About St. Clair Winery & Bistro

901 Rio Grande Blvd, #B-100
Albuquerque, NM 87104
View Larger Map

Enjoy nationally acclaimed award winning NM wines along with a full restaurant, wine bar and retail wine shop. St Clair Winery & Bistro also offers wine tasting, patio or private dining, and live entertainment.

Please take a 3D tour of St Clair Winery & Bistro. https://my.matterport.com/show/?m=sZdhimwK2f8
** Once you upload the 3D model, you are able to view the building from a TOP view, OR a 3-dimensional "dollhouse" view, OR, a fully-engaging walk-thru that allows you to virtually walk through the building as if you were onsite **...to switch between these views, just select 1 of 3 icons located at the bottom left corner of the viewer.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Everyday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
SW - Rio Grande & I-40

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 243-9916

Website:
http://www.stclairwinery.com/albuquerque/

Entertainment:
Evenings, Wednesday - Sunday: Live Jazz-Blues music, featuring the best local and touring groups.

Catering:
We offer a special large party menu for your catering needs. Contact us to place your order.

Parking Details:
Parking onsite.

Public Transit:
City bus located in front of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
W. James Duke

Private Party Facilities:
We can host your next business lunch/dinner, rehearsal dinner, or ... ? We have a private dining room and patio for groups of 20 - 80 people.

Private Party Contact:
Elise Hines: 5052439916x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

St. Clair Winery & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
New Mexico
American
New Mexico
Notable Wine List
Albuquerque
1 More
Outdoor Dining
Albuquerque
Best Restaurants in Albuquerque ›

notable wine list (48)
special occasion (41)
good for groups (39)
See All
great for outdoor dining (33)
romantic (22)
fit for foodies (22)
neighborhood gem (20)
great for lunch (18)
hot spot (12)
great for brunch (11)
kid-friendly (6)
late-night find (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
559 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great cobb salad and chicken almond sal ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great cobb salad and chicken almond salad on a hot day. Bread served with herb butter. Enjoyed the St. Clair pinot grigio with it. Excellent service. Bread pudding with ice cream was delicious. Bought 6 bottles of wine to go.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual the front end, ie Hostess and a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

As usual the front end, ie Hostess and assistant were very confused. We had res for party of 6. Lady in front said our table was ready and as soon as hostess returned she would seat us (never had that happen here before) well it didn't happen, hostess returned four times, seating four other groups before us. This is not unusual at St Clair,( no problem if she hadn't told us we would be seated next) When hostess did seat our party she took to a booth for 4. She thought we were party of 4. ( very confused). The food and service was very good. Server was great.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was nice but even though I had reserv ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

It was nice but even though I had reservations it still took a while to get seated. When we finally got seated which at the least 15mins after our scheduled reservation; it took a while to get our drinks, appetizers, & food. Our reservations were at 6:30pm. We left at 8:30pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The meatloaf and Chicken Piccado were AM ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The meatloaf and Chicken Piccado were AMAZING!! We have booked our Christmas party there as we were so impressed with the food and the wine was also great! Thanks!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten here several times over th ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We have eaten here several times over the last 6 months and have enjoyed each time. The food has always been outstanding. Can occasionally be a bit noisy, but we tend to go earlier to avoid some of the crowd. Did I mention the food was excellent. Not an imbiber myself, but my wife always enjoys a glass of one of their wines. Always recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The flights of wine were fantastic and a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The flights of wine were fantastic and a great price. They had gluten free pasta which was a huge hit with my kid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

The food was outstanding and the atmosph ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was outstanding and the atmosphere perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made a reservation and still had to w ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We made a reservation and still had to wait about 15 minutes to be seated even though there were many open tables. The wines were all incredibly sweet. I ordered the sirloin medium rare and it was well done. My husband ordered the halibut, which was the catch of the day, and that was peer cooked as well. The food was overly salty. We were seated next to an extremely noisy table and couldn't even hear each other. Needless to say, we will not be returning. Highly disappointing for the amount we spent on the meal.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I made reservations for my anniversary. ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

I made reservations for my anniversary. Salsa band was great!! Service was horrible! We waited for about 15 minutes before someone came to serve us. We ordered wine. Waitress never returned to ask if we needed anything else. We cashed out, went across the street and ended up celebrating with dinner and drinks at Seasons. Because of the lack of service and let down on our special occasion I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value4

The food was wonderful, the service was ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food was wonderful, the service was amazing and the value of the meals was great.

