About Steak 44

5101 N 44th St
Phoenix, AZ 85018
View Larger Map

Steak 44 is an upscale, warm contemporary American Steakhouse. The menu features prime steaks and extensive fresh seafood along with unique and original items offering more than a traditional steakhouse.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Bar is open 4pm till 12am nightly with bar menu starting at 4pm. Dinner served 5pm till 10pm Sun-Thurs and 5pm-11pm Fri & Sat.

Open seven days a week.

Cross Street:
44th street and Camelback Rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 271-4400

Website:
http://www.steak44.com/

Entertainment:
Great music and songs you know by heart. A wide mix of 70's to 2016.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary valet parking in our large valet drop off area directly off 44th street.

Executive Chef:
Robert Watson

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Steak 44
  • Steak 44
  • Steak 44
  • Steak 44
  • Steak 44
  • Steak 44
  • Steak 44
  • Steak 44
Steak 44
Steak 44
Steak 44
Steak 44
Steak 44
Steak 44
Steak 44
Steak 44

Private Dining

Steak 44 is the perfect setting for your special private event. The restaurant’s interior features a neutral palate and minimalist decor creating an upscale, casual ambiance. Gallery space with lighted paintings and artwork emphasize simplistic luxe.

Steak 44 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Food
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Service
Phoenix / Arizona
7 More
Steakhouse
Phoenix / Arizona
Most Booked
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Overall
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Food
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Service
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Steakhouse
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Most Booked
Phoenix / Scottsdale
Best Restaurants in Phoenix ›

Special Occasion (213)
Romantic (145)
Notable Wine List (118)
See All
Fit for Foodies (115)
Hot Spot (106)
Vibrant Bar Scene (97)
Good for Groups (73)
Neighborhood Gem (59)
Late-night Find (17)
Great for Lunch (4)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
872 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was excellent and the service very ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was excellent and the service very good. A little noisy for fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Amazing and high quality food. This is m ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing and high quality food. This is my absolute favorite place to eat for special occasions! Get the shrimp bites as an appetizer and the red velvet bread pudding for dessert. You won't regret it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding spot! I had the bone in fil ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding spot! I had the bone in filet, full of flavor and extra juicy! We're from Chicago and can say that Steak 44 is one of the best that we've ever had. I highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Steak 44 just gets it all right! Great c ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Steak 44 just gets it all right! Great cocktails, food, service... A perfect place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food of the highest quality ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding food of the highest quality every time. It gets better every time I visit.

Sara is a fantastic server!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, delicious meal. The Dominic' ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 4 days ago

As always, delicious meal. The Dominic's Potatoes are to die for. Excellent wines as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is the best! It has the ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 4 days ago

This restaurant is the best! It has the best steak I've ever had! And the side dishes were so yummy. And we had crispy shrimp as an appetizer and it was so good! A perfect meal! The waitstaff was awesome, so attentive, but didn't hover. It was totally the best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food was excellent and th ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 6 days ago

As always, the food was excellent and the service without fault. But although my wife and I came well dressed, this time, we were stuck in the bar section and seated at a small table. Small tables are one of my pet peeves. The bar was packed and it was so loud that we were not able to hold a conversation. Not the best place to spend $200 on my wife's birthday meal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

I recently retired and received a gift c ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

I recently retired and received a gift card for use at Steak 44 from a client. We were visiting Phoenix (we live in Tucson) and decided to go there with a couple we know who live in Phoenix. I must admit that the ribeye steak I had was one of the best I have ever had (and I've eaten at many good steak houses over the years.) Service was great, very attentive and everyone loved their meal. They even called me the next day to check how I enjoyed the dinner -- that has never happened before. This is a great place for steak. Will go back again for sure.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been hearing about this place sin ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I have been hearing about this place since it opened so I thought I would give it a try. It was a very nice experience. I am a "steakhouse" afficionado, so after patronizing places like Bones in Atlanta for the last 25 years, and Bern's in Tampa for about the same length of time, I tend to be very picky about my steakhouses.

From the moment of arrival, I felt welcomed. The car valet seemed like a great fellow, and since he is usually the first impression one gets of a restaurant, he did a great job at arrival and departure.

