About Steak 44

5101 N 44th St
Phoenix, AZ 85018
View Larger Map

Steak 44 is an upscale, warm contemporary American Steakhouse. The menu features prime steaks and extensive fresh seafood along with unique and original items offering more than a traditional steakhouse.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Bar is open 4pm till 12am nightly with bar menu starting at 4pm. Dinner served 5pm till 10pm Sun-Thurs and 5pm-11pm Fri & Sat.

Open seven days a week.

Cross Street:
44th street and Camelback Rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 271-4400

Website:
http://www.steak44.com/

Entertainment:
Great music and songs you know by heart. A wide mix of 70's to 2016.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary valet parking in our large valet drop off area directly off 44th street.

Executive Chef:
Robert Watson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Table - Steak 44, Phoenix, AZ
Bar - Steak 44, Phoenix, AZ
Interior - Steak 44, Phoenix, AZ
Table view - Steak 44, Phoenix, AZ
Interior - Steak 44, Phoenix, AZ
Seafood - Steak 44, Phoenix, AZ
Seafood - Steak 44, Phoenix, AZ
Steaks - Steak 44, Phoenix, AZ

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Come celebrate Valentines Day with Us

Private Dining

Steak 44 is the perfect setting for your special private event. The restaurant’s interior features a neutral palate and minimalist decor creating an upscale, casual ambiance. Gallery space with lighted paintings and artwork emphasize simplistic luxe.

Steak 44 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (114)
Good for Anniversaries (80)
Good for Birthdays (79)
See All
Good for a Date (74)
Romantic (60)
Business Meals (59)
Notable Wine List (51)
Hot Spot (47)
Worth the Drive (43)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Modern Decor (41)
Bar Seating (38)
Good for Groups (36)
Vibrant Bar Scene (36)
People Watching (29)
Fun (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Cozy (24)
Happy Hour (22)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Open Kitchen (20)
Private Room (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Authentic (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Casual (12)
Comfort Food (9)
Family Style (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Fireplace (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Seasonal (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Late-night Find (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Scenic View (2)
Healthy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Music (1)
Historic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1143 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Steak 44 was what we expected it to be- ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Steak 44 was what we expected it to be- A good steak for a high price with outstanding sides and a big wine list. The food was very good, straks done right. They were nice enough to divide salads between the couples. The batter fried asparagus was a standout, only topped by the peanut butter milkshake at the end.

Our only complaint was that it was deafeningly loud in the back room they put us in. Carrying on a conversation was difficult.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great place will return. Food and servic ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

Great place will return. Food and service was outstanding.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Always great food, and I love the server ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Always great food, and I love the server assistants. They're always fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Frasier was outstanding. Great service, ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Frasier was outstanding. Great service, great food, great time.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Any foodie doesn't have to know "molecu ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Any foodie doesn't have to know "molecular gastronomy" as suggested in the list of reasons to dine at Steak 44. This is a destination culinary happening place for the locals and celebs. A staff person calls to confirm the reservation on the day and calls the following day to get some feedback, so they certainly have their customer in mind. The food and service is exemplary and be prepared to invest in an evening of fine dining. We were pleased when they were willing to find a second table choice. It was a birthday special occasion and the evening ceetainly was a most pleasant and delicous meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food and service are always top notc ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

The food and service are always top notch. It's our favorite restaurant in Phoenix!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak we have ever had! Laid back ...

 
 (Montana)·Dined 4 days ago

Best steak we have ever had! Laid back atmosphere! Fun waiter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server, Jenna, was amazing! She made ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Our server, Jenna, was amazing! She made us feel like we were her only table and was very personable. The food was delicious and the cocktails and wine were fabulous. Was a bit pricey, but we were expecting that. Would go there again for a special occasion.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great steak and seafood options. Creativ ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Great steak and seafood options. Creative dishes with excellent flavors. Expensive; dinner for two with moderate priced bottle of wine around $250 with tip. Some seating can be a noisy with a lot of activity so may not be a top choice for romantic dining.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent service and the food is always ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service and the food is always superb. It is difficult to recommend just one thing on the menu because you really can't go wrong!

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was amazing. The service was am ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was amazing. The service was amazing. The manager checked with us twice.

Although we were in a private room, the noise level was a bit high, but added to a convivial, unpretentiousness atmosphere....as did the music. Good wine list both by the glass and bottle. And a complimentary dessert for my birthday. I felt spoiled.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed a fantastic dinner at Steak44 ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

We enjoyed a fantastic dinner at Steak44. The filet mignon was perfection. We had fun trying out the different side dishes. We loved the corn creme brûlée, broccoli, and Chef Watson's potatoes. Dessert was excellent and fun - the beignet tree was unexpected and the butter cake was moist and flavorful. Service was professional, attentive, and timely. We will definitely return for another special occasion!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always amazing! Best steak house in Phoe ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Always amazing! Best steak house in Phoenix! Staff is what pushes it over the top!

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had two birthdays in our party of fou ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

We had two birthdays in our party of four which made it a very special evening. Our waiter, Jeff, was very patient, informative, helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. Our experience was very nice and we all enjoyed our meals.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

There are a lot of choices for steakhous ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

There are a lot of choices for steakhouses in the Scottsdale/Phoenix area but Steak 44 is our choice above all the rest. We have been there several times and will continue to return. The service is always outstanding and the personal attention shown by the hosts is appreciated. When we want to take friends or family out someplace we know they will enjoy we take them to Steak 44.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The corn créme bruleé and crispy hassleb ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

The corn créme bruleé and crispy hassleback are phenomenal. They have a tree of beignets which is literally beignets hanging on a tree, they're really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tables are a little too close together. ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

Tables are a little too close together. One of the best steaks I have ever eaten.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I have been here before but this time wa ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

I have been here before but this time was a little disappointed given the prices. Previously I was in the front room which is chic and stylish. This time they had our table of 6 in a back room which was average at best for ambience. The service was sub par with many errors on our orders and strange timings as to when orders were placed and food brought out.

