About Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room

Stars Rooftop & Grill Room brings the art of live fire cooking to Charleston. Stars exemplifies an artistic appreciation for live fire cooking by focusing on the details of each dish – the seasoning, balance, pairing and presentation. The restaurant has a full bar and grill room on the first floor and event space on the second floor. The rooftop bar has a 360-degree view of downtown Charleston and can accommodate up to 140 people. Dedicated to serving locally sourced food within 100 miles of Charleston, Stars’ food and beverage menus are fresh and seasonal. Stars brings a new tradition of open flame cuisine to Charleston and is not to be missed.

495 King Street
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Grill, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Downstairs Bar Hours:
Monday-Friday 4:00pm-2:00am
Saturday-Sunday 10:00am-2:00am
Rooftop Bar Opens at
Monday-Thursday 2:30 pm
Friday 12:00 pm
Saturday-Sunday 10 am
Dinner:
Sunday- Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm-10:30pm

Saturday Brunch: 10:00am-2:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Morris Street and King Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-0100

Website:
http://starsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
We have live entertainment starting at 11pm on Friday and Saturday.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available after 6pm and is located at the corner or King & Morris Street, one street north of Stars. There is a city garage located on Morris St, between King and Meeting. The on-street parking is free all day on Sunday.

Public Transit:
The Charleston Visitor's center and bus shed is located one block from Stars at the corner of Meeting and Ann St.

Executive Chef:
Chef Vince Carino

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact Jessica Martin 843-577-0100 or email events@starsrestaurant.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Stars creates an exceptional event venue to host private dining events, both social and professional. Our event specialists have experience in hosting, catering and managing all event types from business meetings to intimate weddings.

Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Good for Groups (24)
Good for a Date (21)
See All
Hot Spot (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Bar Seating (16)
Business Meals (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Happy Hour (13)
People Watching (12)
Scenic View (12)
Fun (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Casual (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Romantic (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Cozy (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Authentic (3)
Seasonal (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Live Music (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
1035 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

We visited Stars for Sunday brunch as part of my parents' 50th wedding anniversary. I must say that we had an awesome experience. The food and service were awesome. With a group of 14, including a 2 y.o. and 4 y.o., there wasn't one complaint on accolades. I highly recommend this restaurant. You will not be disappointed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place for any special occasions! Food and drinks were delicious.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

We had 5:30 reservations, restaurant mostly empty but shown to an undesirable table. Asked for a booth, given one next to the bar.

My husbands steak and lobster dinner special came out cold. When they reheated it, it was too tough and chewy to eat. The manager did take it off the bill. I asked for my scallops to be well done and they were undercooked.

First time there, won't return.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Stars was delicious! We went for a birthday brunch and it was perfect. Great food for a good price and the service was wonderful too. Highly recommend.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Drinks and ambiance were great and exactly what we were looking for. Unfortunately the kitchen was having trouble with the volume of orders on a Thursday night (per our waitress), and we waited almost two hours for dinner. I wish the server or manager had been upfront about the kitchen issues, but instead we eventually had to ask about why it was taking so long, and continued to wait another hour. Once served, some of the orders were undercooked and on the cool side.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Stars used to be a good place to eat but the food quality and service are now subpar for Charleston standards.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I've visited Stars before and highly enjoyed my experience. For mine and my husband's first anniversary I immediately thought to return here. Delicious meal, good service. Definitely will always keep Stars in mind for future visits to Charleston!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Had a drink on the rooftop bar first- great time up there. The restaurant was good, our waitress attentive and pleasant. The menu looked amazing but was disappointing. The crab cakes had. I flavor as our appetizer and all 3 of us noted that our main dishes were way over salted.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We had many good meals at Stars in the past. This time, my wife's dinner we very disappointing. The serving a salmon was about the size of a finger. The serving of risotto was very small and it was under-cooked. We had to go out and get more food afterwards because she was till hungry. My chicken was good, but my risotto was under-cooked, the flavor was disappointing.

We actually said something to the waiter about the portion size (which I never do) but he didn't do anything to correct it, except to offer to bring us a side of risotto--But we didn't know if I was going to get charged $10 for it or something, so we declined. He ignored us the rest of the night.

