About Steak 954 at the W Fort Lauderdale

401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd.
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
View Larger Map

STEAK 954 is a modern boutique ocean-front steakhouse. The restaurant features dry aged beef from hand picked ranches; Tajima Kobe from Australia, locally caught seafood, and the finest wines and spirits with selections from all over the globe.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily 7:00am to 11:00am; Lunch: Monday to Friday: 11:30am to 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday to Thursday: 5:30pm to 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm to 11:00pm; Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 11:00 am to 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Bayshore Blvd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(954) 414-8333

Website:
http://www.steak954.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available through the W Fort Lauderdale.

Executive Chef:
Jason L. Smith

Private Party Contact:
Rosanna Cintron: 9544148333

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Breakfast
  • French Lace Coctail
  • Steak
  • Smoked Octopus With Compressed Pineapple And Crispy Speck.
  • Southern Smash
  • Strawberry Mojito
  • Miso Glazed Black Cod
  • Red Quesadilla
  • Grilled Shrimp Salad
Breakfast
French Lace Coctail
Steak
Smoked Octopus With Compressed Pineapple And Crispy Speck.
Southern Smash
Strawberry Mojito
Miso Glazed Black Cod
Red Quesadilla
Grilled Shrimp Salad

Steak 954 at the W Fort Lauderdale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Ft. Lauderdale - Broward County
Best Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale ›

scenic view (67)
special occasion (63)
great for outdoor dining (53)
See All
fit for foodies (46)
romantic (43)
good for groups (32)
notable wine list (27)
hot spot (22)
great for brunch (20)
great for lunch (15)
neighborhood gem (11)
vibrant bar scene (10)
late-night find (8)
kid-friendly (8)
Sort By:
Newest
1634 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of my favorites, best pancakes

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 3 days ago

One of my favorites, best pancakes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Good Steaks, and a great wine list ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined 3 days ago

Very Good Steaks, and a great wine list with all kind of prices.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

We found this restaurant to be one of th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

We found this restaurant to be one of the best dining experiences we have ever had. Amazing service, consistently wonderful food, and an awesome bar menu.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time visit to Steak 954. Excellen ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 4 days ago

First time visit to Steak 954. Excellent atmosphere great service and food was worth the price. Will definitely add this to my favorite restaurant list.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak954 never disappoints - perfect ste ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

Steak954 never disappoints - perfect steaks, wine, fresh seafood, and atmosphere. If you have never been - just seeing the jellyfish tank and view from the Living Room bar after the meal is worth the trip and makes the experience even more fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second visit to Steak 954. W ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

This was my second visit to Steak 954. We started with the oysters which were very good. We then shared a wedge salad....also very good. My husband and I each had an 8 ounce filet mignon which was cooked perfectly and tasted great. The side of asparagus unfortunately didn't have much of a taste....perhaps out of season. Our waiter, David, was congenial, efficient, helpful and not intrusive. The wine list has an excellent selection of American wines, and a very good selection of French and Italian wines. We had an excellent experience there and will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at Steak 954 eight times, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We have dined at Steak 954 eight times, and this includes twice for breakfast and once for an impromptu dessert. Each and every time the experience has been outstanding. The staff goes out of their way to ensure each detail is perfect. We cannot recommend the restaurant enough!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The waitress was courteous and provided ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The waitress was courteous and provided good tips and was proactive (example: when we ordered the Caesar Salad, she asked if we wanted anchovies or not...) which was great because I like anchovies and my wife does not... She told us that she would bring it on the side... I added it on mine and my wife didn't have to deal with it... Other members of team were attentive. They were quick to replenish our wine and water cups and to remove plates/bowls from which

