About Steak 954 at the W Fort Lauderdale

401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd.
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
View Larger Map

STEAK 954 is a modern boutique ocean-front steakhouse. The restaurant features dry aged beef from hand picked ranches; Tajima Kobe from Australia, locally caught seafood, and the finest wines and spirits with selections from all over the globe.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily 7:00am to 11:00am; Lunch: Monday to Friday: 11:30am to 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday to Thursday: 5:30pm to 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm to 11:00pm; Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 11:00 am to 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Bayshore Blvd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(954) 414-8333

Website:
http://www.steak954.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available through the W Fort Lauderdale.

Executive Chef:
Jason L. Smith

Private Party Contact:
Rosanna Cintron: 9544148333

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Breakfast
  • French Lace Coctail
  • Steak
  • Smoked Octopus With Compressed Pineapple And Crispy Speck.
  • Strawberry Mojito
  • Southern Smash
  • Miso Glazed Black Cod
  • Grilled Shrimp Salad
  • Red Quesadilla
Breakfast
French Lace Coctail
Steak
Smoked Octopus With Compressed Pineapple And Crispy Speck.
Strawberry Mojito
Southern Smash
Miso Glazed Black Cod
Grilled Shrimp Salad
Red Quesadilla

Steak 954 at the W Fort Lauderdale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Ft. Lauderdale - Broward County
Best Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale ›

Scenic View (73)
Special Occasion (71)
Great for Outdoor Dining (55)
See All
Romantic (54)
Fit for Foodies (48)
Good for Groups (32)
Notable Wine List (31)
Great for Brunch (24)
Hot Spot (21)
Great for Lunch (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Casual (1)
Waterfront (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1662 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food and service. Highly recom ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food and service. Highly recommended. Steaks are cooked to perfection and the staff is very attentive and helpful.

Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food, beautiful view of the ocean! ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food, beautiful view of the ocean!..the only down side was the "trek" you have to take to get to the restaurant from valet because of construction..but the directions make it relatively easy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Been here many times and this was the le ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Been here many times and this was the least enjoyable experience. Service was poor compared to other times and one dish was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

The steak was full of grizzle this time ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The steak was full of grizzle this time and the waiter was sooooo annoying. I tried to call the GM and tell him but never heard back. The hotel SHOULD BE CLOSED! IT IS ALL UNDER CONSTRUCTION AND WE COULDN'T FIND OUR WAY IN AND GOT LOST IN A DANGEROUS CONSTRUCTION ZONE AREA. Horrible experience. Won't be going back.

I used to love this restaurant and used to go all of the time.

NOT ANYMORE.

The guy that I was with had just checked in and he said he couldn't even get to the nice pool because it was closed. He checked out the next morning when he was supposed to be there for a week and checked into the Ritz Carlton on my suggestion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

delicious. great steak, great sides, gr ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

delicious. great steak, great sides, great service. definitely on the "will come again" list. fun atmosphere, upbeat and energetic, even during construction.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

way too much construction!! employees we ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

way too much construction!!

employees were terrific helping us find the restaurant through all the construction. Next time don't wear a little batons to go through a construction site.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I loved everything except the food, whic ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I loved everything except the food, which is the most important part! Way too expensive for not so great food. However, gorgeous place and view and wonderful staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Great service; another fabulous Starr r ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great service; another fabulous Starr restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were looking for something near our h ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We were looking for something near our hotel, and found Steak 954. Good news was that it was fantastic: beautiful beach and ocean view, delicious food, great service. Portions were quite generous, so hopefully you'll arrive hungry, as you certainly won't leave that way! I had the short rib, which came on the bone, and it was excellent! The smoked kale and cauliflower were a nice change up and yummy too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff and food was excellent... Sat in b ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Staff and food was excellent... Sat in back so couldn't appreciate the view

Loved the jelly fish tank

Had trouble finding valet. Long walk for elderly parent

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were put in a side room didn't feel l ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We were put in a side room didn't feel like we were in the actual restaurant. The main room has a great view of the ocean and there's a cool fish tank with jellyfish. Something that really bothered me was the noise. It was so loud in there. The food was the saving grace though. So good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

