About St. John's Meeting Place

1278 Market St.
Chattanooga, TN 37402
View Larger Map

Open since 2004, Meeting Place has become Chef Rebecca Barron's platform to explore international flavors and ingredients that continue to shape America's melting pot cuisine. An evolving variety of small plates and entrees encourage conversation and stimulate the senses. An open kitchen and warm glow create an energetic ambiance. St John's kitchens have received four nominations for Best Chef Southeast by the James Beard Foundation in 2009, 2010, 2012 and 2013.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Global, International, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Happy Hour: Monday-Friday 5:00-7:00pm
Dinner: Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Please note reservations for parties of 11 or more cannot be made online.

Cross Street:
13th St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(423) 266-4400

Website:
http://stjohnsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
mp jazz thursday 6-9 p.m.
$5 french 75 and sazeracs

Parking Details:
Parking available behind the St. John's building and on the King Street side of the building. Limited street parking is also available.

Public Transit:
Chattanooga's complimentary electric shuttle has a stop at the St. John's building.

Executive Chef:
Chef Rebecca Barron

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
mp "a very happy hour"
mon - fri 5-7 p.m.
$5 craft cocktails
$6 small plates
$8 burger
half price champagne (bottles)
$5 feature red & white wine by the glass

industry night mondays 5-8 p.m.

mp jazz thursday 6-9 p.m.
$5 french 75 and sazeracs

Restaurant Photos

  • Carrot Cake Souffle
  • Pork Belly BLT
  • S'mores Ice Cream
  • Salmon Ceviche
  • Vegan Goods
  • The Special Burger
  • Crimson Sea Bass Tostada
Carrot Cake Souffle
Pork Belly BLT
S'mores Ice Cream
Salmon Ceviche
Vegan Goods
The Special Burger
Crimson Sea Bass Tostada

St. John's Meeting Place Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
East Tennessee
Best Food
East Tennessee
Best Value
East Tennessee
9 More
Fit for Foodies
East Tennessee
American
East Tennessee
Best Overall
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Food
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Service
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Value
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Fit for Foodies
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Romantic
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Most Booked
Chattanooga / Cleveland
Best Restaurants in Chattanooga ›

fit for foodies (38)
special occasion (26)
romantic (19)
See All
neighborhood gem (15)
notable wine list (12)
good for groups (9)
hot spot (8)
vibrant bar scene (8)
late-night find (3)
great for lunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
373 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My experiences was awesome. I felt the w ...

Dined 4 days ago

My experiences was awesome. I felt the wait staff was courteous and professional . Great environment for a date and seemingly just as good for an impressive evening for out of state visitors.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

The waitress was very knowledgable about ...

Dined 5 days ago

The waitress was very knowledgable about the food and made the dining experience even more enjoyable. We have been coming to the Meeting place for years and it continues to be a great place to enjoy a night out.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

one entree was not what it was supposed ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

one entree was not what it was supposed to be but when my waiter noticed I wasn't eating it he insisted on replacing it, which I did not do, but when I got the check it was removed. great service and a fair solution......left a bigger tip.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Delicious

Dined on June 2, 2016

Chattanooga has a lot of great restaurants and MP is among our favs especially when we want a "foodie" meal at a great price in a casual atmosphere. I took my teen kids and a friend after middle school graduation and all enjoyed. MP Patty Melt, Pickett Farms Trout, Duck fried rice and Pork Shoulder with Chorizo gravy. Everything was just incredible and the service was prompt, friendly as always and good as well. We'll be back again soon!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Overall, fairly good.

Dined on May 28, 2016

The food was pretty good. We ordered a cheese platter for starters and the pretzels with beer cheese. The amount of cheese on the platter was nothing short of chintzy. It was probably a total of 2 ounces of cheese (that's equivalent to 2 thin slices). TINY slivers of cheese. And it was all covered in some sort of sweet goo that did nothing for the platter. The beer cheese was not very good. The service is very slow, as it seems to be all OVER Chattanooga. The waitress had no clear idea of what to recommend when asked, and she seemed frazzled the whole time. We waited and waited for drinks and for food. Then, the waitress screwed up our checks. (We were a large group, about 7 of us, but I was charged for someone else's meal). The wine pour is meager as well--go ahead and order two glasses at once, because by the time the waiter wanders your way again, you'll be ready for another 2 ounces of wine!... At almost $10 for a glass of ordinary white wine, it is not good value for money, at all. You could buy a pretty decent bottle for what they charge for 3 sips. And then there's the wait. . . The white sangria is outstanding, though, and the menu is interesting. But when I had finished dinner, I had no feeling of having eaten anything exceptional that I want to tell my friends about. I had the soft-shell crab. Nothing to write home about and a little heavy.

food4
ambience4
service5

Very attentive wait staff!

