About STARS Restaurant!

297 Shore Road
Chatham, MA 02633
View Larger Map

At Stars, enjoy stunning panoramic views of Pleasant Bay and the Atlantic Ocean. Seasonally inspired cuisine rooted from the bountiful harvest of The Chatham Bars Inn Farm to create Cape Cod’s premier dining experience. Steeped in history with Norman Rockwell’s “Spirit of America“above our fireplace. Stars is a culinary occasion that will excite the senses with tableside preparations, an award winning wine list and refined, personalized service.

Attire: Resort Evening Attire. For the ladies, resort casual - no pool / beach attire and for the men, long pants including jeans, collared shirt and proper footwear - no shorts.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Mon-Sat: 7am - 11am/Sun: 7am-12pm
Dinner: Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Seaview Street and Shore Road

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(508) 945-6872

Website:
http://www.chathambarsinn.com/

Executive Chef:
Anthony Cole

Private Party Facilities:
For more information about our private dining options and menus go to www.chathambarsinn.com.

Additional:
Banquet, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

STARS Restaurant! Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Cape Cod and the Islands
Scenic View
Cape Cod and the Islands
Special Occasion
Cape Cod and the Islands
Best Restaurants in Chatham ›

Scenic View (33)
Special Occasion (27)
Romantic (24)
See All
Notable Wine List (11)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Waterfront (8)
Good for a Date (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Authentic (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Historic (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Fireplace (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
289 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Extreemly expensive. Has the reputation ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

Extreemly expensive. Has the reputation but takes advantage of it. Meals for 4 with two cocktails plus 20+% tip (good server Len) was $400.00. Won't be back for a long time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

The service was terrible. The hostess ha ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined 4 days ago

The service was terrible. The hostess had to ,finally send a waiter to our table. He never cam back.

My wife ordered a glass of wine from the hostess.

Worse than the service was the food. I ordered the veal chop and it was at least 80% fat. I told the hostess it was a disgrace. The saddest part was my daughter call Stars and paid the bill as a gift to us. My wife had scallops ,five only and nothing with it. Never again

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

Amazing food! Great location and good se ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing food! Great location and good service. Definitely will go back for a third time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, great service, lovely view of ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Good food, great service, lovely view of ocean, willing to substitute vegetables, quiet & lovely dining for a very relaxing meal and not rushed in any way.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Romantic, Authentic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our least favorite meal while vacations ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Our least favorite meal while vacations in Chatham

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

I had heard some mixed reviews about the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

I had heard some mixed reviews about the food - the Inn and restaurant are lovely. Every amenity is cared for, the staff from the parking valet to the waitstaff is outstanding and the food, well any reservations about the food were baseless. The food is excellent - presented beautifully and very delicious. All in all it was a wonderful experience and we will be sure to return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Waterfront, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was fabulous!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The service was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone took such great care of us for ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Everyone took such great care of us for my wife's birthday. Beautiful view, excellent service, fabulous presentations, and elegant surroundings. We had a fabulous evening. Thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fancy. Stuffy. Food was meh. Go for t ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Fancy. Stuffy. Food was meh. Go for the gorgeous views but not for the overpriced food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Service was outstanding. Waiter was exce ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Service was outstanding. Waiter was excellent and had a great knowledge of the menu and a wondrful sense of humor.

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The Staff was incredible, parking was a ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The Staff was incredible, parking was a breeze and the place is great. A bit pricey, but for the right occasion, well worth the cost.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The Sommelier was outstanding, apologize ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The Sommelier was outstanding, apologized that the wine we had selected was not cooled and suggested an alternative that was NOT an upcharge, and turned out to be one of the best wines I have had in a long time. The wait staff uniform is a little awkward for the women, with a white fitted jacket and men's tie. The food was outstanding, but at first we were slightly worried that on every dish there was one item we didn't like - for me it was fennel, for my sons it was foie gras, but in the end, we each chose a different entree and were delighted with each!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Len, our seasoned waiter, was wonderful ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Len, our seasoned waiter, was wonderful in his service, his descriptions of menu items, specials and his own recommendations of house favorites. It was our 18th wedding anniversary, and what better place than an Window seat out to the lawn and ocean. Great food, ambience, and location. From the valet parking attendants, who took great care with our Porsche, to the head hostess who saved our table, we were 15 mins. late in arriving. Saturday traffic coming from upper Cape. I will now find reasons to go more often even if there is not a grand celebration. Thank you Stars, Thank you Len... our new favorite waiter. The Audunsons

Tags: Authentic, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit Cape Cod every other year and s ...

