About Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room

Stars Rooftop & Grill Room brings the art of live fire cooking to Charleston. Stars exemplifies an artistic appreciation for live fire cooking by focusing on the details of each dish – the seasoning, balance, pairing and presentation. The restaurant has a full bar and grill room on the first floor and event space on the second floor. The rooftop bar has a 360-degree view of downtown Charleston and can accommodate up to 140 people. Dedicated to serving locally sourced food within 100 miles of Charleston, Stars’ food and beverage menus are fresh and seasonal. Stars brings a new tradition of open flame cuisine to Charleston and is not to be missed.

495 King Street
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Grill, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Downstairs Bar Hours:
Monday-Friday 4:00pm-2:00am
Saturday-Sunday 10:00am-2:00am
Rooftop Bar Opens at
Monday-Thursday 2:30 pm
Friday 12:00 pm
Saturday-Sunday 10 am
Dinner:
Sunday- Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm-10:30pm

Saturday Brunch: 10:00am-2:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Morris Street and King Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-0100

Website:
http://starsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
We have live entertainment starting at 11pm on Friday and Saturday.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available after 6pm and is located at the corner or King & Morris Street, one street north of Stars. There is a city garage located on Morris St, between King and Meeting. The on-street parking is free all day on Sunday.

Public Transit:
The Charleston Visitor's center and bus shed is located one block from Stars at the corner of Meeting and Ann St.

Executive Chef:
Chef Vince Carino

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact Jessica Martin 843-577-0100 or email events@starsrestaurant.com

Private Dining

Stars creates an exceptional event venue to host private dining events, both social and professional. Our event specialists have experience in hosting, catering and managing all event types from business meetings to intimate weddings.

Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Good for a Date (21)
Good for Groups (21)
See All
Hot Spot (19)
Bar Seating (17)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Business Meals (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Fun (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Scenic View (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
People Watching (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Romantic (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Casual (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Authentic (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Cozy (3)
Private Room (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Live Music (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
1060 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

The food on Stars brunch buffet was fantastic...what was left of it. We arrived for our noon reservation and much of the buffet had not been replenished and was very messy. Our server took 45 min to bring coffee because they had ran out. Bloody Mary was the worst I've ever had. Bartender was incredibly rude. Staff delivered omelets to table 15 min after the meal was complete and they were sitting on paper with ink that had soaked into the egg.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

Stars offers a buffet brunch with many options. I chose to go here with a large group of friends, as there are many options and it seemed like a good value. The food did not disappoint, but unfortunately the poor service ruined the experience. I would probably recommend checking out other spots before settling at Stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was fantastic. Great rooftop spot for going out with our bachelorette party afterwards. Would recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Bery good experience. Salmon was incredible. Calamari and oyster apps were great. What made this for us was the service. Eric and Chris were both polite and very knowledgeable. We learned quite a bit about what we were eating and drinking, which added to the overal experience. Probably my favorite restaurant in charleston.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 16, 2017

This was my mom's 87th birthday brunch with family. I walked in and informed the hostess that it was a birthday brunch and if she could have something special brought to the table, she said absolutely. Nothing was ever brought to the table the value of the branch and what food was offered was not worth going , nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 15, 2017

So, last time, we had Chris as our server who was amazing and was definitely part of the experience which led to a 5 Star review

It is a year later and we brought my 12 yo son for his birthday dinner. We were a bit disappointed not to have Chris as our server but still excited to be there.

Now I will let my 12 yo give the rest of the review.

"Our server we assume was drunk from the beginning to the time when we walked out I didn't know the definition of drunk until I saw her literally drop tons of French fries on my brother and gave my Brother 2 meals, both were wrong my meal was not what I ordered and when we told her she gave me the same meal with a different side dish this is after she messed both the appetizer order and the drink order. Plus she was slurring and repeated her self over and over again. Happy Birthday to me it was a sad birthday dinner and I hope that I don't have to go back unless we get Chris next time ."

Dad back here....we told the manager who although apologetic still let her come back to the table. My 12 yo may not know what a drunk person is but I do. She was. Ultimately my son started crying. Birthday dinner over. Dinner was comped but still a disaster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The menu offered enough variety and the food was very good. The Charleston Pluff Mud Pudding for dessert was AMAZING!!! It was fun to go up to the rooftop after dinner for drinks and diversion. The only downside to our visit was the service. The waitress was not friendly or welcoming. Her attitude was dry and a bit indifferent. She forgot to bring the iced tea we ordered and when asked about it, she flippantly said: "I'm working on it!" We had to ask again for the beverage before she brought it (the food had already been served!) We were also served the wrong food and she did not check in with us at all. Finally, when she brought the bill, she had charged us for a bottle of wine we did not order and for the wrong food . Nonetheless, I would go back to this place - as long as we do not get the same waitress!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Casual, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 12, 2017

