About Stage Restaurant Hawaii

1250 Kapiolani Blvd., 2nd Floor
Honolulu, HI 96814
View Larger Map

Contemporary Asian-American Cuisine continues to delight. Stage Restaurant's Executive Chef Ron de Guzman has listened to many of his regular Stage diners and have created a 6 course tasting menu that reflects the "Stars" on Stage's dinner menu. A delectable tasting of seafood, beef, lamb and delightful desserts. It's a "box office smash" that will enjoy a long run to the pleasure of Honolulu's "foodies-in-the-know". Come experience, first hand, Stage's eclectic atmosphere, impressive 400+ wine selection, discrete dining service, Contemporary Asian-American Cuisine, and decadent desserts. Discover why Stage is THE restaurant to enjoy six days of the week… honest! Whether its lunch or dinner, we invite you and guests you'd love to impress to savor a Stage experience for yourselves. Also, be sure to visit Amuse Wine Bar adjacent to the restaurant offering 80 wines to sample by the ounce from a unique and fun self-service wine dispensing system. Convenient location with free parking.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Asian, Contemporary American, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch (Tuesday - Friday)
11:00am (Last Seating at 2:00pm)
* Only Afternoon Low Tea served on Saturdays

Afternoon Low Tea (Saturday)
Seating 11:00am to 2:00pm

Dinner (Tuesday - Saturday)
5:30pm (Last Seating at 8:30pm)
Bar & Lime Lounge opens at 5:00pm

Cross Street:
Parking Entrance from Piikoi St. after Kapiolani Blvd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 237-5429

Website:
http://www.stagerestauranthawaii.com/

Entertainment:
Contemporary music selections provide ambient background melodies to complement your dining experience during normal business hours.

Stage Restaurant features piano player, Philip Oscar-Pang, every Saturday from 7:00pm to 9:00pm.

Catering:
Catering for off-premise special events are available on a limited basis, but we also offer a few venues to host events depending on your group size and needs. Please call us at (808) 237-5475 for information.

Parking Details:
FREE Validated Parking for the first 3 hours. Our standard rate of $3.00 for every 1/2 hour applies thereafter between 9am - 9pm.

The Honolulu Design Center's parking entrance is located on Piikoi St. Take the first left turn after crossing Kapiolani Blvd. (heading towards the mountain). A secondary entrance is available on Pensacola St. and located on the left, last drive way before Kapiolani Blvd.

Pensacola entrance may be closed without advance notice.

Public Transit:
Stage Restaurant is located on the 2nd floor of the Honolulu Design Center. Coming from Waikiki use bus routes #3 or #9. From downtown Honolulu use bus route #3, #9, #17 or #18. The bus stops on Kapiolani going both directions between Pensacola and Piikoi streets. The Honolulu Design Center is a distinctive contemporary orange building.

Executive Chef:
Ron de Guzman

Private Party Facilities:
Stage Restaurant offers three options for private dining and events.
The Cupola Theatre a state of the art venue transforms into a business lecture room, seated dinner space, movie theatre and more. Equipped with top AV equipment, event furniture and stage lighting with the capacity to hold over 175 people, the Cupola is perfect for any type of event. This space is like a blank canvas, you can make it chic and stylish, comfortable and cozy, industrial… whatever you picture, it can be done here.

For a smaller networking event, singles night, birthday party or bachelor/bachelorette party, the Ice Bar on the 2nd floor of the HDC is just the place. The Ice Garden is fantastic for mixer style events, you can have your own bartender, play your own music, and dance in your own space.

Private Party Contact:
Food and Beverage Manager: 808-237-5475x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every second Thursday and last Tuesday of the month, we feature a special 4-Course Dinner available with featured wine pairings. More information can be found on our website:
http://stagerestauranthawaii.com/stage-menu/special-menus

