Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.60mi
  4. Distance: 1.66mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.60mi
  4. Distance: 1.66mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.60mi
  4. Distance: 1.66mi
  1. Distance: 0.95mi
  2. Distance: 1.40mi
  3. Distance: 1.60mi
  4. Distance: 1.66mi

About Steak 44

Steak 44 is an upscale, warm contemporary American Steakhouse. The menu features prime steaks and extensive fresh seafood along with unique and original items offering more than a traditional steakhouse.

5101 N 44th St
Phoenix, AZ 85018
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Bar is open 4pm till 12am nightly with bar menu starting at 4pm. Dinner served 5pm till 10pm Sun-Thurs and 5pm-11pm Fri & Sat.

Open seven days a week.

Cross Street:
44th street and Camelback Rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 271-4400

Website:
http://www.steak44.com/

Entertainment:
Great music and songs you know by heart. A wide mix of 70's to 2016.

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary valet parking in our large valet drop off area directly off 44th street.

Executive Chef:
Robert Watson

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Private Dining

At Steak 44 our menu features the best of prime steaks, fresh seafood and shellfish. Steak 44 is the perfect choice for your next social or business event. Our Chef constantly sources the best quality fresh products. Steak 44’s menu offers options to suit any dining experience or preference.

Steak 44 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (188)
Good for a Date (165)
Good for Anniversaries (162)
See All
Romantic (131)
Good for Birthdays (123)
Notable Wine List (106)
Business Meals (101)
Hot Spot (95)
Fit for Foodies (82)
Worth the Drive (79)
Modern Decor (74)
Vibrant Bar Scene (73)
Good for Groups (72)
Fun (58)
People Watching (50)
Bar Seating (50)
Handcrafted Cocktails (50)
Open Kitchen (49)
Cozy (44)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Private Room (38)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Happy Hour (35)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Authentic (30)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Comfort Food (21)
Casual (20)
Tasting Menu (16)
Late-night Find (14)
Local Ingredients (11)
Fireplace (10)
Family Style (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Healthy (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Great Beer (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Scenic View (5)
Seasonal (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Historic (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (2)
Live Sports (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Organic (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
1484 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 14 hours ago

One of the best steaks I have ever had!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Very loud in bar area. great service from Alyssa!

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

Great restaurant, I will definitely return if I'm ever back in Phoenix. Staff was first class and food was amazing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic, Cozy, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 6 days ago

Not our fist time there and again had a great server who was engaging, knowledgable and fun. Great food, went surf & turf this time, both going fillet and crab legs, both done to perfection, with a starter of their ahi poke which reminded us of being in Maui, with one really nice added touch and that was the Thai chili sauce that came along with it. The only minor hiccup this time around was the noise level and unfortunately that came as a "gift" from one of the individuals with the party next to us. Other than that an all around great experience again.

Tags: Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

We love this place - close to home and always stellar and friendly service - excellent food

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

Best food, drinks and service that we experienced in Scottsdale during our short vacation.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

Special occasion made more special, with great food and great service. First time for 5 of the 8 in our party. They loved it!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Casual, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Requested a booth, were told they were all spoken for, told us we would be seated in a quiet area for a date night. Unfortunately, we were seated in the large room on the south side amongst large groups of 6 or more next to the service hallway to the kitchen. Service was average and the food was nothing extraordinary. Busboy didn't advise us of leaving the boxed leftovers on an empty chair at the table thus they were not seen and forgotten. Disappointing outing compared to the last time several months ago.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Nice. Great steaks. Not cheap, good wine. Little loud.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My new favorite steakhouse. Everything from the appetizers to the dessert was phenomenal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Food and service was absolutely amazing! I didn't love where we were seated-all the way in the back, but that's ok. Next time, I'll request to be seated where the more vibrant seating areas are. It was just more quiet and the kids section.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Excellent service and top-notch food, our new favorite spot- can't recommend it enough!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 17, 2017

One of our favorite spots. Never disappoins. Great service from Katherine!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 16, 2017

