About St. John's Restaurant

1278 Market St.
Chattanooga, TN 37402
View Larger Map

Chattanooga's most acclaimed restaurant, St. John's Restaurant serves inventive Regional American cuisine from Chef Rebecca Barron in a elegant, historic setting. St. John's superb staff will provide you with a warm and remarkable dining experience and delight you with an extensive and eclectic selection of wines.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Please note reservations for parties of 11 or more cannot be made online.

Cross Street:
13th St

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 266-4400

Website:
http://www.stjohnsrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking available behind the St. John's building and on the King Street side of the building. Limited street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Chattanooga's complimentary electric shuttle has a stop at the St. John's building.

Executive Chef:
Rebecca Barron

Private Party Facilities:
St. John's Restaurant offers two private dining room options. The Thomas Johnson Room accommodates up to 16 guests and the R.H. Hunt Room accommodates up to 50 guests. Food and beverage minimums apply.

Private Party Contact:
Josh Carter: 423-266-4400x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

St. John's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
East Tennessee
Best Food
East Tennessee
Best Service
East Tennessee
16 More
Best Ambiance
East Tennessee
Best Value
East Tennessee
Fit for Foodies
East Tennessee
Romantic
East Tennessee
Special Occasion
East Tennessee
American
East Tennessee
Most Booked
East Tennessee
Best Overall
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Food
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Service
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Ambiance
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Value
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Fit for Foodies
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Romantic
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Special Occasion
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Most Booked
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Chattanooga ›

Special Occasion (90)
Romantic (76)
Fit for Foodies (66)
See All
Notable Wine List (46)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Good for a Date (13)
Business Meals (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Authentic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Healthy (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Scenic View (4)
Organic (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Seasonal (3)
Cozy (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Historic (2)
Fun (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Fireplace (1)
Casual (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1121 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and service. Some of the bes ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and service. Some of the best food I had in a very long time. The flavors and presentation were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous experience....great meal, servi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Fabulous experience....great meal, service and very good value. Loved it! The food is of a high quality and is presented beautifully...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely, fantastic. We have never be ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined 4 days ago

Absolutely, fantastic. We have never been disappointed- been going there for over 10 years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Justin was an exceptional server.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Justin was an exceptional server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were stopping in Chattanooga on the w ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We were stopping in Chattanooga on the way home from a two week trip to New England. For a Saturday night the restaurant wasn't overly busy but it had a nice vibe.

The menu was full of great choices. We started with the pimento cheese and smoked trout app, followed by a salad. Both were very good.

My wife had the vegetable spaghetti and I the pork porterhouse. The entrees were nicely played and delicious.

We declined desert and finished our wine.

Excellent service and food was very good.

Tags: Organic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious and creative food. Great for a ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Delicious and creative food. Great for a special ocassion

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Comfort Food, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were in town for business and St. Joh ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We were in town for business and St. John's was a recommendation by several people including the hotel staff. It was an amazing meal. Highly recommend if you are ever in Chattanooga, TN

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for anniversary. Very good and gr ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Went for anniversary. Very good and great waiter. Chef sent complimentary appetizers.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter was fantastic! Overall experi ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Our waiter was fantastic! Overall experience was lovely and a great choice for a first anniversary celebration!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my favorite restaurants i ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants in the whole world

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Highly disappointed! Did not meet our e ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Highly disappointed! Did not meet our expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

St. John's Restaurant was the perfect pl ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

St. John's Restaurant was the perfect place to celebrate my brother and sister in-laws 50th wedding anniversary! Compliments to all at St. John's for your excellent food and service. The quality of the food was superior with choices to please everyone's taste. A special thanks to Kat who assisted with arrangements including recommending Grafe's who delivered a beautiful bouquet of flowers for our table. We highly recommend St. John's!!! THANK YOU!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice upscale dining atmosphere. Everyth ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Nice upscale dining atmosphere. Everything we ordered was delicious, particularly the Beet Salad and Filet. The apple tart at the end was divine and most at the table exclaimed it was the best they'd ever had!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Service and food were excellent. As alwa ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Service and food were excellent. As always a wonderful dinning experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food. You exceeded ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Excellent service and food. You exceeded our expectations.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to St. John's for our anniv ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We have been to St. John's for our anniversary almost every year now. Fabulous service and food. We love it!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was nice but the food was over ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The staff was nice but the food was overrated. My food was very salty and we had to send back the dessert because it was stale. Not worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

very good food. the ambience was a bit ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

very good food. the ambience was a bit scarce - upstairs dining might be more enjoyable. but the food is worth dining there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Just an absolutely terrific treat and su ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Just an absolutely terrific treat and surprise! The "farm to table" element where they partner with local producers is very important to us. The ambience is terrific and the cocktails very creative.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Authentic, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent in all respects. Great bottle ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Excellent in all respects. Great bottle wine list but lacking in by the glass selections. Expensive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant was fabulous! We will d ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

This restaurant was fabulous! We will definitely return on our next trip to Chatanooga. Loved it...the food was fantastic, the service great, and the ambiance perfect!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made online reservations for my wife's ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

