Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.55mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About Stella Barra Pizzeria - Chicago

Stella Barra is an artisanal pizzeria with an eclectic menu inspired by the idea of simple honest cooking. Chef Jeff Mahin has developed a network of farms and purveyors to supply the restaurant with fresh-milled, 100% California flour for his handcrafted dough, as well as sustainably farmed organic produce, meats and cheeses. Pizza toppings range from prosciutto to shaved truffle to smoked bacon and can be served on a lighter “Thin Sin” pizza crust, or even gluten-free dough.

On Saturdays and Sundays from 10am-2pm, Stella Barra presents a chef-inspired brunch buffet for $19.95 complete with cinnamon rolls, breakfast enchiladas, caramelized french toast and more, plus $5 select brunch cocktails. Kids 10 & under eat FREE. Reservations accepted.

1954 N Halsted St
Chicago, IL 60614
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Pizzeria, Italian

Hours of Operation:
M-Thur 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday 4:00pm - 12:00am
Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am
Sunday 10:00am - 10:00pm

Brunch Buffet $19.95 Saturday & Sunday, 10:00am - 2:00pm
Happy Hour at the bar, Monday - Friday from 4:00pm-6:00pm

Cross Street:
Halsted & Armitage

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 634-4101

Website:
http://www.stellabarra.com/

Catering:
Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Stella Barra has a private back patio seating up to 60 guests. The room sits beneath a retractable awning, which can be opened or closed (weather permitting). The space is also heated during the winter months, creating the perfect atmosphere to host baby and bridal showers, rehearsal dinners, birthdays, corporate events and more! The space is also available for buyouts, private daytime luncheons (Monday-Friday) and weekend gatherings.

To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, call our Catering Department at (773) 634-4101.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is offered for $14.00. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Just South East of the Brown Line on Armitage.

Executive Chef:
Chef/Partner Jeff Mahin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Stella Barra Pizzeria offers an ever-changing menu that spotlights Chef Mahin's knack for baking and utilizing fresh farmers market ingredients, in addition to small plates, appetizers and fresh salads.

Stella Barra has a private back patio space seating up to 60 guests. The space sits beneath a retractable awning, which can be opened or closed (weather permitting). The space is also heated during the winter months, creating the perfect atmosphere to host baby and bridal showers, rehearsal dinners, birthday parties, corporate events and more! The space also lends itself perfectly to full or partial restaurant buyouts, and is available Monday-Friday for private luncheons.

To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, please call our Sales & Special Events Department at (773) 634-4101.

Private Dining

Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Stella Barra Pizzeria offers an ever-changing menu that spotlights Chef Mahin's artisan pizzas, as well as a knack for baking and utilizing fresh farmers market ingredients, in addition to small plates, appetizers and fresh salads.

Stella Barra Pizzeria - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Bar Seating (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Good for Groups (12)
See All
Casual (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Fun (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Romantic (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Late-night Find (5)
People Watching (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Cozy (4)
Great Beer (3)
Live Sports (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Authentic (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Business Meals (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
586 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

First time trying this place, the pizza was very good. Both the red and white sauce had great flavor and the ingredients were fresh and tasty. I would definitely go back here again and recommend this place for a good bite to eat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Great service! Egg on pizza is a winner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

The buffet was better than expected and I'm excited to go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Even w reservation. Mixed bag. Long wait times.
Noise level extreme. Pizza remains very tasty.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Love the new arugula and pear salad! Always such great service here as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 6, 2017

If you have a craving for pizza, I would not recommend Stella Barra. They try to be artisnal, but the quality is just not there -poor flavor and soggy crust. The vibe and decor is good; Iwould go for a drink and snack/appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Wonderful brunch buffet with a variety of options (though it could use some salads and fresh fruit) and excellent pizzas and salads!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Food was inconsistent in this day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Definitely would go back for the weekend brunch! Quite a deal for the diverse, yummy buffet! Some of the favorites were the breakfast enchiladas, the smoked salmon bruschetta, and the custardy cinnamon roll bread pudding. Our server was great, drinks came out a little slow, but worth the wait! Beautiful day to sit on the patio. Our son ordered a pizza, and he loved it as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Fourth visitto StellaBarra and the last. There are just too many other good options in Chicago dining. Pizza was bland, service mediocre and the price is high for what it is. The outdoor seating was nice and good draft beer selection. However I have been underwhelmed by the food my last three visits now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

ordered favorite appetizers, signature cocktails and pizzas but for some reason pizzas were off that night! Gluten free pizza tomatoes and cheese pizza fennel missing?
What happened?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Delicious pizza and cookies were perfect! The only thing is that it's a bit loud so hard to hold a conversation across the table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Great shared pizza and apps for 3-6

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Fantastic Burrata. Mushroom pizza and Sausage and fennel on regular crust was delicious. Super Tuscan wine was the perfect pair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

