Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.38mi
  4. Distance: 0.46mi

About Stage Restaurant Hawaii

Contemporary Asian-American Cuisine continues to delight. Stage Restaurant's Executive Chef Ron de Guzman has listened to many of his regular Stage diners and has created both a 5 course & 7 course tasting menu that reflect the stars on Stage's dinner menu. A delectable selection of seafood, beef, lamb and delightful desserts are also available a la carte. Come experience, first hand, Stage's eclectic atmosphere, impressive 400+ wine selection, discrete dining service, Contemporary Asian-American Cuisine, and decadent desserts. Discover why Stage is THE restaurant to enjoy five nights of the week! We invite you and guests you'd love to impress to savor a Stage dining experience for yourselves. While you're here, be sure to visit Amuse Wine Bar (adjacent to the restaurant) offering 80 wines to sample by the ounce from a unique and fun self-service wine dispensing system. Convenient location with free parking.

1250 Kapiolani Blvd., 2nd Floor
Honolulu, HI 96814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary Asian, Contemporary American, Asian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner (Tuesday - Saturday)
5:00pm (Last Seating at 8:30pm)
Bar, Lime Lounge, and Tapas Bar open at 4:30pm

Cross Street:
Parking Entrance from Piikoi St. after Kapiolani Blvd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 237-5429

Website:
http://www.stagerestauranthawaii.com/

Entertainment:
Contemporary music selections provide ambient background melodies to complement your dining experience during normal business hours.

Stage Restaurant features piano player, Philip Oscar-Pang, every Saturday from 7:00pm to 9:00pm.

Catering:
Catering for off-premise special events are available on a limited basis, but we also offer a few venues to host events depending on your group size and needs. Please call us at (808) 237-5475 for information.

Parking Details:
FREE Validated Parking for the first 3 hours. Our standard rate of $3.00 for every 1/2 hour applies thereafter between 9am - 9pm.

The Honolulu Design Center's parking entrance is located on Piikoi St. Take the first left turn after crossing Kapiolani Blvd. (heading towards the mountain). A secondary entrance is available on Pensacola St. and located on the left, last drive way before Kapiolani Blvd.

Pensacola entrance may be closed without advance notice.

Public Transit:
Stage Restaurant is located on the 2nd floor of the Honolulu Design Center. Coming from Waikiki use bus routes #3 or #9. From downtown Honolulu use bus route #3, #9, #17 or #18. The bus stops on Kapiolani going both directions between Pensacola and Piikoi streets. The Honolulu Design Center is a distinctive contemporary orange building.

Executive Chef:
Ron de Guzman

Private Party Facilities:
Stage Restaurant offers three options for private dining and events.
The Cupola Theatre a state of the art venue transforms into a business lecture room, seated dinner space, movie theatre and more. Equipped with top AV equipment, event furniture and stage lighting with the capacity to hold over 175 people, the Cupola is perfect for any type of event. This space is like a blank canvas, you can make it chic and stylish, comfortable and cozy, industrial… whatever you picture, it can be done here.

For a smaller networking event, singles night, birthday party or bachelor/bachelorette party, the Ice Bar on the 2nd floor of the HDC is just the place. The Ice Garden is fantastic for mixer style events, you can have your own bartender, play your own music, and dance in your own space.

Private Party Contact:
Food and Beverage Manager: (808) 237-5475

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every second Thursday and last Tuesday of the month, we feature a special 4-Course Dinner available with featured wine pairings. More information can be found on our website:
http://stagerestauranthawaii.com/stage-menu/special-menus

Stage Restaurant Hawaii Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Modern Decor (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Good for a Date (8)
See All
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Live Music (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Romantic (4)
Fun (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Casual (4)
Tapas (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Business Meals (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Family Style (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Cozy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Scenic View (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Healthy (1)
Organic (1)
Authentic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
604 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

Consistently good service and food. The staff takes the time to provide a great experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Frickin awesome. Best restaurant period

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fun, Live Music, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Romantic, Organic, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent! Will be back definitely! Great restaurant! Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Good food with wine pairing. Friendly and attentive service

Tags: Fun, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 26, 2017

ALWAYS A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE!

We've been fans of STAGE for a very long time, and Chef Ron DeGuzman and Pastry Chef
Kainan are just so good at what they do and their creativity is on a par with any restaurant
anywhere!

