Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Steak 954 at the W Fort Lauderdale

STEAK 954 is a modern boutique ocean-front steakhouse. The restaurant features dry aged beef from hand picked ranches; Tajima Kobe from Australia, locally caught seafood, and the finest wines and spirits with selections from all over the globe.

401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd.
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily 7:00am to 11:00am; Lunch: Monday to Friday: 11:30am to 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday to Thursday: 5:30pm to 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm to 11:00pm; Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 11:00 am to 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Bayshore Blvd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(954) 414-8333

Website:
http://www.steak954.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available through the W Fort Lauderdale.

Executive Chef:
Jason L. Smith

Private Party Contact:
Rosanna Cintron: (954) 414-8333

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Steak 954 at the W Fort Lauderdale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (70)
Good for a Date (70)
Waterfront (65)
See All
Romantic (65)
Great for Outdoor Dining (57)
Scenic View (55)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
Modern Decor (45)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Notable Wine List (34)
Worth the Drive (27)
People Watching (27)
Great for Brunch (26)
Good for Groups (26)
Hot Spot (25)
Business Meals (25)
Fun (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Bar Seating (9)
Casual (8)
Cozy (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Healthy (6)
Authentic (6)
Family Style (5)
Seasonal (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great Beer (3)
Private Room (3)
Tapas (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Live Music (1)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
2045 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

Slow and inattentive service. Party had to refill own wine glasses. Waiter has placed bucket a fair distance from table. Food was average. Not worth the price. Wouldn't recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

The ambiance, staff and food were absolutely delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary and they treated us well with complimentary champagne and red velvet cake. Overall we were very satisfied. I ordered the lobster bisque and the butter- poached lobster. I am not a huge seafood eater but I did like the lobster. That was my very first taste of lobster bisque and it was good. We also really liked the asparagus with the sauce that was on it. We appreciated being able to actually carry on a conversation without competing with the noise. It was a perfect evening to sit outside as there was practically no wind. I would recommend Steak 954.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Key West)·Dined 4 days ago

Absolutely delicious food! I can not say how satisfied we were! Easily the best steak, best meal either of us have ever had.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Healthy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

Excelente con todas las letras

La carne fue extraordinaria

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

The steak was delicious. The lobster even more so. The lobster claw was the biggest I have ever been served. The aquarium with the Man-of-War in it was pretty cool too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Brunch was top notch. Highly recommend the French toast!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 21, 2017

As always food was great! I usually order the filet but chose the New York strip this time. It was cooked to perfection. Server was great and attentive . Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Was visiting Fort Lauderdale for a girls weekend get together. We had an amazing meal and awesome experience. We wanted to share a few appetizers and the waitress offered to have them split up for the three of us in the kitchen to make it easier for us to share and that was great. We each had a filet mignon and 2 of us shared a lobster tail, and had Brussels sprouts and mushrooms as sides which were absolutely delicious. We had a couple of bottles of white wine (one before and one during dinner) and our waitress really didn't have any recommendations for us which was ok but surprising for a higher end restaurant. Our waitress was personable and attentive. Our dinner took quite awhile to come out and after the waitress checked on it and it finally came (we weren't in a rush but other tables that came in after us & ordered had already been served and finished) the waitress apologized profusely and the manager came over to apologize and offered us each complimentary desserts. We gladly accepted them and they were delicious (the ice cream sandwiches, cheesecake and chocolate soufflé). We had a wonderful evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Food was good. Had dinner there on my husband's birthday and noted that on my reservation. We always eat there on our birthdays and anniversaries and they normal say Happy Birthday to you as soon as the waiters come over. This time our waiter didn't say anything the entire meal. It is not a big deal but just not we used to

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I really enjoy steak 954. The ambiance, from jellyfish aquarium and outside dining by the beach, is fantastic. My only major reservation is that the food was much too salty. I asked to have less salt on my steak, and it still was very salty. If you like salt, this is a great place for steak!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We had a wonderful experience! We had a waiter named Robert who was excellent! Steak was cooked to perfection and the truffle potatoes were amazing. Highly recommend Steak 954!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Birthday anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We had an excellent dinner and a beautiful view. It was a birthday celebration and our waiter took great care of us. We visit 954 every time we are in town.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Went out with my boyfriend for Mother's Day it wasn't our first time there so we knew what to expect we both ordered sirloin mines was perfect but his wasn't the way he wanted it so the manager went over and beyond to make sure we left happy will be definitely going back for future visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Eaten here twice, simply amazing A+.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was good but the service was less than desirable. My nephew ordered his steak medium and twice and twice it was well undercooked. If you call yourself a fine dining steak house then you better know how to cook a steak. So unimpressed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Service was outstanding and the food was delicious! Nice view of the beach. The dessert were beautiful presented and taste amazing!

