About State & Lemp

2870 West State Street
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

Welcome to State & Lemp we are a small contemporary american restaurant featuring an ever evolving prix fixe menu based on seasonal goods. Our menu and restaurant showcase local and regional farmers, ranchers, artists and craftsmen. We also offer a carefully selected 5-course wine pairing.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Lemp

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 429-6735

Website:
http://stateandlemp.com/

Catering:
State & Lemp will cater special events for special people on special occasions. Please contact Remi McManus directly to discuss details.

Parking Details:
State & Lemp has a private lot, as well as street parking. If you require special assistance with adequate notice we will gladly accommodate.

Public Transit:
Valley stop in front of building.

Executive Chef:
Jay Henry

Private Party Facilities:
State & Lemp is perfectly set up to host private functions. Please contact Remi McManus directly to discuss details.

Private Party Contact:
Remi Mcmanus: (208) 429-6735

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
State & Lemp is perfectly set up to host special events. Please contact Remi McManus directly to discuss details.

State & Lemp Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (30)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
See All
Local Ingredients (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Good for a Date (16)
Modern Decor (14)
Notable Wine List (12)
Romantic (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Fun (9)
Cozy (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Healthy (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Organic (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Authentic (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Business Meals (2)
Vegan (2)
Casual (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
People Watching (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Private Room (1)
Tapas (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
290 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is easily the best restaurant in Id ...

vip
 (Boise)·Dined 3 days ago

This is easily the best restaurant in Idaho. Best service, knowledgeable staff, outstanding cuisine. Just a memorable experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time going. Food was ehh. Wasn't ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 4 days ago

Second time going. Food was ehh. Wasn't so great the second time around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

I felt like giving the Chef a standing o ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined 5 days ago

I felt like giving the Chef a standing ovation at the conclusion of our meal. Delicious, creative and beautifully presented.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Loved everything. Cannot wait to go back ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Loved everything. Cannot wait to go back! The menu was special, creative, and incredibly well done. The wine was paired perfectly. Perfect for special occasions. Best in Boise is an understatement!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was extremely impressed with the level ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I was extremely impressed with the level of creative ingredient transformation in all of the courses. I had a lovely evening, and will return again and again to be wowed and inspired!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

More than great food, this is art. If yo ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 8, 2017

More than great food, this is art. If you really appreciate fine cuisine this is a must.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Casual, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Organic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dining experience at ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We had a wonderful dining experience at State and Lemp. The food, the service, the ambiance, and variety were all outstanding.

Tags: Modern Decor, Private Room, Organic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had the pleasure of dining on the fir ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We had the pleasure of dining on the first night of the Midwest menu for February. The experience is difficult to capture in words. To share with you the complete balance of artistry of presentation, explanations of each course and wine paired to perfection will not be enough to give due credit. We will be back, special occasion or everyday as a special occasion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Organic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

State and Lemp is a fabulous find on Boi ...

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on January 28, 2017

State and Lemp is a fabulous find on Boise’s west side. I would hazard to guess that there is nothing like Chef Komori’s cutting-edge food and stunning presentations within hundreds of miles.

There are one or two seatings per night, depending on the day of the week, and seating is communal. You get a printed menu and a name card – ours said Happy Anniversary. We were greeted with glasses of sparkling rosé (with refills if you wanted). It was like being invited to an upscale, but convivial, dinner party. It is a five-course tasting menu, plus an amuse bouche and a palate-cleansing sorbet. On the night we went, the food was designed to pick up the themes in the paintings of a local artist, whose works were on display. The staff describes the ingredients and origins of each course as it is being served. Some highlights were the sake-marinated fresh anchovy; the “cappuccino”-like mushroom soup, in which foamed cream was separate from the broth; and the beef short rib cooked sous-vide for 60 hours and dusted with charcoal. Portion sizes were just right (though I would gladly have taken seconds on dessert), and the wine pairings were generous pours. Afterwards, the chef came out and chatted with the diners.

We are relatively new to Boise, and this was our first visit, but we definitely will be back! Congratulations to Chef Komori and his team for creating such a marvelous experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a fabulous experience!! I do not ea ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 21, 2017

What a fabulous experience!! I do not eat fish or shellfish and they accommodated me with unbelievable substitutes. It was not obvious that I was eating differently from those around me. I enjoyed every bite and learned how the complementing wine heights the flavor of the meal! What a clever idea to tie each course to the artist being featured on the walls.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service by the staff. Th ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great food and service by the staff. The food, wine and art all harmoniously melded to create a unique dining experience. Hands down one of the best if not the best food in Boise and well worth the cost.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent dinner as usual and great atmo ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Excellent dinner as usual and great atmosphere. This was our second visit and is a fantastic place to eat in Boise.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience at State & Lemp highly ex ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our experience at State & Lemp highly exceeded our expectations. Each meal was crafted thoughtfully, and each had such unique pallets and wine pairings. We will definitely be back! We attended Saturday night supper club. It was SO much fun! We were celebrating two birthdays, and were pleasantly surprised to find birthday greetings on our table cards. The food was nothing short of amazing! State & Lemp is hands down the best restaurant in Boise. Thank you for a wonderful and unforgettable experience.

Tags: Organic, Good for Groups, Healthy, Hot Spot, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, , Romantic, Business Meals, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a special treat!! A pre fixed me ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This is a special treat!! A pre fixed menu and wine pairings. You are treated very well and the finding experience is just that..an experience. You will sit at a communal table with 19 people you have never met. My wife and I enjoyed the atmosphere. Each dish is explained to you prior to consuming it. I was worried that I would still be hungry when I left, surprisingly I was not. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eclectic food, great service, warm ambia ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Eclectic food, great service, warm ambiance, and an overall fun experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This is one of my favorite dining locati ...

