About St. Clair Winery & Bistro

901 Rio Grande Blvd, #B-100
Albuquerque, NM 87104
View Larger Map

Enjoy nationally acclaimed award winning NM wines along with a full restaurant, wine bar and retail wine shop. St Clair Winery & Bistro also offers wine tasting, patio or private dining, and live entertainment.

Please take a 3D tour of St Clair Winery & Bistro. https://my.matterport.com/show/?m=sZdhimwK2f8
** Once you upload the 3D model, you are able to view the building from a TOP view, OR a 3-dimensional "dollhouse" view, OR, a fully-engaging walk-thru that allows you to virtually walk through the building as if you were onsite **...to switch between these views, just select 1 of 3 icons located at the bottom left corner of the viewer.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Everyday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
SW - Rio Grande & I-40

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 243-9916

Website:
http://www.stclairwinery.com/albuquerque/

Entertainment:
Evenings, Wednesday - Sunday: Live Jazz-Blues music, featuring the best local and touring groups.

Catering:
We offer a special large party menu for your catering needs. Contact us to place your order.

Parking Details:
Parking onsite.

Public Transit:
City bus located in front of restaurant.

Executive Chef:
W. James Duke

Private Party Facilities:
We can host your next business lunch/dinner, rehearsal dinner, or ... ? We have a private dining room and patio for groups of 20 - 80 people.

Private Party Contact:
Elise Hines: 5052439916x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

St. Clair Winery & Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
New Mexico
Best Restaurants in Albuquerque ›

Notable Wine List (23)
Good for a Date (16)
Special Occasion (16)
See All
Good for Groups (16)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Romantic (13)
Casual (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Bar Seating (7)
Authentic (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Live Music (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Cozy (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Healthy (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Fun (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Business Meals (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Family Style (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Private Room (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Late-night Find (3)
People Watching (2)
Fireplace (2)
Historic (2)
Tapas (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Seasonal (2)
Scenic View (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
606 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We enjoyed the food, atmosphere and of c ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 2 days ago

We enjoyed the food, atmosphere and of course the wine. The only complaint, if you will, is one of our party ordered an add on of shrimp with his steak. It was not delivered with his meal. He mentioned it to the waiter who offered to take it off the tab or to bring it out. The 4 stars would have been 5 has this not happened. To get 5 there details count. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely time! The wine was supe ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a lovely time! The wine was superb and the food was delicious! We we'll definitely be dining here soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and perfect service before a ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and perfect service before a night of theater.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The flatiron steak was great. The fish i ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined 5 days ago

The flatiron steak was great. The fish in the fish and chips dish tasted that it was prepackaged.

The restaurant is very nice but can be a bit loud with a crowd.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderfull wine love the selection, they ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Wonderfull wine love the selection, they've paired all there meals with a recommended wines. I love local restaurants and food, St. Clair delivers. The staff are more than happy to help you find a wine that suits you.

Tags: Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You just can't get better wine anywhere. ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 22, 2016

You just can't get better wine anywhere. Every time I buy different winery's wine imported with great reviews I am disappointed after having tried St. Clair's wine. The food is the biggest challenge there. They need to hire a high end chef, I keep going to their attempt at a French Pork chop. The meat is often not cooked proper, either to much or not enough. This time it was cooked perfect but they changed the glaze and the meat was not seasoned properly. The chop was grilled and not pan seared. I don't know which France they think to grill the chop over sear it lol. Just awful. They badly need help in the kitchen as long as I can remember. It is sad since their wine has to be some of the best in the world.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Was ignored by hostess, wait staff was o ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Was ignored by hostess, wait staff was overwhelmed, very loud and couldn't hear one another to have conversation. Left as soon as possible. Will never return!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

We had a wonderful dinner! Marlene was o ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner! Marlene was our waitress and she was great! She had suggestions for wine and beer to go with our entrees. Can't wait to go back. My husband wants to try the pork chops.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love eating at St Clair. Great food and ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Love eating at St Clair. Great food and wine. Live music is great!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went for the wine and was disappointed ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I went for the wine and was disappointed, food was good , waitress not so friendly

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The restaurant was busy. They were shor ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The restaurant was busy. They were short staffed, multiple customers were complaining they hadn't been tended to in a timely fashion. They were down to one bartender because the manager pulled the second bartender in order to wait on tables, this left the one bartender completely swamped. When the manager asked what he could do to assist the bartender, she asked him to get her more beer glasses, she was completely out. The manager refused to retrieve the glasses, he insisted on doing actual work behind the bar. In my opinion, as a manager, you should be willing to do whatever it is that is needed at the time! He also didn't stay behind the bar very long to help!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