became empty. The waitress at least twice came and 'kind-of' swept the bread crumbs and other particles from table before new food/plate/entrees were brought over. It was more than the food... It was an Enjoyable, Fun and Memorable Experience!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome place to relax and eat amazingly ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Awesome place to relax and eat amazingly and delicious food.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The jellyfish tank is very pretty & diff ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The jellyfish tank is very pretty & different. We started with the Seafood Platter for 2 which had a very hood variety & was pretty filling. We had the 32 Oz Porterhouse which tasted GREAT! Our waiter was extremely knowledgeable about the entrees & was impressive that he memorized all of the options! It was a memorable Anniversary dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Dry Aged Beef is too dry and lacks t ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The Dry Aged Beef is too dry and lacks the tenderness and juicy flavor that a top quality steak should have. Also, the thickness of the cut is far less than other top quality steak houses offer. I ordered the Bone in Rib Eye and had it cooked medium rare. The steak was at most 1 inch thick and was very dry, even cooked medium rare. The meat was far less tender than other steaks that were not dry aged. Overall, a big disappointment as far as the steak in concerned. There are several other Steak Houses in the area that have far better beef. Overall, the service and Ambience are equal to other high end restaurants and the outdoor dining offers a view of the beach and the ocean. The bar is very small and crowded and is difficult to get a drink.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We were there to celebrate our Wedding A ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We were there to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary!!! We were welcomed and Congratulated on several occasions. The Champagne and Dessert were unexpected and we felt Special when we received them! The food and service was outstanding. When we come back to Ft. Lauderdale, we will return for sure!!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is the second time I had been to St ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This is the second time I had been to Steak 954. I remember this being a good experience the first time, however, this time the food was below average. My steak, which was the dry aged NY Strip at $50.00 was not edible. It was so tough. The sides were average. The waiter was very nice and knowledgeable, however, the manager was busy paying attention to some apparent celebrity diners and left the rest of us kinda feeling, lets say, less than celebrity. I hope Steak 954 works harder to keep up the good standards it seems to be losing. I own a condo next door and would really like to come back again real soon.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

This restaurant exceeded our expectation ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This restaurant exceeded our expectations. We were there on our 15th anniversary and they went above and beyond to make us feel extra special. We sat outside and the ambiance was perfect. Low lights and perfect music. Our food was amazing!! We got the lobster bisque - it was the best we have ever had. My husband got the filet and it melted in his mouth. He is very particular about his steak and was very impressed. I got the jumbo lump crab and it was wonderful! Our waiter was very attentive and if we ever return to Ft Lauderdale we will definitely go back to Steak 954. We highly recommend it- you won't be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak 954 serves a great steak with grea ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Steak 954 serves a great steak with great knowledgable service. The restaurant also has great ambiance in the W Hotel.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The tuna taco appetizer is amazing! It m ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The tuna taco appetizer is amazing! It melts in your mouth. I have been to this restaurant 4 times in the last 2 years. These tacos are what keep me coming back.

The tartare appetizer was also very good also. The service was excellent. A bit pricey but for the food and the atmosphere/location it is to be expected.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was very good but much too large of ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Food was very good but much too large of an operation to get good service.

Checked in and told to wait to be seated. Ok because we were early, not ok because the place was 70% empty. Noticed they were seating people that arrived after us and went to inquire-- was told they thought we were seated...? Food arrives and the service doesn't know who gets what..?

Steak would have been excellent but over salted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

This restaurant is beautiful with its oc ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This restaurant is beautiful with its ocean view and outside terrace. The food was amazing and the staff was wonderful.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great- friendly and help ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The service was great- friendly and helpful but not overbearing.

The steak was great (bone in ribeye, dry aged). The salmon was okay and the only reason they don't get 5 stars on the food.

What is "organic salmon" anyway? How is that different from wild caught. But anyway, the filet was meager, thin (hence overcooked), and overly seasoned.

But I guess that's why it's not called 954 Steak and Fish.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Never disappoints :) Unique menu items t ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Never disappoints :) Unique menu items that are classic with a gourmet touch. Valet parking is a great value.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great ambiance and service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great ambiance and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was fantastic as usual but th ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Everything was fantastic as usual but they never have the table ready that I ask for.

