About Steelhead Diner

95 Pine Street, Suite 17
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Owner operated by Chef Kevin Davis and wife Teresa, The Steelhead Diner is a smart casual restaurant located in the heart of Seattle's Pike Place Market. Come visit our modern take on the classic American diner - and enjoy contemporary comfort food created with a Northwest twist. Soak up stunning views while enjoying our exclusively North West wine and beer list. Also available: a full bar, and a large selection of non-alcoholic choices. Watch nightly as Davis and his crew create menu items in the restaurant's interactive open kitchen surrounded by views of neighboring Puget Sound. Kids welcome. Family friendly.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open Seven Days a Week: 11a.m. until 10p.m. Brunch Items Available on Saturdays and Sundays.

Cross Street:
First

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 625-0129

Website:
http://www.steelheaddiner.com/

Catering:
Please call and speak to any manager to discuss you individual needs!

Parking Details:
Street parking is available in addition to several parking lots nearby. We validate parking after 5pm at the Pike Place Market Parking Garage on Western Avenue below the Market.

Public Transit:
All downtown bus routes end near or around our address: 95 Pine Street.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Davis

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Dungeness Crab & Bay Shrimp Tater Tots
Poutine
Cioppino
Goat Cheese & Honey Cheesecake
Gin & Tonic
Oysters Rockefeller
Ribeye Over Horseradish Mashed Potatoes And Latke
El Cubano Sandwich With Fries
Fennel Spiced Mahi Mahi With Marinated Corona Bean Salad & Artichoke Purée
Lavender Martini
Alaskan Razor Clam Chowder
Fish and Chips
fish tacos
crab cake
Alaskan Razor Clam Chowder w/ Smoked Bacon & Truffle Oil Drizzle
Sequimbled Eggs
Bread Service
Pike Place Cioppino
flourless chocolate cake
Butter
Treveri Sparkling Brut Columbia Valley
Southern Fried Chicken
Kasu Marinated Black Cod
Dungeness Crab & Bay Shrimp TatorTots
Smores Brownie Sundae
Grilled New York Steak
Veggie "Meat"Loaf
Jumbo Lump Crab Cake w/ Crispy Parsley
General Practitioner Cocktail
Wicked Olympic Witch Cocktail
Caviar Pie
Habanero Garlic Pepper
Butter, Olive Oil & Parsley
"The New Irresistable" Cocktail
Chicken And Andouille Sausage Gumbo
Grilled Uli's Andouille Sausage Rich Boy
Bailey's Creme Brulee
Catfish Tacos
Pan Roasted Trout With Red Potato Salad
Pan Roasted Line Caught Mahi Mahi
Baby Arugula Salad
Classic omelette
Creme Brulee
Coffee Cake With Rhubarb Compote
Cranberry Cider Sorbet
Baby Spinach & Marinated Chickpea Salad
Grilled Quinault River King Salmon
Clam Chowder
Sampler
Cheesy Polenta Fries
Copper River Salmon
Theo Chocolate Pecan Pie
Oregon Painted Hills Burger
King Salmon
Orecchiette Pasta & Brandied Gulf Shrimp
Asparagus & Blue Bird Farms Farro Risotto
White Chocolate Mint Creme Brulee
Potato Latkes
Kasu Black Cod
Herb Butter
Grilled Washington Troll King Salmon
Gumbo
New York Steak
Manila Clams
Grilled Salmon
Oysters
Grilled Carne Asada Steak Taco Salad
Chioggia Beet Salad
Hothouse Rhubarb Tart
Sunchoke Veloute
Olympic Mountain Pink Grapefruit Sorbet
Bbq Style Pulled Pork Sandwich
Grilled Carlton Farms Pork Rib Chops
Kids Mac And Cheese
Crispy Chicken Spring Rolls
Heirloom Tomato Salad
White Chocolate Mocha Creme Brulee
Watermelon Sorbet
Foccacia
Pecan Pie
Mint Chip Brownie Sundae
Grilled Bristol Bay Sickeye Salmon
Mac and Cheese
Winter Vegetable Chili
Dragon Fly
Chocolate Pecan Pie
Hot Pink Lazer
Barron Point Pacific Oysters On The Half Shell
Pan Roasted Alaskan Halibut
Jamestown Gold Pacific Oysters (4)
Lump Crab Cake
Pork Belly With Rhubarb Gastrique
Sausage Oven Grinder
Baby Field Greens
Kilt Lifter Beer
General Practioner Cocktail
Barbecue Pulled Pork Sandwich
Mt Spire Hard Apple Cider
Willie Green's Organic Baby Mixed Greens Salad
Jones Cola

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We have a private dining room with a separate entrance that seats between 30-40 people and offers views of the Pike Place Market and Puget Sound. It also features an adjoining outdoor patio which will seat 20+ people.

