Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.03mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.03mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.03mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.03mi

About Steamship Grill & Bar

Come to Steamship Grill & Bar as you are. There you will unwind; feeling more relaxed, refreshed and refueled as your visit unfolds. Casual, yet upscale, the atmosphere will be comfortable and welcoming to locals and visitors to the Inner Harbour. The decor honours the heritage of the working waterfront with elements that compliment the timeless quality of the original Steamship Terminal building.



Our chef’s approach will emphasize hand-crafted and ethically produced ingredients featuring British Columbia and, in particular, Vancouver Island ranchers, micro-brewers, vintners and artisanal producers that share his vision and passion for fresh, local & sustainable.



Our bar features the best local and international wines including 8 signature by-the-tap varietals. Our draught selection features local breweries dedicated to their craft.



Welcome aboard!

470 Belleville St.
Victoria, BC V8V 1W9
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Tapas / Small Plates, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch-
Weekdays: 11:00AM-4:30PM
Weekends: 10:00AM-4:30PM


Dinner-
Weekdays: 4:30pm - 9:30pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm- 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Menzies St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(778) 433-6736

Website:
http://www.steamshipgrill.com/

Parking Details:
There are plenty of metered parking stalls as well as 1 and 2 hour parking spots within a 3 block radius of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Nathan Tymchuk

Private Party Facilities:
We have a small (8 person) private room with A/V capabilities. This will cater to not only a working business-style luncheon or dinner function, but also to special occasion diners celebrating a birthday, anniversary, graduation, etc.



In conjunction with the Bateman Gallery above us, we will also be able to cater to larger groups (up to 80). We can accommodate anything from a stand up cocktail and appetizer style reception to a full sit down dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Steve Baert, General Manager: (778) 433-6736

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Happy Hour

Special valid Apr 24, 2017 - Aug 24, 2017 all week from 2:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Specials

Happy Hour

Special valid Apr 24, 2017 - Aug 24, 2017 all week from 2:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Details

Happy Hour Buck Fifty a Shuck Oysters are on from 2PM-5PM! Have as many or as few as you would like, while supplies last. Happy Hour drinks include $5 daily craft drafts, $5 cocktail feature and $6 wine feature. Excludes Tax and Tip. Patio seating is on a first come, first serve basis. Special valid Apr 24, 2017 - Aug 24, 2017 all week from 2:00 PM - 5:00 PM.

Steamship Grill & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Scenic View (14)
See All
Casual (9)
Special Occasion (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
People Watching (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Romantic (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Cozy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Tapas (3)
Historic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Fun (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Business Meals (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Healthy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Live Music (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
375 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

The only issue was that they seemed unprepared for our party of 8 including a nine month old. They were not sure what to put us even with a reservation made two days earlier. We sat at a high table which was fine but they did not have any high chairs high enough for the baby. But other than that we had a great family lunch enjoying the view and food.

Tags: Quick Bite, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 15, 2017

It took over an hour to get our appetizers. The quality of the food was mediocre to day the least. We were all foodies dining and to be honest I could have prepared a much better meal then the one we received and paid $360 bucks for!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Fun night at Steamship Grill and Bar. Bartender was great as was our server. Dinner was just okay quality wise but the location, vibe and service made for a fun night. Great location on Victoria Harbor!

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Was a wonderful experience. Great food and nice place for a family dinner with a beautiful backdrop

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Food was good. Appreciated that there was a vegan option on the menu. Atmosphere was great and the location is superb.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The firecracker shrimp appetizer was outstanding and we are still talking about the beet & arugula salad. :) The ambience on the patio is great. The service was friendly and efficient, adding to a wonderful night out with friends.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We were in Victoria for a very special birthday celebration. There were nine of us and the restaurant initially has us at a table inside but we really preferred to be outside. The staff was nice enough to put two tables together to accommodate our party on their outside patio, which has a lovely view of the inner harbor. View was fabulous, food was good but what made our experience "over the top" was the impeccable service we received from Gabby. She went above and beyond, took pictures of our group, was very patient with the two children and was so sweet and friendly. Although she was busy, she made us feel as if we were the most important people in the restaurant. We went to Steamship as customers and felt like we left as family. Wished I lived closer, as I would request this server if I had the opportunity to return to Victoria/Steamship.

