About Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room

495 King Street
Charleston, SC 29403
View Larger Map

Stars Rooftop & Grill Room brings the art of live fire cooking to Charleston. Stars exemplifies an artistic appreciation for live fire cooking by focusing on the details of each dish – the seasoning, balance, pairing and presentation. The restaurant has a full bar and grill room on the first floor and event space on the second floor. The rooftop bar has a 360-degree view of downtown Charleston and can accommodate up to 140 people. Dedicated to serving locally sourced food within 100 miles of Charleston, Stars’ food and beverage menus are fresh and seasonal. Stars brings a new tradition of open flame cuisine to Charleston and is not to be missed.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Downstairs Bar Hours:
Monday-Friday 4:00pm-2:00am
Saturday-Sunday 10:30am-2:00am
Rooftop Bar Opens at
Monday-Thursday 2:30 pm
Friday 12:00 pm
Saturday-Sunday 10 am
Dinner:
Sunday- Thursday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm-11:00pm

Saturday Brunch: 10:30am-2:00pm
Sunday Brunch: 10:30am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Morris Street and King Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 577-0100

Website:
http://starsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
We have live entertainment starting at 11pm on Friday and Saturday.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available after 6pm and is located at the corner or King & Morris Street, one street north of Stars.

Public Transit:
The Charleston Visitor's center and bus shed is located one block from Stars at the corner of Meeting and Ann St.

Executive Chef:
Chef Stephen Ollard

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Contact Jessica Martin 843-577-0100 or email events@starsrestaurant.com

Restaurant Photos

Stars Grill Room Steak
Peregrine Ranch Pinot Noir Wine
Apple Crisp
Pan Seared Atlantic Salmon
Plancha Seared Scallops Entree
Kale Salad
Burger
Bacon Tater Tots
Dessert
Smoked Chicken Cobb Salad
crab cake
Mini Blt
Wine On Tap
Tangled Up In Blue Wine
Lobster & Grits
Grilled Trout
Grilled Swordfish
Braised Short Ribs
Chicken Pot Pie

Private Dining

Stars creates an exceptional event venue to host private dining events, both social and professional. Our event specialists have experience in hosting, catering and managing all event types from business meetings to intimate weddings.

Stars Restaurant - Rooftop & Grill Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (53)
special occasion (48)
vibrant bar scene (47)
See All
fit for foodies (40)
hot spot (38)
romantic (37)
scenic view (30)
great for brunch (24)
neighborhood gem (15)
late-night find (15)
great for outdoor dining (12)
notable wine list (11)
great for lunch (6)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
838 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food and service was amazing. There ...

Dined 3 days ago

The food and service was amazing. There were several groups next to our table that were extremely loud making it hard to have a conversation.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary dinner, was noisy on the wee ...

Dined 3 days ago

Anniversary dinner, was noisy on the weekend, food and service were to notch

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite restaurant in Charleston!! Sta ...

Dined 6 days ago

Favorite restaurant in Charleston!! Start at the rooftop bar for a pre dinner drink!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great overall experience, food ...

Dined 7 days ago

We had a great overall experience, food was cooked perfect, great atmosphere, and they really made our special occasion a night to remember.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I'm not normally a fan of a brunch buffe ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

I'm not normally a fan of a brunch buffet but Stars does it right. The made to order omelettes come quickly and done to perfection. Buffet stations are replenished regularly and often so that the food is always fresh. Drinks are good and presentation is lovely. Our server was entertaining and always on hand to help with our requests. All in all it was a brunch to remember for a double occasion of Fathers Day and our anniversary. I would recommend Stars for brunch and we will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Definitely one of the current "hot" spot ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Definitely one of the current "hot" spots in Charleston based on the line outside as we were leaving, but it seems to be mostly for the rooftop. Food was okay but thought the menu limited. She-crab soup was very good. The atmosphere in the dining room wasn't anything special. Service was fine. Given how many great restaurants there are in Charleston and for this one to be so popular my opinion is obviously not in alignment with the majority.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience4
service4

We tried the bacon tater tots and tomaha ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We tried the bacon tater tots and tomahawk pork chop. The tots were basically burnt on the outside, but softer on the inside. The pork chop was so salty it was basically inedible. The only saving grace was the ice cream shop next door.

food3
ambience3
service1
value1

I took two of my best girlfriends who ca ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

I took two of my best girlfriends who came in from out of town to Stars for a birthday dinner. Upon entering the restaurant, you would think that it is a fancy and hip establishment. We were excited for delicious food followed by cocktails on the roof. As it turned out, the service was horrible and the food was mediocre/good. The waiter lightly tossed us the menus and drink list, mumbled his name (it was Eric according to the receipt), and seemed annoyed that we were interested in the specials for the night and asking questions about the menu. It was not busy when we arrived. We were one of 4 tables seated at that time. The meal we ordered was ok, but nothing great for the price of the food. I ordered the mini crab cakes and they smelled and tasted fishy. Good seafood should not smell or taste that way. The kale salad I ordered was a large portion and tasty. After dinner we tried to salvage the night by getting drinks on the rooftop deck. This was also a mistake. There were many more people at the rooftop bar and only one bartender. I was waiting for over 25 minutes before leaving with no drinks. It might have been worth it if there was a tremendous view, but much of the beautiful skyline of the city was obstructed. Overall it was a disappointing experience and embarrassing to take out of town guests to such a place when I was hoping to show off the positives of my city and the food scene.

