About Steelhead Diner

95 Pine Street, Suite 17
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Owner operated by Chef Kevin Davis and wife Teresa, The Steelhead Diner is a smart casual restaurant located in the heart of Seattle's Pike Place Market. Come visit our modern take on the classic American diner - and enjoy contemporary comfort food created with a Northwest twist. Soak up stunning views while enjoying our exclusively North West wine and beer list. Also available: a full bar, and a large selection of non-alcoholic choices. Watch nightly as Davis and his crew create menu items in the restaurant's interactive open kitchen surrounded by views of neighboring Puget Sound. Kids welcome. Family friendly.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open Seven Days a Week: 11a.m. until 10p.m. Brunch Items Available on Saturdays and Sundays.

Cross Street:
First

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 625-0129

Website:
http://www.steelheaddiner.com/

Catering:
Please call and speak to any manager to discuss you individual needs!

Parking Details:
Street parking is available in addition to several parking lots nearby. We validate parking after 5pm at the Pike Place Market Parking Garage on Western Avenue below the Market.

Public Transit:
All downtown bus routes end near or around our address: 95 Pine Street.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Davis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Dungeness Crab & Bay Shrimp Tater Tots
Cioppino
Poutine
Goat Cheese & Honey Cheesecake
Gin & Tonic
El Cubano Sandwich With Fries
Oysters Rockefeller
Ribeye Over Horseradish Mashed Potatoes And Latke
Fennel Spiced Mahi Mahi With Marinated Corona Bean Salad & Artichoke Purée
Lavender Martini
Fish and Chips
fish tacos
Dungeness Crab & Bay Shrimp TatorTots
Alaskan Razor Clam Chowder w/ Smoked Bacon & Truffle Oil Drizzle
Smores Brownie Sundae
Grilled New York Steak
Veggie "Meat"Loaf
Bread Service
Jumbo Lump Crab Cake w/ Crispy Parsley
General Practitioner Cocktail
Wicked Olympic Witch Cocktail
Caviar Pie
Habanero Garlic Pepper
Butter, Olive Oil & Parsley
Butter
"The New Irresistable" Cocktail
Sequimbled Eggs
Chicken And Andouille Sausage Gumbo
Treveri Sparkling Brut Columbia Valley
Grilled Uli's Andouille Sausage Rich Boy
Bailey's Creme Brulee
Catfish Tacos
Pan Roasted Trout With Red Potato Salad
crab cake
Baby Arugula Salad
Pan Roasted Line Caught Mahi Mahi
Classic omelette
Creme Brulee
Coffee Cake With Rhubarb Compote
Cranberry Cider Sorbet
Baby Spinach & Marinated Chickpea Salad
flourless chocolate cake
Pike Place Cioppino
Grilled Quinault River King Salmon
Clam Chowder
Sampler
Cheesy Polenta Fries
Copper River Salmon
Theo Chocolate Pecan Pie
Oregon Painted Hills Burger
King Salmon
Asparagus & Blue Bird Farms Farro Risotto
White Chocolate Mint Creme Brulee
Orecchiette Pasta & Brandied Gulf Shrimp
Potato Latkes
Herb Butter
Grilled Washington Troll King Salmon
Kasu Black Cod
Gumbo
New York Steak
Manila Clams
Grilled Salmon
Oysters
Alaskan Razor Clam Chowder
Grilled Carne Asada Steak Taco Salad
Chioggia Beet Salad
Olympic Mountain Pink Grapefruit Sorbet
Hothouse Rhubarb Tart
Sunchoke Veloute
Bbq Style Pulled Pork Sandwich
Grilled Carlton Farms Pork Rib Chops
Foccacia
Kids Mac And Cheese
Crispy Chicken Spring Rolls
Watermelon Sorbet
White Chocolate Mocha Creme Brulee
Heirloom Tomato Salad
Pecan Pie
Mint Chip Brownie Sundae
Grilled Bristol Bay Sickeye Salmon
Mac and Cheese
Winter Vegetable Chili
Chocolate Pecan Pie
Dragon Fly
Hot Pink Lazer
Barron Point Pacific Oysters On The Half Shell
Pan Roasted Alaskan Halibut
Jamestown Gold Pacific Oysters (4)
Lump Crab Cake
Pork Belly With Rhubarb Gastrique
Sausage Oven Grinder
Baby Field Greens
Braised Pork Collar
Black Velvet Cake
Mt Spire Hard Apple Cider
Spire Apple Cider
Barbecue Pulled Pork Sandwich
Steelhead Diner House Salad
Jones Rootbeer
Jones Cola

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We have a private dining room with a separate entrance that seats between 30-40 people and offers views of the Pike Place Market and Puget Sound. It also features an adjoining outdoor patio which will seat 20+ people.

