About Stella Barra Pizzeria - Chicago

1954 N Halsted St
Chicago, IL 60614
View Larger Map

Stella Barra, an artisanal pizzeria highlighting Chef Jeff Mahin's knack for baking and utilizing fresh farmers market ingredients, located on Halsted and Armitage in the heart of Lincoln Park. In addition to Mahin’s signature pizzas, the menu boasts a selection of small plates and fresh salads as well as house made pastas and seasonal roasted vegetables. Hand-crafted cookies, pastries and a selection of breads to go are also available from a market counter located in the front of the restaurant.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Pizzeria, Italian

Hours of Operation:
M-Thur 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday 4:00pm - 12:00am
Saturday 11:00am - 12:00am
Sunday 11:00am - 10:00pm

Happy Hour at the bar, Monday - Friday from 4:00pm-6:00pm
Brunch Saturday & Sunday, 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Halsted & Armitage

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 634-4101

Website:
http://www.stellabarra.com/

Catering:
Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Stella Barra has a private back patio seating up to 60 guests. The room sits beneath a retractable awning, which can be opened or closed (weather permitting). The space is also heated during the winter months, creating the perfect atmosphere to host baby and bridal showers, rehearsal dinners, birthdays, corporate events and more! The space is also available for buyouts, private daytime luncheons (Monday-Friday) and weekend gatherings.

To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, call our Catering Department at (773) 634-4101.

Parking Details:
Valet parking for $14.00 is offered. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Just South East of the Brown Line on Armitage.

Executive Chef:
Chef Partner Jeff Mahin

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Stella Barra Pizzeria offers an ever-changing menu that spotlights Chef Mahin's knack for baking and utilizing fresh farmers market ingredients, in addition to small plates, appetizers and fresh salads.

Stella Barra has a private back patio space seating up to 60 guests. The space sits beneath a retractable awning, which can be opened or closed (weather permitting). The space is also heated during the winter months, creating the perfect atmosphere to host baby and bridal showers, rehearsal dinners, birthday parties, corporate events and more! The space also lends itself perfectly to full or partial restaurant buyouts, and is available Monday-Friday for private luncheons.

To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, please call our Sales & Special Events Department at (773) 634-4101.

Private Dining

Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Stella Barra Pizzeria offers an ever-changing menu that spotlights Chef Mahin's artisan pizzas, as well as a knack for baking and utilizing fresh farmers market ingredients, in addition to small plates, appetizers and fresh salads.

Stella Barra Pizzeria - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Pizzeria
Chicago / Illinois
Best Restaurants in Lincoln Park ›

good for groups (67)
neighborhood gem (49)
fit for foodies (41)
See All
hot spot (40)
kid-friendly (29)
great for outdoor dining (25)
great for lunch (25)
vibrant bar scene (23)
great for brunch (18)
special occasion (18)
romantic (15)
notable wine list (13)
late-night find (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
366 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm not from Chicago and all of the deep ...

Dined 5 days ago

I'm not from Chicago and all of the deep dish places were too packed for dinner, so we discovered Stella Barra via OpenTable. We were all very happy with the meal (brussels sprouts! goat cheese appetizer! prosciutto and white sauce pizza!) and left very happy. Our waiter was attentive and friendly. The only thing I would say is that it was pretty loud in the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great pizza, good service, easy to get r ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Great pizza, good service, easy to get reservation, very busy late in the day

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have say that even though our pizza wa ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

I have say that even though our pizza was fantastic & our server was outstanding our entire experience was ruined because they had the windows open on a 93 degree day. I understand the air conditioning was on, however it was still very hot inside - so hot that my mom couldn't enjoy the delicious pizza - she tried one piece and that was it. It was very disappointing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Worst service ever! I made reservations ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Worst service ever! I made reservations a few days in advance. When we got there we were seated right away, but on a dirty table. Place was not full so there were more tables we could have sat at. Wee waited 15 minutes. No one gave us water or menus. We eventually left and told the lady at the front we were leaving. She did not try to make things better instead said okay bye. There were people going around taking dirty plates from other occupied tables yet no one to serve someone that just came in. When I made the reservation I specifically wrote for an anniversary. Worst experince

