Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About SqWires

St. Louis" most ardent food-lovers are regulars at SqWires. Our seasonal menu, created by owner and executive chef, Bethany Budde, features creative interpretations of classic American cuisine, with the freshest seafood, prime meats, and indulgent desserts with our trademark simplicity and richness of flavor. Located in the historic Lafayette Square neighborhood, in the former Western Wire Factory, SqWires preserved original 19th century elements and added handcrafted fireplaces, comfortable leather banquette seating, restored overhead factory pulley systems, industrial ceiling fans and exposed brick and beams to create a notable setting for you to meet and eat and drink. Our outdoor dining is available to enjoy the St. Louis weather in spring and summer.
With an extensive martini menu, ten local craft beers on draft, 50 wines and full bar the choices are sure to please, as is live blues and jazz Thursday through Sunday.

1415 S. 18th Street
St. Louis, MO 63104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Organic, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast / Brunch Menu Saturday 8 am till 2 pm.
Breakfast /Brunch Menu Sunday 8 am till 3 pm.
Tuesday - Friday Lunch 11 am.
Tuesday - Saturday Dinner 5 pm.
Bar menus always available between Lunch / Brunch & Dinner.

Cross Street:
Park Avenue, Lafayette Square

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 865-3522

Website:
http://www.sqwires.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday brunch, featuring artists showcasing the best of St. Louis" rich jazz and blues traditions.

Catering:
The chefs at SqWires Restaurant work their culinary magic for your parties in our unique catering spaces or at your home or office. Our options emphasize flexibility and we will tailor the menu to fit your specific needs for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Whether buffet style or multi-course plated meals, cocktail receptions or boxed lunches, SqWires will ensure that your event is a masterpiece. SqWires Annex accommodates seated and cocktail events up to 150 guests. The Front Room is a more intimate setting perfect for groups of 60 or less.

Parking Details:
SqWires offers easy parking in our private lot, as well as ample on-street parking.

Public Transit:
Just a three-minute cab-ride from downtown, SqWires is a 15 minute walk from the Union Station Metrolink Station.

Executive Chef:
Bethany Budde-Cohen Owner

Private Party Facilities:
Adjacent to the restaurant is SqWires Annex. A unique venue that accomodates seated and cocktail events up to 150 guests using our main level and our mezzanine. Plan your next business function or party in the warm and inviting atmosphere of SqWires Annex or for your smaller more intimate events, the Front Room can accommodate up to 50 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Karen Kruse: (888) 656-6518

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Weddings, Rehearsal Dinners, Business Meetings, Showers, Holiday Parties

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Wed 5:00PM - 8:00PM

SqWires Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (21)
Great for Brunch (20)
Fireplace (20)
See All
Casual (16)
Live Music (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Historic (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Fun (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Romantic (9)
People Watching (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Authentic (8)
Cozy (8)
Business Meals (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Healthy (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Private Room (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Great Beer (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Seasonal (3)
Family Style (3)
Organic (3)
Vegan (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Tapas (2)
Live Sports (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Scenic View (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
379 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic brunch! We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience and will be back.

Tags: Authentic, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Historic, Good for a Date, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The mushroom brie dip was amazing and unique. The happy hour is a great deal and the flavor and ability to try a lot of different dishes was super fun. Sitting by the fire and admiring the décor and enjoying the atmosphere made for a great evening. We recommend the chicken and dumpling dish and the muscles but we haven't tried much else just loved almost everything that came out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We had great food and great service from Amy. We were seated just a few minutes after our reservation time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We had our monthly girl get together here recently. We loved being sat at a round table to see and talk to each other. The happy hour values were wonderful and the drinks were great. Our waiter was knowledgeable and very helpful. It was a great dining experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Historic, Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Continues to be a favorite! Brunch offering was great. Very nice Bloody Mary bar

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Delicious food in a neatly restored building. Easy access, good parking.

Tags: Historic, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great brunch for three adults and a toddler. I had the veggie lasagna, which was very good, and my son had the brisket hash, which was outstanding. He is the world's pickiest eater and he ate it up.

