About Stephanie's On Newbury

190 Newbury Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Stephanie's on Newbury has now become an institution in Boston. Located in the heart of one of Boston's most historic streets and upscale shopping districts, Stephanie's has been serving 'Sophisticated Comfort Food' in a relaxed, inviting atmosphere since 1994. Locals, travelers and shoppers alike favor this classic American bistro because of its commitment to blending old fashioned American favorites with a current, fresh twist. Stephanie's is casual elegance at its best with one of the city's most fashionable sidewalk cafes, popular club-like bar and cozy sky lit dining spaces. **Reservations are for inside seating only. Also, if the time you request is not available, please call the restaurant directly.**

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30am-11:30am
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Exeter Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 236-0990

Website:
http://www.stephaniesonnewbury.com/

Public Transit:
Copley

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bloody Mary - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Grilled Salmon - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Crab Cake Benedict - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
New England Clam Chowder - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Old Bay Crab Blt - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Skillet Breakfast, Applewood Smoked Bacon, Maple Sausage, Home Fries, Eggs and Cheddar Cheese Baked in a Cast Iron Skillet - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Crispy Duck Breast - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Grilled Pork Chop - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Macaroni and Cheese - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Chilled Roasted Vegetable Gazpacho - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Thai Chicken Salad - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Pecan-crusted Goat Cheese Salad - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Onion Rings - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Bruschetta - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Crunchy Vegetable Salad - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Burger - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Ahi Tuna Tartare - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Crab Cakes - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Jumbo Sea Scallops - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Grilled Duck Breast - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Bacon, Cheddar, Ranch Chicken Sandwich - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Grilled Cheese Sandwich - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Ahi Tuna Niçoise Salad - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Stephi Burger - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Pulled Pork Scrambled - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Lobster Ravioli - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Shepherd's Pie - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Scallops - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
baked spinach and artichoke dip - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Tower Of Onion Rings - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
pulled chicken pasta - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Pesto Pasta - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Bread Basket - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Steak Salad with Bluecheese Dressing - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Seared Sea Scallops & Risotto - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Warm Chocolate Cake - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Classic Caesar Salad With Grilled Chicken - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Lobster Roll (Sandwich) - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Albacore Tuna Melt - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Asian Yellow Fin Tuna Salad - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Mac and Cheese - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
White Clam Pizza - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Ahi Tuna Burger - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Caramel Mocha Cocktail - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Chicken Parmesan Pasta - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Prosecco - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
ahi tuna tar tar - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Famous Meatloaf And Gravy - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Slow Roasted Chicken - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA
Lobster Salad Roll - Stephanie's On Newbury, Boston, MA

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 7:30AM - 11:45AM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Fri 7:30AM - 11:45AM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The semi-private facility accommodates up to 45 people.

Stephanie's On Newbury Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Comfort Food
Boston / New England
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (39)
Great for Brunch (36)
Comfort Food (32)
See All
Casual (32)
Good for a Date (31)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Good for Groups (29)
Great for Lunch (29)
People Watching (28)
Sunday Lunch (26)
Fun (25)
Hot Spot (24)
Special Occasion (24)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Business Meals (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Bar Seating (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Kid-friendly (9)
Romantic (9)
Quick Bite (9)
Scenic View (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Family Style (7)
Cozy (7)
Authentic (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Great Beer (4)
Historic (4)
Seasonal (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vegan (2)
Healthy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Private Room (2)
Organic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
2218 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Pretentious waiter, meager serving for t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Pretentious waiter, meager serving for the price point, small wine pours. Noisy dining room. Good location but not worth the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

even though it was very busy there was n ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

even though it was very busy there was no feeling of rush form any of the staff, the staff were wonderful I am so sorry I forgot my servers name but everyone was excellant. I have talked about ti so much already and am recommending it to my friends

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was superb! Atmosphere is great. Re ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was superb! Atmosphere is great. Really nice during the beginning of the holiday season. However, service was lacking. We sat for 15 minutes after having been seated before our server came over to greet us and she did not acknowledge that we had been waiting. We waited overly long for each course. Thank goodness we ordered an appetizer because it took so long for the entrees to arrive. Our appetizers were delivered by a runner. However, our server walked by us several minutes later and did not inquire as to whether they were to our liking. By the time she actually came over we were almost done with our appetizers. Given the level of cuisine and the excellent atmosphere it is a shame the service did not live up to those high standards. This has impacted my overall rating.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

