About St. John's Restaurant

1278 Market St.
Chattanooga, TN 37402
View Larger Map

Chattanooga's most acclaimed restaurant, St. John's Restaurant serves inventive Regional American cuisine from Chef Rebecca Barron in a elegant, historic setting. St. John's superb staff will provide you with a warm and remarkable dining experience and delight you with an extensive and eclectic selection of wines.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Please note reservations for parties of 11 or more cannot be made online.

Cross Street:
13th St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 266-4400

Website:
http://www.stjohnsrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking available behind the St. John's building and on the King Street side of the building. Limited street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Chattanooga's complimentary electric shuttle has a stop at the St. John's building.

Executive Chef:
Rebecca Barron

Private Party Facilities:
St. John's Restaurant offers two private dining room options. The Thomas Johnson Room accommodates up to 16 guests and the R.H. Hunt Room accommodates up to 50 guests. Food and beverage minimums apply.

Private Party Contact:
Josh Carter: 423-266-4400x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

St. John's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
East Tennessee
Best Food
East Tennessee
Best Service
East Tennessee
12 More
Best Ambiance
East Tennessee
Best Value
East Tennessee
Romantic
East Tennessee
Special Occasion
East Tennessee
American
East Tennessee
Most Booked
East Tennessee
Best Overall
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Food
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Service
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Ambiance
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Value
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Most Booked
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Chattanooga ›

Special Occasion (53)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Romantic (43)
See All
Good for a Date (41)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Worth the Drive (25)
Notable Wine List (25)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Local Ingredients (19)
Business Meals (19)
Cozy (16)
Historic (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Authentic (10)
Seasonal (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Healthy (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Organic (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Private Room (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Fun (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Fireplace (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Casual (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Music (1)
Family Style (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1161 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was great and service was exception ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was great and service was exceptional. The chef, Rebecca came out and spoke with us and even gave us a tip on where to eat the next night and she was spot on! The roasted filet was probably the best steak I have ever eaten. Misty (our server) was knowledgeable and did a great job. It was our 35th anniversary and they made it very special and we could not have been happier with our choice.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have to say I loved this place in the ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 4 days ago

I have to say I loved this place in the past. I drive over an hour just to have dinner here. I will say this last trip here was horrible. Service was the worst ever experienced here. We ordered our food it came out wrong, it didnt even come out together. Sent the food back and barely got an apology. We ordered dessert and after waiting 30 min it never came out. We proceeded to tell the waitress we didnt want desserts it had been so long. After a short lack of caring visit from a manager, she took off the first course that was messed up. Over all we were in the restaurant for 2 hours because of the slow service and didnt even get our desserts. Sad to say I may not go back again because of the let down this time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Noise was really bad, lots of noise comi ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 5 days ago

Noise was really bad, lots of noise coming from the bar, bartender mixing drinks. We were in another room. Food was fantastic! It was our 39th anniversary and it would have been a lot nicer had it not been been for the 90 db level.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I could never say enough good things abo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

I could never say enough good things about our server. When I commented jokingly that I wished to take home a quart of the indescribably good house made apple butter, he brought a dish with a very reasonable serving of that same apple butter that we used to finish off our excellent bread . He answered all of our questions, both subjective and objective, Without hesitation, and with complete confidence. Wonderful meal, good size portions and great value. We always love our experience here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Wood Oven, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Simply the most outstanding restuarant i ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

Simply the most outstanding restuarant in Chattanooga. Excellent and innovative menu and always superior service .

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great menu and wine list and a great spo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Great menu and wine list and a great spot for a business dinner

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The filet was amazing and the potato bre ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The filet was amazing and the potato bread is to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

St. John's certainly lived up to its rep ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 15, 2016

St. John's certainly lived up to its reputation as the classiest (and tastiest) restaurant in Chattanooga. Excellent menu. Flawless service. It felt good, tasted good and will be remembered by all at her birthday celebration. The menu personalized for the Birthday celebration was an added grace note for the evening...and an unusual keepsake of a memorable time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was a very nice restaurant. Food was gr ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Was a very nice restaurant. Food was great and service was great. I just wasn't very fond of the seating arrangements. When making a reservation they should make it to where you are able to pick your seat from an area; since there are three separate eating areas.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We had a team bonding dinner Everyone wa ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had a team bonding dinner Everyone was pleased with the choices the wait staff was great the food amazing.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We came for an anniversary date at one o ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We came for an anniversary date at one of our favorite restaurants.

Lovely menu and delicious food.

We will be back!!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Still the Best Fine Dining in Chattanoog ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Still the Best Fine Dining in Chattanooga. Dishes are always fresh and seasonal. Wine list is exceptional.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

St. John's knocked it out of the park! ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 5, 2016

St. John's knocked it out of the park! All of the service people were friendly and attentive. We started with a drink at the bar and then had our tab transferred to the table. The wine list was extensive and interesting.

There were 4 in our party and we ordered several different items like scallops for an appetizer, beet salads, wagyu beef , veal chop, and delicious desserts. Everything was outstanding and the service was on point all evening.

Hands down, the best meal we have had in Chattanooga in a long time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding from start to finish. Presen ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Outstanding from start to finish. Presentation and quality of food was superb.

