Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

About Stars

FRIDAYS AT THE PURSER’S PUB

Starting Friday, November 25 through April 21, we will be hosting Friday Night Oysters and Bubbly. We will be featuring a variety of sparkling wines from throughout the world. Join us from 5 – 8pm.






308 Watkins Lane
Saint Michaels, MD 21663
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Farm-to-table, Continental, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 7:00 – 11:00am
Lunch: 11:30am – 2:30pm
Dinner: 6:00 – 10:00pm
Afternoon Tea: 3:00 – 5:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 745-2200 ext. 213

Website:
http://www.belmond.com/inn-at-perry-cabin-st-michaels/restaurants_bars

Catering:
Close proximity to Washington, D.C., Baltimore and Philadelphia make this a popular spot.
If you hold your event with us, we can offer:
Five function rooms, over 5,000 square feet
Venues ideal for both small and large gatherings
High-speed wifi throughout the hotel and guest rooms
State-of-the-art audio-visual and teleconferencing technology
Extra venues for special events and themed parties
Food and drinks provision tailored to your needs
Twenty-four spacious, ultra-luxurious guest suites

Parking Details:
Private parking for the hotel and restaurant guests.

Executive Chef:
Kenneth MacDonald

Private Party Facilities:
Private events for 10 to 120 guests

Private Party Contact:
Sales Staff: (410) 745-2200

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Stars Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.6

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (32)
Waterfront (30)
Special Occasion (26)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Romantic (23)
Good for a Date (20)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Worth the Drive (16)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Great for Brunch (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Cozy (8)
Afternoon Tea (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Authentic (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Organic (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Historic (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Business Meals (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Fireplace (3)
People Watching (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Seasonal (1)
Live Music (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fun (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
740 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Absolutely beautiful setting and dining room but the kitchen Isn't up to scratch - food thoroughly mediocre. Also bring a sweater as the room is freezing.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 18, 2017

We were disappointed in the restaurant but would give them the benefit of the doubt as they had a abbreviated menu due to kitchen repair. That being said they had a salad bar with no lettuce, the pieces of rockfish served as the entire were the smallest I've seen in any restaurant (although they were good). The potatoes served were over cooked hash browns. We had breakfast the next morning and the omlet station had numerous flies landing on the the items you could choose for your omlet. I'd probably give them another chance when the kitchen is back in full operation but thought they could have done a much better job of execution even with the abbreviated menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Terrific find! Kitchen under renovation right now, so a slightly limited menu but still lots that's great food. Super friendly staff and the atmosphere just oozes from every nook and cranny. Lovely view of the Chesapeake.

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Excellent service. Beautiful property with great ambiance. Did enjoy the food with exception of one entree. Hanger steak was heavy flavor and over cooked. Rock fish was perfectly prepared

Tags: Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

A beautiful room with outstanding views over the Chesapeake. The soft guitar in the evening and the background piano at brunch were great. The menu was very good. The service was just ok - not bad but we had to ask repeatedly for condiments and when the food came out not all the menu items/sides came until we asked.

The average entree was around $40 - we expected better service.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We went for a special long weekend away. We ordered the crab chowder which came full of shells, medium rare duck which came out well done, and a rock fish that which came over cooked and over seasoned. When we saw the bill well over $200, we both agreed we would never be back. Over priced, every food dish had an issue and mentioning an issue to the waiter only got us rolled eyes. Avoid this place unless you want to set your money on fire just to watch it burn. I would recommend Ava's instead

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Let me preface my comments by saying that we have dined frequently at Stars over several years and the experience is typically exceptional - such was not the case on our recent visit. We were celebrating my wife's birthday and had so indicated while making our dinner reservation via Open Table. No acknowledgement by staff ever was made either upon our arrival or more typically via a complimentary dessert, as has typically been our experience at Stars. Instead, the service staff seemed very new and inexperienced and not in keeping with such stellar servers as we have previously experienced (e.g. Chance). As example, just a short while after being seated, someone was running a vacuum cleaner in the vestibule for a good 10 minutes while we were trying to enjoy the atmosphere - why wasn't this cleaning done prior to guests arriving? Moreover, we were seated within a short distance from a very boisterous and obviously inebriated couple who had come from the pub and were pretty oblivious to the fact that there were actually other guests also there trying to enjoy a special moment. Never once did any staff ask these folks to dial it down. Although there are many other dining options available in the St. Michael's/Oxford corridor, we expect Stars to be a cut above and such was not the case that evening. We left disappointed and questioning if/when we might be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 9, 2017

