About State and Lake Chicago Tavern

201 N State St
Chicago, IL 60601
View Larger Map

Offering Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner and Weekend Brunch utilizing local and regional ingredients, Chef Kevin Atkinson's menu is composed of small plates and larger entrees. Artisanal beer selections – many from the Midwest – pair gracefully with the fare as does State and Lake Chicago Tavern's extensive wine list and handcrafted, classic cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST Monday-Friday: 6:30am-11am
LUNCH Monday-Friday: 11am-4pm
DINNER Monday - Thursday: 4pm-11pm, Friday-Saturday: 4pm-2am, Sunday: 4pm-10pm
WEEKEND BRUNCH 7am - 2pm

Cross Street:
Lake Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(312) 239-9400

Website:
http://stateandlakechicago.com/

Entertainment:
WEDNESDAY: Live Blues Music 8PM
FRIDAY AND SATURDAY: Live Acoustic Music 9PM
SUNDAY: Live Country Music 5pm

Parking Details:
Valet parking is offered through the hotel:
2 hours: $15
3-12 hours: $26
13-24 hours: $50

Public Transit:
Red Line: State and Lake
Brown/Purple/Green/Orange Line: State and Lake
Blue Line: Clark and Lake

Executive Chef:
Kevin Atkinson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you are interested in booking a private event, please contact our Restaurant Sales Department at (312) 239-9563 or by email at restaurantsales@thewithotel.com

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

State and Lake Chicago Tavern is an ideal location to enjoy a breakfast event, business or girl’s luncheon, or a plethora of events including after work receptions, rehearsal dinners, or corporate dinners. A warm rustic space filled with organic colors and vintage elements.

State and Lake Chicago Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

great for lunch (24)
fit for foodies (23)
good for groups (20)
See All
vibrant bar scene (17)
great for brunch (12)
late-night find (11)
special occasion (9)
neighborhood gem (7)
hot spot (7)
romantic (6)
kid-friendly (5)
scenic view (3)
notable wine list (2)
Sort By:
Newest
820 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service3

We came here before a show at Chicago Th ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

We came here before a show at Chicago Theatre - which is probably 90% of the patrons at the time. Server was prompt but kept messing up our orders: asked for an Manhattan but almost got something else. Orders a chicken app but got the entree. Understand it was very busy and things can get confusion. She ended up correcting the situation and recovered. The food itself was good, drinks are very expensive even for River North/ Loop. ($19 for a martini!) We will likely go elsewhere before a show next time.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Limited menu is well designed for our pu ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Limited menu is well designed for our purpose -- light fare before visiting the Chicago Theater next door. We each ordered a "wimpy" burger and shared a basket of fries. Service was timely, but not overly engaging or friendly. Pricey beer & wine list, but lots of selection. Better atmosphere for a group than a date. Would return due to its convenience to the Chicago Theater, but it's not a special spot.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect for a before theater dinner!

Dined on May 17, 2016

Nice variety on the menu with wonderful preparations. Sides are large enough to share. The specialty cocktails are different and delightful. We had the margaritas with passionfruit and a chili liquer which gave them just the right touch of spiciness. Craft beer selection is also varied and interesting.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a wonderful upscale tavern with ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

This was a wonderful upscale tavern with an upscale comfort food menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Very average dining experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

Do not go to this place if there is a concert at the Chicago Theater!! Just crazy. Once the crowds left, the service was not great and the food was just fine. Big bar if you are looking for a drink and perhaps a snack.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great lunch place

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

We went to state and lake tavern after going to the Windy City Live show. It was a beautiful day and we sat by the window people watching. Our lunch was delicious. We had a panini and a hamburger. Both were tasty. We had arugula salad with the panini and yummy fresh cut fries with the burger. The server was helpful and very attentitive. We would go back to the state and lake tavern.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Groups of 6 and a forgetten meal!?

Dined on April 23, 2016

We went with a group of friends for a birthday. Our service initially was great-we have a friend with a food allergy and the server was attentive to that. When the food arrived--my meal was completely missed. They didn't even realize that it was missing. We had to flag down a server who happened to be a manager. She went to talk to our server and 5 minutes later I had a very rare burger in front of me. I cut in to it and realized I wouldn't eat it. We had to flag down another server and they brought the manager back. They took my burger--with ketchup and mustard already on it-and just put both halves back on the grill. I would have expected them to do it right and get a new burger. I didn't eat it. They did comp my meal but the gratuity was already added to our check. It was not a good experience Nd we wouldn't go back.

food4
ambience4
service4

The food was good but disappointed in th ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was good but disappointed in the menu. Even though the website showed a lunch menu, prior to 2:00 pm, there was only burgers & brunch items. The burgers were really good, but would have liked a bigger selection that the lunch menu implied was available.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Hopping place with good food

Dined on April 9, 2016

If you don't mind a place that's loud, busy, and crowded (especially on weekends), you'll enjoy the food and the atmosphere here. Making reservations is a good idea, and you may want to try someplace else if you're looking for a quiet and romantic dinner, then come back here some other time when you're just out for fun.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Theater district gem

Dined on April 3, 2016

Great spot to grab something to eat/drink before or after a show in the theater district.

