Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.60mi
  4. Distance: 1.66mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.60mi
  4. Distance: 1.66mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.60mi
  4. Distance: 1.66mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.60mi
  4. Distance: 1.66mi

About Steak 44

Steak 44 is an upscale, warm contemporary American Steakhouse. The menu features prime steaks and extensive fresh seafood along with unique and original items offering more than a traditional steakhouse.

5101 N 44th St
Phoenix, AZ 85018
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Bar is open 4pm till 12am nightly with bar menu starting at 4pm. Dinner served 5pm till 10pm Sun-Thurs and 5pm-11pm Fri & Sat.

Open seven days a week.

Cross Street:
44th street and Camelback Rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 271-4400

Website:
http://www.steak44.com/

Entertainment:
Great music and songs you know by heart. A wide mix of 70's to 2016.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary valet parking in our large valet drop off area directly off 44th street.

Executive Chef:
Robert Watson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Happy Mother's Day! We open early at 11am!

Private Dining

At Steak 44 our menu features the best of prime steaks, fresh seafood and shellfish. Steak 44 is the perfect choice for your next social or business event. Our Chef constantly sources the best quality fresh products. Steak 44’s menu offers options to suit any dining experience or preference.

Steak 44 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (175)
Good for a Date (172)
Good for Anniversaries (159)
See All
Romantic (133)
Good for Birthdays (126)
Hot Spot (103)
Notable Wine List (103)
Business Meals (101)
Worth the Drive (85)
Modern Decor (77)
Vibrant Bar Scene (76)
Fit for Foodies (74)
Good for Groups (67)
Fun (63)
Bar Seating (58)
People Watching (55)
Handcrafted Cocktails (48)
Open Kitchen (47)
Cozy (45)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Happy Hour (37)
Private Room (36)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Authentic (28)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Comfort Food (19)
Casual (17)
Local Ingredients (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Fireplace (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Family Style (10)
Great Beer (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Healthy (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Seasonal (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Historic (2)
Live Sports (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Scenic View (2)
Spicy (2)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
 (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
1416 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

Steak 44 is an awesome steakhouse and seafood restaurant. Beautiful restaurant, great attentive staff, but most important the food was outstanding. Be prepared to spend $100 - $125 per person, with only one drink each. The steak came on a sizzling plate, must have been 500 degrees. The restaurant is, in my opinion 'noisy', mostly because they are so busy, lots of customers.

Is this restaurant worth it... yes
Will we go back... yes
Would I recommend... yes

Main reason.... The steaks were awesome.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 3 days ago

Attentive staff. Prompt service. Quick turnover between courses. Exceptional food quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

This was my first visit to Steak 44; I had heard such great things! But sadly it was a bit disappointing! The restaurant was far too crowded and loud; I felt like there were too many tables and patrons crammed into a small space, creating a chaotic atmosphere and leaving my party with straining voices by the end of our visit. The crowd was mostly older people, and yet they were playing 00s dance songs that didn't fit the theme, and just added to the noise.

The service was a little slow and it took a long time to get our drinks. 2 out of the 3 cocktails that were ordered tasted very weak on alcohol content. I had ordered a mule that arrived 1/4 full! I had asked for no ice, which apparently means no cocktail either!

The food was good quality and my steak tasted great; however I had asked for medium-rare, and what I received was far too raw and under cooked. I debated sending it back but I didn't want to cause a fuss, and likely have to wait another 20 minutes to eat. Some of the sides we ordered were far too salty.

Overall it wasn't a very enjoyable visit and we felt fairly robbed. It felt like they were doing everything they could to maximize profits and hope no one would notice all the shortcuts they took. At those prices, I would have expected a lot more than we had received. At a bare minimum, I would have expected fewer tables and patrons squeezed into each room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Our Anniversary. We found a restaurant with areas that are quiet, where we could enjoy each others conversation and company. Our waiter, Nick, was a good as they get. His knowledge of the menu and his timing, in terms of when to be present and not intrusive was perfect throughout the evening. i would view him as the standard for all waiters.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Seated immediately upon arrival and our server Jake did a fantastic job taking care of everything we needed. As one can tell by the name, they certainly do steak but I went with the double cut pork chop and it was great... huge serving, took half home. My wife had the shrimp. Ended with beignets, a huge cappuccino and asked Jake to find us a table in the bar, where we relocated to people watch and finish with a Balvenie 21 year.... great night!

Tags: People Watching, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Birthday dinner.
They were very attentive and the food was inspired

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

First off, the service is quite excellent. Every staff member was friendly, attentive, knowledgeable, and willing to do what it takes for an enjoyable night out. The filet with truffle butter is off the charts good. HIGHLY RECOMMEND! I'm guessing that you can't go wrong with anything on the menu at Steak 44.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

That was the best meal I have ever had. The staff were great and very pleasant to deal with.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 17, 2017

This was our second visit and Steak 44 has become our favorite restaurant. This visit was a Sunday so less crowds and noise. The steaks are the best I have ever had. And the beignets for dessert are fabulous. Service, atmosphere and food are fantastic. May be a bit on the pricy side for some but we'll worth the splurge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We went to dinner for our honeymoon. It was our first time here and it was AMAZING!! The food was great, the service was outsanding, and the experience was very enjoyable up until the GM went to the table next to us and chatted it up with his buddy very loudly for about 20-30 minutes. The mood prior to that was very romantic. I asked one of the servers if that was the GM, and he confirmed it was one of them. I was very surprised how loud and long the conversation was, especially because there were couples having special moments, spending a lot of money, and a GM should know better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We are from Las Vegas and we came to visit our great friends from Chandler for her Birthday for a weekend. I was very impressed how all staff are friendly and accomidating since we have 2 small infant girls. Nick our server was awesome! We even had a free dessert for the Birthday girl. We will come back again. Best steakhouse we've ever had in AZ for sure.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fun, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Very good food,but a bit expensive. Service was good and they accommodated five adults and a baby with a relatively secluded table. The crab and avocado appetizer was excellent as was the steak. Birthday desert was ymmy. Would go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 17, 2017

as usual a wonderful experience this is our third visit and will be back again soon

