About Steamship Grill & Bar

470 Belleville St.
Victoria, BC V8V 1W9
View Larger Map

Come to Steamship Grill & Bar as you are. There you will unwind; feeling more relaxed, refreshed and refueled as your visit unfolds. Casual, yet upscale, the atmosphere will be comfortable and welcoming to locals and visitors to the Inner Harbour. The decor honours the heritage of the working waterfront with elements that compliment the timeless quality of the original Steamship Terminal building.



Our chef’s approach will emphasize hand-crafted and ethically produced ingredients featuring British Columbia and, in particular, Vancouver Island ranchers, micro-brewers, vintners and artisanal producers that share his vision and passion for fresh, local & sustainable.



Our bar features the best local and international wines including 8 signature by-the-tap varietals. Our draught selection features local breweries dedicated to their craft.



Welcome aboard!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Tapas / Small Plates, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch-
Weekdays: 11:00AM-4:30PM
Weekends: 10:00AM-4:30PM


Dinner-
4:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Menzies St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(778) 433-6736

Website:
http://www.steamshipgrill.com/

Parking Details:
There are plenty of metered parking stalls as well as 1 and 2 hour parking spots within a 3 block radius of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Nathan Tymchuk

Private Party Facilities:
We have a small (8 person) private room with A/V capabilities. This will cater to not only a working business-style luncheon or dinner function, but also to special occasion diners celebrating a birthday, anniversary, graduation, etc.



In conjunction with the Bateman Gallery above us, we will also be able to cater to larger groups (up to 80). We can accommodate anything from a stand up cocktail and appetizer style reception to a full sit down dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Steve Baert, General Manager: 7784336736x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Steamship Grill & Bar
Steamship Grill & Bar

Steamship Grill & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Victoria
Best Restaurants in Victoria ›

Scenic View (58)
Great for Outdoor Dining (52)
Special Occasion (21)
See All
Great for Lunch (20)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Great for Brunch (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Romantic (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Hot Spot (7)
Waterfront (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Casual (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Seasonal (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Cozy (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
People Watching (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fun (1)
Great Beer (1)
Historic (1)
Authentic (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
Newest
299 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We should have chosen to sit on the pati ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 4 days ago

We should have chosen to sit on the patio. Inside was fine, but we realized halfway through that the patio was the best place to be because there were heaters, blankets and wind blockers to stay comfortable and enjoy the spectacular view. That was my only regret. Everything else was fabulous.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic dinner. Great view of water. ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic dinner. Great view of water. Great menu. Great service. A perfect night...

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was poor. It took over 50 mi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

The service was poor. It took over 50 minutes to receive my main course and the food was cold when it arrived at my table. Also, the waitress did not check in with my husband and I to inform us of the wait time. She was also annoyed with us when we ask her to explain why it took 50 minutes to received our main douse. In addition, the waitress told me and my husband that she was busy taking orders for a table of 20 customers/ tourists and did not have time to inform us of the long wait time. She also told us that the restaurant was short staffed because most of the waiters were students and had returned to school, and then she dismissed us by saying I hope you have a nice evening. This type of service is unacceptable!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary breakfast on their fabulous waterfront patio overlooking the beautiful Victoria Inner Harbour. Treated to the amazing water taxi ballet on the harbour. Every chair on the patio has a cozy blanket and the overhead heaters were there if needed. Will certainly be our "go to" restaurant when downtown. Oh yes, the food was AMAZING and the service second to none.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great Beer, Casual, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

loved it that they had blankets on the c ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

loved it that they had blankets on the chairs ready - just in case Victoria's weather changed…how novel !! disappointed that when it started to rain and our neighbours at another table (who were a lovely couple visiting Victoria from England) were getting dripped on and the staff didn't check on them…we did (being the good Canadians we are and local born and raised) suggested they move their table in towards our so they could stay dry……we ended up having a lovely visit with them…for $32 I thought the seafood melody was a little shy…however the seafood salads were totally loaded….!! our server was great, helpful and made positive suggestions ! I was very grateful that he double checked on things due to my cilantro allergy.

