About Stephanie's On Newbury

190 Newbury Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Stephanie's on Newbury has now become an institution in Boston. Located in the heart of one of Boston's most historic streets and upscale shopping districts, Stephanie's has been serving 'Sophisticated Comfort Food' in a relaxed, inviting atmosphere since 1994. Locals, travelers and shoppers alike favor this classic American bistro because of its commitment to blending old fashioned American favorites with a current, fresh twist. Stephanie's is casual elegance at its best with one of the city's most fashionable sidewalk cafes, popular club-like bar and cozy sky lit dining spaces. **Reservations are for inside seating only. Also, if the time you request is not available, please call the restaurant directly.**

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30am-11:30am
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Exeter Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 236-0990

Website:
http://www.stephaniesonnewbury.com/

Public Transit:
Copley

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM 9:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 9:30PM - 9:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The semi-private facility accommodates up to 45 people.

Stephanie's On Newbury Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Comfort Food
Boston / New England
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Boston / New England
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

great for brunch (107)
great for lunch (80)
good for groups (79)
See All
neighborhood gem (71)
fit for foodies (62)
great for outdoor dining (61)
special occasion (58)
hot spot (49)
romantic (31)
vibrant bar scene (25)
kid-friendly (22)
notable wine list (19)
late-night find (9)
scenic view (9)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1985 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, fantastic service

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

My husband and I brunched here on Sunday and we both loved our food. I had the Eggs Shakshuka which is a cast iron skillet with eggs in a very tasty North African tomato-based broth. I had it with egg whites, the bread for dipping was great. Our server Olivia was by far the most pleasant one I've had here (she even brought out an empty box of the coffee they serve as I liked it so much and wanted to know what it was).

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We had a great brunch for my best friend ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We had a great brunch for my best friend's 30th! Something for everyone!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

We had reservations but arrived early an ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We had reservations but arrived early and got seated right away. Hostess and waitress very friendly- Steak with truffle fries was ok-very salty seasoning on the steak and came on top of the fries. Presentation of the dinner was like a n upscale pub not a trendy restaurant. We waited a long time for food-and the restaurant was super crowded. If you want to sit outside and get an appetizer its a decent place but not fine dining by any means

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Poor service, 1 person of our party of 5 ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Poor service, 1 person of our party of 5 was brought their appetizer 15 minutes before everyone else. We were asked if we wanted bread and we said yes and then it never arrived until we had to ask for it twice. Server never asked how are dinner was (2 of us had the trout and it was over cooked).

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My family was on a trip to Boston. The ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

My family was on a trip to Boston. The food and service was very good. The calamari and the crab cake appetizers were excellent. We enjoyed the meatloaf and the lobster roll was overstuffed with lobster. Everything tasted very well.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

OK

Dined on May 21, 2016

I went here for brunch with my husband and would rate the overall experience as OK. The decor and ambiance is great, we were seated immediately. The food seemed a bit overpriced and I personally felt that the menu was lacking a little bit in selection. The service was ok, not bad but not great either. I would definitely go here again as there aren't a lot of other brunch options in the area that I'm aware of, and it was good enough.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service4

Ladies lunch after a spa day was spent h ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Ladies lunch after a spa day was spent here. It was perfect. Staff was attentive and met our request for patio seating. Crowd was energetic and fun on a spring day.

food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Food was slow in coming. Food was medioc ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Food was slow in coming. Food was mediocre. Table where we were seated was right near the kitchen and much too loud.

food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Food was very good, the service was slow ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Food was very good, the service was slow and server didn't check on us, we had to ask for water and bread. the place was not very busy at the time

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was delightful as usual for thi ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

The food was delightful as usual for this iconic Boston restaurant on Newbury. A must visit for breakfast or lunch and a good hearty meal.

food5
ambience5
service5

Appetizers are amazing, could make a mea ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Appetizers are amazing, could make a meal out of just getting various ones. Also recommend the Mac and cheese. Service always great. Anytime family is in town, it's our go to place.