Service was a bit slow, but I would say that's the norm for a place this busy during brunch.

We would come back again.

Tags: Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The Pick 2 lunch option was a huge hit! BLT and French Onion soup were delicious! Our server, Darwin, was efficient and kind.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I always love going to Sqwires. This night was girl's night out. Perfect place to accommodate a free range meat eater, vegetarian, and a gluten free eater with delicious locally sourced food in a great historic building. Service as usual was great!

Tags: Casual, Wood Oven, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Historic, Good for a Date, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Table was not ready at reservation time and service was slow. Food was good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The server was not knowledgeable about the wine list. The term gluten free means mostly gluten free but it really - the fry oil is not segregated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Some good/some could be better.
Brunch is good. Bloody Mary /Mimosa bar is fun with all the choices of things to add to your drink.
Things that could be better:
don't put horseradish in the bloody mary mix, it's on the bloody mary bar for those who like it. Do put more vodka in the bloody Mary's. They taste like there is no alcohol in them.
Do CLEAN your restrooms!! There was toilet paper and wrappers all over the floor, toilet seats coming off the toilets and it looked like it's been a very long time since it had a good cleaning and dusting.
Put the paper towel roll in the holder, not just laying on the sink in water. It makes you wonder how dirty the areas you can't see are.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Enjoyed our friends brunch out. We were seated right away, with reservation. We did the bloody mary and mimosa bar which was great to get light snacks of fresh fruit, cookies, meat sticks, nuts. Our food took very long, but like i said the bar food held us through. Waitress did not stop by often and not strong in communication. Overall a good experience, the food, drinks, and atmosphere made for the welcoming experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Casual, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My husband and I went this past Saturday. There was a festival going on in the area and they had been open all day. Our waitress was working a double shift and was tired. The managers were running around like chickens with their heads cut off. They appeared short staffed. My food came out after my husband's did because of some sort of error along the way. I was disappointed to say the least - it's been a few years since we last ate here and my memories of the restaurant were much better than our recent experience. Maybe it was a rough day for them and isn't normally this way? That being said, I had the chicken white bean nachos which were fantastic and I got a plate full of much more than I could eat. My husband had the salmon wrapped scallop special and said it was really good, too. We started with the Brie and figs app which was great, too. So, food good at a not crazy price, but service not the best on this night.

Tags: Live Music, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Sqwires is a great restaurant that does a number of things very well: they are experts at hosting private events, whether it is a wedding reception, wedding anniversary, birthday or engagement party, or baby shower. They cover them all with class!
Their weekend brunch is a menu driven brunch that offers vegetarian and gluten free selections, if desired. They have a Bloody Mary bar as well as Mimosa specials at brunch. There's a special menu almost every night of the week, whether it's wine specials, shrimp & oyster happy hours, or family-style chicken dinner. The service is very good, as well, and very consistently so. I eat there regularly, have recommended Sqwires to friends and do so here, as well!

Tags: Kid-friendly, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Historic, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Healthy, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We went there for my husband's birthday and had a fabulous time. The drinks we're amazing, the food was wonderful and we got so my baby personal attention, it made the day so special. Highly recommended!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food and great ambiance! Would come again for sure.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food and great service. Sunday brunch is awesome. SqWires never disappoints.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great dinner and our server Andrew was fantastic. Haven't been there in years, but honestly don't know why. Everything was perfect and the prices are very reasonable. New favorite place in the city. We will definitely be back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Outstanding Value, Casual, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The place looks amazing and has a great welcoming vibe! The live music was a little too loud for dinner, but was still a great band. Dinner would have been nicer to, at least, be to talk without leaning in to one another. We enjoyed our 3 appetizers! The crab cake was fabulous and I will have dreams about the wild mushrooms and goat cheese flat bread!! We also ordered the calamari, the spinach was the best part, but more was to be desired from he squid. Dessert was AMAZING! The apple pie was delectable with gooey butter cake ice cream. My guest shared her chocolate ravioli with me and it did not disappoint! Expresso ice cream should be illegal! The service was well timed and not overbearing! Overall we had an enjoyable evening! I look forward to coming back soon!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Our group had a great time. Very warm and welcoming even though they were very busy. Nice piano music. I loved the Bloody Mary bar with its many pickled veggies but also tasty snacks, worth every penny of its $12 price. It was the equivalent of two drinks plus all the unique snacks. Food portions are ample, house wines good and good service to boot. Looking forward to returning to enjoy the patio.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Historic, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I don't see the point in adding a musician to the din of noise during the dinner rush.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Very good restaurant, always good food, good music and good service. Love the meatloaf