Tags: Good for Groups, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Scenic View, People Watching, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 6, 2017

The food was really good......once it arrived! We had a reservation for 5:30 we were sat by 5:45. We ordered our food but it took a long time. Over 1 hour and we had 2 kids with us who were getting very hungry and impatient. The service was great but the kitchen was slow. This is the second time it's been like that. I don't know if we would go back again. Maybe if it was just my husband and I and we had a lot of time to spare. Just isn't worth it with kids.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 5, 2017

The food presentation the ambience and the view is spectacular .

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Tapas, Happy Hour, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Food was good but service was slightly slow. Harbour view was a excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Beautiful view of Victoria harbor with great food and service.

Tags: Seasonal, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Excellent location; food ws tasty; friendly wait staff. Next visit to Victoria, I am sure we will return.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Good as always, friendly service, good food, great view.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Went twice when we were on family vacation. The staff was very friendly and helpful, spectacular view of the Harbor from the patio, and they have an extensive wine and beer list. I would have gave a 5-star review if the bill for cost of food and drinks matched the menu cost. We were overcharged on every item by one or two dollars each.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great view, service and meal. Thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Scenic View, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 22, 2017

For the cost this was nothing that special, the staff were very good and the view on the patio was great. The food was ok and the noise was pretty high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Salmon was so dry. Thankfully the manager took it off the bill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Beautiful setting. Blankets and heat lamps provided for a chilli night. Food was delicious. Great selection on the menu. Good pricing. Romantic especially right by the glass with spectacular view of harbour.

Was a little busy and the kitchen was a bit behind, but we didn't mind as it was such a lovely setting and ambiance. Server was attentive and friendly.

I would definitely recommend to my friends and family.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Waterfront, Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We entertained visitors from out of town and appreciated having our wish for a table with view honoured Service was sensitive to our desire to do a lot of talking, making us slow to order and difficult to interrupt. They were responsive to our delight and made the evening even more enjoyable. We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Five of us dined outside on Tuesday, June 13th for 6pm. Fabulous views, sunny, blankets and heater provided were very much appreciated. One of our party ordered the lobster lasagne which came topped with prawns (not mentioned in the menu) and he is allergic to prawns. The server graciously replaced this dish with his second choice halibut and chips. None of us felt the food was up to the calibre of the location, nor the prices. Our meal didn't arrive for over an hour. The servers are obviously understaffed and pressed. Desserts finally arrived after a long wait too. When we left at 9, the party and noise level inside was unbelievable. We have heard these comments from other friends - view fabulous, weak service, food average and extremely noisy if stuck inside. Sorry folks, but we won't be recommending this restaurant right now.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Good location but slow service and the food was nothing special. Overall tourist trap! No desire to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The blackened fish is very very salty., The seafood salad is average. The seafood pizza and steak were good. Our server Iza was fantastic. Very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Great seafood linguini and seafood salad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Had a very enjoyable evening. Food was good and server was excellent. She read the table and realized a relaxed approach was best. She worked hard and we enjoyed our conversational time while she was at the table.
Thanks Emma, I hope Ryan's leg gets better.

Tags: Tapas, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Halibut Fish & Chips were lacking in the 'chips', had to ask for more, but did notice it was very inconsistent among other diners also. The Green Curry Prawn & Chicken Bowl was short on prawns (only ) & very was very watery. You have to travel up three stories to the washrooms, the handicap washroom on the main floor was very dirty. Not our first visit but definitely a let down compared to other visits. The view was great though!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The nice view is not worth the mediocre food and ambivalent service

Right from the beginning when we arrived we had a disappointing experience. Even though we had made a reservation other tables without reservations were seated ahead of us in the prime patio seating area.

When we were finally seated the gentleman at the table beside us was listening to music on his iPhone which was quite intrusive and loud enough for us to clearly hear. We did not say anything as one of the on-duty managers clearly knew these guests as she was continually visiting and chatting with them. She was obviously aware of the music and chose not to say anything or ask them to turn it down or off.

To start our meal we ordered the calamari. Unfortunately when it arrived there was a large clump in the middle that was not cooked (the inner portion was raw) and had to be sent back. This was rectified but disappointing.

For our main dinners I had the green curry with prawns and chicken which was fine and my husbands sirloin was also acceptable. My sons pasta was however unpleasantly swimming in oil/butter, leaving a puddle at the bottom of his bowl.