I also wish there were some more economic choices on the wine list.

I used to think of the place as a nice, reliable place to get a very good meal without getting gouged. Not so much anymore.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Well, we were also very disappointed when arriving. I said we had a reservation for 2 which was made through OT. We were told sorry, the rooftop was closed for a private group. We came back to Charleston 1 yr to date for our anniversary. We had in our mind we would just have dinner on a rooftop. But, we were told we should have a table downstairs in approximately 10 min. After 10 min, were were seated at the table directly in front of the front door. We didn't want to complain, and we didn't. But within the next 10 min, it seemed to get worse. We couldn't carry on a conversation because of the noise level. It was extremely loud. Then, I received a phone call asking about our dinner reservation. I said, I'm directly in front of you right now, and waived when looked at. He came over and apologized. He didn't hear me when I said we had reservations. So again, this should give you an accurate description of how loud it was inside the front door. Our waitress came up and asked us if we would be fine with moving to another table. Thank you to Sullivan, for saving our night. We thought we would be getting another waiter/waitress, but she remained throughout. We both agree that Sullivan made a bad experience into a good one. She took special care of us until we left. We thank her again for doing her best to make us happy. The food was good. We would go back, because of her attitude and willingness to make us happy, and because of the good food.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The restaurant failed to tell us that their rooftop bar was closed for a private party. Even though I called and asked. The food at Stars is mediocre and the only reason to eat there is for the after dinner drinks rooftop. The hostesses were particularly obnoxious.
Thankfully there are other rooftop venues. Never again at Stars!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We had read a few bad reviews, but to be honest we found the same issues at many restaurants on King St more so at night as it is heavy on tourist traffic no matter where you go and that means something has to give. We booked brunch here at 1000 on Saturday when they opened and had a truly outstanding experience. We arrived a little early but we were sat right away and given drinks while they finished setting up. Our waiter was apologetic that they were still setting up and gave us free Mimoso's to compensate. The food was excellent and we had a great experience and would highly recommend this restaurant for weekend brunch!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 3, 2017

My wife and I had a fantastic evening at Stars! We kicked it off upstairs on the rooftop, went down for our reservation and both had a great meal, then back upstairs to finish it off...perfect night out for my wife's birthday!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Cocktails at the bar before our reservation were great. We were seated for dinner next to a large, loud group. The server was nice but once he got some other large parties, he dropped our check. For the price, the food was ok but not exceptional. Might go back for drinks at the bar but not likely to go back for dinner.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Enjoyed our dinner very much We had wine & appetizers

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 29, 2017

It took our party of 8...45 minute to get our appetizers. They were short staff and managers were not helpful. Then another 30 to get a sweet tea. People came down the steps not once but twice and spilled drinks onto our table. Still management never came. We moved out of the danger zone. Food was good. However, still no manager to even apologize. Server was left upset and crying telling us he had no help or support from
Management on the issue.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Terrible service!!! They ran out of appetizers (we were told that after waiting for 30 minutes for them to be delivered) and salad (yes, lettuce) was out, food was cold when it was delivered, and a salmon dish was actually RAW inside. We asked to speak with a manager who we then had to wait for. Never again. Terrible. You should be ashamed of your service.

Our only entertainment while waiting for our cold and missing food were the drunk 20 year olds falling down the stairs from the bar upstairs.

