Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 22 times today

State and Lake Chicago Tavern

4.3
1075 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Pre/post Theatre
  • Casual
  • Creative Cuisine
Led by award-winning Executive Chef Nathan Sears, sleek contemporary gastropub State and Lake Chicago Tavern combines the flair of artisanal American cuisine with the warm, welcoming vibe of a neighborhood pub. Named after the iconic intersection in the heart of the city, State and Lake Chicago Tavern serves up new twists on bistro fare, with an emphasis on featuring the finest locally sourced and wholesome ingredients. Offering Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night and Weekend Brunch, Chef Nathan Sears's menu is composed of small plates and larger entrees. Artisanal beer selections – many from the Midwest – pair gracefully with the fare as does State and Lake Chicago Tavern's extensive wine list and handcrafted, classic cocktails.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
BREAKFAST Monday-Friday: 6:30am-11am
LUNCH Monday-Friday: 11am-4pm
DINNER Monday - Thursday: 4pm-11pm, Friday-Saturday: 4pm-2am, Sunday: 4pm-10pm
WEEKEND BRUNCH 7am - 2pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(312) 239-9400
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Nathan Sears
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Lake Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet parking is offered through the hotel:
0 - 3 hours: $17
2 - 8 hours: $28
Over 8 hours: $65
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Red Line: State and Lake
Brown/Purple/Green/Orange Line: State and Lake
Blue Line: Clark and Lake
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
FRIDAY AND SATURDAY: Live Acoustic Music 10PM
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
If you are interested in booking a private event, please contact our Catering Department at (312) 239-9517 or by email at catering@thewithotel.com
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

State and Lake Chicago Tavern is an ideal location to enjoy a breakfast event, business or girl’s luncheon, or a plethora of events including after work receptions, rehearsal dinners, or corporate dinners. A warm rustic space filled with organic colors and vintage elements.

View Private Dining Details
What 1075 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.3
service
4.2
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
83% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic restaurant! Felt welcomed upon arrival, server was VERY attentive and personable, food was fantastic! We’ll definitely eat there again when we’re in town!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

A really lovely experience. Waiter was very helpful in our food selections. I loved gnoshing on the marinated olives small plate while tasting the four beers in my flight and debriefing with the fam on Hamilton.
We had a great table near the window, and had a relaxing, non-rushed meal.
Yum!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

The menu is very limited. The service was extremely slow. Half the time we could not find our waiter. We came back after the show for a drink and appetizer, ended up with the same waiter, and same bad service. We would flag him down as he was going by, and he would pretend he did not see us. This happened several times! Guy playing the guitar was great!!!!!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 10, 2018

My fiancé and a buddy are here before going to a show at the Chicago Theatre. The food was good and the service was friendly but slow. Wait times for drinks was long and it took over 30 min after we ordered to our 3 entrees (a burger ordered medium, short rib entree, and my fiancé got the fried Brussels sprouts app for her dinner). They were busy but it wasn’t slammed in there so those dishes shouldn’t take longer than 15-20 minutes to come out even during peak dinner service. I had also mentioned in my reservation that we would be in a bit of a hurry since we were going to the show and also that it was my friends birthday but the server didn’t mention either of those things which makes me think she wasn’t told, which would be on management if that’s the case. I wasn’t expecting s free dessert or anything special like that but a simple acknowledgement (hey happy birthday) would have been nice. All in all I’d say it was a pretty average experience, the food was prepared well and tasted great but not much about the overall experience to draw me back anyone soon

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 10, 2018

While the food was good and service also good, the portions were really small for the price. The pasta entree should be more of a tasting. Overall, better choices are out there for the price. Just too expensive.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 8, 2018

In a word, meh. The menu wasn’t great. My husband had a perfectly good burger that he could have gotten anywhere (nothing special about it) when nothing else appealed on the menu, and I had the short rib. This was flavorful, almost too much so. Competing flavors, the veggies and purée were a pretty big mush. So all in all, those 2 dishes, 1 bottle of beer and 1 glass of wine (no appetizers, salad, side or dessert) cost $75 before tip. Would have happily paid quite a bit more for better selections.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The service, ambiance, and food were amazing! The flavors in the food were unique and tasty!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We've been here a couple times and each time it is new and innovative, as well as tasty. The atmosphere is great and the service is wonderful. We are from out of town, but will definitely put this restaurant on our to go list.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The only drawback here is a rather limited menu, but that's fairly typical in smaller bar-connected restaurants. My entree was excellent, as was my friend's order. The wait staff was extremely attentive and friendly. I showed up earlier than my reservation time but was seated immediately, even though my friend had not yet arrived.

