Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Stellar - Greenville

3.9
206 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Wine Bar
Perfect For:
  • Notable Wine List
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Romantic

Similar Restaurants

About

Hovering above Main Street in beautiful downtown Greenville is Stellar Restaurant and Wine Bar. Incorporating a sleek starlit bar, fiber optic lights, and hand-painted mural spanning the ceiling, Stellar's ambience is just the beginning of a truly unique dining experience. Come check out our constantly evolving wine list with more than 50 wines by the glass, monthly wine features, and a complete reserve wine list - perfect for the novice or enthusiast. Our high-end cocktails will refresh and excite - with over 20 handmade cocktails. Stellar features an inventive farm-to-table menu that includes an array of small plates, appetizers, and entrees made using only the freshest and highest-quality ingredients. Even if you dine elsewhere, visit Stellar afterwards for one of our coffee cocktails!

When making reservations, always be sure to call should it appear that we do not have the times or party sizes you would like available.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Wine Bar, Fine cuts, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Open Monday-Sunday 4pm-2am
Happy Hour Monday-Friday 4pm-6:30pm
Dinner Monday through Friday 5pm - Midnight
Dinner Saturday, Sunday 5pm - Midnight
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(864) 438-4954
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
John Acker
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
We can accommodate private onsite parties up to 80 guests. Near by off-site facilities available for up to 300 guests. Contact Giulia Dalbec-Matthews at 864-438-4954
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Giulia Dalbec-Matthews: (864) 438-4954
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Offer catering for parties from 15 to 300 guests.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Coffee St.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Convenient parking in near by Richardson St. Parking Garage.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
We can accommodate private onsite parties up to 80 guests. Near by off-site facilities available for up to 300 guests. Contact Tim Robinson at 864-438-4954
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wine
What 206 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.9based on all time ratings
3.9
food
3.8
service
4.0
ambience
3.4
value
Noise · Moderate
78% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
2.0Dined on September 15, 2017

The place was rather empty. Service extremely slow.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 8, 2017

My wife and I come for her birthday. We got a little mixed up and ended up at the bar door stairs but we quickly found our way up. The food was absolutely amazing. The bar tender was the one that took out order and she broke everything down perfect. The cook himself brought us our food and it was nice to put a face with the amazing creation we were eating. The owner also came out of his way to wish my wife a happy birthday. We drove from Spartanburg, and it was well worth the drive. Great place with great people and great food!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on August 20, 2017

Made a dinner reservation, but after sitting down and receiving our drink order, were told the kitchen was closed.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on August 7, 2017

I made a reservation over a week in advance for my husband's birthday dinner to arrive downtown Greenville to find out they are not serving dinner just an hour before our reservation! I received a missed call only, not even a voicemail. I only found out when I looked up the number and called back. Very disappointmented in the costumer service. Will not be making a reservation again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 8, 2017

Walked in and was underwhelmed by the decor/layout of the restaurant. Few nice tables by the window, but interior seating was not so desirable. So expectation went down, but was pleasantly surprised by the food and great selections of wines. Chef was out talking to people enhanced the evening. Overall, very good dining experience .

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 10, 2017

Not a good experience at all.
We chose to eat at Stellar before seeing a show at the Peace Center. We ordered tapas to get started which took an hour to receive then ordered some more because we were worried that ordering dinners would put us too close to our show time. Complete second order didn't come out. We had to leave...hungry. Place was not packed and we had allowed almost two hours for dinner. - we won't be back.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 14, 2017

1/5 based on brunch.
Stellar should focus on good wine, music and apps.

Worst brunch I've ever had. 30$ a person for soft bacon, hard sausage, scrambled eggs and potatoes. Felt like I was at hampton inn. Except hampton inn has toast, grits and sausage and biscuits. I'd be embarrassed to own this place and offer this brunch.

