About Stellar - Greenville

20 N Main Street
Greenville, SC 29601
View Larger Map

Hovering above Main Street in beautiful downtown Greenville is Stellar Restaurant and Wine Bar. Incorporating a sleek starlit bar, fiber optic lights, and hand-painted mural spanning the ceiling, Stellar's ambience is just the beginning of a truly unique dining experience. Come check out our constantly evolving wine list with more than 80 wines by the glass, 2.5 ounce tastings, and many more by the bottle, perfect for the novice or enthusiast. Stellar features an inventive menu that includes an array of small plates, appetizers, and entrees made using only the freshest and highest-quality ingredients. Even if you dine elsewhere, visit Stellar afterwards for one of our coffee cocktails, Chocolate Fondue, or one of our many other in-house crafted desserts.

When making reservations, always be sure to call should it appear that we do not have the times or party sizes you would like available.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Fine cuts, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour Monday-Friday 4pm-6:30pm
Dinner Monday through Friday 5pm - Midnight
Dinner Saturday, Sunday 5pm - Midnight

Cross Street:
Coffee St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(864) 438-4954

Website:
http://www.stellarwinebar.com/

Catering:
Offer catering for parties from 15 to 300 guests.

Parking Details:
Convenient parking in near by Richardson St. Parking Garage.

Executive Chef:
John Acker

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate private onsite parties up to 80 guests. Near by off-site facilities available for up to 300 guests. Contact Tim Robinson at 864-438-4954

Private Party Contact:
Tim Robinson: 8644384954x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We can accommodate private onsite parties up to 80 guests. Near by off-site facilities available for up to 300 guests. Contact Tim Robinson at 864-438-4954

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1/2 Off Select Wine Bottles (max discount $20 off)

Sundays - Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Promotions

1/2 Off Select Wine Bottles (max discount $20 off)

Sundays - Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Details
All wine bottles up to $40 are half off with entrée purchase....Wine bottles over $40 receive $20 off. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 17, 2016 - Jul 17, 2016 on Sundays - Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 11:30 PM.

Stellar - Greenville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
South Carolina
Notable Wine List
Greenville
Romantic
Greenville
Best Restaurants in Greenville ›

notable wine list (13)
fit for foodies (11)
romantic (10)
See All
special occasion (10)
late-night find (5)
scenic view (5)
neighborhood gem (5)
good for groups (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
hot spot (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
169 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience2
service2

More of a Bar feel. Definitely not for K ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

More of a Bar feel. Definitely not for Kids. No kids menu but they did accommodate. Prices were too high for the food. The food was pretty good, I recommend the Chicken.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent "tappas" style

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food and Service were outstanding. We tried a variety of items and almost everyone agreed that it was excellent. Our waiter was very attentive, yet not intrusive at all. The atmosphere is modern, and enjoyable.

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

Cold food, high cost

Dined on May 8, 2016

We brought the family for Mothers Day, not realizing the only option was a buffet. The offering on the buffet was very limited and COLD. The sterno candles under the trays were not lit so everything, meat, vegetable, etc was cold. We had to ask for a serving spoon for the fruit. Some food items on the buffet were not identifiable, like a tray of mushed up cheesecake for dessert. Very disappointing, especially on a special occasion.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Truthfully, I was a bit disappointed.

Dined on April 23, 2016

For the price of the food, I was disappointed in the flavor of my "Duck Taco Salad". The service was close to very good and the wine was wonderful (though a bit over priced).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed the different types of food t ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

We enjoyed the different types of food that was offered and the service was fantastic. The server was very personable, and made suggestions. We will be back for another special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent!!

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Great dinner, great service. Only wish was that they had the crispy fried flounder on the menu. It's outrageous!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Great place Will definitely dine there ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Great place Will definitely dine there again

food2
ambience3
service2

Waiter thought "extra-dry" martini meant ...

