Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 5 times today

Stateside

4.4
110 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Perfect For:
  • Bar Seating
  • Casual
  • Cozy
Stateside is a staple of the thriving East Passyunk Business district in South Philadelphia.



Our menu showcases locally-sourced products and ingredients in a small plate format.



The bar features only domestic beer, wine, and spirits. We offer a rotating craft draft and canned beer menu, a whiskey list of over 100 bourbons and ryes, as well as a handful of classic and creative specialty cocktails.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 12:00am


Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 2:00am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(215) 551-2500
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Geno Betz
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
11th Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Street parking Sunday through Thursday. Valet service is offered on Friday and Saturday nights.
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wine
What 110 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.7
service
4.2
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Great spot.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Great neighborhood dining option - attentive service and good quality fare. Menu was well planned offering variety and interest to each small plate option. Good if not extensive set of craft beer options on tap and solid selection of spirits as well. Casual and inviting. Would definitely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Tim waited on us at the bar. He recommend the fish and chips which were excellent. The old fashion he made was exceptional. Look forward to returning soon. Also wanted to note the attention and service of Tim and the host, both were 5 star.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

We brought our master distiller in for an absolutely incredible dinner. Cheese and meet board was unparalleled and the 22oz bone in ribeye dry aged for 22 days in house was wagyu level delicious. Would come back again and again

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Whiskey selection was amazing - tried two tapas dishes and the chef’s board and couldn’t be happier. Definitely recommend trying the ribs!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Have been meaning to go here since the George Sabatino days (sad news about Aldine BTW). Enjoyed the many beer offerings as well as wines by the glass. The menu is not very long but all the dishes we had (including the cavatelli, ribs, steamed buns, shrimp dumplings and risotto) were plenty for the four of us to enjoy. Opted out of dessert and walked down the street for rolled ice cream at Roly Cow Creamery (Capogiro was closed due to winter schedule). Excellent service by Taylor, so friendly and accommodating, attending to all of our needs.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Fabulous service, marvelous drinks, and great food made it a wonderful evening!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 19, 2018

Food was good. Cauliflower was amazing. The lobster and shrimp were a bit bland but pastas were amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 15, 2018

Fantastic venue, spot, service! Highly recommend. Great ambiance.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 17, 2017

Stateside is a cozy, local restaurant with the most amazing tapas plates and cocktails. The bourbon stateside cocktail was a perfect blend while still preserving the delicious bourbon smoothness. We had a total of 4 plates and they were plenty as a pre-concert meal. The cauliflower (we ordered 2 servings it was so good) is a little fusion flavor with lightly breaded florets that were tender and tasty. The risotto with pancetta a(I forget but it was delicious) was perfect and delicious. We also had the pork dumplings that were loaded with pork and the dumpling was cooked to perfection.
Loved this little slice of South Philly heaven where you can sit and look out of the big windows and watch the world go by.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 25, 2017

Absolutely love this spot. It’s become our place to go to before sixers games - 2.5 Miles from the complex. Great vibe to Stateside. Cocktails are top notch, and the food, mostly small plates, are creative and delicious. We’ll be back...

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 20, 2017

The quality of the food has gone downhill from the last time visiting. The brandade was scorching hot and scorched my mouth 2 days later. The risotto was undercooked and resembled porridge more than a risotto dish.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 10, 2017

cool outside corner bar- would be nice on to have a beer on a warm evening.
small menu but food was good not great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 27, 2017

The food was excellent and our server was not only knowledgeable about everything on the menu but genuinely enthusiastic about it as well! It was great to get a drink on one of the outdoor bar stools before heading inside for dinner. Cheese board was delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 25, 2017

Food is outstanding.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 24, 2017

Service was great, restaurant was empty. Food portions were small and good but not as good as my previous experiences there

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2017

The restaurant was awesome! Not at all what we expected. It was a beautiful day so the windows were open and it was very noisy. We didn't realize it was a whiskey bar. That said the food was amazing and we will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2017

Always a treat to eat here especially when you get a table outside. Perfect place to share plates and enjoy local craft beers or a good wine list.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2017

Was unprepared for how well executed the food and cocktail preparation was. Walked in with no knowledge of what was going on here in terms of culinary creation and was more than pleasantly surprised. Casual atmosphere with dishes that seemed almost out of place, but was not a bad thing. Michelin caliber food with out the pomp & circumstance. Server and bartender killed it. Definitely be Back. Check it out!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2017

Every dish weirdly was made into sausage although this wasn't specified on the menu. I have had standouts at this restaurant but this meal was meh - left $70 poorer and still very hungry (but not for sausage).

