About State & Lemp

2870 West State Street
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

Welcome to State & Lemp we are a small contemporary american restaurant featuring an ever evolving prix fixe menu based on seasonal goods. Our menu and restaurant showcase local and regional farmers, ranchers, artists and craftsmen. We also offer a carefully selected 5-course wine pairing.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Lemp

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 429-6735

Website:
http://stateandlemp.com/

Catering:
State & Lemp will cater special events for special people on special occasions. Please contact Remi McManus directly to discuss details.

Parking Details:
State & Lemp has a private lot, as well as street parking. If you require special assistance with adequate notice we will gladly accommodate.

Public Transit:
Valley stop in front of building.

Executive Chef:
Jay Henry

Private Party Facilities:
State & Lemp is perfectly set up to host private functions. Please contact Remi McManus directly to discuss details.

Private Party Contact:
Remi Mcmanus: 2084296735x

Additional:
Beer, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
State & Lemp is perfectly set up to host special events. Please contact Remi McManus directly to discuss details.

State & Lemp Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Idaho
Best Food
Idaho
Best Service
Idaho
11 More
Best Ambiance
Idaho
Best Value
Idaho
Fit for Foodies
Idaho
Special Occasion
Idaho
Best Overall
Boise
Best Food
Boise
Best Service
Boise
Best Ambiance
Boise
Best Value
Boise
Fit for Foodies
Boise
Special Occasion
Boise
Best Restaurants in Boise ›

fit for foodies (50)
special occasion (49)
good for groups (19)
See All
romantic (16)
notable wine list (16)
neighborhood gem (14)
hot spot (11)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
200 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, thoughtfully prepared dishes ...

Dined 5 days ago

Excellent, thoughtfully prepared dishes that highlight very local cuisine. Each of the courses was delicious and the portions were generous but not overwhelming.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was a wonderful evening. The menu ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

This was a wonderful evening. The menu is Prix Fixe. Which is always a fun way to experience new ideas for food and wine paring and using herbs, flowers, grains and vegetables that one would normally not have around the house. Sitting next to a very young connosseur (11) was the highlight for me. I would love to book the whole room for an evening someday. If you are looking for a unique experience in Boise. It is a must do.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Masterpiece

Dined on June 5, 2016

Wow. My date and I were blown away by this place. We are adventurous diners. The creativity of the menu and use of ingredients can only be compared to a fine restaurant in NYC, Paris or Copenhagen. Unexpected for the north end of Boise, ID. The wine pairing is a must. They match each course perfectly. Some reviewers said that they left hungry. Those people came to eat...not dine. There is a Pizza Hut across the street for eaters. We did NOT leave hungry. The price can be limiting for some but it is an experience that was worth every penny. I cannot wait to return to see what they come up with next!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Exceptional evening

Dined on June 5, 2016

We absolutely loved the meal; the presentation was so artistic, each bite a sensation of flavors for the entire palate, we were seated next to some very interesting folks, they took care to see our food sensitivities were addressed, the wine pairing with each course was spot on.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Luxurious and Welcoming

Dined on May 29, 2016

Staff was incredible. Attention to detail was amazing. Unlike anywhere else I have eaten in Boise. The menu was varied and delicious - paired with some of the best wine I've ever had. Would happily return.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Best dining experience my wife and I hav ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Best dining experience my wife and I have ever had. We have dined at some very good places coast to coast and this topped them all.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Serendipity in Boise!

Dined on May 26, 2016

State and Lemp was a total surprise. While driving from Salt Lake City, we found it on the Open Table website. . We were impressed with every aspect of the meal, from service, presentation and taste. If there was any negative, it was the noise level. We were seated next to a group of 14 and many times couldn't hear each other talk. But overall, the experience was wonderful and we'd return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Every dish was amazing and beautiful! I ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Every dish was amazing and beautiful! I will be back for sure! In addition to the incredible food, the ambiance was perfect and the staff was awesome. What a gem!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Celebration

Dined on May 15, 2016

We wanted to treat our son, daughter and their spouses as well as ourselves to a very special dinner for our 3 wedding anniversaries. A friend recommended State and Lemp. What a wonderful experience! All of us enjoyed the evening immensely!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Each dish was unique. Well balanced flav ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Each dish was unique. Well balanced flavors that played off of the food in season

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First timers, and we'll be back

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our late saturday seating at S&L was a fantastic experience. The food was prepared and presented in a fantastic setting, accompanied by nicely paired wines. The seating is personal and intimate, yet in a way that encourages you to reach out and meet the people next to you. All in all, a great food experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply extraordinary. The food, the at ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Simply extraordinary. The food, the attention to detail, the paired wines were all amazing. Even the etched glass windows paying homage to Boise were outstanding. The food was prepared with care and love and was artistic to say the least and indescribably delectable to say the most. This is a destination restaurant worthy of the 630 miles we traversed to eat here. I will go back. I just hope I'll still be able to make reservations as word of this extraordinary restaurant spreads

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another impeccable evening at State & Lemp

