Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.05mi
  2. Distance: 1.07mi
  3. Distance: 1.35mi
  4. Distance: 1.36mi
  1. Distance: 1.05mi
  2. Distance: 1.07mi
  3. Distance: 1.35mi
  4. Distance: 1.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.05mi
  2. Distance: 1.07mi
  3. Distance: 1.35mi
  4. Distance: 1.36mi
  1. Distance: 1.05mi
  2. Distance: 1.07mi
  3. Distance: 1.35mi
  4. Distance: 1.36mi

About Sterling Restaurant

Sterling Restaurant is located in a charming heritage building by the Gatineau River. From within its walls, guests can feel the history of Gatineau.

835 JACQUES CARTIER RD
Gatineau, QC J8T 2W3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner
Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday & Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(819) 568-8788

Website:
http://www.sterlingrestaurant.com/english/index.php

Entertainment:
Friday & Saturday

Executive Chef:
AndrewVallières

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sterling Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (30)
Notable Wine List (25)
Waterfront (23)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Romantic (21)
Business Meals (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Scenic View (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Cozy (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Authentic (6)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Casual (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Fun (2)
Historic (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Fireplace (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Private Room (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Live Music (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Organic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
429 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

The food and wine were amazing. Be careful you taste one slice of their fresh baguette, you won't stop at one slice! My spouse's pasta had this rich, delicious, cream sauce and my steak was cooked to perfection!Thanks to Ahmed for the tour.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Our first time at the recommendation of a close friend.

The Veggie soup was awesome, best caesar salad that i have ever had. Steak along with accompanied veggies was very good.

Service was good. Very attentive and overall a great experience.

If you want a great meal, i highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great steaks! Weather wasn't great while we were there so patio was closed but the view is beautiful!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 10, 2017

We return to this restaurant for special occasions

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Started off perfect - Excellent appetizers (Oysters, Kale Salad, Escargot, Beef tartar) and greeted with exceptional service. - Also accommodated us moving inside the restaurant after it was a bit cold outside with the beautiful view.

Once appetizers were finished, service and food were mediocre.
It took approximately 45- An hour to get our steaks (Top Sirloin - medium rare, 2x NY Steaks - rare). Our waitress kindly reminded us that our food would not take much longer, as it usually doesn't take that long. Unfortunately, my steak was dry and overdone and my partners steak was done incorrectly. We have both worked in the service industry in the past and didn't want to put a fuss. You could see that the staff were extremely busy as they must have had a big party come in.

We were very full from our delicious appetizers that we all ate only half of our steaks. We requested to have it wrapped up. Unfortunately, our food was tossed out and they remedied the problem by offering us 1 uncooked steak. Fortunately, we had a BBQ the next day, so it worked out.

For the price point of the restaurant, I do expect exceptional service. The service at the beginning was phenomenal, but went down hill after the restaurant was busy (it was a Saturday). I would say I received the same service as an East Side Marios (Friendly greeting and and limited communication).

I still tipped 22% since both my partner and I have worked in the service industry in the past (It's not easy). However, I guess for the special occasion, this restaurant let me down.

I may try this restaurant again when it's not so busy. You could see the potential of this place.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great food and a wonderful wine list. We will be back for sure!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Everything was perfect apart from the waiting time between the appetizers and the main course. Really good food. If you're a seafood or meat lover this is the restaurant in gatineau. List of wine is never ending lots of options.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Went there as two couples for an anniversary. Cost was expensive..$140 for two people for just two steaks and two drinks.

Food and service was average.. not better than keg/outback or any other regular steak place.

Service was below average.. Sat around with empty drinks for at least half hour.

Two positives was the beautiful view from the patio and the manager/owner that gave us a tour of the place when he found out it was our first time.

