Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 69 times today

Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room

4.4
1266 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Groups
Stars Rooftop & Grill Room brings the art of live fire cooking to Charleston. Stars exemplifies an artistic appreciation for live fire cooking by focusing on the details of each dish – the seasoning, balance, pairing and presentation. The restaurant has a full bar and grill room on the first floor and event space on the second floor. The rooftop bar has a 360-degree view of downtown Charleston and can accommodate up to 140 people. Dedicated to serving locally sourced food within 100 miles of Charleston, Stars’ food and beverage menus are fresh and seasonal. Stars brings a new tradition of open flame cuisine to Charleston and is not to be missed.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Grill, Steakhouse
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Downstairs Bar Hours:
Monday-Friday 4:00pm-2:00am
Saturday-Sunday 10:00am-2:00am
Rooftop Bar Opens at
Monday-Thursday 2:30 pm
Friday 12:00 pm
Saturday-Sunday 10 am
Dinner:
Sunday- Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm-10:30pm

Saturday Brunch: 10:00am-2:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am-2:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(843) 577-0100
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chef Manuel Sequeira
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Morris Street and King Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet parking is available after 6pm and is located at the corner or King & Morris Street, one street north of Stars. There is a city garage located on Morris St, between King and Meeting. The on-street parking is free all day on Sunday.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
The Charleston Visitor's center and bus shed is located one block from Stars at the corner of Meeting and Ann St.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
We have live entertainment starting at 11pm on Friday and Saturday.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Contact Jessica Martin 843-577-0100 or email events@starsrestaurant.com
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Stars creates an exceptional event venue to host private dining events, both social and professional. Our event specialists have experience in hosting, catering and managing all event types from business meetings to intimate weddings.

View Private Dining Details
What 1266 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.5
service
4.3
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
82% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Excellent service. Excellent food.
Our server was warm and friendly. Our server gave us champagne on the house when he found out it was our anniversary.
The Rib eye was cooked perfectly.

Visited the roof top for ore dinner drinks. The bar tenders were friendly as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

It was our first time at this restaurant, but it exceeded our expectations. The food was very good, but small portions and kind of pricey. Our server was terrific, friendly and efficient.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

This is a busy vibrant restaurant with great food and great service. I had the lobster fettuccini with black truffle oil an incredibly rich dish that should have been hotter, but was really delicious. The roof top bar is very nice although the greenery around it (which is lovely) pretty much blocks any view of the city. All-n-all a fun place to go for an evening out!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 19, 2018

We found the restaurant VERY noisy and actually had to ask the hostess to turn down the music as we had a hard time carrying on a conversation. There was also a large crowd at the bar and perhaps they were contributing to the noise level. We do however, enjoy the rooftop bar!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

The oysters Bingo we're terrific as was everything really! The shellfish and grits absolutely fantastic!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Very delicious and our server was awesome and very outgoing!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Best kept secret in Charleston. This restaurant outranks High Cotton and Hall's. The food is unforgettable. It is consistently excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

we were in Charleston for a wedding and this was a group of 16. The server was terrific. All the food was great and everyone was happy. For a group this size, we got to choose from the regular menu, didn't have to pay for a private room and they were extremely accommodating.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Went here for Mother's Day dinner and enjoyed ourselves once again. Good meat and seafood options. Nice cocktails, a nice wine list and very good service made it a memorable evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We came here for the weekend brunch over Mother’s Day Weekend. Phenomenal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Their brunch is amazing, you can get special pancakes & omelets made and it’s included in the buffet. We were a party of 9 and service was amazing

