About Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room

495 King Street
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Stars Rooftop & Grill Room brings the art of live fire cooking to Charleston. Stars exemplifies an artistic appreciation for live fire cooking by focusing on the details of each dish – the seasoning, balance, pairing and presentation. The restaurant has a full bar and grill room on the first floor and event space on the second floor. The rooftop bar has a 360-degree view of downtown Charleston and can accommodate up to 140 people. Dedicated to serving locally sourced food within 100 miles of Charleston, Stars’ food and beverage menus are fresh and seasonal. Stars brings a new tradition of open flame cuisine to Charleston and is not to be missed.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Downstairs Bar Hours:
Monday-Friday 4:00pm-2:00am
Saturday-Sunday 10:30am-2:00am
Rooftop Bar Opens at
Monday-Thursday 2:30 pm
Friday 12:00 pm
Saturday-Sunday 10 am
Dinner:
Sunday- Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm-11:00pm

Saturday Brunch: 10:30am-2:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:30am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Morris Street and King Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-0100

Website:
http://starsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
We have live entertainment starting at 11pm on Friday and Saturday.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available after 6pm and is located at the corner or King & Morris Street, one street north of Stars.

Public Transit:
The Charleston Visitor's center and bus shed is located one block from Stars at the corner of Meeting and Ann St.

Executive Chef:
Chef Stephen Ollard

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact Jessica Martin 843-577-0100 or email events@starsrestaurant.com

Specials

1/2 OFF ALL TAP WINES AND SHARE PLATES

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

1/2 OFF ALL TAP WINES AND SHARE PLATES

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Details

Enjoy 1/2 price wines by the glass, carafe or liter along with Chef Carino's amazing selection of 1/2 priced share plates. These specials are available at the bar as well as the dining room. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jan 7, 2017 - May 7, 2017 on Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 5:00PM - 6:30PM

Private Dining

Stars creates an exceptional event venue to host private dining events, both social and professional. Our event specialists have experience in hosting, catering and managing all event types from business meetings to intimate weddings.

Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (23)
Happy Hour (14)
Special Occasion (14)
See All
Hot Spot (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Romantic (10)
Fun (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Casual (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Business Meals (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Scenic View (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Authentic (4)
Cozy (4)
Historic (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Great Beer (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
People Watching (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Private Room (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Dancing (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
952 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service, food, and drinks were great!

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 2 days ago

Service, food, and drinks were great!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I made reservations for on a ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

My wife and I made reservations for on a weekend away in Charleston. Upon being seated we noticed the place was very busy (SEWE convention was in town that weekend). It was very loud which didn't really work for us.

Service was decent and friendly but the wait staff did forget our appetizer and a drink from the bar.

Food was EXCELLENT. once it arrived. Well worth the price of admission. We didn't make it to the rooftop bar but the restaurant overall was a good experience.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Valentines Day!

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Valentines Day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Somewhat small menu offerings, but we tr ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Somewhat small menu offerings, but we tried several small plates, and each one was delicious!

I would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband's pork was really salty. The ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My husband's pork was really salty. The kale salad was pretty good but not great. Overall, the atmosphere is nice but for the money the food should be exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Beautiful restaurant. The service and th ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Beautiful restaurant. The service and the ambience was wonderful. We were celebrating my daughters birthday. We enjoyed the delicious meal and the dessert as well. We would definitely visit again. Also, the waiter was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Tags: Historic, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A wonderful evening!!! Great food, great ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

A wonderful evening!!! Great food, great service and great ambiance. Truly enjoyed the entire evening from the minute we walked in the door until the minute we departed.

Great job!!!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was good, not exceptional. We ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Everything was good, not exceptional. We thought it was a little expensive for what we received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

We started upstairs where everything was ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We started upstairs where everything was great. The are dining experience was great. Are waiter Chris who is sometimes a bartender. His knowledge of drinks and asking us what we liked . He gave wonderful suggestions through the meal. Next time where in town we will return.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Stars is the full package: tasteful avia ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Stars is the full package: tasteful aviance, amazing service, delicious menu, and wonderful cocktail/ drink list. It is always a special treat to dine at Stars. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, People Watching, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My server, Chris, was professional and k ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 27, 2017

My server, Chris, was professional and knowledgeable! He started me off with a classic martini (my favorite) and some great appetizers to pair. My entree was the salmon and it was cooked perfectly! Crispy and slightly flakey on the outside and moist and pink on the inside! Chris' wine knowledge was immense and appreciated. I wonderful evening and will be back again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stars has a great restaurant week line-u ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Stars has a great restaurant week line-up that was perfectly portioned and balanced!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was our first time there and we thoro ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was our first time there and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Sullivan was the best food server. She was knowledgeable, personable and asked is question to get a feel for who we are. Food and drinks were amazing.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, service and scenery. Als ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent food, service and scenery. Also valet parking helpful downtown

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and great food! We wer ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Excellent service and great food! We were there for Rest. Week and really enjoyed ourselves!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Presentation of food was wonderful.

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Presentation of food was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere, tastef ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere, tasteful decor, and creative food. Staff are really nice and service was great. The wine on tap is a cool feature. The rooftop bar is nice and cozy. Good place for a date.

