About State & Lemp

2870 West State Street
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

Welcome to State & Lemp we are a small contemporary american restaurant featuring an ever evolving prix fixe menu based on seasonal goods. Our menu and restaurant showcase local and regional farmers, ranchers, artists and craftsmen. We also offer a carefully selected 5-course wine pairing.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Lemp

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 429-6735

Website:
http://stateandlemp.com/

Catering:
State & Lemp will cater special events for special people on special occasions. Please contact Remi McManus directly to discuss details.

Parking Details:
State & Lemp has a private lot, as well as street parking. If you require special assistance with adequate notice we will gladly accommodate.

Public Transit:
Valley stop in front of building.

Executive Chef:
Jay Henry

Private Party Facilities:
State & Lemp is perfectly set up to host private functions. Please contact Remi McManus directly to discuss details.

Private Party Contact:
Remi Mcmanus: 2084296735x

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
State & Lemp is perfectly set up to host special events. Please contact Remi McManus directly to discuss details.

State & Lemp Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

5.0

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Idaho
Best Food
Idaho
Best Service
Idaho
13 More
Best Ambiance
Idaho
Best Value
Idaho
Fit for Foodies
Idaho
Notable Wine List
Idaho
Special Occasion
Idaho
Best Overall
Boise
Best Food
Boise
Best Service
Boise
Best Ambiance
Boise
Best Value
Boise
Fit for Foodies
Boise
Romantic
Boise
Special Occasion
Boise
Best Restaurants in Boise ›

Fit for Foodies (48)
Special Occasion (47)
Notable Wine List (22)
See All
Romantic (18)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Local Ingredients (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Organic (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Cozy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Healthy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Authentic (2)
Casual (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Business Meals (1)
Family Style (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
238 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

What to say about State & Lemp? OH how I ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

What to say about State & Lemp? OH how I wish we had known in advance how this restaurant operates, because the surprise factor colored our experience for the first part of this meal. When we arrived, we were greeted with a glass of champagne and felt a bit like we were crashing a private party - but no, that's how the restaurant works. S&L takes a limited number of reservations for a prix fixe menu that is themed. Seating is sort of family-style, with a row of tables running through the small space. There is a placecard at each table, so seating is pre-set. You're shoulder-to-shoulder with your neighbor. The service is swift but not rushed, the food is amazing, but the presentation a bit on the "precious" side: small and artistic. Wine is paired with each course. Noise level is loud. Thankfully our neighbors were incredibly interesting, and therefore our final night in Boise was in lovely company.

After the "what the heck is this?" surprise wore off we enjoyed ourselves and had a wonderful meal. The staff honored our no-meat request and we made new friends. Would we go back? Yes if feeling adventurous; no if seeking a quiet meal and private conversation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was enjoyable. The food was fantastic ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined 7 days ago

It was enjoyable. The food was fantastic. The wine pairing was well selected. If you are in town or visiting, I would highly recommend giving Sate & Lemp a try. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

State and Lemp never fails to impress, e ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

State and Lemp never fails to impress, excellent and interesting experience from beginning to end

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For a truly exceptional dining experienc ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

For a truly exceptional dining experience, State and Lemp is a perfect choice. The staff is polite, warm, knowledgable about the food and wine, and very efficient. The chef prepares creative, unique, aesthetically-pleasing courses that are just the right size. The wines choices compliment the food. The food is sourced locally. The small dining area is inviting and cozy. My husband and I will definitely be back for another wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Innovative and interesting, this is anb ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Innovative and interesting, this is anb excellent dining experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Organic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food! Everything was prepared t ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Amazing food! Everything was prepared to perfection. I would highly recommend State & Lemp to anyone.

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

On our first visit to State & Lemp, we c ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

On our first visit to State & Lemp, we celebrated our 29th anniversary. Both the food and service were exceptional! We were greeted to the dining room with a glass of champagne and seated at a long table next to other guests. Contributing to the delightful evening were the conversations we had with the fellow diners on either side of us. It was truly a wonderful evening of great food, great service and great conversation.

