About St. John's Restaurant

1278 Market St.
Chattanooga, TN 37402
View Larger Map

Chattanooga's most acclaimed restaurant, St. John's Restaurant serves inventive Regional American cuisine from Chef Rebecca Barron in a elegant, historic setting. St. John's superb staff will provide you with a warm and remarkable dining experience and delight you with an extensive and eclectic selection of wines.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Please note reservations for parties of 11 or more cannot be made online.

Cross Street:
13th St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 266-4400

Website:
http://www.stjohnsrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking available behind the St. John's building and on the King Street side of the building. Limited street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Chattanooga's complimentary electric shuttle has a stop at the St. John's building.

Executive Chef:
Rebecca Barron

Private Party Facilities:
St. John's Restaurant offers two private dining room options. The Thomas Johnson Room accommodates up to 16 guests and the R.H. Hunt Room accommodates up to 50 guests. Food and beverage minimums apply.

Private Party Contact:
Josh Carter: 423-266-4400x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

St. John's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
East Tennessee
Best Food
East Tennessee
Best Service
East Tennessee
15 More
Best Ambiance
East Tennessee
Best Value
East Tennessee
Fit for Foodies
East Tennessee
Romantic
East Tennessee
Special Occasion
East Tennessee
American
East Tennessee
Most Booked
East Tennessee
Best Overall
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Food
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Service
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Ambiance
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Value
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Fit for Foodies
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Special Occasion
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Most Booked
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Chattanooga ›

special occasion (82)
romantic (65)
fit for foodies (60)
See All
notable wine list (35)
neighborhood gem (19)
good for groups (15)
late-night find (4)
scenic view (3)
great for lunch (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
hot spot (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1084 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is our second visit in two years to ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined 3 days ago

This is our second visit in two years to St. Johns. We had a great time on our first visit and likewise this visit. Servers were prompt, but not rushing us, helpful, very good-natured.

We had a table for two on the upstairs overlooking the first floor dining. We were able

to converse at normal volume.

The food was, as always, excellent. Portions are satisfying. Dynamite presentation and as always flavorful. My wife said the dessert -- peach upside down cake with ice cream-- could win the "Chopped" challenge on a run-away.

Thank you for a great evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire staff was friendly and offere ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The entire staff was friendly and offered an incredible dining experience. The food was amazing. We will definitely be back.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The very best Chattanooga has to offer f ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The very best Chattanooga has to offer for fine dining!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was unmatched. Presentation was ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Service was unmatched. Presentation was outstanding. My husband was bery impressed with his birthday date.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food, both in taste and pres ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Outstanding food, both in taste and presentation. Service could not have been better.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a fantastic anniversary dinner he ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We had a fantastic anniversary dinner here! If you are looking for a unique dining experience, St Johns is perfect. Super attentive staff, delicious food, and extensive wine list!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our waiter was very attentive , the food ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our waiter was very attentive , the food was delicious, and we enjoyed celebrating a birthday with our family at St Johns.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!! It was my wife's birthday an ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Fantastic!! It was my wife's birthday and they printed 'happy birthday ' on our menus..

There were tasty treats from the chef.. Very tasty indeed!

The server was very polite and couldn't do enough for you.

Food was fantastic!!

First class service!

First class meals!

Thank you!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing quality food, unbeatable service ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Amazing quality food, unbeatable service. Extensive wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

St. John's is always wonderful! In all ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

St. John's is always wonderful! In all the years we've been eating here, we've never had a meal that was less than stellar. The staff is friendly, courteous, knowledgeable about the wine and food, and make us feel truly special. What can I say about the food--other than "it's the best in Chattanooga!"

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reliable, strong service, good varied me ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Reliable, strong service, good varied menu that is always evolving. I use the restaurant for important business meetings as it is quiet enough for conversation at a table for four to six.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service and ambiance. Our waiter w ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great service and ambiance. Our waiter was very attentive and helpful. Making reservations was easy

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful dining experience as a (very ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

A wonderful dining experience as a (very) delayed first anniversary dinner. The service was perfect and the food delicious. My wife and I had a perfect evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gourmet food and prices to match. Porti ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Gourmet food and prices to match. Portions are small and if you order steak order at least one level more done than normal as undercooked. I ordered a steak and instead of it coming as a one piece steak it was carved into slices with a sauce put on it. Was undercooked to my taste and expectation and did not expect it to be sliced up. How can I even tell if it was a steak I was being served?

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

We absolutely love St. John's. We've nev ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We absolutely love St. John's. We've never once had a bad experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is easily the best resta ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This restaurant is easily the best restaurant in Chattanooga!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and experience at St. John's. ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food and experience at St. John's. All the food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Joe S. was a wonderful server. My husban ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Joe S. was a wonderful server. My husband and I were having date night since having a baby. I asked him how much wine was in the taste portion since I was breastfeeding, and he knew immediately. He then made sure the cheese in the dish was pasteurized without me asking. He was prompt, but didn't make us feel rushed. My filet was the best steak I've ever had, and I have worked at Ruth's Chris and J. Alexander's. It was a wonderful experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I consider myself hard to please when it ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

I consider myself hard to please when it comes to fine food and fine restaurants.