It was a wonderful experience for all of us as we celebrated a special person's birthday.

Tags: great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Must try for any occasion!

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Tried this for the first time last year based off local recommendation. Took my wife for our anniversary and this has now become our spot for special occasions. Love the food, atmosphere and enjoy staying and listening to the love music after dinner while we enjoy some fabulous wines. A 20 year military career means that we have been to many places all over the world for our anniversary and this is truly one of our favorite!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great patio

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We went for the patio and music on a Friday night. Great ambience. Great food. Well priced. This is one of our favorite locations.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food and value

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We had the fish of the day-halibut, superb and only $20. Appetizer was capese, a very generous portion of tomato and mozzarella, although no basil. Delicious. Desert was brownie with ice cream, more like chocolate cake. The winery's wines also were excellent. We had Pinot Gris followed by Pinot noir with the halibut. Our server was also very good and determined to please.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rotary Dinner

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Ours was group of 9 Rotary friends who had just been to see the play Hairspray. We would like to have been able to have a conversation about the play but the noise level precluded that because we could not hear each other over the music. We would also have liked to order a sampler appetizer platter for the table but the restaurant could not accommodate that request. Food was just OK, nothing special to make us want to return,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

Food was amazing!

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious appetizers

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I had two appetizers for my meal and both were excellent - the mac and cheese balls and fried vegetable dumplings. The sauces with the dumplings were delicious; one was spicy and the other salty-sweet.

I also had a house salad. Pet peeve - serving grated cheddar cheese on a salad. It's not needed and should be an option. It often ends up competing with the chosen salad dressing. The house bread was delicious and is served with soften butter which is how I like it.

I'm not a big fan of their wines as they all tend to be on the sweet side. The Zin Cab is a good choice. I had the Pinot Gigio which was drinkable but not what I like in a Pinot G. I've had the Zin Cab before and tasted my son's this visit. I'll stick to that from now on.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

First time visit, but I'll be back

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Was getting together with an old friend I hadn't seen in a dozen years. Had been wanting to try St Clair, so suggested that and she liked the pick. We had a wonderful lunch on the patio. The wait staff and manager, Xavier, couldn't have been nicer. I will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nice new young waiter learning the ropes ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Nice new young waiter learning the ropes. Good New Mexican wines (who knew?). We were just passing through town and wanted to meet with my brother for dinner. He's a big meat eater, I'm vegetarian, and we were both pleased.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our second time there. We were visiting ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Our second time there. We were visiting Albuquerque, staying at Hotel Albuquerque and hungry in late afternoon. Our first time at St. Clair had been a pleasure, but crowded. We decided to try it again. Delicious. Great service. Good wine.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent food. Great portions. And supe ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent food. Great portions. And superb wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great first time experience. Fr ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We had a great first time experience. From the wine to dessert everything was great. I had the catch of the day, which was a perfectly grilled halibut. The creamy risotto was to die for. My husband had the prime rib special, which was so tender. Dessert was the port wine brownie that melted in my mouth. It'll be the first of many visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

we were in town on vacation. Didn't real ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

we were in town on vacation. Didn't realize it was graduation week end and early dinner was VERY crowded. Soooo glad we made reservations. Even so, we waited (with many celebrating families) for about 20 min for our 5 pm reservation. Servers and hosts were all very kind and apologetic, friendly and efficient. Food was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

First Time

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

First time going and we went for lunch! Food was great! I didn't know they charge extra to open a bottle of wine while we were eating. Maybe if you let the customer know before hand.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Experience

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

What a wonderful restaurant!

The service was high quality; Heather, our server met all our needs keeping us fully informed of our course statuses. Her dining and wining recommendations were 'spot on' - the best. We're going back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and great service.

