Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.05mi
  2. Distance: 1.07mi
  3. Distance: 1.35mi
  4. Distance: 1.36mi
  1. Distance: 1.05mi
  2. Distance: 1.07mi
  3. Distance: 1.35mi
  4. Distance: 1.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.05mi
  2. Distance: 1.07mi
  3. Distance: 1.35mi
  4. Distance: 1.36mi
  1. Distance: 1.05mi
  2. Distance: 1.07mi
  3. Distance: 1.35mi
  4. Distance: 1.36mi

About Sterling Restaurant

Sterling Restaurant is located in a charming heritage building by the Gatineau River. From within its walls, guests can feel the history of Gatineau.

835 JACQUES CARTIER RD
Gatineau, QC J8T 2W3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner
Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday & Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(819) 568-8788

Website:
http://www.sterlingrestaurant.com/english/index.php

Entertainment:
Friday & Saturday

Executive Chef:
AndrewVallières

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sterling Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (22)
Notable Wine List (17)
Romantic (17)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Special Occasion (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Fireplace (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Waterfront (9)
Business Meals (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Scenic View (8)
Private Room (7)
Wood Oven (7)
Cozy (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Historic (4)
Authentic (4)
Live Music (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Fun (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Casual (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
392 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We love to dine here for special occasions. It has a fancy feel to it and the food and service is outstanding. If you want to enjoy a delicious steak dinner I would recommend this restaurant for a top notch dining experience,, there is a varied selection of sauces to suit your taste and the meat is grilled to perfection to suit your preference (I always go with the chef's recommendation) it never disappoints.

Tags: Waterfront, Fireplace, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We have been to Sterling's in the past and were quite happy with the overall experience. Our last visit this past weekend was quite disappointing. The food was just ok and the service left a lot to be desired. We waited the better part of an hour for our meal and an extended period for our check.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent steaks, perfectly grilled, flavoured with maple smoke. Beautiful location. All the food was delicious from the appetizers through dessert. The serving staff were efficient without being intrusive. Even the live music entertained without overwhelming the conversation. A wide selection of fine wines and a number of private rooms would make Sterling a good choice for a meeting or special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Enjoyed the experience. The staff were very friendly, welcoming and very efficient. The tour of the wine cellar was wonderful and educational. It is a restaurant that we will be visiting again soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Business Meals, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We were very happy with the service from the get-go. Owner gave us a beautiful tour of a beautiful restaurant. Menu was good and original including the foie gras poutine.....so tasty! Good restaurant experiences rarely happen. Complaints are the norm and compliments are far and few between. We had a GREAT time! Merci beaucoup!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Wood Oven, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on March 9, 2017

I was really looking forward to trying Sterling after reading and hearing good things about it. However, apart from its scenic location on the river, I have to say it leaves much to be desired. My impression on entering the main door was, are they moving? The walls in the main dining room were completely bare. The tables were randomly placed and not set to impress at all. Then when the food finally arrived, the calamari was soggy and rubbery. The fries were limp. The steak was good but, frankly, not in any way special. Also, we saw only one server. I'm sorry to say that I was not impressed. Whether a case of overinflated reputation due to its location or the place magically transforms at night I'll never find out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on March 5, 2017

It's difficult these days to find a restaurant with great service who actually respect when you're speaking and wait for you to finish and serve properly.

We had a great evening, great food, exceptional service, great table!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Excellent dinner and very comprehensive list of wonderful wines spanning all regions with attentive service (thanks Pascal!). The appetizers wonderful (crisp calamari flavourful sauces, very good Caesar salad, tasty oysters) The steak was out-of-this-world and the scallops apparently were also. The birthday surprise dessert, a chocolate 'mountain range' the perfect finish to a most enjoyable celebration!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent restaurant avec une carte des vins pour tous les budgets à
faire envie. Service hors pair et attentionné.
Élégance, et plat savoureux.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Musique excécrable, filets pas bons du tout, très bruyant...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Excellent food, wine and service. We found the tables too long so couples had to speak up to eachother rather than be able to speak softly and privately. That is the only thing i would like to see different in this place. The rest is top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The waiter was amazingly friendly and the food was perfect start to finish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 15, 2017

If you have never been, just go. You won't regret it. A hands down amazing meal with exceptional service! Sterling's is the go to place where my wife and I go, for our special lunch or dinners. I have yet to find better in our area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fireplace, Cozy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Nous avons découvert votre restaurant pour la première fois l'an dernier pour la St-Valentin. Nous avons été charmé. Tout était impeccable. Nous avions donc décidé "d'adopter" ce restaurant pour la St-Valentin. Nous étions donc heureux de savoir que la même formule du menu spécial St-Valentin revenait. Nous travaillons les 2 au Casino du Lac-Leamy et nous savons très bien ce qu'est le service à la clientèle. J'ai également travaillé comme serveuse durant quelques temps. Cette année, j'ai eu le pire service de ma vie. Dû à mes allergies, j'ai dû demander de faire un changement dans mon assiette. J'ai demandé s'il était possible de le faire. Mon serveur m'a dit aucun problème. Je suis allée à la salle de bain et lorsque je suis revenue, mon plat principal m'attendais. Sans les modifications demandées. Lorsque nous avons tenté d'aviser le serveur, il ne nous "voyais pas" et c'est seulement une 20taines de minute qu'il est revenu à notre table pour nous demander si tout allait bien, sans me regarder et sans vraiment attendre de réponse. La cuisson était manquée, les pétoncle trop cuite, la crevette aussi, mauvaise cuisson du steak. (Pour mon assiette et non celle de mon conjoint) Par la suite, c'est l'assistant serveur qui a pris la relève. Mais le serveur allait pourtant fréquemment aux autres tables. Il nous a "garoché" le dessert sans explications. ( j'ai dû demander à l'assistant serveur, s'il y avait des cashew pour cause d'allergies) J'ai dû demander pour du café car il ne nous en a pas offert. Mon conjoint à dû se verser lui-même son vin. Nous avons reçu un très très mauvais service pas à la hauteur des standards qu'un restaurant de votre calibre devrait avoir. Je vous ai raconté l'essentiel de la soirée et ceci peut vous paraître banal, mais il est inadmissible de recevoir ce genre de service. Peu importe l'achalandage ( car autour de nous les gens ont eu du service). Je suis déçu, car mon conjoint adorait bien votre restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Voici le courriel que j'ai fais parvenir au restaurant:


