About SqWires

1415 S. 18th Street
St. Louis, MO 63104
View Larger Map

St. Louis" most ardent food-lovers are regulars at SqWires. Our seasonal menu, created by owner and executive chef, Bethany Budde, features creative interpretations of classic American cuisine, with the freshest seafood, prime meats, and indulgent desserts with our trademark simplicity and richness of flavor. Located in the historic Lafayette Square neighborhood, in the former Western Wire Factory, SqWires preserved original 19th century elements and added handcrafted fireplaces, comfortable leather banquette seating, restored overhead factory pulley systems, industrial ceiling fans and exposed brick and beams to create a notable setting for you to meet and eat and drink. Our outdoor dining is available to enjoy the St. Louis weather in spring and summer.
With an extensive martini menu, ten local craft beers on draft, 50 wines and full bar the choices are sure to please, as is live blues and jazz Thursday through Sunday.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Organic, Vegetarian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast / Brunch Menu Saturday 8 am till 2 pm.
Breakfast /Brunch Menu Sunday 8 am till 3 pm.
Tuesday - Friday Lunch 11 am.
Tuesday - Saturday Dinner 5 pm.
Bar menus always available between Lunch / Brunch & Dinner.

Cross Street:
Park Avenue, Lafayette Square

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 865-3522

Website:
http://www.sqwires.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday brunch, featuring artists showcasing the best of St. Louis" rich jazz and blues traditions.

Catering:
The chefs at SqWires Restaurant work their culinary magic for your parties in our unique catering spaces or at your home or office. Our options emphasize flexibility and we will tailor the menu to fit your specific needs for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Whether buffet style or multi-course plated meals, cocktail receptions or boxed lunches, SqWires will ensure that your event is a masterpiece. SqWires Annex accommodates seated and cocktail events up to 150 guests. The Front Room is a more intimate setting perfect for groups of 60 or less.

Parking Details:
SqWires offers easy parking in our private lot, as well as ample on-street parking.

Public Transit:
Just a three-minute cab-ride from downtown, SqWires is a 15 minute walk from the Union Station Metrolink Station.

Executive Chef:
Bethany Budde-Cohen Owner

Private Party Facilities:
Adjacent to the restaurant is SqWires Annex. A unique venue that accomodates seated and cocktail events up to 150 guests using our main level and our mezzanine. Plan your next business function or party in the warm and inviting atmosphere of SqWires Annex or for your smaller more intimate events, the Front Room can accommodate up to 50 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Karen Kruse: 8886566518

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Weddings, Rehearsal Dinners, Business Meetings, Showers, Holiday Parties

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Wed 5:00PM - 8:00PM

SqWires Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Downtown
Best Restaurants in St. Louis ›

Neighborhood Gem (30)
Great for Brunch (24)
Good for Groups (23)
See All
Great for Lunch (22)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Special Occasion (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Romantic (7)
Live Music (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Historic (5)
Vegan (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Authentic (3)
Casual (3)
Fun (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Healthy (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Cozy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Fireplace (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tapas (1)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Organic (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Business Meals (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Seasonal (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
Newest
315 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Loved the atmosphere. I've been here a ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 4 days ago

Loved the atmosphere. I've been here a few times, but never ate the food. Met up with some friends for a birthday celebration before the Strange Folk Festival and it was the perfect meet up place. Great service, yummy food. The mimosa/bloody mary bar was great, but it sucks that you only get 1 little can of champaign for your mimosa.

Tags: Vegan, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Casual, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Had reservations for brunch at 10:30am a ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 4 days ago

Had reservations for brunch at 10:30am and we were not seated until 10:45am. We waited over an hour for our food. Apparently they had TRIPLE BOOKED reservations. I was so disappointed because this was a very special occasion for me and I picked this restaurant because I love it and wanted to show it off to my grandchildren who had come in from Atlanta. There was no compensation made for how poorly service was.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Loved Curt Landes and the vibe player! T ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Loved Curt Landes and the vibe player! The food was good for most of the table. My egg dish was a little bland but they graciously brought me some salsa.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Vegan, Healthy, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

You must check out the Bloody Mary bar f ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

