About State and Lake Chicago Tavern

201 N State St
Chicago, IL 60601
View Larger Map

Offering Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner and Weekend Brunch utilizing local and regional ingredients, Chef Kevin Atkinson's menu is composed of small plates and larger entrees. Artisanal beer selections – many from the Midwest – pair gracefully with the fare as does State and Lake Chicago Tavern's extensive wine list and handcrafted, classic cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST Monday-Friday: 6:30am-11am
LUNCH Monday-Friday: 11am-4pm
DINNER Monday - Thursday: 4pm-11pm, Friday-Saturday: 4pm-2am, Sunday: 4pm-10pm
WEEKEND BRUNCH 7am - 2pm

Cross Street:
Lake Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(312) 239-9400

Website:
http://stateandlakechicago.com/

Entertainment:
WEDNESDAY: Live Blues Music 8PM
FRIDAY AND SATURDAY: Live Acoustic Music 9PM
SUNDAY: Live Country Music 5pm

Parking Details:
Valet parking is offered through the hotel:
2 hours: $15
3-12 hours: $26
13-24 hours: $50

Public Transit:
Red Line: State and Lake
Brown/Purple/Green/Orange Line: State and Lake
Blue Line: Clark and Lake

Executive Chef:
Kevin Atkinson

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you are interested in booking a private event, please contact our Restaurant Sales Department at (312) 239-9563 or by email at restaurantsales@thewithotel.com

Restaurant Photos

Crispy Chicken Thigh & Slaw
Spring Pea Bruschetta
Pistachio S'more In A Jar
Wild boar chili, green line braise, giant white beans, pimento cheese
Lake Perch Tacos
Molasses cookies and fudge ice cream sandwich
Deviled eggs, sweet potato, sage crouton, La Quercia tamworth ham, arugula
Charred broccoli, fried almonds, chilies, mustard seed vinaigrette
Roasted cauliflower, silken tofu, fresh chickpeas, potato leek knish, beet vinaigrette
Coconut macaroon cookies and espresso ice cream sandwich
Cheddar scallion soft pretzel, roasted corn, jalapeño dip
Cruller With Rhubarb Compote And Marshmallow Cream
Tavern French fries - sea salt, parmesan, tavern mayo
Goose Island bourbon county stout braised bacon
Snickerdoodle cookies, raspbery peach ice cream sandwich; Neapolitan ice cream taco w/ madagascara vanilla, almond and honey shell, strawberry rhubarb cream cheese ice cream, dark chocolate
Jarred snacks appetizers - sweet and sour beets, lemon jam, feta; chunky chickpea hummus, clementine marmalade, Thai chii; fig and peppered bacon jam, mancheo and almonds with grilled polenta bread
Jarred chocolate - Valrhona dulcey chocolate pudding, chicory dark cocoalte cream, cold pressed coffee shaved ice
Wood-grilled salmon, roasted cauliflower, black lentils, chive and lemon crème fraîche
Nuts & Preserves - peanut butter panna cotta, blackberry preserves, three nut pavlova
Pumpkin ice cream taco, This Bar Saves Lives Madagascar vanilla, almond and honey shell, pumpkin ice cream, dark chocolate, pumpkin seeds
Root beer float with vanilla ice cream
Hanger Steak
Red Velvet Pancakes
Veggie Egg White Wrap
Veggie Benedict
Smoked salmon
Sage Apple Fritters With Maple Ice Cream
Codfish Fritters
Pan Roasted Salmon
Deviled eggs, duck bacon, sweet potato, wild rice, fennel
Spinach gnocchi dumplings, buttercup squash, roasted mushrooms, aromatic consommé
Apple elephant ears, vanilla ice cream, warm rosemary apples, apple chips
Bibb lettuce salad, farro, tavern tomato, charcoal onion, oil cured olive, goat cheese, sunflower spring onion vinaigrette
Salted butter pecan ice cream
French Toast
BLT
Tavern Eggs Benedict
Chess Pie
Corned Beef Hash
Banana French Toast
Pulled Pork Omelet
Chocolate French Toast
Fudge brownie ice cream sandwiches with coconut milk chocolate ice cream
Little Gem Salad – roasted carrots, white beans, romaine lettuce, celery root, cranberry yogurt dressing
Butternut squash soup, housemade lamb bacon, pumpkin seed pesto, candied fennel
Dino kale salad – roasted pumpkin, pickled beets, bacon-golden raisin vinaigrette
Housemade pretzels, local folks mustard, daisy cutter beer cheese fondue
Seared whitefish sandwich, arugula, smoked tomato aioli, pumpernickel oat roll bun, dressed greens
Fried Calamari
Chicken Pate
Devil's Food Cake
Chocolate Custard French Toast
Lake Erie crispy smelts, malt vinegar, tartar, okra pickles
Chocolate almond bread pudding, mint white chocolate mousse, milk chocolate sorbet
Dulcey peach pop – Dulcey coating and ice cream, peach sorbet, pecans
Cheese and Meat Plate
Breakfast Quesadilla
Eggs And Tomatoes
Breakfast Skillet
Chef's Week Lobster Club
Chef's Week Hot Dog Flight
Westphalia Ham, Crispy Egg, White Asparagus
Jager Schnitzel
Italian Caprese Burger
Spicy Jalapeno Burger

Private Dining

State and Lake Chicago Tavern is an ideal location to enjoy a breakfast event, business or girl’s luncheon, or a plethora of events including after work receptions, rehearsal dinners, or corporate dinners. A warm rustic space filled with organic colors and vintage elements.

