About Stella Barra Pizzeria - Chicago

1954 N Halsted St
Chicago, IL 60614
View Larger Map

Stella Barra’s artisanal pizzas are made with fresh, sustainable ingredients from local farmers markets. The ever-changing seasonal menu features Chef Jeff Mahin’s handcrafted pizzas topped with housemade ingredients alongside a selection of market-driven small plates, salads and sandwiches. The rustic yet modern dining room features a cement-topped, rectangular bar serving artful cocktails, as well as a diverse list of Italian wines.

Pizza toppings range from prosciutto and egg to shaved mushroom to smoked bacon and can be served on a lighter “Thin Sin” pizza crust, or even gluten-free dough.

On Saturdays and Sundays from 10am-2pm, Stella Barra presents a chef-inspired brunch buffet for $19.95 complete with cinnamon rolls, breakfast enchiladas, caramelized french toast and more, plus $5 select brunch cocktails. Kids 10 & under eat FREE. Reservations accepted.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Pizzeria, Italian

Hours of Operation:
M-Thur 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday 4:00pm - 12:00am
Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am
Sunday 10:00am - 10:00pm

Brunch Buffet $19.95 Saturday & Sunday, 10:00am - 2:00pm
Happy Hour at the bar, Monday - Friday from 4:00pm-6:00pm

Cross Street:
Halsted & Armitage

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 634-4101

Website:
http://www.stellabarra.com/

Catering:
Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Stella Barra has a private back patio seating up to 60 guests. The room sits beneath a retractable awning, which can be opened or closed (weather permitting). The space is also heated during the winter months, creating the perfect atmosphere to host baby and bridal showers, rehearsal dinners, birthdays, corporate events and more! The space is also available for buyouts, private daytime luncheons (Monday-Friday) and weekend gatherings.

To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, call our Catering Department at (773) 634-4101.

Parking Details:
Valet parking for $14.00 is offered. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Just South East of the Brown Line on Armitage.

Executive Chef:
Chef Partner Jeff Mahin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Stella Barra Pizzeria offers an ever-changing menu that spotlights Chef Mahin's knack for baking and utilizing fresh farmers market ingredients, in addition to small plates, appetizers and fresh salads.

Stella Barra has a private back patio space seating up to 60 guests. The space sits beneath a retractable awning, which can be opened or closed (weather permitting). The space is also heated during the winter months, creating the perfect atmosphere to host baby and bridal showers, rehearsal dinners, birthday parties, corporate events and more! The space also lends itself perfectly to full or partial restaurant buyouts, and is available Monday-Friday for private luncheons.

To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, please call our Sales & Special Events Department at (773) 634-4101.

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Share a handcrafted pizza with locally sourced toppings this Valentine's Day. Add an artful cocktail into the mix and top it all off with a cookie from the Market. Make your reservation today for a romantic evening out.

Private Dining

Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Stella Barra Pizzeria offers an ever-changing menu that spotlights Chef Mahin's artisan pizzas, as well as a knack for baking and utilizing fresh farmers market ingredients, in addition to small plates, appetizers and fresh salads.

Stella Barra Pizzeria - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (28)
Fun (21)
Good for a Date (19)
See All
Bar Seating (15)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Wood Oven (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Cozy (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Family Style (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Live Sports (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Tapas (3)
Great Beer (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Vegan (2)
Authentic (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Business Meals (2)
People Watching (2)
Fireplace (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Historic (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
451 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went for the Sunday brunch buffet. Fo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 2 days ago

We went for the Sunday brunch buffet. Food selection was great and delicious. $5 cocktails were pretty generous in size too.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We LOVE SB.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

We LOVE SB.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great atmosphere and good pizza! The Cri ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great atmosphere and good pizza! The Crispy Brussels Sprouts appetizer is delicious.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First, there was a mix up with Open Tabl ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

First, there was a mix up with Open Table saying we were a no show. The host never checked us off. The kale salad and crispy brussel sprouts were outstanding. The pizza, however, was disappointing. That is why we came here. Though the crust is highly touted, it was not very good. Tasted slightly burnt, and not much flavor. Had none of the chewiness of authentic Neopolitan pizza. The sauce was dry and too sweet. Rather flavorless pizza overall. Service was very good. Too noisy.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

My favorite pizza in all of Chicago (my ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My favorite pizza in all of Chicago (my other favorites include Homeslice and Piece Pizza).

