Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 1.01mi
  4. Distance: 1.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 1.01mi
  4. Distance: 1.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 1.01mi
  4. Distance: 1.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.34mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 1.01mi
  4. Distance: 1.09mi

About Stateside

Stateside is a staple of the thriving East Passyunk Business district in South Philadelphia.



Our menu showcases locally-sourced products and ingredients in a small plate format.



The bar features only domestic beer, wine, and spirits. We offer a rotating craft draft and canned beer menu, a whiskey list of over 100 bourbons and ryes, as well as a handful of classic and creative specialty cocktails.

1536 E. Passyunk Ave
Philadelphia, PA 19147
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 12:00am


Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 2:00am

Cross Street:
11th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 551-2500

Website:
http://www.statesidephilly.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking Sunday through Thursday. Valet service is offered on Friday and Saturday nights.

Executive Chef:
Kevin D'Egidio

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wine

Stateside Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Bar Seating (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Cozy (6)
See All
Casual (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Great Beer (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fun (3)
Tapas (3)
Romantic (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
90 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

It was so dark people nee

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 10, 2017

fitst class neighborhood spot, inventive small plates
interesting beer selections, fairly priced
decor post industrial, appealing

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2017

As usual, Stateside hits the mark. Always delicious food and friendly service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Fun, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 31, 2017

one of our favorites. only request is that you guys do foie year round! we always look forward to seeing your different seared foie dishes.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We had a great birthday dinner here this past weekend. The restaurant is small but has a nice vibe with a good crowd.

The service was excellent as our waiter went out of his way to make this a great birthday. He was very attentive and had great recommendations.

The drinks were excellent, and they have a great selection of whiskey. The bartenders are artists, and we really enjoyed our drinks.

We liked being able to share a few dishes as we got to try several things. We especially liked the lamb meatballs with jalapeno and dates, the cheese plate and the mushroom risotto.

Overall a great experience, and we would definitely return if we are in the neighborhood.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Went here for restaurant week and was not disappointed. From the moment our waiter Emilio cheerfully greeted us ( who waited the room alone without a flaw) to the unusual cocktail through the meal ( rutabaga - goat cheese tart had the best crust); the evening was fantastic. Oh - did I mention the whiskey list? Amazing!!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We went to Stateside because a reservation was available for 7:30 on a Saturday, and few other expectations, but would happily return. We had 4 "snacks," all of which were excellent. Our server suggested each snack would provide "2-3 bites a piece" for 3 people, but all were substantially larger than that description.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We love Stateside and we're definitely going back but our entrees were not well prepared. Scallops were rubbery and the short rib was too chewy. BUT let it be known this is STILL our favorite place to go in the hood and we will go there as long as they're there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was great (as always). But it was really loud and it was one of those frigid nights. Every time the door opened, we were hit with a biting blast of air. They should get one of those things that restaurants have that keeps the cold air out during the winter (a second door or something).

I love the pork belly and it's reason enough to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The bartenders were great, but the food was subpar. The $5 Old Fashioneds during Happy Hour can't be beat. Between the two of us, my date and I ordered 8 of them. They are THAT good. The food, however, was an issue. We ordered $1 oysters, which were extremely fishy, and our buffalo scallops were overdressed and extremely small in portion size for the $8 we paid. I would suggest coming for a drink then going elsewhere to eat.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Waiter was great, so was the food and drinks!

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great food every bite delicious . Pork dish was fabulous

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food was just ok. Good drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Excellent date night - some of the best food I have even had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Always an incredible dining experience. The drinks were well crafted, the food was delicious and innovative and the service was amazing. My husband has an egg allergy and our server made sure to find all the dishes on the menu that he couldn't have. It was really above and beyond.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 19, 2016

I don't remember anything from my meal at all except ordering, the first bite, and then waking up at home like I was peaking on an ecstasy high. Everything that I had was absolutely amazing that the entire meal felt like a dream. We had the meatballs, a cheese plate, the squid, and the tri-top Waygu beef. Everything was cooked perfectly to the point where each plate was simple enough to get a taste of all of the ingredients but also had this interesting complexity where you could taste all of them individually and complemented each other well.

