About Sterling Restaurant

835 JACQUES CARTIER RD
Gatineau, QC J8T 2W3
View Larger Map

Sterling Restaurant is located in a charming heritage building by the Gatineau River. From within its walls, guests can feel the history of Gatineau.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner
Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday & Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(819) 568-8788

Website:
http://www.sterlingrestaurant.com/english/index.php

Entertainment:
Friday & Saturday

Executive Chef:
AndrewVallières

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sterling Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (28)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Romantic (22)
See All
Special Occasion (22)
Notable Wine List (20)
Worth the Drive (15)
Cozy (14)
Waterfront (13)
Fireplace (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Business Meals (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Scenic View (11)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Private Room (9)
Wood Oven (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Historic (7)
Authentic (7)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Live Music (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Casual (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fun (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Family Style (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Seasonal (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
377 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nous avons découvert votre restaurant po ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined 5 days ago

Nous avons découvert votre restaurant pour la première fois l'an dernier pour la St-Valentin. Nous avons été charmé. Tout était impeccable. Nous avions donc décidé "d'adopter" ce restaurant pour la St-Valentin. Nous étions donc heureux de savoir que la même formule du menu spécial St-Valentin revenait. Nous travaillons les 2 au Casino du Lac-Leamy et nous savons très bien ce qu'est le service à la clientèle. J'ai également travaillé comme serveuse durant quelques temps. Cette année, j'ai eu le pire service de ma vie. Dû à mes allergies, j'ai dû demander de faire un changement dans mon assiette. J'ai demandé s'il était possible de le faire. Mon serveur m'a dit aucun problème. Je suis allée à la salle de bain et lorsque je suis revenue, mon plat principal m'attendais. Sans les modifications demandées. Lorsque nous avons tenté d'aviser le serveur, il ne nous "voyais pas" et c'est seulement une 20taines de minute qu'il est revenu à notre table pour nous demander si tout allait bien, sans me regarder et sans vraiment attendre de réponse. La cuisson était manquée, les pétoncle trop cuite, la crevette aussi, mauvaise cuisson du steak. (Pour mon assiette et non celle de mon conjoint) Par la suite, c'est l'assistant serveur qui a pris la relève. Mais le serveur allait pourtant fréquemment aux autres tables. Il nous a "garoché" le dessert sans explications. ( j'ai dû demander à l'assistant serveur, s'il y avait des cashew pour cause d'allergies) J'ai dû demander pour du café car il ne nous en a pas offert. Mon conjoint à dû se verser lui-même son vin. Nous avons reçu un très très mauvais service pas à la hauteur des standards qu'un restaurant de votre calibre devrait avoir. Je vous ai raconté l'essentiel de la soirée et ceci peut vous paraître banal, mais il est inadmissible de recevoir ce genre de service. Peu importe l'achalandage ( car autour de nous les gens ont eu du service). Je suis déçu, car mon conjoint adorait bien votre restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Voici le courriel que j'ai fais parvenir ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Voici le courriel que j'ai fais parvenir au restaurant:

j'ai beaucoup hésité afin de vous faire savoir que nous sommes six personnes qui ont été à votre restaurant hier et tous nous avons été déçus.

1) La bouffe était tiède

2) Le steaks n'étaient pas cuite à perfection (moi et mon fils nous avions demandé medium et on nous a servi notre steak bleu....) j'ai retourné le mien mais mon fils avait trop faim.

3) Les patates et légumes et bien c'était rien d'extrodinaire pour un restaurant de haute gamme.

4) La toilette des femmes et bien était pas propre du tout - j'ai avisé une serveuse afin qu'on la néttoie

Je suis décu car nous sommes allé dans le passé et nous avions adoré votre resto. Notre serveur était super gentil et après le repas ont nous a offert une apéro payé par la maison.

Je voulais vous le dire car nous n'avons pas beaucoup de restaurant de haute gamme dans la région et si le vôtre ne peux continuer de garder la côte et bien cela serait malheureux.

PS: Nous avons remarqué que non seulement nous étions déçcu mais quelques autres clients aussi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Meilleur restaurant que je suis allé dan ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Meilleur restaurant que je suis allé dans ma vie. Le service et la nourriture! The best!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Wood Oven, Historic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. I have been three times ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent food. I have been three times and never been disappointed.

