About Sterling Restaurant

835 JACQUES CARTIER RD
Gatineau, QC J8T 2W3
View Larger Map

Sterling Restaurant is located in a charming heritage building by the Gatineau River. From within its walls, guests can feel the history of Gatineau.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner
Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday & Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(819) 568-8788

Website:
http://www.sterlingrestaurant.com/english/index.php

Entertainment:
Friday & Saturday

Executive Chef:
AndrewVallières

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Vinos Langosta Y Carnes - Sterling Restaurant, Gatineau, QC
Vinos Langosta Y Carnes - Sterling Restaurant, Gatineau, QC

Sterling Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Ottawa
Best Food
Ottawa
Best Service
Ottawa
4 More
Best Ambiance
Ottawa
Best Value
Ottawa
Special Occasion
Ottawa
Most Booked
Gatineau

Special Occasion (39)
Romantic (34)
Good for a Date (31)
See All
Notable Wine List (29)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Waterfront (26)
Worth the Drive (23)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Scenic View (20)
Cozy (18)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Business Meals (15)
Private Room (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Authentic (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Wood Oven (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Fireplace (8)
Historic (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Hot Spot (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Healthy (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Live Music (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Casual (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Fun (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Seasonal (1)
People Watching (1)
Family Style (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
346 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Sterling is are favorite restaurant - ne ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

Sterling is are favorite restaurant - never disappoints and Marc are server always provide excellent service

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great birthday evening at Sterling.. we ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined 6 days ago

Great birthday evening at Sterling.. we haven't been for several years but found the food and the ambiance as good as in the past.. A very enjoyable evening out.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A perfect birthday spot. Fantastic table ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 27, 2016

A perfect birthday spot. Fantastic table, lovely and attentive staff, and the food was incredible. If you're looking for a fancy steakhouse, look no further because this is the place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tout était parfait! Ambiance, service et ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Tout était parfait! Ambiance, service et surtout le filet mignon!

Tags: Idéal pour les plus fins palais, Une occasion spéciale, Idéal pour un rendez-vous galant, Idéal pour les anniversaires
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was recommended by a friend, we were ver ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Was recommended by a friend, we were very impressed, staff was outstanding, meal was exceptional, and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening. Would definitely eat here again

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a great meal. The steaks were som ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We had a great meal. The steaks were some of the best that we have had. Our server must have been new because there were a lot of rookie mistakes. The manager that was there obviously knew and stepped in a couple of times and made our experience good. He also helped with the wine and gave us some great selections at reasonable prices. That always been a beef of mine where you go to a restaurant and the wine list is too expensive. We ended up with a Super Tuscan at $60/bottle.

All in all, we would go back. I think it was a one off with a new waiter. If you love steaks, check it out.

Tags: Casual, Private Room, Romantic, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fireplace, Waterfront, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great service. Delicious food. Beautiful ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Great service. Delicious food. Beautiful space and view. Thanks!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great steak, desert and wine in a relaxe ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great steak, desert and wine in a relaxed and romantic ambiance. The service was superb and the staff we very friendly and polite. They offered us a tour around the restaurant which was amazing. The very last stop in this tour was their wine treasure which was a mini wine museum of its kind. The whole restaurant had a classy, yet cozy ambiance and the waiters spoke English with a beautiful french accent which went well with the whole restaurant theme.

I would say, if you are looking for a place for your anniversary, a classy and elegant restaurant for a your love's birthday, or just a nice double date... this is a perfect choice. Make sure to check the prices on their website as this level of quality doesnt come cheap :)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

J ai aimé qu on nous montre le filet mi ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 11, 2016

J ai aimé qu on nous montre le filet mignon avant d aller le faire cuire.

Aussi en entrant, on voit la viande comme dans une boucherie.

Mon mari venant de sur une ferme et qu ils ont une terre a bois, a bien aimé le poêle a bois....le bois et la hache.

Merci aussi à la personne que ce soit le gérant ou le propriétaire qui vient nous demander si tout est parfait....quelle belle marque d'attention.

Tags: Historique, Idéal pour un rendez-vous galant, Chaleureux, Lieu huppé, Musique en direct, Four à bois, Une occasion spéciale, Au bord de l'eau, Une carte des vins remarquable
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tout a été excellent. Service remarquabl ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Tout a été excellent. Service remarquable! Le serveur a un énorme talent de chanteur.

Tags: Une trouvaille nocturne, Cuisine créative, Au bord de l'eau, Une carte des vins remarquable, Foyer, Une occasion spéciale, La perle du quartier
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on a Sunday as one of our friend ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We went on a Sunday as one of our friends has hearing loss, so it was very quiet. The service was fantastic. We never felt rushed even though we were the last ones to leave.

Appetizers

The pan seared foie gras and the giant sea scallops were very tasty, excellent in fact. The Beef tartar was a bit heavy on the garlic, but still pleasing to the palate. We were a bit disappointed with the jumbo shrimp. It was the only appetizer we didn't think was worth the value.

