Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 39 times today

Stable Cafe -Biltmore Estate

4.6
1108 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Great for Lunch
  • Casual
  • Fun
Biltmore tickets or an annual pass are required to visit all restaurants on the estate. For dinner reservations during November and December all the guests in the party must have a Candlelight Evening Ticket or be an estate lodging guest.
The convenient location next to Biltmore House, friendly hospitality, and delectable food make the Stable Cafe a popular stop after visits to the house and gardens. And the ambiance of the historic surroundings in the renovated stable complex is unmatched.
Enjoy lunch specials like the Stable Cafe Sampler of spice-rubbed smoked ribs, pulled pork barbeque, and herb-roasted rotisserie chicken - truly a barbecue lover"s delight! Sandwiches, char-grilled burgers, fresh salads and irresistible desserts round out the daily lunch menu.
Biltmore tickets or an annual pass are required to visit all restaurants on the estate.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Southern, Barbecue
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm;
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(828) 225-6370
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Shannon Sutherland
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
McDowell Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Biltmore House guest parking lots, with shuttle service available.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Thank you for choosing Stable Cafe - The Biltmore Estate. Please remember, estate tickets or a Twelve Month pass are required to visit the estate and dine at The Stable Cafe. For dinners during November and December, Candlelight Evening tickets are required. Should your plans change, please let us know. We look forward to serving you.
Additional
Beer, Cafe, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1108 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

The food was great and the servers were so friendly. Loved the stable atmosphere. Fun place while enjoying the Biltmore.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Great service, great food, great experience. I highly recommend it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

We were sat at our table almost immediately. The staff were very inviting and friendly. Our server was great and very fun! The food was fantastic, we even had dessert! Would recommend the restaurant and also making a reservation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Wonderful food, waiter was honest and outstanding. The food, drinks, and dessert were great!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Cool stable stall booths. Waitress was fine, food was just ok. I mostly chose this place for the convenience and to see the barn stalls for the carriage house experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

The Stable Cafe' is an excellent option for lunch when visiting the Biltmore House in Ashevile.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Menu items we had were all very good but a bigger selection would be nice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

The food and service were excellent. We enjoyed the sampler meal and the history of the restaurant. We ate here again on Saturday with a lighter meal and everything was just as good. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. A great experience!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Very loud dishes being broken at least five times while we had lunch. Expensive Food was not hot after waiting quite a while to get it. Of course the resterant being an old stable had a great appeal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Good was delish and the service excellent. Highly recommend eating at this restaurant when touring the Biltmore Estate.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

My daughter and I enjoyed lunch here 3 days ago in the middle of our Biltmore Estate visit. I made reservations a few days before we were going to be there. We arrived 5 minutes before our reservation time but were seated right away. The service was excellent, our food was brought to us quickly, and the restaurant was so nice and cool on a very warm day! We recommend the chicken salad sandwich, blackberry lemonade, and the banana pudding!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Waitress was rude about her 11.00 tip and said that she normally receives more. Wow what happened to being Thankful for what you receive or go find a better paying job.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Excellent restaurant. Good food and excellent service. Very cool place. Thanks!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I was disappointed. Food was average. Expected more.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

My husband and I took our moms and our daughter to Biltmore for Mother’s Day weekend. We ate at the stable on Saturday. It was delicious and the service was wonderful. I have several food allergies and my waitress was very knowledgeable and accommodating. It was a wonderful experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We go to the restaurant because it is closest to the Biltmore house- but the service was rough. My friend and I both ordered the same chicken dish (specialty of the house) and both pieces of chicken were very small and she had about 2 cups of veggies- my plate barely had 1 cup. For almost $15- that is not worth it.

They have good days and bad. But I would not go here again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

When visiting Biltmore, this is our favorite place to eat. The chicken salad croissant is delicious & soooo large, it can easily be shared! And who wouldn't want to eat where Vanderbilts horses were housed back in the day (subway tiled walls, gorgeous windows, etc) ??