I made online reservations for my wife's birthday, we had a casual greeting at the door, greeter had no clue reservations were made and for any particular occasion. In my reservations, a request for, if possible, a quiet booth to enjoy her birthday and the evening, we were seated at first table just beyond the front door and next to the bar. We noticed open tables upstairs which would have been more accommodating for the evening. Our server appeared to have worked at the restaurant for some time, but was extremely unaccommodating. An appetizer was ordered, delivered to table without plates or spoon to transfer from bowl to plate, asked another server for service. The two of us ordered a cocktail which were extremely watered down, little alcohol, and overpriced. Red wine selection extremely limited for a single glass, only one Merlot to offer and overpriced. Main course arrived at the table, wife asked for salt and pepper, server stated he would return shortly with the requested, he did not return. Meal was done before the server returned, and still no salt and pepper. Wife's birthday dinner, fish, which she thoroughly enjoys, was way overdone and dry. My Wagyu Beef was cooked to order, but sadly lacking any flavor, extremely bland food. We have heard this is a higher class restaurant, but two of the patrons dressed in street closes and bluejeans which entered and was seated next to us disclaims the level of higher class service. My wife, in her cocktail dress, and myself in business attire did not see this as appropriate. Prior to our departure, a birthday desert had been offered, but turned down. Upon delivery of the check, a small single scoop of ice cream in a bowl was set in front of my wife, this was thoughtful, we both thought the candle on top with a blue stripe down the side did not belong in higher class restaurant setting. Given the HIGH expectations of this restaurant prior to arrival, the evening at this restaurant was a COMPLETE letdown.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

This was an outstanding evening, granted ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This was an outstanding evening, granted it is expensive, it is worth the price when everything is wonderful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

St. Johns continues to set the bar high ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

St. Johns continues to set the bar high and put our city on the map. It's always a fantastic experience, from the food, to the wine and the ambiance. The waitstaff is prompt and knowledgeable. I've never been disappointed!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second dining experience at ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This was our second dining experience at St. John's and both were excellent. Great restaurant - great food and wine. Highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent menu using many locally source ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Excellent menu using many locally sourced seasonal foods. Waiter was very attentive and well versed in the preparation of the food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have dined many times at S ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

My wife and I have dined many times at St. John's. The service is excellent and the menu, though not extensive, is usually imaginative and the food well prepared. We felt that this time the menu was a bit prosaic. Perhaps they are between seasons (we dined in mid August) but the usual surprises that one finds were not there. Still, the meal was excellent and the service as impeccable as always so there was really little to complain about. Our friends thought the meal quite impressive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Normally Rebecca does a fantastic job on ...

vip
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Normally Rebecca does a fantastic job on the menu. It was good, but not as jaw dropping as usual. I did inform the manager and owner that the flavors did not burst well together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Took my wife here on the day of our wedd ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Took my wife here on the day of our wedding in lieu of a traditional wedding reception. Really great first experience here and we will be back for sure!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent meal and a beautiful restauran ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Excellent meal and a beautiful restaurant. Nice wines and our server was a professional. Dr. B

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best service and food I've had in a long ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Best service and food I've had in a long long time! Will be coming back to Chattanooga just to find there again!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

St. John's is one of the best restaurant ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

St. John's is one of the best restaurants in TN. Food is excellent; fresh and very well prepared. Flawless presentation and excellent wait staff. Creative cocktail menu and a very nice wine selection. I would highly recommend St. John's for drinks, for dinner, and for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I ate here 5 years ago while ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My wife and I ate here 5 years ago while visiting the Choo-Choo and thought it was the best restaurant ever. We planned a trip to come back last year but didn't make it. So this year I planned a trip to Chattanooga months out primary to go to St. John's. In short, it was disappointing. My wife had the most expensive dish (the ribeye) and it just wasn't that great. The meat was a little chewy and the chizo on top seemed better suited to top a chili dog rather than a high-end steak. I had the Wagyu Beef Zabuton Steak and Smoked Brisket and my steak was much better than her ribeye. Both were pretty short on veggies. I know it's a joke at the high end restaurants is to "get a lot of plate" but I was surprised on just how small the sides were with the steak. For our appetizer we had the Benton's Country Ham & Dancing Fern Cheese. It was good but here's a tip, have at least 2 of everything. There was one green olive with a pit...try cutting that with a knife to share. :) The night before my wife had ribeye at the much cheaper Big River Grille and said it was much better. For the money, that just shouldn't be.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Outstanding service, the food was fantas ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Outstanding service, the food was fantastic...A great dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our second visit in two years to ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This is our second visit in two years to St. Johns. We had a great time on our first visit and likewise this visit. Servers were prompt, but not rushing us, helpful, very good-natured.

We had a table for two on the upstairs overlooking the first floor dining. We were able

to converse at normal volume.

The food was, as always, excellent. Portions are satisfying. Dynamite presentation and as always flavorful. My wife said the dessert -- peach upside down cake with ice cream-- could win the "Chopped" challenge on a run-away.

Thank you for a great evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire staff was friendly and offere ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The entire staff was friendly and offered an incredible dining experience. The food was amazing. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The very best Chattanooga has to offer f ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The very best Chattanooga has to offer for fine dining!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was unmatched. Presentation was ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Service was unmatched. Presentation was outstanding. My husband was bery impressed with his birthday date.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food, both in taste and pres ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Outstanding food, both in taste and presentation. Service could not have been better.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a fantastic anniversary dinner he ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We had a fantastic anniversary dinner here! If you are looking for a unique dining experience, St Johns is perfect. Super attentive staff, delicious food, and extensive wine list!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.