Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 1 time today

State & Lemp

4.8
410 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Special Occasion
Welcome to State & Lemp we are a small contemporary american restaurant featuring an ever evolving prix fixe menu based on seasonal goods. Our menu and restaurant showcase local and regional farmers, ranchers, artists and craftsmen. We also offer a carefully selected 5-course wine pairing.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Wednesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(208) 429-6735
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Kris Komori
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
State & Lemp will cater special events for special people on special occasions. Please contact Remi McManus directly to discuss details.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Lemp
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
State & Lemp has a private lot, as well as street parking. If you require special assistance with adequate notice we will gladly accommodate.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Valley stop in front of building.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
State & Lemp is perfectly set up to host special events. Please contact Remi McManus directly to discuss details.
Additional
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 410 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.8based on recent ratings
4.8
food
5.0
service
4.8
ambience
4.6
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Swan Song Dinner. They were surly playin our song last Thursday - thanks S&L — see you in your next reincarnation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Very easily the best food in Boise. You will have flavors and ingredients that you can't fine anywhere else. You will walk away wishing you could eat like this more often. Some of the dishes (like the Zabuton steak) really are a once in lifetime experience. This is a bucket list type of restaurant, a must go.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Chef Komori and his crew make magic happen. They are truly gifted.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Noisy, definitely not what we expected. Food was different but not as tasty as we would have expected either. Community table again was not what we expected or wanted for our anniversary. Overall disappointed.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 27, 2018

When the best “course” is wine or bread, you know you’re in trouble. Presentation was beautiful, service excellent but menu needs work. Chef needs to focus more on taste. Courses should not feel so contrived. Lamb was over-cooked & dessert was a pizza. Time to get rethink.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Amazing night

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Everything about this place from the moment we entered the restaurant was nothing like I expected. Upon entering we were greeted with a sparkling wine and asked to wander around to look at the art. It was the artist's featured there that evening who were the muse for the menu. As we located our seat there was a very special little card that said State and Lemp welcomes [our names] and it also said Happy Anniversary, because that's what we were celebrating. It was really lovely. I ordered the wine pairing and really enjoyed the small pour to go with each of the five courses. After each dish was plated and served, someone stood at the end of the table and talked about the ingredients and why this dish was picked based on an interview with the artist. So different, right? As far as the food, hardly anything appeared to resemble what I'm used to seeing, but after tasting it, the flavors came through. Everything was lovely - it was as if we were dining at the home of a good friend. A good friend who prepares food v-e-r-y w-e-l-l that is. At the salt bowl was a little spoon. You know those spoons people collect from different cities and states. Well ours was Las Vegas and the waiter told us that's where we're going next. It was a really cute conversation piece. He received a bunch I understand from his grandmother. I thought everything was really lovely and enjoyed myself immensely.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Unique culinary experience! Great personal attention, themed meals.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Outstanding experience. Excellent food, very creative menu. Good wine pairing. Superb service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Worth it! Quality service. Creative art and food married into tasty dishes. Great conversations with neighbors sitting next to us on both sides.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Super solid. Worth the trip if you are craving a fun and personal dining experience. Great food & wine pairings. These guys have got a really great thing that you should get out and enjoy.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

This is a great value for molecular gastronomy!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Food was fantastic. My sister who is very picky loved everything. The staff was incredible. I’m a big guy and though I would have to eat something after with the small plates. Nope. More than enough food and such a great experience. Can’t believe we waited so long to try it out. We are already planning our return trip.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

It was a wonderful food, wine and community conversation experience. I've had a lot of great Locavore meals and this was one of the best.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Loved it! The restaurant has a great vibe, the service is impeccable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Once again the food and presentation were spot on! Service was outstanding AND personable.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 7, 2018

It was obnoxiously loud. I assumed this would be an experience in fine dining where I could have a romantic night out with my wife. Not really the case. The guests at the tables next to us were intoxicated by the time we arrived and got progressively worse through the night. The setting appeared to be one where a mature audience would enjoy the night. Unfortunately, this was not our experience that night.
Courses were presented well by professional servers. Main course with lambs tongue was not our preferred choice. Seemed a cheap option. Wine pairings were ok. Sticker shock occurred only because our experience did not match the cost. Unfortunately, we will not be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

