Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.32mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

About Stars

FRIDAYS AT THE PURSER’S PUB

Starting Friday, November 25 through April 21, we will be hosting Friday Night Oysters and Bubbly. We will be featuring a variety of sparkling wines from throughout the world. Join us from 5 – 8pm.






308 Watkins Lane
Saint Michaels, MD 21663
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Farm-to-table, Continental, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 7:00 – 11:00am
Lunch: 11:30am – 2:30pm
Dinner: 6:00 – 10:00pm
Afternoon Tea: 3:00 – 5:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 745-2200 ext. 213

Website:
http://www.belmond.com/inn-at-perry-cabin-st-michaels/restaurants_bars

Catering:
Close proximity to Washington, D.C., Baltimore and Philadelphia make this a popular spot.
If you hold your event with us, we can offer:
Five function rooms, over 5,000 square feet
Venues ideal for both small and large gatherings
High-speed wifi throughout the hotel and guest rooms
State-of-the-art audio-visual and teleconferencing technology
Extra venues for special events and themed parties
Food and drinks provision tailored to your needs
Twenty-four spacious, ultra-luxurious guest suites

Parking Details:
Private parking for the hotel and restaurant guests.

Executive Chef:
Kenneth MacDonald

Private Party Facilities:
Private events for 10 to 120 guests

Private Party Contact:
Sales Staff: (410) 745-2200

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Jazz Nights at Stars

Saturday Apr 15, 2017 from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Specials

Jazz Nights at Stars

Saturday Apr 15, 2017 from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Join us at Stars Restaurant on Saturday, April 15th for an intimate evening of Jazz with Eric Felten. He will performing from 7pm-10:30. Reservations are highly suggested. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid on Saturday Apr 15, 2017 from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Stars Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.8

value

3.8

noise

Quiet

76% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (11)
Romantic (10)
Scenic View (10)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Waterfront (8)
Fireplace (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Historic (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Cozy (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Live Music (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Private Room (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Seasonal (2)
Business Meals (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Authentic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Casual (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
691 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We came into town exclusively to hear the Eric Felton trio. Pair that up with a great restaurant venue and an excuse to spend the weekend at the Inn at Perry Cabin and a fantastic meal all around! Make sure you ask for Wayne or Chance, they will not disappoint in helping delivering the perfect experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Beautiful view. Sat next to the window on a chilly, but bright day and had a panoramic view. Food was good. Service was neglectful. Took a long time before our waitress stopped by. And then a really long time to get our food. The waitress, when delivering our food, said the chef sent his apologies that it took so long, but he didn't like the way our lunch turned out, so he made us new meals. It was nice to know what was going on, but it would have been better if they had told us that while we were waiting or offered us a complimentary dessert.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Enjoyed everything we were served. Great wait staff. We plan to go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Celebrated my wife's birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The service was impeccable! Our server's name was Wayne. We had the choptank oysters which were fantastic. The crab wedge salad was also great. We had the rockfish and snapper. Both quite large portions and well prepared. They had a classical guitarist playing which was very nice.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

was absolutley perfect from start to finish..friendly people. good service. very attentive with just the right amount checking//no hovering over you while dining.. beautiful decor and view

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Scenic View, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

St. Michaels finest. Always a pleasure to dine at Stars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Dining at the Inn at Perry Cabin is always a special treat and Valentine's week is no exception. The service is always impeccable, the ambiance with a view of the water is perfect and the food doesn't normally disappoint. The only disappoint this time around was the lack of Miss Gussie's Cheese rolls as a poor substitute was offered by the kitchen. If you're going to the Inn you'll find they eliminated the cheese rolls which were always a hit with ever dinner. With the recent change in chefs at The Inn, the kitchen should consider bringing back the rolls. I'm sure we are not the only dinner's that will voice their disappointment.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We drove to St. Michael's from Annapolis solely because we are tired of the dining choices for Valentine's. It was a nice day, the drive was easy (about 1 hour) and we purposely chose the earliest seating. The dining room was quite empty when we arrived (we like to eat early anyway) and were offered a table at the window which was lovely. The waiter was very attentive throughout our meal.
We had cocktails to begin--my husband had a Winterberry which was very good; my Cava with hibiscus was lovely.
We had steak tartar as a starter which was superb...interesting accompaniments to it made it a stand-out. We both had sea scallops as a main course and they, too, were delicious (a 4th scallop would have been greatly appreciated). The risotto was interesting and the Brussels sprouts very tender.
The one off-note was dessert. While I wasn't up for a big chocolate dessert, the special we chose was somewhat disappointing: a very light chocolate bombe with a macerated strawberry center. Too flat after the wonderful dinner..then, again, not overly filling.
There was a guitarist providing background music which was very nice...better than loud recorded or speaker-produced. I would have appreciated hearing familiar tunes..especially some of the romantic songs but it was also a welcome change from a piano (which they have for other occasions.)
We don't go to the Inn often as it's a bit of a strain on our budget so save it for special events. This worked very well for us on all counts and we will add it to our list for future events.
I suppose a rose to take home would have been an extra-nice touch but I wasn't disappointed (other restaurants have done that for Valentines)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Cozy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was lovely food, however for the exuberant prices I would have expected better ambiance and decor. Stars has amazing potential and with a few adjustments ( carpet, chairs etc) they could achieve it.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Valentine's Day

