About St. Clair Winery & Bistro

901 Rio Grande Blvd, #B-100
Albuquerque, NM 87104
View Larger Map

Enjoy nationally acclaimed award winning NM wines along with a full restaurant, wine bar and retail wine shop. St Clair Winery & Bistro also offers wine tasting, patio or private dining, and live entertainment.

Please take a 3D tour of St Clair Winery & Bistro. https://my.matterport.com/show/?m=sZdhimwK2f8
** Once you upload the 3D model, you are able to view the building from a TOP view, OR a 3-dimensional "dollhouse" view, OR, a fully-engaging walk-thru that allows you to virtually walk through the building as if you were onsite **...to switch between these views, just select 1 of 3 icons located at the bottom left corner of the viewer.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Everyday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
SW - Rio Grande & I-40

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 243-9916

Website:
http://www.stclairwinery.com/albuquerque/

Entertainment:
Evenings, Wednesday - Sunday: Live Jazz-Blues music, featuring the best local and touring groups.

Catering:
We offer a special large party menu for your catering needs. Contact us to place your order.

Parking Details:
Parking onsite.

Public Transit:
City bus located in front of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
W. James Duke

Private Party Facilities:
We can host your next business lunch/dinner, rehearsal dinner, or ... ? We have a private dining room and patio for groups of 20 - 80 people.

Private Party Contact:
Elise Hines: 5052439916x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

St. Clair Winery & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
New Mexico
Outdoor Dining
New Mexico
American
New Mexico
3 More
Best Value
Albuquerque
Notable Wine List
Albuquerque
Most Booked
Albuquerque
Best Restaurants in Albuquerque ›

notable wine list (71)
special occasion (62)
good for groups (42)
See All
great for outdoor dining (42)
romantic (41)
great for lunch (27)
fit for foodies (26)
neighborhood gem (24)
great for brunch (18)
hot spot (14)
late-night find (12)
vibrant bar scene (7)
kid-friendly (7)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
541 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Our second time there. We were visiting ...

Dined 5 days ago

Our second time there. We were visiting Albuquerque, staying at Hotel Albuquerque and hungry in late afternoon. Our first time at St. Clair had been a pleasure, but crowded. We decided to try it again. Delicious. Great service. Good wine.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. Great portions. And supe ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food. Great portions. And superb wine.

food5
ambience4
service5

We had a great first time experience. Fr ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We had a great first time experience. From the wine to dessert everything was great. I had the catch of the day, which was a perfectly grilled halibut. The creamy risotto was to die for. My husband had the prime rib special, which was so tender. Dessert was the port wine brownie that melted in my mouth. It'll be the first of many visits.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

we were in town on vacation. Didn't real ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

we were in town on vacation. Didn't realize it was graduation week end and early dinner was VERY crowded. Soooo glad we made reservations. Even so, we waited (with many celebrating families) for about 20 min for our 5 pm reservation. Servers and hosts were all very kind and apologetic, friendly and efficient. Food was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First Time

Dined on May 10, 2016

First time going and we went for lunch! Food was great! I didn't know they charge extra to open a bottle of wine while we were eating. Maybe if you let the customer know before hand.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Experience

Dined on May 10, 2016

What a wonderful restaurant! The service was high quality; Heather, our server met all our needs keeping us fully informed of our course statuses. Her dining and wining recommendations were 'spot on' - the best. We're going back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and great service.

Dined on May 9, 2016

The meatloaf was absolutely delicious. Our server was fun and friendly. It was a great experience all around.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

good food terrible service

Dined on May 7, 2016

I waited 5 minutes to be acknowledged by the hostess who was standing at the desk because she was on the phone. We didn't seem to have an assigned waitress even though we had a reservation and it was a slow day at lunch. it took 35 minutes to get a glass of the wine they were walking around giving samples of. Why couldn't they have just poured me a glass from the bottle in their hand? When one of our party spilled her drink no one came over to check, and when we told the waitress she just said oh, I'm too busy to clean it up. I never saw her go to another table. It took 40 minutes after our party was seated for her to come take our order and a long time for the food to come out when the restaurant was almost empty. She never came by to ask how we were, and never stopped by to check on our food. We were all done eating for a long time before the check came, and almost 20 minutes to get our cards back. The food was good and decently priced, but the server was awful. We were there for a friends bachelorette party and they never offered a dessert for her or tried to make it special, were mostly annoyed at our presence despite us being quiet and orderly. No one was even given the chance to get a second drink. Not sure I would come back

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everytime

Dined on May 7, 2016

I love going here. This was the forth time and its been great everytime. I will always return

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Food and Customer Service

Dined on May 7, 2016

We were seated in an area where the air conditioning was not working. We spoke to the Manager and we were immediately reseated in the outdoor area where we were comfortable and loved listening to the 3 piece band playing light pop music. The food and wine were excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4

Though the service was good the food was ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Though the service was good the food was so-so. Under-cooked risotto, over-cooked fish, and a less than great Cesar salad.

