Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.38mi
  3. Distance: 0.53mi
  4. Distance: 0.60mi

About Square One Brewery & Distillery

We are committed to our guests with an obsession for unique brews and spirits, and a passion for good food. The setting is a restored historic building with large outdoor beer garden making our restaurant a one of a kind dining destination. Our menu is large and varied with each dish having a special twist to make it our own. Our on site brewery provides up to 12 beers on tap including ales, pilsners, imperials, cask conditioned ales and seasonal beers. As St. Louis' first micro-distillery we ferment and distill rum and vodka (both straight and with spices and all natural botanicals) gin, and some very tasty liqueurs to be tasted in our Spirits Flight or mixed into your favorite cocktails. We have a full service bar and an excellent wine list all available by the glass or bottle. Square One Brewery and Distillery is a fun relaxed place and a great way to indulge in all the aspects of a fine dinging experience.

1727 Park Avenue
St. Louis, MO 63104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday ~ Kitchen: 11am-10pm, bar open until 1:30am.
Friday-Saturday ~ Kitchen: 11am-11pm, Light Night Menu until midnight, Bar open until 1:30am.
Sunday ~ Kitchen: 10am-9pm, Brunch served 10am-2pm, Bar open until Midnight.

Cross Street:
18th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 231-2537

Website:
http://www.squareonebrewery.com/

Catering:
We want to work with you to create the perfect catered event. You can relax and be confident that your guests or business associates will have great fresh food delivered on time and we will work with you to stay within your budget but still offer something that you will be proud to serve.

Parking Details:
The parking lot is directly across Park Avenue from the restaurant.

Public Transit:
The restaurant is on a major bus route your destination is 18th & Park Streets.

Executive Chef:
Demetrius Rivers

Private Party Facilities:
Look to Square One for you next party event. Our private banquet space with an outdoor deck overlooking our courtyard is perfect for your next event. With seating for up to 48 or a cocktail party for up to 60, our space is flexible for any event.

Private Party Contact:
Cassandra Ronning: (855) 361-6529

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Beer Garden, Cocktails, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Square One Brewery & Distillery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
See All
Good for a Date (12)
Casual (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Fun (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Cozy (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Bar Seating (5)
People Watching (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Historic (4)
Romantic (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Authentic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Healthy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Family Style (1)
Seasonal (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Business Meals (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
550 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 4 days ago

A fun place with pub food...the beer was good...I had a nice fresh salad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The food and drink options are novel, and the quality is above average. We went for lunch with a group of five with an infant. I believe our server was having an off-day. She was attentive if we had a request, but initiated very little interaction. I would describe her as sullen in her demeanor. The overall ambience would probably be more appealing during a busier time of day.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Service was top notch, friendly and accommodating as we were on a tight schedule . Thank you for the friendly service :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Square One is one of our most favorite places to dine! We love it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 2, 2017

My dad and I discovered this place about 8 or 9 years ago on one of our father and daughter trips for my birthday. We love craft beer so this was a must try since we can't get this brand back in Chicago. Our first experience was what keeps bringing us back year after year. The atomsphere, food and service was just amazing. While visiting the area with my family for a six flags weekend, I decided this is where we would go for dinner before our 4 hour journey home. The staff experience was not as amazing as it has been, but the food and beer was all amazing. Maybe the staff was just having an off day, it happens. It will not derail me from returning.
#SquareOnefansforlife

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Fun, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Had fantastic pancakes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The weather was beautiful so we decided to go out for Sunday brunch where we could sit outside. After considering several options, we chose Square One. It was perfect. We had a table on the patio. The menu selections were great and the food was prepared perfectly. We enjoyed the craft beer and spirits options. Could ask for better service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We had friends visiting from Atlanta and they specified that they wanted to come to Square One. It is one of our favorite restaurants and our friends favorite when they are in town.

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Beautiful restaurant, great food. Scotch eggs were wonderful. Coffee great flavor. Corned beef hash was tender and well seasoned not greasy. Chicken with corn bread waffle was fantastic. Waffle was tender.jalepeno Bloody Mary was tasty.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We had a party of 10 and we were easily accommodated. The staff was very friendly, the beer and cocktails were great, and all 10 of us liked everything we tried. The house made BBQ sauce was a highlight! We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The food was amazing..didn't care for the drinks..The service was wonderful, I would most definitely come there again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, People Watching, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The food was good, but we waited for well over 30 minutes for our brunch order. This was way too long, especially with small children.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 18, 2017

All food, drink & service was great as usual. Killer seafood omelets!! And grits too.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Great character! Delightful outside dining, great lunch service, delicious ! Extra mention to business lunch service, pleasant and efficient!

