About SqWires

1415 S. 18th Street
St. Louis, MO 63104
View Larger Map

St. Louis" most ardent food-lovers are regulars at SqWires. Our seasonal menu, created by owner and executive chef, Bethany Budde, features creative interpretations of classic American cuisine, with the freshest seafood, prime meats, and indulgent desserts with our trademark simplicity and richness of flavor. Located in the historic Lafayette Square neighborhood, in the former Western Wire Factory, SqWires preserved original 19th century elements and added handcrafted fireplaces, comfortable leather banquette seating, restored overhead factory pulley systems, industrial ceiling fans and exposed brick and beams to create a notable setting for you to meet and eat and drink. Our outdoor dining is available to enjoy the St. Louis weather in spring and summer.
With an extensive martini menu, ten local craft beers on draft, 50 wines and full bar the choices are sure to please, as is live blues and jazz Thursday through Sunday.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Organic, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast / Brunch Menu Saturday 8 am till 2 pm.
Breakfast /Brunch Menu Sunday 8 am till 3 pm.
Tuesday - Friday Lunch 11 am.
Tuesday - Saturday Dinner 5 pm.
Bar menus always available between Lunch / Brunch & Dinner.

Cross Street:
Park Avenue, Lafayette Square

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 865-3522

Website:
http://www.sqwires.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday brunch, featuring artists showcasing the best of St. Louis" rich jazz and blues traditions.

Catering:
The chefs at SqWires Restaurant work their culinary magic for your parties in our unique catering spaces or at your home or office. Our options emphasize flexibility and we will tailor the menu to fit your specific needs for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Whether buffet style or multi-course plated meals, cocktail receptions or boxed lunches, SqWires will ensure that your event is a masterpiece. SqWires Annex accommodates seated and cocktail events up to 150 guests. The Front Room is a more intimate setting perfect for groups of 60 or less.

Parking Details:
SqWires offers easy parking in our private lot, as well as ample on-street parking.

Public Transit:
Just a three-minute cab-ride from downtown, SqWires is a 15 minute walk from the Union Station Metrolink Station.

Executive Chef:
Bethany Budde-Cohen Owner

Private Party Facilities:
Adjacent to the restaurant is SqWires Annex. A unique venue that accomodates seated and cocktail events up to 150 guests using our main level and our mezzanine. Plan your next business function or party in the warm and inviting atmosphere of SqWires Annex or for your smaller more intimate events, the Front Room can accommodate up to 50 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Karen Kruse: (888) 656-6518

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Weddings, Rehearsal Dinners, Business Meetings, Showers, Holiday Parties

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Wed 5:00PM - 8:00PM

SqWires Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
See All
Special Occasion (14)
Fireplace (13)
Casual (13)
Bar Seating (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Historic (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Fun (8)
Live Music (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Romantic (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Cozy (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Healthy (5)
People Watching (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Authentic (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Vegan (4)
Great Beer (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Business Meals (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Private Room (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Family Style (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Live Sports (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Seasonal (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
352 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Upscale comfort food. Cocktail menu had ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Upscale comfort food. Cocktail menu had no cocktails. Server less than fully informed about menu and slow to respond. Pleasant experience overall. Farm-to-table ingredients, locally sourced and well presented.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

First time doing brunch here and we were ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

First time doing brunch here and we were not let down! 😍 Will be back again soon!! Thankful SqWires uses Open Table. I like knowing we will have a table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had Thursday Fried Chicken Special. Chi ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Had Thursday Fried Chicken Special. Chicken was moist but lacked much flavor. Several sides served family style came lukewarm. Server seemed interested in other things. Was there twice before and had better experiences. This was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Always absolutely delicious. It's our fa ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Always absolutely delicious. It's our favorite restaurant in STL.

