Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.75mi
  2. Distance: 1.09mi
  3. Distance: 1.13mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.75mi
  2. Distance: 1.09mi
  3. Distance: 1.13mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.75mi
  2. Distance: 1.09mi
  3. Distance: 1.13mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.75mi
  2. Distance: 1.09mi
  3. Distance: 1.13mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi

About State & Lemp

Welcome to State & Lemp we are a small contemporary american restaurant featuring an ever evolving prix fixe menu based on seasonal goods. Our menu and restaurant showcase local and regional farmers, ranchers, artists and craftsmen. We also offer a carefully selected 5-course wine pairing.

2870 West State Street
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Lemp

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 429-6735

Website:
http://stateandlemp.com/

Catering:
State & Lemp will cater special events for special people on special occasions. Please contact Remi McManus directly to discuss details.

Parking Details:
State & Lemp has a private lot, as well as street parking. If you require special assistance with adequate notice we will gladly accommodate.

Public Transit:
Valley stop in front of building.

Executive Chef:
Kris Komori

Private Party Facilities:
State & Lemp is perfectly set up to host private functions. Please contact Remi McManus directly to discuss details.

Private Party Contact:
Remi Mcmanus: (208) 429-6735

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
State & Lemp is perfectly set up to host special events. Please contact Remi McManus directly to discuss details.

State & Lemp Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

5.0

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Local Ingredients (31)
Fit for Foodies (31)
See All
Creative Cuisine (29)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Good for a Date (20)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Fun (15)
Authentic (12)
Romantic (12)
Seasonal (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Healthy (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Organic (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Cozy (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Private Room (2)
People Watching (2)
Vegan (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Business Meals (1)
Family Style (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
342 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

The entire experience is so amazing. We've eaten here many times and this was one of the best menus yet! The food was outstanding and Kris deserves the James Beard nomination he received! This should be the first Michelin stared place in Boise!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined 6 days ago

Overall it was a fun evening the food was great, the flowers that State & Lemp provided for my wife's birthday were exquisite. My wife enjoyed the meal but she felt rushed and I would say the noise level was too high. The service was amazing and and it was a great way to celebrate her birthday. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Best fine dining experience in Boise, period. Third visit, we will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The food, service and ambiance were amazing. The best fine dining experience I've had in Boise. Would highly recommend and I look forward to going back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Exceptional dining, exquisite presentation, perfect service. Truly a dining experience of the highest caliber.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We were visiting from San Francisco. From the moment we walked in the door and were greeted with a glass of sparkling rose to the final course, everything was perfect. A wonderfully curated dining experience. We even bought art from the gallery that surrounds the intimate and elegant space. An exceptional experience in Boise.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Evening was wondering, however the Scallop ceviche was my favorite. I love the way the Chef designs his plates. I definitely will be there again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Organic, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Nothing short of beautiful -- such care and creativity in every bite.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Great meal with friends! Best restaurant in Idaho! Deserves a Michelin star. Hi

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

If Golden Corral is your idea of gourmet eating, then you're not going to like State & Lemp. The portions won't be large enough and the two and a half hours that it takes to get through the meal will be way too long.

But if you enjoy food prepared by true artists, with an eye toward presentation and dishes exploding with flavor and you don't mind spending maybe more than you've ever shelled out for a meal in your life, then this is the place for you.

This was my first time at a true fine dining restaurant, led by a young, talented chef. Chef de Cuisine Kris Komori in 2017 was nominated for the second year in a row for a prestigious James Beard award.

I came for the Saturday Night Supper Club seating at 9 p.m., which provides a discounted $65 meal price over the $80 charged at their other seatings. With only 22 seats at the intimate dining space that was a Taco John's when I was a kid, reservations are required and you may have to grab a seat three or four weeks ahead of time.

They started us out with a miniature beignet on a spoon with a cream sauce. It was followed by a strawberry gazpacho surrounding pieces of duck, almonds, rose petals and pink peppercorns.

The next course featured crabcake, morel mushrooms, a radish kimchi, potato, an egg and greens. I had never eaten a morel. Wow. What great flavor and texture.

That was followed by sockeye salmon and a rice casserole sprinkled with furikake and nori. They were accompanied by a flavorful dashi.

