About Stable Cafe -Biltmore Estate

1 Lodge Street
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

The convenient location next to Biltmore House, friendly hospitality, and delectable food make the Stable Cafe a popular stop after visits to the house and gardens. And the ambiance of the historic surroundings in the renovated stable complex is unmatched.
Enjoy lunch specials like the Stable Cafe Sampler of spice-rubbed smoked ribs, pulled pork barbeque, and herb-roasted rotisserie chicken - truly a barbecue lover"s delight! Sandwiches, char-grilled burgers, fresh salads and irresistible desserts round out the daily lunch menu.
Biltmore tickets or an annual pass are required to visit all restaurants on the estate.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southern, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm;

Cross Street:
McDowell Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 225-6370

Website:
http://www.biltmore.com/visit/dining/stable.asp

Entertainment:
Thank you for choosing Stable Cafe - The Biltmore Estate. Please remember, estate tickets or a Twelve Month pass are required to visit the estate and dine at The Stable Cafe. Should your plans change, please let us know. We look forward to serving you.

Parking Details:
Biltmore House guest parking lots, with shuttle service available.

Executive Chef:
Brian Hough

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Stable Cafe -Biltmore Estate, Asheville, NC
Stable Cafe -Biltmore Estate, Asheville, NC

Stable Cafe -Biltmore Estate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Asheville
American
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

Special Occasion (26)
Great for Lunch (25)
Historic (25)
See All
Comfort Food (15)
Casual (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for a Date (12)
Cozy (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Seasonal (7)
Scenic View (6)
Fun (6)
Authentic (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Family Style (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Romantic (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Vegan (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Private Room (1)
People Watching (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
529 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was great! Food not as good ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

The service was great! Food not as good as prior times I have been there. I had bangers and hash. The sauage was good but the rest of the dish was cold an I could not eat it! Also it was a cold day and the fan was blowing down on our table! Could not out fast enough to warm up!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Service very good - waitperson friendly, ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 4 days ago

Service very good - waitperson friendly, attentive, responsive to needs. Ambiance excellent. Food pretty good - soup a little thin, main course OK, desert excellent. Draft beer fair to middlin'. Coffee good. General manager friendly, helpful (our daughter called while we were eating and she wanted to pay for the meal. Got it done with help from general manager. We will be back.

Tags: Historic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very friendly staff Wonderful food opti ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined 4 days ago

Very friendly staff

Wonderful food options

Historic/interesting venue

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ever a treat to be at Biltmore, even if ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Ever a treat to be at Biltmore, even if you are not doing the Biltmore House Tour, there are shops right beside the Stable Cafe. Valet parking is available at the house 12/2016 for $20.00, or you park in a lot and ride the trolly to the house. Your holiday spirits will be lifted by being there! Set Menu during the holidays, but very good food..

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

More choices for dinner dining...not as ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

More choices for dinner dining...not as eclectic a menu. Watched a lot of people looking at menu, funny expressions. Beet salad appetizer not to my liking, only good choice was corn chowder. Make menu more down to earth....

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

We go to the Stable every Christmas seas ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We go to the Stable every Christmas season for a special get together with our friends. We are not pushed to get out! And we enjoy the festive mood of the restaurant at this time of year. We hope to get the same booth next year. We enjoyed the food and atmosphere. Service was great.

D and B.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Thoroughly enjoyed the Lunch Meal, not s ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed the Lunch Meal, not so for the dinner meal.

Outstanding Service at the dinner hour....Waitress was wonderful. Very delightful.

Out of 4 adult entrees, 2 were not edible. Pork chops were not done and couldn't cut them. One ordered a filet and it was uncooked. The roasted chicken was good.

The desserts were okay.

The 2 pork chops were taken off our ticket.

We still enjoyed our fellowship, just not the majority of the dinner meal.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

JUST AWSOME ,EVERYTHING WAS ON TIME.FOOD ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 2, 2016

JUST AWSOME ,EVERYTHING WAS ON TIME.FOOD WAS EVERYTHING YOU COULD ASK FOR.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome lunch. Service was outstanding, ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Awesome lunch. Service was outstanding, food was delicious... We will do it again!

Tags: Historic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I enjoyed the Rotisserie Chicken breast ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 1, 2016

I enjoyed the Rotisserie Chicken breast quarter it was lighted seasoned and juicy. I wished the plate came with more veggies. The mashed potatoes was good and creamy. The service from the hostess , cooks and server was excellent. They honored my reservation request to avoid my food allergies and table setting. Thank you for making my dinner enjoyable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was very good for the price and i w ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Food was very good for the price and i would reccomend to any one

Tags: Outstanding Value, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Couldn't have picked a better spot for d ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Couldn't have picked a better spot for dinner! From the manager who found a booth for us to our server who was knowledgeable about the menu, attentive and friendly, the evening was a success.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Historic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place at the biltmore good food gr ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great place at the biltmore good food great service

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Book for lunch hours for a much more rea ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Book for lunch hours for a much more reasonable price rather than dinner hours

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food and service was excellent! The ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The food and service was excellent! There was too much noise in the restaurant. With reservations, we went straight to the booth that we requested. Our table was not very stable. It was a little bit on the expensive side for what you get.

