About Steak 44

5101 N 44th St
Phoenix, AZ 85018
View Larger Map

Steak 44 is an upscale, warm contemporary American Steakhouse. The menu features prime steaks and extensive fresh seafood along with unique and original items offering more than a traditional steakhouse.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Bar is open 4pm till 12am nightly with bar menu starting at 4pm. Dinner served 5pm till 10pm Sun-Thurs and 5pm-11pm Fri & Sat.

Open seven days a week.

Cross Street:
44th street and Camelback Rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 271-4400

Website:
http://www.steak44.com/

Entertainment:
Great music and songs you know by heart. A wide mix of 70's to 2016.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary valet parking in our large valet drop off area directly off 44th street.

Executive Chef:
Robert Watson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Private Dining

Steak 44 is the perfect setting for your special private event. The restaurant’s interior features a neutral palate and minimalist decor creating an upscale, casual ambiance. Gallery space with lighted paintings and artwork emphasize simplistic luxe.

Steak 44 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (135)
Good for a Date (117)
Good for Anniversaries (109)
See All
Good for Birthdays (96)
Romantic (82)
Business Meals (73)
Notable Wine List (65)
Hot Spot (65)
Worth the Drive (62)
Vibrant Bar Scene (54)
Modern Decor (53)
Fit for Foodies (50)
Good for Groups (46)
Fun (44)
Bar Seating (43)
People Watching (43)
Open Kitchen (31)
Cozy (30)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Private Room (26)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Happy Hour (23)
Authentic (19)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Casual (14)
Local Ingredients (9)
Fireplace (8)
Family Style (8)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Healthy (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Great Beer (4)
Seasonal (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Scenic View (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Historic (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Spicy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Music (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1256 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I love steak 44 . The food and the atmos ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined a day ago

I love steak 44 . The food and the atmosphere is really nice. I'm a little disappointed that they never acknowledge our anniversary. We were celebrating a double anniversary and mentioned it to them multiple times. We were put in the furthest corner of the restaurant and it was a bit congested. Our server was almost nonexistent. The waitstaff was really helpful and got me ketchup and drinks bc the server was not around. I can't say enough about the food . The manager stopped by while we were eating and checked on us. I will go back but not for a special occasion

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

We had a great experience at steak 44. S ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

We had a great experience at steak 44. Shared a few starers, sides, a steak and bottle of wine. Everything was so good that we want to go back just to try other items on the menu. Will be back for more special occasion events.

Tags: People Watching, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fun, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and taste!! The service was e ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food and taste!! The service was excellent and people are friendly!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great ambience, great decor, great food ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Great ambience, great decor, great food and great service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Private Room, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Probably the best steak I've had and I a ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

Probably the best steak I've had and I am on the road for work a lot great service unbelievable service actually

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great late Valentine's Day dinner, a lit ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Great late Valentine's Day dinner, a little bit busier than expected so my reservation was only delayed by 5-10 minutes. Worth it however as the food was wonderful and service excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really nice atmosphere with good service ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Really nice atmosphere with good service. The food is exceptional.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it my 8 ox Filet was done to perfe ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Loved it my 8 ox

Filet was done to perfection creme Brule corn out of tjis world

Tags: Open Kitchen, Private Room, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was awesome

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

It was awesome

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food great atmosphere great time a ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food great atmosphere great time all together

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wow! The filet literally melted in my m ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Wow! The filet literally melted in my mouth and was the best steak I have ever had! Service was outstanding and beyond expectations. Mel, our waitress, was impeccable. I have already recommended Steak 44 to family and friends and will continue to do so.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My fiancee and I consider Steak 44 our f ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

My fiancee and I consider Steak 44 our favorite "special dinner" restaurant. Hands down the best ambiance, food and service. We are very satisfied patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was outstanding. Very accommodat ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was outstanding. Very accommodating to move us from a loud table nearby, and attentive during the meal. A few steaks weren't prepared as requested and that spoiled the meal. Sides (Brussels sprouts, mashed potato) average at best. Overall a bit on the noisy side; some like that- we don't. But A+ to the staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed a great meal and had flower ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed a great meal and had flower delivered for a nice occasion. I would recommed to everybody.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the best dinning experiences I ha ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

One of the best dinning experiences I have ever had. The service was fantastic and the food was amazing. I would definitely recommend this place to all my friends.