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Yummy mushroom pizza, salads, cookies, a ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Yummy mushroom pizza, salads, cookies, and brussels sprouts.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Food

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Our pizza was burnt and over cooked, didn't say anything to the waiter because he was slow as is. Disappointed but apps were good. Follow up from Restaurant or lettuce entertain you would be appreciated

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I had a party of 8 and it was fantastic! ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

I had a party of 8 and it was fantastic! Great food and great service

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for kids, adults, friends, events!

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

I have been to Stella Barra many times (for dates, friends, business events) and have always been impressed. Recently took my nieces and nephew (8, 6, and 3), and the service was impeccable. The kids made their own pizza and had a ball. It was a very pleasant surprise to have that option for them, as I had never thought of it as a kid-friendly kind of place--but it definitely is. Great place for any kind of event.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful service, and great food. We wi ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

Wonderful service, and great food. We will be back!

food5
ambience5
service5

Will, our server, was great! Very attent ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Will, our server, was great! Very attentive, knowledgeable, and friendly. Amazing service!!!

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Food & waitress was great, but the hoste ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Food & waitress was great, but the hostess told opentable that we did not honor our reservation. The next day I got a nastygram from opentable scolding me for not showing up when I was actually there!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience3
service3

Food was greasy and not as good and seem ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Food was greasy and not as good and seemed to be down in quality from previous visit.

food5
ambience5
service5

GREAT service

Dined on May 22, 2016

GREAT service

food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Service was very slow- we sat down and w ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

Service was very slow- we sat down and waited 30 minutes for drinks once we had ordered. 15 Minutes after we ordered, They brought the wine out 5 minutes went by then 1 of the cocktails, then 5 more minutes and 1 beer and then we finally had to ask for the final beer. The service did not get much better from there, but food was good. Music was very loud making it very hard to talk, we like a lively atmoshphere, but we had to scream over the music to hear each other.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Pizza and Burrata

Dined on May 22, 2016

I love Stella Barra! It has a great ambiance and awesome outdoor patio. I love their food, the egg & prosciutto pizza and butternut squash bacon pizza are out of this world!! One of my favorite pizza's in Chicago (not a deep dish fan). Of course, you can't leave without stopping to get mouth-watering cookies.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

BIRTHDAY DINNER

Dined on May 21, 2016

Overall a good experience, the front space looked amazing. Unfortunately we were seated in the back room where the ambience looked like a scenery from olive garden. Pizza was good but nothing spectacular.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The thin crust pizza was delicious. The ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

The thin crust pizza was delicious. The dough had just enough crunch to it and the toppings were fresh and delicious. Served hot and by very helpful wait staff too. Great ambiance and buzz and energy in the room made it fun to dine.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time there. Great food and service ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

First time there. Great food and service. One of the people I went with was gluten free and she said the gluten free pizza was amazing. We had some too and we agreed! Cookies were great too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service1

Pizza is decent. Nice crispy crust and f ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Pizza is decent. Nice crispy crust and fresh, tasty ingredients. Nothing incredible or new, but we thoroughly enjoyed both the bacon and pesto pizzas respectively. Service was so slow on a Thursday evening that it took over 20 minutes to receive drinks and almost 2 hours for 2 pizzas and a salad. Quite the happening spot. Lots of families with kids surprisingly. Very loud.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our new server in training was great. An ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Our new server in training was great. Andra is a natural. We sat in the back room where the roof was retraced and enjoyed a nice alfresco experience.

food4
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent! But the cookie was d ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Food was excellent! But the cookie was dry...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EXCELLENT

Dined on May 8, 2016

We loved every bite! Our server Alfredo was amazing and the restaurant sent over Proscecco and dessert on the house for our anniversary! Can't wait to come back!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved Stella Barra! Great food & gre ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

We loved Stella Barra! Great food & great service! Sunday nights kids also get to make their own pizza! Definite plus!!