Steelhead Diner Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (33)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Good for Groups (26)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Scenic View (23)
Special Occasion (19)
Kid-friendly (10)
Hot Spot (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Casual (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Romantic (4)
Fun (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Waterfront (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Business Meals (2)
Authentic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Cozy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
People Watching (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1897 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Started off with the crab and shrimp tat ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

Started off with the crab and shrimp tater tots. Total fail. The shrimp, if there were any, were pulverized into a paste, and any hint of crab was totally lost. Sounds so good, but just terrible. My wife got a salmon cake which was fishy, and a salad with goat cheese which was decent. I got the pork chop and it was swimming in a dish of very funky sauce, and was a tad undercooked. Service was fair, prices were high, don't need to go back here ever again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

I was surprised by the Automatic 20% ti ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

I was surprised by the Automatic 20% tip included, I didn't think the service was spectacular, crowded and a little slow. I was not told of this practice ahead of time, and don't care for that. I always tip at least 15% and more if I think the service warrants. Our food was good, no complaints there.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

This is a great casual place near the Pi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

This is a great casual place near the Pike Market for seafood. I highly recommend the black cod dish if it is available. We had a party of 6 and everyone enjoyed the food. The ambiance is kind of like a diner but I do not mean that in a bad way.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

We had a reservation for when they opene ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We had a reservation for when they opened and were very excited to eat there as it had been some time for all of us since we had tried Steelhead Diner. We arrived at our reservation time and a staff person came to the door to say " they weren't quite open yet, but soon." We waited 15 more minutes and they appeared to be holding a staff meeting. No one would open the door even though it was past time for their opening. When we turned to leave a staff person saw us and came and opened the door saying " one moment". I told him to go ahead and cancel my reservation as we did not wish to wait any longer. We walked across the street for a lovely lunch, one I will write up soon. They should know there is LOTS of competition out there.....just dumb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I have been to Steelhead Diner many time ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I have been to Steelhead Diner many times, and I feel like it has changed a lot in the last year or so. The food is definitely not as good as it used to be - it seems more like greasy diner food. The crowd has also changed - where it used to be a good mix of locals and tourists, it is now almost exclusively tourists, which is never a good sign in Seattle. (To clarify - we love our tourists! However, because there is so much food choice in Seattle, only the best quality restaurants attract the locals.)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

We took out of town friends to Steelhead ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We took out of town friends to Steelhead Diner and it was so good. They enjoyed it!

It is just up the street from Pike's Market which they wanted to visit. The chowder is

a winner anytime. Pence peach salad was excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Fun atmosphere, but I think neighborhood ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Fun atmosphere, but I think neighborhood cooking is better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Great food & Great service

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great food & Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There were 12 of us and everyone really ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

There were 12 of us and everyone really enjoyed their meals. The service was excellent too!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Been to Steelhead Diner a few times, and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Been to Steelhead Diner a few times, and it's always been decent. This is the first time that we did dessert afterwards, and that was honestly quite disappointing. Had we known, we would've got dessert elsewhere.

Everything else, though, was fantastic. The food was great and the service was stellar.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Great burger, great salads, hohum soup. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great burger, great salads, hohum soup. Great service

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Everything was very good. We always enj ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Everything was very good. We always enjoy the gumbo. The peach salad could have used more arugula and less peaches. It was very tasty!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrible service experience. We were fo ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Terrible service experience. We were forgotten about for over 15 minutes and still had very slow service even after a server started working with us. Food is amazing but does not outweigh the horrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Incredibly poor service. The waiter vir ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Incredibly poor service. The waiter virtually ignored my guests who were visiting from overseas and had some difficulty with fast paced English. In fact, we had to ask him to return to the table to take their orders.

salads were nice and flavorful. Main courses were very over salted. Halibut was overcooked and very dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

Awesome!! The food was outstanding!! The ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Awesome!! The food was outstanding!! The service was very fluid and made us feel very welcome.

