Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Stable Cafe -Biltmore Estate

The convenient location next to Biltmore House, friendly hospitality, and delectable food make the Stable Cafe a popular stop after visits to the house and gardens. And the ambiance of the historic surroundings in the renovated stable complex is unmatched.
Enjoy lunch specials like the Stable Cafe Sampler of spice-rubbed smoked ribs, pulled pork barbeque, and herb-roasted rotisserie chicken - truly a barbecue lover"s delight! Sandwiches, char-grilled burgers, fresh salads and irresistible desserts round out the daily lunch menu.
Biltmore tickets or an annual pass are required to visit all restaurants on the estate.

1 Lodge Street
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southern, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm;

Cross Street:
McDowell Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 225-6370

Website:
http://www.biltmore.com/visit/dining/stable.asp

Entertainment:
Thank you for choosing Stable Cafe - The Biltmore Estate. Please remember, estate tickets or a Twelve Month pass are required to visit the estate and dine at The Stable Cafe. Should your plans change, please let us know. We look forward to serving you.

Parking Details:
Biltmore House guest parking lots, with shuttle service available.

Executive Chef:
Brian Hough

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Stable Cafe -Biltmore Estate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (64)
Great for Lunch (56)
Casual (55)
See All
Special Occasion (46)
Good for a Date (39)
Comfort Food (35)
Local Ingredients (34)
Fun (31)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Worth the Drive (27)
Cozy (26)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Authentic (24)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Kid-friendly (21)
Seasonal (20)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Family Style (18)
Good for Groups (15)
Romantic (15)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Healthy (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
People Watching (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Scenic View (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Fireplace (2)
Organic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Business Meals (1)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
655 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 3 days ago

We have eaten here several times and have always enjoyed it....just a fun place to eat and the food and service have always been good. We will be back.

Tags: Historic, Casual, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding southern luncheon meal. The sampler platter was wonderful. Excellent quality food!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

Good stop during Biltmore visit. The hostess was unfriendly and condescending and we had a reservation. Ordered soup and had to ask for a piece of bread. Very noisy, food ok, quick delivery and convenient for visit but nothing special and front desk really off putting

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food and service at a reasonable price. Our waitress was great and had good advice.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Wonderful day at Biltmore with a great lunch! They even gave us a complimentary dessert since it was our anniversary. Very personal touch. Loved the White Sangrias they were delicious. Food was tasty and service was fast. Great restaurant for a lunch while touring Biltmore.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We were told to have BBQ at the Stable Cafe and it was good. The Bison burger was tender, but not much flavor. The pulled pork was juicy, tender and just the right amount of smokey flavor. I actually ate most of it without the sauce which was a little too sweet for my taste.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 17, 2017

To eat at the stable cafe, you must first pay to get into the biltmore estate. assuming that is not an issue, then this restaurant is a possible choice, provided you have a reservation.

pricing is on the high side. the hamburger plate was $15.50 and the turkey sandwich with chips was $14.95. The burger was a good size and nicely cooked medium rare. the fries were cold, and were quickly replaced when requested.
the high point of the meal was the three cheesecake sampler. these were excellent.
service was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Just a visit to Biltmore! It was wonderful as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We really enjoyed the entire experience at the Stable Cafe! The atmosphere was great and the food was delicious!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 16, 2017

My husband and I have been Season Passholders for several years. Using our free appreciation tickets we brought friends with us who would not have been able to be there otherwise.
From the moment we arrived at The Stable our friends couldn't stop raving about the restaurant. The ambiance, the historic building, and the food ( the best chicken salad I've ever eaten ), lmy tomato bisque and the guys burgers were also excellent .

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Casual, Fun, Great for Lunch, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We always love eating at the Stable when we bring friends to tour the Biltmore. It's fun to look about and envision what the stable would have been like at the turn of the twentieth century. The food is delicious and there's always something to please everyone.

Tags: Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 14, 2017

This is my second visit to the stable. How fun to dine in the old stables from Biltmore! It is a beautiful facility. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was delicious. I had a kale and quinoa salad, my husband had a Carolina bar b q, which was pulled pork. The portions were very large. You could consider sharing a meal. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Authentic, Comfort Food, Casual, Local Ingredients, Family Style, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We had a great lunch! The food was delicious! And having a reservation here is a must if you want to eat before or after your tour.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Casual, Historic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had a super time. Great service, food and atmosphere. Clean restaurant and super friendly staff.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Organic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My wife and I spent the day at the Biltmore House and decided to have lunch at the Stable Cafe. We arrived a bit early but were seated promptly and ordered a cool glass of ice tea. (They do have wine and beer made on the estate for those so inclined.) The historical setting is certainly part of the experience and we were seated squarely in the middle of what was a huge stable in the early 20th century. I order a smoked turkey sandwich and my wife had the Italian Grilled Cheese. Both were made with fresh and delicious ingredients from the estate. Mine had a side of kettle chips and they were spicy and tasty. My wife's grilled cheese which she said was the best grilled cheese she had ever had came with the blandest pasta salad ever. Substitute the chips for the pasta salad, you won't be sorry. Throughout the service was prompt, attentive, and friendly. If you are going to spend the day at the Biltmore House I strongly suggest making a reservation at the Stable Cafe for lunch. Its seconds from the entrance to the house and you will not be disappointed with the food.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Fantastic food and service - only 1 vegetarian option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

One of our favorite places to eat when we go to Biltmore. Great food and nice atmosphere!

