Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About SqWires

St. Louis" most ardent food-lovers are regulars at SqWires. Our seasonal menu, created by owner and executive chef, Bethany Budde, features creative interpretations of classic American cuisine, with the freshest seafood, prime meats, and indulgent desserts with our trademark simplicity and richness of flavor. Located in the historic Lafayette Square neighborhood, in the former Western Wire Factory, SqWires preserved original 19th century elements and added handcrafted fireplaces, comfortable leather banquette seating, restored overhead factory pulley systems, industrial ceiling fans and exposed brick and beams to create a notable setting for you to meet and eat and drink. Our outdoor dining is available to enjoy the St. Louis weather in spring and summer.
With an extensive martini menu, ten local craft beers on draft, 50 wines and full bar the choices are sure to please, as is live blues and jazz Thursday through Sunday.

1415 S. 18th Street
St. Louis, MO 63104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Organic, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast / Brunch Menu Saturday 8 am till 2 pm.
Breakfast /Brunch Menu Sunday 8 am till 3 pm.
Tuesday - Friday Lunch 11 am.
Tuesday - Saturday Dinner 5 pm.
Bar menus always available between Lunch / Brunch & Dinner.

Cross Street:
Park Avenue, Lafayette Square

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 865-3522

Website:
http://www.sqwires.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday brunch, featuring artists showcasing the best of St. Louis" rich jazz and blues traditions.

Catering:
The chefs at SqWires Restaurant work their culinary magic for your parties in our unique catering spaces or at your home or office. Our options emphasize flexibility and we will tailor the menu to fit your specific needs for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Whether buffet style or multi-course plated meals, cocktail receptions or boxed lunches, SqWires will ensure that your event is a masterpiece. SqWires Annex accommodates seated and cocktail events up to 150 guests. The Front Room is a more intimate setting perfect for groups of 60 or less.

Parking Details:
SqWires offers easy parking in our private lot, as well as ample on-street parking.

Public Transit:
Just a three-minute cab-ride from downtown, SqWires is a 15 minute walk from the Union Station Metrolink Station.

Executive Chef:
Bethany Budde-Cohen Owner

Private Party Facilities:
Adjacent to the restaurant is SqWires Annex. A unique venue that accomodates seated and cocktail events up to 150 guests using our main level and our mezzanine. Plan your next business function or party in the warm and inviting atmosphere of SqWires Annex or for your smaller more intimate events, the Front Room can accommodate up to 50 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Karen Kruse: (888) 656-6518

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Weddings, Rehearsal Dinners, Business Meetings, Showers, Holiday Parties

SqWires Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (22)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Casual (19)
See All
Good for Groups (18)
Good for a Date (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Special Occasion (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Fun (11)
Live Music (11)
Business Meals (11)
Cozy (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Historic (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Authentic (8)
Romantic (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
People Watching (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Fireplace (6)
Healthy (5)
Private Room (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Tapas (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great Beer (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Organic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vegan (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
410 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 4 days ago

The restaurant was very difficult to have much of a conversation. The background music was an annoying distraction.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

We took my father to celebrate Father's Day, and he just loves their Bloody Mary bar! He looks forward to going every year!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was very good, especially the vegetable lasagna. Waiter was excellent. Dining area was a bit loud for my taste due to live music but overall we had a great experience.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Awesome from beginning to end! We had been wanting to try this spot for a while, and it was worth the wait!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Fun, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Our first visit. The food was terrific. The service is very prompt, so if you want to have slower, more leisurely meal, should probably pause between ordering drinks, appetizers and then dinner.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great presentation and flavors in the salmon and pork dishes we had as our main course. The chocolate ravioli with cappicino ice cream had rich dark chocolate and was worth the calorie splurge.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Always enjoy brunch and lunch here. Good food, service, and atmosphere. Live music Thur thru Sunday.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Lovely ambiance, nice menu selection and a vibrant brunch hour on weekends. Perfect for an array of outings and occasions!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Supposedly a trendy place for brunch but the food was borderline unedible. Beef hash or whatever was called looked and tasted like beef stew. But what could top that? Wife had someone's beard hair in her pancake butter. Is there no expo there to triple check the items before they're ran to tables? Utterly disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Service was great!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Late Mothers Day celebration