You must check out the Bloody Mary bar for Sunday brunch!! An actual meal is optional, and you will see why when you see the fixings.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Every thing was very good. Love their br ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Every thing was very good. Love their brunch and Bloody Mary Bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We loved the bloody mary bar! We'll be b ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We loved the bloody mary bar! We'll be back for that. Our table was too close to the musicians, though, so conversation was difficult. Not sure there's a solution, other than to situate tables for 6+ away from the stage area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Fun, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our tab was $215 for 5 adults, 2 drinks ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Our tab was $215 for 5 adults, 2 drinks apiece. Food was good and service was prompt. It was a little noisy for our taste ( 60 yrs) even tough the establishment was not crowded. (early in the evening)

The value was good and the ambiance is interesting. The location is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Beware of loud and out of tune live pian ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Beware of loud and out of tune live piano music. Not a place for conversation.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Great as always

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had 9 for brunch. We were able to mak ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We had 9 for brunch. We were able to make reservations, an important feature for us. The service was very attentive, Bloody Mary bar is excellent and portions are huge! The neighborhood ambience is perfect.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambience is second to none, warm and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The ambience is second to none, warm and cozy with soft jazz being fed into the room.

The bloody Mary bar was a big hit and the food was excellent. A restaurant that pleases all

ages.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was poor at best! We (4) wa ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The service was poor at best! We (4) waited for a good 15 minutes after being seated for the waiter to arrive. (Not that overly busy). Our drink order took another 15 minutes, I ordered another beer right then, smart move as it arrived 10 minutes later. Two of us ordered chicken pot pie, when brought to the table it was noted by both of us, that the chicken was absent from the few vegetables and mainly broth. I kick myself for not asking for a manager. How this restaurant that my wife and i both really like, could serve this was a joke. I'm telling you the chicken was shreds and not many. It was a sham!!! We really like this restaurant and most likely will return again, not too soon though. The mussels my wife said were terrific!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

We were eating at Sqwires before a conce ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We were eating at Sqwires before a concert downtown and our server made sure that we were aware of the time and that our food came out in time for us to enjoy it. The food was good with the exception of the toasted ravioli. They were very tough.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our entrees didn't arrive until ninety m ...

vip
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Our entrees didn't arrive until ninety minutes after we were seated. The manager didn't offer any compensation and was hesitant to give us any when asked. The food (barbecue night) was fine but not exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

I love Sqwires! The folks there are cour ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I love Sqwires! The folks there are courteous, they support the community, and the food is delicious and scratch-made. It's one of my favorite, easy-going date night spots. My partner and I were celebrating our 5 year wedding anniversary and it's just a laid back way to get delicious, fancy food without all the hubbub.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Medium sized group. Great ambiance. The ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Medium sized group. Great ambiance. The food was delicious once we got it.

Wait service was minimal at best - we waited over an hour before our order was even taken which was frustrating - - -the waiter stated we were his only table when seating us.... unsure what he was doing... seemed absent minded. Wish he had been more attentive to our needs and hunger rather than giving a big discussion about the Sophia Coppola branded "champagne ". Would recommend going again.. . just hope to get luckier with a better waiter

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

I had never been to SqWires, only read a ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I had never been to SqWires, only read a recommendation on Yelp. It was a quaint little place, looks like an old factory from the outside, but cute on the inside. The food was excellent, it's a great place to sit, relax and visit with friends. Would definitely recommend it and go there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place for Father's Day. My dad lov ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great place for Father's Day. My dad loves the Bloody Mary Bar and the Lafayette Square area is always great on a Sunday morning. The service was great, I enjoyed my food and the building is unique and interesting.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I like their "small plate Tuesday's".

