Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About State and Lake Chicago Tavern

Led by award-winning Executive Chef Nathan Sears, sleek contemporary gastropub State and Lake Chicago Tavern combines the flare of artisanal American cuisine with the warm, welcoming vibe of a neighborhood pub. Named after the iconic intersection in the heart of the city, State and Lake Chicago Tavern serves up new twists on bistro fare, with an emphasis on featuring the finest locally sourced and wholesome ingredients. Offering Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night and Weekend Brunch, Chef Nathan Sears's menu is composed of small plates and larger entrees. Artisanal beer selections – many from the Midwest – pair gracefully with the fare as does State and Lake Chicago Tavern's extensive wine list and handcrafted, classic cocktails.

201 N State St
Chicago, IL 60601
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST Monday-Friday: 6:30am-11am
LUNCH Monday-Friday: 11am-4pm
DINNER Monday - Thursday: 4pm-11pm, Friday-Saturday: 4pm-2am, Sunday: 4pm-10pm
WEEKEND BRUNCH 7am - 2pm

Cross Street:
Lake Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(312) 239-9400

Website:
http://stateandlakechicago.com/

Entertainment:
FRIDAY AND SATURDAY: Live Acoustic Music 10PM

Parking Details:
Valet parking is offered through the hotel:
0 - 3 hours: $17
2 - 8 hours: $28
Over 8 hours: $65

Public Transit:
Red Line: State and Lake
Brown/Purple/Green/Orange Line: State and Lake
Blue Line: Clark and Lake

Executive Chef:
Nathan Sears

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you are interested in booking a private event, please contact our Catering Department at (312) 239-9517 or by email at catering@thewithotel.com

Private Dining

State and Lake Chicago Tavern is an ideal location to enjoy a breakfast event, business or girl’s luncheon, or a plethora of events including after work receptions, rehearsal dinners, or corporate dinners. A warm rustic space filled with organic colors and vintage elements.

State and Lake Chicago Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

Noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Casual (7)
See All
Quiet Conversation (6)
Fun (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Great Beer (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Cozy (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Authentic (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Romantic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort by
S
1023 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

Some friends and I were going to a concert and chose State and Lake since it's so close to the Chicago Theatre. The server wasn't the best but overall good and service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Convenient location near theater. Too noisy for conversation.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Such warm and friendly service-- not the usual thing you find in the loop at lunchtime. The menu has great choices for everyone-- whether veg, hearty, pub or just delicious, everyone will find something. The room is cozy and tucked away off a busy intersection, you think you've stepping into someone's little private club. Great experience, looking forward to going back.

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Fun, Seasonal, Quick Bite, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Food was delicious and our server was very attentive. Love the cozy atmosphere!

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Food was subpar, ordered 2 steaks, not cooked to order both too rare, risotto cold little flavor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Before a recent show at the Chicago Theater, I stopped in for a casual dinner. I did have a reservation and was seated quickly and with a smile. My server was friendly and offered me a drink upon being seated. Although I just wanted coffee, it was brought immediately along with a menu. I wanted something simple that evening and just ordered a Tavern Burger. After a short time it was delivered piping hot and delicious.
My coffee was refilled and I enjoyed my dinner.
The restaurant was about 3/4 full this early Sunday evening and the vibe was casual, friendly and easy. Whether staying at the hotel or visiting the nearby theater it’s an easy and enjoyable choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 28, 2017

We ate at State and Lake last Friday night while visiting our son in Chicago. I would not recommend the place on a weekend night as the Loop really empties out and the feel was really transient tourists rather than a loyal local following. The food was good (the burger and the pasta, and the pretzels and trout spread for starters, and the Old Fashioned are terrific) but a little high-priced for what you got. I think the most disappointing aspects are 1) Ambience: the feel is dark, a little loud, and very impersonal - kind of like eating in a railroad station pub. 2) Service: no real welcome from the hostess, and then our waitress sloshed a bunch of beer when she put one of our glasses on the table and didn't even apologize let alone return to clean it up, so we got a napkin from another table to do just that. She may have been terribly overworked or distracted but she was not a good fit for the hospitality business for sure. It made me resolve to be super-appreciative of all the fine servers out there in the world. Bottom line, we won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2017

The menu is casual, but the food is really good. They also have a decent beer list. Our server was really nice, but he appeared to be handling a lot of tables by himself and the service was a little slow. We also noticed that another server was neglecting her tables and those customers were getting impatient. Management could do a better job of improving service and making sure they're properly staffed during busier times. It's close to the Chicago Theater, so it's convenient for a pre-show bite or drink. If you're heading to a show, I would recommend letting them know so they don't forget to check in on you.

Tags: Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Waited over 10 minutes to give drink order, service sloppy and very slow still after that. Don't get the beet salad. Meatballs, pasta and burger were done nicely and quite tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 20, 2017

The pasta entree and the short rib steak were both very good. We were there early on a Friday evening and it was quite noisy with a lot of people camped out around the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 19, 2017

Not as good as previous visits. On a Thursday at 6:30 the place was much quieter than the fun vibe I've experienced on other visits. I should have stuck with my fave dish, the Salmon, but ordered a shrimp appetizer that was a soggy and odd disappointment. Sidecar drinks were delish and the service was great, but this place seems to have slipped a bit since last time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2017

The location is perfect if you're going for a show at the Chicago Theatre, however outside of that there's really no other reason you would go here. The food was mediocre at best - nothing had any flavor. My sister's pasta was cold, my Dad's burger was terribly overcooked and they seemed to be very short staffed to the point where it took 15+ minutes to get a drink. Multiple tables were visibly upset and complaining to the manager & for her credit she took it all in stride with true grace under pressure. The staff is very friendly, I just think they need more & a complete menu rehaul.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 12, 2017

