Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.75mi
  2. Distance: 1.09mi
  3. Distance: 1.13mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.75mi
  2. Distance: 1.09mi
  3. Distance: 1.13mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.75mi
  2. Distance: 1.09mi
  3. Distance: 1.13mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.75mi
  2. Distance: 1.09mi
  3. Distance: 1.13mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi

About State & Lemp

Welcome to State & Lemp we are a small contemporary american restaurant featuring an ever evolving prix fixe menu based on seasonal goods. Our menu and restaurant showcase local and regional farmers, ranchers, artists and craftsmen. We also offer a carefully selected 5-course wine pairing.

2870 West State Street
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Lemp

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 429-6735

Website:
http://stateandlemp.com/

Catering:
State & Lemp will cater special events for special people on special occasions. Please contact Remi McManus directly to discuss details.

Parking Details:
State & Lemp has a private lot, as well as street parking. If you require special assistance with adequate notice we will gladly accommodate.

Public Transit:
Valley stop in front of building.

Executive Chef:
Kris Komori

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
State & Lemp is perfectly set up to host special events. Please contact Remi McManus directly to discuss details.

State & Lemp Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Romantic (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Authentic (3)
Cozy (3)
Fun (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Healthy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Seasonal (2)
Business Meals (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort by
S
365 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 5, 2017

We love State and Lemp! Always inventive and new. The pairings are fun and the experience remains the best in Boise. Saturday evenings can feel a bit rushed. Perhaps because of the supper club seating at 9 pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on November 5, 2017

An evening at State and Lemp is always a unique dining adventure. There is nothing else like it in Boise. They strive to bring together combinations of flavors that amaze and delight their guests! The presentation is beautiful and artistic as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Such an interesting place! Always a 5 course prix fix menu that is unique, beautiful, and, on the basis of this first meal for us, totally delicious. Probably not for the finicky or non-adventurous eater, but a joy for those who wish to explore innovative, fine cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on November 2, 2017

Food was good. Menu tried a little too hard for the exotic and multiple flavors in every dish. Could have used one or two knockout protein dishes as part of multiple courses. Wine pairing was excellent. Service great. Ambiance nice but very noisy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on October 15, 2017

A must try - our fourth visit - never disappointed! It's like eating with an artist - a genuine food artist. A Michelangelo of food! We no longer ask what the menu will be. We just go and thoroughly enjoy each and every course - all 5 courses with excellent wine pairings . Every course is explained as it is served. All questions answered. Menu changes about every six weeks - note - go to State & Lemp's website to see current menu. Open Table's is not updated. Kris is a most creative and talented chef. Words cannot adequately describe his food and how talented he is and the entire staff is well versed in everything about your meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 12, 2017

State and Lemp is a very unique and special place. We are fortunate to be able to experience a meal and a restaurant dining experience of this caliber in Boise, ID. It is truly special. The food is outrageous and extremely creative and will take you on a journey into the unknown. Use of local and unique ingredients is an understatement, service is just the right tone with the special touch from Remi and his staff. If you are looking for a James Beard level experience, this is it. They've been in business for 4 years and never repeated a menu, currently serving menu #103
I believe. Thank you S&L.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

My favorite restaurant of all time! I recommend it to all serious foodies I know... It's equivalent to dinner and a show, and never disappoints!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Fun, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Super fun evening :) creative cooking, divine flavors, excellent wine pairings, lovely ambiance. But a bit overpriced.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2017

State & Lemp never ceases to amaze me. The innovative menu designs have consistently delivered great cuisine through all the courses.

