About Steamship Grill & Bar

Come to Steamship Grill & Bar as you are. There you will unwind; feeling more relaxed, refreshed and refueled as your visit unfolds. Casual, yet upscale, the atmosphere will be comfortable and welcoming to locals and visitors to the Inner Harbour. The decor honours the heritage of the working waterfront with elements that compliment the timeless quality of the original Steamship Terminal building.



Our chef’s approach will emphasize hand-crafted and ethically produced ingredients featuring British Columbia and, in particular, Vancouver Island ranchers, micro-brewers, vintners and artisanal producers that share his vision and passion for fresh, local & sustainable.



Our bar features the best local and international wines including 8 signature by-the-tap varietals. Our draught selection features local breweries dedicated to their craft.



Welcome aboard!

470 Belleville St.
Victoria, BC V8V 1W9
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Tapas / Small Plates, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch-
Weekdays: 11:00AM-4:30PM
Weekends: 10:00AM-4:30PM


Dinner-
Weekdays: 4:30pm - 9:30pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm- 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Menzies St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(778) 433-6736

Website:
http://www.steamshipgrill.com/

Parking Details:
There are plenty of metered parking stalls as well as 1 and 2 hour parking spots within a 3 block radius of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Nathan Tymchuk

Private Party Facilities:
We have a small (8 person) private room with A/V capabilities. This will cater to not only a working business-style luncheon or dinner function, but also to special occasion diners celebrating a birthday, anniversary, graduation, etc.



In conjunction with the Bateman Gallery above us, we will also be able to cater to larger groups (up to 80). We can accommodate anything from a stand up cocktail and appetizer style reception to a full sit down dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Steve Baert, General Manager: (778) 433-6736

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Steamship Grill & Bar, Victoria, BC
  • Steamship Grill & Bar, Victoria, BC

Report a photo problem

Specials

Happy Hour

Special valid Nov 1, 2016 - Feb 15, 2017 all week from 2:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Specials

Happy Hour

Special valid Nov 1, 2016 - Feb 15, 2017 all week from 2:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Details

Happy Hour Buck Fifty a Shuck Oysters are on from 2PM-5PM! Have as many or as few as you would like, while supplies last. Happy Hour drinks include $5 daily craft drafts, $5 cocktail feature and $6 wine feature. Excludes Tax and Tip. Patio seating is on a first come, first serve basis. Special valid Nov 1, 2016 - Feb 15, 2017 all week from 2:00 PM - 5:00 PM.

Steamship Grill & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (20)
Waterfront (17)
Casual (16)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Good for a Date (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Historic (7)
People Watching (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Romantic (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Authentic (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Cozy (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Fun (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Fireplace (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Family Style (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Business Meals (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Healthy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Spicy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
331 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best food in Victoria with great service ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Best food in Victoria with great service! You can actually order Starbucks drinks and have the server bring it to your table.

Only down side is that the washroom is on the third floor and you got to take the elevator I think.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always, they never disappoint!! The f ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

As always, they never disappoint!! The food was amazing, the staff were very friendly. I will always recommend Steamship.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, , Hot Spot, Historic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One pays for view. Food was so-so. Serv ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

One pays for view. Food was so-so. Service great. Restrooms two floors up available by elevator only? Odd.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We had an excellent meal with wonderful ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had an excellent meal with wonderful food and an absolutely fabulous waitress, Joanne. Thanks for making our evening so smooth and being so friendly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Seafood linguine was excellent. Fish tac ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Seafood linguine was excellent. Fish tacos were not good at all and mixed drinks were on watery side. Nice location but slow service considering they were not that busy. Would go again they perhaps had an off night. We have had better meals in the past at this restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The ambiance is lovely, but the food is ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The ambiance is lovely, but the food is just ok. We've been twice and apart from the calamari we haven't been overly impressed by the food.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

We had been for brunch on November 11th, ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We had been for brunch on November 11th, we were treated so well, food was fantastic so we decided to share this hidden jam with them. After brunch this past Sunday, all decided that we would most certainly be back again.

Thank you!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food, possibly the best roast ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Excellent food, possibly the best roast chicken I have ever had, good service.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, People Watching, Romantic, Casual, Fun, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great patio overlooking the inner harbou ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great patio overlooking the inner harbour.The service and food was good.

Expensive lunch for three people $140 with tip.

Would return for the view & happy hour.

