About St. John's Restaurant

1278 Market St.
Chattanooga, TN 37402
View Larger Map

Chattanooga's most acclaimed restaurant, St. John's Restaurant serves inventive Regional American cuisine from Chef Rebecca Barron in a elegant, historic setting. St. John's superb staff will provide you with a warm and remarkable dining experience and delight you with an extensive and eclectic selection of wines.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Please note reservations for parties of 11 or more cannot be made online.

Cross Street:
13th St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 266-4400

Website:
http://www.stjohnsrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking available behind the St. John's building and on the King Street side of the building. Limited street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Chattanooga's complimentary electric shuttle has a stop at the St. John's building.

Executive Chef:
Rebecca Barron

Private Party Facilities:
St. John's Restaurant offers two private dining room options. The Thomas Johnson Room accommodates up to 16 guests and the R.H. Hunt Room accommodates up to 50 guests. Food and beverage minimums apply.

Private Party Contact:
Josh Carter: 423-266-4400x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

St. John's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
East Tennessee
Best Food
East Tennessee
Best Service
East Tennessee
13 More
Best Ambiance
East Tennessee
Best Value
East Tennessee
Fit for Foodies
East Tennessee
Romantic
East Tennessee
Special Occasion
East Tennessee
American
East Tennessee
Best Overall
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Food
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Service
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Ambiance
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Value
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Special Occasion
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Most Booked
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Chattanooga ›

Special Occasion (91)
Romantic (73)
Fit for Foodies (68)
See All
Notable Wine List (41)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Good for Groups (16)
Scenic View (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1097 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

St. Johns continues to set the bar high ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

St. Johns continues to set the bar high and put our city on the map. It's always a fantastic experience, from the food, to the wine and the ambiance. The waitstaff is prompt and knowledgeable. I've never been disappointed!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second dining experience at ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This was our second dining experience at St. John's and both were excellent. Great restaurant - great food and wine. Highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent menu using many locally source ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excellent menu using many locally sourced seasonal foods. Waiter was very attentive and well versed in the preparation of the food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have dined many times at S ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

My wife and I have dined many times at St. John's. The service is excellent and the menu, though not extensive, is usually imaginative and the food well prepared. We felt that this time the menu was a bit prosaic. Perhaps they are between seasons (we dined in mid August) but the usual surprises that one finds were not there. Still, the meal was excellent and the service as impeccable as always so there was really little to complain about. Our friends thought the meal quite impressive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Normally Rebecca does a fantastic job on ...

vip
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Normally Rebecca does a fantastic job on the menu. It was good, but not as jaw dropping as usual. I did inform the manager and owner that the flavors did not burst well together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Took my wife here on the day of our wedd ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Took my wife here on the day of our wedding in lieu of a traditional wedding reception. Really great first experience here and we will be back for sure!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent meal and a beautiful restauran ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent meal and a beautiful restaurant. Nice wines and our server was a professional. Dr. B

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best service and food I've had in a long ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Best service and food I've had in a long long time! Will be coming back to Chattanooga just to find there again!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

St. John's is one of the best restaurant ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

St. John's is one of the best restaurants in TN. Food is excellent; fresh and very well prepared. Flawless presentation and excellent wait staff. Creative cocktail menu and a very nice wine selection. I would highly recommend St. John's for drinks, for dinner, and for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I ate here 5 years ago while ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My wife and I ate here 5 years ago while visiting the Choo-Choo and thought it was the best restaurant ever. We planned a trip to come back last year but didn't make it. So this year I planned a trip to Chattanooga months out primary to go to St. John's. In short, it was disappointing. My wife had the most expensive dish (the ribeye) and it just wasn't that great. The meat was a little chewy and the chizo on top seemed better suited to top a chili dog rather than a high-end steak. I had the Wagyu Beef Zabuton Steak and Smoked Brisket and my steak was much better than her ribeye. Both were pretty short on veggies. I know it's a joke at the high end restaurants is to "get a lot of plate" but I was surprised on just how small the sides were with the steak. For our appetizer we had the Benton's Country Ham & Dancing Fern Cheese. It was good but here's a tip, have at least 2 of everything. There was one green olive with a pit...try cutting that with a knife to share. :) The night before my wife had ribeye at the much cheaper Big River Grille and said it was much better. For the money, that just shouldn't be.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Outstanding service, the food was fantas ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Outstanding service, the food was fantastic...A great dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our second visit in two years to ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This is our second visit in two years to St. Johns. We had a great time on our first visit and likewise this visit. Servers were prompt, but not rushing us, helpful, very good-natured.

We had a table for two on the upstairs overlooking the first floor dining. We were able

to converse at normal volume.

The food was, as always, excellent. Portions are satisfying. Dynamite presentation and as always flavorful. My wife said the dessert -- peach upside down cake with ice cream-- could win the "Chopped" challenge on a run-away.

