About St. John's Meeting Place

1278 Market St.
Chattanooga, TN 37402
View Larger Map

Open since 2004, Meeting Place has become Chef Rebecca Barron's platform to explore international flavors and ingredients that continue to shape America's melting pot cuisine. An evolving variety of small plates and entrees encourage conversation and stimulate the senses. An open kitchen and warm glow create an energetic ambiance. St John's kitchens have received four nominations for Best Chef Southeast by the James Beard Foundation in 2009, 2010, 2012 and 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Global, International, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour: Monday-Friday 5:00-7:00pm
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Please note reservations for parties of 11 or more cannot be made online.

Cross Street:
13th St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 266-4400

Website:
http://stjohnsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
mp jazz thursday 6-9 p.m.
$5 french 75 and sazeracs

Parking Details:
Parking available behind the St. John's building and on the King Street side of the building. Limited street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Chattanooga's complimentary electric shuttle has a stop at the St. John's building.

Executive Chef:
Chef Rebecca Barron

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
mp "a very happy hour"
mon - fri 5-7 p.m.
$5 craft cocktails
$6 small plates
$8 burger
half price champagne (bottles)
$5 feature red & white wine by the glass

industry night mondays 5-8 p.m.

mp jazz thursday 6-9 p.m.
$5 french 75 and sazeracs

Restaurant Photos

  • S'mores Ice Cream - St. John's Meeting Place, Chattanooga, TN
  • Salmon Ceviche - St. John's Meeting Place, Chattanooga, TN
  • Vegan Goods - St. John's Meeting Place, Chattanooga, TN
  • Carrot Cake Souffle - St. John's Meeting Place, Chattanooga, TN
  • Pork Belly BLT - St. John's Meeting Place, Chattanooga, TN
  • The Special Burger - St. John's Meeting Place, Chattanooga, TN
  • Crimson Sea Bass Tostada - St. John's Meeting Place, Chattanooga, TN
S'mores Ice Cream - St. John's Meeting Place, Chattanooga, TN
Salmon Ceviche - St. John's Meeting Place, Chattanooga, TN
Vegan Goods - St. John's Meeting Place, Chattanooga, TN
Carrot Cake Souffle - St. John's Meeting Place, Chattanooga, TN
Pork Belly BLT - St. John's Meeting Place, Chattanooga, TN
The Special Burger - St. John's Meeting Place, Chattanooga, TN
Crimson Sea Bass Tostada - St. John's Meeting Place, Chattanooga, TN

St. John's Meeting Place Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
East Tennessee
Best Food
East Tennessee
Best Ambiance
East Tennessee
8 More
Best Value
East Tennessee
American
East Tennessee
Best Overall
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Food
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Service
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Ambiance
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Value
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Most Booked
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Chattanooga ›

Fit for Foodies (21)
Special Occasion (17)
Creative Cuisine (14)
See All
Good for a Date (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Romantic (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Casual (9)
Business Meals (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Fun (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Cozy (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Authentic (4)
Seasonal (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Vegan (3)
Healthy (3)
Organic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
402 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Get wine with a delicious diner.

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Get wine with a delicious diner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We are regulars at least once every thre ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We are regulars at least once every three weeks if not more often. Jordan our server was excellent as before! Food was "Off The Charts" as always! We like that ST. John's Meeting Place changes up the menu on a regular basis but keeps some of the staples or favorites. Food is always exceptional! Probably the best steak in Chattanooga if you want a great steak! Nice comfortable, casual atmosphere. Love it! Love it! Love it!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Vegan, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here for a date before a night out ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Came here for a date before a night out when visiting Chattanooga. We picked this spot because they have corkage and we brought a nice bottle of wine with us on our trip we wanted to enjoy. Really nice bar area upstairs where we had a drink first. Lots of casual seating and a great dirty martini. For dinner, we were seated in one of the banquettes in the window, which was perfect because we could sit next to each other looking out into the restaurant. Everyone was extremely friendly. One waitress even gave us a tip for our trip. Cheese plate, beet salad, and scallops were all delicious. Really enjoyed the experience!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always good. Can get a fish, chicken, me ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Always good. Can get a fish, chicken, meat, or vegetarian plate. Good bar and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

As always, the Meeting Place offered a l ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 12, 2016

As always, the Meeting Place offered a lovely dining experience, with just the right level of noise, and always great service. The seasonal (fall) sangria, which we always have to taste, was marvelous, and array of small plates, should have been sufficient; however, we continued on with some larger plates. One ordered scallops, the other a pork dish. Both great, though the scallops were grilled with a bit too much salt.

Ice creams were good, but the cream cheese one that came with the red velvet cake was a bit too much. Loved the chocolate in the red cake, but the cake itself was a bit dry.

