad and French onion soup, which was just the right sized meal for me at the time - excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

We are locals and like to do an occasion ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

We are locals and like to do an occasional "stay-cation". We were very disappointed in the hostesses attitude, then our waiter was friendly enough just not attentive to things like getting my water glass refilled or getting steak sauce. Our appetizer was lackluster and our steaks had much to be desired. When our waiter told us that they were known for their steaks he didn't say because they were so bad. On top of that my ribeye was over cooked. We witnessed the next table order Salmon for 3 of the patrons and one had steak. They refused to pay for the steak. We should have followed suit. I will vote w my dollar and not go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Their filet is so good, it melts in your ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Their filet is so good, it melts in your mouth. Love their clam chowder. Best I ever had.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went to Sterling's after my son's gradua ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Went to Sterling's after my son's graduation. We had reservations and our table was ready when we arrived. The food and service were excellent. The atmosphere was nice except because it's in a casino, some patrons were a little loud and rowdy. This isn't the fault of the restaurant but I didn't see anyone from staff approach the table and ask them to quiet down. Nice experience and would definitely return.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a group of 8 women and went for t ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We had a group of 8 women and went for the early bird special. Everyone loved their food and our waiter was great. We all agreed we would come back again.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never dissapointed

Dined on May 10, 2016

We dine here every month for different reasons, this time to celebrate Mother's day with my two adult daughters. The food is always good, service excellent. I chose this time because they accomadate my daughter who has celiac disease and has limited restaurants she can dine at that are knowledgeable about Gluten Free. It is very nice to not have to worry about your food when you have an allergy. We had filet which is always good, and portions are substantial.The chicken dish was flavorful and tender.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Sterling still excellent

Dined on May 9, 2016

As usual, the food and service was excellent. My only negative is the corkage fee of $30 which is $10 to $12 higher than any other upscale establishment charges.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Excellen

Dined on May 7, 2016

We make it a point to dine here every time we are in Reno. The food is outstanding, especially the prime rib, the service is just attentive enough without being annoying and the atmosphere is classy without being stuffy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot!

Dined on May 7, 2016

The service, food, atmosphere was fantastic. No better place to spend our 44th wedding anniversary.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great dinner

Dined on May 1, 2016

As always the food was fantastic! Every other time we've gone to sterlings the service was great, until this time. Our waiter Tim was horrible. He was so focused on a table of eight that he ignored all his other tables. I hope this review is shared with the management staff of sterlings and they inform Tim of his lack of attention to the other paying customers.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were on a short vacation at the Silve ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

We were on a short vacation at the Silver Legacy Hotel and Casino and ate here our first night. It was so good that we came back the following 2 nights and enjoyed the food immensely.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.