We were visiting Charleston on a long weekend and we had to resort to ordering a pizza on our way home because it was so late.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Key West)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Brunch buffet was good! Service was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We arrived 5 minutes early for our reservation and despite there being empty tables, we were told we needed to wait: ok, no problem. We grabbed a drink up at the rooftop bar (which was beautiful) and then came back down and were seated. We ordered appetizers and drinks which were good, so we were excited for the meal. Upon hearing the specials, which included a risotto with caramelized onions, 4 members of our party of 6 decided to order it, with different meats (shrimp or chicken) added. The other 2 ordered steak. All of our meals were lukewarm at best, very bland, and were loaded with RAW onions. I mean, LOADED. One member of our party has specific GI acidity issues but was so excited to have caramelized onions as the cooking process reduces the acidity. She was unable to eat her meal. The description also included Brussel sprouts and mushrooms. One plate didn't receive any Brussel sprouts and the ones that did had ONE sprout. My meal had the wrong meat with it, which our waiter promptly fixed and I was the only member of our party to receive a hot meal. He was kind enough to offer a free dessert and next thing we know a piece of something (smores pie?) was placed on our table...a dessert that contained almonds and lacked flavor (according to those who were able to try it). How do you offer a compensation and not even let the patron choose the dessert item? Especially serving something with nuts to a table where any allergy could be present. We were so tired of being there that we just paid and decided to continue on with our night so as not to ruin the rest of the evening. I waited to write this review so as not to be scathing and heated, but I will say that even a few days later, I'm pretty irked that I wasted my time and money (a lot of it) here. This was a big special occasion and it was such a let down to have spent our time at Stars. I'm hoping this note can serve as a learning opportunity because there seems to be such great potential here.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Exceptional

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great bar atmosphere. Waistress wasn't very attentive or timely. The bonus was getting into the roof top

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Our server was amazing and made the whole night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Perfect Mother's Day with my family. Thank you for a special evening. We've been for brunch and for dinner and I have to say, I loved both. Thank you for taking care of us.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Private Room, Open Kitchen, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our dining experience was fabulous and the food was spectacular. We will eat here again!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Had a reservation, but was placed at the worst table, near the kitchen pass line. Food was average, overpriced and touristy. Service was good. If your going to spend $42 on an entree, there are better places in Charleston. Don't believe the hype.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Sorry the food just misses on everything, the chicken was flavorless and the shrimp and grits were wayyyy over salted. We asked for dressing on the side of our salads and it came on it. The kicker is the server asked if that was OK so she knew it was wrong but brought it anyway. Have a cocktail on the rooftop bar and avoid the food.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Waitress did not pay attention to order and acted like we were an inconvenience. Too much money for mediocre food and poor setvice

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Prime rib was amazing. Enjoyed rooftop after dinner as you do not eat on the roof. Would definitely go back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Good food and service. Nice menu choices. lots of students and wedding parties, somewhat noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Highly recommend to my special party and happy I made the reservation. Great seafood selection. We had Atlantic salmon and seafood & grits selection. Seating was comfy and private. Rooftop bar provided a great view.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Ok. Was to windy and cold to have a drink on the roof top. Valet parking didn't start till after 6 and cost $5. Street meter parking was free after 6.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Delicious food! Great service!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 3, 2017

This was out first time dining at Stars. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and helpful. We shared a crabcake appetizer which was very good but a little pricey. My husband had twin lobster tails and they were delicious.I ordered the prime rib which the waiter told us was a specialty. It was very tough and so smokey that the beef taste was totally lost. He was very helpful and in short time another prime rib arrived but...not much better than the first and definitely overwhelmed in smoke taste.They did take it off our bill and very thankful for that. The dessert was good...lemon creme brule . The restaurant could use a good cleaning...very dusty and many tiny bugs bothered us the entire dinner.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Sunday night, very light crowd, service was very slow because of kitchen. Waitress was very aware
Of this, apologized and gave us free cocktail. Sat down at 7:45 and left at 10:15 . Just sayin!!!
Food was excellent!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This wasn't a brunch, this was a food coma waiting to be enjoyed! The food (those pancakes and honey whipped butter!), the drinks, the service were all exceptional. I look forward to coming back.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Casual, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Moms birthday

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Brunch at Stars turned out to be a great treat. buffet style for the most part, but omelets to order are available too. Go hungry and allow time, I recommend reservations.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food was amazing and our waiter went above and beyond!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We went to Stars for our anniversary in 2016. Service was so good we came back again this year (2017) We were actually sat in the same table and got the same waiter as we did the previous year. His name is Zan and he gave great service again. I always love the fun atmosphere and the food was great. Definitely a hot spot

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 29, 2017

They were totally not accommodating to our group. Salmon wasn't edible. I would not recommend this restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.