About Stella Barra Pizzeria - Chicago

1954 N Halsted St
Chicago, IL 60614
View Larger Map

Stella Barra, an artisanal pizzeria highlighting Chef Jeff Mahin's knack for baking and utilizing fresh farmers market ingredients, located on Halsted and Armitage in the heart of Lincoln Park. In addition to Mahin’s signature pizzas, the menu boasts a selection of small plates and fresh salads as well as house made pastas and seasonal roasted vegetables. Hand-crafted cookies, pastries and a selection of breads to go are also available from a market counter located in the front of the restaurant.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Pizzeria, Italian

Hours of Operation:
M-Thur 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday 4:00pm - 12:00am
Saturday 11:00am - 12:00am
Sunday 11:00am - 10:00pm

Happy Hour at the bar, Monday - Friday from 4:00pm-6:00pm
Brunch Saturday & Sunday, 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Halsted & Armitage

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 634-4101

Website:
http://www.stellabarra.com/

Catering:
Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Stella Barra has a private back patio seating up to 60 guests. The room sits beneath a retractable awning, which can be opened or closed (weather permitting). The space is also heated during the winter months, creating the perfect atmosphere to host baby and bridal showers, rehearsal dinners, birthdays, corporate events and more! The space is also available for buyouts, private daytime luncheons (Monday-Friday) and weekend gatherings.

To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, call our Catering Department at (773) 634-4101.

Parking Details:
Valet parking for $14.00 is offered. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Just South East of the Brown Line on Armitage.

Executive Chef:
Chef Partner Jeff Mahin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Stella Barra Pizzeria offers an ever-changing menu that spotlights Chef Mahin's knack for baking and utilizing fresh farmers market ingredients, in addition to small plates, appetizers and fresh salads.

Stella Barra has a private back patio space seating up to 60 guests. The space sits beneath a retractable awning, which can be opened or closed (weather permitting). The space is also heated during the winter months, creating the perfect atmosphere to host baby and bridal showers, rehearsal dinners, birthday parties, corporate events and more! The space also lends itself perfectly to full or partial restaurant buyouts, and is available Monday-Friday for private luncheons.

To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, please call our Sales & Special Events Department at (773) 634-4101.

Private Dining

Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Stella Barra Pizzeria offers an ever-changing menu that spotlights Chef Mahin's artisan pizzas, as well as a knack for baking and utilizing fresh farmers market ingredients, in addition to small plates, appetizers and fresh salads.

Stella Barra Pizzeria - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Pizzeria
Chicago / Illinois
Pizzeria
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Lincoln Park ›

Good for Groups (55)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Fit for Foodies (32)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (32)
Hot Spot (31)
Kid-friendly (24)
Great for Lunch (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Special Occasion (15)
Notable Wine List (11)
Romantic (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Late-night Find (3)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
395 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Above average pizza in a nice setting wi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Above average pizza in a nice setting with terrific service. They probably need a few sandwich items to round out the limited menu but it's a well rounded menu all the same.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Our service was very poor; we had to con ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our service was very poor; we had to constantly look for our server and flag them down and it took forever to get food and drinks even though it wasn't crowded. In addition we kept having to ask for basic things that water and ice and silverware. The food was mediocre, half the table didn't like theirs, the appetizer wasn't prepared how the menu described and two members of our party ordered quiche and it was ice cold in the middle, but we couldn't get our servers attention. The salad had no dressing and was bland. One member of our party ordered French fries and they didn't bring them and we had to ask 3 people on the staff to get them. Overall it was a very poor, disappointing meal especially from a Lettuce Entertain You restaurant which are usually great. This was my third time trying Stella Barra and although the other two times were bad, this one was exceptionally bad. I would definitely never go back and tell others to skip it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

We are upset because we actually liked t ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We are upset because we actually liked the food a lot. But will not return because the service was HORRIBLE. Our server should not be waiting on tables. He pretty much ruined our dinner. Without much of an apology. He just blamed other people for his mistakes. Please get a different job if you cannot handle the service industry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Loud and hopping scene. Great food. Coup ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Loud and hopping scene. Great food. Coupons available online!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

food was good enough, but, we felt like ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

food was good enough, but, we felt like our waiter was rushing us out of there. just as we sat down, he told us that we needed to order any appetizers and pizza at the same time because the pizza takes 30 minutes. we followed his advice and barely finished the salad when the pizza arrived in about 10 minutes. this was not exactly the leisure night out we were looking for.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Wait staff is always kind! Its a lways ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Wait staff is always kind! Its a lways a pleasure to dine in your reataurant!