Manager/owner told us we would be shown the steaks before it was cooked but it didn't happen. I did see it was done for some others but apparently not for everyone.. :$

If you want fine dining... Go somewhere else.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 3, 2017

My daughter and I have a wonderful dinner experience here
We'll be back

Tags: Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Excellent repas. Excellent service dans une ambiance de grand restaurant à la "Charlevoix", proche de la rivière! L'odeur du bois qui chauffe les viandes se répend doucement dans toute la bâtisse pour créer une atmosphère authentique très spéciale!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Visiting the city and followed reviews online. They were correct. Wonderful restaurant. Wonderful food. Employees personable and very efficient. Music was lovely , yet could have a pleasant conversation. It was the perfect balance !! Highly recommend for a wonderful dinner. Also the river across the street is a gorgeous view.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Food was fantastic and so was the service. Great ambiance for a business meeting and a nice place to take people you want to impress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Been to Sterling about 5 times now and never a bad experience. Food is absolutely delicious and the staff are fantastic.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 21, 2017

The atmosphere is excellent and the food maybe better than that. I had read a couple of recent reviews about average service but I think those people were in a different restaurant. We were given a tour of the place as it was our first time and it was awesome. Will be back for sure.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Third visit to this restaurant in the past nine months and plan to bring friends in a few weeks. Always a delicious and pleasant experience at Sterling Restaurant

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Father's Day Dinnet. Excellent food & ambiance. Sever was a bit flustered eventhough our reservation was early.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Repas succulent, belle présentation, excellent service. Il y avait un musicien (piano-chant) le samedi soir
Le prix de la table d'hôte est un peu plus cher qu'à des restaurants de niveau comparable mais encore correct.
La carte des vins est cependant très chère. La plupart des vins sont au dessus de $100 la bouteille avec quelque-uns entre $50 et $90.
Je recommende pour les occasions spéciales.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Steaks cuits au goût et très tendres, remarquables, très belle carte des vins mais il pourrait y avoir une meilleure sélection à prix plus abordable, excellent service, air climatisé non fonctionnel, présentation des plats très ordinaires tenant compte du prix du repas

Tags: Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 17, 2017

La qualité de la viande est incroyable, le service laisse a désirer. Le menu et l'ambiance ne sont pas adaptés aux enfants.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I reserved for a birthday, service was great, but for the food not great !
Went there for the steak and seafood, the steak was at perfection, for the seafood ( being the lobster season) was expecting Quebec lobster. There was 3 in the tank and not Quebec, so I chose 2 entree, salad and lobster tail as main meal, salad wilted lobster tail cold and tough.
Birthday dessert was good and no charge.
Would still not recommend unless for steak and still not much for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Belle première expérience qu'on va surement répéter. Merci !

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 7, 2017

While our server was good, the kitchen is terrible.

Ordered a steak cooked rare, it arrived medium. After the waitress removed it to bring me another one, it arrived slightly less medium the second time, slapped on top of the first order of mashed potatoes and the now soggy mixed peppers, not exactly seasonal. Served with sauce, the sauce tasted like it came from St. Hubert. My wife ordered the rack of lamb and it was tough and dry. The pecan pie was obviously not fresh and had a layer of preservative jelly on it, showing how little pie they're moving.

There were maybe three other tables with people there the whole night, we arrived around 6:30 and left around 9:00, so the word seems to be getting around that this isn't the restaurant to go to for fine dining anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 5, 2017

This is the second time we've been to Sterling's. The first time, several years ago was outstanding. This time however, the food, while good, was certainly not stellar. While the Rack of Lamb was cooked perfectly, it was rather bland in taste, and not succulent. The Filet Mignon was also tender and properly cooked, but the accompanying sauces were bland as well. A brown sauce with a few peppercorns thrown in does not make a proper peppercorn sauce!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 3, 2017

My favourite 5 star restaurant. All my special occasions are spent at Sterling. Over the top wonderful!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Excellent service, nourriture fraiche et gouteuse, cuisson parfaite, cadre sympathique et chaleureux

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Organic, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

