About Stable Cafe -Biltmore Estate

1 Lodge Street
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

The convenient location next to Biltmore House, friendly hospitality, and delectable food make the Stable Cafe a popular stop after visits to the house and gardens. And the ambiance of the historic surroundings in the renovated stable complex is unmatched.
Enjoy lunch specials like the Stable Cafe Sampler of spice-rubbed smoked ribs, pulled pork barbeque, and herb-roasted rotisserie chicken - truly a barbecue lover"s delight! Sandwiches, char-grilled burgers, fresh salads and irresistible desserts round out the daily lunch menu.
Biltmore tickets or an annual pass are required to visit all restaurants on the estate.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southern, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm;

Cross Street:
McDowell Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 225-6370

Website:
http://www.biltmore.com/visit/dining/stable.asp

Entertainment:
Thank you for choosing Stable Cafe - The Biltmore Estate. Please remember, estate tickets or a Twelve Month pass are required to visit the estate and dine at The Stable Cafe. Should your plans change, please let us know. We look forward to serving you.

Parking Details:
Biltmore House guest parking lots, with shuttle service available.

Executive Chef:
Brian Hough

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Stable Cafe -Biltmore Estate
Stable Cafe -Biltmore Estate

Stable Cafe -Biltmore Estate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Asheville / W. North Carolina
Best Service
Asheville
American
Asheville
Best Restaurants in Asheville ›

great for lunch (31)
good for groups (16)
kid-friendly (13)
See All
fit for foodies (10)
special occasion (9)
great for brunch (8)
scenic view (5)
hot spot (3)
romantic (3)
neighborhood gem (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
late-night find (1)
notable wine list (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
469 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food and service! Thanks to ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and service! Thanks to whole staff!

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique dining experience. Food good, ser ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Unique dining experience. Food good, service good.

We did have a reservation but had to wait 30 min like all walk ups. We were placed on same list as walk ups and hostess did not care that we had a reservation or give us priority.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Comfort food with a unique twist.

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Comfort food with a unique twist.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Made reservation to avoid waiting for a ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Made reservation to avoid waiting for a table. Was escorted directly to a table. Waiter came soon for our drink orders and selection. Waiter was very personable. The chicken dish was a good homecooked meal. My wife and I enjoyed our meal in the stables of the Biltmore.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was ok. Price is high for the quali ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was ok. Price is high for the quality. Service was very good. Over all I would eat there again if I needed to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We were there for lunch and it was very ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We were there for lunch and it was very busy. Ordered the bbq plate for 2. It was much more than we expected. You should have a hearty appetite if you order this. The ribs and roasted chicken were done to perfection but we couldn't fit the pulled pork.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Had a reservation and still had to wait ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Had a reservation and still had to wait 20 minutes food was mediocre but the service was great too noisy and stuffy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Always a delight

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

As always the dining experience at The Stable was wonderful. Highly recommend this establishment while visiting The Biltmore Estate.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific group lunch!

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Delicious food, courteous & quick service, & great ambience! Just perfect for our small travel group.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambiance is very good dining in a restor ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Ambiance is very good dining in a restored stall. Dining partner thought the chicken salad was excellent. My turkey reuben was cold and the cheese wasn't melted. Seemed like the marble rye bread was toasted and the turkey pastrami, cheese and arugula placed inside the toasted bread. We also felt like we were rushed even though we ate lunch early when restaurant was nearly empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Very nice restaurant for lunch at Biltmo ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Very nice restaurant for lunch at Biltmore Estate. I had the buffalo burger - it was cooked perfectly and the taste was great. My wife had the chicken salad sandwich which was a bit dry. The taste was fine, but she did not like the overall texture of the sandwich. We were with friends and were seated in a stall which added to the experience. Overall, we were pleased with the restaurant, the food and the wait staff. I recommend the Stable Café for anyone visiting Biltmore Estate.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

A fun stable turned into restaurant

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Delightful setting but noisy and tables close together. The food was average for lunch fare in a restaurant, but we enjoyed the Biltmore stable idea in our surroundings. The food was good, but usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food is good

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Food is good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Lunch

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

I have enjoyed taking family and friends to Biltmore. The Stable is a great place to have lunch before or after your tour of the main house. They have a lovely gluten free menu and we have always received a great meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is excellent!! Nicely done!

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

The food is excellent!! Nicely done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

A good time was had by all

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

We eat at the Stable Cafe each time we visit Biltmore, telling ourselves we will try another location on the estate... but never do. Now that we are passholders and can return as often as we like, maybe we will but for now, the Cafe still remains a favorite lunch place when visiting Biltmore.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and service!

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Very attentive server the whole meal, but our group had to wait 30 minutes for our checks!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food in a wonderful atmosphere!

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Thankful we had a reservation as the wait was getting longer quickly. We were able to walk right in and get seated. Service was incredible. The food was brought out in a timely manner. Absolutely delicious food plus they had vegetarian options(one of my children) and a children's menu(the other one). I would definitely eat there again!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in Class

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

My favorite dining spot at Biltmore Estate. Excellent food, terrific service and pleasing ambience contribute to a nearly perfect lunch.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Try the sampler!