Restaurant Photos

Pana Cotta - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Grilled Salmon Quinoa Salad - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
KOBE FLAT IRON STEAK - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
STAGE HAMACHI SASHIMI - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
HONEY MUSTARD AND MARCONA ALMOND CRUSTED COLORADO LAMB CHOP - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Chocolate Decadence Cake With Butter Popcorn Ice Cream - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Lilikoi Dreamsicle - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Tea Service - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Greek Pizza - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Lamb Chops - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Seared Ahi - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
French Onion Soup - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Sous Vide Pork Tenderloin - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Green Apple Cotton Candy - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Desserts - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
asian sundae - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Peanut Butter Cup - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Guava Mimosa - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Seafood Sampler Appetizer - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Meatloaf in Porcini Sauce w Potatoes and Lingonberries - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Truffles - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Brownie with Ice Cream - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
COTTON CANDY & ICE CREAM CAKE DU JOUR - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Blackened Ahi Salad - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Seafood Rissoto - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Hayashi Rice - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Fried Calamari - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Panacotta With Fruits - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Shrimp Carbonara - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Cinnamon Creme Brulee - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Bread - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Apple & Blueberry Crisp - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Creamsicle Panna Cotta - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Open Face Crab Sandwich - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Surf And Turf - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Chocolate Decadent Cake - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Vietnamese Coffee Ice Cream - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Chocolate Panna Cotta - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Grilled Rib Eye Steak - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Braised Short Ribs - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
home-style meatloaf - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
ahi poke - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Amuse Bouche - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
very decadent cake - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Hamachi Sashimi - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
dessert du jour - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Lobster Mac 'N Cheese - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Crab & Corn Chowder - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Sous Vide Beef Tenderloin - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Deconstructed Smores - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Grilled Salmon With Whole Grain Mustard - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Calamari - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Herb Crusted Seared Ahi - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Tomato Salad - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Meatloaf - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Calamari With Graham Cracker Crust - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Sashimi (Hamachi, Tobiko And Shoyu Jelly) - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Spinach Caesar  - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Warm Apple  & Blueberry Crisp - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Misoyaki Butterfish - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
MASALA CHAI SPICED PANNA COTTA - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Grilled Kurobuta Pork Chops - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Beef Tenderloin and Kona Lobster - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Happy Birthday Dessert - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Dessert Sampler Plate - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Carmelized Diver Scallop Chawan Mushi - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Ahi Sashimi - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Steak And Onion - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Sexyback - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
NEW YORK STEAK WAFU STYLE - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Crispy Crunch Salad - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Colorado Lamb Chop - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Cedar Plank Salmon With Creamy Polenta And Asparagus - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Mango Lime Sorbet And Lilikoi Creamsicle - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI
Fois Gras With Blueberry And Marcona Almond Chutney - Stage Restaurant Hawaii, Honolulu, HI

Stage Restaurant Hawaii Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (13)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Modern Decor (10)
See All
Notable Wine List (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Romantic (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Live Music (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Casual (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Scenic View (2)
Business Meals (2)
Fun (2)
Cozy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
563 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Reservation was for 5:45pm. Salad and ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Reservation was for 5:45pm. Salad and soup was served within a reasonable time. At 6:50pm our waiter informed us that our meal would be coming in a few minutes. It did not come until 7:10pm. The table next to us with three women, who arrived after us, received their meals way before we did. The lobster bisque had no pieces of lobster. The steak duo was good, mashed potatoes was very good, soft shell crab with soft tofu was excellent, fried calamari was okay. The long wait for our food was unreasonable. We did not complain. There was no apology or explanation for the delay, no "thank you for your patience." The pianist could have played softer dinner music. When I made the reservation, I was asked if it was for a special occasion. I said it was for our wedding anniversary. Other restaurants would usually offer something complimentary. Stage did not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Food was fantastic. Table service was go ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food was fantastic. Table service was good, staff had obviously been trained for fine dining, they could use more polish but attitude was great.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I loved the piano music performance at t ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I loved the piano music performance at the restaurant. Food was delicious and well presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Had the restaurant weeks special three c ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Had the restaurant weeks special three course and we are always excited to dine at stage and it lived up to our expectations. The selection, preparation and presentation was excellent. Along with the great food you can always depend on having great service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine dining at its best presentation. Fo ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Fine dining at its best presentation. Food selection at its best creation. Excellent diversity from the rest.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always an enjoyable meal. Convenient lo ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Always an enjoyable meal. Convenient location and consistently good food and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food & Drinks were great. Had a great se ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Food & Drinks were great. Had a great selection of drink & dishes were tasty. Made for a great dinner with friends!

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Went to Stage for a birthday dinner 2-1/ ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Went to Stage for a birthday dinner 2-1/2 hours prior to the EWF concert. We were just the 3rd party seated for dinner. Straight off the bat the rushed waiter informed us what we COULD NOT order since the kitchen couldn't guarantee our dinner being served prior to the concert. He noted how busy the restaurant was and continued to pressure us to order appetizers. Even when we notified the waiter that we were willing to go to the concert late he was adamant. We finally agreed so he said he was going to give us a minute to decide on an alternative. It was another 15 minutes till he got back to us. All in all a very disappointing and stressful dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

I was very disappointed in the food....t ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 15, 2016

I was very disappointed in the food....the salad had way too much dressing on it (although I love the dressing). For a change, I ordered the meatloaf and was very disappointed. It was like fluffy stuffing and so rich that I couldn't eat it. Three of us ordered the meatloaf and no one cared for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was very good, but their timing ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food was very good, but their timing was off as they delivered my appetizer after the others at my table has already received theirs . . . it even came AFTER my main course entrée. I had essentially two meals sitting there in front of me at the same time. I was not pleased.

