Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About State and Lake Chicago Tavern

Led by award-winning Executive Chef Nathan Sears, sleek contemporary gastropub State and Lake Chicago Tavern combines the flare of artisanal American cuisine with the warm, welcoming vibe of a neighborhood pub. Named after the iconic intersection in the heart of the city, State and Lake Chicago Tavern serves up new twists on bistro fare, with an emphasis on featuring the finest locally sourced and wholesome ingredients. Offering Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night and Weekend Brunch, Chef Nathan Sears's menu is composed of small plates and larger entrees. Artisanal beer selections – many from the Midwest – pair gracefully with the fare as does State and Lake Chicago Tavern's extensive wine list and handcrafted, classic cocktails.

201 N State St
Chicago, IL 60601
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST Monday-Friday: 6:30am-11am
LUNCH Monday-Friday: 11am-4pm
DINNER Monday - Thursday: 4pm-11pm, Friday-Saturday: 4pm-2am, Sunday: 4pm-10pm
WEEKEND BRUNCH 7am - 2pm

Cross Street:
Lake Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(312) 239-9400

Website:
http://stateandlakechicago.com/

Entertainment:
FRIDAY AND SATURDAY: Live Acoustic Music 10PM

Parking Details:
Valet parking is offered through the hotel:
0 - 3 hours: $17
2 - 8 hours: $28
Over 8 hours: $65

Public Transit:
Red Line: State and Lake
Brown/Purple/Green/Orange Line: State and Lake
Blue Line: Clark and Lake

Executive Chef:
Nathan Sears

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you are interested in booking a private event, please contact our Catering Department at (312) 239-9517 or by email at catering@thewithotel.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 12:00AM - 1:00AM 2:00PM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 4:00PM 7:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Fri 2:00PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 4:00PM 7:45PM - 9:45PM

Sat 3:00PM - 5:00PM 10:30PM - 11:45PM

Private Dining

State and Lake Chicago Tavern is an ideal location to enjoy a breakfast event, business or girl’s luncheon, or a plethora of events including after work receptions, rehearsal dinners, or corporate dinners. A warm rustic space filled with organic colors and vintage elements.

State and Lake Chicago Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

62% would recommend it to a friend

Quiet Conversation (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
See All
Great for Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Casual (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Fun (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Live Music (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Authentic (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
1007 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

This is one of my favorite gastro pubs in Chicago, and I seek it out whenever I can. Whether enjoying the avocado toast or cocktails and appetizers while unwinding after work, it is comfortable and delicious with a friendly, helpful and hardworking team in place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

A very good place for tapas. Unusual menu- my favorite was the Bibb lettuce salad and the tomato salad. The fondue was unexpected and very good, although the name, fondue was misleading. I would have described it as peppers with cheese. I was not a fan of the shrimp, the sauce overpowered the shrimp. The meatballs were very good as well.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Appetizers were amateurish at best and expensive. The peach and shrimp was awful, very poor combo. Not going back there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Very convenient for the Chicago Theater. I will go back, but I'll try to avoid the TV screens.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

If you want a place downtown to enjoy a great meal. Come here. Along with wonderful food at a reasonable price, elegant friendly atmosphere and SPECTACULAR service, and a complimentary dessert from chef Brian. This is a wonderful place for any occasion from a date, like mine, or an everyday dinner!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Went here for dinner before a show at Chicago Theater because it was very close. Food and service were just OK. Nothing special.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Food was unimpressive for the price. Service was great but not wowed by the experience and not good value for the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Out of this world desserts! They should offer more entrees,, as there were only 6...12 would be better. Wonderful chef. I love the decor, the leather stools with plaid flannel backing.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Had a great time. Not to loud, not to quite. My wife and I and a couple of friends we eat and drank. Just fabulous. The service and food were great.

Marty

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (London)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Loved the ambient feel of the place. Service not great. Good food. Willing to try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Good quality and presentation were both excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We selected this restaurant based on the online menu. When we were seated and presented with a menu we discovered that it was nothing like the online menu. When we asked the server he just airily said "oh the online menu is nothing like our actual menu". The actual menu did not have choices that we were particularly enthusiastic about and we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Broccoli risotto was amazing!! Staff was very friendly.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Lovely beer and wine selection. Limited menu choices. The food we ordered was excellent but the selection wasn't huge. Great place for before theatre drinks. Our service was good. We enjoyed ourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Quality of food was fine. The menu options were off best. Very different than last visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 10, 2017

I have going to State & Lake for years as I stay at the attached hotel many times a year. They keep changing the menu and it isn't good. They have limited option, took off most of the popular items - It was like a bar & grill but now it is trying to be something it is not and it isn't working. It used to be full and vibrant and the last 2 times that I have been there it was empty- it is a shame cause it was and could be a great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Had an Incredible meal (salmon). Outstanding flavors and presentation! Nice ambiance and service too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Limited selection but good food. Broccoli salad is a definite recommendation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Loved the avocado toast with gluten free bread. It was like a burst of sunshine in my mouth. My husband got their burger....it was a burger. Not busy when we went before ansundya theatre matinee of hamilton. I had made a reservation and totally didn't need to. There were like three tables. The servers were sooo nice! The theme of the restaurant is confusing. Playing country music but the decor (minus anset of antlers) does not look like a country theme at all.
Definitely go for brunch!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Spectacular service and incredible food. State and Lake never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 12, 2017

The Spring Onion Soup was excellent - the flavor delicious and presentation very hip. I didn't expect it to be a cream based soup either from the description or because the server didn't describe or acknowledge it but it was fantastic.
The lemon pomegranate sorbet had a unique favor but as I asked for it to go was little more than a frozen icee. Hopefully different when eaten in the restaurant.