Steelhead Diner Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

great for lunch (50)
fit for foodies (49)
scenic view (44)
See All
neighborhood gem (37)
good for groups (30)
special occasion (25)
hot spot (15)
vibrant bar scene (12)
great for outdoor dining (11)
kid-friendly (10)
great for brunch (9)
notable wine list (8)
romantic (6)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1836 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Good food, questionable service We were ...

vip
Dined on June 21, 2016

Good food, questionable service We were staying in the Waterfront area and I'd been to Steelhead diner before on a previous trip to Seattle, so thought it would be a good place to meet a friend. I'd forgotten how slow the service was. The food was very good though.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

We were seated and asked about initial d ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

We were seated and asked about initial drinks quickly. However, after that the service waned. While the waiter was informative and polite, once the food was served he did not return to the table to see if we were satisfied with the food or refill drinks. The check was presented after several attempts to gain his attention.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4

Tater tots were great!

Dined on June 14, 2016

Tater tots were great!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my family here on a Sunday aftern ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I took my family here on a Sunday afternoon to celebrate my son's college graduation. They set up our tables in a quiet, out of the way corner so it was quiet and relaxed. Our waiter, Bobbie, was absolutely phenomenal, the food was outstanding and the whole experience couldn't have been better.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A very good choice for local fare.

Dined on June 9, 2016

had a great dinner, the food was very unique and flavorful, a definite winner on our trip to the emerald city.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great King salmon

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

Waitress was good guiding us thru menu. Food was very good

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

What happened to one of my favorite spots?

Dined on May 30, 2016

I have eaten at Steelhead many times over the years and have become less impressed lately. The menu still features an eclectic mix of great food but has become stale in my opinion. Service has continued to decline, with my last experience leaving the server's attention woefully lacking. The small number of patrons apparently left staff bored, so they stood around talking with each other instead of providing all but minimal service. When the check came, it was a slap in the face to have a mandatory 20% service fee and a spot for an additional tip. Time to take a rest from Steelhead.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

Delicious fish and chips. Great location ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Delicious fish and chips. Great location near Pike's Market.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and great service we had 6 d ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Great food and great service we had 6 different entrées and 2 appetizers and they were all great

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Perfect meal. The chef and staff are hig ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

Perfect meal. The chef and staff are highly skilled and the seafood fresh as well as paired well. Michael is the best of servers and his 2 partners discreet and pleasant. Perfect timing Love our local restaurant. We'll be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

BEST Fish I have ever tasted!

Dined on May 22, 2016

Chef Tony created the most amazing Halibut I have ever enjoyed, or any fish dish! I have traveled the world several times over and hands down, the Best! Our server Bobbi, was a hoot and made our mother's birthday very enjoyable. Wines, dessert, special salmon fin starter, just simply incredible experience. The restaurant is casual chic and very inviting.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2

Great ambiance and food, notable wine li ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Great ambiance and food, notable wine list.

food5
ambience5
service5

The overall dining experience was the ex ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The overall dining experience was the excellent. Our waiter was friendly and attentive. The kitchen was slow but our party was large and the restaurant was busy. We've eaten here before and this experience fortified our positive opinion.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best meal in a looong time! Nice work on ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Best meal in a looong time! Nice work on the troll caught salmon!

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

This restaurant is located at Pike's Pla ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

This restaurant is located at Pike's Place Market with a great view of the street - nice ambiance. The food was ok, but my husband had been craving cioppino and we have never had this dish served with celery and carrots, so the flavor was a bit off. I had the pasta which was tasty.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3

Overall a moderate dining experience. Gr ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Overall a moderate dining experience. Great location in the market. The halibut seemed under-seasoned and was mushy. The staff was very friendly, but we had ask a few times for silverware.

food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Not what I had hoped for

Dined on May 1, 2016

Read really good reviews on Trip Advisor. So my wife and I thought we'd give this place a shot before going to a late show. We each ordered fish and chips. What we received was not what I had hoped for. on each plate, there were 2 pieces of fish, with batter so grease soaked that the supplied napkin was just not up to the task, paired with what looked, smelled and tasted like a large order of McDonald's fries. A couple of positives.. 1. I told the manager about my disappointment, and even though I told her that I was not asking for a discount, she discount the bill (the service rating of 3 stars). However, I can't believe the kitchen manager would allow this food out of the kitchen. 2. My wife likes McDonald's fries.

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome black cod! Lovely terrace! Maybe ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Awesome black cod! Lovely terrace! Maybe extended wait for main course, but worth it!