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Service and pizza were terrible. After h ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Service and pizza were terrible. After hearing great things from friends we were highly disappointed and would rather order Dominos than return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

took a young child figuring this place w ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

took a young child figuring this place would be great for him - pizza too sophisticated - but great for adults. the crust was perfect and toppings interesting and varied. we ordered two pizzas and they brought the wrong pizza 2 out of 2, but we ate them anyways and enjoyed them.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Yummy pizza, brussel sprouts, drinks, an ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Yummy pizza, brussel sprouts, drinks, and cookies. Good place for gatherings.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I think they have, hands down, the best ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

I think they have, hands down, the best crust in a pizza-obsessed city. Their thin crust pizzas are exceptionally crispy with really flavorful ingredients. We had three: Quatro Formaggi, Shaved Mushroom and Prosciutto and Egg. Each one was really delicious.

For appetizers we shared the burrata, which is served with roasted grapes. The roasting intensified the flavor, making the grapes a great accompaniment to the subtle flavor of the cheese.

We also shared the Brussels sprouts. They're just this side of charred, which brought out a really delicious flavor while killing off some of the cabbage funk that Brussels sprouts have.

The fried calamari were also tasty, although not outstanding.

Our server Will was very attentive and knowledgable about the menu and all of its offerings.

Our one gripe was that we were offered a bottle of rosé that wasn't on the menu, when we asked about a rosé, and the tab for it was $60; definitely not the highest bottle on the menu, but a little steeper than I was thinking. Since we were treating a friend for his birthday, I didn't want to just come out and ask the server how much the bottle was. Maybe any wine that's a special should be on a separate card so that I at least knew what I was getting into.

Overall a very good experience. We'll definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service is just okay, not very atten ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The service is just okay, not very attentive and you have to catch the waiter's eye to get another drink, etc. And this is a very noisy place - loud music and little sound absorbent materials so have to talk loudly, which adds to the noise level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Dinner for 2 under $2 for good food. Res ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Dinner for 2 under $2 for good food. Reservations not needed but it can get full fast.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We sat in the outer area by the bakery s ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We sat in the outer area by the bakery so the noise level was manageable. The server was overzealous and he completely messed up my order for gluten free pizza - he didn't notice until he was delivering it to our table (he warned us a pizza takes 30 minutes - no idea why) and he knew we had about 10 minutes to shove it down so I couldn't get another one. He admitted it was his mistake but totally turned me off to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Loved the patio in the back which is coo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Loved the patio in the back which is cooled by fans. Had the thin pizza and their hummus for an appetizer. Pizza was good but my personal taste is for a crispy crust and this was not. However i could have communicated that to the server and im sure it would have been done to my preference.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We were just at Stella Barra this evenin ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We were just at Stella Barra this evening. Pete G. was our server he was very courteous, friendly and attentive. Great first time visit. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thanks for making my bday so special!! ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Thanks for making my bday so special!! I have a gluten allergy and enjoyed the wide variety of pizzas and apps I could eat. My server even brought me a GF cookie for dessert!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Pizza was good, we had their peperoni on ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Pizza was good, we had their peperoni one, and there wasn't anything really special about it. If I go again, I'm going to try one of the pizzas with more adventurous toppings. Server was nice, but drinks took forever to come. Old fashioned was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

overall i was underwhelmed. it was dark, ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

overall i was underwhelmed. it was dark, noisy, and the prices were high for the portions/quality. it was good to try it and we finished all the food between the 4 of us. but for the prices, there are better options.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Excellent spot! GREAT pizza. We loved s ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Excellent spot! GREAT pizza. We loved sitting outside--that was the best!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely place but they never received my ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Lovely place but they never received my open table reservation and sat us anyway. It was very nice of them to do that. 😜