Tags: People Watching, Live Music, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great time well taken care of waiter was ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great time well taken care of waiter was extremely informative, very attentive without hovering, meal value was on point, we had 4 steaks, requested to be cooked differently and the kitchen nailed it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was just ok. Honestly expected ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food was just ok. Honestly expected better flavor and presentation for the price point. Don't think I would recommend friends To come here. The service was good however nobody ever asked if we were here for any special occasion as it was our anniversary. Ambiance was good but background music was a little loud and not very appropriate. I think I heard Rihanna and maroon 12..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

We loved everything! It's definitely a s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We loved everything! It's definitely a special occasion only type of place for us due to the price range, but I took my boyfriend for his birthday and we couldn't have asked for anything better.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and the service was excelle ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Amazing food and the service was excellent!! Loved every minute, great experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was excellent The service was ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food was excellent

The service was amazing

It was .your girlfriends birthday and the staff brought their A game

I would take her back in a heartbeat

Steak 44 is a top notch high end restaurant

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time here and what a ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was our first time here and what a great place! Moved here from Cleveland 7 years ago and am a fan of 98 KUPD and heard the morning crew (John & Brady) talking about Steak 44. That's why we went. This is a top notch place to take the special man or women for a special occasion! Absolutely the Best! Nothing bad about anything, the steak was the best I have had in years. We will be back!

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always the best food with the best servi ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Always the best food with the best service and ambience in greater Phoenix

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is up there with one of the best re ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This is up there with one of the best restaurants I've been to. Fantastic service, food, and atmosphere. Get the filet bone in, sweet potatoes, and Brussels sprouts. Will not be disappointed.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here for my birthday and heard so m ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Came here for my birthday and heard so many great things about the restaurant. I had an amazing experience. Jason and Angel, THANK YOU for everything! I will be back and bring guests with me.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not just another steakhouse. Outstanding ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Not just another steakhouse. Outstanding food, service and wine list with a lively, vibrant atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even though the food was good I do not t ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Even though the food was good I do not think we will go back for date night. It was freezing in there and the table for 2 they put us at seemed to be in the middle of a busy walkway. So between the loud atmosphere and people and servers constantly brushing against the table it did not make for a great date night. It was hard to hear each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Perfect atmosphere with excellent servic ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Perfect atmosphere with excellent service!!!

Thank You

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was beyond amazing. I've bee ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The service was beyond amazing. I've been to plenty of upscale restaurants but never actually had the servers put your side dishes on the plate for you. I have nothing but good things to say about Steak 44 and every time I come to Phoenix I will eat there. Awesome Place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sara is amazing!! She is now our adopte ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Sara is amazing!! She is now our adopted waitress when we go there. We have been twice in the last month (not a budget we we normally spend) because of her service and your amazing steaks. Prices are a bit steep but hey it's a steak house.... it's to be expected. We were given a dessert tasting and everything amazing. The beignets were outstanding and so is your caramel cake. Drink menu makes me drool and the steaks.... oh the steaks. My favorite app was the Shrimp and Calamari. Reminds me of an east coast crab shack. Yum.

Keep up the great work and know you will see me on holidays and special occasions.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, People Watching, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, but pricey. That being said ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great food, but pricey. That being said, you get what you pay for. Outstanding service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent place Excellent food

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Excellent place

Excellent food

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was shockingly underwhelming

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food was shockingly underwhelming

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

amazing food and great service once your ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 9, 2017

amazing food and great service once your seated. Only reason for a 4 star rating is because I think they forgot about us after we checked in. We had our reservation for 7:30 and didn't get seated until close to 8. They also had walk-ins come in that they sat before us so when we checked on our status they sat us almost immediately afterwards. Besides the initial hostess stand interaction the dinner was amazing. This spot is a little nicer and great for special occasions, business meetings and dates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Must say Steak44 is the best Steakhouse ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Must say Steak44 is the best Steakhouse in Az. I love everything about this place from appetizers to dessert! I'll be going again very soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first visit and both my spo ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 9, 2017

This was our first visit and both my spouse and myself were impressed with the entire atmosphere. The service was very efficient and friendly. Each of the following were top-rate: drinks and wine, apps, salad and entrees ( both fish and beef). Steak 44 will certainly assume it's place as one of our favorite dining spots in the Phoenix area.Highly recommend!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steak 44 is a great restaurant with outs ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Steak 44 is a great restaurant with outstanding food and service. We were able to get one of the "kitchen booths" which was quiet and private but gave a view of the kitchen and raw bar. One of the better restaurants we've been to.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Hot Spot, Fun, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service were simply excelle ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The food and service were simply excellent. We could not have asked for a better place to relax after a couple challenging days of business. Many thanks to our waiter who made sure the bones were prepared for trips home to our waiting hungry pooches.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The great food, outstanding service and ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The great food, outstanding service and professional staff make this a 5 Star Restaurant a memorable experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was amazing. We lov ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The food and service was amazing. We loved the dining experience and even received a follow up call the next day to thank us for coming in.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value4

Steak 44 was as good as any classic stea ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Steak 44 was as good as any classic steak house. Our waiter, Brian, was fantastic. All of the food was delicious. A great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.