About Sterling's Seafood Steakhouse at Silver Legacy Resort Casino

407 N. Virginia St
Reno, NV 89501
View Larger Map

Recently voted one of the Top 100 Restaurants in the nation for "Best Service" by OpenTable. Sterling's Seafood Steakhouse is an award winning classic American Steakhouse featuring an extensive menu and wine list as well as world class hospitality. Sterling's has been voted Best Restaurant in Northern Nevada by Nevada Magazine, Best Casino Restaurant by the Reno Gazette Journal, Best Wine List by the Reno News and Review and Reno Gazette Journal, Best Sunday Brunch by Casino Player Magazine and is the recipient of 12 consecutive Awards of Excellence from the Wine Spectator Magazine. Sterling's enjoys a 4.5 star rating on all social media sites.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday 9:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Daily 5:00pm - closing. Please no sleeveless shirts for our gentleman guests.

Cross Street:
4th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 687-8733

Website:
http://www.silverlegacyreno.com/dining/sterlings-seafood-steakhouse/

Entertainment:
If you’re looking for exciting Reno entertainment and hip nightlife that has a little something for everyone, then look no further than Silver Legacy. With six different venues to choose from, Silver Legacy offers a large variety of Reno events including live performances and shows. Voted Best Entertainment, Best Concerts and Best Comedy Club by Casino Player Magazine, we have just what you are looking for.

Parking Details:
Parking is convenient and free in our 11-story self-parking garage. Complimentary valet service is also available.

Executive Chef:
Neil Campbell

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bread
Appetizer
Wine
Trio Of Crème Brulées
Wedge Salad
Vegetarian Napoleon
Seafood Buffet
Oysters Rockefeller
Prime Rib
crab
Pepper Seared Ahi Tuna
Cocktail Shrimp, Oysters & Mussels
Petite Filet Mignon With Shitake Mushrooms
Breakfast Buffet
Chocolate Covered Strawberries
Grilled Salmon Oscar
porterhouse steak

Sterling's Seafood Steakhouse at Silver Legacy Resort Casino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Tahoe / Reno Area
Notable Wine List
Tahoe / Reno Area
Special Occasion
Tahoe / Reno Area
9 More
Steakhouse
Tahoe / Reno Area
Most Booked
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Overall
Reno
Best Food
Reno
Best Service
Reno
Best Ambiance
Reno
Romantic
Reno
Special Occasion
Reno
Most Booked
Reno
Best Restaurants in Reno ›

Special Occasion (97)
Romantic (71)
Notable Wine List (51)
See All
Fit for Foodies (40)
Good for Groups (31)
Good for a Date (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Business Meals (7)
Cozy (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Fun (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Casual (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Authentic (3)
Private Room (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Seasonal (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
People Watching (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Tapas (1)
Historic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Live Music (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Family Style (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Dancing (1)
Live Sports (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
841 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

From the attentive wait staff (even mana ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

From the attentive wait staff (even managers came by to check on us) to the excellent cocktails and appetizers, Sterling's is a great place for a fine meal in a comfortable atmosphere. The steaks were cooked to perfection and were moderately priced. Loved the crab cakes! We'll definitely come back the next time we're in Reno.

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the food is pricey, they do give y ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

While the food is pricey, they do give you good portions and it was one of the best filets I have ever eaten. Service was great!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Unfortunately when we went Street Vibrat ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

Unfortunately when we went Street Vibration was at Silver Legacy so some customers were very loud for such a romantic upscale restaurant. But the service and food superseded the loud distraction. The atmosphere was very romantic, food menu was great and the food was cooked to perfection

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top Notch steakhouse. The food and serv ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Top Notch steakhouse. The food and service is always reliable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An overall awesome dining experience for ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

An overall awesome dining experience for the wife and I for our 30th anniversary. We had 6 in our celebration party and not a one was unhappy. Incredible customer service. You are treated like royalty the entire time. I had one of my 10 all time most delicious bone-in NY Strip steaks. And, as a bonus, Engelbert Humperdinck was sitting behind us eating as well. Thanks SS, great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place to dine while visiting R ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Wonderful place to dine while visiting Reno. We ordered the oysters Rockefeller as an appetizer and they were delicious. I ordered the filet mignon and the loaded baked potato. The steak was so tender and juicy I didn't want to stop eating it, even though I was full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful meal and service was great. Re ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Wonderful meal and service was great. Restaurant has a slightly crowded feel and it was noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our food was " COLD ". Both dinners, wif ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Our food was " COLD ". Both dinners, wife and myself. Service was minnnimal. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value5

