About Sterling Restaurant

835 JACQUES CARTIER RD
Gatineau, QC J8T 2W3
View Larger Map

Sterling Restaurant is located in a charming heritage building by the Gatineau River. From within its walls, guests can feel the history of Gatineau.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner
Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday & Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(819) 568-8788

Website:
http://www.sterlingrestaurant.com/english/index.php

Entertainment:
Friday & Saturday

Executive Chef:
AndrewVallières

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sterling Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Ottawa
Best Food
Ottawa
Best Service
Ottawa
11 More
Best Ambiance
Ottawa
Best Value
Ottawa
Romantic
Ottawa
Special Occasion
Ottawa
Best Overall
Ottawa / Gatineau
Best Food
Ottawa / Gatineau
Best Service
Ottawa / Gatineau
Best Ambiance
Ottawa / Gatineau
Best Value
Ottawa / Gatineau
Romantic
Ottawa / Gatineau
Special Occasion
Ottawa / Gatineau

special occasion (54)
romantic (47)
notable wine list (45)
See All
fit for foodies (29)
scenic view (24)
good for groups (23)
neighborhood gem (10)
great for outdoor dining (8)
hot spot (6)
great for lunch (6)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for brunch (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
kid-friendly (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
273 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

An enjoyable evening with good food and ...

Dined 3 days ago

An enjoyable evening with good food and wine. Service was attentive and the atmosphere was attractive.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dine here.

Dined 6 days ago

The food and service are excellent. They took such good care of our table for a birthday celebration. The staff were wonderful with the 15 and 9 year old with our party. The establishment was beyond kind and generous to the gentleman celebrating his birthday. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Not so good service

Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was good,service was fast, nice view on the patio.We where dissapointed with the service,we ordered 2 drinks only got one thats no big deal, I had a 200$ gift certificate and the bill came up to 155$, I gave the certificate to the server he left and never came back he totally ignored us,he passed beside us like we where not even there so after 30 mins I went to see him to see what his going on with the bill he was rude he said that he cant give me some change for my certificate.I was not expecting change but the server assumed that I was going to give him the difference has a tip and honeslty I was going to give all the difference has a tip cause I didnt planned of coming back but just because he assumed getting it and ignored us I wanted a gift card for the difference wich was very hard for him. I did gave hime a tip for the taxes amount wich he didnt even deserved and he gave me a balance has a certificate

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Returned for our 33rd wedding anniversar ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Returned for our 33rd wedding anniversary. Pascal was a respectful and friendly server (so was his young female assistant). Excellent of both f the to speak English and French. Gret help with our menu selection. Food presentation was very appealing. Beef tartar could be a little cheaper with a smaller amount of meat.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even if I live near by, it's was my firs ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Even if I live near by, it's was my first time there. It was for a wedding anniversary. Best choice I ever made. Excellent all around. I recommend this place for all occasions.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oustanding

Dined on May 7, 2016

This restaurant is our favorite in the area .. we always have the same waiter Marc and we feel like we are Family. We always try to have a different plate and we have never been disappointed. Nice adult restaurant ...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

44th Anniversary Supper

Dined on May 6, 2016

We received a warm welcome at the entrance, were shown to our table (selected to provide privacy). Staff was courteous and attentive. The food was delicious and more than we could eat. Well worth the expense for a special occasion.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The only small point, the service was a ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

The only small point, the service was a bit slow. Overall we had a nice evening

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Used to be good

Dined on April 28, 2016

We have eaten at this restaurant a few times and have often had excellent meals. That was not the case this time. The service was poor: after our appetizers were served, it took almost an hour to receive our main course and when we did the food was cold and bland. When I asked for something to be heated up, I was told it was supposed to be served cold. So much for giving the customer what they want. The restaurant was only half full so it was not busy and therefore I am not sure why our meal took so long to be served. We live quite far away from this restaurant (1 1/2 hour drive) and used to not mind making the journey as the food had always been impressive. Unfortunately we will not make this journey again, as there are plenty of mediocre restaurants between where we live and Sterling that are much closer, much less expensive with just as bad food and service.

food4
ambience5
service5

The service was wonderful; friendly, pol ...

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

The service was wonderful; friendly, polite and helpful! The set menu was of great value and delicious. Their muscles are the best!!! The fresh oysters were fabulous and the flourless chocolate cake was absolutely phenomenal!

food3
ambience2
service4

Private room for big group.

Dined on April 24, 2016

Private room for big group.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasantly surprised!

