About Sterling Restaurant

835 JACQUES CARTIER RD
Gatineau, QC J8T 2W3
View Larger Map

Sterling Restaurant is located in a charming heritage building by the Gatineau River. From within its walls, guests can feel the history of Gatineau.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner
Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday & Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(819) 568-8788

Website:
http://www.sterlingrestaurant.com/english/index.php

Entertainment:
Friday & Saturday

Executive Chef:
AndrewVallières

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Vinos Langosta Y Carnes
Vinos Langosta Y Carnes

Sterling Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Ottawa
Best Value
Ottawa
Notable Wine List
Ottawa
9 More
Romantic
Ottawa
Special Occasion
Ottawa
Best Overall
Ottawa / Gatineau
Best Food
Ottawa / Gatineau
Best Ambiance
Ottawa / Gatineau
Best Value
Ottawa / Gatineau
Notable Wine List
Ottawa / Gatineau
Romantic
Ottawa / Gatineau
Special Occasion
Ottawa / Gatineau

special occasion (57)
romantic (47)
notable wine list (46)
See All
scenic view (32)
fit for foodies (29)
good for groups (27)
neighborhood gem (16)
great for outdoor dining (14)
great for lunch (10)
late-night find (6)
hot spot (6)
great for brunch (3)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
286 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Top quality food, superbly prepared , im ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined 6 days ago

Top quality food, superbly prepared , impeccable service in an elegant setting

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Three of us enjoyed lunch at Sterling - ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Three of us enjoyed lunch at Sterling - the food was delicious and the service was excellent!

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I was expecting something like Beckta (O ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I was expecting something like Beckta (Ottawa) but the bread, mayo and fries was not homemade or not very good. The pasta, filet mignon and desert was good but for this kind of restaurant and the price range everything has to be perfect.

They learn from Beckta.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We had a lovely lunch this week to cele ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We had a lovely lunch this week to celebrate my mother's 90th birthday. It was a breezy summer day on the deck and we enjoyed the scenic view of Gatineau River. Pascal greeted served us with his usual welcoming smile, kindness and efficiency. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. Sterling never disappoints!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an outstanding venue for dining. ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This is an outstanding venue for dining. Owner and staff were very friendly, attentive but not in your face. Food selection and delivery was great. Visited from Brighton, Ontario for Canada Day and could not have chosen a better place in the whole of the Ottawa Region. A special gem hidden in Gatineau, PQ. Go there!!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sterling Grillades is n excellent restau ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Sterling Grillades is n excellent restaurant with a broad menu, careful service and first-rate food.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The owner was very friendly and we loved ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The owner was very friendly and we loved the ambiance. Wait staff was very courteous and polite and checked on us regularly. Food presentation was excellent, even showing us our meat cut before cooking it. The food was absolutely delicious and portions were very generous. I loved the restaurant, it was very romantic as well.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I thought it was overpriced for what we ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I thought it was overpriced for what we got. Will not return!

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Service has gone downhill

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Our server totally ruined our evening for us. She made a big deal about simple requests, and refused to accommodate them and was very unprofessional, often interrupting our conversation to interject her own thoughts about what we were discussing. I now know way more about her than I ever wanted to know: that's she's 25 years old, that she has a "career job" in IT and this serving job is just to help pay for her condo, etc, etc. (I had already guessed she was not a professional server!)

I have always enjoyed Sterling in the past, but clearly the service is not at the level where it used to be. It really turned me off going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Good food! Excellent service! Excellent wine!

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Very good cuisine. Excellent service. Excellent wine and Desserts.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful evening, start to finish!

