About Stars

308 Watkins Lane
Saint Michaels, MD 21663
View Larger Map

Water front dining featuring the riches of the Chesapeake region. Fresh local produce and seafood are served daily while enjoying the view of the beautiful miles river.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Continental, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 7:00 – 11:00am
Lunch: 11:30am – 2:30pm
Dinner: 6:00 – 10:00pm
Afternoon Tea: 3:00 – 5:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 745-2200

Website:
http://www.belmond.com/inn-at-perry-cabin-st-michaels/restaurants_bars

Parking Details:
Private parking for the hotel and restaurant guests.

Private Party Facilities:
Private events for 10 to 120 guests

Private Party Contact:
Sales Staff: 4107452200x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Maryland's scenic Eastern Shore serves as an idyllic backdrop for a bespoke meeting or event.

Its close proximity to Washington, D.C., Baltimore and Philadelphia make this a popular spot.

If you hold your event with us, we can offer:
Five function rooms, over 5,000 square feet
Venues ideal for both small and large gatherings
High-speed wifi throughout the hotel and guest rooms
State-of-the-art audio-visual and teleconferencing technology
Extra venues for special events and themed parties
Food and drinks provision tailored to your needs
Twenty-four spacious, ultra-luxurious guest suites

Restaurant Photos

  • Stars
Stars

Stars Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Eastern Shore
Romantic
Eastern Shore
Special Occasion
Eastern Shore
1 More
Most Booked
Eastern Shore
Best Restaurants in St Michaels / Tilghman Island ›

Special Occasion (42)
Scenic View (38)
Romantic (30)
See All
Fit for Foodies (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Great for Lunch (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Good for Groups (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
616 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

While the atmosphere, view, and food at ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

While the atmosphere, view, and food at Stars is wonderful, I was very disappointed with the service. I don't normally complain about service because I previously worked as a server and so understand the stresses and demands of the job; however, our service was quite far below par. Everything was very slow, wine glasses not refilled (we ordered a bottle), forgot to bring a bucket to chill the wine, and we waited an incredibly long time to get our check (even though we mentioned we wanted to go outside to finish our wine and watch the sunset) - by the time we got our check, it was dark outside. I also asked our server to take a picture of us and she said she would, but then left the table and did not return until she brought the check. It was our 10-year anniversary, so needless to say, we were disappointed with the experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Wonderful setting with lovely view of th ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Wonderful setting with lovely view of the Miles River. Food just does not measure up to the venue yet.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

While staying at the Inn at Perry Cabin ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

While staying at the Inn at Perry Cabin we had Tea at 3:00 when we arrived which was superb. We had not been to the Inn and restaurant since it was taken over by new owners. Years ago our stays were very memorable and enjoyed fine dining at the restaurant. For this visit, my dinner was very disappointing since the cream of crab soup had no crab in it! When we told our waiter, he said they used to put lump crab in it but now it's shredded. Well we didn't find even a shred! My entree was crab imperial crusted rockfish- again very disappointing as I could not find any crab to speak of and the fish was just some small ends. My wife's beef tenderloin entree with roasted asparagus and potato au gratin was very good. Breakfast both mornings was excellent and the view and ambience are fantastic! Oh, and room service was very good and we enjoyed getting a late night desert of Smith Island cake brought to us.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a spectacular meal at Stars. The ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We had a spectacular meal at Stars. The diningroom is of course beautiful and the view out over the water can't be beat. The heirloom tomato salad was a good sized portion and very tasty. I have the rockfish special which was a wonderful combination of flavor and textures. My companion had the scallops and risotto, also reported to be exceptional. Side dishes of seasonal succotash and grilled asparagus were both well worth ordering. Desserts were excellent as well - a white chocolate raspberry cheesecake and a "baked alaska" cheesecake - very clever. Service was impeccable as always. We can't wait to return!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely beautiful property at The Inn ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Absolutely beautiful property at The Inn at Perry Cabin. Impeccable service at "Stars" restaurant. We all ordered the signature dish - Rock Fish. We all were not that wild about the restaurants signature dish, the dish was plenty (really too much to eat) and presented beautifully, but lacked anything special. The Rock Fish I guess wasn't as good as we thought it would be.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Stars was one of the best restaurants we ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Stars was one of the best restaurants we have been to lately. We were warmly welcomed and our server was extremely attentive without ever interrupting us. Knowledgeable about wine and drink lists and the menu. The food was delicious - very fresh vegetables and seafood used in my crab cakes with a roasted corn salsa. View incredible.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pricey but well worth it. Outstanding s ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Pricey but well worth it. Outstanding service and great food. Definitely at the top of our list.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service, food and setting at Starz w ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The service, food and setting at Starz was without a doubt outstanding. The quality of food, service and dining options was wonderful. We would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting St. Michaels, Md. Very friendly service staff in entire resort! Earns its 5 star rating!