This is a great place for lunch or dinner when visiting the Chicago Loop. As the name implies, it's easy to find at the corner of State and Lake streets. You enter through a hotel lobby and then make a left.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The food was exceptional. The service was great. The location is within two blocks of the Oriental Theater. The atmosphere was ideal for casual dining with exceptionally high quality food. I would highly recommend this.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Lunch before matinee. My husband really enjoyed his burger (and he is particular!). The french fries are outstanding (ask for well done and they will be crispy). And the waiter was patient and understanding when we had to spend some time to find a tap beer that I enjoyed. We look forward to returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Stopped in prior to going to the Oriental Theatre, food was very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Amazing coffee with great brunch options. Cocktails were tasty and look good too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

terrific location if one were going to the Chicago theater for a show ( the yellow spot Irish whisky was smooth and the cauliflower risotto was delicious.) my only recommendation would be Hofbrau on tap

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Great service and yummy pre theatre dinner

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 22, 2018

We had small plates and cocktails before the threatre. The food was very good as were the cocktails. We arrive a little early and we were not rushed. Very pleasant experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 22, 2018

The fried Brussel sprouts are simply amazing as well as the mussels!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Pre-theater Dinner was very good. The mussels were outstanding

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

The manager was very accommodating given our surprise of a fixed Paddy's day menu we knew nothing about when we made our reservation.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 11, 2018

This place has potential but the hair in my beet salad and my husband getting sick the next morning from either the mussels or the smoked trout dip (yes that kind of sick) has turned us off permanently. On top of food issue, our first course arrived about five minutes after ordering and our second, shortly thereafter. It felt like turning the tables was more important then a customer's enjoyment.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 9, 2018

This has been a go to for us for years... this time not so impressive. Maybe just a bad night. Service was great, table exactly our pick... but too much oil on the salads, chicken entree... just too heavy. Don't know if it was a new chef or what. I'll go back and try again but maybe I'll give it a few weeks. Cider and wine - no complaints! If you love rich food and pork options, this place works! (not my thing)

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 4, 2018

State and Lake Tavern appears to be a really great spot for a get together! We loved the food and service. Since it was our first time there, my only regret is not picking a location that was a bit more intimate. We came for our anniversary here but they seat you super close to others in a tight space and it’s far too loud to hold a conversation. Don’t get me wrong, it was enjoyable, just not the type of atmosphere I was expecting.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 26, 2018

Very fine food. Average service. Great spot; will go back!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Nothing bad, but nothing great either. They got both of our orders slightly wrong, server did her best to make things right. Mistakes happen. The location was key for us, so that worked. Not sure I would return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 23, 2018

We ate dinner there before a show at the Chicago Theatre. Good cocktail, beer and wine selection. The Tavern Chicken and Faroe Island Salmon were delicious. Service was attentive.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 20, 2018

Good experience. Good food, good service. Ambience very nice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

We loved the service and food! It was so convenient to come here after a show at the Chicago Theater, and we were pleasantly surprised at how great everything was. We would definitely come back (with or without kids).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2018

State and Lake Tavern was great to stop at for a filling bite right after we checked out of the hotel. Their brunch options were amazing. I highly recommend the potatoes -- everything my girlfriend and I had was delicious. Service was attentive but not hovering, and the entire environment was moody and dark; perfect for date night. It has a beautiful ambiance and is a more low-key environment than The Roof.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 31, 2018

Great location for theater, good food and wonderful service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 31, 2018

I really enjoyed the sandwich menu. A good selection of not the normal choices.
Good atmosphere and good food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 28, 2018

Very enjoyable experience for brunch! I had a glass of wonderful champagne and the sirloin and eggs with a side of pimento. Everything was wonderful. My husband had the white chocolate french toast which was so decadent and the hot chocolate which was amazing! Our server, Jorge, was so friendly and helpful. Over-the-top service! Highly recommend this place.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Stopped by for pre theater dinner. Pub food was ok. It met our needs. Nothing special but very convenient for our evening.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 7, 2018

I had been to State and Lake Chicago Tavern a few years ago and recalled a good experience. I suggested it for our dinner after a show with some friends recently. I was very disappointed in my meal choice, as was one of my friends. 3 guests were pleased with their meals. I ordered a "salmon salad" and it was the weirdest thing I have ever eaten. And not in a good way. Strange combination of ingredients that did not go well together. One friend ordered a "beet salad" and it was mostly cabbage and hardly any beets. She did not like it. We did have roasted brussel sprouts appetizer that was very good, as well as a big pretzel with mustard (also good). Bottom line--order the burger. It looked delicious.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 7, 2018

Pre theatre meal

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 31, 2017

New Years Eve

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 29, 2017

Menu is extremely limited. Food was mediocre. Short rib was good, but had over powering dill flavor. The butternut squash pasta looked unappetizing & there wasn't any squash in it. It wad just ok. Our server had the personality of a wet noodle. She was not excited to be there. We wanted a cozy table for the 2 of us & ended up at a tiny table with no legroom next to the hostess table. The whole dinner we overheard the hostesses gabbing & gossiping. With so many great places to eat downtown, I'd rank this pretty low. Only plus us a great location.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 27, 2017

Was a pre-theater dinner for us. Very enjoyable, good food, good service. Our server made sure that our food was served promptly. Also, met a local celebrity there. Fun time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 27, 2017

My son and I went before the show at the Oriental Theater. It was very convenient and close to the theater. We were very impressed with their specialty cocktails. Burgers were done just right.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 23, 2017

Menu was very limited and ordinary. Food offerings were expensive! We ordered 2 adult entrees, 3 appetizers, 1 kids entree, and a few drinks... $200+... ouch!! Guess you pay for the convenient location. If you can... eat somewhere else!! Nothing special!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 14, 2017

The food seems like it has strange combinations but they all work and they are different and delicious. The restaurant is beautiful and it has a great looking bar. I went there on a client luncheon and both my client and I said we would be back. The staff was extremely attentive and helpful. A gem on State Street.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
27