Tags: Quick Bite, Authentic, , Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was great and we love the Blood ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food was great and we love the Bloody Mary/mimosa bar but the service was just subpar. Waited 15 minutes and no one came to offer us drinks. Finally went to ask for service and the guy who came over said he would get us started but he was not our server and was "here for one table only". He then took our drink orders and then must not have put them in and another server, Carlos, took our order again even though Neil was going to be our server. I never meet or saw Neil and Carlos took care of us the rest of the day. The food was good, but I'm not sure I'd go back even though I live in the neighborhood and love shopping local. I get everyone has bad days at work but no one ever wanted to service us or claim us as a table. Another waitress just a table over literally clean glasses at her empty tables when Carlos and "guy who was only there for one table" were trying to figure out who had us and never even offered to help - she just shook her head saying we were not in her section and tries not to make eye contact with us. Not welcoming at all. Carlos did well and we tipped well just didn't think they appreciated our business.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

SqWires was one of the better brunch pla ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

SqWires was one of the better brunch places I've been to in St. Louis. The ambiance and setting are one of a kind, and the food was pretty good too. Great place to to take out of town friends to show off.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Always a favorite! If going to a functi ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Always a favorite! If going to a function after dinner, plan double time for dinner. Very busy waiter & kitchen; we just made it to the Fox! But the food and overall was incredible, as always!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Business lunch for 5. Excellent service ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Business lunch for 5. Excellent service from Terri. Loved the brie appetizer!

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, the food was excellent and wel ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 8, 2016

As usual, the food was excellent and well worth the price.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server gave us great recommendations ...

vip
·Dined on December 7, 2016

Our server gave us great recommendations for appetizers and entrees. We came for my birthday and they gave me delicious bread pudding for free! Great experience and we got to sit by the fire on a cold night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice staff. Good service. Varied menu, n ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Nice staff. Good service. Varied menu, not inspiring but good choices. Noisy when live music was being played.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

SqWires was perfect for a post-graduatio ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

SqWires was perfect for a post-graduation dinner with the family. We had a group of 8 adults (with discerning food tastes) and there were plenty of "oohs" and "ahhs" over the menu. The live music brought a great vibe to the evening, and everyone came away satisfied. Definitely would recommend for dates and special occasions that are mid-level fancy.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Historic, Live Sports, Fun, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Veggie lasagna fantastic!! Have enjoyed ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Veggie lasagna fantastic!! Have enjoyed every meal, every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Fantastic as always! Food and service w ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Fantastic as always! Food and service were both great.

Tags: Bar Seating, Live Music, Authentic, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great waitress, good deal on wine and fo ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great waitress, good deal on wine and food was good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and ambiance were great

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food and ambiance were great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The half off wine and appetizers during ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The half off wine and appetizers during happy hour are great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Eggs Benedict were served with a non ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The Eggs Benedict were served with a nondescript English muffin, that was not toasted. The "poached" eggs were not soft and runny, but were hard. The potatoes were tasteless, and it took more than a half hour to get our food after we ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

Every time we are there everyone is plea ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Every time we are there everyone is pleasant. Have never had a server not friendly. Enjoy ever minute

Tags: Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Wood Oven, People Watching, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I enjoyed brunch here with a large group ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I enjoyed brunch here with a large group of friends. Our waiter was so patient with us and mindful of the time constraints of the restaurant - another large reservation was coming in after us, so he expedited our service but never made us feel rushed. The bloody mary/mimosa bar is worth the visit on its own - you could make a meal out of the delicious buffet of beverage add-ins! I also had a vegan french toast and my table enjoyed a mix of healthy and unhealthy food, breakfast and lunch food - they really have something for everyone. Highly recommend!

My husband and I also held our rehearsal dinner here - I just love Sqwires!

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took friends from out of town after not ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Took friends from out of town after not being to the restaurant for a while and simply had a wonderful time. The service was outstanding and the food was awesome! Everyone loved what they had including the "extra" dessert our server brought for us to try! These people know how to do it well and our friends will insist on going again the next time they visit!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are very frequent bar patrons but for ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We are very frequent bar patrons but for this meal we made a reservation for 10 at 6 p.m. We were seated promptly and always love the vibe in the place. The food was great, the server was attentive and polite and the evening was a lot of fun. I only have one complaint and that everything took a long time to come out from the drinks to the apps to the main entrees. The restaurant wasn't full so it was a bit curious. Otherwise it was a great night and the delay made us relax and have more social time within our work group.

