About Steelhead Diner

95 Pine Street, Suite 17
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Owner operated by Chef Kevin Davis and wife Teresa, The Steelhead Diner is a smart casual restaurant located in the heart of Seattle's Pike Place Market. Come visit our modern take on the classic American diner - and enjoy contemporary comfort food created with a Northwest twist. Soak up stunning views while enjoying our exclusively North West wine and beer list. Also available: a full bar, and a large selection of non-alcoholic choices. Watch nightly as Davis and his crew create menu items in the restaurant's interactive open kitchen surrounded by views of neighboring Puget Sound. Kids welcome. Family friendly.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open Seven Days a Week: 11a.m. until 10p.m. Brunch Items Available on Saturdays and Sundays.

Cross Street:
First

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 625-0129

Website:
http://www.steelheaddiner.com/

Catering:
Please call and speak to any manager to discuss you individual needs!

Parking Details:
Street parking is available in addition to several parking lots nearby. We validate parking after 5pm at the Pike Place Market Parking Garage on Western Avenue below the Market.

Public Transit:
All downtown bus routes end near or around our address: 95 Pine Street.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Davis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Dungeness Crab & Bay Shrimp Tater Tots
Cioppino
Poutine
Goat Cheese & Honey Cheesecake
Gin & Tonic
Oysters Rockefeller
Ribeye Over Horseradish Mashed Potatoes And Latke
El Cubano Sandwich With Fries
Fennel Spiced Mahi Mahi With Marinated Corona Bean Salad & Artichoke Purée
Lavender Martini
Fish and Chips
fish tacos
Alaskan Razor Clam Chowder
Dungeness Crab & Bay Shrimp TatorTots
Alaskan Razor Clam Chowder w/ Smoked Bacon & Truffle Oil Drizzle
Smores Brownie Sundae
Grilled New York Steak
Veggie "Meat"Loaf
Bread Service
Jumbo Lump Crab Cake w/ Crispy Parsley
General Practitioner Cocktail
Wicked Olympic Witch Cocktail
Caviar Pie
Habanero Garlic Pepper
Butter, Olive Oil & Parsley
Butter
"The New Irresistable" Cocktail
Sequimbled Eggs
Chicken And Andouille Sausage Gumbo
Treveri Sparkling Brut Columbia Valley
Grilled Uli's Andouille Sausage Rich Boy
Bailey's Creme Brulee
Catfish Tacos
Pan Roasted Trout With Red Potato Salad
crab cake
Baby Arugula Salad
Pan Roasted Line Caught Mahi Mahi
Classic omelette
Creme Brulee
Coffee Cake With Rhubarb Compote
Cranberry Cider Sorbet
Baby Spinach & Marinated Chickpea Salad
flourless chocolate cake
Pike Place Cioppino
Grilled Quinault River King Salmon
Clam Chowder
Sampler
Cheesy Polenta Fries
Copper River Salmon
Theo Chocolate Pecan Pie
Oregon Painted Hills Burger
King Salmon
Asparagus & Blue Bird Farms Farro Risotto
White Chocolate Mint Creme Brulee
Orecchiette Pasta & Brandied Gulf Shrimp
Potato Latkes
Herb Butter
Grilled Washington Troll King Salmon
Kasu Black Cod
Gumbo
New York Steak
Manila Clams
Grilled Salmon
Oysters
Grilled Carne Asada Steak Taco Salad
Chioggia Beet Salad
Olympic Mountain Pink Grapefruit Sorbet
Hothouse Rhubarb Tart
Sunchoke Veloute
Bbq Style Pulled Pork Sandwich
Grilled Carlton Farms Pork Rib Chops
Foccacia
Kids Mac And Cheese
Crispy Chicken Spring Rolls
Watermelon Sorbet
White Chocolate Mocha Creme Brulee
Heirloom Tomato Salad
Pecan Pie
Mint Chip Brownie Sundae
Grilled Bristol Bay Sickeye Salmon
Mac and Cheese
Winter Vegetable Chili
Chocolate Pecan Pie
Dragon Fly
Hot Pink Lazer
Barron Point Pacific Oysters On The Half Shell
Pan Roasted Alaskan Halibut
Jamestown Gold Pacific Oysters (4)
Lump Crab Cake
Pork Belly With Rhubarb Gastrique
Sausage Oven Grinder
Baby Field Greens
Braised Pork Collar
Black Velvet Cake
Mt Spire Hard Apple Cider
Spire Apple Cider
Barbecue Pulled Pork Sandwich
Steelhead Diner House Salad
Jones Rootbeer
Jones Cola

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We have a private dining room with a separate entrance that seats between 30-40 people and offers views of the Pike Place Market and Puget Sound. It also features an adjoining outdoor patio which will seat 20+ people.