Thank you for a great evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire staff was friendly and offere ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The entire staff was friendly and offered an incredible dining experience. The food was amazing. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The very best Chattanooga has to offer f ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The very best Chattanooga has to offer for fine dining!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was unmatched. Presentation was ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Service was unmatched. Presentation was outstanding. My husband was bery impressed with his birthday date.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food, both in taste and pres ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Outstanding food, both in taste and presentation. Service could not have been better.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a fantastic anniversary dinner he ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We had a fantastic anniversary dinner here! If you are looking for a unique dining experience, St Johns is perfect. Super attentive staff, delicious food, and extensive wine list!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our waiter was very attentive , the food ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our waiter was very attentive , the food was delicious, and we enjoyed celebrating a birthday with our family at St Johns.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!! It was my wife's birthday an ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Fantastic!! It was my wife's birthday and they printed 'happy birthday ' on our menus..

There were tasty treats from the chef.. Very tasty indeed!

The server was very polite and couldn't do enough for you.

Food was fantastic!!

First class service!

First class meals!

Thank you!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing quality food, unbeatable service ...

vip
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Amazing quality food, unbeatable service. Extensive wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The hostess and wait staff were extremel ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The hostess and wait staff were extremely friendly and professional. Food was delicious. I had one of their special cocktails. It may have been the best I ever had! Classy and upscale without being stuffy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

St. John's is always wonderful! In all ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

St. John's is always wonderful! In all the years we've been eating here, we've never had a meal that was less than stellar. The staff is friendly, courteous, knowledgeable about the wine and food, and make us feel truly special. What can I say about the food--other than "it's the best in Chattanooga!"

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reliable, strong service, good varied me ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Reliable, strong service, good varied menu that is always evolving. I use the restaurant for important business meetings as it is quiet enough for conversation at a table for four to six.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service and ambiance. Our waiter w ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great service and ambiance. Our waiter was very attentive and helpful. Making reservations was easy

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful dining experience as a (very ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

A wonderful dining experience as a (very) delayed first anniversary dinner. The service was perfect and the food delicious. My wife and I had a perfect evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romance, Special Occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gourmet food and prices to match. Porti ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Gourmet food and prices to match. Portions are small and if you order steak order at least one level more done than normal as undercooked. I ordered a steak and instead of it coming as a one piece steak it was carved into slices with a sauce put on it. Was undercooked to my taste and expectation and did not expect it to be sliced up. How can I even tell if it was a steak I was being served?

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

We absolutely love St. John's. We've nev ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We absolutely love St. John's. We've never once had a bad experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely lovely in every way!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Absolutely lovely in every way!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is easily the best resta ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This restaurant is easily the best restaurant in Chattanooga!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and experience at St. John's. ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food and experience at St. John's. All the food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Joe S. was a wonderful server. My husban ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Joe S. was a wonderful server. My husband and I were having date night since having a baby. I asked him how much wine was in the taste portion since I was breastfeeding, and he knew immediately. He then made sure the cheese in the dish was pasteurized without me asking. He was prompt, but didn't make us feel rushed. My filet was the best steak I've ever had, and I have worked at Ruth's Chris and J. Alexander's. It was a wonderful experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I consider myself hard to please when it ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I consider myself hard to please when it comes to fine food and fine restaurants.

St. John's was perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was superb. Any selection off o ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The food was superb. Any selection off of the menu is the correct selection. The waitstaff also made an excellent recommendation on a drink pairing. The hostess made an effort to sit tables apart from each other as long as possible so you were not directly beside other customers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every dish was a special treat. But make ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Every dish was a special treat. But make sure no food allergies exist before bringing complimentary dishes to the table.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent. Every time we visit Chattanoo ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent. Every time we visit Chattanooga we make it a point to dine here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at St. John's is just outstandi ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food at St. John's is just outstanding! Our visit last Saturday evening was the best fine dining experience we have ever had. The food is as visually stunning as the taste. Chef Barron truly has a gift for creating the most wonderful flavor combinations. We were there for a special occasion and our experience truly was special, can't wait to go again soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

St. John's Restaurant hits the mark

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

I always look forward to having dinner at St. John's Restaurant. While expensive, I feel that it is worth every penny given the quality and inventiveness of the food and the professionalism of the servers. I also like the fact that the restaurant is not noisy and you can easily carry on a conversation. Both my companion and I had an amazing meal and we finished it off with a carrot cake soufflé with crème anglaise that was to die for. Coupled with a 10 year old tawny port and a cup of their most excellent coffee, it was the perfect way to end our evening. I will be going there every opportunity that I get. Special props to Server 100 upstairs. He made excellent suggestions for wine pairings and was the epitomine of professionalism.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server really knew the menu and was ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Our server really knew the menu and was able to answer our questions thoroughly. As a result, we ordered and received a practically perfect meal. The food, from the local goat cheese toasts to the antelope steaks was exquisitely prepared and presented. Well worth many visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic meal. Had 3 courses and wine a ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Fantastic meal. Had 3 courses and wine and all were excellent. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Favorite Chattanooga Restaurant

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We eat here every chance we get when we a visiting Chattanooga. This occasion was our 31st wedding anniversary, and it was wonderful, as usual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.