Tags: romantic, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Loved this place. Ate here twice while staying at the WIT (also a great hotel). Had dinner and brunch, and everything we ordered was just excellent. Great food, great service, fun ambiance. Would absolutely recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4

Chicken wings were excellent, tavern fri ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Chicken wings were excellent, tavern fries great and the Kale salad as well!

food5
ambience4
service5

Although the menu is not very large, the ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Although the menu is not very large, the food is delicious. Wings are a nice, non-spicy option with a yummy sauce. Good vegetarian options, too.

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great beer selection

Dined on March 22, 2016

I love that they have tastings of the different beers they serve. It is very busy on concert nights and it seems like they do not have enough help. Are server was great but running around like crazy and it took a while to get everything. Need more vegetarian/vegan options.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food

Dined on March 20, 2016

Had the mussels for an appetizer, salmon for the main course, and it turns out the waiter thought our friend was having a birthday so we had a delicious dessert of brownie ice cream cones. I would definitely go back, because the food was outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Was a nice suprise

Dined on March 19, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner here. We were going to a show at the Chicago Theater so it was very convenient. I would recommend reservations as the place filled up fast shortly after we arrived. For starters, we had the charcuterie and cheese boards which were both excellent. While some other places have been chintzie with the amount they give you, both boards were surprisingly generous. I had one of their Manhattans (North and West?) which was good although a bit pricey. For dinner, I had the pork chop and my husband had the bison meatloaf. The pork chop was really juicy and tasty although it was a bit difficult to cut into while it was atop beans (also tasty) in a skillet. I ended up launching some beans onto the saucer for the skillet. My husband really enjoyed his meatloaf and was very pleased with his choice. We did not have time to stay for dessert, but we would definitely be back should we need dining in that area again. Our server was also very attentive without being overbearing and had great suggestions (to which some we did partake).

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

close to chicago theatre

Dined on March 18, 2016

Food was ok, but the servers are over worked, took a while to get service and for a burger it really shouldn't. Its close to chicago theater so that was a plus

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter was great!

Dined on March 10, 2016

Great meal! The tables were too close together though! The steak was very good and we loved the grilled onion mashed potatoes:)

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great except for new server

Dined on March 6, 2016

Our server had to be new because he steered us wrong in the selection of our meal. He made up definitions of food items which were incorrect. The broccoli was extremely HOT and he didn't mention it when we asked specifically about certain flavors.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Bad Service

Dined on March 6, 2016

Made a reservation for 6 good prior to arriving. My party arrived and the place was empty. The hostess seemed confused that we had a reservation. Nonetheless, we were seated at a table for 5 that they made to accommodate the 6 of us which was not reserved or anything. We asik thought it was a bit cramped and asked for a larger table but were told that there are only two tables in the place for a party our size and they were both reserved. Aside from the mix-up, the waiter we had seemed like he didn't want to serve us. As he gave us our drinks, he said he wasn't ready for our orders and didn't come back until 10 minutes later. Then two of our burgers, which were very tasty, were cooked incorrectly. Bad experience for a place with a great vibe and good food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

Dined on March 5, 2016

This is my second time dining at State and Lake Tavern. My meal was delicious and so was the mojito. The rest of the food at my table looked amazing. We had a very attentive sever named Chris who blew us away with his hospitality. So attentive to our tables needs. We were really impressed by this hotel restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience!

Dined on March 2, 2016

Great experience!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Zek

Dined on February 28, 2016

Food was very good, the mimosas were over priced. Very good service, I would definitely recommend it.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Lovely!

Dined on February 21, 2016

Our server was knowledgable about the menu and drinks. The food and drinks were delicious. We came here for a nice and intimate dinner and it had a quiet, dark, and lovely vibe in here.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food

Dined on February 14, 2016

The menu is small but the food is excellent. Our server recommended the crispy chicken thigh and it was the greatest piece of chicken my wife and I ever ate. The wings and fries were good also. If you are ever in Chicago's Theatre District check this place out.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Cool space but not a great choice

vip
Dined on February 11, 2016

Chose State and Lake for a casual dinner before the theater. Very cool space in the Wit Hotel. Energetic after work crowd. Food was generally good - my wife had the meatloaf which was excellent; I had the perch tacos which were so-so. Service was disappointing - we waited for anyone to show up to take our drink order and waited again to take our food order. Once our food order went in, we never saw our waiter again until he handed us the bill. Once ordered, our food came out quickly but the wait staff seemed focused on a couple of larger, after-work crowd tables and generally ignored us.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service!!

