About Stephanie's On Newbury

190 Newbury Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Stephanie's on Newbury has now become an institution in Boston. Located in the heart of one of Boston's most historic streets and upscale shopping districts, Stephanie's has been serving 'Sophisticated Comfort Food' in a relaxed, inviting atmosphere since 1994. Locals, travelers and shoppers alike favor this classic American bistro because of its commitment to blending old fashioned American favorites with a current, fresh twist. Stephanie's is casual elegance at its best with one of the city's most fashionable sidewalk cafes, popular club-like bar and cozy sky lit dining spaces. **Reservations are for inside seating only. Also, if the time you request is not available, please call the restaurant directly.**

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30am-11:30am
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Exeter Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 236-0990

Website:
http://www.stephaniesonnewbury.com/

Public Transit:
Copley

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bloody Mary
Grilled Salmon
Crab Cake Benedict
New England Clam Chowder
Old Bay Crab Blt
Skillet Breakfast, Applewood Smoked Bacon, Maple Sausage, Home Fries, Eggs and Cheddar Cheese Baked in a Cast Iron Skillet
Macaroni and Cheese
Crispy Duck Breast
Grilled Pork Chop
Chilled Roasted Vegetable Gazpacho
Thai Chicken Salad
Pecan-crusted Goat Cheese Salad
Onion Rings
Bruschetta
Crunchy Vegetable Salad
Burger
Ahi Tuna Tartare
Crab Cakes
Jumbo Sea Scallops
Grilled Duck Breast
Bacon, Cheddar, Ranch Chicken Sandwich
Grilled Cheese Sandwich
Ahi Tuna Niçoise Salad
Stephi Burger
Pulled Pork Scrambled
Lobster Ravioli
Shepherd's Pie
Scallops
baked spinach and artichoke dip
Tower Of Onion Rings
pulled chicken pasta
Pesto Pasta
Bread Basket
Steak Salad with Bluecheese Dressing
Seared Sea Scallops & Risotto
Warm Chocolate Cake
Classic Caesar Salad With Grilled Chicken
Lobster Roll (Sandwich)
Albacore Tuna Melt
Asian Yellow Fin Tuna Salad
Mac and Cheese
White Clam Pizza
Ahi Tuna Burger
Caramel Mocha Cocktail
Chicken Parmesan Pasta
Prosecco
ahi tuna tar tar
Famous Meatloaf And Gravy
Slow Roasted Chicken
Lobster Salad Roll

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The semi-private facility accommodates up to 45 people.

Stephanie's On Newbury Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Comfort Food
Boston / New England
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Boston / New England
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (120)
Great for Brunch (82)
Neighborhood Gem (81)
See All
Great for Lunch (77)
Good for Groups (56)
Hot Spot (52)
Special Occasion (44)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Vibrant Bar Scene (29)
Scenic View (29)
Romantic (18)
People Watching (18)
Casual (18)
Kid-friendly (17)
Good for a Date (16)
Comfort Food (13)
Fun (13)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Notable Wine List (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Business Meals (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Authentic (4)
Cozy (3)
Family Style (3)
Historic (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Vegan (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great Beer (1)
Healthy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2134 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was mediocre at best. My daught ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined a day ago

The food was mediocre at best. My daughters 10.00 pasta was seemingly microwaved and though it looked it it was covered it butter, was dry to the bone. This is our second trip here (we happened to be on Newbury last night), and will never go back...service was very slow and totally inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Celebrated my girlfriend's birthday at S ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Celebrated my girlfriend's birthday at Stephanie's and had a nice time. The menu is full of intriguing options to try and wasn't overly expensive given the nature of the food and quality. The service was fairly average if not a bit subpar - our waiter was changed almost immediately into the meal and our replacement seemed flustered, forgetting a glass of wine that had been ordered twice. The desserts were very good and able to comfortably feed three people. Would recommend Stephanie's for a special occasion and highly encourage sitting outside when the weather is fair.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

The food is not worth it. Too expensive ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food is not worth it. Too expensive and there is not unique in the menu.

Very impolite staffs. Will never come back. Will never recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Very busy Sunday morning brunch. But th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Very busy Sunday morning brunch. But the staff is very organized and pleasant. We were seated and had our food in front of us within 15 minutes. The meal was better than expected and the staff was wonderful.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Checked in a bit early. Didn't get seate ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Checked in a bit early. Didn't get seated until 10 minutes after our reservation time. Service was incredibly slow, and kept alternating between two different servers who weren't on the same page at all. We were seated in the upstairs area where we could hear a lot of the kitchen noise, and it smelled smoky, like something got burnt in the kitchen, the entire time we were up there. Our food was delicious, which was the only saving grace.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

Negative reviews are tough but sometimes ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Negative reviews are tough but sometimes need to be written. Something has changed at this restaurant and it is not for the better. Between the food and the service, it would be hard to ever revisit. I had the tortellini dish and it was inedible. My husband had a steak dish which came with string beans and the beans were raw. That was not the side dish that was intended. The service was below average. We had a pleasant waitress, whom we met at the beginning. Then she disappeared. Drinks were delivered with a 20 minute delay, dessert took 30 minutes to appear and there was an hour period were we never saw one staff member.