Tags: Modern Decor, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you fancy yourself a foodie and like ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

If you fancy yourself a foodie and like to be surprised by your food, this is an amazing place. It is a totally different dining experience than a typical restaurant. They do a great job combining exciting flavors, ingredients, and textures.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The meal and while dining experience was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The meal and while dining experience was fabulous, as it always is. The food and wine pairings are spectacular and the whole team does a great job. We enjoy meeting other people who are also vested in an excellent culinary experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a superb restaurant. Definitely ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

This is a superb restaurant. Definitely expensive but my wife and I felt the food and wine paired with each course were exceptional. I'm very glad we went!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing! Every course was delicious and ...

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Amazing! Every course was delicious and included something I've never tried before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You can't get out of this place without ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

You can't get out of this place without running a full gamut of delightful textures, colors, flavors, and shapes. Extremely thoughtful wine pairings. This meal's standout was the octopus: a huge hunk of tender tentacle was perfectly cooked and was just luscious with the GrüVe. Great company with neighboring tables. Jay, Remi, and staff put on such a welcoming and engaging meal. High fives!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, good service, so-so ambiance ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great food, good service, so-so ambiance. If you are looking for a great meal experience State and Lemp delivers. However, if you are wanting a quiet table to reminisce with your significant other then you should probably look elsewhere. The tables are small and VERY close together. I was literally closer to the two people on either side of me than my spouse across the table. I even bumped elbows with the gentleman on my right a couple of times. Also, once all the conversation begins, the room is small enough that hearing the person directly across from you can be challenging.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

We had a fabulous dinner at State and L ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had a fabulous dinner at State and Lemp - the service was great, each dish was unique and the wine pairings perfect. We hadn't been in summer before and I really enjoyed the summer vegetables.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful find. Food was very very good ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Wonderful find. Food was very very good, service was attentive. Next time I am in Boise, I'll definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for a memorable and delightful ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Thank you for a memorable and delightful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never disappointed after an evening at S ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Never disappointed after an evening at State & Lemp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Jay and Remi have created something trul ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Jay and Remi have created something truly special at State & Lemp. The food is consistently creative and outstanding, the wine pairings spot-on, the service perfectly orchestrated, and the ambience and local art masterfully curated. We've now dined at State & Lemp with friends from across the street, across the country, and across the globe who all agree that it's one of the best dining experiences out there. Thank you Jay, Remi, and Kris for sharing your love and talent with all of us here in Boise!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

These guys don't mess around! From the m ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

These guys don't mess around! From the moment you walk into the door the service is impeccable. Their service is not stiff but a casual, down-to-earth approach that makes you feel at home. The food comes in waves of incredibly matched subtle flavors... I just kept getting blown away by each dish! The wine is paired perfectly with each course. Just an overall wonderful experience. I can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best that Boise has to offer. That is a ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Best that Boise has to offer. That is as simple as I can put it. Sure it's expensive but it is an experience that is hands down the best.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic meal, eclectic and intriguing ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Fantastic meal, eclectic and intriguing courses, attractively presented, wonderfully prepared. Wait staff is very attentive and friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service left nothing more ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The food and service left nothing more to be desired. The food was creative, well prepared and presented and the pairing with the wine was excellent. The service was very attentive and not at all intrusive.

However, the noise level was excessive, conversation was difficult. Some sound suppression like wall coverings or curtains would have absorbed some of the echoing. It will keep us from coming back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

If you haven't been here yet, please, d ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

If you haven't been here yet, please, do so!

Incredible food, atmosphere, staff. Oh yeah.....the wine and champagne.....awesome!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A true 5-star dining experience in Boise ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

A true 5-star dining experience in Boise, with the price to match. Certainly an experience on occasion!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

One of the most memorable meals I have e ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

