About Stephanie's On Newbury

190 Newbury Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Stephanie's on Newbury has now become an institution in Boston. Located in the heart of one of Boston's most historic streets and upscale shopping districts, Stephanie's has been serving 'Sophisticated Comfort Food' in a relaxed, inviting atmosphere since 1994. Locals, travelers and shoppers alike favor this classic American bistro because of its commitment to blending old fashioned American favorites with a current, fresh twist. Stephanie's is casual elegance at its best with one of the city's most fashionable sidewalk cafes, popular club-like bar and cozy sky lit dining spaces. **Reservations are for inside seating only. Also, if the time you request is not available, please call the restaurant directly.**

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30am-11:30am
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Exeter Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 236-0990

Website:
http://www.stephaniesonnewbury.com/

Public Transit:
Copley

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bloody Mary
Grilled Salmon
Crab Cake Benedict
New England Clam Chowder
Old Bay Crab Blt
Skillet Breakfast, Applewood Smoked Bacon, Maple Sausage, Home Fries, Eggs and Cheddar Cheese Baked in a Cast Iron Skillet
Macaroni and Cheese
Pecan-crusted Goat Cheese Salad
Crispy Duck Breast
Grilled Pork Chop
Chilled Roasted Vegetable Gazpacho
Thai Chicken Salad
Onion Rings
Crunchy Vegetable Salad
Bruschetta
Burger
Crab Cakes
Ahi Tuna Tartare
Jumbo Sea Scallops
Grilled Duck Breast
Bacon, Cheddar, Ranch Chicken Sandwich
Grilled Cheese Sandwich
Ahi Tuna Niçoise Salad
Stephi Burger
Pulled Pork Scrambled
Lobster Ravioli
Shepherd's Pie
baked spinach and artichoke dip
Scallops
Tower Of Onion Rings
pulled chicken pasta
Steak Salad with Bluecheese Dressing
Pesto Pasta
Bread Basket
Warm Chocolate Cake
Seared Sea Scallops & Risotto
Classic Caesar Salad With Grilled Chicken
Ahi Tuna Burger
White Clam Pizza
Mac and Cheese
Asian Yellow Fin Tuna Salad
Albacore Tuna Melt
Lobster Roll (Sandwich)
Caramel Mocha Cocktail
Chicken Parmesan Pasta
ahi tuna tar tar
Prosecco
Lobster Salad Roll
Slow Roasted Chicken
Famous Meatloaf And Gravy

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM 9:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 9:30PM - 9:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The semi-private facility accommodates up to 45 people.

Stephanie's On Newbury Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Comfort Food
Boston / New England
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Boston / New England
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

great for brunch (96)
great for outdoor dining (85)
great for lunch (82)
See All
neighborhood gem (74)
good for groups (68)
fit for foodies (55)
special occasion (51)
hot spot (42)
vibrant bar scene (27)
romantic (22)
kid-friendly (18)
notable wine list (16)
scenic view (14)
late-night find (8)
Sort By:
Newest
2020 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Here's my issue.. I know it is on Newbur ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Here's my issue.. I know it is on Newbury Street in Boston. But $20.00 for a two egg omelet and $20 for blueberry pancakes is a tad overpriced. The pancakes were bland. The omelet was a usual run of the mill omelet no better than at any other breakfast establishment for $7.00. Selections are few and far between... I know it's a popular place but I would not return.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a bridesmaids' brunch after getti ...

Dined 3 days ago

It was a bridesmaids' brunch after getting our hair done - just 5 of us. They were very accommodating about me having to change my numbers on the day of, and then when we were early. There were multiple events going on (large parties seated together) and yet the service never lagged - excellent service. The food was great, but limited in menu options. Drinks were fantastic. The ambiance and location make this an exceptional treat, and a perfect way to spend some time with my best friends on the best day of my life.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food has been consistently very good at ...

Dined 5 days ago

Food has been consistently very good at Stephanie's. It used to be one of our favorite places to visit when we lived in Boston. Our server, Adoline, was fantastic.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I made an 11:30 reservation for 3 people ...

