Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About Stella Barra Pizzeria - Chicago

Stella Barra’s artisanal pizzas are made with fresh, sustainable ingredients from local farmers markets. The ever-changing seasonal menu features Chef Jeff Mahin’s handcrafted pizzas topped with housemade ingredients alongside a selection of market-driven small plates, salads and sandwiches. The rustic yet modern dining room features a cement-topped, rectangular bar serving artful cocktails, as well as a diverse list of Italian wines.

Pizza toppings range from prosciutto and egg to shaved mushroom to smoked bacon and can be served on a lighter “Thin Sin” pizza crust, or even gluten-free dough.

On Saturdays and Sundays from 10am-2pm, Stella Barra presents a chef-inspired brunch buffet for $19.95 complete with cinnamon rolls, breakfast enchiladas, caramelized french toast and more, plus $5 select brunch cocktails. Kids 10 & under eat FREE. Reservations accepted.

1954 N Halsted St
Chicago, IL 60614
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Pizzeria, Italian

Hours of Operation:
M-Thur 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday 4:00pm - 12:00am
Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am
Sunday 10:00am - 10:00pm

Brunch Buffet $19.95 Saturday & Sunday, 10:00am - 2:00pm
Happy Hour at the bar, Monday - Friday from 4:00pm-6:00pm

Cross Street:
Halsted & Armitage

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 634-4101

Website:
http://www.stellabarra.com/

Catering:
Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Stella Barra has a private back patio seating up to 60 guests. The room sits beneath a retractable awning, which can be opened or closed (weather permitting). The space is also heated during the winter months, creating the perfect atmosphere to host baby and bridal showers, rehearsal dinners, birthdays, corporate events and more! The space is also available for buyouts, private daytime luncheons (Monday-Friday) and weekend gatherings.

To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, call our Catering Department at (773) 634-4101.

Parking Details:
Valet parking for $14.00 is offered. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Just South East of the Brown Line on Armitage.

Executive Chef:
Chef Partner Jeff Mahin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Stella Barra Pizzeria offers an ever-changing menu that spotlights Chef Mahin's knack for baking and utilizing fresh farmers market ingredients, in addition to small plates, appetizers and fresh salads.

Stella Barra has a private back patio space seating up to 60 guests. The space sits beneath a retractable awning, which can be opened or closed (weather permitting). The space is also heated during the winter months, creating the perfect atmosphere to host baby and bridal showers, rehearsal dinners, birthday parties, corporate events and more! The space also lends itself perfectly to full or partial restaurant buyouts, and is available Monday-Friday for private luncheons.

To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, please call our Sales & Special Events Department at (773) 634-4101.

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

This Mother’s Day brunch, enjoy Stella Barra's new chef-inspired brunch buffet with Roasted Corn & Poblano Egg Enchiladas, Warm Brioche Cinnamon Rolls with vanilla bean glaze and cream cheese frosting, Caramelized French Toast, Yogurt Parfaits with granola and fresh berries and more.

Private Dining

Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Stella Barra Pizzeria offers an ever-changing menu that spotlights Chef Mahin's artisan pizzas, as well as a knack for baking and utilizing fresh farmers market ingredients, in addition to small plates, appetizers and fresh salads.

Stella Barra Pizzeria - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (29)
Good for a Date (28)
Fun (27)
See All
Bar Seating (22)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Great for Brunch (20)
Hot Spot (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Cozy (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Special Occasion (18)
Wood Oven (17)
Good for Groups (17)
People Watching (16)
Modern Decor (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Comfort Food (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Kid-friendly (12)
Open Kitchen (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Family Style (7)
Romantic (7)
Great Beer (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Healthy (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Authentic (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Private Room (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Live Sports (3)
Business Meals (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Tapas (3)
Fireplace (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Historic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
508 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

A wonderful neighborhood place. It is loud and energetic. The pizza is among the best in Chicago.

Tags: Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Delicious as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 18, 2017

I love going to Stella Barra their pizzas never disappoint. I've gotten their red and white sauces and have loved them both!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food and service. Went on a Saturday night, so it was busy and loud, making conversation difficult sometimes. We enjoyed ourselves!

Tags: Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This is my second time visiting Stella Barra for brunch and their buffet is by far one of the best I've ever had! Great option for a date or catching up with friends.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This place was great! The service lacked in some spots and they forgot one item we'd ordered. However, they made up for it with free dessert and didn't charge us for the item they'd forgotten. We were a large group so it was understandable. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Business Meals, Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Pizza selections were varied, and interesting. Also the wine list was varied and good.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The have 2 seat high tops on the left side of the restaurant (walking inside) and we sat there. Because the tables are crammed in, there's one small walkway for servers, guests, etc to walk through. Basically only one person can go through at a time which is very distracting as a diner and I'm sure annoying for the staff. It just didn't make for an inviting atmosphere. Won't be dining again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The pizza is always amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Brunch was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We went for brunch buffet on Sunday. It is $19.95 per person, the food and selection is very good. Valet parking is available for $14

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great for kids food. Pizza took forever. And was cold when we got it.

Tags: Bar Seating, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 20, 2017

The space looks great, and is right next to an excellent sister restaurant however the food I found to be extremely mediocre (and I am a huge Lettuce Ent fan) and the service was very flat. It just was not up to their normal caliber. Only one of our pizza's had any reasonable flavor, and even the salads and apps were just mediocre. Nothing was bad, but nothing was great.