Steelhead Diner Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (42)
Great for Lunch (39)
Scenic View (33)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Good for Groups (26)
Special Occasion (21)
Kid-friendly (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Romantic (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1879 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went for brunch. Food was good but not ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

Went for brunch. Food was good but not exceptional. We did like the bread. Our server was trying way too hard ... too obsequious and chatty.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

been a fan for years . friends in from ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

been a fan for years . friends in from out of state and wanted to experience the market. loved the restaurant and all attention despite the reality it was super busy.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great meal! The crab and shrimp tater t ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great meal! The crab and shrimp tater tots were awesome and the braised collards were fantastic!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We are annual visitors to Seattle and wh ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We are annual visitors to Seattle and when we are here we visit the steelhead. We have never been disappointed. They have innovative specials to meet a reasonable budget. The staff has always been pleasant and attentive even during the busiest of times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We love Steelhead and our meal and wines ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We love Steelhead and our meal and wines this past visit were great. It did seem like the menu was tweaked from our past favorites to accommodate tourists which was the only disappointing part. We had no problem with the applied gratuity! In fact for a restaurant around Pike Place I think it is a great idea. Our only complaint was that the crab cakes had been taken off the menu.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Outstanding dishes include the black cod ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Outstanding dishes include the black cod, the smoked salmon cake, the truffled clam chowder, and the peach tart. Service is friendly and attentive. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They no longer serve the crab cakes that ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

They no longer serve the crab cakes that we had originally gone for, so don't take the menu here as truth. The food, however, was delicious. We would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Celebrated a 75th birthday at this favor ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Celebrated a 75th birthday at this favorite spot. Great menu with a variety of choices; food always superb. Server very friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun place to have lunch.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Fun place to have lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Always great. One of the few restaurants ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always great. One of the few restaurants in Seattle we return to often. The food is always interesting and delicious. Portions are huge and the wine list is quite reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience on the deck-super food ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great experience on the deck-super food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a meal. The black cod was beyond de ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

What a meal. The black cod was beyond description. Overall a great meal in a tourist driven area. From appetizers to dessert the evening with friends was enjoyable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Interesting menu, excellent service, all ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Interesting menu, excellent service, all dishes were well prepared and delicious

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

i will say this about Steelhead, the foo ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

i will say this about Steelhead, the food was absolutely delicious. Our waitress provided the best service and advice of the menu. The patio is a little small but the ambiance was fantastic

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Slow service was very disappointing.

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Slow service was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Our food was very good. The seafood tat ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Our food was very good. The seafood tater tots were great, as was the razor clam chowder. The kilt lifter fish and chips was crispy and delicious! Desserts was great! Service overall was good, but we felt a bit rushed at times. Will visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Good fish and chips Service not outstand ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Good fish and chips

Service not outstanding

Good drinks

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Love the Steelhead Diner! Our waiter Jo ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Love the Steelhead Diner! Our waiter John was a gem! Food is always a little different than standard diner or restaurant fare. Our current favorite is the fish tacos and the Willow Crest Yakima Valley Sauignon Blanc! 20% automatic tip on entire bill = 25%.?

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great meal and service.

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great meal and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was just ok.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

There is a good variety of entrees and p ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

There is a good variety of entrees and prices (our group had a burger, steak, salmon and halibut). Our server was terrific, full of fun personality. I ordered a featured cocktail and while it was really good, I did not order a second one because it cost $15. This was not our first visit, and certainly we'll dine there again. Our reservation through Open Table allowed us to be seated immediately. However, it is worth the wait if you just walk in.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Brought out of town visitors to one of o ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Brought out of town visitors to one of our favorite seafood restaurants in Seattle. The visitors marvelled at the fishing ties and the choices offered up for dinner. Black cod was succulent and surrounded by a summers bounty of veggies. Another proclaimed the fish and chips some of the best ever, undoubtedly due to use of higher than usual quality Alaskan cod. And who would not go for the halibut as one knows that seas so can't last forever. By the way,the table shared 2 salads, which was more than enough due to very generous portions. Once again the neighborhood joint came through and impressed the guests from the Midwest. But if you're local, support this gem when the tourist season ends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Across from the Public Market. Serves ex ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Across from the Public Market. Serves excellent seafood, specifically spicy clams, clam chowder, black cod and halibut. We ate lunch one day, and returned for dinner. Courteous and helpful wait-staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Love the Steelhead Diner. Food is amaz ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Love the Steelhead Diner. Food is amazing every time. When dining this time we enjoyed the seafood gumbo, a weekly special, and the trout (serious yum). Also enjoyed cocktails and wine with dinner. Note that we find the tables in the dining are more comfortable than the booths.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Perhaps because we ordered the Fish and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Perhaps because we ordered the Fish and Chips, and not a pricier entree, along with a $12 house salad, we found the overall food quality only satisfactory.

Our server was pleasant, however, after spilling soy sauce on my brother, his professional skills were in question...