vip
 (London)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We visit Cape Cod every other year and stay at Wequassett. We had such a memorable night at Stars in 2014 so looked forward to returning this year - how things have changed in 2 years. The menu is now 'quirky' which would be fine if the food matched the chef's vision ... it doesn't . The $60 sirloin steak our children had was inedible and the accompanying roast potatoes the size of 2 x 10c pieces; the lobster was dull and accompanying vegetables did not belong on the same plate; the pudding tasted good but looked like it has been dropped - it hadn't but that's the look the chef was going for! Overall a very disappointing evening and needless to say I don't believe we'll return and 28 Atlantic is now head and shoulders above Stars.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

The atmosphere - superb, service was fan ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The atmosphere - superb, service was fantastic. Very friendly staff, wait staff was very professional. Food was very unique and flavorful. Dessert was disappointing, strawberries and creme fraiche which consisted of 2 strawberries and a full cup of creme fraiche. One other thing, although not bothersome to us, a few tables over was a screaming toddler, surprising to see given the prices.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The venue is spectacular with a view to ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The venue is spectacular with a view to match. The service is impeccable nothing is overlooked. The food is absolutely sublime from the complimentary cold cucumber soup ,the imaginative appetizers and entrees to die for. Finish off with creative desserts. The wine list has choices in all price ranges. It was our anniversary and we received complimentary cookies on a platter emblazoned with Anniversary wishes in chocolate. The total experience was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was great! The food very ove ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The service was great! The food very overpriced. This was our third time there,and very disappointed in the menu. We were looking forward to the meat cart, where you can choose your cut of meat and the size, and were told they longer provide that on the menu.BIG mistake for meat lovers. Also, their desserts used to be impressive,not so anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Tasting menu. Two entrees were uneventfu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Tasting menu. Two entrees were uneventful but solid. Some ( fluke, lamb) - excellent.

Attentive staff accommodated a child and served the meals promptly but without rush.

The only complaint is serving a course when a customer was not at the table -and letting it go cold. Eventually we asked for a plate cover, and the plate was taken back to the kitchen and served later, warm.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The location is lovely, the staff is ver ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The location is lovely, the staff is very attentive and our server was delightful. For the price I think the food was over priced for what you got. The pate had a very odd texture to it and my lobster which was $50.00 had no flavor what so ever. It was poached in butter but I finally asked for melted butter and some salt to add some pizazz to it. The dining experience itself was lovely but the food...not the best for that price I have ever had. We were there the night before but at the bar area outside and the crab salad and coconut shrimp were fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

That bill includes a couple of cocktails ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

That bill includes a couple of cocktails but no wine, it should be noted, and three of the five diners did not order starter courses. It's a beautiful room with a wonderful view and the menu is very good but not spectacular. There are some lovely farm to table options, elegantly prepared, and the desserts were a real standout, which was not the case when we dined here a year ago. The entrees were pretty simply prepared given the price, but the quality of the meat and seafood was excellent. Service was lovely if a little fawning. Because the room is so lovely and it is a resort I'm mystified why they don't make it a little less precious and/or expensive and fill the tables they have - it's always less than half full when we are there for dinner when I know that breakfast fills the room and adjacent ones as well.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Any time we have company or family visit ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Any time we have company or family visit the Cape, we always take them to STARS. It's also our go-to place for our own special occasions. Be sure to request a table at the window and if at all possible, request that Len be your server.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was overall a good experience. The f ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

It was overall a good experience.

The food is fine. The veiw is what you are paying for. Excellent service. Not sure if I'd have dinner there again. I will highly recommend their Mothers Day Brunch. That is second to none. Well worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

We have been dining here for more than a ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We have been dining here for more than a decade and have never been disappointed. We were excited to introduce our friends to STARS. It was a stellar experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. The restaura ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Excellent food and service. The restaurant's location is just beautiful. The wine prices are the highest I've ever seen on a restaurant list. The food portions are small with entrees priced in the mid/$30 range and above. Not a value restaurant but for ambiance it can't be beat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

This restaurant is extremely overpriced ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This restaurant is extremely overpriced for what they served us. As an example, my husband received 4 barely warm half pieces of lobster claw spread on a plate as a "superb" lobster dish for over $50. To be frank, this was one of the worst birthday dinners we had - serving almost cold food was the end of it. The ambiance and friendliness ( although no one seemed to be in a rush to serve us) of the staff are the only positives of this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Both the food and the service were below ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Both the food and the service were below expectations for a highly rated establishment, particularly given the price. The veal chop was bland; the filet was not a great cut; the foie gras was a pate; and the service interrupted conversation and often reached across the table rather than properly serving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Went to Stars for a 44th wedding anniver ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Went to Stars for a 44th wedding anniversary dinner. Overall, the experince was fine, but the food portions are miniscule ... I mean really, really small ... and the price tag for "no food" is astronomical. Its ridiculous. Go elsewhere. The ambiance and service are not worth the price-tag.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