I've never had a bad meal at Stephanie's ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

I've never had a bad meal at Stephanie's but as I typically go there for lunch, I didn't realize how loud the restaurant would be for dinner. Luckily I wasn't trying to have a serious conversation with my guests....it was a family dinner so we felt comfortable being loud :-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This restaurant has a terrific atmospher ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

This restaurant has a terrific atmosphere that's great for families, but the value was not good at all. The food was mediocre at best and the portions were so small for the price. 2 eggs with bacon and potatoes, no toast or fruit on the side was $20. My husband got a Cobb salad that had no dressing and no blue cheese on it, and it was so small for the price. We felt ripped off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

I like Stephanie's very much, and on my ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

I like Stephanie's very much, and on my last visit was glad to see that the restaurant, which had been looking a bit worn, had been redecorated. It looks terrific now. Our food, however, was uneven. I had perhaps the toughest, most fatty short rib ever, but my baby carrots and haricot vests were cooked to perfection. A friend loved her lobster mac and cheese, but my husband's chicken pot pie was stuffed with glutinous gravy and not much else. Our server was friendly, but inattentive. She never checked with us after our food was served, and we sat in front of our finished dinner plates for quite a while.In fairness, we were there at a busy time on a Friday night, and the restaurant was packed. In spite of the unevenness of the food and the service, I know I'll be back again. The menu is very appealing, and I just love the atmosphere. It's chic but comfortable, and some of the food is very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

I've been frequenting here when in town ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

I've been frequenting here when in town for the last 15 years or so. Always dependable, always good, always cozy with a nice vibe. Busy but not crammed or overly noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere is super. My kind of pla ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The atmosphere is super. My kind of place - really very nice. However, the food was absolutely not good. I am very sorry to say this. Really, it was sub-par. Very disappointing. It would be my ideal place and regular haunt if the food were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Generally solid go to spot and overall d ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Generally solid go to spot and overall didn't disappoint. Our server was gracious and prompt and food was pretty good...can't go wrong with burger, a mound of truffle fries an Mac n cheese! Only downside was the table we got stuck at which was back by the kitchen and very crowded for eight people and we weren't offered another location even tho there were options from my observation.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Monkey Bread was dry and dense. Had to r ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Monkey Bread was dry and dense. Had to return hash . Skillet eggs were great. Special cocktail delish but $16 a pop is too much. Place was dirty...too many standing at host desk when tables had dirty dishes. Won't be running back too soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Overpriced and slow in service (we had t ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Overpriced and slow in service (we had to ask for a waiter to pay attention to us to the hostess and a number of dishes on the menu were enviable.

Very disappointing for the location and price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Wonderful variations on comfort food, e. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Wonderful variations on comfort food, e.g. Meatloaf stuffed with cheddar cheese in mushroom gravy, yum! Good seafood too. Warm, cozy atmosphere. Prompt service. A bit pricey, but quality was high.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Stephanie's is a very busy restaurant an ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Stephanie's is a very busy restaurant and reservations are a must. The staff is very accommodating and host staff try to keep reservation times prompt. On our recent visit, our server, Mollie, was exceptional. She was pleasant and efficient without hovering and really knows her job well. Aside from the noise level which makes conversations difficult, Stephanie's offers an enjoyable eating experience for all occasions.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We loved the restaurant, our only concer ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We loved the restaurant, our only concern was the noise. It was crowded and it was hard to hear our friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Had a an excellent meal. Food was tasty ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Had a an excellent meal. Food was tasty and fair price. Drinks a bit high - my martini $18. Perhaps that is going rate in the city these days? They were also very kind to hold my table as I was running 20 minutes past my reservation due to traffic on Pike. Greatly appreciated with the restaurant so busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Stephanie's does not disappoint! Delici ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Stephanie's does not disappoint! Delicious skillet brunch paired with their famous bloody Mary, enjoyed in a great atmosphere. I had friends from out of town visit and didn't have to think twice about where I would take them out. Everyone enjoyed it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants I've been to ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 17, 2016

One of the best restaurants I've been to in many months.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Too loud for my tastes👎🏾

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Too loud for my tastes👎🏾

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

I checked in because I made a reservatio ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 15, 2016

I checked in because I made a reservation for 6 and arrived on time. Later received an email from OPenTable that I never showed and reviewed their 'no show' policy. Slightly annoyed that I got this message after showing up with my large group. Hostess never said that I showed up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food, great value, be ready for lar ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Good food, great value, be ready for large portions!