The "Treefort Menu" by far, was our favorite menu! We've been to S&L many times and this was the 1st time we brought guests from out of town. My in-laws were blown away! Thanks for a fantastic meal! Can't wait until next time!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Excellent food fantastic service, friendly clients

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 15, 2018

We were seated next to a couple that we were not compatible with. Made for a tense evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

We always love Saturday Night Supper Club at State & Lemp! Great value, fun ambiance, and some of the best food in Boise.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

I've been to State and Lemp twice now. It is the best restaurant in Boise, and we are very lucky to have the chefs and owners here in Idaho. They could easily be on their way to a Michelin star or two in a bigger city and bigger venue.

Instead we have a team of highly creative people plugged into the city of Boise, our local farmers, local vintners, and wild forage who are creating complex and captivating meals. Even when I don't particularly like a plate being served I can always respect the attempt and marvel at the amount of effort and creativity put into each one.

So please give this place a shot. Save up and go for a special occasions, enjoy the food, and enjoy the company you get to sit next too, you'll be chatting with your seating partners all night and have a great time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

I live in Dallas and this was my first visit to Boise. I’m planning on coming back every month and also having dinner at State and lemp every visit it was the most fabulous experience I’ve ever had

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2018

Amazing food and an incredible dining experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Overall a wonderful anniversary gift (from our daughter)
Nice wine pairings - they worked.
Quality food presentation & preparation.
Pricey for Idaho - or a regular dinner date out in the town.

Hard wood chairs need padding - for the length of time seated to go through courses.
Some servings quite small to thoroughly taste or enjoy.
Lacks the elbow room within the family style (one long table) seating arrangement - to be intimate for a private conversation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

This is Boise's finest restaurant. The food experience along with the featured art is truly one of a kind in Boise, and possibly the state.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 2, 2018

I don’t know how they do it time after time but the creativity and the way they mix flavors with textures and presentation are second to none. Nowhere in Boise will you get the State and Lemp experience. Any wait you experience will be worth it. Your taste buds will thank you and you won’t want the evening to end.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 1, 2018

I'm from Boise but live in Denver. I refuse to come home and NOT go to State and Lemp. Hands down my favorite dining experience and Ive travelled the globe going to Michelin restaurants like Noma, French Laundry - any foodie destination. State and Lemp never disappoints - food is impeccable, interesting, well presented and just damn good. It's art you can eat. Staff is fabulous - there is intention in everything they do. Only complaint I have is that I don't live closer! You are a fool if you pass this restaurant up!!! Just go.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 17, 2018

Exceptional

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 12, 2018

Great job. Thanks for a fun evening Hope to come back soon

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 6, 2018

This has become my favorite place for that special occasion. Their attention to detail and personalized service is unmatched in Boise. Not only did they remember it was my birthday, but both myself and my wife’s special dietary needs. Fantastic service and exception food. They continue to impress from a culinary perspective. Always something new, interesting and delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 30, 2017

Living in the Bay Area I have had many fantastic dining experiences but State and Lemp is exceptional! Chef Komori and his team in the kitchen pour their heart and talents into creating exciting dishes showcasing the best of the season and products of local farmers. Their food is deliberate and every detail thought out. The experience of dining here is unmatched and such a fun time. Front of the house staff were so friendly and welcoming and every need was attended to and met. I would eat here again and again! Thanks for a memorable evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 30, 2017

The food here is amazing! Very innovative and well worth the price. The wine pairing is excellent as well!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 29, 2017

Phenomenal food and experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 29, 2017

A unique dining experience with outstanding food, service and story behind every plate!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 15, 2017

The food and service were amazing. Very different from any other restaurant. Very expensive

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 8, 2017

Another fantastic evening was had at State and Lemp! Truly it is a unique Idaho dining experience. We've enjoyed celebrating another year with our business partners, gathering with friends, and meeting new folks at this fabulous Boise gem!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 6, 2017

Amazing food creations and a fantastic dining experience. The tastes of each dish was unique and flavorful! Wonderful place!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 6, 2017

Absolute perfection! Definitely lives up to the hype. Felt like an elegant yet casual dinner party at a friend's house. Service was impeccable. We will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 1, 2017

Always a great a experience!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
11