Very nice staff and great food. We orig ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Very nice staff and great food. We originally sat outside, however a storm quickly came upon us and we were moved to a table inside without any issues despite the number of people waiting for a table. We had the Wagyu filet mignon and it was amazing, perfectly cooked and well seasoned. For dessert we had the chocolate souffle and I thought I died and went to heaven, well worth the 15 minute wait since they make it fresh! Highly recommend this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a rainy evening and I was with a ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

It was a rainy evening and I was with a person in a wheelchair. Due to the construction, the valets had no clue how we could egress our vehicle with a person in a wheelchair.

Hopefully they have rectified this protocol for others.

Food was impeccable as was the service!

Ambiance/noise level was not so great and the bench seating was amazingly uncomfortable.

Perhaps this will be a part of the renovation they are currently embarked on.

Will definitely return...after the construction is over! ;)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Mike the bartender made us feel like reg ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Mike the bartender made us feel like regulars. The food was amazing. Ambiance is great. One of the best meals I have had in years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good but service lacking. We ha ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Food was good but service lacking. We had to find someone for refills of beverages. My steak came out a bit warm/cold. I had to get up to get some extra silver ware. Our water took on a big party after we ordered an PDF's evidently that caused him to partially disappear.

Overall the food is good but the restaurant is noisy for a business meeting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was great and perfectly cooked. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The food was great and perfectly cooked. The service staff was very attentive and friendly. And the view of the Ocean was lovely even on a rainy day.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was amazing! The staff, the f ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Everything was amazing! The staff, the food, the atmosphere! We we impressed! We were celebrating my husband's birthday, which was acknowledged by the manager and the server. We had complimentary champagne and a delicious cupcake for his birthday, which made our experience even better! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For dry aged steaks they were lackluster ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

For dry aged steaks they were lackluster and fatty. Service was poor. Waiter was disinterested. Once food came he disappeared. One steak was over cooked. Towards end of the meal a manager asked how everything was and we told him about the overlooked steak and he acknowledge our Complaint and left!They allow smoking outside which they told no one. Tables had to move to get away from the smoke Would not go back. Have to be better steak places in Ft Lauderdale

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

i don´t like that i have to give more gr ...

 
 (München)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

i don´t like that i have to give more gratuity than i wanted, i was forced!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

If it were not for the mind numbing deci ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

If it were not for the mind numbing decibel level of conversations, the experience would have been perfect. Could not hear yourself think!

Food was first class, views of the beach were great and service was outstanding!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

meat was excellent Inside dinning noisy ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

meat was excellent

Inside dinning noisy and freezing (too much AC)

Outside dining much quiet and intimate but of course very warm.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food is very good, however, the acoustic ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food is very good, however, the acoustics do not absorb sound well and it is very loud.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Wish I could remember our servers name, ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Wish I could remember our servers name, he took very good care of us.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not a better steak in the whole world an ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Not a better steak in the whole world and believe me I have tried them all.

Best steakhouse with perfect apps, amazing steaks, succulent sides and decadent desserts.

This has always been my favorite place and look forward to enjoying many more amazing meals in the future!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our anniversary and we were treat ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

It was our anniversary and we were treated wonderfully . Food was fabulous , service great and atmosphere was amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the brunch and lunch here! Can't wa ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Love the brunch and lunch here! Can't wait to try dinner! Ambiance is nice, service is always good, and food is amazing! Love this place and the drinks are great too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorites, best pancakes

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

One of my favorites, best pancakes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Good Steaks, and a great wine list ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Very Good Steaks, and a great wine list with all kind of prices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

We found this restaurant to be one of th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We found this restaurant to be one of the best dining experiences we have ever had. Amazing service, consistently wonderful food, and an awesome bar menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time visit to Steak 954. Excellen ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