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We had a lovely birthday dinner for our ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

We had a lovely birthday dinner for our son! The view was just amazing and the service was good, a very pleasant waitress! It was a perfect summer evening to enjoy the harbour view. Your prawn chicken bowl was delicious! Thank you!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The Steamship Grill is excellent for din ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The Steamship Grill is excellent for dining with friends from out of town. We've done this

twice in two months and everyone was happy with the choice. Highly recommended.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful views of Victoria's inner harb ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Beautiful views of Victoria's inner harbor and delicious food. The interior restaurant was rather noisy, but the patio was much better. Blankets and heaters make the patio accessible most of the year.

Wonderful building that once served steamships arriving in Victoria. Great place to view the sunset.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Steamship Grill and Bar is a great water ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Steamship Grill and Bar is a great waterfront harbour location for visitors to Victoria. The menu simple but fresh and wowed my visitors from out of town.

Tags: Seasonal, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The food was excellent and our server wa ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was excellent and our server was good. However, we were disappointed that the reservation only secured us a table inside, which was completely empty anyway. Because we wanted to eat on the patio (which is massive in size) we had to wait for 30 minutes for a table, just as long as people who had not made reservations. That was a disappointment as there was no advantage to reserving a table. We decided to order a drink at the bar while waiting for our table. The bartender was very unfriendly and gave us our bill before asking us if we wanted another drink. When we asked if we could have it transferred to our table because we were dining in, she made us feel very uncomfortable as if she was annoyed. That put a sour taste in our mouths before we even were seated at our table. Luckily, the food made up for the issues with service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Patio one of the better available inside ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Patio one of the better available inside nothing special and hot on warm days.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My only complaint was that the portions ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

My only complaint was that the portions that I had and that I saw on other tables were very small - fish and chips = two small pieces and a little more than a cupful of French Fries. Better value at a nearby fish and chip stand.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

On the patio at sunset was amazing. Gre ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

On the patio at sunset was amazing. Great server and the food was exactly what we expected and wanted. Would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This review could be titled, "very good ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

This review could be titled, "very good food with an whoops!" First, the location was superb. We sat outside on the inner harbor only a few hundred feet from the Empress with its facade at sunset. The salad was very good with a honey vinaigrette. My mussels were more than plentiful with a tasty broth (thought a bit saucy). My wife's flatbread had a generous amount of crab and shrimp.

Now, the problem. First, often servers are trying to get the drink order almost before one sits. We did wait. After another pause our server took our order. He asked if we wanted our salad first. Thankfully, we said yes. After some 45 minutes our server came over and apologized that there had been a mix up in the order. He would expedite it. It finally came. We arrived before 8 pm and left about 9:45, mostly waiting for our meal. While the manager generously waived our bill, there was no excuse for our wait. Our server simply did not keep his eye on our table, and only at the end realized that we had not received our entree. I could add, as a water drinker, I do often get a glass refill. I had to signal another server with my request.

We would trust that someone else would not face the same outcome.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The service and food were quite disappoi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The service and food were quite disappointing and not worth the price of admission; our most disappointing meal in Victoria over the two weeks we were here.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Love the venue. We sat outside on the pa ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Love the venue. We sat outside on the patio and every chair had a blanket on it in case we needed it. The menu had wide and varied selections, the beer list was very good, wines also quite nice.

I have eaten here before and been equally pleased.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, nice selection of sea ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was good, nice selection of seafood and non-seafood options, excellent drinks. However, unless you sit outside or on the upper level by the windows, the ambience wasn't that great. Our table was open to a passageway for tourists constantly walking by. Fairly expensive and small portion sizes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

It was fantastic. Extremely happy with ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

It was fantastic. Extremely happy with everything.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excelente service,excelent food, Kids fr ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excelente service,excelent food, Kids friendly nice view, everything good and nice I will come back again soon. Fish taco deliciuos

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the halibut fish & chips (in my opi ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Love the halibut fish & chips (in my opinion, the Steamship serves the best fish & chips on the island), but the portion size seems to have shrunk - after having the 2-piece, I still wanted more!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Typical mediocre seafood restaurant whic ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Typical mediocre seafood restaurant which relies on its harbor view. Food was average, cost expensive, and service was non-existent. Get off the harbor for higher quality restaurants with better food and servers who actually care that you are dining

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

Was disappoint in the food as it seemed ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Was disappoint in the food as it seemed to be a little overcooked for seafood but still love going there as it has an incredible view of one of the most beautiful harbours.

