About St. John's Restaurant

1278 Market St.
Chattanooga, TN 37402
View Larger Map

Chattanooga's most acclaimed restaurant, St. John's Restaurant serves inventive Regional American cuisine from Chef Rebecca Barron in a elegant, historic setting. St. John's superb staff will provide you with a warm and remarkable dining experience and delight you with an extensive and eclectic selection of wines.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Please note reservations for parties of 11 or more cannot be made online.

Cross Street:
13th St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 266-4400

Website:
http://www.stjohnsrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking available behind the St. John's building and on the King Street side of the building. Limited street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Chattanooga's complimentary electric shuttle has a stop at the St. John's building.

Executive Chef:
Rebecca Barron

Private Party Facilities:
St. John's Restaurant offers two private dining room options. The Thomas Johnson Room accommodates up to 16 guests and the R.H. Hunt Room accommodates up to 50 guests. Food and beverage minimums apply.

Private Party Contact:
Josh Carter: 423-266-4400x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

St. John's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
East Tennessee
Best Food
East Tennessee
Best Service
East Tennessee
16 More
Best Ambiance
East Tennessee
Best Value
East Tennessee
Fit for Foodies
East Tennessee
Romantic
East Tennessee
Special Occasion
East Tennessee
American
East Tennessee
Most Booked
East Tennessee
Best Overall
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Food
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Service
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Ambiance
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Value
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Fit for Foodies
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Romantic
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Special Occasion
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Most Booked
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Chattanooga ›

special occasion (86)
romantic (71)
fit for foodies (60)
See All
notable wine list (40)
neighborhood gem (20)
good for groups (16)
late-night find (4)
scenic view (2)
hot spot (2)
great for lunch (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1070 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and ambiance. Our waiter w ...

Dined 3 days ago

Great service and ambiance. Our waiter was very attentive and helpful. Making reservations was easy

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We absolutely love St. John's. We've nev ...

Dined 4 days ago

We absolutely love St. John's. We've never once had a bad experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is easily the best resta ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This restaurant is easily the best restaurant in Chattanooga!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and experience at St. John's. ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food and experience at St. John's. All the food was excellent.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Joe S. was a wonderful server. My husban ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Joe S. was a wonderful server. My husband and I were having date night since having a baby. I asked him how much wine was in the taste portion since I was breastfeeding, and he knew immediately. He then made sure the cheese in the dish was pasteurized without me asking. He was prompt, but didn't make us feel rushed. My filet was the best steak I've ever had, and I have worked at Ruth's Chris and J. Alexander's. It was a wonderful experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I consider myself hard to please when it ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

I consider myself hard to please when it comes to fine food and fine restaurants. St. John's was perfection.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was superb. Any selection off o ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

The food was superb. Any selection off of the menu is the correct selection. The waitstaff also made an excellent recommendation on a drink pairing. The hostess made an effort to sit tables apart from each other as long as possible so you were not directly beside other customers.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Every dish was a special treat. But make ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Every dish was a special treat. But make sure no food allergies exist before bringing complimentary dishes to the table.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent. Every time we visit Chattanoo ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent. Every time we visit Chattanooga we make it a point to dine here.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The food at St. John's is just outstandi ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The food at St. John's is just outstanding! Our visit last Saturday evening was the best fine dining experience we have ever had. The food is as visually stunning as the taste. Chef Barron truly has a gift for creating the most wonderful flavor combinations. We were there for a special occasion and our experience truly was special, can't wait to go again soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

St. John's Restaurant hits the mark

Dined on June 8, 2016

I always look forward to having dinner at St. John's Restaurant. While expensive, I feel that it is worth every penny given the quality and inventiveness of the food and the professionalism of the servers. I also like the fact that the restaurant is not noisy and you can easily carry on a conversation. Both my companion and I had an amazing meal and we finished it off with a carrot cake soufflé with crème anglaise that was to die for. Coupled with a 10 year old tawny port and a cup of their most excellent coffee, it was the perfect way to end our evening. I will be going there every opportunity that I get. Special props to Server 100 upstairs. He made excellent suggestions for wine pairings and was the epitomine of professionalism.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server really knew the menu and was ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Our server really knew the menu and was able to answer our questions thoroughly. As a result, we ordered and received a practically perfect meal. The food, from the local goat cheese toasts to the antelope steaks was exquisitely prepared and presented. Well worth many visits.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic meal. Had 3 courses and wine a ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Fantastic meal. Had 3 courses and wine and all were excellent. Highly recommend!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite Chattanooga Restaurant

Dined on June 4, 2016

We eat here every chance we get when we a visiting Chattanooga. This occasion was our 31st wedding anniversary, and it was wonderful, as usual.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We went here for our anniversary dinner. ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

We went here for our anniversary dinner. Great atmosphere, great custom service (our menus were customized for our anniversary since I noted on the reservation) and food was fabulous. Unique menu provides fresh twists on traditional favorites with an opportunity to explore. Love it!

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Seal of approval from French friends!

