About Steamship Grill & Bar

470 Belleville St.
Victoria, BC V8V 1W9
View Larger Map

Come to Steamship Grill & Bar as you are. There you will unwind; feeling more relaxed, refreshed and refueled as your visit unfolds. Casual, yet upscale, the atmosphere will be comfortable and welcoming to locals and visitors to the Inner Harbour. The decor honours the heritage of the working waterfront with elements that compliment the timeless quality of the original Steamship Terminal building.



Our chef’s approach will emphasize hand-crafted and ethically produced ingredients featuring British Columbia and, in particular, Vancouver Island ranchers, micro-brewers, vintners and artisanal producers that share his vision and passion for fresh, local & sustainable.



Our bar features the best local and international wines including 8 signature by-the-tap varietals. Our draught selection features local breweries dedicated to their craft.



Welcome aboard!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Tapas / Small Plates, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch-
Weekdays: 11:00AM-4:30PM
Weekends: 10:00AM-4:30PM


Dinner-
4:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Menzies St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(778) 433-6736

Website:
http://www.steamshipgrill.com/

Parking Details:
There are plenty of metered parking stalls as well as 1 and 2 hour parking spots within a 3 block radius of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Nathan Tymchuk

Private Party Facilities:
We have a small (8 person) private room with A/V capabilities. This will cater to not only a working business-style luncheon or dinner function, but also to special occasion diners celebrating a birthday, anniversary, graduation, etc.



In conjunction with the Bateman Gallery above us, we will also be able to cater to larger groups (up to 80). We can accommodate anything from a stand up cocktail and appetizer style reception to a full sit down dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Steve Baert, General Manager: 7784336736x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Steamship Grill & Bar
Steamship Grill & Bar

Steamship Grill & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Victoria
Most Booked
Victoria
Best Restaurants in Victoria ›

scenic view (51)
great for outdoor dining (45)
special occasion (27)
See All
fit for foodies (22)
good for groups (19)
great for lunch (18)
romantic (12)
great for brunch (10)
neighborhood gem (9)
hot spot (6)
kid-friendly (4)
notable wine list (3)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
270 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Love the patio!!

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 2 days ago

Love the patio!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Horrible food, well overpriced. Total to ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 5 days ago

Horrible food, well overpriced. Total tourist trap. Only think that was enjoyable was the view.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Great service, good was fresh and delici ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great service, good was fresh and delicious. My family enjoyed it tremendously.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The view is the primary reason we decide ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The view is the primary reason we decided to celebrate out anniversary at Steamship, but the service we experienced made the event outstanding. The host was courteous and efficient; the server was friendly and provided good recommendations. We each had the Halibut and enjoyed it so much we have recommended it to friends. We will not wait until a whole year for our second anniversary before we visit again.

Thanks Steamship Grill and Bar for helping us make our 1st anniversary special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fine lunch on a beautiful after ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We had a fine lunch on a beautiful afternoon in a lovely space

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Went here with a friend for Sunday brunc ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Went here with a friend for Sunday brunch. The food was good and reasonably priced. Had a table on the outdoor patio overlooking the harbour. Great patio because you can sit under the large canopy that covers three quarters of the patio or sit in the other quarter which has direct sunlight. I also went once recently for dinner with my husband and it was very tasty and well presented. I haven't been there on a cold night yet but they're also numerous patio patio here heater scattered around under the canopy.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful view - dine if you must. Bett ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Beautiful view - dine if you must. Better restaurants elsewhere. Inexperienced waitstaff and cookie-cutter menu a bit underwhelming. Wines good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

The siloin was tough, the mashed potatoe ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The siloin was tough, the mashed potatoes were cold, the rice with the salmon almost cold. We couldn't get an espresso after 21.00 pm, because Starbucks inhouse was already closed.

it's a pity, then the view on the harbour is great.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

View is the reason to come. Food was go ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

View is the reason to come. Food was good. Service too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Lovely waterfront seafood restaurant Re ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Lovely waterfront seafood restaurant

Recommend this establishment to locals and visitors

👍👍👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Was disappointed there was a limited men ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Was disappointed there was a limited menu on Canada Day; we came craving breakfast items - our reservation was for 11 - but there were no breakfast options. Disappointing.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Great friendly staff. Although it was v ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great friendly staff. Although it was very busy, they were attentive and the food arrived quickly. It was hot and delish. The inner harbour is the best view for patio dining

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic view and service

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Fantastic view and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a good dining experience at Steam ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We had a good dining experience at Steamship Grill. The food was excellent and we would definitely recommend it. Service after we were seated was a bit slow to begin with but picked up after we had ordered drinks and food. We will return again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I had high expectations but they quickly ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

I had high expectations but they quickly diminished. Rated amongst the worst dining service experience I have ever had. We constantly had to ASK for service more than once! The food was overcooked and lacked creativity. The prices certainly are among the highest in the area and I had high expectations. Ambiance on the patio could be improved with some potted plants, and bad choice of a dark coloured awning as it impedes the light on the patio. While they were indicating the patio was full, more than 1/2 was shut down for no visible reason. Disappointing all around and this could be so, so, so much more given its idyllic location.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Food was good but it took over half an h ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was good but it took over half an hour to get our food and it also took quite awhile just for the server to come and get our drink order. lovely view from the patio would be the reason to go back

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

It was Father's Day late lunch for my fa ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

It was Father's Day late lunch for my family of 4 (one day early on Saturday). Our young server was very attentive and made sure my dish and my son's were kept warm as I was helping him with a problem, away from the table. Two other family members continued to enjoy their salads until we returned. We sat outdoors, so of course the views were stunning and the heaters were helpful on a cooler day.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A mixed experience

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I was disappointed in the preparation of the food we were served during our most recent visit. During earlier visits my impression was that, while the menu was largely pub fare, the ingredients were well selected and the food was quite tasty.

