About Steak 44

5101 N 44th St
Phoenix, AZ 85018
View Larger Map

Steak 44 is an upscale, warm contemporary American Steakhouse. The menu features prime steaks and extensive fresh seafood along with unique and original items offering more than a traditional steakhouse.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Bar is open 4pm till 12am nightly with bar menu starting at 4pm. Dinner served 5pm till 10pm Sun-Thurs and 5pm-11pm Fri & Sat.

Open seven days a week.

Cross Street:
44th street and Camelback Rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 271-4400

Website:
http://www.steak44.com/

Entertainment:
Great music and songs you know by heart. A wide mix of 70's to 2016.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary valet parking in our large valet drop off area directly off 44th street.

Executive Chef:
Robert Watson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Steak 44, Phoenix, AZ
Steak 44, Phoenix, AZ
Table - Steak 44, Phoenix, AZ
Bar - Steak 44, Phoenix, AZ
Interior - Steak 44, Phoenix, AZ
Table view - Steak 44, Phoenix, AZ
Interior - Steak 44, Phoenix, AZ
Seafood - Steak 44, Phoenix, AZ
Seafood - Steak 44, Phoenix, AZ
Steaks - Steak 44, Phoenix, AZ

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Come celebrate with us! If cancellations are made between 72 hours to 24 hours before reservation, there will be a $25 charge per person on the reservation. Cancellations made on the day of will result in a $50 charge per person. There is a $75 F&B minimum per person

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Come ring in the New Year with us! If cancellations are made between 72 hours to 24 hours before reservation, there will be a $25 charge per person on the reservation. Cancellations made on the day of will result in a $50 charge per person. There is a $75 F&B minimum per person.

Private Dining

Steak 44 is the perfect setting for your special private event. The restaurant’s interior features a neutral palate and minimalist decor creating an upscale, casual ambiance. Gallery space with lighted paintings and artwork emphasize simplistic luxe.

Steak 44 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Phoenix / Arizona
Steakhouse
Phoenix / Arizona
Most Booked
Phoenix / Arizona
4 More
Best Overall
Phoenix
Best Food
Phoenix
Best Service
Phoenix
Most Booked
Phoenix

Special Occasion (125)
Good for a Date (81)
Good for Birthdays (78)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (72)
Romantic (72)
Notable Wine List (57)
Hot Spot (56)
Fit for Foodies (55)
Vibrant Bar Scene (52)
Business Meals (50)
Modern Decor (39)
Worth the Drive (38)
Good for Groups (31)
Bar Seating (29)
People Watching (29)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Fun (22)
Cozy (21)
Happy Hour (19)
Open Kitchen (17)
Private Room (15)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Casual (10)
Authentic (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Family Style (8)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Fireplace (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Seasonal (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Great Beer (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Healthy (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Scenic View (2)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1059 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Seafood tower amazing . Wygu steak incre ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Seafood tower amazing . Wygu steak incredible. But too much food should have shared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Third visit this year- spectacular in ev ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 2 days ago

Third visit this year- spectacular in every aspect. In the review above, service got FIVE stars, that is only because there was no SEVEN, EIGHT, NINE or TEN. Nick is beyond outstanding.

I was being treated by two ex-clients on my 80th birthday - everything was outstanding (as usual).

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were celebrating a birthday. Had 10 g ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

We were celebrating a birthday. Had 10 guests and waited an hour for a table. That not the service one would expect from such an upscale expensive restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great place to eat Little pricey for the ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place to eat

Little pricey for the quality of taste (I had the 22 oz bone in prime rib) it was good but not as flavorful as advertised

Service was over the top and courteous

I would go back

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

One of the best steaks I've had.

