About Stephanie's On Newbury

Stephanie's on Newbury has now become an institution in Boston. Located in the heart of one of Boston's most historic streets and upscale shopping districts, Stephanie's has been serving 'Sophisticated Comfort Food' in a relaxed, inviting atmosphere since 1994. Locals, travelers and shoppers alike favor this classic American bistro because of its commitment to blending old fashioned American favorites with a current, fresh twist. Stephanie's is casual elegance at its best with one of the city's most fashionable sidewalk cafes, popular club-like bar and cozy sky lit dining spaces. **Reservations are for inside seating only. Also, if the time you request is not available, please call the restaurant directly.**

190 Newbury Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30am-11:30am
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Exeter Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 236-0990

Website:
http://www.stephaniesonnewbury.com/

Public Transit:
Copley

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Bloody Mary - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Grilled Salmon - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Crab Cake Benedict - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
New England Clam Chowder - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Old Bay Crab Blt - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Skillet Breakfast, Applewood Smoked Bacon, Maple Sausage, Home Fries, Eggs and Cheddar Cheese Baked in a Cast Iron Skillet - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Crispy Duck Breast - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Grilled Pork Chop - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Macaroni and Cheese - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Chilled Roasted Vegetable Gazpacho - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Thai Chicken Salad - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Pecan-crusted Goat Cheese Salad - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Onion Rings - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Bruschetta - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Crunchy Vegetable Salad - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Burger - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Ahi Tuna Tartare - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Crab Cakes - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Jumbo Sea Scallops - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Grilled Duck Breast - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Bacon, Cheddar, Ranch Chicken Sandwich - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Grilled Cheese Sandwich - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Ahi Tuna Niçoise Salad - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Stephi Burger - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Pulled Pork Scrambled - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Lobster Ravioli - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Shepherd's Pie - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Scallops - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
baked spinach and artichoke dip - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Tower Of Onion Rings - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
pulled chicken pasta - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Pesto Pasta - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Bread Basket - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Steak Salad with Bluecheese Dressing - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Seared Sea Scallops & Risotto - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Warm Chocolate Cake - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Classic Caesar Salad With Grilled Chicken - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Lobster Roll (Sandwich) - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Albacore Tuna Melt - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Asian Yellow Fin Tuna Salad - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Mac and Cheese - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
White Clam Pizza - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Ahi Tuna Burger - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Caramel Mocha Cocktail - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Chicken Parmesan Pasta - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Prosecco - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
ahi tuna tar tar - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Famous Meatloaf And Gravy - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Slow Roasted Chicken - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Lobster Salad Roll - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 7:30AM - 11:45AM 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM

Fri 7:30AM - 11:45AM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The semi-private facility accommodates up to 45 people.

Stephanie's On Newbury Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (36)
Casual (26)
Great for Brunch (26)
See All
Good for a Date (25)
Sunday Lunch (23)
Special Occasion (21)
Great for Lunch (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Good for Groups (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Business Meals (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Fun (16)
People Watching (15)
Cozy (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Bar Seating (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Romantic (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Quick Bite (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Seasonal (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Family Style (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Healthy (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Scenic View (3)
Great Beer (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Authentic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Spicy (1)
Historic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2352 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awful experience from the moment we walk ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Awful experience from the moment we walked in for my daughter's Sweet 16 dinner with family and friends. I had a very large cake box in my hands (I called ahead to make sure I could bring it) and the hostess says follow me and starts walking to the table. I said "can I give this cake to someone please." The other person at the front took. We were led to a table set for 6 when I made the reservation for 7 people. When it became obvious there weren't enough chairs she said "I can get another chair." We then had to tell the waitress that we didn't have enough place settings. Not sure if she was new or just not very bright but she didn't take the menus away so we had to leave them on the floor. My husband ordered an expensive bottle of wine that was corked and had to be sent back. They brought the cake out without the 1 & 6 candles lit. Overall I was extremely disappointed and would never recommend this restaurant to anyone. It's overrated all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Please ignore the previous review! That ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Please ignore the previous review! That was for another restaurant we had dinner at. So Sorry. We had a wonderful experience at Stephanie's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Poor service and this was the third time ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Poor service and this was the third time we have been there and previously enjoyed the food - this time not so good. Skirt steak salad was limp and burgers ok and soup Luke warm and tasteless. Very disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Food was hit or miss. Special had so mu ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was hit or miss. Special had so much sauce on it my friend needed to scoop it on to a separate plate. Other dishes (open face turkey sandwich, brick chicken) were pretty good.

Service was disappointing. Main course came before we had finished our appetizer. It was 9pm on a Friday night - lots of empty tables so there was no need to rush.

