Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About State and Lake Chicago Tavern

Offering Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner and Weekend Brunch utilizing local and regional ingredients, Chef Nathan Sears's menu is composed of small plates and larger entrees. Artisanal beer selections – many from the Midwest – pair gracefully with the fare as does State and Lake Chicago Tavern's extensive wine list and handcrafted, classic cocktails.

201 N State St
Chicago, IL 60601
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST Monday-Friday: 6:30am-11am
LUNCH Monday-Friday: 11am-4pm
DINNER Monday - Thursday: 4pm-11pm, Friday-Saturday: 4pm-2am, Sunday: 4pm-10pm
WEEKEND BRUNCH 7am - 2pm

Cross Street:
Lake Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(312) 239-9400

Website:
http://stateandlakechicago.com/

Entertainment:
FRIDAY AND SATURDAY: Live Acoustic Music 9PM

Parking Details:
Valet parking is offered through the hotel:
0 - 3 hours: $17
2 - 8 hours: $28
Over 8 hours: $65

Public Transit:
Red Line: State and Lake
Brown/Purple/Green/Orange Line: State and Lake
Blue Line: Clark and Lake

Executive Chef:
Nathan Sears

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
If you are interested in booking a private event, please contact our Restaurant Sales Department at (312) 239-9563 or by email at restaurantsales@thewithotel.com

Private Dining

State and Lake Chicago Tavern is an ideal location to enjoy a breakfast event, business or girl’s luncheon, or a plethora of events including after work receptions, rehearsal dinners, or corporate dinners. A warm rustic space filled with organic colors and vintage elements.

State and Lake Chicago Tavern Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.8

ambience

3.9

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (14)
Bar Seating (10)
Casual (9)
See All
Modern Decor (7)
Comfort Food (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Fun (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Great Beer (4)
People Watching (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Cozy (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Healthy (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Romantic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Live Music (1)
Family Style (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
960 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Good food, attentive staff, good spot to watch people walking down State Street.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place for pre-theatre dinner. Food was unique and delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Very slow service. 10-15 minutes for a glass of wine each time. We had late arrived and we ordered a second round of appetizers that never came. Menu limited options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The State Lake Restaurant is in the trendy Wit Hotel at one of the Chicago Loop's busiest corners. You can enter the restaurant through the hotel lobby (which overlooks the State Lake "L" platform) or through the restaurant's own State Street entrance. The menu is limited, but has everything for a burger to entrees, plus a variety of bar plates (they get an after work bar crowd.) Entrees were much better than I anticipated and fairly priced. Cocktails were expensive (downtown hotel rates) but well-made and generous. Good beer options. Atmosphere is casual but comfortable. We were there during March Madness and there were too many TV screens for my taste -- but I've been there at other times and learned that the TVs retractable (they actually retract into the walls when there are no major events).

Tags: Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Unimpressed. Served my beer in a plastic cup even tho St. Pat's day parade long over. I don't go to a nice place to get a beer in a plastic cup which seemed smaller than it should have been also. Burger was ok but duck was tough. Soup good but risotto marginal at best. For the price you can find much better food downtown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Overall, my group did not have a largely positive experience. I made the reservation same-day for my group of 8, on St. Patrick's Day, which was VERY convenient. Considering there were lines of people waiting to get into many restaurants/ bars in downtown Chicago, we considered ourselves lucky to get a reservation for our group.

We arrived a few minutes early and the restaurant had several available tables, but we still had a 10 minute wait until we were seated (after 5 minutes of waiting, they cleared off and cleaned a large table for 8 people that had been unused at the time of our arrival). Our server seemed like he was having a stressful day (which is understandable, considering we were downtown in Chicago on St. Patrick's Day), but was not very attentive to our table and always seemed to be in a hurry with us, even though there were a lot of open tables and the restaurant didn't seem slammed.

Multiple times throughout the meal, the Handicap door entrance to the restaurant (which was right next to our table) was opened, which forced the cold air from outside into our faces at the table (it was around 30 degrees outside at the time of our meal). One time, it was opened by two members of the restaurant staff who needed to dump a large trough of ice outside... VERY cold...

All in all, I think that our experience was not great, but that under different circumstances and with a few tweaks, it could have been a lot better.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Updated our resv from 3 to 5 without issues.
Table was waiting for us @ appointed time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

food was ok....service very slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Our friend ordered soup and it came out with his meal. Also, not all 4 meals were served at the same time. Our waitress was not very attentive.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

My cousin and I went for here for brunch and we both had the chicken omelet. It was very delicious and we will be coming back for another visit.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The wings was very tasty . However the website needs to be updated with the menu each time they make a change. Overall a good place to go get a bite to eat.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Modern Decor, Family Style, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I've been here a number of times, but was disappointed this time around. The menu has gotten less interesting over time. Prices are high and don't include very much. There were three of us --- the salmon portion was very small, the porkchop was large --- but completely untrimmed with nothing else on the plate. We asked for bread --- and what came was pretty tired and meager. Dessert was great, but the food level just not high enough to justify the prices. The friend with the burger was happy --- if I come back, I'll probably stick to the burger and a beer.

