About Steenbocks on Orchard

330 N. Orchard Street
Madison, WI 53705
View Larger Map

Located in the beautiful Wisconsin Institutes for Discovery building, our menu is designed to highlight local and seasonal ingredients at their best. We source local meats, cheeses and vegetables.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am -2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Orchard & Johnson St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 204-2733

Website:
http://www.steenbocksonorchard.com/

Catering:
Steenbock's on Orchard is the exclusive caterer for the Wisconsin Institutes For Discovery on the UW Madison Campus. Our outstanding staff and facility provide the perfect setting and experience for guests who wish to host business meetings, celebratory dinners and weddings.

Parking Details:
Ramp Parking: Lot 17, Lot 20,

Union South Parking-Heated unground parking

Executive Chef:
Chris Swenson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Steenbocks on Orchard Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.6

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Wisconsin
Great for Lunch
Wisconsin
Contemporary American
Wisconsin
5 More
Best Food
Madison
Best Service
Madison
Best Ambiance
Madison
Best Value
Madison
Fit for Foodies
Madison
Best Restaurants in Madison ›

Great for Lunch (13)
Good for Groups (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
See All
Special Occasion (5)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
87 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Ate here while in town for the Mini-Mara ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Ate here while in town for the Mini-Marathon. I was surprised it wasn't busier since so close to the race expo. Interesting concept with restaurant on campus. Food good. Service okay--very friendly but since they aren't busy cannot justify having more than 1-2 servers so service was slow but I wasn't in a hurry. Wine selection pretty good. Menu selection good. Had the risotto and garden salad. All tasty.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The wait staff was good. Ambiance not a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The wait staff was good. Ambiance not all that. Although, the food was very tasty; serving sizes smallish. The cheese platter as a starter was nice to share - we had 4 diners; the shrimp/cream corn dish was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

We were delighted to try this place and ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We were delighted to try this place and find that it was everything that we could want on a lunch date. Nice menu, good prices, efficient service--what's not to like? I ordered the goat cheese croquettes from the appetizer menu, which was just perfect for a light lunch. Lovely little lightly fried balls of goat cheese served with a decorate arc of mixed leaves, ricotta, a scattering of an ancient grain (for crunch), and small slices of a marinated white fig--heavenly! Hubby ordered a pastrami sandwich on black rye (the proper European kind without the anis seeds!), which was stacked with pastrami and coleslaw. His fries were also excellent, fried until a medium brown, skins on the tips, and coated with a seasoned salt--delicious! Can't wait to go back to try some of the other interesting things on the menu. The only problem is finding parking for this place if you are going for lunch. If you don't mind walking, the neighborhoods adjacent to Camp Randall have free, 2-hour parking before 6pm. There are 2, nearby parking garages, but both were full on the day that we dined :-(

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always outstanding risotto! Great daily ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Always outstanding risotto! Great daily specials also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our party of four had a delightful lunch ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Our party of four had a delightful lunch at Steenbocks. We had a variety of entrees and dessert, all of which were delicious. I would definitely recommend this restaurant and hope to return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Spring Pea Fava Bean salad was excel ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The Spring Pea Fava Bean salad was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

There was only one waitress on staff. S ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

There was only one waitress on staff. She did a very good job, but could have used some help.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice restaurant with tasty, creative menu.

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

The setting — the Wisconsin Institutes for Discovery — is terrific. It's a beautiful building that has good "outreach" science displays. The restaurant itself is attractive and offers a variety of well-prepared, interesting dishes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic food and great service at reas ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Fantastic food and great service at reasonable price. The lamb was spectacular

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Restaurant Week Visit

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

We returned to Steenbock on Orchard for a Restaurant Week visit after and absence of a few years. The menu choices were set in advance but there was plenty of variety and the choices were appealing. The food was great and the service was excellent.

Since our last visit the dining room has been moved to the southeast corner of the first floor. The new location is much more pleasant than the former. The acoustics are excellent and the ambiance is very pleasing overall.

We plan to return again soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Girls' Night Out

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 20, 2016

A special group of girlfriends enjoyed Restaurant Week in Madison by having dinner at Steenboks. It was delicious and a very good time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Okay experience, nothing notable.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 19, 2016

I've been wanting to try Steenbock's for a while so we chose to visit for lunch during restaurant week with a reservation. We were seated and greeted promptly. Our food was fine, but it wasn't anything special. Both of us experienced significant puddles of grease pooling on our plates from our food and the dessert tasted like it had been refrigerated for a while -- the "refrigerator" taste, I guess, would be a better description. I completely understand that with the influx of patrons during restaurant week that some items would be prepared in larger quantities ahead of time. However, if this experience is indicative of what we could expect from future visits, I would not be rushing to return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Modern & Close to Union South

