Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.42mi

About Stable Cafe -Biltmore Estate

The convenient location next to Biltmore House, friendly hospitality, and delectable food make the Stable Cafe a popular stop after visits to the house and gardens. And the ambiance of the historic surroundings in the renovated stable complex is unmatched.
Enjoy lunch specials like the Stable Cafe Sampler of spice-rubbed smoked ribs, pulled pork barbeque, and herb-roasted rotisserie chicken - truly a barbecue lover"s delight! Sandwiches, char-grilled burgers, fresh salads and irresistible desserts round out the daily lunch menu.
Biltmore tickets or an annual pass are required to visit all restaurants on the estate.

1 Lodge Street
Asheville, NC 28803
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southern, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 3:00pm;

Cross Street:
McDowell Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(828) 225-6370

Website:
http://www.biltmore.com/visit/dining/stable.asp

Entertainment:
Thank you for choosing Stable Cafe - The Biltmore Estate. Please remember, estate tickets or a Twelve Month pass are required to visit the estate and dine at The Stable Cafe. Should your plans change, please let us know. We look forward to serving you.

Parking Details:
Biltmore House guest parking lots, with shuttle service available.

Executive Chef:
Brian Hough

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Stable Cafe -Biltmore Estate Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (71)
Casual (66)
Historic (64)
See All
Local Ingredients (45)
Comfort Food (39)
Fun (34)
Special Occasion (27)
Kid-friendly (26)
Family Style (24)
Authentic (23)
Worth the Drive (21)
Good for Groups (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Cozy (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Healthy (12)
People Watching (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Quick Bite (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Scenic View (8)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Seasonal (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Romantic (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Business Meals (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
717 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

Best chicken salad and bison burger . Great service and location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Birthday party/family reunion

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We went there for a late lunch and I enjoyed the decor of the restaurant. We sat in a horse stall in a booth. Our server was a bit sloppy in his appearance but was friendly and always had our tea and water filled before it was empty. I ordered the combo of ribs, pulled pork and chicken.
There were two ribs and very tasty with a side of BBQ sauce, pulled pork was ok, the chicken I did not care for because it was dark meat but it was moist. The succotash was delicious and the fingerling potatoes were good as well. The coleslaw was delicious too. For the price I felt that I got a lot of food. My husband got the pulled pork plate and like his sides but felt the pulled pork had a strong flavor and had a lot of fat in it. He would not order it again. Overall it was a fun place to have lunch, the service was great, and most of our foods were very good.

Tags: Casual, Disabled Access, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This place hands-down is the best food that I have had in a long time! The staff is very professional and polite! Absolutely would run command it to anyone!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The food and the service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Atmosphere was fun- many menu choices. Service was great. Save room for the key lime pie- one of the signature desserts!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 18, 2017

While touring Biltmore House, I met a friend for lunch at the Stable Café. The reservation was an excellent idea! we had very comfortable seating and the service was impeccable. The food was delicious and we both quite enjoyed the experience. I highly recommend a reservation as the Café fills up quickly...but be on time to be respectful of others.
Dining there, in the uniqueness of the converted stable and stalls space, adds a fun touch to the day's experience.
I recommend it!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We were very disappointed in the food. Would never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We enjoyed the surroundings as much as the food. Imagining the café as it's previous life as a stable was fun. The Carolina pulled-pork was delicious. Our server was terrific. Booking our reservation online was simple and essential. We thoroughly enjoyed our lunch.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Food was good I would recommend it! It was a noisy atmosphere! It was crowded felt like we were sitting in the aisle wat!!!!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Beyond excellent! We had a group of 4 dining for lunch prior to our tour of Biltmore.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Wonderful lunch after touring the beautiful Biltmore!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The chicken was dry, but the coleslaw was very good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was terrific. The waitstaff was friendly and efficient. Since we had a two day pass for the Biltmore Estate we actually went back for lunch the following day to try food that we didn't get to try the day before since everything on the menu looked so good. We were highly satisfied.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Would not recommend my wife's plate was horrible you would think for where you are at and what your are paying one would get a good meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I love eating at the Stable Café! Everyday I am at the Biltmore, I eat there for lunch. I have never eaten dinner there, so I can't comment on that, but all the food I have tried off the lunch menu was great!

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We came down to Asheville to visit the Biltmore and wanted to experience eating in the Stable Café. There were five of us and we really enjoyed sitting in an actual stable. We each enjoyed our lunch and our waiter, Carlos was very informative about the menu and helped us pick out something from the menu. He was very friendly and very attentive. If we get the chance, we would come to the Stable Café again.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Fun, Casual, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Not a great experience. The waitress appeared harried and tired. She got both our orders wrong and we had to resubmit them and wait even longer. It was noisy and we were seated at a table in a far corner. Screaming kids next to us. Food was good when it finally arrived and portions were large.
Would not recommend this restaurant to our friends.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Our waiter's outstanding service made our first trip to the Biltmore even more enjoyable!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Lunch was smoked turkey sandwich and asparagus. The turkey was tasty and the amount quite adequate. The asparagus was grilled well. A good place to eat while touring the Biltmore estate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Surprisingly good restaurant on the ground of Biltmore Estate next to the main house. We come for lunch anytime we are in town. Consistently great food, reasonable prices and very friendly service.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food was less than memorable. Convenient to biltmore visit. Like eating at Disney world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We reserved a table for after viewing the home and gardens. It was a very relaxed time together. There were five in our party. We liked the "stable booth" because it was cozy. Our waitress was Maggie and she was fun to cut up with. She was on it with everything. I had the quiche and it was so delicious! Overall, we were very satisfied with our meal at the Stable Café.

