Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Steak 954 at the W Fort Lauderdale

STEAK 954 is a modern boutique ocean-front steakhouse. The restaurant features dry aged beef from hand picked ranches; Tajima Kobe from Australia, locally caught seafood, and the finest wines and spirits with selections from all over the globe.

401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd.
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily 7:00am to 11:00am; Lunch: Monday to Friday: 11:30am to 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday to Thursday: 5:30pm to 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm to 11:00pm; Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 11:00 am to 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Bayshore Blvd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(954) 414-8333

Website:
http://www.steak954.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available through the W Fort Lauderdale.

Executive Chef:
Jason L. Smith

Private Party Contact:
Rosanna Cintron: (954) 414-8333

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Steak 954 at the W Fort Lauderdale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (54)
Waterfront (53)
Special Occasion (50)
See All
Romantic (47)
Scenic View (47)
Modern Decor (45)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (32)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Business Meals (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Good for Groups (17)
Hot Spot (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Fun (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
People Watching (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Cozy (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Seasonal (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Authentic (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Family Style (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Casual (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Spicy (2)
Private Room (2)
Healthy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Music (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (0)
Sort By:
S
1972 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing food and wonderful service!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

There are other prime steakhouses that offer better value for the money but the atmosphere and meal was fantastic. Great service from start to finish

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

Our waitress was not really with it. She took half the tables drinks....I had to find her to come back and finish taking drink orders.

Also, an alarm kept going off for a good 20 min.

Not the best night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

Our waitress was fantastic! She was very helpful, polite and very pleasant. From the moment we arrived we enjoyed everything. Great place to eat! I strongly suggest you dine here-you won't be disappointed. Our meal was perfect!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

We've been to Steak 954 three times over the past 7-8 years. Our fourth visit hit a bump when we learned our favorite server, Robert, was not working that night. Steak 954 quickly remedied the problem by seating us with server Aldo. He was wonderful throughout the evening and we enjoyed his service. As always, the food was amazing, and further enhanced by our lovely two person table looking out at the Atlantic Ocean crashing in with 16 mph winds. My only criticism of Steak 954 is it is long overdue for an interior facelift. The light fixtures are dated (in style) and the tables and chairs show the wear of years of service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

Good service. Good view. Good I see basic and over priced. Nothing special. $11 for French fries

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

My pancakes were not cooked and soggy so they had to do it again but otherwise it is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 20, 2017

I'm a local to Fort Lauderdale, but this was my first time visiting the restaurant and it was following my wedding ceremony. The service was spectacular with the waiter's knowledge of the menu and his recommendations. Overall, I must say the food was too salty, which probably wasn't necessary because you could tell the quality of the meat was very good. Our group shared most of the dishes and we all had the same opinion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Our party of four was celebrating a friend's birthday. We had an absolutely fantastic meal! Our server, Daniel was outstanding. Knowledgeable, friendly, accommodating...he really made the experience top notch! The food was delicious and perfectly prepared. It's quite expensive, but in our eyes, worth it for an unforgettable meal and experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Service was great. 22oz. Bone in rib eye was supposed to be med rare and came out well. Creamed spinach was very good. Rib Eye was not 22oz.s It had to much fat. The Special drink off their drink menus came out room temperature. Had to put ice from my water to chill it . After many good dinners at 954 the last two visits were horrible. The bar person who prepared the specialty cocktail has no clue! Maria and the view were the only pluses of the evening. Didn't realize a dinner roll was such a high dollar item.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

It was awesome. The food, service everything was good

Tags: Notable Wine List, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Our waitress was the abosolute BEST! She was very friendly & charismatic! Very knowledgeable about the menu & was spot on with her recommendations! Steak was cooked perfectly at medium rare & had great flavor! Sides were good but some could use improvement. Only disappointment was the menu selection lacked items with garlic but everything was still very delicious & well worth every penny!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Everything about this place is a '10' from Marty our server to the perfectly cooked porterhouse for two. Don't forget the seafood platter for two, incredible!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Always a special treat to dine at Steak 954. Sitting outside overlooking A1A and the beautiful Lauderdale beach, Steak 954 is a nice place to have a romantic diner. Great service and quality food. I'll keep coming back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Fire alarm constantly going off and noisy dog barking all the time. Steak was salty and not cooked evenly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

As a W Hotel guest had breakfast almost daily for a little more than the cost of McDonalds, bred one of these near home.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Service and atmosphere was great. The steak was okay. It lacked the flavor and texture of most high end steak places. However, it was cooked correctly and was a good cut of meat, so I didn't say anything. Maybe it's just personal preference.