I didn't realize that they had a happy hour with $1 oysters so I'll definitely be coming back for that sometime next week.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 22, 2016

I really wanted to like this place. The small plates, while tasty and different, were really small snacks and very poor value to money. The choices were interesting, delicious and different, but nothing was a great winner. Left somewhat hungry after a fairly hefty bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 15, 2016

I'm always a fan of the tapa's experience and the food was great. The server was very friendly but made a feel a bit rushed at times and it would have been nice if he explained the menu in the beginning since it was our first time there.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Love the food and drinks there, menu is creative, and perfect use of spice in the cuisine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Great food, great mixed drinks, very good wine, tough to have a conversation, as it is loud.
Would go again.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 25, 2016

We eat out all over the city and So. Jersey. Food was tasty and well prepared; but way over-valued by between 20-30%. At the high end, for example, an oyster will cost $1 from an up-scale market; so $17 for 6 is poor pricing (and poor compared to other restaurants). Same issue for other "small" plates, which are really small considering the expectation is to order up to 4 per person (ie. the fois gras and tortellini). In addition, there was little to no choice on the menu for selective eaters (ok, there were over-priced pretzels at $3). Disappointed in the experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Small portions and bold choices for the menu. Was able R take some risks, but over all really enjoyed the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2016

We had a delicious Friday evening meal at Stateside last week. The staff was very understanding and accomodating of the need to change our reservation time due to air traffic delays! The small plate concept allowed us to try 7 different items and they were all interesting and flavorful. The ingredients were seasonal and fresh! I would be very happy to return here again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Amazing food. Highlights were gnocchi, mushroom tart, and the lamb ribs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great spot for some small plates and awesome cocktails. The staff was wonderful and extremely attentive and accommodating. Comfortable and friendly atmosphere. Gorgeous on a summer night with the bar opening out to the street. Will absolutely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We came to Stateside for dinner on Father's Day 2016. Our group consisted of four adults and one three year old. The service was friendly, and very accomodating of our toddler. For example, the cheese plate we ordered came beautifully presented with some accompaniments, such as various jams, breads, and some grapes. Our toddler loved the grapes and wanted more. They brought out a bowl of grapes just for him at no additional charge. Every dish we tried was excellent. The music they were playing when we first arrived was a bit jarring for a dinner crowd -- hard rock verging on heavy metal better suited to late night. But they must have changed it shortly thereafter because I didn't notice the music after that point. Overall, we had a great time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 11, 2016

I took a friend to Stateside for some cocktails and appetizers (the menu is all small plates) on a Saturday evening. The weather was warm so most people were outside dining but we chose to stay inside, and there was plenty of space. We ordered wine and cocktails and everything was delicious - if you're looking to order cocktails, their menu is big. The cheese plate was great and our server was very knowledgeable in the cheese selections and answered all of our questions patiently.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2016

My boyfriend and I had 2 drinks each, all were great. The food was fantastic. I particularly enjoyed the gnocchi, lamb, and the kielbasa.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 1, 2016

What a surprise! We went for a casual birthday dinner and we were blown away by the meal and the cocktails. The only downside is that it was really loud...but not to the point that we couldn't have a conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2016

Our server was amazing!! Food was fantastic. First time eating here, and we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 26, 2016

This is an excellent place! We opted to get several small plates. The portions are small but the food is so well prepared. Our server Becky help us with an American suggestion for a digestif. Overall I would definatley recommend this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 27, 2016

The food was very delicious. We tried a lot of different small plates and shared them so it gave us a great variety of food choices we enjoyed. The drinks and service were great as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2016

Great food, great drinks! Lots of nearby parking, friendly and attentive staff!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 13, 2016

Really wonderful all around but full of loud children when we went! It doesn't strike me as a children friendly place so it was off putting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2016

We sampled a number of dishes and not one was a weakling. Would definitely come back. Staff was most helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 10, 2016

Completely enjoyed the Foie Gras, Agnolotti and Charcuterie small plates - best Foie Gras ever! Additionally, the cocktails were fabulous; made by and served by a bartender that likes to make cocktails and service the bar without a pretentious or "too busy to be bothered" attitude. Honestly, one of my best finds in the last 10 years. I will recommend Stateside to everyone looking for a new restaurant and/or bar in Philly. Absolutely OUTSTANDING. Get over there now!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2016

Me and my friend had an amazing time. Great cocktails. Tried both of the gin drinks and absolutely feel in love. All the food was incredible. Great date spot. All dishes are very shareable. Definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 17, 2016

I can't say enough about my first visit. I am hoping to return in the warm weather because the outdoor seating looks fantastic. Amazing cocktails. Delicious food although a touch pricey based on portion size.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 10, 2016

Food was really good however it was very difficult to communicate with whoever you were having dinner with.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2015

The plates were small and over priced. The drinks were decent but you can get good drinks anywhere. I wouldn't go here for a meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.