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

One of the best steaks I've had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great! Thanks for that, althoug ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was great! Thanks for that, although the young woman who waited on us Sunday evening was not. We must have had the "B" team! When your paying high prices for dinner, which we understand and is not the problem, you shouldn't have the waitress yell across the table asking us what we would like! We had to ask her to stand beside us so that we could order without shouting. We had to ask for bread, the butter never showed up and one of our sides, creamed spinache was cold. There we're three of us for dinner at a high top table, close to the bar which we prefer. It was a birthday celebration which I plann d for our son. We are not strangers to eating out at fine restaurants by any means. Perhaps their should be more training involved for new hire. She certainly didn't seem to know her stuff! It's a shame that you have to watch out for what days you choose to eat at Steak 44. I take it this was an "off" day!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Excellent food as always. Delicious oyst ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Excellent food as always. Delicious oysters. Outstanding service. My favorite place in the Valley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was excellent. A little ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Food and service was excellent. A little pricey. Tables are very close together so somewhat noisy.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My server Haley was awesome before we we ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 3, 2016

My server Haley was awesome before we were seated we were at the bar I ordered two martinis the bartender who was kind of bald was not very personable did not say hi and did not greet us I gave him a $100 bill he gave me back 3 $20 bills and $1 bill ... really ... so I left him no tip ... I was at the bar at 8:15 pm ... I know that this is usually not the kind of service you guys provide especially for the quality of food you also give... my name is Daniel Boone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

While the place bills itself as a modern ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 3, 2016

While the place bills itself as a modern steakhouse experience what is sorely missing is the experience part. The food is unimaginative with not a single surprise on the menu, dinner or wine, and the service and seating is so rushed we had a full dinner in less than 45 minutes and felt pushed out of the door for the next patrons. Steaks were average at best, dry and not flavorful at all. The sides were fine and while they lacked imagination heh certainly had the calories, everything was drenched in butter. We didn't have any seafood so can't comment on that part, but I would highly discourage this place for food. Perhaps for cocktails or happy hour, but otherwise I would stay away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Awesome experience from start to finish. ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Awesome experience from start to finish. Food and service were truly extraordinary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing! Very classy and wi ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food was amazing! Very classy and without the snootiness! The service was fantastic ALL the way around. Best steak I've ever had! I'll be back next week. Thank you all! 😃

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun, wonderful atmosphere, outstanding f ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Fun, wonderful atmosphere, outstanding food, and wine selection?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Came for dinner. Stayed for drinks at th ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Came for dinner. Stayed for drinks at the bar. What a great experience. Food was fantastic. Bar was a great party. Made some new friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

A fabulous meal....the Wagyu steak was i ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 1, 2016

A fabulous meal....the Wagyu steak was incredible. Service and ambiance were worth the price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I fell on oil that was on floor and brui ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 1, 2016

I fell on oil that was on floor and bruised my knees

Had to go to Dr.

All the restaurant offered was a free appetizer and desert. Should of received a free meal!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Good, but not stellar.

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Good, but not stellar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great dinner ask for a private booth vie ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Great dinner ask for a private booth view of the kitchen. The 32oz bone-in-rib eye was insanely good a little side of bearnaise sauce and you are golden.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Awesome and exquisite bone in pork chop ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Awesome and exquisite bone in pork chop. Fabulous Hasselback potatoes. Flavoreful mashed potatoes. Asparagis tips cooked and seasoned perfectly. Pork Belly on bed of spinach was tender and delicious. Drinks are stiff and ambience is fun. You will love the food and the ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful dinner at Steak 44. ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 28, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner at Steak 44. Superb service and the food was over the top excellent! Save room for dessert because that beignet tree was crazy fabulous as were the other deserts. Great wine list too. Great anniversary and birthday celebration.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak in PHX hands down.