Dined on April 22, 2016

We took our friends to lunch for a special occasion, we reserved a table on the second floor. We ended up being the only guests during our entire meal which made the experience even more special, our friends loved it, we loved it and the service was outstanding. We can't wait to go back.. Highly recommend this restaurant, great for a special occasion and I would think it's a great romantic place, great view and we discussed going back as a group.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Romantic Restaurant

Dined on April 10, 2016

Very nice restaurant. Excellent staff, steak fair, great wine list. Ambiance lovely. Live piano music, our waiter sang - overall, a nice experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sterling is still, by far, our favourite ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Sterling is still, by far, our favourite steak and seafood restaurant in the Ottawa area!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Not up to snuff

Dined on April 2, 2016

We've been many times and always enjoyed our meal. Our waiter was lovely but rushed apparently due to a lack of staff. Out of his control. The steaks were surprisingly tough for 4 of our group of 10. Not up to its usual standards. Not the usual Sterling treatment!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Wine, food and beautiful atmosphere

Dined on March 27, 2016

Our night at Sterling was wonderful. Especially after a trip to the spa! A great way to unwind and enjoy the atmosphere at Sterling. We first walked in and was greeted with a tour of the kitchen and wine cellar!!! AMAZING!!! We didn't realise how expensive it was but totally worth it. The meal was delicious. They even come over and show you your meat before they cook it! The service was a bit slow as we had to wait awhile for water but otherwise, it's definitely a place we will come back too. We enjoyed the jazz music over the piano man. Great size in food quantity that I had the rest for lunch. Mmmmmm Loved the wall of wine!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing Steaks

Dined on March 6, 2016

My steak plate was amazing, grilled to perfection. Price for that type of quality food are reasonable. I only wish the wine was a bit cheaper, but I understand the business needs to make money to succeed. This was my first time at the Sterling restaurant, I can see myself wine and dine 6 time a year.

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice place but disappointed of steak quality

Dined on February 26, 2016

We went there for a special occasion, the wife, some friends and I. I expected that this would be a pricy outing, and I had high hopes for the steak. I had asked for a 12oz New York sirloin Sterling Silver, rare. My friend ordered the exact same steak, but medium-rare. It turns out that his my steak was overcooked, was very chewy and had a lot of nerves, right in the middle of it. My friends' steak was bloodier than mine. I did not want to say anything to the server since I didn't want for my friends and wife to wait until I got another one prepared for me since I'm a slow eater to begin with. I left 3/4 of my steak in the plate as my wife was kind enough to share her Filet Mignon with me. Although I had a bad experience with my steak, there was a bright side: the filet mignon, the vegetables, and mostly the desserts were delicious. The staff was also very kind and courteous, the place was nice and classy. I guess I just thought that for the price we paid, the steak would be better prepared and inspected. Also we were sitting a little too close to the Piano Man, we had to speak very loud to hear each other as his music was quite loud.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice experience wonderful food. I would ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Nice experience wonderful food. I would like to see a 6 oz filet. Music nice but a bit too loud interfering with conversation

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will definitely go back

Dined on February 20, 2016

Very enjoyable. Excellent food and service. Truly make you feel special. Manager makes a point of coming to say hello to all the guests and if it's your first time, You are invited on a personal tour of the restaurant and wine cellar. I found there table d hote was a very good deal. Reasonably priced for definitely what you get. Enjoy

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Find

Dined on February 19, 2016

Have been twice in the last month, perfectly done steak, great service. We will return again soon. The apple martinis are excellent.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner

Dined on February 7, 2016

We had my wife's Birthday dinner on the 7th and we had been there at Christmas and decided to go back with some friends (who had never been before) They loved the food and everything about the restaurant especially the tour. We will be back for SURE!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a blast

Dined on January 25, 2016

It was my first time at Sterling. So I didn't know what to expect but it was definitely a unique experience, our host Sebastian made it that much more enjoyable. He was very knowledgeable about the food. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant

Dined on January 21, 2016

First time there. Excellent food, superb wine list and excellent service. Exceeded my expectations. I will recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an absolute fantastic evening.

Dined on January 10, 2016

What an absolute fantastic evening. Food and service was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Another outstanding meal

Dined on January 9, 2016

As always the food was perfect, this time the service was a bit off and the restaurant quite noisy,

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

A special evening.

Dined on December 19, 2015

We had a wonderful evening at Sterling. The service was excellent and the food delicious. The restaurant exceeded our expectations. We highly recommend it.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great time

Dined on December 9, 2015

This was a great place to eat, for the price you get what you pay for. I had the steak and the homemade soup, it was amazing. Will recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place!

Dined on November 28, 2015

Amazing food! A little pricey for two the bill is over 150$ easily. Must try once and you can also go there to buy meat at their butcher's shop. Wonderful service and view. Recommand!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing restaurant

Dined on November 21, 2015

I went to Sterling with my best friend and it was one of the best restaurants I've ever been to. The service was amazing, the food was great. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone. As a matter of fact I would like to do my engagement party there.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Spectacular dining experience for a first timer.

