About Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room

495 King Street
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Stars Rooftop & Grill Room brings the art of live fire cooking to Charleston. Stars exemplifies an artistic appreciation for live fire cooking by focusing on the details of each dish – the seasoning, balance, pairing and presentation. The restaurant has a full bar and grill room on the first floor and event space on the second floor. The rooftop bar has a 360-degree view of downtown Charleston and can accommodate up to 140 people. Dedicated to serving locally sourced food within 100 miles of Charleston, Stars’ food and beverage menus are fresh and seasonal. Stars brings a new tradition of open flame cuisine to Charleston and is not to be missed.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Downstairs Bar Hours:
Monday-Friday 4:00pm-2:00am
Saturday-Sunday 10:30am-2:00am
Rooftop Bar Opens at
Monday-Thursday 2:30 pm
Friday 12:00 pm
Saturday-Sunday 10 am
Dinner:
Sunday- Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm-11:00pm

Saturday Brunch: 10:30am-2:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:30am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Morris Street and King Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-0100

Website:
http://starsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
We have live entertainment starting at 11pm on Friday and Saturday.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available after 6pm and is located at the corner or King & Morris Street, one street north of Stars.

Public Transit:
The Charleston Visitor's center and bus shed is located one block from Stars at the corner of Meeting and Ann St.

Executive Chef:
Chef Stephen Ollard

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact Jessica Martin 843-577-0100 or email events@starsrestaurant.com

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Stars creates an exceptional event venue to host private dining events, both social and professional. Our event specialists have experience in hosting, catering and managing all event types from business meetings to intimate weddings.

Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (47)
vibrant bar scene (45)
special occasion (41)
See All
fit for foodies (34)
hot spot (34)
romantic (31)
scenic view (28)
great for brunch (22)
late-night find (17)
neighborhood gem (15)
great for outdoor dining (12)
notable wine list (9)
great for lunch (5)
Sort By:
Newest
815 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a large party of 12 on a weeknigh ...

Dined 4 days ago

We had a large party of 12 on a weeknight with extended family celebrating a birthday and following our wedding in Folly Beach. The staff was excellent, food was great and all the little details were on point. Thank you to all the Stars staff for making our last night in Charleston perfect!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined 6 days ago

We had Sunday brunch at Stars and it was excellent, from the food to the service. It may seem a bit pricey at $25 but this isn't your usual brunch spread. Besides the typical brunch menu, there's an amazing selection of cheeses, crackers, smoked salmon, salads, fruit, Benedict and desserts. Beautiful and inviting presentation.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was excellent. Service was great.

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Evening started great right off upon ope ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Evening started great right off upon opening the door. Was graciously greeted, and seated at a wonderful large circular booth. It was my wife and I for an anniversary dinner. Waiter Justin was most informative and provided undivided attention and service. Food was outstanding and very well portioned. Can't wait to return. Start off with a cocktail "Made man in Charleston " definitly can't go wrong

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent.

Dined on May 13, 2016

Tremendous food, excellent wait staff, beautiful rooftop for drinks afterward. This was an amazing experience all around in a beautiful city.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and night cap on the roof was ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Great food and night cap on the roof was fun

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on May 11, 2016

Definitely arrive early and go up to the roof top bar. A great list of cocktails and the view is beautiful. When we were seated for dinner, our waiter was wonderful and knowledgeable. The specials were truly special and the food was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect!

Dined on May 9, 2016

The rooftop bar was a great place to see the sunset and a view of the city. We enjoyed that both nights of our stay! Dinner was fantastic downstairs on the first floor. Great ambiance! I highly recommend it. The bartenders and wait staff are very friendly.

Tags: scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stars Restaurant Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Stars Restaurant - Mother's Day Brunch 2016 We needed a last minute Mother's Day reservation, and chose Stars based on availability and proximity. We were very glad we did. Everything was wonderful. The service was attentive but not obnoxious - we loved our waiter. The space was attractive, comfortable, and quiet. The food was well presented, varied, and tasty. We plan to make Stars our regular Charleston brunch spot.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2

When we arrived we were about 6 or 7 min ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

When we arrived we were about 6 or 7 minutes early. I ask the Gentlemen at the front desk to give me just a moment because I wanted to see the view from the roof. He told me no and that they needed to seat me right away because it was going to be a busy night. There was only two other tables that had customers seated at the time. AND when we left there was 6 tables that had no one seated and no line at the door. He spoiled my night and you will never get another dollar from this guy! Halls Chop House to eat from now on. Dewberry hotel for the views. You can become unsuccessful one person at a time, becarful.

food5
ambience5
service5

Attended buffet lunch after college of C ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Attended buffet lunch after college of Charleston commencement and it was just perfect for three generational family celebration . Food was so good! Several options at three stations so something for everyone . We were seated in a both and it was Quiet enough for grandparents to be in on conversation. Our server was quite attuned to our group and v attentive . Highly recommend !

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for celebration

Dined on May 7, 2016

Here for graduation. The roof was perfect for cocktails, dinner was wonderful. Great service, good advice from waiter, very trendy bar scene.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Great establishment, everything was as a ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Great establishment, everything was as advertised! Definitely will be back!

food4
ambience4
service4

Tasty Brunch ! Great ambiance in restaur ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Tasty Brunch ! Great ambiance in restaurant . Rooftop bar nice, relaxed,ambiance too even on a cloudy day ! My husband enjoyed a nice birthday brunch celebration with friends.

food5
ambience5
service5

Go for the Sunday brunch buffet! It was ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Go for the Sunday brunch buffet! It was amazing and we did not want to leave!

food4
ambience5
service5

What a great experience especially after ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

What a great experience especially after our night at Blossom! This totally made up for the previous night at another restaurant that was a big disappointment. The food was excellent and the service was awesome!! Our server Zan was terrific. The complimentary champagne and dessert was just what we needed after our poor service from the night at Blossom. This is our third visit to Stars and we were not disappointed on this special occasion of celebrating our anniversary. So glad we chose to be here on this night!

food3
ambience3
service3

It was enjoyable but not memorable.

