About Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room

495 King Street
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Stars Rooftop & Grill Room brings the art of live fire cooking to Charleston. Stars exemplifies an artistic appreciation for live fire cooking by focusing on the details of each dish – the seasoning, balance, pairing and presentation. The restaurant has a full bar and grill room on the first floor and event space on the second floor. The rooftop bar has a 360-degree view of downtown Charleston and can accommodate up to 140 people. Dedicated to serving locally sourced food within 100 miles of Charleston, Stars’ food and beverage menus are fresh and seasonal. Stars brings a new tradition of open flame cuisine to Charleston and is not to be missed.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Downstairs Bar Hours:
Monday-Friday 4:00pm-2:00am
Saturday-Sunday 10:30am-2:00am
Rooftop Bar Opens at
Monday-Thursday 2:30 pm
Friday 12:00 pm
Saturday-Sunday 10 am
Dinner:
Sunday- Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm-11:00pm

Saturday Brunch: 10:30am-2:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:30am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Morris Street and King Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-0100

Website:
http://starsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
We have live entertainment starting at 11pm on Friday and Saturday.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available after 6pm and is located at the corner or King & Morris Street, one street north of Stars.

Public Transit:
The Charleston Visitor's center and bus shed is located one block from Stars at the corner of Meeting and Ann St.

Executive Chef:
Chef Stephen Ollard

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact Jessica Martin 843-577-0100 or email events@starsrestaurant.com

Restaurant Photos

Stars Grill Room Steak
Peregrine Ranch Pinot Noir Wine
Apple Crisp
Pan Seared Atlantic Salmon
Plancha Seared Scallops Entree
Kale Salad
Burger
Bacon Tater Tots
Dessert
Smoked Chicken Cobb Salad
crab cake
Mini Blt
Wine On Tap
Tangled Up In Blue Wine
Lobster & Grits
Grilled Trout
Grilled Swordfish
Braised Short Ribs
Chicken Pot Pie

Private Dining

Stars creates an exceptional event venue to host private dining events, both social and professional. Our event specialists have experience in hosting, catering and managing all event types from business meetings to intimate weddings.

Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Vibrant Bar Scene
South Carolina
American
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

good for groups (56)
vibrant bar scene (52)
special occasion (51)
See All
hot spot (39)
fit for foodies (38)
romantic (37)
scenic view (31)
great for brunch (21)
neighborhood gem (17)
late-night find (15)
notable wine list (13)
great for outdoor dining (12)
great for lunch (8)
kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
854 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was great, but the service was ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 2 days ago

The food was great, but the service was amazing! Our waiter Chris made our evening an experience we won't soon forget. He was very helpful in suggesting things for us to try and his dedication to service was impeccable. It's hard to find servers that care as much as he does anymore. We would recommend it to everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Share plates are small, they are not tap ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 4 days ago

Share plates are small, they are not tapas size, be prepared for this when you order. The quality of the food is excellent, you should be going to order a main entrée, you will not go wrong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was probably our fifth (or more) ti ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

This was probably our fifth (or more) time eating at Stars although we hadn't been there in several months. Each previous visit was quite good or we wouldn't have returned. This time we were not at all impressed. My husband had the lobster (totally mediocre); my entree seemed really overpriced (fish was a small portion and all the accompanying veggies were winter/root vegetables - seems weird in the middle of July). I hope we just hit them on a somewhat off night. There are so many good places on upper King that the competition is keen. Stars needs to step up its game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

We had an interesting experience at Star ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had an interesting experience at Stars, we had dinner and then drinks on the roof. The food and service were very good but we were VERY disappointed with their "artisan tap wines" which are neither good nor inexpensive. The idea of house tap wines was intriguing and we ordered "carafes" of the 2014 Pratsch, Grüner Veltlinerand one of the 2013 Aldenwood, Cabernet Sauvignon, North Coast, Ca. We thought we were ordering the 450 ml carafes but when we got the bill we realized that we had gotten Liters. So we had $96 of wine that we did not enjoy and did not finish. I can recommend the restaurant and the roof is a great place for drinks but avoid the "artisan tap wines" .

Tags: good for groups, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Our waiter, Luis was very personable and ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our waiter, Luis was very personable and added to our enjoyment of the meal. This is one of our two favorite restaurants in Charleston.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was not at all what we thought it wou ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

It was not at all what we thought it would be. VERY loud! It was just the two of us and we wanted a nice night. The view from the roof was ok, but there are much better in Charleston. The food was very average. The service was very good, but only go here if you want a loud scene and you're under 30!

