About St. John's Restaurant

1278 Market St.
Chattanooga, TN 37402
View Larger Map

Chattanooga's most acclaimed restaurant, St. John's Restaurant serves inventive Regional American cuisine from Chef Rebecca Barron in a elegant, historic setting. St. John's superb staff will provide you with a warm and remarkable dining experience and delight you with an extensive and eclectic selection of wines.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Please note reservations for parties of 11 or more cannot be made online.

Cross Street:
13th St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 266-4400

Website:
http://www.stjohnsrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking available behind the St. John's building and on the King Street side of the building. Limited street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Chattanooga's complimentary electric shuttle has a stop at the St. John's building.

Executive Chef:
Rebecca Barron

Private Party Facilities:
St. John's Restaurant offers two private dining room options. The Thomas Johnson Room accommodates up to 16 guests and the R.H. Hunt Room accommodates up to 50 guests. Food and beverage minimums apply.

Private Party Contact:
Josh Carter: (423) 266-4400

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

St. John's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (43)
Good for a Date (42)
Special Occasion (41)
See All
Romantic (31)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Notable Wine List (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Cozy (18)
Historic (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Business Meals (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Authentic (10)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Seasonal (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Private Room (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Healthy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Fun (3)
Bar Seating (3)
People Watching (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Organic (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Live Music (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1244 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always and enjoyable experience, arrive ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

Always and enjoyable experience, arrive a little early for a drink at the bar, great bartender.

Nice wine list with wines and prices for most tastes and price range.

Nice place for foodies.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service was excellent as always ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food and service was excellent as always. They made our anniversary very special and made us feel at home.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Historic, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food. Inspired menu. Congeni ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Delicious food. Inspired menu. Congenial service. Our third visit; we are from our-of-state.

We'll be back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding. Beautifully presented and d ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Outstanding. Beautifully presented and delicious. A relaxing experience. Well done St. John's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Probably the best restaurant in Chattano ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Probably the best restaurant in Chattanooga. It's really fantastic and I always go there when in town. Waitress forgot to bring us our to-go boxes and we forgot them as well so I take 50% of the responsibility.... that was disappointing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent service with a soothing romant ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent service with a soothing romantic atmosphere. The food will spoil you. Compliments to the Chefs. Quality dining at its best, will leave you more than just satisfied.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

St. John's is the finest restaurant in C ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

St. John's is the finest restaurant in Chattanooga, hands down. The food is extraordinary, the service well above average, the location and ambience good. I've eaten at St. John's a number of times and I have never been disappointed. I look forward to my next visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went to celebrate my husband's birthd ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We went to celebrate my husband's birthday. The menus had happy birthday with the date written across the top of it. I had ordered my steak medium but it came more of a well done with very little pink inside of it so it was a little dry but other than that we did enjoy the food. My husband is more adventurous than I am when eating so he was more pleased with the menu options.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I took a gal pal to dinner for her birth ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I took a gal pal to dinner for her birthday and we had a wonderful time. I highly recommend this restaurant for the quality of the food and the wine list, the latter something that's lacking in many Chattanooga restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Modern dining atmosphere. Current and co ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Modern dining atmosphere. Current and comfort food trends infused. The antelope is amazing. Order it medium. The carrot cake soufflé with creme anglaise is delightfully sinful! For the past 8 years whenever we are in Chattanooga, we make a point to go!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wonderful as always! thank you!

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 26, 2016

wonderful as always! thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really exceeded expectations. Great serv ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Really exceeded expectations. Great service and innovative menu. We had several appetizers, the salad and split the ostrich, which should be ordered medium rare. Exceptional choice!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated immediately upon entering ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We were seated immediately upon entering the restaurant; we had reservations. The table had a great second floor street view, but was crowded next to two larger tables. Wishin 7-8 minutes they offered us a different table in a quiet location. The first course was excellent (broccoli and sunchoke soup). I had the Hawaiian sea bass and my wife had the Wiygu filet and roasted brisket. Both dishes were excellent. The chocolate mousse cake was the finishing touch. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Happy Hour, Private Room, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tiny appetizer portions, over priced d ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Tiny appetizer portions, over priced drinks and service was just ok. They sat us right by the front door and bar so not really the nice quite romantic dinner atmosphere I thought it would be. I was extremely disappointed after spending $120 dollars for two people. I really thought it would be been a lot better. I most likely won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

First off this is the one of the best ve ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 16, 2016

First off this is the one of the best vegan food experiences I've ever had. Chef Baron's food is a multi dimensional experience beaming with texture and flavor. Ask for the veggie lo mein and the vegan risotto.

I took my wife there and they did a great job. Michelle and Joy took good care of us. Just look at their Sparkling/champagne list and you'll understand how much of an experience the staff has in store for you.

I think the best part of this meal was desert because it was so playful and purposeful at the same time. Food should have a purpose (to nourish) as well as delight your senses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall a great 5 star meal and experien ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Overall a great 5 star meal and experience. I just wish I could afford to go every week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I really enjoyed everything about this r ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I really enjoyed everything about this restaurant !!! Great food and service!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great dinner celebrating 30 years of mar ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Great dinner celebrating 30 years of marriage! Everything was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were on our 36 year anniversary and l ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 13, 2016

We were on our 36 year anniversary and like before St. John's was a wonder experience and the meal was wonderful. I would and have recommend St. John's to folks in my work and church.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I travel roughly 200 days of the year, a ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I travel roughly 200 days of the year, as well as eat out in many restaurants in cities large and small. I've been in many restaurants that were relatively expensive and had marginal food and/or service. Likewise, I have been in many restaurants that were very modestly priced and had phenomenal food and service. I was very taken back that a city the size of Chattanooga has such a wonderful restaurant, with fabulous service and food that I would call a very rare find.

