About St. Francis Winery & Vineyards

100 Pythian Road
Santa Rosa, CA 95409
View Larger Map

In the heart of Sonoma Valley, enjoy our seated, multi-course Wine & Food Pairing by Executive Chef Bryan Jones. Chef Jones creates an assortment of small dishes each paired with one of our hand-selected, Artisan Collection wines. Enjoy stunning vineyard views and a fine dining presentation at a shared table. Each 1½ hour seating is hosted by one of our friendly wine experts, creating a relaxing, fun and unforgettable wine country experience. We offer three scheduled seatings at 11 am, 1pm and 3pm, Thursday- Monday. Price: $68 plus tax (20% discount for St. Francis Wine Club Members).

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Californian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Th-M Seatings at 11am, 1pm, 3pm
Closed: T-W

Cross Street:
Hwy 12

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 795-6674

Website:
http://www.stfranciswinery.com/

Executive Chef:
Bryan Jones

Private Party Facilities:
Call us to discuss your next private event!

Private Party Contact:
Katie Phillips: 8557808453

Additional:
Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • charcuterie
  • Wine Flight
  • Charcuterie & Red Wine Pairing
  • Seared Sonoma County Duck Breast
  • Torta Cubana
  • Herbed Goat Cheese Croquette
charcuterie
Wine Flight
Charcuterie & Red Wine Pairing
Seared Sonoma County Duck Breast
Torta Cubana
Herbed Goat Cheese Croquette

St. Francis Winery & Vineyards Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.7

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Food
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Service
San Francisco Bay Area
13 More
Best Ambiance
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Value
San Francisco Bay Area
Notable Wine List
San Francisco Bay Area
Californian
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Overall
Wine Country
Best Food
Wine Country
Best Service
Wine Country
Best Ambiance
Wine Country
Best Value
Wine Country
Notable Wine List
Wine Country
Scenic View
Wine Country
Special Occasion
Wine Country
Californian
Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Santa Rosa ›

fit for foodies (74)
special occasion (73)
scenic view (67)
See All
notable wine list (52)
good for groups (45)
great for lunch (42)
romantic (20)
great for brunch (10)
neighborhood gem (8)
great for outdoor dining (5)
hot spot (3)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
582 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The wine pairing meal was awesome! Every ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

The wine pairing meal was awesome! Everyone should experience it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious and in perfect ha ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was delicious and in perfect harmony with the delicious wines it was paired with.A real treat for your palate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've been to other food and wine pairin ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We've been to other food and wine pairings but I would have to say that this one was exceptional. The food presentation was as lovely as it was delicious, each course paired with the complimentary wine. The hostesses engaged the guests and were knowledgeable about both the food and wine. We look forward to returning in the fall when the menu changes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was chosen to accompany the wine ra ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was chosen to accompany the wine rather than vice versa. Exquisite taste and display of each of the tastings as well as excellent accompanying wines. Groups reasonably small so that questions were always answered without having to feel lost in a crowd. Would absolutely attend again next time we visit Sonoma.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulously crafted food paired with wine ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Fabulously crafted food paired with wines made both sparkle. Charming and intelligently presented tasting menu; great seevice. Beautifully plated. A local treasure!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were all so impressed with everything ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We were all so impressed with everything and the staff was wonderful, from the minute we were greeted at the front desk to when we said good bye!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I did really appreciate all the thoughtf ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I did really appreciate all the thoughtfulness , expertise and passion that went in the entire food-wine pairing presentation, everything was just perfect from all points of view

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite venue for food and wine pair ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

My favorite venue for food and wine pairing in Sonoma/Napa. Food outstanding (rivals the "best of the best" restaurants). Learn a bit about pairing. Opportunity to learn about St. Francis wines before purchasing. Perfect for a small group. Meet the chef and other guests. Very fun experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

What a fantastic place to eat! We did t ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

What a fantastic place to eat! We did the wine and food pairing, and this was possibly the best meal I have ever had. All five courses were yummy as well as beautiful to look at. The wine was delicious. We ended up buying three of the wines we tasted. I can't recommend this place enough. Best place we visited in Sonoma Valley.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great.....only issue was that l ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Food was great.....only issue was that lunch needed to be served within 1.5 so it felt a little rushed. Overall it was a great experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Frankly, I have had better food elsewher ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Frankly, I have had better food elsewhere. Also, I have tasted more balanced and more flavorful wines elsewhere. However, St. Francis Winery & Vineyards deserves to be ranked #1 of the 2015 Top 10 Best Restaurants in America by OpenTable, for these reasons.

<1> The value. Where else could you possibly enjoy such an amazing experience for $68 per person?!

<2> The view. Go there, walk around the winery, and you'll know.

<3> The service. It's very fun and personal.

<4> The reservation process. Perhaps it's just me, but I have encountered enough famous restaurants whose reservations are almost impossible to get. This is not the case. In fact, OpenTable made it even easier. We got a reservation for four, on July 4th!