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

Waiter thought "extra-dry" martini meant add more dry vermouth. Wha??? Charcuterie plate meant 3 wedges of cheese. No meat. Bizarre. Decent room for a drink.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Big aus

Dined on March 19, 2016

Great everything! Came here about a year ago and it was excellent. Went to iron chef last summer b/c chef Jennifer competed. Amazing! Went back and heard she left soon after for the Lazy Goat. Great as well. Stellar was fabulous but worried since it was 7pm on Saturday nite and only 1/3 full. Chef Jennifer left but new guy is great as well. Do not overlook this place due to recent turnover. This place needs past customers to come back and check out what's new.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Disappointed

Dined on March 12, 2016

Stellar has been our go to restaurant for special occasions like birthdays and anniversaries. I am a vegetarian and always appreciated the entrees from which I could choose. There was nothing on the menu that was meat free. They did offer to make a pasta dish with vegetables, and they did, but it was average at best. The other diners did enjoy their meals, but I do not think we will be returning anytime soon. So disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great First Date

Dined on March 5, 2016

I made my reservation early in the week for a first date on Friday night, having been there once before - I requested a table by the window overlooking Main Street. They had the table waiting on us when we arrived, our server was very welcoming and made excellent suggestions for wine and entrees. I do not remember his name but he was a well dressed gentleman with a beard.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect Valentine's Date

Dined on February 15, 2016

My husband and I celebrated Valentine's Day at Stellar this year and we are so happy we did! The special menu was absolutely great. We could pick and choose what we wanted and everything was completely delicious! We started our night with 2 cocktails, made perfectly. With our entrees we switched to wine and were both very happy with the expansive selection to choose from. The special "chocolate fondue for two" dessert was also a perfect way to end our meal! The only thing that topped it all was the amazing service we got from our waitress, Giulia! She made our night so special! Thanks to Stellar for an absolutely perfect Valentine's!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

Overall a good meal, but definitely not ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Overall a good meal, but definitely not with the cost. We'd dinner here before and enjoy the entreé selections. We choose the Valentines dinner courses. She-crab soup, mussels, a main course, and dessert. My wife had the scallops and I had the surf & turf. A very good meal, but save yourself the cost. Other dining establishments downtown offer equal quality for less!

food2
ambience4
service1
value2

MUCH better places for the price

Dined on February 13, 2016

The good - mixed drinks are good, mussels were good and the chocolate fondue. The Bad - We ordered two steak and lobster's one med-rare other rare, they came out medium well to well. The cheese cake was like something you can get from the grocery store. The service was VERY bad!!! For this price you definitely should go to one of the other fine restaurants in Greenville like Hall's Chophouse, The Greenroom, Chophouse or Larkin's on the River.

food4
ambience5
service5

I loved the atmosphere and the food was ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

I loved the atmosphere and the food was excellent! The only suggestion I have is that for the price there should be bigger portions of food. Other then that it was fantastic! Loved the view from our table overlooking N Main St.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great New Years Eve!!

Dined on January 1, 2016

Dinner was exceptional and unlike other Greenville restaurants for the choices. Definitely will be back. Thanks for a great New Years Eve celebration with live music and great wines too!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never disapoints

Dined on January 1, 2016

I've been to Stellar many times & it never disapoints. This time it was for New Year's Eve. There was a limited menu, but the food was amazing. When you get a steak here, you can literally cut it with a butter knife. Everything is high quality & cooked with the utmost care. The service is also wonderful. This is a great place for a date night or girl's night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

I do not recommend this restaurant.