State and Lake Chicago Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
See All
Great for Lunch (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Romantic (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
838 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very good food. If opting for the kale s ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Very good food. If opting for the kale salad, beef tips are a great protein choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The only thing good was the beer. Fried ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The only thing good was the beer. Fried chicken was mostly breading. The chicken itself wasn't good either. Loud obnoxious guy next to us sealed the deal. Never going again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

This has become our favorite place to ea ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This has become our favorite place to eat when downtown for special events. Service is always excellent and food is always very good. I rated the noise moderate because it was louder than any other visit.....but then again it was Lallapaloosa weekend and they were busy.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Went here for dinner before show at Chic ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Went here for dinner before show at Chicago Theater - 1/2 block away, very convenient, interesting well-balanced menu, though not very large. Whitefish tacos were very tasty!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Me and two others met before seeing a sh ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Me and two others met before seeing a show at the Chicago theater. Great location for pre show dinner, drinks or whatever. We opted for drinks and appetizers. We had chicken wings, cheese dip, poutine fries and broccoli. All but the broccoli were good. The descriptions on the menu of the broccoli was different than what was brought to us. Not bad just not what we expected it to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Cobb salad was mostly lettuce with small ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Cobb salad was mostly lettuce with small dabs of the other ingredients.

Wine was quite expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Restaurants who give zero training to th ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Restaurants who give zero training to their waitpeople deserve the reviews they get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

I did not eat the food, but it smelled g ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I did not eat the food, but it smelled great. The service was good and my water was always full. I liked the lighting and the atmosphere. And it's right by the train!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent service and seating selection. ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Excellent service and seating selection. Ambient music playing in the background, but not overwhelmingly loud at all. The food was delicious and the service was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined here several times for lun ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We have dined here several times for lunch and breakfast and never been disappointed. The food is always good quality, hot, and usually fast service as they cater to the downtown working crowd. Service was prompt and courteous. The homemade corned beef hash is a treat! Also the eggs benedict of which there are several versions are very good. Great spot with an active bar crowd after work!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is very good here and a better ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food is very good here and a better value than you will find at most restaurants in this area. The wait staff and management are quite attentive. This is a great place for a meal before a show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had brunch here and the food was exce ...

vip
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had brunch here and the food was excellent. Our waiter was great. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to State and Lake prior to atten ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We went to State and Lake prior to attending a play nearby. The food was very good, my wife found a wine she enjoyed and the beer selection, while not large, was quite good as well. If you want a pub experience this would not be your choice; if you want good food and drink in an enjoyable atmosphere this would be a good choice.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dined on Sunday -- 8:30 pm reservation. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Dined on Sunday -- 8:30 pm reservation. Only 2 other parties dining when we arrived; when they left ~9pm, staff cranked up the music & started clearing all tables & resetting them for breakfast - very noisy. Seemed like they didn't want us there - made for a very unpleasant dining experience.

I gave them a Service Rating of Fair because our server did a great job, but overall the rest of the staff didn't make it a welcoming or pleasant dining experience. Also reflected in the Ambiance Rating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value3

Food was great! My service wasn't so... ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was great! My service wasn't so... My waiter took a very long time taking care of my wife and I. Another waiter had to take care of us in his place

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Extremely enjoyable and friendly staff. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Extremely enjoyable and friendly staff. Roasted chicken was amazing and the meatloaf was big enough for two

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Food

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Great food, great atmosphere, great waiters, but took long time for food to come out. Otherwise I would have given 5 stars.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

We came here before a show at Chicago Th ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We came here before a show at Chicago Theatre - which is probably 90% of the patrons at the time. Server was prompt but kept messing up our orders: asked for an Manhattan but almost got something else. Orders a chicken app but got the entree. Understand it was very busy and things can get confusion. She ended up correcting the situation and recovered.

The food itself was good, drinks are very expensive even for River North/ Loop. ($19 for a martini!) We will likely go elsewhere before a show next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Limited menu is well designed for our pu ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Limited menu is well designed for our purpose -- light fare before visiting the Chicago Theater next door. We each ordered a "wimpy" burger and shared a basket of fries. Service was timely, but not overly engaging or friendly. Pricey beer & wine list, but lots of selection. Better atmosphere for a group than a date. Would return due to its convenience to the Chicago Theater, but it's not a special spot.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Perfect for a before theater dinner!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Nice variety on the menu with wonderful preparations. Sides are large enough to share. The specialty cocktails are different and delightful. We had the margaritas with passionfruit and a chili liquer which gave them just the right touch of spiciness. Craft beer selection is also varied and interesting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a wonderful upscale tavern with ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

This was a wonderful upscale tavern with an upscale comfort food menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very average dining experience

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Do not go to this place if there is a concert at the Chicago Theater!! Just crazy. Once the crowds left, the service was not great and the food was just fine. Big bar if you are looking for a drink and perhaps a snack.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Great lunch place

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

We went to state and lake tavern after going to the Windy City Live show. It was a beautiful day and we sat by the window people watching.

