About Steak 44

5101 N 44th St
Phoenix, AZ 85018
View Larger Map

Steak 44 is an upscale, warm contemporary American Steakhouse. The menu features prime steaks and extensive fresh seafood along with unique and original items offering more than a traditional steakhouse.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Bar is open 4pm till 12am nightly with bar menu starting at 4pm. Dinner served 5pm till 10pm Sun-Thurs and 5pm-11pm Fri & Sat.

Open seven days a week.

Cross Street:
44th street and Camelback Rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 271-4400

Website:
http://www.steak44.com/

Entertainment:
Great music and songs you know by heart. A wide mix of 70's to 2016.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary valet parking in our large valet drop off area directly off 44th street.

Executive Chef:
Robert Watson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Table - Steak 44
  • Bar - Steak 44
  • Interior - Steak 44
  • Table view - Steak 44
  • Interior - Steak 44
  • Seafood - Steak 44
  • Seafood - Steak 44
  • Steaks - Steak 44
Table - Steak 44
Bar - Steak 44
Interior - Steak 44
Table view - Steak 44
Interior - Steak 44
Seafood - Steak 44
Seafood - Steak 44
Steaks - Steak 44

Private Dining

Steak 44 is the perfect setting for your special private event. The restaurant’s interior features a neutral palate and minimalist decor creating an upscale, casual ambiance. Gallery space with lighted paintings and artwork emphasize simplistic luxe.

Steak 44 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Service
Phoenix / Arizona
Hot Spot
Phoenix / Arizona
8 More
Steakhouse
Phoenix / Arizona
Most Booked
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Overall
Phoenix
Best Food
Phoenix
Best Service
Phoenix
Notable Wine List
Phoenix
Steakhouse
Phoenix
Most Booked
Phoenix
Best Restaurants in Phoenix ›

Special Occasion (179)
Romantic (127)
Fit for Foodies (97)
See All
Hot Spot (95)
Notable Wine List (94)
Vibrant Bar Scene (84)
Good for Groups (50)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Good for a Date (38)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Worth the Drive (19)
Business Meals (16)
People Watching (14)
Late-night Find (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Bar Seating (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Fun (8)
Cozy (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Authentic (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Casual (3)
Family Style (2)
Scenic View (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Private Room (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Healthy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Fireplace (1)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
934 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great steaks, HUGE shrimp. Expensive , b ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined a day ago

Great steaks, HUGE shrimp. Expensive , but worth it for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Steak 44 is always very consistent with ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 3 days ago

Steak 44 is always very consistent with high quality food and great service!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our table overlooked the kitchen which w ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our table overlooked the kitchen which was a wonderful treat. The service was excellent. They treated us very well. The food was delicious. We had shrimp cocktail and calamari and for dinner mashed potatoes with seafood and mushrooms. My wife had fillet and I had bone in fillet. All were delicious though mine was a little undercooked.

Desert was complimentary and extremely good.

All in all it was a wonderful evening to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Steak! Great fun! We will return ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great Steak! Great fun! We will return! I have to type more to submit my review.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We initially got seated near the bar are ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 6 days ago

We initially got seated near the bar area, which was very loud and difficult to have a conversation. The staff was able to promptly re-seat us and the rest of the night was tremendous. The staff was great and food was amazing (and surprisingly fast for an upscale restaurant)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the best steaks I've ever had and ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 6 days ago

One of the best steaks I've ever had and always cooked to perfection. Sarah, our waitress, also provided excellent service. Always worth the splurge!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Way over-priced for what you get. Salad ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 6 days ago

Way over-priced for what you get. Salad greens were somewhat wilted. Calamari was heavy and over-salted. My steak (a huge 30+ oz bone-in ribeye) came out on an extremely hot plate which ended up cooking my steak to well done on the bottom half and needed salt. Manager who came to the table behind us was so loud I couldn't hear my spouse (this is probably because the music was pumping out loudly). Nice touch with a free special occasion desert (was a fantastic desert!!!).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Amazing place for special occasions. Eve ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing place for special occasions. Everything on the menu is excellent, but it's hard to pass up an amazing steak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

steak fantastic!!!!!!!!!! our freinds ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 6 days ago

steak fantastic!!!!!!!!!! our freinds first visit. started out with shrimp cocktail. the shrimp are the biggest anywhere. the hot bread to the table is also amazing. they had filet, which they said was great. i had the worlds' most amazing meatloaf!!!!!!!!!! there meatloaf is unreal. sides of great snap peas, and mac and cheese with crab.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Casual, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in town for a conference. Steak ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

We were in town for a conference. Steak 44 was recommended to me. This is close to the best steak I have ever had (I chose the bone in fillet). This is compared to Mastro's, Ruth's Chris', Three Forks, and Mortons. The blue point oysters did not deserve the $5/ea prices tag. Everything was near flawless. Service was outstanding.