We can't wait to get back after the next menu change.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Absolutely amazing experience and it is easy to see why this has become a jewel in Boise and voted Top 50 restaurants!! Highly recommend this restaurant- edible art!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The best restaurant in Metropolitan Boise by far. Superb food with amazing preparation, presentation, and service. Saturday night Supper Club particularly spectacular. An amazing gourmet value for the price. I cannot state highly enough how lucky we are to have Remi, Jay, and Chris in our city

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 3, 2017

First time at State and Lemp last Saturday night. I loved the feel of the place, the decorations and the whole concept. However, the food was not that great in my opinion. There was nothing that I tasted that I thought was that amazing. I ate everything that was offered and had no problem with the unique ingredients, but nothing I ate blew me away. I will give it another try sometime and hope this was just an off night before I make a final judgment.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Awesome! Would recommend it to everyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

I hope for their sake it was just an off night. We were there for meal 101. We appreciated the art and the attempt to replicate the art thru food. The presentation was attractive, but unfortunately the best tasting part of the meal was the bread and butter! We all felt that the issue was WAY too many competing ingredients in each dish, trying for exotic but falling flat or off putting in the flavor. The wine pairings were good drinks.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

A real treat. An art show in addition to very original food

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 17, 2017

A wonderfully unique fine dining experience. Definitely food prepared by an artist. Thank you so much for the the great experience during our vacation to Idaho.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The food was amazing and the menu inspiration was creative. It pushed me out of my comfort area and I definitely tried food I would never have ordered. Great service, fantastic wine and overall a wonderful evening. STRONGLY recommend using a cab or Uber service: the wine flowed freely.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Everything at State and Lemp is immaculate: ambiance, service, cuisine, wine, and value. It's a dining experience that is difficult to forget and even harder to surpass.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 21, 2017

What a great experience, if you have a chance to get in here, don't miss it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The entire experience is so amazing. We've eaten here many times and this was one of the best menus yet! The food was outstanding and Kris deserves the James Beard nomination he received! This should be the first Michelin stared place in Boise!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Overall it was a fun evening the food was great, the flowers that State & Lemp provided for my wife's birthday were exquisite. My wife enjoyed the meal but she felt rushed and I would say the noise level was too high. The service was amazing and and it was a great way to celebrate her birthday. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Best fine dining experience in Boise, period. Third visit, we will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The food, service and ambiance were amazing. The best fine dining experience I've had in Boise. Would highly recommend and I look forward to going back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Exceptional dining, exquisite presentation, perfect service. Truly a dining experience of the highest caliber.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We were visiting from San Francisco. From the moment we walked in the door and were greeted with a glass of sparkling rose to the final course, everything was perfect. A wonderfully curated dining experience. We even bought art from the gallery that surrounds the intimate and elegant space. An exceptional experience in Boise.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Evening was wondering, however the Scallop ceviche was my favorite. I love the way the Chef designs his plates. I definitely will be there again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Organic, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 1, 2017

My boyfriend and I were celebrating our anniversary and wanted to do something special. When we arrived we were welcomed with sparkling wine and a tour of the art gallery. The whole staff was so polite, helpful, engaging, and very enthusiastic about the food they prepared. The space was more energetic than we anticipated, but it made the night even better. The tables are in close proximity, but we were able to share our special date night together and also meet some really nice people. The food is so incredible that you can see, smell, and taste the care, passion, planning, and hard work that goes into the meal. Five courses of food and wine was definitely worth the price. It was the most amazing food we have ever eaten. It was an experience from entering to exiting the building and it was fantastic.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Nothing short of beautiful -- such care and creativity in every bite.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Great meal with friends! Best restaurant in Idaho! Deserves a Michelin star. Hi

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 22, 2017

The food was IMMACULATE, never had better food in my entire life. The costs were extreme (for Boise) but it's kinda one of those things you do just once a year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

If Golden Corral is your idea of gourmet eating, then you're not going to like State & Lemp. The portions won't be large enough and the two and a half hours that it takes to get through the meal will be way too long.

But if you enjoy food prepared by true artists, with an eye toward presentation and dishes exploding with flavor and you don't mind spending maybe more than you've ever shelled out for a meal in your life, then this is the place for you.

This was my first time at a true fine dining restaurant, led by a young, talented chef. Chef de Cuisine Kris Komori in 2017 was nominated for the second year in a row for a prestigious James Beard award.

