Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.03mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.03mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.03mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.03mi

About Steamship Grill & Bar

Come to Steamship Grill & Bar as you are. There you will unwind; feeling more relaxed, refreshed and refueled as your visit unfolds. Casual, yet upscale, the atmosphere will be comfortable and welcoming to locals and visitors to the Inner Harbour. The decor honours the heritage of the working waterfront with elements that compliment the timeless quality of the original Steamship Terminal building.



Our chef’s approach will emphasize hand-crafted and ethically produced ingredients featuring British Columbia and, in particular, Vancouver Island ranchers, micro-brewers, vintners and artisanal producers that share his vision and passion for fresh, local & sustainable.



Our bar features the best local and international wines including 8 signature by-the-tap varietals. Our draught selection features local breweries dedicated to their craft.



Welcome aboard!

470 Belleville St.
Victoria, BC V8V 1W9
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Tapas / Small Plates, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch-
Weekdays: 11:00AM-4:30PM
Weekends: 10:00AM-4:30PM


Dinner-
Weekdays: 4:30pm - 9:30pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm- 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Menzies St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(778) 433-6736

Website:
http://www.steamshipgrill.com/

Parking Details:
There are plenty of metered parking stalls as well as 1 and 2 hour parking spots within a 3 block radius of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Nathan Tymchuk

Private Party Facilities:
We have a small (8 person) private room with A/V capabilities. This will cater to not only a working business-style luncheon or dinner function, but also to special occasion diners celebrating a birthday, anniversary, graduation, etc.



In conjunction with the Bateman Gallery above us, we will also be able to cater to larger groups (up to 80). We can accommodate anything from a stand up cocktail and appetizer style reception to a full sit down dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Steve Baert, General Manager: (778) 433-6736

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Happy Hour

Special valid Apr 24, 2017 - Aug 24, 2017 all week from 2:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Specials

Happy Hour

Special valid Apr 24, 2017 - Aug 24, 2017 all week from 2:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Details

Happy Hour Buck Fifty a Shuck Oysters are on from 2PM-5PM! Have as many or as few as you would like, while supplies last. Happy Hour drinks include $5 daily craft drafts, $5 cocktail feature and $6 wine feature. Excludes Tax and Tip. Patio seating is on a first come, first serve basis. Special valid Apr 24, 2017 - Aug 24, 2017 all week from 2:00 PM - 5:00 PM.

Steamship Grill & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (19)
Scenic View (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
See All
Good for a Date (9)
Cozy (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Historic (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Romantic (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
People Watching (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Seasonal (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Casual (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Fireplace (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Authentic (2)
Business Meals (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Healthy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Fun (2)
Private Room (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
347 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Very nice restaurant for our last night in Victoria. Food & service were both excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I have been looking forward to dining here for a couple of years. My kids kept dropping the ball so this year I reserved for my family, including my elderly parents. We were seated outside even though we had not requested outside seating. It was a very chilly day and we were all cold but we were told we couldn't sit inside due to reservations (I had reserved well in advance). I was very disappointed in the food AND the service. Any seafood option was cold. Every hot dish from the buffet was far from HOT, however, the chicken was dried out. The wait staff could hardly be found and when she DID come with coffee FINALLY, she brought no spoons and about one ounce of cream for 8 people. My parents had to crawl through the planter to get in and out of their seats to get to the buffet.
All in all a bad experience for all 8 of us.
I am sure this place is lovely when the patio is warm and if there is service but this time around the price was FAR too high for what we received.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The view of James Bay was spectacular, great meal to cap off an amazing week on the island to celebrate our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Awesome
The service was very good

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Groups, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

What an experience. The decor inside is very nice. We had patio seating and with the heaters and fleece throws on each chair it was very comfortable. Relaxing to look onto the water at sunset and see the Empress all lit up.
Amanda was our wonderful server. She was very dilligent and made sure food & drinks were to our liking. The food was great. We certainly would recommend going there and glad we didn't let the negative reviews keep us from trying it out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 25, 2017

My friend and I both ordered the mixed seafood grill as recommended by the server. It came out cold. I then ordered the mussels and my friend ordered the lobster ravioli. Again cold!! The server was very apologetic and we didn't have to pay for anything. It it was one of the worst dining experiences I have ever had!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food is good but nothing to rave about. Ingo for the patio and great view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Everything we had was excellent, with the exception of the Caesar salad, which was just OK.

Tags: Cozy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Family was at restaurant for Dine Around. Restaurant was cold; sitting by the window was colder; had to leave jacket on. Sirloin steak wasn't tasty, not enough sauce/gravy, medium rare meat was difficult to cut.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food Great service Great menu Can't wait to go back

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Very disappointing, especially the food. Green vegetables badly undercooked. The rest very bland. This was our first time at the restaurant and also our last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Our First time there. It was difficult to find parking during a Week Day given its location at the Inner Harbor and near the Legislature so you may have a bit of a walk to the restaurant. The ambiance and decor was really nice and as we live a Vegan and/or Vegetarian lifestyle, we were able to find enough choices on the menu. We did find it a bit pricey but would recommend it for special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Had a lovely Valentine's Dinner at the Steamship Grill and Bar. We sat out on the heated patio, enjoyed a cozy atmosphere and nice view. The surf n' turf we ordered was delicious. Service was quick and very friendly! Would recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Visited Steamship Grill and Bar for a special occasion, and was very disappointed. It was overpriced and found the food to be over-salted food. I will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Fantastic view
Great quality of food
Great value
Definitely come agaib

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We had a great lobster and steak dinner at Steamship. Delicious cocktails and lively atmosphere. Good service and a great view of the Victoria harbor.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Best food in Victoria with great service! You can actually order Starbucks drinks and have the server bring it to your table.