Will always return as often as possible.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent cocktails. shrimp rolls and ch ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 11, 2016

excellent cocktails. shrimp rolls and charcuterie boards were standout! i got the friday night spaghetti- noodles were not good. the meatballs and sauce were spicy and really good. our server seemed really busy- but very nice and knowledgeable about the menu. we'll go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Leckeres Essen und creative Karte. Leide ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Leckeres Essen und creative Karte. Leider sehr laut und recht eng bestuhlt.

Tags: Vor/nach dem Theater, Happy Hour, Passend für Feinschmecker, Zwanglos, Leute beobachten, Gut für Geburtstage, Besondere Anlässe, Kreative Küche, Gut für eine Verabredung
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The service was excellent. The food, eve ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The service was excellent. The food, even better. Many great choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Found this place on open table with a 5 ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Found this place on open table with a 5 star review and decided to try it. Everything was fantastic; food, ambiance , wait staff and value. Can't say enough good things about it.

I will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Organic, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time here and it was ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This was our second time here and it was even better than the first! We started with spiced fries with basil aioli, which were a favorite last time and didn't disappoint this time either. I got the pork entree, which came with two kinds of pork (grilled chop and smoked shoulder), an amazing squash puree that even my squash-averse fiance enjoyed, cabbage, shiitake mushrooms, and a smoky but not spicy chili sauce. All of it was really good and the elements went together really well. My fiance got the fried rice, which was also delicious. It was one of the best dinners I've had in Chattanooga!

Tags: Happy Hour, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Extremely slow service and poor attitude ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Extremely slow service and poor attitude from the server for our table. At 45 min we only had water, bread, and a single visit at the beginning to ask if we were ready to order a drink. The restaurant was not exceptionally busy. I will say the food was excellent though. Just need to work on improving the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

My wife and I went to St. John's Meeting ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 16, 2016

My wife and I went to St. John's Meeting Place for our anniversary dinner and we were blow away by the seasonal cocktails and food. The highlight was the mac & cheese. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We were looking for a place we have neve ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We were looking for a place we have never tried during a trip to Chattanooga with girlfriends. We wanted something laid back, but with excellent food and a great atmosphere. St. John's Meeting Place was better than we had hoped for. We ended up sharing several small plates. Everything we ordered was superb. The wine and cocktails were perfect. We will return anytime we are in Chattanooga.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My adult son and I had a good time wt yo ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 29, 2016

My adult son and I had a good time wt your restaurant. Your Sommelier was very helpful in pairing our wine with our meal. the food and wine was excellent and staff was professional and friendly. The music in the back ground was excellent. Over all we had a great time

Tags: Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Fun, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I, and my friends, are increasingly look ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I, and my friends, are increasingly looking for dining places where easy conversation can happen, and that means LESS noise. Meeting Place ain't bad! but let's make dining conversation civil again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Had my husbands 50th birthday there. The ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Had my husbands 50th birthday there. The waiter was fantastic! Engaging, knowledgeable and very funny. The ruse was to have him think it was just the two of us for dinner and as more people showed, they moved us to larger tables. Was great fun and they were very very accommodating!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Took my girlfriend there for her birthda ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Took my girlfriend there for her birthday we had an great time chef chad is awsome i always enjoy his food

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner with Great service. Can't ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great dinner with Great service. Can't wait to go again.

I recommend this restaurant any time.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This time David was our server and did a ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 26, 2016

This time David was our server and did an excellent job! As always, the food was wonderful! We find ourselves eating there a couple of times a month because we enjoy it so much! Great food, very good wine list, and very good service in a not so stuffy atmosphere. Our favorite restaurant in Chattanooga!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely meal with friends at Mee ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had a lovely meal with friends at Meeting Place. Terrific menu with locally- sourced foods. Excellent wine list. The service was attentive and gracious. This restaurant is always a good choice.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful. Roasted chicken, beef filet a ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Wonderful. Roasted chicken, beef filet and burger were delicious. The meeting place never disappoints... Always wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific food and excellent, friendly se ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Terrific food and excellent, friendly service. I'll definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was probably our sixth or seventh m ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 11, 2016

This was probably our sixth or seventh meal at St. John's Meeting Place and as always, the experience was exceptional. Both me and my wife felt our dinners were top five in our life experiences and we have been around the world so that is saying a lot. Our server was very good and they had a big group in from Knoxville (37 people) and still the service was great! Cannot recommend this restaurant enough! It has become our favorite place to eat out in Chattanooga!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great service. We love the m ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great food, great service. We love the meeting place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jazz onThursdays was a real bonus to the ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Jazz onThursdays was a real bonus to the great food and waitstaff!

