HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 20 times today

State and Lake Chicago Tavern

4.2
1050 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Pre/post Theatre
  • Casual
  • Happy Hour
Led by award-winning Executive Chef Nathan Sears, sleek contemporary gastropub State and Lake Chicago Tavern combines the flare of artisanal American cuisine with the warm, welcoming vibe of a neighborhood pub. Named after the iconic intersection in the heart of the city, State and Lake Chicago Tavern serves up new twists on bistro fare, with an emphasis on featuring the finest locally sourced and wholesome ingredients. Offering Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night and Weekend Brunch, Chef Nathan Sears's menu is composed of small plates and larger entrees. Artisanal beer selections – many from the Midwest – pair gracefully with the fare as does State and Lake Chicago Tavern's extensive wine list and handcrafted, classic cocktails.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
BREAKFAST Monday-Friday: 6:30am-11am
LUNCH Monday-Friday: 11am-4pm
DINNER Monday - Thursday: 4pm-11pm, Friday-Saturday: 4pm-2am, Sunday: 4pm-10pm
WEEKEND BRUNCH 7am - 2pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(312) 239-9400
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Nathan Sears
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Lake Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet parking is offered through the hotel:
0 - 3 hours: $17
2 - 8 hours: $28
Over 8 hours: $65
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Red Line: State and Lake
Brown/Purple/Green/Orange Line: State and Lake
Blue Line: Clark and Lake
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
FRIDAY AND SATURDAY: Live Acoustic Music 10PM
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
If you are interested in booking a private event, please contact our Catering Department at (312) 239-9517 or by email at catering@thewithotel.com
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

State and Lake Chicago Tavern is an ideal location to enjoy a breakfast event, business or girl’s luncheon, or a plethora of events including after work receptions, rehearsal dinners, or corporate dinners. A warm rustic space filled with organic colors and vintage elements.

View Private Dining Details
What 1050 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2  based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.3
service
4.2
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
81% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
vipJimB (Chicago)
4.0  Dined 3 days ago

Good experience. Good food, good service. Ambience very nice.

Report
Helpful
CBVAL (Chicago)
5.0  Dined 5 days ago

We loved the service and food! It was so convenient to come here after a show at the Chicago Theater, and we were pleasantly surprised at how great everything was. We would definitely come back (with or without kids).

Report
Helpful
VictoriaM (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on February 11, 2018

State and Lake Tavern was great to stop at for a filling bite right after we checked out of the hotel. Their brunch options were amazing. I highly recommend the potatoes -- everything my girlfriend and I had was delicious. Service was attentive but not hovering, and the entire environment was moody and dark; perfect for date night. It has a beautiful ambiance and is a more low-key environment than The Roof.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on January 31, 2018

Great location for theater, good food and wonderful service!

Report
Helpful
mrrab (Indiana)
5.0  Dined on January 31, 2018

I really enjoyed the sandwich menu. A good selection of not the normal choices.
Good atmosphere and good food.

Report
Helpful
Fit2eat (Louisville)
4.0  Dined on January 28, 2018

Very enjoyable experience for brunch! I had a glass of wonderful champagne and the sirloin and eggs with a side of pimento. Everything was wonderful. My husband had the white chocolate french toast which was so decadent and the hot chocolate which was amazing! Our server, Jorge, was so friendly and helpful. Over-the-top service! Highly recommend this place.

Report
Helpful
justaregularguy (Chicago)
3.0  Dined on January 26, 2018

Stopped by for pre theater dinner. Pub food was ok. It met our needs. Nothing special but very convenient for our evening.

Report
Helpful
PattyD (Chicago)
3.0  Dined on January 7, 2018

I had been to State and Lake Chicago Tavern a few years ago and recalled a good experience. I suggested it for our dinner after a show with some friends recently. I was very disappointed in my meal choice, as was one of my friends. 3 guests were pleased with their meals. I ordered a "salmon salad" and it was the weirdest thing I have ever eaten. And not in a good way. Strange combination of ingredients that did not go well together. One friend ordered a "beet salad" and it was mostly cabbage and hardly any beets. She did not like it. We did have roasted brussel sprouts appetizer that was very good, as well as a big pretzel with mustard (also good). Bottom line--order the burger. It looked delicious.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Chicago)
3.0  Dined on January 7, 2018

Pre theatre meal

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Chicago)
4.0  Dined on December 31, 2017

New Years Eve

Report
Helpful
SleepyHollowMomOf2 (Chicago)
4.0  Dined on December 29, 2017

Menu is extremely limited. Food was mediocre. Short rib was good, but had over powering dill flavor. The butternut squash pasta looked unappetizing & there wasn't any squash in it. It wad just ok. Our server had the personality of a wet noodle. She was not excited to be there. We wanted a cozy table for the 2 of us & ended up at a tiny table with no legroom next to the hostess table. The whole dinner we overheard the hostesses gabbing & gossiping. With so many great places to eat downtown, I'd rank this pretty low. Only plus us a great location.

Report
Helpful
2scoops13 (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on December 27, 2017

Was a pre-theater dinner for us. Very enjoyable, good food, good service. Our server made sure that our food was served promptly. Also, met a local celebrity there. Fun time.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on December 27, 2017

My son and I went before the show at the Oriental Theater. It was very convenient and close to the theater. We were very impressed with their specialty cocktails. Burgers were done just right.

Report
Helpful
SkinnyMinnie (Chicago)
3.0  Dined on December 23, 2017

Menu was very limited and ordinary. Food offerings were expensive! We ordered 2 adult entrees, 3 appetizers, 1 kids entree, and a few drinks... $200+... ouch!! Guess you pay for the convenient location. If you can... eat somewhere else!! Nothing special!!

Report
Helpful
nicko4 (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on December 14, 2017

The food seems like it has strange combinations but they all work and they are different and delicious. The restaurant is beautiful and it has a great looking bar. I went there on a client luncheon and both my client and I said we would be back. The staff was extremely attentive and helpful. A gem on State Street.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
70