About Steak 954 at the W Fort Lauderdale

401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd.
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
View Larger Map

STEAK 954 is a modern boutique ocean-front steakhouse. The restaurant features dry aged beef from hand picked ranches; Tajima Kobe from Australia, locally caught seafood, and the finest wines and spirits with selections from all over the globe.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily 7:00am to 11:00am; Lunch: Monday to Friday: 11:30am to 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday to Thursday: 5:30pm to 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm to 11:00pm; Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 11:00 am to 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Bayshore Blvd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(954) 414-8333

Website:
http://www.steak954.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available through the W Fort Lauderdale.

Executive Chef:
Jason L. Smith

Private Party Contact:
Rosanna Cintron: 9544148333

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Dry aged prime NY strip or bone-in 22oz dry aged prime ribeye, some tasty decisions for Dad. We will be serving breakfast, brunch and dinner from 7am - 9pm. Reserve now.

Steak 954 at the W Fort Lauderdale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
Ft. Lauderdale - Broward County
Best Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale ›

special occasion (90)
scenic view (81)
fit for foodies (79)
See All
great for outdoor dining (76)
romantic (72)
good for groups (39)
notable wine list (38)
hot spot (36)
great for brunch (25)
late-night find (19)
great for lunch (17)
neighborhood gem (17)
vibrant bar scene (12)
kid-friendly (6)
Sort By:
Newest
1577 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Great location across from Fort Lauderda ...

Dined 3 days ago

Great location across from Fort Lauderdale Beach. We sat outside and had a great view of the ocean. My wife ordered the Halibut and I had a wedge salad and the filet mignon, we also shared potatoes au-gratin, and mac n cheese. Overall the food was good, not great. The service, however, was exceptional, and the wine was excellent. Overall, it was a pleasant experience. We would go again!

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service3

The host and waiter were very accommodat ...

Dined 6 days ago

The host and waiter were very accommodating. We sat on the patio with a wonderful view of the boardwalk, beach and jelly fish aquarium. The ambience was normal not over the top. Not a wow moment but nice. The service was ok but not nearly what we are accustomed to. Due to an overcast (weather) there was a little rain. Where we were seated seemingly in between where the patio tents joined, water dripped on the table. The weather outside was summer warm and because where we were seated (across from the door), every trims the door opened you felt the aircondition bellow out the door. The steak was very warm & tender. Awesome. As expected. The tuna tartare was nice. However the salmon was fresh The presentation was very dull and lacked creativity. Overall it's a ok restaurant. Not a "wow" restaurant and the price was suitable to what was rendered.

food4
ambience4
service4

Loved the jellyfish tank

Dined on May 15, 2016

Loved the jellyfish tank

food4
ambience4
service4

Amazing steak, French onion soup and bre ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Amazing steak, French onion soup and bread pudding. The sides and scallops were good but nothing special. The waiter was great but the staff got the timing of the courses way off. 42 Oz porterhouse was incredible though!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Birthday Surprise

Dined on May 13, 2016

I made a reservation for 10 for my mother's birthday and the family fully enjoyed the food, scenery and customer service. The food and its presentation was wonderful...Daniel was our server and he went over and beyond to make us feel at home. He was exceptional. So much so that we plan on having another family get together due to his pleasant and welcoming aura! Thank you Daniel and to the rest of the crew for your hospitality and beautiful atmosphere, xoxo

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dining experience was great. Went af ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Our dining experience was great. Went after a tour cruise on the river and ended up being early for the reservation. We were accommodated quickly to a nice outdoor table. First course was oysters wedge and beet salad all outstanding. Next we had the steak tartar and tuna with foie tacos again outstanding. Then the three of us split miso black cod and the 12oz filet with whipped mash amazing. Considering we were three people we couldn't fit dessert. Will be back again

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Ate here in 2014 couldnt remember the st ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Ate here in 2014 couldnt remember the steak I had but it wast the best I ever had. Went back to have it again and failed ended up ordering the steak Au Poivre it was terrible. I know now i musthave had the Wagyu.

food3
ambience5
service3
value2

off night

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

We have eaten here many times for special occasions and always feel "special" This was not the case on mother's day- restaurant was quiet due to air show and I guess regular chef may have had night off. Requests to change anything we were told kitchen did not have extra vegetables...Server was inattentive, manager didn't come until 3rd request. Mom's meal was served after everyone finished! No apologies, just is it cooked now? Dessert didn't taste fresh disappointing when spending $100+ per person

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great location

Dined on May 8, 2016

We go here frequently... food ranges from good to great, but not always consistent. You're not going to beat the view, great location.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

Great seating outdoors

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Great seating outdoors

food4
ambience4
service2

Took forever for our food to come! The f ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Took forever for our food to come! The food was great just extremely slow service and it wasn't even busy.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great overall experience! Will go again ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great overall experience! Will go again and again! We went on a Saturday for early Mother's Day brunch with kids. Everyone loved it. And nice for us the air show was the weekend, so we got to enjoy watching the airplane. During a lovely outside seating for brunch. Thank you everyone of the staff of Steak954

food4
ambience5
service5

Great food but even better staff. They w ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Great food but even better staff. They want you to be happy and have quality ingredients. The rest is in your court. We had a great meal.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and service. Our waiter Mar ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Amazing food and service. Our waiter Marco was exceptional. Oysters, fish taco, oysters and short ribs were so good.

food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best spots at Fort Lauderdale ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

One of the best spots at Fort Lauderdale beach to eat. Very romantic if you are sitting outside. Amazing ocean view. Great food and professional service. Small beat salad is amazing. Roasted chicken and Halibut is also delicious. Must save room for desert and try vanilla bean cheesecake. Great place to go on a romantic date.

food5
ambience4
service4

Cuban breakfast sandwich hands down amaz ...