Dined 6 days ago

I made an 11:30 reservation for 3 people and got seated immediately, even though the rest of my party wasn't there. The staff was pretty patient about my friends being late and didn't pressure us too much. Food was pretty good- I got a turkey sandwich and the turkey was a little dry but the combination of ingredients and potato salad were yummy. A little pricey overall! I don't know what their serving schedule is but I saw a lot of people eating breakfast/brunch items and I would've loved to have that as an option!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Overall good food and drinks and a great ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Overall good food and drinks and a great place to meet up with friends

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for dinner. Waited in line at outs ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Went for dinner. Waited in line at outside hostess stand for 5-10 minutes until realized there are separate hostess stands for inside and outside tables. Once inside got seated right away. Responsive server. Chicken in one person's salad seemed underdone so it had to go back. No problem. Were asked several times by someone if it was OK after it came back from the kitchen. Huge hamburger. Overall, except for the chicken issue and boisterous table next to us, we enjoyed our meal.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Our waiter Adam was very nice but very i ...

vip
Dined on June 21, 2016

Our waiter Adam was very nice but very inexperienced and it is clear that he had little training

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service

Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent food and service

food3
ambience3
service4

Food was good but I become suspicious wh ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was good but I become suspicious when seafood dishes are either stuffed with something or are covered with sauces. Service was very good and it's in a great location.

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great location on Newbury street where y ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Great location on Newbury street where you can eat and people watch

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Open air seating and excellent food make ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Open air seating and excellent food make it a special place we return to for special occasions.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

Friendly staff and fast service, great p ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Friendly staff and fast service, great place to brunch

food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely patio & the brunch was fantastic!

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Lovely patio & the brunch was fantastic!

food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Price/Value? My wife and I had brunch at ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Price/Value? My wife and I had brunch at Stephanies on father's Day. Service was slow, becuase our waiter seemd ti have 10 tables. Additionally the proces are high for the fare offered. $4.50 for coffee?? And charging me $4 for toast when my meal has a sunny side up egg is really incredible. Even NYC places don't do that. Won't be returning.

food5
ambience5
service5

Nice to dine street side on a beautiful ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Nice to dine street side on a beautiful day. Veggie omelet, chicken salad, lobster roll, spicy bean wrap all great. Will go again.

food4
ambience4
service4

Front desk staff didn't look up once whe ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Front desk staff didn't look up once when checking us in. Our waitress was fabulous which made up for it.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My only negative was we had a very new w ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

My only negative was we had a very new waiter or waitress, Maybe a little more time and effort in training of new staff. We enjoyed the dinning experience and will return, the food was well worth the price and the meal was enjoyable. Thank you

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great service and food. Indoor tables ar ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Great service and food. Indoor tables are very close togetherz

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Sea scallops exceeded expectations - per ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Sea scallops exceeded expectations - perfect!

food2
ambience3
service4

Horrendous food Did not expect such tast ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Horrendous food Did not expect such tasteless, poorly prepared and horribly displayed food. All 8 of us were very disappointed.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went to Stephanie's for Sunday brunch ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We went to Stephanie's for Sunday brunch and it was delicious! The build-your-own-bloody Mary was out of this world, and is a Sunday brunch MUST. Great service, delicious food, laid back atmosphere. YUM

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Stephanie's is a classic for brunch in B ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Stephanie's is a classic for brunch in Boston. Food is consistent. Not amazing, not terrible. A bit overpriced, but you are paying for the great people watching view! Mimosas are way too overpriced.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Great atmosphere great food. Super great ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Great atmosphere great food. Super great location!

food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Solidly average

Dined on June 9, 2016

The dining room was very loud and difficult to have a conversation. The waiter was really poor and untrained. The food was good and came out of the kitchen hot which is always appreciated. I would not recommend to anyone looking to have a nice relaxing dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5

I got off the plane from Los Angeles and ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

I got off the plane from Los Angeles and went right to Stephanie's for a wonderful dinner. The appetizers are always excellent and all the food is very fresh. I enjoyed the salmon dinner. The restaurant is always very accommodating with special dietary requests.

