About SqWires

1415 S. 18th Street
St. Louis, MO 63104
View Larger Map

St. Louis" most ardent food-lovers are regulars at SqWires. Our seasonal menu, created by owner and executive chef, Bethany Budde, features creative interpretations of classic American cuisine, with the freshest seafood, prime meats, and indulgent desserts with our trademark simplicity and richness of flavor. Located in the historic Lafayette Square neighborhood, in the former Western Wire Factory, SqWires preserved original 19th century elements and added handcrafted fireplaces, comfortable leather banquette seating, restored overhead factory pulley systems, industrial ceiling fans and exposed brick and beams to create a notable setting for you to meet and eat and drink. Our outdoor dining is available to enjoy the St. Louis weather in spring and summer.
With an extensive martini menu, ten local craft beers on draft, 50 wines and full bar the choices are sure to please, as is live blues and jazz Thursday through Sunday.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Organic, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast / Brunch Menu Saturday 8 am till 2 pm.
Breakfast /Brunch Menu Sunday 8 am till 3 pm.
Tuesday - Friday Lunch 11 am.
Tuesday - Saturday Dinner 5 pm.
Bar menus always available between Lunch / Brunch & Dinner.

Cross Street:
Park Avenue, Lafayette Square

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 865-3522

Website:
http://www.sqwires.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday brunch, featuring artists showcasing the best of St. Louis" rich jazz and blues traditions.

Catering:
The chefs at SqWires Restaurant work their culinary magic for your parties in our unique catering spaces or at your home or office. Our options emphasize flexibility and we will tailor the menu to fit your specific needs for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Whether buffet style or multi-course plated meals, cocktail receptions or boxed lunches, SqWires will ensure that your event is a masterpiece. SqWires Annex accommodates seated and cocktail events up to 150 guests. The Front Room is a more intimate setting perfect for groups of 60 or less.

Parking Details:
SqWires offers easy parking in our private lot, as well as ample on-street parking.

Public Transit:
Just a three-minute cab-ride from downtown, SqWires is a 15 minute walk from the Union Station Metrolink Station.

Executive Chef:
Bethany Budde-Cohen Owner

Private Party Facilities:
Adjacent to the restaurant is SqWires Annex. A unique venue that accomodates seated and cocktail events up to 150 guests using our main level and our mezzanine. Plan your next business function or party in the warm and inviting atmosphere of SqWires Annex or for your smaller more intimate events, the Front Room can accommodate up to 50 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Karen Kruse: 8886566518

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Weddings, Rehearsal Dinners, Business Meetings, Showers, Holiday Parties

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Wed 5:00PM - 8:00PM

SqWires Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Downtown
Contemporary American
Downtown
Best Restaurants in St. Louis ›

neighborhood gem (48)
great for brunch (35)
fit for foodies (33)
See All
good for groups (32)
great for lunch (22)
great for outdoor dining (20)
special occasion (17)
romantic (11)
kid-friendly (10)
hot spot (8)
vibrant bar scene (6)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (2)
notable wine list (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
290 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4

They offer one of my favorite Bloody Mar ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

They offer one of my favorite Bloody Mary bars. Definitely should hit this place up if you're in the area. As for the food, I got the "English" Toast and it was great. I won't give too much away because I want you to try it for yourself.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Brunch Spot

Dined on May 8, 2016

I've been here for brunch many times and am never disappointed. One quibble: eggs benedict should be on an English muffin, not on the too-thick Texas toast served here. Otherwise excellent. The bloody mary bar is fantastic and the light piano playing is a nice touch.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great seevice and atmosphere

Dined on May 8, 2016

Took our families out for Mother's Day. The atmosphere and service were great! I wasn't the biggest fan of the food, but everyone else seemed to really enjoy it. I thought the brunch menu was a little better.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Server was horrible

Dined on April 19, 2016

Our server barley talked, whispered when she did, messed up every order and didn't apologize for any of it. We will not be back

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service.

Dined on April 17, 2016

Excellent food and service.

food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Service overload

Dined on April 16, 2016

This was the second time I have taken my family there for brunch. On the first occasion I had no complaints. This time the restaurant was very busy and our server was overloaded. There were long periods in which he was nowhere to be seen. Two of our nine people did not get their entrees until we brought it to another's attention, and when it came, it looked as if it had been under the heat lamp for a long time. Finally, another server was redirected from a special luncheon to our table. The food was good, at least for those of us who got it on time. It would be worthwhile for the restaurant to hire more servers for those very busy times when there are large party reservations.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Good food, great service, way too loud.

