Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Stable Cafe -Biltmore Estate

The convenient location next to Biltmore House, friendly hospitality, and delectable food make the Stable Cafe a popular stop after visits to the house and gardens. And the ambiance of the historic surroundings in the renovated stable complex is unmatched.
Enjoy lunch specials like the Stable Cafe Sampler of spice-rubbed smoked ribs, pulled pork barbeque, and herb-roasted rotisserie chicken - truly a barbecue lover"s delight! Sandwiches, char-grilled burgers, fresh salads and irresistible desserts round out the daily lunch menu.
Biltmore tickets or an annual pass are required to visit all restaurants on the estate.

1 Lodge Street
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southern, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm;

Cross Street:
McDowell Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 225-6370

Website:
http://www.biltmore.com/visit/dining/stable.asp

Entertainment:
Thank you for choosing Stable Cafe - The Biltmore Estate. Please remember, estate tickets or a Twelve Month pass are required to visit the estate and dine at The Stable Cafe. Should your plans change, please let us know. We look forward to serving you.

Parking Details:
Biltmore House guest parking lots, with shuttle service available.

Executive Chef:
Brian Hough

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Stable Cafe -Biltmore Estate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (97)
Casual (73)
Comfort Food (52)
See All
Local Ingredients (37)
Special Occasion (37)
Good for a Date (36)
Kid-friendly (35)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Fun (32)
Worth the Drive (28)
Cozy (26)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Authentic (25)
Good for Groups (24)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Scenic View (18)
Great for Brunch (18)
Seasonal (17)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Quick Bite (15)
Romantic (15)
Disabled Access (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Healthy (13)
Afternoon Coffee (11)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
People Watching (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Business Meals (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Great Beer (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Organic (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vegan (3)
Live Music (2)
Spicy (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Waterfront (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
821 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Atmosphere & ambience very good. Food was delicious. Wait staff pleasant & eager to please. Would definitely recommend this restaurant to our friends & family. We had a fabulous experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant is located at the Biltmore House. The decor is reminiscent of a stable. The booths are made like stalls. We had the smokehouse platter for 2. It was enough food for 4. Everything tasted great. Even the creamed Brussels sprouts. Dessert menu was exceptional. Even a gluten free option.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

We had a Wonderful time Celebrating my daughters 11th birthday and brought 3 of her friends with us totaling 8 people ! The food was great , the service was great "Michelle" and the whole experience !! We will definitely be coming back !! Thank you 😊

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

My husband and I went for our anniversary and lived it. The chicken salad was wonderful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Took my adult daughter for her birthday lunch. She has celiac disease, so finding gluten-free options beyond salad is often a problem. The Stable Cafe was a dream come true. There is a dedicated gluten-free menu, and several choices for the main course. In addition, there were two dessert choices! Wonderful atmosphere and history, attentive server. A delightful experience!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Love this place! I eat there every time I visit Biltmore House!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

We really enjoyed our lunch. The food was good. Our server was a little strange but was ok. Not that fr8endly, a little on the rough side. Not what you picture at the Biltmore. We still enjoyed our lunch.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on September 5, 2017

While out table was very crooked/slanted...that was the only negative. Cocktails were creative and strong. Food was fast and tasty.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

The restaurant was very busy at noon. We were seated right upon arrival, asked about which table/area we would like to sit in and were granted our request. The food was very good except the creamed brussel sprouts which were way overcooked and had absolutely no visual appeal. Everything else on our plates was excellent, served warm and cooked properly for us. Our server was not that attentive, I would guess she may have had too many tables. One more comment would be we noticed management/supervisors that walked past our table a couple of times and I never saw either of them check with any patrons on their meal/experience, including us.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Was a bit pricey as can be expected when dining at the Biltmore Estate. Food was good, service was good.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Casual, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

As Passholders, this is our favorite Biltmore restaurant. It is tradition to eat here. Love the feeling of history when sitting in the stable. Love the food...especially the pimento cheese! The wait staff is friendly and ready to serve us.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

At The Stable, a favorite menu selection for my husband and I, is the Bar-B-Que Dinner for 2. The platter is a great dinner for the price, and the food is really, really good. We love the atmosphere of the Stable--you can imagine how it looked when George and his family were alive. I feel like I'm a part of The Biltmore and I love being a part of The Biltmore!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We dined before the concert so it was very busy and almost banquet style. I love the bistro at Biltmore much more than the Stable