food5
ambience5
service5

Scallops were unbelievable and the rabbi ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Scallops were unbelievable and the rabbit and duck was delicious!!!

food1
ambience3
service3
value1

The place was well over rated and priced ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The place was well over rated and priced at that as well. We selected the "paella" special as they put it and ended up with a piece of fish on a WHITE bed of rice with no flavor at all for any of the food. The servers seemed more concerned that our glasses of water were empty and kept filling up our sparking water glasses! Not for us and would not recommend it at all.

food3
ambience3
service4

Not what I expected. Thought we could di ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Not what I expected. Thought we could dine outdoors...you can't, drinks only on rooftop. Food was OK. A little better than typical bar food. Decor was meh. It was a fine experience, just expected more. Come here for a drink on the roof, or a burger/bar food nosh. Nothing spectacular...so many other places to experience in Charleston!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter, Zen, made the night very ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Our waiter, Zen, made the night very special for my daughter's 19th birthday. He started out with fries white truffle oil...the meal was fabulous. Then he brought her a flaming baked Alaska type dessert that was actually a smores and Happy on the plate. Zen gets best waiter, the restaurant gets 2 thumbs up!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ginger Berry IceBox Cake dessert, best in town

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

We go to Stars pretty regularly - we are too old for the pick-up bar scene which is one of the best in town if that is what you are looking for. We go because the food is predictably delicious, there is something for everyone's palate or dietary issues (the meat lover, the seafood/fish lover, and the vegetarian, small plates and large plates), the service is reliably professional and excellent, and there is a very good assortment of wines and liquors for everyone's tastes. Last night we were going to pass on dessert but opted for the special, a Ginger, Lemon and Berry IceBox Cake that absolutely astounded all three of us as at least one of, if not truly, THE very best desserts in Charleston! The waiter said it was for ginger lovers, but in fact, that was not an overwhelming flavor. The flavors were sublimely balanced with a light crunchy "crust" and creamy lemon ginger filling that was tart and sweet and savory all at the same time on a layer of perfect summer berry sauce. Each of us had different choices for dinner that we were completely satisfied with, and some of which was shared, yet this dessert topped of our summer meal better than anything we've ever had. We suggested they make it a regular feature, or at least a more regular special for the season. The pastry chef was pleased with her experiment when we called her out of the kitchen and told her how we felt, stressing that is should be a very regular seasonally adjusted dessert. She should win accolades for it! Well done!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best brunch locations in Char ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

One of the best brunch locations in Charleston (and it might very well be the best). Every food selection is top quality. We have brunch here ~once/month and we have never been disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fun for a large group!

Dined on June 4, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in Charleston! It was my second time dining here and we came for a bachelorette party with a large party. They were able to accommodate 7-8 guests a week in advance, which was great. The shrimp bisque was AMAZING! Everyone really enjoyed their meals and cocktails. The rooftop bar upstairs is a plus for before or after dinner as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

We ate dinner at Stars with 3 kids (8, 6 ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

We ate dinner at Stars with 3 kids (8, 6 and 5) and although there are no kids menus they gave us some great kid friendly options. When we first walked in and were sat down I was worried about having my kids with us but my kids are pretty well behaved and our waiter was AWESOME! There was just enough noise in the place so i didn't feel like we needed to whisper. We loved the flounder beignets and the scallops for our appetizers. We also enjoyed the red snapper special and burger for our entrees. We really enjoyed our meal and will eat here again when we come back to Charleston!

food2
ambience1
service2

Went for brunch at 12.30. Waiter came ri ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Went for brunch at 12.30. Waiter came right away but it took almost 20 minutes for our cocktails. Worse, the brunch buffet was picked over, ( eg, the "charcuterie" had no meat left), I had to ask for plates , and the tables had messes and spills. At$24.95 each before drinks, it wasn't cheap. We had guests and were embarrassed .

food4
ambience3
service3

A bit expensive, even for brunch, but th ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

A bit expensive, even for brunch, but the fried chicken eggs Benedict was heaven!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

10/10, especially for a big group!

