Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.03mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.03mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.03mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.03mi

About Steamship Grill & Bar

Come to Steamship Grill & Bar as you are. There you will unwind; feeling more relaxed, refreshed and refueled as your visit unfolds. Casual, yet upscale, the atmosphere will be comfortable and welcoming to locals and visitors to the Inner Harbour. The decor honours the heritage of the working waterfront with elements that compliment the timeless quality of the original Steamship Terminal building.



Our chef’s approach will emphasize hand-crafted and ethically produced ingredients featuring British Columbia and, in particular, Vancouver Island ranchers, micro-brewers, vintners and artisanal producers that share his vision and passion for fresh, local & sustainable.



Our bar features the best local and international wines including 8 signature by-the-tap varietals. Our draught selection features local breweries dedicated to their craft.



Welcome aboard!

470 Belleville St.
Victoria, BC V8V 1W9
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Tapas / Small Plates, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch-
Weekdays: 11:00AM-4:30PM
Weekends: 10:00AM-4:30PM


Dinner-
Weekdays: 4:30pm - 9:30pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm- 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Menzies St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(778) 433-6736

Website:
http://www.steamshipgrill.com/

Parking Details:
There are plenty of metered parking stalls as well as 1 and 2 hour parking spots within a 3 block radius of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Nathan Tymchuk

Private Party Facilities:
We have a small (8 person) private room with A/V capabilities. This will cater to not only a working business-style luncheon or dinner function, but also to special occasion diners celebrating a birthday, anniversary, graduation, etc.



In conjunction with the Bateman Gallery above us, we will also be able to cater to larger groups (up to 80). We can accommodate anything from a stand up cocktail and appetizer style reception to a full sit down dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Steve Baert, General Manager: (778) 433-6736

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Steamship Grill & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (43)
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
Scenic View (28)
See All
Special Occasion (19)
Good for a Date (18)
Casual (18)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Romantic (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
People Watching (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Business Meals (6)
Fun (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Seasonal (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Great Beer (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Tapas (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Cozy (4)
Authentic (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Live Music (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
415 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

We were entertaining guests from Ontario and from England. Highly recommend this location for good food, great view and helpful staff. Our waitstaff (Ariane) was outstanding and lots of fun.
Another table were very loud and at times (birthday celebration) we could not hear ourselves talking. But they left early.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Took over 45 minutes to get our order, one meal the nights special, Miso Halibut was dry, not very good, the other chippino, crab legs not scored could not break apart. As consolation they did offer a nice desert on the house, but preference would have been better food and not had to wait so long

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Very limited menu choices. Did not have same offerings as on web

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Hidden gem, walked by a few times without noticing the place.
Cooler evening so reserved a window seat, nice views. View from the patio is one of the better ones in the area.
Excellent chowder, good meal and desert. Service was also good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food was great, and the server was polite -- but forgot our request to see the wine list just before our main meal arrived. When we finally were able to order a bottle, the server took other orders before delivering it. I cancelled the order rather than let the food get cold or drink the wine after dinner. It was a let down for a meal that was supposed to be a celebration.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Can't beat the view out on the patio. Great place to meet with friends for a drink. However the food is very mediocre and given the excellent choices available in Victoria do not go here for the food.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Excellent seafood. The salmon we had was fantastic and a good sized piece of fish. Nice restaurant inside a museum plus great patio seating right next to the ferry terminal

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Gorgeous view of the inner harbour but food was mediocre and pricey.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Excellent food and scenic view. The service started off good but was clearly under staffed on the back patio. I would not hesitate to visit again.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Business Meals, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Ambiance is beautiful, we sat on the deck. Food was great, we shared a calamari starter. We each had the crab cake and prawns. Each of the dishes was excellent. A suggestion that may minimize the complaints I read about the Steamship is to have a co-ordination between the wait staff and the kitchen. We had to wait for our appetizer and the waitress went to check and as she left the table a person delivered the dish, the same thing happened with our entree. Other restaurants provide this service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Items in menu were not available. Tiny portions for price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Beautiful downtown waterfront location. Great selection of seafood. Wonderful presentation. Service was pleasant.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Steamship Grill has a great patio for outdoor dining. The food was fresh and very good and the service was attentive and personable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 25, 2017

I wouldn't recommend it. Portions were small for the price paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

The setting and view were so spectacular that everything else seemed great also.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 24, 2017

My first time to this restaurant. Impressive location with a great waterfront patio that offers heaters and blankets on the patio. Appetizers were great (calamari, flatbread and shrimp). Our party of 7 also enjoyed dinner of 3 burgers which were terrific, fish n chips were good but fish was not hot enough, crab cakes and noodle bowl and ceasar salad with chicken. The waitress was nice, efficient and accurate.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Oysters were delicious! I had the lobster ravioli which was amazing.. would definitely go back the next time I visit:)