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Organic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place to eat family style with t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 12, 2017

A great place to eat family style with tasty, different pizzas! Definitely recommend the egg and prosciutto thin sin pizza

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always like this spot. Great atmosphere ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Always like this spot. Great atmosphere and food is on point. The charred brussel sprouts and burrata is excellent. All of their pizzas are nice and thin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The prosciutto and eggs was great. The B ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The prosciutto and eggs was great. The Brussels sprouts outstanding. Graet decor.

Tags: People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Casual, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite gluten free crust always! Fo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 5, 2017

My favorite gluten free crust always! Food is awesome and great service

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch spread

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great brunch spread

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pizza took a bit of time to get to the t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Pizza took a bit of time to get to the table other than that everything was superb . Our server was very attentive . Pizza was amazingly delicious. We ordered a cheese and a Rossa ( spicy and yum!). Size of the pizza was quite big about 12"

Noisy place , decor was dark and moody . Nice place to go with friends and a causal yet nice experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I was disappointed with the Burrata appe ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I was disappointed with the Burrata appetizer. I remember it being much better. But the kale and spinach pizza and the sausage and fennel pizza were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Loud and chaotic. Our waiter was not att ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Loud and chaotic. Our waiter was not attentive and rarely came to the table. Service from the kitchen was extremely slow. Our food did not arrive for an hour and twenty minutes due to "a back up in the kitchen." I mean COME ON it's only PIZZA.

Once it finally arrived our food was tasty and hot and was really quite good. Unfortunately due to the exceeding long wait and the poor service our party was moody and upset so the night was a huge disappointment for us all.

Next time we will go to Piece.

Pass on Stella Barra.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Excellent meal with friends to kick off ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Excellent meal with friends to kick off the holiday weekend! Great food, good wine, amazing service! Jaron was a phenomenal waiter, he made our night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was spectacular! Every time I've di ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Food was spectacular! Every time I've dined here I am always pleased with absolutely everything! Will definitely return to dine again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was obnoxious, but food was ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Our server was obnoxious, but food was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Not that great.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Not that great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Service was slow. My friend ordered sau ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Service was slow. My friend ordered sausage pizza with no fennel. We were not told there was fennel mixed in the sausage . Waitress asked if we wanted a new pizza and we asked how long and she said 10 minutes. My friend re-ordered pepperoni pizza with no Parmesan on top. 30 minutes later the pizza finally came with of course Parmesan on top. Waitress wisked off with the pizza. While we were not charged, it would have been nice to have some good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Very good service. Unique pizzas that w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Very good service. Unique pizzas that were all very flavorful. A nice environment that works well for families with kids or couples looking for a night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good service. Will definitely come ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Very good service. Will definitely come back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were part of a family gathering inclu ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We were part of a family gathering including people on special diets. Everyone was accommodated with no problem. The service was excellent and they set up a table for all of us. The food was great and we all had a good time. Our waiter was particularly helpful.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

For the past 2 years, I have been routin ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

For the past 2 years, I have been routinely driving between Ukranian Village and Wrigleyville always passing by a very popular pizza restaurant: Stella Barra. During any given time of day, the restaurant is packed. Recently, we had an opportunity to dine at Stella Barra. Stella Barra does have valet parking but, we choose to park in a local garage. Upon entering the foyer of the restaurant we discovered there are actually 2 restaurants sharing the same entrance: Summer House, a light, bright California style restaurant on the left and Stella Barra on the right. It's a little confusing on your first visit. Heads up, they also share the same bathroom which is located in Summer House, kinda awkward to navigate back and forth.

After waiting for over 2 years to dine at the restaurant, our overall impression left us wanting more flavor and menu choices. Though the restaurant has been there several years, the decor is very simplistic. It reminds me of a temporary restaurant that has been set up for a cooking show finale. The menu is limited to pizza, salad and a few appetizer choices. We passed on the appetizers, just couldn't get pass paying $12.95 for pork meatballs and $13.95 for cauliflower humus. And no thanks to brussel sprouts as an appetizer.

We ordered one white and one red pizza. Our waiter informed us that there would be a wait for the pizzas to cook. OK, but we didn't really understand why the long wait due to the fact pizza cooks very quickly in a wood burning oven. Our two pizzas did arrive within 15 minutes or less. The margherita pizza was basic and bland, no hearty flavor to the red sauce. The prosciutto and egg had more flavor but, only so-so. We had to flag down our waiter to get a steak knife to cut both pizzas even though they had been "pre-sliced" only not all the way through.