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

This is our second time dining at State & Lemp and both times were absolutely perfect. The service is especially stellar. And the food is always adventurous, different and nicely paired with the wines. This time we tried the Supper Club which was less expensive, but they do not skimp on the food or the wine. I highly recommend trying both the regular menu and the Supper Club menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Saturday Night Supper Club

Dined on May 1, 2016

We've been to State and Lemp a few times for normal dinner service but this was our first time for Saturday Night Supper Club. The food and service was just as on point as their normal dinner times. Since it's a bit more affordable, the supper club is a great time to check out the awesome stuff State and Lemp is doing with food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Gorgeous Presentation, Excellent Service

Dined on April 30, 2016

We went here with friends that we regularly dine with. We had read good reviews but hadn't personally talked to anyone who had been to State and Lemp. Their reputation was for fresh, locally sourced food with appropriate wine pairings. We were very surprised that the menu was Asian fusion. I was not expecting this from a restaurant that refers to itself as highlighting local options and the best of Idaho and the Northwest. These are some very distinct flavors that potential diners might want to know. Yes, we could have cancelled but we made our reservation nearly two months ahead of time and it never occurred to any of us that miso and furikake would be in play, so we had not checked the menu until the day before. Too late to cancel without a stiff penalty. As it is, we were glad we went. The service was extremely good, I haven't been very many places where they so genuinely seemed concerned that all felt welcome and cared for. This really made the evening for us. The food and wine were secondary. Each dish was visually stunning but none of us walked away thinking, "that (blank) was the best I've ever tasted." The wines were nice but none were very complex or what I would have expected from the price. Full disclosure, my family was in the wine business for decades and I have worked with some pretty good chefs and amazing home cooks. State and Lemp is about the most expensive restaurant in Boise and I don't think the price is unreasonable given the small amount of diners being served. However, if you are going out for good food and wine, you can do better for almost half the price at quite a few nice places. If you are going out for fun and a unique experience, you'll enjoy State and Lemp!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gourmet dining experience continues; my 7th time!

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Took my friend for her 70th birthday celebration. We sat between one couple who owns a California winery and another couple from Portland in the International travel business. Had a great time chatting with them. Enjoyed all the food from the octopus course to the crispy Sorghum on the salad! They always make me special things when I have dietary issues. Great service, fine wines and a gastronomic experience every time I go!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time, still a winner!!

Dined on April 22, 2016

Tremendous dining experience. The food is fantastic, from presentation to taste to attitude of chef and "servers." Very accommodating and caring to individual food issues. Will stay a go to for special occasions, like a Thursday. Thanks.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Payette Beer Pairing Dinner

Dined on April 21, 2016

Super excited to have our first experience at State and Lemp we were concerned to learn it was a beer pairing- most of us wine drinkers- but we took the risk and enjoyed every delicious drop of beer and delectable food. The introductions of the beer and each course was extremely educational, laid back and fun. I would highly recommend State and Lemp to couples, groups or corporate events, we will be back for one or all of those!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing. Incredibly unique.

Dined on April 17, 2016

Wonderfully unique experience in Boise. Just so good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Special experience!

Dined on April 1, 2016

It's was my husband's birthday and glad we chose this place! Food was great and it was a Thursday night so only 2 couples, so it felt very personalized. Music was just a little loud as the place was empty and we were sitting near the speaker. It was also strange that they wanted us to sit right next to total strangers when we practically had the whole place to ourselves.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An aunties biased review

Dined on March 27, 2016

Kris is my nephew so this review is completely biased and unobjective. Food was amazing. I especially was impressed with the coffee infused egg. I was not sure about the taste but i loved being so surprised by the taste. My favourite dish was the beef zabuton, especially because i like the idea of the beef sitting on a little cushion of rice porridge. And i love nettle. My dining partner found the nettle a little intense. She loved the first dish and was impressed with the intensity of flavour with all the previously dried and preserved ingredients. Definitely worth the twenty hour round trip car ride from vancouver. Will be a yearly pilgrammage. Best part was the little wild boar i met for the first time ! He was not part of the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular

Dined on March 27, 2016

Everything was just perfect. Food was really interesting and delicious. Service was knowledgable, friendly, and professional. Love the communal style tables. A truly unforgettable experience in the best of ways. Can't wait to go back again soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Super great experience!

Dined on March 26, 2016

Super great experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding

Dined on March 26, 2016

Vichyssoise was *insane* and the chardonnay pairing was ideal. Rabbit three-ways was delectable and the coffee-cured egg it was served with blew every mind that tasted it. The beef was cooked perfectly, and was an exquisitely marbled, fatty cut that was just right with the nettle and (very) dry cab-sauv pairing. Knocked it out of the park.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exquisite pairings / Genius menu / Stellar service

Dined on March 25, 2016

The culinary geniuses at State and Lemp are hard at work. Their ability to pair locally-sourced seasonal menu items with exquisite wines did not go unnoticed. From fanciful amuse bouche to course after course of inspired cuisine, this Boise standout is one I'd make the trip for again. Each course centered around a masterful theme (in mid-March they clearly highlighted the transition from Winter to Spring). From show-capped rice crackers to flavorful dried pomegranate, I left sated - yet dreaming of what they could create next if given more time (and more space in my belly).