The setting and sunsets is awesome. One the the best wedding venues in Maryland, I would think.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose to celebrate our wedding annive ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We chose to celebrate our wedding anniversary at Stars after meeting the chef last year while on a walking/eating tour of St. Michael's. It was truly a memorable evening and could not have been better.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible from start to finish.

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Incredible from start to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I visited Stars on the final ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

My wife and I visited Stars on the final night of our honeymoon. The restaurant received a very high rating from AAA, so we thought we'd check it out. Our experience was elegant from the first moment. We dined there on Thursday evening. Our table for two was situated at large window facing the beautiful views of the harbor and its many sailboats. The cocktails were well-crafted and the bread was very good. I ordered the lamb and my wife got the rockfish special. Both were delicious. The lamb in particular was cooked to perfection and was just such a delicacy. Chance, our incredibly attentive, good-natured, and knowledgeable waiter, recommended some terrific wine selections to compliment our meals. For dessert we had the chocolate orange creme brûlée and the lemon cheese cake Alaska. While both were excellent, the Alaska was our favorite. By a bit of bad luck our desserts came out of the kitchen just a bit late because they'd been dropped accidentally the first time around. The pastry chef sent his apologies along with a small platter of three beautifully delicate pastries - one tiramisu, one raspberry tart, and one macaroon. This did more than make up for the insignificant delay, and gave us time to sip on the gorgeous coffee served to us. Overall, Stars gave us an experience that we will remember for a long time and that helped make our honeymoon very special.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful luncheon at Stars. Wa ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We had a wonderful luncheon at Stars. Wayne, our waiter, was very attentive and professional. The meal was delicious. We had the best cream of crab soup, crab cakes and rockfish. The Baked Alaska Cheesecake was out of this world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful view at every table. BLT was a ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Beautiful view at every table. BLT was amazing for breakfast. Worth a stop for a good breakfast and great views

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

"Stars" is in a wonderful setting with i ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

"Stars" is in a wonderful setting with incredible views of the St. Michaels harbor. The Inn at Perry Cabin is a top notch resort and a dining experience here should not be missed. Inside, the restaurant is bright and fresh and provides a comfortable, relaxing atmosphere. This was a return visit for my wife and I, and special in that we brought another couple with us to share lunch and this great atmosphere. Our food was very good. Three in our party all enjoyed their Maryland crab cake sandwich. Very nice. My wife ordered the Local Farmers Specialty Salad. She found it FAIRLY good but not worth the hefty price tag of $22. The big problem with our dining experience was with the flies. Not just one, but many pesky little nuisances! I was really surprised that a restaurant of this stature would be dealing with this issue. We chose to eat indoors because of the extreme summer heat, but perhaps there would have been less insects outside.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was fantastic, cooked and seasoned ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food was fantastic, cooked and seasoned perfectly. Service was spot on, knowledgeable and takes very good care of you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cream of crab soup was not the best. We ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Cream of crab soup was not the best. We had more celery than crab

