Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.75mi
  2. Distance: 1.09mi
  3. Distance: 1.13mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.75mi
  2. Distance: 1.09mi
  3. Distance: 1.13mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.75mi
  2. Distance: 1.09mi
  3. Distance: 1.13mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.75mi
  2. Distance: 1.09mi
  3. Distance: 1.13mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi

About State & Lemp

Welcome to State & Lemp we are a small contemporary american restaurant featuring an ever evolving prix fixe menu based on seasonal goods. Our menu and restaurant showcase local and regional farmers, ranchers, artists and craftsmen. We also offer a carefully selected 5-course wine pairing.

2870 West State Street
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Lemp

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 429-6735

Website:
http://stateandlemp.com/

Catering:
State & Lemp will cater special events for special people on special occasions. Please contact Remi McManus directly to discuss details.

Parking Details:
State & Lemp has a private lot, as well as street parking. If you require special assistance with adequate notice we will gladly accommodate.

Public Transit:
Valley stop in front of building.

Executive Chef:
Kris Komori

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
State & Lemp is perfectly set up to host special events. Please contact Remi McManus directly to discuss details.

State & Lemp Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

5.0

ambience

4.8

value

4.6

Noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
See All
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Romantic (6)
Cozy (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Seasonal (4)
Fun (3)
Healthy (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Authentic (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
381 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 2 days ago

Exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 13, 2018

Great job. Thanks for a fun evening Hope to come back soon

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 7, 2018

This has become my favorite place for that special occasion. Their attention to detail and personalized service is unmatched in Boise. Not only did they remember it was my birthday, but both myself and my wife’s special dietary needs. Fantastic service and exception food. They continue to impress from a culinary perspective. Always something new, interesting and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Living in the Bay Area I have had many fantastic dining experiences but State and Lemp is exceptional! Chef Komori and his team in the kitchen pour their heart and talents into creating exciting dishes showcasing the best of the season and products of local farmers. Their food is deliberate and every detail thought out. The experience of dining here is unmatched and such a fun time. Front of the house staff were so friendly and welcoming and every need was attended to and met. I would eat here again and again! Thanks for a memorable evening!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 31, 2017

The food here is amazing! Very innovative and well worth the price. The wine pairing is excellent as well!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Phenomenal food and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 30, 2017

A unique dining experience with outstanding food, service and story behind every plate!

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 16, 2017

The food and service were amazing. Very different from any other restaurant. Very expensive

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 9, 2017

Another fantastic evening was had at State and Lemp! Truly it is a unique Idaho dining experience. We've enjoyed celebrating another year with our business partners, gathering with friends, and meeting new folks at this fabulous Boise gem!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 7, 2017

Amazing food creations and a fantastic dining experience. The tastes of each dish was unique and flavorful! Wonderful place!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Vegan, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 7, 2017

Absolute perfection! Definitely lives up to the hype. Felt like an elegant yet casual dinner party at a friend's house. Service was impeccable. We will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Always a great a experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Only thing I can make comment on is that I wished there were more protein options instead of just additional vegetables for the vegetarian diner.

Will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 26, 2017

Everyone that creates the meal is amazing. We have been twice to the Saturday night supper club and it is awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on November 26, 2017

Trear yourself to this educated, intricate, original dining experience! You won’t be disappointed. The food, wine and staff surpass the highest of expectations.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 17, 2017

Almost magical experience-loved every second of the evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 5, 2017

We love State and Lemp! Always inventive and new. The pairings are fun and the experience remains the best in Boise. Saturday evenings can feel a bit rushed. Perhaps because of the supper club seating at 9 pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on November 5, 2017

An evening at State and Lemp is always a unique dining adventure. There is nothing else like it in Boise. They strive to bring together combinations of flavors that amaze and delight their guests! The presentation is beautiful and artistic as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Such an interesting place! Always a 5 course prix fix menu that is unique, beautiful, and, on the basis of this first meal for us, totally delicious. Probably not for the finicky or non-adventurous eater, but a joy for those who wish to explore innovative, fine cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on November 2, 2017