Tags: Historic, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was amazing and the service imp ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food was amazing and the service impeccable. A great experience overall.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This restaurant is so amazing. nice view ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This restaurant is so amazing.

nice view & good service & lovely dinner.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great spot, good food and atmosphere. Lo ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great spot, good food and atmosphere. Love the patio.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was outstanding and we have e ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Our waiter was outstanding and we have eaten at many places over the years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time that we have bee ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This is the second time that we have been to this restaurant for dinner. The first was at the beginning of July '16 - the weather was warm and sunny. In November '16 the weather was not nearly as nice but the heated patio was awesome

We plan on coming back next time we are in Victoria

Tags: Waterfront, Business Meals, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Scenic View, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I found this to be a rather unique dinin ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 3, 2016

I found this to be a rather unique dining experience. Good view of Victoria Harbour from the patio. Excellent meal and service. Will got there next time I'm in Victoria.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The location and view are very nice! Th ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The location and view are very nice! The service was very good! Parking was easy to find nearby. The restaurant needs to work on the food. Meals were cold and the steak was tough and undercooked. For the price (which is on the higher end), the food quality should be much higher. Sorry, but we are unlikely to return unless we hear that they have addressed this issue.

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We always enjoy dining at the Steamship ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We always enjoy dining at the Steamship Grill. The atmosphere is very relaxing and the view is outstanding, especially on the patio. The fish tacos are to die for. My friend loved the risotto. Excellent and friendly service too.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed that there was only 1 glass ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Disappointed that there was only 1 glass of the single Chardonnay on the menu available-they had run out! Also that I couldn't get a decaf Americano after the Starbucks located next door closed. Why not have your own espresso machine?

Otherwise, lovely to sit on the patio with heaters and blankets while it poured rain.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Love going there for their halibut and c ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Love going there for their halibut and chips but I had the seafood linguini the other day and it was WAY TOO SALTY.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

To whom it may concern: This night was o ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

To whom it may concern: This night was our 3rd. for birthday celebrations in the past year. I am sure that after this last time, this place is going to be our first choice for family celebrations.

The Waitress was Absolutely Wonderful (PLEASE ensure she knows), Food was Fantastic right from specialty martini, seafood appetiser, main courses through to the pumpkin cheesecake!

All five (5) of us had a great time celebrating 2 x belated and 1 on time family birthdays.

PLUS for the atmosphere, excellent food and superb staff, the price surprised me as I was sure it would have more/person. It was a perfect night without breaking the bank.

THANK YOU!

DarylS, Shawnigan Lake

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Modern Decor, , Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, service and ambience were all ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 12, 2016

The food, service and ambience were all fantastic. We were seated on the patio with a gorgeous view of the Inner Harbour and the Empress Hotel! We will definitely return the next tine we are in Victoria.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice place on the water, food is ok, bet ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Nice place on the water, food is ok, better than some water front locations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Drinks were great, meal was fantastic. A ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Drinks were great, meal was fantastic. A wonderful relaxing evening with family. Service was great, never felt rushed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

My companion and I split a dozen Kusshi ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 8, 2016

My companion and I split a dozen Kusshi oysters as an appetizer. Although small in size, the oysters had a marvelous buttery taste. My companion ordered a romaine salad with anchovies and shrimp as her entree and found it to be delightful. I ordered the steelhead special; the fish was well prepared and had a marvelous taste. My entree came with Yukon Gold fingerling potatoes, which were excellent, and green beans, which were tough. My companion ordered the butterscotch pudding for dessert and raved about it. I ordered the Tower of Donuts, which included ten donuts and a chocolate dipping sauce. The donuts were warm and contained a creamy center; they were the best donuts I've ever eaten. The service was excellent. The hostess encouraged us to wait a few minutes until the best patio table opened up. Our server was personable and knowledgeable and paced the meal extremely well. The patio was heated and covered and offered a spectacular view of the inner harbor in Victoria.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always try to have an enjoyable dining e ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Always try to have an enjoyable dining experience when in Victoria (live in Ladysmith) & have never been disappointed.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The oysters were good. The salads (Caes ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 3, 2016

The oysters were good. The salads (Caesar & chopped ) and flatbreads were not. Service was ok. I would have had more drinks if I saw the server more often. If the weather permitted seating outside...that would likely have been a better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

This was our first time at your restaura ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This was our first time at your restaurant and it was a family gathering of 8... Loved the seafood tower appy, server was fantastic, and the welcoming feel to the restaurant! Lots of wine flowing, great food, and a great time had by all!!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a reservation at 7 pm There was a ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We had a reservation at 7 pm

