About St. Clair Winery & Bistro

901 Rio Grande Blvd, #B-100
Albuquerque, NM 87104
View Larger Map

Enjoy nationally acclaimed award winning NM wines along with a full restaurant, wine bar and retail wine shop. St Clair Winery & Bistro also offers wine tasting, patio or private dining, and live entertainment.

Please take a 3D tour of St Clair Winery & Bistro. https://my.matterport.com/show/?m=sZdhimwK2f8
** Once you upload the 3D model, you are able to view the building from a TOP view, OR a 3-dimensional "dollhouse" view, OR, a fully-engaging walk-thru that allows you to virtually walk through the building as if you were onsite **...to switch between these views, just select 1 of 3 icons located at the bottom left corner of the viewer.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Everyday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
SW - Rio Grande & I-40

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 243-9916

Website:
http://www.stclairwinery.com/albuquerque/

Entertainment:
Evenings, Wednesday - Sunday: Live Jazz-Blues music, featuring the best local and touring groups.

Catering:
We offer a special large party menu for your catering needs. Contact us to place your order.

Parking Details:
Parking onsite.

Public Transit:
City bus located in front of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
W. James Duke

Private Party Facilities:
We can host your next business lunch/dinner, rehearsal dinner, or ... ? We have a private dining room and patio for groups of 20 - 80 people.

Private Party Contact:
Elise Hines: 5052439916x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

St. Clair Winery & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
New Mexico
American
New Mexico
Notable Wine List
Albuquerque
1 More
Outdoor Dining
Albuquerque
Best Restaurants in Albuquerque ›

Notable Wine List (28)
Good for Groups (21)
Special Occasion (20)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Romantic (14)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Great for Lunch (9)
Hot Spot (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Live Music (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Cozy (3)
Casual (3)
Private Room (3)
Authentic (3)
Business Meals (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Fun (2)
Family Style (2)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
People Watching (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fireplace (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Historic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
578 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our server seemed to forget about our ta ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our server seemed to forget about our table. She never returned with the items we requested and finally someone from our party had to go to the host desk to get help. The burger I ordered was dry and when I requested mayo, it never came until the end of the meal which was too late as I no longer wanted to eat it anymore. The manager brought the mayo and when I clearly told him that it was too late, he didn't do anything about. He saw my dissected burger and did not offer to take it off my tab or apologize for getting the mayo to me so late in our meal. I have had great experiences here before so hopefully this doesn't happen again or I won't be returning.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

The wait staff person was either inexper ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

The wait staff person was either inexperienced or overwhelmed. We did not get our drinks until after our food arrived. It may have been our mistake to order our food at the same time as our pre dinner cocktail. but an experienced waitress would not have done that. We ordered a second drink and received it after we were done with our dinner. Definitely not a great dining experience. The noise level at the bar was so loud we could not carry on a conversation. The fired calamari was delicious but the french onion soup was just OK. there was no depth of flavor at all.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value3

Excellent find. Walking distance from o ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Excellent find. Walking distance from our Hotel. Food was good and our server was charming. She was very knowledgeable about the wine selection We spent a very nice evening.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great experience! Food is always great ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great experience! Food is always great and creative. Full meal or "tapas" with wine. We have dined at all 3 bistros and the high quality is evident at all 3. Wine is always wonderful. It's a favorite and always a stop for us in ABQ. Customer service is always good....staff are well trained.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I paid our first visit to St ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

My wife and I paid our first visit to St. Clair's on our anniversary. The ambiance and decor were very nice and reminded me of some east coast bistros. The food was spectacular; I had a burger, and my wife had the green chile mac n cheese. The burger was seasoned well, and the toppings were fresh. The sweet potato fries were some of the best I've had. The mac n cheese was creamy with just the right amount of heat. My wife also tried a couple of the wines and really enjoyed them. My one complaint would be the service. Our waitress took a long time to see us after we were seated, was not very friendly, and hardly stopped by to check on us. However, the manager came out and saw to our needs, so I don't think this was an ordinary occurrence.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

We went for dinner and did not appreciat ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We went for dinner and did not appreciate the noise level inside the dining area. We could not hear ourselves talk. The noise level was so loud the waitress got one of our orders wrong and gave us something different. We ordered the chicken salad and got the spinach salad with some chicken on it. We thought it was just skimpy with the chicken. the waitress admitted she thought we said spinach salad and not chicken. Because of the high level of noise we most likely will not return. We do enjoy your wine!