Food was good. Menu tried a little too hard for the exotic and multiple flavors in every dish. Could have used one or two knockout protein dishes as part of multiple courses. Wine pairing was excellent. Service great. Ambiance nice but very noisy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on October 15, 2017

A must try - our fourth visit - never disappointed! It's like eating with an artist - a genuine food artist. A Michelangelo of food! We no longer ask what the menu will be. We just go and thoroughly enjoy each and every course - all 5 courses with excellent wine pairings . Every course is explained as it is served. All questions answered. Menu changes about every six weeks - note - go to State & Lemp's website to see current menu. Open Table's is not updated. Kris is a most creative and talented chef. Words cannot adequately describe his food and how talented he is and the entire staff is well versed in everything about your meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 12, 2017

State and Lemp is a very unique and special place. We are fortunate to be able to experience a meal and a restaurant dining experience of this caliber in Boise, ID. It is truly special. The food is outrageous and extremely creative and will take you on a journey into the unknown. Use of local and unique ingredients is an understatement, service is just the right tone with the special touch from Remi and his staff. If you are looking for a James Beard level experience, this is it. They've been in business for 4 years and never repeated a menu, currently serving menu #103
I believe. Thank you S&L.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

My favorite restaurant of all time! I recommend it to all serious foodies I know... It's equivalent to dinner and a show, and never disappoints!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Fun, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Super fun evening :) creative cooking, divine flavors, excellent wine pairings, lovely ambiance. But a bit overpriced.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2017

State & Lemp never ceases to amaze me. The innovative menu designs have consistently delivered great cuisine through all the courses.

We can't wait to get back after the next menu change.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Absolutely amazing experience and it is easy to see why this has become a jewel in Boise and voted Top 50 restaurants!! Highly recommend this restaurant- edible art!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The best restaurant in Metropolitan Boise by far. Superb food with amazing preparation, presentation, and service. Saturday night Supper Club particularly spectacular. An amazing gourmet value for the price. I cannot state highly enough how lucky we are to have Remi, Jay, and Chris in our city

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 3, 2017

First time at State and Lemp last Saturday night. I loved the feel of the place, the decorations and the whole concept. However, the food was not that great in my opinion. There was nothing that I tasted that I thought was that amazing. I ate everything that was offered and had no problem with the unique ingredients, but nothing I ate blew me away. I will give it another try sometime and hope this was just an off night before I make a final judgment.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Awesome! Would recommend it to everyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

I hope for their sake it was just an off night. We were there for meal 101. We appreciated the art and the attempt to replicate the art thru food. The presentation was attractive, but unfortunately the best tasting part of the meal was the bread and butter! We all felt that the issue was WAY too many competing ingredients in each dish, trying for exotic but falling flat or off putting in the flavor. The wine pairings were good drinks.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

A real treat. An art show in addition to very original food

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 17, 2017

A wonderfully unique fine dining experience. Definitely food prepared by an artist. Thank you so much for the the great experience during our vacation to Idaho.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The food was amazing and the menu inspiration was creative. It pushed me out of my comfort area and I definitely tried food I would never have ordered. Great service, fantastic wine and overall a wonderful evening. STRONGLY recommend using a cab or Uber service: the wine flowed freely.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Everything at State and Lemp is immaculate: ambiance, service, cuisine, wine, and value. It's a dining experience that is difficult to forget and even harder to surpass.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 21, 2017

What a great experience, if you have a chance to get in here, don't miss it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The entire experience is so amazing. We've eaten here many times and this was one of the best menus yet! The food was outstanding and Kris deserves the James Beard nomination he received! This should be the first Michelin stared place in Boise!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Overall it was a fun evening the food was great, the flowers that State & Lemp provided for my wife's birthday were exquisite. My wife enjoyed the meal but she felt rushed and I would say the noise level was too high. The service was amazing and and it was a great way to celebrate her birthday. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Best fine dining experience in Boise, period. Third visit, we will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The food, service and ambiance were amazing. The best fine dining experience I've had in Boise. Would highly recommend and I look forward to going back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Exceptional dining, exquisite presentation, perfect service. Truly a dining experience of the highest caliber.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.