About Steak 954 at the W Fort Lauderdale

STEAK 954 is a modern boutique ocean-front steakhouse. The restaurant features dry aged beef from hand picked ranches; Tajima Kobe from Australia, locally caught seafood, and the finest wines and spirits with selections from all over the globe.

401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd.
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily 7:00am to 11:00am; Lunch: Monday to Friday: 11:30am to 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday to Thursday: 5:30pm to 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm to 11:00pm; Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 11:00 am to 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Bayshore Blvd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(954) 414-8333

Website:
http://www.steak954.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available through the W Fort Lauderdale.

Executive Chef:
Jason L. Smith

Private Party Contact:
Rosanna Cintron: (954) 414-8333

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Steak 954 at the W Fort Lauderdale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (42)
Good for a Date (39)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
See All
Special Occasion (38)
Modern Decor (37)
Scenic View (35)
Romantic (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Business Meals (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Worth the Drive (15)
Fun (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Great for Brunch (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Cozy (10)
People Watching (9)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Authentic (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Seasonal (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Casual (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Family Style (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Healthy (2)
Private Room (2)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Organic (0)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1926 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Outstanding from all aspects. Ask to be ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined a day ago

Outstanding from all aspects. Ask to be seated in Daniel's section. One of the top servers we've ever had from all over the world. The food, wagyu and all was simple but superb. The pastry chef is beyond compare. Definitely makes the top 5 list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great scene with great views, great food ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Great scene with great views, great food and excellent service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, People Watching, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were seated outside when we requested ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

We were seated outside when we requested inside (she asked us at the desk). I asked a hostess for a box after we had paid. She said she would get our waiter. I explained we had already paid and he may not return. She repeated she would grab the waiter. The time it took for us to go back and forth she could have just gotten a box.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Our server was very good and he made an ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

Our server was very good and he made an extra effort to entice us, but unfortunately we are dieting so it's especially difficult to go to such a great restaurant and try NOT to order beverages and desserts!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Filet was ordered medium well. It came o ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Filet was ordered medium well. It came out pink when cut. Was medium at best.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value4

Everything about Steak 954 was excellent ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Everything about Steak 954 was excellent. The beautiful decor (jellyfish aquarium), the dim lighting, the noise level (private conversation without having to raise voices), the appetizers (great flavor and portion), the entree, and the scrumptious desserts ( a complimentary birthday treat). Thank you for making my 29th birthday/Valentines Day as best as it could be.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Paleo Friendly, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Cozy, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took our daughter who is 10 months ol ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We took our daughter who is 10 months old out for a pre-Valentines dinner we love the fact that it is kid friendly and family oriented, the crab cakes are amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my 29th anniversary I asked for a ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 13, 2017

It was my 29th anniversary I asked for a nice view outside for my wife. I arrived and your guy at front desk told me I could get a outside seat. When a lady came over to take us to our table it was inside. I asked her why she said she was never told it had to be outside. She went back and the guy did not have to stones to come talk to me himself. He said a the nasty lady back over and said we have nothing outside. We sit inside and my wife

And I are there for 1 1/2 hours and stair outside at 2 table that were open the entire time we ate. So

I figures out that the guy wanted hi palm grease with a $20 or $50 bill and then I would have gotten a table. I will never go back and I will make it my job to post this on all my social media outlets. Maureen(Mo) the waitress was fantastic!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value1

Was pretty nice. Bar area smelled a bit ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Was pretty nice. Bar area smelled a bit funny... like spilled beer... Otherwise, was a great dining experience.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service by Savin

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great service by Savin

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

They don't tell you that you cannot Rese ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 12, 2017

They don't tell you that you cannot Reserve outside tables. I was surprised when I arrived for my reservation then I had to wait 30 to 40 minutes. The steak was overdone. My wife's bronzino was good but a little salty. Overall Capital Grille or jwb has better steaks. Would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful. Attentive service

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful. Attentive service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we checked in for our reservation t ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

When we checked in for our reservation the host AND hostess were rude and clueless as to customer service. But everything AFTER that slight hiccup was perfection.

(Management might want to retrain front desk to them being the face of the restaurant as people come to dine.)

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Everything is great. Very expensive, but ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything is great. Very expensive, but it should be expected for a place that serves exquisite wagyu beef and is within the W Hotel.