The restaurant has a great contemporary look. None of the mahogany paneling and "club " feel a tradition white-linen steakhouse. But it was very cool.

We were seated immediately, which is a pet peeve of mine. Although my reservation was early and there was no excuse not to be seated, many places seem to take their time in this area. Needles to say, they scored points with me here.

Our waiter, Jason, was simply outstanding, as were his capable staff of assistants. Water glasses were never more than half-empty, and his capable staff made sure our bread was constantly replenished and that all other requests were met immediately. Jason's knowledge of the menu was excellent and he was most accommodating in letting us mix and match various combinations of seafood with our steaks.

One impressive aspect of the service was that - and I am not sure about this - we were served by the gentleman who actually cooked our steaks. I forgot to clarify that but I got the impression he was the " main man ". The steaks, which were all prime cuts, were served on 500-degree plates and we're still sizzling when they arrived table side. They were superb and each was done perfectly to the request.

All in all, this was one of the best steakhouse experiences I have had in some time.

That being said, this was not a reasonably priced experience. The bill, for four people, with four drinks was over $400, and at $500 with the tip. I highly recommend it to all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food!! I took my wife here to ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Delicious food!! I took my wife here to celebrate her birthday and it was just perfect!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The service and food were excellent. I h ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The service and food were excellent. I had never been here but will definitely be back. We were lucky enough to have been sat in the back past the kitchen. I think if we had been seated in the main part of the restaurant, our experience would have been much less ideal, as it was very loud. I will definitely request that area again, unless I'm in the mood for the louder bar-scene atmosphere

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall experience was tremendous. Our ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Overall experience was tremendous. Our server Michael and the manager Kenny made us feel like we were the only ones in the restaurant. Food was off the charts!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hands down the best steakhouse I have be ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Hands down the best steakhouse I have been to. Definitely will be back again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience at Steak 44 was outstandi ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our experience at Steak 44 was outstanding! The service was excellent, and the food was superb! The room we were in was nicely appointed, although it was dark enough for me to have to use the light from my cell phone to read the menu. Nevertheless, it made for a wonderful birthday celebration dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very pleased with the fantastic ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We were very pleased with the fantastic food and great service we received at Steak 44. It was a little on the expensive side, but we knew that going in and feel that overall it was well worth it. The shrimp and lobster were the best I've had in the Phoenix area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love this restaurant and have been sev ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I love this restaurant and have been several times. My only complaint is that the music is absolutely horrid. It sounds like you are dining in a Chilis. Please play something classier.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Service was totally off and not up to th ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Service was totally off and not up to the standard it should be for a restaurant of the level which was very disappointing as we selected the place for a special anniversary celebration. Good food.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The atmosphere and ambiance was great. S ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The atmosphere and ambiance was great. Service is top not. The steaks are phenomenal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was spectacular...the food, t ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Everything was spectacular...the food, the service, the venue....AMAZING

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an amazing experience! The quality ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

What an amazing experience! The quality of the meals was just perfect, the Wagyu steak was the best piece of meat I've ever eaten and the waiter was extremely kind and caring. It's not cheap indeed, but the quality of this restaurant is well worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our service was amazing! From the time ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Our service was amazing! From the time we entered the restaurant to the time we left, we were greeted by the staff.

It was my birthday, and it could not have been a better experience!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steakhouse I've ever been to. Food ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Best steakhouse I've ever been to. Food is fantastic, service is phenomenal, couldn't have asked for a better meal.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great table. Nick was our waite ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We had a great table.

Nick was our waiter, he was awesome.

Wine,Food, Ambiance and Service was outstanding.

A fun time was had by all.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service, although the ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Excellent food and service, although the plates are served so hot it continues to cook the food once it is served. Will definitely return here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was great - seated right away Wa ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Service was great - seated right away

Waiter was good, very attentive

Food - blah - did not order steaks as we are not big meat eaters and the prices are outrageous 43 for a filet - that's just dumb

Salads were - very average my wife had a beet salad and the beets were enormous chunky - she only ate about 1/2

Caesar salad was ok very average and small for a 12 salad

Ordered 1dzn oysters good but $48!!!

Wine/drinks very expensive - 14 for a gin and tonic - really?

