Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.75mi
  2. Distance: 1.09mi
  3. Distance: 1.13mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.75mi
  2. Distance: 1.09mi
  3. Distance: 1.13mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.75mi
  2. Distance: 1.09mi
  3. Distance: 1.13mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.75mi
  2. Distance: 1.09mi
  3. Distance: 1.13mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi

About State & Lemp

Welcome to State & Lemp we are a small contemporary american restaurant featuring an ever evolving prix fixe menu based on seasonal goods. Our menu and restaurant showcase local and regional farmers, ranchers, artists and craftsmen. We also offer a carefully selected 5-course wine pairing.

2870 West State Street
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Lemp

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 429-6735

Website:
http://stateandlemp.com/

Catering:
State & Lemp will cater special events for special people on special occasions. Please contact Remi McManus directly to discuss details.

Parking Details:
State & Lemp has a private lot, as well as street parking. If you require special assistance with adequate notice we will gladly accommodate.

Public Transit:
Valley stop in front of building.

Executive Chef:
Jay Henry

Private Party Facilities:
State & Lemp is perfectly set up to host private functions. Please contact Remi McManus directly to discuss details.

Private Party Contact:
Remi Mcmanus: (208) 429-6735

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
State & Lemp is perfectly set up to host special events. Please contact Remi McManus directly to discuss details.

State & Lemp Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

5.0

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (36)
Special Occasion (32)
Creative Cuisine (31)
See All
Local Ingredients (28)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Good for a Date (22)
Romantic (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Fun (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Modern Decor (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Molecular Gastronomy (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Organic (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Healthy (8)
Authentic (8)
Seasonal (8)
Cozy (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Business Meals (2)
Vegan (2)
Casual (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Disabled Access (2)
 (1)
People Watching (1)
Private Room (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
312 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent birthday dinner , very accommodating to vegetarian needs despite price fix menu. Met us at the door with a nice glass of sparkling rose and met very nice people at the family style table arrangement. Great food, great service, relaxing atmosphere. I appreciated the call the day before to go over the menu and make substitutions if needed. Lots of personal touches make this a special dining experience

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Fun, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 16, 2017

great, interesting food. Wine pairings were good (not over the top), but no discussion of what we were drinking or why, which is a surprise when so much effort and imagination goes into a very eclectic and well done menu.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 13, 2017

State and Lemp is a creative and fun restaurant worthy of LA. We are moving to Boise and are excited to know that there is such a great restaurant here!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

a special place. not private. you mix with others. fun social evening. impressive meal experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Wonderful restaurant. They make a big effort for their diners. And the food is delicious. I loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 1, 2017

It's such a pleasure to have a dining experience of this quality in Boise. Chef Kris Komori brings regional credibility with a second James Beard nomination for Best Chef: Northwest. He's a food rockstar!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We enjoyed the food and meeting new people! It was a very memorable meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 31, 2017

State & Lemp is iconic with its incredible mesh of flavors, absolutely stunning plating, and unforgettable ambiance. Kris is kind, humble, and Boise is incredibly blessed to have such a talented chef in its midst. The best fine dining experience in the west!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , Fun, , , ,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 26, 2017

During a visit to Boise, Idaho we visited State & Lemp and enjoyed their Saturday night "family-style" dinner seating at 9:00 PM. I am a professional food writer and restaurant critic and, frankly, I've eaten in very few restaurants in the U.S. that can compare to this one.

From the moment we were greeted at the door with glasses of Champagne, to the final morsel of a phenomenal multi-course tasting menu (with wine pairings), we were astonished by the quality of food and service - especially at very reasonable prices.

Ingredients are sourced locally (mostly) and the menu, which changes frequently, is very innovative. Service is somehow simultaneously friendly and informal, yet every bit as attentive as I've experienced in Michelin 3-Star restaurants in Europe. Servers knew both my and my wife's first names, which was a nice touch.