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

Cuban breakfast sandwich hands down amazing. Also all of their eggs benefits. Especially the smoked salmon version.

food4
ambience4
service4

Crab and avocado eggs Benedict. So good

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

Crab and avocado eggs Benedict. So good

food4
ambience4
service5

Very extensive wine list. The raw oyster ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Very extensive wine list. The raw oysters were wonderful. The hash brown side dish was out favorite. So much flavor. This place has great desk. Server Robert knows menu like the back of his hand

food5
ambience5
service5

The ambiance was amazing, our server Dan ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

The ambiance was amazing, our server Daniel was knowledgable, friendly, and extremely professional, and the food was amazing. Thanks for a great experience, Daniel!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience!

Dined on April 12, 2016

Everything was great - the staff, the food, the view! I ate here about 6 times during a one week stay at the W Hotel. Breakfast, lunch and dinner - all were delicious!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

From the receptionist to the waiter exce ...

Dined on April 11, 2016

From the receptionist to the waiter excellent service. We sat outside, our server was Tom and he was great. I had crab cake as my appetizer, filet mignon and cream spinach OMG! Since I am from Boston I wanted something kind of tropical as drink. He suggested pain killer :-). Really good drink..overall great experience.....

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Steak 954 doesnt disappoint

Dined on April 11, 2016

We had a business dinner at Steak 954 with a few vendors coming from GA. We wanted to provide a nice ambiance and this certainly fulfilled our wishes. The food was amazing from the steaks to the appetizers and the wine selection was terrific. The only complaint was the outdoor cushions were moldy and had an awful odor, 3 people commented on this but after the food and wine came there weren't any complaints, that's for sure. Overall I would rate this 4.5 stars and it would have been 5 if not for the unpleasant smell from the cushions.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food

Dined on April 10, 2016

Fantastic food

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great Food & Service

Dined on April 9, 2016

The service was absolutely outstanding. Knowledgeable wait staff on all fronts...food & beverage. I had steak and lobster which were both unbelievably delicious. Very expensive but worth every penny. The ONLY downfall to our experience here was some woman who was obnoxiously laughing without regard for anyone around her. I found that to be in poor taste considering the atmosphere and perhaps she would have been better served more of a bar setting. Classy place with amazing views of the ocean. I would definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Meal..Never a disappointment! Fo ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Amazing Meal..Never a disappointment! Food, Service & Ambience A++++...Fantastic all around! Perfect Anniversary spot.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Restaurant

Dined on April 3, 2016

We were very impressed with their fine service and we enjoyed our steak dinners. The place is beautiful. Thumbs up.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food but a little noisy

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Great food but a little noisy

food5
ambience5
service5

A highly successful anniversary choice. ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

A highly successful anniversary choice. The staff was incredible. The reason to go back for me. The menu had the twist that made it perfect for South Florida. The decor comforted you. Seating could be less recliny. I know that is not a word. But you get me.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Busy A1A

Dined on March 31, 2016

We had cocktails and dinner, since we were guests at the hotel.... We found the service was attentive. The food was delicious . It was a bit costly but that's the Fort Lauderdale area in which one sits across from the beach. We ate outside . It was fun to watch all the beautiful automobiles go by, as well as the people.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

They're not so good at honoring the time ...

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

They're not so good at honoring the time of the reservations - told us to go back to the bar. I was at the bar for 45 minutes and couldn't go back again!

food5
ambience5
service5

Greatest service of any restaurant in Ft ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

Greatest service of any restaurant in Ft. Lauderdale!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Easter Dinner

Dined on March 27, 2016

We dined outdoors and had excellent service from Caesar. We had our daughter, 6, and she was treated like a princess. Thank you for a lovely holiday dinner!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular!

Dined on March 26, 2016

Absolutely delicious steaks! Wonderful views from the outdoor dining, romantic ambience. Great service. Bit pricey, but so worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

As usual the overall experience is very ...

Dined on March 22, 2016

As usual the overall experience is very good. Party of five presented no difficulty for the team. Hostess was pleasant and engaging. Bartenders were prompt and interesting. The room is lively but not overly dramatic. I prefer the clean look that 954 offers.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous anniversary celebration!

Dined on March 21, 2016

Celebrated our anniversary here, and couldn't have been more pleased with food and service. The skirt steak and creamed spinach were excellent! They even brought us a beautiful and delicious cupcake for dessert with a candle, and with happy anniversary written on the plate-- very special evening! And no attitudes, even though it's a trendy place. Some people were very casual, and others dressed trendy. Comfortable and relaxed setting overall. And jellyfish tank is pretty cool!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious!

Dined on March 19, 2016

Very good drinks! Also delicious food, we had the beef tartare, trufled mac and cheese and a steak, however the steak was overcooked so it wasn't the way we wanted it to be.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

I've been coming here regularly for thre ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

I've been coming here regularly for three years now. Food quality is usually good but lately it's been hit or miss. The last two times the food and service both left a little to be desired. The ambiance is still nice. Great ocean view and good drinks.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious and great service

Dined on March 19, 2016

Had dinner for a bachelorette party and the food and service were fantastic. They even sent out a cupcake for the bride. We felt very special and full!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place for a special occasion

Dined on March 18, 2016

My boyfriend took me out for my birthday and our one year anniversary and this place was to die for. I highly recommend i still cannot get over the food. We also had an amazing waitress who surprised me with a plate that said happy birthday and a red velvet cupcake. This was a place you have to try.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

Too much noise. Impossible to hear. Food ...

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

Too much noise. Impossible to hear. Food ok but poorly presented. Service friendly, but frenetic as if everybody had to get somewhere else.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.