About Stars

308 Watkins Lane
Saint Michaels, MD 21663
View Larger Map

Water front dining featuring the riches of the Chesapeake region. Fresh local produce and seafood are served daily while enjoying the view of the beautiful miles river.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Continental, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 7:00 – 11:00am
Lunch: 11:30am – 2:30pm
Dinner: 6:00 – 10:00pm
Afternoon Tea: 3:00 – 5:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 745-2200

Website:
http://www.belmond.com/inn-at-perry-cabin-st-michaels/restaurants_bars

Parking Details:
Private parking for the hotel and restaurant guests.

Private Party Facilities:
Private events for 10 to 120 guests

Private Party Contact:
Sales Staff: 4107452200x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (bar only), Smoking Area (patio only), View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Maryland's scenic Eastern Shore serves as an idyllic backdrop for a bespoke meeting or event.

Its close proximity to Washington, D.C., Baltimore and Philadelphia make this a popular spot.

If you hold your event with us, we can offer:
Five function rooms, over 5,000 square feet
Venues ideal for both small and large gatherings
High-speed wifi throughout the hotel and guest rooms
State-of-the-art audio-visual and teleconferencing technology
Extra venues for special events and themed parties
Food and drinks provision tailored to your needs
Twenty-four spacious, ultra-luxurious guest suites

Restaurant Photos

  • Stars
Stars

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Wed 6:00PM - 6:00PM

Stars Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Ambiance
Eastern Shore
Romantic
Eastern Shore
2 More
Special Occasion
Eastern Shore
Most Booked
Eastern Shore
Best Restaurants in St Michaels / Tilghman Island ›

scenic view (33)
special occasion (33)
romantic (22)
See All
notable wine list (13)
fit for foodies (12)
great for lunch (9)
great for outdoor dining (6)
good for groups (6)
great for brunch (5)
neighborhood gem (5)
hot spot (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
602 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was fantastic, cooked and seasoned ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was fantastic, cooked and seasoned perfectly. Service was spot on, knowledgeable and takes very good care of you.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cream of crab soup was not the best. We ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Cream of crab soup was not the best. We had more celery than crab

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Celebrated my wife's birthday recently a ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Celebrated my wife's birthday recently at STARS. As has typically been our experience, the food, service, and atmosphere have been exceptional. We were very fortunate to have Chance as our server as he greeted us warmly once seated and offered complimentary champagne in recognition of our special occasion. His service was top notch throughout the evening and the food (I dined on cream of crab soup and crab cakes while my wife had a seafood salad) was excellent. The view at STARS is exceptional but somewhat diminished by the recent stacking of kayaks directly within the prime line of site by the docks. Can they perhaps be relocated elsewhere so that patrons can enjoy the beautiful sailboats and water?

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The quality of service and food was grea ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The quality of service and food was great. The only thing I would add is it would be great if they had an entree that was vegetarian.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Waiting was outstanding, wine list exten ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Waiting was outstanding, wine list extensive, food prepared perfectly and beautiful dinning room.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very please with the food, wine, and amb ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Very please with the food, wine, and ambiance. The services was friendly and we were not rushed. Would highly recommend the Stars Restaurant.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible staff, dreamy setting, beauti ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Incredible staff, dreamy setting, beautiful and tasty food... What more can one ask for...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Celebrated our anniversary last Monday - ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Celebrated our anniversary last Monday - the experience in a word was FANTASTIC! The staff could not have been more friendly and accommodating. The chef prepared soft crabs even though they weren't on the menu and they were superb! Cream of crab soup was loaded with jumbo lump and was exceptional. The atmosphere and view were second to none. Our server went out of her way to bring us a special dessert and topped it off with an anniversary good wishes note. The little touches really do matter and make for a wonderful experience.

We come here every time we are in the area (every 2-3 weeks) and STARS never disappoints.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good wine list Mediocre food/limited men ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Good wine list

Mediocre food/limited menu

So so service (slow)

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Stars continues to disappoint. My usual ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Stars continues to disappoint. My usual strategy with a bad experience is to return in a month. If that disappoints I return again in 6 months. This last meal was at that point. Service felt very disorganized and erratic - just as bad as ever. Lots of staff in evidence but not very good attention to our table. Little things like asking twice for more butter, waiting a long time for wine etc. just shouldn't happen at a restaurant this expensive. The food was better than average but, again, poor quality for the cost. Three of us ordered Caesar salads: two came with a parmesan crisp of some sort, mine did not. The desert pastry was undercooked and doughy. On and on. Nice view though.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

The food was disappointing and the price ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was disappointing and the prices were unnecessarily high. My girlfriend ordered a caeser salad with a crab cake. What came out was just one romaine lettuce leaf with a little dressing and the crab cake placed on the side. All that for $24 dollars. The crab cake was good not great, the salad was almost comical. I ordered a crab cake sandwich for $18. The sandwich was ok, but the french fries it came with were clearly frozen at some point and room temperature. The view was great, but the food and high prices were a bummer.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Great service, unbeatable view, great fo ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great service, unbeatable view, great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been to Stars numerous times. Th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

We have been to Stars numerous times. This visit was a little disappointing. Service was very slow, rock fish was overcooked, and martini at dinner was quite different than the exact same drink ordered before dinner at the bar.