Tags: Scenic View, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for my 30th birthday and I couldn't ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Went for my 30th birthday and I couldn't ask for a better experience. The waiter was very attentive and the atmosphere was perfect. The food - amazing. My lamb was cooked to perfection and the sides were well-matched.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for Sunday Brunch on New Year's ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went for Sunday Brunch on New Year's Day. We will certainly be back. The brunch food was all very good (the salmon was exceptional and the grits - just the actual grits themselves - were out-of-this-world good and I'm craving them already). They should have just the grits plain too... they were that good.

Cameron took care of us as our waiter and was stellar. There has been only one other time, 20 yrs. ago that we had someone wait on us like Cam. He was so friendly and fun and talked to our 6-year old (she adored him) ... he was a pure class act and a nice guy.

We will be back, at least for brunch and especially if Cameron is there. (Ask for him!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great food and atmosphere!! The upstairs ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food and atmosphere!! The upstairs rooftop bar is awesome too.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable service and high quality food ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Impeccable service and high quality food delivered in desirable portions. Not to be outdone by others at this value!!!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and excellent food. The se ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great service and excellent food. The seafood was cooked perfectly .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a little disappointed. Jerk chicken ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Was a little disappointed. Jerk chicken was charred and not that good. Risotto with tomato base was strange and not to anyone's liking. Steaks and burger charred and tasted of charcoal propane. Loud restaurant

Mushroom bruschetta was very good. Pork belly special was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

We had a lovely dinner over here! Cosy, ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We had a lovely dinner over here! Cosy, friendly waiter and good food! Very casual/laid back which we really like because we also have two kids! Will certainly visit again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Rooftop bar was a perfect place for our ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Rooftop bar was a perfect place for our family to hang out for cocktails while we waited on dinner reservations! Atmosphere is cozy, service was awesome & most importantly our family really enjoyed the food! Great place to take the family! I strongly recommend this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

From the flavorful appetizer, to the dec ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

From the flavorful appetizer, to the decadent dessert, everything was delicious. This was my daughter's first visit to Stars Restaurant, and it didn't disappoint! Thank you for a wonderful evening.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Waited an hour and a half for our meal. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Waited an hour and a half for our meal. Restaurant wasn't busy, four tables around us who were seated after us received their meals at least 30 minutes before us. We were a party of two, ordered the surf and turf. Lobster was cold. Waiter took the lobster off the bill. The entire meal should've been comped. It ruined the entire night. I would not eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Held my firm's Christmas party there and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Held my firm's Christmas party there and it was an excellent venue

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent and so was the foo ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Service was excellent and so was the food! Portion sizes are a little small but other then that it was an excellent experience.

Tags: , Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Great Staff! Great Drinks! L ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Great food! Great Staff! Great Drinks! Loved everything about it

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great, fresh food cooked to our liking. ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Great, fresh food cooked to our liking. Wonderful service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

2nd time we have eaten. Menu was better ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 25, 2016

2nd time we have eaten. Menu was better with initial meal (over a year ago) but overall was very nice. Bar service especially good. They accommodated a large party well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I ordered the risotto with scallops. The ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 21, 2016

I ordered the risotto with scallops. The scallops had gone bad so we let our server know. She took off 1 scallop from our bill. They then brought out another scallop although I did not want another. My husband tried it and that one had gone bad too. When he talked to the server about it he asked to talk to the manager and she said he didn't want to come out to talk. I couldn't believe how poorly it was handled for serving food that had gone bad. Additionally the risotto had no taste at all, it was terrible. I would not recommend or ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Although we reserved early and asked for ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Although we reserved early and asked for a good table we were seated literally under the kitchen service window. The water that we were served was actually hot, not just warm and the waiter acted like we're wrong to ask him to replace it with cold glasses of water. Three Appetizers served without plates to serve them on, so we waited for those for a while. All the steak entrees were overcooked and three were cool and dry because they were sliced into strips in the kitchen before they were brought out. One steak was brought out late after we were told it had been overcooked and they were replacing it. Our deserts were the best part of the night. Altogether not worth the over $500 bill. Many other places in Charleston for a good meal, go here if you want bar style food and service. Oh and the managers actually walked by our table multiple times but seemed afraid to engage us because they knew what a fiasco it had been.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Waitress was either too busy or distract ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Waitress was either too busy or distracted or wasn't focused . This resulted In problems throughout the dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Went here for their brunch on Saturday a ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Went here for their brunch on Saturday and the food and service was WONDERFUL!!! The brunch buffet was worth $25

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, , Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Historic, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed Sunday brunch at STARS on 11- ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We enjoyed Sunday brunch at STARS on 11-13-16. The variety of food was good, it was tasty, and plentiful. The restaurant was not crowded before lunch on Sunday, although more people started coming in around 11:45 a.m. The staff was very professional and our waitress, Sully, delivered excellent service. The atmosphere was comfortable and relaxed, and you could hold a conversation without being overran by music or loud conversation. I definitely recommend this restaurant for casual dining.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first visit. Best lamb I h ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was our first visit. Best lamb I have had in a long time. Everything was just right!

Tags: Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place for nice dinner and live ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent place for nice dinner and live entertainment - highly recommend it!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We go to Star fairly frequently and love ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We go to Star fairly frequently and love it! Everyone is always incredible, from being seated to service and even as we leave. The food is always delicious, beautifully presented, and well timed. We will continue to dine with the wonderful Stars team!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.