About Stephanie's On Newbury

190 Newbury Street
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Stephanie's on Newbury has now become an institution in Boston. Located in the heart of one of Boston's most historic streets and upscale shopping districts, Stephanie's has been serving 'Sophisticated Comfort Food' in a relaxed, inviting atmosphere since 1994. Locals, travelers and shoppers alike favor this classic American bistro because of its commitment to blending old fashioned American favorites with a current, fresh twist. Stephanie's is casual elegance at its best with one of the city's most fashionable sidewalk cafes, popular club-like bar and cozy sky lit dining spaces. **Reservations are for inside seating only. Also, if the time you request is not available, please call the restaurant directly.**

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:30am-11:30am
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 9:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Exeter Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 236-0990

Website:
http://www.stephaniesonnewbury.com/

Public Transit:
Copley

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Bloody Mary
Grilled Salmon
Crab Cake Benedict
New England Clam Chowder
Old Bay Crab Blt
Skillet Breakfast, Applewood Smoked Bacon, Maple Sausage, Home Fries, Eggs and Cheddar Cheese Baked in a Cast Iron Skillet
Macaroni and Cheese
Crispy Duck Breast
Grilled Pork Chop
Chilled Roasted Vegetable Gazpacho
Thai Chicken Salad
Pecan-crusted Goat Cheese Salad
Onion Rings
Bruschetta
Crunchy Vegetable Salad
Burger
Ahi Tuna Tartare
Crab Cakes
Jumbo Sea Scallops
Grilled Duck Breast
Bacon, Cheddar, Ranch Chicken Sandwich
Grilled Cheese Sandwich
Ahi Tuna Niçoise Salad
Stephi Burger
Pulled Pork Scrambled
Lobster Ravioli
Shepherd's Pie
Scallops
baked spinach and artichoke dip
Tower Of Onion Rings
pulled chicken pasta
Pesto Pasta
Bread Basket
Steak Salad with Bluecheese Dressing
Seared Sea Scallops & Risotto
Warm Chocolate Cake
Classic Caesar Salad With Grilled Chicken
Lobster Roll (Sandwich)
Albacore Tuna Melt
Asian Yellow Fin Tuna Salad
Mac and Cheese
White Clam Pizza
Ahi Tuna Burger
Caramel Mocha Cocktail
Chicken Parmesan Pasta
Prosecco
ahi tuna tar tar
Famous Meatloaf And Gravy
Slow Roasted Chicken
Lobster Salad Roll

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The semi-private facility accommodates up to 45 people.

Stephanie's On Newbury Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Comfort Food
Boston / New England
Most Booked
Boston / New England
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Boston / New England
2 More
Most Booked
Boston
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (126)
Great for Brunch (98)
Great for Lunch (91)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (91)
Good for Groups (67)
Fit for Foodies (56)
Hot Spot (54)
Special Occasion (54)
Vibrant Bar Scene (30)
Scenic View (29)
Romantic (20)
Kid-friendly (15)
Notable Wine List (12)
Late-night Find (8)
Sort By:
Newest
2099 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were very disappointed. The hostess ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 5 days ago

We were very disappointed. The hostess was not very nice. Our waitress was very nice, however, she spilled water all over the table. She then delivered cold coffee for our brunch. Lastly, she dropped the plates when she cleared our table. We will not be back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Found it over priced for the product Wi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Found it over priced for the product

Wine pour for a $16 glass of wine was ridiculous. Would go again but stick to apps and salads. My Veal Saltimbocca was unusual and somewhat tasteless. Indoor dining was bland. Hostess did a drop the menus and run when there were obviously better tables and booths available. Server Alex was very good.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Cool spot for brunch outside. The food i ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Cool spot for brunch outside. The food is good here, but not the best brunch in town. The service was just okay, too.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and service are always excellen ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food and service are always excellent. A very enjoyable brunch!

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good but we were disap ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food was very good but we were disappointed the brunch menu (we didn't know Saturday was a brunch menu) didn't include a burger on it. Nor did it have the lobster guacamole. We checked out the menu before booking the reservation and those were the two things we were looking forward to....but what we ordered was very good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Stephanie's on Newbury is an ideal brunc ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 7 days ago