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

I thought we were in a high school cafet ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

I thought we were in a high school cafeteria, noisy ... waitress rushed us to order

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Everyone at our table said their food wa ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Everyone at our table said their food was delicious. Servers were excellent...there were no mistakes. Thank you.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Food was yummy - we love the nosh plate ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food was yummy - we love the nosh plate and shrimp appetizers. The wine flights allowed us to sample most of the wines. We had a semi private room with two other parties. The tile floor and high ceiling made for noisy acoustics. The service was great. Live music was good. We will definitely go again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Late-night Find, Private Room, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great Place! Would definitely come back ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great Place! Would definitely come back for lunch and dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Casual, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good meal. Good band. Loud environment b ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Good meal. Good band. Loud environment but we were seated close to the talented 4-member band. Outdoor group party going on with a buffet style meal but did not hear them at all. Friendly staff.

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Special Occasion, Casual, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made reservations and when we got the ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We made reservations and when we got there, we had to wait for 15 minutes while the hostess "checked" on an open table. When we were seated, there was 5 empty tables all set up for service. The wait staff was superb, food excellent.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food & Price were decent. Once we final ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Food & Price were decent. Once we finally got a server to come to our table everything was fairly timely. However, we waited with no service whatsoever, after being seated for at least 15 minutes. To the point where my fiance, who use to wait tables, was ready to leave.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

We visit here every time we are in town ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We visit here every time we are in town - love everything about this place!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have to say I made my reservations at ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I have to say I made my reservations at 7:30 and wasn't seated till 8:45 so what's the point of making reservations?

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Very disappointing experience. Reservati ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Very disappointing experience. Reservation time was not honored. Hostess tried to seat us in front of the kitchen door. Food was mediocre, the server did a good job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

We had our heart set on the patio even t ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had our heart set on the patio even though there was a pretty intense storm. We were able to enjoy it in between cloud bursts so it was perfect! The entertainment was top notch, The LesCombes Chenin Blanc and Cabernet were perfect! The grilled salmon was cooked as ordered. The steak was OK. We tried to savor the amazing Chocolate Port Brownie, but the sky opened up again so we lapped it up and made it to our car. All told, it's a beautiful and fun venue with fantastic wine!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Rain forced the patio diners inside caus ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Rain forced the patio diners inside causing a minimum 40 minute delay for those with reservations! Once in the food and service were excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took myself on a solo date immediately ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I took myself on a solo date immediately after flying back into New Mexico and enjoyed the service above all else. The food was excellent as usual but the server came just enough to make sure I was in need of nothing, but not too much that I would be bothered. I incorrectly ordered my food and they fixed it without complaint and were understanding. It was great to be home with good food and even better service.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great cobb salad and chicken almond sal ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great cobb salad and chicken almond salad on a hot day. Bread served with herb butter. Enjoyed the St. Clair pinot grigio with it. Excellent service. Bread pudding with ice cream was delicious. Bought 6 bottles of wine to go.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual the front end, ie Hostess and a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

As usual the front end, ie Hostess and assistant were very confused. We had res for party of 6. Lady in front said our table was ready and as soon as hostess returned she would seat us (never had that happen here before) well it didn't happen, hostess returned four times, seating four other groups before us. This is not unusual at St Clair,( no problem if she hadn't told us we would be seated next) When hostess did seat our party she took to a booth for 4. She thought we were party of 4. ( very confused). The food and service was very good. Server was great.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was nice but even though I had reserv ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

It was nice but even though I had reservations it still took a while to get seated. When we finally got seated which at the least 15mins after our scheduled reservation; it took a while to get our drinks, appetizers, & food. Our reservations were at 6:30pm. We left at 8:30pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The meatloaf and Chicken Piccado were AM ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The meatloaf and Chicken Piccado were AMAZING!! We have booked our Christmas party there as we were so impressed with the food and the wine was also great! Thanks!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten here several times over th ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We have eaten here several times over the last 6 months and have enjoyed each time. The food has always been outstanding. Can occasionally be a bit noisy, but we tend to go earlier to avoid some of the crowd. Did I mention the food was excellent. Not an imbiber myself, but my wife always enjoys a glass of one of their wines. Always recommend.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The flights of wine were fantastic and a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The flights of wine were fantastic and a great price. They had gluten free pasta which was a huge hit with my kid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