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Our evening (first visit) started with a tour of the restaurant including the grilling area and wine cellars by the Maitre D'. The menu was impressive with lots of choices. Our meal was simply outstanding; top shelf. The Sterling beef did not dissapoint. After dinner we enjoyed a complementary beverage on the outside patio. We will definitely return again, sooner rather than later. Great value for the money. You get what you pay for!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner this past Friday evening.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Had an enjoyable being. Excellent, service, attention and food. We will be back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Bash

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Took my husband to Sterling for his birthday. They treated us royally. The waiter spoke to us in English. I was worried that we would have to communicate in French. He treated us like we were the only table he was serving. They showed us the cut of meat beforehand. The food was divine. They decorated the dessert plate with a Birthday greeting. They sang Happy Birthday to my husband. The owner came to our table several times to ask if there was anything he could do for us. He gave us a free after dinner drink. He even met us when we were leaving and said he appreciated our business.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An enjoyable evening with good food and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

An enjoyable evening with good food and wine. Service was attentive and the atmosphere was attractive.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dine here.

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

The food and service are excellent. They took such good care of our table for a birthday celebration. The staff were wonderful with the 15 and 9 year old with our party. The establishment was beyond kind and generous to the gentleman celebrating his birthday. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not so good service

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was good,service was fast, nice view on the patio.We where dissapointed with the service,we ordered 2 drinks only got one thats no big deal, I had a 200$ gift certificate and the bill came up to 155$, I gave the certificate to the server he left and never came back he totally ignored us,he passed beside us like we where not even there so after 30 mins I went to see him to see what his going on with the bill he was rude he said that he cant give me some change for my certificate.I was not expecting change but the server assumed that I was going to give him the difference has a tip and honeslty I was going to give all the difference has a tip cause I didnt planned of coming back but just because he assumed getting it and ignored us I wanted a gift card for the difference wich was very hard for him. I did gave hime a tip for the taxes amount wich he didnt even deserved and he gave me a balance has a certificate

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Returned for our 33rd wedding anniversar ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Returned for our 33rd wedding anniversary. Pascal was a respectful and friendly server (so was his young female assistant). Excellent of both f the to speak English and French.

Gret help with our menu selection. Food presentation was very appealing.

Beef tartar could be a little cheaper with a smaller amount of meat.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Even if I live near by, it's was my firs ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Even if I live near by, it's was my first time there. It was for a wedding anniversary. Best choice I ever made. Excellent all around.

I recommend this place for all occasions.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oustanding

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

This restaurant is our favorite in the area .. we always have the same waiter Marc and we feel like we are Family.

We always try to have a different plate and we have never been disappointed.

Nice adult restaurant ...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

44th Anniversary Supper

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We received a warm welcome at the entrance, were shown to our table (selected to provide privacy). Staff was courteous and attentive. The food was delicious and more than we could eat. Well worth the expense for a special occasion.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only small point, the service was a ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

The only small point, the service was a bit slow. Overall we had a nice evening

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Used to be good

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

We have eaten at this restaurant a few times and have often had excellent meals. That was not the case this time. The service was poor: after our appetizers were served, it took almost an hour to receive our main course and when we did the food was cold and bland. When I asked for something to be heated up, I was told it was supposed to be served cold. So much for giving the customer what they want. The restaurant was only half full so it was not busy and therefore I am not sure why our meal took so long to be served. We live quite far away from this restaurant (1 1/2 hour drive) and used to not mind making the journey as the food had always been impressive. Unfortunately we will not make this journey again, as there are plenty of mediocre restaurants between where we live and Sterling that are much closer, much less expensive with just as bad food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

The service was wonderful; friendly, pol ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

The service was wonderful; friendly, polite and helpful! The set menu was of great value and delicious. Their muscles are the best!!! The fresh oysters were fabulous and the flourless chocolate cake was absolutely phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Private room for big group.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Private room for big group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Pleasantly surprised!

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

We took our friends to lunch for a special occasion, we reserved a table on the second floor. We ended up being the only guests during our entire meal which made the experience even more special, our friends loved it, we loved it and the service was outstanding. We can't wait to go back..