This is not a restaurant that I want to eat at every night as it is a bit more highbrow then I traditionally like, but if you are looking for a true dining experience that is equivalent to any fine dining you will find in San Francisco, Washington DC, New York City, etc, this is it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great and service was exception ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Food was great and service was exceptional. The chef, Rebecca came out and spoke with us and even gave us a tip on where to eat the next night and she was spot on! The roasted filet was probably the best steak I have ever eaten. Misty (our server) was knowledgeable and did a great job. It was our 35th anniversary and they made it very special and we could not have been happier with our choice.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Back to good food. Busy night but worth ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Back to good food. Busy night but worth it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I have to say I loved this place in the ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I have to say I loved this place in the past. I drive over an hour just to have dinner here. I will say this last trip here was horrible. Service was the worst ever experienced here. We ordered our food it came out wrong, it didnt even come out together. Sent the food back and barely got an apology. We ordered dessert and after waiting 30 min it never came out. We proceeded to tell the waitress we didnt want desserts it had been so long. After a short lack of caring visit from a manager, she took off the first course that was messed up. Over all we were in the restaurant for 2 hours because of the slow service and didnt even get our desserts. Sad to say I may not go back again because of the let down this time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Noise was really bad, lots of noise comi ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Noise was really bad, lots of noise coming from the bar, bartender mixing drinks. We were in another room. Food was fantastic! It was our 39th anniversary and it would have been a lot nicer had it not been been for the 90 db level.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I could never say enough good things abo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2016

I could never say enough good things about our server. When I commented jokingly that I wished to take home a quart of the indescribably good house made apple butter, he brought a dish with a very reasonable serving of that same apple butter that we used to finish off our excellent bread . He answered all of our questions, both subjective and objective, Without hesitation, and with complete confidence. Wonderful meal, good size portions and great value. We always love our experience here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The only reason to eat here is to be abl ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The only reason to eat here is to be able to say that you have dined at St. Johns. The food is mediocre, at best. The ambiance is best described as stuffy. I spent $260 on dinner for two, and I feel like I got robbed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Simply the most outstanding restuarant i ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Simply the most outstanding restuarant in Chattanooga. Excellent and innovative menu and always superior service .

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great menu and wine list and a great spo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Great menu and wine list and a great spot for a business dinner

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great anniversary dinner here - ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had a great anniversary dinner here - they made it very special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience! Food was awesome And ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Great experience! Food was awesome

And the wait staff was attentive and knowledgeable. I would definitely recommend St. John's to anyone desiring a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The filet was amazing and the potato bre ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The filet was amazing and the potato bread is to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

St. John's certainly lived up to its rep ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 15, 2016

St. John's certainly lived up to its reputation as the classiest (and tastiest) restaurant in Chattanooga. Excellent menu. Flawless service. It felt good, tasted good and will be remembered by all at her birthday celebration. The menu personalized for the Birthday celebration was an added grace note for the evening...and an unusual keepsake of a memorable time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was a very nice restaurant. Food was gr ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Was a very nice restaurant. Food was great and service was great. I just wasn't very fond of the seating arrangements. When making a reservation they should make it to where you are able to pick your seat from an area; since there are three separate eating areas.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We had a team bonding dinner Everyone wa ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had a team bonding dinner Everyone was pleased with the choices the wait staff was great the food amazing.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, People Watching,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We came for an anniversary date at one o ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We came for an anniversary date at one of our favorite restaurants.

Lovely menu and delicious food.

We will be back!!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Still the Best Fine Dining in Chattanoog ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Still the Best Fine Dining in Chattanooga. Dishes are always fresh and seasonal. Wine list is exceptional.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

St. John's knocked it out of the park! ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 5, 2016

St. John's knocked it out of the park! All of the service people were friendly and attentive. We started with a drink at the bar and then had our tab transferred to the table. The wine list was extensive and interesting.

There were 4 in our party and we ordered several different items like scallops for an appetizer, beet salads, wagyu beef , veal chop, and delicious desserts. Everything was outstanding and the service was on point all evening.

Hands down, the best meal we have had in Chattanooga in a long time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding from start to finish. Presen ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Outstanding from start to finish. Presentation and quality of food was superb.

Tags: Seasonal, Historic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a beautiful experience. The servic ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 1, 2016

What a beautiful experience. The service was perfect, the food was plated like a piece of art, the service was there when need and not when not. It was so worth the night. So worth the money. The menu's descriptions are even better told to you by your waiter. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding Birthday celebration with fr ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Outstanding Birthday celebration with friends at a round table. Shannon was our waiter and he answered all questions about the menu and took very good care of the 5 of us. This is a special restaurant with superb food. It is a bit expensive but worth every cent as this is probably the best restaurant in Chattanooga! My New Zealand Salmon was prepared by Chef Rebecca and it literally melted in my mouth. Dessert was outstanding as well. The Chef came out to our table and I was so glad to report how wonderful my salmon tasted. I look forward to the next special occasion to return to this very special restaurant.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.