Dined on April 10, 2016

Good food, great service--but very, very loud. Took my 91-year old mother, and won't do that again! The cacophony of the diners is way adequate, without the pianist in your ear non-stop--didn't even take a break. Couldn't have a conversation at all.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Sqwires

Dined on April 3, 2016

Lovely location, great atmosphere. Attentive staff, but a bit tardy in service, not horrible enough that I wouldn't return. Overall a very pleasant experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Sqwires inspires.

Dined on March 25, 2016

Limited but excellent menu. Nice service. Interesting setting in a former wire factory. A very good choice.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

back to SqWires

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Service, atmosphere, ambiance were all delightful. Food was okay, nothing special. Salmon was okay, but not terrific. Seafood Chowder was very starchy and disappointing. Appetizers were fine. The best were the desserts, especially the Apple Pie. We will revisit SqWires in the future, but probably order off their casual late night menu. The place is wonderful, but the entry fine dining menu really is only mediocre. I will say that the staff was friendly and very attentive.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Saturday breakfast

Dined on March 19, 2016

We always go to Sqwires for beakfast when we visit St. Louis annually. A very interesting and eclectic setting. Menu is limited but offers good quality, tasty choices. Sqwires will stay on our must-go list.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

SqWires -- fun place

Dined on March 18, 2016

The food and atmosphere at SqWires is great. We were there on a busy Friday night before a concert. Good happy hour. Service was slow on the night we were there. The woman at the 'raw bar' was exceptionally good -- excellent service. Wait staff not as attentive. Would recommend to others but would like to see better service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food

Dined on March 13, 2016

Went there for Sunday brunch with friends. Very busy but were seated right on time. Eggs Benedict was awesome

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Saturday

Dined on March 12, 2016

I noticed a sense of a seafood theme. But the waiter didn't push any of them which was kinda nice. I went with the salmon and they gave me a side of the cherry but on chutney. It was very tasty as was the cheesy orzo(not sure what kind of rice really). The appetizers were pretty standard as was the Cesar salad. The crowd was nice to casual upscale.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sean, the Super Waiter

Dined on March 6, 2016

Loved the ambience and food of Sqwires. But the real fun of the restaurant was feeling that Sean was our friend whose intent was to make our evening and food selections the best possible. Great evening .

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Sqwires

Dined on March 4, 2016

I'd recommend Sqwires but with qualifications. It's noisy; the jazz combo at dinner time, and in the dining room is totally unnecessary. It would be better in a separate bar area. Also, the seating arrangement, with parties placed next to each other, bench style, can limit private conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

The 1st time I had dinner here it was gr ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

The 1st time I had dinner here it was great. I couldn't wait to come back. The 2nd time the service was fair and the food was just as fair. Not sure I would care to return after this visit.

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Creative Cuisine - Conversation Difficult

Dined on February 28, 2016

Food was good - great variety & lovely presentation. Our server was attentive & friendly! We had a party of 6 @ 7:00. It was really a challenge to hear each other speak.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service4

We dine here often. The menu options are ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

We dine here often. The menu options are different and it's fun to try new things. Sometimes it's not to my liking but we still enjoy going. Service is generally good. It can get noisy.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice time for Valentines Day. Grea ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Very nice time for Valentines Day. Great food, service and value. We sat at the bar and had a nice dinner by the fire.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Loved Sqwires! Perfect place for a (Valentines day) Brunch! Live piano music was perfect. The taff was bery friendly and professional. Loved the mimosa & bloody-mary bar. Will definately come again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Went to SqWires for brunch on Valentine' ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Went to SqWires for brunch on Valentine's Day and had an enjoyable meal. The Bloody Mary bar was good with lots of items and variety. Food quality was good with a nice twist on some menu items. Piano bar was playing in the background with varied music. Service was excellent and staff were friendly. All in all an enjoyable experience. We'll be back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great for group of friends

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

I took a group of W U girls and we had a great time!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere with a nice warm fire o ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Great atmosphere with a nice warm fire on a cold morning. Wonderful Bloody Mary (we did not try the make it yourself bar although it looked great) and amazing biscuits and gravy. A must do when visiting STL!

food5
ambience5
service5

The Bloody Mary bar is OUT of this world ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

The Bloody Mary bar is OUT of this world. Coolest place I've eaten at in awhile

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waitress was awesome and the food wa ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

Our waitress was awesome and the food was great. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to go with a date, family or friends

Dined on January 24, 2016

Great service, nice food, nice place, can get busy so make sure to book a reservation if you can. We will be back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4

Great Friday night happy hour place and ...