The food and service is amazing. The Ban ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food and service is amazing. The Bananas Foster is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot for a melts in your mouth ste ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great spot for a melts in your mouth steak dinner. Quite, elegant and relaxing atmosphere. They do not rush you. Great wine by the glass and the dessert is to die for. When I visit Reno, I make a point of having a night at Sterlings. I have tried other steak houses in the other casinos but they do not size up to Sterlings.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food food and service were great. Ni ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food food and service were great. Nice atmosphere. The only problem I had were their drinks were very strong, and I realize a lot of people wouldn't see that as a problem. My overall experience was very enjoyable.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic place to eat! I have been com ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Fantastic place to eat! I have been coming here for years and it never disappoints. Always great service, the steaks are to die for, luscious desserts, I could go on and on, but the only way you'll know is to go try it for yourself.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ate dinner at Sterlings Seafood House on ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Ate dinner at Sterlings Seafood House on a Thursday night, and the atmosphere and meal was excellent. Decor is classic fine dining, and we had a nice booth. My wife and I both had the filet mignon, and they were cooked to perfection and good quality. Lobster bisque was excellent, and salads were also very good. Great wine selection. The service was outstanding, perfectly paced, and the waiter had a helper and both were on top of everything and perfectly coordinated in making sure you were taken care of (but never interrupting us). Highly recommend this restaurant for a special meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place. i am never disappointe ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Wonderful place. i am never disappointed with the service (the best) and the delicious food

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at Sterling's is a wonderful trea ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Dining at Sterling's is a wonderful treat if you find yourself in Reno. The food is excellent, the ambiance relaxing and the desserts are massive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a Birthday celebration, and as us ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

It was a Birthday celebration, and as usual service was great. Our servers Serigio & Cooper were smooth, easy going & professional. Meal, great. Will always return

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Overall good but not special enough to r ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Overall good but not special enough to recommend; was missing the ambience and the needed attention to detail expected for fine dining.

Started with Oysters Rockefeller and lobster bisque; the oysters tasted terrific but (details!) the spinach/sauce had spilled over the edge of several and fused with the rock salt bed making them difficult to consume; bisque was very tasty with nice morsels of lobster in a rich savory bisque.

House salad was next up and was very good; croutons are replaced by a thin crisp bread shaped like a ring to hold the salad; had bleu cheese dressing.

Entrees were excellent; Diver Scallops with interesting sides; scallops cooked perfectly to order; NZ Red Deer with baby root veggies was fantastically rich and cooked perfectly.

For dessert, a serving of mascarpone cake and a latte; the latte was tasty; the cake was deliciously subtle; unfortunately (details!) the latte was served five minutes ahead of the cake so I could not enjoy the two together as planned.

Staff was okay; waiter a bit indifferent, as if glazed by years of casino-restaurant patrons such that even locals receive ho-hum attention; waiter's assistant was much better except for the huge gap between latte and dessert.

Ambiance is so-so; I was definitely expecting a more intimate feeling; table layout does not provide isolation from others.

To end on a positive: high marks for the wine list, especially the by-the-glass selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Service and ambiance excellent. Food wa ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Service and ambiance excellent.

Food was good but I was expecting the Prime Rib to be much better:

Examples:

Prime Rib House San Francisco

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Great food and the service was impeccabl ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great food and the service was impeccable, I would recommend any day!

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sterling's has not maintained the excell ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Sterling's has not maintained the excellent service and attention to detail as in the past. Our request for a booth for a party of six for my wife's birthday [booked in advance] was not honored. We were seated at the very front, near the entrance. I asked to be seated elsewhere -- the manager, "somewhat apologetic", said sorry but this is all we have -- the entire left side was wide open. The assistant waiter could not read/understand where soups/salads where for who. I ordered prime rib medium rare -- got RARE. By the time we were all served, it was to late to send it back, as I did not want to keep everyone waiting.

