About Sterling's Seafood Steakhouse at Silver Legacy Resort Casino

407 N. Virginia St
Reno, NV 89501
View Larger Map

Recently voted one of the Top 100 Restaurants in the nation for "Best Service" by OpenTable. Sterling's Seafood Steakhouse is an award winning classic American Steakhouse featuring an extensive menu and wine list as well as world class hospitality. Sterling's has been voted Best Restaurant in Northern Nevada by Nevada Magazine, Best Casino Restaurant by the Reno Gazette Journal, Best Wine List by the Reno News and Review and Reno Gazette Journal, Best Sunday Brunch by Casino Player Magazine and is the recipient of 12 consecutive Awards of Excellence from the Wine Spectator Magazine. Sterling's enjoys a 4.5 star rating on all social media sites.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday 9:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Daily 5:00pm - closing. Please no sleeveless shirts for our gentleman guests.

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 687-8733

Website:
http://www.silverlegacyreno.com/dining/sterlings-seafood-steakhouse/

Entertainment:
If you’re looking for exciting Reno entertainment and hip nightlife that has a little something for everyone, then look no further than Silver Legacy. With six different venues to choose from, Silver Legacy offers a large variety of Reno events including live performances and shows. Voted Best Entertainment, Best Concerts and Best Comedy Club by Casino Player Magazine, we have just what you are looking for.

Parking Details:
Parking is convenient and free in our 11-story self-parking garage. Complimentary valet service is also available.

Executive Chef:
Neil Campbell

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sterling's Seafood Steakhouse at Silver Legacy Resort Casino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Service
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Value
Tahoe / Reno Area
14 More
Notable Wine List
Tahoe / Reno Area
Romantic
Tahoe / Reno Area
Special Occasion
Tahoe / Reno Area
Steakhouse
Tahoe / Reno Area
Most Booked
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Overall
Reno
Best Food
Reno
Best Service
Reno
Best Ambiance
Reno
Best Value
Reno
Notable Wine List
Reno
Romantic
Reno
Special Occasion
Reno
Most Booked
Reno
Best Restaurants in Reno ›

special occasion (120)
romantic (101)
notable wine list (61)
See All
fit for foodies (48)
good for groups (38)
great for brunch (11)
hot spot (10)
late-night find (8)
neighborhood gem (6)
kid-friendly (3)
great for lunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
749 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

Dined 4 days ago

We always have a great time in this restaurant. Food and service is outstanding. We try to go here once a month and we have to drive 3 hrs to get there but to us it is well worth it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My family and I eat at Sterling's every ...

Dined 5 days ago

My family and I eat at Sterling's every time we are in Reno. It is pricey but the food, service and ambiance are well worth it. I especially recommend it if you are looking for somewhere to go for that special occasion!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Celebrated my husband's and his brother' ...

Dined 5 days ago

Celebrated my husband's and his brother's birthdays at Sterling's. The service and ambiance were excellent. We ordered the diver scallops, the rack of lamb and the chicken fettuccine. All meals came with clam chowder which was very good or a salad which was also very good. My husband didn't like the scallops, he thought the Outback's were better. He only ate 3 out of the 4 of them. The rack of lamb was very good and tender as was the chicken fettuccine although a little on the expensive side ($28). All in all a very nice experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were in Reno for the National Bowling ...

Dined 7 days ago

We were in Reno for the National Bowling Tournament and went to Sterling's twice. The steaks were great. I had a New York Strip and my brother had a bone-in ribeye (twice). While my NY Strip came out a little too rare (I ordered medium), they cheerfully fixed it and the meal was outstanding. Our first time was with a larger group and I ordered only a salad and French onion soup, which was just the right sized meal for me at the time - excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

We are locals and like to do an occasion ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

We are locals and like to do an occasional "stay-cation". We were very disappointed in the hostesses attitude, then our waiter was friendly enough just not attentive to things like getting my water glass refilled or getting steak sauce. Our appetizer was lackluster and our steaks had much to be desired. When our waiter told us that they were known for their steaks he didn't say because they were so bad. On top of that my ribeye was over cooked. We witnessed the next table order Salmon for 3 of the patrons and one had steak. They refused to pay for the steak. We should have followed suit. I will vote w my dollar and not go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Their filet is so good, it melts in your ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Their filet is so good, it melts in your mouth. Love their clam chowder. Best I ever had.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went to Sterling's after my son's gradua ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Went to Sterling's after my son's graduation. We had reservations and our table was ready when we arrived. The food and service were excellent. The atmosphere was nice except because it's in a casino, some patrons were a little loud and rowdy. This isn't the fault of the restaurant but I didn't see anyone from staff approach the table and ask them to quiet down. Nice experience and would definitely return.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a group of 8 women and went for t ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We had a group of 8 women and went for the early bird special. Everyone loved their food and our waiter was great. We all agreed we would come back again.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never dissapointed

