About Steak 954 at the W Fort Lauderdale

401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd.
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
View Larger Map

STEAK 954 is a modern boutique ocean-front steakhouse. The restaurant features dry aged beef from hand picked ranches; Tajima Kobe from Australia, locally caught seafood, and the finest wines and spirits with selections from all over the globe.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily 7:00am to 11:00am; Lunch: Monday to Friday: 11:30am to 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday to Thursday: 5:30pm to 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm to 11:00pm; Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 11:00 am to 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Bayshore Blvd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(954) 414-8333

Website:
http://www.steak954.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available through the W Fort Lauderdale.

Executive Chef:
Jason L. Smith

Private Party Contact:
Rosanna Cintron: (954) 414-8333

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Quinoa Salad - Steak 954 at the W Fort Lauderdale, Fort Lauderdale, FL
Breakfast - Steak 954 at the W Fort Lauderdale, Fort Lauderdale, FL
French Lace Coctail  - Steak 954 at the W Fort Lauderdale, Fort Lauderdale, FL
Steak - Steak 954 at the W Fort Lauderdale, Fort Lauderdale, FL
Smoked Octopus With Compressed Pineapple And Crispy Speck.  - Steak 954 at the W Fort Lauderdale, Fort Lauderdale, FL
Strawberry Mojito - Steak 954 at the W Fort Lauderdale, Fort Lauderdale, FL
Southern Smash - Steak 954 at the W Fort Lauderdale, Fort Lauderdale, FL
Miso Glazed Black Cod - Steak 954 at the W Fort Lauderdale, Fort Lauderdale, FL
Grilled Shrimp Salad - Steak 954 at the W Fort Lauderdale, Fort Lauderdale, FL
Red Quesadilla - Steak 954 at the W Fort Lauderdale, Fort Lauderdale, FL

Steak 954 at the W Fort Lauderdale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (40)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Waterfront (35)
See All
Modern Decor (33)
Special Occasion (31)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Scenic View (26)
Romantic (25)
Business Meals (22)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Notable Wine List (17)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Fun (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Great for Brunch (9)
Cozy (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
People Watching (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Authentic (4)
Private Room (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Casual (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Healthy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Family Style (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1874 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

WE so enjoyed our dining experience at S ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

WE so enjoyed our dining experience at Steak 954. We have been every time we stay at the" W". This time is was our sons birthday and it was a surprise. Our food was excellent but our server David was perfect in every way. Thank you David for making it so special. We will be back soon.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was going for a friends birthday, we sat ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Was going for a friends birthday, we sat outside and weather was great. Unfortunately no lighting outside in which you could not see your menus, food etc. For the price you pay the food was mediocre, the best item was the ciabatta rolls and butter. A after dinner cup of coffee was $5.00... seriously! Would not recommend this place when there are so many restaurants to choose on Fort Lauderdale Beach to pick.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

OVERPRICED!!! I was underimpressed by th ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 3 days ago

OVERPRICED!!! I was underimpressed by the entire meal and the cost for what i got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

The patio seating was nice however weath ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

The patio seating was nice however weathered and there was construction. The views are beautiful but can be had for 1/3 the price at many of the restaurants nearby. The French onion soup is Amazing and the stuffed hash brown potatoes were very good. The Filet was average and overall the meal for my wife and I came in at 180 with tip - a bit overpriced.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Sat on the patio for a Sunday afternoon ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Sat on the patio for a Sunday afternoon lunch with a friend. The ambience was perfect and the food was delicious. I believe the waitress may have been new, but she tried and was very personable. I've eaten here many times before, both inside and out and the service was always impeccable

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Exceptional service along with a wide va ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Exceptional service along with a wide variety of steaks cooked to perfection. I did not leave disappointed. I can't say enough about this place, the service is top notch. From the greeting at the door to the constant and prompt attention by my server to all my needs this place is on my top 5 list. I had a 12oz fillet cooked medium rare with a side of creamed spinach, just perfect. Don't miss out on this one....

