About Steamship Grill & Bar

470 Belleville St.
Victoria, BC V8V 1W9
View Larger Map

Come to Steamship Grill & Bar as you are. There you will unwind; feeling more relaxed, refreshed and refueled as your visit unfolds. Casual, yet upscale, the atmosphere will be comfortable and welcoming to locals and visitors to the Inner Harbour. The decor honours the heritage of the working waterfront with elements that compliment the timeless quality of the original Steamship Terminal building.



Our chef’s approach will emphasize hand-crafted and ethically produced ingredients featuring British Columbia and, in particular, Vancouver Island ranchers, micro-brewers, vintners and artisanal producers that share his vision and passion for fresh, local & sustainable.



Our bar features the best local and international wines including 8 signature by-the-tap varietals. Our draught selection features local breweries dedicated to their craft.



Welcome aboard!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Tapas / Small Plates, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch-
Weekdays: 11:00AM-4:30PM
Weekends: 10:00AM-4:30PM


Dinner-
Weekdays: 4:30pm - 9:30pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm- 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Menzies St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(778) 433-6736

Website:
http://www.steamshipgrill.com/

Parking Details:
There are plenty of metered parking stalls as well as 1 and 2 hour parking spots within a 3 block radius of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Nathan Tymchuk

Private Party Facilities:
We have a small (8 person) private room with A/V capabilities. This will cater to not only a working business-style luncheon or dinner function, but also to special occasion diners celebrating a birthday, anniversary, graduation, etc.



In conjunction with the Bateman Gallery above us, we will also be able to cater to larger groups (up to 80). We can accommodate anything from a stand up cocktail and appetizer style reception to a full sit down dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Steve Baert, General Manager: 7784336736x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Steamship Grill & Bar, Victoria, BC
  • Steamship Grill & Bar, Victoria, BC
Steamship Grill & Bar, Victoria, BC
Steamship Grill & Bar, Victoria, BC

Specials

Happy Hour

Special valid Nov 1, 2016 - Feb 15, 2017 all week from 2:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Specials

Happy Hour

Special valid Nov 1, 2016 - Feb 15, 2017 all week from 2:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Details

Happy Hour Buck Fifty a Shuck Oysters are on from 2PM-5PM! Have as many or as few as you would like, while supplies last. Happy Hour drinks include $5 daily craft drafts, $5 cocktail feature and $6 wine feature. Excludes Tax and Tip. Patio seating is on a first come, first serve basis. Special valid Nov 1, 2016 - Feb 15, 2017 all week from 2:00 PM - 5:00 PM.

Steamship Grill & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Ambiance
Victoria
Scenic View
Victoria
Best Restaurants in Victoria ›

Scenic View (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Waterfront (17)
See All
Casual (14)
Great for Lunch (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Romantic (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
People Watching (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Seasonal (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Cozy (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Authentic (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Historic (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Fireplace (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Fun (3)
Family Style (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great Beer (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Business Meals (2)
Spicy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
319 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great patio overlooking the inner harbou ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great patio overlooking the inner harbour.The service and food was good.

Expensive lunch for three people $140 with tip.

Would return for the view & happy hour.

Tags: Historic, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was amazing and the service imp ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food was amazing and the service impeccable. A great experience overall.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This restaurant is so amazing. nice view ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This restaurant is so amazing.

nice view & good service & lovely dinner.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great spot, good food and atmosphere. Lo ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great spot, good food and atmosphere. Love the patio.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was outstanding and we have e ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Our waiter was outstanding and we have eaten at many places over the years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time that we have bee ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This is the second time that we have been to this restaurant for dinner. The first was at the beginning of July '16 - the weather was warm and sunny. In November '16 the weather was not nearly as nice but the heated patio was awesome

We plan on coming back next time we are in Victoria

Tags: Waterfront, Business Meals, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Scenic View, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I found this to be a rather unique dinin ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 3, 2016

I found this to be a rather unique dining experience. Good view of Victoria Harbour from the patio. Excellent meal and service. Will got there next time I'm in Victoria.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The location and view are very nice! Th ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The location and view are very nice! The service was very good! Parking was easy to find nearby. The restaurant needs to work on the food. Meals were cold and the steak was tough and undercooked. For the price (which is on the higher end), the food quality should be much higher. Sorry, but we are unlikely to return unless we hear that they have addressed this issue.

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We always enjoy dining at the Steamship ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We always enjoy dining at the Steamship Grill. The atmosphere is very relaxing and the view is outstanding, especially on the patio. The fish tacos are to die for. My friend loved the risotto. Excellent and friendly service too.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed that there was only 1 glass ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Disappointed that there was only 1 glass of the single Chardonnay on the menu available-they had run out! Also that I couldn't get a decaf Americano after the Starbucks located next door closed. Why not have your own espresso machine?

