About Sterling's Seafood Steakhouse at Silver Legacy Resort Casino

407 N. Virginia St
Reno, NV 89501
View Larger Map

Recently voted one of the Top 100 Restaurants in the nation for "Best Service" by OpenTable. Sterling's Seafood Steakhouse is an award winning classic American Steakhouse featuring an extensive menu and wine list as well as world class hospitality. Sterling's has been voted Best Restaurant in Northern Nevada by Nevada Magazine, Best Casino Restaurant by the Reno Gazette Journal, Best Wine List by the Reno News and Review and Reno Gazette Journal, Best Sunday Brunch by Casino Player Magazine and is the recipient of 12 consecutive Awards of Excellence from the Wine Spectator Magazine. Sterling's enjoys a 4.5 star rating on all social media sites.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday 9:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Daily 5:00pm - closing. Please no sleeveless shirts for our gentleman guests.

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 687-8733

Website:
http://www.silverlegacyreno.com/dining/sterlings-seafood-steakhouse/

Entertainment:
If you’re looking for exciting Reno entertainment and hip nightlife that has a little something for everyone, then look no further than Silver Legacy. With six different venues to choose from, Silver Legacy offers a large variety of Reno events including live performances and shows. Voted Best Entertainment, Best Concerts and Best Comedy Club by Casino Player Magazine, we have just what you are looking for.

Parking Details:
Parking is convenient and free in our 11-story self-parking garage. Complimentary valet service is also available.

Executive Chef:
Neil Campbell

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bread
Appetizer
Wine
Trio Of Crème Brulées
Wedge Salad
Vegetarian Napoleon
Seafood Buffet
Prime Rib
Oysters Rockefeller
crab
Pepper Seared Ahi Tuna
Cocktail Shrimp, Oysters & Mussels
Petite Filet Mignon With Shitake Mushrooms
Breakfast Buffet
Chocolate Covered Strawberries
Grilled Salmon Oscar
porterhouse steak

Sterling's Seafood Steakhouse at Silver Legacy Resort Casino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Tahoe / Reno Area
Special Occasion
Tahoe / Reno Area
Most Booked
Tahoe / Reno Area
8 More
Best Overall
Reno
Best Food
Reno
Best Service
Reno
Best Ambiance
Reno
Best Value
Reno
Romantic
Reno
Special Occasion
Reno
Most Booked
Reno
Best Restaurants in Reno ›

special occasion (116)
romantic (82)
notable wine list (69)
See All
fit for foodies (49)
good for groups (39)
great for brunch (16)
neighborhood gem (10)
hot spot (9)
kid-friendly (5)
late-night find (5)
great for lunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
794 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I was hoping it would be quiet coming in ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined 3 days ago

I was hoping it would be quiet coming in from the casino. It was very loud.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

The scallops were raw and I got very sic ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

The scallops were raw and I got very sick after eating them. The service was terrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

It is a nice, old-school steak house. S ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

It is a nice, old-school steak house. Since it's in a casino, we didn't expect the same ambiance we would have at another fine dining restaurant. The prices are higher than I would pay, typically, for a noisy venue. Still has the overtone scent of smoke and room deodorizer.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We enjoy Sterling's and the 5-6pm specia ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We enjoy Sterling's and the 5-6pm special thoroughly. Even though we had sufficient Legacy Dollars we felt the normal menu prices were more than we were comfortable with and believe there are many factors which Sterlings's has that create a unique dining experience w/o high excessive prices beyond expectations. We have dined there w/o choosing the 5-6 pm special and will again but not as frequently as between 5-6 pm...Oh, the chocolate cake is the best on he planet!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent service from Cody & Kelsie. Ve ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Excellent service from Cody & Kelsie. Very nice rack of lamb but so-so swordfish. Thanks for not playing loud music. I wish all restaurants would tone down the volume or not play music at all.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

WE had a great time, service was exce ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

WE had a great time, service was excellent, food was over the top, yes I would go back,

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the early diner specials. Tenderloi ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Had the early diner specials. Tenderloin stroganoff was very good. Chicken pasta also quite good. Swordfish/scallop kabob was ok. One of the two was a bit off.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent old style steakhouse. Our Serv ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Excellent old style steakhouse. Our Service from Cody and Kelsie was outstanding.