Dined on February 11, 2016

Since we were staying at The Wit and the Chicago weather was frigid, we made reservations at State and Lake Chicago Tavern. This was so we did not have to leave the building. And it was a good choice! I had a great burger with a pail of fries and my wife had the perch tacos and a side of broccoli. Everything was tasty and served hot. Our server was exceptional. Since we had a very good experience for dinner, we also ate breakfast there the next morning.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Great After a Show

Dined on January 29, 2016

We went here after a show at the Gene Siskel Center - just a half block away and connected to the Wit Hotel. We were seated quickly, next to the floor to ceiling windows facing State Street, with nice views all around. Even though we were between two other parties, it didn't feel crowded and it was easy to have a private conversation. My wife asked for some extras beyond the menu descriptions (change to a cocktail ingredient, additional dipping item for the delicious pimento cheese spread), and she was accommodated without hesitation. Our main courses, steak and one of their signature burgers, were perfectly done. And our side potatoes, mashed and hand cut fries, also were very tasty. The only slight drawback was that our waiter was not as attentive as he could have been after the meal was served, but one of his fellow waiters jumped in to check on us. We certainly will consider this again among our options before or after a show downtown.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

OK Nothing great

Dined on January 24, 2016

the men in the place got more attention than my sisters and I - we were the first seated and the last to leave. Food was just ok - drinks were good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Venue

Dined on January 23, 2016

Great location across the street from Chicago Theater. Went there before and after a concert. Excellent service, great burger and Lake perch tacos. Very good beer offerings. Left my phone at the table, server was kind enough to return it to the host station.

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Eh

Dined on January 23, 2016

Very loud, not a hug crowd, service was slow and confused. Prices OK for the location, but value not great.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect brunch spot

Dined on January 17, 2016

This was exactly what we wanted for brunch. The restaurant had a casual but fun ambiance. The beer and brunch pairings were tasty. We enjoyed the crowded, bustling atmosphere but could still hear quite well. We'd go back again!

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience3
service4

Good and different breakfast.

vip
Dined on January 6, 2016

Good and different breakfast.

food4
ambience3
service4

Great for breakfast!

vip
Dined on January 5, 2016

Great for breakfast!

food3
ambience5
service4
value2

great ambience and good food but overpriced.

Dined on January 1, 2016

Very nice pub chic aesthetic. We got the premium burgers which were cooked perfectly but a bit bland. Delicious handmade cocktails but ridiculous prices.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Pre-NYE Meal

Dined on December 31, 2015

We came here early (4:30ish) before a show at the Chicago Theater on NYE. Our reservation was not for a little bit but had a great time enjoying some drinks at the bar and chatting with the bartender! Once it was time for our reservation we were allowed to pick our own table as it wasn't busy yet and scored a cozy corner booth. We shared an order of the Tavern Fries, he had the Berkshire Bone-In Porkchop (a bit on the small side) and I had the Butcher Burger (rather large!). While a tad over-priced the food was delicious and the servers were very pleasant. I would highly recommend for a nice evening out.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2

Food was good except for undercooked cau ...

Dined on December 30, 2015

Food was good except for undercooked cauliflower. Might as well have served ranch dressing with it. Wasn't really rossted--merely browned. Appetizers were tasty as always. Service was quite slow and off tho prob because of large pre-theater crowd.

food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Disappointing Service

Dined on December 26, 2015

I brought my family for dinner before a show at one of the theaters around the block. It was a Saturday night and the dining room was only half full. Nevertheless, our waiter made himself scarce and seemed irritated any time he came to the table. The food looked great on paper, but tasted pretty commonplace once it arrived. No deep complaints, but not likely to return anytime soon.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice place for Christmas Eve

Dined on December 25, 2015

Good food and drink - the brussel sprouts were great, nice desserts. Fairly extensive beer list. Our waiter was friendly. They had live music - it was o.k., a little loud at times.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience2
service2

Slow service with noisy atmosphere. Expensive food

Dined on December 6, 2015

I took the family here before a night at the theater. We arrived five minutes later than our reservation...thinking we had plenty of time to eat. We waited over a half hour to get our food order, which I think is unacceptable. We became very conscious of the time as we ate. Not very relaxing to say the least. The food, while a bit pricey, was very good. The ambiance was noisy and a bit frenetic with sports on the ever present tv's and country music playing at a night club level. Our server did not remove a couple of items from our bill that we had not ordered...making our exit take even longer. We ordered a dessert in advance because of our time issue and that also mysteriously took much longer than necessary. Overall... a nice place to hang with adults before a concert, not a family friendly place when time crunched.

Tags: vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.