I came for the Saturday Night Supper Club seating at 9 p.m., which provides a discounted $65 meal price over the $80 charged at their other seatings. With only 22 seats at the intimate dining space that was a Taco John's when I was a kid, reservations are required and you may have to grab a seat three or four weeks ahead of time.

They started us out with a miniature beignet on a spoon with a cream sauce. It was followed by a strawberry gazpacho surrounding pieces of duck, almonds, rose petals and pink peppercorns.

The next course featured crabcake, morel mushrooms, a radish kimchi, potato, an egg and greens. I had never eaten a morel. Wow. What great flavor and texture.

That was followed by sockeye salmon and a rice casserole sprinkled with furikake and nori. They were accompanied by a flavorful dashi.

Next was a complex ice with chamomile, pineapple and lavender with a lilac salt. That was followed by pork meatballs and pork belly, served with fava beans, peanuts and tamarind. The last course was a Japanese cheesecake, with blackberry, rhubarb, blue cheese and jalapeño.

Service was impeccable. The staff explained every course and cleared dishes before each new offering was brought out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Unfortunately State & Lemp failed short of my exceptions on both service and food:
- On service while generally good there was a very poor response to my wife finding a hair in her Strawberry Gazpacho: after the hair was shown to the staff the plate was taken back to the kitchen and replaced - as would be expected - however what was ridiculous was that the staff member commented "whether or not there was a in fact a hair we've replaced the dish" in a fairly rude manner. This is an absurd response, hairs fall into dishes all the time it's not a big deal, just apologize and move on don't try to deny it - especially as it was very clearly a hair and did not look likely anything else in the dish. If the staff member had apologized we wouldn't have given this a second thought. This is not just our opinion the (unknown to us) couple sitting beside us overhead and vocally expressed that the comment was ridiculous.
- on food I was disappointed as well. While each item on each plate was cooked extremely well, as you would expect, the combinations of the food fell flat. Also on the wine pairing, they fell flat and did not seem to enhance the individual dishes. I love the ambition of the chefs in creating unique menu's on a biweekly basis, however, it didn't work out this time. While it's great that this restaurant concept exists in Boise, given our poor experience and considering the price point ($80 for the course menu per person) we are unlikely to return to give them a second chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The food was fabulous! I will definitely recommend it to others.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on June 15, 2017

State and Lemp never disappoints. Love the ambience, the food (crazy creative, but delicious). Seating is limited so it's always a very intimate and personal experience. Never feel rushed. The wine pairings are always interesting (and plentiful). This is probably the 5th or 6th time I've eaten here and this one just might have been the best ever.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 9, 2017

It's an entirlt wonderful experience and one I won't soon forget.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Our main issue was the noise level. There is no sound barrier whatsoever and with music playing in the background it is impossible to talk across the table. The tables are 2 inches apart, so you are left to visit with the stranger to the left or right of you, not the person you are dining with. The meal was two nights ago and the only memory of the cuisine I ate were the morels, and the rice casserole. For $250+ I would expect every item to be memorable, including the bread.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Creative and delicious! Such a wonderful experience every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 31, 2017

We reserved on our anniversary date which just happened to be on a wine tasting night. Surprisingly there were 7 courses and we didn't know what we were going to be served as the menu was unique to the 8 wines we sampled. It was amazing. It took 3 hours to complete the meal. Each course was accompanied by an amazing wine and an explanation about the wine from a gentleman from the winery. Each course the chef came out to explain the nuances of the dish and why it paired well with that wine.

All in all it was amazing. The staff were super accomodating on our request to sit at the end and also that we do not prefer veal. It was spendier than we thought it was going to be, but for a special occasion it was lovely and an experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The experience was extraordinary. We were celebrating a birthday and the entire evening was delightful and delicious. So impressed and excited that State and Lemp is here in Boise, Idaho. How fortunate for us. We will definitely go again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Seasonal, Organic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Food was great but portions were very small. Had to go get a couple of slices of pizza after. Clients had a great time but wouldn't go again if I was spending my own money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.