About Sterling Restaurant

Sterling Restaurant is located in a charming heritage building by the Gatineau River. From within its walls, guests can feel the history of Gatineau.

835 JACQUES CARTIER RD
Gatineau, QC J8T 2W3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner
Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday & Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(819) 568-8788

Website:
http://www.sterlingrestaurant.com/english/index.php

Entertainment:
Friday & Saturday

Executive Chef:
AndrewVallières

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sterling Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (37)
Romantic (35)
Good for a Date (32)
See All
Notable Wine List (30)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Waterfront (25)
Scenic View (23)
Worth the Drive (23)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Authentic (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Cozy (13)
Business Meals (13)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Healthy (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Live Music (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Seasonal (4)
Casual (3)
Fun (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort by
S
486 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

I loved my experience... I strongly recommend it... I will surely go there in the future...

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

My partner and I went there to celebrate our anniversary and ordered the table d’hote, soup, appetizer, main and desert for a fantastic price and the portions were generous. The food was incredible and the service was perfect. Highly recommended.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We had an excellent experience at Sterling. Amazing food and ambiance, with excellent service as well. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Great quality food with good service and wonderful restaurant ambiance.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 31, 2017

Wonderful experience to celebrate a birthday. Ukrainian Prime Minister with all his security made it a truly memorable experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 31, 2017

Amazing food and service. Sterling exceeded all expectations. 100% recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Had not been to Sterling for many years. I recently happened upon it when I was in the neighborhood and decided to make a reservation for a dinner with friends. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening; service and food were excellent and the ambience and location give the place a somewhat unique quality. Not cheap but good value in my opinion.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 26, 2017

We had great evening to celebrate my new promotion. The food was excellent and the service was impeccable. We will come back for sure :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 24, 2017

First time at Sterling and I can understand why it is well liked. The appetizers (clam soup and mushroom) were delicious. The steak (12oz NY strip) was perfectly cooked and Smokey flavoured. Not as tender and juicy as Sous-vide but great nonetheless. Potatoes and sides well seasoned and flavour full. The lobster tail was hands down the winner of the evening. Cooked on the BBQ, I assume, until just set and basted with season butter... amazing. 10x better than boiled lobster. Poached pear with chantilly cream for dessert was also very delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

Nous avons été désappointé par la qualité de la viande et de la nourriture en général. Dommage car c'était une de nos places favorites mais nos 2 derniers souper à cet endroit nous ont déçus. Pour le prix, on s'attend à beaucoup mieux. Le service était très bien et l'endroit est très agréable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on October 20, 2017

This is a wonderful steakhouse that gets it right everytime. They will show you your cut before cooking. We come for special occasions cause like most steakhouses it's $$ but worth while. Thank you! Also amazing wine selection!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 19, 2017

The food is excellent, the server we had was rough and pressing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on October 16, 2017

Although it was unfortunate that a group of tourists arrived and treated their entire meal like a photo shoot and were not respectable of the other customers trying to have a nice quiet and (in our case) romantic dinner, the food was absolutely phenomenal. Our server could've been a little faster in the beginning but he got much better once we'd ordered our first item. Also very helpful with the choices of meat and even gave us some desert liquor on the house (it was my husbands birthday). Would definitely recommend this as it was recommended to me.

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Very loud. My date was the same distance from me than the stranger sitting with his date beside me, so he would hear everything I was saying. It really felt like we were sitting in a row of dates, like sardines, and did not feel intimate at all. For best value for your buck, the Keg beats Sterling hands down. The only thing better at Sterling was the meat and even then the price difference is not justified.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value2

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

I was there a few weeks ago and it was great. Our steaks were done perfectly and everything was good except the over cooked $9 asperagus. The frites are great!!!! The double baked potato not so much.

I decided suggest to my family that we go there for my dad's 84th. bday on October 14th... I am not sure who was cooking the steaks but he screwed it up big time. I walked in and it was a youngster by the grill. For some reason I had a bad feeling but you can't judge based on age. I ordered my steak medium well and the steak came back very well done. I told my waiter and agreed and quickly fired up another filet. It came back rare. I got a little angry and told him to just take it away and don't bring me another one. I was very disappointed compared to the first time we were there. The other steaks at our table were a touch off as well on the more rarer side. The service was not as great as my previous experience. Maybe this is due to the fact that it was Saturday and the first time I was there was on a Friday. Either way, it shouldn't make a difference. Our food took over an hour to come to our table. Steaks take no longer than 12 minutes total so I am not sure what the hold up was.

On the bright side, our waiter was MIA for about 30 minutes but did buy us an extra bottle of wine to compensate for the steak screw up. That was nice.

I am not sure if I would go back only because of the cook. Pretty sad because the first experience was great. I hope the cook got a talking to because he wasted about $40 worth of filet and left a bad impression on the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

My husband and I loved the food. We had the Table d'hote with our main entree being the 12% New York Sterling steak. Best steak I have ever had. In retrospect, I would order the 8% Filet Mignon instead as I found the 12% too filling. The service is impeccable without being pretentious. It is quite expensive for us so this restaurant would be for special occasion only and not more than once a year on our budget.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Table d'hôte was good. We had the surf n turf plus the salmon. Soup and appetizers were good. Beef minestrone soup. Appetizers were mushroom and beef tartar.

