About Stages Kitchen + Bar - DoubleTree by Hilton

16615 109 Ave NW
Edmonton, AB T5P 4K8
View Larger Map

Our culinary strategy celebrates the farmer to Chef relationship and will reflect the best ingredients available locally; blending a range of culinary techniques and traditions drawn from our culturally diverse Canadian heritage. Fresh and vibrant carefully sourced organic, artisan and ocean wise ingredients are conjured into enticing and wholesome dishes by our talented and highly skilled culinary team.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Canadian

Hours of Operation:
Daily: 6:00am - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Mayfield Road & 109 Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(780) 484-0821

Website:
http://silverbirch.com/

Parking Details:
Ample hotel parking is located directly in front of the main hotel doors. Valet parking is available.

Executive Chef:
William White

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Stages Kitchen + Bar - DoubleTree by Hilton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.5

ambience

3.7

value

2.5

noise

Moderate

50% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
21 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was good but server was unattentive ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was good but server was unattentive. Expected quiet atmosphere but were joined by hockey tournament kids and parents. Prices a bit high for atmosphere. Menu did not match menu posted on Open Table. Better value at nearby restaurants.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Very nice for a family birthday dinner a ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Very nice for a family birthday dinner and also suitable for a young child with a good kids menu.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My family was staying at the Doubletree ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 25, 2016

My family was staying at the Doubletree and we ate at Stages a couple of times.

The first meal was a weekday breakfast buffet, which was amazing. The range of food available and the quality was a great surprise to us. The choices of protein, fruit, and the make your own waffle bar was a nice touch.

We enjoyed it so much that we booked in for the Sunday Brunch Buffet.... BIG mistake. The price was $34 per person and the buffet was nowhere near as good at the less expensive Friday morning breakfast buffet. The protein choices for breakfast were limited, the eggs were undercooked and the waffles soggy. And even though we had a reservation and were hotel guests, the server seated us at an uncomfortable high top table in the lounge area, not ideal for my mother and aunt to sit at.

The restaurant was empty and yet it was nearly impossible to get our coffee or water glasses refilled and I had to go to the bar to find our server to get our bill. For a hotel Sunday brunch, it was a let down. I can't say we will be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

It was good meal overall. Won't mind to ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 7, 2016

It was good meal overall. Won't mind to go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quiet comfortable restaurant, all food o ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Quiet comfortable restaurant, all food orders were tasty. The service was extremely slow, we had to wait a very long time to order dessert and for the waitress to bring take home boxes even though the restaurant was not busy. Would probably choose some other place to dine next time as there were reviews regarding slow service.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was outstanding but a bit on th ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 13, 2016

The food was outstanding but a bit on the pricey side for a hotel restaurant not in the downtown location. However we enjoyed our meal and time together, nice evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent food, good value for money, good service

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Our server was wonderful, the food was amazing, especially the selection of fruit, several types of eggs and eggs benedict, the chocolate fountain and all the smoothies, not to mention the yummy crepes, and eggs to order.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Was very disappointed in the food.

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 10, 2016

With the executive chef there we expected some thing much better. Food was just average and expensive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Dessert corner was fabulous, salmon in r ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 27, 2016

Dessert corner was fabulous, salmon in rice bigger portion not small chunk, roast beef slices bit thicker. Basa with herb was taste awful ruins appetite of three of our company who choose it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Wonderful Christmas dinner find.

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 26, 2015

Due to a broken oven we needed a place to host Christmas dinner and the Double Tree Hilton stepped up in great style. All courses were very tasty and the service was friendly, speedy and faultless. Thanks Hilton!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Buffet

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 24, 2015

The bufeet is great but too bad the brunch/breakfast buffet ends at 1030. I always feel rushed.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

terrible disapointment

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 13, 2015

We arrived at 10:30 and they closed the doors to the food at 11. Apparently we had the breakfast buffet but the closed the doors and reopened for the brunch buffet which cost 6 dollars more. the only thing they seemed to add was a hot plate of crepes with no real toppings. this wasnt explained to us until just as we sat down with our breakfast plate the waiter said " hurry if you want to go back because its closing in 5 minutes. The food was average but you could get special order eggs I you were smart enough to figure that out on your own, not much chance of a coffee refill either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Nice and quiet

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 18, 2015

Came here for my birthday dinner with family. The place is beautiful and spacious. Above all it was quiet which was such a change from anywhere else. The server was friendly and helpful. We were a group of 6 and we're put in a booth which I would have preferred a table and the food was a little slow to come out. But because it was the day of my birthday my meal was complimentary! It was a wonderful surprise. The food was amazing with very large portions. Warning when ordering the extra sides, the portions are very generous and practically a meal themselves.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great service!

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on September 6, 2015

We had an amazing night and there was 6 of us dining. Every dish was delicious. We went on my husbands birthday and with ID he got a free entrée! I will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Sunday brunch

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 29, 2015

Good selection of hot, cold food, fruit was excellent. Quiet place for get together, better than Cora.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I am sad about the change in buffet menu

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 8, 2015

We have been going to Stages for over 2 years and all 5-8 of us normally choose the buffet for the variety with the International menu and superb quality. Unfortunately, this last time we went for lunch we were informed that the menu had changed to a standard buffet. The food was alright, but I'm not sure I would return for the buffet again. It just wasn't the same excellent quality as the International menu, I felt as though it was something I could make at home. Other than that, I always love going to Stages for the ambience and comfort.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Ordered steak sandwiches, food was well ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on June 5, 2015

Ordered steak sandwiches, food was well cooked. The service was somewhat less than stellar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Very courteous and great staff

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 15, 2015

Great place for valentines day, live acoustic guitar performance and Paris the manager made sure everything was in place. Took us 30 min to get our meal but he gave us half off of our bill! Hard to find restaurants that care about the customer but this one is a good one

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Christmas Day Dinner 2014

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on December 26, 2014

We went for Christmas dinner, was somewhat disappointed in the menu selection. I understand a holiday menu is often limited but I question turkey or fish - would have preferred beef or pork for an alternative. So, I ordered the turkey.

Started with the squash soup which was excellent - nice blend of sweet and some heat was quite intriguing. Turkey and all the fixings (dressing, mash, veg) arrived soon after, it looked good and tasted nice but had an odd texture like it was processed. My companion remarked that the turkey hadn't seen a bone - very likely it was a breast and thigh roast rather than a whole bird carved. For the price ($40), I expected a "real" turkey with more of the roasted flavour you get from cooking on the bone.

Dessert was eggnog cheesecake which was very good, but very rich - I couldn't finish it.

Service was good, food arrived quickly - almost too quickly, felt a little rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Food reasonable price and well presented ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 27, 2014

Food reasonable price and well presented but was average. Wine reasonable. Appeared to be short of waiters as our waiter appeared to be waiting on all 5 or 6 tables. Considerable wait even to take our first wine order. Water served out of large bottle with no ice. Had to ask for more. Request for lemon wedge for water took app. 15 minutes. Felt lighting was too bright. Not cozy, more like a banquet hall atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Expected more....

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 23, 2014

Reservations were for 8 people. Table was set for 6. Then were moved to a roomier table which was fine. Thought everything was going to be wonderful.....waiter seemed very helpful, chef came out to answer any questions we had. Then they started bringing our food. A couple of appetizers that we didn't order were brought to our table. We let it go and thought "oh well", whatever. Then received our main dishes. Not very impressed with our food. Then 1 person ordered 1 piece of cake. The waiter brought an extra piece with a sparkler that we did not order(we were celebrating a birthday so thought it might be complimentary). When our bill came we were charged for everything including everything we did not order. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.