This restaurant is absolutely wonderful!!! The servers are truly hospitable.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Beautiful restaurant in beautiful setting right on the water, yet tucked away in a cove in a lavishly cozy inn.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Food was outstanding. My wife and I both had the rockfish, which was better than I even expected. For dessert, the chocolate pecan pie may have been the best I've ever had (though I would have liked the pie warmed a little bit). The reason I can't give the restaurant 5 stars was that the service seemed rushed and they had the lights turned on bright (for our 8PM reservation), so it felt like we were eating inside a family fish house rather than a 4-star restaurant. I even asked our server about it and she said the lights flickered if turned down low. Still, about 8:45 (when our rushed dinner was about over) someone dimmed the lights. A little late for us. The bright lights also seemed to encourage loud conversations around us. If I return I'll request an outside table next time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We ate at Stars once for lunch and once for dinner. The food for both meals was outstanding. Fresh seafood and ingredients based around eastern shore traditions turned out fantastic!

We experienced a bunch of small hiccups so service was just OK. We got soup delivered without spoons, two different menus for dinner, a long wait for a glass of red wine because the manager with the key to the wine wasn't available. All of this was small stuff but prevent the service from achieving the same level as the good and ambiance of the Inn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Incredible! From the view to the service to the food. Amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2017

So glad I chose Stars for our 5th anniversary dinner. I was beyond impressed with the ambiance, the service, the food and the view. I had requested a waterview table for our anniversary ahead of time, but there were none available. We chose to sit outside on the patio, which was a great choice. Chance was our waiter - he was fabulous! Having been there 8 years, he knows the menu, had great tips on wine (we brought our own special bottle as well as special champagne glasses we wanted to use for our first toast), and you could tell he very much cared about the service he offered. I chose the crab cake appetizer while my husband chose the ceviche - the crab cake was probably the best I have ever had! My husband chose the hanger steak while I went with the duck. Again, the chef did an outstanding job on both! There was live music that was a perfect accompaniment to our lovely anniversary dinner. I would highly recommend visiting Stars if you happen to be in the area or staying for a long weekend there. Thank you, Stars, and Chance, for making our anniversary dinner very special.

Tags: Cozy, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Our first time at Stars. We had lunch on the terrace on a beautiful afternoon. Everything
was wonderful, food, wine, service.....what a beautiful property. Can't wait to stay at the Inn.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Wonderful! Food was outstanding. I would rate it right up there with the top NYC restaurants! Look forward to going to the Perry Cabin inn again in the future.

Tags: Organic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Wonderful! Highly recommended.

Tags: Organic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We made a reservation for our 30th anniversary dinner, and were impressed by the surroundings. Then we put in an order for oysters, from a very limited menu of oysters--essentially one choice that was "sweet," meaning bland--and one of the six was broken. That is a bad practice when one is paying top dollar for these delicacies. We did not complain, but then the entree, a hot fish course, was brought cold. We asked it be reheated, but the vegetables were cold on the re-heated plate. The service was slow at first, becoming non-existent. We were pleased with the wine, so the restaurant has a good wine list. But the food preparation and service was poor. It was a great disappointment on a special occasion. We told other residents at our Inn of the disappointing service, and were told in return that a similar experience had recently been had by their son and daughter in law.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Special ordered a yellow cake with chocolate filling and white butter cream icing birthday cake when I made the reservation. Quoted price was $45 when the restaurant called me about it! Waitress didn'the seem to know about it when we arrived. Cake was stale and dry. Icing not what I ordered. Obvious that cake wasn't freshly made to order and definitely not worth the quoted price. Didn't finish the pieces served and refused to take rest of the cake home. Disappointed that a restaurant of this caliber didn't make a better effort. I expected better for the high prices charged for the meal. The waitress did take the price of the cake off the bill.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 24, 2017

As always, a wonderful evening. Truly appreciate Chances's wine suggestions. Thank you as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We recently celebrated our anniversary at The Inn at Perry Cabin with an amazing dinner at Stars. Our server was top-notch, the presentation of every course was exquisite, and the view of the water was lovely! I highly recommend Stars restaurant to anyone looking for a memorable dining experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Organic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 21, 2017

beautiful setting on the water in st michaels at new resort.
staff is ill trained, slow confused and incompetent.
hope they get it together. greek salad good nice wine by the glass , very overseasoned crab cakes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Dinner was good but service was rather slow. Service was even slower at breakfast and it was not busy at that hour.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We had the ceviche and heirloom tomato salad to split for appetizers and were both excellent! My wife had the crab cakes which are her absolute favorite and raved about them. I had the perfectly seasoned Rockfish which was also fantastic!