Great job!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

I was absolutely stunned that we had the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I was absolutely stunned that we had the reaction we did to the food and wine pairing. After the rave reviews, our expectations were extremely high. However, while it was well organized and well executed, you are at the mercy of who you are seated next to (semi-round table seating) which can easily make or break the experience-it broke ours. The wait staff was perfect but the two hosts didn't fit the billing for a 'high level' tasting. Their comments were rehearsed and rushed. Perhaps that was because we had the last seating (3 pm). The presentation of the food was fine but the overall 'flavors' that we were expecting fell quite short. There are so many choices in wine country, we doubt we would ever return. However, if you're looking for an inexpensive tasting/wine experience, this is for you. There was no 'wow' factor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

I was so excited to try this food/ wine ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

I was so excited to try this food/ wine pairing after reading other reviews-and it did not disappoint! The food-abeit in small portions-was so delicious and well done-was paired perfectly with the wines. It is a small group of 16 or so at the seating. The vineyard views were spectacular. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an amazing meal paired with gre ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

This was an amazing meal paired with great wines! I would recommend this experience to anyone that visits the Sonoma area!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome all around! All the courses were ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Awesome all around! All the courses were delicious , plated beautifully and paired well with the wines. Don't miss it for lunch if you are in the Sonoma/Glen Ellen area!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing wine tasting and food pairing. P ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Amazing wine tasting and food pairing. Professionally organized and flawlessly executed. Each course showcased the wine, was artfully presented, and simply delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was incredible. The presentati ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The food was incredible. The presentation was beautiful and everything was very well prepared. It was truly a gourmet masterpiece. The wines paired with the food were very nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was the most amazing experience fro ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This was the most amazing experience from beginning to end. Unbelievable food and wine pairing. Not to be missed. We've eaten at many great restaurants but this was over the top.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had heard rave reviews about the food ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

I had heard rave reviews about the food and wine pairing at St. Francis and to say it didn't disappoint would be an understatement. The time and effort put into pairing the food and wine is very noticeable and the staff was incredible with their descriptions and suggestions. Next time I'm in the area, I'll definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice - the food was presented beaut ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Very nice - the food was presented beautifully and it was delicious, paired very well with the wine. We enjoyed it very much.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and wine experience

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The wine and food pairing experience is perfect. This is a high class gourmet eent that should delight the most finicky diner. They limit each seating to a maximum of 16 people sitting in a private dining room. Each course is well described from both the food and wine aspect. It is also a bargain price. No wonder it's been voted the #1 restaurant by Opentable members.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine food and wine pairing experience wi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Fine food and wine pairing experience without pretentious atmosphere or attitude from staff. Casual yet elegant. Great for novice or experienced wine drinkers. Food was quite delicious. Enjoyed live band's music (free entertainment) in courtyard afterwards. Beautiful grounds.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Spectacular site for a meal

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The room set aside for food and wine pairings is bright and looks out on the St. Francis tasting room meadow where beautiful wind sculptures spin....the chef creates a wonderful, seasonal food and wine pairing with the best local produce and meats and seafood. Food comes in small enough quantities that even the richest bite can be cleanses with s granite and you can still enjoy the lovely , refreshing desserts. You can return every season for a whole new taste, I think this is our fourth tasting - we've brought friends for birthday celebrations which they have greatly enjoyed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

1. Food was fantastic. Beautifully disp ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

1. Food was fantastic. Beautifully displayed, inventive and delicious.

2. Gorgeous location, the view was pastoral. Beautiful.

3. How nice to be able to talk in a normal, conversational tone and volume while dining - and be heard!

4. Excellent value. We are definitely going to go back, and bring some friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Gourmet food, but didn't live up to high ratings

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

I've always wanted to try this food/wine pairing. The food was excellent. The smoked beets were a revelation. Generous pours of the wines and portions of food. I didn't think the pairings were especially noteworthy, though. Perhaps my expectations were too high, based on the Zagat rating and Open Table awards.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Had the food pairing. Excellent

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Had the food pairing. Excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We loved everything about it! The select ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We loved everything about it! The selection of foods paired with each wine were spot on! Even got to meet the chef at the end of the meal to ask questions. Definitely recommend this experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Spectacular food, wine and view!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

An absolute must for Wine Country food and wine experience!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Food + Amazing wine = one of the best ever

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

This is a must experience for anyone visiting wine country! Perfectly paired wine and food prepared by a chef with unlimited potential. Excellent and knowledgeable service from the entire staff. You have to experience this for yourself. It was THE highlight of our recent vacation to wine country and is absolutely the happiest of my happy places. Go!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great wine and food! It was the highligh ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Great wine and food! It was the highlight of our Napa/Sonoma vacation. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this was a superb wine/food pairing. al ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

this was a superb wine/food pairing. all the dishes were excellent. we had some good chats with nearby winos. only about 16 of us in total. none of us were rushed and all the descriptions were accurate. i'd recommend it to everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Annual Event

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

This is our 4th Food & Wine Pairing and hope to make this an annual (or more often) event for some years. Love to bring visiting friends here. What a treat for us all!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As members of the St. Francis Wine Club, ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

As members of the St. Francis Wine Club, we enjoy this food & wine pairing whenever we are in Sonoma Valley. The chef never disappoints! The ambiance is delightful and the staff is excellent!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect college celebration memorsble. S ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Perfect college celebration memorsble. Sweet, elegant, delicious

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine pairing lunch

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We received a wine pairing lunch for two as a gift. After this experience at St. Francis Winery, not only did we become wine club members, but we plan on making this at least an once a year event. It is a great experience for just the two or as a group of friends. Normally some of the food choices that was presented I would never try. But the chef and their crew are incredible and my wife and I were blown away at not only the food, but how perfect the wine was paired. I would encourage all to take a chance and expand your taste. Thank you St. Francis Winery.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very special. Creative cuisine meriting ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Very special. Creative cuisine meriting Michelin stars served with excellent wine pairings.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wine and food pairing par excellence. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

A wine and food pairing par excellence. Servers were very knowledgeable about both the wine and the food, and helped make the experience outstanding and fun. My (pepper) allergy was accommodated while still making the food truly outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and wine pairing at St. Francis ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The food and wine pairing at St. Francis was remarkable! Each tasting was delicious and so unique. The hosts did a great job explaining and we really enjoyed talking to the chef after the tasting

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic wine and food pairing lunch! L ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Fantastic wine and food pairing lunch! Lives up to the hype-

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

St. Francis Food & Wine a must!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

I nice way to introduce out-of-town guests to the wine country.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.