About Steak 954 at the W Fort Lauderdale

401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd.
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
View Larger Map

STEAK 954 is a modern boutique ocean-front steakhouse. The restaurant features dry aged beef from hand picked ranches; Tajima Kobe from Australia, locally caught seafood, and the finest wines and spirits with selections from all over the globe.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily 7:00am to 11:00am; Lunch: Monday to Friday: 11:30am to 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday to Thursday: 5:30pm to 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm to 11:00pm; Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 11:00 am to 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Bayshore Blvd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(954) 414-8333

Website:
http://www.steak954.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available through the W Fort Lauderdale.

Executive Chef:
Jason L. Smith

Private Party Contact:
Rosanna Cintron: 9544148333

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Quinoa Salad
Breakfast
French Lace Coctail
Steak
Smoked Octopus With Compressed Pineapple And Crispy Speck.
Strawberry Mojito
Southern Smash
Miso Glazed Black Cod
Grilled Shrimp Salad
Red Quesadilla

Steak 954 at the W Fort Lauderdale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
Ft. Lauderdale - Broward County
Most Booked
Ft. Lauderdale - Broward County
Best Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale ›

Special Occasion (62)
Scenic View (53)
Romantic (45)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (42)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Notable Wine List (31)
Good for Groups (25)
Hot Spot (20)
Great for Brunch (19)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for a Date (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Business Meals (5)
Casual (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Waterfront (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Family Style (1)
Private Room (1)
Fun (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1679 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food is good but nothing spectacular for ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 5 days ago

Food is good but nothing spectacular for the price. We sat on front porch and waiter tended to ignore us. I think my credit card was on the table 15 minutes before he came by to give us our bill. We went for Dine Out Lauderdale specials but won't likely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Unfortunately the value for the cost was ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Unfortunately the value for the cost was not realistic or warranted. Small portions for the main dish but the drinks though costly were worth it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

I've eaten several times here and the qu ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I've eaten several times here and the quality is always top notch. Indoors one has a view of the jelly fish aquarium, which is quite spectacular. Outside, you look directly out to sea along a quieter stretch of the beach road. There aren't many choices for really good food along Ft. Lauderdale Beach, this is one of them.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service and atmosphere were amazing ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The service and atmosphere were amazing but the food was definitely not as good as if expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

We had a table looking out the front win ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We had a table looking out the front window with a view of the beach. It was beautiful and relaxing. We were in a hurry to get to a flight on time and our server, Dennis, couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. The food was delicious and the portions were generous. I ordered the steak tartare which I search for in every city I visit. It was traditional and delicious. I can't say enough about how going everything was that we ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The hostess staff is atrocious. Pretty g ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The hostess staff is atrocious. Pretty girls focused on taking care of beautiful people. They do not honor reservations and seem insulted if you suggest that table can be moved to accommodate 6 people. We used to love this place but it is headed downhill fast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

We are regular diners at Steak 954. Unfo ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We are regular diners at Steak 954. Unfortunate, this visit was disappointing. Upon delivering two orders of the NY strip to our table, there was a severe mix-up by the servers/runners over which steak was "medium" and "medium well," as ordered. It's no joke that plates were moved between my friend and I three times before confusion was sorted. Unfortunately, my steak was overdone and the peppercorn presence of the steak too heavy. Note: my request for a steak with no peppercorn could not be honored, as I was told plain could only be ordered in the larger menu option of 14 ounces. Consistency at this restaurant is sorely missing, especially at this high price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Awesome service awesome food very expens ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Awesome service awesome food very expensive as are most steak houses but this one on top end of price point

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Our waiter, Molly was fantastic. Would r ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Our waiter, Molly was fantastic. Would return to steak 954 anytime we are in the Ft.Lauderdale area. The food was great. The atmosphere was good for a nice dinner out.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was tasty but nothing special. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The food was tasty but nothing special. My boyfriend opted for the 8oz. filet mignon and made it a surf and turf by adding lobster. The lobster was embarrassingly small and for $63.00 we were far from impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Our first time dining at Steak 954 and I ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our first time dining at Steak 954 and I was a bit hesitant from reading the most recent reviews but we went anyway and glad we did. The experience began with a complimentary glass of champagne, which was a nice touch. The food choices on the Dine Fort Lauderdale menu was great and plentiful for the price. Filet mignon was delicious - cooked perfectly. Stephanie, our waitperson, was amazing! She was upbeat, informative, and attentive. It was a bit loud inside and my husband and I felt so far away from each other at the square table. We had to repeat ourselves several times during our conversation. Next time we go, we will request a round table next to the windows - more intimate. The construction was not an issue. We were able to park and find the entrance with no difficulty. We were celebrating our anniversary and walked away satisfied!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Aldo was great!! Food was delicious and ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Aldo was great!! Food was delicious and presented beautifully. A wonderful evening. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The restaurant is noisy and the tables p ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The restaurant is noisy and the tables placed too closely. The food is just okay and overpriced. We have eaten at much better restaurants in Ft. Lauderdale.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

This was our third visit to Steak 954 an ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

This was our third visit to Steak 954 and certainly not our last. We vacation to Fort Lauderdale every year and make sure this is on our list. This visit was the best so far. We were celebrating our anniversary and our server, Aldo, made us feel so special. Whether or not he does this for every couple celebrating, he really went out of his way to make us feel super special with champagne, dessert, menu recommendations and excellent service all around. Our meals were fantastic (filet and butter poached lobster) and I just can't get enough of the truffle mac and cheese; phenomenal. I highly recommend the Spicy Monk cocktail; yum!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal in a very nice ambiance. ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Wonderful meal in a very nice ambiance. Excellent service by Richard, great food and a fashionable modern decor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Highly recom ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Excellent food and service. Highly recommended. Steaks are cooked to perfection and the staff is very attentive and helpful.

Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food, beautiful view of the ocean! ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great food, beautiful view of the ocean!..the only down side was the "trek" you have to take to get to the restaurant from valet because of construction..but the directions make it relatively easy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Been here many times and this was the le ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Been here many times and this was the least enjoyable experience. Service was poor compared to other times and one dish was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

The steak was full of grizzle this time ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

The steak was full of grizzle this time and the waiter was sooooo annoying. I tried to call the GM and tell him but never heard back. The hotel SHOULD BE CLOSED! IT IS ALL UNDER CONSTRUCTION AND WE COULDN'T FIND OUR WAY IN AND GOT LOST IN A DANGEROUS CONSTRUCTION ZONE AREA. Horrible experience. Won't be going back.

I used to love this restaurant and used to go all of the time.

NOT ANYMORE.

The guy that I was with had just checked in and he said he couldn't even get to the nice pool because it was closed. He checked out the next morning when he was supposed to be there for a week and checked into the Ritz Carlton on my suggestion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

delicious. great steak, great sides, gr ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

delicious. great steak, great sides, great service. definitely on the "will come again" list. fun atmosphere, upbeat and energetic, even during construction.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

way too much construction!! employees we ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

way too much construction!!

employees were terrific helping us find the restaurant through all the construction. Next time don't wear a little batons to go through a construction site.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I loved everything except the food, whic ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I loved everything except the food, which is the most important part! Way too expensive for not so great food. However, gorgeous place and view and wonderful staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Great service; another fabulous Starr r ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great service; another fabulous Starr restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were looking for something near our h ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We were looking for something near our hotel, and found Steak 954. Good news was that it was fantastic: beautiful beach and ocean view, delicious food, great service. Portions were quite generous, so hopefully you'll arrive hungry, as you certainly won't leave that way! I had the short rib, which came on the bone, and it was excellent! The smoked kale and cauliflower were a nice change up and yummy too.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff and food was excellent... Sat in b ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Staff and food was excellent... Sat in back so couldn't appreciate the view

Loved the jelly fish tank

Had trouble finding valet. Long walk for elderly parent

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were put in a side room didn't feel l ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We were put in a side room didn't feel like we were in the actual restaurant. The main room has a great view of the ocean and there's a cool fish tank with jellyfish. Something that really bothered me was the noise. It was so loud in there. The food was the saving grace though. So good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

Very nice staff and great food. We orig ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Very nice staff and great food. We originally sat outside, however a storm quickly came upon us and we were moved to a table inside without any issues despite the number of people waiting for a table. We had the Wagyu filet mignon and it was amazing, perfectly cooked and well seasoned. For dessert we had the chocolate souffle and I thought I died and went to heaven, well worth the 15 minute wait since they make it fresh! Highly recommend this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a rainy evening and I was with a ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

It was a rainy evening and I was with a person in a wheelchair. Due to the construction, the valets had no clue how we could egress our vehicle with a person in a wheelchair.

Hopefully they have rectified this protocol for others.

Food was impeccable as was the service!

Ambiance/noise level was not so great and the bench seating was amazingly uncomfortable.

Perhaps this will be a part of the renovation they are currently embarked on.

Will definitely return...after the construction is over! ;)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Mike the bartender made us feel like reg ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Mike the bartender made us feel like regulars. The food was amazing. Ambiance is great. One of the best meals I have had in years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good but service lacking. We ha ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Food was good but service lacking. We had to find someone for refills of beverages. My steak came out a bit warm/cold. I had to get up to get some extra silver ware. Our water took on a big party after we ordered an PDF's evidently that caused him to partially disappear.

Overall the food is good but the restaurant is noisy for a business meeting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was great and perfectly cooked. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The food was great and perfectly cooked. The service staff was very attentive and friendly. And the view of the Ocean was lovely even on a rainy day.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was amazing! The staff, the f ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Everything was amazing! The staff, the food, the atmosphere! We we impressed! We were celebrating my husband's birthday, which was acknowledged by the manager and the server. We had complimentary champagne and a delicious cupcake for his birthday, which made our experience even better! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For dry aged steaks they were lackluster ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

For dry aged steaks they were lackluster and fatty. Service was poor. Waiter was disinterested. Once food came he disappeared. One steak was over cooked. Towards end of the meal a manager asked how everything was and we told him about the overlooked steak and he acknowledge our Complaint and left!They allow smoking outside which they told no one. Tables had to move to get away from the smoke Would not go back. Have to be better steak places in Ft Lauderdale

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

i don´t like that i have to give more gr ...

 
 (München)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

i don´t like that i have to give more gratuity than i wanted, i was forced!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

If it were not for the mind numbing deci ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

If it were not for the mind numbing decibel level of conversations, the experience would have been perfect. Could not hear yourself think!

Food was first class, views of the beach were great and service was outstanding!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

meat was excellent Inside dinning noisy ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

meat was excellent

Inside dinning noisy and freezing (too much AC)

Outside dining much quiet and intimate but of course very warm.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food is very good, however, the acoustic ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food is very good, however, the acoustics do not absorb sound well and it is very loud.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Wish I could remember our servers name, ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Wish I could remember our servers name, he took very good care of us.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not a better steak in the whole world an ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Not a better steak in the whole world and believe me I have tried them all.

Best steakhouse with perfect apps, amazing steaks, succulent sides and decadent desserts.

This has always been my favorite place and look forward to enjoying many more amazing meals in the future!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our anniversary and we were treat ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

It was our anniversary and we were treated wonderfully . Food was fabulous , service great and atmosphere was amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.