When I made the reservation, I noted that this was a very special birthday for my husband and requested a table with a nice view. When we arrived, the dining room was only a quarter full but there was no table ready for us. They cleared a larger table with an "ok" view... I was disappointed that there was little regard to a simple request.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

This is a lovely inn. The dining room is ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

This is a lovely inn. The dining room is very pretty with great water views. Our server was friendly and professional. We enjoyed the food and the ambiance.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was okay.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

The service was impeccable. The menu was really good. Several items that made it hard to make up my mind. I got the tenderloin and was a little underwhelmed. I ordered Medium. To me medium shows red in middle. It was a little tough. My husband's entree was crab cakes. He said they were "okay". Okay, so fine dining, a little on the pricey side, so I would hope to have an exceptional meal. It just wasn't exceptional. However, it was our anniversary, and we were greeted with "Happy Anniversary" by staff and also given a dessert plate with happy anniversary on plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great ambiance and view.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The food, service and view of the marina were all great. As with any four star restaurant, it is a bit pricy, but acceptable for a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

You can't go home again ....

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

We had one of the best meals ever here two years ago! But clearly something has changed. Service was incredibly slow and curt, though the dining room was not that crowded on a Monday evening. Drinks were scanty on their pours. Our first two choices on the wine list were unavailable. And the food was definitely not up to previous excellent standards - the filet was overdone, and the crisped skin chicken breast was tough and not crispy at all. Our waitress alluded to being short staffed when we gently inquired about how things were going overall at this resort. We won't be back for a while ....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Dined at Stars recently over two adjoini ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Dined at Stars recently over two adjoining nights - view is always spectacular and service was pleasant and attentive. Enjoyed soft shells on night #1 but disappointed that they were not available on night #2. Equally disappointing was the fact that my wife's favorite appetizer - cold seafood mix (lobster, shrimp, & crab) also was not available. The menu is rather limited and could be expanded. Cream of crab soup was very tasty with generous portions of lump crab meat.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Not impressed at all.

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Not impressed at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

Five Stars for Stars Restaurant!

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

As we entered Stars Restaurant on Mother's Day, we were greeted by a server who presented me with a beautiful, long-stem, pink rose. Happily there was a table by the window where we could sit and enjoy the beautiful view of Chesapeake Bay. I love oysters, and this plate combined 3 Oysters Rockefeller with 3 raw oysters! Delicious! Our main courses, scallops for me and beef tenderloin for my husband were superb. We even managed to save room for freshly made Derby pie. I wish I could remember the server's name, because he was friendly and helpful. A wonderful Mother's Day experience!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exquisite eastern shore dining

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

From the cozy pub for a pre dinner cocktail, to the understated elegance of this exceptional dining room, the simple yet delicious and beautifully prepared food, superb view and professional and attentive wait staff.... truly made this a memorable evening .

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great location and service, a bit overpriced

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Celebrated a wedding anniversary. View/service were just what we were hoping for. Great wine list. Menu fairly simple but we both had fresh rockfish so no complaints. Service started off slow but our waiter was outstanding. We arrived early expecting to have a drink at the bar first. this was the only negative--bar area is tucked in a small room with no view and the service wasn't very good. I would recommend this restaurant if you want a memorable dinner for the location/view/atmosphere. We will probably try somewhere else in St. Michaels next time.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Disappointed

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

We've been to STARS on numerous occasions and have always loved the experience - this time, however, the meal was not in keeping with previous standards. Specifically, the crab cakes - traditionally one of our favorites - seemed to have more "filler" and less taste than ever. That was very disappointing, especially at these price points! Cream of crab soup, however, was fantastic as was the cold seafood combination appetizer. The menu is rather limited - could use some expansion. As always, the view is exceptional.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Disappointing

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Stayed at the hotel, which is excellent, but the restaurant is disappointing. I wouldn't mind paying high prices for breakfast if it was the best breakfast I ever had. Service is slow and I received the wrong order. They rectified it by making another very fast and not charging for my entree. Food was nice and tasty but not worth the prices and wait.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Disappointing birthday dinner

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

My husband and I went to Stars while visiting St. Michael's for a birthday weekend getaway. We were very excited about a fancy dinner. There seemed to be confusion about our reservation when we arrived, even though I called to confirm that same day. I even got an email from Open Table saying we didn't show up for our reservation. We were seated by a window which was wonderful for watching the sunset. Our waitress hastily took our drink order and did not ask if we were interested in a starter. She took our order. Other tables received rolls, while we were offered none until midway through our meal. Our water glasses were never refilled until we asked. At the end of our dinner, we had to ask to see the dessert and drink menu. Our server treated us very causally throughout the meal. Perhaps she thought we weren't old enough to be in the restaurant, though there were at least two other couples in their 30s. For spending what we did on dinner, I expected the service to be of much higher quality.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Food was good but pricey.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

