Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.60mi
  4. Distance: 1.66mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.60mi
  4. Distance: 1.66mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.60mi
  4. Distance: 1.66mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.60mi
  4. Distance: 1.66mi

About Steak 44

Steak 44 is an upscale, warm contemporary American Steakhouse. The menu features prime steaks and extensive fresh seafood along with unique and original items offering more than a traditional steakhouse.

5101 N 44th St
Phoenix, AZ 85018
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Bar is open 4pm till 12am nightly with bar menu starting at 4pm. Dinner served 5pm till 10pm Sun-Thurs and 5pm-11pm Fri & Sat.

Open seven days a week.

Cross Street:
44th street and Camelback Rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 271-4400

Website:
http://www.steak44.com/

Entertainment:
Great music and songs you know by heart. A wide mix of 70's to 2016.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary valet parking in our large valet drop off area directly off 44th street.

Executive Chef:
Robert Watson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Happy Easter! We open early at 11am!

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Happy Mother's Day! We open early at 11am!

Private Dining

Steak 44 is the perfect setting for your special private event. The restaurant’s interior features a neutral palate and minimalist decor creating an upscale, casual ambiance. Gallery space with lighted paintings and artwork emphasize simplistic luxe.

Steak 44 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (160)
Special Occasion (158)
Good for Anniversaries (139)
See All
Good for Birthdays (117)
Romantic (113)
Hot Spot (93)
Business Meals (92)
Notable Wine List (91)
Worth the Drive (79)
Vibrant Bar Scene (72)
Modern Decor (70)
Fit for Foodies (64)
Good for Groups (60)
Fun (58)
Bar Seating (57)
People Watching (55)
Open Kitchen (46)
Cozy (44)
Handcrafted Cocktails (41)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Happy Hour (31)
Private Room (31)
Authentic (28)
Pre/post Theatre (25)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Casual (15)
Comfort Food (13)
Outstanding Value (13)
Fireplace (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Family Style (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Great for Lunch (6)
Seasonal (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Healthy (6)
Great Beer (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Spicy (3)
Historic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Scenic View (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
1351 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 2 days ago

We go there regularly , but they are not very prompt with seating you when you have a reservation . There is 4 people standing at the check in and they all look confused . I had a reservation at 8:30 but got seated at 9 only because I asked for the manager that knows me . Regarding my steak , I had to send it back to cook it more , because instead of medium well it was medium .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

Steak 44 exceeded expectations! Everything was great, from the greeting all the way to the valet retrieving our car.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Love this place! Robert , the chef, made great dishes. Daniel kept us well attended. Love the Shrimp Cocktail, Shishito Peppers, Maccaroni and Cheese, Creme Corn Brûlée, Filets, and Warm Caramel Cake. Would highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Loved this restaurant...service, food, drinks, ambiance were all amazing! Our entrees and sides were perfectly prepared. Because of the number of diners on the night we were there, the noise level was a bit loud. Otherwise, it was a perfect evening!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Found the restaurant online. Had dinner on Sunday and went back again on Tuesday.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

The service and food were outstanding. Our steaks were perfection. But tables were very dark and very close. Very inebriated guests were behind us, loud, spilled red wine on us and kept bothering us. This is not the restaurant's fault, but the close proximity made it very uncomfortable. Go for the food and service, but get s table with personal space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

Dinner at Steak 44 was absolutely amazing. They had a great crowd for a Monday night. One of the best steaks I've had and great sides.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was mouth-watering and absolutely perfect. Our waiter, Sean, was borderline rude. The service was not good. He treated the table next to us noticably nicer than he treated us. We would have had a much better time if he would have been amicable. Because of the service, we will not be going back. Extremely dissatisfied.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

The service was great! We arrived and our table was waiting for us. The Waiter and helpers were great, they were very helpful with the menu and suggestions. The food was amazing.

I would highly recommend, we will be back!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant is one of the best ever. I always bring clients when I travel into PHX for business

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

My husband and I were told that we had to come here on our kid free night. WOW!!! What an amazing experience! From the food to the service, everything was PERFECT!
We have been to some of the best restaurants around the world and this one definitely ranks up there with our favorites.

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

Great menu with a lot of options. Steaks were cooked perfectly and tender as they should be. Lots of wine on the menu.

This won't be a cheap night but if you can spare the funds it will be a great night. Our server was very knowledgeable and new the menu and extra things not on the menu. She was great and always had a smile on her face.

We will be back.

Make sure you make reservations, it was even busy Sunday night.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

Some of the best food I've had in a while. Exceptional experience and looking forward to sharing this with more friends.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

This place is my favorite restaurant in Phoenix. Probably there 1-2 times a month at least. Now have all of my professional meetings there too. Always a hit. Staff is great. Drinks and Food - simply put, phenomenal.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Spicy, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This is our favorite place. Bone in filet on a 500 degree plate--- what could be any better than that? Exceptional service and fun atmosphere!