food1
ambience2
service1

Overall terrible experience. Service was ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Overall terrible experience. Service was incredibly awful. We had food before the water we ordered. We had to ask three separate people for the water before it arrived. The food was not very good. The New England clam chowder soup was so cheesy that it might as well have been cheese soup. The goat cheese on my goat cheese salad was so gritty that it tasted like cottage cheese. Despite eating very little of our food, no one asked if everything was okay or if we wanted to order something else. Not surprising, given the awful service... I made a reservation only to find out that meant we were not allowed to sit on the patio. It was incredibly loud, had to shout across the table. We were there for a special occasion, so it was even more disappointing. Not to mention incredibly overpriced for what it was.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My wife and I came to this corner resta ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

My wife and I came to this corner restaurant for lunch because it was a beautiful day and the location is ideal for outdoor dining. The menu is a bit pricey, but the portions are fair. We ordered 2 appetizers: calamari (didn't care for the dip with it) and thai chicken wraps (disappointing, dry and small portion). It was our first time here, so it's hard to say if we'd come back. There are lots of restaurants on Newberry Street, many with outdoor dining, so we'll probably explore others before returning here.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service2

We were sitting literally next to the se ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

We were sitting literally next to the servers and still it took for ever to order, we had to ask them to bring us bread because they forgot. The food wasn't that good either, my friend barely ate her clam chowder, I ordered a burger and it tasted a bit burned and wasn't that great. One plus is the location and open patio outside

food3
ambience5
service3

Usually a neighborhood gem, this visit w ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Usually a neighborhood gem, this visit was not so great for me. I dont eat cheese and had a tough time finding foods to eat. Waiter must have been new. Ate outside which was nice.

food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Delightful setting with top-notch seafoo ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Delightful setting with top-notch seafood selection; we went on a weekday around 2pm, so the waiters are not very friendly and forgot to serve us water like twice when are cups are empty :(

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Late lunch in the Back Bay

Dined on May 8, 2016

Visited Stephanie's for the first time and enjoyed the signature Bloody Mary. Well worth it. Great location adds to the enjoyment. Portions were ample and service was pleasant.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Poor understanding of gluten.

Dined on May 8, 2016

After telling our server my wife was allergic to gluten they served her a Bloody Mary with gluten! Waitress didn't know and bar tender didn't communicate. Seems pretty basic. Better to skip it than take the risk.

food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Disappointed Overall

Dined on May 7, 2016

Chose this place to take my mother and sister out for Mother's Day. Didn't realize they would only be serving brunch even though it was past 2pm on a Saturday! Very disappointed with the options. Had a bean and avocado wrap that was underwhelming with home fries that were so bad I couldn't even finish. Waitstaff was clearly busy so I had to ask for things multiple times and was only offered a drink refill once all the plates on the table were cleared away. Very upset. Would choose another place next time.

food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Boston outdoors dining

Dined on May 7, 2016

Unfortunately the weather was awful so eating out side was out of the question. I have been at The restaurant before it is fine food was good. The noise level was high. The severs do their job. The food came out hot. It is just a restaurant I think they are all the same around Newbury St. If you could sit outside it would be better but the tables a too close together.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service4

Food portions were gigantic! Too much!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food portions were gigantic! Too much!

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

great location

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

food is good but expensive. . very noisy restaurant . stick with a burger and you can not go wrong.

food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Sad and disappointed

Dined on May 5, 2016

This is not the Stephanie's of old where we scoffed up many memorable meals. No grace notes; much mediocracy. Too bad.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great lunch in Newbury St. Attentive se ...

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Great lunch in Newbury St. Attentive service and good tasting food!

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing brunch. A must do on a Sunday in ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Amazing brunch. A must do on a Sunday in Boston!

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Love Strphanie's

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

We went to dinner with several friends. The food was excellent as was the service. So we went to brunch the next day and that was great too! Stephanie's is on our Boston short list for sure!!! The lobster guacamole was awesome!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Steohanies was horrible

Dined on April 27, 2016

Stephanie's used to be my go to place and honestly it was one of the worst meals we have ever had - two of the folks I was with got the steak and frittes and it was literally not edible. I even wrote stephanies about this and i have heard nothing! I am not pleased and we spent over 300 on just 4 people so we are not cheap and I am fine paying for good food but that was a waste of money and it is too bad - the waitress was nice and wonderful but service is horrible when they do not respond - not sure you can do anything but WOW it was bad!!!!

food2
ambience3
service3

We've eaten here before because of the f ...