The setting was sublime. That alone makes the menu worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Go for the view

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

The server (Chance) was great, though he had too many tables to be truly attentive. The menu is reduced in scope and does not appear to change daily, presumably for less qualified chefs to produce consistent results. Despite the reduced menu, the tenderloin was nowhere close to medium rare. I showed the server it was well done, but chose not to send the plate back. Also, simple things like the cappuccino after dinner was only a little above room temperature. An attentive server holding the cup before serving would have realized it was unacceptably cold. Disappointing dinner for $250+.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

High prices with little value!!!!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

After looking at the menu presented online I was a bit dismayed at the prices but didn't hesittate trying to make my wifes birthday special. Mistake!!! We got there and found the menu had been greatly paired down, BUT we finally settled on the Diver Scallops with risotto. Again Mistake!! Our dinner arrived presented with a mound of rissoto (greatly under cooked and very "crunchy") with four scallops each (hers were much bigger). At 42.00 I expected a bit more (have a bit of history as a chef myself). So we sent the plates back with the promise that they would remake all. 10min later our plates return with the same undercooked rissoto and only two scallops each?? So the waiter (who was very good!! Wayne) when questioned about the missing scallops tells me they usually only serve three scallops per plate WHAT!!! So it all goes back and we end up settling for the beef at 50.00 per plate. They were good. The Jazz band was also great. Would I ever recommend this retaurant to anyone.....only in the negative. We we ever go back Not Likly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Not a great "value"

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

STARS is a good restaurant. It's not a fantastic restaurant. As such, the price paid for dinner for two was not worth the difference compared to another good restaurant. Is the view worth it? Perhaps. Probably a great place to propose or something, but not for a date night. There are more interesting places at better value in the region.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

A perfect lunch!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

Under the new chef, the food is better than ever. My salmon was out of this world! The Asian BBQ sauce didn't overwhelm it & it was cooked to perfection. The waitress Rebecca was solicitous and very helpful. We appreciated her suggestions. The view is always picture perfect because it looks out on St. Michaels Harbor and the Miles River beyond. The two-course lunch with a glass of wine is a marvelous bargain at $18. Go during March while this special is on and treat yourself.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

wonderful as always

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

the food is always exceptional but very expensive. atmosphere is always special with attentive and professional service. they always try to go above and beyond to make the experience top notch. love dining here, but the prices keep us at bay except for special occasions.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We made reservations at Stars to celebra ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

We made reservations at Stars to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and couldn't be happier with our choice of restaurant. Everything from the ambiance, to the service, to the food was excellent. The service was a tad slow at times, but not extremely so. We will certainly return to this restaurant, and next time we're also staying at the Inn at Perry Cabin, which is an absolutely beautiful place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Perfect Valentine's Day dinner

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Greeted with warmth, and asked for our coats. Beautiful decor right by the river, live Jazz band by te fireplace. Server was more than polite and did everything he could to help us non-fancy diners. Food was the best either of us has had (crab cakes and rockfish entrees) and the cheesecake desert was beautiful and delicious. For a once a year venue, well worth the extra money and would absolutely go back for another exquisite, fine-dining experience!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fancy brunch at a reasonable price

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Considering how upscale the resort is, breakfast/brunch is pretty reasonable. Food, decor, and service were fantastic! My only slight ding is that the portion for my benedict was a bit small. Also, a more robust/gourmet coffee option would have been nice, but not required.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always See Stars!

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on February 8, 2016

Had to cancel our dinner reservations because of an impending storm but had breakfast. As always, the service and food was outstanding. Very civilized is a good way to sum it up. In addition, Rebecca always makes thing special. Don't know how she puts up with my sense of humor but she does! Can't wait to come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely, personal service, quaint and bea ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Lovely, personal service, quaint and beautiful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

St. Michaels Finest

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Always a pleasure to dine at Stars. The food, the ambiance and the service is always superb. Once again, Chance delivered his excellent service and expertise of both the wine and dinner menus. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food and service

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

We had the chef's tasting menu, an amazing 5 course meal. Service was on point, food was phenomenal. I will dine here again. Great spot for a winter weekend getaway.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

St. Michaels finest!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Excellent menu and outstanding wait staff. Chance has always been outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sad Brunch buffet

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Ate here on January 1st. Was expecting lunch menu but instead got $50 per person brunch buffet. I wouldn't mind but the buffet was filled with many boring choices and even those were often past their peak (sad and dried out chicken and some accompanying item that was unrecognizable). The dessert table was equally sad with dried out breads and even brownies. Service was almost non existent. Too bad, as I was expecting more and better based on very nice lunch there this past summer. Hopefully Belmond (new owner) will upgrade the place and right the service and food flaws.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.