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 23, 2017

We live in the neighbourhood and frequent the steamship - it is always great

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

We had made a reservation for after the Tour De Victoria bike ride for a group of 10 (some who were starving riders). While our server was fantastic and did everything he could to make sure we were happy, the food took over an hour to arrive, was cold, in some cases burnt, and overall lacked the flavor and quality we were expecting from such a wonderful looking restaurant. We did let the manager on duty know and they graciously took care of a large portion of our meal, however it has definitely made us think twice about coming back again next year during the same event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

We decided to eat here on our honeymoon and we were not dissapointed. We got a table outside, but our server was able to get us a waterfront table which made it a lot more romantic. I loved that they had blankets on the back of the chairs in case the ocean breeze got too cool. Our server was patient and incredibly friendly. The food was phenomenal, and I especially appreciated their attention to the scallops on the seafood salad. I am not usually fond of scallops, but tnd kitchen did a wonderful job and their flavor was wonderful. It was a perfect honeymoon date! Thank you so much!

Tags: Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Healthy, Organic, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Aberdeen)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Very disappointing. The locations was nice but we were first seated at a little wobbly table next to a wall. The table rocked and the view was obscured. We moved when another table opened up. The selection was disappointing, More pub food than seafood. We were thirsty. The water (warm) tasted like it came out of a toilet tank. My husband had a nice glass of wine, but my wine was the worst Pinot Noir I have ever tasted. (I drank it anyway. Better than the questionable water.) I found salmon on the menu. It came with rice. I requested potatoes and they arrived saturated in oil. The salmon was good. My husband's meal was dismal. He ordered fried shrimp and they we're greasy. The rice that accompanied the entree was dry and mealy. Dessert was disappointing. I ordered the doughnuts with a chocolate expresso dipping sauce. The doughnuts looks like they came out of a Hostess package, and were very greasy. the sauce was something right out of a can. My husband's dessert was something butterscotch. I came in a Mason jar with a thick layer of chocolate and some kind of rancid sprinkles on top. the butterscotch on the bottom was delicious. The most akward part is when the bill arrives and you go pay it. The waiter stands over you with a small credit card machine and instructs you how to use it. The instructions come with how and where to include a tip. NOT GOOD!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We were extremely disappointed with the crab Caesar salad. The lettuce was right out of a bag, the dressing was incredibly bland and the crab was straight from a can all minced and mushy. We couldn't eat it. The service was good and the waterfront patio was great, but we would never eat there again.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 18, 2017

This was a disappointment. Reserved online for dinner for our 30th wedding anniversary. Made a point of noting that on the reservation.

Arrived a few minutes early, and were shown to a table on the terrace, but despite there being empty tables along the rail, closest to the water, we were seated near an electrical box of some sort, near the back wall, with an obstructed view of the water. No mention was ever made of our anniversary. Because it was a cool evening, there were lap blankets on the backs of all the other chairs, but none at our table. We were not asked if we would like blankets.

Our waitress was fine, no complaints there. My wife had fish, which was very good, but the accompanying rice was overlooked, with bits being charred to crunchiness. I had their most expensive steak, which was priced at 38.00. On their website's menus, the steak was listed as 10 oz, but in the restaurant's menus, it had been changed to 9 oz. what I ended up getting was a flavourless, grey wedge of partially grizzly beef. My Caesar salad was very good.

My wife had a small glass of Merlot, and I had a Virgin Caesar. No dessert.

Our bill was over $100. for the two of us, for a mediocre meal, seated at a bad table. No one asked how our meal was, or if we had enjoyed our meal.

We would never go back there, nor would we recommend this restaurant to others.

T. Baxter
Vancouver Island

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 15, 2017

It was my birthday and my parents decided to treat my husband, toddler and myself to dinner. The setting is amazing but the entire service of the food was juvenile at best- from the snarky way the hostess told us that strollers are not welcome on the patio - which we happily folded and put aside our selves, to the server who had no clue what oysters were available, to us getting our oysters and meals delivered within 3 mins- so our $25+ entrees sitting under a heat lamp, to the server bumping into my Sons high chair every time he passed by to serve the next table. We had a lovely time in the end, but no thanks to the serving staff. From what I heard others in the restaurant say, this is what happens every time they go that here. I will think twice about returning--- beautiful spot, good food, not great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Came for lunch, group of 8 - business lunch.

I do want to mention that our server was great: very personable, had a good sense of humour and was attentive . Also, her dessert suggestion was awesome (warm mini donuts with a chocolate hazelnut dipping sauce - best food item of our lunch)!