Dined on May 28, 2016

I had 7 family members in town, as well as my date, and I had forgotten to make any dinner reservations! Luckily, Stars was able to accommodate us same-day even though it was a holiday weekend and everywhere else was packed. All the better because I have a few family members that are ardent foodies, and they would've balked if the experience wasn't top notch. Stars came through in every way! The food was amazing, the service was great, and the wine list was on-point. Plus, we could just walk upstairs for post-dinner drinks on the rooftop bar instead of heading to a new location. Many thanks to the staff for such a great experience!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome service and amazing food! We wen ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Awesome service and amazing food! We went with a very large group of 12 for our bachelorette visit and could not have been more impressed with our server and the restaurant! Would definitely recommend as a must go to spot for the roof top views and spectacular food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night out

Dined on May 27, 2016

Service was professional, prompt, and excellent. The food was delicious. I can't say enough good things about the evening in general.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a large party of 12 on a weeknigh ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

We had a large party of 12 on a weeknight with extended family celebrating a birthday and following our wedding in Folly Beach. The staff was excellent, food was great and all the little details were on point. Thank you to all the Stars staff for making our last night in Charleston perfect!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on May 22, 2016

We had Sunday brunch at Stars and it was excellent, from the food to the service. It may seem a bit pricey at $25 but this isn't your usual brunch spread. Besides the typical brunch menu, there's an amazing selection of cheeses, crackers, smoked salmon, salads, fruit, Benedict and desserts. Beautiful and inviting presentation.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was excellent. Service was great.

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Evening started great right off upon ope ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Evening started great right off upon opening the door. Was graciously greeted, and seated at a wonderful large circular booth. It was my wife and I for an anniversary dinner. Waiter Justin was most informative and provided undivided attention and service. Food was outstanding and very well portioned. Can't wait to return. Start off with a cocktail "Made man in Charleston " definitly can't go wrong

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent.

Dined on May 13, 2016

Tremendous food, excellent wait staff, beautiful rooftop for drinks afterward. This was an amazing experience all around in a beautiful city.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and night cap on the roof was ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Great food and night cap on the roof was fun

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on May 11, 2016

Definitely arrive early and go up to the roof top bar. A great list of cocktails and the view is beautiful. When we were seated for dinner, our waiter was wonderful and knowledgeable. The specials were truly special and the food was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect!

Dined on May 9, 2016

The rooftop bar was a great place to see the sunset and a view of the city. We enjoyed that both nights of our stay! Dinner was fantastic downstairs on the first floor. Great ambiance! I highly recommend it. The bartenders and wait staff are very friendly.

Tags: scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stars Restaurant Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Stars Restaurant - Mother's Day Brunch 2016 We needed a last minute Mother's Day reservation, and chose Stars based on availability and proximity. We were very glad we did. Everything was wonderful. The service was attentive but not obnoxious - we loved our waiter. The space was attractive, comfortable, and quiet. The food was well presented, varied, and tasty. We plan to make Stars our regular Charleston brunch spot.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2

When we arrived we were about 6 or 7 min ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

When we arrived we were about 6 or 7 minutes early. I ask the Gentlemen at the front desk to give me just a moment because I wanted to see the view from the roof. He told me no and that they needed to seat me right away because it was going to be a busy night. There was only two other tables that had customers seated at the time. AND when we left there was 6 tables that had no one seated and no line at the door. He spoiled my night and you will never get another dollar from this guy! Halls Chop House to eat from now on. Dewberry hotel for the views. You can become unsuccessful one person at a time, becarful.

food5
ambience5
service5

Attended buffet lunch after college of C ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Attended buffet lunch after college of Charleston commencement and it was just perfect for three generational family celebration . Food was so good! Several options at three stations so something for everyone . We were seated in a both and it was Quiet enough for grandparents to be in on conversation. Our server was quite attuned to our group and v attentive . Highly recommend !

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went to Stars on graduation day after ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

We went to Stars on graduation day after graduation. It was our first time to dine there. The food, service and ambiance were all very good. There were many different choices of items for brunch and many different desserts. Everyone in our group enjoyed it.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for celebration

Dined on May 7, 2016

Here for graduation. The roof was perfect for cocktails, dinner was wonderful. Great service, good advice from waiter, very trendy bar scene.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Great establishment, everything was as a ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Great establishment, everything was as advertised! Definitely will be back!

food4
ambience4
service4

Tasty Brunch ! Great ambiance in restaur ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Tasty Brunch ! Great ambiance in restaurant . Rooftop bar nice, relaxed,ambiance too even on a cloudy day ! My husband enjoyed a nice birthday brunch celebration with friends.

food5
ambience5
service5

Go for the Sunday brunch buffet! It was ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Go for the Sunday brunch buffet! It was amazing and we did not want to leave!

food5
ambience5
service5

This place and the brunch setup was awes ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

This place and the brunch setup was awesome. Amazingly delicious food. The staff were very friendly.

food4
ambience5
service5

What a great experience especially after ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

What a great experience especially after our night at Blossom! This totally made up for the previous night at another restaurant that was a big disappointment. The food was excellent and the service was awesome!! Our server Zan was terrific. The complimentary champagne and dessert was just what we needed after our poor service from the night at Blossom. This is our third visit to Stars and we were not disappointed on this special occasion of celebrating our anniversary. So glad we chose to be here on this night!

food3
ambience3
service3

It was enjoyable but not memorable.

Dined on April 30, 2016

It was enjoyable but not memorable.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.