About Steelhead Diner

95 Pine Street, Suite 17
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Owner operated by Chef Kevin Davis and wife Teresa, The Steelhead Diner is a smart casual restaurant located in the heart of Seattle's Pike Place Market. Come visit our modern take on the classic American diner - and enjoy contemporary comfort food created with a Northwest twist. Soak up stunning views while enjoying our exclusively North West wine and beer list. Also available: a full bar, and a large selection of non-alcoholic choices. Watch nightly as Davis and his crew create menu items in the restaurant's interactive open kitchen surrounded by views of neighboring Puget Sound. Kids welcome. Family friendly.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Northwest, Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open Seven Days a Week: 11a.m. until 10p.m. Brunch Items Available on Saturdays and Sundays.

Cross Street:
First

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 625-0129

Website:
http://www.steelheaddiner.com/

Catering:
Please call and speak to any manager to discuss you individual needs!

Parking Details:
Street parking is available in addition to several parking lots nearby. We validate parking after 5pm at the Pike Place Market Parking Garage on Western Avenue below the Market.

Public Transit:
All downtown bus routes end near or around our address: 95 Pine Street.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Davis

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Dungeness Crab & Bay Shrimp Tater Tots
Poutine
Cioppino
Goat Cheese & Honey Cheesecake
Gin & Tonic
Oysters Rockefeller
El Cubano Sandwich With Fries
Ribeye Over Horseradish Mashed Potatoes And Latke
Fennel Spiced Mahi Mahi With Marinated Corona Bean Salad & Artichoke Purée
Lavender Martini
Fish and Chips
fish tacos
Alaskan Razor Clam Chowder
Dungeness Crab & Bay Shrimp TatorTots
Alaskan Razor Clam Chowder w/ Smoked Bacon & Truffle Oil Drizzle
Smores Brownie Sundae
Grilled New York Steak
Veggie "Meat"Loaf
Bread Service
Jumbo Lump Crab Cake w/ Crispy Parsley
General Practitioner Cocktail
Wicked Olympic Witch Cocktail
Caviar Pie
Habanero Garlic Pepper
Butter, Olive Oil & Parsley
Butter
"The New Irresistable" Cocktail
Sequimbled Eggs
Chicken And Andouille Sausage Gumbo
Treveri Sparkling Brut Columbia Valley
Grilled Uli's Andouille Sausage Rich Boy
Bailey's Creme Brulee
Catfish Tacos
Pan Roasted Trout With Red Potato Salad
crab cake
Pan Roasted Line Caught Mahi Mahi
Baby Arugula Salad
Classic omelette
Creme Brulee
Coffee Cake With Rhubarb Compote
Cranberry Cider Sorbet
Baby Spinach & Marinated Chickpea Salad
Pike Place Cioppino
flourless chocolate cake
Grilled Quinault River King Salmon
Clam Chowder
Sampler
Cheesy Polenta Fries
Copper River Salmon
Theo Chocolate Pecan Pie
Oregon Painted Hills Burger
King Salmon
Orecchiette Pasta & Brandied Gulf Shrimp
Asparagus & Blue Bird Farms Farro Risotto
White Chocolate Mint Creme Brulee
Potato Latkes
Kasu Black Cod
Herb Butter
Grilled Washington Troll King Salmon
Gumbo
New York Steak
Manila Clams
Grilled Salmon
Oysters
Grilled Carne Asada Steak Taco Salad
Chioggia Beet Salad
Hothouse Rhubarb Tart
Sunchoke Veloute
Olympic Mountain Pink Grapefruit Sorbet
Bbq Style Pulled Pork Sandwich
Grilled Carlton Farms Pork Rib Chops
Kids Mac And Cheese
Crispy Chicken Spring Rolls
Heirloom Tomato Salad
White Chocolate Mocha Creme Brulee
Watermelon Sorbet
Foccacia
Pecan Pie
Mint Chip Brownie Sundae
Grilled Bristol Bay Sickeye Salmon
Mac and Cheese
Winter Vegetable Chili
Dragon Fly
Chocolate Pecan Pie
Hot Pink Lazer
Barron Point Pacific Oysters On The Half Shell
Pan Roasted Alaskan Halibut
Jamestown Gold Pacific Oysters (4)
Lump Crab Cake
Pork Belly With Rhubarb Gastrique
Sausage Oven Grinder
Baby Field Greens
Kilt Lifter Beer
General Practioner Cocktail
Barbecue Pulled Pork Sandwich
Mt Spire Hard Apple Cider
Willie Green's Organic Baby Mixed Greens Salad
Jones Cola
Braised Pork Collar
Spire Apple Cider

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

We have a private dining room with a separate entrance that seats between 30-40 people and offers views of the Pike Place Market and Puget Sound. It also features an adjoining outdoor patio which will seat 20+ people.