Stephanie's on Newbury is an ideal brunch location with bomb food. The location is on Newbury Street so you can easily go shopping afterwards or relax after a stop a long day of shopping. The monkey bread is def worth getting for the entire table (specially if you want both savory and sweet for brunch). It does not have any nuts and little bits of banana along with this great vanilla glaze. Also, I got the salmon platter which was not anything special and pretty standard but definitely a hearty portion size. Overall, worth going to! Specially if you're spending your day on Newbury!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We generally have weekend brunch here wh ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We generally have weekend brunch here when we are in Boston and it never disappoints. Portions are large and delicious. Do not miss the sticky bun and plan on sharing it! It seems to be a local hot spot and we can see why - good food, good service, varied menu - and a Back Bay classic for years!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We had brunch there, and it was pretty g ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had brunch there, and it was pretty good. My only real complaint was that the portion size on the enchilada was quite small.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Bustling and vibrant. Good food in large ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Bustling and vibrant. Good food in large portions. The service can be spotty, but not negligent. This place is consistent, reliable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Stephanie's is always accommodating and ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Stephanie's is always accommodating and pleasant. Don't get comfortable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Seated at an outdoor table. Very nice. G ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Seated at an outdoor table. Very nice. Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. I loved the braised cod I ha ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great food. I loved the braised cod I had. The coffee and bread pudding were fabulous!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good. Service was fast. It was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was good. Service was fast. It was very crowded and noise level high. The only negative was the bathroom. Ladies room only had 3 stalls and it was filthy. Tp on floor, water all over middle stall floor, sink area splashed and crowded. Someone needs to come around more frequently to clean up.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Was able to sit outside. The food was g ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Was able to sit outside. The food was great and on Newberry with great people watching. Service was very good. We were well taken care of.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yes, it's comfort food, but the meatloaf ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Yes, it's comfort food, but the meatloaf here should not be missed. Pair it with the Mac Murray Ranch Pinot. Delish. Service was outstanding. Would eat here again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, the restaurant in gen ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was good, the restaurant in general was fair-good. The service was awful. Our waiter never introduced himself, decided to come to our table, stare at us, then turned and bused the table next to us. That was after being seated for 15 minutes. It took 30 minutes to have our drink order taken, which we put an app order in as well. Our app came before our drinks! When our meal was done our waiter hand motioned for our plates instead of being the least hospitable and asked if we were "all set" or "are you finished, can I take that for you?". If you want good food or a decent bar go to Stephs, just be prepared to feel like you're in a soup kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We enjoyed the food very much, the lobst ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We enjoyed the food very much, the lobster guacamole snd tuna tar-tar were delicious.

Poor service. We were there on a Saturday night, felt their goal was to turn our table as quickly as possible. Apps arrived before drinks, meals arrived when we were only half way through with the apps. We had to send the meals back to kitchen. At that point, the waiter stopped coming by. Never checked back to see how our meal was or to ask if we needed anything else. We had to flag him down as he passed by another table to get a second round of drinks.

There were about a dozen flies congregating on the mirrored wall a few feet away from us. Didn't add anything to the ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

We got our drinks after our food, my sis ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We got our drinks after our food, my sister asked for crayons for my 2 year old niece and she never got them, trying to get our waiter's attention was a battle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

I loved the outdoor seating at Stephanie ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I loved the outdoor seating at Stephanie's. It was great for people watching. When I come back to Boston, I will definitely return! The monkey bread as a starter for brunch is a must for the table to share!

For my meal, I had the smoked salmon. It was light and delicious. It came with an everything bagel, tomato slices, cream cheese, red onion, and FRIED CAPERS. The fried capers set it off! Loved it. My friend had the eggs benedict and she enjoyed it along with the home fries that came with it.

Service was friendly and food came out relatively quickly.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Table Service was top notch. Inside was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Table Service was top notch. Inside was noisy enough so that it was hard to hear across the 2-person table conversation., which makes people talk louder. Clientele inside was a mix of ages from newborns to elderly tourists. Dress was very casual. Food came slowly and looked good on the menu, but the chefs got it right for about 30% of our dishes. Maybe other things on the menu would be better, but the issue was basic as in heating it enough. The prices were high and didn't match the quality. The patio street scene and drinks may be the main reason to come here. For the same money, better food elsewhere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Boston first timers here. We had a great ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Boston first timers here. We had a great Friday morning brunch on the sidewalk at Stephanie's. Nestled right amongst the shopping in Back Bay. We enjoyed our meal of omelettes, breakfast quesadilla and fresh fruit plate. The Bloody Mary was top notch as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We celebrated my wife's birthday on the ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We celebrated my wife's birthday on the patio. The weather was perfect, and the outdoor seating is among the best I have experienced. We both ordered cocktails, which were delicious. The clam chowder was good-not-great. Her Caesar salad was very good, while my Cobb salad was OK. Service was lacking, as we got very little attention and waited a long time for our server.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Good crab bennis

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Good crab bennis

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was very good but we felt very rush ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food was very good but we felt very rushed. Wanted to relax on a Sunday for brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

This place is very traditional for Brunc ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This place is very traditional for Brunch in Boston . The waiter is carefully with my children. I come back .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Wasn't expecting such a great indoor amb ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Wasn't expecting such a great indoor ambiance. Stephanie's is known for their great outdoor patio, unfortunately when we went it was raining so we couldn't enjoy that. But luckily the inside did not disappoint. Brunch was amazing!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

