Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 41 times today

Stella Barra Pizzeria - Chicago

4.6
685 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Pizzeria
Top Tags:
  • Fun
  • Casual
  • Good for Groups
Stella Barra is an artisanal pizzeria with an eclectic menu inspired by the idea of simple honest cooking. Chef Jeff Mahin has developed a network of farms and purveyors to supply the restaurant with fresh-milled, 100% California flour for his handcrafted dough, as well as sustainably farmed organic produce, meats and cheeses. Pizza toppings range from prosciutto to shaved truffle to smoked bacon and can be served on a lighter “Thin Sin” pizza crust, or even gluten-free dough.

On Saturdays and Sundays from 10am-2pm, Stella Barra presents a chef-inspired brunch buffet for $21.95 complete with cinnamon rolls, breakfast enchiladas, caramelized french toast and more, plus $5 select brunch cocktails. Kids 10 & under eat FREE. Reservations accepted.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Pizzeria, Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
M-Thur 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday 4:00pm - 12:00am
Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am
Sunday 10:00am - 10:00pm

Brunch Buffet $19.95 Saturday & Sunday, 10:00am - 2:00pm
Happy Hour at the bar, Monday - Friday from 4:00pm-6:00pm

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(773) 634-4101
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chef/Partner Jeff Mahin
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Stella Barra has a private back patio seating up to 60 guests. The room sits beneath a retractable awning, which can be opened or closed (weather permitting). The space is also heated during the winter months, creating the perfect atmosphere to host baby and bridal showers, rehearsal dinners, birthdays, corporate events and more! The space is also available for buyouts, private daytime luncheons (Monday-Friday) and weekend gatherings.

To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, call our Catering Department at (773) 634-4101.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Halsted & Armitage
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet parking is offered for $14.00. Street parking is also available.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Just South East of the Brown Line on Armitage.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Stella Barra Pizzeria offers an ever-changing menu that spotlights Chef Mahin's knack for baking and utilizing fresh farmers market ingredients, in addition to small plates, appetizers and fresh salads.

Stella Barra has a private back patio space seating up to 60 guests. The space sits beneath a retractable awning, which can be opened or closed (weather permitting). The space is also heated during the winter months, creating the perfect atmosphere to host baby and bridal showers, rehearsal dinners, birthday parties, corporate events and more! The space also lends itself perfectly to full or partial restaurant buyouts, and is available Monday-Friday for private luncheons.

To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, please call our Sales & Special Events Department at (773) 634-4101.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Stella Barra Pizzeria offers an ever-changing menu that spotlights Chef Mahin's artisan pizzas, as well as a knack for baking and utilizing fresh farmers market ingredients, in addition to small plates, appetizers and fresh salads.

View Private Dining Details
What 685 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.3
service
4.4
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Great food. WAY too loud

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 3 days ago

The food and service were great, but it was so hard to have a conversation in the restaurant because the noise level was so loud.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Pizza great. Service slow and spotty. Our last entree came out five minutes late. Difficult to get a beer from our server who kept forgetting about our table.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Fantastic pizza! Our big Salads were excellent as well. Our waitress was very good. Gluten free options were sooo good! We celebrated Mother's Day there. We will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Save your money! We spent $200 on food while we were there on Sunday. I guess they didnt clean up the floor under our table for a couple of parties before us because there were crumbs on the floor and ants all around it. That doesnt happen quickly. Then our waiter was awful. I didnt want to give him any tip but decency got the best of me and we did tip him. Everytime we needed something, we had to get up and look for him or ask a host/bus boy to look for him. When he returned to our table we would ask him for something, for example, the kids meal we ordered and he would reply, oh it hasnt arrived yet?. Um no, it hasnt arrived yet. 1) Do you see it and 2) Would we ask you for it if it did arrive? Then the place was cold and we asked for the heat to be turned on or at least the fan turns off but that request was never fulfilled. We also asked our waiter to change the channel so we could watch the NBA game and it took several requests and it only happened after we asked someone else.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day brunch

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Worst experience I’ve ever had at a restaurant! Our waiter was also busting tables, taking care of the food at the brunch buffet and cleaning dishes! He brought us one round of drinks and never came back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day. Just good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

WoW , this was excellent

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Great pizza, great place! More families/children than I expected.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Wonderful gnocchi special. Great service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

It was a great place to get together with friends.. Hostess was very nice and accommodating we didn’t know they had a patio and asked if we could sit outside and she made it happen.. Server was excellent and attentive to table I would go back Pizza and Gluten Free were excellent

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Amazing pizza and salads! The sausage and burrata was delish.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