And a BIG Thanks for not playing music (or its just so low I didn't notice any). Makes for a much nice experience when you can hear your dinner partners.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We eat at Sterlings any chance we get! W ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We eat at Sterlings any chance we get! We have been going there for years. The staff, service and food never disappoint us. Love you guys! Keep up the great work!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My Boyfriends surprised me with dinner a ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My Boyfriends surprised me with dinner at the Sterling's Seafood Steakhouse for my birthday in January and it was such an amazing place that for his birthday I surprised him by taking him there this time. We def. want to make a tradition.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was way over priced for the level o ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Food was way over priced for the level of dining experience. I had the petite filet and lobster tail. The food was barely warm and it was $75. It came with a very small serving of vegetables and I chose the mashed for my starch. I got a Caesar salad for my starter that was an extra charge. It came in a large dish with a small divot in the center that held the salad. The croutons were fried together and the dressing was largely clumped under the small bed of romaine. My wife ordered just the lobster tail also with mashed potatoes. Her starter was clam chowder and it tasted like potato soup with a few clams in it. We had 2 blue cheese martinis and they were not hand stuffed. The blue cheese looked cut from a block of something. We ordered 1 more round of martinis...no blue cheese this time. The martinis were only $7 a piece, which was honestly the highlight of the $200 check. I have to say, overall our

25th wedding anniversary dinner was a bit of a bust. I won't be back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

An outstanding evening in every aspect o ...

vip
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

An outstanding evening in every aspect of fine dining. Exceptional service from Morgan.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat at Sterling's every time we come ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We eat at Sterling's every time we come to Reno. We love the 7 oz filet and the salad is awesome. The service is always good and friendly. See you in a couple of months.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I had an amazing experienc ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

My family and I had an amazing experience here! My parents have been several times and while on our annual family vacation, we were looking for a place to get a good steak so they suggested Sterlings. What a good pick! Everything from the pre-dinner bread, to the delicious steaks, to the perfectly portioned dessert was incredible! We will definitely be back and will definitely recommend this to all our friends and family!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a very enjoyable meal with an old fr ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Had a very enjoyable meal with an old friend who resides in Reno. First thing that was evident was very attentive service. Greeted and seated promptly. Cocktails were excellent as was the dinner. Would definitely recommend this upscale and would return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good food, especially the steaks and che ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Good food, especially the steaks and chef's special fish. This is out go-to place in Reno.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Mignonette sauce for the Oysters was pur ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Mignonette sauce for the Oysters was pure oil!

Oysters tasted as if they had been rinsed before serving!

Boiled "Fresh Lobster" was dry and bland. Guessing it was a reheat!

Crab Stuffed Salmon was tasteless and bland. No flavor! None!

Service was fairly slow for a lightly seated house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

My wife and I always dine at Sterlings w ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

My wife and I always dine at Sterlings when we visit Reno. Sometimes for brunch and always for dinner. This last time I could not decide on a wine to go with my steak. Our waiter, Morgan, made a recommendation from a winery I hadn't heard of. The wine was great! Actually everything from appetizers to dessert was spot on excellence. Thanks again to Morgan for your great service and knowledge of your wine list!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal with service to complemen ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Excellent meal with service to complement the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Our dinner was very good but service was ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Our dinner was very good but service was slow and not very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Sterling's is our 'Go To' restaurant for ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Sterling's is our 'Go To' restaurant for all of our special occasions. We went for Father's Day and the experience was superb! My wife especially enjoys all the attention paid to us by numerous servers. We had 4 different wait staff attending to our needs. I usually get the bone in rib eye and it's a glittering jewel of culinary exquisiteness. I just can't say enough good things about Sterling's. I highly recommend this as one of Reno's finest dining experiences. I can't wait for our anniversary!

