About Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room

495 King Street
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Stars Rooftop & Grill Room brings the art of live fire cooking to Charleston. Stars exemplifies an artistic appreciation for live fire cooking by focusing on the details of each dish – the seasoning, balance, pairing and presentation. The restaurant has a full bar and grill room on the first floor and event space on the second floor. The rooftop bar has a 360-degree view of downtown Charleston and can accommodate up to 140 people. Dedicated to serving locally sourced food within 100 miles of Charleston, Stars’ food and beverage menus are fresh and seasonal. Stars brings a new tradition of open flame cuisine to Charleston and is not to be missed.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Downstairs Bar Hours:
Monday-Friday 4:00pm-2:00am
Saturday-Sunday 10:30am-2:00am
Rooftop Bar Opens at
Monday-Thursday 2:30 pm
Friday 12:00 pm
Saturday-Sunday 10 am
Dinner:
Sunday- Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm-11:00pm

Saturday Brunch: 10:30am-2:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:30am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Morris Street and King Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-0100

Website:
http://starsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
We have live entertainment starting at 11pm on Friday and Saturday.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available after 6pm and is located at the corner or King & Morris Street, one street north of Stars.

Public Transit:
The Charleston Visitor's center and bus shed is located one block from Stars at the corner of Meeting and Ann St.

Executive Chef:
Chef Stephen Ollard

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact Jessica Martin 843-577-0100 or email events@starsrestaurant.com

Restaurant Photos

Stars Grill Room Steak - Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room, Charleston, SC
Peregrine Ranch Pinot Noir Wine - Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room, Charleston, SC
Apple Crisp - Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room, Charleston, SC
Pan Seared Atlantic Salmon - Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room, Charleston, SC
Plancha Seared Scallops Entree - Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room, Charleston, SC
Kale Salad - Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room, Charleston, SC
Burger - Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room, Charleston, SC
Bacon Tater Tots - Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room, Charleston, SC
Dessert - Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room, Charleston, SC
crab cake - Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room, Charleston, SC
Smoked Chicken Cobb Salad - Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room, Charleston, SC
Mini Blt - Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room, Charleston, SC
Tangled Up In Blue Wine - Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room, Charleston, SC
Wine On Tap - Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room, Charleston, SC
Lobster & Grits - Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room, Charleston, SC
Grilled Trout - Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room, Charleston, SC
Braised Short Ribs - Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room, Charleston, SC
Chicken Pot Pie - Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room, Charleston, SC
Grilled Swordfish - Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room, Charleston, SC

Private Dining

Stars creates an exceptional event venue to host private dining events, both social and professional. Our event specialists have experience in hosting, catering and managing all event types from business meetings to intimate weddings.

Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (18)
Special Occasion (18)
Good for Groups (16)
See All
Hot Spot (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Romantic (12)
Fun (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Casual (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Scenic View (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Cozy (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Business Meals (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Authentic (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
People Watching (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Dancing (2)
Historic (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
901 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great, fresh food cooked to our liking. ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Great, fresh food cooked to our liking. Wonderful service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

2nd time we have eaten. Menu was better ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 25, 2016

2nd time we have eaten. Menu was better with initial meal (over a year ago) but overall was very nice. Bar service especially good. They accommodated a large party well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I ordered the risotto with scallops. The ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 21, 2016

I ordered the risotto with scallops. The scallops had gone bad so we let our server know. She took off 1 scallop from our bill. They then brought out another scallop although I did not want another. My husband tried it and that one had gone bad too. When he talked to the server about it he asked to talk to the manager and she said he didn't want to come out to talk. I couldn't believe how poorly it was handled for serving food that had gone bad. Additionally the risotto had no taste at all, it was terrible. I would not recommend or ever go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Although we reserved early and asked for ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Although we reserved early and asked for a good table we were seated literally under the kitchen service window. The water that we were served was actually hot, not just warm and the waiter acted like we're wrong to ask him to replace it with cold glasses of water. Three Appetizers served without plates to serve them on, so we waited for those for a while. All the steak entrees were overcooked and three were cool and dry because they were sliced into strips in the kitchen before they were brought out. One steak was brought out late after we were told it had been overcooked and they were replacing it. Our deserts were the best part of the night. Altogether not worth the over $500 bill. Many other places in Charleston for a good meal, go here if you want bar style food and service. Oh and the managers actually walked by our table multiple times but seemed afraid to engage us because they knew what a fiasco it had been.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Waitress was either too busy or distract ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Waitress was either too busy or distracted or wasn't focused . This resulted In problems throughout the dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Went here for their brunch on Saturday a ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Went here for their brunch on Saturday and the food and service was WONDERFUL!!! The brunch buffet was worth $25

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Historic, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed Sunday brunch at STARS on 11- ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We enjoyed Sunday brunch at STARS on 11-13-16. The variety of food was good, it was tasty, and plentiful. The restaurant was not crowded before lunch on Sunday, although more people started coming in around 11:45 a.m. The staff was very professional and our waitress, Sully, delivered excellent service. The atmosphere was comfortable and relaxed, and you could hold a conversation without being overran by music or loud conversation. I definitely recommend this restaurant for casual dining.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first visit. Best lamb I h ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was our first visit. Best lamb I have had in a long time. Everything was just right!

Tags: Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place for nice dinner and live ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent place for nice dinner and live entertainment - highly recommend it!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We go to Star fairly frequently and love ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We go to Star fairly frequently and love it! Everyone is always incredible, from being seated to service and even as we leave. The food is always delicious, beautifully presented, and well timed. We will continue to dine with the wonderful Stars team!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not the quietest, the lobster was so sma ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Not the quietest, the lobster was so small for half and just over all not satisfied for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Had a reservation and was seated immedia ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Had a reservation and was seated immediately. Lovely rooftop bar. Service was attentive, very knowledgeable of menu. Friendly and accommodating. Food came out together and as described. Hot and delicious.