Next was a complex ice with chamomile, pineapple and lavender with a lilac salt. That was followed by pork meatballs and pork belly, served with fava beans, peanuts and tamarind. The last course was a Japanese cheesecake, with blackberry, rhubarb, blue cheese and jalapeño.

Service was impeccable. The staff explained every course and cleared dishes before each new offering was brought out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Unfortunately State & Lemp failed short of my exceptions on both service and food:
- On service while generally good there was a very poor response to my wife finding a hair in her Strawberry Gazpacho: after the hair was shown to the staff the plate was taken back to the kitchen and replaced - as would be expected - however what was ridiculous was that the staff member commented "whether or not there was a in fact a hair we've replaced the dish" in a fairly rude manner. This is an absurd response, hairs fall into dishes all the time it's not a big deal, just apologize and move on don't try to deny it - especially as it was very clearly a hair and did not look likely anything else in the dish. If the staff member had apologized we wouldn't have given this a second thought. This is not just our opinion the (unknown to us) couple sitting beside us overhead and vocally expressed that the comment was ridiculous.
- on food I was disappointed as well. While each item on each plate was cooked extremely well, as you would expect, the combinations of the food fell flat. Also on the wine pairing, they fell flat and did not seem to enhance the individual dishes. I love the ambition of the chefs in creating unique menu's on a biweekly basis, however, it didn't work out this time. While it's great that this restaurant concept exists in Boise, given our poor experience and considering the price point ($80 for the course menu per person) we are unlikely to return to give them a second chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The food was fabulous! I will definitely recommend it to others.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on June 15, 2017

State and Lemp never disappoints. Love the ambience, the food (crazy creative, but delicious). Seating is limited so it's always a very intimate and personal experience. Never feel rushed. The wine pairings are always interesting (and plentiful). This is probably the 5th or 6th time I've eaten here and this one just might have been the best ever.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 9, 2017

It's an entirlt wonderful experience and one I won't soon forget.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Our main issue was the noise level. There is no sound barrier whatsoever and with music playing in the background it is impossible to talk across the table. The tables are 2 inches apart, so you are left to visit with the stranger to the left or right of you, not the person you are dining with. The meal was two nights ago and the only memory of the cuisine I ate were the morels, and the rice casserole. For $250+ I would expect every item to be memorable, including the bread.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Creative and delicious! Such a wonderful experience every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 31, 2017

We reserved on our anniversary date which just happened to be on a wine tasting night. Surprisingly there were 7 courses and we didn't know what we were going to be served as the menu was unique to the 8 wines we sampled. It was amazing. It took 3 hours to complete the meal. Each course was accompanied by an amazing wine and an explanation about the wine from a gentleman from the winery. Each course the chef came out to explain the nuances of the dish and why it paired well with that wine.

All in all it was amazing. The staff were super accomodating on our request to sit at the end and also that we do not prefer veal. It was spendier than we thought it was going to be, but for a special occasion it was lovely and an experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The experience was extraordinary. We were celebrating a birthday and the entire evening was delightful and delicious. So impressed and excited that State and Lemp is here in Boise, Idaho. How fortunate for us. We will definitely go again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Seasonal, Organic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Food was great but portions were very small. Had to go get a couple of slices of pizza after. Clients had a great time but wouldn't go again if I was spending my own money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 12, 2017

State and Lemp is more than just dining, it's an experience. One of the best dining experiences that you can have in the Treasure Valley and right up there with the rest of the Pacific NW.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The bread was unbelievable as was the wine. The menu was sea food heavy and I do not like sea food. We went with a group so I was just one of some. Those who ate the sea food said it was good. The entre' was lamb and I thought it was good, and I am not crazy about lamb. Did I mention the bread was phenomenal?
The restaurant and staff were stellar. If you want to eat pay close attention to the menu. If the menu tickles your pallet you will thoroughly enjoy your experience.
My wife is GF and those guys bent over backwards to make sure she had a menu that met her needs.