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Busy for brunch. Loud. Popular. Fast ser ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Busy for brunch. Loud. Popular. Fast service. Clean. Nice decor. Large space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Espresso Martini was delic. Ice Wedge sa ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Espresso Martini was delic. Ice Wedge salad just ok. I then split the tuna melt which didn't have much flavor. Overall, you go there for the location and ambience. It is a great spot for apps & bevs. Great wine selection. They renovated the place and it looks amazing. Would recommend reservations on peak times.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had an excellent meal. The food was t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We had an excellent meal. The food was tasty and delivered really quickly. The service was professional and discreet.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great spot! Stephanie's came highly reco ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great spot! Stephanie's came highly recommended from multiple friends and it was great

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Sit in the mezzanine if you want to be a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Sit in the mezzanine if you want to be able to hear one another

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Overall good, portions were a bit large ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Overall good, portions were a bit large and did not need to be

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This was a disappointment. We ordered c ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on November 9, 2016

This was a disappointment. We ordered clam chowder that did not have clams. I order spaghetti Bolognese, that was inedible. The pasta was under cooked the meat and sauce lacked flavor. The waitress came by immediately when the food was served to check on us, so we had not had an opportunity to taste. She then came back near the end of the meal. My plate was basically untouched and she never said a word, when asked how it was and the response was "it was not that great," she basically acted as if she did not hear what was said. considering the price of the meal, it was not worth it at all. We also tried their popular appetizer tower of onion rings, some were still raw inside. Each time food was delivered, I thought be patient it will get better; unfortunately it never did. The restaurant has a distinguished up scale look; but no matter how pretty things look if the food is not top notched the decor will never make up for poorly prepared, poorly tasting food. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Good food, lots of great options on the ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Good food, lots of great options on the menu and located on Newbury street which is a great location for shopping.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service..nice teamwork..look forwa ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Great service..nice teamwork..look forward to returning to Stephanie's .Thank you.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best brunch experience!!!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Best brunch experience!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There's a dichotomy between entree price ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

There's a dichotomy between entree prices and quality of food. Our group of four all found it to be mediocre at best. Really nothing special at all sorry to say.

With so many options on Newbury St. alone, there's NO NEED to rush back to Stephanie's.

Sorry but I CAN NOT recommend Stephanie's based on our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Although I prefer to have lunch at Steph ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Although I prefer to have lunch at Stephanie's during the summer months when the outside area is available - you can't beat the people watching on Newbury street - I'm a big fan of their food as well. The new inside renovations look great! I had the burger this time and it was outstanding as usual. The bourbon selection is decent. Their fries could easily be the best in Boston.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Server rushed us and had a bad attitude. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Server rushed us and had a bad attitude. They sat us at a round/4person table so it was hard to talk since there were only 2 of us. Asked for things and were met with a care-nothing attitude. Thought it would be better but food was over cooked and had no flavor. Would not return or recommend. I think people go for the location and expectation that it must be good since they are on Newbury Street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Great service- frequently checked on- an ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Great service- frequently checked on- and wonderful food! Clam Chowder is excellent.

Tags: People Watching, Scenic View, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My team took me for a birthday dinner. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 1, 2016

My team took me for a birthday dinner. We had two Vegans at the table. The menu did not have any vegan items but the chef created a special and very delicious meal...Thank you!! I enjoyed the Haddock special. It was very good. Our server was amazing. Me group of 8 left feeling very satisfied. I'm surely coming back!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My sandwich was outstanding. Deserts wer ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 1, 2016

My sandwich was outstanding. Deserts were very generous in size and delicious. I would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went there with a friend from NYC. Food ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Went there with a friend from NYC. Food was good, satisfactory service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Worst service ever, however the food and ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Worst service ever, however the food and drinks were good. Wish my experienced my the horrible service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Food was not great, service even worse. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food was not great, service even worse. - a Shame as we only had one morning in Boston for breakfast/ brunch and we wasted it by going here.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

As usual, Stephanie's did not disappoint ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

As usual, Stephanie's did not disappoint. Seating is always a little cramped for my taste but food is great and service impeccable.

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.