For the price, one is best to go somewhere else. Our total bill for 8 people was over $400 and not many were happy at the end of the evening. Bummer. It used to be a good place to go to dine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

This is my 5th time visiting Boston. Aft ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

This is my 5th time visiting Boston. After I discovered the Lobster Potpie, I make sure we always have dinner here (if seasonal). Delicious food. Waiter wasn't that good. We received our drinks after dinner arrived. Too noisy. Love the food though.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

prime location on newbury street, great ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

prime location on newbury street, great terrace, food is ok. ask for the lobster guacamole even if off menu (they normally don't serve it until 3PM)

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Terrible experience. There was a sharp a ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Terrible experience. There was a sharp and jagged shard of plastic (about 1inch x 1inch) in our chicken & mashed potatoes dish. Dangerous and the staff response was not appropriate.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Great place for an outdoor lunch. Servi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great place for an outdoor lunch. Service was prompt and very friendly. Food was great. Overall a highly recommended place for an outdoor seating lunch!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

what a place to enjoy the sun and great ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

what a place to enjoy the sun and great food with friends

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Healthy, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service were quite good. Great ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Food and service were quite good. Great location on Newbury but expensive.... You pay for the location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

THE FOOD WAS GOOD, THEY GAVE YOU A GOOD ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

THE FOOD WAS GOOD, THEY GAVE YOU A GOOD AMOUNT OF FOOD, SO YOU WON'T LEAVE HUNGRY.

IT IS A NICE PLACE FOR BRUNCH OR LUNCH, BUT THE PARKING IN THE AREA COSTS AS MUCH AS TWO MEALS THERE. SO WHEN I GO BACK I WILL PROBABLY UBER OR TAKE THE TRAIN.

EMPLOYEES THERE ARE VERY ACCOMMODATING AND FRIENDLY.

Tags: Vegan, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Had a wonderful brunch to kick start my ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Had a wonderful brunch to kick start my Boston holiday, a must venue for those near Newbury Street. Service excellent and food importantly fresh and tasty!

Tags: Casual, Family Style, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The build your own Bloody Mary for their ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The build your own Bloody Mary for their brunch is great. So many options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was not so good this time. Clam ch ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Food was not so good this time. Clam chowder was like gravy instead of soup. It was definitely a miss for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

we were seated in the entrance, we asked ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

we were seated in the entrance, we asked to move to another table, we were told that that table will take a while to serve, we said OK and still were escorted to a different table, not the one we asked for. Then were told we have to order a full dinner (we wanted drinks and appetizers maybe) so we can not sit at the tables if we are not planning to order a full dinner. the time was 8:30 which is late for us for a heavy dinner. we left. the hostess was very unpleasant. I don't think we will go back there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

I enjoyed Stephanie's the service and fo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I enjoyed Stephanie's the service and food was great my only issue was the air was so cold, my food came out super hot which was great but minutes later my food was cold which was not very enjoyable !

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent. The service and food was exce ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Excellent. The service and food was exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good brunch option in the City. Many me ...

vip
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Good brunch option in the City. Many menu options to suit anyone's needs and an excellent Bloody Mary. Service was average, not because if servers, but a better process needed to handle drinks and requests. Would return for food quality and ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We loved Stephanie's. We were in Boston ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We loved Stephanie's. We were in Boston for a long weekend birthday celebration, and booked a reservation at this location based on the reviews as well as a recommendation to have brunch on Newberry St. It was perfect - beautiful spot, excellent waiter, delicious food and fantastic presentation. The coffee was top quality as well.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was fairly new but she was gr ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our server was fairly new but she was great. Very accommodating with food allergies.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and service, though a bit nois ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Good food and service, though a bit noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We all thoroughly enjoyed our meals. the ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We all thoroughly enjoyed our meals. the service was good, very busy so not checking us but we got a hold of them. the atmosphere was lovely being right on Newbury St. and people watching. we'll all definitely go back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went to Stephanie's for brunch last S ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We went to Stephanie's for brunch last Sunday with friends who are visiting from out of town. We booked a table for 10:30, and sat down pretty quickly, but did not eat until close to 11:45! There were people who came in right before us who were leaving before our food had been served. There were only five of us, and we did not linger over the menu unnecessarily. We ordered a monkey bread, and the waiter suggested we have it come out with the rest of the food since the kitchen was moving so quickly. That sounded fine, but an hour for food to come out? That's ridiculous. I wonder if the waiter forgot to put our order in initially.