Dined on December 28, 2015

Service was poor: although the server was courteous, we had to request cutlery for one guest; the server did not pour the wine; we had to ask for water to be refilled; the server forgot 2 of our entrees. Food was fair; well presented and good flavor, but serving size was very small [I find portions at many US restaurants too big, but these servings were akin to appetizers], e.g. the 'rack' of lamb was actually half a rack, the filet was no more than 3.5 oz and the entree salad was 4-5 leaves of spinach]. Ambiance was fair: decor is nice but the dining area is directly adjacent to the bar and thus very noisy. Price: prices were in the range I would expect at a fine dining restaurant, but the service etc were not near that level; half price wine on Sunday helped a bit

food5
ambience2
service2
value3

Great food but story stops there

vip
Dined on December 22, 2015

We finally tried Stellar, and frankly were a little disappointed. The food was fantastic but the service was just plain bad and the atmosphere was non-existent (outside of the window seat view of downtown). Never got my salad and never got a re-fill on my water (despite asking for one). We will not be back.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Try the flounder!

vip
Dined on December 19, 2015

We had the fried flounder. It was the best fish dish I have ever had!! And the sweet and sour sauce was the perfect touch. If you love fish, you won't be disappointed!!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3

Charcuterie Board

Dined on November 27, 2015

The board was disappointing. We went there about 6-8 months ago and it was very good. This visit was not so good. Especially for the price.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Complete dining experience

Dined on October 31, 2015

My wife and I love to enjoy the total experience of downtown Greenville. When we were looking for a dining spot for a relaxing, but memorable, Friday night dinner, we chose Stellar. From the time we were met by the host until we left the restaurant, we were overwhelmed with the friendliness, accommodation, and the quality of the entire experience. The wine list is extraordinarily complete, the knowledge of the staff concerning the wines that are on hand is extensive, and the food was delicious. Overall, it was one of the most wonderful dining experiences that we have enjoyed during the five-plus years that we have lived in Greenville.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

Not a change for the better...

Dined on October 24, 2015

I've been to Stellar numerous times and have always been pleased with the food, service and value. Apparently there has been a recent change in chefs and a desire to escalate the dining experience. The result was an extremely overpriced meal - $155 plus tip for she crab soup, a small dish of langostinos , a swordfish entrée and a nice bottle of pinot noir. I will pay more attention to the menu online before coming back.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service1

Disappointed

Dined on October 11, 2015

The food was delicious and it was pleasantly quiet; the only noise coming from our own table. We were 9 and there was only one other table of 4 people on the Sunday evening of Fall for Greenville. The server was slow, disorganized and disinterested. We arrived at 6:15 and didn't see food until nearly 8. We left at 9:00 which would be fine except we had to often get up and find the server to ask for something we needed.

food5
ambience5
service5

The chef's tasting menu is definitely th ...

Dined on September 26, 2015

The chef's tasting menu is definitely the way to go. Wonderful wine pairings ensure that your experience is one if a kind. Also found myself a new favorite after dinner whiskey, ask for the Angel's Envy!

food2
ambience3
service2

Not impressed

Dined on September 26, 2015

We tried Stellar based on reviews & the online menu selections. When we arrived, we were informed that a new chef had started & we had a very limited menu to choose from. I had the rack of lamb & my GF the scallops. The food was good, but portions were way to small for the prices! My "rack" of lamb consisted of 2 bones with maybe 2-3 oz. of meat total. The scallop dish had 3 large scallops. For $31 per entree, that was ridiculous. We won't be returning.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! A must try!

Dined on September 19, 2015

We have been several times and now have narrowed down our "favorites". Mac and cheese is best Mac and cheese from any restaurant! Pork Belly and Duck tacos are also amazing!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1

Great place to eat

Dined on September 12, 2015

Great service, great food . server/ bartender very knowledgeable of vine selection would highly recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and great service. We will r ...

