Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.23mi
  3. Distance: 0.64mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi

About STARS Restaurant!

At Stars, enjoy stunning panoramic views of Pleasant Bay and the Atlantic Ocean. Seasonally inspired cuisine rooted from the bountiful harvest of The Chatham Bars Inn Farm to create Cape Cod’s premier dining experience. Steeped in history with Norman Rockwell’s “Spirit of America“above our fireplace. Stars is a culinary occasion that will excite the senses with tableside preparations, an award winning wine list and refined, personalized service.

Attire: Resort Evening Attire. For the ladies, resort casual - no pool / beach attire and for the men, long pants including jeans, collared shirt and proper footwear - no shorts.

297 Shore Road
Chatham, MA 02633
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Mon-Sat: 7am - 11am/Sun: 7am-12pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Seaview Street and Shore Road

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(508) 945-6872

Website:
http://www.chathambarsinn.com/

Executive Chef:
Anthony Cole

Private Party Facilities:
For more information about our private dining options and menus go to www.chathambarsinn.com.

Additional:
Banquet, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

STARS Restaurant! Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.3

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (12)
Waterfront (9)
Romantic (6)
See All
Good for a Date (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Authentic (2)
Historic (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Fireplace (1)
Live Music (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
319 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

Stayed at the hotel and saved the best dinner for the last.pea soup was divine. Monk fish was delicious and the lamb chops were perfectl

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Our server was Orlando who was fantastic--efficient, knowledgeable, extremely friendly. The food was delicious and the view is just incredible.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Wonderful service and fabulous food. The food was beautiful and fresh. Great experience. Highly recommend this restaurant. Our best meal this summer on the Cape!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Great food and remarkable view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Wonderful dining experience! The food was delicious, the staff extra attentive and friendly, and the dining room is beautiful. Chef Jody Adams came out to chat and see how we liked everything. Afterwards we sat outside, listening to the music while having a drink and enjoying the water views. We live on the Cape and Stars is one of our favorite restaurants!

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Had slow service and they made it right. Going back again, great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We were very disappointed in most every area but especially the food and the value. We arrived early and it was a beautiful evening in Chatham to celebrate a birthday of one of our guests but from the start the service was just ok and the dishes we ordered were disappointing. A rib eye steak for 2 - the only beef choice on the menu at $150. --yielded small portions and had to be sent back for additional cooking to reach medium. The clam chowder was not really soup but a mixture poured over some clams in their shell. The bass and the scallops were good but very small portions for a dinner meal and arrived without accompanying vegetables or a side dish. I really love dressing up and going out to a grand hotel like this so I was looking forward to it. In particular I have been to Stars and Chatham Bars Inn many times and suggested it for this birthday dinner so I was disappointed and embarrassed that it did not work out. I won't go back anytime soon, if ever.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Although the staff seemed surprise that we had a reservation when we arrrived, all worked out fine. They did know it was our anniversary. The 18oz steak was bone in, so at $150 you were not eating 18oz of meat. Fish was fresh and most likely local. Plenty of staff available, although drink service was very slow.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on June 29, 2017

The locally farm grown vegetables, greens and herbs, really makes huge difference in the quality of the food, they are actually the stars in every dish. The flavors were amazingly fresh and vibrant. I would return just sa because of that.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience. Creamy garlic soup was a delight and exquisitely served. My husband remarked on the freshness of the salad straight from the farm. The NY sirloin was perfect in temperature and had an inviting presentation. My lobster entree was a pleasure to my eyes and palate. We just loved it!
We recommend the apple dessert as well as the chocolate lava cake.
Cocktails, wine, and cordials were of the best quality.
Thank you Travis for your exceptional service! We plan to return to this fine restaurant soon.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Terrific meal experience despite the steak cart (bring that back) being discontinued. Service(Alex) was truly outstanding - friendly, courteous, outgoing, gastric knowledgable and very professional. Entire staff was great. Sirloin wonderful and wife's scallops cooked to perfection; along with very accomadating for diet restrictions too. Great location for a special meal in a wonderful location.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 22, 2017

I would have preferred a beef offering of filet vs. the sirloin.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

They'll have to do something in re steak. Bring back the steak cart; sear it properly; don't cut it. I'll be back only when I know there's been a change.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This is the third dinner we have had at Stars, but the first since its change from a steak house. The results were mixed for us. My meal (Salmon) was very good and my dessert (Sorbet) was great also. My wife who had her heart set on steak, ordered the Sirloin and was disappointed. Her steak was a bit tough and there was nothing else on the plate other than two tiny potatoes and vegetables. Her dessert was also a bit dry and although listed as cake was delivered as a cupcake.
Wine list was great as always, service has been better in the past but still above average.
I think this restaurant is still transitioning away from its steakhouse past, its not there yet, but I hope it continues to improve to get back to the level we enjoyed when it was a steakhouse.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Stars has a wonderful a setting and a view of the ocean . The food was exquisite and the service was special. They make you feel at ease but are not overly intrusive. Just a wonderful experience for dinner and brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Extreemly expensive. Has the reputation but takes advantage of it. Meals for 4 with two cocktails plus 20+% tip (good server Len) was $400.00. Won't be back for a long time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The service was terrible. The hostess had to ,finally send a waiter to our table. He never cam back.
My wife ordered a glass of wine from the hostess.
Worse than the service was the food. I ordered the veal chop and it was at least 80% fat. I told the hostess it was a disgrace. The saddest part was my daughter call Stars and paid the bill as a gift to us. My wife had scallops ,five only and nothing with it. Never again