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great restaurant! We weren't quite sure what to expect from all the up and down reviews we read, however, I'm glad we went as this was a fantastic dinner experience! We went with another couple (first time for all of us there) and everyone had no complaints. The building has a lot of character and charm and the outside area for eating looked really good too, although it was raining when we got there so there was no "action" outside. A few of us ordered from the dinner special menu and it was fantastic! It was local vegetables and chicken. Super good! Our server was really good and the live musician added a nice touch to the evening. I would definitely suggest this place to anyone wanting to try a new place. We will definitely be back!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We all enjoyed our meal. Service was slow, but we were enjoying seeing each other so it didn't matter. Best to come for their Bloody Mary bar with all the fixins.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Will never go here again. Super disappointed that I took my mom here for Mother's Day. Terrible service. Luke warm food. Bummer.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went there for my Wife's Birthday. Service and food were good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner outside on the patio and ordered mostly from the seasonal menu. Everything we tried was delicious, and the staff was very welcoming and attentive.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 10, 2017

As always, fabulous food. A bit pricey for the meals, but really worth it if you are particular about what you eat. Wonderful.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Family Style, Fun, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 10, 2017

unremarkable.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had a party of 10 celebrating a 21st birthday. Our waitress did a great job keeping up with our needs. The mimosa and Bloody Mary bar was perfect. Biggest let down was the food. It was fair at best. Expected more, especially with an al a carte menu.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

great service, food good, wine list not. Bloody Marys excellent,, beer list good. Noise level high, would go back, have gone back. Been there many times.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great spot for dinner or drinks to start the night out. Service was excellent and good menu.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Service was outstanding! Food was great.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Excellent service for us with a baby along. Good food and wonderful service.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Good atmosphere, good menu selections, service was slow, fried chicken was dry and unappealing but the sides and remainder of the meal were very tasty. I highly suggest the flourless chocolate cake for dessert, the squires lemonade, and the pork belly app.

Tags: Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food is just okay, not worth the price. We had a party of 10 and they ran out of 2 different kinds of liquor that 2 different people were drinking. The staff was nice but not overall friendly. The server wasn't knowledgeable about the specials, he just gave us a paper with the options.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Service as less than satisfactory. The happy hour deals were "run out" before we even got there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Entrees not brought out at same time. Brought out two salad entrees first then the two chicken entrees 20 miminute later. no refill offered on tea. Had to ask for refill on water. Tried to order one additional goat cheese fritter twice, at time of order and when spinach salad arrived. Never acknowledged or received it. It was a Thursday evening. Fried chicken good but mac and cheese side lame. Seemed like an off evening. May have needed more servers
Had been one of my favorite places.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great, casual weekend brunch with diverse menu, including good vegetarian options and a mimosa and bloody Mary bar. Renovated warehouse creates a nice mix of industrial and trendy. Good service and great location... but you may need to walk off your breakfast with a Sunday stroll through Lafayette Park. Enjoy!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The atmosphere is fabulous, with outstanding service and high quality food. It was great to see a mix of patrons from young business to retired groups and couples. My only recommendation would be to expand menu selections.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Live Sports, Modern Decor, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I return again and again with my family and friends. This is how much I love the food, ambiance and price.
It truly is a neighborhood gem but also a St. Louis gem .
And I love using my open table app to reserve seating. Its the best.

Kelly H

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Private Room, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Bar Seating, Organic, Tapas, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Fireplace, Casual, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Fantastic brunch! We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience and will be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Historic, Good for a Date, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Love this place, we go a couple times a month!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The mushroom brie dip was amazing and unique. The happy hour is a great deal and the flavor and ability to try a lot of different dishes was super fun. Sitting by the fire and admiring the décor and enjoying the atmosphere made for a great evening. We recommend the chicken and dumpling dish and the muscles but we haven't tried much else just loved almost everything that came out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had great food and great service from Amy. We were seated just a few minutes after our reservation time.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We had our monthly girl get together here recently. We loved being sat at a round table to see and talk to each other. The happy hour values were wonderful and the drinks were great. Our waiter was knowledgeable and very helpful. It was a great dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Historic, Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Continues to be a favorite! Brunch offering was great. Very nice Bloody Mary bar

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Delicious food in a neatly restored building. Easy access, good parking.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great brunch for three adults and a toddler. I had the veggie lasagna, which was very good, and my son had the brisket hash, which was outstanding. He is the world's pickiest eater and he ate it up.

Service was a bit slow, but I would say that's the norm for a place this busy during brunch.

We would come back again.

Tags: Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The Pick 2 lunch option was a huge hit! BLT and French Onion soup were delicious! Our server, Darwin, was efficient and kind.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I always love going to Sqwires. This night was girl's night out. Perfect place to accommodate a free range meat eater, vegetarian, and a gluten free eater with delicious locally sourced food in a great historic building. Service as usual was great!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Wood Oven, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Historic, Good for a Date, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.