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We went for Mothers Day Brunch,5-13-18. We had a FANTASTZIC experience! Great Food, Brunch Buffet, and Excellent Service! I have told several friends, and am looking for the next time we get to visit STARS!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We stopped in at Stars and had a few drinks at the bar before the rest of our party showed up for the reservation. They were running late and the hostess said no problem. The bartender we had knows how to mix a drink. I had gin and tonics and my wife had a couple Kentucky Mules. Very good service, we did not wait to be served and refills were prompt. When we were seated it was towards the back. Our waitress was named Sullivan and what a fun waitress she was. Personality and service were the best. We ordered the bacon tots as an appetizer and then I had the steak and risotto and my family ordered a burger, lobster fettuccine and shellfish and grits. It all tasted great. Presentation was kind of plain but the food was very tasty. Noise level is high but you can hear your own conversations. It was a good meal in a lively place. We will go back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We went here the night UCharleston graduated so it was quite busy. The food was excellent and reasonably priced for the area. The waiter was very attentive and the service was great. The rooftop deck looked like fun but it was very crowded so we didn’t stay. We wished we had tried this restaurant earlier in our trip.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Fun place to eat and everyone was nice, but the food just wasn’t on par.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We had a delightful experience once we got over the shock of it being buffet only and the need to make plates in a frantic rush as our reservations were at 1:45. Please make that known to future guests that it is buffet only and that late lunch reservations shouldn’t be made past 1:30. I reserved through Open Table; maybe that info could be included there. Our server was magnificent and he helped us relax and enjoy our celebration.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

It was absolutely delicious! Can't wait to return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Great food! Excellent service. We will be back again soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Terrific service, a medium rare steak arrived very rare but was corrected within a few minutes, flawlessly.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 11, 2018

This is the second time I have had dinner here and if I remembered it would not have come back. Thought we would be eating on the roof, but was told only place we could eat was in the main dining room. The server was excellent and provided us some good recommendations for dining, unfortunately the meal did not meet our expectations. As it was a Mother's day dinner, I did not complain for fear of upsetting my lady. She ordered the Lobster Tails and seemed satisfied with the preparation while I ordered the Porkchop which was dry and tough. The stuffed tater tots were average and the dipping sauce was fair. On the up side the desert was excellent and the pressed coffee was very good. This is a good place for getoghers as there was a birthday party next to us, but not for an intimate dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Great first experience at Stars! The food was very good and there was plenty of it. We didn’t leave hungry! Our waiter was great and everyone was very friendly! Will definitely tell people about our great experience!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Always looking for fun brunch spots. This one looked like a hole in the wall and my fiancé wanted to look for another spot to eat, but I convinced him to step in. Once inside it was very busy and loud. Great place to sit with friends. We didn’t go upstairs to the rooftop, but will on a next visit. The food was surprisingly good with a large variety (Brunch Buffet). The waitstaff was extremely busy, and they tried to keep up. Overall a nice experience. Would recommend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

For the second time this year we had very good meals and great service. Six of us were going to Pure Theatre after dinner - I had noted that in the reservation. The waiter acknowledged the theatre appointment as soon as he came to the table, and he always was very prompt with the food and the bill. He was a great waiter with great suggestions. Innovative starters at this restaurant. Seafood and grits was excellent, as was the mushroom risotto. Good price, Very good food, and great service. Only downside was noise - lots of bachelorette parties that night. :)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Best brunch I’ve had in a long time.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Thought we would have a nice dinner on the roof... NOT. They do not serve food on the roof. Ambiance is okay, but frankly do not have to fly from Houston to dine in a booth in a warehouse

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

The service was above and beyond. So glad we added this to our list of amazing food experiences in Charleston!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 29, 2018

We chose this restaurant for brunch thinking we could eat outdoors on the rooftop. We were extremely disappointed to discover that the rooftop is strictly a bar, no food service. The brunch was very expensive and the choices were limited. The “hot” entrees were lukewarm and not particularly good. We thought it was very overpriced for average food, overall.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Once we got inside the restaurant everything was great, but someone needs to tell the bouncer outside to let in people with dinner reservations. He wouldn’t even let us get to the hostess stand.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Food wasn’t hot, sent it back and still wasn’t hot.. risotto that came with the scallops was bland..
Our server was very nice and accommodating..