I would recommend it to anyone who wants a great view, atmosphere, and experience of a beautiful spot in Victoria

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Ate here twice while in BC. Great seafoo ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Ate here twice while in BC. Great seafood chowder...don't miss it. Ordered the salad with seafood which was good. All staff is more than attentive and friendly.Gave it only four stars since menu seemed to me to be limited for my taste.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Harbour view location, makes this "a mus ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Harbour view location, makes this "a must." Happy Hour prices for oysters and select beer and wine make it economically correct.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great location. Sadly the food doesn't ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great location. Sadly the food doesn't measure up. On a scale of 1 - 10, I'd give it a 6.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

the palce is in a very nice liberty bui ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

the palce is in a very nice liberty building well remodeled. Of course it is a large restaurants hence it doesn't have an outstanding atmosphere per se. But the food was basic and very well made and the waiter was extremely capable and kind. The price was very acceptable, in this help in being positive. very good last dinner in Victoria BC

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Love the patio!!

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Love the patio!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Everything was perfect. Great service, ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Everything was perfect. Great service, delicious food with lots of variety on the menu and the location can't be beat. They even provide a blanket in case you feel chilly in the evening. I look forward to my next visit 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Morgan, our server was outstanding with ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Morgan, our server was outstanding with her honest looking smile and constant good service.

The food was well presented and definitely to be recommended to friends who appreciate good food. My friends liked the wine. I don't drink any. But Morgan went out of her way to make me some fresh coffee.

It was too noisy for me personally and that was even with the restaurant being only half full. Of course, many can handle this.

Keep up the good work and if you can do anything about the noise level, i'll surely appreciate it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

One of my best days in Victoria...We all ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

One of my best days in Victoria...We all enjoyed our stay...

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Horrible food, well overpriced. Total to ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Horrible food, well overpriced. Total tourist trap. Only think that was enjoyable was the view.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Great service, good was fresh and delici ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great service, good was fresh and delicious. My family enjoyed it tremendously.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The view is the primary reason we decide ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The view is the primary reason we decided to celebrate out anniversary at Steamship, but the service we experienced made the event outstanding. The host was courteous and efficient; the server was friendly and provided good recommendations. We each had the Halibut and enjoyed it so much we have recommended it to friends. We will not wait until a whole year for our second anniversary before we visit again.

Thanks Steamship Grill and Bar for helping us make our 1st anniversary special.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fine lunch on a beautiful after ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We had a fine lunch on a beautiful afternoon in a lovely space

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Went here with a friend for Sunday brunc ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Went here with a friend for Sunday brunch. The food was good and reasonably priced. Had a table on the outdoor patio overlooking the harbour. Great patio because you can sit under the large canopy that covers three quarters of the patio or sit in the other quarter which has direct sunlight. I also went once recently for dinner with my husband and it was very tasty and well presented. I haven't been there on a cold night yet but they're also numerous patio patio here heater scattered around under the canopy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Beautiful view - dine if you must. Bett ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Beautiful view - dine if you must. Better restaurants elsewhere. Inexperienced waitstaff and cookie-cutter menu a bit underwhelming. Wines good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

The siloin was tough, the mashed potatoe ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The siloin was tough, the mashed potatoes were cold, the rice with the salmon almost cold. We couldn't get an espresso after 21.00 pm, because Starbucks inhouse was already closed.

it's a pity, then the view on the harbour is great.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

View is the reason to come. Food was go ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

View is the reason to come. Food was good. Service too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Lovely waterfront seafood restaurant Re ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Lovely waterfront seafood restaurant

Recommend this establishment to locals and visitors

👍👍👍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Was disappointed there was a limited men ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Was disappointed there was a limited menu on Canada Day; we came craving breakfast items - our reservation was for 11 - but there were no breakfast options. Disappointing.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.