About State & Lemp

2870 West State Street
Boise, ID 83702
View Larger Map

Welcome to State & Lemp we are a small contemporary american restaurant featuring an ever evolving prix fixe menu based on seasonal goods. Our menu and restaurant showcase local and regional farmers, ranchers, artists and craftsmen. We also offer a carefully selected 5-course wine pairing.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Lemp

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(208) 429-6735

Website:
http://stateandlemp.com/

Catering:
State & Lemp will cater special events for special people on special occasions. Please contact Remi McManus directly to discuss details.

Parking Details:
State & Lemp has a private lot, as well as street parking. If you require special assistance with adequate notice we will gladly accommodate.

Public Transit:
Valley stop in front of building.

Executive Chef:
Jay Henry

Private Party Facilities:
State & Lemp is perfectly set up to host private functions. Please contact Remi McManus directly to discuss details.

Private Party Contact:
Remi Mcmanus: 2084296735x

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
State & Lemp is perfectly set up to host special events. Please contact Remi McManus directly to discuss details.

State & Lemp Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

5.0

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Idaho
Best Food
Idaho
Best Service
Idaho
10 More
Best Ambiance
Idaho
Best Value
Idaho
Fit for Foodies
Idaho
Special Occasion
Idaho
Best Overall
Boise
Best Food
Boise
Best Service
Boise
Best Ambiance
Boise
Best Value
Boise
Special Occasion
Boise
Best Restaurants in Boise ›

Fit for Foodies (31)
Special Occasion (31)
Creative Cuisine (23)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Local Ingredients (19)
Notable Wine List (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Romantic (12)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Seasonal (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Fun (7)
Organic (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Cozy (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Healthy (4)
Family Style (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Vegan (2)
Business Meals (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Authentic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Casual (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
People Watching (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
259 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great dinner with conversation and new f ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined 7 days ago

Great dinner with conversation and new friends. Love the family style and farm to table menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

No amount of stars would give justice to ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 24, 2016

No amount of stars would give justice to the experience I just had at State and Lemp. To call this experience 'dining' feels inadequate — to quote one of the people I ate with: "it's like Cirque du Soleil in your mouth." The atmosphere, the incredible food, the gracious staff — the whole experience, from the moment I walked through the door, to when I grabbed my coat to leave, was utterly enchanting. Holy cow, take a bow State and Lemp.

Tags: Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best experiential dining in Boise. L ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The best experiential dining in Boise. Love Saturday supper club!

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An amazing experience. Having lived in ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

An amazing experience. Having lived in Chicago prior to Boise, "State and Lemp" is on par with the former "Charlie Trotters".

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great presentation but be prepared to gr ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great presentation but be prepared to grab a snack afterwards. It was also noisy in there. The small place and loud background music.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went here as our first fine dining exper ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Went here as our first fine dining experience. Was a great vibe in the place and the staff was very friendly. After the initial culture shock, we were very comfortable and laughing with the people sitting around us. The food was the best food I've ever had! I've never paid more than 50 bucks for my own meal in my life, and it astounds me to realize that it was worth the expense. Try it out!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, service was great. It's ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent food, service was great. It's expensive but the perfect place for a special occasion. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an outstanding experience at Stat ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We had an outstanding experience at State & Lemp. We arrived a little early and were greeted with a fantastic champagne, and were able to explore the unique and beautiful artwork on display around the restaurant. Each course was thoughtfully put together and beautifully executed. We can't say enough great things about our experience at State & Lemp!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great fun at State & Lemp. A uni ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Always great fun at State & Lemp. A unique and fun dining experience!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very creative menu inspired in part by t ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Very creative menu inspired in part by the season and the artwork adorning the walls. For me, some of the food was a miss but overall the meal was enjoyable. Excellent wine pairings.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful people who know what fine dini ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Beautiful people who know what fine dining food is. Excellent food and service every time!

I have been to many fine dinning places around the world. Is State and Lemp the best? I would lie if I said it is. BUT they are trying doing their best and the menus are getting better every time we dine. I can see it getting to the level of competing for the "best" title against well known fine dining establishments around the country.

Wine pairing is a must, probably best wine pairings I have ever had. Truly THE place to go in Boise. No one in the Treasure Valley comes even close to the experience State and Lemp has to offer. Looking forward to trying new menus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every dish was absolutely amazing. Will ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Every dish was absolutely amazing. Will definitely be returning...

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A fantastic experience from start to fin ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 28, 2016

A fantastic experience from start to finish. My husband and I marveled at each dish, and in between bites we couldn't stop talking about when we'd get to come back. A true gem in the Boise food scene. The creative dishes had gorgeous presentation and unique ingredients. Even my least favorite of the courses was still divine, and the wine pairings were truly outstanding!

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding, innovative meal with perfec ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Outstanding, innovative meal with perfect wine pairings. Our second time; we will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

loved every moment--staff, communal seat ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 20, 2016

loved every moment--staff, communal seating (great neighbors to chat with), attentive service, friendly, not hovering, warm creative chef---just amazing. food got better each course--so many tasting menus hit or miss, this meal grew in depth, taste and enjoyment.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful and unique food experience. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 16, 2016

A wonderful and unique food experience. I have rarely met another chef who works so hard and thinks so hard about what he is doing. Serious would be an understatement about how they see their food. Definitely go if you have the chance. Not expensive in the context of what they deliver.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

State and Lemp delivers again! Best spot ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 14, 2016

State and Lemp delivers again! Best spot in Boise!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Cozy, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Family Style, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have had the opportunity to eat at aw ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We have had the opportunity to eat at award winning restaurants all over the country and Boise certainly has one of its own in State & Lemp!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best foodie restaurant in Idaho hands do ...

