Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.24mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About Steenbocks on Orchard

Located in the beautiful Wisconsin Institutes for Discovery building, our menu is designed to highlight local and seasonal ingredients at their best. We source local meats, cheeses and vegetables.

330 N. Orchard Street
Madison, WI 53705
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Wine Bar, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am -2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Orchard & Johnson St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 204-2733

Website:
http://www.steenbocksonorchard.com/

Catering:
Steenbock's on Orchard is the exclusive caterer for the Wisconsin Institutes For Discovery on the UW Madison Campus. Our outstanding staff and facility provide the perfect setting and experience for guests who wish to host business meetings, celebratory dinners and weddings.

Parking Details:
Ramp Parking: Lot 17, Lot 20,

Union South Parking-Heated unground parking

Executive Chef:
Chris Swenson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Steenbocks on Orchard Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

3.4

value

3.8

noise

Quiet

89% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Business Meals (5)
See All
Local Ingredients (4)
Casual (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Healthy (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Organic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Cozy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Authentic (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Fun (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
101 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We enjoyed great service at Steenbock's on Orchard. Two out of three of our meals were great. Steenbock's version of Ramen was a bit bland.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I waited too long to make reservations on a Friday night. This was the only place that had all times available. Not sure how they make it because the place was dead! It awkward and uncomfortable to be one of only three tables in a huge space. The food was good and this place would be good if you were at the Institue of Discovery for something but I would not recommend for a couples dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Good food, great service. Parking close by. Nice variety on the menu and diverse wine list.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very good food , excellent and reasonably priced wine list.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We have never been disappointed when dining at Steenbochs on Orchards.
It's quite modern with an open environment. The service was wonderful and the food fantastic.
The 3 course dinner for Valentines had really nice options and the price was right.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The place is very pleasant, quiet, and comfortable. It is possible to have lively conversations without having to shout. There is food for every taste. The quality is always good and well prepared. My husband and I wanted to honor a dear friend. It was lovely. We drank some very nice Malbec at a reasonable price. The service was excellent. I have been at Steenbocks often for lunch but never for dinner. I was not disappointed. I will certainly keep visiting!

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Steenboks is close to work. We really appreciate having an upscale place to dine in the middle of the day. Our occasion was to celebrate graduation of one of our staff. The restaurant offers a delightful menu while also accommodating individual dietary needs. The food was delicious. Two of us had their beef burger while two had a salmon burger. Another had the hummus plate. The atmosphere is open and has a good urban feel to it. I have a suggestion, not just for this place alone, offer drinking water that is not frigid. There truly are people who don't like their drinks freezing. Can you tell that I am one of them?! Thanks.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 20, 2016

This is always a good place for a group lunch.. creative food, nice setting, good service

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 29, 2016

I try to eat here at least once a week because the food and the ambience are great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Organic, Modern Decor, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Food was wonderful. Staff very accommodating for a large group. Beer and Wine only

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Once again, we had a splendid lunch at Steenbocks. I so enjoy their risotto dishes and was not disappointed with their roasted corn risotto. Outstanding!

Very attentive service and always fun to watch the UW students bustling about.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The food was tasty although some items came out missing elements(ie grilled romaine salad was definitely not grilled.) Service was quite slow and there were only two other tables in the restaurant. We were most disappointed by the atmosphere. We thought we were going to an intimate, romantic setting and instead it felt like a high end cafeteria. The food did taste really good though.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The service was excellent Selena took good care of us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 27, 2016

My wife and I have eaten here several times. It is very quiet at dinner time which is great as you can enjoy the conversation with your guests. The food is very good, in particular the risotto special. The service is also very good.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Ate here while in town for the Mini-Marathon. I was surprised it wasn't busier since so close to the race expo. Interesting concept with restaurant on campus. Food good. Service okay--very friendly but since they aren't busy cannot justify having more than 1-2 servers so service was slow but I wasn't in a hurry. Wine selection pretty good. Menu selection good. Had the risotto and garden salad. All tasty.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The wait staff was good. Ambiance not all that. Although, the food was very tasty; serving sizes smallish. The cheese platter as a starter was nice to share - we had 4 diners; the shrimp/cream corn dish was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 23, 2016

We were delighted to try this place and find that it was everything that we could want on a lunch date. Nice menu, good prices, efficient service--what's not to like? I ordered the goat cheese croquettes from the appetizer menu, which was just perfect for a light lunch. Lovely little lightly fried balls of goat cheese served with a decorate arc of mixed leaves, ricotta, a scattering of an ancient grain (for crunch), and small slices of a marinated white fig--heavenly! Hubby ordered a pastrami sandwich on black rye (the proper European kind without the anis seeds!), which was stacked with pastrami and coleslaw. His fries were also excellent, fried until a medium brown, skins on the tips, and coated with a seasoned salt--delicious! Can't wait to go back to try some of the other interesting things on the menu. The only problem is finding parking for this place if you are going for lunch. If you don't mind walking, the neighborhoods adjacent to Camp Randall have free, 2-hour parking before 6pm. There are 2, nearby parking garages, but both were full on the day that we dined :-(