Dined on April 30, 2016

It was enjoyable but not memorable.

food3
ambience3
service1

Good food but rude waiter. He literally ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Good food but rude waiter. He literally threw my daughter's silverware onto the table then acted as it he was making a joke. He was very condescending. We won't be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this restaurant

Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was impeccable. The service was superb. Cannot say enough what a great experience we had at Stars.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, good service, nice atmospher ...

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

Great food, good service, nice atmosphere

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious brunch!

Dined on April 24, 2016

We took my daughter here as a yay you made it to finals week! The brunch was a buffet with many different choices of yummy food. My daughter is a Vegetarian and she had no problem filing her plate several times. I had shrimp and grits for the first time and loved them. The service was the right amount of attentive! We will try dinner next time we are in town!

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was really delicious and the se ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was really delicious and the server was gracious. We had fun dancing to the DJ after dinner!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. Great menu selection.

Dined on April 18, 2016

The restauarant surprised us with a Birthday dessert for my friend. A lovely end to a wonderful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

We visited on a Sunday night, and it was ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

We visited on a Sunday night, and it was not busy. Dinner choices ranged from seafood to hamburgers (party of four). All were well-prepared. We also enjoyed the wine on tap concept.

food5
ambience5
service5

As always the food and experience was am ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

As always the food and experience was amazing. There was a mix up with our order and our waiter did everything to accommodate us. We left completely satisfied and very full. Great choice for a night out.

food2
ambience4
service4

I really wanted to like this place. It's ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

I really wanted to like this place. It's cool and pretty inside. The music and service was good, but our meal was less than I expected. Maybe it was an off night. I may try it again on another visit to Charleston.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great meal! Salmon was cooked t ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Always a great meal! Salmon was cooked to perfection and the wine on tap is awesome.

food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and great service.

Dined on April 8, 2016

Good food and great service.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Rooftop bar rocks

Dined on April 6, 2016

I went with several girlfriends on a lovely early evening to Stars rooftop bar. It is hip and trendy, with a beautiful crowd of different age groups. They have a great selection of specialty cocktails and fun bartenders. We proceeded downstairs for a fabulous meal. I enjoyed a crisp, tasty duck over a cassoulet. My friends' crab cakes were fresh and delicious. The restaurant is large and good for a group. This was my fourth very favorable visit. My only wish is that they would change the name.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Star Restaurant

Dined on April 3, 2016

Sunday brunch had nice selection of breakfast food and a little lunch. Fried chicken eggs Benedict were unique and very tasty. Pecan smoked bacon was cooked to perfection and scrambled eggs as well.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

5 Stars for Stars

Dined on April 3, 2016

A group of us were in Charleston for the Cooper River Bridge Run. Had reservations for Saturday night, and loved the drinking and dining experience!

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and service.

Dined on April 2, 2016

Wonderful food and service.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Quite a surprise (post-CRBR brunch)

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Booked Stars for a post-CRBR brunch, based mostly on location and didn't expect a lot thanks to the crowds. I was pleasantly surprised on all fronts! I'm usually not a fan of buffets but the food was really fantastic. Who has great scrambled eggs on a breakfast buffet? Stars does! The shrimp & grits are amazing, and don't get me started on the fried chicken benedict or smoked salmon! Oh and the mimosas! Yes, yes... the mimosas. Service was wonderful, too. Will be back for dinner sometime soon!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great newish restaurant in Charleston

Dined on April 1, 2016

Great restaurant. We had salads, small plates and also entrees. Everything was wonderful. Get reservations and go an hour early and go up to the rooftop bar for drinks before dinner. Very cool space. Highly recommend, but get a reservation. Also has valet parking, which is nice when the town is busy.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Thought the food was good and loved the ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Thought the food was good and loved the ambiance. Roof top reminded me of the first rooftop in Charlotte. It was raining and we sat inside but we had a good time and the service was very good.

food5
ambience5
service5

The rotisserie chicken was amazing. My d ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

The rotisserie chicken was amazing. My dinner partner raved about the truffle grits. We'll be back.

food5
ambience5
service5

The service was great. The server had th ...

Dined on March 28, 2016

The service was great. The server had the chef make my 3 and 5 year olds chicken fingers that weren't on the menu and they were the best chicken fingers they've ever had. Always tough to find a good restaurant that isn't too stuffy for my youngsters and this definitely fit the bill

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice date night

Dined on March 26, 2016

My husband and I dined here recently and had a nice romantic dinner. The food was good but a bit pricey for the quality. Our server was wonderful. Overall it was a nice dining experience. I would recommend it to others though I won't be back soon only because my husband and I have a long bucket list of Charleston restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great southern cooking! Unique dishes an ...

Dined on March 21, 2016

Great southern cooking! Unique dishes and fun atmosphere.

food3
ambience3
service1

The restaurant was so loud that we could ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

The restaurant was so loud that we couldn't talk among the four of us. Our server was good but the delivery of drinks and food was exceptionally slow and annoying!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.