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

You have to try the sampler! It has rotisserie chicken, bar b-q and ribs. All were absolutely delicious. Even though we were there on Easter Sunday and it was really busy, we were seated right away and the service was exceptional. I would highly recommend The Stables, but from what I experienced at Biltmore...you can't go wrong with anything on the Estate.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The desserts were the standout of the me ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

The desserts were the standout of the meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Great ambiance. Fast service.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

This was a surprise. The venue is the old stables attached to the Biltmore estate. The stalls and still visible and add great ambiance. For a restaurants this large, the service was surprisingly quick and the staff was knowledgeable and friendly. Not as cheap as the self-serve options close by but worth it.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Yummy food with a relaxed atmosphere

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Yummy food with a relaxed atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Stable is an extension of one's visi ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

The Stable is an extension of one's visit to the Biltmore Estate and serves very good food. It is cool how the actual stables were converted into an eating space. We were seated immediately on arrival despite a crowded dining room. A reservation is highly recommended.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Expensive, But Good and Convenient to the Estate

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I had the Fontina Grilled Cheese with the White Bean Soup and my husband had the Classic Burger with fries. We were still full 7 hours later, even after walking the grounds of the estate and Antler Hill. Granted, those two items were about $40 with tip, but it was worth the experience. The food there is nothing to play with. It will fill you up most definitely. However, if you are going to come here on the weekend, I suggest you get a reservation. You will wait if you don't.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Gayle was extremely friendly and we had ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Gayle was extremely friendly and we had a great time. Food was good but not great. We will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Delicious soup and cheeses .... Be sure ...

vip
 (Key West)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Delicious soup and cheeses .... Be sure to request a horse stall....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Candlelight Dinner at the Stable Cafe/Biltmore

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

We had dinner at the Stable Café before our Candlelight Tour of the Biltmore House, and it was a wonderful evening. The novelty of dining in the former stable was such fun, and our server Faye took great care of us. She conveyed special dietary needs to the Chef and the food was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food but expensive.

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Visited on New Year's Day for dinner and it was very busy and crowded. Filet was great but other than that it was a little too expensive for what you get.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Mixed impressions

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

Hard to beat the distinctive appearance of the place. I didn't experience it enough to evaluate all the aspects listed in the section above. I thought the prices were a bit high for the quality of the food. My filet mignon was a bit tough and chewy. The side dishes were ordinary. The chocolate cheesecake, however, was divine. Waitstaff was attentive but rather remote and business-like. If I am able to return to Biltmore, I may try it again for lunch since it is right there adjacent to the house, but I doubt I would return there for dinner.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Good food & service; bad table location

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

Even with a reservation, (and tables downstairs we watched stay vacant our entire meal) we were seated in the worst table upstairs in the loft. The table was right at the hostess stand and across from the door. We were constantly having people standing next to our table (hello hostess--put them somewhere else) staring at us or just generally in our space. The frequently opening door also caused a draft.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Overpriced and mediocre

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

We had dined at the Stable several years ago and loved it, so we made reservations again for this visit. Online the description was as we remembered it, southern comfort food. There was no indication that this was not the dinner menu, nor could I access the menu online. So we were very surprised and disappointed when we arrived to find a pre-fix menu with the least expensive entree being $38 dry roasted chicken. There was not a single item my children would have been interested in, and our server was not pleased to give us a children's menu because they are 11 and 13. The entire menu was overpriced for mediocre food. We would not recommend, specifically if you are dining with your children.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Mitchy

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

This restaurant was so unique and fun! The food was great and we sat in one of the converted stalls! It was great! I would recommend for families or couples and we had some of the Biltmore wine which was fabulous! Our kids ages 13, 16 and 20 were in love with the idea it used to be a true horse stable.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The leg of lamb was incredible. Best I'v ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on December 28, 2015

The leg of lamb was incredible. Best I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

We loved eating lunch at the Stable Cafe. It was neat to see the old stables. Food was excellent. I had the Quinoa and Arugula Salad which was very tasty. Service was great thanks to our very attentive server, Paula! Recommend reservations to ensure you have a table.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Stables Cafe a Big Disappointment

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

Great ambiance, great service! However, the food was just ok and the portions were small. I had the filet and I could have done better at a chain. Considering that I paid $49--it was very disappointing. It was their Candlelight Christmas menu. I feel like they took advantage of those eating there. Word to the wise, you are much better off eating at a local restaurant!

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Great Gathering Place

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

Family gathered for lunch before tour. Very nice waitress named Susie. She was right on the ball and took care of all 11 of us in a timely manner. The one and only disappointment was the pulled pork. Bland and tough. Other than that everything else was super!

Husband collects pens so Susie treated him and others at the table to pens from Biltmore. Even mentioned a military discount could be used and my husband is a disabled cancer survivor from the Vietnam war. This is our second family visit in 16 yrs. and it will be a beautiful memory for all. Thank you!

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was not worth the high price we paid.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

Love going there for lunch, but will not go for dinner again. The menu was not worth what crazy high prices we paid. Be prepared to pay $35-$50 per person. Would rather go to Ruth's Chris for those prices!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Stable Cafe, 12/14/15

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on December 14, 2015

While we booked a reservation though Open Table, when we arrived and checked on the reservation, one could not be found. However, we were told that there would not be a problem in getting seated at the reserved time, 5 PM.

As it turned out, we were fine, dinner was great.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful dining experience. Can't wait ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

Wonderful dining experience. Can't wait Togo back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.