Some time had elapsed before our recent visit and, while the setting and service were still excellent, the food was not of the quality I recall from earlier visits. I formed this impression not only from the food served at our table but also from my impression of plates passing by to be served to other customers at nearby tables while we ate.

Ever restaurant has its off days, but I sensed (perhaps unjustly) this reduction in the quality of the food (while not a big problem) was real and it did make it less likely that we'll visit again soon.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent Food, fabulous view and friend ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Excellent Food, fabulous view and friendly service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

NEEDS WORK

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

First let me say that our server was very good and very embarrassed about the wine problem It was a special night for us but the first two wines we ordered the restaurant was "out of stock".

I believe this was a sign of very poor management on their part and of course served to put us off for the rest of our visit.

My wife's fish dinner was at best bland. My short ribs with risotto was just this side of warm and the serving size for the ribs was very small and the meat stringy. We didn't stay for dessert.

Obviously the Steamship has to stop just relying on their great location and focus on the food or they are going to be in deep trouble when the tourists leave.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Lovely evening

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Lovely time with guests from out of town. Next time I'll get book a patio table when making my reservation though. Food and drinks were great! Service was on point.

Tags: kid-friendly, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Server & kitchen did not pay attention t ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Server & kitchen did not pay attention to my food sensitivites. Calamari very greasy, had to send back salad because they brought it with nuts and cranberries- both are allergice to, salmon was so overcooked I could barely swallow it without washing it down with water.

Overall , very dissappointing experience . View was nice.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Enjoyed the food and the ambience of therestaurant

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The quality of the food and the location on the inner harbour was the main attraction. The service was mediocre but overall we enjoyed the experience.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic food and service

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Probably the best meal I have had in a long time! The crab legs were scrumptious and the steak was so tender and grilled to perfection. Our waiter, Shane, made the evening quite enjoyable with his great sense of humour and attention to detail. Will definitely go back again!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was very good, staff was fri ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The service was very good, staff was friendly and prompt and not too pushy. The Patio was beautiful and atmosphere was very west coast.

I had the fish tacos and they were the best I have had in quite a while.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Mediocre food for Mothers Day brunch. S ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Mediocre food for Mothers Day brunch. Service was excellent.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Fish and chips were amazing. Also got mi ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Fish and chips were amazing. Also got mini donuts. Loved it all. Server was very fun and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The patio is lovely with an exceptional ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The patio is lovely with an exceptional view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Lunch

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Service and food quality was excellent. What particularly worked for us was that we had a two year old with us, and being on the patio gave him lots of opportunity for entertainment and movement. We were able to have an "adult" lunch without worrying about his disturbing other patrons. The patio was heated, and so comfortable on a somewhat chilly day. The cosy blankets provided at each chair were welcome. We shall remember this restaurant as kid-friendly.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WILL RETURN IN AUGUST

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

My friends and I wanted to try somewhere new and we were not disappointed. Our meals were very good and those mini-donuts were just plain Awesome!! Thank you all for a nice time and we will be back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mediocre food

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We ate here our first night in Victoria. The ambiance is very nice. We ate on the patio and were very comfortable. They seemed to be understaffed on servers as our server was harried but got the job done in a timely manner. The golden beet salad was delicious but that was it . I got the seafood grill and everything was overdone, including the tuna. My wife got the crabcakes (plural) but only got got one with a couple of skewers of rubbery prawns . We expected better seafood in Victoria than we got here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Unique dining experience

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Great dine for guests and out of towners. Pricey but very good!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great location!

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Good food in a great location with a view of the Inner Harbour.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Awesome experience!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Very comfortable and friendly atmosphere! Part of our decision to go there was the ability to make a reservation online as our lunch organizer was making plans while out of town. It was a very simple process, and successful on a busy, sunny Saturday! We will definitely return for dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were very surprised that the patio wa ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

We were very surprised that the patio was open at this time of the year. I was hesitant to try it thinking it would be too cold to sit outside. I am so glad that we chose to try the patio, it was toasty warm with many heaters going and it was a nice touch to have a blanket to use if needed. Our dinner was very good and I must say the service was excellant! This was our first time there and I would definitely return.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Food Was Entirely Unedible

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

We had been looking forward to trying this establishment and left completely disappointed. Service was very slow, and the food was extremely salty. We all had different meals and none of us could finish because of the amount of salt in the food. We will not be recommending this place and will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

We had a wonderful evening

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

The four of us were more than impressed with both the food and the service. Great atmosphere and we will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Dinner was very good

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

The waiter seated a group -(7-)close to our table when the table in other parts of th dining room were vacant. Their conversation was too close, ---spread out your clients please.

Food was good. Dessert was the same as earlier in the week. Might be nice to change the dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great patio

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Lovely to be able to sit outside on an evening in February,. We were warm enough and enjoyed the view over the Inner Harbour. I do find the inside seating very noisy. It does make it hard for people with hearing difficulties. It seems that all restaurants are similar with no soft furnishings to absorb sound. It makes it hard to enjoy conversation with one's friends.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Great Place to Go

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

This was our first trip here. The location is great, located on the inner harbour with a great view. The food was wonderful, good sizes portions, and excellently prepared. The wait staff was efficient without being over-bearing. I'm already planning a trip back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.