About Stateside

1536 E. Passyunk Ave
Philadelphia, PA 19147
View Larger Map

Stateside is a staple of the thriving East Passyunk Business district in South Philadelphia.



Our menu showcases locally-sourced products and ingredients in a small plate format.



The bar features only domestic beer, wine, and spirits. We offer a rotating craft draft and canned beer menu, a whiskey list of over 100 bourbons and ryes, as well as a handful of classic and creative specialty cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 12:00am


Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 2:00am

Cross Street:
11th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 551-2500

Website:
http://www.statesidephilly.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking Sunday through Thursday. Valet service is offered on Friday and Saturday nights.

Executive Chef:
Kevin D'Egidio

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wine

Stateside Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in East Passyunk Avenue ›

Fit for Foodies (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
See All
Hot Spot (5)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
70 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We eat out all over the city and So. Jer ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We eat out all over the city and So. Jersey. Food was tasty and well prepared; but way over-valued by between 20-30%. At the high end, for example, an oyster will cost $1 from an up-scale market; so $17 for 6 is poor pricing (and poor compared to other restaurants). Same issue for other "small" plates, which are really small considering the expectation is to order up to 4 per person (ie. the fois gras and tortellini). In addition, there was little to no choice on the menu for selective eaters (ok, there were over-priced pretzels at $3). Disappointed in the experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

Small portions and bold choices for the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Small portions and bold choices for the menu. Was able R take some risks, but over all really enjoyed the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We had a delicious Friday evening meal a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We had a delicious Friday evening meal at Stateside last week. The staff was very understanding and accomodating of the need to change our reservation time due to air traffic delays! The small plate concept allowed us to try 7 different items and they were all interesting and flavorful. The ingredients were seasonal and fresh! I would be very happy to return here again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Amazing food. Highlights were gnocchi, m ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Amazing food. Highlights were gnocchi, mushroom tart, and the lamb ribs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great spot for some small plates and awe ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Great spot for some small plates and awesome cocktails. The staff was wonderful and extremely attentive and accommodating. Comfortable and friendly atmosphere. Gorgeous on a summer night with the bar opening out to the street. Will absolutely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We came to Stateside for dinner on Fathe ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We came to Stateside for dinner on Father's Day 2016. Our group consisted of four adults and one three year old. The service was friendly, and very accomodating of our toddler. For example, the cheese plate we ordered came beautifully presented with some accompaniments, such as various jams, breads, and some grapes. Our toddler loved the grapes and wanted more. They brought out a bowl of grapes just for him at no additional charge. Every dish we tried was excellent. The music they were playing when we first arrived was a bit jarring for a dinner crowd -- hard rock verging on heavy metal better suited to late night. But they must have changed it shortly thereafter because I didn't notice the music after that point. Overall, we had a great time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

I took a friend to Stateside for some co ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I took a friend to Stateside for some cocktails and appetizers (the menu is all small plates) on a Saturday evening. The weather was warm so most people were outside dining but we chose to stay inside, and there was plenty of space. We ordered wine and cocktails and everything was delicious - if you're looking to order cocktails, their menu is big. The cheese plate was great and our server was very knowledgeable in the cheese selections and answered all of our questions patiently.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My boyfriend and I had 2 drinks each, al ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

My boyfriend and I had 2 drinks each, all were great. The food was fantastic. I particularly enjoyed the gnocchi, lamb, and the kielbasa.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a surprise!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

What a surprise! We went for a casual birthday dinner and we were blown away by the meal and the cocktails. The only downside is that it was really loud...but not to the point that we couldn't have a conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Our server was amazing!! Food was fant ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Our server was amazing!! Food was fantastic. First time eating here, and we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

This is an excellent place! We opted to get several small plates. The portions are small but the food is so well prepared. Our server Becky help us with an American suggestion for a digestif. Overall I would definatley recommend this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great restaurant

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

The food was very delicious. We tried a lot of different small plates and shared them so it gave us a great variety of food choices we enjoyed. The drinks and service were great as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic in every way

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Great food, great drinks! Lots of nearby parking, friendly and attentive staff!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really wonderful all around but full of ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Really wonderful all around but full of loud children when we went! It doesn't strike me as a children friendly place so it was off putting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Terrific meal on a snowy Friday night.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

We sampled a number of dishes and not one was a weakling. Would definitely come back. Staff was most helpful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great food and cocktails in South Philly

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

Completely enjoyed the Foie Gras, Agnolotti and Charcuterie small plates - best Foie Gras ever! Additionally, the cocktails were fabulous; made by and served by a bartender that likes to make cocktails and service the bar without a pretentious or "too busy to be bothered" attitude. Honestly, one of my best finds in the last 10 years. I will recommend Stateside to everyone looking for a new restaurant and/or bar in Philly. Absolutely OUTSTANDING. Get over there now!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Me and my friend had an amazing time. Gr ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

Me and my friend had an amazing time. Great cocktails. Tried both of the gin drinks and absolutely feel in love. All the food was incredible. Great date spot. All dishes are very shareable. Definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Terrific

