Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Stable Cafe -Biltmore Estate

The convenient location next to Biltmore House, friendly hospitality, and delectable food make the Stable Cafe a popular stop after visits to the house and gardens. And the ambiance of the historic surroundings in the renovated stable complex is unmatched.
Enjoy lunch specials like the Stable Cafe Sampler of spice-rubbed smoked ribs, pulled pork barbeque, and herb-roasted rotisserie chicken - truly a barbecue lover"s delight! Sandwiches, char-grilled burgers, fresh salads and irresistible desserts round out the daily lunch menu.
Biltmore tickets or an annual pass are required to visit all restaurants on the estate.

1 Lodge Street
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southern, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm;

Cross Street:
McDowell Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 225-6370

Website:
http://www.biltmore.com/visit/dining/stable.asp

Entertainment:
Thank you for choosing Stable Cafe - The Biltmore Estate. Please remember, estate tickets or a Twelve Month pass are required to visit the estate and dine at The Stable Cafe. Should your plans change, please let us know. We look forward to serving you.

Parking Details:
Biltmore House guest parking lots, with shuttle service available.

Executive Chef:
Brian Hough

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Stable Cafe -Biltmore Estate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (67)
Historic (62)
Casual (57)
See All
Local Ingredients (36)
Comfort Food (35)
Fun (30)
Special Occasion (28)
Kid-friendly (27)
Good for a Date (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Family Style (22)
Authentic (22)
Good for Groups (20)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Cozy (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
People Watching (11)
Healthy (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Seasonal (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Romantic (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Scenic View (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Organic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Vegan (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
683 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Terrific food in a unique atmosphere. Highly recommended!

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We have eaten here several times for lunch. Never disappointed.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I must say the server was great, but the food was less than par for Biltmore. We went there for a late lunch after the Easter Sunday festivities they provided in front of the estate. The menu was skimpy and the food was OK. There were very few people at the Stable Cafe; I was expecting it to be packed. We had 7 in our party and the food took quite a long time to come out. With two hungry children with us, it made things a little uncomfortable.

Tags: Disabled Access, Casual, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Historic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Lunch was delightful! Our selections were the chicken salad croissant with homemade kettle chips and the pulled pork plate, both were delicious! I had a Cedric's Pale Ale which complimented the meal and my wife said the blackberry lemonade was very refreshing, just the right combination of tart and sweetness! For desert we shared the Lemon Poppyseed Cake, do not attemp to eat this alone! It is definitely more than two people can eat and it's amazing to say the least! Great food, fantastic wait staff and wonderful historic atmosphere!

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Family Style, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Historic, Fun, Great Beer, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The service was wonderful. The food was delicious, filling, and served in a timely manner. My husband and I came to Biltmore for our second wedding anniversary and chose this restaurant to dine at because of the menu selection and the unique design and recreation of the horse stable into a restaurant. Giving 5 stars for everything except ambiance because we were seated right in front of the door and took away from truly enjoying the atmosphere and conversation with people constantly walking right past us and the hostess station being so close even though most tables were empty(we had a reservation at 11am.) that was the only negative thing about the whole experience and I am sure we could have had that changed if we had mentioned it. Worth the money, would recommend planning ahead and making a reservation to skip the wait.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Fun, unique, historic venue located in old stables on the Biltmore Estate Property. Service was slow,(our particular wait person's attitude seemed like we were putting them out, but observed this was not the general attitude). Restaurant was very busy( as it has been both other times I have been there). Previous visit during lunch, we waited approximately 40 minutes for a table. Food was average, and expensive for what it was; but as a tourist destination this is to be expected. (Total bill for 1 lemonade, 1 beer, 1 burger/fries, and 1 dessert plate was $37.00 without gratuity. Dessert sampler was $11.95 for four, silver-dollar sized treats). Burger was average. Dining area is very loud, and tables are very tightly spaced, although booths are available. Would definitely recommend reservations.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great ambiance. We espeacilly liked the view of the estate as we had our lunch. This restaurant is a must if you are visiting the estate.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The use of historic horse stables as a restaurant/booth was really fun. The food was terrific!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Family Style, Good for Groups, Authentic, Historic, Fun, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We completely enjoyed our lunch at the Stables. My friend and I shared the barbeque plate for two and it was delicious and plentiful. Our third guest had the soup and quiche of the day and declared both tasty and satisfying. The service was excellent. Our waitress was attentive and very engaging. We would certainly recommend the Stables to Biltmore guests.

Tags: Wood Oven, Fun, Casual, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Historic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We got there early right before 11am our server Christine was the best we have ever had. The food was plentiful and really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

After touring the Biltmore with a bachelorette party we made a lunch reservation here. It is right next to the mansion. We sat upstairs and loved it.

The fried green tomato grilled cheese was DELICIOUS as was the pimento cheese app! Service was quick and our waitress was friendly and attentive. Would highly recommend for a casual lunch during your visit to the Biltmore estate!

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The hostess and server were exceptional. Friendly and helpful. Great customer service, attitude and smiles.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food was fabulous! Our waiter was very friendly and checked on us throughout our meal to make sure things were good and to see if we needed anything. I would highly recommend this place. Love the "horse stable" atmosphere. Definitely plan to return.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 7, 2017

This was our second time dining at the Stable and both times have been very enjoyable. The food and service are excellent. Great place to eat while visiting the biltmore

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great place for lunch,-very glad we made reservations-they were very busy. Service was good and food was delivered quickly considering the number of guests in the restaurant. Food was fresh and traditional. Seating is in the original horse stables at Vanderbilt estate,- nicely done!