I personally asked our server to give me the check at the end of the night. She agreed, then when my friend handed her his credit card 15 minutes later she took it. I was livid but she could have cared less. Don't tell me one thing and then do another. I will not be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Food was good but they forgot to bring u ...

 
·Dined on January 11, 2017

Food was good but they forgot to bring us bread to start the meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

I eat at Stephanie's on most of my Bosto ...

 
·Dined on January 11, 2017

I eat at Stephanie's on most of my Boston visits because I know I'll get a consistently excellent meal, no matter what food type I'm seeking. The choices are always quite varied, interesting and never disappointing. My favorite salad is always the butternut squash with arugula. Whoa!!! Always makes me happy. The crab cake appetizer is big enough for a main dish after a salad and has very little filler and great sauce and greens below. My friends had the chicken pot pie and the rack of lamb. They each commented how yummy their dishes were and they would order them again.

We drank the Brancaia Tre, which for $65 is a bit pricey, but excellent with the food choices. There are many other excellent wine options, all somewhat pricey, but they need to make their margin somewhere.

Overall, I will return again to one of my favorite and reliable Boston restaurants.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Newbury Street prices for ok food. Cockt ...

 
·Dined on January 9, 2017

Newbury Street prices for ok food. Cocktail (and wine) prices (ok it's Boston) very high. $8 for a bottle of Pellegrino? Prices just below the Oak Bar, Grill 23 and Capital Grille, but in a more casual setting, with casual food and that's not right. We liked Stephanie's before for lunch, haven't been there in a while, no desire to return. Don't like the "booth" type arrangements.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Our party of four was satisfied, for the ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our party of four was satisfied, for the most part, but not wowed. We'd heard great things and came in with high expectations. The corn-beef hash was bland and the accompanying mixed greens had no dressing, same with the salad on the Benedict. The vegetable omelet was good, but again, just nothing special. Eggs Shakshuka were flavorful, but needed a protein. The ambiance was nice. Service was average. Seems pricey for the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Good menu of comfort food classics, incl ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Good menu of comfort food classics, including meatloaf, chicken pot pie and shepard's pie. Pretty good salmon. Good breakfast, which is hard to find in the area.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We have been to Stephanie's a few times ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

We have been to Stephanie's a few times before and it's usually ok. Last night the service was not good. I asked for a certain type of potato because I have allergies. My meal came and they had not done the swap and the potato was cold. I was told that the potato would have been hot if I was able to have the gravy! Completely unacceptable and a bit of an excuse. They warmed it up but didn't change it to my request. It wasn't a great night.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Birthday gathering. Terrific food. Good ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

Birthday gathering. Terrific food. Good time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Server was extremely helpful regarding a ...

 
·Dined on January 5, 2017

Server was extremely helpful regarding an allergy in my party, both in checking with the chef and making additional order recommendations.

Extremely delicious meal, and fun cocktails on a weekday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent, the drinks were ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was excellent, the drinks were perfectly made. Service was some of the best i have had recently and would reccomwnd anyone to try them out especially for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is a pleasant and bustli ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

This restaurant is a pleasant and bustling scene and a great place to get friends together. The food was delicious. The service however was a little slow as the waiter was overburdened with too many tables.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food, Lobster Mac & Cheese and Sca ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food, Lobster Mac & Cheese and Scallops over Risotto with Candied Bacon were both top notch entrees. We went for NYE and had a great relaxing time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole experience was phenomenal!!!! ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

The whole experience was phenomenal!!!! The atmosphere was romantic and the a perfect evening

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tuna melt was ho-hum, tuna tartare was r ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Tuna melt was ho-hum, tuna tartare was really good, Ham and cheese ho-hum. Was looking forward to the grilled cheese which is no longer on menu. Soup was delicious but cold.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Loved the red velvet chocolate chip panc ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Loved the red velvet chocolate chip pancakes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Atmosphere and mood was okay, but there ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

Atmosphere and mood was okay, but there seemed to be a lot of noise either from a side room or a neighboring restaurant, like an entire second radio system was set up.

Food was very delicious, but one of our party was super sick the next day with food poisoning. Maybe it's fine if you just don't get the "lobster" (it was probably crab; either way, the human stomach didn't like it).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Didn't care for the table by the entranc ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

Didn't care for the table by the entrance, surrounded by people waiting to get in to the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Comfort food following Holiday shopping. ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Comfort food following Holiday shopping. Great truffle fries

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Family dinner for 5 (1 is a vegan). Grea ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

Family dinner for 5 (1 is a vegan). Great food and good service for all of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a reservation for 5 but the Pops ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had a reservation for 5 but the Pops were over sooner than we expected and they seated when we arrived, which was fabulous. Such a cozy atmosphere. We had a wonderful dinner, great food, perfectly timed service and very nice bar service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, , Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Family Style, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very festive for the holidays! Had the ...

