About Sterling Restaurant

Sterling Restaurant is located in a charming heritage building by the Gatineau River. From within its walls, guests can feel the history of Gatineau.

835 JACQUES CARTIER RD
Gatineau, QC J8T 2W3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner
Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday & Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(819) 568-8788

Website:
http://www.sterlingrestaurant.com/english/index.php

Entertainment:
Friday & Saturday

Executive Chef:
AndrewVallières

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Vinos Langosta Y Carnes - Sterling Restaurant, Gatineau, QC

Report a photo problem

Vinos Langosta Y Carnes - Sterling Restaurant, Gatineau, QC

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Seulement le menu St-Valentin 5 services 75$ sera offert . Pas de menu a la carte.
S'il-vous-plait contacter le restaurant pour reserver . Merci
Special Valentine's day menu only. 5 course meal 75$ ( no a la carte menu) Please contact restaurant to make a reservation. Thank you

Sterling Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (32)
Romantic (29)
Good for a Date (29)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Notable Wine List (25)
Worth the Drive (19)
Waterfront (18)
Business Meals (16)
Cozy (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Scenic View (13)
Private Room (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Fireplace (9)
Wood Oven (9)
Historic (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Authentic (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Live Music (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Casual (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Fun (2)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Healthy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
369 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overall, wonderful experience. Singer/el ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined 7 days ago

Overall, wonderful experience. Singer/electric piano player a tad too much.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great meal on a winters night. Needed a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Great meal on a winters night. Needed a location for a small business meeting. We went to Stirling. Great staff, and fabulous food choices! The manager came around to ensure we felt welcome and appreciated. Wait staff made great suggestions and really knew the menu choices in great detail.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to Sterling twice and both ti ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We've been to Sterling twice and both times we had amazing food. They only have one choice of wine if you order by the glass but it's really good and they give very generous glasses! The servers are very polite and make you feel special. Worth the drive and the price.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service. Notre serveur, Marc, ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Excellent service. Notre serveur, Marc, était de bon conseil pour la sélection de vin. La soirée était calme, idéale pour un souper d'anniversaire de mariage.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had Sebastian as our waiter. Excellen ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We had Sebastian as our waiter. Excellent service. Very attentive. Food was excellent. Steaks were juicy and tender and cooked to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome would defiantly go back again, d ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Awesome would defiantly go back again, delisious food.

Tags: Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible does not do the food justice; ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Incredible does not do the food justice; Brilliant service, beautifully presented

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Truly pleased with the ambiance and the ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Truly pleased with the ambiance and the food. Service was great and very attentive. Nothing negative to say about the experience. Pricey but you get what you pay for and if you are looking to be pampered to then it will be money well spent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a special early Christmas dinner ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had a special early Christmas dinner with our 5 children including their spouses. Service & food were excellent. Got an awesome tour of the wine cellar. I would go back again with my family, on business or a date with my hubby.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

C'était notre Anniversaire de mariage et ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 20, 2016

C'était notre Anniversaire de mariage et nous avons été très déçu du restaurant, par contre le service était très bien.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

Excellent food, service and overhaul exp ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Excellent food, service and overhaul experience. The only downfall is that it is very pricy but in these days you get what you pay for and we did get a lot at our dinner

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food and great service, perf ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Outstanding food and great service, perfect lunch with friends !!

Tags: Historic, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and excellent service. The fi ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Great food and excellent service. The filet mignon was perfectly grilled. Great ambience in an elegant setting. Well worth it!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was very good food. The only thing th ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 9, 2016

It was very good food. The only thing that spoiled it was loud, not very good music.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

La seule chose il y avais une présentati ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on December 9, 2016

La seule chose il y avais une présentation de la clinique pédiatrique de l Outaouais et ou nous étions assis nous pouvions voir des images pas très agréable à voir quand ont manges mais sinon le reste tout étais parfait comme d habitude et le service impeccable

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Sterling is are favorite restaurant - ne ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Sterling is are favorite restaurant - never disappoints and Marc are server always provide excellent service

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great birthday evening at Sterling.. we ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Great birthday evening at Sterling.. we haven't been for several years but found the food and the ambiance as good as in the past.. A very enjoyable evening out.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A perfect birthday spot. Fantastic table ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 27, 2016

A perfect birthday spot. Fantastic table, lovely and attentive staff, and the food was incredible. If you're looking for a fancy steakhouse, look no further because this is the place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tout était parfait! Ambiance, service et ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Tout était parfait! Ambiance, service et surtout le filet mignon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was recommended by a friend, we were ver ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Was recommended by a friend, we were very impressed, staff was outstanding, meal was exceptional, and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening. Would definitely eat here again

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a great meal. The steaks were som ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had a great meal. The steaks were some of the best that we have had. Our server must have been new because there were a lot of rookie mistakes. The manager that was there obviously knew and stepped in a couple of times and made our experience good. He also helped with the wine and gave us some great selections at reasonable prices. That always been a beef of mine where you go to a restaurant and the wine list is too expensive. We ended up with a Super Tuscan at $60/bottle.

All in all, we would go back. I think it was a one off with a new waiter. If you love steaks, check it out.

Tags: Casual, Private Room, Romantic, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fireplace, Waterfront, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great service. Delicious food. Beautiful ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Great service. Delicious food. Beautiful space and view. Thanks!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great steak, desert and wine in a relaxe ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great steak, desert and wine in a relaxed and romantic ambiance. The service was superb and the staff we very friendly and polite. They offered us a tour around the restaurant which was amazing. The very last stop in this tour was their wine treasure which was a mini wine museum of its kind. The whole restaurant had a classy, yet cozy ambiance and the waiters spoke English with a beautiful french accent which went well with the whole restaurant theme.

