About Stable Cafe -Biltmore Estate

1 Lodge Street
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

The convenient location next to Biltmore House, friendly hospitality, and delectable food make the Stable Cafe a popular stop after visits to the house and gardens. And the ambiance of the historic surroundings in the renovated stable complex is unmatched.
Enjoy lunch specials like the Stable Cafe Sampler of spice-rubbed smoked ribs, pulled pork barbeque, and herb-roasted rotisserie chicken - truly a barbecue lover"s delight! Sandwiches, char-grilled burgers, fresh salads and irresistible desserts round out the daily lunch menu.
Biltmore tickets or an annual pass are required to visit all restaurants on the estate.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southern, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm;

Cross Street:
McDowell Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 225-6370

Website:
http://www.biltmore.com/visit/dining/stable.asp

Entertainment:
Thank you for choosing Stable Cafe - The Biltmore Estate. Please remember, estate tickets or a Twelve Month pass are required to visit the estate and dine at The Stable Cafe. Should your plans change, please let us know. We look forward to serving you.

Parking Details:
Biltmore House guest parking lots, with shuttle service available.

Executive Chef:
Brian Hough

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Stable Cafe -Biltmore Estate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (44)
Special Occasion (41)
Good for a Date (33)
See All
Great for Lunch (32)
Casual (30)
Comfort Food (27)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Cozy (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Local Ingredients (19)
Seasonal (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Fun (17)
Authentic (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Good for Groups (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Kid-friendly (13)
Romantic (11)
Family Style (11)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Healthy (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
People Watching (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Scenic View (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Fireplace (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Private Room (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
597 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We always enjoy dining at the Stable Caf ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

We always enjoy dining at the Stable Cafe when visiting the Biltmore House. We love the idea of having a restaurant in a stable! The food is always exceptionally good.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great for casual, relaxed, eating. Uniq ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 3 days ago

Great for casual, relaxed, eating. Unique location of restored stable makes it fun.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Historic, Casual, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Fun, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I was quite disappointed with our trip t ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I was quite disappointed with our trip to the Stable Cafe. The food was pretty bad and the service was worse. Also, the table where we were seated was literally falling apart. I don't think we'll be going he.re again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

It was wonderful and is planning another ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

It was wonderful and is planning another trip. At that time I will be eating there again.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We recently dined at the Stable Cafe whi ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We recently dined at the Stable Cafe while visiting Biltmore Estate. The food was great for the occasion and the service was excellent. Our waitress accommodated our time constraints graciously and effectively. The food quality was wonderful and the atmosphere was terrific too. This is a spot you should dine at while visiting Biltmore.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very disappointed! The food was very exp ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Very disappointed! The food was very expensive and was not good at all. I don't mind paying high prices if the food is good. Our steaks were extremely thin and overcooked. The service was terrible and very slow. Our waiter seemed overworked and was not friendly. We will not return.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Food is always fantastic! Our server we ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food is always fantastic! Our server went above and beyond. She was great, even putting a tablecloth and tray over a floor vent so air did not blow on us.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We eat at the Stable Cafe every trip! Go ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We eat at the Stable Cafe every trip! Good service and kid's menu including grilled cheese.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great atmosphere, delicious food, and fa ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great atmosphere, delicious food, and fantastic service:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thanks for a fun lunch on 12/30/16! We t ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Thanks for a fun lunch on 12/30/16! We thoroughly enjoyed our meal!

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was impeccable from the time we ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Service was impeccable from the time we arrived until we left. We were treated with respect and felt special since two of us were celebrating our birthdays.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Groups, Historic, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reasonable food but was annoyed when w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Reasonable food but was annoyed when waiter promised free dessert and then charged us.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Had dinner at Stables after the Biltmore ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Had dinner at Stables after the Biltmore Candlelight tour. It is a large restaurant, if looking for something intimate, this is not the place. I suggest you make reservation, they were very busy and people without reservations were told to come back after 8 pm. We arrived early for our reservation and only place to sit prior to your reservation is in hall way around shops. There is not a bar / lounge to sit in. Check out menu online, adult meals are all 3 course meals (appetizer, entrée and dessert). You cannot just order smaller meals. It is expensive. The staff is friendly and efficient. It is worth eating at once, but will probably not try again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

My family took me here for my birthday. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

My family took me here for my birthday. I chose this restaurant because my daughter is an avid horse rider and I knew she would love the ambiance. We asked for a booth so we could eat in one of the stalls and we were accommodated immediately. Having been in the food and beverage industry as a manager for years, the service and timeliness of the food was impeccable. I was very impressed by our server Christine. Although the restaurant was full, she made us feel like we were the only ones there with light conversation and making sure I celebrated my day with a delightfully decorakted dessert.

We will definitely be back in the Spring.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Cozy, Family Style, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic! The overall menu had somethi ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Fantastic! The overall menu had something for everybody & the Bison Burger was Amazing!!! Very quaint family restaurant. ❤️

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a nice lunch after our Biltmore t ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We had a nice lunch after our Biltmore tours. We had reservations and they got us right in. We had the hamburgers and they were great! Our server was very attentive and gave us awesome service! We will definitely recommend this restaurant to others!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great to have a place right onsite to ha ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great to have a place right onsite to have a bite to eat for lunch. My salad was very good and the rotisserie chicken was as well.