Dined on May 10, 2016

We dine here every month for different reasons, this time to celebrate Mother's day with my two adult daughters. The food is always good, service excellent. I chose this time because they accomadate my daughter who has celiac disease and has limited restaurants she can dine at that are knowledgeable about Gluten Free. It is very nice to not have to worry about your food when you have an allergy. We had filet which is always good, and portions are substantial.The chicken dish was flavorful and tender.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Sterling still excellent

Dined on May 9, 2016

As usual, the food and service was excellent. My only negative is the corkage fee of $30 which is $10 to $12 higher than any other upscale establishment charges.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Excellen

Dined on May 7, 2016

We make it a point to dine here every time we are in Reno. The food is outstanding, especially the prime rib, the service is just attentive enough without being annoying and the atmosphere is classy without being stuffy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot!

Dined on May 7, 2016

The service, food, atmosphere was fantastic. No better place to spend our 44th wedding anniversary.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great dinner

Dined on May 1, 2016

As always the food was fantastic! Every other time we've gone to sterlings the service was great, until this time. Our waiter Tim was horrible. He was so focused on a table of eight that he ignored all his other tables. I hope this review is shared with the management staff of sterlings and they inform Tim of his lack of attention to the other paying customers.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were on a short vacation at the Silve ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

We were on a short vacation at the Silver Legacy Hotel and Casino and ate here our first night. It was so good that we came back the following 2 nights and enjoyed the food immensely.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Best Soup

Dined on April 30, 2016

A very elegant venue but I was disappointed in my seafood dish as I expected it to be creamy, but it was fishy. However, the French onion soup was excellent

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Filet mignon

Dined on April 30, 2016

We ordered steaks cooked medium well. Steaks were very undercooked. Managers apologized and offered complimentary dessert. A fine steakhouse should not have an issue cooking steaks to order. Disappointing.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food was exceptional. Th ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

The service and food was exceptional. The wait staff went out of their way to make our meal superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Steakhouse with great food and service

Dined on April 28, 2016

I really enjoyed my visit to this Steakhouse. It blew away my expectations. The food is excellent and the service is too. The steaks are awesome and the chopped burger I ordered was out of this world. Give this place a shot if you are in the Reno area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another Great Meal

Dined on April 25, 2016

Everytime we visit the Silver Legacy my wife and I make it a point to dine at Sterlings Steakhouse. Our most recent dinner there consisted of the oysters on the half shell, red deer medallions and a dessert sampler. Everything was prepared to perfection.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Good Value

Dined on April 24, 2016

My date and I have eaten at four other Reno steakhouses, we both agree that overall, Sterling has been the best. Although the food was slightly better at Charlie Palmer's, the food was prepared as we asked. I especially enjoyed the smoky flavor of the steak. The ambiance was nice, decorated as an old steakhouse. Noise level was acceptable. Of exceptional value was that a salad and vegetable were included in the price of the main course. Other steakhouses that I have visited, all items were a la carte.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delectable

Dined on April 24, 2016

You can't beat the ambience and the delectable food that is served at Sterling steakhouse. We go every year and sometimes twice. It would be more often if we didn't live 4 hours away. The meal is astonishing from beginning to end. The salad is artfully pieced together and we always order the fillet mignon and lobster, both items melt in your mouth and that's no exaggeration! And the chef puts together a beautiful array of desserts that not only look gorgeous but taste fantastic .

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites

Dined on April 24, 2016

This restaurant was amazing! The food was excellent! Our steaks were cooked perfectly. The service was phenomenal! You are able to view all menu items on an iPad that they provide with the menus so you can get a better idea of what to expect. We will definitely be dining here again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

Here on a bus tour. Wanted a little more dinner fare than usual coffee shop-saw the menu and was surprised by the depth, quality and service of this restaurant. The bone in rib eye was cooked exactly medium rare, flavored just right; while my wife's stuffed filet was a delight.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, only okay steaks

Dined on April 17, 2016

Morgan was our waiter. He was attentive, knowledgeable and friendly. The wine selection was good and reasonably priced. The only negative was the steak quality. Three people in our party ordered the New York and they were all tougher than expected. I ordered the Porterhouse and the flavor was excellent but the cut was thinner than I like. None of us had seafood other than chowder which was outstanding. I'd would try their seafood selection next time. Save room for desert, the selection and quality are top notch.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is great and Brunch...I'll give a 4 star