Dined on October 30, 2015

First time there. One of the owners, Ahmed, gave us a tour. Very personable. Good selection of quality wines and the steaks were tender and cooked to perfection. The last old-school quality steakhouse experience in the Capital Region.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Upscale, elegant, quiet restaurant with ...

Dined on October 26, 2015

Upscale, elegant, quiet restaurant with impressive ambience. Our server, Sebastien was friendly and attentive. Food excellent from soup de jour, scallop appetizer, to main course salmon with risotto, to delicious truffle chocolate cake-presented as a surprise to our party of three! Thank you so much for a special evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Anniversary at Sterling

Dined on October 25, 2015

I couldn't be happier that I choose Sterling to celebrate our 25th anniversary. My wife was really happy with the entire experience. Being from Europe, we could recognize and savor the truly European classy style of Sterling. The attentive and discrete serving, the exceptional food quality, the outstanding selection of wines, the civilized atmosphere make Sterling one of the most select places we have ever been in the Ottawa area. Special thanks for our host Sebastian and the entire team.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

great dining experience. Service was fir ...

Dined on October 24, 2015

great dining experience. Service was first class. ideal for a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience1
service5

Great service, bad seating

Dined on October 23, 2015

Our waiter Marc was wonderful. But we were seated near the exit for the kitchen on the top floor. We could hear everything the staff was saying in the back. Not so pleasant when you're paying $300+ for a romantic night, and young waitresses ruin it by gossiping and acting foolish nearby. I'm sure if we we had better seating, it would be 5 starts all around. Sad thing is: the restaurant was empty! Only 1 other table seated. There was no NEED for us to be seated there.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible Restaurant Experience

Dined on October 14, 2015

My husband and I chose Sterling for our anniversary dinner after reading a review of the Top 3 Steak Houses in Ottawa. As soon as we arrived, we realized this was no ordinary steak house. Upon entering, there is a view into the kitchen and large grill area -- with a stack of maple logs against the wall. Once upstairs, we were seated in the main dining area which has a wall of wine racks and a view of a small windowed room housing the more expensive wines in a climate-controlled atmosphere. Our waiter gave us the best service I think I have ever had. He was knowledgable, thoughtful, helpful and paced our meal perfectly. He came by with a tray of different steacks under a clear wrap to show us exactly what the different cuts of beef were and we ordered what we wanted from there. I ordered the petite filet mignon and my husband ordered the 12 oz NY strip loin. The beef is AAA Sterling Silver and once we had selected our steaks, they were hand cut and presented to us to approve before grilling. I like my beef medium rare, but hesitate to order sometimes as there have been occasions where it has been too rare. Our waiter assured me that medium rare at Sterling was exactly that -- so I trusted his judgement. For appetizers, I ordered the soup of the day (cream of vegetable -- delicious!) and my husband ordered the portobello mushrooms with gorganzola cheese (he actually mopped up the leftover sauce with the bread so as not to miss a drop). The entrees came and they were amazing! Perfectly grilled, with a lovely char-grilled exterior and a perfectly pink centre -- the steaks were everything we hoped they would be and more. The vegetables and potatoes were excellent as well. I had the maple creme brulee for dessert - sumptuous and creamy- and my husband had a glass of port. We ended up meeting the Maître d'hôtel, Ahmed, who was delightful and took us on a little tour of the restaurant and wine room. We would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Pearl of the Gatineau

Dined on October 8, 2015

Fabulous location with magnificent views. Impeccable service. Great food. Expensive but worth the money. Must try the steak tartar.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3

Dissapointing

Dined on October 3, 2015

Went to Sterling with collegues. Wine list was fabulous but the steaks were not as good as many steakhouses I have been to and at much higher price. Also, all mains at the table were not served at the same time and we received our side of fries after having finished more than half of our steaks. Then ambiance was really good with live music but the food and service was dissapointing. May be willing to give them a second try, especially if someone else is paying!

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3

Disapointed

Dined on September 12, 2015

I had great expectations given the reviews. For the price, it is clearly overrated. While the meat was good, the velouté i had as an apetizer was not hot and was thick, the sides with the meat were disapointing ( i suspect the vegetables had been frozen), the potato was cold and not tasty. The waiter knew nothing about wine and again, for the price we paid, i expect the waiter to knoe more than i do (and i am no expert).dlyrette@yahoo.com

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful

Dined on August 27, 2015

The service, location and food made this one of the best place I have been in North America

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.