Dined on June 4, 2016

St. John's Restaurant is always great! We recently brought French friends here to celebrate 25 years of friendship and their first visit to the States. We knew we could be proud to bring them to St. John's--and it lived up to our expectations. The food is always delicious and beautifully prepared. The servers know the menu well, are friendly and helpful, and help with wine is available if needed. It's always a memorable occasion dining here. My only wish would be for a lower noise level, a wish voiced by our friends, who said that such a nice restaurant in France would be elegantly quiet. The French take their food very seriously! And of course, our friends were delighted with their meal. Thank you, St. John's, for helping to prove that American food can be just as good as French food!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

world class dining experience

Dined on June 3, 2016

Upscale but not stuffy. Service wonderful, Our waiter, James created much anticipation for the offerings. Had the steak tartar appetizer, a bison steak for the entrée and a fried pound cake for dessert. Got reservations for the next evening there before I finished my meal. Highly recommend. We will not return to Chattanooga without eating here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food,service and ambiance. Ser ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Excellent food,service and ambiance. Service was exceptional.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

JRT MLB

Dined on May 31, 2016

Our dining experience was a very pleasant surprise. We were in town on business at the time of our wedding anniversary, and chose St. John's from the internet. The entire experience was top rated, starting with the professional, well dressed, very knowledgeable servers with no visible tattoos or nose piercings. The menu items were well thought out. The meal presentations were as good as I've seen anywhere, and the food taste matched the expectations established by the presentations. The courtesy shown my wife on our anniversary was a gracious addition. The pricing was probably high compared to other Chattanooga establishments, but moderate compared to similar quality restaurants in other cities. I will not hesitate to visit again on my next trip to Chattanooga. At my business meeting the next day several of the locals reinforced my impression, stating that St Johns was considered the premier restaurant in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent dining experience.

Dined on May 28, 2016

My husband & I found St Anthony's on line during a weekend visit. We had no difficulty getting a reservation on open table at short notice and our dining experience was equal to the excellent reviews we read. Environment was pleasant & not pretentious, service was attentive, prompt & helpful. And the food was excellent. Portions were large enough that we shared a soup & salad & the kitchen split the servings for us. Lobster salad had plenty of lobster. Presentation was appealing & sauces were tasty and not overwhelming. We highly recommend and will return on our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food with tons of flavor, great service.

Dined on May 28, 2016

My wife and I love the food here. They have a soup with a kind of squash puree base poured over butter-poached lobster or crab with sweet corn and peppers, and it's incredible. The chefs also transform steak so that it's not just a slab of meat, but something unique with all kinds of flavors (the sauces are amazing). Our servers were prompt and knowledgeable. Great atmosphere, excellent cocktails and amazing food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined on May 25, 2016

The food presentation for every dish ordered was both appetizing and creative. Each dish beautifully combined different flavors resulting in exceptional taste. The wine list was amazing. Also, the wait staff was very attentive. The result was an outstanding 31st wedding anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Found the restaurant on Open Table. The ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Found the restaurant on Open Table. They accommodated a large group well. The food was very good. The pricing indicated on Open Table is mis-represented.... this is an upscale place and that was fine, but the $$ on Open Table is misleading, FYI. It is more like $$$. Nice place, food was very good, smallish portions.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Remains the best meal in Chattanooga.

Dined on May 19, 2016

Remains the best meal in Chattanooga.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Lobster leek soup was great. Liked the p ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Lobster leek soup was great. Liked the place so much we went twice in a 3 day in Chattanooga.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome time

Dined on May 15, 2016

Really enjoyed the food and beverage selection. I will say the St John's bar "The Meeting place" which is next to St John's had better drinks than the main restaurant, but that is not to say the drinks in the main restaurant were at all bad. It was a lovely evening with excellent food, and a fun and on the ball wait staff. I expected nothing less for the price and enjoyed every min of it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

The wild Alaskan Halibut was absolutely ...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

The wild Alaskan Halibut was absolutely delicious and perfectly prepared. The jumbo lump crab and the verjus-tomato broth nicely complimented the dish without overpowering the fish. I substituted the creamed corn with roasted cauliflower. Can't wait to visit again.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food wonderful, but really crowded and noisy.

Dined on May 7, 2016

There were several special occasion parties going on and they were really loud. The service was a little slow, but the server was great. The food, as always was well worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

St John's is the epitome of fine dining ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

St John's is the epitome of fine dining in Chattanooga! From the food to the restaurant staff, everything is beyond superb.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

Dined on April 27, 2016

We have been twice, completely mind blowing both times.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic

Dined on April 23, 2016

Fantastic food and service overall. Would definitely go back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Good, but not what it used to be.

Dined on April 22, 2016

Good, but not what it used to be.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The best

Dined on April 16, 2016

This is not only the best restaurant in Chattanooga but one of the best in the country.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Good but.....

Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was good but by no means the best I have had, and certainly not worth the price. Very, very expensive.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Very nice place! It may have been a litt ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Very nice place! It may have been a little too quite though. The food was outstanding!

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome Just go!

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

Awesome Just go!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best filet I've ever had

Dined on April 9, 2016

This restaurant is incredible. Food, service, ambience... everything was just perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Sweetbread appetizer

Dined on March 29, 2016

Sweetbread appetizer

food5
ambience5
service5

I have celiac disease and the staff is v ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

I have celiac disease and the staff is very knowledgeable about what dishes I can have. You don't know how much that means!!

food5
ambience5
service5

My companion and I thoroughly enjoyed th ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

My companion and I thoroughly enjoyed the entire dining experience. I had the venison and she enjoyed the vegetable ravioli. I eat a goodly amount of venison and this was cooked with exceptional care. I cannot give greater compliments to the chef. Exceptional cuisine and service. Brava tutti!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.