About Stable Cafe -Biltmore Estate

1 Lodge Street
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

The convenient location next to Biltmore House, friendly hospitality, and delectable food make the Stable Cafe a popular stop after visits to the house and gardens. And the ambiance of the historic surroundings in the renovated stable complex is unmatched.
Enjoy lunch specials like the Stable Cafe Sampler of spice-rubbed smoked ribs, pulled pork barbeque, and herb-roasted rotisserie chicken - truly a barbecue lover"s delight! Sandwiches, char-grilled burgers, fresh salads and irresistible desserts round out the daily lunch menu.
Biltmore tickets or an annual pass are required to visit all restaurants on the estate.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southern, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm;

Cross Street:
McDowell Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 225-6370

Website:
http://www.biltmore.com/visit/dining/stable.asp

Entertainment:
Thank you for choosing Stable Cafe - The Biltmore Estate. Please remember, estate tickets or a Twelve Month pass are required to visit the estate and dine at The Stable Cafe. Should your plans change, please let us know. We look forward to serving you.

Parking Details:
Biltmore House guest parking lots, with shuttle service available.

Executive Chef:
Brian Hough

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Stable Cafe -Biltmore Estate
Stable Cafe -Biltmore Estate

Stable Cafe -Biltmore Estate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Asheville / Western North Carolina
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

Great for Lunch (25)
Special Occasion (15)
Good for Groups (9)
See All
Kid-friendly (9)
Scenic View (7)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Romantic (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Authentic (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Historic (2)
Casual (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Cozy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
484 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A great taste of the south. I highly re ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined 3 days ago

A great taste of the south. I highly recommend the sampler

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Relaxing enjoyable lunch after a casual ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Relaxing enjoyable lunch after a casual walk and some sight seeing. The vegetable soup and burger were very good but the dessert was delicious. Finally, fulfilled my craving for rhubarb and strawberry parfait.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Did not know there was a preset menu for ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Did not know there was a preset menu for concert nights. I was expecting a casual dinner, but the food was fine.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious food, great service!@

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Delicious food, great service!@

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ate at the Stable Cafe prior to atten ...

 
 (Naples)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We ate at the Stable Cafe prior to attending a Biltmore concert. It was a fixed 3 course menu. The food was good but not great. I had the trout and enjoyed it but you could tell it had been under the lights for a while. My husband had pork chop, which he said was so-so. Service was polite but not personable. We would go back prior to a concert but would not pick just for dinner. I would give lunch a try in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

This was our second visit to The Stable ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This was our second visit to The Stable Cafe at Biltmore, both visits were during a concert so we do understand it being a special limited menu and being loud and hectic. What we don't understand is how the food can be priced so high while being such substandard quality. At best the food was only fair and certainly not what we expect from chefs at Biltmore. The prices were extremely high for what we received. Next time we come to a concert, and I'm sure we will be back, we'll eat at one of the outside vendors or order one of the picnic baskets.

We LOVED the service, the staff is GREAT and the atmosphere is outstanding. Our server was punctual, friendly, funny and very well experienced. She was a JOY to be around. Just very disappointed in the food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

The service was outstanding and the food ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The service was outstanding and the food was very tasty. A major problem existed with the HVAC system and it was most uncomfortable. We were seated in the up stairs or loft area of the stable and the air conditioning could not take care of the extra bodies in the room and the high temperature on the exterior of the building. It was a memorable experience but for the wrong reasons!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Another enjoyable lunch at The Stable Ca ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Another enjoyable lunch at The Stable Cafe kicked off a short but great stay at the Inn at Biltmore to attend the Mary Chapin Carpenter Emmy Lou Harris outdoor concert. Enjoyed a refreshing summer wedge salad with delicious strawberries and a cup of thick rich broccoli cheese soup. My husband said the southern chicken salad was top notch - just the right amount of mayo and the chicken was tender and flavorful. His starter was a bowl of broccoli cheese soup. A glass each of Biltmore Sangiovese complimented our lunches very well. Way too full for dessert..maybe next time.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Stable Cafe is a little pricy however th ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Stable Cafe is a little pricy however the food and service are perfect. Great for romantic getaway , special occasion for two.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was delicious but pricey for lu ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The food was delicious but pricey for lunch. The Stable Cafe Sampler was enough for 3 people. The special occasion is visiting the Biltmore. You have to splurge once in a while.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

In fairness, it was a very busy day at t ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

In fairness, it was a very busy day at the estate, but we were seated next to kitchen and very busy server area. Trays were being carried over our heads and constant waiter traffic around us. Service was friendly but slow. It was not a relaxing experience but we liked our lunch just fine. I would not recommend it on a busy day and never accept a table next to kitchen.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Highly recommend the bison burger. It wa ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Highly recommend the bison burger. It was the gem of our meal...very flavorful and juicy. The chicken salad croissant was just average; lots of mayo and lacking flavor. Can get very busy after noon so reservations are recommended!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Limited menu but was very tasty. Are the ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Limited menu but was very tasty. Are there on two different days when the Biltmore Estate was ridiculously busy on a heatwave week. USE OPEN TABLE FOR RESERVATIONS!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We stopped in for a double date, and wer ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We stopped in for a double date, and were seated immediately in a nice cubicle type area. This took the noise levels down some. Our friend was unpleased to find a lemon seed in his sprite, but overall the dining experience was great and our server outstandingly friendly and lovely. I do not recall her name, but I feel she should be given recognition.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresh made pickles and large portions.