Not to knock Boise, but I was surprised to find a restaurant of this superb quality there. State and Lemp could easily be one of San Francisco's or New York City's most appealing restaurants. It's that good.

Don't even THINK about visiting Boise without dining at State and Lemp. You'll enjoy one of the best meals of your life.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Seasonal, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Very good service. Accommodated our vegan meal request. Food was very good, but possibly a little over priced. However, given that there is little competition for them in Boise and the farm to table ingrediants, we didn't mind the price. Perfect for special occasions.

Tags: Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Farm to table and an amazing social indulgence. This place is one of a kind. It brings out the best in Boise. Great people, great food. A truly amazing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

They did lemons to lemonade with the building. The decor is fabulous and loved that it was a mini art gallery displaying local artists' works. The service was just amazing and not like anything you get in any other restaurant in Boise or Idaho. It feels as though you are in Manhattan or Beverly Hills. The food was very creative and delicious and just the right amount with the 5 courses. What a nice addition to our city. We will definitely go again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Awesome experience. Food was some of the best I have ever tasted. The wine pairing went perfect with each course. Service was top notch. I will definitely be going back for more.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 12, 2017

One of the best fine dining experiences of my life. I am eagerly awaiting the next change in menu so I can make this a seasonal treat to me and my husband.

Wine pairings were exceptionally balanced with the food. It was a pleasure to notice the changes in wine flavors as they interacted with the associated course.

The amount of food was excellent. I left very full. I can't imagine not being full after that many courses.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 10, 2017

It was awesome. The service was exceptional. The chefs were very accessible and interactive. Loved it would go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This restaurant takes the description "eclectic dining" to an almost satirical level. Servers insist on telling you the inspiration for ever course. Portions are tiny, to the point of being almost insulting. Noise level is deafening. Wine - bottom shelf supermarket quality. All of this would be excusable if the food really lived up to all the pretentious hype, but it doesn't, or on our night at least, it didn't. Be "inspired" go somewhere else.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I was so blown away by the food and the fun atmosphere. The seating is intimate but fosters an easy environment to meet the people around you and share a unique dining experience. I loved how relaxed the environment makes you feel. Not stuffy and like you shouldn't touch anything. I can't wait to experience it again! Thank you!

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Vegan, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Organic, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Outstanding food, atmosphere, and service. Highly recommend the Saturday Supper Club for a great all inclusive experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on February 26, 2017

By far the best restaurant in Idaho. State & Lemp is definitely deserving of their James Beard nominations. A perfect blend of innovation and technique. Great service and wine pairings.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This was our second visit to State & Lemp and it was just as good as the first one. It's hard to add anything new and original to a review given the good coverage they receive here on OpenTable. And, I agree with all the comments regarding the food and wine. But, let me try a couple of ideas for those that have not been there. One, if you like wine, make sure to get the wine pairing with the food. You will be amazed. And remember the wine and food are paired together. So, maybe taste the wine before the dish and then taste it with the dish and enjoy how the experience changes. Don't drink the whole glass before the food shows up! Second, a big part of the State & Lemp experience are your fellow diners. As others have said, seating is communal and it is like one big family table. So, get to know your neighbors. You know you have one thing in common to start -- an interest in good food. Then let conversation go from there.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 18, 2017

What a beautiful night. Best dining experience ever!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on February 17, 2017

This is easily the best restaurant in Idaho. Best service, knowledgeable staff, outstanding cuisine. Just a memorable experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Second time going. Food was ehh. Wasn't so great the second time around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Love this place! Will always try to go when I'm In Boise

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I felt like giving the Chef a standing ovation at the conclusion of our meal. Delicious, creative and beautifully presented.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Loved everything. Cannot wait to go back! The menu was special, creative, and incredibly well done. The wine was paired perfectly. Perfect for special occasions. Best in Boise is an understatement!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I was extremely impressed with the level of creative ingredient transformation in all of the courses. I had a lovely evening, and will return again and again to be wowed and inspired!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 8, 2017

More than great food, this is art. If you really appreciate fine cuisine this is a must.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Casual, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Organic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We had a wonderful dining experience at State and Lemp. The food, the service, the ambiance, and variety were all outstanding.