Otherwise, lovely to sit on the patio with heaters and blankets while it poured rain.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Love going there for their halibut and c ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Love going there for their halibut and chips but I had the seafood linguini the other day and it was WAY TOO SALTY.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

To whom it may concern: This night was o ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

To whom it may concern: This night was our 3rd. for birthday celebrations in the past year. I am sure that after this last time, this place is going to be our first choice for family celebrations.

The Waitress was Absolutely Wonderful (PLEASE ensure she knows), Food was Fantastic right from specialty martini, seafood appetiser, main courses through to the pumpkin cheesecake!

All five (5) of us had a great time celebrating 2 x belated and 1 on time family birthdays.

PLUS for the atmosphere, excellent food and superb staff, the price surprised me as I was sure it would have more/person. It was a perfect night without breaking the bank.

THANK YOU!

DarylS, Shawnigan Lake

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place on the water, food is ok, bet ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Nice place on the water, food is ok, better than some water front locations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Drinks were great, meal was fantastic. A ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Drinks were great, meal was fantastic. A wonderful relaxing evening with family. Service was great, never felt rushed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

My companion and I split a dozen Kusshi ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 8, 2016

My companion and I split a dozen Kusshi oysters as an appetizer. Although small in size, the oysters had a marvelous buttery taste. My companion ordered a romaine salad with anchovies and shrimp as her entree and found it to be delightful. I ordered the steelhead special; the fish was well prepared and had a marvelous taste. My entree came with Yukon Gold fingerling potatoes, which were excellent, and green beans, which were tough. My companion ordered the butterscotch pudding for dessert and raved about it. I ordered the Tower of Donuts, which included ten donuts and a chocolate dipping sauce. The donuts were warm and contained a creamy center; they were the best donuts I've ever eaten. The service was excellent. The hostess encouraged us to wait a few minutes until the best patio table opened up. Our server was personable and knowledgeable and paced the meal extremely well. The patio was heated and covered and offered a spectacular view of the inner harbor in Victoria.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always try to have an enjoyable dining e ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Always try to have an enjoyable dining experience when in Victoria (live in Ladysmith) & have never been disappointed.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The oysters were good. The salads (Caes ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 3, 2016

The oysters were good. The salads (Caesar & chopped ) and flatbreads were not. Service was ok. I would have had more drinks if I saw the server more often. If the weather permitted seating outside...that would likely have been a better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

This was our first time at your restaura ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This was our first time at your restaurant and it was a family gathering of 8... Loved the seafood tower appy, server was fantastic, and the welcoming feel to the restaurant! Lots of wine flowing, great food, and a great time had by all!!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a reservation at 7 pm There was a ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We had a reservation at 7 pm

There was a private function on which was SUPPOSED to be finished at 7 but did not (surprise!) so we ended up waiting until 720

And due to the fast turnover required there was no staff available to seat us - so people without a reservation moved in front of us

Aside from this oversight the meal was pleasant and the server was awesome

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Was visiting Victoria and my son and fam ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Was visiting Victoria and my son and family and had a wonderful dining experience at this restaurant. Loved the outdoor patio with the blankets and heaters. Food was awesome and the wait staff were all excellent. A nice cozy warm experience and would definitely recommend the Steamship Grill and will be back. Kudo's to the Chef and Staff.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Family Style, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Casual, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We should have chosen to sit on the pati ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 24, 2016

We should have chosen to sit on the patio. Inside was fine, but we realized halfway through that the patio was the best place to be because there were heaters, blankets and wind blockers to stay comfortable and enjoy the spectacular view. That was my only regret. Everything else was fabulous.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic dinner. Great view of water. ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Fantastic dinner. Great view of water. Great menu. Great service. A perfect night...

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was poor. It took over 50 mi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 22, 2016

The service was poor. It took over 50 minutes to receive my main course and the food was cold when it arrived at my table. Also, the waitress did not check in with my husband and I to inform us of the wait time. She was also annoyed with us when we ask her to explain why it took 50 minutes to received our main douse. In addition, the waitress told me and my husband that she was busy taking orders for a table of 20 customers/ tourists and did not have time to inform us of the long wait time. She also told us that the restaurant was short staffed because most of the waiters were students and had returned to school, and then she dismissed us by saying I hope you have a nice evening. This type of service is unacceptable!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary breakfast on their fabulous waterfront patio overlooking the beautiful Victoria Inner Harbour. Treated to the amazing water taxi ballet on the harbour. Every chair on the patio has a cozy blanket and the overhead heaters were there if needed. Will certainly be our "go to" restaurant when downtown. Oh yes, the food was AMAZING and the service second to none.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great Beer, Casual, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

loved it that they had blankets on the c ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 1, 2016

loved it that they had blankets on the chairs ready - just in case Victoria's weather changed…how novel !! disappointed that when it started to rain and our neighbours at another table (who were a lovely couple visiting Victoria from England) were getting dripped on and the staff didn't check on them…we did (being the good Canadians we are and local born and raised) suggested they move their table in towards our so they could stay dry……we ended up having a lovely visit with them…for $32 I thought the seafood melody was a little shy…however the seafood salads were totally loaded….!! our server was great, helpful and made positive suggestions ! I was very grateful that he double checked on things due to my cilantro allergy.