Ordered has setback potato - huge and very average

Over all I would recommend if you want to be 'seen' don't mind paying for overpriced food that is average at best

It is not fine dining that's for sure

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

My wife and I a truly outstanding experi ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

My wife and I a truly outstanding experience at Steak 44. Travis, our server, was fantastic. He was very knowledgeable of the menu items and did an outstanding job of offering alternatives (for food allergy reasons) to some of the side dishes; done very well. He was friendly, sociable and attentive, but not overbearing. The accompanying servers were also very good as they were proficient, friendly and performed their duties in nearly a transparent manner. Kenny, the floor manager, was also outstanding. He engaged us in conversation with a sincere and friendly manner. We will make it a point to visit Steak 44 again soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steak was perfect! Brussels not so ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The steak was perfect! Brussels not so much. Service was impeccable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very expensive but the service and food ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Very expensive but the service and food were excellent. Bar scene was fun and active

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Well, it looks like we found our new fav ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Well, it looks like we found our new favorite steakhouse in the valley. We have been to all of them....Flemings, Ruth's Chris, Durant's, J&G Steakhouse, Donovans. This place rises above all of them. The steaks were perfectly seasoned and grilled. The" make your own" chilled seafood tower was divine, and they have a nice winelist. The corn creme brulee is a must! We shall be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a table near the kitchen, our are ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a table near the kitchen, our area was quiet. However around the bar was noisy and the bar area had standing room only.

Steak was good but not spectacular as it has been on past visits.

Table servers were attentive and friendly.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything about the evening was fabulou ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Everything about the evening was fabulous! We were seated at a table so we could watch all the action yet was quiet due to glass walls. The service was impeccable! My husband and I both ordered filet ( mine was bone in) and they were cooked to perfection and melted in our mouths. Sides of mushrooms and spinach were great . Oh , I forgot about the bread! Hot garlic rolls ! Yum! We were treated to an amazing dessert - some kind of caramel concoction with a mound of whip cream on the side. Look forward to dining there again. Perhaps try there happy hour menu and eat in the ultra cool bar area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is as good as it gets. However, ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food is as good as it gets. However, seven of us were there to celebrate a birthday and had requested a quiet table where three generations could enjoy sharing conversation. It was so outrageously noisy that we had to shout to hear the person sitting next to us. We noticed couples at tables throughout the dining room were having the same problem. We left sad that the noise level had robbed us of a pleasant evening together.

It's a lot of money to pay for a dining experience that leaves you feeling you had been shouting at one another in a high school lunch room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

A friend from California and I had a fan ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

A friend from California and I had a fantastic meal at Steak 44. The service was impeccable. We sat in a booth with a glass wall looking into the kitchen. It was like watching Hell's Kitchen without the noise or yelling. The steaks were perfectly done. I will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service and food! Steaks are ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Outstanding service and food! Steaks are incredible. A little noisy and crowded.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We celebrated our daughters Sweet 16 at ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We celebrated our daughters Sweet 16 at Steak 44. I was able to call the pastry chef - Christy - ahead of time and she made a fabulous German Chocolate cake. We also requested to be seated in a large booth in the back overlooking the kitchen. It was quiet and intimate. The food was spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We like steak places. We heard this is g ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We like steak places. We heard this is great and it is. We met another couple who likes great steak places. We agreed this is one. We overtipped since service was great. We will probably come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This may have been the best restaurant I ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

This may have been the best restaurant I've ever visited Service by Ryan and staff was outstanding. Food was perfect. Ambiance was excellent. We look forward to returning.

Great job Steak 44!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Having moved here from New York, I thoug ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Having moved here from New York, I thought for sure I would be a bit disappointed. Our favorite place was Benjamin's in Manhattan but I have to say, Steak 44 is right up there with the best of the best in Manhattan! We requested a special table at the very last minute and we were so happy with their selection for us. The wine list was very good. The service was exceptional.

We intend to bring our visiting family and friends to enjoy Steak 44. Thank you for a great "date" night with my wife of 46 years! We were impressed!!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Great night. They took us ba ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great food. Great night. They took us back to a room i didn't know existed. it is beautiful space, and the food is terrific. Tremendous customer service as well, from the valet to the hostesses to our server, Geoff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.