About Stella Barra Pizzeria - Chicago

1954 N Halsted St
Chicago, IL 60614
View Larger Map

Stella Barra, an artisanal pizzeria highlighting Chef Jeff Mahin's knack for baking and utilizing fresh farmers market ingredients, located on Halsted and Armitage in the heart of Lincoln Park. In addition to Mahin’s signature pizzas, the menu boasts a selection of small plates and fresh salads as well as house made pastas and seasonal roasted vegetables. Hand-crafted cookies, pastries and a selection of breads to go are also available from a market counter located in the front of the restaurant.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Pizzeria, Italian

Hours of Operation:
M-Thur 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday 4:00pm - 12:00am
Saturday 11:00am - 12:00am
Sunday 11:00am - 10:00pm

Happy Hour at the bar, Monday - Friday from 4:00pm-6:00pm
Brunch Saturday & Sunday, 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Halsted & Armitage

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 634-4101

Website:
http://www.stellabarra.com/

Catering:
Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Stella Barra has a private back patio seating up to 60 guests. The room sits beneath a retractable awning, which can be opened or closed (weather permitting). The space is also heated during the winter months, creating the perfect atmosphere to host baby and bridal showers, rehearsal dinners, birthdays, corporate events and more! The space is also available for buyouts, private daytime luncheons (Monday-Friday) and weekend gatherings.

To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, call our Catering Department at (773) 634-4101.

Parking Details:
Valet parking for $14.00 is offered. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Just South East of the Brown Line on Armitage.

Executive Chef:
Chef Partner Jeff Mahin

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Stella Barra Pizzeria offers an ever-changing menu that spotlights Chef Mahin's knack for baking and utilizing fresh farmers market ingredients, in addition to small plates, appetizers and fresh salads.

Stella Barra has a private back patio space seating up to 60 guests. The space sits beneath a retractable awning, which can be opened or closed (weather permitting). The space is also heated during the winter months, creating the perfect atmosphere to host baby and bridal showers, rehearsal dinners, birthday parties, corporate events and more! The space also lends itself perfectly to full or partial restaurant buyouts, and is available Monday-Friday for private luncheons.

To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, please call our Sales & Special Events Department at (773) 634-4101.

Private Dining

Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Stella Barra Pizzeria offers an ever-changing menu that spotlights Chef Mahin's artisan pizzas, as well as a knack for baking and utilizing fresh farmers market ingredients, in addition to small plates, appetizers and fresh salads.

Stella Barra Pizzeria - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Pizzeria
Chicago / Illinois
Best Restaurants in Lincoln Park ›

good for groups (63)
neighborhood gem (46)
fit for foodies (40)
See All
hot spot (35)
great for outdoor dining (31)
kid-friendly (27)
vibrant bar scene (23)
great for lunch (22)
great for brunch (16)
notable wine list (13)
special occasion (13)
romantic (12)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
373 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went there last night for the first t ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

We went there last night for the first time. Overpriced food, noisy and surrounded by screaming kids. Waited for a long time for the food, waitress finally checked and found out the first pizza was burned and they had to remake it. Server comped the pizza and gave us a extra appetizer, which was nice however I would probably not go back. The place is too hectic.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I want to like this place, but we've had ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I want to like this place, but we've had two poor experiences in a row. Slow service (the hostess was quite friendly however), burnt completely dried out pizza and pricey appetizers. I usually love LEYE restaurants, but this one misses the mark.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Nice place to grab a dinner with friends ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Nice place to grab a dinner with friends but service can be a little slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

As always- The food was great. I recomme ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

As always- The food was great. I recommend the truffle oil and mushroom pizza. If you are a fan of martinis, the bartender makes an amazing one.

Only complaint was that we were sat at a high top next to the kitchen. The space between my chair and the counter was very narrow, which caused me to be bumped several times by the waitstaff and customers. Other than that it was a great dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Nice place only problem is the wine list ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Nice place only problem is the wine list. It's changed over the years and it has missed the boat as of recent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I'm not from Chicago and all of the deep ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I'm not from Chicago and all of the deep dish places were too packed for dinner, so we discovered Stella Barra via OpenTable. We were all very happy with the meal (brussels sprouts! goat cheese appetizer! prosciutto and white sauce pizza!) and left very happy. Our waiter was attentive and friendly. The only thing I would say is that it was pretty loud in the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great pizza, good service, easy to get r ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great pizza, good service, easy to get reservation, very busy late in the day

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I have say that even though our pizza wa ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I have say that even though our pizza was fantastic & our server was outstanding our entire experience was ruined because they had the windows open on a 93 degree day. I understand the air conditioning was on, however it was still very hot inside - so hot that my mom couldn't enjoy the delicious pizza - she tried one piece and that was it. It was very disappointing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Yummy mushroom pizza, salads, cookies, a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Yummy mushroom pizza, salads, cookies, and brussels sprouts.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Our pizza was burnt and over cooked, didn't say anything to the waiter because he was slow as is. Disappointed but apps were good. Follow up from Restaurant or lettuce entertain you would be appreciated

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

A-mazing pizza. I loved going here and t ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

A-mazing pizza. I loved going here and the staff was super nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had a party of 8 and it was fantastic! ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

I had a party of 8 and it was fantastic! Great food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for kids, adults, friends, events!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