Embarrassing.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 6, 2017

Had friends up from Columbia and wanted to impress and the service was terrible! Waiter said he had too many tables, like that's our problem.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 16, 2017

Stellar was not stellar. Service was lacking, it was Easter Sunday & I was not aware there was a buffet only, with two children I didn't get the value from that. Also, the food was not exceptional and I would at this point likely not eat there again. Wait stafd was interacting with the only other table near us, we were not seated at the front by the windows either despite nearly every table being open. Food falling in the floor wasn't cleaned up properly, the food was lukewarm and not fresh. Definitely not worth $29/person. There should have been a kids price on the buffet. We also had to ask for silverware & refills because the service was poor.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a fabulous Easter Brunch! Great food! Wonderful folks behind the bar! Great music! Can't wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 17, 2017

Awful. Poor wine list. Dirty. Rude. Unattentive staff. The food was charred.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2017

Wide variety of wines to choose from, beautiful view of downtown Greenville, nice for a romantic dinner, staff was friendly, would definitely recommend it to friends and family. Greenville downtown has so many nice restaurants to choose from, but Stellar has a unique ambience to it that is rare to find, weather it's a date nite out or just a nice dinner with close friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2017

Put off looking for a place until the last minute for Valentine's Day, girlfriend and i were already otw to Greenville. She ask where, searched intimate restaurant near Greenville SC with great wine, open till a after 11, (it was almost 9 at that point and I knew it going to be a wait) and it brought this up among others and the rest history, 5 stars all across the board of you're trying to go for special occasions or just a night out on the city and it's great,

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2017

Really good food for the money. Enjoyed the meal immensely.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2017

Stellar gave us exceptional service and had a wonderful filet mignon! I would recommend this restaurant as great place to go where the food is not super expensive and awesome quality!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2017

Food quality disappointing for the price. Shrimp Scampi served in a pool of butter. Chicken Marsala was dry as a bone. Food served cold after a 45 minute wait from time ordered.
Restaurant has potential of a hidden gem, but severely disappointed me for Valentine's day dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2017

On Valentine's Day, my husband and I decided to venture away from our usual haunts and give Stellar a try. I was a little hesitant since some of the reviews were not so great but I decided that what I read in the reviews were probably from people who were just a little too picky. I went to the restaurant, expecting it to be just "okay" but I was blown away! Greenville has many choices for excellent dining but I have to say, this little gem is one of the best! We were greeted immediately by very friendly staff, shown to our nice, private table, and for the rest of the dinner, we were attended to by a gracious and attentive man who, as it turns out, created the special Valentines Day menu and matched amazing wines to every course. I ordered a strawberry salad, which was delicious. It wasn't doused with too much dressing and the strawberries and nuts were of bite-sized pieces which is so much nicer than a salad with huge chunks of fruit that you are forced to cut! For dinner, I had the shrimp scampi and again was hesitant because normally, scampi is a dish served in a sea of garlic butter. This was nothing like that. There was a nice mound of angel hair pasta in the middle with several tail-on, grilled REAL shrimp (wild caught) and the most delicate cream sauce you can imagine. Delicious! For dessert, we had a homemade key lime pie that was just as good as any in the Keys. After dinner, we moved to the beautiful bar area and chatted with the bartender (also very friendly) while enjoying an after-dinner drink from their extensive menu of original cocktails. All in all, I think this was one of the best dinners I have had in Greenville, and that's saying an awful lot! Thank you, Stellar!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent food though menu and selections were limited. Wine list was excellent but pricey. Overall, great place to go & not traveled by most people. Would go again but take your wallet!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 11, 2017

Saturday night before Valentine's Day at 6 PM it was fairly empty. Took a long time to get service. there was only one person doing it all, bar and waiting. He did a good job, but it was not staffed properly.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 8, 2017

Those of us who had cocktails were very pleased with those drinks. But the people in our group were disappointed when one person got the last bottle of a craft beer. And they were out of scallops, and no vegetable side. One member of our party said he's heard that type of feedback about Stellar - that they seem to run on a shoestring and often don't have menu items. The person serving in the role of server and bartender was holding the place together.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 6, 2017

The worst all around. I could go on for days about why not to go here. I was embarrassed that I picked the place. I had to rate the noise level as quiet because we were the only customers in the restaurant at 7:45-9:45.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 28, 2017

Service (Marvin) was great, but chicken was dry, dry, dry! At $25 only served w asparagus, no other sides. Not worth it. 2 others in our group had scallops and loved them, but I'd say this is a wine bar, not a place to get food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 21, 2017

A little gem for dinner. Great wine selection, helpful staff, good selection of tapas. Love going back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 16, 2017

The food fantastic! The cocktails three cheers!!! Great place to eat!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was really good, ambience was ok, the only bad thing was small portions and the waiter forgot my glass of wine I ordered.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 23, 2016