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and service with reasonable ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Amazing food and service with reasonable price .

Awesome location with plenty of parking

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great time. We go at least on ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Always a great time. We go at least once a year for last 6 years. Pricy but good value. Was busy this year which is nice to see.

Keep up the great service

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place for steak Service very effi ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Great place for steak

Service very efficient and decor very warm

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Waterfront, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall, wonderful experience. Singer/el ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Overall, wonderful experience. Singer/electric piano player a tad too much.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great meal on a winters night. Needed a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Great meal on a winters night. Needed a location for a small business meeting. We went to Stirling. Great staff, and fabulous food choices! The manager came around to ensure we felt welcome and appreciated. Wait staff made great suggestions and really knew the menu choices in great detail.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to Sterling twice and both ti ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We've been to Sterling twice and both times we had amazing food. They only have one choice of wine if you order by the glass but it's really good and they give very generous glasses! The servers are very polite and make you feel special. Worth the drive and the price.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. Notre serveur, Marc, ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Excellent service. Notre serveur, Marc, était de bon conseil pour la sélection de vin. La soirée était calme, idéale pour un souper d'anniversaire de mariage.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had Sebastian as our waiter. Excellen ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We had Sebastian as our waiter. Excellent service. Very attentive. Food was excellent. Steaks were juicy and tender and cooked to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome would defiantly go back again, d ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Awesome would defiantly go back again, delisious food.

Tags: Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Year's Eve at Sterling certainly did ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve at Sterling certainly did not disappoint from beginning to end. The set menu was impressive with lots of choices and a few pleasant surprises. Haute cuisine indeed!

The atmosphere was second to none with every seat in the house taken while a talented three piece musical ensemble gathered to entertain us for the evening. We finished off our meal with dessert, coffee and champagne while many of us then danced as midnight approached and beyond. Thank you for another memorable celebration, scrumptious food an evening full of rich memories.

Merci beaucoup! ❤

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible does not do the food justice; ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Incredible does not do the food justice; Brilliant service, beautifully presented

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Truly pleased with the ambiance and the ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Truly pleased with the ambiance and the food. Service was great and very attentive. Nothing negative to say about the experience. Pricey but you get what you pay for and if you are looking to be pampered to then it will be money well spent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a special early Christmas dinner ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had a special early Christmas dinner with our 5 children including their spouses. Service & food were excellent. Got an awesome tour of the wine cellar. I would go back again with my family, on business or a date with my hubby.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

C'était notre Anniversaire de mariage et ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 20, 2016

C'était notre Anniversaire de mariage et nous avons été très déçu du restaurant, par contre le service était très bien.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

Excellent food, service and overhaul exp ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Excellent food, service and overhaul experience. The only downfall is that it is very pricy but in these days you get what you pay for and we did get a lot at our dinner

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food and great service, perf ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Outstanding food and great service, perfect lunch with friends !!

Tags: Historic, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and excellent service. The fi ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Great food and excellent service. The filet mignon was perfectly grilled. Great ambience in an elegant setting. Well worth it!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was very good food. The only thing th ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 9, 2016

It was very good food. The only thing that spoiled it was loud, not very good music.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

La seule chose il y avais une présentati ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 9, 2016

La seule chose il y avais une présentation de la clinique pédiatrique de l Outaouais et ou nous étions assis nous pouvions voir des images pas très agréable à voir quand ont manges mais sinon le reste tout étais parfait comme d habitude et le service impeccable

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Sterling is are favorite restaurant - ne ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Sterling is are favorite restaurant - never disappoints and Marc are server always provide excellent service

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great birthday evening at Sterling.. we ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Great birthday evening at Sterling.. we haven't been for several years but found the food and the ambiance as good as in the past.. A very enjoyable evening out.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A perfect birthday spot. Fantastic table ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 27, 2016

A perfect birthday spot. Fantastic table, lovely and attentive staff, and the food was incredible. If you're looking for a fancy steakhouse, look no further because this is the place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tout était parfait! Ambiance, service et ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Tout était parfait! Ambiance, service et surtout le filet mignon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was recommended by a friend, we were ver ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Was recommended by a friend, we were very impressed, staff was outstanding, meal was exceptional, and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening. Would definitely eat here again

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a great meal. The steaks were som ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had a great meal. The steaks were some of the best that we have had. Our server must have been new because there were a lot of rookie mistakes. The manager that was there obviously knew and stepped in a couple of times and made our experience good. He also helped with the wine and gave us some great selections at reasonable prices. That always been a beef of mine where you go to a restaurant and the wine list is too expensive. We ended up with a Super Tuscan at $60/bottle.