Tags: Modern Decor, Private Room, Organic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We had the pleasure of dining on the first night of the Midwest menu for February. The experience is difficult to capture in words. To share with you the complete balance of artistry of presentation, explanations of each course and wine paired to perfection will not be enough to give due credit. We will be back, special occasion or everyday as a special occasion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Organic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on January 28, 2017

State and Lemp is a fabulous find on Boise’s west side. I would hazard to guess that there is nothing like Chef Komori’s cutting-edge food and stunning presentations within hundreds of miles.

There are one or two seatings per night, depending on the day of the week, and seating is communal. You get a printed menu and a name card – ours said Happy Anniversary. We were greeted with glasses of sparkling rosé (with refills if you wanted). It was like being invited to an upscale, but convivial, dinner party. It is a five-course tasting menu, plus an amuse bouche and a palate-cleansing sorbet. On the night we went, the food was designed to pick up the themes in the paintings of a local artist, whose works were on display. The staff describes the ingredients and origins of each course as it is being served. Some highlights were the sake-marinated fresh anchovy; the “cappuccino”-like mushroom soup, in which foamed cream was separate from the broth; and the beef short rib cooked sous-vide for 60 hours and dusted with charcoal. Portion sizes were just right (though I would gladly have taken seconds on dessert), and the wine pairings were generous pours. Afterwards, the chef came out and chatted with the diners.

We are relatively new to Boise, and this was our first visit, but we definitely will be back! Congratulations to Chef Komori and his team for creating such a marvelous experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 21, 2017

What a fabulous experience!! I do not eat fish or shellfish and they accommodated me with unbelievable substitutes. It was not obvious that I was eating differently from those around me. I enjoyed every bite and learned how the complementing wine heights the flavor of the meal! What a clever idea to tie each course to the artist being featured on the walls.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great food and service by the staff. The food, wine and art all harmoniously melded to create a unique dining experience. Hands down one of the best if not the best food in Boise and well worth the cost.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Excellent dinner as usual and great atmosphere. This was our second visit and is a fantastic place to eat in Boise.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our experience at State & Lemp highly exceeded our expectations. Each meal was crafted thoughtfully, and each had such unique pallets and wine pairings. We will definitely be back! We attended Saturday night supper club. It was SO much fun! We were celebrating two birthdays, and were pleasantly surprised to find birthday greetings on our table cards. The food was nothing short of amazing! State & Lemp is hands down the best restaurant in Boise. Thank you for a wonderful and unforgettable experience.

Tags: Organic, Good for Groups, Healthy, Hot Spot, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Business Meals, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This is a special treat!! A pre fixed menu and wine pairings. You are treated very well and the finding experience is just that..an experience. You will sit at a communal table with 19 people you have never met. My wife and I enjoyed the atmosphere. Each dish is explained to you prior to consuming it. I was worried that I would still be hungry when I left, surprisingly I was not. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Eclectic food, great service, warm ambiance, and an overall fun experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This is one of my favorite dining locations in Boise. Unique dishes that you just cannot get anywhere else in the valley. Wonderful wine and/or beer pairings with each dish. A little pricey so it's not an everyday haunt. However the overall dish presentation, combination of flavors and ever-changing menu are well worth the adventure.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is our second trip to State and Lemp and we enjoyed it as much as the first visit. This isn't a place you'll visit every week for some comfort food, this is a special occasion, I'm going to be adventurous and try some excellent food that I normally wouldn't try on a dare, memorable event experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Having been here twice, and having eaten in many nice restaurants around the world, nothing beats the experience, food quality, taste, and satisfaction that I experienced at State & Lemp. If you make a reservation and can go, it will be well worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.