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Not only did Stars accommodate our party ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Not only did Stars accommodate our party of 11 through open table reservations (not many restaurants will, trust me), but our server, Chris, was so good with my three year old niece. Chris' recommendations on apps and entrees was spot on, the drinks were fabulous. Enjoying the rooftop views after dinner was a treat.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server seemed a bit inexperienced, a ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Our server seemed a bit inexperienced, and after she had a few more tables to tend to we were almost forgotten. There was also a long wait for our appetizer. The server explained that the kitchen got backed up, but it didn't seem that crowded at the time.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We had a drink at the bar before we sat- ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We had a drink at the bar before we sat- bartender made me a special cocktail that was great. Local beer of the day was a big hit. Dinner was very good . I had the special, grouper over succotash; grilled lobster over pasta was good. Disappointed that no bread was served or offered . It also seemed odd that the filet was listed with market price .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Everything was delicious. Party of 16 h ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Everything was delicious. Party of 16 had a taste of everything. Chris was awesome, keeped the drink flowing, made great recommendations and everything was delivered hot and delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Short rib special was amazing, star room ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Short rib special was amazing, star room grill steak was fantastic, the truffle grits that came with it were amazing wish it had the brocolinni that came with the special instead of collard greens, can't see truly comment on noise level, it was a Tuesday night, however if Slipknot was platinum inside I wouldn't care the food was that good. Rooftop bar was great before and after the meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I ordered the salmon entree, and it was ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

I ordered the salmon entree, and it was fantastic. I don't normally order salmon or eat it regularly, but I am so glad I ordered it here. It was absolutely delicious!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was wonderful, the staff was ve ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The food was wonderful, the staff was very friendly and the place was hopping. The rooftop bar was really cool but there was a long line to get up there so makenaurenyou arrive early.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food was awesome! Loved the apps and ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

the food was awesome! Loved the apps and surf and turf was the best I've had. If you just want drinks you better get there early as the wait is usually very long! Worth every penny

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was so busy, both of our roun ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our server was so busy, both of our rounds of wine had to be brought by the bartender and when she did stop by did not bother to remove our empty stemware. While we still had half full glasses of wine remaining we were told, not asked by the host to move because they had a large table and needed or table.

This is a transactional restaurant, beware. If you want exceptional service there are literally hundreds of better restaurants in Charleston. If you are coming to Charleston for a special occasion or only visiting for a short time, DO NOT patronize this restaurant.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

I never have any complaints about Stars. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

I never have any complaints about Stars. Everyone is so friendly and the food is always amazing. Definitely one to recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food and service was amazing. There ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food and service was amazing. There were several groups next to our table that were extremely loud making it hard to have a conversation.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Anniversary dinner, was noisy on the wee ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Anniversary dinner, was noisy on the weekend, food and service were to notch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Favorite restaurant in Charleston!! Sta ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Favorite restaurant in Charleston!! Start at the rooftop bar for a pre dinner drink!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great overall experience, food ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We had a great overall experience, food was cooked perfect, great atmosphere, and they really made our special occasion a night to remember.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I'm not normally a fan of a brunch buffe ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I'm not normally a fan of a brunch buffet but Stars does it right. The made to order omelettes come quickly and done to perfection. Buffet stations are replenished regularly and often so that the food is always fresh. Drinks are good and presentation is lovely. Our server was entertaining and always on hand to help with our requests. All in all it was a brunch to remember for a double occasion of Fathers Day and our anniversary. I would recommend Stars for brunch and we will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Definitely one of the current "hot" spot ...

 
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Definitely one of the current "hot" spots in Charleston based on the line outside as we were leaving, but it seems to be mostly for the rooftop. Food was okay but thought the menu limited.

She-crab soup was very good. The atmosphere in the dining room wasn't anything special. Service was fine. Given how many great restaurants there are in Charleston and for this one to be so popular my opinion is obviously not in alignment with the majority.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We tried the bacon tater tots and tomaha ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We tried the bacon tater tots and tomahawk pork chop.

The tots were basically burnt on the outside, but softer on the inside. The pork chop was so salty it was basically inedible.

The only saving grace was the ice cream shop next door.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

I took two of my best girlfriends who ca ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

I took two of my best girlfriends who came in from out of town to Stars for a birthday dinner. Upon entering the restaurant, you would think that it is a fancy and hip establishment. We were excited for delicious food followed by cocktails on the roof. As it turned out, the service was horrible and the food was mediocre/good. The waiter lightly tossed us the menus and drink list, mumbled his name (it was Eric according to the receipt), and seemed annoyed that we were interested in the specials for the night and asking questions about the menu. It was not busy when we arrived. We were one of 4 tables seated at that time. The meal we ordered was ok, but nothing great for the price of the food. I ordered the mini crab cakes and they smelled and tasted fishy. Good seafood should not smell or taste that way. The kale salad I ordered was a large portion and tasty.

