Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.23mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About SqWires

St. Louis" most ardent food-lovers are regulars at SqWires. Our seasonal menu, created by owner and executive chef, Bethany Budde, features creative interpretations of classic American cuisine, with the freshest seafood, prime meats, and indulgent desserts with our trademark simplicity and richness of flavor. Located in the historic Lafayette Square neighborhood, in the former Western Wire Factory, SqWires preserved original 19th century elements and added handcrafted fireplaces, comfortable leather banquette seating, restored overhead factory pulley systems, industrial ceiling fans and exposed brick and beams to create a notable setting for you to meet and eat and drink. Our outdoor dining is available to enjoy the St. Louis weather in spring and summer.
With an extensive martini menu, ten local craft beers on draft, 50 wines and full bar the choices are sure to please, as is live blues and jazz Thursday through Sunday.

1415 S. 18th Street
St. Louis, MO 63104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Organic, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast / Brunch Menu Saturday 8 am till 2 pm.
Breakfast /Brunch Menu Sunday 8 am till 3 pm.
Tuesday - Friday Lunch 11 am.
Tuesday - Saturday Dinner 5 pm.
Bar menus always available between Lunch / Brunch & Dinner.

Cross Street:
Park Avenue, Lafayette Square

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 865-3522

Website:
http://www.sqwires.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday brunch, featuring artists showcasing the best of St. Louis" rich jazz and blues traditions.

Catering:
The chefs at SqWires Restaurant work their culinary magic for your parties in our unique catering spaces or at your home or office. Our options emphasize flexibility and we will tailor the menu to fit your specific needs for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Whether buffet style or multi-course plated meals, cocktail receptions or boxed lunches, SqWires will ensure that your event is a masterpiece. SqWires Annex accommodates seated and cocktail events up to 150 guests. The Front Room is a more intimate setting perfect for groups of 60 or less.

Parking Details:
SqWires offers easy parking in our private lot, as well as ample on-street parking.

Public Transit:
Just a three-minute cab-ride from downtown, SqWires is a 15 minute walk from the Union Station Metrolink Station.

Executive Chef:
Bethany Budde-Cohen Owner

Private Party Facilities:
Adjacent to the restaurant is SqWires Annex. A unique venue that accomodates seated and cocktail events up to 150 guests using our main level and our mezzanine. Plan your next business function or party in the warm and inviting atmosphere of SqWires Annex or for your smaller more intimate events, the Front Room can accommodate up to 50 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Karen Kruse: (888) 656-6518

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Weddings, Rehearsal Dinners, Business Meetings, Showers, Holiday Parties

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Wed 5:00PM - 8:00PM

SqWires Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (22)
Great for Brunch (21)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
See All
Casual (17)
Good for a Date (17)
Special Occasion (17)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Great for Lunch (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Live Music (9)
Fun (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Business Meals (8)
Authentic (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Bar Seating (7)
People Watching (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Cozy (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Historic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tapas (3)
Great Beer (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Fireplace (2)
Organic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Vegan (2)
Romantic (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Seasonal (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Scenic View (1)
Family Style (1)
Private Room (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
428 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Menu selection was fairly limited for lunch. They do specialize in locally sourced ingredients and local brews and spirits. Hamburger, requested medium, was overcooked. Grilled chicken Caesar salad as good. Specialty cocktails were good. Interesting decor in renovated wire factory. Charming neighborhood. Nice outdoor dining available. Interesting, large self-serve Bloody Mary and Mimosa bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

Our meal was very enjoyable overall. The Beef tenderloin tips entree was really good. The barbecued pork steak, however, was the thinnestwe've ever seen and was WAY over done. The person taking care of us, Margaret, was really super great, and gave us great service.

Tags: Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Sqwires was awesome! The staff was tremendously accommodating as there was five of us getting together for brunch for my birthday. One of us has a special needs daughter in a wheelchair and was running about 20 minutes late and Sqwires was very understanding. Our waitress was fabulous and allowed us to take our time in ordering and to spend time catching up as we don't get a chance to see each other very often. They were definitely busy but we never felt rushed.

The food was amazing as usual. One of us had a breakfast sandwich, another one had a Creole omelette, and someone else had biscuits and gravy. Each one of us thoroughly enjoyed our food. We've been there several times before and have always had a great experience. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great food and service. Lovely night on the patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Good food, good atmosphere but chronically poor service. Keep giving them additional tries, but the service is always an issue. Unfortunate because we like them on most other counts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

The live music made it difficult to carry on a conversation.

Tags: Late-night Find, Seasonal, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for a Date, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We loved the Bloody Mary and mimosa bar! The food was excellent and very filling. Loved everything about it except service was a little slow but with all of the choices on the menu, preparation might be slow. Delicious!!!!!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Amazing food and atmosphere!!! The bottomless mimosas with the variety of juices had a good feel.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Amazing food
Great service
Perfect for a family or a date

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Don't go here for a late lunch. No waiter just the bartender who let us sit there forever without bringing the food and was distracted with friends/other staff at the bar. It was only when we asked where our order was when he was still at the brought did he go and check and then brought it out. Food was barely warm and clearly been under the heat lamp for some time.