I would say, if you are looking for a place for your anniversary, a classy and elegant restaurant for a your love's birthday, or just a nice double date... this is a perfect choice. Make sure to check the prices on their website as this level of quality doesnt come cheap :)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

J ai aimé qu on nous montre le filet mi ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 11, 2016

J ai aimé qu on nous montre le filet mignon avant d aller le faire cuire.

Aussi en entrant, on voit la viande comme dans une boucherie.

Mon mari venant de sur une ferme et qu ils ont une terre a bois, a bien aimé le poêle a bois....le bois et la hache.

Merci aussi à la personne que ce soit le gérant ou le propriétaire qui vient nous demander si tout est parfait....quelle belle marque d'attention.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Hot Spot, Live Music, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tout a été excellent. Service remarquabl ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Tout a été excellent. Service remarquable! Le serveur a un énorme talent de chanteur.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on a Sunday as one of our friend ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We went on a Sunday as one of our friends has hearing loss, so it was very quiet. The service was fantastic. We never felt rushed even though we were the last ones to leave.

Appetizers

The pan seared foie gras and the giant sea scallops were very tasty, excellent in fact. The Beef tartar was a bit heavy on the garlic, but still pleasing to the palate. We were a bit disappointed with the jumbo shrimp. It was the only appetizer we didn't think was worth the value.

Meals

We all had different cut stakes. It was really special to have the server let us view the rare beef before heading out to the kitchen. The porterhouse, filet mignon and the sirloin were excellent and cooked according to what was order. There was a bit of disappointment with the rib steak as a hard line of gristle in it, but other than that it was excellent. Veggies were good, the double baked potatoe was a bit on the plain side. The side scampi and lobster tails were excellent and the accompanying garlic butter was tasty.

Desserts

The Maple Crème brûlée was to die for and the chocolate lava cake also. It was our first time at this restaurant and we will definitely go back.

Wine

So much to choose from if you are not a wine connoisseur. The couple that was with us likes red wine, but have different palates for taste. This was explained to the server and he suggested a wine which they both really enjoyed. Bravo!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Business Meals, Private Room, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The only thing I turned is that next tim ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The only thing I turned is that next time, when I will choose a wine , I will show the price I chose to the waiter because we were not charge for the bottle we chose on the menu.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Sterling exceeded all expectations. My w ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Sterling exceeded all expectations. My wife and I have been meaning to try for some time and glad we finally did. Sterling will figure on the place to with friends from out of town.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

HAd a wonderful birthday lunch with my s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 20, 2016

HAd a wonderful birthday lunch with my sisters.

Excellent food and service.

Would recommend to everyone.

Will be returning with a party of 6 on November 11th.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding and memorable meal for my bi ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Outstanding and memorable meal for my birthday. Best steak ever! Going back Friday..

Tags: Business Meals, Waterfront, Wood Oven, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was suppose to go with my family and t ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 17, 2016

I was suppose to go with my family and things changed so I had to cancel. However, this visit was with my girlfriend and her daughter and we were all very pleased with everything.

I would definitely go back again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food as always was outstanding! Unfo ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food as always was outstanding! Unfortunately the service was not what I have come to expect. Very very slow and pretty much no knowledge of the wine list or wines I general.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Never disappoints when looking for an ex ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Never disappoints when looking for an excellent steak, cooked to perfection with fresh vegetables, extensive wine selection and great service.

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have our date night's here at least o ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We have our date night's here at least once a month. We love the filet mignon :)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

J'ai l'impression que vous avez changé d ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 6, 2016

J'ai l'impression que vous avez changé de chef. Le stir fry qui était extraordinaire lorsque j'y suis allée au printemps dernier était beaucoup moins raffiné et le nid de riz baignait dans le gras. Le potage était très bon mais à peine chaud. Ça ne vaut plus le prix. Je serai très longtemps sans y retourner en espérant que les choses changent en attendant. Pour terminer sur une note positive: le gâteau au fromage et caramel salé était excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

La carte des vins est fantastique. Le fi ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 1, 2016

La carte des vins est fantastique. Le filet mignon est tellement tendre et la cuisson est parfaite. Demandez Marc et la table 53 pour une soirée inoubliable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Une soirée très apprécié,excellente cuis ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Une soirée très apprécié,excellente cuisine et services bien exécuté Merci beaucoup

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit to this restaurant was t ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Our first visit to this restaurant was to celebrate a birthday and it was truly a wonderful experience with delicious food, impeccable service and a welcoming ambience. A thoroughly enjoyable romantic evening that we are sure to repeat. Highly recommended if you appreciate quality food in elegant surroundings. A real treat.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Open Kitchen, Waterfront, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellente soirée! Je suis toujours agré ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Excellente soirée! Je suis toujours agréablement surprise par le service attentionné, c'est très apprécié. Un menu pour tous les goûts, le trio de saumons est délicieux. Les portions sont généreuses, vous ne serez pas déçu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

At the confluence of the Gatineau and Ot ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 18, 2016

At the confluence of the Gatineau and Ottawa rivers, Sterling offers a lovely setting for delicious food with attentive and pleasant bilingual service. Their table d'hôte is very good value, and their beef is exceptionally good. For anyone with an interest in wine, this is a restaurant to visit, since the wine list is long and varied, ranging from affordable to "only if I win the jackpot at the casino."

Tags: Private Room, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.