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Server was pleasant, attentive and prompt. Food was very good and overall service was excellent. We had a very enjoyable lunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

This was our first visit to Biltmore and our first stop at The Stable Cafe. The setting was excellent - the old estate stables and much of it is unchanged. Our server, Doug, was amazing. He was entertaining, informative, and steered us to a great meal. He sounds a bit like David Brooks from PBS News Hour, but don't hold that against him. He was top notch. As was lunch. it was a sampler for two with baled chicken, pulled pork, and ribs. All delicious. My wife also recommends the Hunneysuckle Fizz cocktail. I am a bit fanatical in my love for the barbecue sauce, which was made with cucumber seed and was the best I've ever had.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Best restaurant on the Biltmore estate other than the fine dining at The Inn. Prices were reasonable and tasty food. As a matter of fact, I felt the eating establishment on the estate were not out to gouge people like many tourist destinations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

While visiting the Biltmore, this restaurant is adjoining the house. This was the original stables that have been beautifully decorated while maintaining the stalls. The food is delicious, the wait staff is professional and the service is prompt. Please make a reservation on Open Table prior to your visit of the estate.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Service was terrific from seating to eating, food was great and desserts fantastic☺

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Michelle was awesome - like to see later hours than 4 pm

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

The waitress was very friendly and courteous. The food was excellent. My Fourteen month old grandson loved the bean soup special.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Food was very good and arrived quickly. Our server was very good, very efficient also. It was a little noisy. The only negative was the hostess who was taking names and giving out pagers. She was almost rude in her brusque manner - she was short with people and seemed annoyed that she had to deal with diners. Granted, it was very busy and lots was going on, but she was the first person we dealt with at the restaurant and she did not represent Biltmore in a positive manner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

It’s a must when you visit the Biltmore!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

If you are looking to eat between tours or while out walking the grounds at the Biltmore Estate, Stable Cafe will not disappoint. Pricing isn't any higher than the outdoor cafe and you get to get out of the heat or cold for a bit. Definitely would go back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

We had a wonderful time. The extra touch for our anniversary was special.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

We had a ladies party of 6 . We had reservations and arrived early and only waited a few minutes . Our server was courteous and efficient , took our picture and even obtained recipe information for us. The food was delicious. A very nice experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

LOVE this restaurant and the waitstaff. The cauliflower chicken quiche had the perfect blend of flavors. Love the historic stable feel. Never disappointed...we come every time when we visit the Biltmore as season passholders.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Enjoy the different food. Great service. Will be back again

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Very fun atmosphere and good food. Certainly notable surroundings with it being in a converted horse stables. You can almost feel how pampered their horses were at Biltmore. Loved the individual stalls for the seating arrangements. Gread selection of food, beers, and wine. Would certainly eat there again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Quick and easy service and access before our house tour.....great food.....wonderful hamburger!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Had lunch with out of town family +toddler. Reservation with on-time seating. Good server and menu accommodated all food types (1 vegan) Had my favorite 1/2 chicken breast. Would love to see a nice chicken based sauce with it but was still delicious. Ordered the Banana Pudding. Was disappointed that there was no pudding just runny liquid. As Passholders, we look forward to future visits and meals.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Its was great! Made my birthday weekend! The staff was really nice and the food was awesome!! I loved the atmosphere and how friendly everyone. We will be back for sure!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Stable Cafe never disappoints. My husband and I met another couple there for lunch on a recent Friday. Food is fresh and tasty; service is friendly and prompt. Our table of four ordered a chicken salad plate, a rotisserie chicken plate, a North Carolina barbecue sandwich and a hamburger. We were all delighted with our choices. It's a busy place, and can get noisy. But we were able to chat comfortably, and that was a goal for us. The server tried to tempt us with dessert, but after our meals, there was no room. We'll come back another day.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Good food in a fun atomosphere with friendly & good service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

This is the perfect restaurant if you are looking for good food that’s not fancy. The prices are on the higher side for casual food, but certainly the best prices for a meal on Biltmore grounds. The atmosphere can’t be beat and the staff is friendly and helpful. Can’t recommend enough!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

After a morning exploring the estate, this is a great place for a late lunch or dinner before touring the rest of the grounds.
Good food locally sourced coupled with great service!
Highly recommend getting a “stall” for dining to complete the experience of being in a stable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

We had lunch at the Stable Cafe while visiting the Biltmore Estate. Loved the fact that we were eating in an old stable stall. The food was great and the staff was awesome. Will definitely eat there again on a return trip to the Biltmore!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
28

Tweets by Stable Cafe -Biltmore Estate