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Good place for Business Guests

Dined on April 28, 2016

I've had some spotty service, but all in all, this place is great and food is good. This trip, everything was nicely done and service was excellent. From the appetizers to the main courses, it was all nicely prepared as requested and delicious.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great food

food5
ambience5
service4

Sitting on the outdoor patio was a great ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Sitting on the outdoor patio was a great addition to the experience.

food5
ambience4
service4

Always delicious!

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

Always delicious!

food2
ambience2
service1

Service was poor- waiter seemed unpleasa ...

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

Service was poor- waiter seemed unpleasant. 3 different waiters tried to deliver food to our table that did not belong to us. Water wasn't re-filled until almost end of meal.

food5
ambience4
service4

Fried Chicken was just awesome, tasty as ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

Fried Chicken was just awesome, tasty as well as healthy...

food5
ambience5
service5

The best! Can't wait to go back

Dined on April 17, 2016

The best! Can't wait to go back

food5
ambience3
service5

Outstanding service, with helpful menu r ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Outstanding service, with helpful menu recommendations

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere and the food is fantastic!

Dined on April 14, 2016

We went to Steelhead for a birthday lunch. It was Seattle Restaurant week so we all ordered off of the special menu. We were happy to see that the portion sizes were fantastic, as many restaurants participating in the event tend to give really small portions. Our server was great and the atmosphere was perfect for a celebration.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

A Consistent Performer

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

I have been disappointed of late in every other restaurant that I have been to since many restaurants have gone to automatically charging a 20% gratuity. I have found that the level of service in each location has gone down, often dramatically, perhaps as servers realize that their tip won't be affected by their effort or lack thereof. My only recourse is to never return to those establishments. Thus, I am very happy to say that I have been to Steelhead twice since the change and on both occasions the servers have truly earned every penny of that included gratuity. My kudos to the staff at Steelhead. I will be returning. Perhaps even more frequently than before.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a nice dinner.

Dined on April 14, 2016

The Steelhead Diner was a great option for Seattle Restaurant Week. They were full and we were a few minutes late for our reservation, and they were gracious, welcoming, and didn't push us to finish dinner. Dishes were very well done, and I loved the focus on local ingredients and wines.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service3

Not bad, but not great.

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

Not bad, but not great.

food5
ambience4
service4

Our go to for quintessential Seattle far ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Our go to for quintessential Seattle fare for several years now. Restaurants come and go in this town with great rapidity, but this is a mainstay due to very consistent, excellent food. Crab cakes and the Mac and cheese are a must!!!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Super reliable great food every time!

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Steelhead Diner is always a great dining experience that works fabulously for all ages and stages of diners. The black cod was exceptional and I could not keep my fork out of my dining partner's pasta.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4

The clams were very good but the salads ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

The clams were very good but the salads were heavily dressed. The fish and chips were heavy on the batter. Portions were very large so be prepared to share. Excellent wine selection. Excellent service and advice.

food5
ambience5
service5

Shrimp and crab tater tots were awesome!

Dined on April 5, 2016

Shrimp and crab tater tots were awesome!

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Sunday Early Evening Dinner

Dined on April 4, 2016

A friend was in from out of town and we were walking the Pike Place Market. Perfect spot, not stuffy, great food recommend the Shrimp and Crab Tater Tots, my salad with pear was beautiful and the guys had fish and chips plus a little broccoli. All items were delish.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Back again

Dined on April 2, 2016

Been going here since they opened, it's always fun and great food too!

food1
ambience2
service2
value1

The food presentation here is WEIRD!

Dined on April 2, 2016

How on earth does one begin to approach the house salad. Potatoes served UNDER the fatty steak? Sole looked like a sea cucumber. VERY UNAPPETIZING!

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Steelhead Diner is ok

Dined on April 2, 2016

Have eaten at Steelhead Diner before. It's an average level restaurant. Went with a group of friends after a meeting. I had the Cioppino - shrimp were way over cooked.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

An Excellent Choice Find in Pike Place Market Area

Dined on March 30, 2016

I took my co-worker to lunch and we both had the most enjoyable meal and wait person. I would recommend to anyone to go and try for themselves to see if they have the same type of enjoyable service and food experience. The only thing I would recommend is to make sure you get a window seat to take in all the ambiance of such a great find that the Pike Place Market arena offers especially the view of Puget Sound! ENJOY!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Very slow service

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

I have recommended this venue in the past, but this lunch we just got forgotten. It took over 50 minutes for us to get our lunches after ordering, while those around us who were seated after us all got served. No one approached us to explain any problem and even after we started asking all we were told was the kitchen was backed up (which does not explain everyone else getting served first). Three out of four of us were regular diners at this venue but we were very discouraged on this visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.