Steelhead Diner Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (43)
great for lunch (38)
scenic view (38)
See All
neighborhood gem (32)
good for groups (27)
special occasion (18)
great for outdoor dining (11)
vibrant bar scene (10)
kid-friendly (7)
notable wine list (7)
hot spot (7)
great for brunch (7)
late-night find (4)
romantic (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1859 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was just ok.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

There is a good variety of entrees and p ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 6 days ago

There is a good variety of entrees and prices (our group had a burger, steak, salmon and halibut). Our server was terrific, full of fun personality. I ordered a featured cocktail and while it was really good, I did not order a second one because it cost $15. This was not our first visit, and certainly we'll dine there again. Our reservation through Open Table allowed us to be seated immediately. However, it is worth the wait if you just walk in.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Brought out of town visitors to one of o ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 7 days ago

Brought out of town visitors to one of our favorite seafood restaurants in Seattle. The visitors marvelled at the fishing ties and the choices offered up for dinner. Black cod was succulent and surrounded by a summers bounty of veggies. Another proclaimed the fish and chips some of the best ever, undoubtedly due to use of higher than usual quality Alaskan cod. And who would not go for the halibut as one knows that seas so can't last forever. By the way,the table shared 2 salads, which was more than enough due to very generous portions. Once again the neighborhood joint came through and impressed the guests from the Midwest. But if you're local, support this gem when the tourist season ends.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Across from the Public Market. Serves ex ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Across from the Public Market. Serves excellent seafood, specifically spicy clams, clam chowder, black cod and halibut. We ate lunch one day, and returned for dinner. Courteous and helpful wait-staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Love the Steelhead Diner. Food is amaz ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Love the Steelhead Diner. Food is amazing every time. When dining this time we enjoyed the seafood gumbo, a weekly special, and the trout (serious yum). Also enjoyed cocktails and wine with dinner. Note that we find the tables in the dining are more comfortable than the booths.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Perhaps because we ordered the Fish and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Perhaps because we ordered the Fish and Chips, and not a pricier entree, along with a $12 house salad, we found the overall food quality only satisfactory.

Our server was pleasant, however, after spilling soy sauce on my brother, his professional skills were in question...

Nice enough place, but for the price, there are some better alternatives in the neighborhood.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Had a patio table - the noise level insi ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Had a patio table - the noise level inside can be intense at this popular spot just a block from Pike Place Market.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

So disappointed by the entire experience ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

So disappointed by the entire experience. The temperature of the restaurant was too hot. The water glasses were too small and infrequently refilled. The beer I tried to order was out, the two choices I asked for. Our appetizer was underwhelming and my meal was bland and overpriced. And our waiter was inattentive. And to top it off, I was forced to pay 20%. Will never go back. Will never recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

The preparation of each of the fish dish ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The preparation of each of the fish dishes was delectable.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The atmosphere is something like a diner ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The atmosphere is something like a diner, with Formica table tops in the large, 4-person booths, but not really like a diner in that the bar was well-stocked, the crowd generally well-heeled, and the food not like any diner I had been to.

One area where Steelhead Diner lives up to it's name is the myriad hand-tied flies and homages to great (I suppose) fly fishermen adorning the walls and barriers between the booths. The display at our booth included beautiful flies with descriptions of the materials used to make the flies and the tier's name.

We generally enjoyed our food, my date had a bowl of the Alaskan Razor Clam Chowder and I had the Kasu Marinated Oregon Black Cod, but felt both dishes were a bit salty for our tastes. I had an Elysian Men's Room Red, which was tasty, but a bit strong for my food. It was my choice, and I goofed. A blonde or pilsner would have gone much better with the cod.

