Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.05mi
  2. Distance: 1.07mi
  3. Distance: 1.35mi
  4. Distance: 1.36mi
  1. Distance: 1.05mi
  2. Distance: 1.07mi
  3. Distance: 1.35mi
  4. Distance: 1.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.05mi
  2. Distance: 1.07mi
  3. Distance: 1.35mi
  4. Distance: 1.36mi
  1. Distance: 1.05mi
  2. Distance: 1.07mi
  3. Distance: 1.35mi
  4. Distance: 1.36mi

About Sterling Restaurant

Sterling Restaurant is located in a charming heritage building by the Gatineau River. From within its walls, guests can feel the history of Gatineau.

835 JACQUES CARTIER RD
Gatineau, QC J8T 2W3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner
Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday & Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(819) 568-8788

Website:
http://www.sterlingrestaurant.com/english/index.php

Entertainment:
Friday & Saturday

Executive Chef:
AndrewVallières

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sterling Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (45)
Notable Wine List (40)
Waterfront (35)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Good for a Date (33)
Romantic (32)
Worth the Drive (29)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Scenic View (23)
Business Meals (22)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Authentic (16)
Cozy (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Good for Groups (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Casual (4)
Fun (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Seasonal (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Organic (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Live Music (2)
People Watching (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
459 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Nous avons apprécié la qualité du service, le personnel est très attentif tout en étant discret et courtois. L'ensemble du repas était excellent. Nous sommes ravi de notre passage au Sterling.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We took our son here for his 18th birthday and it was absolutely perfect - the staff couldn't have been nicer. The service was perfect and the food was divine. The manager brought my son and his older brother for a tour of the wine rooms. The meal was beautiful, which was followed by a special birthday dessert and complimentary aperitifs! They made us, and particularly my son, to feel very, very special. We could not have chosen a better restaurant for his birthday dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Fillet mignon was excellent and cooked exactly to order. Waiters were attentive, pleasant, informative, and unobtrusive. We dined outdoors with a splendid view of the confluence of the Ottawa and Rideau Rivers. We would return for the meat, even without the view.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

This was an amazing place, we were late from travelling when i called ahead to advise them we would be late, the still accommodated no questions asked.
The food was amazing , and we had a fantastic server. Love the view , right on the river .

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

The service is outstanding. We have had some better apatizers there before. Highly recommended.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

The food was delicious. My only concern was the noise level when the restaurant was busy. I would have appreciated more of an intimate, quieter evening. The mitre di took us on a tour and it was very interesting.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Environnement sombre, accueil parfait, service correct mais notre serveur semblait peu familier avec le menu. Menu classique d'un Steak House. Pas de prix à la table d'hôte, pas de liste d'apéro, apéro à prix fort ! Très bon repas, entrées plantureuses, viande parfaitement cuite et savoureuse, fruits de mer excellents. Option foie gras insatisfaisante tant par sa cuisson que son aspect ! Desserts classiques.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Romantic ambience, excellent service and very good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Maybe I was expecting to much from this restaurant. I don't mind paying $600 for a good lunch and wine with my familly but the cooks were not at their best that night. Everything tasted good but my wife's carré d'agneau was hard to chew and all our steaks(3) were over cooked. This restaurant is supposed to be known for their meats. Sorry. that evening there was a big group there for an anniversary making the place very noisy. Kids were running around our table like they were at home.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Service was adequate, seems as though they hang their hat on their wine list. Paid $59.00 for a porterhouse that had I not been so hungry I would have sent back because it was a chore to cut.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Service and food was superb! We had a tour to begin our experience, wine list is exceptional. Food taste and prepared exactly how I lakes it.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Waterfront, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

A bit on the pricey side. The food is fine and the service was superb. Dominique and the dude with the manbun were great hosts. Not the best martini so step that up. Otherwise a great place to dine and located well.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Excellent service from our server Pascal, food was excellent , plenty of food, well presented, great atmosphere would for sure go back, only down fall a little $$$

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Too expensive for the quality and diversity of food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Food was really good though the steaks were slightly over-cooked. Impeccable service at the beginning went downhill fast when our waiter took the table next to us on a 10 minute tour of the restaurant right as we finished our appetizers. Nice special occasion desert was brought out several minutes before the remaining desserts were ready.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Amazing location and Food! Was awesome all-around. Be back again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Bon steakhouse avec superbe vue sur l'eau et Ottawa

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 10, 2017

J'ai cessé d'aller à ce restaurant il y a maintenant plusieurs années. Les raisons principales étaient, le coût élevé en rapport avec le service obtenu. Lorsque tu paies ce prix pour un repas, je ne m'attends pas au même service qu'au restaurant du cartier. De plus, la marge de profit prélevé sur le vin était déraisonnable. Je n'ai aucune critique quant à la nourriture, elle y est toujours excellente et c'est d'ailleurs, ce qui m'a manqué le plus en refusant d'y aller. Cette fois-ci, je me suis dit, pourquoi ne pas donner une deuxième chance. La nourriture y est toujours aussi délicieuse. En revanche, le service n'a pas changé. Il n'y a aucune raison possible, qui justifie devoir demander ma corbeille de pain à quatre reprises, ou que j'ai à attendre un temps incroyable pour que l'on prenne ma commande.