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We had a lovely birthday dinner for our ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 25, 2016

We had a lovely birthday dinner for our son! The view was just amazing and the service was good, a very pleasant waitress! It was a perfect summer evening to enjoy the harbour view. Your prawn chicken bowl was delicious! Thank you!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The Steamship Grill is excellent for din ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The Steamship Grill is excellent for dining with friends from out of town. We've done this

twice in two months and everyone was happy with the choice. Highly recommended.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful views of Victoria's inner harb ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Beautiful views of Victoria's inner harbor and delicious food. The interior restaurant was rather noisy, but the patio was much better. Blankets and heaters make the patio accessible most of the year.

Wonderful building that once served steamships arriving in Victoria. Great place to view the sunset.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Steamship Grill and Bar is a great water ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Steamship Grill and Bar is a great waterfront harbour location for visitors to Victoria. The menu simple but fresh and wowed my visitors from out of town.

Tags: Seasonal, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The food was excellent and our server wa ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was excellent and our server was good. However, we were disappointed that the reservation only secured us a table inside, which was completely empty anyway. Because we wanted to eat on the patio (which is massive in size) we had to wait for 30 minutes for a table, just as long as people who had not made reservations. That was a disappointment as there was no advantage to reserving a table. We decided to order a drink at the bar while waiting for our table. The bartender was very unfriendly and gave us our bill before asking us if we wanted another drink. When we asked if we could have it transferred to our table because we were dining in, she made us feel very uncomfortable as if she was annoyed. That put a sour taste in our mouths before we even were seated at our table. Luckily, the food made up for the issues with service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Patio one of the better available inside ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Patio one of the better available inside nothing special and hot on warm days.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My only complaint was that the portions ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 17, 2016

My only complaint was that the portions that I had and that I saw on other tables were very small - fish and chips = two small pieces and a little more than a cupful of French Fries. Better value at a nearby fish and chip stand.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

On the patio at sunset was amazing. Gre ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 17, 2016

On the patio at sunset was amazing. Great server and the food was exactly what we expected and wanted. Would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This review could be titled, "very good ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 16, 2016

This review could be titled, "very good food with an whoops!" First, the location was superb. We sat outside on the inner harbor only a few hundred feet from the Empress with its facade at sunset. The salad was very good with a honey vinaigrette. My mussels were more than plentiful with a tasty broth (thought a bit saucy). My wife's flatbread had a generous amount of crab and shrimp.

Now, the problem. First, often servers are trying to get the drink order almost before one sits. We did wait. After another pause our server took our order. He asked if we wanted our salad first. Thankfully, we said yes. After some 45 minutes our server came over and apologized that there had been a mix up in the order. He would expedite it. It finally came. We arrived before 8 pm and left about 9:45, mostly waiting for our meal. While the manager generously waived our bill, there was no excuse for our wait. Our server simply did not keep his eye on our table, and only at the end realized that we had not received our entree. I could add, as a water drinker, I do often get a glass refill. I had to signal another server with my request.

We would trust that someone else would not face the same outcome.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The service and food were quite disappoi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The service and food were quite disappointing and not worth the price of admission; our most disappointing meal in Victoria over the two weeks we were here.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Love the venue. We sat outside on the pa ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Love the venue. We sat outside on the patio and every chair had a blanket on it in case we needed it. The menu had wide and varied selections, the beer list was very good, wines also quite nice.

I have eaten here before and been equally pleased.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, nice selection of sea ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was good, nice selection of seafood and non-seafood options, excellent drinks. However, unless you sit outside or on the upper level by the windows, the ambience wasn't that great. Our table was open to a passageway for tourists constantly walking by. Fairly expensive and small portion sizes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

It was fantastic. Extremely happy with ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 13, 2016

It was fantastic. Extremely happy with everything.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excelente service,excelent food, Kids fr ...

 
 (México)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excelente service,excelent food, Kids friendly nice view, everything good and nice I will come back again soon. Fish taco deliciuos

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the halibut fish & chips (in my opi ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Love the halibut fish & chips (in my opinion, the Steamship serves the best fish & chips on the island), but the portion size seems to have shrunk - after having the 2-piece, I still wanted more!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.