About Stella Barra Pizzeria - Chicago

1954 N Halsted St
Chicago, IL 60614
View Larger Map

Stella Barra’s artisanal pizzas are made with fresh, sustainable ingredients from local farmers markets. The ever-changing seasonal menu features Chef Jeff Mahin’s handcrafted pizzas topped with housemade ingredients alongside a selection of market-driven small plates, salads and sandwiches. The rustic yet modern dining room features a cement-topped, rectangular bar serving artful cocktails, as well as a diverse list of Italian wines.

Pizza toppings range from prosciutto and egg to shaved mushroom to smoked bacon and can be served on a lighter “Thin Sin” pizza crust, or even gluten-free dough.

On Saturdays and Sundays from 10am-2pm, Stella Barra presents a chef-inspired brunch buffet for $19.95 complete with cinnamon rolls, breakfast enchiladas, caramelized french toast and more, plus $5 select brunch cocktails. Kids 10 & under eat FREE. Reservations accepted.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Pizzeria, Italian

Hours of Operation:
M-Thur 4:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday 4:00pm - 12:00am
Saturday 10:00am - 12:00am
Sunday 10:00am - 10:00pm

Brunch Buffet $19.95 Saturday & Sunday, 10:00am - 2:00pm
Happy Hour at the bar, Monday - Friday from 4:00pm-6:00pm

Cross Street:
Halsted & Armitage

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 634-4101

Website:
http://www.stellabarra.com/

Catering:
Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Stella Barra has a private back patio seating up to 60 guests. The room sits beneath a retractable awning, which can be opened or closed (weather permitting). The space is also heated during the winter months, creating the perfect atmosphere to host baby and bridal showers, rehearsal dinners, birthdays, corporate events and more! The space is also available for buyouts, private daytime luncheons (Monday-Friday) and weekend gatherings.

To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, call our Catering Department at (773) 634-4101.

Parking Details:
Valet parking for $14.00 is offered. Street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Just South East of the Brown Line on Armitage.

Executive Chef:
Chef Partner Jeff Mahin

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Stella Barra Pizzeria offers an ever-changing menu that spotlights Chef Mahin's knack for baking and utilizing fresh farmers market ingredients, in addition to small plates, appetizers and fresh salads.

Stella Barra has a private back patio space seating up to 60 guests. The space sits beneath a retractable awning, which can be opened or closed (weather permitting). The space is also heated during the winter months, creating the perfect atmosphere to host baby and bridal showers, rehearsal dinners, birthday parties, corporate events and more! The space also lends itself perfectly to full or partial restaurant buyouts, and is available Monday-Friday for private luncheons.

To inquire about private parties or off-premise catering, please call our Sales & Special Events Department at (773) 634-4101.

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Season's eatings! Enjoy your Christmas Eve with friends and family at Stella Barra! Brunch, lunch and dinner is taken care of, so sit back and relax.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Ring in 2017 with an elevated pizza party! We're open all day long for brunch, lunch and dinner. Make your last meal of 2016 one to remember!

Private Dining

Located in the heart of Lincoln Park, Stella Barra Pizzeria offers an ever-changing menu that spotlights Chef Mahin's artisan pizzas, as well as a knack for baking and utilizing fresh farmers market ingredients, in addition to small plates, appetizers and fresh salads.

Stella Barra Pizzeria - Chicago Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Pizzeria
Chicago / Illinois
Pizzeria
Chicago
Best Restaurants in Lincoln Park ›

Neighborhood Gem (19)
Casual (17)
Good for Groups (14)
See All
Fun (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Wood Oven (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Cozy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Authentic (2)
Family Style (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Romantic (2)
Vegan (2)
Scenic View (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Live Sports (1)
Seasonal (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Spicy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
427 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were part of a family gathering inclu ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We were part of a family gathering including people on special diets. Everyone was accommodated with no problem. The service was excellent and they set up a table for all of us. The food was great and we all had a good time. Our waiter was particularly helpful.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious pizza and wonderful ambiance! ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Delicious pizza and wonderful ambiance! We sat in the back area with beautiful twinkle lights and comfortable seats against the wall. lounged, had drink, ate pizza, and couldn't ask for more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

great pizza and good service. best bruss ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