Meals

We all had different cut stakes. It was really special to have the server let us view the rare beef before heading out to the kitchen. The porterhouse, filet mignon and the sirloin were excellent and cooked according to what was order. There was a bit of disappointment with the rib steak as a hard line of gristle in it, but other than that it was excellent. Veggies were good, the double baked potatoe was a bit on the plain side. The side scampi and lobster tails were excellent and the accompanying garlic butter was tasty.

Desserts

The Maple Crème brûlée was to die for and the chocolate lava cake also. It was our first time at this restaurant and we will definitely go back.

Wine

 So much to choose from if you are not a wine connoisseur.  The couple that was with us likes red wine, but have different palates for taste.  This was explained to the server and he suggested a wine which they both really enjoyed.  Bravo!
Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Business Meals, Private Room, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The only thing I turned is that next tim ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The only thing I turned is that next time, when I will choose a wine , I will show the price I chose to the waiter because we were not charge for the bottle we chose on the menu.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Sterling exceeded all expectations. My w ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Sterling exceeded all expectations. My wife and I have been meaning to try for some time and glad we finally did. Sterling will figure on the place to with friends from out of town.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

HAd a wonderful birthday lunch with my s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 20, 2016

HAd a wonderful birthday lunch with my sisters.

Excellent food and service.

Would recommend to everyone.

Will be returning with a party of 6 on November 11th.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding and memorable meal for my bi ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Outstanding and memorable meal for my birthday. Best steak ever! Going back Friday..

Tags: Business Meals, Waterfront, Wood Oven, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was suppose to go with my family and t ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 17, 2016

I was suppose to go with my family and things changed so I had to cancel. However, this visit was with my girlfriend and her daughter and we were all very pleased with everything.

I would definitely go back again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food as always was outstanding! Unfo ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food as always was outstanding! Unfortunately the service was not what I have come to expect. Very very slow and pretty much no knowledge of the wine list or wines I general.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Never disappoints when looking for an ex ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Never disappoints when looking for an excellent steak, cooked to perfection with fresh vegetables, extensive wine selection and great service.

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have our date night's here at least o ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We have our date night's here at least once a month. We love the filet mignon :)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

J'ai l'impression que vous avez changé d ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 6, 2016

J'ai l'impression que vous avez changé de chef. Le stir fry qui était extraordinaire lorsque j'y suis allée au printemps dernier était beaucoup moins raffiné et le nid de riz baignait dans le gras. Le potage était très bon mais à peine chaud. Ça ne vaut plus le prix. Je serai très longtemps sans y retourner en espérant que les choses changent en attendant. Pour terminer sur une note positive: le gâteau au fromage et caramel salé était excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Une soirée très apprécié,excellente cuis ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Une soirée très apprécié,excellente cuisine et services bien exécuté Merci beaucoup

Tags: Une occasion spéciale, Cuisine créative
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

La carte des vins est fantastique. Le fi ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on October 1, 2016

La carte des vins est fantastique. Le filet mignon est tellement tendre et la cuisson est parfaite. Demandez Marc et la table 53 pour une soirée inoubliable.

Tags: Cuisine créative, Ingrédients locaux, Une carte des vins remarquable
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit to this restaurant was t ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Our first visit to this restaurant was to celebrate a birthday and it was truly a wonderful experience with delicious food, impeccable service and a welcoming ambience. A thoroughly enjoyable romantic evening that we are sure to repeat. Highly recommended if you appreciate quality food in elegant surroundings. A real treat.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Open Kitchen, Waterfront, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellente soirée! Je suis toujours agré ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Excellente soirée! Je suis toujours agréablement surprise par le service attentionné, c'est très apprécié. Un menu pour tous les goûts, le trio de saumons est délicieux. Les portions sont généreuses, vous ne serez pas déçu.

Tags: Une occasion spéciale, Chaleureux, Idéal pour les plus fins palais, Romantique
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

At the confluence of the Gatineau and Ot ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 18, 2016

At the confluence of the Gatineau and Ottawa rivers, Sterling offers a lovely setting for delicious food with attentive and pleasant bilingual service. Their table d'hôte is very good value, and their beef is exceptionally good. For anyone with an interest in wine, this is a restaurant to visit, since the wine list is long and varied, ranging from affordable to "only if I win the jackpot at the casino."

Tags: Private Room, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Super soirée en amoureux anniversaire ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Super soirée en amoureux anniversaire mariage 30 ans merci à l'équipe .

Tags: Repas d’affaires, Chaleureux, Il en vaut le détour, Romantique, Lieu huppé
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a very disappointing visit to a r ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 11, 2016

It was a very disappointing visit to a restaurant we have thoroughly enjoyed in the past. The table felt like it was in a passageway with waiters running by constantly. It was not relaxing and took away from enjoyment of the food. Wait staff were very nice but the restaurant was way under staffed for a busy evening, so not fair for either patrons or wait staff. It is an expensive restaurant and that I do not mind, but I expect much more than we got and won't be going back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

Expérience très satisfaisante. Nourritur ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Expérience très satisfaisante. Nourriture de qualité ainsi que le service. Malheureusement beaucoup trop bruyant pour les deux couples de nous formions, avec la musique et les deux tables autour de nous de six et dix personnes.

