About Steak 954 at the W Fort Lauderdale

401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd.
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
View Larger Map

STEAK 954 is a modern boutique ocean-front steakhouse. The restaurant features dry aged beef from hand picked ranches; Tajima Kobe from Australia, locally caught seafood, and the finest wines and spirits with selections from all over the globe.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily 7:00am to 11:00am; Lunch: Monday to Friday: 11:30am to 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday to Thursday: 5:30pm to 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm to 11:00pm; Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 11:00 am to 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Bayshore Blvd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(954) 414-8333

Website:
http://www.steak954.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available through the W Fort Lauderdale.

Executive Chef:
Jason L. Smith

Private Party Contact:
Rosanna Cintron: 9544148333

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Breakfast
  • French Lace Coctail
  • Steak
  • Smoked Octopus With Compressed Pineapple And Crispy Speck.
  • Southern Smash
  • Strawberry Mojito
  • Miso Glazed Black Cod
  • Red Quesadilla
  • Grilled Shrimp Salad
Breakfast
French Lace Coctail
Steak
Smoked Octopus With Compressed Pineapple And Crispy Speck.
Southern Smash
Strawberry Mojito
Miso Glazed Black Cod
Red Quesadilla
Grilled Shrimp Salad

Steak 954 at the W Fort Lauderdale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Ft. Lauderdale - Broward County
Best Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale ›

special occasion (79)
scenic view (75)
great for outdoor dining (61)
See All
fit for foodies (56)
romantic (51)
good for groups (32)
hot spot (27)
notable wine list (22)
great for brunch (19)
great for lunch (18)
neighborhood gem (15)
late-night find (12)
vibrant bar scene (11)
kid-friendly (7)
Sort By:
Newest
1611 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was fantastic as usual but th ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Everything was fantastic as usual but they never have the table ready that I ask for. I'm a regular and always go through the same thing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

The restaurant is inside of a W hotel, w ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The restaurant is inside of a W hotel, which is quite nice. However, the food was good but tremendously overpriced. Nothing comes with your entree. A 8 oz filet was $65.00 and ordered some asparagus to have something with my steak, which costs $11.00 They advertise the steak as the best there is being Wagyu and dry aged but not much different from most other steak houses. Disappointing for the money.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great service and food . Will be back. ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great service and food . Will be back. B

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very professional and efficient service. ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Very professional and efficient service. (Stephanie) We had fish even though restaurant is a steakhouse. Fish was excellent! Baby beet salad was delicious. Desserts are made in-house by a pastry chef. Beautiful view of the ocean and the jellyfish tank surprisingly beautiful and relaxing to watch.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Steak was way undercooked had to send it ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Steak was way undercooked had to send it back. My kids steak wasn't even out in system when it came out it was under cooked. We sent that back and came back still undercooked and sent it back again. There was no taste to the steaks. The side were tiny and they were ok at best. Not even enough for a one person side and they are about $12 each. It was Father's Day none the less! Stay away trust me!

food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Service was so bad. Unfriendly and extr ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Service was so bad. Unfriendly and extremely slow. Food was okay, but nothing great. Nice view, but not worth it, as the service was the slowest I have ever seen.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Slow kithen; however waiter and manager ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Slow kithen; however waiter and manager were very attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Waited 25 minutes for drinks upon being ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Waited 25 minutes for drinks upon being seated. Waited another 45 minutes for food. We were told they were backed up and having a hard time getting food out of the kitchen. "We apologize". The food was average, nothing special. The menu was limited (breakfast). The dining room was crowded and it was extremely loud. We will not return to this establishment.

food4
ambience5
service5

The manager Ryan was great and my waiter ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

The manager Ryan was great and my waiter Oohchea that's how it sounds with pronunciation was definitely a great guy

food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Safe

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Steak 954 is a safe place to eat if you like fine dining or good food. A little over priced, excellent services and nice atmosphere.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous! Bring your gold American Expre ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Fabulous! Bring your gold American Express! But it's worth it.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant for out door dining. Lo ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Great restaurant for out door dining. Love the Jelly fish tank

