About Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room

495 King Street
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Stars Rooftop & Grill Room brings the art of live fire cooking to Charleston. Stars exemplifies an artistic appreciation for live fire cooking by focusing on the details of each dish – the seasoning, balance, pairing and presentation. The restaurant has a full bar and grill room on the first floor and event space on the second floor. The rooftop bar has a 360-degree view of downtown Charleston and can accommodate up to 140 people. Dedicated to serving locally sourced food within 100 miles of Charleston, Stars’ food and beverage menus are fresh and seasonal. Stars brings a new tradition of open flame cuisine to Charleston and is not to be missed.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Downstairs Bar Hours:
Monday-Friday 4:00pm-2:00am
Saturday-Sunday 10:30am-2:00am
Rooftop Bar Opens at
Monday-Thursday 2:30 pm
Friday 12:00 pm
Saturday-Sunday 10 am
Dinner:
Sunday- Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm-11:00pm

Saturday Brunch: 10:30am-2:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:30am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Morris Street and King Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-0100

Website:
http://starsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
We have live entertainment starting at 11pm on Friday and Saturday.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available after 6pm and is located at the corner or King & Morris Street, one street north of Stars.

Public Transit:
The Charleston Visitor's center and bus shed is located one block from Stars at the corner of Meeting and Ann St.

Executive Chef:
Chef Stephen Ollard

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact Jessica Martin 843-577-0100 or email events@starsrestaurant.com

Restaurant Photos

Stars Grill Room Steak
Peregrine Ranch Pinot Noir Wine
Apple Crisp
Pan Seared Atlantic Salmon
Plancha Seared Scallops Entree
Kale Salad
Burger
Bacon Tater Tots
Dessert
crab cake
Smoked Chicken Cobb Salad
Mini Blt
Tangled Up In Blue Wine
Wine On Tap
Lobster & Grits
Grilled Trout
Braised Short Ribs
Chicken Pot Pie
Grilled Swordfish

Private Dining

Stars creates an exceptional event venue to host private dining events, both social and professional. Our event specialists have experience in hosting, catering and managing all event types from business meetings to intimate weddings.

Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Vibrant Bar Scene
South Carolina
American
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

Good for Groups (43)
Special Occasion (39)
Vibrant Bar Scene (33)
See All
Fit for Foodies (28)
Hot Spot (27)
Romantic (25)
Scenic View (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Great for Brunch (17)
Notable Wine List (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Great for Lunch (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Fun (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Cozy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
People Watching (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Casual (2)
Authentic (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Business Meals (1)
Healthy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
884 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic!! Hope was a terrific server t ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 2 days ago

Fantastic!! Hope was a terrific server too.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had not heard of Stars until I was sea ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I had not heard of Stars until I was searching for a buffet brunch. I was quite impressed! The food was great, the service was excellent, and the price made it an amazing value. I'll go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Sunday brunch!!!

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great Sunday brunch!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

TheBrunch wasverygood,as usual The Frenc ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

TheBrunch wasverygood,as usual The French toast is especially good Iwould go again at anytime

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very surprised to find such a young coll ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Very surprised to find such a young college age crowd going up and down the stairs to and from the rooftop bar. Those that were dining downstairs were often distracted by the number of people coming through the restaurant just to go the the rooftop (where they don't serve food). The quality of the food seems to have suffered with the change in the clientele. I would not rush back to Stars or King Street.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Our waiter Cameron was fantastic We enjo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Our waiter Cameron was fantastic

We enjoyed a drink on the rooftop beforehand so fun

A bit spend my but so worth it once we taste the food! Hands down four of the best meals we've all had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful atmosphere, food, service. Gre ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere, food, service. Great buzz. In the heart of historic Charleston. A favorite go-to spot for a terrific evening any time or to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place. Made Saturday dinner re ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Love this place. Made Saturday dinner reservations for 14 ladies for my sisters Bachelorette. Our table was already prepared for us and the service was fantastic. The food selection was amazing along with the drinks. But more gracious was the waiter who accommodated us by splitting our checks individually.. Excellent experience.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good. Service was excelle ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Food was very good. Service was excellent. We went for Restaurant Week but were not impressed by the special menu so we ordered off the regular menu and the food was really good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I was very disappointed in my meal and v ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

