Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.14mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Stellar - Greenville

Hovering above Main Street in beautiful downtown Greenville is Stellar Restaurant and Wine Bar. Incorporating a sleek starlit bar, fiber optic lights, and hand-painted mural spanning the ceiling, Stellar's ambience is just the beginning of a truly unique dining experience. Come check out our constantly evolving wine list with more than 50 wines by the glass, monthly wine features, and a complete reserve wine list - perfect for the novice or enthusiast. Our high-end cocktails will refresh and excite - with over 20 handmade cocktails. Stellar features an inventive farm-to-table menu that includes an array of small plates, appetizers, and entrees made using only the freshest and highest-quality ingredients. Even if you dine elsewhere, visit Stellar afterwards for one of our coffee cocktails!

When making reservations, always be sure to call should it appear that we do not have the times or party sizes you would like available.

20 N Main Street
Greenville, SC 29601
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Wine Bar, Fine cuts, American

Hours of Operation:
Open Monday-Sunday 4pm-2am
Happy Hour Monday-Friday 4pm-6:30pm
Dinner Monday through Friday 5pm - Midnight
Dinner Saturday, Sunday 5pm - Midnight

Cross Street:
Coffee St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(864) 438-4954

Website:
http://www.stellarwinebar.com/

Catering:
Offer catering for parties from 15 to 300 guests.

Parking Details:
Convenient parking in near by Richardson St. Parking Garage.

Executive Chef:
John Acker

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate private onsite parties up to 80 guests. Near by off-site facilities available for up to 300 guests. Contact Giulia Dalbec-Matthews at 864-438-4954

Private Party Contact:
Giulia Dalbec-Matthews: (864) 438-4954

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We can accommodate private onsite parties up to 80 guests. Near by off-site facilities available for up to 300 guests. Contact Tim Robinson at 864-438-4954

Stellar - Greenville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.7

ambience

4.0

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

53% would recommend it to a friend

Bar Seating (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
See All
Quiet Conversation (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Special Occasion (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Romantic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Historic (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Healthy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Casual (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
194 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Awful. Poor wine list. Dirty. Rude. Unattentive staff. The food was charred.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wide variety of wines to choose from, beautiful view of downtown Greenville, nice for a romantic dinner, staff was friendly, would definitely recommend it to friends and family. Greenville downtown has so many nice restaurants to choose from, but Stellar has a unique ambience to it that is rare to find, weather it's a date nite out or just a nice dinner with close friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Put off looking for a place until the last minute for Valentine's Day, girlfriend and i were already otw to Greenville. She ask where, searched intimate restaurant near Greenville SC with great wine, open till a after 11, (it was almost 9 at that point and I knew it going to be a wait) and it brought this up among others and the rest history, 5 stars all across the board of you're trying to go for special occasions or just a night out on the city and it's great,

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Stellar gave us exceptional service and had a wonderful filet mignon! I would recommend this restaurant as great place to go where the food is not super expensive and awesome quality!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food quality disappointing for the price. Shrimp Scampi served in a pool of butter. Chicken Marsala was dry as a bone. Food served cold after a 45 minute wait from time ordered.
Restaurant has potential of a hidden gem, but severely disappointed me for Valentine's day dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 14, 2017

On Valentine's Day, my husband and I decided to venture away from our usual haunts and give Stellar a try. I was a little hesitant since some of the reviews were not so great but I decided that what I read in the reviews were probably from people who were just a little too picky. I went to the restaurant, expecting it to be just "okay" but I was blown away! Greenville has many choices for excellent dining but I have to say, this little gem is one of the best! We were greeted immediately by very friendly staff, shown to our nice, private table, and for the rest of the dinner, we were attended to by a gracious and attentive man who, as it turns out, created the special Valentines Day menu and matched amazing wines to every course. I ordered a strawberry salad, which was delicious. It wasn't doused with too much dressing and the strawberries and nuts were of bite-sized pieces which is so much nicer than a salad with huge chunks of fruit that you are forced to cut! For dinner, I had the shrimp scampi and again was hesitant because normally, scampi is a dish served in a sea of garlic butter. This was nothing like that. There was a nice mound of angel hair pasta in the middle with several tail-on, grilled REAL shrimp (wild caught) and the most delicate cream sauce you can imagine. Delicious! For dessert, we had a homemade key lime pie that was just as good as any in the Keys. After dinner, we moved to the beautiful bar area and chatted with the bartender (also very friendly) while enjoying an after-dinner drink from their extensive menu of original cocktails. All in all, I think this was one of the best dinners I have had in Greenville, and that's saying an awful lot! Thank you, Stellar!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent food though menu and selections were limited. Wine list was excellent but pricey. Overall, great place to go & not traveled by most people. Would go again but take your wallet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Saturday night before Valentine's Day at 6 PM it was fairly empty. Took a long time to get service. there was only one person doing it all, bar and waiting. He did a good job, but it was not staffed properly.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Those of us who had cocktails were very pleased with those drinks. But the people in our group were disappointed when one person got the last bottle of a craft beer. And they were out of scallops, and no vegetable side. One member of our party said he's heard that type of feedback about Stellar - that they seem to run on a shoestring and often don't have menu items. The person serving in the role of server and bartender was holding the place together.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The worst all around. I could go on for days about why not to go here. I was embarrassed that I picked the place. I had to rate the noise level as quiet because we were the only customers in the restaurant at 7:45-9:45.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Service (Marvin) was great, but chicken was dry, dry, dry! At $25 only served w asparagus, no other sides. Not worth it. 2 others in our group had scallops and loved them, but I'd say this is a wine bar, not a place to get food.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