Once we finished our mains we looked forward to dessert only to be told the restaurant was sold out of 2 of the 4 options - both the tort and the donuts and it was only 6:30pm. Another disappointment.

Overall the service was slow and throughout our meal dirty dishes were left on our table and not cleared away in a timely manner. Looking at dishes that need to be cleared away is never enjoyable.

As we were leaving at 6:40pm. I overheard our server indicating to another table that the restaurant was sold out of all burgers and salmon. A bit difficult to understand how a restaurant can be sold out of 2 main courses and 2 desserts so early in the evening.

This restaurant may have a good location and a nice patio but it is so not worth it when there are other great restaurants to choose.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 22, 2017

We ended up leaving .
We ordered a drink at the bar while we waited for a table on the patio.
When were we seated we waited over 15 minutes before finally asking a server if we could be served. She certainly didn't apologize or show any empathy but said she would look into it.
It looked like she discussed it with another server and both of hem looked perplexed and annoyed.
By this time our night was ruined and we got up and left and will never be back.
I will say that when we arrived the hostess was very nice and accommodating for us and was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Overall, the experience was unsatisfactory compared to dinner there last year. It took about 15 minutes for the waitperson to find out if the gin was Bombay Sapphire or regular Bombay and then another 10 or so for drinks to arrive. The Caesar salad (touted as being very special) was the worst Caesar salad I've ever had in a restaurant, with a lot of what was apparently mayo holding it together. Very odd. The entre' and dessert were okay. The espresso arrived cold and had to be sent back, and we got an involved story about Starbucks, yada yada. The wait person was fairly unattentive, perhaps because it had been a holiday weekend in Victoria. The beet and arugula salad was unavailable, for example, because the restaurant was out of arugula, and this was at 6 or 6:30 on Monday evening. The view, however, was wonderful, so I will probably try it again. But I have since discovered lots of other good restaurants in Victoria., so maybe not.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Very nice restaurant for our last night in Victoria. Food & service were both excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I have been looking forward to dining here for a couple of years. My kids kept dropping the ball so this year I reserved for my family, including my elderly parents. We were seated outside even though we had not requested outside seating. It was a very chilly day and we were all cold but we were told we couldn't sit inside due to reservations (I had reserved well in advance). I was very disappointed in the food AND the service. Any seafood option was cold. Every hot dish from the buffet was far from HOT, however, the chicken was dried out. The wait staff could hardly be found and when she DID come with coffee FINALLY, she brought no spoons and about one ounce of cream for 8 people. My parents had to crawl through the planter to get in and out of their seats to get to the buffet.
All in all a bad experience for all 8 of us.
I am sure this place is lovely when the patio is warm and if there is service but this time around the price was FAR too high for what we received.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The view of James Bay was spectacular, great meal to cap off an amazing week on the island to celebrate our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Awesome
The service was very good

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 21, 2017

What an experience. The decor inside is very nice. We had patio seating and with the heaters and fleece throws on each chair it was very comfortable. Relaxing to look onto the water at sunset and see the Empress all lit up.
Amanda was our wonderful server. She was very dilligent and made sure food & drinks were to our liking. The food was great. We certainly would recommend going there and glad we didn't let the negative reviews keep us from trying it out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 24, 2017

My friend and I both ordered the mixed seafood grill as recommended by the server. It came out cold. I then ordered the mussels and my friend ordered the lobster ravioli. Again cold!! The server was very apologetic and we didn't have to pay for anything. It it was one of the worst dining experiences I have ever had!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Food is good but nothing to rave about. Ingo for the patio and great view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Everything we had was excellent, with the exception of the Caesar salad, which was just OK.

Tags: Cozy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Family was at restaurant for Dine Around. Restaurant was cold; sitting by the window was colder; had to leave jacket on. Sirloin steak wasn't tasty, not enough sauce/gravy, medium rare meat was difficult to cut.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food Great service Great menu Can't wait to go back

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Very disappointing, especially the food. Green vegetables badly undercooked. The rest very bland. This was our first time at the restaurant and also our last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Our First time there. It was difficult to find parking during a Week Day given its location at the Inner Harbor and near the Legislature so you may have a bit of a walk to the restaurant. The ambiance and decor was really nice and as we live a Vegan and/or Vegetarian lifestyle, we were able to find enough choices on the menu. We did find it a bit pricey but would recommend it for special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.