This was just not the Sterling experience we have enjoyed in the past........... too bad!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Chateau brand was done perfect being tha ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Chateau brand was done perfect being that it was for two my companion concurred. Where this restaurant fell down was baked potato not hot and not done completely in spots. We had had this problem several years ago as well. Lastly broccoli and asparagus sides way overdone. Took pictures before meal and can clearly notice vegetables overcooked. Wine was good.

The up note ; service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

high quality steak. Great preparation. p ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

high quality steak. Great preparation. profossional service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Would not go back. Our waiter was unfrie ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Would not go back. Our waiter was unfriendly to say the least. He was reluctant to answer any questions regarding the entrees when asked. He cautioned us against ordering side dishes and salads as our dinner rather than a full entree (which totaled the same in the end) . We wondered if he was paid on commission. I asked for a wine recommendation and he poured a $16.75 glass of red without asking if that were agreeable beforehand. The chop salad was nearly chopped into baby food. When we passed on dessert, the assistant waiter turned on his heels and left abruptly. I've had better meals for a lot less money. I don't mind paying for a great meal and good service but this place had neither.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The service was good and the food was go ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The service was good and the food was good. I'm not going to say it was over the top, but it was nice. I really did enjoy the salad being served in what I guess you would call a crouton bowl, however I was disappointed in the Strawberry flambé. Would I go back? Hummmm, maybe if there was a show and I wanted to include dinner, but I don't think I would go out of my way just to eat there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

We've been dining at Sterling's for year ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We've been dining at Sterling's for year's now... It is consistently a great place for both Steak and Seafood.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing food ! Great service , just a li ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Amazing food ! Great service , just a little dark to read the menu. Probably the best filet mignon I have ever had. Purple yam mash was to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent place to dine. Food and servi ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Excellent place to dine. Food and service are great. Nice menu.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Favorite steakhouse in the country! Fabu ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Favorite steakhouse in the country! Fabulous as always! (My phone screen saver is their filet with maitre d butter and potato!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was amazing as always. This ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The service was amazing as always. This was the second time at this restaurant within two months and the fourth time overall. The food and service was excellent, even though this time the restaurant was busy dinner our reservation time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our new go to Steak and Seafood ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This is our new go to Steak and Seafood house for special occasions. The food was all excellent, with large portions. It's definitely pricy, but you also definitely get great value for your money.

Only negative for me, is their corkage policy that is just too expensive to be of use.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the prime rib with a bottle of Girar ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Had the prime rib with a bottle of Girard OVZ. Delicious.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect place for a romantic dinner. Eve ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Perfect place for a romantic dinner. Everything was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff and ambiance was great, but en ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The staff and ambiance was great, but entrees were awful. The lobster was overcooked and tough. The prime rib was flavorless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

The sautéed spinach was very good! The L ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The sautéed spinach was very good! The Lobster Bisque had lobster taste but no lobster in it. I would not recommend the Lobster Bisque.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

One of my two favorite steak houses in R ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

One of my two favorite steak houses in Reno. Service is unbelievably terrific. Food is excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well worth the money and would recommen ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Well worth the money and would recommend a visit when in Reno. Food and service are great for a nice night out.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A regular stop for us lately. Good menu ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

A regular stop for us lately. Good menu, attentive service. The early diner specials are nice to do in occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, Sterlings again proved to be ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

As always, Sterlings again proved to be the place to go for a great dining experience. Its a little pricey, but you truly get your monies worth. Can't wait till my next chance to go.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I came here to celebrate m ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

My family and I came here to celebrate my wedding day. It was the best experience from the time we checked in until we were done with dessert. We will definitely be back .

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first trip to Sterling's . ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This was our first trip to Sterling's . We are local and although the service was impeccable and highly accommodating - the food was average. For the price, I do not feel that we received food that was worth it.

The majority of the food was bland and the prawns were obviously farm raised and mealy. $18 for 3 prawns and some overdressed, bland canned shrimp salad was not a good value.

The service made up for where the food was lacking .

Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.