About SqWires

1415 S. 18th Street
St. Louis, MO 63104
View Larger Map

St. Louis" most ardent food-lovers are regulars at SqWires. Our seasonal menu, created by owner and executive chef, Bethany Budde, features creative interpretations of classic American cuisine, with the freshest seafood, prime meats, and indulgent desserts with our trademark simplicity and richness of flavor. Located in the historic Lafayette Square neighborhood, in the former Western Wire Factory, SqWires preserved original 19th century elements and added handcrafted fireplaces, comfortable leather banquette seating, restored overhead factory pulley systems, industrial ceiling fans and exposed brick and beams to create a notable setting for you to meet and eat and drink. Our outdoor dining is available to enjoy the St. Louis weather in spring and summer.
With an extensive martini menu, ten local craft beers on draft, 50 wines and full bar the choices are sure to please, as is live blues and jazz Thursday through Sunday.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Organic, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast / Brunch Menu Saturday 8 am till 2 pm.
Breakfast /Brunch Menu Sunday 8 am till 3 pm.
Tuesday - Friday Lunch 11 am.
Tuesday - Saturday Dinner 5 pm.
Bar menus always available between Lunch / Brunch & Dinner.

Cross Street:
Park Avenue, Lafayette Square

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 865-3522

Website:
http://www.sqwires.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday brunch, featuring artists showcasing the best of St. Louis" rich jazz and blues traditions.

Catering:
The chefs at SqWires Restaurant work their culinary magic for your parties in our unique catering spaces or at your home or office. Our options emphasize flexibility and we will tailor the menu to fit your specific needs for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Whether buffet style or multi-course plated meals, cocktail receptions or boxed lunches, SqWires will ensure that your event is a masterpiece. SqWires Annex accommodates seated and cocktail events up to 150 guests. The Front Room is a more intimate setting perfect for groups of 60 or less.

Parking Details:
SqWires offers easy parking in our private lot, as well as ample on-street parking.

Public Transit:
Just a three-minute cab-ride from downtown, SqWires is a 15 minute walk from the Union Station Metrolink Station.

Executive Chef:
Bethany Budde-Cohen Owner

Private Party Facilities:
Adjacent to the restaurant is SqWires Annex. A unique venue that accomodates seated and cocktail events up to 150 guests using our main level and our mezzanine. Plan your next business function or party in the warm and inviting atmosphere of SqWires Annex or for your smaller more intimate events, the Front Room can accommodate up to 50 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Karen Kruse: 8886566518

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Weddings, Rehearsal Dinners, Business Meetings, Showers, Holiday Parties

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Wed 5:00PM - 8:00PM

SqWires Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
St. Louis
Contemporary American
Downtown
Best Restaurants in St. Louis ›

neighborhood gem (42)
good for groups (31)
great for brunch (30)
See All
fit for foodies (29)
great for outdoor dining (26)
great for lunch (23)
special occasion (21)
romantic (9)
kid-friendly (8)
hot spot (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
scenic view (3)
late-night find (3)
notable wine list (3)
Sort By:
Newest
302 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our entrees didn't arrive until ninety m ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Our entrees didn't arrive until ninety minutes after we were seated. The manager didn't offer any compensation and was hesitant to give us any when asked. The food (barbecue night) was fine but not exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

I love Sqwires! The folks there are cour ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I love Sqwires! The folks there are courteous, they support the community, and the food is delicious and scratch-made. It's one of my favorite, easy-going date night spots. My partner and I were celebrating our 5 year wedding anniversary and it's just a laid back way to get delicious, fancy food without all the hubbub.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Medium sized group. Great ambiance. The ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Medium sized group. Great ambiance. The food was delicious once we got it.

Wait service was minimal at best - we waited over an hour before our order was even taken which was frustrating - - -the waiter stated we were his only table when seating us.... unsure what he was doing... seemed absent minded. Wish he had been more attentive to our needs and hunger rather than giving a big discussion about the Sophia Coppola branded "champagne ". Would recommend going again.. . just hope to get luckier with a better waiter

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

I had never been to SqWires, only read a ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I had never been to SqWires, only read a recommendation on Yelp. It was a quaint little place, looks like an old factory from the outside, but cute on the inside. The food was excellent, it's a great place to sit, relax and visit with friends. Would definitely recommend it and go there again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place for Father's Day. My dad lov ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great place for Father's Day. My dad loves the Bloody Mary Bar and the Lafayette Square area is always great on a Sunday morning. The service was great, I enjoyed my food and the building is unique and interesting.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I like their "small plate Tuesday's".

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

I like their "small plate Tuesday's".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Happy Hour

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Make sure to visit at Happy Hour on a Tuesday to really get the most bang for your buck! I recommend the baked brie and pork belly for sure! Also, the Tasting Board isn't cheap, but it's worth it!

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Nothing to write home about

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

They just did not seem to care!! The hostess was OK but seemed to be disinterested even though we had reservations - food was OK but certainly no wow factor for a Sunday brunch - the waiter was friendly enough but not very attentive - probably would not go back as there are other choices for Sunday brunch that seem more friendly/accomodating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Sunday brunch was great, except I had to shout

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Was getting together with a friend for Sunday brunch. We were there for about 2 hours trying to catch up over delicious food. The pianist played the ENTIRE time and he played that piano so hard we had to shout at each other to converse. I am a pianist so I know how hard he was playing. He killed the ambiance. Shame: I usually enjoy the regular pianist during Sunday brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value5

I had the English toast at brunch. It wa ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I had the English toast at brunch. It was delicious! Bloody Mary bar has tons of toppings and snacks, you could make a full breakfast meal out of that. Have also been here multiple times for dinner and have never ordered anything that I didn't like!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A+