Our lunch was delicious. We had a panini and a hamburger. Both were tasty. We had arugula salad with the panini and yummy fresh cut fries with the burger. The server was helpful and very attentitive. We would go back to the state and lake tavern.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Groups of 6 and a forgetten meal!?

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We went with a group of friends for a birthday. Our service initially was great-we have a friend with a food allergy and the server was attentive to that. When the food arrived--my meal was completely missed. They didn't even realize that it was missing. We had to flag down a server who happened to be a manager. She went to talk to our server and 5 minutes later I had a very rare burger in front of me. I cut in to it and realized I wouldn't eat it. We had to flag down another server and they brought the manager back. They took my burger--with ketchup and mustard already on it-and just put both halves back on the grill. I would have expected them to do it right and get a new burger. I didn't eat it. They did comp my meal but the gratuity was already added to our check. It was not a good experience Nd we wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

The food was good but disappointed in th ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was good but disappointed in the menu. Even though the website showed a lunch menu, prior to 2:00 pm, there was only burgers & brunch items. The burgers were really good, but would have liked a bigger selection that the lunch menu implied was available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Hopping place with good food

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

If you don't mind a place that's loud, busy, and crowded (especially on weekends), you'll enjoy the food and the atmosphere here. Making reservations is a good idea, and you may want to try someplace else if you're looking for a quiet and romantic dinner, then come back here some other time when you're just out for fun.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Theater district gem

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Great spot to grab something to eat/drink before or after a show in the theater district.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

The best!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Loved this place. Ate here twice while staying at the WIT (also a great hotel). Had dinner and brunch, and everything we ordered was just excellent. Great food, great service, fun ambiance. Would absolutely recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chicken wings were excellent, tavern fri ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Chicken wings were excellent, tavern fries great and the Kale salad as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Although the menu is not very large, the ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Although the menu is not very large, the food is delicious. Wings are a nice, non-spicy option with a yummy sauce. Good vegetarian options, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great beer selection

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

I love that they have tastings of the different beers they serve. It is very busy on concert nights and it seems like they do not have enough help. Are server was great but running around like crazy and it took a while to get everything. Need more vegetarian/vegan options.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Delicious food

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Had the mussels for an appetizer, salmon for the main course, and it turns out the waiter thought our friend was having a birthday so we had a delicious dessert of brownie ice cream cones. I would definitely go back, because the food was outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a nice suprise

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

We really enjoyed our dinner here. We were going to a show at the Chicago Theater so it was very convenient. I would recommend reservations as the place filled up fast shortly after we arrived. For starters, we had the charcuterie and cheese boards which were both excellent. While some other places have been chintzie with the amount they give you, both boards were surprisingly generous. I had one of their Manhattans (North and West?) which was good although a bit pricey. For dinner, I had the pork chop and my husband had the bison meatloaf. The pork chop was really juicy and tasty although it was a bit difficult to cut into while it was atop beans (also tasty) in a skillet. I ended up launching some beans onto the saucer for the skillet. My husband really enjoyed his meatloaf and was very pleased with his choice. We did not have time to stay for dessert, but we would definitely be back should we need dining in that area again. Our server was also very attentive without being overbearing and had great suggestions (to which some we did partake).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

close to chicago theatre

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Food was ok, but the servers are over worked, took a while to get service and for a burger it really shouldn't. Its close to chicago theater so that was a plus

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Our waiter was great!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Great meal! The tables were too close together though! The steak was very good and we loved the grilled onion mashed potatoes:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great except for new server

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Our server had to be new because he steered us wrong in the selection of our meal. He made up definitions of food items which were incorrect. The broccoli was extremely HOT and he didn't mention it when we asked specifically about certain flavors.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Bad Service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Made a reservation for 6 good prior to arriving. My party arrived and the place was empty. The hostess seemed confused that we had a reservation. Nonetheless, we were seated at a table for 5 that they made to accommodate the 6 of us which was not reserved or anything. We asik thought it was a bit cramped and asked for a larger table but were told that there are only two tables in the place for a party our size and they were both reserved. Aside from the mix-up, the waiter we had seemed like he didn't want to serve us. As he gave us our drinks, he said he wasn't ready for our orders and didn't come back until 10 minutes later. Then two of our burgers, which were very tasty, were cooked incorrectly. Bad experience for a place with a great vibe and good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Wonderful

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

This is my second time dining at State and Lake Tavern. My meal was delicious and so was the mojito. The rest of the food at my table looked amazing. We had a very attentive sever named Chris who blew us away with his hospitality. So attentive to our tables needs. We were really impressed by this hotel restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Zek

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Food was very good, the mimosas were over priced. Very good service, I would definitely recommend it.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.