Nice enough place, but for the price, there are some better alternatives in the neighborhood.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Had a patio table - the noise level insi ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Had a patio table - the noise level inside can be intense at this popular spot just a block from Pike Place Market.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

So disappointed by the entire experience ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

So disappointed by the entire experience. The temperature of the restaurant was too hot. The water glasses were too small and infrequently refilled. The beer I tried to order was out, the two choices I asked for. Our appetizer was underwhelming and my meal was bland and overpriced. And our waiter was inattentive. And to top it off, I was forced to pay 20%. Will never go back. Will never recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

The preparation of each of the fish dish ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The preparation of each of the fish dishes was delectable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The atmosphere is something like a diner ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The atmosphere is something like a diner, with Formica table tops in the large, 4-person booths, but not really like a diner in that the bar was well-stocked, the crowd generally well-heeled, and the food not like any diner I had been to.

One area where Steelhead Diner lives up to it's name is the myriad hand-tied flies and homages to great (I suppose) fly fishermen adorning the walls and barriers between the booths. The display at our booth included beautiful flies with descriptions of the materials used to make the flies and the tier's name.

We generally enjoyed our food, my date had a bowl of the Alaskan Razor Clam Chowder and I had the Kasu Marinated Oregon Black Cod, but felt both dishes were a bit salty for our tastes. I had an Elysian Men's Room Red, which was tasty, but a bit strong for my food. It was my choice, and I goofed. A blonde or pilsner would have gone much better with the cod.

The 20% service charge in lieu of a tip was somewhat surprising to us, but we found all the restaurants we visited during our stay had similar charges (ostensibly, this service charge is to cover Seattle's $15 minimum wage). One thing that was different was the division of the charge. The menu stated the service charge was divided as "at least 60%" (12% of total) to the server, 30% to the other "hourly team members" and the rest to "employee benefits", whatever those are. Other restaurants we visited indicated 100% of the service charge goes to the server. I applaud paying a living wage, but I would prefer it be included in the price of the food, as it is done in Europe, and allow me to tip as I see fit.

Overall, a nice experience, one we are inclined to repeat on our next visit to Seattle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Our third evening at Steelhead during ou ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our third evening at Steelhead during our month long stay in Seattle. We really enjoy the laid back diner atmosphere. The staff were friendly and attentive. But the food is the star ... great clam chowder and outstanding fish specialties ... this evening we had the Black Cod. And you can't leave without dessert ... tonight it was the orange cheesecake and the Cherry bomb. If you can time your dinner around sunset, request one of the corner tables overlooking the Sound.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food here is so good you want to ign ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food here is so good you want to ignore anything else. The staff is friendly, attentive and accommodating. This is a popular spot and gets crowded, so make a reservation . Visited three times, twice for lunch and once for dinner with a party if nine. Was only in Seattle four nights, so that should tell you something. The clam chowder is to die for. My personal favorites: salmon cake appetizer, red beans and rice. A friend from New Orleans had the salmon entree and said it was the best she'd ever had. It's not a dark, intimate place to have a quiet or romantic or business discussion type of dinner. It's an upscale diner done right. Definitely worth a visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Best fish and chips I've ever had! Other ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Best fish and chips I've ever had! Others also seemed to like their meal. Nice ambiance and great location in Pike Place Market.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Steelhead Diner was packed with large gr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Steelhead Diner was packed with large groups when we ate there last Thursday night. The restaurant was loud; loud as in you have to raise your voice so the person across the table can hear you loud. My son really liked his fried chicken. My gumbo and salad were mediocre. Prices are high. For my money, Tavolata in Belltown was a much better value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Best clam chowder in Seattle. So good. F ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Best clam chowder in Seattle. So good. Fish and chips left something to be desired, though: greasy and mushy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding menu featuring local special ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Outstanding menu featuring local specialties and Southern Fried Chicken with brown gravy and the perfectly baked (with crusty edges) mac and cheese. End with Theo chocolate pecan pie and orange creamsicle cheesecake.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We were seated at the seemingly second w ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We were seated at the seemingly second worst table in the whole restaurant, right where the servers walk to go into the kitchen & right next to the thermostat. It was like eating next to a busy highway - always someone rushing by, a server hiding in the corner from their tables, servers chugging giant bottles of water as they walked by, or someone messing with the thermostat. There were plenty of other tables open - we should have asked to be moved but didn't. :(

Fries were terrible but the other parts of dinner were good. Drink menu is bizarre. I settled on plain water out of desperation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Steelhead rarely misses. Great food, fu ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Steelhead rarely misses. Great food, fun atmosphere if hard to get to. Get the Gumbo for an authentic treat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The location was conveniently close to o ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The location was conveniently close to our hotel and the food was good (not great). The biggest disappointment about the restaurant was the cleanliness. Both my wife and my silverware was very dirty and we had to ask for new settings. Additionally we were given dirty plates and cups that had to be swapped out as well. In general the appearance of the restaurant didn't seem very clean either. Lastly, like many Seattle restaurants they automatically add the gratuity to your bill so the service was so-so. I wouldn't go back or recommend this place to a friend unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Excellent from beginning to end. Loved t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent from beginning to end. Loved the crab tots, pork belly and razor clam chowder. The black cod dish keeps us coming back whenever we visit Seattle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Average food with mediocre service. I wo ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Average food with mediocre service. I would not return or recommend this one.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.