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

I like their "small plate Tuesday's".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Happy Hour

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Make sure to visit at Happy Hour on a Tuesday to really get the most bang for your buck! I recommend the baked brie and pork belly for sure! Also, the Tasting Board isn't cheap, but it's worth it!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Nothing to write home about

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

They just did not seem to care!! The hostess was OK but seemed to be disinterested even though we had reservations - food was OK but certainly no wow factor for a Sunday brunch - the waiter was friendly enough but not very attentive - probably would not go back as there are other choices for Sunday brunch that seem more friendly/accomodating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Sunday brunch was great, except I had to shout

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Was getting together with a friend for Sunday brunch. We were there for about 2 hours trying to catch up over delicious food. The pianist played the ENTIRE time and he played that piano so hard we had to shout at each other to converse. I am a pianist so I know how hard he was playing. He killed the ambiance. Shame: I usually enjoy the regular pianist during Sunday brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value5

I had the English toast at brunch. It wa ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I had the English toast at brunch. It was delicious! Bloody Mary bar has tons of toppings and snacks, you could make a full breakfast meal out of that. Have also been here multiple times for dinner and have never ordered anything that I didn't like!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A+

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great upscale American food with a great atmosphere in a nice location. Staff is very friendly and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the evening with our friends. Dive ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Loved the evening with our friends. Diverse menu. Oyster and shrimp bar was a terrific feature.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

They offer one of my favorite Bloody Mar ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

They offer one of my favorite Bloody Mary bars. Definitely should hit this place up if you're in the area. As for the food, I got the "English" Toast and it was great. I won't give too much away because I want you to try it for yourself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Brunch Spot

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I've been here for brunch many times and am never disappointed. One quibble: eggs benedict should be on an English muffin, not on the too-thick Texas toast served here. Otherwise excellent. The bloody mary bar is fantastic and the light piano playing is a nice touch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great seevice and atmosphere

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Took our families out for Mother's Day. The atmosphere and service were great! I wasn't the biggest fan of the food, but everyone else seemed to really enjoy it. I thought the brunch menu was a little better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Server was horrible

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Our server barley talked, whispered when she did, messed up every order and didn't apologize for any of it. We will not be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Excellent food and service.

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service overload

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

This was the second time I have taken my family there for brunch. On the first occasion I had no complaints. This time the restaurant was very busy and our server was overloaded. There were long periods in which he was nowhere to be seen. Two of our nine people did not get their entrees until we brought it to another's attention, and when it came, it looked as if it had been under the heat lamp for a long time. Finally, another server was redirected from a special luncheon to our table. The food was good, at least for those of us who got it on time. It would be worthwhile for the restaurant to hire more servers for those very busy times when there are large party reservations.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Good food, great service, way too loud.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Good food, great service--but very, very loud. Took my 91-year old mother, and won't do that again! The cacophony of the diners is way adequate, without the pianist in your ear non-stop--didn't even take a break. Couldn't have a conversation at all.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Sqwires

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Lovely location, great atmosphere. Attentive staff, but a bit tardy in service, not horrible enough that I wouldn't return. Overall a very pleasant experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Sqwires inspires.

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Limited but excellent menu. Nice service. Interesting setting in a former wire factory. A very good choice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

back to SqWires

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Service, atmosphere, ambiance were all delightful. Food was okay, nothing special. Salmon was okay, but not terrific. Seafood Chowder was very starchy and disappointing. Appetizers were fine. The best were the desserts, especially the Apple Pie. We will revisit SqWires in the future, but probably order off their casual late night menu. The place is wonderful, but the entry fine dining menu really is only mediocre. I will say that the staff was friendly and very attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Saturday breakfast

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

We always go to Sqwires for beakfast when we visit St. Louis annually. A very interesting and eclectic setting. Menu is limited but offers good quality, tasty choices. Sqwires will stay on our must-go list.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

SqWires -- fun place

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

The food and atmosphere at SqWires is great. We were there on a busy Friday night before a concert. Good happy hour. Service was slow on the night we were there. The woman at the 'raw bar' was exceptionally good -- excellent service. Wait staff not as attentive. Would recommend to others but would like to see better service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Food

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Went there for Sunday brunch with friends. Very busy but were seated right on time. Eggs Benedict was awesome

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Saturday

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

I noticed a sense of a seafood theme. But the waiter didn't push any of them which was kinda nice. I went with the salmon and they gave me a side of the cherry but on chutney. It was very tasty as was the cheesy orzo(not sure what kind of rice really). The appetizers were pretty standard as was the Cesar salad. The crowd was nice to casual upscale.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Sean, the Super Waiter

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Loved the ambience and food of Sqwires. But the real fun of the restaurant was feeling that Sean was our friend whose intent was to make our evening and food selections the best possible. Great evening .

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.