Dined on May 28, 2016

Very attentive wait staff!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, beautiful presentation, ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Delicious food, beautiful presentation, excellent service. Loved the live music!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the food

Dined on May 7, 2016

My husband and I love visiting the Meeting Place. Great food and service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Usual Great Food Plus Jazz

Dined on May 5, 2016

Just happened to be a Jazz night, which was really great. Patrons seemed to enjoy the music along with MP usual good food, just like we did. Had beet and the greens salads to start, then to lamb loin and trout. It's always good. Always have to try the sangria of the season, which is always refreshing as a start, but we've been known to keep ordering rather than switch to wine. Too full for desert. Wine list is good as well. Service was superb. St. John's sommelier was in house, and came around to chat. Will be back, of course. Our go to place for any reason, or none.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A great exxperience

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was unique but not over worked - A night out with my first wife included an interesting take on a Sazerac and a Rum drink - We started with a charcuterie selection with some house cured meats and moved on to a venison and spiced fry main course and a pork tenderloin with a chorizo gravy. we had a good bottle of Malbec to accompany the meal - our server Amy was outstanding and explained the intricacies of the selections - a wonderful night out

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visiting Chattanooga

Dined on April 30, 2016

We were in town for the night and had an amazing dinner at the bar on Friday night with Raven as our server. We have eaten at a lot in amazing places but St. John's was on of the best. The food was incredible and we appreciated our severs suggestions. Many thanks, and we hope to come back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Current Lamb dish is out of this world!

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Current Lamb dish is out of this world!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere.

Dined on April 9, 2016

Great place for a get together. Appetizers were good enough portion to share with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love SJ Meeting Place

Dined on April 9, 2016

St. Johns and St. John's Meeting Place are our favorite places for a special night out. The food and the service are always spectacular. And the bartender's really know what they are doing. That's why we keep returning. Love taking out-of-town guests here.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Incredible in every way!

Dined on March 19, 2016

Food and service was fabulous! My favorite in chattanooga so far!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Maybe Chattanooga's best overall dining ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Maybe Chattanooga's best overall dining experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative chef and professional, personal service

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

We were in town for a wedding. We were so impressed the first night we dined here, that we returned a second time. I'm a vegan, and there's always a creative entree on the menu. Our server was attentive and yet not disruptive. My Husbands steak was cooked perfectly; tasty and tender. My vegetables were fresh with oyster mushrooms, flattering seasoning, all on top of French lentils. All of this in a very pleasant old building!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional service and food

Dined on February 28, 2016

On our recent visit to Meeting Place we had exceptional service and food. Our waiter was very receptive and was happy to tell us all we needed to know about the menu. Earlier in the day I called the restaurant to see if they still had a particular menu item we love. Chef Rebecca answered and was very gracious. The food was prepared well and quickly. Their plating is always nice and the seasonal dish we had matched the availability of SE TN farms and was delicious. The "usual" favorite I ordered includes perfectly cooked pork belly and continues to hit home. Ambiance and noise level are appropriate while the servers are experienced and professional.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best burger and ice cream in town!

Dined on February 27, 2016

Of all the amazing options at the Meeting Place, the burger is my favorite. It's so delicious, always done exactly how I ask. The fries are out of this world too. The last time I was there I ordered the homemade ice cream, s'more flavor. Seriously the best ice cream I've ever had. This is an awesome place for any occasion. Always so pleased when I leave. I always recommend this to my girlfriends for date night!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always excellent service and food! Mich ...

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Always excellent service and food! Michelle is the best!

food4
ambience4
service2

Carpaccio was great! Service was a littl ...

Dined on February 26, 2016

Carpaccio was great! Service was a little too attentive. Felt like there was a real need to push us out the door, even though it wasn't busy. A good fast food experience if that was what you want. Went to the Squirrel after appetizers to finish our meal. It was much better

food5
ambience5
service5

The Fried Rice dish was one of the best ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

The Fried Rice dish was one of the best things I have ever had. I highly recommend it especially for the pork belly. Excellent service as well

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great dinner for 8

Dined on February 19, 2016

I took my team of 8 to SJ-MP and to a person they all raved about the food...from the appetizers to the main course and desserts. I had the scallops over cauliflower risotto and it was great. The best restaurant I have experienced in Chattanooga.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Amateur hour

