HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 1 time today

Steamship Grill & Bar

3.8
467 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Scenic View (23)
  • Waterfront (21)
  • Good for a Date (14)
Come to Steamship Grill & Bar as you are. There you will unwind; feeling more relaxed, refreshed and refueled as your visit unfolds. Casual, yet upscale, the atmosphere will be comfortable and welcoming to locals and visitors to the Inner Harbour. The decor honours the heritage of the working waterfront with elements that compliment the timeless quality of the original Steamship Terminal building.



Our chef’s approach will emphasize hand-crafted and ethically produced ingredients featuring British Columbia and, in particular, Vancouver Island ranchers, micro-brewers, vintners and artisanal producers that share his vision and passion for fresh, local & sustainable.



Our bar features the best local and international wines including 8 signature by-the-tap varietals. Our draught selection features local breweries dedicated to their craft.



Welcome aboard!
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Tapas / Small Plates, Steak
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch-
Weekdays: 11:00AM-4:30PM
Weekends: 10:00AM-4:30PM


Dinner-
Weekdays: 4:30pm - 9:30pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm- 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(778) 433-6736
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Nathan Tymchuk
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
We have a small (8 person) private room with A/V capabilities. This will cater to not only a working business-style luncheon or dinner function, but also to special occasion diners celebrating a birthday, anniversary, graduation, etc.



In conjunction with the Bateman Gallery above us, we will also be able to cater to larger groups (up to 80). We can accommodate anything from a stand up cocktail and appetizer style reception to a full sit down dinner.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Steve Baert, General Manager: (778) 433-6736
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Menzies St.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There are plenty of metered parking stalls as well as 1 and 2 hour parking spots within a 3 block radius of the restaurant.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 467 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.8  based on recent ratings
4.0
food
4.0
service
3.7
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
77% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
ClaireF 
4.0  Dined 3 days ago

Very pleasant, attentive young waiter. Food was really good. We are a bit older, and the music was a bit loud for me, when I was talking to my friend. Not really bad, but a little distracting. I have been to this restaurant for dinner before - in the evening, and we sat outside. It. was wonderful, and that's what made me try it again, for lunch this time.
I was very comfortable, because I am fairly tall. My friend is quite short, and she found it difficult to be comfortable, and reach the table. The seats are quite far from the table, which makes it difficult for small people. It was my friend's birthday, and I indicated that at the time I made the reservation. I thought it might be recognized, but it wasn't. Overall, it was a lovely lunch. I'm only giving you my opinion because you asked for it. I had no complaints really, and I will be back. Thank you. Claire FIsher

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner 
4.0  Dined 4 days ago

I was in town for work, I went in on a Sunday night, and it was quiet so I cannot talk about the atmosphere but would imagine it's a nice place to meet with friends. I came in, was promptly seated at a nice table by the window, the menu was interesting , the food was tasty and the server was efficient. So yes, I would come back, hopefully when it's more busy.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
5.0  Dined 5 days ago

We had great food and great service and those are the things we appreciate, in that order. We would definitely go there again.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Seattle)
5.0  Dined 5 days ago

My crab cake and shrimp dinner were excellent; my table mates all had steak and they raved about how good it was. We splurged on the chocolate torte for dessert and it didn't disappoint! Our server was knowledgeable about the area and did a great job.

Report
Helpful
travellers (Manitoba)
5.0  Dined 5 days ago

Great views, excellent service and delicious food, thank you!

Report
Helpful
dant 
3.0  Dined on February 15, 2018

Valentines day date.Price for their special was good . Food was so,so. Asked for a window seat--nope,even though there were some available even after we were seated for 15 minutes or so.Made me wonder about that.
Though it is in my nature to comment on the quality of food if it is not "good",since it was a date I kept quiet. Won't next time if there is a next time

Report
Helpful
Kenneth (Vancouver)
4.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

The decor and service were very pleasant. Food was delicious. Ther view is perfect any time of year.

Report
Helpful
family (Vancouver)
2.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Terrible service! Forever to get first coffee and never asked for a refill . Food took 45 mins- no one ever checked in with us or acknowledged a delay. When food finally arrived it was dropped off and we were never checked in again! And this was during an almost empty restaurant day! Food was warm only. Bill was brought with no question of how was everything; just zero personality. Clearly no interest in having us there then, nor to return.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
4.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

Came for dine around and the food was amazing. I had the chicken mushroom pasta and it was so light and tasty. Usually pastas are heavy but this was an olive oil/white wine sauce and I really enjoyed it and appriecated the cream free pasta dish! Food came at a timely manor and the dessert was huge! Too much for one person.

Report
Helpful
marinap (Vancouver)
4.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

we had a fantastic evening ! The food was great service was great ! We will go back

Report
Helpful
SusanC (Vancouver)
5.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

We had the dine around menu and it was good value and very tasty. On looking at the regular menu it seemed very pricey for what was offered.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Toronto)
4.0  Dined on February 2, 2018

The dine-around-Victoria menu was delicious and such good value.
The only problem was the wine!
We had to go down to our fourth choice as they were having problems with distributers or had run out....