There was a private function on which was SUPPOSED to be finished at 7 but did not (surprise!) so we ended up waiting until 720

And due to the fast turnover required there was no staff available to seat us - so people without a reservation moved in front of us

Aside from this oversight the meal was pleasant and the server was awesome

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Was visiting Victoria and my son and fam ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Was visiting Victoria and my son and family and had a wonderful dining experience at this restaurant. Loved the outdoor patio with the blankets and heaters. Food was awesome and the wait staff were all excellent. A nice cozy warm experience and would definitely recommend the Steamship Grill and will be back. Kudo's to the Chef and Staff.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Family Style, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Casual, Authentic, , Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We should have chosen to sit on the pati ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We should have chosen to sit on the patio. Inside was fine, but we realized halfway through that the patio was the best place to be because there were heaters, blankets and wind blockers to stay comfortable and enjoy the spectacular view. That was my only regret. Everything else was fabulous.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic dinner. Great view of water. ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Fantastic dinner. Great view of water. Great menu. Great service. A perfect night...

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was poor. It took over 50 mi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 22, 2016

The service was poor. It took over 50 minutes to receive my main course and the food was cold when it arrived at my table. Also, the waitress did not check in with my husband and I to inform us of the wait time. She was also annoyed with us when we ask her to explain why it took 50 minutes to received our main douse. In addition, the waitress told me and my husband that she was busy taking orders for a table of 20 customers/ tourists and did not have time to inform us of the long wait time. She also told us that the restaurant was short staffed because most of the waiters were students and had returned to school, and then she dismissed us by saying I hope you have a nice evening. This type of service is unacceptable!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary breakfast on their fabulous waterfront patio overlooking the beautiful Victoria Inner Harbour. Treated to the amazing water taxi ballet on the harbour. Every chair on the patio has a cozy blanket and the overhead heaters were there if needed. Will certainly be our "go to" restaurant when downtown. Oh yes, the food was AMAZING and the service second to none.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great Beer, Casual, , People Watching, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

loved it that they had blankets on the c ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 1, 2016

loved it that they had blankets on the chairs ready - just in case Victoria's weather changed…how novel !! disappointed that when it started to rain and our neighbours at another table (who were a lovely couple visiting Victoria from England) were getting dripped on and the staff didn't check on them…we did (being the good Canadians we are and local born and raised) suggested they move their table in towards our so they could stay dry……we ended up having a lovely visit with them…for $32 I thought the seafood melody was a little shy…however the seafood salads were totally loaded….!! our server was great, helpful and made positive suggestions ! I was very grateful that he double checked on things due to my cilantro allergy.

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We had a lovely birthday dinner for our ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 25, 2016

We had a lovely birthday dinner for our son! The view was just amazing and the service was good, a very pleasant waitress! It was a perfect summer evening to enjoy the harbour view. Your prawn chicken bowl was delicious! Thank you!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The Steamship Grill is excellent for din ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The Steamship Grill is excellent for dining with friends from out of town. We've done this

twice in two months and everyone was happy with the choice. Highly recommended.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful views of Victoria's inner harb ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Beautiful views of Victoria's inner harbor and delicious food. The interior restaurant was rather noisy, but the patio was much better. Blankets and heaters make the patio accessible most of the year.

Wonderful building that once served steamships arriving in Victoria. Great place to view the sunset.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Steamship Grill and Bar is a great water ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Steamship Grill and Bar is a great waterfront harbour location for visitors to Victoria. The menu simple but fresh and wowed my visitors from out of town.

Tags: Seasonal, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The food was excellent and our server wa ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was excellent and our server was good. However, we were disappointed that the reservation only secured us a table inside, which was completely empty anyway. Because we wanted to eat on the patio (which is massive in size) we had to wait for 30 minutes for a table, just as long as people who had not made reservations. That was a disappointment as there was no advantage to reserving a table. We decided to order a drink at the bar while waiting for our table. The bartender was very unfriendly and gave us our bill before asking us if we wanted another drink. When we asked if we could have it transferred to our table because we were dining in, she made us feel very uncomfortable as if she was annoyed. That put a sour taste in our mouths before we even were seated at our table. Luckily, the food made up for the issues with service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Patio one of the better available inside ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Patio one of the better available inside nothing special and hot on warm days.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.