Dined on April 9, 2016

The servers Larry and Jesse are good and always taking care of you. We will come back next month for my hubby's birthday.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2 Pound Lobster is AMAZING

Dined on April 9, 2016

For the second time in 2 months I went in planning to have a steak and ended up with a 2 pound lobster. Cooked perfect, tender and AMAZING

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

STERLINGS

Dined on April 8, 2016

When ever we are in Reno, which is around 2 times a year...We always make it a point to eat at the Sterling Steak House in the Silver Legacy Casino.. because we are never disappointed. We were a party of 7 and the service was over the top.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Steak I've Ever Eaten

Dined on April 3, 2016

I took my oldest son to Sterlings when we were doing orientation at UNR last summer and I thought then that I couldn't wait to come back. The food was fantastic. Fast forward 9 months and I took my 13 year old over to visit his older brother who invited a friend I hadn't yet met. I was so looking forward to another great meal and I was NOT disappointed! Once again, one of the best steaks I've ever eaten. Great clam chowder too! The boys were happy with their meals also! I would highly recommend Sterlings!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great choice

Dined on April 2, 2016

Took my friend there for dinner. A great experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romatic Date Night

Dined on March 29, 2016

My husband & I came up from the Sacramento Valley for a romantic getaway. This was our second time here and it definitely didn't disappoint. Wonderful staff, food, wine & ambiance. We're already booked for our next trip in October

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Just a tad off from last time

Dined on March 25, 2016

My wife and I had a special evening out, and Sterling's delivered a beautiful dining experience. She had the broiled salmon and thought it was very good. I had the Shrimp and lobster raviolis and was slightly disappointed. They weren't really raviolis, rather a layered pasta dish. The seafood meat was pretty skimpy, but the sauce was extraordinarily awesome! So, all in all, we had a great time, liked the food very much, and will return again. The menu is too varied to give up on the place simply because of one 'pretty good' meal. Next time, we hope for the 'fabulous' we've had there before.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So fabulous!!!!

Dined on March 16, 2016

Four of us were in town for 5 days & we were very excited to find Sterlings! We ate their two nights & definitely will recommend it to others!!! The only thing that was not a plus was the very expensive corkage fee!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shelley

Dined on March 16, 2016

I took my Mama there for her Birthday dinner. The staff was amazing. The food was wonderful! Even the manager joined the staff in singing to my Mama! I've been there many times with my Boyfriend. It was her first time. She even called me the next day raving about how good the leftovers were.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Steve T

Dined on March 14, 2016

A little loud but its to be expected. Friendly staff (Erik). Did not have to wait long for the food. The ribeye was probably the best steak we have ever had. Will be going back for another. Guaranteed...

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

As far as dining goes in Reno casinos, t ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

As far as dining goes in Reno casinos, the steakhouse was above par and expectations. We went to celebrate a special birthday with a group of four. We brought two bottles of wine, corkage is a little high at $35 a bottle which was fine as these wines were special to us. However the wine list was expansive featuring wines from around the world from your simple rugs in the $50 range upwards of high-end thousand dollar plus varietals so bringing your own is not necessary. Very nice appetizer, salad and soup selections. Many options for both steak and seafood lovers as well as a chicken offering. We all opted for the fillet, two were slightly over cooked however our waiter gladly excepted them back for the proper cook and the manager came over to apologize as well. Overall, wonderful experience for the special occasion. We will definitely return!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Precila's birthday dinner at Sterlings

Dined on March 13, 2016

It is always a great experience whenever we dine at Sterlings. Jesse is the best waiter ever! It was a very memorable birthday celebration for Precila especially when Jesse and some of the other waiters brought out a cake with candles and sang happy birthday to her. Sterlings is the best and gave us world class service!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very Enjoyable

Dined on March 10, 2016

This was our second time at Sterling's (and we are going back tomorrow). They do a very nice job of making guests feel welcome and valued. Some of the individual components are only good, but the overall experience is great. If you are looking for a pleasant dinner, you can't go wrong here.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service1

Just felt that we were being rushed out. ...

Dined on March 7, 2016

Just felt that we were being rushed out. Never felt like we have in the past 15 years like a family. The GM never came around and asked how we were like he has in the past years. I think we'll looking for another home to have dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always a great experience .

Dined on March 7, 2016

As always a great experience . Classy, very good food and service .

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday party

Dined on March 6, 2016

Jessie was our server, and was wonderful. He was attentive, helpful and funny. Made our birthday weekend memorable. The restaurant manager was very friendly and pleasant, as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.