It was a great time! I feel like our wai ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

It was a great time! I feel like our waitress was a little slow with our table. However, i do understand it was pretty busy. The food was great and it was a decent amount for the price. I wouldn't be able to go all the time to stephanies but it is good for a nice occasion

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Never disappointed! The food was delici ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Never disappointed! The food was delicious – the gazpacho, sangria, chicken under a brick and seared tuna salad enjoyed while sitting at an outdoor café on Newbury Street on a beautiful summer night! The service was impeccable – Salim was attentive, knowledgeable and exceptionally friendly! The manager Zach truly went out of his way to accommodate us! Looking forward to returning soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love this spot for it's top notch food ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I love this spot for it's top notch food, beautiful interior design, and cool vibe. Unfortunately, a terrible server impacted the entire dining experience this last visit. He really had an unappealing, self-righteous attitude and seemed poorly exepreicened (when refilling water glasses got A LOT of it all over our legs/feet and floor, never apologized though it was impossible to miss!!). I really wanted to request a new waitstaff early on but was way too nervous about upsetting him and having a worsened experience. Please vet the servers wisely. This server by no means defines this gem of a restaurant - I will certainly return and recommend it to others!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Friendly staff and large portions but fl ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Friendly staff and large portions but flavors just did not meld together. The kids loved the Mac and cheese but seafood offering while fresh and tasty were pricy for the preparation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

We dined at Stephanie's on a Sunday nigh ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We dined at Stephanie's on a Sunday night with family visiting Boston. The service was awful, the food disappointing and the entire meal over-priced. Three strikes, you're out. Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Food was ok-- somewhat pricey-- way too ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Food was ok-- somewhat pricey-- way too noisy-- best for the younger crowd

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Took my sister here for brunch as it was ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Took my sister here for brunch as it was her birthday weekend. We had a reservation for inside but it was such a gorgeous day we asked to be seated outside. Staff was really helpful and got us a spot outside so we could people watch. Lovely spot to do so! I've been here numerous times and the food is always excellent! Def recommend!! But make a reservation for brunch!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent service and friendly staff. F ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent service and friendly staff. Food was great value in regards to amount provided for cost, but what we ordered was only ok for taste, good options for me with wheat allergy. Overall a great lunch spot on Newbury.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and great location for people ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Good food and great location for people watching on a vibrant street. It's important to have reservations, as it fills up quickly for brunch on days with lovely weather.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

1. One of waiters made fun of my questio ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

1. One of waiters made fun of my question and was laughing on me with his colleagues. It is demonstration of disrespect of the guests and unacceptable. Stephanie's seems the nice restaurant, but I would not recommend a place where staff do not respect the guests to anyone.

2. I had an Open Table reservation for 10pm, but arrived earlier and asked the welcoming managers that I have a reservation made through Open Table and if I should wait till my reservation time. They said that it is ok that I arrived earlier, and I got a table. However, it had turned out that they have never updated the system and the Open Table system recorded no-show.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Way too loud, had a very indifferent ser ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Way too loud, had a very indifferent server, bun for lobster role was stale, felt rushed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

A great dining experience. Great servic ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

A great dining experience. Great service & each person in our party of six had a delicious dish. I would return to Stephanie's On Newbury.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had a dinner with my 2 teenage daughte ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I had a dinner with my 2 teenage daughters. We are pretty tolerant, but have our minimum expectations when it comes to quality standards of meals and their presentation. One of my daughters is a well trained "Little Chef" and I am cooking at home, since I have lived several years in Italy.

The service at the restaurant was really good; nice girls with a good attention to their customers. However, the quality of food was well below acceptable standards for us. Both food itself, but also presentation of the food on the plates. Just awful !!! I would have really preferred a Big Mac at the golden arches, than Lobster Roll at Stephanie's. The roll was old; maybe a day or two days. When it was heated it stayed soft on the way to our table, but almost immediately became hard like a rock and really uneatable. Seafood pasta for my daughter was overcooked and really below average. My gazpacho was awful. It was overdone from the presentation perspective and the taste was not really to my likings. Why not to invent other name for the soup you serve as Gazpacho, which is not even close to Gazpacho (yes, it is also cold !!!). My Gazpacho had nothing to do and in common with a classic Gazpacho. A big pork chop for my other daughter was overcooked (it was brought to us as "Well Done" vs. what we have ordered: "Medium"). It is a shame, that they serve food well below standards expected for the prices one has to pay at that restaurant. I will not risk going there again and I will not recommend it to my friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Great food and we loved sitting outside. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great food and we loved sitting outside. Our waitress was very attentive and personable. We would eat there again and recommend it highly.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.