The 20% service charge in lieu of a tip was somewhat surprising to us, but we found all the restaurants we visited during our stay had similar charges (ostensibly, this service charge is to cover Seattle's $15 minimum wage). One thing that was different was the division of the charge. The menu stated the service charge was divided as "at least 60%" (12% of total) to the server, 30% to the other "hourly team members" and the rest to "employee benefits", whatever those are. Other restaurants we visited indicated 100% of the service charge goes to the server. I applaud paying a living wage, but I would prefer it be included in the price of the food, as it is done in Europe, and allow me to tip as I see fit.

Overall, a nice experience, one we are inclined to repeat on our next visit to Seattle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Our third evening at Steelhead during ou ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our third evening at Steelhead during our month long stay in Seattle. We really enjoy the laid back diner atmosphere. The staff were friendly and attentive. But the food is the star ... great clam chowder and outstanding fish specialties ... this evening we had the Black Cod. And you can't leave without dessert ... tonight it was the orange cheesecake and the Cherry bomb. If you can time your dinner around sunset, request one of the corner tables overlooking the Sound.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food here is so good you want to ign ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food here is so good you want to ignore anything else. The staff is friendly, attentive and accommodating. This is a popular spot and gets crowded, so make a reservation . Visited three times, twice for lunch and once for dinner with a party if nine. Was only in Seattle four nights, so that should tell you something. The clam chowder is to die for. My personal favorites: salmon cake appetizer, red beans and rice. A friend from New Orleans had the salmon entree and said it was the best she'd ever had. It's not a dark, intimate place to have a quiet or romantic or business discussion type of dinner. It's an upscale diner done right. Definitely worth a visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Best fish and chips I've ever had! Other ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Best fish and chips I've ever had! Others also seemed to like their meal. Nice ambiance and great location in Pike Place Market.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Steelhead Diner was packed with large gr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Steelhead Diner was packed with large groups when we ate there last Thursday night. The restaurant was loud; loud as in you have to raise your voice so the person across the table can hear you loud. My son really liked his fried chicken. My gumbo and salad were mediocre. Prices are high. For my money, Tavolata in Belltown was a much better value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Outstanding menu featuring local special ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Outstanding menu featuring local specialties and Southern Fried Chicken with brown gravy and the perfectly baked (with crusty edges) mac and cheese. End with Theo chocolate pecan pie and orange creamsicle cheesecake.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We were seated at the seemingly second w ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We were seated at the seemingly second worst table in the whole restaurant, right where the servers walk to go into the kitchen & right next to the thermostat. It was like eating next to a busy highway - always someone rushing by, a server hiding in the corner from their tables, servers chugging giant bottles of water as they walked by, or someone messing with the thermostat. There were plenty of other tables open - we should have asked to be moved but didn't. :(

Fries were terrible but the other parts of dinner were good. Drink menu is bizarre. I settled on plain water out of desperation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Steelhead rarely misses. Great food, fu ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Steelhead rarely misses. Great food, fun atmosphere if hard to get to. Get the Gumbo for an authentic treat.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The location was conveniently close to o ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The location was conveniently close to our hotel and the food was good (not great). The biggest disappointment about the restaurant was the cleanliness. Both my wife and my silverware was very dirty and we had to ask for new settings. Additionally we were given dirty plates and cups that had to be swapped out as well. In general the appearance of the restaurant didn't seem very clean either. Lastly, like many Seattle restaurants they automatically add the gratuity to your bill so the service was so-so. I wouldn't go back or recommend this place to a friend unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Excellent from beginning to end. Loved t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent from beginning to end. Loved the crab tots, pork belly and razor clam chowder. The black cod dish keeps us coming back whenever we visit Seattle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Average food with mediocre service. I wo ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Average food with mediocre service. I would not return or recommend this one.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

We went to Steelhead Diner for a brunch ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We went to Steelhead Diner for a brunch double-date. The crab and shrimp tater tots were to die for and our server was impeccable. The bloody marys are on point and the view across the sound over the top of the market made for a great backdrop to a fun, low key but delicious meal. It was easy to get in and didn't feel too crowded, even on the same day as the Pride Parade, when the rest of the city was slammed. I would definitely recommend Steelhead Diner, especially for weekend brunch!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We booked a lunch at Steelhead Diner whi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We booked a lunch at Steelhead Diner while on vacation based on reviews we had read. Our lunch crowd included children with parents and grandparents as well as local businessmen/women. The food is delicious. The portions are generous. The service is impeccable. If you are in Seattle, go here!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, questionable service We were ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Good food, questionable service