For 2 pizzas and 1 glass of wine, which I counted a total of 9 sips, our bill was $45, kinda pricey. We were not impressed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Wood Oven, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Delicious pizza and wonderful ambiance! ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Delicious pizza and wonderful ambiance! We sat in the back area with beautiful twinkle lights and comfortable seats against the wall. lounged, had drink, ate pizza, and couldn't ask for more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

great pizza and good service. best bruss ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

great pizza and good service. best brussel sprouts ever

Tags: , Good for a Date, Vegan, Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I went specifically for b ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My husband and I went specifically for brunch yesterday, and were surprised to learn upon arrival that they weren't serving brunch. Because they had a private event in the main dining room they were serving their normal menu. We were also disappointed that we couldn't be seated in the main dining room as we'd been looking forward to the cozy ambiance. We wound up on the back patio which was covered and heated due to the cooler temps, and I will say that the entire experience turned out to be really, really wonderful. Our server couldn't have been more friendly or on top of things, and the food was out of this world. We shared the crispy brussels sprouts and pizza with smoked bacon, goat cheese, and gruyere. Highly recommend and we will DEFINITELY be back! Way to turn it around, Stella Barra.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Really well made thin crust pizza, fresh ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Really well made thin crust pizza, fresh ingredients, outstanding flavor. Service was a bit harried on our Monday visit, they were seemingly understaffed. Overall though, we keep going back to Stella for simple, delicious food, enjoyable environment, and strong value.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Fun, , Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place to celebrate a bday with fri ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great place to celebrate a bday with friends! We had the buffet brunch and it was excellent, with a lot of choices. There is even a little table for special brunch selections for kids! Recommended!!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, , Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Casual, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lively evening with good drinks and gr ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

A lively evening with good drinks and great pizza. Our server was terrific!

Try one of the pizzas that sounds different, the butternut squash pizza was out of this world!! Good for small groups or couples.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Stella Barra is our go-to favorite place ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Stella Barra is our go-to favorite place for dinner with consistently great service and a rotating delicious menu. Absolutely the best gluten-free pizza in Chicago! Thank you so much for being a leader in offering excellent g-f options, including chocolate-chip cookies!

Tags: Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Food and great service! I like t ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Good Food and great service! I like the pizza and salad variety. Great place to for any occasion!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food is very good and upscale, however, ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food is very good and upscale, however, their servers need training. We've been to Summer House and Stella Barra several times and the service is repeatedly rude and intrusive.

Tags: Live Sports, Casual, Fun, Seasonal, Vegan, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Beautifully designed and great ambiance. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Beautifully designed and great ambiance. Loved the back area with the wall fireplace and lighting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Had what might be the best gluten free p ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Had what might be the best gluten free pizza I've ever had in my life! I'm vegetarian and celiac and had choices. I chose the avocado & pesto white pizza. It's so tasty, with a bit of spice, and unique. Half the pizza went home with me and is just as good a day later.

The atmosphere was buzzing with all kinds of patrons from families to couples to mother/daughter diners to girls-night-out groups. The lighting is trendy and decorative but dark compared to its sister restaurant Summer House.

This is a great place I'd love to visit again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Solid place. The pizza was very good. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Solid place. The pizza was very good. The burrata dish with grilled grapes was quite strange, but otherwise we enjoyed everything.

Service was also very pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Delicious pizza and our server was so in ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Delicious pizza and our server was so informative and helpful. Will definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I went for their new all-y ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

My friend and I went for their new all-you-can-eat brunch buffet. The options were diverse and creative. Delicious!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We came here for a date-night and everyt ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We came here for a date-night and everything was absolutely wonderful. We were sat a table near the open kitchen and our serve was super friendly and was able to offer us a split-sauce pizza since we could;t decided between red or white sauce pizza. The thin crust was cooked perfectly, still super crispy!! The kale salad was a great addition - just the right amount of spice. We finished the meal with a warm cookie and ice cream, which was really very tasty!! We will definitely be back again with friends!!! Great value - we each had two drinks and split a salad, pizza and dessert for about $80.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had Open table reservation. Over 40 minu ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Had Open table reservation. Over 40 minute wait. Restaurant comped apps and first round of drinks. Appreciate trying to make thing right

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

We had a great time, the place is very c ...

 
 (México)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We had a great time, the place is very cool and the service excellent. I have too kids and it was very kid friendly.

It looks perfect for drinks with friends as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Outstanding gluten free pizza and bread! ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Outstanding gluten free pizza and bread! Highly recommended.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.