Tags: Waterfront, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined for an early Valentine's Day di ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We dined for an early Valentine's Day dinner. We usually make a reservation for around 7/7:30pm but this time we booked for 8:30pm on a Friday. Dining at 7/7:30pm is a pleasure. They are attentive and the food is great. However, I don't recommend dining later than that. It was a totally different experience dining at 8:30pm. Our server was nice, but he probably had too many tables to cover since he was not very attentive and it took 45 minutes to get our steaks, and we ordered them medium rare. When they finally served them, we could tell that they had been sitting out for a while. No apology by waiter and a manager never came by to check in. In addition, one of the steaks was significantly more rare than medium rare. It was a bit of a disappointing experience considering how much money you spend. But we just learned that if we do eat there in the future, we will eat earlier!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Excellent food and friendly staff. Only ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent food and friendly staff. Only negative is it took almost an hour to get our appetizers which were only oysters. During that time tables around us came after us, ordered after us and got their food before us. Other than that delicious. Would recommend for a special occasion, date night or vacation spot.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Everything we ordered was delicious. Lov ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything we ordered was delicious. Loved the stuffed hash browns. Our table was near a door that allowed a constant chilly breeze so our request for a new table was honored (not quickly, but honored). It did not mar the experience though. Would definitely dine again.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic meal and service. I have neve ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Fantastic meal and service. I have never had a bad steak at Steak 954. Always cooked to perfection. Try the Truffle Scalloped Potatoes.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have several Stephen Starr restaurant ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We have several Stephen Starr restaurants in Philadelphia and we figured we would visit this one in Fort Lauderdale. The waitress was very friendly, but committed a tacky error by recommending the most expensive wine by the glass for my wife, who is a wine drinker and was just interested in our server's recommendation. The chopped salad and tomato and mozzarella apps were fine. Then the problems started. We order two filets both of which were undercooked. Both sides were brought to us cold. The manager arranged for a new filet for me which also arrived two temperatures undercooked - seriously - again. I asked for the check and the main plates and sides were comped, appropriately. I went back to the Ritz and had a fabulous burger. Big disappointment, especially because we dined very early, at 6 PM on a Thursday. The restaurant was empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Had an amazing dinner with family Will s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Had an amazing dinner with family

Will suggest a steak, branzino, agave sorbet

Delicious

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Family Style, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Unfortunately the steak was almost compl ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Unfortunately the steak was almost completely fat. I like marbles meat but this was excessive. It had a nice charred outside but I can't eat fat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Best steak I've ever tasted. Pricey but ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Best steak I've ever tasted. Pricey but their food is worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great dinner! Went there for a business ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great dinner! Went there for a business meeting and they sat a large party next to us. They were very loud and it was tough for us to carry a conversation. Outside of that, it as 10/10 as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went there for our anniversary dinner si ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Went there for our anniversary dinner since we were staying at the hotel. The ambiance was nice. We sat outside to eat which was very quiet (Super Bowl Sunday). They staff made our dinner extra special by congratulating us and with some other special gestures from the manager and waitress. The food was excellent, the steak melted in your mouth.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Place for a Romantic Dinner , food ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great Place for a Romantic Dinner , food is Delicious, staff is friendly and great customer Service

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, , Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing! Worth every dollar. Just to see ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Amazing! Worth every dollar. Just to see the jellyfish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing. Our favorite restaurant!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Amazing. Our favorite restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I go at least once a month my FAVORITE p ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I go at least once a month my FAVORITE place. Ive dined at all the high end places this one is a home run every time👌🏽

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate at Steak 954 for a celebration. O ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We ate at Steak 954 for a celebration. Our waiter Aldo was amazing. He contributed to making the evening a very enjoyable one.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing steak! Great service! Great plac ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Amazing steak! Great service! Great place to dine outside and people watch!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Horrible. Very over priced. Portions w ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Horrible.

Very over priced.

Portions were tiny, ie. they only gave two (2) tiny scallops for the appetizer.

The Filet was bland and tasteless without any seasoning. Also over priced!

Avoid.

GT

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Excellent food and service...great atmos ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent food and service...great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The raw tuna appetizer was especially de ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The raw tuna appetizer was especially delicious. The cod entree was fantastic, and so were the side dishes. The crab leg appetizer was beautifully plated but did not seem to be a good value. Our service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had an amazing time!! The food and se ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We had an amazing time!! The food and service was excellent!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Attentive service, nice presentation. 32 ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Attentive service, nice presentation. 32oz Porterhouse for 2, perfectly prepared, but a little grisly. Don't miss the blue lit jellyfish tank.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Steak 954 checked every box. Always does ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Steak 954 checked every box. Always does! We enjoy this hot spot with our adult children, our friends and just a romantic dinner. Steak is out if this world. Every way, every type. Sides are a wow. Mashed or cauliflower or stuffed hash browns. Tuna tartare app or beet salad one of my favs. Wine list and drinks 🍹 outstanding. Try the remedy or painkiller! Kevin our server went above and beyond to be sure our selections were perfect as well as following up to be sure we were completely satisfied with each course.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Romantic, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and management were very att ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The service and management were very attentive to the fact I wad there celebrating an anniversary. The ambiance was romantic and mature.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great outdoor patio for the Winter weath ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great outdoor patio for the Winter weather with excellent food to go with it. Nice upscale restaurant in a beautiful setting!

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Down from NY with 8 guys for golf and di ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Down from NY with 8 guys for golf and dinners. Did Capital Grille and this review is a comparison.

Atmosphere: definitely Steak 954

Drinks: Spent more per round here

Apps: myself coming from the food industry I was disappointed the waiter didn't give us better guidance. We ordered way to much including multiple seafood towers. Presentation was lacking!

Main dishes: we all had steaks and all felt Capital Grille was a better piece of meat.

Service: lacking the personal touch you come to expect when paying that much.

After all was said and done we spent $150 a head and left saying we're taking 954 Steak of our list of favorites.

One positive was the jellyfish tank!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Absolutely excellent!! Food, service, am ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Absolutely excellent!! Food, service, ambiance 👍🏻

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.