Tags: Family Style, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 6, 2017

First trip to Biltmore!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 5, 2017

The food was delicious! The waitress was so friendly, happy and accommodating. I told her that I wasn't feeling very well and she recommended a cup of soup with crackers and buns. I also had the chicken salad. Wow! My husband had salmon with a sauce on it which was fabulous. It was such a pleasure to dine there. Will definitely return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Family Style, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Organic, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Authentic, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 5, 2017

We had spent four hours on our feet admiring the beauties of the Biltmore Estate when we stopped for lunch at 2 pm. We were seated quickly and greeted warmly by both hostess and our waitress.
She quickly delivered our drinks and then enthusiastically answered questions about items on the menu. Our food came quickly as well, and we found both dishes well-prepared. I highly recommend the bison burger for its tenderness and delicious taste. A huge piece of key lime pie with a towering cover of meringue finished off the meal. The meringue was the best I have ever eaten.
Even when we had finished our meal and paid the bill, our waitress remained attentive. We were never rushed and felt comfortable taking our time at the table as we admired the beautiful repurposing of the stable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Loved the Biltmore so much but the Stable Cafe was more of a cafeteria. I would recommend Cedric's before the Stable Cafe.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Just delightful! Our server was wonderful too! It was a enjoyable lunch!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Casual, Fun, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I brought my mom , daughter, and granddaughter to the Biltmore for a wonderful day . We had lunch at the cafe the food was wonderful and the staff was very welcoming .

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Fun, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We love having a meal here when we visit Biltmore. The food is excellent and the service was great. We had chicken salad, roasted chicken, and the fresh basil tomato soup. We cleaned our plates. The only thing I would love more is if you could have a meal here without having to buy tickets to visit the house. We would come more frequently then!

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The food was so-so and expensive. The staff was friendly and the location was convenient. Next time I would dine at the food court...cheaper.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

This is a nice place to eat after touring Biltmore. We made our reservation for 2 hours after our tour time, which worked out perfectly. It's the only place to eat with indoor seating right by the house. We enjoyed the atmosphere of the converted stables and even the kids liked the food.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We have eaten here several times and have always enjoyed it....just a fun place to eat and the food and service have always been good. We will be back.

Tags: Historic, Casual, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Outstanding southern luncheon meal. The sampler platter was wonderful. Excellent quality food!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Good stop during Biltmore visit. The hostess was unfriendly and condescending and we had a reservation. Ordered soup and had to ask for a piece of bread. Very noisy, food ok, quick delivery and convenient for visit but nothing special and front desk really off putting

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great food and service at a reasonable price. Our waitress was great and had good advice.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Everything we ordered was great! The staff was friendly and made great suggestions!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Wonderful day at Biltmore with a great lunch! They even gave us a complimentary dessert since it was our anniversary. Very personal touch. Loved the White Sangrias they were delicious. Food was tasty and service was fast. Great restaurant for a lunch while touring Biltmore.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We were told to have BBQ at the Stable Cafe and it was good. The Bison burger was tender, but not much flavor. The pulled pork was juicy, tender and just the right amount of smokey flavor. I actually ate most of it without the sauce which was a little too sweet for my taste.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 17, 2017

To eat at the stable cafe, you must first pay to get into the biltmore estate. assuming that is not an issue, then this restaurant is a possible choice, provided you have a reservation.

pricing is on the high side. the hamburger plate was $15.50 and the turkey sandwich with chips was $14.95. The burger was a good size and nicely cooked medium rare. the fries were cold, and were quickly replaced when requested.
the high point of the meal was the three cheesecake sampler. these were excellent.
service was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Just a visit to Biltmore! It was wonderful as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We really enjoyed the entire experience at the Stable Cafe! The atmosphere was great and the food was delicious!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 16, 2017

My husband and I have been Season Passholders for several years. Using our free appreciation tickets we brought friends with us who would not have been able to be there otherwise.
From the moment we arrived at The Stable our friends couldn't stop raving about the restaurant. The ambiance, the historic building, and the food ( the best chicken salad I've ever eaten ), lmy tomato bisque and the guys burgers were also excellent .

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Casual, Fun, Great for Lunch, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We always love eating at the Stable when we bring friends to tour the Biltmore. It's fun to look about and envision what the stable would have been like at the turn of the twentieth century. The food is delicious and there's always something to please everyone.

Tags: Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 14, 2017

This is my second visit to the stable. How fun to dine in the old stables from Biltmore! It is a beautiful facility. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was delicious. I had a kale and quinoa salad, my husband had a Carolina bar b q, which was pulled pork. The portions were very large. You could consider sharing a meal. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Authentic, Comfort Food, Casual, Local Ingredients, Family Style, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We had a great lunch! The food was delicious! And having a reservation here is a must if you want to eat before or after your tour.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Casual, Historic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had a super time. Great service, food and atmosphere. Clean restaurant and super friendly staff.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My wife and I spent the day at the Biltmore House and decided to have lunch at the Stable Cafe. We arrived a bit early but were seated promptly and ordered a cool glass of ice tea. (They do have wine and beer made on the estate for those so inclined.) The historical setting is certainly part of the experience and we were seated squarely in the middle of what was a huge stable in the early 20th century. I order a smoked turkey sandwich and my wife had the Italian Grilled Cheese. Both were made with fresh and delicious ingredients from the estate. Mine had a side of kettle chips and they were spicy and tasty. My wife's grilled cheese which she said was the best grilled cheese she had ever had came with the blandest pasta salad ever. Substitute the chips for the pasta salad, you won't be sorry. Throughout the service was prompt, attentive, and friendly. If you are going to spend the day at the Biltmore House I strongly suggest making a reservation at the Stable Cafe for lunch. Its seconds from the entrance to the house and you will not be disappointed with the food.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.