Tags: Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food, surroundings, service, guests, were all superb. Price is up there, however it's definitely worth it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The most interesting meal I've had in Boise. Combinations not found anywhere else, amazing preparation, great service. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This is THE gem of the Gem State. James Beard nominations and awards are well deserved. The dishes are so well thought out and executed. The service is completely anticipatory and completely unobtrusive. The ambiance is wonderful. The wine pairings are enlightening. I could go on with superlatives for a long time, but the bottom line is that if you want a revelatory dining experience in a completely enjoyable atmosphere, I honestly cannot identify a better place anywhere.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I had been wanting to try this place for awhile now and a friend was visiting from Los Angeles, so I took the opportunity to check it out. I have been to Blue Hill in Tarrytown, NY and loved the experience---State and Lemp seemed like it would be a similar experience. I totally had a blast at State and Lemp. Not to mention that the experience was a great value because this experience in a big city is $$$. The food was wonderful and adventurous and the service was memorable. I would go again! Maybe for my birthday, and rent the place out for myself and friends.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Truly exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Amazing service and culinary dining experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This was our first time at State & Lemp - we went to celebrate several birthdays and had a very good experience. Having eaten at many of the best restaurants in town over the past 20 years, State & Lemp definitely raises the bar for local fine dining in Boise. Frankly, there's nothing else like it in the area. Chef Kris Komori and his team bring art, food, and science together in every plate they create. Their attention to detail is immaculate and the flavors they create are exciting, surprising, and satisfying. The price is definitely high for Boise, but I think it's worth every penny for those who can afford it. Go in with an open mind and trust that Chef Kris and company will prepare a delicious meal like nothing else in town!

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Excellent birthday dinner , very accommodating to vegetarian needs despite price fix menu. Met us at the door with a nice glass of sparkling rose and met very nice people at the family style table arrangement. Great food, great service, relaxing atmosphere. I appreciated the call the day before to go over the menu and make substitutions if needed. Lots of personal touches make this a special dining experience

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fun, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Wonderful dinner! We love the atmosphere and amazing service. Always a unique and enjoyable experience.

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 15, 2017

great, interesting food. Wine pairings were good (not over the top), but no discussion of what we were drinking or why, which is a surprise when so much effort and imagination goes into a very eclectic and well done menu.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 12, 2017

State and Lemp is a creative and fun restaurant worthy of LA. We are moving to Boise and are excited to know that there is such a great restaurant here!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

a special place. not private. you mix with others. fun social evening. impressive meal experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Wonderful restaurant. They make a big effort for their diners. And the food is delicious. I loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 31, 2017

It's such a pleasure to have a dining experience of this quality in Boise. Chef Kris Komori brings regional credibility with a second James Beard nomination for Best Chef: Northwest. He's a food rockstar!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We enjoyed the food and meeting new people! It was a very memorable meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 30, 2017

State & Lemp is iconic with its incredible mesh of flavors, absolutely stunning plating, and unforgettable ambiance. Kris is kind, humble, and Boise is incredibly blessed to have such a talented chef in its midst. The best fine dining experience in the west!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 25, 2017

During a visit to Boise, Idaho we visited State & Lemp and enjoyed their Saturday night "family-style" dinner seating at 9:00 PM. I am a professional food writer and restaurant critic and, frankly, I've eaten in very few restaurants in the U.S. that can compare to this one.

From the moment we were greeted at the door with glasses of Champagne, to the final morsel of a phenomenal multi-course tasting menu (with wine pairings), we were astonished by the quality of food and service - especially at very reasonable prices.

Ingredients are sourced locally (mostly) and the menu, which changes frequently, is very innovative. Service is somehow simultaneously friendly and informal, yet every bit as attentive as I've experienced in Michelin 3-Star restaurants in Europe. Servers knew both my and my wife's first names, which was a nice touch.

Not to knock Boise, but I was surprised to find a restaurant of this superb quality there. State and Lemp could easily be one of San Francisco's or New York City's most appealing restaurants. It's that good.

Don't even THINK about visiting Boise without dining at State and Lemp. You'll enjoy one of the best meals of your life.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Seasonal, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Really enjoyed this, and can't wait for their next menu change in the future. This is very much so a special occasion sort of place, but I'm glad Boise has a gem like this even though its a rare day most people will be spending $100+ per person on a dinner, but then again, it's worth it, and the night is an event, not just a dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Very good service. Accommodated our vegan meal request. Food was very good, but possibly a little over priced. However, given that there is little competition for them in Boise and the farm to table ingrediants, we didn't mind the price. Perfect for special occasions.

Tags: Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.