Tags: Le déjeuner du dimanche, Idéal pour les anniversaires, La perle du quartier, Une trouvaille nocturne
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Les prix sont trop élevés pour ce qu'ont ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Les prix sont trop élevés pour ce qu'ont à dans nos assiettes...

Les légumes qui accompagnent les assiettes sont trés ordinaires pour le prix de l'assiette.

Ce n'est pas un resto que je recommanderai vu le prix trop élevé....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Nourriture excellente, service excellent ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Nourriture excellente, service excellent, ambiance magnifique j'ai adoré ce restaurant je le conseil fortement.

Tags: Une occasion spéciale, Chaleureux, Musique en direct, Romantique, Idéal pour un rendez-vous galant
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superbe décor, bonne bouffe, belle carte ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Superbe décor, bonne bouffe, belle carte des vins.

Tags: Une vue pittoresque, Salle privée
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

To be fair to the restaurant, I went the ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 23, 2016

To be fair to the restaurant, I went there twice. Once with my sister and the second time with a friend. The first time, the soup was a sweet potato potage and was very good. We went at lunch and we ordered la table d'hôte and we also got to choose a portabello, hearts of palm and asparagus salad from their regular menu that we shared and it was delicious. Then for the main course I took the double tartare of beef and salmon. It was very garlicky and salty and I asked the server if the crostini was garlic bread and he said no. So both tartares were very salty. I brought most of it home. But in all fairness, the chocolate desert was really good and rich and so was the coffee. My sister ordered the chicken with bourbon sauce and loved it. The next time I went with my friend, we took the table d'hôte again. We were not offered the regular menu. The soup was spinach and artichokes and I really liked it but my friend said that it was a beef bouillon base and she didn't like the aftertaste, so I finished hers. Then she ordered the seafood linguine and although she loves salt, she said it was too salty for her taste but she did finish it all. I ordered the beef stir fry and it was really too salty and the beef was tough. I brought most of it home, added lots of water and heated it up as a soup. We had the same desert as the last time, the dark chocolate one and she said that it was too rich. I ate half of mine. She said that the place looked tired and that it needed a makeover. We wanted to sit outside but it was way too windy. So, to sum it up, the food is way too salty, the soup is good and the place looks dirtyish. I did buy a steak from their takeout counter for $22.00 and a 3 pepper sauce for $4.00 and cooked it at home and it was really tender. I won't be going back to the restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I took my family here to celebrate my so ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 18, 2016

I took my family here to celebrate my sons birthday. We made a wide variety of selections from the menu and aside from two corrections we were entirely satisfied with our choices. Two wines were chosen to complement the meal and the platters of desserts to share was a big hit. Often we only want a taste of sweetness at the end of the meal. The newcomers to the restaurant were more than impressed with the personal tour and ambience of the staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is amazing! The Maitre D ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 13, 2016

This restaurant is amazing! The Maitre D'Hotel - Ahmed was outstanding. Very welcoming, attentive and accommodating - he was unbelievable. The food was brilliant. The fish selection was extensive and fresh. The steaks, which are their specialty, were cooked perfectly and flavorful. Ahmed took our party of 4 on a tour of the restaurant and the extensive wine room. That was WOW!!! I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone that would like to experience a classy, top end restaurant. It was a pricey evening but well worth it.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Le serveur à spécifié, en apportant nos ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Le serveur à spécifié, en apportant nos assiettes, que mon steak était medium saignant et celui de ma femme aussi... Les deux n'étaient pas saignant du tout... mais c'était quand même bon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Ce restaurant offre un excellent rapport ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Ce restaurant offre un excellent rapport qualité-prix parmi les établissements de restauration haut-de-gamme. Le décor est de bon gout et la vue imprenable. Le service est impeccable et les recommandations du sommelier bien avisées. Je suggère toutefois qu'on ajoute quelques vins argentins (malbec) au choix existant. Je recommande ce restaurant sans hésitation aux amateurs de bonne chère.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great ambiance and entertainment. The ge ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great ambiance and entertainment. The gentleman singing and playing was really entertaining and talented.

Amazing food, fresh oysters and meats.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

L'emplacement du restaurant est idéal su ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 6, 2016

L'emplacement du restaurant est idéal surtout si la circulation n'est pas trop intense. Le potage était délicieux, la sauce aux moules aussi, mais plusieurs moules étaient déchiquetées, presque introuvables; l'agneau n'était pas saignant tel que demandé, mais medium saignant. J'aurais aimé un choix de dessert (au moins deux), n'aimant pas trop le chocolat. Le service était agréable, mais la serveuse ne connaissait pas les vins, ne sachant pas qu'il existait différents Pinot Grigio. Beaucoup trop cher pour la qualité du repas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Excellent service-awesome staff-deliciou ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent service-awesome staff-delicious food and super great atmosphere!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our anniversary and we were very ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on August 6, 2016

It was our anniversary and we were very impressed with the service, food and atmosphere. Will definitely be returning.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.