j'ai beaucoup hésité afin de vous faire savoir que nous sommes six personnes qui ont été à votre restaurant hier et tous nous avons été déçus.

1) La bouffe était tiède
2) Le steaks n'étaient pas cuite à perfection (moi et mon fils nous avions demandé medium et on nous a servi notre steak bleu....) j'ai retourné le mien mais mon fils avait trop faim.
3) Les patates et légumes et bien c'était rien d'extrodinaire pour un restaurant de haute gamme.
4) La toilette des femmes et bien était pas propre du tout - j'ai avisé une serveuse afin qu'on la néttoie

Je suis décu car nous sommes allé dans le passé et nous avions adoré votre resto. Notre serveur était super gentil et après le repas ont nous a offert une apéro payé par la maison.

Je voulais vous le dire car nous n'avons pas beaucoup de restaurant de haute gamme dans la région et si le vôtre ne peux continuer de garder la côte et bien cela serait malheureux.



PS: Nous avons remarqué que non seulement nous étions déçcu mais quelques autres clients aussi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Meilleur restaurant que je suis allé dans ma vie. Le service et la nourriture! The best!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Wood Oven, Historic, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

It would be great to let the open table guest know that they would not be accommodated in the regular dining room. We were three, with our younger daughter for valentine dinner on Saturday night and we were put downstairs - no live music - with 5 other couples, for dinner. No real value for price for being stuck in a quiet room. Although service and food were good - we typically have a seat upstairs and with live music. Will not book again on open table as we told have to speak to someone to confirm where we would be seated. We booked about a week in advance.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent food. I have been three times and never been disappointed.

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Amazing food and service with reasonable price .
Awesome location with plenty of parking

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Always a great time. We go at least once a year for last 6 years. Pricy but good value. Was busy this year which is nice to see.
Keep up the great service

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Great place for steak
Service very efficient and decor very warm

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Waterfront, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Overall, wonderful experience. Singer/electric piano player a tad too much.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Great meal on a winters night. Needed a location for a small business meeting. We went to Stirling. Great staff, and fabulous food choices! The manager came around to ensure we felt welcome and appreciated. Wait staff made great suggestions and really knew the menu choices in great detail.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We've been to Sterling twice and both times we had amazing food. They only have one choice of wine if you order by the glass but it's really good and they give very generous glasses! The servers are very polite and make you feel special. Worth the drive and the price.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Excellent service. Notre serveur, Marc, était de bon conseil pour la sélection de vin. La soirée était calme, idéale pour un souper d'anniversaire de mariage.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We had Sebastian as our waiter. Excellent service. Very attentive. Food was excellent. Steaks were juicy and tender and cooked to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Awesome would defiantly go back again, delisious food.

Tags: Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve at Sterling certainly did not disappoint from beginning to end. The set menu was impressive with lots of choices and a few pleasant surprises. Haute cuisine indeed!
The atmosphere was second to none with every seat in the house taken while a talented three piece musical ensemble gathered to entertain us for the evening. We finished off our meal with dessert, coffee and champagne while many of us then danced as midnight approached and beyond. Thank you for another memorable celebration, scrumptious food an evening full of rich memories.
Merci beaucoup! ❤

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Incredible does not do the food justice; Brilliant service, beautifully presented

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Truly pleased with the ambiance and the food. Service was great and very attentive. Nothing negative to say about the experience. Pricey but you get what you pay for and if you are looking to be pampered to then it will be money well spent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had a special early Christmas dinner with our 5 children including their spouses. Service & food were excellent. Got an awesome tour of the wine cellar. I would go back again with my family, on business or a date with my hubby.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 20, 2016

C'était notre Anniversaire de mariage et nous avons été très déçu du restaurant, par contre le service était très bien.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Excellent food, service and overhaul experience. The only downfall is that it is very pricy but in these days you get what you pay for and we did get a lot at our dinner

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Outstanding food and great service, perfect lunch with friends !!

Tags: Historic, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Great food and excellent service. The filet mignon was perfectly grilled. Great ambience in an elegant setting. Well worth it!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 9, 2016

It was very good food. The only thing that spoiled it was loud, not very good music.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 9, 2016

La seule chose il y avais une présentation de la clinique pédiatrique de l Outaouais et ou nous étions assis nous pouvions voir des images pas très agréable à voir quand ont manges mais sinon le reste tout étais parfait comme d habitude et le service impeccable

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Excellent food! Great service! An A1++ steak house!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Sterling is are favorite restaurant - never disappoints and Marc are server always provide excellent service

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Great birthday evening at Sterling.. we haven't been for several years but found the food and the ambiance as good as in the past.. A very enjoyable evening out.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.