Main meal was salmon, great flavours. Surf n turf was 12oz NY strip. No flavour at all. Lobster tail was excellent. All sides were great. Only the steak was flavourless. It's really too bad as this is supposed to be a great steak house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 12, 2017

The service was excellent, our waiter was charming and made very good recommendations, the food was very good and despite being very large the space was broken up so as to feel very cosy.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 10, 2017

The food and the ambience was just impeccable. The service can use a little bit of polishing. The table overlooking the river was marvellous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We were a family party of 10 celebrating a "significant" birthday. Everything was perfect. We were seated in a mezzanine area overlooking the main dining room which was a perfect location, which felt more private than the main room as it had a smaller number of tables. Although the table d'hote menu offered some excellent selections, we all opted for selections from the a la carte menu. The meals of lobster tails, steaks and salmon, were all very generous portions and perfectly prepared. The service was excellent - our waiter was very professional, helpful and efficient. Our 10 meals arriving together and exactly as ordered. This was a perfect venue for our celebration, and well worth the extra drive to get there.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Comme d'habitude, la qualité de la nourriture et du service est toujours haut de gamme. La spécialité de la maison est le boeuf. Toujours tendre et cuit comme demandé. Les huîtres comme entrée, mmmmm........ Belle carte de vins.

Marc le serveur est un as. Un simple regard et il comprend ce que vous voulez.

La table 53.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Excellent dining experience, fantastic service, highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

AWESOME! A truly wonderful evening... Celebrating my husband's retirement and they couldn't have made us feel more special or pampered. Come hungry! The servings are generous and you will want to finish every last bite! While some have complained about prices, you certainly get your money's worth. We were thrilled to have made this choice and will definitely be back next time we are in the region... in fact, we make a detour just to be able to dine here again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Sterling upholds it's reputation for fine dining, the setting has old world / turn of the century charm with very profetional service that is engaging and friendly not stuffy . The meals are well paced which promotes conversation. We attend because of the approach with the beef. The wine menu is very impressive but within reach of most budgets . We had a very nice soiree soon to return on our next visit to Ottawa.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 25, 2017

We heard from friends about this restaurant but we were very disappointed by the food, especially the main course. The steak was nothing special, the sauce was ordinary and there was way too much garlic on the steak. Not everyboy like garlic. The entrées were great though. As for the wine, unless you buy a bottle of wine, the selection by the glass is allright. I will not be back. Value for money, not worth it!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Nous avons apprécié la qualité du service, le personnel est très attentif tout en étant discret et courtois. L'ensemble du repas était excellent. Nous sommes ravi de notre passage au Sterling.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Repas et service excellent, belle vue de la terrasse, seul point négatif facile à rectifier, le propriétaire et serveurs s'installe sur le côté de la terrasse pour fumer, ceci rend l'atmosphère désagréable... Notre serveuse était fantastique, merci Dominique !

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

We took our son here for his 18th birthday and it was absolutely perfect - the staff couldn't have been nicer. The service was perfect and the food was divine. The manager brought my son and his older brother for a tour of the wine rooms. The meal was beautiful, which was followed by a special birthday dessert and complimentary aperitifs! They made us, and particularly my son, to feel very, very special. We could not have chosen a better restaurant for his birthday dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Fillet mignon was excellent and cooked exactly to order. Waiters were attentive, pleasant, informative, and unobtrusive. We dined outdoors with a splendid view of the confluence of the Ottawa and Rideau Rivers. We would return for the meat, even without the view.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

This was an amazing place, we were late from travelling when i called ahead to advise them we would be late, the still accommodated no questions asked.
The food was amazing , and we had a fantastic server. Love the view , right on the river .

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

The service is outstanding. We have had some better apatizers there before. Highly recommended.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

The food was delicious. My only concern was the noise level when the restaurant was busy. I would have appreciated more of an intimate, quieter evening. The mitre di took us on a tour and it was very interesting.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Environnement sombre, accueil parfait, service correct mais notre serveur semblait peu familier avec le menu. Menu classique d'un Steak House. Pas de prix à la table d'hôte, pas de liste d'apéro, apéro à prix fort ! Très bon repas, entrées plantureuses, viande parfaitement cuite et savoureuse, fruits de mer excellents. Option foie gras insatisfaisante tant par sa cuisson que son aspect ! Desserts classiques.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Romantic ambience, excellent service and very good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Maybe I was expecting to much from this restaurant. I don't mind paying $600 for a good lunch and wine with my familly but the cooks were not at their best that night. Everything tasted good but my wife's carré d'agneau was hard to chew and all our steaks(3) were over cooked. This restaurant is supposed to be known for their meats. Sorry. that evening there was a big group there for an anniversary making the place very noisy. Kids were running around our table like they were at home.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Service was adequate, seems as though they hang their hat on their wine list. Paid $59.00 for a porterhouse that had I not been so hungry I would have sent back because it was a chore to cut.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Service and food was superb! We had a tour to begin our experience, wine list is exceptional. Food taste and prepared exactly how I lakes it.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Waterfront, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

A bit on the pricey side. The food is fine and the service was superb. Dominique and the dude with the manbun were great hosts. Not the best martini so step that up. Otherwise a great place to dine and located well.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Excellent service from our server Pascal, food was excellent , plenty of food, well presented, great atmosphere would for sure go back, only down fall a little $$$

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Too expensive for the quality and diversity of food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.