Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.75mi
  2. Distance: 1.09mi
  3. Distance: 1.13mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.75mi
  2. Distance: 1.09mi
  3. Distance: 1.13mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.75mi
  2. Distance: 1.09mi
  3. Distance: 1.13mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.75mi
  2. Distance: 1.09mi
  3. Distance: 1.13mi
  4. Distance: 1.13mi

About State & Lemp

Welcome to State & Lemp we are a small contemporary american restaurant featuring an ever evolving prix fixe menu based on seasonal goods. Our menu and restaurant showcase local and regional farmers, ranchers, artists and craftsmen. We also offer a carefully selected 5-course wine pairing.

2870 West State Street
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Lemp

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 429-6735

Website:
http://stateandlemp.com/

Catering:
State & Lemp will cater special events for special people on special occasions. Please contact Remi McManus directly to discuss details.

Parking Details:
State & Lemp has a private lot, as well as street parking. If you require special assistance with adequate notice we will gladly accommodate.

Public Transit:
Valley stop in front of building.

Executive Chef:
Jay Henry

Private Party Facilities:
State & Lemp is perfectly set up to host private functions. Please contact Remi McManus directly to discuss details.

Private Party Contact:
Remi Mcmanus: (208) 429-6735

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
State & Lemp is perfectly set up to host special events. Please contact Remi McManus directly to discuss details.

State & Lemp Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

5.0

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Creative Cuisine (33)
See All
Local Ingredients (32)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Good for a Date (20)
Fun (19)
Notable Wine List (17)
Modern Decor (16)
Romantic (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Molecular Gastronomy (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Seasonal (12)
Tasting Menu (9)
Organic (9)
Authentic (9)
Cozy (6)
Healthy (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Private Room (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Vegan (3)
People Watching (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (1)
 (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great Beer (1)
Casual (1)
Business Meals (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
322 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Food was great but portions were very small. Had to go get a couple of slices of pizza after. Clients had a great time but wouldn't go again if I was spending my own money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The bread was unbelievable as was the wine. The menu was sea food heavy and I do not like sea food. We went with a group so I was just one of some. Those who ate the sea food said it was good. The entre' was lamb and I thought it was good, and I am not crazy about lamb. Did I mention the bread was phenomenal?
The restaurant and staff were stellar. If you want to eat pay close attention to the menu. If the menu tickles your pallet you will thoroughly enjoy your experience.
My wife is GF and those guys bent over backwards to make sure she had a menu that met her needs.

Tags: Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The most interesting meal I've had in Boise. Combinations not found anywhere else, amazing preparation, great service. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This is THE gem of the Gem State. James Beard nominations and awards are well deserved. The dishes are so well thought out and executed. The service is completely anticipatory and completely unobtrusive. The ambiance is wonderful. The wine pairings are enlightening. I could go on with superlatives for a long time, but the bottom line is that if you want a revelatory dining experience in a completely enjoyable atmosphere, I honestly cannot identify a better place anywhere.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I had been wanting to try this place for awhile now and a friend was visiting from Los Angeles, so I took the opportunity to check it out. I have been to Blue Hill in Tarrytown, NY and loved the experience---State and Lemp seemed like it would be a similar experience. I totally had a blast at State and Lemp. Not to mention that the experience was a great value because this experience in a big city is $$$. The food was wonderful and adventurous and the service was memorable. I would go again! Maybe for my birthday, and rent the place out for myself and friends.

Tags: Private Room, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Truly exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Amazing service and culinary dining experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This was our first time at State & Lemp - we went to celebrate several birthdays and had a very good experience. Having eaten at many of the best restaurants in town over the past 20 years, State & Lemp definitely raises the bar for local fine dining in Boise. Frankly, there's nothing else like it in the area. Chef Kris Komori and his team bring art, food, and science together in every plate they create. Their attention to detail is immaculate and the flavors they create are exciting, surprising, and satisfying. The price is definitely high for Boise, but I think it's worth every penny for those who can afford it. Go in with an open mind and trust that Chef Kris and company will prepare a delicious meal like nothing else in town!

Tags: Seasonal, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Excellent birthday dinner , very accommodating to vegetarian needs despite price fix menu. Met us at the door with a nice glass of sparkling rose and met very nice people at the family style table arrangement. Great food, great service, relaxing atmosphere. I appreciated the call the day before to go over the menu and make substitutions if needed. Lots of personal touches make this a special dining experience

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Fun, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Wonderful dinner! We love the atmosphere and amazing service. Always a unique and enjoyable experience.

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 16, 2017

great, interesting food. Wine pairings were good (not over the top), but no discussion of what we were drinking or why, which is a surprise when so much effort and imagination goes into a very eclectic and well done menu.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 13, 2017

State and Lemp is a creative and fun restaurant worthy of LA. We are moving to Boise and are excited to know that there is such a great restaurant here!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

a special place. not private. you mix with others. fun social evening. impressive meal experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Wonderful restaurant. They make a big effort for their diners. And the food is delicious. I loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 1, 2017

It's such a pleasure to have a dining experience of this quality in Boise. Chef Kris Komori brings regional credibility with a second James Beard nomination for Best Chef: Northwest. He's a food rockstar!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We enjoyed the food and meeting new people! It was a very memorable meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 31, 2017

State & Lemp is iconic with its incredible mesh of flavors, absolutely stunning plating, and unforgettable ambiance. Kris is kind, humble, and Boise is incredibly blessed to have such a talented chef in its midst. The best fine dining experience in the west!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , Fun, , , ,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 26, 2017

During a visit to Boise, Idaho we visited State & Lemp and enjoyed their Saturday night "family-style" dinner seating at 9:00 PM. I am a professional food writer and restaurant critic and, frankly, I've eaten in very few restaurants in the U.S. that can compare to this one.