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Very disappointing. My husband and I had been looking forward to a beautiful view and a lovely lunch.The view was lovely. Our waitress was very nice. The meal was terrible. The chef should be fired for what he did to the crab. My crab cake was overcooked and soggy. The cream of crab had entirely too much butter....it was laying in pools on the top of the soup. Shame on this very expensive restaurant for such poor quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Stars has always been on our list to dine at when in Saint Michaels. The chef always has something amazing on the menu and the ambiance and views are the best in town. If you are looking for a nice relaxing lunch or dinner on the water, this is a must-book restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The ambience of the restaurant was incredible and the personal service amazing. The main course and desert was quite good and enhanced by the tremendous wine selection.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Fantastic setting, wonderful menu, flawless service - this gem has it all! Everything is smooth and well-executed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Service extremely leisurely...too much. Menu too eclectic. Beautiful setting though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We had a very disappointing meal, despite high expectations. The service was painfully slow, which made the meal drag out unnecessarily. The food quality was not as high as I expected, and was warm but not hot. I certainly expected much better from a high quality hotel such as this

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We, three sisters met here to celebrate a 70th birthday. It was so lovely, decorated beautifully for the season, service is friendly, everyone is friendly and accommodating. The food is great, lovely prepared and presented. A plus experience.

Tags: Fireplace, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Cozy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We went here as this seems to be "the" spot in St. Michaels and we were celebrating an occasion. The ambiance was beautiful and I imagine during the daylight or summer hours, it's stunning to look out into the bay. However, the food was a little disappointing and we found the atmosphere a little too loud for us to have a conversation. We talked throughout the whole meal, but we both felt we were speaking loudly and could hear everyone else's conversation around us too. So it seems like the acoustics in the window room weren't great. There was a guitarist playing live music which was a nice touch, but again, made us feel the need to complete with him to hear ourselves. Our waitress was attentive enough and pleasant.

When calling ahead to check the dress code and whether gentleman were required to wear suit jackets, the response was "jackets are basically recommended but not required." Seemed like a very interesting way to answer it almost as if they haven't figured out how to identify themselves. Either there is a dress code or there isn't but don't waiver. Once there, we found it to be more of a west-coast vibe when it comes to "anything goes" in terms of attire. Most people were dressed up but few men were wearing jackets and a handful had (nicer) jeans on.

My husband had foie gros which he liked but personally didn't care for the fig chutney. I had an heirloom tomato salad. Being that it is November, I should have realized it's not tomato season and they perhaps they shouldn't have been on the menu. The tomatoes weren't very flavorful and were slightly mushy. The salad was also too overdressed. For dinner we both had fish which was cooked to perfection though-- he had the halibut and I had rockfish...and the sides served with each were decent. We did not have dessert.

The cost was what you'd expect to pay at an upscale restaurant so no complaints there. Just overall, we had expected more out of the experience.

Tags: Waterfront, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Top quality food. Halibut and sea scallops were both delicious. One of the best meals my wife and I have had.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Delicious meal. A bit pricey for what you get, but the ambiance and service are lovely. Great way to spend the first evening of a romantic weekend at Inn at Perry Cabin. Would go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Beautiful and relaxing location, which was exactly what I was looking for. It is the restaurant at the Inn at Perry Cabin. Service was attentive without being overbearing.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Wonderful in every way. Service was wonderful, food outstanding.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This was my second time at Stars, the first having been on the same day (our anniversary) in 2015. That first experience was excellent, which is why we chose to go there again.

