Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About State and Lake Chicago Tavern

Offering Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner and Weekend Brunch utilizing local and regional ingredients, Chef Nathan Sears's menu is composed of small plates and larger entrees. Artisanal beer selections – many from the Midwest – pair gracefully with the fare as does State and Lake Chicago Tavern's extensive wine list and handcrafted, classic cocktails.

201 N State St
Chicago, IL 60601
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST Monday-Friday: 6:30am-11am
LUNCH Monday-Friday: 11am-4pm
DINNER Monday - Thursday: 4pm-11pm, Friday-Saturday: 4pm-2am, Sunday: 4pm-10pm
WEEKEND BRUNCH 7am - 2pm

Cross Street:
Lake Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(312) 239-9400

Website:
http://stateandlakechicago.com/

Entertainment:
FRIDAY AND SATURDAY: Live Acoustic Music 9PM

Parking Details:
Valet parking is offered through the hotel:
0 - 3 hours: $17
2 - 8 hours: $28
Over 8 hours: $65

Public Transit:
Red Line: State and Lake
Brown/Purple/Green/Orange Line: State and Lake
Blue Line: Clark and Lake

Executive Chef:
Nathan Sears

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you are interested in booking a private event, please contact our Restaurant Sales Department at (312) 239-9563 or by email at restaurantsales@thewithotel.com

Private Dining

State and Lake Chicago Tavern is an ideal location to enjoy a breakfast event, business or girl’s luncheon, or a plethora of events including after work receptions, rehearsal dinners, or corporate dinners. A warm rustic space filled with organic colors and vintage elements.

State and Lake Chicago Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.8

ambience

3.9

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

69% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (17)
Casual (10)
Bar Seating (8)
See All
Great Beer (7)
Good for a Date (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Fun (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
People Watching (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Romantic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Live Sports (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Family Style (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Live Music (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Healthy (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
978 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing experience! Comped our dessert because we put on open table that it was our anniversary! Such great service. Thanks S&L and Open Table!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

We came for dinner before a show at the Chicago theatre and it was perfect. Great food, great service and we were in and out in time for our show.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great location. I met by brother here, right off the Orange line. Food was good, but not a ton of lunch items for brunch menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Came with my teenage daughter before a show. Staff were very welcoming. Food was good. Desserts were out of this world! Wide beer selection too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Pre-theater dinner with my wife. Drinks were good and although the menu isn't big the food was very good. We ordered the salmon and burger between us. Quiet atmosphere which was perfect for a date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We stop by State & Lake every time we have tickets for the theater.
The food is really good and they have great creative cocktails.
Service though is always average at best. It seems they are always in a rush - which means they are understaffed. Seems like an easy enough issue to fix, but it's always the same problem.
This last time we wanted to order food before going to the show. We ended up not getting a chance as the server never came back after our appetizers were delivered.

Tags: Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Horrible slow service.
Limited menu with poor execution. Mussels were cold and mushy. Lacked taste .Wings were dry and cold. Wait staff was not attentive as drinks were forgotten and was overwhelmed serving tables. Many other restaurants in the area that are much better before a show. They need to get it together!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Service always fast and friendly. Atmosphere is fun. Doesn't feel like a hotel restaurant. We've come back for pre- and post-theatre. Food is very good, but again not coming here for fine dining.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great service. Awesome drinks. Close to Chicago theatre. Portions were small and there was a delay in the kitchen so we were almost late for our show.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Out hostess was a bit busy but immediately let us know she would be right with us. There was no one waiting and it didn't seem to be completely filled. Our waiter was outstanding and very polite. He gave us great service and was timely. My first glass of wine seemed pretty small amount although they have large wine glasses. When my second glass of wine arrived it was considerably more in the glass. I wondered if I had earlier was the last of a bottle? We ordered the appetizer Garlic Mussels. It was improperly cooked and we had to send it back. When we received the better cooked mussels we had to have our dinner come out right away since we had a show to attend at the Chicago Theater across the street. My husband ordered the steak which is pricey. But it didn't taste like it. It seemed a bit dry and over cooked. We don't mind spending money on dinner but I do expect the food to equal the price. I would have had a better tasting steak at the Outback and pay less. Again our waiter was excellent. He made the evening seem less troublesome. Next time I go to the Chicago Theater, I would consider eating somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2017

A great place to go to if you're heading over to The Chicago Theater.
They got us out on time for the show without any worry on our part.
Great drinks too!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 22, 2017

They have a somewhat limited menu (~5 snacks, 5 apps, 8 entrees and 6 desserts) and they were out of 5 or 6 things on the menu, so that really limited our options. The server forgot numerous drinks throughout the dinner. The ambiance was nice, but overall it was kind of a disappointment for a pre-show dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We were there for a pre-theater dinner. We were waited on right away with drinks and an appetizer but once we ordered our food it took about 1/2 hour to bring it. The place was virtually emptied out by the time we got our food. It worked out ok since the show started late - but I think our dishes had been sitting in the kitchen for a bit. I had the chicken and it was good but cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I had a reservation and the requested a high top when called to confirm by the restaurant
The host would not oblige stating those were for guests of four, he then seated the last three high tops with 3 parties of 2
Simply horrible leadership at the host stand

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I've eaten mussels in many restaurants over many years, but I've never had a mussel dish this bad - ever. The mussels were tiny, dry, often shells with nothing inside, the so-called sauce was a few tablespoons of unflavored liquid, the bagget was two stale pieces of cold bread. I would have sent it back but since we rarely saw our waiter and had a show to go to, I mostly just left it, and left hungry after spending a lot of money on a couple glasses of wine. That said, the broccoli salad was good and my companion enjoyed her burger. I would not return, however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great pre-theater place to eat dinner. Matthew provided great service. Food good!