They only serve prime rib on Fridays and ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 30, 2016

They only serve prime rib on Fridays and Saturdays, and it's never on the menu or advertised. Just ask for it, as it is always very good to outstanding and a very healthy portion! They have lots of other choices on their menu (all good) but we like the prime rib best.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Waiter seemed very distracted. Had to as ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Waiter seemed very distracted. Had to ask multiple time to get our order of two beers,

then the same for two glasses of wine and the same for an order of bread.

Fortunately the four of us were not in a hurry because the dining experience took

over 2 hours. All that said the young man was nice and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We always enjoy the food and the wine at ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We always enjoy the food and the wine at St. Clair Winery. On this occasion, we especially liked the 2014 DHL Pinot Noir.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time here, the food was good a ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Our first time here, the food was good and the wine was better. Also liked that they had several local micro-brews to choose from. Part of what made our experience so enjoyable was our server, Kaitlin, was great. Thanks for making our evening great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were there for my husband's birthday ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 10, 2016

We were there for my husband's birthday and the food and service were great!

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great find in Albuquerque!

vip
 (Inverness)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great find in Albuquerque!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We had excellent food, great service and ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We had excellent food, great service and the band was very good. It was an excellent place to try the wine. The menu has everything from casual comfort food to fine dining. They had a wonderful children's menu.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

2 of us dining on a Friday night. She l ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 8, 2016

2 of us dining on a Friday night. She loved her prime rib (a special that night) and also enjoyed the vegetable medley (creative) and potatoes. I had the Cobb Salad and found it weird (spring mix lettuce had zero crunch and commercial bacon bits), overdone hard boiled eggs and chicken, past ready avocado, etc. The dressing was house (I wasn't asked for a choice) and was, to my taste interesting but missed the mark. I could imagine some liking it a lot.

Waitress was poor. She seemed hesitant when asked about a wine choice (this place features wines!!!), too casual and immature.

The space was big and well illuminated (but not too bright); a bight on the loud side; lots of really nice booths for intimacy; excellent bathrooms; and good parking and access to main roads.

Overall the food prices were very reasonable. But, if the quality isn't there....

and, as I've said: the quality was inconsistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

We were celebrating an anniversary with ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We were celebrating an anniversary with family. The food was excellent as was the wine. Our out of town guests were impressed with the atmosphere, food and wine. Highly recommend St Clair Bistro.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

St Clair's never disappoints. It's seve ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2016

St Clair's never disappoints. It's several steps above casual dining, without being overly fancy. The food is always good with both traditional and more fancy menu items.

We had the Salade Nicoise with seared ahi tuna and the Chicken Marsala. Both were excellent. The Bisto Burgers looked delicious also. The wine selections keep things interesting.

Toning down the inside noise level would be helpful for easier conversing, but the live band on the outside patio seemed like fun.

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, great service. We will ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Wonderful food, great service. We will definitely visit again when we are in Albuquerque.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The band was so loud for such a small ar ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The band was so loud for such a small area. The appetizer was good but the service was very slow and our meal was not as ordered nor was it impressive on the second attempt. For a winery it was difficult to get a second glass!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The staff are extremely professional and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The staff are extremely professional and helpful. The food was excellent!

We returned the next day to order to go and they assisted us in selecting foods for a picnic including wine!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good except for thhe f ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The food was very good except for thhe fact that the main entree was hot but the sides were barely luke warm. The bison meat loaf was excellent as was the chicken marsala. By the time the waitress came around to ask about thee meal were we already half way through it. The waitress also never brought the bread to the table. The restaurant wasn't busy, so that wasn't an excuse. The only wines offered were those produced by the winery which is OK, but unlike other winery/bistro combinations there was an up charge of $15 from the shelf price per bottle. I would consider returning when in the area but this place would not be a "must go to" restauurant. There are better ones in Albuquerque with better options for wine with the meal and pricing.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

If you want to go on a diet so you have ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 28, 2016

If you want to go on a diet so you have no appetite this is just a place for you We wanted to dine outside but the tables were so disgustingly dirty the hostess got a Whiped around the dirt on the table with a dirty rag. I pointed to some spots that were really disgusting she says no those are permanent stains so I rubbed it with my finger to get it easily came off the table by then I'd lost my appetite so we went back inside to sit at the bar to finally order some food at the bar for god sake's