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Very nice restaurant with great staff and very attentive.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was amazing - it was Saturday so we had their Brunch menu. I had the chicken omelette and it did NOT disappoint! Delicious, perfect flavors - although the raisins on top were a little too sweet for me - but easy to move off to the side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I've visited George many times over the past 4-5 years and it's always a pleasure. I hadn't been in over 2 years after moving out of the neighborhood and was happy to see him again this morning. Just as expected he remembered my name and my line of work. He's a true gem for State and Lake and we'll be back to visit him again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Service was poor. Waite came up to our table 5 times I a row when we told him each time we weren't ready to order. then we ordered appetizer and he tried to pressure us into ordering entrée because there would be an hour wait otherwise. He couldn't explain the entrees. then when we did order the food came in the middle of appetizer. Orders were wrong. and redone and served cold. What was nice is the manager comped one of the entrees. I would not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Small portions for the price. Kind of crowded. Food was good though and the location right near Chicago Theater made it a good pre show choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I randomly chose this restaurant based on location. The online reservation process was simple and the portobello ruben was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Ate here twice, once for dinner, once for breakfast. With prices like these, I could be eating at Kinkaid's, and the food was nowhere near the quality of Kinkaid's. Style over substance, including the service (I don't really need three people attending my table; I don't need the floor manager to stop by and see how things are). Maybe the sticker shock is the difference between my metro area (3.5M) and Chicago (9.5M). Whatever the cause, not looking for a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Patrick provided excellent service and our food was wonderful. The location is super convenient to the Chicago Theater.

A couple of loud patrons a few tables away made hearing our conversation a challenge but they eventually stopped shouting to each other across their table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The tavern burger was great. Scallops appetizer Delish. Should be served with some toast ( bruschetta) to soak up the deliscious sauce. My mussels were a disappointment

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Food well prepared, but a bit pricey for the portion size.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Food was excellent. Service was horrible. We sat down at the end of the breakfast rush. Were seated at a table still being cleared (though there were other empty tables available). Waiter immediately poured coffee, had to be beckoned back to the table so we could request cream. I ordered hot tea and had to order again from another waiter who came along later after never receiving it from the first. All the while, no spoons at the table so my colleagues were using their knives and forks to stir their coffee. Placed our order. Asked for spoons. Spoons delivered. Order delivered except for the toast. Halfway through our meals, still no toast. Beckoned the waiter who said he'd check on the toast right away. Brought the toast. Explained the delay due to bread being downstairs in freezer. What?! We had to ask for butter. He brought the butter, explaining that the butter isn't gluten free so they don't put it on gluten free toast. What?! I questioned that and he said that's what the chef says. That waiter disappeared. We literally didn't see him again. Host came to fill our water glasses and explains that they don't butter the gluten free toast because frequently guests who order gluten free also are dairy free. Fine. Or, I suggested, your could ask the guests when they order. She said that's why the waiter brings butter separately. Yes, I said, after you ask for it. Again, great food. Horrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Had Breaksfast...table had eggs and French toast ..all good, French toast different and very good
Service excellent ..spot on and very fast...
super convenient if staying at The Wit
Price high but to be expected for hotel type restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Second time there, and again, very underwhelming. We mistakenly ordered non-pub food (appetizer scallops) and they were thoroughly atrocious: fishy tasting and in a sauce that tasted canned. If you must eat here, order the burger and the wings. Don't try and give them the benefit of the doubt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The portions are small for the price. It's ok if you're staying at the hotel and you need somewhere convenient and open late.

Tags: Quick Bite, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Best place for brunch. There a lot of good places in chicago for brunch but this one is very special as the staff here are personable and the food is always consistent. Try their chicken and waffles, they are definitely the best in town with the white BBQ sauce and chili sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Ate here twice - dinner and breakfast.

Dinner was fine. Drinks were great but dinner was OK. I had whitefish which was a bit overwhelmed by the flavor of olives - a strong flavor with such a delicate fish. The accompaniments were very good.

Breakfast was outstanding. The weekend brunch menu had several dishes that tempted me. I had the burnt ends hash with perfect poached eggs on top. Great English muffin on the side and wonderful coffee. I'll definitely stop here for breakfast again even if I'm not staying at the hotel.

Service was friendly. Enjoyed the video fireplaces. Apparently you get suspenders when you are a server....

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We have eaten at State & Lake several times before and were pleased with the food. But this time there was a new menu which was VERY limited. I don't eat meat or poultry, and there was almost nothing for me. Even the one fish dish was cooked in duck fat and served with cabbage cooked with pork! I ordered the only vegetarian dish, a risotto with rapini. The rapini was burnt, tough, stringy, and so bitter as to be inedible. The risotto was lukewarm. I sent it back, and eventually received a replacement that was much better. The waiter and manager were apologetic and the manager took 20% off our check. But we will not go back. In the past there was a large selection of fish and vegetarian options. This new menu, introduced by the new chef, is meat-heavy, and not at all appealing to me. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Service was excellent, food was good, wine was over-priced.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 21, 2016

OMG the whitefish melts in your mouth!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Some of the food was fine, but the chicken entrée was so salty, we couldn't eat it. The chicken wings were tasty.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I was sad that the menu did not match the menu online at Open Table. The menu we received at the restaurant was very limited. Also, the prices were very high for the amount of food we got.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Food really wasn't great which was a bummer as the breakfasts are amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Terrible service, mediocre food and very loud, bad karaoke upstairs. Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Great pre theatre spot on a snowy day. Fernando was an exceptional waiter - so knowledgeable and he offered suggestions like a friend. such a warm and cozy spot.

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Server was not excellent. Whitefish plain with little flavor. Pork chop was better than fish but over all WOW factor just not there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We were treated very well despite being late for our reservation due to traffic. Food was really good but service a little slow. They were really busy however and were good about rushing our checkout process so we could make it to Chicago Theater on time.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Great food, services and ambiance. I tell coworkers about this restaurant.

Tags: Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

One of the best breakfast/brunch around. Unique offerings and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.