When spending time in Charleston we always want to hit some good restaurants so this time we decided to try Stars. The food was excellent! I had lobster with pimento cheese risotto, hubby had the prime rib and my 8 year old had a grilled cheese. All our meals were fantastic! We were very happy with the experience. The only thing I did not like was the half circle booths. It's very hard to converse with the entire table with that type seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Unbelievable experience. Impeccable service combined with incredible food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We had reservations for 11 and they were able to accommodate us at their Chef's Table. The waiter was friendly and experienced, and the food was enjoyed by all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great food and great service! I was driving down from Columbia to take a group of cadets out from The Citadel. We all enjoyed it very much and our server Sullivan was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We went for dinner- service was excellent- food is just ok however. We got a pasta dish and a chicken dish- they were nothing special for the price. I would recommend it for drinks but not for dinner.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Super impressed with the food and service! One of the best meals I've had in a long time!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 4, 2017

A quiet, and tasty dinner. Burger was cooked to order, and the apple crip capped off the occasion.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 4, 2017

The food was decent, definitely over priced. Service was great. The only big issues was the gnats everywhere. They were flying around us, our food and drinks the entire time. One even landed in one of our drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 3, 2017

My boyfriend & I went here for our last night in Charleston. We had a drink on the roof to start and it was great. The drinks were wonderful and view was nice, I think the shurbs could be trimmed though.
Dinner was amazing, I love that there isn't a lot of seating because we were able to actually hear each other when speaking. Definitely will go back next trip to Charleston!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Our server "sully" was great! My daughter had a burger and it was tasty as was my filet and my sons shrimp and grits- hubby ordered a med rare prime rib and it arrived too done- but they fixed it as fast as they could- whisky sour was very tasty too!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We visited Stars for Sunday brunch as part of my parents' 50th wedding anniversary. I must say that we had an awesome experience. The food and service were awesome. With a group of 14, including a 2 y.o. and 4 y.o., there wasn't one complaint on accolades. I highly recommend this restaurant. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Service was fairly slow, especially as the rooftop crowd started to arrive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great place for any special occasions! Food and drinks were delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We had 5:30 reservations, restaurant mostly empty but shown to an undesirable table. Asked for a booth, given one next to the bar.

My husbands steak and lobster dinner special came out cold. When they reheated it, it was too tough and chewy to eat. The manager did take it off the bill. I asked for my scallops to be well done and they were undercooked.

First time there, won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Stars was delicious! We went for a birthday brunch and it was perfect. Great food for a good price and the service was wonderful too. Highly recommend.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Drinks and ambiance were great and exactly what we were looking for. Unfortunately the kitchen was having trouble with the volume of orders on a Thursday night (per our waitress), and we waited almost two hours for dinner. I wish the server or manager had been upfront about the kitchen issues, but instead we eventually had to ask about why it was taking so long, and continued to wait another hour. Once served, some of the orders were undercooked and on the cool side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Stars used to be a good place to eat but the food quality and service are now subpar for Charleston standards.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I've visited Stars before and highly enjoyed my experience. For mine and my husband's first anniversary I immediately thought to return here. Delicious meal, good service. Definitely will always keep Stars in mind for future visits to Charleston!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I thought the Sunday Brunch would be great for my dad for Fathers Day. I have been on the roof top many evenings for cocktails and wanted to try their food. The menu online says made to order omlets, never saw those. The fruit, cookies, and cheese trays in the front of the restaurant had gnats all over and on the food. The online menu also states children are a discounted price. When our check was brought to the table they charged my 10 year old daughter a full adult price. When I asked about it they said only one price! She barely ate anything. The service was just ok. Our server walked by our table several times without taking our dishes and we had to ask for refills on our water. Needless to say, I probably should have asked to speak with a manager however, I didn't want to make a scene with my dad their for his Fathers Day brunch.

Tags: Tapas, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Had a drink on the rooftop bar first- great time up there. The restaurant was good, our waitress attentive and pleasant. The menu looked amazing but was disappointing. The crab cakes had. I flavor as our appetizer and all 3 of us noted that our main dishes were way over salted.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We had many good meals at Stars in the past. This time, my wife's dinner we very disappointing. The serving a salmon was about the size of a finger. The serving of risotto was very small and it was under-cooked. We had to go out and get more food afterwards because she was till hungry. My chicken was good, but my risotto was under-cooked, the flavor was disappointing.

We actually said something to the waiter about the portion size (which I never do) but he didn't do anything to correct it, except to offer to bring us a side of risotto--But we didn't know if I was going to get charged $10 for it or something, so we declined. He ignored us the rest of the night.

I also wish there were some more economic choices on the wine list.