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The service was simply excellent. Our server (Aldo) was knowledgeable, kind and friendly. The manager, Joel, is exceedingly friendly and truly a professional. The staff make this restaurant an even more special place. Unpretentious service, great steaks with a view of the beach. How can you go wrong?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 16, 2017

My mom, fiance, and I had dinner last night and it was amazing! Aldo was a great server and was very attentive and charming! The food was great as well. We had the seafood appetizer and steaks and all were cooked perfectly. I will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Family Members birthday dinner. 10 people all apparent beef lovers, Jerome our servor has great skills, and much patience satisfying all our needs.
The restaurant is on the W Hotel and I am a guest as well, it also provided the best high end breakfast value I've ever experienced.
Steak 954 is terrific and would highly reccomend it to top quality beef lovers.
Amen😊

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great steak. Great service! Great for a long, relaxing Sunday night meal at the end of a vacation weekend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The menu is not cheap, so you expect quality food and service. They were sold out of skirt steak, which is what I wanted with some eggs for brunch and my wife also wanted that steak with a salad. They place didn't seem that crowded, so a bit disappointed with the fact that we could not get our choice. There were only two fish options and our friends were surprised since we could smell the ocean, but I guess we went to a steak restaurant. We had to wait a bit despite our confirmed reservation. The food was great but was not served in the proper order. We started with some cesar salads. Then We got some nice 12 oz filet mignon, but our sides of asparagus was about 10 min later, we were almost done with the steaks. Then, after the asparagus they finally brought in some bread. Not what you expect from a restaurant that charges $50 for steaks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Exceptional Experience! The service(Aldo) made the the evening great. The food especially the steak was one of the best ever. One of the best meals we've had in Fort Lauderdale. Don't miss the tater tots

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Awesome food and service. Couldn't ask for more from a steakhouse

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 11, 2017

They didn't have the bone in Filet again, steaks were under cooked.

this use to be my go to place and since the renovations not up to par

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Service was exceptionally slow. 45 mins + for a salad & 2 eggs in an empty restaurant & the food didn't come out hot.
server displayed no knowledge of the menu or ingredients. This is a problem when dealing with allergies.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 10, 2017

One steak was good. The other steak had a great deal of fat and the waiter returned it to the kitchen. When the restaurant is fairly full, it is very noisy. Wouldn't go out of my way to return again even though it is within walking distance.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Outstanding meal. The fish and seafood was great. Outside seating was fun and highly enjoyable

Tags: Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We had a party of 7 and it was too windy to eat outside. The inside was nice because we still could see the ocean. Our problem was our service. This was our first time there but it seemed that it was our waiter's first time too. He was not attentive, not helpful when it came to the menu, missed orders, gave incorrect orders. I ordered hot tea along with a couple others and he never came for refills. Same with coffee. We had to track someone down. With that said, i will return again but hopefully the service at that beautiful location improves

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Aldo was our waitperson, and he was excellent. It was our second experience with Aldo, and he will be requested on all future dinners. The food was very good to excellent, but Aldo beautifully bridged any shortcomings. Very knowledgeable of the wine list.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Private Room, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Beautiful setting and that's it. Snooty hostess, significantly sub-par service, overlooked wagyu filet, 5 forgotten orders (never even rang in) then had to ask to have our steak taken off our bill. Unreal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Everything was fabulous. Our waitress Maureen "Mo" created the best service we have had in a long time. The fillet mignon was perfect and the black cod perpared perfect. The entire experience was wonderful. PS. be certain to order the stuffed hash browns

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Very dark and noisy

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The staff was very friendly. The steak was delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Our server was who made our evening special. Maureen was wonderful. She provided excellent suggestions, insights to the area and just a generally pleasant lady.
We love the ambiance and stylish design of the dining room as well. Our entrees were superb. We'll count this as a "top 10" on our list of special places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Overall very good...would be better if tables and dining area cleaner, especially with outside dining.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I made the mistake of ordering Lobster. I assumed that the top-rated restaurant in Ft Lauderdale would have a great chef able to do more than steak. My boyfriend's steak was good. The lobster was good the first few bites in, but then it got really tough. It was overcooked. The risotto it was plated on was very salty. The staff was excellent, and the manager took care of it. Still, I expected more for the price. The view and the location were excellent.

On another day, we had brunch. We both had the "Benedicts" and they were fabulous!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I have eaten at many of Stephen Starrs restaurants in Philadelphia. Among his steakhouses Butcher & Singer tops the list with Barclays Prime a bit behind. I rate B&S ahead of all the Philly steakhouises. Steak954 was not in its class.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 25, 2017

After giving away our table by accident, they made sure we had the very next table available. The drinks came quickly, but the dinner took a while. Overall, we had a splendid time and look forward to enjoying their food again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Another wonderful experience at Steak 954. What made this time very special was our waiter, Aldo, who was the absolute best!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.