Tags: Seasonal, Historic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a beautiful experience. The servic ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 1, 2016

What a beautiful experience. The service was perfect, the food was plated like a piece of art, the service was there when need and not when not. It was so worth the night. So worth the money. The menu's descriptions are even better told to you by your waiter. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding Birthday celebration with fr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Outstanding Birthday celebration with friends at a round table. Shannon was our waiter and he answered all questions about the menu and took very good care of the 5 of us. This is a special restaurant with superb food. It is a bit expensive but worth every cent as this is probably the best restaurant in Chattanooga! My New Zealand Salmon was prepared by Chef Rebecca and it literally melted in my mouth. Dessert was outstanding as well. The Chef came out to our table and I was so glad to report how wonderful my salmon tasted. I look forward to the next special occasion to return to this very special restaurant.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pricy but worth every penny! Our server ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Pricy but worth every penny! Our server was very knowledgeable about the night'sky menu and wine list. A truly memorable experience and an opportunity to enjoy a selection of items that are not everyday fare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely spectacular food. We all 4 ha ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Absolutely spectacular food. We all 4 had something different and all felt same way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Innovative and seasonal ingredients, und ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Innovative and seasonal ingredients, understated elegance, outstanding service. Recommended by a local as we were visiting from out of town

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server knew everything about the men ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Our server knew everything about the menu and made great recommendations. A wonderful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I went to St. John's for her ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 25, 2016

My wife and I went to St. John's for her birthday. We both ordered drinks which were a bit pricey but delicious. We then skipped ahead to our entrees where I got the roasted beef filet (medium-rare) and she got the salmon (medium). I can't speak for her, although she said it was wonderful, but that was the best steak I have had in a long time, possibly ever. Afterwards she got to choose a complimentary dessert, because of her birthday, and I ordered the millionaire's coffee. Overall we had a great experience and will definitely be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We have eaten at St. a few times over th ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We have eaten at St. a few times over the years, mainly for special occasions. Would dine here more often but it is a little too pricey for our budget. We can certainly say that our experience was well worth the price! The food was not your normal fare and absolutely delicious! The wait staff was efficient, friendly, and very accommodating. I would highly recommend St. Johns for a great meal in a pleasant atmosphere. The only down side was that the music, jazz, was a little too loud.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is our second time coming to Chatta ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This is our second time coming to Chattanooga and dining here. The food is always fantastic. It was a little noisy this time. I think you should have a side that children are allowed in and another said that children are not allowed in.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyed the meal. My wife had beet sala ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Enjoyed the meal. My wife had beet salad and Halibut while I had steak tar tare and salmon. Everything was so good and we had a great evening. We will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful menu & attentive service. Grea ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Wonderful menu & attentive service. Great place for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very special place. Beautiful historic ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Very special place. Beautiful historic building made into a very interesting restaurant. Food was creative and delicious. Our service was very personable. Loved it!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great restaurant. It may be in Ch ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 19, 2016

What a great restaurant. It may be in Chattanooga but it sure puts a large number of dining establishments in NY and Florida (as well as other parts of the country) to shame.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was the best we have experie ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The service was the best we have experienced in a very long time. Service was very attentive, professional, helpful, and experienced. The food was very good. I had the venison, the cheese cake, and the nutella cappuccino. Everything was luscious.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a new find for us; we decided to ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 14, 2016

This is a new find for us; we decided to try it after reading reviews on TripAdvisor. It's outstanding. Two of us had a pasta dish, one had fish and one had steak, along with a seasonal salad or soup. The wine list is excellent, and has some unusual finds according to the wine specialist in our group. Service was a highlight, as well. We will return the next time we're in Chattanooga.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent. The ambience ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The service was excellent. The ambience was beautiful. unfortunately the food was average and nothing special. My wife and I enjoy fine dining but we found the fish which was Halibut dry and overcooked. The brisket was too fatty and the waygu steak was too tough. everything is perfect about this restaurant except the food which unfortunately ruins it. Especially when you consider the price per plate!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

We celebrated our 32nd wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 6, 2016

We celebrated our 32nd wedding anniversary at St. John's, and they made us feel special. From the welcome, to Happy Anniversary printed on our menu, all the way to the special drinks and food - it was a wonderful memory!

The brisket was especially delicious, as was the custom made Kentucky Mule made with Woodford Reserve and housemade ginger beer!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you're looking for new romantic rest ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 6, 2016

If you're looking for new romantic restaurant in Chattanooga, Tennessee, you have to go to St. Johns restaurant.

Their staff are professionals and the food is delicious.

A five stars restaurant .

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Organic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We hold this dining spot in high regard, ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We hold this dining spot in high regard, always. This time was not disappointing , except that I actually got the WRONG item! Ordered/pointed to one thing, and got another. I should have taken note and sent it back, but actually it was just fine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent service and cuisine. This is ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Excellent service and cuisine. This is the best restaurant in downtown Chattanooga and they continue produce great results. Their attention and service was exemplary. Had an excellent Halibut special the the Free Range Chicken that were cooked perfectly.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, excellent atmosphere and ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Excellent food, excellent atmosphere and ambiance. Exellent wait staff

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was so delightful - friendly ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Our server was so delightful - friendly and attentive. It was a more elegant restaurant than I routinely go to, yet she put us completely at ease. The food was outstanding. I look forward to going back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well done. Beautiful décor, beautiful i ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Well done. Beautiful décor, beautiful interior. Phenomenal service and food. Went for anniversary, could not have asked for better. By the way, the home made chips they give you to snack on at the bar are addictive!

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Some of the bes ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great food and service. Some of the best food I had in a very long time. The flavors and presentation were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous experience....great meal, servi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Fabulous experience....great meal, service and very good value. Loved it! The food is of a high quality and is presented beautifully...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely, fantastic. We have never be ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Absolutely, fantastic. We have never been disappointed- been going there for over 10 years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.