I went to brunch with my grade 5th grader son. So first of all, kids 10 and under eat free at the brunch buffet, which is nice, and there was plenty of kid friendly fare - Bacon Mac and Cheese, mini pancakes, yogurt parfaits with berries etc. At brunch it wasn't too noisy, even though there were a number of people there including several other families. The server was very helpful and friendly, and the coffee was excellent. I'll defiinitely go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

SO good. Tried the avocado & arugula pizza and would definitely get it again. Gluten free crust is awesome and comes out before other non-gluten free pizzas. Good wine & beer selection. Highly recommend making a reservation

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Took more than 45 minutes to get a simple ingredient pizza. Several tables were served their many pizza’s before our and they arrived later than we did. We had a goat cheese and arugula avocado pizza. The cheese and crust on our pizza was burnt, the only fresh part was the cold ingredients of avocado and arugula. Did not think the price was worth the wait.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 29, 2018

The service was extremely slow. They were busy, but 2+ hours for two cocktails a person, an app and two pizzas.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Always a great meal! Service is always great. You can split pizzas in half so you're able to try more of the great ones that they offer. Will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Nice place, friendly, vibrant, good food. The pizza is very good but make no mistake, it is purely cracker crust. So, if you don't like that kind of crust I suggest you don't come here. The appetizers we had were really good--pork meatballs and also the roasted Brussels sprouts. The regular pizza was oven fired with that dry crunchy crust. I can't imagine what the thin pizza is like.They have no dessert to speak of other than an array of cookies. I was disappointed in that. Don't expect an Italian pizzeria. It's a place for Millennials and Millennial parents with their kids. The service is very attentive and good. Do check it out and decide if it's your kind of place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

My friend and I came here for a Sunday brunch. We arrived just after our reservation time and were seated right away. The buffet was set up in the back of the restaurant and the cooks were constantly keeping an eye on it to keep it full and cleaned up. We didn't have to wait in the buffet line on either of our trips up, which was awesome. It definitely had more of a relaxed vibe, but great option for a low key Sunday unlimited brunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Amazing brunch deal with many unique options! Plus $5 bloodys? Who can beat that!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Stella Barra is usually a decent restaurant, but this time the service was as bad as it was slow and the food wasn’t much better. Disappointing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Me and my date had a good time .the food was great. We will come back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

The shaved mushroom pizza was outstanding. Don’t forget to stop at the bakery counter on the way out. Their selection is excellent and delicious.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Great Pizza, lively atmosphere, and polite, fast service. I’d recommend starting with Brussel sprouts, calamari & baratta.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Delicious food & craft cocktails -- and did I mention the baked goodies for dessert...definitely a must! I would definitely recommend.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

I went to Stella Barra my boyfriend to celebrate his birthday. Our server was excellent and she was very attentive. The ambiance was nice but the food was honestly pretty disappointing. We got the burrata which was pretty standard and a margherita pizza which did not have any cheese or basil on it which was so strange, as we figured it would be a standard pizza to have/order. I got a cacio y Pepe pizza which was really good, but we didn’t order enough thinking that the margherita pizza would be shared. For the price, we likely wouldn’t come back again as a result.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2018

I LOVE KELLI

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

It was good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

My family and I went here for Easter brunch. They now have a brunch buffet which I thought was a great value! It was $20 for all you can eat and they had great options- eggs, salmon on toast, chicken sausage, bacon, pancakes and parfaits to name a few. They also had $5 bloody marys, mimosas or bellini's! We sat in the back on the patio which was very bright and cozy. Too bad it wasn't warm out! They have a retractable roof. I will definitely be back here with friends and hopefully we can enjoy the patio once it's warmer out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Love Stella barra, their gluten free pizzas are TO DIE FOR!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Great pizza and drinks. Server was really nice too!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Best thin crust pizza in chicago. Great variety of options and creative combinations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

It was a great dinner for a family/friends get together! Everyone was happy with the pizza and let’s be real the cookies!!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 25, 2018

A bit disappointing, been to Stella and it’s counterpart Summer house a few times. This time service was rather slow - had to ask three times for water, we were warned the pizza would take 15-20 mins (due to brunch) it took about an hour. Our waiter never came back to let us know what the delay was. And in that time only came by once to check in over that time. Our water glass, club soda glass, and mimosa were empty more than they were full. Not the best experience.

Food itself was good when we finally got it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 21, 2018

Great food but felt rushed by waitress and as it was a Wednesday night with spare tables, it wasn’t really necessary.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

Stella Barra's pizza truly never disappoints. I tried the avocado and arugala pizza for the first time today and it was fantastic. Always fabulous service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

The brunch was amazing. Don't skip the enchiladas or the French toast!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

They have really good pizza. That is reason enough to come here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2018

Was great food

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
18

Tweets by Stella Barra Pizzeria - Chicago