I'm a regular and always go through the same thing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is inside of a W hotel, w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The restaurant is inside of a W hotel, which is quite nice. However, the food was good but tremendously overpriced. Nothing comes with your entree. A 8 oz filet was $65.00 and ordered some asparagus to have something with my steak, which costs $11.00 They advertise the steak as the best there is being Wagyu and dry aged but not much different from most other steak houses. Disappointing for the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Great service and food . Will be back. ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great service and food . Will be back. B

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very professional and efficient service. ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very professional and efficient service. (Stephanie) We had fish even though restaurant is a steakhouse. Fish was excellent! Baby beet salad was delicious. Desserts are made in-house by a pastry chef. Beautiful view of the ocean and the jellyfish tank surprisingly beautiful and relaxing to watch.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak was way undercooked had to send it ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Steak was way undercooked had to send it back. My kids steak wasn't even out in system when it came out it was under cooked. We sent that back and came back still undercooked and sent it back again. There was no taste to the steaks. The side were tiny and they were ok at best. Not even enough for a one person side and they are about $12 each. It was Father's Day none the less! Stay away trust me!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Service was so bad. Unfriendly and extr ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Service was so bad. Unfriendly and extremely slow. Food was okay, but nothing great. Nice view, but not worth it, as the service was the slowest I have ever seen.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Slow kithen; however waiter and manager ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Slow kithen; however waiter and manager were very attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Waited 25 minutes for drinks upon being ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Waited 25 minutes for drinks upon being seated. Waited another 45 minutes for food. We were told they were backed up and having a hard time getting food out of the kitchen. "We apologize". The food was average, nothing special. The menu was limited (breakfast). The dining room was crowded and it was extremely loud. We will not return to this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

The manager Ryan was great and my waiter ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The manager Ryan was great and my waiter Oohchea that's how it sounds with pronunciation was definitely a great guy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Safe

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Steak 954 is a safe place to eat if you like fine dining or good food. A little over priced, excellent services and nice atmosphere.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Fabulous! Bring your gold American Expre ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Fabulous! Bring your gold American Express! But it's worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant for out door dining. Lo ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great restaurant for out door dining.

Love the Jelly fish tank

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Aged steak was good, on par with capital ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Aged steak was good, on par with capital grille, creamed spinach was ok, halibut was delicious, the lighting outside is terrible, it's either yellow light or led white light! Both are bad for dinner, I would class it just below a capital grille and you still have to pay $5 for valet

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Disappointment

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Sadly, I've had much better meals at more average places. I ordered the $60 bone in ribeye and he asked the temp, told him medium and he told me that's red in the center throughout, of course. But it was gray when I first cut in, and continued to be gray as I cut through to see if that was just the edge. I hate to complain but at $60 I wanted it right. The server brought a flashlight and asked that I cut it in half to make sure, it was still gray. He reluctantly changed it but it was just average still. My wife's lobster was ridiculously expensive and pretty chewy. Shame. Their bread was good though, and the French onion soup was excellent but at $12 for a soup not sure it's worth going there for that. My two cents, for what it's worth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

As usual a great meal. Ordered the steak ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

As usual a great meal. Ordered the steak and lobster, the dry aged 14oz ribeye , Brussels sprouts and Cauliflower with kale. Everything was delicious. Our waiter was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing! Service was fantastic. ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Food was amazing! Service was fantastic. One of the best restaurants in Fort Lauderdale.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun and Great Food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Every item was excellent, well executed, and had a little flair that made it special (for example the crushed roasted pistachios on the beet and goat cheese salad). The steak was outstanding (22oz bone in ribeye). Our server, Daniel, was perfect; fun, attentive without hovering and fully knowledgeable about every item (and we did ask a LOT of questions). He seemed to enjoy talking in more detail about the food, and helped to make our date a night a great evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful Evening

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The service was impeccable and the food was great. Would definitely return.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The service wasn't very good, but the fo ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The service wasn't very good, but the food was! Server was not very attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.