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 23, 2016

My appetizer dish was extremely salty. My expectations were high and not met. Orlando our waiter was fantastic!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Amazing food! Great location and good service. Definitely will go back for a third time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Good food, great service, lovely view of ocean, willing to substitute vegetables, quiet & lovely dining for a very relaxing meal and not rushed in any way.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Our least favorite meal while vacations in Chatham

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 25, 2016

I had heard some mixed reviews about the food - the Inn and restaurant are lovely. Every amenity is cared for, the staff from the parking valet to the waitstaff is outstanding and the food, well any reservations about the food were baseless. The food is excellent - presented beautifully and very delicious. All in all it was a wonderful experience and we will be sure to return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 24, 2016

The service was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Everyone took such great care of us for my wife's birthday. Beautiful view, excellent service, fabulous presentations, and elegant surroundings. We had a fabulous evening. Thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Fancy. Stuffy. Food was meh. Go for the gorgeous views but not for the overpriced food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Service was outstanding. Waiter was excellent and had a great knowledge of the menu and a wondrful sense of humor.

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The Staff was incredible, parking was a breeze and the place is great. A bit pricey, but for the right occasion, well worth the cost.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The Sommelier was outstanding, apologized that the wine we had selected was not cooled and suggested an alternative that was NOT an upcharge, and turned out to be one of the best wines I have had in a long time. The wait staff uniform is a little awkward for the women, with a white fitted jacket and men's tie. The food was outstanding, but at first we were slightly worried that on every dish there was one item we didn't like - for me it was fennel, for my sons it was foie gras, but in the end, we each chose a different entree and were delighted with each!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Len, our seasoned waiter, was wonderful in his service, his descriptions of menu items, specials and his own recommendations of house favorites. It was our 18th wedding anniversary, and what better place than an Window seat out to the lawn and ocean. Great food, ambience, and location. From the valet parking attendants, who took great care with our Porsche, to the head hostess who saved our table, we were 15 mins. late in arriving. Saturday traffic coming from upper Cape. I will now find reasons to go more often even if there is not a grand celebration. Thank you Stars, Thank you Len... our new favorite waiter. The Audunsons

Tags: Authentic, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2016

We visit Cape Cod every other year and stay at Wequassett. We had such a memorable night at Stars in 2014 so looked forward to returning this year - how things have changed in 2 years. The menu is now 'quirky' which would be fine if the food matched the chef's vision ... it doesn't . The $60 sirloin steak our children had was inedible and the accompanying roast potatoes the size of 2 x 10c pieces; the lobster was dull and accompanying vegetables did not belong on the same plate; the pudding tasted good but looked like it has been dropped - it hadn't but that's the look the chef was going for! Overall a very disappointing evening and needless to say I don't believe we'll return and 28 Atlantic is now head and shoulders above Stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 9, 2016

The atmosphere - superb, service was fantastic. Very friendly staff, wait staff was very professional. Food was very unique and flavorful. Dessert was disappointing, strawberries and creme fraiche which consisted of 2 strawberries and a full cup of creme fraiche. One other thing, although not bothersome to us, a few tables over was a screaming toddler, surprising to see given the prices.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 8, 2016

The venue is spectacular with a view to match. The service is impeccable nothing is overlooked. The food is absolutely sublime from the complimentary cold cucumber soup ,the imaginative appetizers and entrees to die for. Finish off with creative desserts. The wine list has choices in all price ranges. It was our anniversary and we received complimentary cookies on a platter emblazoned with Anniversary wishes in chocolate. The total experience was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 31, 2016

The service was great! The food very overpriced. This was our third time there,and very disappointed in the menu. We were looking forward to the meat cart, where you can choose your cut of meat and the size, and were told they longer provide that on the menu.BIG mistake for meat lovers. Also, their desserts used to be impressive,not so anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Tasting menu. Two entrees were uneventful but solid. Some ( fluke, lamb) - excellent.

Attentive staff accommodated a child and served the meals promptly but without rush.

The only complaint is serving a course when a customer was not at the table -and letting it go cold. Eventually we asked for a plate cover, and the plate was taken back to the kitchen and served later, warm.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 30, 2016

The location is lovely, the staff is very attentive and our server was delightful. For the price I think the food was over priced for what you got. The pate had a very odd texture to it and my lobster which was $50.00 had no flavor what so ever. It was poached in butter but I finally asked for melted butter and some salt to add some pizazz to it. The dining experience itself was lovely but the food...not the best for that price I have ever had. We were there the night before but at the bar area outside and the crab salad and coconut shrimp were fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 26, 2016

That bill includes a couple of cocktails but no wine, it should be noted, and three of the five diners did not order starter courses. It's a beautiful room with a wonderful view and the menu is very good but not spectacular. There are some lovely farm to table options, elegantly prepared, and the desserts were a real standout, which was not the case when we dined here a year ago. The entrees were pretty simply prepared given the price, but the quality of the meat and seafood was excellent. Service was lovely if a little fawning. Because the room is so lovely and it is a resort I'm mystified why they don't make it a little less precious and/or expensive and fill the tables they have - it's always less than half full when we are there for dinner when I know that breakfast fills the room and adjacent ones as well.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on July 24, 2016

What a beautiful setting for a great meal. We loved everything about our evening at Stars!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Any time we have company or family visit the Cape, we always take them to STARS. It's also our go-to place for our own special occasions. Be sure to request a table at the window and if at all possible, request that Len be your server.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 21, 2016

It was overall a good experience.
The food is fine. The veiw is what you are paying for. Excellent service. Not sure if I'd have dinner there again. I will highly recommend their Mothers Day Brunch. That is second to none. Well worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 21, 2016

We have been dining here for more than a decade and have never been disappointed. We were excited to introduce our friends to STARS. It was a stellar experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.