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great upscale American food with a great atmosphere in a nice location. Staff is very friendly and attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the evening with our friends. Dive ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Loved the evening with our friends. Diverse menu. Oyster and shrimp bar was a terrific feature.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

They offer one of my favorite Bloody Mar ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

They offer one of my favorite Bloody Mary bars. Definitely should hit this place up if you're in the area. As for the food, I got the "English" Toast and it was great. I won't give too much away because I want you to try it for yourself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Brunch Spot

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I've been here for brunch many times and am never disappointed. One quibble: eggs benedict should be on an English muffin, not on the too-thick Texas toast served here. Otherwise excellent. The bloody mary bar is fantastic and the light piano playing is a nice touch.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great seevice and atmosphere

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Took our families out for Mother's Day. The atmosphere and service were great! I wasn't the biggest fan of the food, but everyone else seemed to really enjoy it. I thought the brunch menu was a little better.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Server was horrible

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Our server barley talked, whispered when she did, messed up every order and didn't apologize for any of it. We will not be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Excellent food and service.

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service overload

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

This was the second time I have taken my family there for brunch. On the first occasion I had no complaints. This time the restaurant was very busy and our server was overloaded. There were long periods in which he was nowhere to be seen. Two of our nine people did not get their entrees until we brought it to another's attention, and when it came, it looked as if it had been under the heat lamp for a long time. Finally, another server was redirected from a special luncheon to our table. The food was good, at least for those of us who got it on time. It would be worthwhile for the restaurant to hire more servers for those very busy times when there are large party reservations.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Good food, great service, way too loud.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Good food, great service--but very, very loud. Took my 91-year old mother, and won't do that again! The cacophony of the diners is way adequate, without the pianist in your ear non-stop--didn't even take a break. Couldn't have a conversation at all.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Sqwires

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Lovely location, great atmosphere. Attentive staff, but a bit tardy in service, not horrible enough that I wouldn't return. Overall a very pleasant experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Sqwires inspires.

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Limited but excellent menu. Nice service. Interesting setting in a former wire factory. A very good choice.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

back to SqWires

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Service, atmosphere, ambiance were all delightful. Food was okay, nothing special. Salmon was okay, but not terrific. Seafood Chowder was very starchy and disappointing. Appetizers were fine. The best were the desserts, especially the Apple Pie. We will revisit SqWires in the future, but probably order off their casual late night menu. The place is wonderful, but the entry fine dining menu really is only mediocre. I will say that the staff was friendly and very attentive.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Saturday breakfast

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

We always go to Sqwires for beakfast when we visit St. Louis annually. A very interesting and eclectic setting. Menu is limited but offers good quality, tasty choices. Sqwires will stay on our must-go list.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

SqWires -- fun place

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

The food and atmosphere at SqWires is great. We were there on a busy Friday night before a concert. Good happy hour. Service was slow on the night we were there. The woman at the 'raw bar' was exceptionally good -- excellent service. Wait staff not as attentive. Would recommend to others but would like to see better service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Food

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Went there for Sunday brunch with friends. Very busy but were seated right on time. Eggs Benedict was awesome

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Saturday

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

I noticed a sense of a seafood theme. But the waiter didn't push any of them which was kinda nice. I went with the salmon and they gave me a side of the cherry but on chutney. It was very tasty as was the cheesy orzo(not sure what kind of rice really). The appetizers were pretty standard as was the Cesar salad. The crowd was nice to casual upscale.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Sean, the Super Waiter

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Loved the ambience and food of Sqwires. But the real fun of the restaurant was feeling that Sean was our friend whose intent was to make our evening and food selections the best possible. Great evening .

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sqwires

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

I'd recommend Sqwires but with qualifications. It's noisy; the jazz combo at dinner time, and in the dining room is totally unnecessary. It would be better in a separate bar area. Also, the seating arrangement, with parties placed next to each other, bench style, can limit private conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

The 1st time I had dinner here it was gr ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

The 1st time I had dinner here it was great. I couldn't wait to come back. The 2nd time the service was fair and the food was just as fair. Not sure I would care to return after this visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Creative Cuisine - Conversation Difficult

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Food was good - great variety & lovely presentation. Our server was attentive & friendly! We had a party of 6 @ 7:00. It was really a challenge to hear each other speak.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We dine here often. The menu options are ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

We dine here often. The menu options are different and it's fun to try new things. Sometimes it's not to my liking but we still enjoy going. Service is generally good. It can get noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Very nice time for Valentines Day. Grea ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Very nice time for Valentines Day. Great food, service and value. We sat at the bar and had a nice dinner by the fire.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Loved Sqwires!

Perfect place for a (Valentines day) Brunch!

Live piano music was perfect. The taff was bery friendly and professional. Loved the mimosa & bloody-mary bar.

Will definately come again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to SqWires for brunch on Valentine' ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Went to SqWires for brunch on Valentine's Day and had an enjoyable meal. The Bloody Mary bar was good with lots of items and variety. Food quality was good with a nice twist on some menu items. Piano bar was playing in the background with varied music. Service was excellent and staff were friendly. All in all an enjoyable experience. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great for group of friends

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

I took a group of W U girls and we had a great time!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great atmosphere with a nice warm fire o ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Great atmosphere with a nice warm fire on a cold morning. Wonderful Bloody Mary (we did not try the make it yourself bar although it looked great) and amazing biscuits and gravy. A must do when visiting STL!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Bloody Mary bar is OUT of this world ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

The Bloody Mary bar is OUT of this world. Coolest place I've eaten at in awhile

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waitress was awesome and the food wa ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Our waitress was awesome and the food was great. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to go with a date, family or friends

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Great service, nice food, nice place, can get busy so make sure to book a reservation if you can.

We will be back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Friday night happy hour place and ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

Great Friday night happy hour place and entries are good also

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.