I was very disappointed in my meal and value for dollar. I had the lamb. $37 for 3 ribs, very fatty. The snapper aka vermilion did not seem fresh. The best thing were the French Fries. This is more of a club atmosphere rather than a fine dining experience that you pay for.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Had a divine experience- food was amazin ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Had a divine experience- food was amazing, our waiter was attentive and entertaining. Ask the bartender to be creative with your drink- its a leap of faith that will be well worth the risk. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We attended the Sunday brunch. The food ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We attended the Sunday brunch. The food was very good, and our server was amazing. There was a lot of food on the buffet to choose from, and I would recommend the omelet and waffles in particular. Also, there was a cheese bar and a large assortment of desserts available. We would return.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

This is must for Sunday brunch everytime ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This is must for Sunday brunch everytime we're in town. Perfect!!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Star serves a very nice Sunday Brunc ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The Star serves a very nice Sunday Brunch. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Vibrant, noisy, fun place. Food is good. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Vibrant, noisy, fun place. Food is good. Service was excellent once seated, but was sent a text to say table ready when we were standing 5ft away! Couldn't hear the text for the noise! Overall great experience and would recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

While was our first time eating dinner t ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

While was our first time eating dinner there, we have had brunch there previously and had a phenomenal experience. We were very disappointed, we choose Stars to treat a couple from out of town that we were interviewing for one of our key positions as our company. The Duck was WAY overcooked, the Short Rib way overcooked and the server while pleasant was not very engaged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

The restaurant was a delightful surprise ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The restaurant was a delightful surprise. Food was fabulous, and the service was wonderful. S'mores pies was the best dessert ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had Sunday brunch buffet on 8.21.16. Fo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Had Sunday brunch buffet on 8.21.16. Food was excellent, both hot and cold bars. Very comfortable seating and not too loud. Service was exceptional with great attention to detail down to the cloths on the water pitchers to prevent dripping. This was our first time and the staff was very helpful. Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter was attentive, but the food a ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The waiter was attentive, but the food and drink were over sold. Two in our party of 4 ordered the lamb shops, we were told these we not ordinary lamb chops they were from Colorado. There were two chops on each plate they had a lot of fat and if there was a total of two ounces of meat I would be very surprised. One ordered the tenderloin which they found very tough, the fourth ordered fish and liked it very much.

No matter what you charge it does not make the product exceptional, it is the quality of the product you put out there that makes an honest restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Great food & service. Will definitely go ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great food & service. Will definitely go there again.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The brunch was absolutely fantastic! Ser ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The brunch was absolutely fantastic! Service was a little bit slow considering the service required is minimal since most of the food was buffet style. The food was great, especially the kale salad. Loved having all the options, and a full brunch with salads, appetizers, multiple main course choices, and desserts for $25 is incredibly reasonable!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Jazzy supper club feeling downstairs and ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Jazzy supper club feeling downstairs and beautiful hip rooftop bar

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great brunch buffet! And they have brunc ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great brunch buffet! And they have brunch Saturday as well as Sunday, that's difficult to find in Charleston. Food was excellent.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Sunday Brunch and Happy hour are always ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Sunday Brunch and Happy hour are always a great time with great food, atmosphere and service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Stars was a fun dining- in-an-almost-bar ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Stars was a fun dining- in-an-almost-bar experience. The restaurant is apparently popular with bachelorette groups, and there were six large parties of girls having fun dinners. The interior bar is in the front part of the dining room, also people will walk by your table getting to the roof top bar. We had lamb chops, lobster pasta, duck and steak. All were equally delicious. The house cabernet was yummy. While you don't have to yell, it was somewhat loud on a Saturday night. It is the kind of restaurant where you can feel like you've been "out for the evening" even if all you do is have dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My son got sick from the salmon. It came ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

My son got sick from the salmon. It came out raw and they had to cook it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

There were 10 of us for a birthday celeb ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