Tags: Live Music, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

My wife enjoyed her Beef Wellington...sh ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 28, 2016

My wife enjoyed her Beef Wellington...she killed it! However, my salmon was cold and had to be taken back. The appetizers beet salad and ahi tempura is a must have!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Stage is a definitely winner in Honolulu ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Stage is a definitely winner in Honolulu. Not only is the food terrific, but being adjacent to a wine bar allows them to have a first class wine list as well. The decor is completely unlike anywhere else in Hawaii for certain - modern and more than a bit Philippe Starck.

The food is way better than you might expect and expertly executed. In particular the Chinese Style Streamed Catch was one of the best ever.

Frankly Stage is outstanding and not well known enough.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I always enjoy the different flavors and ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 20, 2016

I always enjoy the different flavors and wine pairings that the chef offers. Tonight was no different. The only thing was the beef was a little on the tough side and when mention to the floor manager, the comment of that is why we give you a sharp knife seemed a little inappropriate.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Live piano music was nice. There was als ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Live piano music was nice. There was also live music in the adjacent bar

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The occasion was luncheon with an elderl ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 17, 2016

The occasion was luncheon with an elderly friend who uses a walker. The maîtresse d' immediately understood the situation and brought the three of us to a table that was easily accessible for a handicapped person. The food was excellent. Two of us had the linguini with veal which was outstanding; the veal had a crisp and flavorful impanatura while the veal itself was moist. The linguini was al dente with flavors balanced between tomato and (?fresh) herbs. Although I have had lunch at The Stage previously, this was the first time I had the veal and found it extraordinary, as did the second person in our party. Our guest had the salmon salad, which she found quite satisfactory for a light lunch. The portions are large; all three of us took part of our principal course home. She reported that the greens had remained fresh for the second meal. We finished with the warm pineapple crisp which had a light sweetness in contrast to the heavily sugared characteristic of most American desserts. The waiter was friendly and attentive, and he understood that we were there for visiting with one another as well as to dine. The rhythm of the service matched this intent. It was a highly enjoyable and leisurely two hours with good company and memorable cuisine. Luncheon is much more relaxed and less crowded than the dinner seatings.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great! Good tasty, service good, lots of ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great! Good tasty, service good, lots of parking and easy to get to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Love this place. Quality of the food i ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Love this place. Quality of the food is always excellent. Fish is always fresh. And the service is great. They have an excellent Geisha kona coffee that is a MUST!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious as usual. The ambianc ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Food was delicious as usual. The ambiance was perfect, not noisy. While the service was good, it could have been better. The server came to ask for our drink selection, stopped midway, and disappeared missing two of our other guests. I had to ask him to come back to complete our order. Also, it took awhile for our food to come out and there were not many people in the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Food was good but very small portions. F ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food was good but very small portions. Food was very expensive. Don't go if you are hungry. Wait for food was very long.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

Consistently fantastic dinner. The Color ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Consistently fantastic dinner. The Colorado lamb, beef Wellington, poki, kampachi sashimi, Caesar salad, watermelon salad, cheese cake, pineapple dessert was so delicious. Thumbs up to chef Ron , sous chef Joy and their staff and waiter Kevin. Will be recommending this restaurant to everyone who wants to enjoy their meal in a fun, relaxing, enjoyable atmosphere. Their wine list is also fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a friend in town from the mainlan ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 26, 2016

We had a friend in town from the mainland and wanted to enjoy a good meal together. Stage once again provided a great meal in and easy to get to location with a server who made our afternoon enjoyable for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service is amazing. But food and portion ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Service is amazing. But food and portion is over priced and inadequate. The salmon dish runs $33 for, what I received, to be less than 4 oz of salmon with no side at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Always an enjoyable meal. Service is ex ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 12, 2016

Always an enjoyable meal. Service is excellent and the food is consistently good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Another great dinner at Stage. My gues ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Another great dinner at Stage. My guests thoroughly enjoyed the food and the experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thought the food delicious. it was jus ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 19, 2016

I thought the food delicious. it was just the 2 of us,but a bit of a wait for the food to come out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great. Caught up with my muso friend Son ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great. Caught up with my muso friend Sonny who plays guitar in the hot club of hulaville

Food was set menu which did not suit my wife. Overall a good experience

Head waiter was very good. Called us cab when we left. We will certainly visit again.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restuarant and food. Chef deGuzma ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Great restuarant and food. Chef deGuzman and his staff are great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a last minute decision, but we ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 7, 2016

This was a last minute decision, but we so enjoyed our meal. We both had the steamed fish, delicious, chocolate dessert and martinis! Our server provided great advice and service. I have been there for happy hour also and would definitely recommend Stage for both lunch andhappy hour.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

My first time at this restaurant and I w ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 26, 2016

My first time at this restaurant and I was impressed with the food, service and ample parking

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a beautiful dinner here, with suc ...

