About Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room

Stars Rooftop & Grill Room brings the art of live fire cooking to Charleston. Stars exemplifies an artistic appreciation for live fire cooking by focusing on the details of each dish – the seasoning, balance, pairing and presentation. The restaurant has a full bar and grill room on the first floor and event space on the second floor. The rooftop bar has a 360-degree view of downtown Charleston and can accommodate up to 140 people. Dedicated to serving locally sourced food within 100 miles of Charleston, Stars’ food and beverage menus are fresh and seasonal. Stars brings a new tradition of open flame cuisine to Charleston and is not to be missed.

495 King Street
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Grill, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Downstairs Bar Hours:
Monday-Friday 4:00pm-2:00am
Saturday-Sunday 10:00am-2:00am
Rooftop Bar Opens at
Monday-Thursday 2:30 pm
Friday 12:00 pm
Saturday-Sunday 10 am
Dinner:
Sunday- Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm-10:30pm

Saturday Brunch: 10:00am-2:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Morris Street and King Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-0100

Website:
http://starsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
We have live entertainment starting at 11pm on Friday and Saturday.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available after 6pm and is located at the corner or King & Morris Street, one street north of Stars. There is a city garage located on Morris St, between King and Meeting. The on-street parking is free all day on Sunday.

Public Transit:
The Charleston Visitor's center and bus shed is located one block from Stars at the corner of Meeting and Ann St.

Executive Chef:
Chef Vince Carino

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact Jessica Martin 843-577-0100 or email events@starsrestaurant.com

Specials

1/2 OFF ALL TAP WINES AND SHARE PLATES

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Specials

1/2 OFF ALL TAP WINES AND SHARE PLATES

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Details

Enjoy 1/2 price wines by the glass, carafe or liter along with Chef Carino's amazing selection of 1/2 priced share plates. These specials are available at the bar as well as the dining room. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jan 7, 2017 - May 7, 2017 on Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM.

Private Dining

Stars creates an exceptional event venue to host private dining events, both social and professional. Our event specialists have experience in hosting, catering and managing all event types from business meetings to intimate weddings.

Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (26)
Good for a Date (24)
Good for Groups (21)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Great for Brunch (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Romantic (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Cozy (11)
Fun (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
People Watching (10)
Casual (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Business Meals (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Scenic View (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Authentic (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Historic (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Great Beer (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tapas (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vegan (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Healthy (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
989 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food is consistently delicious! Our favorite Sunday brunch. Service is outstanding.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

For Sunday brunch, Stars always delivers with great food, attentive service, and an excellent value. I tell friends that it's the best Sunday brunch in town! How can you beat the brunch buffet, with cheeses, salads, smoked salmon, hot foods, and delicious desserts, all for $25 per person? Maybe I should keep it a secret, so it doesn't get too popular. Zan is the man, always a great server who remembers his repeat customers.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Restaurant - good food. Good atmosphere
Rooftop bar - went there before dinner (6:30-7:00pm) - good but pricy drinks. View obscured by shrubbery. Great tunes! (Led Zepplin). After dinner (8:30-9:00pm) - very crowded. Lousy music (electronic dance stuff. Horrible!) Only stated for 30 minutes.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Nice place, but wait service was too slow and deceitful. Ordered a dish of lobster, shrimp and scallops over grits. Came with no lobster and waiter said - oops we ran out. Told him he should have told me before bringing me the dish. Got them to waive cost, but not without a worded discussion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Little disappointed they were not seating on the roof. Place seemed rather empty - could be the reason

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Very good food, drinks, coffee, and dessert. Very loud in the main dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Took my mom for brunch! We loved it! Really cool vibe and the food was really good! The service was great as well! We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The grilled asparagus was amazing! Super accommodating to my dietary needs (GF Vegan). Great bar scene as well. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Ate here during the bridge run weekend and had a very good experience. Our server was attentive and knowledgeable and made a great wine recommendation. Everyone at the table enjoyed their meal. My steak was very good but not the best I've ever had. I would order it medium rare next time. The pimento cheese risotto was amazing. Price was what you would expect from downtown Charleston. We went to the rooftop after just to check it out and it was really cool too. Overall, I would definitely go back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We had Saturday brunch buffet and it was delicious. We were thrown off by the cocktail menu at the main restaurant being totally different from the rooftop we visited afterwards. The rooftop is fun and great for people-watching, but the views were disappointing and the vibe was a bit snooty.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Everything was really good except for my steak. It was bland and overpriced and very tough

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Rooftop bar was perfect place to have a cocktail before dinner. Food was awesome as well as the service.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We had a table for 9. At one point early in the searing our waitress handed my wife her refill of soda and the glass shattered on the table.
After we were home we talked about it and we feel that the waitress did very little to help. I think that when the glass shattered we should have been moved so that the table could have been cleaned appropriately.
Also, some sort of comp should have been given. This goes a long way in promoting safety and just good business sense. It's a very competitive market in Charleston and word of mouth carries a lot of weight.
Otherwise, the food was typical brunch food. Nothing earth shattering especially for a tab for my wife and myself with no alcohol of $71 after tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 22, 2017