I used to think of the place as a nice, reliable place to get a very good meal without getting gouged. Not so much anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Well, we were also very disappointed when arriving. I said we had a reservation for 2 which was made through OT. We were told sorry, the rooftop was closed for a private group. We came back to Charleston 1 yr to date for our anniversary. We had in our mind we would just have dinner on a rooftop. But, we were told we should have a table downstairs in approximately 10 min. After 10 min, were were seated at the table directly in front of the front door. We didn't want to complain, and we didn't. But within the next 10 min, it seemed to get worse. We couldn't carry on a conversation because of the noise level. It was extremely loud. Then, I received a phone call asking about our dinner reservation. I said, I'm directly in front of you right now, and waived when looked at. He came over and apologized. He didn't hear me when I said we had reservations. So again, this should give you an accurate description of how loud it was inside the front door. Our waitress came up and asked us if we would be fine with moving to another table. Thank you to Sullivan, for saving our night. We thought we would be getting another waiter/waitress, but she remained throughout. We both agree that Sullivan made a bad experience into a good one. She took special care of us until we left. We thank her again for doing her best to make us happy. The food was good. We would go back, because of her attitude and willingness to make us happy, and because of the good food.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The restaurant failed to tell us that their rooftop bar was closed for a private party. Even though I called and asked. The food at Stars is mediocre and the only reason to eat there is for the after dinner drinks rooftop. The hostesses were particularly obnoxious.
Thankfully there are other rooftop venues. Never again at Stars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We had read a few bad reviews, but to be honest we found the same issues at many restaurants on King St more so at night as it is heavy on tourist traffic no matter where you go and that means something has to give. We booked brunch here at 1000 on Saturday when they opened and had a truly outstanding experience. We arrived a little early but we were sat right away and given drinks while they finished setting up. Our waiter was apologetic that they were still setting up and gave us free Mimoso's to compensate. The food was excellent and we had a great experience and would highly recommend this restaurant for weekend brunch!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 2, 2017

My wife and I had a fantastic evening at Stars! We kicked it off upstairs on the rooftop, went down for our reservation and both had a great meal, then back upstairs to finish it off...perfect night out for my wife's birthday!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Cocktails at the bar before our reservation were great. We were seated for dinner next to a large, loud group. The server was nice but once he got some other large parties, he dropped our check. For the price, the food was ok but not exceptional. Might go back for drinks at the bar but not likely to go back for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Please chop the lettuce for a Caesar salad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 30, 2017

We had a great experience at Stars. We just arrived in Charleston and this was our dinner reservation after checking into the hotel. I had shellfish and grits, which included shrimp, scallops and crawfish. All of the shellfish were fresh and cooked perfectly, and the grits were creamy and delicious. My wife had one of their handcrafted cocktails with her meal, which she thoroughly enjoyed. A great experience overall.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Enjoyed our dinner very much We had wine & appetizers

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 28, 2017

It took our party of 8...45 minute to get our appetizers. They were short staff and managers were not helpful. Then another 30 to get a sweet tea. People came down the steps not once but twice and spilled drinks onto our table. Still management never came. We moved out of the danger zone. Food was good. However, still no manager to even apologize. Server was left upset and crying telling us he had no help or support from
Management on the issue.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Terrible service!!! They ran out of appetizers (we were told that after waiting for 30 minutes for them to be delivered) and salad (yes, lettuce) was out, food was cold when it was delivered, and a salmon dish was actually RAW inside. We asked to speak with a manager who we then had to wait for. Never again. Terrible. You should be ashamed of your service.

Our only entertainment while waiting for our cold and missing food were the drunk 20 year olds falling down the stairs from the bar upstairs.

We were visiting Charleston on a long weekend and we had to resort to ordering a pizza on our way home because it was so late.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Key West)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Brunch buffet was good! Service was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We arrived 5 minutes early for our reservation and despite there being empty tables, we were told we needed to wait: ok, no problem. We grabbed a drink up at the rooftop bar (which was beautiful) and then came back down and were seated. We ordered appetizers and drinks which were good, so we were excited for the meal. Upon hearing the specials, which included a risotto with caramelized onions, 4 members of our party of 6 decided to order it, with different meats (shrimp or chicken) added. The other 2 ordered steak. All of our meals were lukewarm at best, very bland, and were loaded with RAW onions. I mean, LOADED. One member of our party has specific GI acidity issues but was so excited to have caramelized onions as the cooking process reduces the acidity. She was unable to eat her meal. The description also included Brussel sprouts and mushrooms. One plate didn't receive any Brussel sprouts and the ones that did had ONE sprout. My meal had the wrong meat with it, which our waiter promptly fixed and I was the only member of our party to receive a hot meal. He was kind enough to offer a free dessert and next thing we know a piece of something (smores pie?) was placed on our table...a dessert that contained almonds and lacked flavor (according to those who were able to try it). How do you offer a compensation and not even let the patron choose the dessert item? Especially serving something with nuts to a table where any allergy could be present. We were so tired of being there that we just paid and decided to continue on with our night so as not to ruin the rest of the evening. I waited to write this review so as not to be scathing and heated, but I will say that even a few days later, I'm pretty irked that I wasted my time and money (a lot of it) here. This was a big special occasion and it was such a let down to have spent our time at Stars. I'm hoping this note can serve as a learning opportunity because there seems to be such great potential here.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.