We will continue to dine here when we are in town!!! Thanks for a great food experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed sitting outside on the mini-pati ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Enjoyed sitting outside on the mini-patio -- a true summer experience in Seattle! Had a wonderful waiter and we both enjoyed our salads and vino. Fun lunch spot, no matter what the season. Love the menu, very creative!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Went for brunch. Food was good but not ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Went for brunch. Food was good but not exceptional. We did like the bread. Our server was trying way too hard ... too obsequious and chatty.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

been a fan for years . friends in from ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

been a fan for years . friends in from out of state and wanted to experience the market. loved the restaurant and all attention despite the reality it was super busy.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As always, I had a very nice meal at the ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

As always, I had a very nice meal at the diner. The food is always consistently good and interesting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal! The crab and shrimp tater t ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great meal! The crab and shrimp tater tots were awesome and the braised collards were fantastic!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We are annual visitors to Seattle and wh ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We are annual visitors to Seattle and when we are here we visit the steelhead. We have never been disappointed. They have innovative specials to meet a reasonable budget. The staff has always been pleasant and attentive even during the busiest of times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We love Steelhead and our meal and wines ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We love Steelhead and our meal and wines this past visit were great. It did seem like the menu was tweaked from our past favorites to accommodate tourists which was the only disappointing part. We had no problem with the applied gratuity! In fact for a restaurant around Pike Place I think it is a great idea. Our only complaint was that the crab cakes had been taken off the menu.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Outstanding dishes include the black cod ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Outstanding dishes include the black cod, the smoked salmon cake, the truffled clam chowder, and the peach tart. Service is friendly and attentive. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They no longer serve the crab cakes that ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

They no longer serve the crab cakes that we had originally gone for, so don't take the menu here as truth. The food, however, was delicious. We would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Celebrated a 75th birthday at this favor ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Celebrated a 75th birthday at this favorite spot. Great menu with a variety of choices; food always superb. Server very friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun place to have lunch.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Fun place to have lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Always great. One of the few restaurants ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always great. One of the few restaurants in Seattle we return to often. The food is always interesting and delicious. Portions are huge and the wine list is quite reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience on the deck-super food ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great experience on the deck-super food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a meal. The black cod was beyond de ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

What a meal. The black cod was beyond description. Overall a great meal in a tourist driven area. From appetizers to dessert the evening with friends was enjoyable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Interesting menu, excellent service, all ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Interesting menu, excellent service, all dishes were well prepared and delicious

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

i will say this about Steelhead, the foo ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

i will say this about Steelhead, the food was absolutely delicious. Our waitress provided the best service and advice of the menu. The patio is a little small but the ambiance was fantastic

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Slow service was very disappointing.

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Slow service was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Our food was very good. The seafood tat ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Our food was very good. The seafood tater tots were great, as was the razor clam chowder. The kilt lifter fish and chips was crispy and delicious! Desserts was great! Service overall was good, but we felt a bit rushed at times. Will visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Good fish and chips Service not outstand ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Good fish and chips

Service not outstanding

Good drinks

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Love the Steelhead Diner! Our waiter Jo ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Love the Steelhead Diner! Our waiter John was a gem! Food is always a little different than standard diner or restaurant fare. Our current favorite is the fish tacos and the Willow Crest Yakima Valley Sauignon Blanc! 20% automatic tip on entire bill = 25%.?

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great meal and service.

vip
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great meal and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was just ok.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

There is a good variety of entrees and p ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

There is a good variety of entrees and prices (our group had a burger, steak, salmon and halibut). Our server was terrific, full of fun personality. I ordered a featured cocktail and while it was really good, I did not order a second one because it cost $15. This was not our first visit, and certainly we'll dine there again. Our reservation through Open Table allowed us to be seated immediately. However, it is worth the wait if you just walk in.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Brought out of town visitors to one of o ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Brought out of town visitors to one of our favorite seafood restaurants in Seattle. The visitors marvelled at the fishing ties and the choices offered up for dinner. Black cod was succulent and surrounded by a summers bounty of veggies. Another proclaimed the fish and chips some of the best ever, undoubtedly due to use of higher than usual quality Alaskan cod. And who would not go for the halibut as one knows that seas so can't last forever. By the way,the table shared 2 salads, which was more than enough due to very generous portions. Once again the neighborhood joint came through and impressed the guests from the Midwest. But if you're local, support this gem when the tourist season ends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Across from the Public Market. Serves ex ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Across from the Public Market. Serves excellent seafood, specifically spicy clams, clam chowder, black cod and halibut. We ate lunch one day, and returned for dinner. Courteous and helpful wait-staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.