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Our group loves this restaurant! The food and service are delightful. Our waitress, Sullivan, made it a special night, making sure her table responsibilities for a bachelorette party of 12 did not interfere! The grouper special was delicious and the Chardonnay on tap was perfect. We’re certain to return!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Great staff and good ambience. Menu was unimaginative and was served was fair but not great, particularly in light of the high prices. Lobster in the fettuccine was over-cooked.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Loved the atmosphere. It was our first time there. We were a group of 12. Service was good. Appetizers were good. My dinner however had much to be desired. I ordered the "special" Blackened Grouper. In NO WAY was this blackened. It had no flavor at all. It was raw in the middle. Thank goodness my shrimp cocktail was good and my cocktails. Also the waiter dropped a cup of ketchup and went all over us. No one offered any help to clean up. They handed us a rag.

I would on the other hand definitely give it another try.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

The salmon entrée was excellent, the service was top-notch and the atmosphere is very good, the rooftop is nice to see for a drink

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

One of our favorite places to eat in Charleston. The brunch is amazing and the rooftop is great for drinks and views of the city.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 22, 2018

The food was good. Not great. It wasn’t all that hot. The bread items were not all that fresh or low quality. I was surprised at how loud the music was for a quiet Sunday morning brunch. It didn’t fit the atmosphere to have bumping club music and quite frankly was a total turn off for me. Not what I want to experience on a Sunday morning nor did it fit the venue.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Good service, ok food. Other options around the area would be a better option. Food was cold first go-round and the steak which was said to be “Better than halls” was extremely salty. At least 7 bachelorette parties in there at a time. Told them it was my fiancé’s birthday- and nothing. Probably won’t be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Picked this restaurant for a work dinner. It was a great choice. It was very crowded, however, the Restaurant was very accommodating to moving back our dining time.( Hard to add people late- remember that- if you are not sure on the count, go up at the start). It's clear this is a place to be seen in Charleston. Casual yet cool. An update on classic fare. Our Waiter was incredibly knowledgeable. He knew the menu inside and out. Had recommendations for all the people with allergies. Steered us to dishes that are the favorites of diners and helped us pick appetizers that where something for everyone. He helped make the experience. After dinner, we picked small sizes of three desserts to sample. Everone liked a little of something. All and All a great dinner. We then went upstairs to the rooftop bar for drinks. It was extremely crowded ( mostly a younger crowd), but it seems to come in waves so you could find seating. There are heaters, and they can pull the plastic walls down on the sides to keep the wind levels down. It was cool night but the temperature upstairs was perfect. The cocktails after made it the perfect night. A place I would easily recommend, and go back to.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 21, 2018

My friends and I made a reservation for 9 and arrived at 8:30 and checked in. We went up to the rooftop bar and to have a drink while we waited and went back down to the host stand at about 8:55 and we were told that they were cleaning a table and would be next sat. They were apparently telling this to multiple parties and we were not sat until 9:45.... nonetheless we still tried to give them the benefit of the doubt due to it being Friday night. Our server greeted us and in the first few sentences states “don’t yelp me, I’m super busy”. She was nice but the service was slow and to be a fine dining restaurant we did not receive a fine dining experience. The crab cakes and asparagus were very good but for the price mixed with the poor experience I’m undecided whether it was worth it. I might give them another try if I’m back in Charleston but would definitely try other restaurants first.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Pimento cheese risotto was really good. Was not super impressed with the rest of the food. The waiter was nice but kept calling me "texas" which, I wasn't really a fan of since I am not from there.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 20, 2018

The atmosphere and service was excellent. I was a little disappointed in the speed at which the food came out and the temperature of the food. I had a risotto which came very quickly (prior to finishing our appetizers) and it was cold and congealed. The scallops were also a little under cooked. I could understand if the restaurant was slammed but we had a 545 reservation and the dining room was largely unfilled; However, then the come out really quickly you would expect the food to be to the proper temperature. I have eaten here before and been pleased and will definitely come back and get a later reservation to not feel like I am being rushed through my meal. Also the rooftop bar is a fantastic space

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
32

Tweets by Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room