About Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room

Stars Rooftop & Grill Room brings the art of live fire cooking to Charleston. Stars exemplifies an artistic appreciation for live fire cooking by focusing on the details of each dish – the seasoning, balance, pairing and presentation. The restaurant has a full bar and grill room on the first floor and event space on the second floor. The rooftop bar has a 360-degree view of downtown Charleston and can accommodate up to 140 people. Dedicated to serving locally sourced food within 100 miles of Charleston, Stars’ food and beverage menus are fresh and seasonal. Stars brings a new tradition of open flame cuisine to Charleston and is not to be missed.

495 King Street
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Grill, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Downstairs Bar Hours:
Monday-Friday 4:00pm-2:00am
Saturday-Sunday 10:00am-2:00am
Rooftop Bar Opens at
Monday-Thursday 2:30 pm
Friday 12:00 pm
Saturday-Sunday 10 am
Dinner:
Sunday- Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm-10:30pm

Saturday Brunch: 10:00am-2:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Morris Street and King Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-0100

Website:
http://starsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
We have live entertainment starting at 11pm on Friday and Saturday.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available after 6pm and is located at the corner or King & Morris Street, one street north of Stars. There is a city garage located on Morris St, between King and Meeting. The on-street parking is free all day on Sunday.

Public Transit:
The Charleston Visitor's center and bus shed is located one block from Stars at the corner of Meeting and Ann St.

Executive Chef:
Chef Vince Carino

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact Jessica Martin 843-577-0100 or email events@starsrestaurant.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Stars creates an exceptional event venue to host private dining events, both social and professional. Our event specialists have experience in hosting, catering and managing all event types from business meetings to intimate weddings.

Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (30)
Good for a Date (24)
Good for Groups (22)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Great for Brunch (15)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Romantic (12)
Business Meals (12)
Happy Hour (12)
People Watching (12)
Fun (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Cozy (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Casual (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Scenic View (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Wood Oven (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Authentic (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Historic (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Private Room (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Healthy (1)
Tapas (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Seasonal (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
1014 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined a day ago

Our server was amazing and made the whole night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Perfect Mother's Day with my family. Thank you for a special evening. We've been for brunch and for dinner and I have to say, I loved both. Thank you for taking care of us.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Private Room, Open Kitchen, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our dining experience was fabulous and the food was spectacular. We will eat here again!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Had a reservation, but was placed at the worst table, near the kitchen pass line. Food was average, overpriced and touristy. Service was good. If your going to spend $42 on an entree, there are better places in Charleston. Don't believe the hype.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Sorry the food just misses on everything, the chicken was flavorless and the shrimp and grits were wayyyy over salted. We asked for dressing on the side of our salads and it came on it. The kicker is the server asked if that was OK so she knew it was wrong but brought it anyway. Have a cocktail on the rooftop bar and avoid the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Waitress did not pay attention to order and acted like we were an inconvenience. Too much money for mediocre food and poor setvice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Prime rib was amazing. Enjoyed rooftop after dinner as you do not eat on the roof. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Good food and service. Nice menu choices. lots of students and wedding parties, somewhat noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Highly recommend to my special party and happy I made the reservation. Great seafood selection. We had Atlantic salmon and seafood & grits selection. Seating was comfy and private. Rooftop bar provided a great view.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Ok. Was to windy and cold to have a drink on the roof top. Valet parking didn't start till after 6 and cost $5. Street meter parking was free after 6.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Delicious food! Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 3, 2017

This was out first time dining at Stars. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and helpful. We shared a crabcake appetizer which was very good but a little pricey. My husband had twin lobster tails and they were delicious.I ordered the prime rib which the waiter told us was a specialty. It was very tough and so smokey that the beef taste was totally lost. He was very helpful and in short time another prime rib arrived but...not much better than the first and definitely overwhelmed in smoke taste.They did take it off our bill and very thankful for that. The dessert was good...lemon creme brule . The restaurant could use a good cleaning...very dusty and many tiny bugs bothered us the entire dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Sunday night, very light crowd, service was very slow because of kitchen. Waitress was very aware
Of this, apologized and gave us free cocktail. Sat down at 7:45 and left at 10:15 . Just sayin!!!
Food was excellent!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This wasn't a brunch, this was a food coma waiting to be enjoyed! The food (those pancakes and honey whipped butter!), the drinks, the service were all exceptional. I look forward to coming back.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Casual, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Moms birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Brunch at Stars turned out to be a great treat. buffet style for the most part, but omelets to order are available too. Go hungry and allow time, I recommend reservations.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food was amazing and our waiter went above and beyond!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We went to Stars for our anniversary in 2016. Service was so good we came back again this year (2017) We were actually sat in the same table and got the same waiter as we did the previous year. His name is Zan and he gave great service again. I always love the fun atmosphere and the food was great. Definitely a hot spot