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This is one of my favorite dining locations in Boise. Unique dishes that you just cannot get anywhere else in the valley. Wonderful wine and/or beer pairings with each dish. A little pricey so it's not an everyday haunt. However the overall dish presentation, combination of flavors and ever-changing menu are well worth the adventure.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is our second trip to State and Lem ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is our second trip to State and Lemp and we enjoyed it as much as the first visit. This isn't a place you'll visit every week for some comfort food, this is a special occasion, I'm going to be adventurous and try some excellent food that I normally wouldn't try on a dare, memorable event experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Having been here twice, and having eaten ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Having been here twice, and having eaten in many nice restaurants around the world, nothing beats the experience, food quality, taste, and satisfaction that I experienced at State & Lemp. If you make a reservation and can go, it will be well worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, , Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole experience was wonderful from ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The whole experience was wonderful from being greeted at the door with a glass of sparkling rose to the last sip of coffee and little bags of chocolate mint cookies. The plates were beautifully staged and the flavors sublime. We will certainly go again when we have the funds and occasion for a wonderful night out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing experience. Group of friends cel ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Amazing experience. Group of friends celebrating weddings, anniversaries and birthdays. Great wine selection paired with unique exquisite food.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu was well thought out and creati ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The menu was well thought out and creative. The wine pairings were spot on. The service is fantastic. They really seem like they enjoy what they do, and it shows in the meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I am sure every one writes we could have ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I am sure every one writes we could have been fed more.

but to be frank the food ,presenter, wine, and ambiance was great.

it is fun engaging.

just one downer sticker shock wow! hellooooooo!

we received a gift certificate from a friend for 150.00

when it was time to part ways from this lovely evening we received a total bill of 279.72 ouch.

i thought the 150.00 was a fair deal.

just saying.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

State & Lemp is too, too much. Too prete ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 18, 2016

State & Lemp is too, too much. Too pretentious "themes." Too loud/close seating. Too intrusive service. Too bizarre food combinations (but decent wines). Way too expensive for Boise.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Beautiful presentation; the portions wer ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Beautiful presentation; the portions were so small, there was not enough there to savor the flavor. So many ingredients; a lot of them were lost on the palate. Less sophistication and more perfection. I have been to many dinners such as these. The food was good, but not amazing.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Truly a great experience. Love the crea ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Truly a great experience. Love the creative, delicious, courses. The service was perfect. Enjoyed meeting the other people at our table. Meeting the chef is always a special treat.

Tags: Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It is a memorable experience. Great foo ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 2, 2016

It is a memorable experience. Great food and fun. The very best you will get for a small car payment. I recommend highly for a special occasion or just a dinner out that turns into a dinning event.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely outstanding experience, great ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Absolutely outstanding experience, great care was taken in every aspect of the meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply incredible! Best tasting menu and ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Simply incredible! Best tasting menu and wine pairing in Boise! Superb staff and talented chef!

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner with conversation and new f ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great dinner with conversation and new friends. Love the family style and farm to table menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

No amount of stars would give justice to ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 24, 2016

No amount of stars would give justice to the experience I just had at State and Lemp. To call this experience 'dining' feels inadequate — to quote one of the people I ate with: "it's like Cirque du Soleil in your mouth." The atmosphere, the incredible food, the gracious staff — the whole experience, from the moment I walked through the door, to when I grabbed my coat to leave, was utterly enchanting. Holy cow, take a bow State and Lemp.

Tags: Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best experiential dining in Boise. L ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The best experiential dining in Boise. Love Saturday supper club!

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An amazing experience. Having lived in ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

An amazing experience. Having lived in Chicago prior to Boise, "State and Lemp" is on par with the former "Charlie Trotters".

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is amazing and the staff are su ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food is amazing and the staff are super accommodating. Each dish is paired with a wine and explained when it's served. It's truly amazing experience to eat there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great presentation but be prepared to gr ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great presentation but be prepared to grab a snack afterwards. It was also noisy in there. The small place and loud background music.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an outstanding experience at Stat ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We had an outstanding experience at State & Lemp. We arrived a little early and were greeted with a fantastic champagne, and were able to explore the unique and beautiful artwork on display around the restaurant. Each course was thoughtfully put together and beautifully executed. We can't say enough great things about our experience at State & Lemp!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went here as our first fine dining exper ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Went here as our first fine dining experience. Was a great vibe in the place and the staff was very friendly. After the initial culture shock, we were very comfortable and laughing with the people sitting around us. The food was the best food I've ever had! I've never paid more than 50 bucks for my own meal in my life, and it astounds me to realize that it was worth the expense. Try it out!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, service was great. It's ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent food, service was great. It's expensive but the perfect place for a special occasion. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great fun at State & Lemp. A uni ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Always great fun at State & Lemp. A unique and fun dining experience!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very creative menu inspired in part by t ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Very creative menu inspired in part by the season and the artwork adorning the walls. For me, some of the food was a miss but overall the meal was enjoyable. Excellent wine pairings.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful people who know what fine dini ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Beautiful people who know what fine dining food is. Excellent food and service every time!

I have been to many fine dinning places around the world. Is State and Lemp the best? I would lie if I said it is. BUT they are trying doing their best and the menus are getting better every time we dine. I can see it getting to the level of competing for the "best" title against well known fine dining establishments around the country.

Wine pairing is a must, probably best wine pairings I have ever had. Truly THE place to go in Boise. No one in the Treasure Valley comes even close to the experience State and Lemp has to offer. Looking forward to trying new menus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.