St. John's was perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was superb. Any selection off o ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The food was superb. Any selection off of the menu is the correct selection. The waitstaff also made an excellent recommendation on a drink pairing. The hostess made an effort to sit tables apart from each other as long as possible so you were not directly beside other customers.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every dish was a special treat. But make ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Every dish was a special treat. But make sure no food allergies exist before bringing complimentary dishes to the table.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent. Every time we visit Chattanoo ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent. Every time we visit Chattanooga we make it a point to dine here.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at St. John's is just outstandi ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food at St. John's is just outstanding! Our visit last Saturday evening was the best fine dining experience we have ever had. The food is as visually stunning as the taste. Chef Barron truly has a gift for creating the most wonderful flavor combinations. We were there for a special occasion and our experience truly was special, can't wait to go again soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

St. John's Restaurant hits the mark

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

I always look forward to having dinner at St. John's Restaurant. While expensive, I feel that it is worth every penny given the quality and inventiveness of the food and the professionalism of the servers. I also like the fact that the restaurant is not noisy and you can easily carry on a conversation. Both my companion and I had an amazing meal and we finished it off with a carrot cake soufflé with crème anglaise that was to die for. Coupled with a 10 year old tawny port and a cup of their most excellent coffee, it was the perfect way to end our evening. I will be going there every opportunity that I get. Special props to Server 100 upstairs. He made excellent suggestions for wine pairings and was the epitomine of professionalism.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server really knew the menu and was ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Our server really knew the menu and was able to answer our questions thoroughly. As a result, we ordered and received a practically perfect meal. The food, from the local goat cheese toasts to the antelope steaks was exquisitely prepared and presented. Well worth many visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic meal. Had 3 courses and wine a ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Fantastic meal. Had 3 courses and wine and all were excellent. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Favorite Chattanooga Restaurant

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We eat here every chance we get when we a visiting Chattanooga. This occasion was our 31st wedding anniversary, and it was wonderful, as usual.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for our anniversary dinner. ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We went here for our anniversary dinner. Great atmosphere, great custom service (our menus were customized for our anniversary since I noted on the reservation) and food was fabulous. Unique menu provides fresh twists on traditional favorites with an opportunity to explore. Love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Seal of approval from French friends!

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

St. John's Restaurant is always great! We recently brought French friends here to celebrate 25 years of friendship and their first visit to the States. We knew we could be proud to bring them to St. John's--and it lived up to our expectations. The food is always delicious and beautifully prepared. The servers know the menu well, are friendly and helpful, and help with wine is available if needed. It's always a memorable occasion dining here. My only wish would be for a lower noise level, a wish voiced by our friends, who said that such a nice restaurant in France would be elegantly quiet. The French take their food very seriously! And of course, our friends were delighted with their meal. Thank you, St. John's, for helping to prove that American food can be just as good as French food!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

world class dining experience

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Upscale but not stuffy. Service wonderful, Our waiter, James created much anticipation for the offerings. Had the steak tartar appetizer, a bison steak for the entrée and a fried pound cake for dessert. Got reservations for the next evening there before I finished my meal. Highly recommend. We will not return to Chattanooga without eating here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food,service and ambiance. Ser ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Excellent food,service and ambiance. Service was exceptional.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

JRT MLB

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Our dining experience was a very pleasant surprise. We were in town on business at the time of our wedding anniversary, and chose St. John's from the internet. The entire experience was top rated, starting with the professional, well dressed, very knowledgeable servers with no visible tattoos or nose piercings. The menu items were well thought out. The meal presentations were as good as I've seen anywhere, and the food taste matched the expectations established by the presentations. The courtesy shown my wife on our anniversary was a gracious addition. The pricing was probably high compared to other Chattanooga establishments, but moderate compared to similar quality restaurants in other cities. I will not hesitate to visit again on my next trip to Chattanooga.

At my business meeting the next day several of the locals reinforced my impression, stating that St Johns was considered the premier restaurant in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrific experience and food. It's not c ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Terrific experience and food. It's not cheap of course, as our meal was over $100. But the chef sends out extras occasionally.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent dining experience.

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My husband & I found St Anthony's on line during a weekend visit. We had no difficulty getting a reservation on open table at short notice and our dining experience was equal to the excellent reviews we read. Environment was pleasant & not pretentious, service was attentive, prompt & helpful. And the food was excellent. Portions were large enough that we shared a soup & salad & the kitchen split the servings for us. Lobster salad had plenty of lobster. Presentation was appealing & sauces were tasty and not overwhelming. We highly recommend and will return on our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food with tons of flavor, great service.

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My wife and I love the food here. They have a soup with a kind of squash puree base poured over butter-poached lobster or crab with sweet corn and peppers, and it's incredible. The chefs also transform steak so that it's not just a slab of meat, but something unique with all kinds of flavors (the sauces are amazing). Our servers were prompt and knowledgeable. Great atmosphere, excellent cocktails and amazing food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

The food presentation for every dish ordered was both appetizing and creative. Each dish beautifully combined different flavors resulting in exceptional taste. The wine list was amazing. Also, the wait staff was very attentive. The result was an outstanding 31st wedding anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Found the restaurant on Open Table. The ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Found the restaurant on Open Table. They accommodated a large group well. The food was very good. The pricing indicated on Open Table is mis-represented.... this is an upscale place and that was fine, but the $$ on Open Table is misleading, FYI. It is more like $$$. Nice place, food was very good, smallish portions.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Remains the best meal in Chattanooga.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Remains the best meal in Chattanooga.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lobster leek soup was great. Liked the p ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Lobster leek soup was great. Liked the place so much we went twice in a 3 day in Chattanooga.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome time

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Really enjoyed the food and beverage selection. I will say the St John's bar "The Meeting place" which is next to St John's had better drinks than the main restaurant, but that is not to say the drinks in the main restaurant were at all bad. It was a lovely evening with excellent food, and a fun and on the ball wait staff. I expected nothing less for the price and enjoyed every min of it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.