Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Stable Cafe -Biltmore Estate

The convenient location next to Biltmore House, friendly hospitality, and delectable food make the Stable Cafe a popular stop after visits to the house and gardens. And the ambiance of the historic surroundings in the renovated stable complex is unmatched.
Enjoy lunch specials like the Stable Cafe Sampler of spice-rubbed smoked ribs, pulled pork barbeque, and herb-roasted rotisserie chicken - truly a barbecue lover"s delight! Sandwiches, char-grilled burgers, fresh salads and irresistible desserts round out the daily lunch menu.
Biltmore tickets or an annual pass are required to visit all restaurants on the estate.

1 Lodge Street
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southern, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm;

Cross Street:
McDowell Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 225-6370

Website:
http://www.biltmore.com/visit/dining/stable.asp

Entertainment:
Thank you for choosing Stable Cafe - The Biltmore Estate. Please remember, estate tickets or a Twelve Month pass are required to visit the estate and dine at The Stable Cafe. Should your plans change, please let us know. We look forward to serving you.

Parking Details:
Biltmore House guest parking lots, with shuttle service available.

Executive Chef:
Brian Hough

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Stable Cafe -Biltmore Estate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (93)
Casual (72)
Comfort Food (47)
See All
Local Ingredients (44)
Kid-friendly (38)
Fun (32)
Special Occasion (31)
Historic (30)
Good for a Date (26)
Good for Groups (25)
Authentic (25)
Worth the Drive (23)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Healthy (15)
Cozy (15)
Scenic View (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Family Style (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Seasonal (14)
Great for Brunch (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
People Watching (13)
Quick Bite (12)
Disabled Access (12)
Romantic (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Afternoon Coffee (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Great Beer (6)
Business Meals (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Organic (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Live Music (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vegan (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Waterfront (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
772 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

Came for a vacation trip to Biltmore and wanted the full experience by eating at the Stable Cafe. We had a very nice time and the food was very good! Definitely would recommend if you want the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and service plus dining in a historical location. We loved it!

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

Great atmosphere with horse stalls as booths...really cool. Our server, Carlos, was awesome. He made the experience wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 6 days ago

We enjoyed our lunch at the Stable Cafe. Our group had the French Dip, a burger & the Chicken salad plate. It was all very good. Attentive and fast service.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 6 days ago

After all the great reviews I was disappointed. The food was nothing special for the price. The mashed potatoes were skimmed over. The chicken was dry. The atmosphere might have been cool if we hadn't been crammed in a corner stall by the kitchen. The only good thing was that it was quick.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 13, 2017

They didn't have my reservation on the list when we got there. It wasn't busy so we were seated right away. Price for food was a little high ,but the food was good. The service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We made our reservation online the evening before our lunchtime, received confirmation at the same time. Amazing surroundings, awesome and delicious food choices with friendly and helpful staff. Please, please, please save room for dessert!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Casual, Authentic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I was a little disappointed. We had been to the Stable Cafe before and had wonderful food. Also, because it is associated with Biltmore I had high expectations. The waitress seemed harried and exhausted. Her uniform was dirty and the food was so-so. My vegetables were barely recognizable as vegetables. They were shrived and had been overcooked. We were guests of the Biltmore Inn and, in retrospect, I would have gone back to the Inn for our evening meal instead of the Stable Cafe. Maybe it has become a little more touristy and mass-crowd oriented. Nonetheless, it was a less-than impressive meal and experience.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We have eaten at The Stable twice Both times the food was excellent. We enjoyed it very much. We would definitely go again

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Get the seafood platter! Share it with someone. My daughter and I loved it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Casual, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 5, 2017

No big surprise, the food here is designed mostly not to offend the masses of people who flow through the Biltmore--nothing is spicy, or even very flavorful. Friendly service throughout the meal was the only saving grace from bland pimiento cheese and flavorless bbq. A forgettable meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Enjoyed meal, chicken a bit dry but otherwise is our favorite restaurant at Biltmore

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 4, 2017

The service and food were great. Made a reservation but showed up an hour early and was seated almost immediately. Everything was fresh and delicious. If you ever visit the Biltmore Estate, definitely should dine here.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Excellent food - Unique space - Great Drinks too! We were there on a Vacation. Enjoyed the touring the Estate and a late Lunch at the Stable Cafe Was a GREAT way to end the trip to the Biltmore