My friends came into town from Wisconsin. I was looking for a casual spot to go when they got in on Friday night. I have been here before, but they had not. They thought the pizza and burrata were awesome! We were seated about 15 minutes after the reservation time, so they gave us a free appetizer which was very generous of them. My friends were very impressed with that kind of service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Love the burrata and that you can do half and half of different pizzas!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The service and atmosphere were great, but we were a little underwhelmed by the food. Definitely didn't match our expectations based on feedback from friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We had a wonderful experience at Stella Barra today. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Waitress should have warned of the long wait and overly spicy pizza

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The restaurant was not prepared for our reservation. The kitchen was desperately understaffed for the amount of tables seated. 1 person rescued his dinner 45 minutes earlier that the last person in our group. This is awful service. I doubt we will EVER go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Made the reservation for a Friday night for my family of 4 (kids 5 and 7) so we could get in, get out and just start the weekend with ease. The restaurant was running behind by about 30-45 minutes, and then there were a couple unintended kitchen snafus. We waited unusually long for our food. But while it wasn't the original experience we were looking for - the restaurant was really gracious and thoughtful in how their staff and management handled things to help our kids stay patient. I truly appreciated the extra effort that will help us come back again. Thanks Stella Barra!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 9, 2017

We love that kids can make their own pizzas at the bar by the chefs, evenings before 6pm! Such a fun dinner activity!

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Comfort Food, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (México)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Lugar agradable pero la comida muy regular

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Fun atmosphere....great outside seating.....unique pizza. Always try to go when in town.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

I always have a great meal at Stella Barra! Amazing Pizzas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Beirut)·Dined on August 4, 2017

This is one of our favorite places. The pizza is very good and unique. The crust is tasty. Service is good. But be prepared for lots of noise.

It also has a good bar scene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Food took over an hour to get to us and the waiter rarely stopped by to check in with us or give us an update on our meal. We weren't asked if we wanted anything while we waited nor were we offered anything in return. I'm disappointed because I love this restaurant and have been here many times

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Perhaps we were there on an off night, but I have to say the service was not good. We had ordered appetizers that never came and after bringing our pizzas our waiter was MIA.
Unfortunately, no one in my party was swept away by the food either and I wasn't much of a fan of the ambience, it was very dark and loud. If I return, perhaps I would give a seat at the bar a try and not go with the intention of sitting down with friends for a full meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Great food and great service! I highly recommend. And they can make any pizza on the menu gluten free!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 21, 2017

My favorite! I'm a vegetarian and love the Rossa pizza. Husband gets the sausage. We shared the seasonal watermelon and tomato salad and it was DELICIOUS!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Very good choice of pizzas, appetizers & salads. Nice cocktail, beer & wine selection. Our sever was attentive. On the way out, we stopped for a warm cookie to take home for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Awesome service. The pizza is delicious and reasonably priced. Great ambiance as well. Really casual spot with great food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We had a good experience at Stella Barra on a Sunday evening. We made a reservation, but that appeared to be an unnecessary precaution because the restaurant was not busy when we arrived at 4:30 pm. The dining area is not too large, so if we came on a Friday or Saturday at a more traditional dinner time, reservations probably would have been helpful. There is no parking lot, so parking is on-street where and if you can find it.

The restaurant is clean and comfortable, but dimly lit with music that is a bit loud for my taste. Our service was average. The waitress took care of our dining needs, but was not very prompt about it.

The pizza was delicious. We ordered a half cheese and half butternut squash pizza. They are willing to make a half and half pizza for any of their pies, including with two different sauces if desired. The quality and value of our meal was very good. We were happy with our experience at Stella Barra and will absolutely consider dining there the next time we are in the area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Outstanding experience! Food was yummy, service was great. A perfect spot to celebrate a birthday and spend time with family and friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Food and service was fantastic. The restaurant was pretty dark

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The service was poor. We had to ask for plates for our salads and then had to ask again for plates when our pizzas arrived. We had to WAIT for plates and the pizza was getting cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 7, 2017

VERY LOUD! Pizza was good, and reasonably priced. VERY LOUD! 4 of us split 2 pizzas, one with sausage and fennel, the other with prosciutto and an egg. VERY LOUD! With a bottle of wine, and two appetizers, we got out for $155 before tip. DID I MENTION IT WAS VERY LOUD?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Love the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We enjoyed the brunch buffet, which is a good value for $19.95 plus tax and tip. The $5 bellinis were good too (we didn't try the mimosas or bloody Mary's, which were also $5 each). The chai tea was delicious and had a cinnamon flavor, as well. The buffet consisted of southwestern egg enchiladas with side toppings of tomatillo, salsa and guacamole; French toast; warm mini cinnamon rolls; scrambled eggs; bacon; chicken sausage; Greek yogurt with berries and granola; breakfast potatoes; beef short rib and potato hash; breads,; and biscuits with gravy or jam or butter, etc.
The regular pizza menu is also available to order from but we did not feel a need to order any with all we ate at the buffet.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Thank goodness for Baily or I would never be back. The place was filled with kids and I should have planned my rezzie time better. Putting additional ingredients on items that a consumer should not expect on an item that they order that isn't on the menu is pretty unacceptable. Due to food allergies # 1 and taste profile # 2. I will give it another try soonish at a later time and ask for Bailey. Don't let her go. Give her a raise and make sure she stays or you're going to have a real scene on your hands.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.