This is a great restaurant and my 3rd or 4th time there. Wait staff is excellent and the manager visits each table once. We always enjoy the food here as it is excellent. Only 2 minor problems: brussel sprouts were underdone and the pop-up screens that came up for the Cubs "pregame" show were rather prevalent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

A group of 5 attended before The Pixies concert....we had an excellent meal and time. Thank you.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Hit or miss at State and Lake. I played this tavern up to my friend. We were having dinner before seeing Steve Martin and Martin Short at the Chicago Theatre. The salad I ordered was supposed to have oil and vinegar on the side. It had been dressed already and had vinegar soaked grape slices that made me choke. Sent it back. My friend ordered the beet salad which had a beet giardinara that was also had too much vinegar. The toast that came with it was cold and soft. The brought different toast and it was the same. Waitress said they make it all ahead of time. My salad and burger with no bun arrived together and my friend waited almost ten mins for their salad. We had to chase down the waitress with each problem. I won’t recommend State and Lake again! My burger and fries were fine. I have been here numerous times. This was not good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Went there pre-theater. Perfect location and portion size for that occasion. Very good small plates. Definitely recommended.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Cozy, Tapas, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

This is one of my favorite gastro pubs in Chicago, and I seek it out whenever I can. Whether enjoying the avocado toast or cocktails and appetizers while unwinding after work, it is comfortable and delicious with a friendly, helpful and hardworking team in place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

A very good place for tapas. Unusual menu- my favorite was the Bibb lettuce salad and the tomato salad. The fondue was unexpected and very good, although the name, fondue was misleading. I would have described it as peppers with cheese. I was not a fan of the shrimp, the sauce overpowered the shrimp. The meatballs were very good as well.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Appetizers were amateurish at best and expensive. The peach and shrimp was awful, very poor combo. Not going back there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Very convenient for the Chicago Theater. I will go back, but I'll try to avoid the TV screens.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

If you want a place downtown to enjoy a great meal. Come here. Along with wonderful food at a reasonable price, elegant friendly atmosphere and SPECTACULAR service, and a complimentary dessert from chef Brian. This is a wonderful place for any occasion from a date, like mine, or an everyday dinner!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Went here for dinner before a show at Chicago Theater because it was very close. Food and service were just OK. Nothing special.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Food was unimpressive for the price. Service was great but not wowed by the experience and not good value for the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Out of this world desserts! They should offer more entrees,, as there were only 6...12 would be better. Wonderful chef. I love the decor, the leather stools with plaid flannel backing.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Had a great time. Not to loud, not to quite. My wife and I and a couple of friends we eat and drank. Just fabulous. The service and food were great.

Marty

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (London)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Loved the ambient feel of the place. Service not great. Good food. Willing to try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Good quality and presentation were both excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We selected this restaurant based on the online menu. When we were seated and presented with a menu we discovered that it was nothing like the online menu. When we asked the server he just airily said "oh the online menu is nothing like our actual menu". The actual menu did not have choices that we were particularly enthusiastic about and we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Broccoli risotto was amazing!! Staff was very friendly.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Lovely beer and wine selection. Limited menu choices. The food we ordered was excellent but the selection wasn't huge. Great place for before theatre drinks. Our service was good. We enjoyed ourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Quality of food was fine. The menu options were off best. Very different than last visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 10, 2017

I have going to State & Lake for years as I stay at the attached hotel many times a year. They keep changing the menu and it isn't good. They have limited option, took off most of the popular items - It was like a bar & grill but now it is trying to be something it is not and it isn't working. It used to be full and vibrant and the last 2 times that I have been there it was empty- it is a shame cause it was and could be a great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Had an Incredible meal (salmon). Outstanding flavors and presentation! Nice ambiance and service too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Limited selection but good food. Broccoli salad is a definite recommendation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Loved the avocado toast with gluten free bread. It was like a burst of sunshine in my mouth. My husband got their burger....it was a burger. Not busy when we went before ansundya theatre matinee of hamilton. I had made a reservation and totally didn't need to. There were like three tables. The servers were sooo nice! The theme of the restaurant is confusing. Playing country music but the decor (minus anset of antlers) does not look like a country theme at all.
Definitely go for brunch!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Spectacular service and incredible food. State and Lake never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 12, 2017

The Spring Onion Soup was excellent - the flavor delicious and presentation very hip. I didn't expect it to be a cream based soup either from the description or because the server didn't describe or acknowledge it but it was fantastic.
The lemon pomegranate sorbet had a unique favor but as I asked for it to go was little more than a frozen icee. Hopefully different when eaten in the restaurant.

It was late and while I was asked if I'd like anything else it was apparent it was the end of the night service wise as the consistency of who was taking care of me was based mostly on who was nearby and "excuse me's". The bar was full, a large group dinner and rowdy table of drinkers made it obvious this is more bar than dinner late.
Food nonetheless is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Pre fix menu is a good pre-show idea, but not executed 100%. Each dish was just a little over or under done, and the deserts were meh. Maybe you were down a few servers the night we were there, but ours had to run ragged inside and outside. The meals were not served temp you would expect for the price you pay. I would not recommend, and will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great stop for dinner before a concert. Convenient and kept us on track to make our show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Went for a business lunch and the place was empty yet they put us at a table in the far corner under the stairs. Service was incredibly slow. Broccoli salad was outstanding so at least the food was good. Won't go back

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.