Tags: Scenic View, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 7, 2017

for a special occasion doing lunch at stars is wonderful. We did a weekday and it was relaxed and quiet. we would come back. dessert was incredible.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Lovely, old-school ambiance and service. The House Caesar was unique without straying too far, and the crab cakes were perfection. Did I mention the butterscotch and pistachio sundae? It was so late when we left that all the stores in the small vacation town were closed, so they sent us back to our Air BnB with a to-go cup of milk for our morning coffee.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Always superb food, service and ambiance. Thank you Chance for always going above and beyond.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We arrived for our noon reservation. The host greeted us and checked in our reservation but then excused herself for a moment. We stood there for 15 minutes waiting for her to return and seat us before we left. Terrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

beautiful place. appetizers were good. my gf had the butternut squash ravioli special. very disappointing. she considered returning it. she did tell the waiter how upset she was with the food. i had the duck. i had trouble cutting it with a steak knife. also disappointing. for such a high end inn, the good was substandard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Amazing buffet...wow! Too many items to pick from! Our server (Chris?) was outstanding! More than we normally would pay, but it was Mother's Day...and she deserves the best!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Very impressed with Stars. To begin with, view of the harbor/boats/sunset was spectacular. Very elegant and serene setting, varied menu and first class preparation. I had the hanger steak, which was about the best steak I have ever had -- just superb. My husband had the duck, which was very good, but slightly chewy (the server had warned that if duck is cooked more than medium rare, they will slice it to avoid the chewiness. He had it done medium, so it was not unexpected). The appetizers were varied and all enticing, but I had the Crab Chowder which had a huge amount of lump crab in it, and my husband had local oysters on the half shell, which were delicious and nicely presented). All in all, it was a wonderful experience, and one to remember. But I wanted to especially mention our server, Kelsey, who could not have been more knowledgeable, but was also charming and unobtrusive. She knew exactly how much information to offer, her recommendations were spot on, she was well-informed on how dishes were prepared, efficient when something was requested, but never hovering, and had a wonderful personality. She was the perfect server, and we were so happy to have someone like that for our special occasion.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This was our third visit to Stars. After a beautiful drive from Annapolis, we were seated at a table with a view of the water. The lovely fresh flowers were a perfect compliment to the beautiful decor and the classic "old school" feel of the dining room. The service was friendly and attentive and our selections were delicious. The four of us left feeling as if we all had been guests in a private home. The ambiance of the Inn, plus the beautiful setting and gardens make for a perfect day. I would highly recommend a visit if you are in the area!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Can't beat the food and the view at Stars. We were there for lunch to celebrate a birthday. The wild salmon wrap and the crabcake were very good, although the roll for the crab cake could have been smaller as it somewhat overwhelmed the cake. Our server was attentive and very nice, great service. We think the ketchup for the fries was homemade, it was delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We've been coming here for years are never disappointed with the service or cuisine. This is the first time the food fell short of expectations. The succotash which normally accompanies the crabcakes was sparse, and, for $45, we thought seemed parsimonous. Same with the sides that came with the $40 rockfish dinner, which virtually swam in a sea of white porcelain. Apart from this, all else was perfect as usual.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My husband and I visited this pass Saturday evening. We both ordered appetizers which were very good. My husband ordered the fish, which included one shrimp cut 3 ways, which was not very good(especially for 40 dollars). I had the chef special ravioli dish which was good, but not what I would expect from a restaurant rated a four star. We were at the Tides Inn for two dinners prior to visiting your restaurant. Their food was outstanding and not rated a four star.
We most likely would not return to your restaurant or recommend to a friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great menu, food and service is tops!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Very good service! Shannon our server was great and we would ask for her again! Coffee, jams, pastries, breakfast items were all outstanding and you couldn't beat the view!

Tags: Organic, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Waterfront, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 26, 2017

We started with crab chowder it tasted good how ever you think a $14 bowl of soup would have lumps of crab meat, not at Stars. There was very little crab at all in it. My wife ordered the crab mac & cheese, not good very heavy on mustard very little crab. I ordered the Rock Fish. Served a tail pcs. With skin and blood meat tasted strong from the blood meat. Meat was gray. For $40 you would think it would be a large pcs. Of white meat. It is hard to believe the chef did know you remove the red meat before cooking! Don't waste your money meal was very expensive and very poor quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great food! Had beet salad and crab cake, excellent! Also the citrus berry martini is good too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Overall it was a great meal. The only reason for the four stars rather five stars was the service. The service was adequate but not what I would expect for this type of restaurant.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Live Music, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Beautiful! We dined early (6pm) as we were making our way from the Baltimore airport to Delaware and decided to spend a little time in St. Michael's, per a recommendation. We chose Stars based on various site's reviews and were not at all disappointed. We sat right at the window looking out on the water and enjoyed an absolutely delicious meal. It is a beautiful property and a great restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.