 
 (Sydney / NSW)·Dined on May 26, 2016

We had a beautiful dinner here, with such friendly service. Highly recommend for romantic dinners and special occasions!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, good service. I really enjo ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 25, 2016

Good food, good service. I really enjoy having lunch at Stage.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We will be coming back to Stage now that ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 22, 2016

We will be coming back to Stage now that we've experienced it! The food was delicious, from start to finish, with great service from Kevin.

The atmosphere was nice but casual, so my young girls were comfortable.

Expect dinner to be leisurely- we stayed 3 hours, including dessert.

It's now one of our favorites!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server (I believe his name is Kawika ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 14, 2016

The server (I believe his name is Kawika) would not serve us bread before we ordered food and he wouldn't take our order until the rest of our party arrived (there were 5 of us seated already and we were waiting for 3 more to arrive). After we did order, the food took an hour to arrive. The restaurant was only half full...on a Friday night at that. Moreover, the server would only ask for drink orders on one side of the table. The other side had to repeatedly call him over to ask for more wine/cocktails. And lastly, they had the nerve to add 20% gratuity. Perhaps this is why the service was atrocious...because the server knew he would receive 20% regardless. This restaurant used to be my go to restaurant for date nights and special occasions. Going forward, we'll be going to Morton's or Hy's steakhouse, where the food and service are consistently exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Mother's Day Brunch

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 8, 2016

This review is limited to the Mother's Day Brunch. Stage is one of my very favorite restaurants for lunch and dinner, but the Mother's Day Brunch was just really average. I was so disappointed to have to wait 20 minutes beyond my reservation time for just my mother and I to be seated. I could understand if the restaurant had been full, but at 9:50am, the time we arrived for our 10am reservation, there were many empty tables. When we arrived, we were told that there were still a number of parties ahead of us and they would call us when they were ready. We were seated at 10:20 and were in somewhat of a rush since my father was at home with a caregiver and we had a limited time to get back. Once were were seated, the service was just wonderful. The food was ok, and some dishes served on plastic/paper plates. I will still recommend and frequent Stage for traditional lunch and dinner, but would not consider this again for their special occasion buffets

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Not as great as we experienced before

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my wife and two young children to Dinner the Saturday before Mother's Day for my wife's birthday. We were promptly seated after checking in with our 8pm reservation via open table. It was another 10 minutes before being offered water or drinks and another 10 minutes before our waiter came to see us. He took our order and was kind enough to let us know about a Keiki menu for our two kids. No prix fixe menu this time around like I usually order from here and the seafood pasta I originally ordered was no longer available that night due to being sold out so I ordered the lamb chops. Apps came out about 20 minutes later...poke and a beet salad. Not bad, not great either. My lamb chop entree was tasty but the chops were about 1/2 fat and 1/2 actual meat. Hardly a smear of puréed potatoes on the plate and literally two small carrots and some mystery vegetable...that's all for $40!!! Ouch. For dessert we ordered the lilikoi creamsicle....too tart for my taste but my wife loved it. They were kind enough to give us a complimentary birthday off menu dessert that was a tiramisu ice cream cake that was awesome...pls add this to your menu!!! Food was okay, not great like we experienced before, service was definitely not as great as before. Long waits between plates, and it wasn't even that busy. We used to love this place and even had our wedding reception here but now not even sure if and when we'll be back....value wise, it's hard to justify..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The service was great. They were very a ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The service was great. They were very attentive but not overly so. The food was delicious. We even got a complimentary dessert because we were having a going away dinner for my husband and I. It was rather loud with the piano player though and did get crowded. I liked that the decor was different than most restaurants and that every table had something unique or was based around an artwork that you could purchase if you wanted to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

A local favorite apparently, it is hidde ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 7, 2016

A local favorite apparently, it is hidden from the tourist area in an nice retail area. They have a nice wine bar attached, and a nice menu. The duck breast was very tasty as well as the sashimi. A nice selection of wines by the the glass make for affordable pairings. Hilda our server was friendly and knowledgeable about the menu and bar service. She gave great service. Try the cotton candy, it's like a Marge Simpson up do . They have a cool modern art type of vibe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

New Birthday favorite

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 7, 2016

For at least 10 years we've been going to A 's for my wife's birthday. This year, she wanted a change... For a few years we've celebrated my daughter's b-day at Stage (her choice).

Now it seems my wife may have found a new birthday favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The menu has changed since the last dinn ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 5, 2016

The menu has changed since the last dinner I had there, was looking forward to ordering the Seafood arrangement, but had a Seafood Pasta in replacement. Doesn't even come close to the Seafood arrangement and it was really salty for my taste. I had a really good dining experience the first time around so I wanted to come back. This time was a little disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Seared ahi and fried tofu salad

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 3, 2016

Tasty but very sparse. Very little ahi, mostly friend tofu with a few greens.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.