Personal notes: I recommend the corn creme brûlée, it was just silly how delicious that was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was amazing. Even though our ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Everything was amazing. Even though our dessert came out way late. The waitress gave it to us on the house for the delay! 9/10 would go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great. The service was grea ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food was great. The service was great. They treated my parents extra special for their 40th wedding anniversary. But the music was atrocious. Considering the ambiance and price tag, I expected dinner music, not loud top 40. Total turn off.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Definitely worth it if you are in the Ph ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Definitely worth it if you are in the Phoenix area!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Could not have been a better evening enj ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Could not have been a better evening enjoying all that Steak 44 has to offer! We will certainly be back soon. Thank you so much!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant, especially for ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Our favorite restaurant, especially for steak. All of the waiters and staff are excellent, and extremely friendly. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good steak, ambiance, attention to ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Very good steak, ambiance, attention to detail and service. Terrible sides, too much cream and salt. More expensive than other steakhouses in the area that I'd rather go to.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Our waiter had obviously read my notes o ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Our waiter had obviously read my notes on my Open Table reservation. He commented on my husband's birthday and the fact that we had celebrated mine earlier in the summer. He also was very cautious with the fact that my husband is lactose intolerant. The other servers who helped our waiter that night were also very attentive. Except for the noise level, which seemed to both my husband and me, to be very much louder than when we had last eaten there, the whole experience was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything about the restaurant was good ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Everything about the restaurant was good, except it was wayyyyy too dark. I could barely see my food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

always excellent food and service, loved ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

always excellent food and service, loved the crab and shrimp mashed potatoes

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have an excellent experience a ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We always have an excellent experience at Steak 44 - from the drinks, to the food, to the service! We were here tonight to celebrate our daughter's birthday. They made it extra special with a personal birthday card as well as a lovely dessert. Thank you, Steak 44!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best cut of meat and perfectly prepa ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The best cut of meat and perfectly prepared. Will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best steakhouse is Phoenix, might surpas ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Best steakhouse is Phoenix, might surpass those in Chicago

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak I have ever eaten. Ate their ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Best steak I have ever eaten.

Ate their twice in a week. 2nd time had booth-much better ambiance & noise level than open dining room, which was very loud. Highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Love the food

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Love the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First timer to Steak 44 and was not disa ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

First timer to Steak 44 and was not disappointed. Service and food very good. Wine list was a tad pricey ( probably close to double to what you pay retail) but our server knew his wines and was helpful explaining the specials. Sorry I passed on dessert. Noise level a bit high which made conversation a bit difficult.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I just love this place: it's consistentl ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

I just love this place: it's consistently spectacular in every relevant way. Best steaks in the world, combined with expert service and attentive management . Can't ask for more.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed the atmosphere, service and s ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We enjoyed the atmosphere, service and side dishes. The steak was 'good'. We expected very flavorful, tender steaks. For the price of the steak it was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Took my husband here for his birthday an ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Took my husband here for his birthday and it was a hit. We dined early, but it was busy so we didn't feel like early birds :) I'm glad we had a reservation. Our server was great - attentive, but not too much so. The food and drinks were great, would definitely go there again.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service at Steak 44 was outstanding. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The service at Steak 44 was outstanding. We loved our experience from the moment we walked in the door to the moment we walked out. The food was delectable and we will definitely be back in the near future. This is our new favorite spot for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just took little long fit table we had r ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Just took little long fit table we had reservations but manager bought us drink now was very nice of him

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

It was a great place for steaks. Waitres ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

It was a great place for steaks. Waitress was verify friendly and helpful. Only problem we had was the loud music from a speaker right next to the table; which made us difficult to talk our business issues and others.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The best steaks in town mixed with cool ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

The best steaks in town mixed with cool ambiance and a friendly staff. What can be better?

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful place to eat we will be back

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Wonderful place to eat we will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This reservation was for our 15th annive ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

This reservation was for our 15th anniversary which we let the restaurant know in advance, it turned out to not be much of a celebratory experience as we had very poor service. Waiter did not share all the specials (we heard additional ones offered to table next to us). After finishing a glass of champagne to start off the evening the waiter took my glass and never asked me if I wanted anything else to drink. It was service I wouldn't expect from a diner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Exceptional experience, as usual. This w ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Exceptional experience, as usual. This was my anniversary celebration. We requested a particular table and the restaurant called ahead of time to shift our reservations just 15 minutes to make sure we got the table we wanted. We were greeted at our table with a handwritten anniversary card by the owner or manager, and the waiter also greeted us with a "Happy Anniversary." Service and food wonderful as always, consistently great. The owner/manager came over to talk to us toward the end of our meal, to congratulate us and check on the experience. They made us feel so special. We just love this place!!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent, the service impe ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was excellent, the service impeccable. The only downside was the noise level made conversation difficult.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

The ambience, the food, the music were a ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The ambience, the food, the music were all outstanding. I took my girlfriend to our 3 yr anniversary and could not have chosen a better place. The waiting staff was legendary, they were so nice and accommodating. We loved every second at Steak 44!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were wonderful! The ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food and service were wonderful! The restaurant actually gave us a follow-up call the next day to find out about our experience. We both had the filet, and it was very tender. The bread was delicious, and our side of crab/shrimp mac and cheese was to-die-for. For dessert, we enjoyed their signature caramel cake with pecans...oh, my...sinful! The only drawback to our otherwise wonderful evening was that there was a large group seated next to us in the dining room, and they were loud and swore a lot. I know the restaurant can't control that, and therefore we didn't bring it up, but that accounts for the slight markdown in the "Ambience" category. The restaurant's architecture is beautiful, and the view out the windows made us feel like we were in the woods, rather than right off of a busy city street. We were treated very well the entire evening. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service, great food, great atmosph ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great service, great food, great atmosphere! We visited this establishment while in Phoenix on vacation which was suggested to us by a local. Glad we took the advise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding. My wife and I had ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Food was outstanding. My wife and I had the ribeye. Very generous portion, we could have split one between us, it was that large. The pretzel rolls were incredible, hot, garlicky, delicious. For the appetizer, the PBJ. Also delicious. We chose the peas and the mushrooms to accompany our meal. As with everything else, well prepared and wonderful. The wine we chose was excellent as was the champagne.

Nicholas was our server and he provided topnotch attention to us. His assistant, Ricky, also was very attentive.

We enjoyed the experience at Steak 44. We were visiting from Tucson and when we're back in the Phoenix area, we will definitely look forward to another great meal at this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.