Dined on September 8, 2015

Great food and great service. We will return.

food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner & Theater

Dined on September 2, 2015

Spectacular second visit. Small plates to share and chef's special was perfection. Cucumber Martini: wish I had thought of that one. Delish.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service3

Good food, but better options in town

vip
Dined on September 1, 2015

I was expecting more of an upscale restaurant experience. The flood was generally very good, but the service was quite slow (although polite), especially since the place was not very busy. We were seated in the bar at the window, which was okay, but the two big screen TVs definitely didn't help the ambiance (luckily, they were both muted). The rack of lamb was very good, but the watermelon salad was kind of a miss. The watermelon didn't pair well with the fried Brussels sprouts and the dressing. Thus the watermelon got rather lost in the dish. The filet was very good. A very nicely laid out wine list. The cheesecake was very dense but not as flavorful as I expected. The rye manhattans were great, especially the liquor-soaked cherry in the bottom. A good enough restaurant, but I am willing to try other places in Greenville before I would consider a return visit.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Stellar Stellar

Dined on August 23, 2015

Stellar is a great place. it is a place you could easily walk past and not know it is there. Once you get inside there is a fabulous bar. The next night, after decision to have dinner we were truly pleased with a fabulous dineer. There is not doubt it will become one ofur favorites

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3

Was hoping for more; won't be going back

vip
Dined on August 15, 2015

In a nutshell, with all of Greenville's other gems, this place isn't worth a meal , despite a very friendly wait staff. Drinks, maybe, as they have a great wine list and extensive bourbon and rye offering but the food just doesn't cut it. The cheese fondue, while well conceived, is a bland as others said it was. The mac and cheese is bland, too, with the truffle barely to be found. The pork chop was solid but the corn fritter was almost inedible - dried and cold and generally unpleasing. The rack of lamb was very fatty but well flavored - very well flavored, actually, but the salad that it was served with (cold watermelon, brussel spouts, and, if i recall, some kind of fig) just didn't mesh with the dish. The highlight of the meal for us was the chocolate fondue (yes, we double dipped on the fondue). The hazelnut torte was plain and not worth it.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

An Excellent Dining Experience

Dined on June 30, 2015

Stellar has an intriguing menu that ventures off the beaten culinary path with great aplomb. The wine pairing was perfect for both meals. Our table was in the window overlooking Greenville's beautiful Main Street, and the server was attentive without becoming annoying.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience1
service2

The separate room for eating dinner away ...

Dined on June 27, 2015

The separate room for eating dinner away from the bar left you feeling disconnected from the cool group. There was no music playing in this isolated room and it was awkward. 7pm dinner should have been fairly busy but it was dead. Left us wondering why and its ambiance was lacking because of this. The waiter was not good. I'm come here for a drink at the bar, but not for dinner.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Fancy Date Night

Dined on June 27, 2015

It's a cute little place to go for a nice date. My boyfriend and I went and loved the food and the atmosphere overall. Considering the tables were rather close and the noise level from the bar was just above a tolerable level, it made it a little less romantic. Overall, great experience, even without wine (we aren't old enough to drink). I would love to go back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service4

Had tapas and beer for a late dinner. Lo ...

Dined on June 3, 2015

Had tapas and beer for a late dinner. Loved it. Bar below can be a bit noisy; though front window near bar is cool, would suggest sitting in the back - quieter and more private.

food4
ambience4
service5

Intimate Quality

vip
Dined on May 20, 2015

Very eclectic menu, small plates make great sharing possible followed by entrees. Pork was perfectly prepared and smoked fish excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Great place for dinner wine and conversation

Dined on May 18, 2015

We had a wonderful dinner with a couple of smaller dishes for an extended dinner conversation in a nice surrounding. The wine list is great, but no beer on tap. Has a nice bar for a quiet drink also.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Mother's Day Brunch.

Dined on May 10, 2015

We arrived and were seated near the front with a great view of the trees on main St. Our service was crisp with the waiter removing our dishes promptly and the $3 Mimosa's were great. We enjoyed the buffet and were told everything was made on premises. My daughter really her favorite dish, mac & cheese, but with lobster meat! A special touch was the romantic piano player in the lobby and a fresh rose given to my wife by the owner as we left. We will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, late-night find

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.