Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About Stella Barra Pizzeria - Chicago

Stella Barra is an artisanal pizzeria with an eclectic menu inspired by the idea of simple honest cooking. Chef Jeff Mahin has developed a network of farms and purveyors to supply the restaurant with fresh-milled, 100% California flour for his handcrafted dough, as well as sustainably farmed organic produce, meats and cheeses. Pizza toppings range from prosciutto to shaved truffle to smoked bacon and can be served on a lighter “Thin Sin” pizza crust, or even gluten-free dough.

On Saturdays and Sundays from 10am-2pm, Stella Barra presents a chef-inspired brunch buffet for $19.95 complete with cinnamon rolls, breakfast enchiladas, caramelized french toast and more, plus $5 select brunch cocktails. Kids 10 & under eat FREE. Reservations accepted.

1954 N Halsted St
Chicago, IL 60614
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Pizzeria, Italian

Hours of Operation:
M-Thur 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday 4:00pm - 12:00am
Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am
Sunday 10:00am - 10:00pm

Brunch Buffet $19.95 Saturday & Sunday, 10:00am - 2:00pm
Happy Hour at the bar, Monday - Friday from 4:00pm-6:00pm

Want free eats? Text STELLALP to 70717 to get offers for appetizers, desserts and more. [You’ll receive up to 4 msgs/month from an automated system. Msg & data rates may apply. Text STOP to cancel/HELP for help. Consent to text messaging terms not required for purchase. Mobile T&Cs: leye.com/terms-of-use & Privacy Policy: leye.com/privacy-policy]

Cross Street:
Halsted & Armitage

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 634-4101

Website:
http://www.stellabarra.com/

Catering:
Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Stella Barra has a private back patio seating up to 60 guests. The room sits beneath a retractable awning, which can be opened or closed (weather permitting). The space is also heated during the winter months, creating the perfect atmosphere to host baby and bridal showers, rehearsal dinners, birthdays, corporate events and more! The space is also available for buyouts, private daytime luncheons (Monday-Friday) and weekend gatherings.

To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, call our Catering Department at (773) 634-4101.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is offered for $14.00. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Just South East of the Brown Line on Armitage.

Executive Chef:
Chef/Partner Jeff Mahin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Stella Barra Pizzeria offers an ever-changing menu that spotlights Chef Mahin's knack for baking and utilizing fresh farmers market ingredients, in addition to small plates, appetizers and fresh salads.

Stella Barra has a private back patio space seating up to 60 guests. The space sits beneath a retractable awning, which can be opened or closed (weather permitting). The space is also heated during the winter months, creating the perfect atmosphere to host baby and bridal showers, rehearsal dinners, birthday parties, corporate events and more! The space also lends itself perfectly to full or partial restaurant buyouts, and is available Monday-Friday for private luncheons.

To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, please call our Sales & Special Events Department at (773) 634-4101.

Private Dining

Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Stella Barra Pizzeria offers an ever-changing menu that spotlights Chef Mahin's artisan pizzas, as well as a knack for baking and utilizing fresh farmers market ingredients, in addition to small plates, appetizers and fresh salads.

Stella Barra Pizzeria - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (22)
Good for a Date (20)
Good for Groups (19)
See All
Fun (19)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Kid-friendly (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Special Occasion (11)
Cozy (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Wood Oven (9)
Comfort Food (9)
People Watching (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Great Beer (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Live Sports (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Family Style (4)
Authentic (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Business Meals (4)
Healthy (3)
Romantic (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Private Room (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Scenic View (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
537 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

One of the best gluten free pizzas I ever had. The service was attentive and welcoming . It's a perfect place for lay back Sunday night dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 5 days ago

Loud but good.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We love Stella Barra. Everyone is great and very friendly.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Have been coming to Stella Barra for a while as we love the atmosphere and great pizza. This time we brought our good friend along who is a foodie and she was excited to try a new place we had hyped up so much. To our disappointment, the service was just lacking that night...pizza took a full hour to get to our table ( only ordered one app and two pizzas). Second, we brought a really great bottle of red wine blend with us, the Pessimist. When the waiter came over and opened it for us we were chatting and we didn't realize he had put it in a cooler! Any good and educated waiter knows that red wine is served at a room temperature. Thus, unfortunately, we only enjoyed one glass of our perfect wine...the second glass was completely ruined as it was way too cold to drink as red wine. We still had to pay the $25 corkage fee....

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Our pizza took a looooong time but it was delicious and worth the wait. Plus I was distracted by my company so I didn't notice too much

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Pizza centric menu is limiting but they do it very well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Brunch buffet was mediocre at best. Best to stick with their pizzas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 4, 2017

My husband and I just went to celebrate our anniversary, and I cannot say enough about our experience! There was a little bit of a wait for my cocktail, and our waiter was very apologetic and communicative. Then my husband's pizza got backed up, and came out 10-15 minutes after mine. A bit inconvenient sure, but not a huge problem, especially since our waiter kept us informed. Imagine our surprise and delight when the manager Peter came over to our table, introduced himself, thanked us for coming and told us he would be comping our pizza! It was not necessary, but Peter has made me a LOYAL customer. PS. Do yourself a favor and try out the arugula and avocado pesto pizza and the "Hot Mezz" cocktail. AMAZING!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The meatball appetizer was good but the pizza was bland.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 29, 2017