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Best steak in PHX hands down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great waiter, great food. It is a scene ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great waiter, great food. It is a scene and on the loud side, but good atmosphere

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best steak in town, scallops were great. ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Best steak in town, scallops were great. Cocktail were generous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding Service. THe kitchen is a we ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Outstanding Service. THe kitchen is a well oiled machine turning out very consistently superior quality food. We prefer Dominicks for the closeness to us, but this is worth the drive for sure from N. Scottsdale.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our meal was outstanding, as always! We ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Our meal was outstanding, as always! We were craving crab and lobster, and there is no where else that has the consistency that Steak 44 has! Our only complaint is that after the delicious calamari and shrimp, Caesar salad, crab legs and lobster tails, we had no room for dessert!

We'll be back...

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my best friends to their annivers ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I took my best friends to their anniversary dinner here and they thoroughly enjoyed it. It's our 3rd year in a row to come and enjoy your place! Love the restaurant. Just wished my pocket-book could handle it a few more times a year than just one. :-) The twice baked potato was a little hard this time, so I didn't even eat my piece, but the Wagyu Tomahawk was amazing!!!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Private Room, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious!

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is excellent and service is outstan ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Food is excellent and service is outstanding MAC and cheese with shrimp and lobster is to die for. Don't pass on this restaurant.

Kathy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

While the steaks were ok....the sides an ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 25, 2016

While the steaks were ok....the sides and the appetizers were overpriced and mediocre. I don't get it. The reviews were generally good....but for restaurants in this price class it was diner like.

The service was friendly but very amateur.

Without thinking too hard more than 10 restaurants for equal to or less money in the valley ...blow this place away.

sorry

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

What an amazing experience. The food m ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 24, 2016

What an amazing experience. The food made us wanting to come back and wait staff knocked it out of the park with knowledge of items as well as catering to our tables needs. Will work on saving our pennies so we can come back!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steaks were amazing and everything! ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The steaks were amazing and everything! Love this spot! Bar is amazing too!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

again, another great meal at steak 44. ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 23, 2016

again, another great meal at steak 44. you first get the best hot rolls anywhere. great list of apps, one of my favorites is cesar salad topped with a poached egg, fantastic. great seafood like nowhere else, steaks, and the most amazing meatloaf you will ever eat.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. tables are ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Excellent food and service. tables are tight and dark. walkways for support staff is tight and bump the back of chairs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

One of the best dining experiences I've ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 22, 2016

One of the best dining experiences I've had in the state of Arizona. Everything from the service to the food, to the menu variety was top notch. We appreciated the table touch by the manager and the thank you call the next day. I hope that Steak 44 is gunning for a Michelin Star, because they definitely deserve one.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service!!!! Hands down, it's the ini ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The service!!!! Hands down, it's the initial interactions that sets the stage for a grand experience. The food!!! Everything prepared to perfection and served with elegance. Price!!! You're here to enjoy this experience, come prepared to do that!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Bases on a five star rating system: Ste ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Bases on a five star rating system:

Steak: 3 stars

Sides: 2 stars

Salad: 4 stars

Dessert: 5 stars

Service: 5 stars

Ambiance: 4 stars

The service was outstanding -- really outstanding. About every dinner item was almost inedibly salty (bread, side mushrooms, side brussel sprouts). Steaks were not great and a tad salty. Much prefer Brookes Prime Steakhouse (not local). The desserts were phenomenal. Again: service was top notch.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Spectular I had the meat loaf which I t ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Spectular I had the meat loaf which I think was better when it was cold. The sauce isn't any good but you get an individual meat loaf sliced. The sides were over the top.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Father daughter birthday dinner .... rea ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Father daughter birthday dinner .... really worked out well as we were seated in the small room adjacent to kitchen with four 4 tops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seated next to a table of 6 men who were ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Seated next to a table of 6 men who were too loud. We had to shout at out dining group. We like a lively environment, but that was way too loud. I'm sure management didn't want to say anything as they were spending a lot of money. We've been to Steak 44 many times, but would rethink next time after this experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

One of the top steak houses I have visit ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 16, 2016

One of the top steak houses I have visited across the country. The 44 wines available by the glass include some impressive options. Definitely a place to return to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.