Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.15mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Steak 954 at the W Fort Lauderdale

STEAK 954 is a modern boutique ocean-front steakhouse. The restaurant features dry aged prime beef from hand picked ranches; American wagyu beef, locally caught seafood, and the finest wines and spirits with selections from all over the globe.

401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd.
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily 7:00am to 11:00am; Lunch: Monday to Friday: 11:30am to 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday to Thursday: 5:30pm to 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm to 11:00pm; Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 11:00 am to 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Bayshore Blvd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(954) 414-8333

Website:
http://www.steak954.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available through the W Fort Lauderdale.

Executive Chef:
Jonathan Capo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Steak 954 at the W Fort Lauderdale Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (40)
Scenic View (35)
Good for a Date (33)
See All
Waterfront (32)
Great for Outdoor Dining (31)
Romantic (31)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Hot Spot (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Business Meals (16)
Good for Groups (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Fun (13)
People Watching (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Authentic (8)
Cozy (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Casual (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Tapas (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
2144 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Didn't find it worth the ratings

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was fantastic. My ribeye was grilled perfectly and the foie gras was exquisite. From the puffed pastry type breads to the chocolate souffle, dinner was perfect. The beef short rib was intense, will not hesitate to go back, the only drawback was the noise level, not a place for a quiet candle light dinner...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was good. The food was amazing. The only thing was it was way tooooo loud! There was to much noise and my husband and I just wanted a nice quite setting. We ended up moving outside. It was our first time here. Celebrated his birthday. It was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

My steak was cold and I ordered a lobster tail in addition to my filet, it was anything but a tail I got a piece of a claw and the tiniest shell. Not worth the money, I'd rather go somewhere where I'm getting what I paid for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I went for the Crave Fort Lauderdale dining menu. What a disappointment. The prix fixe menu looked fine, but the execution was really bad and the service was no better. It seemed that the restaurant didn't really care about showcasing their food or their service. For instance, the tuna tacos were something you might find in a school cafeteria. The branzino I ordered was a tiny piece of fish with NO accompaniments--no vegetable, no starch just a tiny piece of over-salted (as were the tacos) fish. Dessert was no better. Why did they bother? My server was nice, but the service itself was just plain bad. I would never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The only complaints we had were with the Wague Filets. We expected a very tender steak, but that was not the case. That's why I gave food a 4.
As far as ambiance, the music outside was to loud which made it hard to talk to each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 3, 2017

My 4th time visiting and Steak 954 never fails to please.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Good fixed three course meal price otherwise would have been expensive.

Tags: Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The restaurant lived up to my expectation in every way!

Tags: Hot Spot, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We selected this restaurant after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor. It was even better than the reviews said! We had a wonderful evening. The service was excellent and we weren't rushed. The food was delicious. I had the cod, which was cooked to perfection. Everyone else in our group had steak and they said it was excellent. If you are looking for a steakhouse with a modern flair, this is it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

We are on vacation for Labor Day weekend. The service was very attentive, but slow bringing the food. I am pregnant and asked several food related questions and the waiter was right there with answers to help
Me select my food. He also brought out a non-alcoholic drink for me, so sweet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 31, 2017

The restaurant is beautiful and we loved the jelly fish tank. The outdoor dining area looked wonderful but we opted to eat inside for the comfort of the air conditioning since it was so humid outside.

We started with the crabmeat cocktail and shrimp cocktail. The presentation was very nice. Then we had the Caesar and tomato and burrata salads. Again,both were delicious and beautifully presented.

Our party of four enjoyed the rib eye steaks, filet mignon, truffled macaroni and cheese and creamed spinach. Everything was perfectly cooked and delicious.

Even though we were stuffed, we shared the key lime baked Alaska which was light and a perfect ending to our dinner experience.

You won't be disappointed if you choose this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Steak 954 is beautiful. From the jellyfish tank to the beachfront scenery, this restaurant makes for a romantic dinner date. I had the NY Strip, my husband had the lamb chops, and we shared the creamed spinach and potato gratin. Everything was delicious and well worth the price. Our server was also really nice. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 28, 2017

I was in FLL for business but stayed an extra night to relax and unwind. I was at the hotel next door and walked over after making a last minute reservation on OPENTABLE. I was worried that booking a 9:15pm on a Sunday night may have me rushed in and out or possibly hokied and cleaned around. But instead I was warmly welcomed. I had an amazing waiter and a beautiful table. My wine, my appetitizer, and meal were paced perfectly and I was allowed to truly dine at leisure. I was sad to finish! Amazing everything!!! And the huge see-thru gigantic jellyfish aquarium is so incredibly soothing and gorgeous I want one now for my home! Fantastic and wonderful place! 10 thumbs up!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We were visiting from Dallas and wanted to try a good local steakhouse. Atmosphere was perfect (not too stuffy, but very classy). Some of the best service I've ever had. Our server was really great and personable. We eat at a lot of high end restaurants and appreciate when the servers are laid back and relaxed. He was a great guy. Steaks were cooked perfect and delicious. We had a blast.