My rib eye was cooked the way I wanted but the meat was tougher and stringier than expected.

It is very pricey. While the wine list is great the least expensive wine was about $140 a bottle. We spent $120 a person for 6 with one bottle of wine and no other drinks. At that price I expect more in terms of ambience and service (and my steak could have been better).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

the only thing I would offer is that a p ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 10, 2017

the only thing I would offer is that a person needs to be asked if they want to be seated close to the bar either at the time of being seated or when making a reservation. We were seated just outside of the bar and we had to have the TVs in our line of sight for 2 hours. If I want to go to a sports bar, I go to a sports bar but when I go to a fine dining restaurant I want a quiet peaceful time. That is not what we got at Steak 44

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Took a couple of friends here to celebra ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Took a couple of friends here to celebrate a birthday. Service was amazing. Food was great but was a bit disappointed with how my steak was prepared.

We were told by our server several times that Steak 44 undercooks steaks and gave the example that medium is actually medium rare. So I order my steak medium and it comes out medium plus. Disappointing! I like my steaks medium rare so I guess I should have just ordered medium rare and gone against our servers recommendation.

My advice would be to order your steak how you like it.

Overall though, great place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Again, great food, great place but terri ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Again, great food, great place but terrible music that doesn't match the space. Need hip and cool music to bring it all together. Sumo Maya, Boubon and Bones, Roku all have this and makes the atmosphere so much better.

-R

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service was outstanding

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food and service was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Well deserved 5 Stars. Family dinner, Sa ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Well deserved 5 Stars. Family dinner, Saturday at 7 p.m., party of 4, our server was excellent. We were seated a a more quite room which I loved. Last time here we sat in the open room with the bar area and it was a bit hard to hear conversation, so I was much happier this time.

We ordered cocktails while reviewing the menu. Appetizers ordered were the Steakhouse Caesar Salad with Egg, and 3 Super Colossal Shrimp Cocktail. Entrees ordered were the Bone-in Veal Chop, Maryland Style Lump Crab Cakes, NY Strip, and the Petite Filet Mignon. Sides were the Crispy Hasselback Potato and Hand Cut Fries. All the food was cooked to our request perfectly and tasted fantastic.

Atmosphere, food and Service made for an excellent dining experience. Thank you!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and food! We will definit ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great service and food! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. Restaurant was e ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Service was excellent. Restaurant was electric. Steaks and side were great, but the appetizers were just ok. Calamari was a very small portion and nothing special. Martini was good but other steakhouses in town charge the same for a larger shaker. I think City Hall has better steaks, martinis and apps; but the scene is what separates Steak 44 from the other steakhouses in town. Great overall experience, but not the best steak in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I went there for my birthday. We had the ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I went there for my birthday.

We had the seafood tower (jumbo shrimp, king crab legs and poke')

Four of us shared the wine, Tomahawk steak, shrimp & crab mashed potatoes and broccoli which were all delicious. Service was very good and we topped off the dinner sharing the cookies & cream popcorn sunday. We will definitely go back again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The appetizers, main cut of beef and sid ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The appetizers, main cut of beef and sides were all excellent. Our wait and assistant were highly attentive-responsive. An overall excellent experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were vacationing from out of state an ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We were vacationing from out of state and this was recommended to us by a friend. We had a fabulous meal!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent. Food prepared perfectl ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Always excellent. Food prepared perfectly. Best place in town for steak.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great except for us havin ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Everything was great except for us having a 7:45pm reservations but wasn't seated until 8:20pm.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My first ever review and this place is w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 4, 2017

My first ever review and this place is worth every star. The wait staff was friendly, fast, and knowledgeable. The food was excellent. I have zero complaints and nothing but praise. They are opening up a future location in Chicago and I will be sure to try that one as well.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have always enjoyed a great steak, and ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 3, 2017

I have always enjoyed a great steak, and I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the steak here. Just fantastic. The sides were one of a kind and our server was very gracious and knowledgeable. I will be returning here many times, and recommending it to anybody I know

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience. Great food, servic ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Wonderful experience. Great food, service and nicely decorated atmosphere. My grilled salmon was a generous cut and cooked perfectly to my request, medium rare. My husband's steak was also cooked perfectly. Great dessert as well. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Great meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was incredible, service outstanding ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Food was incredible, service outstanding, atmosphere perfect!

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good atmosphere and good food. The bar w ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good atmosphere and good food. The bar was a bit crowded for my taste. Great staff as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best steak hands down. Made fresh to ord ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Best steak hands down. Made fresh to order and to perfection! I will definitely be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

So all steak house in my book have to st ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2017

So all steak house in my book have to stack compare to Mastros. Steak 44 does an amazing job and took the crown. Service was awesome and they made you feel welcomed even though they were slammed. Had the bone in rib eye medium and it was cook perfectly. Where steak 44 beat down the completion from other prime steak house was in the sided menu. Lots to choose from and some I had never see or had before. Crème Brulé Creamed Corn!!! I'll take a double. Warm break before hand was also better than the bed basket serves at most others. Loved it all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic meal and service. T ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Absolutely fantastic meal and service. The seafood was fresh and well prepared.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I visited Steak44 for the ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My husband and I visited Steak44 for the first time on New Year's Eve. We were impressed with the quality of food and level of service and enjoyed the ambiance created by the decor and choice of music. This is a high-end restaurant so it won't be one of our regular spots, but we will be back for special occasions, to entertain guests from out of town and when we find a little extra in our budget for the month.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.