About Stephanie's On Newbury

190 Newbury Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Stephanie's on Newbury has now become an institution in Boston. Located in the heart of one of Boston's most historic streets and upscale shopping districts, Stephanie's has been serving 'Sophisticated Comfort Food' in a relaxed, inviting atmosphere since 1994. Locals, travelers and shoppers alike favor this classic American bistro because of its commitment to blending old fashioned American favorites with a current, fresh twist. Stephanie's is casual elegance at its best with one of the city's most fashionable sidewalk cafes, popular club-like bar and cozy sky lit dining spaces. **Reservations are for inside seating only. Also, if the time you request is not available, please call the restaurant directly.**

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30am-11:30am
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Exeter Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 236-0990

Website:
http://www.stephaniesonnewbury.com/

Public Transit:
Copley

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bloody Mary
Grilled Salmon
Crab Cake Benedict
New England Clam Chowder
Old Bay Crab Blt
Skillet Breakfast, Applewood Smoked Bacon, Maple Sausage, Home Fries, Eggs and Cheddar Cheese Baked in a Cast Iron Skillet
Macaroni and Cheese
Crispy Duck Breast
Grilled Pork Chop
Chilled Roasted Vegetable Gazpacho
Thai Chicken Salad
Pecan-crusted Goat Cheese Salad
Onion Rings
Crunchy Vegetable Salad
Bruschetta
Burger
Crab Cakes
Ahi Tuna Tartare
Jumbo Sea Scallops
Grilled Duck Breast
Bacon, Cheddar, Ranch Chicken Sandwich
Grilled Cheese Sandwich
Ahi Tuna Niçoise Salad
Stephi Burger
Pulled Pork Scrambled
Lobster Ravioli
Shepherd's Pie
baked spinach and artichoke dip
Scallops
Tower Of Onion Rings
pulled chicken pasta
Steak Salad with Bluecheese Dressing
Pesto Pasta
Bread Basket
Warm Chocolate Cake
Seared Sea Scallops & Risotto
Classic Caesar Salad With Grilled Chicken
Ahi Tuna Burger
White Clam Pizza
Mac and Cheese
Asian Yellow Fin Tuna Salad
Albacore Tuna Melt
Lobster Roll (Sandwich)
Caramel Mocha Cocktail
Chicken Parmesan Pasta
ahi tuna tar tar
Prosecco
Lobster Salad Roll
Slow Roasted Chicken
Famous Meatloaf And Gravy

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM 9:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 9:30PM - 9:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The semi-private facility accommodates up to 45 people.

Stephanie's On Newbury Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Boston / New England
Most Booked
Boston
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

great for outdoor dining (125)
great for brunch (108)
great for lunch (93)
See All
neighborhood gem (89)
good for groups (79)
fit for foodies (60)
special occasion (59)
hot spot (51)
vibrant bar scene (30)
scenic view (27)
romantic (22)
kid-friendly (21)
notable wine list (16)
late-night find (8)
Sort By:
Newest
2065 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was ok-- somewhat pricey-- way too ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was ok-- somewhat pricey-- way too noisy-- best for the younger crowd

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Took my sister here for brunch as it was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

Took my sister here for brunch as it was her birthday weekend. We had a reservation for inside but it was such a gorgeous day we asked to be seated outside. Staff was really helpful and got us a spot outside so we could people watch. Lovely spot to do so! I've been here numerous times and the food is always excellent! Def recommend!! But make a reservation for brunch!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent service and friendly staff. F ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service and friendly staff. Food was great value in regards to amount provided for cost, but what we ordered was only ok for taste, good options for me with wheat allergy. Overall a great lunch spot on Newbury.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and great location for people ...

 
 (London)
·Dined 5 days ago

Good food and great location for people watching on a vibrant street. It's important to have reservations, as it fills up quickly for brunch on days with lovely weather.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

1. One of waiters made fun of my questio ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

1. One of waiters made fun of my question and was laughing on me with his colleagues. It is demonstration of disrespect of the guests and unacceptable. Stephanie's seems the nice restaurant, but I would not recommend a place where staff do not respect the guests to anyone.

2. I had an Open Table reservation for 10pm, but arrived earlier and asked the welcoming managers that I have a reservation made through Open Table and if I should wait till my reservation time. They said that it is ok that I arrived earlier, and I got a table. However, it had turned out that they have never updated the system and the Open Table system recorded no-show.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Way too loud, had a very indifferent ser ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

Way too loud, had a very indifferent server, bun for lobster role was stale, felt rushed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

A great dining experience. Great servic ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 5 days ago

A great dining experience. Great service & each person in our party of six had a delicious dish. I would return to Stephanie's On Newbury.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had a dinner with my 2 teenage daughte ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

I had a dinner with my 2 teenage daughters. We are pretty tolerant, but have our minimum expectations when it comes to quality standards of meals and their presentation. One of my daughters is a well trained "Little Chef" and I am cooking at home, since I have lived several years in Italy.