Report
Helpful
notdelighted (Vancouver)
3.0  Dined on January 31, 2018

This was our first visit to Steamship Grill. It was a cold, wet mid week evening. We wanted to dine at 7 pm but they claimed to be full so we had to go at 7:30. To our surprise the restaurant was almost empty. They sat us at a table with a boarded up window even though we had reserved ahead. The appetizers were fine. Then the server asked us to re-use our dirty cutlery because they 'were short of clean cutlery' !!! Entrees were fine. Steak was not very tender however. Dessert was excellent though mine was a bit burnt on the bottom (galette).
Wine prices seemed very expensive...300% mark up by the glass. Although we stayed less than 90 minutes, they were clearly waiting for us to leave.
All in all, we will not return.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
5.0  Dined on January 30, 2018

I had been to the Steamship Grill for lunch but not dinner, so the Dine Around menu was a good opportunity to try it out. The menu selections were very good and the portions full size - we certainly did not leave hungry. After first being seated on the hallway side of the restaurant, which we found cool and too exposed, we asked to be moved next to the fireplace. It was cozier but there was some distraction from the kitchen - perhaps a screen on the half wall? The chairs are very big and heavy, very cumbersome to get seated and unseated. The service was excellent. Have already recommended Steamship Grill to friends.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
5.0  Dined on January 28, 2018

Dine around menu!! Crab soup amazing!! Steak and seafood really good!!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
4.0  Dined on January 27, 2018

Hello,
We had only one minor complaint which I should have addressed while at the restaurant but it was very busy and we were having good time. The coconut shrimp we ordered was way over cooked. Maybe we could be compensated on our next visit?
R & T Lamothe

Report
Helpful
victoriaresident (Vancouver)
5.0  Dined on January 24, 2018

guaranteed always super in every way...service, food, delivery, price..everything..love it

Report
Helpful
1diner (Manitoba)
5.0  Dined on January 24, 2018

The Dine Around Victoria menu was amazing for $30. The crab bisque & crème brule were excellent possibly the best ever. The trout and sirloin with crab & shrimp were also very good.
Staff were great.

Report
Helpful
TOgrlinVictoria (San Diego)
5.0  Dined on January 23, 2018

We dined with friends and had at the $30 Dine Around the Town menu. The choices were varied and the food was delicious. We had a nice booth at the window. Parking in the neighbourhood can be an issue but we found a spot about a block away.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
4.0  Dined on January 22, 2018

Dine around menu was great, lots of selection. The Bailey's creme brulee was amazing!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
5.0  Dined on January 20, 2018

Our dinner was fabulous. The food was terrific, served in a timely manner and portions were generous. Bravo.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
4.0  Dined on January 20, 2018

We went again during dine around Victoria. We enjoyed a fabulous meal with good value and excellent service. Our only issue was the tables being so close to each other and to the fireplace. On the other hand we met a nice couple beside us. It would have been nice to have the washroom closer to the restaurant.

Another enjoyable evening at the Steamship Grill in Victoria.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
4.0  Dined on January 16, 2018

Went there for lunch with some friends from out of town who I haven’t seen in 30 years. The restaurant service was excellent and the food was very good. There could have been more vegan options, however that was my only complaint with the food or menu. Going to the washroom in this building requires going to a different floor, which is a bit annoying, but otherwise the location is great.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
4.0  Dined on January 9, 2018

would have been nice to be seated by the fireplace where nobody was sitting and it was available. No candle lit at our table even though it was available. Window was blocked out by plywood. No live music or anything to develop interest. Staff looked bored.Food was good. Service was adequate.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
3.0  Dined on January 6, 2018

I had heard good things about this restaurant and was very much looking forward to our lunch, even though the menu was a bit more pricey than expected for lunch. The food was only average. The restaurant itself was not warm and inviting and looked run-down. The music was too loud, and was not really appropriate for the patrons who were there. I think the restaurant should try to do something to encourage locals in this off-season. I would not recommend it.

Report
Helpful
vipNiceView (San Francisco)
3.0  Dined on January 3, 2018

Nicely situated near the water. We were visiting from California and came for lunch. . I had the seafood cobb which was not very substantive and was in such a small bowl that it was difficult to eat. The restaurant wasn't terribly busy that that--probably 10 people and it was so cold so no one on the patio either, but service wasn't terribly attentive. With that, I'd say it was an OK dining experience but really wouldn't recommend or go out of my way to revisit.

Report
Helpful
SCGS (Vancouver)
3.0  Dined on January 1, 2018

New year's Day dinner - not a good idea here as they were out of many menu items. Bread is not offered before dinner; need to order it and are charged for it.

Report
Helpful
BenL (Vancouver)
2.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

Very average overall. Service very slow, not enough staff. When we did eventually get our food it was pretty good.

Report
Helpful
DonnaM (Seattle)
3.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

We boked for our New Years Eve dinner and were not advised that it was a set menu. The waitress kindly offered to get the kitchen to make some dishes for us with seafood, but ti was a fail. The steamed crab legs were straight out of the fridge, cold and melted butter is not drawn butter i'm afraid. Not worth the visit.

Report
Helpful
pompeygirl (Vancouver)
2.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

We chose Steamship Grill because of the menu and thought it was time for us to try the restaurant but, unfortunately, when we arrived we were told that there was a "special" menu for New Year's Eve. However, the whole meal was very good and excellent value.

As we haven't been to the restaurant before, we got the feeling that it might be a better ambience during the summer. We did not get any good vibes from the restaurant at all, it is far too open. There needs to be much more screening between the tables and the public walkway!
We had a good table, one in the corner at the end of the screening, but we felt the curtain should have gone the whole way round, right into the restaurant. It would have felt much more cozy.

We noticed other couples being offered seating in the lower section, but right by the hostess podium and beside the public walkway - they all refused, as would we have done.

We also feel that the tables in the lower section look like they are on a train or airplane and, again, others chose not to sit in that section, maybe for the same reason.

Other friends have also said they would not go back because of the ambience and due to the "cavernous" feeling of the restaurant. We feel that, with more screening, it would definitely help with the ambience. It is a great location and the food was very good but the ambience always adds to the whole experience.

Hopefully, you can improve on the ambience and, maybe then, we and our friends may come back as we are all "locals" and enjoy supporting our local restaurants.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
16