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Celebrated my wife's birthday recently a ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Celebrated my wife's birthday recently at STARS. As has typically been our experience, the food, service, and atmosphere have been exceptional. We were very fortunate to have Chance as our server as he greeted us warmly once seated and offered complimentary champagne in recognition of our special occasion. His service was top notch throughout the evening and the food (I dined on cream of crab soup and crab cakes while my wife had a seafood salad) was excellent. The view at STARS is exceptional but somewhat diminished by the recent stacking of kayaks directly within the prime line of site by the docks. Can they perhaps be relocated elsewhere so that patrons can enjoy the beautiful sailboats and water?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The quality of service and food was grea ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The quality of service and food was great. The only thing I would add is it would be great if they had an entree that was vegetarian.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Waiting was outstanding, wine list exten ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Waiting was outstanding, wine list extensive, food prepared perfectly and beautiful dinning room.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very please with the food, wine, and amb ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Very please with the food, wine, and ambiance. The services was friendly and we were not rushed. Would highly recommend the Stars Restaurant.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible staff, dreamy setting, beauti ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Incredible staff, dreamy setting, beautiful and tasty food... What more can one ask for...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Celebrated our anniversary last Monday - ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Celebrated our anniversary last Monday - the experience in a word was FANTASTIC! The staff could not have been more friendly and accommodating. The chef prepared soft crabs even though they weren't on the menu and they were superb! Cream of crab soup was loaded with jumbo lump and was exceptional. The atmosphere and view were second to none. Our server went out of her way to bring us a special dessert and topped it off with an anniversary good wishes note. The little touches really do matter and make for a wonderful experience.

We come here every time we are in the area (every 2-3 weeks) and STARS never disappoints.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good wine list Mediocre food/limited men ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Good wine list

Mediocre food/limited menu

So so service (slow)

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Stars continues to disappoint. My usual ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Stars continues to disappoint. My usual strategy with a bad experience is to return in a month. If that disappoints I return again in 6 months. This last meal was at that point. Service felt very disorganized and erratic - just as bad as ever. Lots of staff in evidence but not very good attention to our table. Little things like asking twice for more butter, waiting a long time for wine etc. just shouldn't happen at a restaurant this expensive. The food was better than average but, again, poor quality for the cost. Three of us ordered Caesar salads: two came with a parmesan crisp of some sort, mine did not. The desert pastry was undercooked and doughy. On and on. Nice view though.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

The food was disappointing and the price ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was disappointing and the prices were unnecessarily high. My girlfriend ordered a caeser salad with a crab cake. What came out was just one romaine lettuce leaf with a little dressing and the crab cake placed on the side. All that for $24 dollars. The crab cake was good not great, the salad was almost comical. I ordered a crab cake sandwich for $18. The sandwich was ok, but the french fries it came with were clearly frozen at some point and room temperature. The view was great, but the food and high prices were a bummer.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Great service, unbeatable view, great fo ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great service, unbeatable view, great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been to Stars numerous times. Th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

We have been to Stars numerous times. This visit was a little disappointing. Service was very slow, rock fish was overcooked, and martini at dinner was quite different than the exact same drink ordered before dinner at the bar.

When I made the reservation, I noted that this was a very special birthday for my husband and requested a table with a nice view. When we arrived, the dining room was only a quarter full but there was no table ready for us. They cleared a larger table with an "ok" view... I was disappointed that there was little regard to a simple request.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

This is a lovely inn. The dining room is ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

This is a lovely inn. The dining room is very pretty with great water views. Our server was friendly and professional. We enjoyed the food and the ambiance.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was okay.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

The service was impeccable. The menu was really good. Several items that made it hard to make up my mind. I got the tenderloin and was a little underwhelmed. I ordered Medium. To me medium shows red in middle. It was a little tough. My husband's entree was crab cakes. He said they were "okay". Okay, so fine dining, a little on the pricey side, so I would hope to have an exceptional meal. It just wasn't exceptional. However, it was our anniversary, and we were greeted with "Happy Anniversary" by staff and also given a dessert plate with happy anniversary on plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great ambiance and view.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The food, service and view of the marina were all great. As with any four star restaurant, it is a bit pricy, but acceptable for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

You can't go home again ....