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a Caesar salad with Salmon. The ...

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

We had a Caesar salad with Salmon. The fish was cooked perfectly. The service was excellent. The decor was unique. Everyone was having a great time. A great restaurant!!

food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Decent Wine but Average Food

Dined on May 3, 2016

I wanted to love this place! It was just OK. The wine was pretty good but the halibut was dry, risotto was gummy and the veggies were cold. The bread was delicious and I wish we had gone with just appetizers. Our server was pleasant but forgetful . I'd go back for wine, cheese and bread!

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

Good find while visiting

Dined on April 30, 2016

Very good food for the price ($127 for 4 including 1 bottle of wine, 1 glass of port and 3 deserts). Wait person's were slow but we heard that was due to being short staffed. Highly recommend getting a reservation. There were at least 15 people in front of us when we arrived.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

St. Clair

Dined on April 26, 2016

Very nice dining experience. The food was fantastic and the wine list was extensive. (We almost got placed in a corner, but requested a better table, thank goodness!) They seemed busy for a Monday night so we waited a bit for our wine and bread to be served. Otherwise the wait staff was friendly and the food was delicious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants!

Dined on April 24, 2016

I love this restaurant and dine here every time I visit Albuquerque. I have tried most of the main courses, but Pasta New Mexico is my favorite. Excellent local wines and excellent service. Live music daily.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

winery's restaurant in Albuquerque

Dined on April 19, 2016

This restaurant was walking distance from our hotel. The wines are from the winery which has their vineyards in Lordsburg, NM. Any wine flight is a good way to sample their offerings and better value than buying one glass. The Petite Verdot was the best red sampled. The food was good and reasonable priced.

Tags: notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Why make reservations?

Dined on April 17, 2016

Ihad7:15reservations. Didnotgetseatedfordinneruntil8:00. Onceseatedfoundoutthemenuchangedandtheselectionwaslessimpressivethanithadbeenbefore. Atleastthewinewasgoodandourserverwasamazing. Iffyifwewillgoback.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Great food!

Dined on April 17, 2016

Nothing to complain about as far as food and wine goes. This place was delicious with an awesome menu. The outdoor dining is lovely on a night when the band is playing. The only thing I could say was poor service at the door. Understanding that we made a reservation on a Saturday night expecting it to be busy- we checked in on time for our reservation. We waited for a half hour with no check in from the hostess to apologize for the wait or assure us that we'd be seated soon. We went back up to the hostess to which she replied "I think theres only three more people in front of you" which is strange since the ones seated before us had arrived after us. It took almost an hour to be seated but everything else about the place was great. I would maybe recommend sampling the "wine of the month" at the front door or something as such when the wait is so long.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place to share a meal with friends & family.

Dined on April 16, 2016

Just a note: we thought we would be dining during the happy hour between 2:00 - 6:00 as advertised on your web site with lower priced drinks and appetizers but was sadly told by our waiter that no such happy hour existed. Perhaps the site needs to be updated. Other than that small disappointment all was lovely.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Convient location

Dined on April 8, 2016

St. Clair's Winery and Bistro is a great place to meet for lunch or dinner. The wait staff is very friendly, and the menu has a wide variety of choices. I particularly like the" wine of the day" tasting. The Winery always feels elegant and special, but the food prices are very reasonable. I always like to bring my out of town visitors to dine, always resulting in a great meal, relaxed atmosphere, good service, and wonderful wine. A unique Albuquerque dining experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Very noisy. We were there to celebrat ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Very noisy. We were there to celebrate a birthday and could hardly hear each other talk. We have been to the St. Clair in Las Cruces several times and love that much more. We will probably not be back to Albuquerque.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Portions and food quality were excellent ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Portions and food quality were excellent for the price. Our server was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience1
service2
value3

Noisy but good food

Dined on March 13, 2016

We went last Saturday and got put on patio. Food was great. Service was very poor. Our waitress rarely came by and my water glass was always empty. It was so noisy that I had to leave forward to within a foot of my companions to hear them speak. I hope the inside is better. The food was worth going but most other things will keep me away.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was awesome and the service gre ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

The food was awesome and the service great. Only problem was the noise level was very high. It was hard to hold a conversation without shouting.

food3
ambience5
service4

The wines here are wonderful. They have ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

The wines here are wonderful. They have a large number of different tastings so you can really get a sense of what they have. They also have a nice cheese board to compliment your tastings. I never tasted a wine here I wouldn't order. However the food was so/so. I highly recommend the grilled romaine salad. My wife enjoyed her green chile mac and cheese but the steak and veggies Left me underwhelmed. It wasn't necessarily bad, but it wasn't good for the price. I expected something less pedestrian - the steak was greasy and under seasoned, the mashed potatoes had the texture of something that had been cooked the day before, and the mixed veggies were bland. They did have gluten free crackers that they brought when they brought bread to the table which was nice. Normally I don't get to munch on anything before the food comes. They had several gluten free menu items. I would go back and perhaps try some gluten free pasta.

food2
ambience1
service1
value3

Disappointed!