Stars is pricey but the food, the view, ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Stars is pricey but the food, the view, and the service are all outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

excellent service, fresh home grown vegg ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

excellent service, fresh home grown veggies, lobster was excellent, steak was terrible, portions were small

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Stars at Chatam Bars Inn is a beautiful ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Stars at Chatam Bars Inn is a beautiful venue, with gorgeous ocean views, and a very elegant ambiance. The food is incredible, and the service very elegant. We go there every time we visit the cape!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stars the star of Chatham Bars

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Had a fabulous meal, with a waiter who had been there 26 years and treated us with warmth and professionalism. The entrees, one vegetarian prepared specially by the chef, and the other the sirloin (expensive but very tender and cooked perfectly) were both wonderful, as was the presentation of the oyster stew appetizer. The only slight disappointment was the beautifully rendered but not as satisfying desserts, we ended up leaving half.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Good food, good service but very expensive

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We went on Valentine's Day and I expected to pay up but I was still a little surprised. The chef was preparing a 6 course dinner, it was the only option. The food was inventive and very tasty but with one of the cheapest bottles of wine available the price, including tip, was over $400.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Will you be my Valentine?

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I made reservations about 2 weeks ago for Saturday Feb.13th. I was surprised I was able to reserve the time I wanted with only a few weeks before Valentines Day. I may have lucked out since we were leaving on Sunday Feb 14th to return home before the REAL Valentines day.... but I am sure it was sold out for the 14th.

This was our 1st time here. Extremely romantic atmosphere and very attentive wait staff without being over bearing.

It was fixed price Valentine Day menu with 6 wonderful courses! Since I cannot due justice to describe what we had for each course let me just say it was well worth the money. Since it was pricey ( dinner for 2 and a bottle of wine and after diner drinks ran aprox. $400) this should be considered for special occasions. We will be coming back for another special occassion

( maybe our anniversary in May????) when we can enjoy the sunset !!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Valentine's Day Dinner for 2

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Chatham Bars Inn was a bucket list item for me, and I'm so happy we chose to go for Valentine's Day. The prix fixe, six course menu was an absolute delight and among the most memorable of our lives. The delicate cauliflower soup with the raisin caper emulsion and savory chestnut agnoloti were perfection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Valentine's Day Dinner

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We had a delightful prix fixe dinner for Valentine's Day, which rivaled any gourmet dinner we have ever had. The setting was beautiful. All of the 6 courses were delicious and presented impeccably. The service was outstanding. Overall a very memorable evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Occasion Outing

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

We were in the area for Christmas and dined at the Stars Restaurant on Christmas Eve. They were all decorated and had carolers come in dressed up as in olden days.

Service was superb. Food was good. Had several waiters serving us. Would return again and recommend to a fried.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

An absolutely terrific dining experience ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

An absolutely terrific dining experience.

The meals were divine, as was the service. The smallest details attended to. Our service person, Len, was absolutely the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Day50

 
 (New England)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

We were staying at Chatham Bars Inn celebrating our 42 wedding anniversary. We ate dinner at stars Friday evening. They surprised us with complimentary champagne and a chocolate dessert. Both were unexpected. Can't wait to go back!😊😊🍷😁

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect Experience

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 19, 2015

Recently dined at Stars with my wife for our anniversary. Everything from the professionalism of the staff, to the quality of food and service was top notch. I had made a special request for champagne which they executed flawlessly. Our waiter was absolutely spot on and so polite and personable - I noticed every little detail in his level of service and was quite pleased.

It seems like everyone from the dining room manager to the waitstaff and sommelier wished us a happy anniversary.

Saw some complaints online that the menu was too small - bogus - with one special and the menu items, we had more than enough to choose from.

We went back for breakfast the same week and while certainly more casual than dinner we were still pleased with the spot on, top notch service and excellent food.

The entire Stars team is doing something right. Keep it up!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

MENU CHANGE NOT GOOD

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 11, 2015

We've been to this restaurant for years and they've changed Executive Chefs, which has resulted in the new chef re-designing the menu. The entree options are reduced by half (no chicken at all), and there used to be great sides (ex: parmesan fries) which you could get with your entree. Now there are no more sides either with an entree or a la carte. Although the entrees do come with accompaniments (ex: potato puree), the portions are noticeibly smaller with no reduction n price. The menu has transformed from a high-end with multiple entree options and gourmet sides, to no more of a nouveau small-portion high end which you typically find in the large cities. This concept doesn't work well in a resort such as this. On the positive side, the food was elegantly presented and of high quality and freshness (just wish there was more) and the service has not slipped, it's still first class. I'll keep going here but I it just isn't what it used to be. The current transformation doesn't work as well as the past concept.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.