One of the most memorable meals I have ever had. Magical evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This place is incredible! Chef Kris is ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This place is incredible! Chef Kris is a true artist and magician, Remi and Jay and the rest of the team make this such a great experience and truly unique, raising the bar way high for the Boise foodie/local food movement scene. Always wind up meeting interesting dining companions and having great conversations along with the incredible food. Such a good time, when I ate there last week I also bought a gift certificate for friends to go in the future!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Remarkable concepts, flavors, execution ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Remarkable concepts, flavors, execution and delivery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible. Wine pairings were thoughtfu ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Incredible. Wine pairings were thoughtfully chosen and outstanding. We loved the judicious use of gelatins throughout this evening's courses. The razor clams hidden under the tomato gazpacho (this review is two weeks late- am I remembering that right?) were delightful. The egg and corn course was a crowd favorite, and everyone thought this dish looked the best (fried corn threads, right? they were bursting out around the yolk perched atop the corn. It was beautiful!). Salmon Garganega/chardonnay was my favorite pairing, though I was out-voted by friends who liked the pork pairing even more. Dessert was a home-run, with the rosemary sauce standing out a favorite flavor of the evening. High fives all around. Bonus points for a meal so good that *I can still remember these things two weeks later*.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was fantastic. Wine pairings were p ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was fantastic. Wine pairings were perfect. Great atmosphere. Engaging and present staff. Visionary ownership. This is an unparalleled dining experience in Boise, maybe the whole state.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner hear is always an interesting foo ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Dinner hear is always an interesting food adventure. You'll feel like a judge on Top Chef.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is the best restaurant in the world ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This is the best restaurant in the world. no hyperbole

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The most unique and pleasurable dining e ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The most unique and pleasurable dining experience in all of Boise! Food is off the charts and worth every penny.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was passable but in limited por ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was passable but in limited portions. The wine presented was excellent. If asked, I'd describe this as more of a wine experience rather than a dining occaison.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

State and Lemp offers a unique dining ex ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

State and Lemp offers a unique dining experience in Boise. My wife and I loved all five of the courses on their prixe fixe menu, but the Salmon and Cherry Tomato dishes really stood out as excellent. The service and atmosphere were excellent. Highly recommend for any special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had excellent service. We felt welcom ...

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had excellent service. We felt welcomed and it was a very exciting tasting experience. The food flavors are amazing, surprising and explosive, and wine is not the exception.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

State & Lemp has been a great addition t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

State & Lemp has been a great addition to the Boise restaurant scene. The creative use of local ingredients is second to none, and the restaurant staff are all enthusiastic about the creations. For anyone looking for an "out of the box" dining experience Id highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Another outstanding dinner! The first co ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Another outstanding dinner! The first course centered on wild currant was inspired, with complementary sweets, salts, and savories permuted among textures ranging from crispy fried trout skin to silky crème fraîche. This was followed by one of our party's favorite courses, a cherry gazpacho (with matcha ice cream, am I remembering that right? just incredible) that was perfectly paired with a rosé. The pork belly - pinot noir and beef - rouge pairings were complimented as well. Dessert proved to be the evening's winner: Simply stated cake, curds, sweet honey and savory olive oil. Overall, high fives all around.

Having completed our third visit, I think claiming consistently delicious food at State & Lemp is easily defensible. Two themes that are now emerging are that (1) the wine pairings are also consistently thoughtful, and (2) soups and emulsions are an especially strong suit here. This place is becoming a favorite for special occasions and for blowing the minds of visiting friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent, thoughtfully prepared dishes ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Excellent, thoughtfully prepared dishes that highlight very local cuisine. Each of the courses was delicious and the portions were generous but not overwhelming.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a wonderful evening. The menu ...

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

This was a wonderful evening. The menu is Prix Fixe. Which is always a fun way to experience new ideas for food and wine paring and using herbs, flowers, grains and vegetables that one would normally not have around the house. Sitting next to a very young connosseur (11) was the highlight for me. I would love to book the whole room for an evening someday. If you are looking for a unique experience in Boise. It is a must do.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Masterpiece

 
 (Boise)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Wow. My date and I were blown away by this place. We are adventurous diners. The creativity of the menu and use of ingredients can only be compared to a fine restaurant in NYC, Paris or Copenhagen. Unexpected for the north end of Boise, ID.

The wine pairing is a must. They match each course perfectly. Some reviewers said that they left hungry. Those people came to eat...not dine. There is a Pizza Hut across the street for eaters. We did NOT leave hungry. The price can be limiting for some but it is an experience that was worth every penny.

I cannot wait to return to see what they come up with next!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.