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 21, 2017

It was so dark people nee

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 10, 2017

fitst class neighborhood spot, inventive small plates
interesting beer selections, fairly priced
decor post industrial, appealing

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 9, 2017

As usual, Stateside hits the mark. Always delicious food and friendly service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2017

one of our favorites. only request is that you guys do foie year round! we always look forward to seeing your different seared foie dishes.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2017

We had a great birthday dinner here this past weekend. The restaurant is small but has a nice vibe with a good crowd.

The service was excellent as our waiter went out of his way to make this a great birthday. He was very attentive and had great recommendations.

The drinks were excellent, and they have a great selection of whiskey. The bartenders are artists, and we really enjoyed our drinks.

We liked being able to share a few dishes as we got to try several things. We especially liked the lamb meatballs with jalapeno and dates, the cheese plate and the mushroom risotto.

Overall a great experience, and we would definitely return if we are in the neighborhood.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2017

Went here for restaurant week and was not disappointed. From the moment our waiter Emilio cheerfully greeted us ( who waited the room alone without a flaw) to the unusual cocktail through the meal ( rutabaga - goat cheese tart had the best crust); the evening was fantastic. Oh - did I mention the whiskey list? Amazing!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2017

We went to Stateside because a reservation was available for 7:30 on a Saturday, and few other expectations, but would happily return. We had 4 "snacks," all of which were excellent. Our server suggested each snack would provide "2-3 bites a piece" for 3 people, but all were substantially larger than that description.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2017

We love Stateside and we're definitely going back but our entrees were not well prepared. Scallops were rubbery and the short rib was too chewy. BUT let it be known this is STILL our favorite place to go in the hood and we will go there as long as they're there.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 3, 2017

Food was great (as always). But it was really loud and it was one of those frigid nights. Every time the door opened, we were hit with a biting blast of air. They should get one of those things that restaurants have that keeps the cold air out during the winter (a second door or something).

I love the pork belly and it's reason enough to go.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 27, 2017

The bartenders were great, but the food was subpar. The $5 Old Fashioneds during Happy Hour can't be beat. Between the two of us, my date and I ordered 8 of them. They are THAT good. The food, however, was an issue. We ordered $1 oysters, which were extremely fishy, and our buffalo scallops were overdressed and extremely small in portion size for the $8 we paid. I would suggest coming for a drink then going elsewhere to eat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 21, 2017

Waiter was great, so was the food and drinks!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2017

Great food every bite delicious . Pork dish was fabulous

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 16, 2016

Food was just ok. Good drinks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 3, 2016

Excellent date night - some of the best food I have even had!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 24, 2016

Always an incredible dining experience. The drinks were well crafted, the food was delicious and innovative and the service was amazing. My husband has an egg allergy and our server made sure to find all the dishes on the menu that he couldn't have. It was really above and beyond.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 18, 2016

I don't remember anything from my meal at all except ordering, the first bite, and then waking up at home like I was peaking on an ecstasy high. Everything that I had was absolutely amazing that the entire meal felt like a dream. We had the meatballs, a cheese plate, the squid, and the tri-top Waygu beef. Everything was cooked perfectly to the point where each plate was simple enough to get a taste of all of the ingredients but also had this interesting complexity where you could taste all of them individually and complemented each other well.

I didn't realize that they had a happy hour with $1 oysters so I'll definitely be coming back for that sometime next week.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 22, 2016

I really wanted to like this place. The small plates, while tasty and different, were really small snacks and very poor value to money. The choices were interesting, delicious and different, but nothing was a great winner. Left somewhat hungry after a fairly hefty bill.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 14, 2016

I'm always a fan of the tapa's experience and the food was great. The server was very friendly but made a feel a bit rushed at times and it would have been nice if he explained the menu in the beginning since it was our first time there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 1, 2016

Love the food and drinks there, menu is creative, and perfect use of spice in the cuisine

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 29, 2016

Great food, great mixed drinks, very good wine, tough to have a conversation, as it is loud.
Would go again.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3