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Exquisite food experience

Dined on March 10, 2016

Very sophisticated & masterful level of cooking. Too bad the sound level of the restaurant and the choice of music made it difficult to concentrate on the food & forget on having a conversation with your own party across the table. The dessert was good but not matching the level of the other dishes. It cluttered the ensemble. This is the first time I felt compel to grade dishes! We were not aware of the controlled performative experience the restaurant was going to offer. So once we surrendered to your dining protocole/experience we found ourselves wanting to dive into it & be immersed!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Notable Boise dining experience

Dined on March 3, 2016

State and Lemp offers creative food in a small but well appointed space. The 7 course meal was well executed and perfectly paced. The wine pairings were balanced and complemented the food.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous State and Lemp

Dined on February 28, 2016

State and Lemp remains the best restaurant in Idaho. Inventive gourmet cuisine, superb service, great atmosphere. I remain a devoted foodie fan

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Modern setting. Unusual combinations of ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Modern setting. Unusual combinations of flavors and ingredients. Different primary protein items, eg. lamb heart. I should have savored different parts of each dish more carefully so I could have appreciated the items in each dish.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional Foodie Experience

Dined on February 26, 2016

Having been to State & Lemp a few times now, I feel that I can give a reliable review. If the total experience of food is appealing to you, State & Lemp will not disappoint. Every component of the meal consists of tremendous preparation and thought. Regional sourcing is prevalent throughout the menu. Nuances of wine-food pairing is always special; great thought is given to capturing a specific blending of flavors for the intended result. The food is extremely inventive. The quintessential goal of "feeding the eye" is blended nicely with a pleasurable gastronomic experience. State & Lemp has an intimate and eclectic decor. It is Boise's only haute cuisine experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Dining Experience in Boise

Dined on February 14, 2016

Each course was an adventure or more like a party in your mouth. Blending flavors and textures in ways I've never imagined. The people there have a passion for the new and bold and it comes across in their product. Excellent food, well done wine pairings and amiable atmosphere. Loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Very expensive special treat

Dined on February 7, 2016

This was a very unique experience and I'm glad we went, however I do not think that the price matched the experience. Meal, wine pairing and tip for 2 were about $260 and we left hungry. I understand small portions, but the main dish was two tiny (but DELICIOUS) slices of pork. Why not four tiny slices? Presentation was fantastic, setting was very intimate. The space is beautiful with rotating artist collections. I'm a huge fan of any place that meets me at the door with champagne... the service was good but not memorable, and our server called me "sweetie,"and "dear,"which I did not appreciate. I thought that for the price, the servers could have been more engaged or told us more about the wine/meal. I thought that the wine pairing was delicious and was the best value of the experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Best Boise Has to Offer

Dined on January 29, 2016

Exquisite food. Perfect wine pairings. Impeccable service. Done and done!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Date Night and Fantastic Find in Boise

Dined on January 17, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner date night at State and Lemp. Dinner was phenomenal and such a joy to find a restaurant of this quality and innovation in Boise.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

a memorable expeience

Dined on January 7, 2016

Food as art and adventure to satisfy those who appreciate innovative gourmet dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth it.

Dined on January 3, 2016

One word. Amazing. The end. Totally worth the money, loved having the later night "Supper Club" option. I will be back. Not every week, but we will most definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Extremely tasty

Dined on January 3, 2016

Pairings were perfect, the dumplings in the mushroom soup were INSANE, the steak was incredible, and the overall experience was just lovely. A+ would go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow...again!

Dined on January 3, 2016

This was our third trip to State & Lemp and it did not disappoint. As usual, we received sparkling wine when we arrived and were able to tour the gallery and chat before the seating. Highlights of the six-course pairing included a delicious snow crab salad, a fresh-poured mushroom soup with the most unbelievable sunchoke dumplings, a red cabbage, not quite stuffed, more like infused, with duck prosciutto, hazelnuts and other yummies. The main course was beef striploin with a magnificent pomegrate-forward sauce. Out of this world. All the wine pairings were fantastic and the atmosphere conducive to memorable conversations with the good friends we came with, as well as new friends we met on both sides of us. There's nothing else like it in Idaho. By the way, the menu was totally different from our other visits, but equally delicious. The menu changes every few weeks. They will happily modify the menu for food allergies.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was really wonderful except f ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

Everything was really wonderful except for the fact that we left feeling really hungry after six courses. Portions are exceptionally small but high quality and artfully presented. Subtle and delicate flavors.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Unique experience in Boise

Dined on January 1, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed our experience at State and Lemp. Beautiful interior. Delicious food. Very visually stimulating. We would have liked something with a bit more fat so that we felt more satiated. Perhaps more protein? Overall, the experience was very special.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.