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our waitress was awesome and very knowledgeable of the menu and different wine options from their extensive wine list. Food was great and cooked to perfection. Cocktails we're beyond perfect as far as taste and presentation. Overall 5 star experience on every aspect that the restaurant had to offer!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Casual, Business Meals, Fun, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had a nice celebration dinner on Sat night, however, I feel this place is overrated.
The décor is modern including the interesting jelly fish tank, we opted to sit inside since we were all dressed up and the patio is very casual. I had the lobster bisque soup to start and was disappointed as I've had much better elsewhere. My husband enjoyed his French onion soup.
Considering the prices of the steak entrees, there were mixed reviews. 2 out of 3 were fine, but
my mother's filet mignon was actually chewy according to her. Sides are all a la carte, enough for 2 people, but not 3. Whipped potatoes were fantastic, the smoked cauliflower was a flop.
We finished off with 3 desserts and a complimentary red velvet cupcake for my mother's birthday occasion. Valet parking was a nightmare, took us almost 30 min because there was a wedding at the hotel the same time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 12, 2017

ESPECTACULAR....!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We were there to celebrate a graduation - food is excellent, and the service was impeccable. Would highly recommend!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Excellent experience at Steak954!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Since good restaurants are few and far between in South Florida, this was a pleasant surprise. The service was professional and attentive and the food was great. The only minor criticisms I have are:

The decor of the dining areas is a bit boring and dated.

The food could have been delivered sooner.

I had asked for a quiet table for an anniversary celebration. The restaurant was not busy, with open tables everywhere in the rather large dining room. However, the hostess sat a large noisy family near us that rather spoiled the environment.

Regardless of the above, it is one of the rare finds for good food in South Florida and is still recommended.

Tags: Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent breakfast. Please write a review that is at least 50 characters in length.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Not a typical Starr experience. Placed us in between two large very loud tables when at least 5-6 two tops were available. Could not even hear each other without yelling. Asked to move but by time they came to reseat us we were being served and felt bad for our server. So we stayed. That was a mistake. My steak was good. Sides were good. My wife's chicken was dry and unseasoned. Server was good and apologized and offered us a complimentary brunch which was nice. The hostess and management need to recognize the bad choice of tables. Made our experience not very good. Will not return if we are ever in Ft. Lauderdale again. Jellyfish tank was very cool though. Will stick with Continental and Buddakan up north though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food was excellent. Service was wonderful and our waiter was very helpful. The jellyfish aquarium is very cool and adds to the nice vibe of the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We went there looking to co.pare kobi to dry aged meat. We explained the waitress our intention as soon as we sat.
We took some guests so we asked for advice about appetizer. She wanted to push the most expensive only.
We ordered the meat. Three members ordered wagyu, one aged steak.
When we were served, no one knew which one was the aged piece. The waiter, the waitress and the 'Chef' contradicted each other. Actually, the assistant that brought the dishes even got an attitude when we asked how to differenciate the steak.
The food was good, but not great. Service wass poor for the price, ambiance was not special (we first sat outside and there were so many flies that we had to move).

Not thrilled by the experience. I have had better wagyu and better service.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We chose to sit at an outside table on an absolutely beautiful Saturday early-evening (7:00) & were not disappointed. the view & people-watching were great, as were the meal, cocktails & service. We were extremely pleased with the entire dining experience; an A+ evening.

Tags: People Watching, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We DID keep our reservation. Don't know why I got an email that said we did not! We had a lovely evening...please correct your records to reflect that in fact we did dine as per our reservation. Thank you.
Please notify me that this has been corrected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We asked for a

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The waiter actually mixed up the order of stake the way we wanted them cooked and I had to send mine back to finish cooking it and my waives was over cooked but she didn't complained this time I guess she was hungry

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

When you eat at a W there is a expectation of top quality everything. The place is not cheap and therefore near perfection is the wanted.
Initially you wait by an amazing jellyfish tank. Blue lit and breath taking. We sat outside which is an ocean view. A1A is in front of you which is a bit distracting as police cars zipped by to some emergency. We ordered an appetizer, soup, and a main. The pacing was way off with too many long gaps between courses. One soup was almost cold by the time we got it. The other soup didn't taste quite right. I chalked it up to their recipe. The mains came out perfectly cooked. We had a variety of drinks. Some were good others not. I blame personal preferences here.
Worth a visit and generally good just not at the level I would have hoped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 29, 2017

one of our usual spots for special occaisons.. they didn't accommodate us for a seating preference request which was a little annoying, would have been nice for them to call and say they couldn't seat us where we requested. The food and the experience made up for it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I have always heard mixed reviews and have to say I was very happy! Being from Chicago I'm a bit of a steak snob. My filet was cooked perfectly and seasoned a wonderful filet! Sides were delicious! Not one person at the table was disappointed. Service was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Very attentive service, food is excellent, very good wine list, noise level made it difficult to hear.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Only complaint was length of time to get food and it wasn't that busy

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Always a wonderful experience. Steaks prepared perfectly, ambiance on the patio overlooking the ocean was stunning and service always friendly and impeccable ..

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We celebrated my wife's birthday. The service was great, the food outstanding. Could not have asked for anything more. Went back the next night it was so superior

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.