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Aged steak was good, on par with capital ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Aged steak was good, on par with capital grille, creamed spinach was ok, halibut was delicious, the lighting outside is terrible, it's either yellow light or led white light! Both are bad for dinner, I would class it just below a capital grille and you still have to pay $5 for valet

food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Disappointment

Dined on June 5, 2016

Sadly, I've had much better meals at more average places. I ordered the $60 bone in ribeye and he asked the temp, told him medium and he told me that's red in the center throughout, of course. But it was gray when I first cut in, and continued to be gray as I cut through to see if that was just the edge. I hate to complain but at $60 I wanted it right. The server brought a flashlight and asked that I cut it in half to make sure, it was still gray. He reluctantly changed it but it was just average still. My wife's lobster was ridiculously expensive and pretty chewy. Shame. Their bread was good though, and the French onion soup was excellent but at $12 for a soup not sure it's worth going there for that. My two cents, for what it's worth.

food5
ambience5
service5

As usual a great meal. Ordered the steak ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

As usual a great meal. Ordered the steak and lobster, the dry aged 14oz ribeye , Brussels sprouts and Cauliflower with kale. Everything was delicious. Our waiter was great.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing! Service was fantastic. ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Food was amazing! Service was fantastic. One of the best restaurants in Fort Lauderdale.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun and Great Food

Dined on June 3, 2016

Every item was excellent, well executed, and had a little flair that made it special (for example the crushed roasted pistachios on the beet and goat cheese salad). The steak was outstanding (22oz bone in ribeye). Our server, Daniel, was perfect; fun, attentive without hovering and fully knowledgeable about every item (and we did ask a LOT of questions). He seemed to enjoy talking in more detail about the food, and helped to make our date a night a great evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful Evening

Dined on May 29, 2016

The service was impeccable and the food was great. Would definitely return.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

The service wasn't very good, but the fo ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

The service wasn't very good, but the food was! Server was not very attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

Dined on May 29, 2016

Service and Food was exceptional. Made us feel important and the atmosphere was fantastic. Would recommend outside to enjoy the breathtaking views of the ocean. Would dine there again in a heartbeat. Thank you Steak 954 for a wonderful experience

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good food, great service, loud restaurant

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Seated us outside first but the banquette seating was too low for the (very small) table so we moved inside. Service was very good. Cocktails from the specialty list were excellent. The crab cake and scallop starters were delicious. We had the rib-eye which was well seasoned and properly cooked and the lamb which i ordered medium-rare and got more medium-well. The cauliflower side dish was tasty, the mushroom and onion side dish was gummy and an unpleasant texture. Overall it was a good, not great, meal. NYC-level prices on the beach.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Great Steak

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Very good steaks and fish but on the expense side, great view.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4

We had the lamb chops and the 20 oz stri ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

We had the lamb chops and the 20 oz strip. It could have been the best steak I have ever had. The flavor was amazing !

food1
ambience1
service5

Food not good, so noisy you couldn't hea ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Food not good, so noisy you couldn't hear conversation without shouting, server was excellent but that was the only good aspect to the whole experience

food5
ambience5
service5

Another Fantastic meal!! Our wonderful W ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Another Fantastic meal!! Our wonderful Waiter remembered us..we will be back soon!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every experience I have had simply amazing!

Dined on May 25, 2016

Amazing!! The staff! The food! Management, the chefs. They are all amazing! I really have to say that weather we are eating at the restaurant or having a drink wile waiting for the group all is a 10 star! I think of it as a happy place. From the drinks to the food and the staff. The chefs have to complement them for the consistancy in flavore on the execution of every plate served. Recommend the dry aged prime New York! Fish tacos. The sliders. The Mac and cheese! Bronzino, crab cakes! Well the list goes on.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

Food was good service not so much. Our w ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Food was good service not so much. Our waitress was very pleasant and it may not be her fault but the two of us were there 3 hours! It took 25 mins to get our drinks! So we only ordered 2 each lol I mean that's ridiculous. I'm never in a hurry when I'm out to eat....I like to relax and take my time but overall the food and drink wait times were way beyond normal.