great pizza and good service. best brussel sprouts ever

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Vegan, Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I went specifically for b ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My husband and I went specifically for brunch yesterday, and were surprised to learn upon arrival that they weren't serving brunch. Because they had a private event in the main dining room they were serving their normal menu. We were also disappointed that we couldn't be seated in the main dining room as we'd been looking forward to the cozy ambiance. We wound up on the back patio which was covered and heated due to the cooler temps, and I will say that the entire experience turned out to be really, really wonderful. Our server couldn't have been more friendly or on top of things, and the food was out of this world. We shared the crispy brussels sprouts and pizza with smoked bacon, goat cheese, and gruyere. Highly recommend and we will DEFINITELY be back! Way to turn it around, Stella Barra.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Really well made thin crust pizza, fresh ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Really well made thin crust pizza, fresh ingredients, outstanding flavor. Service was a bit harried on our Monday visit, they were seemingly understaffed. Overall though, we keep going back to Stella for simple, delicious food, enjoyable environment, and strong value.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Fun, Outstanding Value, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place to celebrate a bday with fri ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great place to celebrate a bday with friends! We had the buffet brunch and it was excellent, with a lot of choices. There is even a little table for special brunch selections for kids! Recommended!!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Casual, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lively evening with good drinks and gr ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

A lively evening with good drinks and great pizza. Our server was terrific!

Try one of the pizzas that sounds different, the butternut squash pizza was out of this world!! Good for small groups or couples.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Stella Barra is our go-to favorite place ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Stella Barra is our go-to favorite place for dinner with consistently great service and a rotating delicious menu. Absolutely the best gluten-free pizza in Chicago! Thank you so much for being a leader in offering excellent g-f options, including chocolate-chip cookies!

Tags: Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Food and great service! I like t ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Good Food and great service! I like the pizza and salad variety. Great place to for any occasion!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food is very good and upscale, however, ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food is very good and upscale, however, their servers need training. We've been to Summer House and Stella Barra several times and the service is repeatedly rude and intrusive.

Tags: Live Sports, Casual, Fun, Seasonal, Vegan, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Beautifully designed and great ambiance. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Beautifully designed and great ambiance. Loved the back area with the wall fireplace and lighting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Had what might be the best gluten free p ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Had what might be the best gluten free pizza I've ever had in my life! I'm vegetarian and celiac and had choices. I chose the avocado & pesto white pizza. It's so tasty, with a bit of spice, and unique. Half the pizza went home with me and is just as good a day later.

The atmosphere was buzzing with all kinds of patrons from families to couples to mother/daughter diners to girls-night-out groups. The lighting is trendy and decorative but dark compared to its sister restaurant Summer House.

This is a great place I'd love to visit again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Solid place. The pizza was very good. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Solid place. The pizza was very good. The burrata dish with grilled grapes was quite strange, but otherwise we enjoyed everything.

Service was also very pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Delicious pizza and our server was so in ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Delicious pizza and our server was so informative and helpful. Will definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I went for their new all-y ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

My friend and I went for their new all-you-can-eat brunch buffet. The options were diverse and creative. Delicious!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We came here for a date-night and everyt ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We came here for a date-night and everything was absolutely wonderful. We were sat a table near the open kitchen and our serve was super friendly and was able to offer us a split-sauce pizza since we could;t decided between red or white sauce pizza. The thin crust was cooked perfectly, still super crispy!! The kale salad was a great addition - just the right amount of spice. We finished the meal with a warm cookie and ice cream, which was really very tasty!! We will definitely be back again with friends!!! Great value - we each had two drinks and split a salad, pizza and dessert for about $80.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had Open table reservation. Over 40 minu ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Had Open table reservation. Over 40 minute wait. Restaurant comped apps and first round of drinks. Appreciate trying to make thing right

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

We had a great time, the place is very c ...

 
 (México)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We had a great time, the place is very cool and the service excellent. I have too kids and it was very kid friendly.