There were 10 of us for a birthday celebration. Overall we had a good meal. The service made it better. My duck was overcooked & they overcooked/undercooked 3 burgers but did correct the burgers. The fish dishes, steak, steak/lobster combo & appetizers were all great. I have been here before many times for dinner & brunch & have never had a bad meal before. Definitely left disappointed this time.. but most likely will try again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Varied menu--something for everyone's ta ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Varied menu--something for everyone's taste. Shared appetizers were excellent. Service attentive. It was a business meal for 7 and we had an easy time conducting business (left alone until needed). Food presented beautifully and delicious. Wine list had a lot of very good moderately priced options. Too hot to go to rooftop that night but air-conditioned downstairs made for a very positive experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was spectacular but more import ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The food was spectacular but more importantly, the staff was exceptional! I dropped my phone into an abyss between a booth and wall. The managers used all means necessary to get my phone back (and they did it with a smile)! We needed a few drinks after that event and went to the rooftop bar; excellent service and yummy drinks! We will be going back as soon as possible!

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great, but the service was ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The food was great, but the service was amazing! Our waiter Chris made our evening an experience we won't soon forget. He was very helpful in suggesting things for us to try and his dedication to service was impeccable. It's hard to find servers that care as much as he does anymore. We would recommend it to everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Share plates are small, they are not tap ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Share plates are small, they are not tapas size, be prepared for this when you order. The quality of the food is excellent, you should be going to order a main entrée, you will not go wrong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was probably our fifth (or more) ti ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

This was probably our fifth (or more) time eating at Stars although we hadn't been there in several months. Each previous visit was quite good or we wouldn't have returned. This time we were not at all impressed. My husband had the lobster (totally mediocre); my entree seemed really overpriced (fish was a small portion and all the accompanying veggies were winter/root vegetables - seems weird in the middle of July). I hope we just hit them on a somewhat off night. There are so many good places on upper King that the competition is keen. Stars needs to step up its game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

We had an interesting experience at Star ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had an interesting experience at Stars, we had dinner and then drinks on the roof. The food and service were very good but we were VERY disappointed with their "artisan tap wines" which are neither good nor inexpensive. The idea of house tap wines was intriguing and we ordered "carafes" of the 2014 Pratsch, Grüner Veltlinerand one of the 2013 Aldenwood, Cabernet Sauvignon, North Coast, Ca. We thought we were ordering the 450 ml carafes but when we got the bill we realized that we had gotten Liters. So we had $96 of wine that we did not enjoy and did not finish. I can recommend the restaurant and the roof is a great place for drinks but avoid the "artisan tap wines" .

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Our waiter, Luis was very personable and ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our waiter, Luis was very personable and added to our enjoyment of the meal. This is one of our two favorite restaurants in Charleston.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was not at all what we thought it wou ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

It was not at all what we thought it would be. VERY loud! It was just the two of us and we wanted a nice night. The view from the roof was ok, but there are much better in Charleston. The food was very average. The service was very good, but only go here if you want a loud scene and you're under 30!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Our server was pretty bad, the food was ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our server was pretty bad, the food was decent but for the price, not worth it. And don't bother with the tator tot appetizer, they're hardly better than cooking frozen ones at home. Home Team BBQ's tots are where it's at!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Not only did Stars accommodate our party ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Not only did Stars accommodate our party of 11 through open table reservations (not many restaurants will, trust me), but our server, Chris, was so good with my three year old niece. Chris' recommendations on apps and entrees was spot on, the drinks were fabulous. Enjoying the rooftop views after dinner was a treat.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server seemed a bit inexperienced, a ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Our server seemed a bit inexperienced, and after she had a few more tables to tend to we were almost forgotten. There was also a long wait for our appetizer. The server explained that the kitchen got backed up, but it didn't seem that crowded at the time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We had a drink at the bar before we sat- ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We had a drink at the bar before we sat- bartender made me a special cocktail that was great. Local beer of the day was a big hit. Dinner was very good . I had the special, grouper over succotash; grilled lobster over pasta was good. Disappointed that no bread was served or offered . It also seemed odd that the filet was listed with market price .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Everything was delicious. Party of 16 h ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Everything was delicious. Party of 16 had a taste of everything. Chris was awesome, keeped the drink flowing, made great recommendations and everything was delivered hot and delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.