Tags: Bar Seating, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over priced

 
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

Over priced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

It 's really hard to pick a winner among ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

It 's really hard to pick a winner among the half dozen or so top steak houses (the others are all chains) but this one is certainly in there with the best of them. The very nice room, with some tables and outside dining overlooking the ocean, make it clear you are in a very upscale place. Our server, Robert, was something else altogether. Hardly a kid, he had what for me was an excellent combination of extensive menu knowledge (made the best suggestions) as well as a more than friendly personality. I took his advice and proceeded to enjoy a fabulious steak as well as a great appetizer and sides. The dessert was also top notch. The only misstep that I would not expect from this level of restaurant is that the food was brought out by other staff (not Robert) and they were unclear as to who got what. Minor detail, but I thought that should not have happened. Also, I very much miss lyonnaise potatoes from the potato side dishes choices at a steak house. They can keep the potato fritters for the kids.

I understand that the man behind this place is a restaurateur from Philly - I once ate at his Asian place in Philly, Buddakan, and I still remember how good that was. I don't know if he has any other steak places, but he sure has the talent and skill as this is about as good as it gets.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was sub-par. Waiter seemed mor ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Service was sub-par. Waiter seemed more interested in spending inordinate amount of time talking with table next to us rather than asking if our food was to our liking. Bus person (African American young man) never once said "you're welcome" after thanking him several times. No utterance of one single word! Rude and unacceptable. Management certainly doesn't have a handle on what service SHOULD be. Won't return. Too many other fine restaurants to choose from in Ft Lauderdale.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Have been to this restaurant 3 or four t ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Have been to this restaurant 3 or four times and each time everything was really enjoyable because of the overall quality of the food and service as well as the professionalism of the staff.

The atmosphere is fun and energetic.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, People Watching, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The steak was delicious. But, don't bot ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The steak was delicious. But, don't bother with the Lobster Bisque. It's not worth the money. It had a few odd taste and had little to no lobster in it. I love Steven Starr restaurants but, this one was rather disappointing.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Everything about dining here is wonderfu ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Everything about dining here is wonderful, including the food and the service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Service!! Ask for Tom, BEST Wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Excellent Service!! Ask for Tom, BEST Waiter!!

Table of 6 and everything was cooked perfectly.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We sat outside on a chilly night (for Ft ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We sat outside on a chilly night (for Ft. Lauderdale) but they mad it cozy with the propane lanterns. The steak was cooked perfectly and the waitress was excellent.

Tags: Late-night Find, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleased with the service. Very poli ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Very pleased with the service. Very polite and attentive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Ordered the Beet /Goat Cheese salad (ver ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Ordered the Beet /Goat Cheese salad (very good/very good value), the Porterhouse for 2 ( good / average value ), and a bottle of Carpe Diem ( very good, good value ).

Regarding the steak, it was well prepared and sliced. My issue is (as another reviewer claimed) the popular franchise steak restaurants are as good, if not better. I concur.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The vegetables were too small portions . ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The vegetables were too small portions . Noise level too high hard to talk

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Request a table by jelly fish tank . A ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Request a table by jelly fish tank . Although the food is some of the best in Miami area watching the jelly fish during dinner exceeds all expectations .

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall It was a good dinner. Our serv ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Overall It was a good dinner. Our server was the best. Loved him. 10 out of 10.

I took a friend for birthday dinner. We Decided to try the wagu 8oz filet. Ordered medium. Honestly it was just ok. At $65 per steak not sure I would do that again. Drink menu was great sides were good.

Definitely worth a try. Sit outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Lighting was a bit too dim but Marco our ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Lighting was a bit too dim but Marco our server made up for it with exceptional service. Super friendly and thorough. Helped navigate us through the menu and made some wonderful personal suggestions.

This was my third time dining at Steak 954 and proved to be just as consistent and wonderful each time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Exceptional Miso Black Cod, Superb Beef ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Exceptional Miso Black Cod, Superb Beef quality and the best Tater Tots in Town.Server Daniel offered good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

For the same money go to the Excellent C ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

For the same money go to the Excellent Capital Grill. This place is a very expensive diner at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Waiter (Aldo) helped make anniversary sp ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Waiter (Aldo) helped make anniversary special and memorable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Brunch was great...server Kevin was on p ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Brunch was great...server Kevin was on point. My only complaint is the hostesses (4 of them) were more interested in chatting and laughing among themselves which really detracts from the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Underwhelmed by the dining experience. I ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Underwhelmed by the dining experience. I made my reservation weeks in advance but upon arrival I learned that our reservation party was split into two tables - which makes no sense at all. We were seated late as a result of the table problem. The food was mediocre, nothing to go out of my way for again. We were there on NYE and while the staff handed our hats and noisemakers, which was nice, there was no actual countdown to bring in the new year so there really was no point to the hats and such. Very disappointing experience. Our servers, however, were very pleasant and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Everything was fabulous. Great service a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Everything was fabulous. Great service and best steak ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food during our stay. We booked ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Amazing food during our stay. We booked for New Year's Eve diner and it was amazing. The food was heavenly and good size. The prices are slightly higher than normal, to pay $11 for French fries I believe its a bit over the top.