The patio is adorable and so cozy. A great night out!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 28, 2017

It just didn't work out. We went there to sit outside. We ended up sitting next to people who argued with management for 10 min So we moved inside. That said. Never did relax.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 28, 2017

This restaurant has a great atmosphere. The pack patio has a retracting roof and the staff was very accommodating when I mentioned I was cold. They turned up the heaters near me and even offered to close the roof (I said no because of the other customers enjoying it). The food is amazing and the service is great!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The calamari, pizza and desert were exceptional. The wine list was awesome. Peter was a knowledgeable and charming server. We will definitely be back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Food is good but the service was not ideal for the area and setting. Took 8 minutes to be greeted with a half-hearted hello. Never got appetizer before meal. Order was incorrect and the meal took over 35 minutes to come and it was just a salad and pizza. The only saving grace in a pretty disappointing experience was Bailey. She realized the opportunities in service and made it right which was appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Love it!! It was a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

good! wish I had a better table, just that.

And why does your review require 50 characters???? I would just cancel sending it :/

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Food was great as always! Unfortunately the service was very poor this time. Rarely saw the server and when we did it was only for like a second. He never even asked us how any of the food was.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great Saturday and Sunday Brunch! Cannot beat the price / value and everything is hot, fresh and service was great! Been there several times and always good plus a fun atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great pizza, and our waiter was very pleasant.
When we arrived we were told our seating would be a few minutes late because our table had paid their check and were wrapping up.
After I overheard the greeters provide the same scenario verbatim to several other arriving groups I became skeptical.
30 minutes beyond our reservation I asked for an update and was told there wasn't one. Decidedly unhelpful.
We gave up and found a spot along the bar- enjoyed ourselves and the food, but the experience with the hostesses was really lousy and an atypical level of service for Lettuce.
This wasn't enough to cause me to dissuade someone from choosing Stella Barra, but I'll think twice about returning myself.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We arrived for our 8:30 reservation and were notified, with a copious amount of attitude and lack of apology, that they were running about 20 minutes behind. After looking around, it pretty obvious that they hadn't managed their reservations correctly and were running much further behind than that, so we left and went somewhere else. I finally got a text at 9:55PM saying our table was ready. Glad we went with our gut and left, what a joke.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great Brunch plenty of selections a definite have to go again type of restaurant!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for Sunday Brunch buffet. The food was great. We were seated right away, and someone came and filled our glasses with water. But then, ... no one came to our table at all. We were there for the buffet, so we went and got our food thinking someone will come by eventually to get our drink order and check in on us. No one came. We flagged down the waiter from the table next to us when no one seemed to notice us or look like they were concerned with checking on us. This waiter was great, very apologetic and attentive from that point forward, even though we were not his assigned table. I'm not sure what happened to our waiter because we never saw him or her, and the waiter that did end up waiting on us seemed to be a little confused on the whereabouts of our assigned waiter as well, even though he was very professional about it and did not try to dwell it on it. He just jumped right in, but you could see it on his face. Other than that, we had a great time. I would definitely go back and recommend it , dismissing this incident as an exception.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Fine night. Pizza was underwhelming, but the caesar salad and burrata starters and wine selections + cocktails were great!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Mother's Day dinner

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great experience on the patio area! Very cozy and intimate

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The service was excellent. After waiting a few minutes before a server appeared and we had to ask for one , we were given a free appetizer. The food was delicious and ample.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We enjoyed the pizzas, but service was slow and the hostess wasn't very friendly or welcoming.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Live Sports, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Nice local restaurant. We ate at 6pm - restaurant was 3/4 full. There were two tables with young families, couple tables of friends, couple of tables of couples mixed with a bar crowd watching the Cubs and/or Penguins/Capitals (good music playing not too loud and no volume on tv's, which was nice). Attentive waiter. Good thin crust pizza. Cesar salad was large, plate of meatballs were very good. Good beer selection

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Live Sports, Great Beer, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The staff is outgoing and all about providing quality service. The food was excellent, the drinks also excellent. I would return often for the food and drinks. One of the more enjoyable places to dine in the area.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

A wonderful neighborhood place. It is loud and energetic. The pizza is among the best in Chicago.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Delicious as always!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 18, 2017

I love going to Stella Barra their pizzas never disappoint. I've gotten their red and white sauces and have loved them both!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food and service. Went on a Saturday night, so it was busy and loud, making conversation difficult sometimes. We enjoyed ourselves!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This is my second time visiting Stella Barra for brunch and their buffet is by far one of the best I've ever had! Great option for a date or catching up with friends.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This place was great! The service lacked in some spots and they forgot one item we'd ordered. However, they made up for it with free dessert and didn't charge us for the item they'd forgotten. We were a large group so it was understandable. I would definitely go back.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Business Meals, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Pizza selections were varied, and interesting. Also the wine list was varied and good.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The have 2 seat high tops on the left side of the restaurant (walking inside) and we sat there. Because the tables are crammed in, there's one small walkway for servers, guests, etc to walk through. Basically only one person can go through at a time which is very distracting as a diner and I'm sure annoying for the staff. It just didn't make for an inviting atmosphere. Won't be dining again.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (London)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The pizza is always amazing!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Brunch was amazing.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We went for brunch buffet on Sunday. It is $19.95 per person, the food and selection is very good. Valet parking is available for $14

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.