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 22, 2016

Always outstanding risotto! Great daily specials also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 26, 2016

Our party of four had a delightful lunch at Steenbocks. We had a variety of entrees and dessert, all of which were delicious. I would definitely recommend this restaurant and hope to return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 22, 2016

The Spring Pea Fava Bean salad was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 15, 2016

There was only one waitress on staff. She did a very good job, but could have used some help.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 4, 2016

The setting — the Wisconsin Institutes for Discovery — is terrific. It's a beautiful building that has good "outreach" science displays. The restaurant itself is attractive and offers a variety of well-prepared, interesting dishes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 28, 2016

Fantastic food and great service at reasonable price. The lamb was spectacular

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 21, 2016

We returned to Steenbock on Orchard for a Restaurant Week visit after and absence of a few years. The menu choices were set in advance but there was plenty of variety and the choices were appealing. The food was great and the service was excellent.

Since our last visit the dining room has been moved to the southeast corner of the first floor. The new location is much more pleasant than the former. The acoustics are excellent and the ambiance is very pleasing overall.

We plan to return again soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 20, 2016

A special group of girlfriends enjoyed Restaurant Week in Madison by having dinner at Steenboks. It was delicious and a very good time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 19, 2016

I've been wanting to try Steenbock's for a while so we chose to visit for lunch during restaurant week with a reservation. We were seated and greeted promptly. Our food was fine, but it wasn't anything special. Both of us experienced significant puddles of grease pooling on our plates from our food and the dessert tasted like it had been refrigerated for a while -- the "refrigerator" taste, I guess, would be a better description. I completely understand that with the influx of patrons during restaurant week that some items would be prepared in larger quantities ahead of time. However, if this experience is indicative of what we could expect from future visits, I would not be rushing to return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 22, 2015

Modern building, hip decor, interesting menu, reasonably priced and very convenient to campus. Also excellent for groups -- spacious and accommodating. Wine and beer only, but very good selections. Definitely will return. If you are going for dinner and need parking, call the restaurant, they have an "in" with someone nearby.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 31, 2015

Call it a hidden gem. It's within walking distance of Camp Randall stadium. Fine dining could not be more convenient. We had a party of 12. Staff was very attentive. Our group found the menu to be impressive. We're very surprised more people don't know about this. Oops, did I ruin the secret?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 12, 2015

Met our UW sophomore for a mid-week meal at Steenbocks, and had a great time. Not very crowded, fun food choices and attentive service. Always trendy ambience too. Thanks

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 4, 2015

Great little find inside an unassuming academic building. The food was delicious and the service great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 11, 2015

We ordered across the menu. Shrimp salad was woderful. Soup was super salty. Korean barbecue ribs were cooked slow. Meat falling off the bone. But too salty. Service, wine, ambiance was lovely. We will return.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 5, 2015

The food was just spectacular! Fine wait staff. Great atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on August 2, 2015

Stumbled upon this jem. The food and service was top notch. Will be going here again!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 24, 2015

Ate outside - lovely breeze and beautiful day, but traffic on street detracts a bit - nothing they can do about it. Spring Pea Bisque was heavy - didn't taste fresh - tasted like Progresso soup? NY strip steak with roasted potatoes and asparagus was perfectly done - fabulous. Dessert was a goat cheese cheesecake - dry and not enough honey for the serving.

I would give it one more try before I decided yea or nay.

Thank you for participating in the event!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 24, 2015

I had lunch at steenbocks with a friend during restaurant week, summer 2015. They had an amazing restaurant week menu. I'm definitely glad I made reservations, as they were very busy. The food was all great! The service was interesting. The staff was busy, which is fine, so there were 3 waiters that ended up helping our party of 2. They clearly were lacking communication, as one would drop off food and then another would ask if we had gotten the course (once it was cleared). One of the waitresses even tried to bring us our entrées after we had eaten them, convinced we hadn't gotten them. This isn't the biggest deal in the world, it's better to be fawned over than ignored, but they could benefit from better communication. Over all it was a good experience, except for when the wind blew open the sliding door and then awkwardly kept blowing in when no one fixed it. The food is top notch, the service was a little off their game and the setting was nice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 23, 2015

Appetizer and entre were wonderful, but dessert could use improvement. Cheesecake was dry and lacked flavor and the graham cracker crust was too thick. Rhubarb sauce was almost non-existant. Server was very good. Overall experience was great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2015

There were some problems in the ordering and the kitchen and our server and the host staff made everything just right! we thanks everyone!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 6, 2015

I had the Moroccan Vegetable "fajitas": the curried vegetables were delicious. The hummus was good and the toasted flatbread was good (but a little over toasted to use to wrap my vegetables in). My lunch date had the beet salad. I miss the curry chicken salad...it was my go-to lunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 29, 2015

I remember my first day at UW-Madison being treated to lunch at Steenbocks. The food was excellent and the service was great. That has been my continuing experience. I look to Steenbocks to bring important people and close friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 12, 2015

Food was excellent. Service was OK. The atmosphere is quiet and different. It is in the Discovery building on UW campus. Parking is not very convenient.

Very impressed with the food and presentation. It's worth the trip for the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.