It was late and while I was asked if I'd like anything else it was apparent it was the end of the night service wise as the consistency of who was taking care of me was based mostly on who was nearby and "excuse me's". The bar was full, a large group dinner and rowdy table of drinkers made it obvious this is more bar than dinner late.
Food nonetheless is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Pre fix menu is a good pre-show idea, but not executed 100%. Each dish was just a little over or under done, and the deserts were meh. Maybe you were down a few servers the night we were there, but ours had to run ragged inside and outside. The meals were not served temp you would expect for the price you pay. I would not recommend, and will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great stop for dinner before a concert. Convenient and kept us on track to make our show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Went for a business lunch and the place was empty yet they put us at a table in the far corner under the stairs. Service was incredibly slow. Broccoli salad was outstanding so at least the food was good. Won't go back

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Work anniversary

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 1, 2017

We ordered the tavern chicken with mash d potatos and it was served cold.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Amazing experience! Comped our dessert because we put on open table that it was our anniversary! Such great service. Thanks S&L and Open Table!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 24, 2017

We came for dinner before a show at the Chicago theatre and it was perfect. Great food, great service and we were in and out in time for our show.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We went pre-theater. Menu a little limited, and doesn't seem to change often. But the food is very good - especially the burger, and the restaurant is only a block from Chicago Theater. Service was a bit slow this time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great location. I met by brother here, right off the Orange line. Food was good, but not a ton of lunch items for brunch menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Came with my teenage daughter before a show. Staff were very welcoming. Food was good. Desserts were out of this world! Wide beer selection too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Pre-theater dinner with my wife. Drinks were good and although the menu isn't big the food was very good. We ordered the salmon and burger between us. Quiet atmosphere which was perfect for a date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We stop by State & Lake every time we have tickets for the theater.
The food is really good and they have great creative cocktails.
Service though is always average at best. It seems they are always in a rush - which means they are understaffed. Seems like an easy enough issue to fix, but it's always the same problem.
This last time we wanted to order food before going to the show. We ended up not getting a chance as the server never came back after our appetizers were delivered.

Tags: Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Horrible slow service.
Limited menu with poor execution. Mussels were cold and mushy. Lacked taste .Wings were dry and cold. Wait staff was not attentive as drinks were forgotten and was overwhelmed serving tables. Many other restaurants in the area that are much better before a show. They need to get it together!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Service always fast and friendly. Atmosphere is fun. Doesn't feel like a hotel restaurant. We've come back for pre- and post-theatre. Food is very good, but again not coming here for fine dining.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great service. Awesome drinks. Close to Chicago theatre. Portions were small and there was a delay in the kitchen so we were almost late for our show.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Out hostess was a bit busy but immediately let us know she would be right with us. There was no one waiting and it didn't seem to be completely filled. Our waiter was outstanding and very polite. He gave us great service and was timely. My first glass of wine seemed pretty small amount although they have large wine glasses. When my second glass of wine arrived it was considerably more in the glass. I wondered if I had earlier was the last of a bottle? We ordered the appetizer Garlic Mussels. It was improperly cooked and we had to send it back. When we received the better cooked mussels we had to have our dinner come out right away since we had a show to attend at the Chicago Theater across the street. My husband ordered the steak which is pricey. But it didn't taste like it. It seemed a bit dry and over cooked. We don't mind spending money on dinner but I do expect the food to equal the price. I would have had a better tasting steak at the Outback and pay less. Again our waiter was excellent. He made the evening seem less troublesome. Next time I go to the Chicago Theater, I would consider eating somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2017

A great place to go to if you're heading over to The Chicago Theater.
They got us out on time for the show without any worry on our part.
Great drinks too!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 22, 2017

They have a somewhat limited menu (~5 snacks, 5 apps, 8 entrees and 6 desserts) and they were out of 5 or 6 things on the menu, so that really limited our options. The server forgot numerous drinks throughout the dinner. The ambiance was nice, but overall it was kind of a disappointment for a pre-show dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We were there for a pre-theater dinner. We were waited on right away with drinks and an appetizer but once we ordered our food it took about 1/2 hour to bring it. The place was virtually emptied out by the time we got our food. It worked out ok since the show started late - but I think our dishes had been sitting in the kitchen for a bit. I had the chicken and it was good but cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.