We were staying in the Waterfront area and I'd been to Steelhead diner before on a previous trip to Seattle, so thought it would be a good place to meet a friend. I'd forgotten how slow the service was. The food was very good though.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

We were seated and asked about initial d ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

We were seated and asked about initial drinks quickly. However, after that the service waned. While the waiter was informative and polite, once the food was served he did not return to the table to see if we were satisfied with the food or refill drinks. The check was presented after several attempts to gain his attention.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Tater tots were great!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Tater tots were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

I took my family here on a Sunday aftern ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I took my family here on a Sunday afternoon to celebrate my son's college graduation. They set up our tables in a quiet, out of the way corner so it was quiet and relaxed. Our waiter, Bobbie, was absolutely phenomenal, the food was outstanding and the whole experience couldn't have been better.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very good choice for local fare.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

had a great dinner, the food was very unique and flavorful, a definite winner on our trip to the emerald city.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great King salmon

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Waitress was good guiding us thru menu. Food was very good

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What happened to one of my favorite spots?

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

I have eaten at Steelhead many times over the years and have become less impressed lately. The menu still features an eclectic mix of great food but has become stale in my opinion. Service has continued to decline, with my last experience leaving the server's attention woefully lacking. The small number of patrons apparently left staff bored, so they stood around talking with each other instead of providing all but minimal service. When the check came, it was a slap in the face to have a mandatory 20% service fee and a spot for an additional tip. Time to take a rest from Steelhead.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Delicious fish and chips. Great location ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Delicious fish and chips. Great location near Pike's Market.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great food and great service we had 6 d ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Great food and great service we had 6 different entrées and 2 appetizers and they were all great

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect meal. The chef and staff are hig ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Perfect meal. The chef and staff are highly skilled and the seafood fresh as well as paired well.

Michael is the best of servers and his 2 partners discreet and pleasant. Perfect timing

Love our local restaurant. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

BEST Fish I have ever tasted!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Chef Tony created the most amazing Halibut I have ever enjoyed, or any fish dish! I have traveled the world several times over and hands down, the Best! Our server Bobbi, was a hoot and made our mother's birthday very enjoyable. Wines, dessert, special salmon fin starter, just simply incredible experience. The restaurant is casual chic and very inviting.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance and food, notable wine li ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great ambiance and food, notable wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

The overall dining experience was the ex ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The overall dining experience was the excellent. Our waiter was friendly and attentive. The kitchen was slow but our party was large and the restaurant was busy. We've eaten here before and this experience fortified our positive opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best meal in a looong time! Nice work on ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Best meal in a looong time! Nice work on the troll caught salmon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is located at Pike's Pla ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

This restaurant is located at Pike's Place Market with a great view of the street - nice ambiance. The food was ok, but my husband had been craving cioppino and we have never had this dish served with celery and carrots, so the flavor was a bit off. I had the pasta which was tasty.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Overall a moderate dining experience. Gr ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Overall a moderate dining experience. Great location in the market. The halibut seemed under-seasoned and was mushy. The staff was very friendly, but we had ask a few times for silverware.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Not what I had hoped for

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Read really good reviews on Trip Advisor. So my wife and I thought we'd give this place a shot before going to a late show. We each ordered fish and chips. What we received was not what I had hoped for. on each plate, there were 2 pieces of fish, with batter so grease soaked that the supplied napkin was just not up to the task, paired with what looked, smelled and tasted like a large order of McDonald's fries.

A couple of positives..

1. I told the manager about my disappointment, and even though I told her that I was not asking for a discount, she discount the bill (the service rating of 3 stars). However, I can't believe the kitchen manager would allow this food out of the kitchen.

2. My wife likes McDonald's fries.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Awesome black cod! Lovely terrace! Maybe ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Awesome black cod! Lovely terrace! Maybe extended wait for main course, but worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.