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Second time eating here before summer concert. Wonderful food and great time with friends.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

This was a pre-concert meal and it was delicious overall. The trout and lamb chops were terrific as was the clam chowder. The cheesecake was good but the coconut tart texture was rubbery and the coconut flavor was barely detectable. Next time will order the Datk chocolate mousse which I gathered from. Sigh irony tables was wonderful. Overall a really good dining experience with excellent service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Stable turned into a restaurant. The booth we sat in used to be a horse stall. There were 6 of us. Very comfortable. Very good food. Mac & cheese of the day was especially good. Great chicken salad. Great service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Very nice venue for a casual lunch while visiting the Biltmore. Nice meal and very nice service.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Food was average on taste and portions slim for the money. We did this meal for convenience for REO Speedwagon concert. The convenience was good the service was good but the food was disappointing for the price.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

We had great fun eating in the former stables. Nice ambience, the food was excellent and arrived quickly. It was a very convenient break in our tour of Biltmore and our waitress was personable and attentive. Would surely eat there again next time we visit without a doubt! :)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Priced too high.... Steak sandwich extremely tough, and was sent back,

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 23, 2017

The food was very good and my mother enjoyed the potato soup and cheese sandwich. I thought it would take forever to get our food considering how busy they were but we had service right away and the food did not take long

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2017

enjoyed our luncheon at Stable Café. Our waitress, Susan, was very helpful, thoughtful, and polite. I had the chicken salad on a croissant and it was the best croissant I have ever eaten. It was a bit noisy, but the noise level was acceptable. We ate at 2:00 for lunch so the tables were beginning to thin out by the time we finished.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great service and scrumptious food. Chocolate Peach Cream was out of the world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Our table was ready and they took great care of our special day. 28th wedding anniversary! Food was fabulous and our waiter was awesome!! Can't wait to visit again!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

I am a pass holder and the Stable Cafe is where I eat during every visit, including the Christmas night special. On this last visit our server was Faye. She is our favorite. We ALWAYS receive outstanding service from her. She has recommended many excellent dishes for us as well. This is my favorite restaurant both on and off the estate.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Healthy, Business Meals, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Fantastic all the way around! We wanted an all around Biltmore experience, and this put it over the top.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

My daughters (twin 10 yr olds) were very impressed with Biltmore and the Stable Cafe. It was a girls quick vacation and they LOVED it. It made them feel special. Our server was nice and attentive. Food was good and the dessert was a real treat. We will be back, thank you!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

It was painless made reservations showed up and Bam it was great

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Good meal. Sandwiches and salads nicely prepared and presented. Had Portobello mushroom good, maybe a bit small. Professional service, slightly pricey.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Close to Biltmore entrance so convenient. Good food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 11, 2017

So glad we listened to previous reviewers of this restaurant. It is such a neat setting right next to the Biltmore House. The food was absolutely wonderful. The pulled pork platter was the best. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Waitress was Great and knew the menu and helped with our questions. We were glad we decided to get lunch here after our tour of the home!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Ate lunch there on visit to the Biltmore Mansion. Nice setting in old stables with comfortable booth. Exceptional waitress was very engaging. Barbecue sampler could have been a bit smokier, but the Caprese Grilled Cheese sandwich was exceptional! Would definitely eat there again!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Dining in a stall at the Biltmore! Food & service were great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Food and beer were great, service was first rate. Tip - get there early for lunch, before noon or earlier, if you want to get seated. The place gets very crowded!

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great place to grab a bite while visiting Biltmore. It is located in what was the stables so if you are touring the home, you can't go wrong with a lunch here. Also, the hamburger was huge!

Tags: Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The stable Cafe was the highlight of our trip to Biltmore. We enjoyed the house and the gardens but our meal was definitely the high point. The food was great and the service was exceptional. Thanks again to Carlos, our server!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal - a get-together for a sisters only weekend! Wonderful food and excellent service in a comfortable atmosphere - what more could you want? We definitely recommend it for all.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We had lunch at the Stable Cafe while we were visiting the Bilmore Estate. We were seated at a nice table away from a screaming child within a few minutes of our reservation. We split a chicken garden salad and fresh rolls. The chicken was very good and the dejon vinegrette dressing was delicious. I had a nice glass of wine. Overall we had a good and positive experience.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Very attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.