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Healthy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The Stable Cafe is a wonderful place to eat while at the Biltmore Estate. Food is fresh from the gardens. Wait staff are friendly and the food was hot and came quickly. It's a little on the pricey side so we had lunch.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Great afternoon lunch with family. Wait service was exceptional and the food came out quickly.
The presentation was very nice and the food was delicious.

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The staff was polite and attentive. Love the atmosphere. Would of liked to sit upstairs but I understand it is closed during that time of day. Look forward to visiting the Biltmore, the Stable Cafe and Asheville again and often.

Tags: Historic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Outstanding food and service at this Biltmore Estate café. RSVP for lunch highly recommended to avoid the line at high noon. We had the Sampler Platter for 2 with chicken, pulled pork, and ribs. A lot of food for lunch as we could have shared the platter for 1 and not be so stuffed. The warm pimento cheese dip for starters is a good start.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Good for Groups, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Our waiter was awesome and the good was great. I would highly recommend Stable Cafe!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Consistently fantastic food! Bravo! We look forward to returning.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 25, 2017

We prefer to eat lunch in the Stable rather than go through the line of the Courtyard when we visit The Biltmore. The place was really packed when we arrived for our reservation. Apparently the tour busses had flooded the place just before our time slot. The pulled pork sandwich was nice, as were the fries and the homemade sweet pickles. Nice selection of beers. We particularly liked sitting in the open center section rather than in one of the stalls as it provides a wider view of the building. I can only imagine what it was like filled with horses back in the day.

Tags: Historic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Great food, great service, very cool location - we sat in a booth built into an old Horse stall! (Don't worry, it used to be a stable but it smells like a nice restaurant now)

Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We always love coming to Biltmore for a day trip and we never come without having lunch at the Stable Cafe. Everything is excellent, but my family likes the Bison Burger. They changed the recipe a bit, not quite as good as before, but still delicious. It's a little pricey, but how many times can you say you got to eat a nice dinner in a turn of the 20th century horse stall? You can get most anything for less than $20 per person. Service was exceptional and with the Biltmore Annual Pass, you save 10% on your check. I would highly recommend it!

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Food and wine were delicious. Got the type of table we requested. Service was superb. Great dining experience overall!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Terrific food in a unique atmosphere. Highly recommended!

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We have eaten here several times for lunch. Never disappointed.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I must say the server was great, but the food was less than par for Biltmore. We went there for a late lunch after the Easter Sunday festivities they provided in front of the estate. The menu was skimpy and the food was OK. There were very few people at the Stable Cafe; I was expecting it to be packed. We had 7 in our party and the food took quite a long time to come out. With two hungry children with us, it made things a little uncomfortable.

Tags: Disabled Access, Casual, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Historic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Lunch was delightful! Our selections were the chicken salad croissant with homemade kettle chips and the pulled pork plate, both were delicious! I had a Cedric's Pale Ale which complimented the meal and my wife said the blackberry lemonade was very refreshing, just the right combination of tart and sweetness! For desert we shared the Lemon Poppyseed Cake, do not attemp to eat this alone! It is definitely more than two people can eat and it's amazing to say the least! Great food, fantastic wait staff and wonderful historic atmosphere!

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Family Style, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Historic, Fun, Great Beer, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The service was wonderful. The food was delicious, filling, and served in a timely manner. My husband and I came to Biltmore for our second wedding anniversary and chose this restaurant to dine at because of the menu selection and the unique design and recreation of the horse stable into a restaurant. Giving 5 stars for everything except ambiance because we were seated right in front of the door and took away from truly enjoying the atmosphere and conversation with people constantly walking right past us and the hostess station being so close even though most tables were empty(we had a reservation at 11am.) that was the only negative thing about the whole experience and I am sure we could have had that changed if we had mentioned it. Worth the money, would recommend planning ahead and making a reservation to skip the wait.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Fun, unique, historic venue located in old stables on the Biltmore Estate Property. Service was slow,(our particular wait person's attitude seemed like we were putting them out, but observed this was not the general attitude). Restaurant was very busy( as it has been both other times I have been there). Previous visit during lunch, we waited approximately 40 minutes for a table. Food was average, and expensive for what it was; but as a tourist destination this is to be expected. (Total bill for 1 lemonade, 1 beer, 1 burger/fries, and 1 dessert plate was $37.00 without gratuity. Dessert sampler was $11.95 for four, silver-dollar sized treats). Burger was average. Dining area is very loud, and tables are very tightly spaced, although booths are available. Would definitely recommend reservations.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great ambiance. We espeacilly liked the view of the estate as we had our lunch. This restaurant is a must if you are visiting the estate.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.