Tags: Historic, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good food and casual elegance -- yo ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Very good food and casual elegance -- you're eating in a stable. Expect to pay $50-60 per person with wine. But for a special occasion, you can't beat it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never had Elk before, but it was better ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Never had Elk before, but it was better than cow. The setting was great and the service was flawless.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Veggies were so mushy it was almost baby ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Veggies were so mushy it was almost baby food consistency. Of the four dishes my family ordered, two were "unavailable" and we had to pick something else from the limited menu. Fish was overcooked. The kids meal ended up being the best and my whole family ended up picking from my son's plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

I ordered a salad with grilled chicken a ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I ordered a salad with grilled chicken added. The cicken was entirely dark meat. While l don't mind mixed chicken in casseroles, etc., I DID not like the taste of it mixed with greens and veggies. The waiter did remove it and did not charge me for it. The only grilled chicken I have ever been served, anywhere, on a salad has been breast meat. I was surprised to see it was all dark meat. Everything else we had was delicious. That is the best Pimento Cheese spread I have ever tasted. I would love to have that recipe!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Very accommodating staff. Excellent host ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Very accommodating staff. Excellent hostess and friendly server. We were there on Christmas Eve and it was busy but the staff remained genuinely pleasant and professional. Food was very good.

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

it was very good me and my wife loved it ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

it was very good me and my wife loved it . I thought the food would be a lot better but it was are first time there. and it was at the end of the day on Christmas eve. are service was great. we are both pass holders. and we love the Biltmore. and we will be back .

Tags: Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Good Vegetarian Options, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We love Biltmore. We are Passholders an ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We love Biltmore. We are Passholders and have been for several years. We typically eat at Cedric's which is our favorite. Cedric's was booked so we choose the Stable. We kept our reservations. The restaurant was decorated beautifully. We were seated and told that the evening menu was a set menu (pre fixe). There was no information prior to our reservation, in our confirmation email or at the door to let us know prior to being seated. It was very disappointing as we would not have chosen this type of meal for our family. We left a nice tip for the waiter who was very nice and polite and took our leave. I'm sure we will at some point return to the Stable but we will be certain to ask ahead of time about the menu.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

chicken was way over cooked, lacking goo ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 22, 2016

chicken was way over cooked, lacking good menu options for younger children (and teenagers), overpriced for what you getting. Ambiance and service; however were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Overall, Stable Cafe was a disappointing ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Overall, Stable Cafe was a disappointing experience. My expectations were high given that we were dining at the Biltmore a few days before Christmas. It was, at best, an overpriced menu designed for high volume. I will not return. There are many other places in Asheville that are exceptional.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Our family loved the creative cuisine we ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Our family loved the creative cuisine we enjoyed in the historic setting of original stalls of the Biltmore Stables.

Highly Recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is very convenient after a tour of ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 21, 2016

This is very convenient after a tour of the Biltmore estate - the food was pretty good - generous portions. It is a bit expensive for lunch - I fed 6 people and it was over $100. It is a large venue, so seating was no wait and the service was very good - our server was very friendly and appropriately attentive.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

We had reservations, however the hostess ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We had reservations, however the hostess said if you made the reservations after 9AM then I don't have you on my list? Thanks goodness there was not a wait. I guess you should make reservations early or not expect them to have you on the reservation list.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We just had a wonderful late lunch here. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We just had a wonderful late lunch here. Our party of 12 was handled with ease and our waitress was wonderful and handled our group with ease.

Tags: Special Occasion, Organic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stables architecture is lovely and makes ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Stables architecture is lovely and makes for small semi-private spaces between stall walls. Unique dishes sourced locally make for a unique and tasty menu. Three course meal with a few choices for each course. Nice wine and beer list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The Stable Cafe is our go to place when ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The Stable Cafe is our go to place when we are visiting Biltmore House around lunchtime. Easy access, and the menu has something for everyone.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Service was excellent, elk chop was okay ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Service was excellent, elk chop was okay, it was overcooked.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Great atmosphere at Biltmore. The food i ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Great atmosphere at Biltmore. The food is a little pricey for lunch, but worth it to sit down and enjoy a glass of wine and good food before touring the house. One of our favorite things to do when in Asheville!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a marvelous meal. Our waitress w ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We had a marvelous meal. Our waitress was lovely. She was very attentive without being intrusive. My filet was perfect and do was our experience at The Stable Cafe.

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Healthy, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to The Biltmore ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 15, 2016

This was our first visit to The Biltmore and we enjoyed it thoroughly. The Stable for dining was exceptional for service, food and atmosphere. We hope to be back again soon. Thank you for completing our visit.

Tags: Family Style, Worth the Drive, Fun, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Cozy, Comfort Food, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Stable Cafe is always a treat..Food ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The Stable Cafe is always a treat..Food is delicious and we never feel hurried.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Historic, Comfort Food, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There is little space between tables and ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 12, 2016

There is little space between tables and movement through the restaurant is slow. The food is exquisite and service is divine.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

My husband and I gifted a trip to oursel ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

My husband and I gifted a trip to ourselves to Biltmore for Christmas. Our dinner here was absolutely delicious! Service was excellent - we enjoyed every moment.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Authentic, Historic, Cozy, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Fun, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Absolutely loved everything about the St ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Absolutely loved everything about the Stable Cafe! The food was fantastic- cannot wait to go back

Tags: Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, People Watching, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Quick Bite, Kid-friendly, Historic, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.