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

We had one of the best meals ever here two years ago! But clearly something has changed. Service was incredibly slow and curt, though the dining room was not that crowded on a Monday evening. Drinks were scanty on their pours. Our first two choices on the wine list were unavailable. And the food was definitely not up to previous excellent standards - the filet was overdone, and the crisped skin chicken breast was tough and not crispy at all. Our waitress alluded to being short staffed when we gently inquired about how things were going overall at this resort. We won't be back for a while ....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Dined at Stars recently over two adjoini ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Dined at Stars recently over two adjoining nights - view is always spectacular and service was pleasant and attentive. Enjoyed soft shells on night #1 but disappointed that they were not available on night #2. Equally disappointing was the fact that my wife's favorite appetizer - cold seafood mix (lobster, shrimp, & crab) also was not available. The menu is rather limited and could be expanded. Cream of crab soup was very tasty with generous portions of lump crab meat.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Not impressed at all.

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Not impressed at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

Five Stars for Stars Restaurant!

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

As we entered Stars Restaurant on Mother's Day, we were greeted by a server who presented me with a beautiful, long-stem, pink rose. Happily there was a table by the window where we could sit and enjoy the beautiful view of Chesapeake Bay. I love oysters, and this plate combined 3 Oysters Rockefeller with 3 raw oysters! Delicious! Our main courses, scallops for me and beef tenderloin for my husband were superb. We even managed to save room for freshly made Derby pie. I wish I could remember the server's name, because he was friendly and helpful. A wonderful Mother's Day experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exquisite eastern shore dining

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

From the cozy pub for a pre dinner cocktail, to the understated elegance of this exceptional dining room, the simple yet delicious and beautifully prepared food, superb view and professional and attentive wait staff.... truly made this a memorable evening .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great location and service, a bit overpriced

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Celebrated a wedding anniversary. View/service were just what we were hoping for. Great wine list. Menu fairly simple but we both had fresh rockfish so no complaints. Service started off slow but our waiter was outstanding. We arrived early expecting to have a drink at the bar first. this was the only negative--bar area is tucked in a small room with no view and the service wasn't very good. I would recommend this restaurant if you want a memorable dinner for the location/view/atmosphere. We will probably try somewhere else in St. Michaels next time.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Disappointed

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

We've been to STARS on numerous occasions and have always loved the experience - this time, however, the meal was not in keeping with previous standards. Specifically, the crab cakes - traditionally one of our favorites - seemed to have more "filler" and less taste than ever. That was very disappointing, especially at these price points! Cream of crab soup, however, was fantastic as was the cold seafood combination appetizer. The menu is rather limited - could use some expansion. As always, the view is exceptional.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Disappointing

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Stayed at the hotel, which is excellent, but the restaurant is disappointing. I wouldn't mind paying high prices for breakfast if it was the best breakfast I ever had. Service is slow and I received the wrong order. They rectified it by making another very fast and not charging for my entree. Food was nice and tasty but not worth the prices and wait.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Disappointing birthday dinner

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

My husband and I went to Stars while visiting St. Michael's for a birthday weekend getaway. We were very excited about a fancy dinner. There seemed to be confusion about our reservation when we arrived, even though I called to confirm that same day. I even got an email from Open Table saying we didn't show up for our reservation. We were seated by a window which was wonderful for watching the sunset. Our waitress hastily took our drink order and did not ask if we were interested in a starter. She took our order. Other tables received rolls, while we were offered none until midway through our meal. Our water glasses were never refilled until we asked. At the end of our dinner, we had to ask to see the dessert and drink menu. Our server treated us very causally throughout the meal. Perhaps she thought we weren't old enough to be in the restaurant, though there were at least two other couples in their 30s. For spending what we did on dinner, I expected the service to be of much higher quality.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Food was good but pricey.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

The setting was sublime. That alone makes the menu worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.