Tags: Comfort Food, Seasonal, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Had Thanksgiving dinner here. The Turkey ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Had Thanksgiving dinner here. The Turkey was exceptional- moist and flavorful. Key Lime pie was the star of the show- mile high Swiss meringue and a buttery crust.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful & magical evening sta ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had a wonderful & magical evening starting with a delicious dinner, great service then we were off to an unforgettable candlelight tour in the mansion. Loved every moment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food and service were above and beyo ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The food and service were above and beyond expations. Wonderful place to eat!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. Good Service. Interesting dec ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Good food. Good Service. Interesting decor. Restaurant was so cold we had to eat quickly and get out of there. It must have been in the mid to low 60's. After 20 minutes we were shivering and had to put our coats on just to bear it. Cold air continued to blow on us and we were so glad to get out of there. We would never go there in the winter again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food and perfect place to take a d ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food and perfect place to take a date, Go have a try

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We really enjoyed the Stable Cafe and of ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We really enjoyed the Stable Cafe and of the three restaurants we tried at Biltmore, the Stable was our favorite. We both had the Carolina Barbecue plate was delicious, and we shared the Key Lime Pie. The service was great and we loved how they re-purposed the old stable. We recommend the Stable Cafe to anyone interested in a good meal.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service of any Biltmore estate resta ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The service of any Biltmore estate restaurant is great. The stable café is no exception. The food was OK it was not my favorite, chicken was a bit overcooked and there really wasn't any good flavor I was hoping for. The location of the restaurant is really unique and the service was wonderful I just wish the food would match everything else

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

I love this restaurant because of the in ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I love this restaurant because of the interior. It's so cool to dine in what was once the stables. I just realized there is also a 2nd floor level for dining that used to be the hayloft. We ate here years ago and I don't think that was available then. I would recommend reservations because it was packed. Our reservation (on Open Table) was at 2pm, but we finished our tour at 1pm. There was a 25 minute wait for a table, but since we had reservations already, they went ahead and seated us right away!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had dinner at the Stabl ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 18, 2016

My husband and I had dinner at the Stable Cafe before visiting the Biltmore house for the Candlelight Christmas Tour and the location was PERFECT and provided us easy access to our tour after dinner. The food was extremely filling and everything we had during our meal exceeded our expectations. If you've never tried Elk, this is your chance. I had the Filet and my husband had the Elk Chop and once I tried his meal, I kind of wish I had been more daring! It was amazing, but then again, so was my steak. We also each had the wine flight during our meal and it gave us the chance to try some of the wines that aren't available at the standard tastings at the winery. We loved our experience at the Stable Cafe and I would do it again in a heartbeat!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great mother daughter visit to your and ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great mother daughter visit to your and have lunch.

Tags: Historic, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Family Style, Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, People Watching, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The mashed potatoes were so thick and pa ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The mashed potatoes were so thick and pasty! The staff was not professional. I was distracted by 2 employees who stood (1 leaning on service equipment) talking the entire time of my meal! Broccoli was burnt and limp. Way overpriced for the entire experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Great good, great service, great atmosp ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great good, great service, great atmosphere. Second time and I am sure there will be a third.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous dining experience. Carlos, our ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Fabulous dining experience. Carlos, our waiter did an outstanding job with our group of seven.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Historic, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was over the top and the foo ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The service was over the top and the food was amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice atmosphere. Food and service were ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Nice atmosphere. Food and service were excellent. It's a 3 course meal, appetizer, entree and dessert. The price depends on your entree. They did allow me to substitute garlic mashed potatoes for the tomato risotto.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful time celebrating our ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had a wonderful time celebrating our Fiftieth Anniversary we are far away from our Family The staff made us feel special changed out Table when we asked no problem Checked on us Wonderful way to celebrate We had flowers delivered from your Floral Shop they were beautiful still enjoying them We cant thank you enough for helping us celebrate this special occasion. We do go to Cedrics Tavern for other holidays as well. The Biltmore has made Holidays bearable when we dont fly home to celebrate with our Children. Thank You again for a pleasurable dinner . The Stable Cafe Staff was excellent Susan and James

Tags: Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Casual atmosphere with high end food!! ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Casual atmosphere with high end food!! Many food and drink options as well as gluten free options that were beyond the normal gluten free menu items you get in most places. We love this place and eat here every time we visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Vegan, Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The kale quinoa salad was delicious. Th ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The kale quinoa salad was delicious. The dressing was perfect since I like my salads lighted dressed. My husband had the burger and it was also very good. We will have to try their ribs the next time.

Tags: Vegan, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Our service was impeccable! We thorough ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Our service was impeccable! We thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Enjoyed the food, the atmosphere, everyt ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Enjoyed the food, the atmosphere, everything was perfect couldn't have asked for anything more. Our server offered great tips and suggestions on what to eat and drink, never kept us waiting without being intrusive. Will definitely go there again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made a reservation for 12 and when we ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We made a reservation for 12 and when we arrived they squeezed us at a table for 10. The restaurant was empty. Only good part of this restaurant was our server was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

We got a bite to eat there because we we ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We got a bite to eat there because we were visiting the Biltmore Estate and it was convenient. Although the food was good and the service friendly, I would certainly not go out of my way to have a meal there. The choices are limited and the food is simple every day food. Handy when you are on the Biltmore grounds.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Had a wonderful lunch - roasted red pepp ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Had a wonderful lunch - roasted red pepper bisque, corn chowder, beet salad, and pimento cheese dip. With a class of Biltmore Chardonnay, it couldn't be beat!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The sampler meal was great...and really ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The sampler meal was great...and really fast service! Fun to eat in a converted horse stall!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Service and Food

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Great Service and Food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.