About Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room

Stars Rooftop & Grill Room brings the art of live fire cooking to Charleston. Stars exemplifies an artistic appreciation for live fire cooking by focusing on the details of each dish – the seasoning, balance, pairing and presentation. The restaurant has a full bar and grill room on the first floor and event space on the second floor. The rooftop bar has a 360-degree view of downtown Charleston and can accommodate up to 140 people. Dedicated to serving locally sourced food within 100 miles of Charleston, Stars’ food and beverage menus are fresh and seasonal. Stars brings a new tradition of open flame cuisine to Charleston and is not to be missed.

495 King Street
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Grill, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Downstairs Bar Hours:
Monday-Friday 4:00pm-2:00am
Saturday-Sunday 10:00am-2:00am
Rooftop Bar Opens at
Monday-Thursday 2:30 pm
Friday 12:00 pm
Saturday-Sunday 10 am
Dinner:
Sunday- Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm-10:30pm

Saturday Brunch: 10:00am-2:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Morris Street and King Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-0100

Website:
http://starsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
We have live entertainment starting at 11pm on Friday and Saturday.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available after 6pm and is located at the corner or King & Morris Street, one street north of Stars. There is a city garage located on Morris St, between King and Meeting. The on-street parking is free all day on Sunday.

Public Transit:
The Charleston Visitor's center and bus shed is located one block from Stars at the corner of Meeting and Ann St.

Executive Chef:
Chef Vince Carino

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact Jessica Martin 843-577-0100 or email events@starsrestaurant.com

Private Dining

Stars creates an exceptional event venue to host private dining events, both social and professional. Our event specialists have experience in hosting, catering and managing all event types from business meetings to intimate weddings.

Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (17)
Good for a Date (16)
Special Occasion (15)
See All
Good for Birthdays (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Great for Brunch (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Romantic (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Fun (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Business Meals (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Casual (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Scenic View (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Cozy (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Authentic (3)
People Watching (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
1090 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

It shows that we were no shows. We did eat the special prime rib?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Went to Stars for a Brunch with Family (Wife, son - Citadel Cadet, Daughter - Wofford) on weekend of football game. Stars is a favorite of my Daughter for dinner so we tried them for Sunday Brunch. It was excellent and we will definitely return. Everything from the made to order items to the buffet was perfect and exceeded even our high expectations! Service was great too. Even in the incredible restaurant environment of Charleston, Stars is a standout in every way!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

It was a delicious brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Food and service was great. Came here for a birthday celebration with 8 people and sat at the chef's table. It was a little noisy but overall had a great experience. I had the surf and turf. The steak was one of the best I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Truly amazing! Incredible food and incredible service. Even the after dinner coffee (freshly ground!) was incredible. And Eric is one of the best servers ever!!! You'll love Stars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We ordered two prime ribs and were served two inedible rib eyes. We ordered an orange juice for my 3 year old nephew and they brought him a Jack Daniels and OJ. Luckily, we caught it in time. Two of the four kids' dinners came out 20 minutes before the others leaving two hungry and cranky children. The hamburger we ordered was undercooked and the bacon on top was
inedible. Even the Caesar salads were underwhelming. To top it off, our check at the end of the meal was completely inaccurate and it took quite a while to straighten it out. I was embarrassed that we chose to bring our guests to this restaurant.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great food-service-ambiance
After dinner...fun rooftop bar. Lots of young people

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fun, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

I would have loved to hangout on the rooftop. It was completely jammed packed. No walking room at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We went for Sunday brunch and were very pleased. The food was very good and a nice variety. We were stuffed and would certainly go again. Very friendly staff too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Excellent food and service! Definitely recommend for Sunday Brunch!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 1, 2017

I’m from Charleston and wanted to try a restaurant we’ve never been to before. I was not disappointed!!! The prime rib was to die for!!! I had the salmon and it was also delicious. My meal was good from the start with the bacon cheddar tater tots — yummy!!! And I’m a stickler for customer service — the waiter, Eric, was awesome!!! Very professional and polite! The only drawback was the noise level was a little high, but overall it was a great dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Been to Stars many times... Food always feel into the "good enough " category to keep going back, but not any more . I was served what was described as Prime Rib, but was actually more of a ribeye , and was so horrible I could only have a few bites. Others at the table told me their meals were ok , but I think they were being kind. Stars needs to decide if they want to be a serious restaurant or a nightclub .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Service was excellent and timely. Food taste was great, only complaint was it took a little long and when received was only room temp but understandable considering we had a party of 8 on a Saturday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 28, 2017

The inside restaurant was excellent and the food was outstanding.

Unfortunately, our most vivid memory of the rooftop bar will be the numerous flies who decided to join our party. The fly traffic reminded us of a busy airport runway.

Once downstairs, however, our experience could not have been better! We enthusiastically recommend Stars for dinner (inside).

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Perfect restaurant for our large group! We had 11 girls celebrating a bachelorette party, and the service and food were excellent! I would recommend Stars for both small and large groups!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

Great food and a great dining experience. Enjoyed participating in the restaurant week special :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great cocktails, rooftop had a nice view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We decided to try Stars for Saturday Brunch. There was on street metered parking which was a nice surprise. There were no more than 10 other people dining while we were there which was another surprise because the food was good, service excellent and a great value. $3 mimosas and such a fabulous variety of cold and hot dishes. Our server, Lily, was attentive and very pleasant. A little too far to walk from the Inn we were staying at on Bay but worth the drive.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on September 15, 2017

The stuffed grouper was very good. The ginger snap icebox faker for dessert was also good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Took a quick weekend trip to Charleston with my girlfriend and found this restaurant via google maps. The food was pretty good (we got the ahi tuna as an appetizer, then I got a vegetarian dish with eggplant and roasted vegetables and my girlfriend got risotto with chicken). The rooftop bar was really cool too (there were alot of people coming in and out for the rooftop bar).