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Best foodie restaurant in Idaho hands down. Keep an open mind and let it all happen. Do the wine pairing too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The was amazing, I enjoyed dish. My hea ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The was amazing, I enjoyed dish. My head vegetarian option loved as well. It was a great experience and we look forward going back

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

OMG, our kids gave my friend and I gift ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 29, 2016

OMG, our kids gave my friend and I gift certificates for this dinner! Beyond our expectations, fun to visit with others and the food was beyond spectacular!!!

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What to say about State & Lemp? OH how I ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 25, 2016

What to say about State & Lemp? OH how I wish we had known in advance how this restaurant operates, because the surprise factor colored our experience for the first part of this meal. When we arrived, we were greeted with a glass of champagne and felt a bit like we were crashing a private party - but no, that's how the restaurant works. S&L takes a limited number of reservations for a prix fixe menu that is themed. Seating is sort of family-style, with a row of tables running through the small space. There is a placecard at each table, so seating is pre-set. You're shoulder-to-shoulder with your neighbor. The service is swift but not rushed, the food is amazing, but the presentation a bit on the "precious" side: small and artistic. Wine is paired with each course. Noise level is loud. Thankfully our neighbors were incredibly interesting, and therefore our final night in Boise was in lovely company.

After the "what the heck is this?" surprise wore off we enjoyed ourselves and had a wonderful meal. The staff honored our no-meat request and we made new friends. Would we go back? Yes if feeling adventurous; no if seeking a quiet meal and private conversation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was enjoyable. The food was fantastic ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 24, 2016

It was enjoyable. The food was fantastic. The wine pairing was well selected. If you are in town or visiting, I would highly recommend giving Sate & Lemp a try. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

State and Lemp never fails to impress, e ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 18, 2016

State and Lemp never fails to impress, excellent and interesting experience from beginning to end

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For a truly exceptional dining experienc ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 16, 2016

For a truly exceptional dining experience, State and Lemp is a perfect choice. The staff is polite, warm, knowledgable about the food and wine, and very efficient. The chef prepares creative, unique, aesthetically-pleasing courses that are just the right size. The wines choices compliment the food. The food is sourced locally. The small dining area is inviting and cozy. My husband and I will definitely be back for another wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Innovative and interesting, this is anb ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Innovative and interesting, this is anb excellent dining experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Organic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food! Everything was prepared t ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Amazing food! Everything was prepared to perfection. I would highly recommend State & Lemp to anyone.

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

On our first visit to State & Lemp, we c ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 10, 2016

On our first visit to State & Lemp, we celebrated our 29th anniversary. Both the food and service were exceptional! We were greeted to the dining room with a glass of champagne and seated at a long table next to other guests. Contributing to the delightful evening were the conversations we had with the fellow diners on either side of us. It was truly a wonderful evening of great food, great service and great conversation.

Tags: Modern Decor, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you fancy yourself a foodie and like ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2016

If you fancy yourself a foodie and like to be surprised by your food, this is an amazing place. It is a totally different dining experience than a typical restaurant. They do a great job combining exciting flavors, ingredients, and textures.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The meal and while dining experience was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The meal and while dining experience was fabulous, as it always is. The food and wine pairings are spectacular and the whole team does a great job. We enjoy meeting other people who are also vested in an excellent culinary experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a superb restaurant. Definitely ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 2, 2016

This is a superb restaurant. Definitely expensive but my wife and I felt the food and wine paired with each course were exceptional. I'm very glad we went!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing! Every course was delicious and ...

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Amazing! Every course was delicious and included something I've never tried before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You can't get out of this place without ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 28, 2016

You can't get out of this place without running a full gamut of delightful textures, colors, flavors, and shapes. Extremely thoughtful wine pairings. This meal's standout was the octopus: a huge hunk of tender tentacle was perfectly cooked and was just luscious with the GrüVe. Great company with neighboring tables. Jay, Remi, and staff put on such a welcoming and engaging meal. High fives!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, good service, so-so ambiance ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great food, good service, so-so ambiance. If you are looking for a great meal experience State and Lemp delivers. However, if you are wanting a quiet table to reminisce with your significant other then you should probably look elsewhere. The tables are small and VERY close together. I was literally closer to the two people on either side of me than my spouse across the table. I even bumped elbows with the gentleman on my right a couple of times. Also, once all the conversation begins, the room is small enough that hearing the person directly across from you can be challenging.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

We had a fabulous dinner at State and L ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had a fabulous dinner at State and Lemp - the service was great, each dish was unique and the wine pairings perfect. We hadn't been in summer before and I really enjoyed the summer vegetables.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful find. Food was very very good ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Wonderful find. Food was very very good, service was attentive. Next time I am in Boise, I'll definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you for a memorable and delightful ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Thank you for a memorable and delightful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never disappointed after an evening at S ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Never disappointed after an evening at State & Lemp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Jay and Remi have created something trul ...

 
 (Boise)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Jay and Remi have created something truly special at State & Lemp. The food is consistently creative and outstanding, the wine pairings spot-on, the service perfectly orchestrated, and the ambience and local art masterfully curated. We've now dined at State & Lemp with friends from across the street, across the country, and across the globe who all agree that it's one of the best dining experiences out there. Thank you Jay, Remi, and Kris for sharing your love and talent with all of us here in Boise!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

These guys don't mess around! From the m ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 13, 2016

These guys don't mess around! From the moment you walk into the door the service is impeccable. Their service is not stiff but a casual, down-to-earth approach that makes you feel at home. The food comes in waves of incredibly matched subtle flavors... I just kept getting blown away by each dish! The wine is paired perfectly with each course. Just an overall wonderful experience. I can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.