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

The meatloaf was absolutely delicious. Our server was fun and friendly. It was a great experience all around.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

good food terrible service

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I waited 5 minutes to be acknowledged by the hostess who was standing at the desk because she was on the phone. We didn't seem to have an assigned waitress even though we had a reservation and it was a slow day at lunch. it took 35 minutes to get a glass of the wine they were walking around giving samples of. Why couldn't they have just poured me a glass from the bottle in their hand? When one of our party spilled her drink no one came over to check, and when we told the waitress she just said oh, I'm too busy to clean it up. I never saw her go to another table. It took 40 minutes after our party was seated for her to come take our order and a long time for the food to come out when the restaurant was almost empty. She never came by to ask how we were, and never stopped by to check on our food. We were all done eating for a long time before the check came, and almost 20 minutes to get our cards back. The food was good and decently priced, but the server was awful. We were there for a friends bachelorette party and they never offered a dessert for her or tried to make it special, were mostly annoyed at our presence despite us being quiet and orderly. No one was even given the chance to get a second drink. Not sure I would come back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Everytime

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I love going here. This was the forth time and its been great everytime. I will always return

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Food and Customer Service

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We were seated in an area where the air conditioning was not working. We spoke to the Manager and we were immediately reseated in the outdoor area where we were comfortable and loved listening to the 3 piece band playing light pop music. The food and wine were excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Though the service was good the food was ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Though the service was good the food was so-so. Under-cooked risotto, over-cooked fish, and a less than great Cesar salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

We had a Caesar salad with Salmon. The ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

We had a Caesar salad with Salmon. The fish was cooked perfectly. The service was excellent. The decor was unique. Everyone was having a great time. A great restaurant!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Decent Wine but Average Food

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

I wanted to love this place! It was just OK. The wine was pretty good but the halibut was dry, risotto was gummy and the veggies were cold. The bread was delicious and I wish we had gone with just appetizers. Our server was pleasant but forgetful . I'd go back for wine, cheese and bread!

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Good find while visiting

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Very good food for the price ($127 for 4 including 1 bottle of wine, 1 glass of port and 3 deserts). Wait person's were slow but we heard that was due to being short staffed. Highly recommend getting a reservation. There were at least 15 people in front of us when we arrived.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

St. Clair

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Very nice dining experience. The food was fantastic and the wine list was extensive. (We almost got placed in a corner, but requested a better table, thank goodness!) They seemed busy for a Monday night so we waited a bit for our wine and bread to be served. Otherwise the wait staff was friendly and the food was delicious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

One of my favorite restaurants!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

I love this restaurant and dine here every time I visit Albuquerque. I have tried most of the main courses, but Pasta New Mexico is my favorite. Excellent local wines and excellent service. Live music daily.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

winery's restaurant in Albuquerque

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

This restaurant was walking distance from our hotel. The wines are from the winery which has their vineyards in Lordsburg, NM. Any wine flight is a good way to sample their offerings and better value than buying one glass. The Petite Verdot was the best red sampled. The food was good and reasonable priced.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Why make reservations?

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Ihad7:15reservations. Didnotgetseatedfordinneruntil8:00. Onceseatedfoundoutthemenuchangedandtheselectionwaslessimpressivethanithadbeenbefore. Atleastthewinewasgoodandourserverwasamazing. Iffyifwewillgoback.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food!

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Nothing to complain about as far as food and wine goes. This place was delicious with an awesome menu. The outdoor dining is lovely on a night when the band is playing. The only thing I could say was poor service at the door. Understanding that we made a reservation on a Saturday night expecting it to be busy- we checked in on time for our reservation. We waited for a half hour with no check in from the hostess to apologize for the wait or assure us that we'd be seated soon. We went back up to the hostess to which she replied "I think theres only three more people in front of you" which is strange since the ones seated before us had arrived after us. It took almost an hour to be seated but everything else about the place was great. I would maybe recommend sampling the "wine of the month" at the front door or something as such when the wait is so long.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Great place to share a meal with friends & family.

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Just a note: we thought we would be dining during the happy hour between 2:00 - 6:00 as advertised on your web site with lower priced drinks and appetizers but was sadly told by our waiter that no such happy hour existed. Perhaps the site needs to be updated. Other than that small disappointment all was lovely.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Convient location

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

St. Clair's Winery and Bistro is a great place to meet for lunch or dinner. The wait staff is very

friendly, and the menu has a wide variety of choices.

I particularly like the" wine of the day" tasting.

The Winery always feels elegant and special, but the food prices are very reasonable. I always like to bring my out of town visitors to dine, always resulting in a great meal, relaxed atmosphere, good service, and wonderful wine. A unique Albuquerque dining experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very noisy. We were there to celebrat ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Very noisy. We were there to celebrate a birthday and could hardly hear each other talk. We have been to the St. Clair in Las Cruces several times and love that much more. We will probably not be back to Albuquerque.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.