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

We loved our waiter (Eric) and the food. The lobster was not to write home about but the prime rib was incredible! Meal prices ranged, mine was $35 with a dessert whereas my boyfriends was over $100 including 2 beers and a dessert. The atmosphere was beautiful and we enjoyed a walk on the rooftop after dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Our waiter was great, he made spot on recommendations and the food was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

Great service and food, our waiter was friendly but also gave really useful advice on food and cocktails. Highly recommend the mushroom bruschetta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Excellent service. Party of 6 and everyone enjoyed their meal. Afterwards we went up for the sunset on the roof top for after dinner drinks. Just a great evening. Would recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We arrived on time for our 7:15 rsvp and were quickly taken to our table where waited for over 10 mins without anyone acknowledging we were there or bringing water even though we were right next to the kitchen. We ordered the stuffed tater tots for an appetizer and they were delicious and piping hot, the Cesaer salad was also great and we were so excited for the entrees, but ended up very unimpressed. The prime rib was chewy and barely warm, and the pimento risotto was cold like it hadn't been reheated yet. The lobster fettuccine looked good and was the best dish we had despite it coming out barely above room temp, the Italian sausage with papperdelle didn't have much going on even with all the ingredients, the kids steak was ok but the french fries were the best thing we ate that evening. While we were waiting for the table to be cleared the manager came by to ask how we enjoyed our dinner we told him we had sent 1 dish back because of the temp and several others should have gone back but we were too hungry to wait, he thanked us for our feedback said "we'll, that's an easy thing to fix" and left. I don't know if a party of 5 was too much for them to time properly but with the number of large tables available I hope they can figure it out soon because there are too many other great dining options around the city to choose from.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We ordered kale salads, bacon tots, shrimp cocktail, seared Salmon, risotto special and all were good except the kale salad would be greatly improved if chopped more finely. The problem was that my husband, whose birthday we were celebrating, ordered a hamburger med well. It was very small and burned all of which he said he could overlook, but it was cold on top of that. Also the bacon on it was undercooked. Everything else was good. They should really not offer a burger if they are going to do it so poorly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 20, 2017

I'd give STARS six stars if it was available. The meals were fantastic and cocktails very taste and unique. Great service, not rushed. Too full for desert but the menu looked very nice.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 20, 2017

I've never reviewed a restaurant before but after such a fine experience I was compelled to. We had brunch for two and it was fantastic. The fried chicken Benedict was my favorite followed closely by the shrimp and grits.
The service was superb as well. Chris was a wonderful and attentive server who after taking great care of us suggested other interesting places on our visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

You cannot beat Stars for an exceptional meal and stellar service! I bring clients for meetings, friends for celebrations and my husband for a romantic evening out. Restaurants of this caliber are dying out, but I don't understand why. You can count on a perfect meal and exquisite service every single time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

great restaurant, felt slightly under dressed in casual clothes but that was probably due to it being a saturday night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Love catching up with friends here, the roof top bar is the perfect after dinner drink spot

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I'm not sure what happened here. The menu was sparse, and the selection of items was underwhelming. The tomato broth-based, vegetarian risotto was too soupy, and to add two scallops for protein cost me another $10. The restaurant was hot because the air conditioning wasn't working well. The server was upset about something personal (which she disclosed to us, and we sympathized). However, she never brought our salad and two of our three checks were completely wrong - some of my items were on my friend's check and some of hers were on mine. I came here a couple of years ago, and before Saturday, I hadn't been back except for a cocktail. I'm not likely to make reservations here again anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Overall it was good. Brunch was good. You really need slings or a different type of hair hair for those with a baby carrier and at least one changing table winks be helpful. I had to change my baby on the counter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Fabulous! Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great experience at this restaurant! I had Sunday brunch here for my bachelorette weekend. Restaurant was great at accommodating 10 girls at a large table. I also appreciated that they did individual checks for everyone to make it easier to pay. The brunch buffet was great, had a little bit of everything. Would definitely recommend brunch here for large groups!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great brunch! Drinks were great and food was delish!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The food was good; but the service left much to be desired for. Our waiter was gone for more than 30 minutes, someone else packed our to go boxes, and it took forever to cash out. He didn't even take the time to ask how we wanted the bill broken up, which added to cash out time. I came in for my birthday and it felt like any other dinner, nothing special. He got an order wrong, no apology just he'll go fix it in the kitchen. Then an "I didn't charge you for it.....I guess he was expecting us to pay for food we didn't eat. I'll stick with earlier reservations here; not exactly the place you want to be when the rooftop is full and other guests are in the dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The food on Stars brunch buffet was fantastic...what was left of it. We arrived for our noon reservation and much of the buffet had not been replenished and was very messy. Our server took 45 min to bring coffee because they had ran out. Bloody Mary was the worst I've ever had. Bartender was incredibly rude. Staff delivered omelets to table 15 min after the meal was complete and they were sitting on paper with ink that had soaked into the egg.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Stars offers a buffet brunch with many options. I chose to go here with a large group of friends, as there are many options and it seemed like a good value. The food did not disappoint, but unfortunately the poor service ruined the experience. I would probably recommend checking out other spots before settling at Stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Food was fantastic. Great rooftop spot for going out with our bachelorette party afterwards. Would recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.