The food was outstanding and the atmosph ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was outstanding and the atmosphere perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made a reservation and still had to w ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We made a reservation and still had to wait about 15 minutes to be seated even though there were many open tables. The wines were all incredibly sweet. I ordered the sirloin medium rare and it was well done. My husband ordered the halibut, which was the catch of the day, and that was peer cooked as well. The food was overly salty. We were seated next to an extremely noisy table and couldn't even hear each other. Needless to say, we will not be returning. Highly disappointing for the amount we spent on the meal.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I made reservations for my anniversary. ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

I made reservations for my anniversary. Salsa band was great!! Service was horrible! We waited for about 15 minutes before someone came to serve us. We ordered wine. Waitress never returned to ask if we needed anything else. We cashed out, went across the street and ended up celebrating with dinner and drinks at Seasons. Because of the lack of service and let down on our special occasion I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value4

The food was wonderful, the service was ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food was wonderful, the service was amazing and the value of the meals was great.

It was a wonderful experience for all of us as we celebrated a special person's birthday.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Must try for any occasion!

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Tried this for the first time last year based off local recommendation. Took my wife for our anniversary and this has now become our spot for special occasions. Love the food, atmosphere and enjoy staying and listening to the love music after dinner while we enjoy some fabulous wines. A 20 year military career means that we have been to many places all over the world for our anniversary and this is truly one of our favorite!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great patio

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We went for the patio and music on a Friday night. Great ambience. Great food. Well priced. This is one of our favorite locations.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food and value

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We had the fish of the day-halibut, superb and only $20. Appetizer was capese, a very generous portion of tomato and mozzarella, although no basil. Delicious. Desert was brownie with ice cream, more like chocolate cake. The winery's wines also were excellent. We had Pinot Gris followed by Pinot noir with the halibut. Our server was also very good and determined to please.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rotary Dinner

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Ours was group of 9 Rotary friends who had just been to see the play Hairspray. We would like to have been able to have a conversation about the play but the noise level precluded that because we could not hear each other over the music. We would also have liked to order a sampler appetizer platter for the table but the restaurant could not accommodate that request. Food was just OK, nothing special to make us want to return,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

Food was amazing!

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious appetizers

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I had two appetizers for my meal and both were excellent - the mac and cheese balls and fried vegetable dumplings. The sauces with the dumplings were delicious; one was spicy and the other salty-sweet.

I also had a house salad. Pet peeve - serving grated cheddar cheese on a salad. It's not needed and should be an option. It often ends up competing with the chosen salad dressing. The house bread was delicious and is served with soften butter which is how I like it.

I'm not a big fan of their wines as they all tend to be on the sweet side. The Zin Cab is a good choice. I had the Pinot Gigio which was drinkable but not what I like in a Pinot G. I've had the Zin Cab before and tasted my son's this visit. I'll stick to that from now on.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

First time visit, but I'll be back

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Was getting together with an old friend I hadn't seen in a dozen years. Had been wanting to try St Clair, so suggested that and she liked the pick. We had a wonderful lunch on the patio. The wait staff and manager, Xavier, couldn't have been nicer. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nice new young waiter learning the ropes ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Nice new young waiter learning the ropes. Good New Mexican wines (who knew?). We were just passing through town and wanted to meet with my brother for dinner. He's a big meat eater, I'm vegetarian, and we were both pleased.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our second time there. We were visiting ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Our second time there. We were visiting Albuquerque, staying at Hotel Albuquerque and hungry in late afternoon. Our first time at St. Clair had been a pleasure, but crowded. We decided to try it again. Delicious. Great service. Good wine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent food. Great portions. And supe ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent food. Great portions. And superb wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great first time experience. Fr ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We had a great first time experience. From the wine to dessert everything was great. I had the catch of the day, which was a perfectly grilled halibut. The creamy risotto was to die for. My husband had the prime rib special, which was so tender. Dessert was the port wine brownie that melted in my mouth. It'll be the first of many visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.