After dinner we tried to salvage the night by getting drinks on the rooftop deck. This was also a mistake. There were many more people at the rooftop bar and only one bartender. I was waiting for over 25 minutes before leaving with no drinks. It might have been worth it if there was a tremendous view, but much of the beautiful skyline of the city was obstructed. Overall it was a disappointing experience and embarrassing to take out of town guests to such a place when I was hoping to show off the positives of my city and the food scene.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Scallops were unbelievable and the rabbi ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Scallops were unbelievable and the rabbit and duck was delicious!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The place was well over rated and priced ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The place was well over rated and priced at that as well. We selected the "paella" special as they put it and ended up with a piece of fish on a WHITE bed of rice with no flavor at all for any of the food. The servers seemed more concerned that our glasses of water were empty and kept filling up our sparking water glasses! Not for us and would not recommend it at all.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Not what I expected. Thought we could di ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Not what I expected. Thought we could dine outdoors...you can't, drinks only on rooftop. Food was OK. A little better than typical bar food. Decor was meh. It was a fine experience, just expected more. Come here for a drink on the roof, or a burger/bar food nosh. Nothing spectacular...so many other places to experience in Charleston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Our waiter, Zen, made the night very ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Our waiter, Zen, made the night very special for my daughter's 19th birthday. He started out with fries white truffle oil...the meal was fabulous. Then he brought her a flaming baked Alaska type dessert that was actually a smores and Happy on the plate. Zen gets best waiter, the restaurant gets 2 thumbs up!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ginger Berry IceBox Cake dessert, best in town

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

We go to Stars pretty regularly - we are too old for the pick-up bar scene which is one of the best in town if that is what you are looking for.

We go because the food is predictably delicious, there is something for everyone's palate or dietary issues (the meat lover, the seafood/fish lover, and the vegetarian, small plates and large plates), the service is reliably professional and excellent, and there is a very good assortment of wines and liquors for everyone's tastes. Last night we were going to pass on dessert but opted for the special, a Ginger, Lemon and Berry IceBox Cake that absolutely astounded all three of us as at least one of, if not truly, THE very best desserts in Charleston! The waiter said it was for ginger lovers, but in fact, that was not an overwhelming flavor. The flavors were sublimely balanced with a light crunchy "crust" and creamy lemon ginger filling that was tart and sweet and savory all at the same time on a layer of perfect summer berry sauce. Each of us had different choices for dinner that we were completely satisfied with, and some of which was shared, yet this dessert topped of our summer meal better than anything we've ever had. We suggested they make it a regular feature, or at least a more regular special for the season. The pastry chef was pleased with her experiment when we called her out of the kitchen and told her how we felt, stressing that is should be a very regular seasonally adjusted dessert. She should win accolades for it! Well done!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best brunch locations in Char ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

One of the best brunch locations in Charleston (and it might very well be the best). Every food selection is top quality. We have brunch here ~once/month and we have never been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun for a large group!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in Charleston! It was my second time dining here and we came for a bachelorette party with a large party. They were able to accommodate 7-8 guests a week in advance, which was great. The shrimp bisque was AMAZING! Everyone really enjoyed their meals and cocktails. The rooftop bar upstairs is a plus for before or after dinner as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We ate dinner at Stars with 3 kids (8, 6 ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We ate dinner at Stars with 3 kids (8, 6 and 5) and although there are no kids menus they gave us some great kid friendly options. When we first walked in and were sat down I was worried about having my kids with us but my kids are pretty well behaved and our waiter was AWESOME! There was just enough noise in the place so i didn't feel like we needed to whisper. We loved the flounder beignets and the scallops for our appetizers. We also enjoyed the red snapper special and burger for our entrees. We really enjoyed our meal and will eat here again when we come back to Charleston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Went for brunch at 12.30. Waiter came ri ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Went for brunch at 12.30. Waiter came right away but it took almost 20 minutes for our cocktails. Worse, the brunch buffet was picked over, ( eg, the "charcuterie" had no meat left), I had to ask for plates , and the tables had messes and spills. At$24.95 each before drinks, it wasn't cheap. We had guests and were embarrassed .

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

A bit expensive, even for brunch, but th ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

A bit expensive, even for brunch, but the fried chicken eggs Benedict was heaven!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

10/10, especially for a big group!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I had 7 family members in town, as well as my date, and I had forgotten to make any dinner reservations! Luckily, Stars was able to accommodate us same-day even though it was a holiday weekend and everywhere else was packed. All the better because I have a few family members that are ardent foodies, and they would've balked if the experience wasn't top notch.

Stars came through in every way! The food was amazing, the service was great, and the wine list was on-point. Plus, we could just walk upstairs for post-dinner drinks on the rooftop bar instead of heading to a new location. Many thanks to the staff for such a great experience!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome service and amazing food! We wen ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Awesome service and amazing food! We went with a very large group of 12 for our bachelorette visit and could not have been more impressed with our server and the restaurant! Would definitely recommend as a must go to spot for the roof top views and spectacular food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night out

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Service was professional, prompt, and excellent. The food was delicious. I can't say enough good things about the evening in general.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a large party of 12 on a weeknigh ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

We had a large party of 12 on a weeknight with extended family celebrating a birthday and following our wedding in Folly Beach. The staff was excellent, food was great and all the little details were on point. Thank you to all the Stars staff for making our last night in Charleston perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We had Sunday brunch at Stars and it was excellent, from the food to the service. It may seem a bit pricey at $25 but this isn't your usual brunch spread. Besides the typical brunch menu, there's an amazing selection of cheeses, crackers, smoked salmon, salads, fruit, Benedict and desserts. Beautiful and inviting presentation.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Service was great.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.