All in all, we would go back. I think it was a one off with a new waiter. If you love steaks, check it out.

Tags: Casual, Private Room, Romantic, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fireplace, Waterfront, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great service. Delicious food. Beautiful ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Great service. Delicious food. Beautiful space and view. Thanks!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great steak, desert and wine in a relaxe ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great steak, desert and wine in a relaxed and romantic ambiance. The service was superb and the staff we very friendly and polite. They offered us a tour around the restaurant which was amazing. The very last stop in this tour was their wine treasure which was a mini wine museum of its kind. The whole restaurant had a classy, yet cozy ambiance and the waiters spoke English with a beautiful french accent which went well with the whole restaurant theme.

I would say, if you are looking for a place for your anniversary, a classy and elegant restaurant for a your love's birthday, or just a nice double date... this is a perfect choice. Make sure to check the prices on their website as this level of quality doesnt come cheap :)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

J ai aimé qu on nous montre le filet mi ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 11, 2016

J ai aimé qu on nous montre le filet mignon avant d aller le faire cuire.

Aussi en entrant, on voit la viande comme dans une boucherie.

Mon mari venant de sur une ferme et qu ils ont une terre a bois, a bien aimé le poêle a bois....le bois et la hache.

Merci aussi à la personne que ce soit le gérant ou le propriétaire qui vient nous demander si tout est parfait....quelle belle marque d'attention.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Hot Spot, Live Music, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tout a été excellent. Service remarquabl ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Tout a été excellent. Service remarquable! Le serveur a un énorme talent de chanteur.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on a Sunday as one of our friend ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We went on a Sunday as one of our friends has hearing loss, so it was very quiet. The service was fantastic. We never felt rushed even though we were the last ones to leave.

Appetizers

The pan seared foie gras and the giant sea scallops were very tasty, excellent in fact. The Beef tartar was a bit heavy on the garlic, but still pleasing to the palate. We were a bit disappointed with the jumbo shrimp. It was the only appetizer we didn't think was worth the value.

Meals

We all had different cut stakes. It was really special to have the server let us view the rare beef before heading out to the kitchen. The porterhouse, filet mignon and the sirloin were excellent and cooked according to what was order. There was a bit of disappointment with the rib steak as a hard line of gristle in it, but other than that it was excellent. Veggies were good, the double baked potatoe was a bit on the plain side. The side scampi and lobster tails were excellent and the accompanying garlic butter was tasty.

Desserts

The Maple Crème brûlée was to die for and the chocolate lava cake also. It was our first time at this restaurant and we will definitely go back.

Wine

So much to choose from if you are not a wine connoisseur. The couple that was with us likes red wine, but have different palates for taste. This was explained to the server and he suggested a wine which they both really enjoyed. Bravo!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Business Meals, Private Room, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The only thing I turned is that next tim ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The only thing I turned is that next time, when I will choose a wine , I will show the price I chose to the waiter because we were not charge for the bottle we chose on the menu.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Sterling exceeded all expectations. My w ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Sterling exceeded all expectations. My wife and I have been meaning to try for some time and glad we finally did. Sterling will figure on the place to with friends from out of town.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

HAd a wonderful birthday lunch with my s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 20, 2016

HAd a wonderful birthday lunch with my sisters.

Excellent food and service.

Would recommend to everyone.

Will be returning with a party of 6 on November 11th.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding and memorable meal for my bi ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Outstanding and memorable meal for my birthday. Best steak ever! Going back Friday..

Tags: Business Meals, Waterfront, Wood Oven, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was suppose to go with my family and t ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 17, 2016

I was suppose to go with my family and things changed so I had to cancel. However, this visit was with my girlfriend and her daughter and we were all very pleased with everything.

I would definitely go back again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food as always was outstanding! Unfo ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food as always was outstanding! Unfortunately the service was not what I have come to expect. Very very slow and pretty much no knowledge of the wine list or wines I general.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.