Tags: Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Dinner was good. Expensive. Wife has severe wine allergy which really limited her options. All entrees had wine in them. Ended up with a burger, they were able to leave out the wine on this item. The staff was helpful but her choices were few. Most restaurants can accommodate for the allergy and provide a much broader selection. Because of this I would not be able to return.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Very very very slow service. Nice server though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Good food, attentive staff, good spot to watch people walking down State Street.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great place for pre-theatre dinner. Food was unique and delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Very slow service. 10-15 minutes for a glass of wine each time. We had late arrived and we ordered a second round of appetizers that never came. Menu limited options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The State Lake Restaurant is in the trendy Wit Hotel at one of the Chicago Loop's busiest corners. You can enter the restaurant through the hotel lobby (which overlooks the State Lake "L" platform) or through the restaurant's own State Street entrance. The menu is limited, but has everything for a burger to entrees, plus a variety of bar plates (they get an after work bar crowd.) Entrees were much better than I anticipated and fairly priced. Cocktails were expensive (downtown hotel rates) but well-made and generous. Good beer options. Atmosphere is casual but comfortable. We were there during March Madness and there were too many TV screens for my taste -- but I've been there at other times and learned that the TVs retractable (they actually retract into the walls when there are no major events).

Tags: Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Unimpressed. Served my beer in a plastic cup even tho St. Pat's day parade long over. I don't go to a nice place to get a beer in a plastic cup which seemed smaller than it should have been also. Burger was ok but duck was tough. Soup good but risotto marginal at best. For the price you can find much better food downtown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Overall, my group did not have a largely positive experience. I made the reservation same-day for my group of 8, on St. Patrick's Day, which was VERY convenient. Considering there were lines of people waiting to get into many restaurants/ bars in downtown Chicago, we considered ourselves lucky to get a reservation for our group.

We arrived a few minutes early and the restaurant had several available tables, but we still had a 10 minute wait until we were seated (after 5 minutes of waiting, they cleared off and cleaned a large table for 8 people that had been unused at the time of our arrival). Our server seemed like he was having a stressful day (which is understandable, considering we were downtown in Chicago on St. Patrick's Day), but was not very attentive to our table and always seemed to be in a hurry with us, even though there were a lot of open tables and the restaurant didn't seem slammed.

Multiple times throughout the meal, the Handicap door entrance to the restaurant (which was right next to our table) was opened, which forced the cold air from outside into our faces at the table (it was around 30 degrees outside at the time of our meal). One time, it was opened by two members of the restaurant staff who needed to dump a large trough of ice outside... VERY cold...

All in all, I think that our experience was not great, but that under different circumstances and with a few tweaks, it could have been a lot better.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Updated our resv from 3 to 5 without issues.
Table was waiting for us @ appointed time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

food was ok....service very slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Our friend ordered soup and it came out with his meal. Also, not all 4 meals were served at the same time. Our waitress was not very attentive.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My cousin and I went for here for brunch and we both had the chicken omelet. It was very delicious and we will be coming back for another visit.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The wings was very tasty . However the website needs to be updated with the menu each time they make a change. Overall a good place to go get a bite to eat.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Modern Decor, Family Style, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I've been here a number of times, but was disappointed this time around. The menu has gotten less interesting over time. Prices are high and don't include very much. There were three of us --- the salmon portion was very small, the porkchop was large --- but completely untrimmed with nothing else on the plate. We asked for bread --- and what came was pretty tired and meager. Dessert was great, but the food level just not high enough to justify the prices. The friend with the burger was happy --- if I come back, I'll probably stick to the burger and a beer.

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Very nice restaurant with great staff and very attentive.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was amazing - it was Saturday so we had their Brunch menu. I had the chicken omelette and it did NOT disappoint! Delicious, perfect flavors - although the raisins on top were a little too sweet for me - but easy to move off to the side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I've visited George many times over the past 4-5 years and it's always a pleasure. I hadn't been in over 2 years after moving out of the neighborhood and was happy to see him again this morning. Just as expected he remembered my name and my line of work. He's a true gem for State and Lake and we'll be back to visit him again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Service was poor. Waite came up to our table 5 times I a row when we told him each time we weren't ready to order. then we ordered appetizer and he tried to pressure us into ordering entrée because there would be an hour wait otherwise. He couldn't explain the entrees. then when we did order the food came in the middle of appetizer. Orders were wrong. and redone and served cold. What was nice is the manager comped one of the entrees. I would not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Small portions for the price. Kind of crowded. Food was good though and the location right near Chicago Theater made it a good pre show choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I randomly chose this restaurant based on location. The online reservation process was simple and the portobello ruben was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Ate here twice, once for dinner, once for breakfast. With prices like these, I could be eating at Kinkaid's, and the food was nowhere near the quality of Kinkaid's. Style over substance, including the service (I don't really need three people attending my table; I don't need the floor manager to stop by and see how things are). Maybe the sticker shock is the difference between my metro area (3.5M) and Chicago (9.5M). Whatever the cause, not looking for a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Patrick provided excellent service and our food was wonderful. The location is super convenient to the Chicago Theater.

A couple of loud patrons a few tables away made hearing our conversation a challenge but they eventually stopped shouting to each other across their table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The tavern burger was great. Scallops appetizer Delish. Should be served with some toast ( bruschetta) to soak up the deliscious sauce. My mussels were a disappointment

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Food well prepared, but a bit pricey for the portion size.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.