Dined on January 22, 2016

Great Friday night happy hour place and entries are good also

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I didn't see anything on the site about ...

Dined on January 16, 2016

I didn't see anything on the site about the Saturday brunch menu. I was surprised that I couldn't order off the regular menu.

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Poor Service is Disservice to SqWires

Dined on January 2, 2016

We really liked SqWires' menu and the food; however, the service was poor from the time we sat down from trying to find a wait person (this was at 4:10 on a Saturday with hardly a customer in sight). Brunch menus distributed instead of dinner menus, had to request a cocktail menu, continually flagging down a wait person, being served all courses at one time (4 people) despite some soups, salads, apps and entrees, food taking forever and no wait person in sight after food arrived to see if it is OK or a beverage needed refilling or to see about coffee or even a dessert. Due to a concert deadline, it was grab the check and go and this was two hours later. Everything tasted great; however, the mussels were not a good value--tiniest mussels ever served and probably no more than 10-12 mussels in all. I would like to return; however, I have my doubts about the service especially as the restaurant was not even half crowded when we left. It seemed like all the wait staff just disappears and has no interest in the customers.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time patron.

Dined on December 30, 2015

This was my first time at SqWires and the food, service, and atmosphere were all excellent. I will return and tell others of my of my experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

A Lost Opportunity

Dined on December 23, 2015

We went to SqWires based on looking at their on line menu. Everything looked so good, we wanted one of everything. Unfortunately, the food did not measure up to the menu. My Onion Soup croutons soaked up so much soup that there was not much actual soup. The pork ragu had virtually no taste. My wifes spinach salad was missing several ingredients. We asked about the soup of the day on the menu. However, they had none that evening. All in all, a very disappointing evening.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Good Night Out!

Dined on December 16, 2015

Our book club met for dinner. Our waiter was very nice and warned us that he was stretched thin with the amount of tables he had...it was packed...and therefore our wait times for food and drinks was a bit longer but we really did not mind. Our waiter was apologetic and we understood. We were enjoying being together and discussing our book and then playing rob-your-neighbor. All in all, a very good night at SqWires!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5

Group of 5 reservation

Dined on November 15, 2015

We came in last Sunday with group of 5 for brunch and it was super loud but we had a wonderful meal and amazing Bloody Mary /Mimosa bar experience! Only thing was, we were sat infront of the piano so was a little hard to talk to one another over the music. Otherwise the waiter was great and the food was delicious 😉❣🤗

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service1

It was a little dissapointing

Dined on November 15, 2015

Went with 4 other people to celebrate my husband's birthday. The service was very disappointing-we waited way too long for cocktails and appetizers. The waiter had zero personality and could have cared less that we were there. The food was really good though!

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waitress Michelle is a gem! This is ...

vip
Dined on November 14, 2015

Our waitress Michelle is a gem! This is our fun go to place for always a memorable and satisfying bite to eat! Thank you...

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Sqwires brunch

Dined on November 8, 2015

Great food as always. Crowded for Sunday brunch, need reservations.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

This will always be a favorite!

Dined on November 4, 2015

I cannot say enough wonderful things about SqWires, and I'll probably sound like a paid shill, but I don't care. This has been one of our favorite restaurants for a long time, but we had our wedding reception there two years ago, and it's been even more special ever since. This particular time, we came in to celebrate our two year anniversary, and the restaurant took wonderful care of us. Very attentive service, a champagne toast, and free dessert made an already special evening all the better. Bethany is a wonderful owner, Rick is a great manager, and Chris's service was impeccable. We can't wait to be back again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Weekend Brunch is a must!!!

Dined on November 1, 2015

Weekend Brunch is a must!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

One of the very best places in St. Louis....

Dined on November 1, 2015

A real gem! terrific food and the best brunch in the city. Great staff and always have a wonderful meal when I go ... can't say enough about this special place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.