About Sterling Restaurant

835 JACQUES CARTIER RD
Gatineau, QC J8T 2W3
View Larger Map

Sterling Restaurant is located in a charming heritage building by the Gatineau River. From within its walls, guests can feel the history of Gatineau.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner
Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday & Sunday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(819) 568-8788

Website:
http://www.sterlingrestaurant.com/english/index.php

Entertainment:
Friday & Saturday

Executive Chef:
AndrewVallières

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Vinos Langosta Y Carnes
Vinos Langosta Y Carnes

Sterling Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Ottawa
Best Food
Ottawa
Best Service
Ottawa
14 More
Best Ambiance
Ottawa
Best Value
Ottawa
Notable Wine List
Ottawa
Romantic
Ottawa
Special Occasion
Ottawa
Most Booked
Ottawa
Best Overall
Ottawa / Gatineau
Best Food
Ottawa / Gatineau
Best Service
Ottawa / Gatineau
Best Ambiance
Ottawa / Gatineau
Best Value
Ottawa / Gatineau
Romantic
Ottawa / Gatineau
Special Occasion
Ottawa / Gatineau
Most Booked
Ottawa / Gatineau

Special Occasion (61)
Notable Wine List (49)
Romantic (49)
See All
Scenic View (39)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Good for Groups (22)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Great for Lunch (10)
Late-night Find (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Brunch (5)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
300 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

To be fair to the restaurant, I went the ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

To be fair to the restaurant, I went there twice. Once with my sister and the second time with a friend. The first time, the soup was a sweet potato potage and was very good. We went at lunch and we ordered la table d'hôte and we also got to choose a portabello, hearts of palm and asparagus salad from their regular menu that we shared and it was delicious. Then for the main course I took the double tartare of beef and salmon. It was very garlicky and salty and I asked the server if the crostini was garlic bread and he said no. So both tartares were very salty. I brought most of it home. But in all fairness, the chocolate desert was really good and rich and so was the coffee. My sister ordered the chicken with bourbon sauce and loved it. The next time I went with my friend, we took the table d'hôte again. We were not offered the regular menu. The soup was spinach and artichokes and I really liked it but my friend said that it was a beef bouillon base and she didn't like the aftertaste, so I finished hers. Then she ordered the seafood linguine and although she loves salt, she said it was too salty for her taste but she did finish it all. I ordered the beef stir fry and it was really too salty and the beef was tough. I brought most of it home, added lots of water and heated it up as a soup. We had the same desert as the last time, the dark chocolate one and she said that it was too rich. I ate half of mine. She said that the place looked tired and that it needed a makeover. We wanted to sit outside but it was way too windy. So, to sum it up, the food is way too salty, the soup is good and the place looks dirtyish. I did buy a steak from their takeout counter for $22.00 and a 3 pepper sauce for $4.00 and cooked it at home and it was really tender. I won't be going back to the restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I took my family here to celebrate my so ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I took my family here to celebrate my sons birthday. We made a wide variety of selections from the menu and aside from two corrections we were entirely satisfied with our choices. Two wines were chosen to complement the meal and the platters of desserts to share was a big hit. Often we only want a taste of sweetness at the end of the meal. The newcomers to the restaurant were more than impressed with the personal tour and ambience of the staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is amazing! The Maitre D ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This restaurant is amazing! The Maitre D'Hotel - Ahmed was outstanding. Very welcoming, attentive and accommodating - he was unbelievable. The food was brilliant. The fish selection was extensive and fresh. The steaks, which are their specialty, were cooked perfectly and flavorful. Ahmed took our party of 4 on a tour of the restaurant and the extensive wine room. That was WOW!!! I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone that would like to experience a classy, top end restaurant. It was a pricey evening but well worth it.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great ambiance and entertainment. The ge ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great ambiance and entertainment. The gentleman singing and playing was really entertaining and talented.