This place is amazing! The owner gave us, and probably everyone, the feeling that we were his only table! Was a wonderful meal and we plan to go back anytime we are in Ottawa!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Good value on the Table d'Hote menu (4 courses), although I had the duck duo and found the confit too salty for my liking, and the magret was not as tender as I expected. The cauliflower soup & escargots appetizer were delicious, and the filet mignon was cooked properly. They brought a special chocolate dessert for the Birthday celebration which nice. The wine list is extensive; a small shame that they do not offer ANY wines by the glass. Our server (Sebastien) was excellent.
I would return, but would stick to the steaks, although seafood might be worth a try.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Business Meals, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Outstanding quality with class. More pricey than your average restaurant but you get what you pay for; this is not your average chain restaurant. Perfect for special occasions. My wife and I make a note to spend at least one evening at Sterling every time we visit Ottawa.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Beautiful location and friendly staff. Tell them you are first time guests and they provide you a tour of their restaurant

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Romantic, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 13, 2017

J'ai demandé s'il était possible d'utiliser un autre steak pour la table d'hôtes et le serveur m'a signifié que oui, sans jamais me préciser que c'était de plus cher. Je me suis rendu compte de cela au moment de payer. Lorsque je lui en ai fait part, il ne m'a jamais offert d'enlever la surcharge.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on May 12, 2017

My second visit was just as good as the first. This time there was live jazz music as well. Just a perfect outing for the family.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on May 3, 2017

All I can say....amazing. we will so be going back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We recently returned to celebrate our 1st Anniversary and were not disappointed!! Everything was spectacular from the warm welcome we received, our friendly & attentive waiter, the amazingly delicious meal which was cooked & presented to perfection!!! We were treated to an amazing dessert in celebration of our anniversary which was a decadent chocolate masterpiece and such an amazing and appreciated gesture!!! Maitre D'Hotel Ahmed Belharakat checked in with us often to make sure our evening was everything we hoped for and even invited us to enjoy a nightcap as his guest to and continue to enjoy the last set of the wonderful live music that was be played throughout our evening!! We can't thank everyone at The Sterling enough for making our Anniversary such a memorable evening!!!

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Stirling was excellent! I would definitely go back. The food and service were both great! The owner gave us a tour, showed us his cellar and gave us an after dinner drink. The only negatives were that it was quite pricey, and, the restaurant was empty but they sat us beside a very loud kid (7pm on a Tuesday!).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Bristol)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Went for a Birthday meal. Could not be happier. Great food and fantastic service.

Tags: Cozy, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Ce resto se démarque par la qualité du service et par l'emplacement; beaux couchers de soleil au bord de la rivière.
Pour la nourriture, je trouve que pour le prix, ça pourrait être rehaussée. Ma salade manquait de fraîcheur. Les légumes d'accompagnement pourraient être plus variés et frais. Par contre, leurs steaks sont vraiment excellents. La carte des vins est bien garnie mais il y aurait un besoin d'ajouter des vins au verre en choix et qualité car il n'y a qu'un seul vin. Je vous le recommande pour une occasion spéciale. Ça nous a coûté près de 300$ pour trois personnes. C'est cher.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We had a good time. We will go again for a special ocassion. A bit expensive for just a night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We love to dine here for special occasions. It has a fancy feel to it and the food and service is outstanding. If you want to enjoy a delicious steak dinner I would recommend this restaurant for a top notch dining experience,, there is a varied selection of sauces to suit your taste and the meat is grilled to perfection to suit your preference (I always go with the chef's recommendation) it never disappoints.

Tags: Waterfront, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We have been to Sterling's in the past and were quite happy with the overall experience. Our last visit this past weekend was quite disappointing. The food was just ok and the service left a lot to be desired. We waited the better part of an hour for our meal and an extended period for our check.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent steaks, perfectly grilled, flavoured with maple smoke. Beautiful location. All the food was delicious from the appetizers through dessert. The serving staff were efficient without being intrusive. Even the live music entertained without overwhelming the conversation. A wide selection of fine wines and a number of private rooms would make Sterling a good choice for a meeting or special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.