Dined on February 28, 2016

Having looked at the online menu, I was looking forward to an enjoyable evening of what sounded like good food. This was not to be. Our waiter was way too attentive; overly so; to the point of being uncomfortable and disconcerting. This 'service' only lasted whilst the restaurant was fairly empty (about 25% full) when he had but two or three tables. As soon as the restaurant started filling up, about a third of the way through our dinner, the 'service' ceased to exist. It became a game to see who could catch his eye. But, he had way more experience avoiding us than we had trying to get his attention. Eventually, we hailed another waiter and asked her to please let our waiter know we'd like to speak to him. As for the food ... below average at best. The calamari was incredibly greasy and was served cold. You might also imagine that a restaurant that has a "Special" of Prime Rib, what appears to be, every weekend, would know the difference between medium-rare and well done. They don't. Both of us ordered the Prime Rib, which took forever to arrive, and was over-cooked and cold. The only highlight was the shrimp wrapped in bacon. Delicious. I cannot say that for the rest of the meal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always.

Dined on February 24, 2016

On that night Ashley was our waitress/server. She was outstanding! Friendly, prompt, courteous and caring! Her suggestion of wone was right on. Probably the best waitress/server we've encountered anywhere, anytime. There should be more like her. Gordon.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Good food & value.

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

Good food & value. Hard to beat for the price. Back room is quieter (and they opened it for us). I do wish they carried something other than just NM wines.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Good food, maybe go on a less busy night

Dined on February 15, 2016

Visited for Valentines day with my date. The server was probably busy and tired, but we had to ask for any info about the menu items (it was a limited menu for the night, so the written menu had very little information), because all we got from the server what "what do you want?" My date has some mild food allergies and the menu description didn't give us enough information to determine what she could order. Having said that the food was generally good, and of reasonable quality considering the date and price. In general my personal tastes would go for less fatty meat, but it wasn't unreasonable and in fairness I like leaner meat than many do. Overall the food and atmosphere were good, and I would recommend this restaurant for a nice night out or special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Service

Dined on February 15, 2016

Being seated in a special area on Valentine's Day was pretty great. The atmosphere was perfect, the only draw backs were the Valentine's Day only menus. Which I understand as a restaurant it makes preparing and cooking everything easier. Some of the staff were very friendly, and the food was excellent. I do wish we knew the totals of everything we were ordering, or had the chance to opt out on some of the menu rather than paying ~$50 a person, for in my opinion a ~$30 a person meal.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Valentine's Dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

St. Claire's always has great food, great drinks and excellent service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food and Service

Dined on February 14, 2016

We had an excellent time! The Salmon Rockefeller was delicious. The live music and warm fire outside made for a very enjoyable experience. We made a reservation ahead of time for the Valentines day weekend, and had no wait! We were sitted quickly. The staff was attentive and friendly. The food came out delicious and timely. We will most defenitly return 😁

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything great about this place

Dined on February 14, 2016

St. Clair Winery & Bistro has always been my favorite place to take my guess from out of town. The food and service has always been top notch........... My husband and I spent Valentines here this year and sat out on the patio and listen to music. It was really nice to see that they had the fireplace going and the patio was covered. The only complaint I ever had was in the summer there wasn't enough cover on the patio from the sun and too mush cotton flying around from the trees. I hope they keep the patio covered. Thanks Cindy

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A big ol party - well done.

Dined on February 13, 2016

Had a party of nine on a crowded Friday night and it was aces. Heather, our server, was fun, prepared, and a joy to be with. Everyone's dinner was good and the wine excellent. Will be back and recommend highly to others.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service1
value5

Good food, mediocre service

vip
Dined on February 12, 2016

Our server could not pronounce the specials AND we were not even offered a wine list at a winery!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ST. Clair Winery & Bistro

Dined on February 7, 2016

The service is warm and friendly. The Cobb salad is a meal by it's self and delicious. Great gathering place.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Place!

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

I would have given it 5 stars across the board, but our group of four was seated at a table barley big enough for us. I even requested a both on open table. Heather was an outstanding server and the food was excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4

Reasonable prices

Dined on February 2, 2016

Reasonable prices

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time

Dined on February 1, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed celebrating my daughters birthday at St Clairs. The waitress and Manager were awesome.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.