Alan L.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most consistently good restaurant of all ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Most consistently good restaurant of all we go to. Menu is extensive, rivals those we go to in Las Vegas. Atmosphere is excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always have a great dinner experience wh ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Always have a great dinner experience when we dine at Sterling's. Great steaks and sides.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for our anniversary dinner. We w ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We went for our anniversary dinner. We were greeted with our table decorated and anniversary card. Sterling's is our favorite restaurant in Reno. Our meal was delicious and perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ribeye steak and rack of lamb were grill ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Ribeye steak and rack of lamb were grilled perfectly, very tender and full of flavor. New England clam chowder was full of chunky clams and the right viscosity. Service was excellent as usual, very courteous, efficient and professional. It's a great restaurant for any occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have dined here just about every time I' ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Have dined here just about every time I've visited Reno. Each and every time ( Brunch or Dinner) it has been great & that is why I go back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our experience at Sterlings was excellen ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Our experience at Sterlings was excellent. The food - steaks, seafood, sides, salads, bread, dessert - was delicious. The service was fantastic. Our server and his helper were attentive without hovering. They were friendly and made our dinner even more enjoyable with their presence. For a special occasion, we would splurge on a meal here again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have dined at Sterling's many times, t ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

I have dined at Sterling's many times, the food and service has always been wonderful. Great place to celebrate a special occasion. I always make a reservations and let them know of the occasion and everytime they help to make it special. It is a little pricey but you get what you pay for. I highly reccomend Sterling's for a fine dinning experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always outstanding service and food. Exc ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Always outstanding service and food. Excellent wine list. I have NEVER had a bad meal in Sterling's.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service are simply amazing. ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food and service are simply amazing. The price is a bit more, but well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server Stanely was exceptional. He ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Our server Stanely was exceptional. He was professional did a great job on recommending food and wine!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was fantastic. Food was average ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Service was fantastic. Food was average at best, and priced rather high.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Food

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

We were celebrating our 52 yr wedding anniversary and wanted it to be special. Was mildly disappointed. Ordered a half dozen oysters, half were so "hard" could not eat them, they were all very small and not worth the price. Ordered a bone in ribeye, done like I wanted but it was tough and fibrous, not prime beef quality, I can get a better one at Sam's club!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Birthday dinner

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I made reservations to surprise my hoyfriend for his birthday dinner. When we arrived, we were seated in a booth (perfect) and the table was decorated and he also received a birthday card. The look on his face was priceless. The server was wonderful....he treated us as if we were the only two people in the restaurant. It was a memorable evening!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

usually good food

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I have been to this restaurant many times and never had a bad meal. This time I had surf and turf, a mix of filet min. and prawns. The filet was good but the prawns were chewy and fishy tasting. The first ones were cold when they came to me. I sent them back and the second ones were hot but still tough and fishy. I recommend staying with the beef dishes.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Always consistently Great!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We haven't been to Sterling's for some time. Service was wonderful as always . Dinner was very tasty. Enjoyed the large portion of vegetables. Service was friendly and attentive. Part of the atmosphere. We felt very welcome. Had filet mignon and pecan tart for dessert. Salad that came with dinner was unique and very good.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday dinner

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We drove to The Silver Legacy and Sterling's Steak and Seafood Restaurant from Auburn, CA specifically to celebrate my wife Betty's 85th birthday. We were not disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Mom's Special B-Day

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

My mother's B-day lands on Memorial day every 4 years. I told the gentlemen over the phone when I arrived that she would need a wheel chair from valet to the restaurant. It was waiting. I also informed them that it was her birthday. When we arrived at the table there were party sprinkles all over the table as well as a Birthday card from The Silver Legacy Staff. This was so much more then I was expecting. All I really had asked for was a special cake with a candle.

She was surprised, delighted, and thankful to the entire staff as was I. The meal was beyond reproach and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The cheesecake with the candle was very well plated, and delicious!

Thank you to everyone at the Sterling's Seafood & Steakhouse for making mom's b-day a night to remember. She went home feeling like a queen.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rib eye! Awesome staff. My glass was nev ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Rib eye! Awesome staff. My glass was never empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Awesome evening

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner , the service was impeccable! The manager even came by to make sure all was well ....We highly recommend this restaurant

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.