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

We've eaten here before because of the fantastic location. The ambiance is pleasant, but the food and service is just mediocre. The place is jammed for lunch and brunch most likely because of the stellar location and pretty rooms, but, if you want a good meal, eat elsewhere.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Say yes to brunch!

Dined on April 25, 2016

The food was very good. It was a little chilly. Unfortunately, we were not able to dine al fresco. We were pleasantly surprised to find the inside of the restaurant was pleasant and there were tasty breakfast options! Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day. I will return, sooner rather than later.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Food was good, service was slow and inattentive.

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Food was good, service was slow and inattentive. Perhaps the waitress was handling too many tables. Our table was near the bar area and the noise level made conversation difficult.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Tasty Brunch

Dined on April 24, 2016

Went for brunch while visiting Boston for a long weekend. Would definitely recommend it. I had the Crab Eggs Benedict which were delicious. My friend had the Eggs Shakshuka. She said it was good. I would skip the monkey bread next time. It wasn't anything special and was too filling before my meal.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch

Dined on April 23, 2016

Enjoyed a fabulous brunch & cocktails seated on the patio . Delicious brunch served in a skillet . Fantastic people watching on Newbury Street . Highly recommended .

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

Service was not the best. But food and ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Service was not the best. But food and outdoor atmosphere was wonderful.

food5
ambience5
service5

Brick chicken was fantastic as always. O ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Brick chicken was fantastic as always. Our waitress was great with my friend's daughter.

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Good food, but. . .

Dined on April 20, 2016

I have been to Stephanie's on Newbury once before for a Bachelorette Brunch that was decent. When venturing to Boston with my daughter over Spring break to meet up with a friend and her daughter, we decided on Stephanie's for lunch to enjoy a casual meal that our twelve year old daughters would enjoy. The location on Newbury is very easy to find and the decor is modern and lovely. Our actual meals were perfectly fine, but service and beverages could have been better. We placed an order for drinks and an appetizer after being greeted by our waitress - the cabernet that was brought to the table was slightly more flavorful than a glass of water and the appetizer never came. . .our total bill was over $100 for two sandwiches, an order of macaroni & cheese and a kids grilled cheese sandwich. . . I dine in Boston often, so I am completely expectant of the prices, but wish that the whole experience were better overall!!

food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Post marathon celebration - weird timing

Dined on April 18, 2016

They brought all the appetisers and mains at the same time, communication was bad. Food was very nice though.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Never fails to please

Dined on April 17, 2016

This was our second visit as a get together before the Boston Marathon. There were 7 of us and as we remembered the food was delicious and presentation was appealing. The Warm Vermont Goat Cheese appetizer melted in your mouth. The Fried Calamari was good, but I prefer more crunch. The PEI Mussels were sweet and the broth was delicious. The lamb special was aromatic and the two woman who shared the Tortellini Greek Village Salad and Tortellini dish had more than enough food between the two of them!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food at a great location

Dined on April 17, 2016

Make a reservation or get here early on the weekends, it fills up fast. Definitely recommend the monkey bread appetizer with your brunch, you won't be disappointed. We didn't try the famous bloody mary menu, but the mimosas were fantastic. Meals are slightly pricey, but generous portions, great coffee, and fast/friendly service. Beautiful looking bar, hope to stop back in for a drink/app during our next trip to Boston.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service2

Mediocre food and lackluster service for ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Mediocre food and lackluster service for the price. Especially for brunch, you can find a better value elsewhere.

food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Arrogant server nickie female

Dined on April 15, 2016

In my view as a tourist it is my right in my own country or any country I visit to decide what tip I award not the server to comment on what I give seeing that I am paying the check or bringing this to the attention of the person I'm dining with and forcing me to improve on said tip This is an unforgivable act of bullying and done in such a way to embarrass any client If a company cannot pay any person enough of a wage to sustain a lifestyle they should leave and not expect any client to subsidies a persons wage check A server bullying any client for larger tips is sinking to a new low for any establishment Kind regards

Tags: fit for foodies

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.