The service at the restaurant was really good; nice girls with a good attention to their customers. However, the quality of food was well below acceptable standards for us. Both food itself, but also presentation of the food on the plates. Just awful !!! I would have really preferred a Big Mac at the golden arches, than Lobster Roll at Stephanie's. The roll was old; maybe a day or two days. When it was heated it stayed soft on the way to our table, but almost immediately became hard like a rock and really uneatable. Seafood pasta for my daughter was overcooked and really below average. My gazpacho was awful. It was overdone from the presentation perspective and the taste was not really to my likings. Why not to invent other name for the soup you serve as Gazpacho, which is not even close to Gazpacho (yes, it is also cold !!!). My Gazpacho had nothing to do and in common with a classic Gazpacho. A big pork chop for my other daughter was overcooked (it was brought to us as "Well Done" vs. what we have ordered: "Medium"). It is a shame, that they serve food well below standards expected for the prices one has to pay at that restaurant. I will not risk going there again and I will not recommend it to my friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Great food and we loved sitting outside. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and we loved sitting outside. Our waitress was very attentive and personable. We would eat there again and recommend it highly.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to this restaurant several t ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

I have been to this restaurant several times and I have always enjoyed myself. The staff are attentive, responsive and well trained. The food is excellent and reasonably priced. Will definitely return.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Generally a very good, reliable, neighbo ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 7 days ago

Generally a very good, reliable, neighborhood gem. On this occasion, it was only average. I had the greek salad with chicken which was quite unspectacular. The chicken was dry and the piece was small and not much else was happening with the salad. Considering the charge is $20 - $22 for this lunchtime salad, I suggest a little more attention be paid to the meal. My friend's meal was better, however, and the service was fine.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The service was very, very, very poor. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The service was very, very, very poor. The food was average at best. Made reservations at the recommendation of a friend. Arrived to find out a reservation made is for indoor dining only, not patio dining. This should be noted if you would like to enjoy dining outdoors. This is a place to people watch and to be seen, not for great dining or service.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Goat cheese salad with shrimp is my favo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Goat cheese salad with shrimp is my favorite and was great as always. Loved the bread assortment. Our server was super nice and personable. Overheard our conversation about marathon training and politely gave some input since she used to run marathons. We had some work to do after dinner and they let us sit there on our laptop. Always a great time here and the staff is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I found it was overpriced for the qualit ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I found it was overpriced for the quality of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The waiter was awesome - split a chicken ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The waiter was awesome - split a chicken Ceasar Salad between my wife and myself. We also shared the lobster pot pie which was very short on lobster which was surprising for Boston where lobster is available. The wine was great, the Ceasar Salad was good, and our waiter was charming. Still looking for a taste of lobster.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Huge, super-sized portions. Bland lobste ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Huge, super-sized portions. Bland lobster roll, though coleslaw wonderful. Meatloaf tasty but chewy. Noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Good for us since we are in the neighbor ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Good for us since we are in the neighborhood and lovely outdoor dining

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent staff at Stephanie's. I will s ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Excellent staff at Stephanie's. I will say we were THOSE people trying to have a quick nice lunch with a screaming baby. Everyone was super accommodating, we truly appreciated it as the first restaurant we tried to get a table at looked at the stroller and said we simply don't have a place where you will be comfortable🙄(there were plenty of bigger tables and open table showed availability) We were promptly seated at Stephanie's, I believe our server was Navit, she was great. We ended up getting our food to go but as soon as we walked outside the baby calmed down. The staff immediately wiped down a table and set us up to enjoy our lunch on the patio. We will absolutely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Restaurant was EXTREMELY noisy!! Could n ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Restaurant was EXTREMELY noisy!! Could not hear at all. People were actually seated at other tables and left . Salads are EXTREMELY expensive and have no taste. We have been going to this restaurant for years and have never experienced this quality of food.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value1

I have been here before so knew what to ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

I have been here before so knew what to expect. People are great and service was good as well. Waiter was patient with us as we kept getting into conversation and took awhile to order.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Hostess accommodated request for quiet t ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Hostess accommodated request for quiet table given that this was a business lunch. Service efficient w/o being over bearing. Will continue to use for these occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I know there is nothing you can do- but ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I know there is nothing you can do- but the birds do creek you out!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our main dishes were fantastic. The wai ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our main dishes were fantastic. The waiter recommended a dessert that turned out to be rancid, but it was replaced at no charge for a different one. My 16 year old (hungry!) son ended up having two main dishes - lobster mac and scallops. Yum!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Our waitress was pretty terrible. She di ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our waitress was pretty terrible. She disappeared at the end of our meal and we had to ask the hostess to get us our check. My fiancee and I ordered the skillet breakfast for brunch, which had clearly been sitting under a heating lamp for a while. Food took forever to come.