First time visit to Steak 954. Excellent atmosphere great service and food was worth the price. Will definitely add this to my favorite restaurant list.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining experience from start to finish w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Dining experience from start to finish was exceptional. Our server was attentive but not intrusive and the Management staff went above and beyond with accommodating the special Birthday request and sending out special surprise Birthday deserts. The food was divine and filet (8 oz) was cooked perfectly. First time diners and would definitely come back (and go out of my way) to dine at Steak 954 again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Steak954 never disappoints - perfect ste ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Steak954 never disappoints - perfect steaks, wine, fresh seafood, and atmosphere. If you have never been - just seeing the jellyfish tank and view from the Living Room bar after the meal is worth the trip and makes the experience even more fantastic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second visit to Steak 954. W ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

This was my second visit to Steak 954. We started with the oysters which were very good. We then shared a wedge salad....also very good. My husband and I each had an 8 ounce filet mignon which was cooked perfectly and tasted great. The side of asparagus unfortunately didn't have much of a taste....perhaps out of season. Our waiter, David, was congenial, efficient, helpful and not intrusive. The wine list has an excellent selection of American wines, and a very good selection of French and Italian wines. We had an excellent experience there and will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at Steak 954 eight times, ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We have dined at Steak 954 eight times, and this includes twice for breakfast and once for an impromptu dessert. Each and every time the experience has been outstanding. The staff goes out of their way to ensure each detail is perfect. We cannot recommend the restaurant enough!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Having had Brunch here multiple times fo ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Having had Brunch here multiple times for celebrations, I convinced a group of us vacationing teachers to do the same for a birthday. Other visits were great but this time was disappointing, frustrating and embarrassing. I made the reservation for a VERY specific table, which upon arrival, seemed to have been honored. While the hostess gathered menus, she was told by another hostess that there was a mix up and our table was just given to another group! Our hostess informed me, apologized, said they "would make it up to us", then took us to our table. Instead of the view of the beach, we were seated at a table with a view of a stack of patio cushions outside the window! I could not stop apologizing to my guests. Meanwhile, nothing was ever mentioned to me about 'making it up to us'. Server, Aleshia, was not attentive, made mistakes, was not visible once for 20 minutes and seemed flustered. I promised my guests a beautiful time instead left feeling horrible. Will not allow this to happen again. Need to insist on what is right.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

The waitress was courteous and provided ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The waitress was courteous and provided good tips and was proactive (example: when we ordered the Caesar Salad, she asked if we wanted anchovies or not...) which was great because I like anchovies and my wife does not... She told us that she would bring it on the side... I added it on mine and my wife didn't have to deal with it... Other members of team were attentive. They were quick to replenish our wine and water cups and to remove plates/bowls from which

became empty. The waitress at least twice came and 'kind-of' swept the bread crumbs and other particles from table before new food/plate/entrees were brought over. It was more than the food... It was an Enjoyable, Fun and Memorable Experience!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome place to relax and eat amazingly ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Awesome place to relax and eat amazingly and delicious food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The jellyfish tank is very pretty & diff ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The jellyfish tank is very pretty & different. We started with the Seafood Platter for 2 which had a very hood variety & was pretty filling. We had the 32 Oz Porterhouse which tasted GREAT! Our waiter was extremely knowledgeable about the entrees & was impressive that he memorized all of the options! It was a memorable Anniversary dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Dry Aged Beef is too dry and lacks t ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The Dry Aged Beef is too dry and lacks the tenderness and juicy flavor that a top quality steak should have. Also, the thickness of the cut is far less than other top quality steak houses offer. I ordered the Bone in Rib Eye and had it cooked medium rare. The steak was at most 1 inch thick and was very dry, even cooked medium rare. The meat was far less tender than other steaks that were not dry aged. Overall, a big disappointment as far as the steak in concerned. There are several other Steak Houses in the area that have far better beef. Overall, the service and Ambience are equal to other high end restaurants and the outdoor dining offers a view of the beach and the ocean. The bar is very small and crowded and is difficult to get a drink.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We were there to celebrate our Wedding A ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We were there to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary!!! We were welcomed and Congratulated on several occasions. The Champagne and Dessert were unexpected and we felt Special when we received them! The food and service was outstanding. When we come back to Ft. Lauderdale, we will return for sure!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.