A little gem for dinner. Great wine selection, helpful staff, good selection of tapas. Love going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The food fantastic! The cocktails three cheers!!! Great place to eat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was really good, ambience was ok, the only bad thing was small portions and the waiter forgot my glass of wine I ordered.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Grab a table near the front window and watch the festivities on Main Street. Such a surprise. Not just a wine bar, be sure to go for dinner, the food is amazing. We met the chef, the manager and the owner, our waiter Marvin was a wealth of information and recommendations. A place to sit, relax, eat and have a great craft cocktail. The wine list is extensive has something for everyone. Lots of time for good conversation, no one rushed us. Not just a late night hangout! Add it to your list of "must try's" in Greenville. A hidden jewel on Main Street!

Tags: Historic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We were greeted by a nice lady at the door and was able to sample a wine before we went in. This is probably the only reason I gave 2 stars and not 1. Came in and stood at the hostess stand and nobody ever acknowledged our presence and then some guy sitting at the bar told us to sit anywhere. We grabbed a nice seat by the window. We had to flag down the bar tender/server/ everything else just to get a wine menu. No suggestions were offered for wine or food. The couple that came in after us was never approached and got up and left. It's been a while since I have visited because the wine prices are a bit high to not have stellar service. We had dinner. I had the scallops which were good but the sides were a strange combination especially with all the smoke flavor. My water never got refilled either. Just a bad night of service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I made reservations at Stellar for my out of town guests who love wine. I have dined there two times in the past 18 months and had had great experiences both times. I requested in my reservation to sit in the back dining room which is more intimate and quiet than the bar in the front of the restaurant. Upon arrival, the host said that we needed to sit at the front of the restaurant because they didn't really use the back room, as it was inconvenient for the wait staff. I was a little disappointed, we had to wait for a booth to clear and then the booth was HUGE. It dwarfed our party of 4 and it was really noisy. We sat a while and asked if we could move to the back. The host was rather rude about this, but he did move us to the back dining room which was much quieter and... already had another party in it. Why was it such a huge ordeal to seat us there originally I don't know? Especially when I requested it in the reservation? The rest of the wait staff were very friendly. They did not seem to know the wine menu at all. Not really a big deal except this is a "wine bar". We ordered the cheese plate which didn't have the number of cheeses listed on the menu. The chef brought us a few more cheeses to round out the plate. Some of our orders were wrong. One of my guests got a completely different entree delivered than what he ordered. It was something that he could not eat. The chef came to our table throughout the meal to discuss the food and he was really nice. He is passionate about creating dishes using local fare. I really appreciated his attention and wished that the wait staff shared the same attention to detail and customer service that he did. Hopefully this will change.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 8, 2016

we had an awful experience! it took 2 hours to get our food and then when it did arrive it was ill prepared....too salty and cold. portions were too small, especially for the price. no manager or supervisor came to apologize for the experience. they offered free dessert and coffee but it was 9pm by this time and we were just ready to leave

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 29, 2016

The food was amazing and Dylan, the bartender was very helpful in making wine and food recommendations Everything was perfect. It was so good, I went back the following day. The other patrons were super friendly as well. Great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Unfortunately, a poor food experience, though service was friendly and the wine selection remains good. Come for drinks, maybe, but stay away from the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 12, 2016

A welcoming hostess greets you with a glass of wine; a pleasant touch. But it was all downhill from there. Bar was noisy with the Olympics and took 20 minutes to order and another 20 for the food to come. Unless you are just looking to drink wine and watch TV, move on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 1, 2016

We've been to Stellar several times and the food is always good and enjoy the atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2016