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

I can't say enough about my first visit. I am hoping to return in the warm weather because the outdoor seating looks fantastic. Amazing cocktails. Delicious food although a touch pricey based on portion size.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food loud atmosphere

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

Food was really good however it was very difficult to communicate with whoever you were having dinner with.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Go here just to drink, not eat

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

The plates were small and over priced. The drinks were decent but you can get good drinks anywhere. I wouldn't go here for a meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Great food. A little too loud.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

Great food. A little too loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Small plates

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

Very small portions, very expensive prices . Good service. We were still hungry but we didn't want to more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

A little bit hipster

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on November 10, 2015

Went here as it was recommended and I also noted it was voted one of the top 50 restaurants in Philadelphia by Philly.com. If you like small plates and sharing this is a good choice. Not a ton of vegetarian options. The dishes are very beautifully presented. Dessert may have been the best part. The chocolate tart!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Great overall but the noise level = shouting

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

Great service, great food and incredibly noisy. The Gershwin drink is one of the best in the city, hands down; the freshly squeezed ginger is the bomb. The cheese parings were exceptional and the wait staff super friendly and accommodating. All dishes cooked perfectly and enjoyed by all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

I heard lots of great things, not worth ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

I heard lots of great things, not worth it. Although the drinks were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Lots of sharing plates so nice for group ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on October 16, 2015

Lots of sharing plates so nice for groups. Nice bar with outside seating that face the bar.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

A couple of minor glitches with a drink ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

A couple of minor glitches with a drink order and one of the plates that was handled well with no questions asked. Very responsive wait staff. Will definately return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Third time here -and might be my last.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 25, 2015

This was my third time visiting this restrurant and it seems to have changed quite a bit since my last visit, which was quite a while ago. THe food was only so-so this time and the menu didn't seem that exiting. Not sure i will make a point to visit again - especially given the other establishments very close by. I was there with a group of 5 and we did have a varity of dishes - none of which were in anyway memorable - especially for the price. I will say the bar still seems like a fund place to hang out especially on a nice night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Very pricey

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2015

The small plates add up quick, and our meal for 3 ended up at $200 (before any drinks).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

It was really wonderful! What a great da ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 30, 2015

It was really wonderful! What a great date spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Really enjoyed ourselves at Stateside th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 13, 2015

Really enjoyed ourselves at Stateside this week. The small plates are right up our alley as we are able to sample many different flavors. Amazing drinks and a great bourbon list. Really like that you can order 1oz or 2oz pours. Bartender and service was great. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Overrated

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 26, 2015

Stateside was okay. Food was good not great. Lamb was really fatty. Gnocchi was fried and crunchy. The best dish was the cheese. Service was average. Nice waitress. But we had the same plates throughout most of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

every dish was lovingly presented and very good.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2015

Lots of small plates, great menu, all the dishes he had were very good. The waiter was on top of it and also was prepared for and kept track of one of our party's gluten allergy. I didn't love the very loud aggressive music, but would go back for the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Great neigborhood joint!

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 9, 2015

I hae been meaning to go to Stateside for a couple of years based on its presense on Passyunk Ave. I was not disapointed. We had some great American Whisky and Burbon, paired with some of the best small plates in philla. What is great abou this place is the eclectic small plates. Delicious and even entertaining, as the food was presented beutifully. Highly recomend! Our server Ninna was awesome!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It was my first time at stateside ! The ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 2, 2015

It was my first time at stateside ! The food and the ambiance were great! The only drawback was the noise ! It was impossible to have a conversation ...but I guess t his could be a reflect of the great weather outside ! The staff was friendly and super eficient !!! I'll go back again for sure!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The dishes were exotic and tasty! A grea ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 30, 2015

The dishes were exotic and tasty! A great way to try (and share) new, flavorful combinations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was okay...nothing overly special.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 25, 2015

Food was okay...nothing overly special. Good bar to go for ryes, bourbons, whiskey though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Fantastic Food and Service

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 10, 2015

This is a small plates restaurant, and the server suggested 2-3 apps per person and 1 entree each. We ordered 3 apps and 2 entrees. I was full, but my husband could have eaten more. The menu is not very large, but there is a nice assortment to choose from. The apps were fantastic, but my duck entree was very tough and chewy. I did not complain because I was so happy with everything else. I think they are more known for their steaks, so maybe duck wasn't the way to go. I would definitely go back though. The noise level is very energetic, as you are seated right beside the bar which was packed. A great spot, great food, knowledgeable and friendly servers. A definite hot spot!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Go to date-night locale

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 27, 2015

A week ago was my third time coming to Stateside and i must say every experience has been great. The food has been so consistently great every time I've been here. Special shout out to the foie gras for being amazing. This is the perfect place to take a date or a group of friends. Not only is the food on par with some of the most expensive places I've been to in the city, but it's truly a fraction of the cost. Three or four plates is plenty for 2 people in my opinion, and the price for that is unparalled for how good the food is. Go!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A great date.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 19, 2015

we had a great date at Stateside celebrating a birthday. The food was amazing, service was great. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.