Dined on February 14, 2016

After reading the great reviews we made our reservations for Valentines night. The seating arrangements were not comfortable, almost awkward but they did accommodate us with a window table that only one of us had a view . our server was good and very polite. However, he seemed to be rushing us even after I asked him to slow it down he kept speeding us through our dinner. As for the food, complete amateurs in the kitchen. No imagination on the menu or on the plate. Bring your own seasoning if you want it done right or any at all. Very bland and very disappointing. One high mark does go to the bartender whoever he or she was. They knew how to mix a drink.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pleasantly Surprised!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Just relocated to Chattanooga, TN a few months back and not familiar with all the restaurants. Found St. John's Meeting Place on line, booked a reservation, and what a GREAT surprise. Everything we ordered was exceptional! Not kidding! Joe, our server was attentive and very helpful. A truly enjoyable dining experience. Their tartar is among the best I have ever tried! My wife's steak had the best flavor all the way through as did my sea scallops! St. John's Meeting Place will become a regular place for us. Wine list was a bit pricing but a very good selection! Trust me, you will enjoy this restaurant!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service1

Late seating is for our reservation by ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Late seating is for our reservation by about 20 minutes. Sat near the front door and very cold. Food was average, hostesses were short, waiter was very good.

food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Good Food but...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Based on Trip Advisor, I made a reservation online having never been there. The problem is there are two restaurants and I made my reservation at St John's but was deceptively directed to Meeting Place. When my name was not on the list, I was then asked, "Did you make your reservation online? You must be next door." (an indication that they make a habit of this deception) Clearly I had no idea this was the case not realizing these were two separate places with two different atmospheres. Quite frankly it left a bad taste in my mouth. Notwithstanding, the food was excellent. That said, it was a cold evening, we were sat very near the door. It was uncomfortably cold and I wore my coat the entire time as did my wife. Couples seated to our left and right after we arrived were served much more quickly to the point I felt our order had been completely forgotten. It was a shame as the meal was quite delicious-eventually. It's just that the other issues matter... Not sure if I will be back. If so, not during winter.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food and Service

Dined on February 13, 2016

My wife and I loved the food and service at St. John's Meeting Place. Would highly recommend the restaurant. The setting sun was a small issue at the beginning of the meal due to our table location. A bigger issue was the doorway construction allowing large amounts of cold air into the room. There are two curtains in the entrance and then the door. We felt horrible for the staff at the door.

food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Not what it used to be...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

We have eaten here many times but this last time was completely unacceptable. We were seated upstairs at a large table with metal stools. We ordered appetizers and only one was put in correctly. The other one was completely left out until we brought it up at a later time. It took an hour and a half to get our food and when we finally got it it was cold. The service was mediocre at best. The entrée that the husband and I ordered was a play on pork fried rice. The rice was gummy in sticky and cold. The pork that was in the dish was only moderately warm. Everyone else at the table also complained that their food was cold. The fact that we waited an hour and a half to get our food in it being cold was simply unacceptable. We will most likely not go back to this restaurant next time we are in town.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Galentine's DInner Date

Dined on February 13, 2016

We were in Chattanooga for a Girl's Weekend over Valentine's day and had a delicious meal here. While everything was delicious, the duck was definitely the undisputed winner of the evening. Go. Eat. Enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and food

Dined on February 6, 2016

Excellent service and food

food4
ambience4
service4

A great fun place. Informal but upscale. ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

A great fun place. Informal but upscale. My first experience was good and will be back. Great place to go with friends.

food5
ambience5
service5

Beef tartare and Gulf shrimp rolls are g ...

Dined on January 20, 2016

Beef tartare and Gulf shrimp rolls are great apps. The seared diver scallop entree was also very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love St. John's Meeting Place

Dined on January 9, 2016

We have been several times. The food is always amazing. You can do several small plates to share around or have one as an appetizer and move on to the entrees. you can't go wrong either way! The foie gras and the beef tartare are some of our favorites, but the roasted pork belly gave them a run for their money on our most recent visit. We often start with one of the drink specials, but the bartenders are very skilled and can make whatever you request. This place is not to be missed!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and attention to detai ...

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

Excellent service and attention to detail! Always excellent cuisine and presentation! Michelle is lovely and a true asset to Meeting Place!

food4
ambience4
service4

A good place anytime

Dined on November 17, 2015

Our party of three were greeted and seated promptly, given adequate time with the menu. Although the bottle of wine we ordered took a very long time to arrive, we know drinks tend to take there time at the MtgPl anyhow. The menu was to the season, and served creatively and freshly made. When we balked at the lack of chocolate on the dessert menu, the waiter offered to see about getting one from 'next door'. I went for it, but it was was still not enough in the way of dark chocolate. BUT delicious! Of course we'll go back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service

Dined on November 11, 2015

Fully enjoyable with very good food and attentive service. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Gear dining experience!

vip
Dined on November 7, 2015

Gear dining experience!

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Meal.

Dined on November 3, 2015

Fantastic experience at ST. John's but they did not have record of my open table reservation. Fortunately they were able to accommodate us anyway and we celebrated my mother's 76th birthday successfully. Great service, food, atmosphere and their being able to work us in spite of the open table reservation failure was greatly appreciated.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun night out

Dined on October 28, 2015

Great place for a girls night out, date night or drinks after work.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.