Amazing food, fresh oysters and meats.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent service-awesome staff-deliciou ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent service-awesome staff-delicious food and super great atmosphere!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our anniversary and we were very ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

It was our anniversary and we were very impressed with the service, food and atmosphere. Will definitely be returning.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we were very impressed, the wine is a bi ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

we were very impressed, the wine is a bit expensive, the food is very good and the service is excellent. The restaurant is beautiful in the old sense, it has a lot of character. You can even take a steak out to go for a later dinner. I did, cooked it at home and it was the best steak I had ever cooked at home! Chapeau to our server Danny - he was very knowledgeable!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food, Great service , great wine l ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great food, Great service , great wine list in a nice environment !

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Thaïs is our third time dining at Sterli ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Thaïs is our third time dining at Sterling, the food is great, the service excellent every time!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and the food were amazing. Highl ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Service and the food were amazing. Highly recommend it

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice ambience, good service, outstanding ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Nice ambience, good service, outstanding wine selection. Food was very good but not outstanding. Unfortunately one person from the party experienced some stomach problems after eating a rack of lamb. This, perhaps, dilutes a bit our overall positive experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

My boyfriend and I came to Sterling Rest ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

My boyfriend and I came to Sterling Restaurant during our trip to Ottawa. The steak and service was top notch! We had the beef carpaccio, small NY sirloin with baked potato, and porterhouse with spinach and fries. Unfortunately we were too full for dessert but it sounded delicious. The atmosphere was very quiet and romantic, and the location was right along the Gatineau River. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved it. It was a Wednesday evening s ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

I loved it. It was a Wednesday evening so very quiet. I will go back for special occasions for sure. Service was fantastic and so was the food;-)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Delicious food. Great service. Nice vie ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Delicious food. Great service. Nice view of the water. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top quality food, superbly prepared , im ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Top quality food, superbly prepared , impeccable service in an elegant setting

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Three of us enjoyed lunch at Sterling - ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Three of us enjoyed lunch at Sterling - the food was delicious and the service was excellent!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I was expecting something like Beckta (O ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I was expecting something like Beckta (Ottawa) but the bread, mayo and fries was not homemade or not very good. The pasta, filet mignon and desert was good but for this kind of restaurant and the price range everything has to be perfect.

They learn from Beckta.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We had a lovely lunch this week to cele ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We had a lovely lunch this week to celebrate my mother's 90th birthday. It was a breezy summer day on the deck and we enjoyed the scenic view of Gatineau River. Pascal greeted served us with his usual welcoming smile, kindness and efficiency. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. Sterling never disappoints!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is an outstanding venue for dining. ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This is an outstanding venue for dining. Owner and staff were very friendly, attentive but not in your face. Food selection and delivery was great. Visited from Brighton, Ontario for Canada Day and could not have chosen a better place in the whole of the Ottawa Region. A special gem hidden in Gatineau, PQ. Go there!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sterling Grillades is n excellent restau ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Sterling Grillades is n excellent restaurant with a broad menu, careful service and first-rate food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The owner was very friendly and we loved ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The owner was very friendly and we loved the ambiance. Wait staff was very courteous and polite and checked on us regularly. Food presentation was excellent, even showing us our meat cut before cooking it. The food was absolutely delicious and portions were very generous. I loved the restaurant, it was very romantic as well.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I thought it was overpriced for what we ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I thought it was overpriced for what we got. Will not return!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Service has gone downhill

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Our server totally ruined our evening for us. She made a big deal about simple requests, and refused to accommodate them and was very unprofessional, often interrupting our conversation to interject her own thoughts about what we were discussing. I now know way more about her than I ever wanted to know: that's she's 25 years old, that she has a "career job" in IT and this serving job is just to help pay for her condo, etc, etc. (I had already guessed she was not a professional server!)

I have always enjoyed Sterling in the past, but clearly the service is not at the level where it used to be. It really turned me off going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Good food! Excellent service! Excellent wine!

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Very good cuisine. Excellent service. Excellent wine and Desserts.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful evening, start to finish!