Grab a table near the front window and watch the festivities on Main Street. Such a surprise. Not just a wine bar, be sure to go for dinner, the food is amazing. We met the chef, the manager and the owner, our waiter Marvin was a wealth of information and recommendations. A place to sit, relax, eat and have a great craft cocktail. The wine list is extensive has something for everyone. Lots of time for good conversation, no one rushed us. Not just a late night hangout! Add it to your list of "must try's" in Greenville. A hidden jewel on Main Street!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 18, 2016

We were greeted by a nice lady at the door and was able to sample a wine before we went in. This is probably the only reason I gave 2 stars and not 1. Came in and stood at the hostess stand and nobody ever acknowledged our presence and then some guy sitting at the bar told us to sit anywhere. We grabbed a nice seat by the window. We had to flag down the bar tender/server/ everything else just to get a wine menu. No suggestions were offered for wine or food. The couple that came in after us was never approached and got up and left. It's been a while since I have visited because the wine prices are a bit high to not have stellar service. We had dinner. I had the scallops which were good but the sides were a strange combination especially with all the smoke flavor. My water never got refilled either. Just a bad night of service and food.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 4, 2016

I made reservations at Stellar for my out of town guests who love wine. I have dined there two times in the past 18 months and had had great experiences both times. I requested in my reservation to sit in the back dining room which is more intimate and quiet than the bar in the front of the restaurant. Upon arrival, the host said that we needed to sit at the front of the restaurant because they didn't really use the back room, as it was inconvenient for the wait staff. I was a little disappointed, we had to wait for a booth to clear and then the booth was HUGE. It dwarfed our party of 4 and it was really noisy. We sat a while and asked if we could move to the back. The host was rather rude about this, but he did move us to the back dining room which was much quieter and... already had another party in it. Why was it such a huge ordeal to seat us there originally I don't know? Especially when I requested it in the reservation? The rest of the wait staff were very friendly. They did not seem to know the wine menu at all. Not really a big deal except this is a "wine bar". We ordered the cheese plate which didn't have the number of cheeses listed on the menu. The chef brought us a few more cheeses to round out the plate. Some of our orders were wrong. One of my guests got a completely different entree delivered than what he ordered. It was something that he could not eat. The chef came to our table throughout the meal to discuss the food and he was really nice. He is passionate about creating dishes using local fare. I really appreciated his attention and wished that the wait staff shared the same attention to detail and customer service that he did. Hopefully this will change.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on September 8, 2016

we had an awful experience! it took 2 hours to get our food and then when it did arrive it was ill prepared....too salty and cold. portions were too small, especially for the price. no manager or supervisor came to apologize for the experience. they offered free dessert and coffee but it was 9pm by this time and we were just ready to leave

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 29, 2016

The food was amazing and Dylan, the bartender was very helpful in making wine and food recommendations Everything was perfect. It was so good, I went back the following day. The other patrons were super friendly as well. Great atmosphere

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 22, 2016

Unfortunately, a poor food experience, though service was friendly and the wine selection remains good. Come for drinks, maybe, but stay away from the menu.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 12, 2016

A welcoming hostess greets you with a glass of wine; a pleasant touch. But it was all downhill from there. Bar was noisy with the Olympics and took 20 minutes to order and another 20 for the food to come. Unless you are just looking to drink wine and watch TV, move on.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 1, 2016

We've been to Stellar several times and the food is always good and enjoy the atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2016

Dominic was our waiter. He was prompt, attentive, had great suggestions for wine and knew the menu very well. Will go back often

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 14, 2016

More of a Bar feel. Definitely not for Kids. No kids menu but they did accommodate. Prices were too high for the food. The food was pretty good, I recommend the Chicken.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 8, 2016

Food and Service were outstanding. We tried a variety of items and almost everyone agreed that it was excellent. Our waiter was very attentive, yet not intrusive at all. The atmosphere is modern, and enjoyable.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 8, 2016

We brought the family for Mothers Day, not realizing the only option was a buffet. The offering on the buffet was very limited and COLD. The sterno candles under the trays were not lit so everything, meat, vegetable, etc was cold. We had to ask for a serving spoon for the fruit. Some food items on the buffet were not identifiable, like a tray of mushed up cheesecake for dessert. Very disappointing, especially on a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 23, 2016

For the price of the food, I was disappointed in the flavor of my "Duck Taco Salad". The service was close to very good and the wine was wonderful (though a bit over priced).

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 23, 2016

We enjoyed the different types of food that was offered and the service was fantastic. The server was very personable, and made suggestions. We will be back for another special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2016

Great dinner, great service. Only wish was that they had the crispy fried flounder on the menu. It's outrageous!!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
6