I have been to Stella Barra many times (for dates, friends, business events) and have always been impressed. Recently took my nieces and nephew (8, 6, and 3), and the service was impeccable. The kids made their own pizza and had a ball. It was a very pleasant surprise to have that option for them, as I had never thought of it as a kid-friendly kind of place--but it definitely is. Great place for any kind of event.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service, and great food. We wi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Wonderful service, and great food. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Will, our server, was great! Very attent ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Will, our server, was great! Very attentive, knowledgeable, and friendly. Amazing service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food & waitress was great, but the hoste ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Food & waitress was great, but the hostess told opentable that we did not honor our reservation. The next day I got a nastygram from opentable scolding me for not showing up when I was actually there!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Food was greasy and not as good and seem ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Food was greasy and not as good and seemed to be down in quality from previous visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

GREAT service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

GREAT service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was very slow- we sat down and w ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Service was very slow- we sat down and waited 30 minutes for drinks once we had ordered. 15 Minutes after we ordered, They brought the wine out 5 minutes went by then 1 of the cocktails, then 5 more minutes and 1 beer and then we finally had to ask for the final beer. The service did not get much better from there, but food was good. Music was very loud making it very hard to talk, we like a lively atmoshphere, but we had to scream over the music to hear each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Great Pizza and Burrata

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I love Stella Barra! It has a great ambiance and awesome outdoor patio. I love their food, the egg & prosciutto pizza and butternut squash bacon pizza are out of this world!! One of my favorite pizza's in Chicago (not a deep dish fan). Of course, you can't leave without stopping to get mouth-watering cookies.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BIRTHDAY DINNER

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Overall a good experience, the front space looked amazing. Unfortunately we were seated in the back room where the ambience looked like a scenery from olive garden. Pizza was good but nothing spectacular.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

The thin crust pizza was delicious. The ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The thin crust pizza was delicious. The dough had just enough crunch to it and the toppings were fresh and delicious. Served hot and by very helpful wait staff too. Great ambiance and buzz and energy in the room made it fun to dine.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time there. Great food and service ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

First time there. Great food and service. One of the people I went with was gluten free and she said the gluten free pizza was amazing. We had some too and we agreed! Cookies were great too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lively spot with good casual Italian far ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Lively spot with good casual Italian fare that's relatively affordable. Cocktails are hit or miss. I recommend the dark & stormy. Food is much better than Summer House next door. I really liked the butternut squash pizza and brussels sprouts. Great for any occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Pizza is decent. Nice crispy crust and f ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Pizza is decent. Nice crispy crust and fresh, tasty ingredients. Nothing incredible or new, but we thoroughly enjoyed both the bacon and pesto pizzas respectively. Service was so slow on a Thursday evening that it took over 20 minutes to receive drinks and almost 2 hours for 2 pizzas and a salad. Quite the happening spot. Lots of families with kids surprisingly. Very loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Our new server in training was great. An ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Our new server in training was great. Andra is a natural. We sat in the back room where the roof was retraced and enjoyed a nice alfresco experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent! But the cookie was d ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Food was excellent! But the cookie was dry...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

EXCELLENT

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We loved every bite! Our server Alfredo was amazing and the restaurant sent over Proscecco and dessert on the house for our anniversary! Can't wait to come back!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved Stella Barra! Great food & gre ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We loved Stella Barra! Great food & great service! Sunday nights kids also get to make their own pizza! Definite plus!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pizza Time

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Had an old friend in town for dinner, made 9pm reservation for 3. We arrived at 8:00pm just in case they could seat us a little earlier. Hostesses were very friendly and told us it was looking closer to our actual reservation time, which was fine so we grabbed a drink at the bar and hung out in the lobby. A few managers also started passing around some prosecco for those waiting which was great! At 8:45pm we were seated, so we did get in a little earlier than our 9pm reservation. We started off with the calamari and brussel sprouts. The calamari was ok, nothing special. The Brussel sprouts were great though, very crispy and appetizing. The 3 of us also shared 2 pizzas (The Meat Lover's and The Rossa), both were excellent. Service was great.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Wonderful!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

All food was delicious and Heather, the manager, was wonderful. She stopped by to make sure everything was going well and we were enjoying the evening. I have been here a few times and I have always been impressed with the food, service, and ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ok not great

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Stella Barra Pizzeria has good pizza but nothing sooo special.

We tried the Hobbs Pepperoni and Driftless Ricotta.

Baked Local Goat Cheese was very good.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Qu to come service; very attentive waitr ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Qu to come service; very attentive waitress

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My Fav

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

This is my fav pizza place in Chicago (and Santa Monica) right now. It is all in the dough, love their crust and toppings.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Hip and kid-friendly who knew the two go together

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

My daughters love this place because they get to make their own pizzas. Kids get to sit in front of the professional pizza makers and watch what they do while having the chance to make their own. My girls always ask to go back here. I love their mushroom pizza. The truffle oil adds just the right touch. The music is a little loud but as a mom with little kids it's nice to have a cover up for my little ones fussing. The atmosphere

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome spot for a pizza. I love the fac ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Awesome spot for a pizza. I love the fact that you can order two flavors split down the middle since the pizza's are large, making it the perfect meal for two. Grab a cookie from Summer House on the way out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We went on a Friday night and it was pac ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

We went on a Friday night and it was packed with children (truly felt like chuck e cheese haha). The food was good though - we got the smoked bacon and goat cheese pizza (DELICIOUS) and the shaved mushroom as well (not as great).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Great pizza, the thin sin crust pleasant ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

Great pizza, the thin sin crust pleasantly substantive and crispy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Food was great. Probably one of the bes ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Food was great. Probably one of the best tomato sauces I've had in awhile

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Outstanding food. Only complaint is the ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Outstanding food. Only complaint is the music playing. It was really hard to have a conversation without you saying, "what." Otherwise it was a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.