The steak was fantastical cooked and the perfect size. I had the black cod and it was heavenly. The sauce it came with was sweet and made the fish even more tastier. I would definitely recommend.

The service is amazing. The staff can't do enough to make you feel comfortable and will do everything to please you. The service with a smile and politeness is fantastic and very noticeable. I would definitely recommend and will be visiting again if in Fort Lauderdale and if we stay at the W Hotel.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Modern Decor, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant consistently delivers ex ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This restaurant consistently delivers exceptional food and outstanding service. Our server Marty was attentive to every detail and we there whenever wine glasses needed refreshing. Even though it was a busy NYE, we did not feel rushed or pressured to turn over the table. The steak was some of the best I've ever enjoyed. The lobster and crab ceviche was memorable. Can't wait to dine here again at the next opportunity,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of my neighborhood favorites! The fo ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 31, 2016

One of my neighborhood favorites! The food, the view, the service are excellent. Love the tuna tartar, chopped salad with grilled shrimp and the steaks are amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The punch line is, the place has a nice ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The punch line is, the place has a nice ambiance and they cook a good steak but thats about it. Service is bad, very bad. Nice people just completely misplaced in a high end restaurant. The apps are ok, the sides are blah, the drinks are pretty good, the bread seems like grocery store take home and bake (in my opinion a good steak house has a signature or at least good bread experience), the menu has no options for steak toppers (but again the steak itself was yummy) and apparently one glass of water per customer. I would only recommend this place for people who have a large eating out budget, are looking for convenience since its at the hotel, and can overlook missing elements of a high end/cost experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Great food with a very good services and ...

 
 (London)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food with a very good services and value for the dinner

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This was an amazing meal. I made a few r ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was an amazing meal. I made a few requests in advance in Open Table, as it was my husband's 60th birthday, and when I called the restaurant, they had those word for word. And then, came through! The ambience is amazing, sat at the window, server (Lexie) professional, friendly, fun, knowledgeable, all service members helpful, delicious food. Manager surprised us with a glass of bubbly to celebrate, and a fabulous red velvet cupcake to share for dessert. Highly recommend this restaurant, and the OpenTable app.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic, Waterfront, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great as was our server. W ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was great as was our server. What made the dinner a bit disappointing was that the restaurant was absolutely freezing. The manager came by our table to acknowledge how cold it was but there wasn't much he could do about changing them temperature

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

it took 15 minutes for a server to take ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

it took 15 minutes for a server to take greet us and take our order, and we had to go look for one. We finally got water, and after waiting for a total of 50 minutes, we had to look for a manager because our order never arrived. The manager Apologized, but at that point it was too late and we had to leave. Horrible experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

We had a great server Crab cakes were a ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We had a great server

Crab cakes were amazing too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not a place to go for anyone experienced ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Not a place to go for anyone experienced at fine dining. Appetizers were served after a 1 hour wait and entrees were brought out after 2 hours. Managers seemed over their head and not accustomed to dealing with people who have dined before...very condescending. Felt like five star pricing with fast food management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Food was very late to arrive. Two of fou ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food was very late to arrive. Two of four orders were wrong. The salmon was served raw and one steak was seriously overlooked. To the restaurant's credit, the manager came over to apologize and did not charge us for the wrong orders. All in all, a total bust and an embarrassing experience for a business dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Steak was cold service not great

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Steak was cold service not great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Cheesesteak is amazing, enjoyed the bake ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Cheesesteak is amazing, enjoyed the baked Alaska and cookies to go very much. One of our favorite spots for a fantastic meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very disappointing experience- arrived o ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Very disappointing experience- arrived on time at 7:30 before the rush but still waited over an hour for the main course ("free dessert" not much to make up since IR was another half hour to get the bill!

Worse (even dangerous), the chopped salad had avocado despite telling the server that my wife was allergic to it and her assurances that there was none...my wife noticed some small pieces and stopped eating but was up all night after symptoms set it 2 hours later. Next day we called to speak to a manager - twice - no call back....never going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.