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Good food

Good service

Highly recommended for dinner

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great food, great atmosphere and great service! Went there for a friend's anniversary. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

The food was great and the ambience was inviting. Our server Richard, however was one of the best I have experienced. When you go ask for him.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

Delicious food and excellent service👌

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Our service was excellent. We had a party of 20, which is never easy to accommodate. The service team provided seamless service and managed all the little road bumps that come with 20 people. Definitely recommend for a special occasion, we will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We ate out every night at all the big hotels during our vacation, and this meal was far and away the best we had in Ft. Lauderdale and as good as comparable dinners in major cities. Highly recommend! Get the seafood platter!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Lobster over cooked
Did not do anything for my wife's birthday despite comments in reservation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Excellent restaurant - the crab cakes are a must have.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2017

The ambiance was great. The food was delicious & we really liked our waiter, he was Manchester England. The waiter was very helpful, funny & sweet. I would definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great food, great service! Seafood platter is a must!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 13, 2017

It was our wedding anniversary & I mentioned that when I made the reservation. They brought up two complimentary glasses of champagne & a dessert to share. Top notch service & food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Awesome experience and Lexie was great server!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The food was excellent. Steak was cooked perfectly. The service was superb, some of the best service I've ever had.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Steak 954 is consistently great. We always go there, specially when we want a nice steak with an amazing service and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Excellent experience. Highly recommend. The seafood for two is a must.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

My wife and I have been here 3 times, one for our anniversary and two just because. The food is fantastic and the staff is excellent as well. We love it there and try to go about once every 2 months. We would go more often, but it is a little pricey, so have to budget for it.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 9, 2017

My husband and daughter have been here a couple of times and enjoyed. First time for me and husband and we weren't so enamoured this time. Was really noisy when we arrived because of a big party in the room just to the right of the hostess stand. We asked for quieter and she seated us but it was still noisy in that they had piped music going so people were talking over. Mentioned to waiter and he did get management to turn down the music and the noise level in the room dipped considerably.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Again we enjoyed our dinner at 954, Great service from Kevin, our waiter. Food was prepared to perfection. Manager came over with champagne, We were celebrating our anniversary. Steak melted in my mouth. Can not wait until our next rip to Ft. Lauderdale. That way we can once again enjoy this great place.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 7, 2017

The ambiance and food were outstanding. But their cocktail selection was a bit disappointing. They offered a few interesting proprietary cocktails, but when our guests visiting from out of the country asked for a couple of run-of-the-mill cocktails that would be standard fare elsewhere (e.g. red wine sangria and strawberry daiquiri), they could not accommodate. The server tried to offer similar suggestions, but the "similar suggestion" was a banana drink that fell off the mark. When asked for a Cabernet, a shot of brandy, and a glass of orange juice so that we can prepare our own sangria for our guest, then the manager finally intervened and offered to have the bar tender mix it up at the bar.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Fabulous dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Ordered the NY Strip, medium, could NOT eat it. It was covered with ALOT of pepper, which was extremely spicy. Took one bit, could not eat any more. Told our waiter, he just grinned.

Noise level for a quality rated "Steakhouse" was EXTREMELY LOUD!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We went for my husband's birthday brunch. Really good brunch menu, lots of different options. The service was a bit slow we had to ask for napkins, bread multiple times. But the wait staff was very nice and apologized.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great spot with amazing food and wine in front of the sea...

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

A little pricey but dinner was fabulous. Our server made great recommendations. First trip away from home without kids. Would definitely recommend to friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Service was poor. Our reservation was for 3 (two adults and a child) and despite holding us up for 10 minutes past our reservation time to "set up a table", they sat us at a table for 2 with just a chair pulled up! The food was mediocre- our steak was prepared correctly but there was little flavor and the quality of the beef was just okay. We are from the Midwest and I've been to some much lower end steakhouses that were on par with this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.