Why have open reservations when you aren't interested in serving? Don't get it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 9, 2017

the person being celebrated asked for her eggs to be over easy and they arrived over well done?
i ordered an eggs benedict offering -- the "poached" eggs were hard boiled? i ordered an offering which said it was served with veggie sausage. one of the eggs benedict had a veggie sausage and the other had a sausage ?
the person who ordered scrambled eggs had her eggs arrive done to perfection ?!
no one wanted to cause an issue, too many issues !
we had a wonderful server "devlin" who was very attentive to our needs !
i was surprised receiving food that was not as it had been ordered?
it was a disappointment as we have had five star experiences in the past! many!!
all in all i would say this experience was lacking -- the bright spot was our server !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 6, 2017

the portabella appetizer was very disappointing - very small and no flavor
everything else was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We visited for Saturday Brunch. The biscuits and gravy with cheddar scrambled eggs I had was soooo good. My honey had the shrimp and grits and said he really enjoyed. He had the Bloody Mary bar, he shared a salami stuffed olive, OMG so good. I had a screwdriver, very yummy👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 1, 2017

Excellent bottomless mimosa bar!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The atmosphere at Sqwires is top notch! We had a glorious waitress who was willing to go above and beyond to get what we needed. The food was tasty, and the bottomless mimosas can't be beat.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 22, 2017

The ribs were tasty, but they could have been cooked a bit longer to make them less tough. Not the best I have ever had, but certainly not the worst either. I would come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Friendly waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We came to SqWires to celebrate Father's Day. The Bloody Mary Bar was wonderful. The Bloody Mary was perfectly mixed and delicious! The food was exceptionally delicious! I had the chicken salad sandwich that was made with pistachios, dates and tarragon mayo! My new favorite chicken salad. My husband had the brisket hash with eggs! He loved it! My son had the breakfast burrito and he said it was the best he has ever had. We will return again and again!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The restaurant was very difficult to have much of a conversation. The background music was an annoying distraction.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We took my father to celebrate Father's Day, and he just loves their Bloody Mary bar! He looks forward to going every year!

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Food was very good, especially the vegetable lasagna. Waiter was excellent. Dining area was a bit loud for my taste due to live music but overall we had a great experience.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Awesome from beginning to end! We had been wanting to try this spot for a while, and it was worth the wait!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Fun, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Our first visit. The food was terrific. The service is very prompt, so if you want to have slower, more leisurely meal, should probably pause between ordering drinks, appetizers and then dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great presentation and flavors in the salmon and pork dishes we had as our main course. The chocolate ravioli with cappicino ice cream had rich dark chocolate and was worth the calorie splurge.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Always enjoy brunch and lunch here. Good food, service, and atmosphere. Live music Thur thru Sunday.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Lovely ambiance, nice menu selection and a vibrant brunch hour on weekends. Perfect for an array of outings and occasions!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Supposedly a trendy place for brunch but the food was borderline unedible. Beef hash or whatever was called looked and tasted like beef stew. But what could top that? Wife had someone's beard hair in her pancake butter. Is there no expo there to triple check the items before they're ran to tables? Utterly disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Service was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Late Mothers Day celebration

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great restaurant! We weren't quite sure what to expect from all the up and down reviews we read, however, I'm glad we went as this was a fantastic dinner experience! We went with another couple (first time for all of us there) and everyone had no complaints. The building has a lot of character and charm and the outside area for eating looked really good too, although it was raining when we got there so there was no "action" outside. A few of us ordered from the dinner special menu and it was fantastic! It was local vegetables and chicken. Super good! Our server was really good and the live musician added a nice touch to the evening. I would definitely suggest this place to anyone wanting to try a new place. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We all enjoyed our meal. Service was slow, but we were enjoying seeing each other so it didn't matter. Best to come for their Bloody Mary bar with all the fixins.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Will never go here again. Super disappointed that I took my mom here for Mother's Day. Terrible service. Luke warm food. Bummer.

Tags: Happy Hour, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Went there for my Wife's Birthday. Service and food were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner outside on the patio and ordered mostly from the seasonal menu. Everything we tried was delicious, and the staff was very welcoming and attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 10, 2017

As always, fabulous food. A bit pricey for the meals, but really worth it if you are particular about what you eat. Wonderful.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 10, 2017

unremarkable.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had a party of 10 celebrating a 21st birthday. Our waitress did a great job keeping up with our needs. The mimosa and Bloody Mary bar was perfect. Biggest let down was the food. It was fair at best. Expected more, especially with an al a carte menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

great service, food good, wine list not. Bloody Marys excellent,, beer list good. Noise level high, would go back, have gone back. Been there many times.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great spot for dinner or drinks to start the night out. Service was excellent and good menu.

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Service was outstanding! Food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.