It looks perfect for drinks with friends as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Outstanding gluten free pizza and bread! ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Outstanding gluten free pizza and bread! Highly recommended.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Delicious unique pizza! The white pizza ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Delicious unique pizza! The white pizza with butternut squash was delicious! Our waitress was delightful and so accommodating!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Unfortunately, Stella Barra eliminated t ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Unfortunately, Stella Barra eliminated their brunch menu and is now providing breakfast offerings in a buffet. The buffet was as basic as it gets. Felt like I was at a cafeteria at DePaul University and the clientele reflected that. Went from a blended Lincoln Park crowd to 80% college kids. Service was horrible. Probably waited ten minutes for water and another five for the server to finally arrive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Terrible experience. Food came out cold ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Terrible experience. Food came out cold and did not taste good. I would go somewhere else!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Recently was looking for a place for our ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Recently was looking for a place for our group to go and grab a dinner as well as catch up with an old friend. This was perfect with sharable pizzas and we were able to split the bill. Will come again!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was terrible. 45 mins wait betwe ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Service was terrible. 45 mins wait between the 3 pizzas arriving at the table. Waiter said pizzas are served as they are ready and 45 mins between the 3 is ok! Finally gave us one pizza on the house but I would not recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Delicious pizza! Split a pizza with spl ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Delicious pizza! Split a pizza with split toppings. Great way to try two different pizzas in one sitting. Every bite was delicious.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice salad and good pizzas. the red sau ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Nice salad and good pizzas. the red sauce was very bland, so we preferred our 4 cheese white pizza to the sausage pizza. Salads were smaller than we expected for $11.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

The pizza was good. Nice crust. Cauliflo ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The pizza was good. Nice crust. Cauliflower hummus was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our waiter rushed us out for some reason ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Our waiter rushed us out for some reason. Never asked if we wanted another drink (which we probably would've ordered). Pulled our plates while there was still food on them & my boyfriend was still eating. Then brought the check right after..even though I still had a nearly full wine glass. It was supposed to be a relaxing date night out but we didn't get to sit and enjoy anything--we were literally in and out within an hour. I appreciate quick service, but nobody likes to feel rushed. As far as food...the Burrata was terrible quality, really regret getting that. The pizza had good flavor but was a little too crispy & unlike traditional Neapolitan pizza. The whole experience was subpar & we won't be back, there's too many other good options in Chicago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

This was the second time in a month that ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 6, 2016

This was the second time in a month that we have waited an hour for our cheese pizza and a salad. It is in my neighborhood and the food is usually great. The patio is lovely. But, the food has been taking so long that we had to leave. They need to figure out this issue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Best gluten free pizza! Love the seasona ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Best gluten free pizza! Love the seasonal options and patio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The best Gluten Free Pizza I have found. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 31, 2016

The best Gluten Free Pizza I have found...crunchy thin crust...the shaved Mushroom with Truffle is to die for!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Gorgeous patio!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Gorgeous patio!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Above average pizza in a nice setting wi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Above average pizza in a nice setting with terrific service. They probably need a few sandwich items to round out the limited menu but it's a well rounded menu all the same.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Our service was very poor; we had to con ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our service was very poor; we had to constantly look for our server and flag them down and it took forever to get food and drinks even though it wasn't crowded. In addition we kept having to ask for basic things that water and ice and silverware. The food was mediocre, half the table didn't like theirs, the appetizer wasn't prepared how the menu described and two members of our party ordered quiche and it was ice cold in the middle, but we couldn't get our servers attention. The salad had no dressing and was bland. One member of our party ordered French fries and they didn't bring them and we had to ask 3 people on the staff to get them. Overall it was a very poor, disappointing meal especially from a Lettuce Entertain You restaurant which are usually great. This was my third time trying Stella Barra and although the other two times were bad, this one was exceptionally bad. I would definitely never go back and tell others to skip it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

We are upset because we actually liked t ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We are upset because we actually liked the food a lot. But will not return because the service was HORRIBLE. Our server should not be waiting on tables. He pretty much ruined our dinner. Without much of an apology. He just blamed other people for his mistakes. Please get a different job if you cannot handle the service industry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Loud and hopping scene. Great food. Coup ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Loud and hopping scene. Great food. Coupons available online!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

food was good enough, but, we felt like ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2016

food was good enough, but, we felt like our waiter was rushing us out of there. just as we sat down, he told us that we needed to order any appetizers and pizza at the same time because the pizza takes 30 minutes. we followed his advice and barely finished the salad when the pizza arrived in about 10 minutes. this was not exactly the leisure night out we were looking for.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Wait staff is always kind! Its a lways ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Wait staff is always kind! Its a lways a pleasure to dine in your reataurant!

Tags: Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Service and pizza were terrible. After h ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Service and pizza were terrible. After hearing great things from friends we were highly disappointed and would rather order Dominos than return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

took a young child figuring this place w ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 14, 2016

took a young child figuring this place would be great for him - pizza too sophisticated - but great for adults. the crust was perfect and toppings interesting and varied. we ordered two pizzas and they brought the wrong pizza 2 out of 2, but we ate them anyways and enjoyed them.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.