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

Modern building, hip decor, interesting menu, reasonably priced and very convenient to campus. Also excellent for groups -- spacious and accommodating. Wine and beer only, but very good selections. Definitely will return. If you are going for dinner and need parking, call the restaurant, they have an "in" with someone nearby.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Call it a hidden gem. It's within walkin ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

Call it a hidden gem. It's within walking distance of Camp Randall stadium. Fine dining could not be more convenient. We had a party of 12. Staff was very attentive. Our group found the menu to be impressive. We're very surprised more people don't know about this. Oops, did I ruin the secret?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Fun evening

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on October 12, 2015

Met our UW sophomore for a mid-week meal at Steenbocks, and had a great time. Not very crowded, fun food choices and attentive service. Always trendy ambience too. Thanks

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great little find inside an unassuming a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 4, 2015

Great little find inside an unassuming academic building. The food was delicious and the service great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Super salad

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 11, 2015

We ordered across the menu. Shrimp salad was woderful. Soup was super salty. Korean barbecue ribs were cooked slow. Meat falling off the bone. But too salty. Service, wine, ambiance was lovely. We will return.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Celebrate your anniversdary!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

The food was just spectacular! Fine wait staff. Great atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic

 
·Dined on August 2, 2015

Stumbled upon this jem. The food and service was top notch. Will be going here again!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Restaurant Week Summer 2015

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 24, 2015

Ate outside - lovely breeze and beautiful day, but traffic on street detracts a bit - nothing they can do about it. Spring Pea Bisque was heavy - didn't taste fresh - tasted like Progresso soup? NY strip steak with roasted potatoes and asparagus was perfectly done - fabulous. Dessert was a goat cheese cheesecake - dry and not enough honey for the serving.

I would give it one more try before I decided yea or nay.

Thank you for participating in the event!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Restaurant Week

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 24, 2015

I had lunch at steenbocks with a friend during restaurant week, summer 2015. They had an amazing restaurant week menu. I'm definitely glad I made reservations, as they were very busy. The food was all great! The service was interesting. The staff was busy, which is fine, so there were 3 waiters that ended up helping our party of 2. They clearly were lacking communication, as one would drop off food and then another would ask if we had gotten the course (once it was cleared). One of the waitresses even tried to bring us our entrées after we had eaten them, convinced we hadn't gotten them. This isn't the biggest deal in the world, it's better to be fawned over than ignored, but they could benefit from better communication. Over all it was a good experience, except for when the wind blew open the sliding door and then awkwardly kept blowing in when no one fixed it. The food is top notch, the service was a little off their game and the setting was nice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Great Experience!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 23, 2015

Appetizer and entre were wonderful, but dessert could use improvement. Cheesecake was dry and lacked flavor and the graham cracker crust was too thick. Rhubarb sauce was almost non-existant. Server was very good. Overall experience was great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Made everything right

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2015

There were some problems in the ordering and the kitchen and our server and the host staff made everything just right! we thanks everyone!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

Always a pleasant lunch

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 6, 2015

I had the Moroccan Vegetable "fajitas": the curried vegetables were delicious. The hummus was good and the toasted flatbread was good (but a little over toasted to use to wrap my vegetables in). My lunch date had the beet salad. I miss the curry chicken salad...it was my go-to lunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The perfect place to bring important people!

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 29, 2015

I remember my first day at UW-Madison being treated to lunch at Steenbocks. The food was excellent and the service was great. That has been my continuing experience. I look to Steenbocks to bring important people and close friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Food

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 12, 2015

Food was excellent. Service was OK. The atmosphere is quiet and different. It is in the Discovery building on UW campus. Parking is not very convenient.

Very impressed with the food and presentation. It's worth the trip for the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Nice lunch

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 2, 2015

Delicious food and great service. Get the cheese board!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As good as Belgian or French quizine

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 18, 2015

I have lived in Brussels Belgium for 7 years where I enjoyed gourmet meals regularly on my company's expense account. Our meal at Steenbocks was as good as any that I ate there. Furthermore in my opinion the Belgian meals were superior to Parisian meals during the same time. In Europe these restaurants were given at least 3 Michelin Stars. Our experience at Steenbhocks was equal to any of these. Furthermore the price of our meal was at the low end of our expected range of cost. Thank you for a fabulous USA experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Surprise!