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Fresh made pickles and large portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Excellent food and service! Thanks to ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Excellent food and service! Thanks to whole staff!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique dining experience. Food good, ser ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Unique dining experience. Food good, service good.

We did have a reservation but had to wait 30 min like all walk ups. We were placed on same list as walk ups and hostess did not care that we had a reservation or give us priority.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Comfort food with a unique twist.

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Comfort food with a unique twist.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Made reservation to avoid waiting for a ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Made reservation to avoid waiting for a table. Was escorted directly to a table. Waiter came soon for our drink orders and selection. Waiter was very personable. The chicken dish was a good homecooked meal. My wife and I enjoyed our meal in the stables of the Biltmore.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was ok. Price is high for the quali ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was ok. Price is high for the quality. Service was very good. Over all I would eat there again if I needed to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We were there for lunch and it was very ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We were there for lunch and it was very busy. Ordered the bbq plate for 2. It was much more than we expected. You should have a hearty appetite if you order this. The ribs and roasted chicken were done to perfection but we couldn't fit the pulled pork.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Had a reservation and still had to wait ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Had a reservation and still had to wait 20 minutes food was mediocre but the service was great too noisy and stuffy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Always a delight

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

As always the dining experience at The Stable was wonderful. Highly recommend this establishment while visiting The Biltmore Estate.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific group lunch!

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Delicious food, courteous & quick service, & great ambience! Just perfect for our small travel group.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambiance is very good dining in a restor ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Ambiance is very good dining in a restored stall. Dining partner thought the chicken salad was excellent. My turkey reuben was cold and the cheese wasn't melted. Seemed like the marble rye bread was toasted and the turkey pastrami, cheese and arugula placed inside the toasted bread. We also felt like we were rushed even though we ate lunch early when restaurant was nearly empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Very nice restaurant for lunch at Biltmo ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Very nice restaurant for lunch at Biltmore Estate. I had the buffalo burger - it was cooked perfectly and the taste was great. My wife had the chicken salad sandwich which was a bit dry. The taste was fine, but she did not like the overall texture of the sandwich. We were with friends and were seated in a stall which added to the experience. Overall, we were pleased with the restaurant, the food and the wait staff. I recommend the Stable Café for anyone visiting Biltmore Estate.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

A fun stable turned into restaurant

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Delightful setting but noisy and tables close together. The food was average for lunch fare in a restaurant, but we enjoyed the Biltmore stable idea in our surroundings. The food was good, but usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food is good

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Food is good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Lunch

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

I have enjoyed taking family and friends to Biltmore. The Stable is a great place to have lunch before or after your tour of the main house. They have a lovely gluten free menu and we have always received a great meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is excellent!! Nicely done!

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

The food is excellent!! Nicely done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

A good time was had by all

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

We eat at the Stable Cafe each time we visit Biltmore, telling ourselves we will try another location on the estate... but never do. Now that we are passholders and can return as often as we like, maybe we will but for now, the Cafe still remains a favorite lunch place when visiting Biltmore.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and service!

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Very attentive server the whole meal, but our group had to wait 30 minutes for our checks!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food in a wonderful atmosphere!

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Thankful we had a reservation as the wait was getting longer quickly. We were able to walk right in and get seated. Service was incredible. The food was brought out in a timely manner. Absolutely delicious food plus they had vegetarian options(one of my children) and a children's menu(the other one). I would definitely eat there again!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in Class

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

My favorite dining spot at Biltmore Estate. Excellent food, terrific service and pleasing ambience contribute to a nearly perfect lunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Try the sampler!

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

You have to try the sampler! It has rotisserie chicken, bar b-q and ribs. All were absolutely delicious. Even though we were there on Easter Sunday and it was really busy, we were seated right away and the service was exceptional. I would highly recommend The Stables, but from what I experienced at Biltmore...you can't go wrong with anything on the Estate.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The desserts were the standout of the me ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

The desserts were the standout of the meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Great ambiance. Fast service.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

This was a surprise. The venue is the old stables attached to the Biltmore estate. The stalls and still visible and add great ambiance. For a restaurants this large, the service was surprisingly quick and the staff was knowledgeable and friendly. Not as cheap as the self-serve options close by but worth it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Yummy food with a relaxed atmosphere

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Yummy food with a relaxed atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Stable is an extension of one's visi ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

The Stable is an extension of one's visit to the Biltmore Estate and serves very good food. It is cool how the actual stables were converted into an eating space. We were seated immediately on arrival despite a crowded dining room. A reservation is highly recommended.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Expensive, But Good and Convenient to the Estate

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I had the Fontina Grilled Cheese with the White Bean Soup and my husband had the Classic Burger with fries. We were still full 7 hours later, even after walking the grounds of the estate and Antler Hill. Granted, those two items were about $40 with tip, but it was worth the experience. The food there is nothing to play with. It will fill you up most definitely. However, if you are going to come here on the weekend, I suggest you get a reservation. You will wait if you don't.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.