food1
ambience1
service1
value2

Disapointing

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Embarrassed to recommend to friends. Brean & shrimp salad unappetizing & overpriced. Very slo service when place was not full.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Elizabeth

Dined on June 5, 2016

I went to dinner with my family. We all agreed that the appetizers and the desert were much tastier than the entres.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Enjoyed our time there. Good food and se ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Enjoyed our time there. Good food and service; place was crowded so very noisy.

food5
ambience5
service3

Food was fantastic. Service could defini ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Food was fantastic. Service could definitely stand to improve. Waitress would disappear for long lengths of time. French toast was served without the maple syrup dispenser so had to wait a while to find someone to get it. But the food was amazing.

food5
ambience5
service2

The outdoor dining area apparently has a ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

The outdoor dining area apparently has a different list and there are no reservations for that area. When we got here we did have to wait about 30 minutes for a table. Overall though it was well worth it. You must get a Bloody Mary. There were good options for the gluten free and vegan members of our party. I'd recommend the French Toast!

food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Have went many times in the past. Howeve ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Have went many times in the past. However will not go back. If your in a rush, great place to go. After ordering a bottle of wine, the waitress came over 3 times within 5 minutes to take our order even though we said we would prefer to enjoy a glass of wine first. The lobster pot pie which has been our favorite meal has been quite inconsistent . Hardly any lobster and a bit watery.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

This was my first time at Stephanie's. ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

This was my first time at Stephanie's. Since the weather was nice, and early in the day (5pm) I was hoping we'd be able to sit outside. When we arrived, the hostess indicated we had to make a "separate" reservation for the outdoor patio. Nowhere on Opentable or on Stephanie's website, does it disclose or provide we need to make a different reservation. We had a couple guests with food allergies, and Stephanie's handled it well. Overall, though, the food was fairly decent, but the price of the food did not commensurate with quality.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

nice location good food

Dined on May 23, 2016

Nice location food very good we went early things got a bit noisy as the night got later Many of wait staff were novice or being trained this slowed things down and some of the expected things like bread before the food arrives cleaning up the table before dessert refill of coffee were lost Overall food was the draw and the view of Newburyport street

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, fantastic service

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

My husband and I brunched here on Sunday and we both loved our food. I had the Eggs Shakshuka which is a cast iron skillet with eggs in a very tasty North African tomato-based broth. I had it with egg whites, the bread for dipping was great. Our server Olivia was by far the most pleasant one I've had here (she even brought out an empty box of the coffee they serve as I liked it so much and wanted to know what it was).

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We had a great brunch for my best friend ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We had a great brunch for my best friend's 30th! Something for everyone!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

We had reservations but arrived early an ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We had reservations but arrived early and got seated right away. Hostess and waitress very friendly- Steak with truffle fries was ok-very salty seasoning on the steak and came on top of the fries. Presentation of the dinner was like a n upscale pub not a trendy restaurant. We waited a long time for food-and the restaurant was super crowded. If you want to sit outside and get an appetizer its a decent place but not fine dining by any means

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Poor service, 1 person of our party of 5 ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Poor service, 1 person of our party of 5 was brought their appetizer 15 minutes before everyone else. We were asked if we wanted bread and we said yes and then it never arrived until we had to ask for it twice. Server never asked how are dinner was (2 of us had the trout and it was over cooked).

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My family was on a trip to Boston. The ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

My family was on a trip to Boston. The food and service was very good. The calamari and the crab cake appetizers were excellent. We enjoyed the meatloaf and the lobster roll was overstuffed with lobster. Everything tasted very well.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

OK

Dined on May 21, 2016

I went here for brunch with my husband and would rate the overall experience as OK. The decor and ambiance is great, we were seated immediately. The food seemed a bit overpriced and I personally felt that the menu was lacking a little bit in selection. The service was ok, not bad but not great either. I would definitely go here again as there aren't a lot of other brunch options in the area that I'm aware of, and it was good enough.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service4

Ladies lunch after a spa day was spent h ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Ladies lunch after a spa day was spent here. It was perfect. Staff was attentive and met our request for patio seating. Crowd was energetic and fun on a spring day.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.