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We come here often and the pizza's alway ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We come here often and the pizza's always good so are the drinks. Service can be good or bad, unfortunately. It's a dark atmosphere with great music, if you want more light sit out on the patio, it's nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Wonderful pizzas, appetizers and salads ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Wonderful pizzas, appetizers and salads in a relaxed neighborhood setting.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there last night for the first t ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We went there last night for the first time. Overpriced food, noisy and surrounded by screaming kids. Waited for a long time for the food, waitress finally checked and found out the first pizza was burned and they had to remake it. Server comped the pizza and gave us a extra appetizer, which was nice however I would probably not go back. The place is too hectic.

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I want to like this place, but we've had ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I want to like this place, but we've had two poor experiences in a row. Slow service (the hostess was quite friendly however), burnt completely dried out pizza and pricey appetizers. I usually love LEYE restaurants, but this one misses the mark.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Nice place to grab a dinner with friends ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Nice place to grab a dinner with friends but service can be a little slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

As always- The food was great. I recomme ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

As always- The food was great. I recommend the truffle oil and mushroom pizza. If you are a fan of martinis, the bartender makes an amazing one.

Only complaint was that we were sat at a high top next to the kitchen. The space between my chair and the counter was very narrow, which caused me to be bumped several times by the waitstaff and customers. Other than that it was a great dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Nice place only problem is the wine list ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Nice place only problem is the wine list. It's changed over the years and it has missed the boat as of recent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I'm not from Chicago and all of the deep ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I'm not from Chicago and all of the deep dish places were too packed for dinner, so we discovered Stella Barra via OpenTable. We were all very happy with the meal (brussels sprouts! goat cheese appetizer! prosciutto and white sauce pizza!) and left very happy. Our waiter was attentive and friendly. The only thing I would say is that it was pretty loud in the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great pizza, good service, easy to get r ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great pizza, good service, easy to get reservation, very busy late in the day

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I have say that even though our pizza wa ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I have say that even though our pizza was fantastic & our server was outstanding our entire experience was ruined because they had the windows open on a 93 degree day. I understand the air conditioning was on, however it was still very hot inside - so hot that my mom couldn't enjoy the delicious pizza - she tried one piece and that was it. It was very disappointing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Yummy mushroom pizza, salads, cookies, a ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Yummy mushroom pizza, salads, cookies, and brussels sprouts.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Our pizza was burnt and over cooked, didn't say anything to the waiter because he was slow as is. Disappointed but apps were good. Follow up from Restaurant or lettuce entertain you would be appreciated

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

A-mazing pizza. I loved going here and t ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

A-mazing pizza. I loved going here and the staff was super nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had a party of 8 and it was fantastic! ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

I had a party of 8 and it was fantastic! Great food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for kids, adults, friends, events!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

I have been to Stella Barra many times (for dates, friends, business events) and have always been impressed. Recently took my nieces and nephew (8, 6, and 3), and the service was impeccable. The kids made their own pizza and had a ball. It was a very pleasant surprise to have that option for them, as I had never thought of it as a kid-friendly kind of place--but it definitely is. Great place for any kind of event.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service, and great food. We wi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Wonderful service, and great food. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Will, our server, was great! Very attent ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Will, our server, was great! Very attentive, knowledgeable, and friendly. Amazing service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food & waitress was great, but the hoste ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Food & waitress was great, but the hostess told opentable that we did not honor our reservation. The next day I got a nastygram from opentable scolding me for not showing up when I was actually there!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Food was greasy and not as good and seem ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Food was greasy and not as good and seemed to be down in quality from previous visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

GREAT service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

GREAT service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.