This experience was disappointing. We waited for a very long time to place our orders; our waitress seemed to have disappeared. I flagged the hostess to tell her we needed to order. She then assigned another waitress to step in -she was prompt and pleasant. We could tell she was overstretched, but at least she was around when we needed her.
Our first waitress reappeared after 30-45mins, and was waiting on other tables and happily conversing with other guests ! So she did not appear ill as I had imagined. Whatever !
Our second waitress remained over-busy; it took over 30 mins to catch her eye for a second cup of coffee !
I'll have to think twice about another visit or making recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Four of us enjoyed a special dinner last Saturday. It was not quite warm enough to sit out on the patio, but if you go, and the weather permits, that would be my recommendation. It is beautiful there - with a lawn rolling down to Chesapeake Bay. The food is wonderful - not overly inventive, but really well done. The beet salad was especially good, as well as the crabcakes and the tenderloin. This is not an inexpensive place, but it is worth the price. We had complementary truffles for dessert as we were too full for the real deal. Make the drive for an elegant evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Waterfront, Fireplace, Historic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Beautiful location. Pleasant restaurant with overall nice seafood dishes. Declasse untrained overly familiar restaurant staff. Management: please train the waitresses in professionalism and good service. Actual remark when salad for both was forgotten: "when things are slow I forget more often". Really? i can imagine that but please don't share that. I am not a colleague. "oh-do you still want the salads?" Yes, Ok. Off she went and a back of the staff person brought them 5 minutes later. AFter our meal. In fact, the person who didn't seem to know English(not a problem) was the best wait staff person there. Quiet and professional.
I do not like a lot of small talk either. Please take order, smile, deliver what I ordered. Service horribly slow. Deadening really.
Grounds lovely.
Had wanted to stay overnight as we have before but just went with a day trip due to family issues. Not sure I could bear to stay now as restaurant is a weak link.
ps. Manager stopped by but this was early in the meal(ie drinks) and he never returned.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Inn at Perry Cabin is a spectacular setting and sitting out at a fire pit with a glass of wine watching the sun set was a nice time. Inside the food at Stars is rather stodgy. The fresh baked bread is outstanding, entrees and starter salads were unimaginative and unmemorable. Breakfast at Stars was imaginative and delicious...so a brunch visit would be lovely.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We stayed at The Inn at Perry Cabin and ate at Stars the week-end of Halloween. Everything
was beautifully decorated for the fall. Our dinner at Stars was lovely and delicious. A little bit
pricey, but worth it for a special occasion. We would love to return sometime soon again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Historic, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We dine at Stars whenever we are in St. Michael's. The view is unparalleled and the food and service are to be expected in a fine dining establishment. In a word - exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Great lunch in a lovely setting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Have dined at Stars at Perry Cabin in the past. It is a pricey spot but the ambiance, waterfront location, food and service have always been outstanding. Unfortunately, this time, some in our party found their entrees to be less than memorable. Maybe we will try it again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Prim, stuffy atmosphere, and overpriced, with a short menu of food that did not taste good. Cannot recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 8, 2016

It's was wonderful place food was great it's like a dream that you have and it comes true

Thanks again

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Great service, stunning view, and spectacular food. We are crab aficionados and the crab melt is quite possibly the best ever -- perfectly spiced, jumbo lump, absolutely incredible. The crab melt is truly in a league of it's own, it is that good. We drove nearly two hours to eat at Stars and will most definitely return, soon and often. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 28, 2016

It had been probably 15 years since we last ate here, but it is still a very fine place to dine. Our waitress was extremely helpful in suggesting an appropriate wine (a Spanish Alberino) to go with her Stars BLT (hickory smoked bacon, Boston bibb lettuce, avocado, sliced tomatoes,
toasted brioche, Dijon mustard mayonnaise). I had a nice Italian Pinot Grigio with a wonderful Softshell Crab Sandwich. The food is worth a day trip from anyplace in the DC or Baltimore metro area.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food was good (not outstanding), but service was extremely slow and the prices high in comparison to the quality of the meal. Our dinner at the Stars restaurant took 2.5 hours – for a salad, entrée and dessert! We had better meals (and far less expensive) at other restaurants in St. Michaels (Bistro St Michaels and 208 Talbot). On a positive note, our server was very nice, and the live guitarist was excellent.

Tags: Live Music, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2016

St. Michaels finest! Excellent menu, food, service etc. Chance always makes us feel welcome and provides the finest of service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Had a fabulous anniversary dinner at Stars! Spectacular views and 5 stars all around! The menu was fantastic. Presentation and taste was above and beyond expectation. Staff was extremely attentive without being intrusive. Highly recommend for a special occasion!😊

Tags: Organic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 13, 2016

New chef is outstanding ! We had stopped going because the previous chef added hot mustard to every meal, probably because he was a heavy smoker (which I saw on several occasions).
Food is now fresh and fantastic. Always a bit pricey, but I think worth it.
Get a cocktail, sit outside near the water, watch the boats on the Miles then head to the main dining room for dinner.
If you're from out of the area spend the weekend. The rooms are fabulous.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We keep going to the Inn at Perry Cabin because of its location on the water and the beautiful views. The service at Stars can definitely be improved as it slow and the value for the food is better at the bar. Last time we had a salad at Stars for $22 which was tiny and should have been listed as an appetizer whereas we had a salad at the bar for much less and double the size.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.