When the food did arrive it was fine, but nothing particularly special. I could have had a tuna melt that was $10 cheaper elsewhere that might have been better. We asked the man who brought the food for a few condiments and he just looked overwhelmed but never brought them. Our waiter did when we asked a second time.

The restaurant is in a great location and they have an extensive menu, but it is expensive and they seemed understaffed. If Sunday brunch is always a busy time, have more staff, offer to comp a drink for a long wait at the table, or don't seat so many people!

I won't rush back.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

We had a great meal at Stephanie's. The ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had a great meal at Stephanie's. The food was delicious. I ordered the salmon which was cooked the way I had requested it--rare--and my husband ordered the one of the pasta dishes. We were both very happy with our dinners. Our server was attentive and prompt. I'd say that the only down side is the noise level. Music is played throughout the restaurant, instead of just in the bar, which made everyone have to talk above the music meaning that the entire noise level goes up to the point where I'd only want to be there with a group no larger than 4.

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We have been to Stephanie's before with ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We have been to Stephanie's before with such a great experience that we're so looking forward to this 2nd time to try something else. But probably it was on a busy Saturday, everything changed flavor - the food for me and my husband were mediocre and my daughter's sandwich was basically uneatable. I felt so sorry for her as she was the one who wanted to go back the most. We've so far decided not going back any more. There are so many places to go on Newbury St. anyway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The food and service were great! The bes ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food and service were great! The best "build your own Bloody Mary" in town.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I requested something off the menu and t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

I requested something off the menu and the waitress got it for me. What a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Energetic Restaurant on Newbury Street W ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Energetic Restaurant on Newbury Street

We went for a business meal. Very friendly service and we had a good table. Outside was full, but inside is nice if you are more toward the edges. Nice selection of food. Everything we had was good - I had the trout and we had hummus for a first course. Drinks were excellent.

Tags: People Watching, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great patio and people watching on Newbu ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great patio and people watching on Newbury street. Excellent service- everyone friendly and attentive. Food was outstanding but pricey, typical for that area tho. They could use more than one bathroom.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were very disappointed. The hostess ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We were very disappointed. The hostess was not very nice. Our waitress was very nice, however, she spilled water all over the table. She then delivered cold coffee for our brunch. Lastly, she dropped the plates when she cleared our table. We will not be back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Found it over priced for the product Wi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Found it over priced for the product

Wine pour for a $16 glass of wine was ridiculous. Would go again but stick to apps and salads. My Veal Saltimbocca was unusual and somewhat tasteless. Indoor dining was bland. Hostess did a drop the menus and run when there were obviously better tables and booths available. Server Alex was very good.

Tags: Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Cool spot for brunch outside. The food i ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Cool spot for brunch outside. The food is good here, but not the best brunch in town. The service was just okay, too.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and service are always excellen ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food and service are always excellent. A very enjoyable brunch!

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good but we were disap ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was very good but we were disappointed the brunch menu (we didn't know Saturday was a brunch menu) didn't include a burger on it. Nor did it have the lobster guacamole. We checked out the menu before booking the reservation and those were the two things we were looking forward to....but what we ordered was very good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Stephanie's on Newbury is an ideal brunc ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Stephanie's on Newbury is an ideal brunch location with bomb food. The location is on Newbury Street so you can easily go shopping afterwards or relax after a stop a long day of shopping. The monkey bread is def worth getting for the entire table (specially if you want both savory and sweet for brunch). It does not have any nuts and little bits of banana along with this great vanilla glaze. Also, I got the salmon platter which was not anything special and pretty standard but definitely a hearty portion size. Overall, worth going to! Specially if you're spending your day on Newbury!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We generally have weekend brunch here wh ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We generally have weekend brunch here when we are in Boston and it never disappoints. Portions are large and delicious. Do not miss the sticky bun and plan on sharing it! It seems to be a local hot spot and we can see why - good food, good service, varied menu - and a Back Bay classic for years!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We had brunch there, and it was pretty g ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had brunch there, and it was pretty good. My only real complaint was that the portion size on the enchilada was quite small.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Bustling and vibrant. Good food in large ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Bustling and vibrant. Good food in large portions. The service can be spotty, but not negligent. This place is consistent, reliable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.