I've eaten here several times and it seems like the service keeps getting worse with each visit. Probably will look to eat at Joe's American across the street from now on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

Food was delicious. Service was incredi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was delicious. Service was incredibly fast. Ordered apps with drinks for fear of having to wait. Could have almost used more time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was pretty good. Service spotty - e ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was pretty good. Service spotty - especially course timing. One guest had her soup for 10 minutes before being given a spoon. Once spoon arrived, main course came two minutes later so she couldn't finish soup.

We were at a round 4-top near a corner that required one of our guests to move her chair every time someone needed to get to banquette table in the corner. Very poor layout.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3

These people bent over backward to accom ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

These people bent over backward to accommodate our large group of 14 people. And some had to leave early (for a performance) and they got the food and Bill out quickly. Love the pitchers of cocktails- can't remember what it was called but it was like a blueberry Mojoto and it was excellent!! Also had kid menus which was great. We were several families getting together. The food was delicious. I had the Yellow Tuna Salad and the tuna was very good. Everyone else seemed to like their food as well. Highly recommend this place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We had a wonderful evening at Stephanie' ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We had a wonderful evening at Stephanie's. The lobster rolls were excellent, and we especially enjoyed the bread basket.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I've eaten at Stephanie's many times and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

I've eaten at Stephanie's many times and enjoyed it always. This time there were many small failures that added up to a disappointing evening. Our waitress took our orders in a timely manner but was not seen again for 30 minutes. We were chatting so I didn't realize how much time had passed until our entrees were brought by another staff member. I had ordered their fabulous sangria but I wanted it pre dinner, not to slug it down quickly while I ate. I had the lobster roll. The lobster was cooked perfectly, just how you want a lobster roll to be! The roll itself was just this side of charcoal and should never have left the kitchen. My husband had the sausage and shrimp pasta dish. It was good but nothing to rave about. I had to use the restroom which was a disaster zone. When the check came my sangria was still on the bill so clearly our waitress had taken the order she just never got around to bringing it. I should have sent the lobster roll back but I was starving by the time the food arrived, so that is on me. Any restaurant can have a bad night but this was multiple departments, waitstaff, kitchen and cleaning crew, all while there were empty tables so I'm not really sure what was going on. Usually Stephanie's is top notch.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Great location but terrible food

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great location but terrible food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

we all enjoyed our meal and the outdoor ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

we all enjoyed our meal and the outdoor ambiance, however the service was very slow and we wouldn't have minded at all, but no explanation or apology was stated... mistakes were made and this added to our waiting time for our meal...the server just needed to be more attentive....

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Very enjoyable evening in a very appeali ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Very enjoyable evening in a very appealing restaurant. Portion sizes are on the hefty size and the drinks were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

our waiter was not at all attentive and ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

our waiter was not at all attentive and was more interested on moving on to the next customer. Not a very family friendly place especially with younger kids. We ordered a red sangria and strawberry lemonade and they were filled with ice and no alcohol at all. it took forever for the extra plates to get to our table. Just not a good experience overall.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Normally Stephanies on Newbury has been ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Normally Stephanies on Newbury has been great. Unfortunately this time was poor. Food was cold and one of our drinks never arrived. When we asked a person clearing a table next to us they pretty much ignored us.

Hopefully next time will be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The food at Stephanie's is amazing. The ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food at Stephanie's is amazing. The service is friendly can be a a bit slow but this doesn't stop us from enjoying a meal there almost every time we visit Boston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The food was delicious, that waitress wa ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food was delicious, that waitress was very helpful, and the portions were large!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have two words for anyone who is going ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I have two words for anyone who is going here for Breakfast or Lunch......."MONKEY BREAD!"

This is the best snack/coffee cake/full meal option you can have seconded by the Breakfast Skillet. Have it with a Mimosa and you will be transported to food heaven. And the bloody Marys are fun to create, but I'd recommend AGAINST Stephanie's mix or Stepanie's spicy mix and would opt for the Clamato with a little tabasco, if you like it hot. but DO add all the ingredients you want....shrimp, beef stick, salami, cheese, olives, etc. The bar is a great nearly open air place to meet people and the staff is FRIENDLY beyond belief!!!

Great place!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic brunch spot in great location!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Fantastic brunch spot in great location!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great vibe and outstanding wait staff. F ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great vibe and outstanding wait staff. Food was great but not excellent. Prices were good. Overall 4 1/2 stars. Recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The only reasons to go to Stephanie's ar ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The only reasons to go to Stephanie's are to sit outside, to have Sunday brunch and to try the truffle mac & cheese (save your calories for this dish! Heaven with every bite!). Otherwise, Stephanie's is very overpriced for what it offers. Recently, I had the Ceasar salad with grilled shrimp. For $25, I expected perfection. But there was too much dressing, and the croutons were plain tasting and scattered on the plate like they fell off the top. Disappointing. The ceviche appetizer was tasty, but I am not sure worth $19. Maybe $15. Anyway, I would go again but just choose better how to spend my money on the better dishes worth every dollar. (Did I mention the Mac & cheese? Incredible.)

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.