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

Very festive for the holidays! Had the egg white frittata and it was perfection. One of our favorite brunch/breakfast spots.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a wonderful dinner at Stephanie's be ...

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

Had a wonderful dinner at Stephanie's before the holidays. Had wanted to try this place for ages. Was not disappointed! Our party tried the calamari and quesadillas for appetizers - very good! One in the group had the halibut special, one had the burger, one had the pressed chicken, and another had the pork. All delicious and good portions as well. We shared a piece of excellent pumpkin cheesecake for dessert. Will go back again!

Tags: Comfort Food, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, , Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We arrived 15 minutes early and stood at ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

We arrived 15 minutes early and stood at door waiting to be seated for 15 minutes with many open tables. We were told they were short on wait staff. We were seated at the front door where the cold air hit us anytime someone entered when there were many open tables inside

Ordered a medium rare hamburger and it came well done

There was a hair in one of our dinners

Waitress so busy we basically had no service.

Wouldn't recommend and very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

What a great place! As we waited by the ...

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

What a great place! As we waited by the door for our friend to arrive, someone stomped out complaining about the service, barely giving the host a chance to inquire or apologize. Not a fortuitous start to a meal but we nevertheless had a wonderful time. The dining room is elegant and prettily decorated for the holidays. The menu is mostly comfort food and classic favorites; we loved our chicken pot pie, a generous, creamy portion. Desserts are very good, too. Our server was charming, attentive, and gave good recommendations. Prices are reasonable for Newbury Street. We live in Back Bay and hadn't eaten here for ages, but I look forward to returning often. That person who stormed out must have been Scrooge.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lamb chops were horrible. My associa ...

 
·Dined on December 13, 2016

The lamb chops were horrible.

My associate and I both ordered and both very unhappy.

The chops appeared to have been microwaved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Wonderful brunch as always. Crab cake Be ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

Wonderful brunch as always. Crab cake Benedict, skillet breakfast, custom Bloody Mary. All great. If you want to go, be sure to make reservations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was my second trip. It's uncomfort ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

This was my second trip. It's uncomfortably crowded - front of entrance doesn't work well with numerous people trying to get in and out and too many crowded tables to the point where it is difficult to listen to your dining party. Very loud. Drinks are excellent, service/wait staff is excellent, food is good. Went for special occasion Sunday brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Very attentive.Food was delicious!!

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

Very attentive.Food was delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quiche was terrible! Crust was soggy wit ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

Quiche was terrible! Crust was soggy with sparse filling. Pancakes ordinary. They have slipped from our previous experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Terrible! We were totally rushed- the l ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Terrible! We were totally rushed- the lamb tasted gamey and old, requested medium rare- came well done! $15 for an Irish coffee which was like warm! I will never return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

It was nice table for just two was small ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

It was nice table for just two was small, never asked if we wanted dessert just brought us the check-thought that was odd. I would go back, the night we went was a busy holiday party/city events night.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We arrived a little early for our reserv ...

 
·Dined on December 9, 2016

We arrived a little early for our reservation but they were able to accommodate us. Service and food were excellent. My only complaint would be how loud it was in there. It made conversation across the table difficult.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food! Excellent, attentive servic ...

 
·Dined on December 9, 2016

Great food! Excellent, attentive service. We'll definitely be back. So many delicious choices!!

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Completely satisfactory lunchtime experi ...

 
·Dined on December 7, 2016

Completely satisfactory lunchtime experience. Nothing amazing, but also nothing disappointing. Very attentive service.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Pretentious waiter, meager serving for t ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

Pretentious waiter, meager serving for the price point, small wine pours. Noisy dining room. Good location but not worth the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

even though it was very busy there was n ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

even though it was very busy there was no feeling of rush form any of the staff, the staff were wonderful I am so sorry I forgot my servers name but everyone was excellant. I have talked about ti so much already and am recommending it to my friends

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was superb! Atmosphere is great. Re ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food was superb! Atmosphere is great. Really nice during the beginning of the holiday season. However, service was lacking. We sat for 15 minutes after having been seated before our server came over to greet us and she did not acknowledge that we had been waiting. We waited overly long for each course. Thank goodness we ordered an appetizer because it took so long for the entrees to arrive. Our appetizers were delivered by a runner. However, our server walked by us several minutes later and did not inquire as to whether they were to our liking. By the time she actually came over we were almost done with our appetizers. Given the level of cuisine and the excellent atmosphere it is a shame the service did not live up to those high standards. This has impacted my overall rating.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.