Tags: Fun, Fireplace, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, People Watching, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great brunch with good menu items on spe ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great brunch with good menu items on special menu. The bloody Mary and Mimosa bar were an added bonus:)

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

All of the food was great except for tho ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

All of the food was great except for those who ordered steaks. They were overcooked. Wait staff was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Chicken chili was amazing! I would go th ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Chicken chili was amazing! I would go there just to have it..

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

enjoyed the live music, but it was far t ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 30, 2016

enjoyed the live music, but it was far too loud, raising the level of conversations to shouting matches. The week before the band was at a proper level and very pleasant.

Tags: Live Music, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Loved the atmosphere. I've been here a ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Loved the atmosphere. I've been here a few times, but never ate the food. Met up with some friends for a birthday celebration before the Strange Folk Festival and it was the perfect meet up place. Great service, yummy food. The mimosa/bloody mary bar was great, but it sucks that you only get 1 little can of champaign for your mimosa.

Tags: Vegan, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Casual, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Had reservations for brunch at 10:30am a ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Had reservations for brunch at 10:30am and we were not seated until 10:45am. We waited over an hour for our food. Apparently they had TRIPLE BOOKED reservations. I was so disappointed because this was a very special occasion for me and I picked this restaurant because I love it and wanted to show it off to my grandchildren who had come in from Atlanta. There was no compensation made for how poorly service was.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Loved Curt Landes and the vibe player! T ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Loved Curt Landes and the vibe player! The food was good for most of the table. My egg dish was a little bland but they graciously brought me some salsa.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Vegan, Healthy, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

You must check out the Bloody Mary bar f ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 11, 2016

You must check out the Bloody Mary bar for Sunday brunch!! An actual meal is optional, and you will see why when you see the fixings.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Every thing was very good. Love their br ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Every thing was very good. Love their brunch and Bloody Mary Bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We loved the bloody mary bar! We'll be b ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We loved the bloody mary bar! We'll be back for that. Our table was too close to the musicians, though, so conversation was difficult. Not sure there's a solution, other than to situate tables for 6+ away from the stage area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Fun, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our tab was $215 for 5 adults, 2 drinks ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Our tab was $215 for 5 adults, 2 drinks apiece. Food was good and service was prompt. It was a little noisy for our taste ( 60 yrs) even tough the establishment was not crowded. (early in the evening)

The value was good and the ambiance is interesting. The location is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Beware of loud and out of tune live pian ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Beware of loud and out of tune live piano music. Not a place for conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Great as always

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambience is second to none, warm and ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The ambience is second to none, warm and cozy with soft jazz being fed into the room.

The bloody Mary bar was a big hit and the food was excellent. A restaurant that pleases all

ages.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had 9 for brunch. We were able to mak ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had 9 for brunch. We were able to make reservations, an important feature for us. The service was very attentive, Bloody Mary bar is excellent and portions are huge! The neighborhood ambience is perfect.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was poor at best! We (4) wa ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The service was poor at best! We (4) waited for a good 15 minutes after being seated for the waiter to arrive. (Not that overly busy). Our drink order took another 15 minutes, I ordered another beer right then, smart move as it arrived 10 minutes later. Two of us ordered chicken pot pie, when brought to the table it was noted by both of us, that the chicken was absent from the few vegetables and mainly broth. I kick myself for not asking for a manager. How this restaurant that my wife and i both really like, could serve this was a joke. I'm telling you the chicken was shreds and not many. It was a sham!!! We really like this restaurant and most likely will return again, not too soon though. The mussels my wife said were terrific!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

We were eating at Sqwires before a conce ...

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 30, 2016

We were eating at Sqwires before a concert downtown and our server made sure that we were aware of the time and that our food came out in time for us to enjoy it. The food was good with the exception of the toasted ravioli. They were very tough.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our entrees didn't arrive until ninety m ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Our entrees didn't arrive until ninety minutes after we were seated. The manager didn't offer any compensation and was hesitant to give us any when asked. The food (barbecue night) was fine but not exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.