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Our evening (first visit) started with a tour of the restaurant including the grilling area and wine cellars by the Maitre D'. The menu was impressive with lots of choices. Our meal was simply outstanding; top shelf. The Sterling beef did not dissapoint. After dinner we enjoyed a complementary beverage on the outside patio. We will definitely return again, sooner rather than later. Great value for the money. You get what you pay for!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner this past Friday evening.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Had an enjoyable being. Excellent, service, attention and food. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Bash

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Took my husband to Sterling for his birthday. They treated us royally. The waiter spoke to us in English. I was worried that we would have to communicate in French. He treated us like we were the only table he was serving. They showed us the cut of meat beforehand. The food was divine. They decorated the dessert plate with a Birthday greeting. They sang Happy Birthday to my husband. The owner came to our table several times to ask if there was anything he could do for us. He gave us a free after dinner drink. He even met us when we were leaving and said he appreciated our business.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An enjoyable evening with good food and ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

An enjoyable evening with good food and wine. Service was attentive and the atmosphere was attractive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dine here.

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

The food and service are excellent. They took such good care of our table for a birthday celebration. The staff were wonderful with the 15 and 9 year old with our party. The establishment was beyond kind and generous to the gentleman celebrating his birthday. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not so good service

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was good,service was fast, nice view on the patio.We where dissapointed with the service,we ordered 2 drinks only got one thats no big deal, I had a 200$ gift certificate and the bill came up to 155$, I gave the certificate to the server he left and never came back he totally ignored us,he passed beside us like we where not even there so after 30 mins I went to see him to see what his going on with the bill he was rude he said that he cant give me some change for my certificate.I was not expecting change but the server assumed that I was going to give him the difference has a tip and honeslty I was going to give all the difference has a tip cause I didnt planned of coming back but just because he assumed getting it and ignored us I wanted a gift card for the difference wich was very hard for him. I did gave hime a tip for the taxes amount wich he didnt even deserved and he gave me a balance has a certificate

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Returned for our 33rd wedding anniversar ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Returned for our 33rd wedding anniversary. Pascal was a respectful and friendly server (so was his young female assistant). Excellent of both f the to speak English and French.

Gret help with our menu selection. Food presentation was very appealing.

Beef tartar could be a little cheaper with a smaller amount of meat.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Even if I live near by, it's was my firs ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Even if I live near by, it's was my first time there. It was for a wedding anniversary. Best choice I ever made. Excellent all around.

I recommend this place for all occasions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oustanding

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

This restaurant is our favorite in the area .. we always have the same waiter Marc and we feel like we are Family.

We always try to have a different plate and we have never been disappointed.

Nice adult restaurant ...

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

44th Anniversary Supper

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We received a warm welcome at the entrance, were shown to our table (selected to provide privacy). Staff was courteous and attentive. The food was delicious and more than we could eat. Well worth the expense for a special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only small point, the service was a ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

The only small point, the service was a bit slow. Overall we had a nice evening

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Used to be good

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

We have eaten at this restaurant a few times and have often had excellent meals. That was not the case this time. The service was poor: after our appetizers were served, it took almost an hour to receive our main course and when we did the food was cold and bland. When I asked for something to be heated up, I was told it was supposed to be served cold. So much for giving the customer what they want. The restaurant was only half full so it was not busy and therefore I am not sure why our meal took so long to be served. We live quite far away from this restaurant (1 1/2 hour drive) and used to not mind making the journey as the food had always been impressive. Unfortunately we will not make this journey again, as there are plenty of mediocre restaurants between where we live and Sterling that are much closer, much less expensive with just as bad food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

The service was wonderful; friendly, pol ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

The service was wonderful; friendly, polite and helpful! The set menu was of great value and delicious. Their muscles are the best!!! The fresh oysters were fabulous and the flourless chocolate cake was absolutely phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Private room for big group.

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Private room for big group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Pleasantly surprised!

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

We took our friends to lunch for a special occasion, we reserved a table on the second floor. We ended up being the only guests during our entire meal which made the experience even more special, our friends loved it, we loved it and the service was outstanding. We can't wait to go back..

Highly recommend this restaurant, great for a special occasion and I would think it's a great romantic place, great view and we discussed going back as a group.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic Restaurant

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Very nice restaurant. Excellent staff, steak fair, great wine list. Ambiance lovely. Live piano music, our waiter sang - overall, a nice experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.