Highly recommend this restaurant, great for a special occasion and I would think it's a great romantic place, great view and we discussed going back as a group.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic Restaurant

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Very nice restaurant. Excellent staff, steak fair, great wine list. Ambiance lovely. Live piano music, our waiter sang - overall, a nice experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Sterling is still, by far, our favourite ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Sterling is still, by far, our favourite steak and seafood restaurant in the Ottawa area!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not up to snuff

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

We've been many times and always enjoyed our meal. Our waiter was lovely but rushed apparently due to a lack of staff. Out of his control. The steaks were surprisingly tough for 4 of our group of 10. Not up to its usual standards. Not the usual Sterling treatment!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Wine, food and beautiful atmosphere

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Our night at Sterling was wonderful. Especially after a trip to the spa! A great way to unwind and enjoy the atmosphere at Sterling.

We first walked in and was greeted with a tour of the kitchen and wine cellar!!! AMAZING!!! We didn't realise how expensive it was but totally worth it. The meal was delicious. They even come over and show you your meat before they cook it!

The service was a bit slow as we had to wait awhile for water but otherwise, it's definitely a place we will come back too. We enjoyed the jazz music over the piano man. Great size in food quantity that I had the rest for lunch. Mmmmmm

Loved the wall of wine!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Amazing Steaks

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

My steak plate was amazing, grilled to perfection. Price for that type of quality food are reasonable. I only wish the wine was a bit cheaper, but I understand the business needs to make money to succeed.

This was my first time at the Sterling restaurant, I can see myself wine and dine 6 time a year.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice place but disappointed of steak quality

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

We went there for a special occasion, the wife, some friends and I. I expected that this would be a pricy outing, and I had high hopes for the steak. I had asked for a 12oz New York sirloin Sterling Silver, rare. My friend ordered the exact same steak, but medium-rare. It turns out that his my steak was overcooked, was very chewy and had a lot of nerves, right in the middle of it. My friends' steak was bloodier than mine. I did not want to say anything to the server since I didn't want for my friends and wife to wait until I got another one prepared for me since I'm a slow eater to begin with. I left 3/4 of my steak in the plate as my wife was kind enough to share her Filet Mignon with me. Although I had a bad experience with my steak, there was a bright side: the filet mignon, the vegetables, and mostly the desserts were delicious. The staff was also very kind and courteous, the place was nice and classy.

I guess I just thought that for the price we paid, the steak would be better prepared and inspected. Also we were sitting a little too close to the Piano Man, we had to speak very loud to hear each other as his music was quite loud.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice experience wonderful food. I would ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Nice experience wonderful food. I would like to see a 6 oz filet. Music nice but a bit too loud interfering with conversation

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Will definitely go back

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Very enjoyable. Excellent food and service. Truly make you feel special. Manager makes a point of coming to say hello to all the guests and if it's your first time, You are invited on a personal tour of the restaurant and wine cellar. I found there table d hote was a very good deal. Reasonably priced for definitely what you get. Enjoy

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Find

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Have been twice in the last month, perfectly done steak, great service. We will return again soon. The apple martinis are excellent.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Birthday Dinner

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

We had my wife's Birthday dinner on the 7th and we had been there at Christmas and decided to go back with some friends (who had never been before) They loved the food and everything about the restaurant especially the tour. We will be back for SURE!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a blast

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on January 25, 2016

It was my first time at Sterling. So I didn't know what to expect but it was definitely a unique experience, our host Sebastian made it that much more enjoyable. He was very knowledgeable about the food. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

First time there. Excellent food, superb wine list and excellent service. Exceeded my expectations. I will recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an absolute fantastic evening.

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

What an absolute fantastic evening. Food and service was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another outstanding meal

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

As always the food was perfect, this time the service was a bit off and the restaurant quite noisy,

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

A special evening.

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

We had a wonderful evening at Sterling. The service was excellent and the food delicious. The restaurant exceeded our expectations. We highly recommend it.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.