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Food and service was very good. Would order a different dessert. What we had was just ok. We have been here several times and it always very good.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Best steak I have had since moving to Phoenix ten years ago.
We will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was delicious and the service excellent!
I will return

Tags: Local Ingredients, People Watching, Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went for Easter "brunch". Although it was just the standard menu the food is always great here. I would have preferred to see a special menu for Easter instead of just serving the regular dinner menu but it was still great.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups, Private Room, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Absolutely awesome. The table location could have been better considering we got there at 11am on Easter Sunday and nobody else had checked in. In all fairness, I didn't say anything. I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Overall our experience was positive though a bit overpriced. We ordered on of the most expensive steaks on the menu, a bone in loin and what we were served was far too much bone far too little steak. Tasted good, prepared as we ordered it but I would caution anyone making that choice to think twice and opt for a boneless version. At least then all you're paying for is edible.
Best part of the meal... creamed spinach, yum.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Birthday celebration

Tags: Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

we choose to go to steak 44 for most of our special occasions because of the great staff and food

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Bar Seating, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Was first seated in the bar area. It was extremely loud and couldn't hold a decent conversation without yelling. Brought it to the attention of the hostess and she happily relocated me to another section of the restaurant. From that moment on, it was pure bliss. I thoroughly enjoyed my 22oz rib eye, corn creme brulee and broccoli sauteed in garlic. The service is impeccable. They offered me free dessert to compensate for having to relocate me. The restaurant even contacted me the next morning to inquire about my experience. 5 stars all the way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 14, 2017

It was our first time and I liked the ambiance. The servers were great. I wish the steak was as good as everyone said it was. I felt like my steak came out over cooked when I ordered medium it was medium well. We liked the bread but it was taken away from our table while we were eating our appetizer.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Jeff was a great server and the food was amazing as usual. Keep it up!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fun, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Absolutely a wonderful place to dine. On of my new favorites. Service, food, attention, and ambiance are perfect. Keep it up Steak 44.

Tags: Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Terrific
Great menu
Food and service
Lividly
Great service

Tags: Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 13, 2017

As usual Jenna was outstanding. We always request her.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 11, 2017

This steakhouse is at the top of my list in Phoenix, the food and quality are the best, plus the service is excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great steak house. Always a good experience at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Service was the best, by far. All of the staff were very helpful and polite. Great food!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Was in town with my wife for a charity event at the nearby "W" hotel-picked Steak44 based on recommendations from co-workers. The event was at 7 on a Saturday night so we took an early reservation at 5PM. The place was mostly empty, decor was nice. A/C was blasting too cold, music was from an 80s/90s night club and too loud. Two groups of 'regulars' soon rolled in and were seated right by us in empty dining area. One guy was in sweat pants and the second family looked like they just came from a day in their back yard pool and forgot they were going to a nice steakhouse. No dress code apparently.

It was impossible NOT to know they were regulars as the staff felt the need to LOUDLY schmooze with them during our meal.

We ordered the shrimp/calamari app, wedge salad, specialty creamed corn and crispy potato side to go with the "18 oz." bone in filet to split. All sides were good, however, when my "18 oz" filet arrived cut in two for us, I asked if they had brought me the 12 oz. version as it looked to be the same size as a 13 oz. bone- in I had at Elways in Denver a few weeks ago. I was assured it was the 18 oz size. For drink my wife had a below average cosmo , I had a martini and we also split a reasonably priced cab.

It was served on a hot plate that was TOO hot ...our creamed corn was actually jumping and in danger of spraying us with hot cream ..my wife literally burned her mouth on the first bite, and the plate continued to cook my steak beyond medium rare so it was not as enjoyable.

My 2 co workers had amazing dinners here on separate occasions so I can only guess they had a bad night but I can't recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Daughter's birthday. Great selection

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Second experience even better than first. When my steak was oddly tough, I mentioned it and they absolutely fell all over themselves to prepare me another which was delicious. I apologized for making trouble (I never send things back), and they told me their job was to make me perfectly happy. I had told them it was a celebration for my boyfriend's birthday, and they offered a complimentary dessert. We never eat dessert, but he agreed. Not only did they bring his choice, they brought a total of three desserts! It was much quieter than the first experience (the bar area); this was a smaller room to the left of the kitchen. Very high quality experience.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Flew in from 2,500 miles away to join my wife on a business trip that could not be rescheduled. The trip, unfortunately, spanned our 25th wedding anniversary. She finished her meeting on a Thursday, giving us three days to explore the greater-Phoenix area. We were fortunate to stumble on this gem. Our service was impeccable. My 12 oz filet mignon was cooked to perfection. My wife's sea bass was as large and thick as my filet. As a bourbon guy, I can't tell you how happy I was to discover they had a bottle of Pappy Van Winkle. To top the night off, the manager treated us to a celebration dessert for our anniversary. Thank you, for an absolutely fantastic evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Hands down the BEST steak I have ever had. The service was on par with the price. Wonderful experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Really excellent food, good service just didn't love my waiter. Very nice ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Rolls were excellent--Caesar salad would not even be served by Denny's or the like--Wife's rib eye bone in was excellent as was my filet--charging $16 for champagne cocktail is outrageous--

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Still Great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 2, 2017

truly enjoy this place; great for all occasions...

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.