Tags: Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great pizza, very accommodating for us since we didn't want cheese on any of our food items, they were able to modify multiple things on the menu. Thank you!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I've now been to Stella Barra three or four times in the last two months and I have had a pretty consistent experience: the food is good, nothing exceptionally special but very solid. The 'but' here, however, is that the service always seems to be a step behind. We've had multiple occasions where we are seated and have to wait over 5 minutes for a server to acknowledge us, unless we make it a point to find one or tell the hostess. After that, it always seems like the server is not very attentive or is too busy with other tables and doesn't come around very often.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Honestly was a major disappointment. Didn't realIze that the food was so bad before I brought my family in. Eeks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Went here for brunch with colleagues before going to a party and absolutely loved it. The brunch is incredible, with bacon, eggs, French toast, chicken sausage and pancakes...all done to perfection. The buffet was fresh, replenished often so nothing ever got old or cold sitting out. We also loved the drinks. How can you go wrong with $5 pear bellini's? And to top it off, our server was incredible. Happy, just interactive enough and totally attentive. I can't wait to go back. I've found my new favorite brunch spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Expected it to be so much fun and awesome place but turned out to be one of the worst experience.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The quality in service and food has changed from where it was when it first opened. The food is average not worth the price. You're paying for ambiance more than anything else. Service was not what it should have been- no silverware or napkins at the table, drinks were not brought to the table although we ordered twice. The waitress was nice but but busy. Overall the experience was underwhelming

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Staff was friendly, food delicious and back room was used to accommodate groups and noise level was not bad. We enjoyed our family get together with adult kids.
Thank you!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Good for Groups, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Quick Bite, Kid-friendly, Private Room, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The meatballs were great!! The glassware smelled like it needed to be rewashed or rinsed - which ruined the taste of the wine. Our server kept pulling the disappearing act. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Pizza was stupendous. We got the butternut squash bacon and mushroom white pizzas. The dough was super thin and delicious crust. It was as good as any pizza I have ever had. The Brussel sprout order was quite generous and delicious. I am looking forward to going back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 6, 2017

First timers! Wonderful experience. Couldn't get enough of the burrata--that delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Service was great. Food was excellent. Noise from surrounding tables in the back room was obnoxious!!
Also-kept smelling gas-we were sitting next to fireplace on back wall, it wasn't on-but could smell gas every so often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

As (almost) always, Stella Barra did not disappoint. Probably my upteenth visit since opening month. Highly recommend the mushroom pizza. YUMMERS. A little loud when a party (and I do mean a *party* of about 12 settled in at the next table. We could no longer hear each other, but what you going to do... Public restaurant, and not the establishment's fault. All-in, fabulous, will be back many more times....

Tags: Authentic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I love that they provided wine on the house for our anniversary celebration. Great service and food. Definitely going back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Casual, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I am not a pizza lover, but I love Stella - the pizza's are light and fluffy and their appetizers are all delicious. The atmosphere and decor are nice for a nicer meal with friends, with unbeatable prices when you compare it with alternative options for similar occasions.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great service and awesome Sunday brunch! Wait staff was excellent! Only negative was we had to wait a while for a high chair. That might have been because so many babies and toddlers not sure. Regardless very kid and group friendly. Will be back especially for brunch which was great deal with great fresh food which many places serving Sunday buffet brunch in the city does not have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This place has amazing pizzas but just discovered their awesome brunch buffet. Will def be back

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Best & most interesting Pizzas in town- their glutten free crust is outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Way too loud for me. Pizza was pretty good but not really worth the $15-18 price tag for 12". Cocktails are very good (unique) at $12 a piece. Seems to be extremely busy

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 24, 2017

One of the best italian style pizzas in Chicago! The brussels sprouts appetizer is simply amazing...a must try. It's a great portion which can be easily shared with two or three ppl.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Wood Oven, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We love going to Stella Barra on a Friday night for an early dinner with our 2 kids- 4 & 7. The kids live the make your own pizza & the pancakes, we love the pizzas, salads, cocktails & wine. Excellent food, great service.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was ok, service was below average (waitress forgot to put in our pizza order), drinks were good and the vibe was fun. For pizza, go to spacca napoli. For a fun vibe and average pizza, come here

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My fiance and I visited Stella Barra and totally enjoyed the outing, food, music and ambiance of the restaurant. We will definitely return. Great for a Saturday afternoon date day or just a get together with a few friends. I recommend the Italian salad and the sausage pizza, which was perfectly seasoned. I didn't feel guilty for taking in too many Pizza calories, as the pizza was on a very thin crust and was not full of cheese, but tasted great!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great pizza, in a real thin Neapolitan style. Nice choices, both red and white, and always an interesting daily special. The atmosphere is cozy and casual. The bar is large enough to sit comfortable and have dinner. Friendly and energetic staff.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Casual, Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines Day

Tags: Cozy, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Casual, Modern Decor, Family Style, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Loved our server. Very happy that the lighting was turned up (easier to see) and music turned down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food for brunch was delicious and a good value. However the service was fair at best. We waited several minutes after being seated for our server and then after we ordered he never came back to check on us or refill our coffee. We had to ask another server to track him down so we could get our plates cleared and get more coffee. We will return because the buffet was great but service could be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We would love to go again! This is a pleasure to visit and have a good meal before going to run errands and otherwise. Delicious variety of choices for brunch, very healthy. The waiter and manager were both very attentive. Loved the service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.