We've been busy and hadn't dined there for a while, and the experience we recently had with
their new tapas/small plates was exceptional. Every dish, from the salmon to the varieties
of ahi creations were just outstanding! We had four small plates and shared Chef Ron's amazing lamb chops that were so thick, juicy and tasty - we wish we had room for more....but, we HAD to
have room for Chef Kainan's Lilikoi Creamsicle and Vietnamese Coffee Flan - both of which HAVE TO BE IN OUR TOP TEN DESSERTS OF ALL TIME - ANYWHERE! My husband calls Chef Kainan a "sweet genius" which he definitely is. And Chef Ron - is always upping his game.

No wonder they are headed to the James Beard House at the end of this month and we wish them only the very best.

The restaurant itself is just beautiful with the unusual decor and the staff super-attentive.

We look forward to our next dining experience very soon.

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We love going to Stage! The service and food is always awesome. I always enjoy the entire presentation of the meal, especially the little palate cleaners that come between meals. Love it!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Great service and great food! Will come back to try other menu items

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Favorite place in Hawaii. I have never been disappointed with a course.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The food was very tasty. The Cesar Salad was served just right, crunchy and flavorful. We had the steak, salmon, garlic fries with truffle oil and a decadent chocolate dessert (which was truly decadent). The servings were generous. They also brought in an extra dessert for my nieces birthday with her name and a candle which was very thoughtful.
When I go back, I’ll have the dessert first, the main then the salad.
The service was very good and we didn't have to wait too long for the food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Pros: Good menu, food and ambiance. Prix Fixe Menu (120/person): Hamachi Sashimi, Hudson Valley Foie Gras, Kona Lobster Tempura, Chilean Seabass, Braised Pork Belly, A5 Japanese Beef, Desert (Smoke Bomb).
Cons: Dessert (underwhelming.) Waiter stated, "Gratuity is included." Not so. Gratuity of 20% was ADDED to patron's bill, thus eliminating the choice of whether, and how much, to tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always a date night with friends favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 29, 2016

As always, Stage has been a go to place for my coworkers and I to celebrate our holiday get together. This time was especially great as Kevin our waiter provided exceptional service! He was very knowledgeable, helpful and always ensured that our party was well taken care of. Service like that will definitely bring me back again and again. Mahalo Kevin and Stage!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Interesting decor inside a furniture store. Lots to talk about with my friends about the wall art and furniture art... seats are very comfortable. We went for lunch and had the best burger there. salmon was tender and moist, a little on the salty side . Ahi BLT is excellent also.
The room midday was a little warm until the air conditioner picked up but otherwise very comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Seated at 11:00 am. Ordered veal chop, waiter said they ran out - but we were the first customers for the day! Ordered a ribeye sandwich, tasted good but very oily (bottom bun soaked with oil). I guess that is to be expected from ribeye.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I was kept waiting for a long time.
But not so bad.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Live Music, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We have always enjoyed our dining experience and the amazing service at Stage restaurant. Sadly, Christmas Eve was very disappointing since they were short on kitchen help. The wait between our set menu's courses was unbearably long, a dinner that took over four hours.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Booked this place for our office Christmas luncheon because they accept reservations, it's not crazy crowded as some of the newer, hipper places in town, and they have a lot of parking. The food was good, but the service was horrible. The food was slow to come out of the kitchen, and it took ridiculously long to pay for our meal. Given that this is a place frequented by folks like us who are looking for fine lunch dining during the lunch hour, I expect service to be a lot quicker than it was.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great Service, although our waiter was very busy with larger parties..the support staff was able to cover down.

Food was excellent and the waiter made spit-on recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 7, 2016

On their website, it says happy hour from 5-7pm, that's why I changed my reservations to 6pm. However, they are really talking about amuse wine bar right outside that had a bunch of ppl. Inside stage there was only just 2 ppl eating! Felt odd but got used to it quickly. My duo of beef was excellent except I wasn't sure of one of the beefs were supposed to be prepared more on the "burnt" well done side. It was quite hard to eat (the one over the potatoes). But overall I'd come back! Food was really great especially with amuse bouche coming in between! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We've been a few times, always fantastic! Food is phenomenal &service is top notch! Our server was Lyman &he's awesome! Was super polite &accommodated me &my dietary restrictions. My father &I ordered the five course but I don't eat red me so he let me chose another dish to replace the short ribs(even though the five course is "no substitutions"). Will definitely be back! Thank you to the staff &chefs! (:

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Employee party

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Reservation was for 5:45pm. Salad and soup was served within a reasonable time. At 6:50pm our waiter informed us that our meal would be coming in a few minutes. It did not come until 7:10pm. The table next to us with three women, who arrived after us, received their meals way before we did. The lobster bisque had no pieces of lobster. The steak duo was good, mashed potatoes was very good, soft shell crab with soft tofu was excellent, fried calamari was okay. The long wait for our food was unreasonable. We did not complain. There was no apology or explanation for the delay, no "thank you for your patience." The pianist could have played softer dinner music. When I made the reservation, I was asked if it was for a special occasion. I said it was for our wedding anniversary. Other restaurants would usually offer something complimentary. Stage did not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food was fantastic. Table service was good, staff had obviously been trained for fine dining, they could use more polish but attitude was great.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I loved the piano music performance at the restaurant. Food was delicious and well presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Had the restaurant weeks special three course and we are always excited to dine at stage and it lived up to our expectations. The selection, preparation and presentation was excellent. Along with the great food you can always depend on having great service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Fine dining at its best presentation. Food selection at its best creation. Excellent diversity from the rest.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Always an enjoyable meal. Convenient location and consistently good food and service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Food & Drinks were great. Had a great selection of drink & dishes were tasty. Made for a great dinner with friends!

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Went to Stage for a birthday dinner 2-1/2 hours prior to the EWF concert. We were just the 3rd party seated for dinner. Straight off the bat the rushed waiter informed us what we COULD NOT order since the kitchen couldn't guarantee our dinner being served prior to the concert. He noted how busy the restaurant was and continued to pressure us to order appetizers. Even when we notified the waiter that we were willing to go to the concert late he was adamant. We finally agreed so he said he was going to give us a minute to decide on an alternative. It was another 15 minutes till he got back to us. All in all a very disappointing and stressful dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 15, 2016

I was very disappointed in the food....the salad had way too much dressing on it (although I love the dressing). For a change, I ordered the meatloaf and was very disappointed. It was like fluffy stuffing and so rich that I couldn't eat it. Three of us ordered the meatloaf and no one cared for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food was very good, but their timing was off as they delivered my appetizer after the others at my table has already received theirs . . . it even came AFTER my main course entrée. I had essentially two meals sitting there in front of me at the same time. I was not pleased.

Tags: Live Music, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 28, 2016

My wife enjoyed her Beef Wellington...she killed it! However, my salmon was cold and had to be taken back. The appetizers beet salad and ahi tempura is a must have!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Stage is a definitely winner in Honolulu. Not only is the food terrific, but being adjacent to a wine bar allows them to have a first class wine list as well. The decor is completely unlike anywhere else in Hawaii for certain - modern and more than a bit Philippe Starck.

The food is way better than you might expect and expertly executed. In particular the Chinese Style Streamed Catch was one of the best ever.

Frankly Stage is outstanding and not well known enough.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 20, 2016

I always enjoy the different flavors and wine pairings that the chef offers. Tonight was no different. The only thing was the beef was a little on the tough side and when mention to the floor manager, the comment of that is why we give you a sharp knife seemed a little inappropriate.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Live piano music was nice. There was also live music in the adjacent bar

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 17, 2016

The occasion was luncheon with an elderly friend who uses a walker. The maîtresse d' immediately understood the situation and brought the three of us to a table that was easily accessible for a handicapped person. The food was excellent. Two of us had the linguini with veal which was outstanding; the veal had a crisp and flavorful impanatura while the veal itself was moist. The linguini was al dente with flavors balanced between tomato and (?fresh) herbs. Although I have had lunch at The Stage previously, this was the first time I had the veal and found it extraordinary, as did the second person in our party. Our guest had the salmon salad, which she found quite satisfactory for a light lunch. The portions are large; all three of us took part of our principal course home. She reported that the greens had remained fresh for the second meal. We finished with the warm pineapple crisp which had a light sweetness in contrast to the heavily sugared characteristic of most American desserts. The waiter was friendly and attentive, and he understood that we were there for visiting with one another as well as to dine. The rhythm of the service matched this intent. It was a highly enjoyable and leisurely two hours with good company and memorable cuisine. Luncheon is much more relaxed and less crowded than the dinner seatings.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great! Good tasty, service good, lots of parking and easy to get to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Love this place. Quality of the food is always excellent. Fish is always fresh. And the service is great. They have an excellent Geisha kona coffee that is a MUST!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Food was delicious as usual. The ambiance was perfect, not noisy. While the service was good, it could have been better. The server came to ask for our drink selection, stopped midway, and disappeared missing two of our other guests. I had to ask him to come back to complete our order. Also, it took awhile for our food to come out and there were not many people in the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Consistently fantastic dinner. The Colorado lamb, beef Wellington, poki, kampachi sashimi, Caesar salad, watermelon salad, cheese cake, pineapple dessert was so delicious. Thumbs up to chef Ron , sous chef Joy and their staff and waiter Kevin. Will be recommending this restaurant to everyone who wants to enjoy their meal in a fun, relaxing, enjoyable atmosphere. Their wine list is also fantastic.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.