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 17, 2015

We were surprised to find a restaurant of this quality and ambiance in what is essentially a U.W. classroom building. Once you are inside, its a lovely spot with great food. Don't be put off by its location.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Graduation Dinner

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 16, 2015

Enjoyed my daughter's college graduation dinner at Steenbocks. Everyone in our party of 8 had a pleasant experience. The menu was limited, but there was something for everyone and the food was quite delicious. My son really enjoyed the salmon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Delightful dining on the U Wisconsin campus

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 15, 2015

On a busy evening before graduation, I had a lovely meal on campus at Steenbocks. Situated in the soaring atrium of the Univ of Wisconsin Discovery Center, the tables were quiet and the service professional. Had a spectacular cheeseboard of locally sourced cheeses, accompanied by berries, fruits, and succulent honeycomb as well as enough bread to spread these on. A varied list of local beers, and international list of wines should satisfy all tastes. The pan roasted chicken was crispy on the outside and moist within, with a good garlicky herb butter. A pomegranate and golden beet salad was lightly dressed and a tad too bland. A special dessert of banana creme brulee was a perfect finish with a well executed sugary crust and ripe bananas over a vanilla custard full of vanilla bean flecks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Great for business lunches

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 30, 2015

This is a great place to snag a business lunch or dinner as it's in a professional setting and has a diverse menu. Their salads, specialty entrees, and burgers are all some of the best in the area. Parking can be tricky but once you're here, it's worth is.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Fine dining convenient to University activities

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 29, 2015

We have enjoyed the great food and ambiance of this restaurant previously and returned here this time to be near an evening event at the University following our dinner. As always the food was delicious and attractively presented.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very quiet evening with really good food

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 25, 2015

We arrived at the restaurant at 6 PM on a Saturday evening. Never having been there before we didn't know what to expect. What we didn't expect was that we'd be the only people in the place beside the hostess and server (and presumably a chef). Not surprisingly the service was prompt and attentive.

Having reviewed the menu beforehand, I had planned to order the Rabbit Pot Pie...the one thing our server notified us immediately was unavailable. Oh well, things happen.

My wife and I shared the beet salad and the calamari as appetizers. The portions were perfectly sized to share, and the salad had already been plated on two plates in the kitchen, a nice touch. Both dishes were nicely presented and very tasty. The Calamari was perfectly cooked, but my wife did find an inedible (chewy) piece in her portion, more the fault of the supplier than the restaurant.

As an entree, my wife had the risotto of the day, in this case with chicken and spring vegetables. She was totally enamored with the dish. I tried it and found the texture to be spot-on, creamy and al dente at the same time, but I found it to be a bit salty. She thought it was just right. I had the Campanelle di Mare. A fair-sized portion with more seafood than I've seen at most other places in town. Both the pasta and shellfish were nicely done. I'd order it again. Prices, btw, seemed very fair for the portions.

I can imagine that this place is humming at lunch and weekday evenings. It was just a little eerie to be the only ones dining on a Saturday evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great for lunch meeting

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 24, 2015

This was my fourth lunch meeting in 6 months and I was not disappointed. Great food, attentive service, fun atmosphere and reasonable noise levels make for successful meetings. The client or candidates are always impressed.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food and friendly staff.Enjoyed first visit

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 11, 2015

Wine list is unusual but good. Didn't have the same vintage but allow us to view it before drinking. Food is very good. Had di Mara and risotto before very good. Enjoyed the small plate meat plate. Prices $18 to $22 and wines was $50.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I want to like this restaurant

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 11, 2015

I keep trying to like the restaurant, coming here for different occasions. But since they closed the regular dining room and seat and serve everyone in the bar, and since they've had a few chefs cycle through, it just isn't very appealing, either in terms of ambience or cuisine. It's spring now, and the menu still has a winter feel (Winter Kale Salad; Rabbit Pot Pie). On the positive side, the cheese board is nicely presented, and there are other appealing appetizers. I ordered the red snapper, and knew what it would be a whole fish, from the menu description, but it also came with a huge wad of cilantro, stems and all. The ginger-soy ponzu tasted mostly of soy sauce and was very salty. Others in my party who ordered the specials were happier with them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Good Time Lunch

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 31, 2015

the service was excellent, staff friendly & fun. i love the changing menu. you can try new things at the "same old place".

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just okay.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 24, 2015

We ordered light--salads, soups, cheese plate, wine. The tomato curry soup was very good. The kale salad very disappointing--kale needs to be finely cut IMO, and it was much too big. Not a very impressive salad overall. Someone ordered one of the other salads and was also underwhelmed. On the plus side: The cheese plate was very pretty and well done, and the cucumber water was also lovely. The atmosphere here is great, but the service was quite slow and not really up to the expectations of finer dining. Perhaps we need to come back and order entrees...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Great Lunch!

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on March 17, 2015

I too a colleague to lunch and was most impressed with the service and quality of the food. Even the toasted cheese sandwich was a work of art with taste that brings memories.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.