What a joy to be across the country on a business trip and find such a treasure. The soft shell crab was amazing, the ambiance perfect, and the wine list interesting. The service was top of the line. It was a perfect way to end the day. I smiled all the way back to my hotel. Even if Charleston wasn't a great town, which it is, I would come back to enjoy another experience at Stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Went with my best friend to celebrate our 21st birthdays together. The only complaint we had was we never felt like a priority to our waiter. It was clear/easy to see that he had other tables with larger parties, but it's still important to give everyone quality attention

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This is one of our favorite spots. Brunch, dinner and late night party scene are our favorite times. The food never disappoints. The desserts by Quinnetta Clark are magical!

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Rooftop very loud and crowded! Not a place to have a conversation! Very young scene! Restaurant was quiet and delicious!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 7, 2017

We started with a drink on the top of the building, which was wonderful. Everett was our server in DR and was wonderful. Very attentive, great service. Food was delicious!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food but service was terribly slow and it wasn't busy at all. Also, thought it was weird that for $25 orange juice wasn't included. Other than that, everything was perfect. Surprisingly great egg Benedict!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great buffet really worth the money!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Catching up with friends in Charleston so booked Stars for dinner - we've had drinks on the rooftop patio several times but had never been for dinner. We will definitely be back! I had the salmon and it was cooked perfectly and paired with broccolini, mashed potatoes and Brussels sprouts, yum!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Vegan, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Had a fantastic server and a very fun time celebrating my friend's bachelor party! Great roof top and great walking distance from most hotels! A must to start off a great weekend! Also good at handling a larger party!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Casual, People Watching, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

fun brunch spot in great charleston location - nice open air bar on roof deck for post brunch cocktails

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The hostess allowed a group of 40-year old drunk ladies in who were very offensive to the people around them. Instead of kicking them out, they moved the people around them. Made for a very unconfortable experience.

Also, the food was cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food and drinks were amazing! The service could use some help!! Took forever for drinks and the server was not attentive at all!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I was impressed by the great service! The prime rib was absolutely amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The appetizers were delicious, highly recommend the mushroom bruschetta. Our server, Chris, was wonderful. He had a great energy and was very accommodating. He is also a bartender and served us delicious cocktails (highly recommend the aviation) Great atmosphere and the rooftop was a nice addition to our evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We loved Stars, highly recommend it for any occasion! First night in town and we stopped to eat with no reservation, but Pyer, the manager, suggested to eat at the bar. We liked it so much, went back two more times and each experience was wonderful. Rob and Christopher were excellent waiters and very friendly. Reservations made with Open Table made it simple for the other nights. Very good menu, we tried the surf and turf and also the prime rib! Cooked just right!!!! The apple crisp with buttermilk ice cream was to die for!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Food was AMAZING! Great ambiance and service. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Stars!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 23, 2017

What an awesome restaurant! Not only was the food divine, but the service was spectacular!! Unfortunately, I've forgotten our server's name, but she was so attentive. When she learned that my husband was a vegetarian, who didn't like the majority of what was on the menu that he could eat, she took it upon herself to speak with the kitchen to see what they could do for him. That has NEVER happened to us when we've dined!! The vegetables that they prepared for him, were delicious! And the lamb and lobster dishes both my daughter and I had, were superb! I can't wait to come back to Charleston. Stars will be on my MUST EAT AT list for sure!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Cozy, Tapas, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Cool rooftop patio! Great happy hour on Tuesday-1/2 off wines and small plates. Food was OK, compared to other local restaurants. Expected better.

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Wife has been here before and wanting to go back for the Sunday Brunch. It was fantastic. Every thing was presented well and the food was awesome especially the fruit and desert bar. Can't wait to return to Charleston and go back again.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun, Good for Groups, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I've come to Stars for Sunday brunch countless times, and I still can't believe what an amazing value it is! I've brought many friends and family here, and I always tell people that it's the best brunch in Charleston. Zan is the Man! He's a great server, always attentive with a smile, and not overbearing. Check it out, and ask for Zan!

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Everything was AMAZING!! The only disappointment was the Bloody Mary. It tasted like watered down tomato juice, no flavor, really just awful. But, everything else, everything else was great! Would totally do brunch again! Worth it!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Everything was wonderful. The oysters I can eat all day, everyday!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Service, food, and drinks were great!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My wife and I made reservations for on a weekend away in Charleston. Upon being seated we noticed the place was very busy (SEWE convention was in town that weekend). It was very loud which didn't really work for us.

Service was decent and friendly but the wait staff did forget our appetizer and a drink from the bar.

Food was EXCELLENT. once it arrived. Well worth the price of admission. We didn't make it to the rooftop bar but the restaurant overall was a good experience.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines Day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Somewhat small menu offerings, but we tried several small plates, and each one was delicious!
I would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.