From the moment we were greeted at the door with glasses of Champagne, to the final morsel of a phenomenal multi-course tasting menu (with wine pairings), we were astonished by the quality of food and service - especially at very reasonable prices.

Ingredients are sourced locally (mostly) and the menu, which changes frequently, is very innovative. Service is somehow simultaneously friendly and informal, yet every bit as attentive as I've experienced in Michelin 3-Star restaurants in Europe. Servers knew both my and my wife's first names, which was a nice touch.

Not to knock Boise, but I was surprised to find a restaurant of this superb quality there. State and Lemp could easily be one of San Francisco's or New York City's most appealing restaurants. It's that good.

Don't even THINK about visiting Boise without dining at State and Lemp. You'll enjoy one of the best meals of your life.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Seasonal, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Really enjoyed this, and can't wait for their next menu change in the future. This is very much so a special occasion sort of place, but I'm glad Boise has a gem like this even though its a rare day most people will be spending $100+ per person on a dinner, but then again, it's worth it, and the night is an event, not just a dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Very good service. Accommodated our vegan meal request. Food was very good, but possibly a little over priced. However, given that there is little competition for them in Boise and the farm to table ingrediants, we didn't mind the price. Perfect for special occasions.

Tags: Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Farm to table and an amazing social indulgence. This place is one of a kind. It brings out the best in Boise. Great people, great food. A truly amazing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

They did lemons to lemonade with the building. The decor is fabulous and loved that it was a mini art gallery displaying local artists' works. The service was just amazing and not like anything you get in any other restaurant in Boise or Idaho. It feels as though you are in Manhattan or Beverly Hills. The food was very creative and delicious and just the right amount with the 5 courses. What a nice addition to our city. We will definitely go again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Awesome experience. Food was some of the best I have ever tasted. The wine pairing went perfect with each course. Service was top notch. I will definitely be going back for more.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 12, 2017

One of the best fine dining experiences of my life. I am eagerly awaiting the next change in menu so I can make this a seasonal treat to me and my husband.

Wine pairings were exceptionally balanced with the food. It was a pleasure to notice the changes in wine flavors as they interacted with the associated course.

The amount of food was excellent. I left very full. I can't imagine not being full after that many courses.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 10, 2017

It was awesome. The service was exceptional. The chefs were very accessible and interactive. Loved it would go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This restaurant takes the description "eclectic dining" to an almost satirical level. Servers insist on telling you the inspiration for ever course. Portions are tiny, to the point of being almost insulting. Noise level is deafening. Wine - bottom shelf supermarket quality. All of this would be excusable if the food really lived up to all the pretentious hype, but it doesn't, or on our night at least, it didn't. Be "inspired" go somewhere else.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I was so blown away by the food and the fun atmosphere. The seating is intimate but fosters an easy environment to meet the people around you and share a unique dining experience. I loved how relaxed the environment makes you feel. Not stuffy and like you shouldn't touch anything. I can't wait to experience it again! Thank you!

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Vegan, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Organic, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Outstanding food, atmosphere, and service. Highly recommend the Saturday Supper Club for a great all inclusive experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on February 26, 2017

By far the best restaurant in Idaho. State & Lemp is definitely deserving of their James Beard nominations. A perfect blend of innovation and technique. Great service and wine pairings.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This was our second visit to State & Lemp and it was just as good as the first one. It's hard to add anything new and original to a review given the good coverage they receive here on OpenTable. And, I agree with all the comments regarding the food and wine. But, let me try a couple of ideas for those that have not been there. One, if you like wine, make sure to get the wine pairing with the food. You will be amazed. And remember the wine and food are paired together. So, maybe taste the wine before the dish and then taste it with the dish and enjoy how the experience changes. Don't drink the whole glass before the food shows up! Second, a big part of the State & Lemp experience are your fellow diners. As others have said, seating is communal and it is like one big family table. So, get to know your neighbors. You know you have one thing in common to start -- an interest in good food. Then let conversation go from there.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 18, 2017

What a beautiful night. Best dining experience ever!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on February 17, 2017

This is easily the best restaurant in Idaho. Best service, knowledgeable staff, outstanding cuisine. Just a memorable experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Second time going. Food was ehh. Wasn't so great the second time around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Love this place! Will always try to go when I'm In Boise

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I felt like giving the Chef a standing ovation at the conclusion of our meal. Delicious, creative and beautifully presented.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Loved everything. Cannot wait to go back! The menu was special, creative, and incredibly well done. The wine was paired perfectly. Perfect for special occasions. Best in Boise is an understatement!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I was extremely impressed with the level of creative ingredient transformation in all of the courses. I had a lovely evening, and will return again and again to be wowed and inspired!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 8, 2017

More than great food, this is art. If you really appreciate fine cuisine this is a must.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Casual, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Organic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We had a wonderful dining experience at State and Lemp. The food, the service, the ambiance, and variety were all outstanding.

Tags: Modern Decor, Private Room, Organic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We had the pleasure of dining on the first night of the Midwest menu for February. The experience is difficult to capture in words. To share with you the complete balance of artistry of presentation, explanations of each course and wine paired to perfection will not be enough to give due credit. We will be back, special occasion or everyday as a special occasion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Organic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.