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Meeting Place is always good. This ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 30, 2016

The Meeting Place is always good. This time, the scallops with tomato risotto and grilled okra were a superb blend of flavors. The heirloom tomato salad, however, featured several varieties that were less than ripe or included a lot of core.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

St John's Meeting place has a wonderful ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 7, 2016

St John's Meeting place has a wonderful atmosphere. It is nice and upscale, but not so fancy that it is hard to relax. There was wonderful jazz music on Thursday night that made it more festive. The food was outstanding. We are vegan. It was the most amazing vegan dish I have ever tasted. So unique.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

They made our anniversary dinner very sp ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 2, 2016

They made our anniversary dinner very special...customized menu and free dessert! The best steak we've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I just absolutely love the meeting place ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on July 2, 2016

I just absolutely love the meeting place. It's so wonderful, I always tell my girlfriends to go on dates. Best burger and ice cream in Chattanooga for sure. It's always a pleasure. My husband and I completely love it and we always have full, happy tummies. Everything I've ever had has been delicious. The roasted chicken is perfect, and with the changing seasons the flavoring a change depending on what fruit is in season. Everything is very well prepared. Love it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My experiences was awesome. I felt the w ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 25, 2016

My experiences was awesome. I felt the wait staff was courteous and professional . Great environment for a date and seemingly just as good for an impressive evening for out of state visitors.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waitress was very knowledgable about ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 24, 2016

The waitress was very knowledgable about the food and made the dining experience even more enjoyable. We have been coming to the Meeting place for years and it continues to be a great place to enjoy a night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

one entree was not what it was supposed ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 18, 2016

one entree was not what it was supposed to be but when my waiter noticed I wasn't eating it he insisted on replacing it, which I did not do, but when I got the check it was removed. great service and a fair solution......left a bigger tip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Delicious

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 2, 2016

Chattanooga has a lot of great restaurants and MP is among our favs especially when we want a "foodie" meal at a great price in a casual atmosphere. I took my teen kids and a friend after middle school graduation and all enjoyed. MP Patty Melt, Pickett Farms Trout, Duck fried rice and Pork Shoulder with Chorizo gravy. Everything was just incredible and the service was prompt, friendly as always and good as well. We'll be back again soon!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Overall, fairly good.

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 28, 2016

The food was pretty good. We ordered a cheese platter for starters and the pretzels with beer cheese. The amount of cheese on the platter was nothing short of chintzy. It was probably a total of 2 ounces of cheese (that's equivalent to 2 thin slices). TINY slivers of cheese. And it was all covered in some sort of sweet goo that did nothing for the platter. The beer cheese was not very good. The service is very slow, as it seems to be all OVER Chattanooga. The waitress had no clear idea of what to recommend when asked, and she seemed frazzled the whole time. We waited and waited for drinks and for food. Then, the waitress screwed up our checks. (We were a large group, about 7 of us, but I was charged for someone else's meal). The wine pour is meager as well--go ahead and order two glasses at once, because by the time the waiter wanders your way again, you'll be ready for another 2 ounces of wine!... At almost $10 for a glass of ordinary white wine, it is not good value for money, at all. You could buy a pretty decent bottle for what they charge for 3 sips. And then there's the wait. . . The white sangria is outstanding, though, and the menu is interesting. But when I had finished dinner, I had no feeling of having eaten anything exceptional that I want to tell my friends about. I had the soft-shell crab. Nothing to write home about and a little heavy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Very attentive wait staff!

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Very attentive wait staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Delicious food, beautiful presentation, ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 26, 2016

Delicious food, beautiful presentation, excellent service. Loved the live music!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the food

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 7, 2016

My husband and I love visiting the Meeting Place. Great food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Usual Great Food Plus Jazz

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on May 5, 2016

Just happened to be a Jazz night, which was really great. Patrons seemed to enjoy the music along with MP usual good food, just like we did. Had beet and the greens salads to start, then to lamb loin and trout. It's always good. Always have to try the sangria of the season, which is always refreshing as a start, but we've been known to keep ordering rather than switch to wine. Too full for desert. Wine list is good as well. Service was superb. St. John's sommelier was in house, and came around to chat. Will be back, of course. Our go to place for any reason, or none.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great exxperience

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was unique but not over worked - A night out with my first wife included an interesting take on a Sazerac and a Rum drink - We started with a charcuterie selection with some house cured meats and moved on to a venison and spiced fry main course and a pork tenderloin with a chorizo gravy. we had a good bottle of Malbec to accompany the meal - our server Amy was outstanding and explained the intricacies of the selections - a wonderful night out

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Visiting Chattanooga

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 30, 2016

We were in town for the night and had an amazing dinner at the bar on Friday night with Raven as our server. We have eaten at a lot in amazing places but St. John's was on of the best. The food was incredible and we appreciated our severs suggestions. Many thanks, and we hope to come back soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.