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

LOVE SqWires. The food was yummy and the live piano was amazing! The Middle by Jimmy Eat World was one of the songs played. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food was very good, but the service was lackluster. I had to ask the wait staff to wipe my chair after sitting in something sticky. My wife's feet were constantly stuck to the floor. Our waiter had to clarify our order 3 times. While the lack of service didn't ruin our evening, the cost of dinner exceeded the overall dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great food and a great atmosphere. They were quite busy, so the service was a little slow - understandably.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I was underwhelmed by our dinner there on Saturday evening. The service was slow. The waiter didn't offer many suggestions on the menu even though it was our first time there. My glass of wine, a brand I drink often, tasted off like it came from an old bottle. The waiter did replace it but clearly wasn't happy about it. My meal, the chicken with gnocchi arrived cold. Others in my party were happy with their meals, including the seafood stew and the potpie. Doughnuts for dessert were the highlight of the meal. A so so meal.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Upscale comfort food. Cocktail menu had no cocktails. Server less than fully informed about menu and slow to respond. Pleasant experience overall. Farm-to-table ingredients, locally sourced and well presented.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

First time doing brunch here and we were not let down! 😍 Will be back again soon!! Thankful SqWires uses Open Table. I like knowing we will have a table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Had Thursday Fried Chicken Special. Chicken was moist but lacked much flavor. Several sides served family style came lukewarm. Server seemed interested in other things. Was there twice before and had better experiences. This was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Always absolutely delicious. It's our favorite restaurant in STL.

Tags: Quick Bite, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food was great and we love the Bloody Mary/mimosa bar but the service was just subpar. Waited 15 minutes and no one came to offer us drinks. Finally went to ask for service and the guy who came over said he would get us started but he was not our server and was "here for one table only". He then took our drink orders and then must not have put them in and another server, Carlos, took our order again even though Neil was going to be our server. I never meet or saw Neil and Carlos took care of us the rest of the day. The food was good, but I'm not sure I'd go back even though I live in the neighborhood and love shopping local. I get everyone has bad days at work but no one ever wanted to service us or claim us as a table. Another waitress just a table over literally clean glasses at her empty tables when Carlos and "guy who was only there for one table" were trying to figure out who had us and never even offered to help - she just shook her head saying we were not in her section and tries not to make eye contact with us. Not welcoming at all. Carlos did well and we tipped well just didn't think they appreciated our business.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

SqWires was one of the better brunch places I've been to in St. Louis. The ambiance and setting are one of a kind, and the food was pretty good too. Great place to to take out of town friends to show off.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Always a favorite! If going to a function after dinner, plan double time for dinner. Very busy waiter & kitchen; we just made it to the Fox! But the food and overall was incredible, as always!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Business lunch for 5. Excellent service from Terri. Loved the brie appetizer!

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 8, 2016

As usual, the food was excellent and well worth the price.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on December 7, 2016

Our server gave us great recommendations for appetizers and entrees. We came for my birthday and they gave me delicious bread pudding for free! Great experience and we got to sit by the fire on a cold night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Nice staff. Good service. Varied menu, not inspiring but good choices. Noisy when live music was being played.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

SqWires was perfect for a post-graduation dinner with the family. We had a group of 8 adults (with discerning food tastes) and there were plenty of "oohs" and "ahhs" over the menu. The live music brought a great vibe to the evening, and everyone came away satisfied. Definitely would recommend for dates and special occasions that are mid-level fancy.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Historic, Live Sports, Fun, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Veggie lasagna fantastic!! Have enjoyed every meal, every time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.