Tags: Seasonal, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We were seated upstairs in what was the hay loft. Excellent atmosphere with the service you expect at the Biltmore. Food was top notch with the 3 of us have the Carolina BBQ. Julie and I shared the Sampler Plate for 2 while other guest had the BBQ Plate. Meat and sides were top notch. I was a bit disappointed in the Eastern Carolina BBQ sauce. Seemed like we only got vinegar with no other ingredients. And we missed the Brunswich Stew which used to be part of the Sampler. That stew is so good. Coffee and tea were excellent as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Third time is not a charm . . . This was our third visit to the Stable Café. We have had great food/service at previous visits and they have a nice children's menu compared to other restaurants on the property. We made a reservation but when we arrived on time for check in, we were told there was a 20-30 min wait. We wanted to sit in the loft but that would have given us an even greater wait time. The food came out in a timely manner but the fries were not cooked as well as previous visits. Our service was adequate but not as attentive as in previous times. I hope this was just a fluke as I usually recommend eating here when friends/family are visiting the estate.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The food was very good with nice presentation. Very nice atmosphere to match. The main problem was we arrived at our reservation time of 12:30 . We were told that there were other parties ahead of us. We found out that they did not have reservations , and they were seated before us . We had to wait at least 30 minutes, until I complained strongly. The hostess was very rude and uncaring , even though we explained the reasons for " reservations ". She thought everyone should be treated "equally " .
Later when explained to the manager , she was apologetic.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Historic, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

It was a great meal after a tour of the house! The food was fresh and the staff busy but friendly!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Service was ok, nothing made it special. My wife and I both got their cheeseburgers. The buns were cold, meat wad luke warm, as we're the fries. Our son got chili which was good, along with small portion of bread. Restaurant was converted horse stable, so ambience was great! Overall it was an ok expensive lunch.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Crowded but delicious. Try the pimento cheese. You won't regret it.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We lunched surrounded by Biltmore stables. Many tables were found situated inside stalls. Unique. The food was tasty. The four of us enjoyed different meals - grilled cheese, bison, hamburger, and roasted turkey. All were wonderful. Service was quick and excellent. When you visit, take a look upward at the windows to see how they were opened in the late 1890's.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Enjoyed a "girls day out" lunch. Everything was great as usual.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 6, 2017

This restaurant is very noisy! It's a busy place with lots of families (and unfortunately crying babies) :(

It's all set up in a former horse stable. Make a reservation ahead - others who didn't have one had a wait of 25-40 minutes for lunch, and this was off-season. They are constantly turning tables and the hustle and bustle makes it noisier with a wait staff that can be a little frantic. The Pimento Cheese Dip appetizer is fantastic! I had the Quinoa and Kale Salad which had WAY TOO MUCH salad dressing on it. All the veggies were drenched and some soggy. I ate some, but it was too overdressed. They were nice enough to discount our lunch because of this. My daughter loved her chicken salad croissant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

One of our favorite dining places. Food is always very fresh, comes out quickly and service is always very good.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Went early at 11:15 am. Great service from the beginning to end. Ordered the bison burger and it was absolutely delicious(thanks to our waitress I ordered it medium well since it had very little fat - usually eat burgers well done-) We also ordered the sampler for 2 for my other guests and had plenty for 3. Chicken and BBQ were delicious but the ribs were the favorites. No room for dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great restaurant with a good variety of options, making it especially ideal when dining with a group. The staff are always very accommodating, we were 10 minutes late for our reservation and they were packed but made it work, and were very helpful. I would highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Great lunch. Wait staff wonderful. Sandwiches were good, lots of food. Chips great.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The Stable Cafe has been my favorite place for lunch in Asheville, and with my Annual Pass, we can enjoy it any day we're here. The food is always good and reasonable, the service is attentive, and the building just can't be beat for style! I love the quiche and I love the fact that they grow (raise) much of what they serve.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Historic, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We made online reservations which was very easy but I bet if you arrived early and there were only 2 or even 4 people in your party you would be able to get a table with a little bit of a wait. The good thing is that you can shop while you wait. We were seated upstairs and I loved the atmosphere and the food was wonderful. It took a little while to get our food but it was well worth the wait. The rotisserie chicken was tender and the potatoes and vegetables it was paired with were wonderful as well. We have thoroughly enjoyed being a season pass holder and I highly recommend it if you love the gardens, hiking or biking, and lets not forget the house.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Maggie was the best waitress! Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Welcoming staff, attentive server, relatively fast food service and good food

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This was my granddaughter's first trip to Biltmore. She thought it was cool we were having lunch in what use to be stables! The wait staff was attentive and the food delicious!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 23, 2017

I'd read a review of the Southern Sampler before having a weekday lunch at the Stable Café. So, my friend and I decided to order the sampler for two. We both enjoy cooking for our families, so it was a pleasant surprise for every item on the platter to be delicious to us, as we can be hard-to-please. The BBQ ribs and pulled pork were juicy and tender; the chicken was braised to perfection. We're both so picky about a good slaw, but this one was seasoned just the way we like it. My friend said the rice (w/a few corn kernels) was dry, but she added bbq sauce to it and a dab of pulled pork. I believe the turnip greens were the best we've ever had or cooked for ourselves. When our friendly server brought the sampler to us, we both thought we'd never eat it all. However, we kept tasting, and before we knew it, we'd devoured all of it.

I'd requested an authentic stall for our table when I made our reservation, but we still had to wait on one to become available. They are that popular.

Complements to the chef!

Tags: Historic, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We had delicious bison burgers and the service was excellent. We liked being in a stable booth and wished the upstairs had been opened for us to sit up there. Good place to eat.

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Historic, Special Occasion, Casual, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I did not want to sit outside under a tent , and we wanted a relaxing lunch after we toured the Biltmore. I liked that it was part of the original estate .
Our waitress was great and the food was delicious .

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We reserved a table for lunch. Was seated promptly and waiter was wonderful. Our food was delicious. Everyone of the 5 of us were very happy with the food and service.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Loved my meal on Sunday. Will be back again for lunch.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.