More of a Bar feel. Definitely not for Kids. No kids menu but they did accommodate. Prices were too high for the food. The food was pretty good, I recommend the Chicken.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food and Service were outstanding. We tried a variety of items and almost everyone agreed that it was excellent. Our waiter was very attentive, yet not intrusive at all. The atmosphere is modern, and enjoyable.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We brought the family for Mothers Day, not realizing the only option was a buffet. The offering on the buffet was very limited and COLD. The sterno candles under the trays were not lit so everything, meat, vegetable, etc was cold. We had to ask for a serving spoon for the fruit. Some food items on the buffet were not identifiable, like a tray of mushed up cheesecake for dessert. Very disappointing, especially on a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 23, 2016

We enjoyed the different types of food that was offered and the service was fantastic. The server was very personable, and made suggestions. We will be back for another special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 23, 2016

For the price of the food, I was disappointed in the flavor of my "Duck Taco Salad". The service was close to very good and the wine was wonderful (though a bit over priced).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 21, 2016

Great dinner, great service. Only wish was that they had the crispy fried flounder on the menu. It's outrageous!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Great place
Will definitely dine there again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 21, 2016

Waiter thought "extra-dry" martini meant add more dry vermouth. Wha??? Charcuterie plate meant 3 wedges of cheese. No meat. Bizarre. Decent room for a drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2016

Great everything! Came here about a year ago and it was excellent. Went to iron chef last summer b/c chef Jennifer competed. Amazing! Went back and heard she left soon after for the Lazy Goat. Great as well. Stellar was fabulous but worried since it was 7pm on Saturday nite and only 1/3 full. Chef Jennifer left but new guy is great as well. Do not overlook this place due to recent turnover. This place needs past customers to come back and check out what's new.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2016

Stellar has been our go to restaurant for special occasions like birthdays and anniversaries. I am a vegetarian and always appreciated the entrees from which I could choose. There was nothing on the menu that was meat free. They did offer to make a pasta dish with vegetables, and they did, but it was average at best. The other diners did enjoy their meals, but I do not think we will be returning anytime soon. So disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 5, 2016

I made my reservation early in the week for a first date on Friday night, having been there once before - I requested a table by the window overlooking Main Street. They had the table waiting on us when we arrived, our server was very welcoming and made excellent suggestions for wine and entrees. I do not remember his name but he was a well dressed gentleman with a beard.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2016

My husband and I celebrated Valentine's Day at Stellar this year and we are so happy we did! The special menu was absolutely great. We could pick and choose what we wanted and everything was completely delicious! We started our night with 2 cocktails, made perfectly. With our entrees we switched to wine and were both very happy with the expansive selection to choose from. The special "chocolate fondue for two" dessert was also a perfect way to end our meal! The only thing that topped it all was the amazing service we got from our waitress, Giulia! She made our night so special!

Thanks to Stellar for an absolutely perfect Valentine's!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Overall a good meal, but definitely not with the cost. We'd dinner here before and enjoy the entreé selections. We choose the Valentines dinner courses. She-crab soup, mussels, a main course, and dessert. My wife had the scallops and I had the surf & turf. A very good meal, but save yourself the cost. Other dining establishments downtown offer equal quality for less!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 13, 2016

The good - mixed drinks are good, mussels were good and the chocolate fondue. The Bad - We ordered two steak and lobster's one med-rare other rare, they came out medium well to well. The cheese cake was like something you can get from the grocery store. The service was VERY bad!!! For this price you definitely should go to one of the other fine restaurants in Greenville like Hall's Chophouse, The Greenroom, Chophouse or Larkin's on the River.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2016

I loved the atmosphere and the food was excellent! The only suggestion I have is that for the price there should be bigger portions of food. Other then that it was fantastic! Loved the view from our table overlooking N Main St.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 1, 2016

Dinner was exceptional and unlike other Greenville restaurants for the choices. Definitely will be back. Thanks for a great New Years Eve celebration with live music and great wines too!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2016

I've been to Stellar many times & it never disapoints. This time it was for New Year's Eve. There was a limited menu, but the food was amazing. When you get a steak here, you can literally cut it with a butter knife. Everything is high quality & cooked with the utmost care. The service is also wonderful. This is a great place for a date night or girl's night out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 28, 2015

Service was poor: although the server was courteous, we had to request cutlery for one guest; the server did not pour the wine; we had to ask for water to be refilled; the server forgot 2 of our entrees. Food was fair; well presented and good flavor, but serving size was very small [I find portions at many US restaurants too big, but these servings were akin to appetizers], e.g. the 'rack' of lamb was actually half a rack, the filet was no more than 3.5 oz and the entree salad was 4-5 leaves of spinach]. Ambiance was fair: decor is nice but the dining area is directly adjacent to the bar and thus very noisy. Price: prices were in the range I would expect at a fine dining restaurant, but the service etc were not near that level; half price wine on Sunday helped a bit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.