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 29, 2017

They were totally not accommodating to our group. Salmon wasn't edible. I would not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We went on a Friday night, it was extremely noisy. there were customers groups on either side that were fairly inebriated and loud. We requested to move and were moved to another table so ended up enjoying our meal. Food was good overall and service excellent. In my estimation, the food was a little overpriced for the Quality, presentation,and quantity

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Good food, good service, good cocktails. Ok wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Always a delight. Amazing food, ambiance and wonderful staff. Thank you!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Service was wonderful. All our food was good. Lobster was beautiful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

So pleased with everything, knocked it out of the park with all that we ate and drank. And the service might have been the best I ever remember having.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food is consistently delicious! Our favorite Sunday brunch. Service is outstanding.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

For Sunday brunch, Stars always delivers with great food, attentive service, and an excellent value. I tell friends that it's the best Sunday brunch in town! How can you beat the brunch buffet, with cheeses, salads, smoked salmon, hot foods, and delicious desserts, all for $25 per person? Maybe I should keep it a secret, so it doesn't get too popular. Zan is the man, always a great server who remembers his repeat customers.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Restaurant - good food. Good atmosphere
Rooftop bar - went there before dinner (6:30-7:00pm) - good but pricy drinks. View obscured by shrubbery. Great tunes! (Led Zepplin). After dinner (8:30-9:00pm) - very crowded. Lousy music (electronic dance stuff. Horrible!) Only stated for 30 minutes.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Nice place, but wait service was too slow and deceitful. Ordered a dish of lobster, shrimp and scallops over grits. Came with no lobster and waiter said - oops we ran out. Told him he should have told me before bringing me the dish. Got them to waive cost, but not without a worded discussion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Little disappointed they were not seating on the roof. Place seemed rather empty - could be the reason

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Very good food, drinks, coffee, and dessert. Very loud in the main dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Took my mom for brunch! We loved it! Really cool vibe and the food was really good! The service was great as well! We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The grilled asparagus was amazing! Super accommodating to my dietary needs (GF Vegan). Great bar scene as well. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Ate here during the bridge run weekend and had a very good experience. Our server was attentive and knowledgeable and made a great wine recommendation. Everyone at the table enjoyed their meal. My steak was very good but not the best I've ever had. I would order it medium rare next time. The pimento cheese risotto was amazing. Price was what you would expect from downtown Charleston. We went to the rooftop after just to check it out and it was really cool too. Overall, I would definitely go back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We had Saturday brunch buffet and it was delicious. We were thrown off by the cocktail menu at the main restaurant being totally different from the rooftop we visited afterwards. The rooftop is fun and great for people-watching, but the views were disappointing and the vibe was a bit snooty.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Everything was really good except for my steak. It was bland and overpriced and very tough

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Rooftop bar was perfect place to have a cocktail before dinner. Food was awesome as well as the service.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We had a table for 9. At one point early in the searing our waitress handed my wife her refill of soda and the glass shattered on the table.
After we were home we talked about it and we feel that the waitress did very little to help. I think that when the glass shattered we should have been moved so that the table could have been cleaned appropriately.
Also, some sort of comp should have been given. This goes a long way in promoting safety and just good business sense. It's a very competitive market in Charleston and word of mouth carries a lot of weight.
Otherwise, the food was typical brunch food. Nothing earth shattering especially for a tab for my wife and myself with no alcohol of $71 after tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 22, 2017

What a joy to be across the country on a business trip and find such a treasure. The soft shell crab was amazing, the ambiance perfect, and the wine list interesting. The service was top of the line. It was a perfect way to end the day. I smiled all the way back to my hotel. Even if Charleston wasn't a great town, which it is, I would come back to enjoy another experience at Stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Went with my best friend to celebrate our 21st birthdays together. The only complaint we had was we never felt like a priority to our waiter. It was clear/easy to see that he had other tables with larger parties, but it's still important to give everyone quality attention

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.