The coconut shrimp appetizer was yummy but the rest of the food was "ok" at best(some of our party of 8 had fish burgers, some had salads, typical lunch fare): not edible and nothing outright terrible, a little pricey for what it was. A few things to note: The flat bread pizzas were almost too crisp, like a cracker and really bland. Several of the dishes had a weird goopy corn salsa(?) topping that did not look very appetizing or really go with the dishes they sat atop, but tht's just my opinion as the people who received it didn't seem to mind it.

Inner Harbour view from the outside patio was nice and interesting. Ambience is a bit strange inside the restaurant, kind of a cheesy nautical theme that was just a tiny bit messy and old looking (especially since it was empty indoors and the restaurant is still fairly new). Strangely, to get to the patio doors you have to walk through what looks like a server station where several staff members were doing things like folding napkins, filling water jugs, etc.c Just seemed strange/awkward.

Lastly, the bathrooms... the one available on the same level as the restaurant was disgusting. I guess it's shared with a ferry terminal? Dirty, smelly and paper towels and toilet paper everywhere. Yikes. There are apparently more bathrooms if you take an elevator up? I am not sure if they were much nicer though as I didn't want to go on a journey to find them.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Food was OK service a bit slow at times.
Go for the view its worth it!!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 5, 2017

What a disappointment! After two excellent lunches there in recent months, I was looking forward to going again with friends visiting from Ontario. What a disaster! Three bad meals out of four! Apparently, the chef has changed recently but they have kept the same recipes. It takes more than a good recipe to make a good meal... Mussels arrived with virtually tasteless juice/liquid - very watery with a few chopped tomatoes. Lobster ravioli and accompanying sauce were a disgrace- I've had better frozen packaged seafood ! To boot, service was quite spotty and not terribly professional - server obviously got unhinged when we complained about the food at the end of our meal. Charged me for a glass of wine that never came. Doubt I would ever go back. This place could be in trouble if this is the quality of food they are now offering... a fantastic view only gets you so far. I can only hope that we hit them on a very bad night...? Too many tourists to feed??

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great bartender and drinks. Good food but poor , inattentive wait staff.

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We had to change our reservation time and had no trouble doing so.
Attentive service, good seafood place.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Loved this place. Great service, wonderful view and excellent food. We had salmon (fantastic, nothing to do with what you get in the midwest) and snapper, both great. To fonish, minidonuts with chocolate and kalua cream. Yummy!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great patio seating overlooking the harbor. Wonderful seafood options and delicious deserts. Highly recommend in Victoria for a relaxing meal.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Perfect setting. Great food. Fantastic staff. If you go to victoria this is the restaurant that is a "must go to".

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Great Beer, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Lovely food...and you can't beat the setting on the Inner Harbour

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Great views and good food on offer. Staff are very friendly. Dessert doughnuts was too much for me!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Great Beer, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Seated on patio as per reservation request .seated approx ten minutes after arrival . Only beverage request was for draft beers . Took 20 minutes . Appetizers 50 minutes .main course another hour . This was a rediculous long wait for any food . Dozen oysters were very good however all main dishes were cold ,fish over cooked and the consistency of sawdust . Lobster ravioli cold . How do you ask for food to be sent back after you have already waited over an hour ?waiter attempted to deliver several orders to our table which were not ours .
Such a shame it is a lovely venue but absolute garbage food . Don't bother looking at the on line menus they don't have many of those entrees . Don't waste your time or money here

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Disappointed as the menu has King Crab on the menu and it was not available at the restaurant. Nice atmosphere, but the food was just ok. Wait staff was very good and was very accommodating.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Love the server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

I went with my family to celebrate 2 birthdays. Unfortunately we had some issues with the delivery of our food . It arrived lukewarm at best and with too much time passed between the first three meals and the last three meals. However what could have been a disastrous evening was saved by the actions of the restaurant manager. He quickly had all of our meals redone and then compensated us very well for the inconvenience. We will now go back due to his handling of the situation. We did enjoy our meals especially the older members of our party. My one comment on the menu was that it was quite traditional. For example my son had mussels and said they were very good but the only option was with a white wine and garlic sauce. It would be great to have some other broth options. My non-seafood loving family members appreciated the other options on the menu. So overall, the food tasted good but was traditional, the location was beautiful and the service was handled very well after the initial upset.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

The service from Francesca was perfect! Never intrusive, always with a smile. She recommended a great wine and made the whole evening a wonderful experience.
The Kusshi Oysters were marvelous, if a bit too expensive, but overall, the food was great. Definitely the best patio in Victoria!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 17, 2017

The only issue was that they seemed unprepared for our party of 8 including a nine month old. They were not sure what to put us even with a reservation made two days earlier. We sat at a high table which was fine but they did not have any high chairs high enough for the baby. But other than that we had a great family lunch enjoying the view and food.

Tags: Quick Bite, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.