Only down side is that the washroom is on the third floor and you got to take the elevator I think.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

As always, they never disappoint!! The food was amazing, the staff were very friendly. I will always recommend Steamship.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Historic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

One pays for view. Food was so-so. Service great. Restrooms two floors up available by elevator only? Odd.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had an excellent meal with wonderful food and an absolutely fabulous waitress, Joanne. Thanks for making our evening so smooth and being so friendly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Seafood linguine was excellent. Fish tacos were not good at all and mixed drinks were on watery side. Nice location but slow service considering they were not that busy. Would go again they perhaps had an off night. We have had better meals in the past at this restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The ambiance is lovely, but the food is just ok. We've been twice and apart from the calamari we haven't been overly impressed by the food.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We had been for brunch on November 11th, we were treated so well, food was fantastic so we decided to share this hidden jam with them. After brunch this past Sunday, all decided that we would most certainly be back again.

Thank you!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Excellent food, possibly the best roast chicken I have ever had, good service.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, People Watching, Romantic, Casual, Fun, Hot Spot, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great patio overlooking the inner harbour.The service and food was good.
Expensive lunch for three people $140 with tip.
Would return for the view & happy hour.

Tags: Historic, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food was amazing and the service impeccable. A great experience overall.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This restaurant is so amazing.
nice view & good service & lovely dinner.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Great spot, good food and atmosphere. Love the patio.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Our waiter was outstanding and we have eaten at many places over the years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This is the second time that we have been to this restaurant for dinner. The first was at the beginning of July '16 - the weather was warm and sunny. In November '16 the weather was not nearly as nice but the heated patio was awesome

We plan on coming back next time we are in Victoria

Tags: Waterfront, Business Meals, People Watching, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Scenic View, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 3, 2016

I found this to be a rather unique dining experience. Good view of Victoria Harbour from the patio. Excellent meal and service. Will got there next time I'm in Victoria.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The location and view are very nice! The service was very good! Parking was easy to find nearby. The restaurant needs to work on the food. Meals were cold and the steak was tough and undercooked. For the price (which is on the higher end), the food quality should be much higher. Sorry, but we are unlikely to return unless we hear that they have addressed this issue.

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We always enjoy dining at the Steamship Grill. The atmosphere is very relaxing and the view is outstanding, especially on the patio. The fish tacos are to die for. My friend loved the risotto. Excellent and friendly service too.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Disappointed that there was only 1 glass of the single Chardonnay on the menu available-they had run out! Also that I couldn't get a decaf Americano after the Starbucks located next door closed. Why not have your own espresso machine?
Otherwise, lovely to sit on the patio with heaters and blankets while it poured rain.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Love going there for their halibut and chips but I had the seafood linguini the other day and it was WAY TOO SALTY.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 16, 2016

To whom it may concern: This night was our 3rd. for birthday celebrations in the past year. I am sure that after this last time, this place is going to be our first choice for family celebrations.
The Waitress was Absolutely Wonderful (PLEASE ensure she knows), Food was Fantastic right from specialty martini, seafood appetiser, main courses through to the pumpkin cheesecake!
All five (5) of us had a great time celebrating 2 x belated and 1 on time family birthdays.
PLUS for the atmosphere, excellent food and superb staff, the price surprised me as I was sure it would have more/person. It was a perfect night without breaking the bank.
THANK YOU!

DarylS, Shawnigan Lake

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 12, 2016

The food, service and ambience were all fantastic. We were seated on the patio with a gorgeous view of the Inner Harbour and the Empress Hotel! We will definitely return the next tine we are in Victoria.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Nice place on the water, food is ok, better than some water front locations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Drinks were great, meal was fantastic. A wonderful relaxing evening with family. Service was great, never felt rushed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 8, 2016

My companion and I split a dozen Kusshi oysters as an appetizer. Although small in size, the oysters had a marvelous buttery taste. My companion ordered a romaine salad with anchovies and shrimp as her entree and found it to be delightful. I ordered the steelhead special; the fish was well prepared and had a marvelous taste. My entree came with Yukon Gold fingerling potatoes, which were excellent, and green beans, which were tough. My companion ordered the butterscotch pudding for dessert and raved about it. I ordered the Tower of Donuts, which included ten donuts and a chocolate dipping sauce. The donuts were warm and contained a creamy center; they were the best donuts I've ever eaten. The service was excellent. The hostess encouraged us to wait a few minutes until the best patio table opened up. Our server was personable and knowledgeable and paced the meal extremely well. The patio was heated and covered and offered a spectacular view of the inner harbor in Victoria.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.