This was our first meal as a couple and the food and service were excellent. The room was almost too loud to enjoy the meal. I had heard that but discounted the concern.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Best resturant, best service and the absolute best food I've ever had in my life. This was my second time visiting Steak 44 and they never disappoint! I brought my mom for mothers day. Everything from the filet mignon to the asparagus fries, everything was cooked perfectly and not to mention the world class service! Our server earlier tonight was Ryan and he was hands down the most helpful and friendly server I've ever had. Before we even had the chance to run out of anything he was already on it! He went above and beyond. Not to mention good conversation in the mean time. I will definitely be going back and requesting to sit with Ryan again in the future!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Groups, Romantic, Wood Oven, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Private Room, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Nice restaurant and perfect for a date night. Appetizer calamari and shrimp was pretty yummy- shrimp was much better though. My petite filet was done well and very flavorful and the lobster on top was very tender and sweet. I wish there would have been a better sauce to go with my steak though-- gasp I know! The creme brûlée corn was devine, but the spinach was nothing special, and the mac and cheese was fair. My vanilla cake w caramel (on the house for my birthday) was delicious. Definitely pricey but great for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Restaurant is very beautiful. Very nice setup, service was really good. Food was good wasn't what I expected. Sides are way too small for the price. Fogo de Chao is definitely way better. It was a nice experience but wouldn't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Went there for Mother's Day with the kid's. At the end of the dinner, my wife said it was the best Mother's Day she has had. It's a steak house, so it's pricy. I'd have to say that it rates in my top ten of all time meals. We had the filet, scallops, crab cakes and chicken. Every dish was delicious. For a special occasion or if your passing through town, I'd say it would be worth your time to dine at Steak 44.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Food and service was great! One of the best steak houses I have been to.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The food was delish but we were seated in the way back room where all the children were relegated to sitting. We discussed it with our server but she laughed and said welcome to my section. Kids were running around and very noisy. Ruined what was suppose to be a quiet, romantic dinner. Definitely, will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our first visit. Will return for sure. Food choices were excellent and couldn't ask for better service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I thought the filet mignon was a bit string and tough for this cut. I've gotten better filet mignon at a chain i.e. Eddie V's, Flemings. However, it was cooked perfectly medium rare. The sauteed wild mushroms and hot-out-of-the-oven rolls were great. Lobster & shrimp mac and cheese had huge portions of lobster and was creamy but I didn't see any shrimp in it.

Kudos to the server who brought us the sparkling water. He proposed a few options for my daughter who wanted to eat light and meatless which were appreciated.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

My favorite spot in the Phoenix area. Service to atmosphere to food is simply top notch.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 12, 2017

It was amazing for my graduation & they even had a card for me & a free dessert

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Excellent Steaks and Lamb. Service was impeccable. Waiter was very service oriented.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 10, 2017

This was our first time at Steak- 44. We were celebrating our 31st wedding anniversary. The food was excellent and the service was excellent, we thoroughly enjoyed it. We were surprised with a special anniversary dessert which we weren't expecting. Our waiter overheard us toasting our anniversary.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Our family always enjoys our dinner at Steak 44. My son loves the S'mores dessert, it's highly recommended. Any beef cut you choose is prepared perfectly. Start with the jumbo shrimp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great restaurant. Excellent service. Food was scrumptious. However, the restaurant was very noisy. It was very difficult to carry on a conversation.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Food was fabulous and so was our server, Cat. Thanks for a great evening.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We had a fantastic experience! The food and the service was outstanding!

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 9, 2017

My second time here and I will be back for a third. I do not recall our server's name, but she was excellent. Food is outstanding.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Fantastic service from the moment you walk in the door. Loved the aesthetics of the restaurant and the bar. Our table overlooked the bar but was far enough that we could enjoy our conversation. Staff was attentive and made super recommendations. Highly recommend the crispy shrimp appetizer. Meats were all well prepared. As with all steak places with sides to share, there is way too much food so could not partake in dessert.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner experience. This was the second time we've been here as out of town visitors and it was just as amazing as the first time. We loved our waiting staff, manager and everyone who helped make the night great. Thank you, we will be back again next time we visit the area!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Steak 44 was recommended to us by several people, and we were really excited to dine here during our visit to Phoenix. It just happened to be our 6 month wedding anniversary so it was a perfect occasion. I had called ahead and asked to be seated in the kitchen dining room area, as we were told that was the best place to sit - apparently you get a great view of the action in the kitchen. The restaurant was absolutely gorgeous and had some really fun décor aspects. The staff was wonderful, from the valet guys, to the server, to the busboys. We were walked to our table, and walked past the kitchen into a small, dark room with about 4 or 5 tables in it. It seemed like there was a large curtain that should have been open to give us the view of the kitchen, but it was closed. This part of the restaurant was definitely quieter than the front of the house, not as upbeat and lively - so we were disappointed that we did not get to be seated in the correct area. No one even told us that we wouldn't get the area that we had requested. As we were leaving, we walked past the kitchen again, and saw another room on the other side of the kitchen - those tables all had clear views of the kitchen. So unfortunately we were seated at the wrong side of the restaurant.

As I mentioned, the service was excellent. Our waiter was great and attentive and gave wonderful recommendations. My wedge salad was one of the best I've ever had. The warm garlic + herb bread they brought to the table was heavenly. My filet was cooked perfectly, had great flavor, and the add-on of truffle butter was an excellent choice. I wasn't a huge fan of the au-gratin style potatoes, but the crème brulee corn was AMAZING! I almost ate the whole portion by myself. Hands down the best creamed corn I've ever had.

No dessert because we were so full - but we hear they are opening in Chicago soon and we're excited to have this restaurant open near us!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Everything is always great, from the receptions,friendly staff and GREAT food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Hard to beat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 5, 2017

What a wonderful restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 5, 2017

There were different dining areas. We chose the quiet room where we could talk. Fabulous staff and great food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Excellent service and delicious food. A real find.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.