Thank you to Stars for a wonderful Friday night dinner!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Groups, Fun, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and fabulous food! Would h ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Great service and fabulous food! Would highly recommend to those seeking a diverse and creative dining experience with a lot of customer attention.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good food, good service but very expensi ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Good food, good service but very expensive - even in Charleston for the menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was amazing!. Hands down one of the ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Food was amazing!. Hands down one of thethe best steaks I've ever had. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Dancing, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fun, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!! Hope was a terrific server t ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Fantastic!! Hope was a terrific server too.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had not heard of Stars until I was sea ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 18, 2016

I had not heard of Stars until I was searching for a buffet brunch. I was quite impressed! The food was great, the service was excellent, and the price made it an amazing value. I'll go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Sunday brunch!!!

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great Sunday brunch!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

TheBrunch wasverygood,as usual The Frenc ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 18, 2016

TheBrunch wasverygood,as usual The French toast is especially good Iwould go again at anytime

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very surprised to find such a young coll ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Very surprised to find such a young college age crowd going up and down the stairs to and from the rooftop bar. Those that were dining downstairs were often distracted by the number of people coming through the restaurant just to go the the rooftop (where they don't serve food). The quality of the food seems to have suffered with the change in the clientele. I would not rush back to Stars or King Street.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Our waiter Cameron was fantastic We enjo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Our waiter Cameron was fantastic

We enjoyed a drink on the rooftop beforehand so fun

A bit spend my but so worth it once we taste the food! Hands down four of the best meals we've all had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful atmosphere, food, service. Gre ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere, food, service. Great buzz. In the heart of historic Charleston. A favorite go-to spot for a terrific evening any time or to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place. Made Saturday dinner re ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Love this place. Made Saturday dinner reservations for 14 ladies for my sisters Bachelorette. Our table was already prepared for us and the service was fantastic. The food selection was amazing along with the drinks. But more gracious was the waiter who accommodated us by splitting our checks individually.. Excellent experience.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good. Service was excelle ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Food was very good. Service was excellent. We went for Restaurant Week but were not impressed by the special menu so we ordered off the regular menu and the food was really good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I was very disappointed in my meal and v ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 9, 2016

I was very disappointed in my meal and value for dollar. I had the lamb. $37 for 3 ribs, very fatty. The snapper aka vermilion did not seem fresh. The best thing were the French Fries. This is more of a club atmosphere rather than a fine dining experience that you pay for.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Had a divine experience- food was amazin ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Had a divine experience- food was amazing, our waiter was attentive and entertaining. Ask the bartender to be creative with your drink- its a leap of faith that will be well worth the risk. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We attended the Sunday brunch. The food ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We attended the Sunday brunch. The food was very good, and our server was amazing. There was a lot of food on the buffet to choose from, and I would recommend the omelet and waffles in particular. Also, there was a cheese bar and a large assortment of desserts available. We would return.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

This is must for Sunday brunch everytime ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 4, 2016

This is must for Sunday brunch everytime we're in town. Perfect!!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Star serves a very nice Sunday Brunc ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The Star serves a very nice Sunday Brunch. I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Vibrant, noisy, fun place. Food is good. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Vibrant, noisy, fun place. Food is good. Service was excellent once seated, but was sent a text to say table ready when we were standing 5ft away! Couldn't hear the text for the noise! Overall great experience and would recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

While was our first time eating dinner t ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 27, 2016

While was our first time eating dinner there, we have had brunch there previously and had a phenomenal experience. We were very disappointed, we choose Stars to treat a couple from out of town that we were interviewing for one of our key positions as our company. The Duck was WAY overcooked, the Short Rib way overcooked and the server while pleasant was not very engaged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Loved this brunch. Lots of options and t ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Loved this brunch. Lots of options and the service is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was a delightful surprise ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The restaurant was a delightful surprise. Food was fabulous, and the service was wonderful. S'mores pies was the best dessert ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had Sunday brunch buffet on 8.21.16. Fo ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Had Sunday brunch buffet on 8.21.16. Food was excellent, both hot and cold bars. Very comfortable seating and not too loud. Service was exceptional with great attention to detail down to the cloths on the water pitchers to prevent dripping. This was our first time and the staff was very helpful. Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter was attentive, but the food a ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The waiter was attentive, but the food and drink were over sold. Two in our party of 4 ordered the lamb shops, we were told these we not ordinary lamb chops they were from Colorado. There were two chops on each plate they had a lot of fat and if there was a total of two ounces of meat I would be very surprised. One ordered the tenderloin which they found very tough, the fourth ordered fish and liked it very much.

No matter what you charge it does not make the product exceptional, it is the quality of the product you put out there that makes an honest restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Great food & service. Will definitely go ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great food & service. Will definitely go there again.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The brunch was absolutely fantastic! Ser ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The brunch was absolutely fantastic! Service was a little bit slow considering the service required is minimal since most of the food was buffet style. The food was great, especially the kale salad. Loved having all the options, and a full brunch with salads, appetizers, multiple main course choices, and desserts for $25 is incredibly reasonable!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Jazzy supper club feeling downstairs and ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Jazzy supper club feeling downstairs and beautiful hip rooftop bar

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great brunch buffet! And they have brunc ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great brunch buffet! And they have brunch Saturday as well as Sunday, that's difficult to find in Charleston. Food was excellent.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Sunday Brunch and Happy hour are always ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Sunday Brunch and Happy hour are always a great time with great food, atmosphere and service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.