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Pizza Time

Dined on April 30, 2016

Had an old friend in town for dinner, made 9pm reservation for 3. We arrived at 8:00pm just in case they could seat us a little earlier. Hostesses were very friendly and told us it was looking closer to our actual reservation time, which was fine so we grabbed a drink at the bar and hung out in the lobby. A few managers also started passing around some prosecco for those waiting which was great! At 8:45pm we were seated, so we did get in a little earlier than our 9pm reservation. We started off with the calamari and brussel sprouts. The calamari was ok, nothing special. The Brussel sprouts were great though, very crispy and appetizing. The 3 of us also shared 2 pizzas (The Meat Lover's and The Rossa), both were excellent. Service was great.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

Dined on April 30, 2016

All food was delicious and Heather, the manager, was wonderful. She stopped by to make sure everything was going well and we were enjoying the evening. I have been here a few times and I have always been impressed with the food, service, and ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Ok not great

Dined on April 30, 2016

Stella Barra Pizzeria has good pizza but nothing sooo special. We tried the Hobbs Pepperoni and Driftless Ricotta. Baked Local Goat Cheese was very good.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Qu to come service; very attentive waitr ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Qu to come service; very attentive waitress

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

My Fav

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

This is my fav pizza place in Chicago (and Santa Monica) right now. It is all in the dough, love their crust and toppings.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Hip and kid-friendly who knew the two go together

Dined on April 24, 2016

My daughters love this place because they get to make their own pizzas. Kids get to sit in front of the professional pizza makers and watch what they do while having the chance to make their own. My girls always ask to go back here. I love their mushroom pizza. The truffle oil adds just the right touch. The music is a little loud but as a mom with little kids it's nice to have a cover up for my little ones fussing. The atmosphere

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food4
ambience2
service3

We went on a Friday night and it was pac ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

We went on a Friday night and it was packed with children (truly felt like chuck e cheese haha). The food was good though - we got the smoked bacon and goat cheese pizza (DELICIOUS) and the shaved mushroom as well (not as great).

food4
ambience4
service3

Great pizza, the thin sin crust pleasant ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

Great pizza, the thin sin crust pleasantly substantive and crispy.

food5
ambience5
service4

Food was great. Probably one of the bes ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Food was great. Probably one of the best tomato sauces I've had in awhile

food5
ambience5
service4

Outstanding food. Only complaint is the ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Outstanding food. Only complaint is the music playing. It was really hard to have a conversation without you saying, "what." Otherwise it was a great experience.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious thin crust pizza.

Dined on April 9, 2016

Next time ordering my own! We shared 2 pies and I think I could have eaten my own because it was really good. We shared a kale/spinach pie and one of the specials. Both were very very good. Service was good. I would definitely come back here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent I can't wait to g ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

The food was excellent I can't wait to go back and try the white pizza I kept smelling!

food3
ambience3
service4

The brussels sprouts and salted caramel ...

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

The brussels sprouts and salted caramel pudding were delicious. But the Margherita pizza was kind of lame. There are too many good pizza spots in Chicago to come back for that.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious!

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

Arguably the best gluten free pizza I've ever had. Delicious thin crust! Burrata and chips are great, too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Boyz day out

Dined on March 20, 2016

Great experience at Stella Barra. Our server Eric was very attentive and knowledgeable in food selections. The calamari was an excellent choice. Drinks were spirited perfectly. Ambience great. We enjoyed our Stella Barra eexperience. And plan to visit Summer house next door very soon.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Slow!!!!

Dined on March 19, 2016

Been here a couple times now. Service is just flat out slow. Food is good but inconsistent. If not for the Rice Krispie treats I may come less often.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Everything is delicious here, especially the brussel sprouts!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.