En résumé, bien qu'un peu plus dispendieux, je vais continuer d'y mettre le prix et aller au Signature (Cordon Bleu). Et si le Sterling désire obtenir une idée de ce qu'est un excellent service à un prix raisonnable, je suggère au dirigeant d'aller faire un tour au Vittoria Trattoria sur le marché by.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

We both had the Table d'Hôte and it was very delicious and plentiful. The servers were very cordial and wonderful. We sat on the outside deck and watched the boats go by. Was not too loud. We will return for sure.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Really excellent steak. And they were very accommodating about food restrictions. I requested a fruit plate for dessert and they were happy to do this. Overall a great experience.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Weather was on our side. We sat on the deck facing the Gatineau. Great ambiance

Staff including the Maitre were all super attentive making the meal extra special

Great wine from a large list of fine wines and spectacular meat from the aged on site beef, perfectly prepared to our specs made for a perfect meal

Can't wait to return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The entire staff here were absolutely amazing! The maître'd gave us a tour and spoke to everyone outside. The food was amazing!!! Well worth going!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great wine selection.
Food quality is very good.
Very good spot to get away from downtown Ottawa (5min)
and still enjoy dinner with family/friends.
It's not a bar scene.

Tags: Scenic View, Seasonal, Casual, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Unbelievable food, service and atmosphere. Keep up the great work!

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

We had such an amazing night at Sterling! I brought my boyfriend and his family as a suprise for his birthday. We had never been there before, but I had read so many great reviews about the restaurant that I knew he would love it! The staff serving our table were extremely friendly and approachable, and even had a little birthday surprise set up for my boyfriend before I could even approach them about it. The food was outstanding and definitely made the price worth it. I highly recommend ordering a steak, as they were hands down the best I have ever had! My boyfriend couldn't stop raving about how good the food was! Thank you so much for such a wonderful night!

Tags: Cozy, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Our waiter was wonderful and everything was prepared perfectly! Loved every bite!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Group of 6 friends, great food outstanding service, quiet enough to talk. No so quiet to be dull. Nice warm decor. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

An amazing experience! The staff were welcoming and attentive without being in the way. The food was an experience in gastronomical art. The wine was outstanding and worth every cent. Kudos to all the chefs and especially the saucier as the reductions were a pleasure to experience.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Excellent service, amazing food. Worth every penny!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

We had a pleasant birthday dinner. I expected fish to be better.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food and wine were amazing. Be careful you taste one slice of their fresh baguette, you won't stop at one slice! My spouse's pasta had this rich, delicious, cream sauce and my steak was cooked to perfection!Thanks to Ahmed for the tour.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Our first time at the recommendation of a close friend.

The Veggie soup was awesome, best caesar salad that i have ever had. Steak along with accompanied veggies was very good.

Service was good. Very attentive and overall a great experience.

If you want a great meal, i highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great steaks! Weather wasn't great while we were there so patio was closed but the view is beautiful!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 10, 2017

We return to this restaurant for special occasions

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Started off perfect - Excellent appetizers (Oysters, Kale Salad, Escargot, Beef tartar) and greeted with exceptional service. - Also accommodated us moving inside the restaurant after it was a bit cold outside with the beautiful view.

Once appetizers were finished, service and food were mediocre.
It took approximately 45- An hour to get our steaks (Top Sirloin - medium rare, 2x NY Steaks - rare). Our waitress kindly reminded us that our food would not take much longer, as it usually doesn't take that long. Unfortunately, my steak was dry and overdone and my partners steak was done incorrectly. We have both worked in the service industry in the past and didn't want to put a fuss. You could see that the staff were extremely busy as they must have had a big party come in.

We were very full from our delicious appetizers that we all ate only half of our steaks. We requested to have it wrapped up. Unfortunately, our food was tossed out and they remedied the problem by offering us 1 uncooked steak. Fortunately, we had a BBQ the next day, so it worked out.

For the price point of the restaurant, I do expect exceptional service. The service at the beginning was phenomenal, but went down hill after the restaurant was busy (it was a Saturday). I would say I received the same service as an East Side Marios (Friendly greeting and and limited communication).

I still tipped 22% since both my partner and I have worked in the service industry in the past (It's not easy). However, I guess for the special occasion, this restaurant let me down.

I may try this restaurant again when it's not so busy. You could see the potential of this place.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great food and a wonderful wine list. We will be back for sure!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Everything was perfect apart from the waiting time between the appetizers and the main course. Really good food. If you're a seafood or meat lover this is the restaurant in gatineau. List of wine is never ending lots of options.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Went there as two couples for an anniversary. Cost was expensive..$140 for two people for just two steaks and two drinks.

Food and service was average.. not better than keg/outback or any other regular steak place.

Service was below average.. Sat around with empty drinks for at least half hour.

Two positives was the beautiful view from the patio and the manager/owner that gave us a tour of the place when he found out it was our first time.

Manager/owner told us we would be shown the steaks before it was cooked but it didn't happen. I did see it was done for some others but apparently not for everyone.. :$

If you want fine dining... Go somewhere else.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 3, 2017

My daughter and I have a wonderful dinner experience here
We'll be back

Tags: Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Excellent repas. Excellent service dans une ambiance de grand restaurant à la "Charlevoix", proche de la rivière! L'odeur du bois qui chauffe les viandes se répend doucement dans toute la bâtisse pour créer une atmosphère authentique très spéciale!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.