Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 5 times today

Sterling Restaurant

4.4
556 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$51 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steak
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Special Occasion
Sterling Restaurant is located in a charming heritage building by the Gatineau River. From within its walls, guests can feel the history of Gatineau.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steak, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner
Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday & Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(819) 568-8788
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
AndrewVallières
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Friday & Saturday
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 556 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.6
service
4.5
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 7 days ago

This is our 2nd visit since last August. The food and service as well as environment are just as good as last time! Highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 12, 2018

The staff was very friendly and greeted us well. The restaurant is lovely. Unfortunately they make quite a deal about the excellence of their meat. Sadly it was overcookeda and tough. The wait staff were genuinely concerned and the one steak was removed from our bill. We did have a lovely evening otherwise but wouldn’t recommend this as go to steak house particularly at this price point.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 11, 2018

Overall dining experience was good. However, I did mention during my online booking that we were celebrating my husband's 40th birthday and so, I was expecting a simple added touch to our experience. For example, the dessert he ordered could have been served with a birthday message or a candle. However the occasion was not acknowledged.

Besides this oversight, the food was good. Large portions, in fact they were too big! Very good wine recommendation as well.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2018

We enjoyed our visit overall. The food was excellent and the service was good. The only negative thing was the live music provided was very loud. It was at times difficult to carry on a conversation at the table and even the waiter couldn't hear some of our orders.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

It’s always good service, excellent food and présentation. Cook to perfection, nice decor and good music for the meal, not too much and just good. We love the Sterling. 10/10

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Je m'attendais a mieux, mais c'était tout de même très bon et le service était super!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Le repas et service étaient excellents. Nous avons mangé un filet mignon qui était cuit à notre gout. Ma queue d'homard était succulente. Je recommenderai ce resto à mes amis.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Excellent food and above all super excellent service. Our waitress was a jewel.
Bravo Dominic.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 5, 2018

This was my second time going to Sterling's . I really enjoyed it the first time in July 2017 but I must say that I was disappointed in the food overall this time. The salad, soup was amazing but my steak and lobster tail lacked flavour.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Not our first time at Sterling. But definitely our first disappointment. The kitchen seemed to miss every mark that night. Wrong temperature on my sirloin, forgot the lobster tail in both our table d’hôte. Then when I sent the the plate back due to temperature (steak was medium, not rare) it came back with garlic potatoes instead of the oven baked because I’m allergic to garlic. And the wrong sauce (missing the peppercorn).
The server was very kind and apologized profusely. He also complimented the wine to make up. A nice gesture and a reflection of a restaurant with high standards. Murphy’s law just prevailed that night. It happens and we’re good nature about this. We will go back. A worthy restaurant.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 2, 2018

I was disappointed with the food...the steak had to be returned, and then when a new steak was provided, still was not cooked properly (medium rare was requested). Instead of returning it, I simply took a few bites and left it uneaten. The sides were also cold. That considering it was a $250 meal, it did not meet my expectations. Our server was excellent however!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Great as always!! Thank you!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

We came to Sterling to enjoy a patio but it was closed despite of sunny weather. If you want to seat outside, check the patio status in advance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

Superb steak, prepared as requested. Good seafood options. Expansive Wine List that covers all price ranges. Good ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Amazing food. Steaks are beautifully cooked to your liking and they are delicious! A bit pricy but worth it. Highly recommend for special occaisions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Sterling remains the bar to which I compare all other dining experiences. I've been 5-6 times and every time the food is outstanding. I am actually starting to salivate while writing this, thinking about my last trip. If you love steak then you owe it to yourself to eat here and experience what a top quality steak is cooked like.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Fête conjointr

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Excellent food and service. We had a great anniversary dinner. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 16, 2018

will go again. service was great. owner gave us a tour and was most accommodating.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Trop tassé serveurs accrochait souvent ma chaise trop tasse contre les autres table aussi

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

J’ai beaucoup aimé la nourriture comme à chaque fois que je suis allé. Par contre, j’ai été très malade durant la nuit et le lendemain. Malheureusement je crois que c’était dû à la nourriture (empoisonnement alimentaire). Donc peut être s’assurer que vos fruits de mer soient bien cuits à l’avenir. Merci.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Always a great experience

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Le carré d'agneau en croûte était délicieux.
J'ai aussi aimé l'expérience, l'accueil du maitre d'hôtel qui nous a expliqué le fonctionnement unique du restaurant et la manière dont la viande est traitée.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 5, 2018

While the food was very good, it certainly wasn't worth the cost...much too expensive. The room we were placed in was poorly furnished and decorated....plywood table underneath table clothes, damage on walls, rather aged, etc... We would have thought that the place would have been much nicer given the outrageous prices. Nice spot along the water but even the outdoor walkways weren't cleaned up and the stones were uneven for walking. The place needs a retrofit!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Excellent as always!! Thank you!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

It was a lovely evening - Great food ,considerate service and calm atmosphere. Sterling has become our go to place for our special celebrations. We have never been disappointed with any element of our visits.
Thank you again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Underwhelmed by the Bearnaise sauce, lacked depth of flavour, also thought it would come out applied to the steak rather than in a side cup, which hurt the presentation. Filet mignon was done perfectly though, as was the lobster. Would like to try other sauces.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

It was exactly what I expected. There were no surprise the food was very good, service was great. Those are the reasons that I go to Sterling.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

We always enjoy our time at Sterling. We have come to expect high quality food, good wines, and great atmosphere. The servers have been with the restaurant many years, and know their clients well. The owner takes a very personal interest in the restaurant, and makes a point of speaking with his patrons. Ask for a tour of the wine cellars, as it is worth the time to see the special wines. It is a bit pricey, but that is the price of good quality food that is always well-prepared, and top-notch service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Great service & great food. We chose Sterling after there was a mix up with our reservation at the Keg. Did not regret picking the Sterling. It is now our preferred steakhouse.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

My husband and I went for dinner for his birthday. It was our fist time there and we were pleasantly surprised. The food was amazing, service was excellent. The manager took us for a tour of the restaurant before our dessert. Fantastic experience. We will be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Nous étions au restaurant pour fêter l'anniversaire d'un ami. C'est lui qui nous a recommandé le Sterling. Le repas était excellent et le service impeccable. Notre serveur était très gentil, attentionné, amical. Nous avons tous pris la table d'hôte car le menu était vraiment intéressant et d'un très bon rapport qualité-prix.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 3, 2018

One waiter was superb; the other African American guy was snooty. He must have had a bad day.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 31, 2018

There was a wedding going on. Service was extremely slow and we felt like an after thought.
Food was cold and we felt it had been left sitting for awhile. We had more than an hour between our salad and main course.
If we hadn't been there before and had great meals and service we would not return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Great restaurant! Huge amount of food. Great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

An excellent night out celebrating our anniversary. Steak and tuna were cooked to perfection. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Excellent food but the service for refills on drinks was slow - I had to ask the water server twice to find our waiter and for the price we were paying that shouldn’t happen. This was our second time and the first time the service was much better.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Excellent experience as always. The best steakhouse in the Capital region.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Excellent as always!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

First time visiting. We were very impressed. Food and servers were A1
Will tell others about what a great restaurant to attend and will return
hopefully to experience it again. It was a great night. Hats off to the owner and staff

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
14