I ordered one of the most expensive things on the menu steak medium rare-rare please. The steak came so raw and dead and gray looked like it had been steamed in water. The manager says he was appalled by how bad it looked by then I just forgot about eating anything

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Our server seemed to forget about our ta ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Our server seemed to forget about our table. She never returned with the items we requested and finally someone from our party had to go to the host desk to get help. The burger I ordered was dry and when I requested mayo, it never came until the end of the meal which was too late as I no longer wanted to eat it anymore. The manager brought the mayo and when I clearly told him that it was too late, he didn't do anything about. He saw my dissected burger and did not offer to take it off my tab or apologize for getting the mayo to me so late in our meal. I have had great experiences here before so hopefully this doesn't happen again or I won't be returning.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Restaurant was very smokey from burnt fo ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Restaurant was very smokey from burnt food would have enjoyed more if it wasn't so smokey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The wait staff person was either inexper ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 19, 2016

The wait staff person was either inexperienced or overwhelmed. We did not get our drinks until after our food arrived. It may have been our mistake to order our food at the same time as our pre dinner cocktail. but an experienced waitress would not have done that. We ordered a second drink and received it after we were done with our dinner. Definitely not a great dining experience. The noise level at the bar was so loud we could not carry on a conversation. The fired calamari was delicious but the french onion soup was just OK. there was no depth of flavor at all.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value3

Excellent find. Walking distance from o ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Excellent find. Walking distance from our Hotel. Food was good and our server was charming. She was very knowledgeable about the wine selection We spent a very nice evening.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great experience! Food is always great ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great experience! Food is always great and creative. Full meal or "tapas" with wine. We have dined at all 3 bistros and the high quality is evident at all 3. Wine is always wonderful. It's a favorite and always a stop for us in ABQ. Customer service is always good....staff are well trained.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I paid our first visit to St ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 11, 2016

My wife and I paid our first visit to St. Clair's on our anniversary. The ambiance and decor were very nice and reminded me of some east coast bistros. The food was spectacular; I had a burger, and my wife had the green chile mac n cheese. The burger was seasoned well, and the toppings were fresh. The sweet potato fries were some of the best I've had. The mac n cheese was creamy with just the right amount of heat. My wife also tried a couple of the wines and really enjoyed them. My one complaint would be the service. Our waitress took a long time to see us after we were seated, was not very friendly, and hardly stopped by to check on us. However, the manager came out and saw to our needs, so I don't think this was an ordinary occurrence.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

We went for dinner and did not appreciat ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We went for dinner and did not appreciate the noise level inside the dining area. We could not hear ourselves talk. The noise level was so loud the waitress got one of our orders wrong and gave us something different. We ordered the chicken salad and got the spinach salad with some chicken on it. We thought it was just skimpy with the chicken. the waitress admitted she thought we said spinach salad and not chicken. Because of the high level of noise we most likely will not return. We do enjoy your wine!

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

I thought we were in a high school cafet ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 9, 2016

I thought we were in a high school cafeteria, noisy ... waitress rushed us to order

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Everyone at our table said their food wa ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Everyone at our table said their food was delicious. Servers were excellent...there were no mistakes. Thank you.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Food was yummy - we love the nosh plate ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food was yummy - we love the nosh plate and shrimp appetizers. The wine flights allowed us to sample most of the wines. We had a semi private room with two other parties. The tile floor and high ceiling made for noisy acoustics. The service was great. Live music was good. We will definitely go again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Late-night Find, Private Room, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great Place! Would definitely come back ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great Place! Would definitely come back for lunch and dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Casual, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good meal. Good band. Loud environment b ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Good meal. Good band. Loud environment but we were seated close to the talented 4-member band. Outdoor group party going on with a buffet style meal but did not hear them at all. Friendly staff.

Tags: Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Special Occasion, Casual, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made reservations and when we got the ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 26, 2016

We made reservations and when we got there, we had to wait for 15 minutes while the hostess "checked" on an open table. When we were seated, there was 5 empty tables all set up for service. The wait staff was superb, food excellent.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food & Price were decent. Once we final ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Food & Price were decent. Once we finally got a server to come to our table everything was fairly timely. However, we waited with no service whatsoever, after being seated for at least 15 minutes. To the point where my fiance, who use to wait tables, was ready to leave.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.