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, People Watching, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Stable Cafe is right next door to the main entrance for the Biltmore House. We had a 1:30 entrance to the house, so I made an 11:30 reservation for lunch. When the crowds and the heat in the gardens got to be too much, we ducked into the Stable Cafe for a very enjoyable lunch. Service was remarkably fast, leaving us plenty of time to enjoy the shops surrounding the cafe before heading into the house at our reserved time. The cafe used to be the actual stables for the main house, and you can still see the walls of the horse stalls. Portions are large, so my husband and i split a salad, but our kids had no trouble finishing theirs. And we all had dessert.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Ok I guess we'll start with the check in process, when our buzzer went off we went to the hostess stand. It took 5 hostess/wait staff and 5 minutes to figure out if they had a table for us. It was interesting to eat in the stables, kind of cool. We got the shared bbq platter, please make another choice. The chicken was extremely dry, I'm not sure there was enough bbq sauce in the stable for it. They brought us another one that wasn't much better. The ribs were ok at best and the pulled pork was soggy and over done, there was no texture left to it. The sides were alright but that's not what I was there to eat. The manager tried to make it up to us and offered to make something else but we had no interest in letting them try to make a 4th meat. We took our check and finished the rest of our day, really wish we would have tried a different place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great food, great environment. A tad pricey but that's what you're going to get there in a tourist area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We absolutely Love The Biltmore. On our previous visit we dined at the Stable Cafe and looked forward to dining here again this trip. However, it appears as though there may have been a change in chefs or something in the kitchen. I was brought noticeably overcooked and dry rotisserie chicken twice and the rest of my party thought their food was just okay. We were very disappointed this visit because we expected it to be like our last one. Our server however was very accommodating and nice, sorry I can't remember his name but it started with a T. We will return and hope that the kitchen was just having a bad day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Stable Cafe has a very unique setting. It was once the actual horse Stable at Biltmore Estate. When making reservations, ask for the horse stall seating. Your table is in an actual horses stall complete with troughs. How fun! The food and the service was excellent. The atmosphere was never duplicated in our dining experiences. The staff were all very happy to be there and we can tell that Biltmore Estates takes care of them. Happy employees, happy customers! We had a great experience!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fun, Comfort Food, Healthy, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The rotisserie chicken was amazingly tender and moist. Having the choice of portion size was great for lunch and the mashed potatoes and veggie medley were a delicious blend. The dessert of key lime pie was bodacious and yummy to share. It was a delightful and unique experience to dine in the horse stable with a special history.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Loved our dining experience at the Stable Cafe. Food and service was excellent. Our waitress, Cindy was excellent. They were also prepared for our reservation. Will go again!

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Reservation is meaningless. You're placed in the queue with everyone else. Food is nothing special. Over crowded and noisy. Hold your appetite for one of the many great restaurants in Asheville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Such a fun place to dine while at the Biltmore! Loved our seats within one of the original stalls. Cool concept and great menu for lunch!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Food was first rate and the staff was just attentive enough to be helpful and not overbearing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Wonderful service! Unique experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Good food, great atmosphere, would definitely recommend.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 23, 2017

This was a great place to eat. My wife and I celebrated our 40th anniversary and ate here. Very interesting and fun!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Good food and very tasty. The soup was delicious and the rotisserie chicken is a classic. A reservation is a good idea and also request a horse stall for ambiance.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We had the chicken salad. It honestly is the best I've ever had! Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 19, 2017

We enjoyed our lunch at Stable Cafe as usual. Great service and delicious food.

Tags: Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This restaurant has an unique charm about it. Some of the tables are actually in stalls. We enjoyed the atmosphere and the food. It was a great experience all around!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food was good, the service was excellent and we were amazed at how quickly the food was served.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 16, 2017

I cannot say enough about just how wonderful the food is here! Everything was just phenomenal, especially the chicken salad...best we have ever had. Our server was fantastic, she did not hover over us, but she was there to check on us and refill glasses as needed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We had a wonderful engagement meal and the staff was very accommodating. Donna was our server and she was very knowledgeable and engaging - a truly valued asset for the Biltmore company.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Always love the food at the Stable Cafe. I've found it best to get a reservation before noon. They don't take reservations for noon hour, so you can beat the crowd. Then go tour the Biltmore House.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 12, 2017

A nice place to enjoy lunch when visiting the Biltmore Estate. The stable building, where the restaurant is housed, is amazing to see, just like the mansion.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 10, 2017

This is a return visit for me and I am never disappointed. So cute to eat in a former stable. Food is always good.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We were pleasantly surprised that we were able to be seated one hour before our reservation. It was crowded and noisy but we expected that. All four of us ordered the Bison Burger, which included fries. We were happy to learn that my one daughter, who is gluten sensitive, was able to order this meal to suit. It came with chips, rather than the fries, which makes sense, as the fry oil can be used for breaded items.
What made me give three stars instead of a higher ranking is that none of us felt well after our meal. My husband and older daughter, especially, were pretty sick. We could not attribute our malaise to anything but the meal.
Service was sketchy. We had to seek out our server several times and relied on others to fill our glasses, get extra napkins, etc.
We will eat elsewhere upon return to the Biltmore.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We love touring the Biltmore and always take the opportunity to eat at one of the great places. This trip we decided on the Stable Care- the service was top notch, out waitress very friendly and attentive and our meals were wonderful. I had the quiche and salad (loved the salad dressing) and my husband had the pork plate with slaw and fries. Oh, the homemade pickles were so good. Very positive experience!

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 9, 2017

I would highly recommend the Stable Cafe. It is a nice place to eat while visiting the Biltmore House that isn't outrageously expensive. We enjoyed the rotisserie chicken and it was delicious. I would also recommend the blackberry flavored lemonade.

The server was friendly and we didn't have to wait too long for our order.

I am gluten free and didn't have a problem finding something on the menu I could eat.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.