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 18, 2017

My husband and I have had awful dining experiences at a multitude of restaurants for the last 5 years. Our experience at Steak 44 was so far from our normal dining experiences, that I'm not sure I can even articulate how good it was.
Our bill was $240, but I gladly would have paid twice that much for the quality of food, drinks, and service we received. Being from Iowa, I know what a good steak should taste like and I have never had a steak that tasted anything like the one we got at Steak 44. It was, by far, the best steak I've had in all my 42 years. Also, our waiter was charming, knowledgeable, and had the ability to make us feel as if we were the only table he was waiting on (during a very busy weekend night). Steak 44 is now at the top of our list for every special occasion coming up in the near and distant future. I honestly don't think I've ever been this impressed by a restaurant in my life.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The steak was truly the best I've ever had. Their service was fantastic and overall a great dining experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Very yummy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

cream corn brulee side was awesome - (wait until it cools off because it is very HOT!)

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The food was over the top amazing!!!! The service at first was a little rocky as far as the server wasn't too personal but I feel like maybe he usually gets the crowd that isn't too talkative with the server! The service tho was amazing as well and on top of it all with filling the water at every moment, asking how we wanted the food and what we wanted to come out first! Towards the end the server warmed up to us and he was great as well please know that, don't want to take anything away from him, I would come back and ask for him! Best steak house ever and will be coming back! The guy who came in between to fill the water and give us napkins and serve the food, that man deserves a raise! He was exceptionally great!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Had dinner there and true server was phenomenonal. While I know that at a steak house you should get steak - I got the crab legs and they were amazing!!!! Everything was great. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Everything was great. However, we made a reservation and still ended up waiting thirty minutes for a table.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Bar Seating, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Private Room, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Absolutely delicious all around. Spectacular service to boot!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Cozy, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Our sever Stephanie was fantastic! Best meal in Phoenix Area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 16, 2017

In one word, OUTSTANDING! My go to restaurant for all things business and special occasion. Amazing food and great service (ask for Cat, she is simply the best). Makes all other steak houses in Phoenix feel like I am eating at Ponderosa. Can't wait for Steak 48 to open in Chicago this summer.

Tags: Late-night Find, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The food and service was outstanding. Our steaks were to perfection. Great place for a special celebration.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Steak 44 is an exceptional place to entertain business clients. The superior service and attention to detail leaves everyone feeling as if they were the most important person in the restaurant. The owner came by the table twice during the meal, and every part of the meal flowed perfectly within the pace our group set.

The food was exceptionally prepared exactly as ordered and our entire party left happier than when we arrived.

The following day I received a call asking how the meal was and thanking us for the business. Just another reason I will be back.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 13, 2017

One of the highest quality,best prepared steaks I have ever had. I have had high end steak in most of the major cities, this far exceeds therest

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Rude. The manager went out of his way to roll out one of the worst experiences I've ever encountered at a "high end" restaurant. I entertain clients frequently and have never had a client treated so poorly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Overrated steaks (salted beyond belief) but great seafood and the service was absolutely OUTSTANDING!!!!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I had one of the best steaks I've ever eaten At a steak restaurant. They cook their steaks at 1500 degrees and it comes out on a 500 degree plate sizzling to perfection. I usually order a bone in ribeye when I go out and this steak did not disappoint. I'll put this steak up to anything I've eaten at other steak houses. The noise level was a little high if you want an intimate dining experience.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 12, 2017

A great dining experience. Excellent food, service, and ambiance. Prices reflect the extra effort put into ingredients, preparation and service. Great choice for a special occasion but a little expensive for most peoples normal dining. Reserve for that special person or occasion. Well worth that very satisfied feeling at the completion of your visit to this outstanding Phoenix establishment. I will return!

Tags: Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The service was excellent. Starters and sides were great. The only issue we had is the plates the steaks were on are served so hot we were hit with splattering grease and it took a long time for the food to be a suitable temperature to consume. We were seated close to the bar so a little noisy and felt a little too trendy and loud.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent food and outstanding professional and attentive service

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My wife and I chose Steak 44 to celebrate our 26th wedding anniversary. We made the right choice. Everything went very well from the service to the outstanding food and cocktails. They gave us a complimentary dessert to help us celebrate. It isn't an inexpensive place but we enjoyed every bite and look forward to returning. My steak was cooked to perfection and my wife is still talking about the sea bass and scallops she ordered.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Outstanding! As usual the food was prepared to perfection and they always keep an eye on the table in case anything further is needed or wanted. Never tire of enjoying their options.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Took a friend for his birthday. It was his first time at Steak 44...He really enjoyed the whole experience; his steak, service, people watching, etc. I was already sold, this is where I take colleagues for out of town when they want a steak. Food and service is always top notch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Food was absolutely great! My husband registered us for a surprise birthday, but they never noticed.. He didn't want to do it in front of me, so later I found out that he had registered it but didn't want to call notice to it.

Waiter was terrific...much better than Mastro's or Ocean Prime!

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great service, great food. A perfect evening. This is a very special place combining great food and super service, plus a great atmosphere.

Tags: Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Spectacular place for steak

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.