food2
ambience5
service5

Service was great. The waiter knew his m ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Service was great. The waiter knew his menu and was great with suggestions. The appetizers and dessert were phenomenal. The main courses was very disappointing.The ribeye i had ordered was less then spectacular. It was undercooked and fatty. I was very disappointed. My wife had ordered the 3lbs lobster. All she had gotten was meat from the tail and one claw. Not even close to being 3lbs. Very misleading. I would go back just for the dessert the Alaskan Key Lime Pie. Aside from that i was very disappointed. Hope changes are made to live up to the expectations of the patrons. Zagat got this rating wrong.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best meal I have had in a long time. Our ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Best meal I have had in a long time. Our server Stephanie was great and attentive. Steak was cooked to perfection, the oysters and scallop appetizers were to die for. After dinner we had drinks at the Livingroom upstairs and danced. Wonderful time had on our date night.

food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Chaotic

Dined on May 22, 2016

I have to say I was a little disappointed in my last visit to Steak 954. We had a total of 4 waiters who kept coming back to ask us the same questions. They were very attentive, a little too attentive. Also it was a bit chaotic. The food as always was delicious; no complaints there. The staff was nice, just a bit overwhelming and disorganized.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Great location across from Fort Lauderda ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Great location across from Fort Lauderdale Beach. We sat outside and had a great view of the ocean. My wife ordered the Halibut and I had a wedge salad and the filet mignon, we also shared potatoes au-gratin, and mac n cheese. Overall the food was good, not great. The service, however, was exceptional, and the wine was excellent. Overall, it was a pleasant experience. We would go again!

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Service!

Dined on May 19, 2016

Pros: Extremely impressed on how each server was 'attentive' to our large group. Food was delicious and drinks were great. Cons: Had a crying toddler a table over which was disruptive when unable to communicate to your colleagues during dinner. Overall: Great atmosphere and food - recommend to others

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3

The host and waiter were very accommodat ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

The host and waiter were very accommodating. We sat on the patio with a wonderful view of the boardwalk, beach and jelly fish aquarium. The ambience was normal not over the top. Not a wow moment but nice. The service was ok but not nearly what we are accustomed to. Due to an overcast (weather) there was a little rain. Where we were seated seemingly in between where the patio tents joined, water dripped on the table. The weather outside was summer warm and because where we were seated (across from the door), every trims the door opened you felt the aircondition bellow out the door. The steak was very warm & tender. Awesome. As expected. The tuna tartare was nice. However the salmon was fresh The presentation was very dull and lacked creativity. Overall it's a ok restaurant. Not a "wow" restaurant and the price was suitable to what was rendered.

food4
ambience4
service4

Loved the jellyfish tank

Dined on May 15, 2016

Loved the jellyfish tank

food4
ambience4
service4

Amazing steak, French onion soup and bre ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Amazing steak, French onion soup and bread pudding. The sides and scallops were good but nothing special. The waiter was great but the staff got the timing of the courses way off. 42 Oz porterhouse was incredible though!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Birthday Surprise

Dined on May 13, 2016

I made a reservation for 10 for my mother's birthday and the family fully enjoyed the food, scenery and customer service. The food and its presentation was wonderful...Daniel was our server and he went over and beyond to make us feel at home. He was exceptional. So much so that we plan on having another family get together due to his pleasant and welcoming aura! Thank you Daniel and to the rest of the crew for your hospitality and beautiful atmosphere, xoxo

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dining experience was great. Went af ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Our dining experience was great. Went after a tour cruise on the river and ended up being early for the reservation. We were accommodated quickly to a nice outdoor table. First course was oysters wedge and beet salad all outstanding. Next we had the steak tartar and tuna with foie tacos again outstanding. Then the three of us split miso black cod and the 12oz filet with whipped mash amazing. Considering we were three people we couldn't fit dessert. Will be back again

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Ate here in 2014 couldnt remember the st ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Ate here in 2014 couldnt remember the steak I had but it wast the best I ever had. Went back to have it again and failed ended up ordering the steak Au Poivre it was terrible. I know now i musthave had the Wagyu.

food3
ambience5
service3
value2

off night

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

We have eaten here many times for special occasions and always feel "special" This was not the case on mother's day- restaurant was quiet due to air show and I guess regular chef may have had night off. Requests to change anything we were told kitchen did not have extra vegetables...Server was inattentive, manager didn't come until 3rd request. Mom's meal was served after everyone finished! No apologies, just is it cooked now? Dessert didn't taste fresh disappointing when spending $100+ per person

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great location

Dined on May 8, 2016

We go here frequently... food ranges from good to great, but not always consistent. You're not going to beat the view, great location.

Tags: scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.