Tags: Vegan, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Sat near the patio door. The door often stuck as wait staff came and went. It made for a sticky humid time even though we were indoors.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 12, 2017

My wife and I went on Monday night for our 7th anniversary. Food was excellent, the Hawaii beer (recommended by our server) was amazing. The service was great, good cane out quick and hot. I will definitely be back, ave have recommended it to several people in the last few days.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We come here every year on our anniversary. Our reservation was not acknowledged, I am not sure if there is a point in making one. We were told a 15 minute wait before we mentioned our reservation. The hostess shrugged when we said we had a reservation. Actually the wait was 20 minutes. The rest of the service was fine. Dinner came with a side of asparagus, 2 stalks. Kinda cheap. We won't be back. Sorry to lose one of our favorite places in the city but it's not what it used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We were a large group that they easily accommodated at a busy time, but the waitress was distracted and uninterested. My husband got a skunky beer and they still charged us and didn't offer replacement. Some of the entrees were good, like shrimp and grits. The fried chicken dinner was just ok and the nachos were huge but the cheese sauce really disappointing. For brewing their own beer, it was fair. We based our visit on others' reviews and were overall surprised at the experience. We live out of town so no reason to ever go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We had an awesome experience; great food and drink; wonderful staff. Will definitely visit again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for Mothers Day. Good value. Service a little slow, but they were busy!

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was so nice to be able to take my mother and mother in law to a brunch. The food was so good and it was very easy to reserve a table. I would highly recommend this to any and all of my friends!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great food, tasty beers, you can't go wrong visiting Square One, and they also make their own spirits if you're not into lagers and ales.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great happy hour food specials. Friendly staff. Beautiful patio

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Always enjoy Square One. This time we tried brunch and it was good. Instead of a Bloody Mary bar you can get a Bloody Mary flight picking from their list of spirits they make themselves. Highly recommend the Jalapeño Vodka. Courtyard atmosphere is great.

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Amazing patio. Great beer menu. Overall great find and probably still a bit of a hidden gem.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Our waiter was wonderful and took good care of us. He made great recommendations and was very attentive. I was very pleased with my meal.

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Brewery, Distillery, up-scale pub grub. Can't beat it. Love this place.

Tags: Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great food, great beer, the only issue is that the restaurant seriously is to loud. It is difficult to have a decent conversation at your table, it looks like they tried to do something with some ceiling panels in the main dining room, but it simply does not cut it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I have taken people here that are new to St. Louis and have never been disappointed. On a beautiful day or evening the outdoor seating is delightful. Always a great experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We had an excellent experience at Square One. We were surprised by the diversity of the menu and the quality of the food. Excellent selection of beer and spirits. Mixed drinks were all hand crafted. We went on a Friday evening, it was busy but not crowded. We were surprised to see how many people were in the dining room, as conversation was easy and not too loud.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Very family friendly and accommodating for infant and mom.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great food but portion size was kinda small for the prices they charge.

Tags: Cozy, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Enjoyed our time with friends. Good bar food. Staff was great. Will return.

Tags: Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Had a reservation for a large table...it sounds like a small thing but it was so nice to have immediate seating/have a reservation honored. The service was fantastic, the food was delicious (our favorites included the Black and Tan nachos and the Shrimp and Grits), the beer was great as well! Everything was reasonably priced and the it's a great option for a group of people with different price points. Decor and ambience was comfortable/friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Really awesome place. The beer is breeding site and have not had a bad one yet. The food is local and always a cut above

Tags: Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Despite our reservation we waited an additional 20 minutes to be seated. Once we were seated, over an hour passed before we went back to the hostess station to communicate that no one had ever come to our table to wait on us. They apologized and said they would send someone right over. 15 minutes later, again, no server. We went back again to the hostess stand and finally a server came to the table. Unfortunate service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

First time here. Service was off, not very engaging nor intuitive. One of our orders was forgotten. Scotch egg tasted well seasoned, but was underwhelming due to their decision to execute it as a hard boiled egg. Soft boiled much more preferred. Some cocktails a bit overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We were very disappointed with our time at Square One this past Sunday. We made reservations the day before but yet we still waited another 20 mins, even though a ton of tables were available. The Hostess was very short with us when we asked if we could squeeze into a table of 4 with 5, we understood that we weren't able to but she was still short with us. Once seated and ordered our drinks and it to forever to order our food and then to receive our food. This was my second visit to the restaurant and I was not pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We went for Sunday brunch. I had the seafood omelet. It was delicious. I really enjoyed my
Cucumber Vodka Bloody Mary. Our server did a wonderful job she was very attentive to our needs.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Late-night Find, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The Mahi Mahi fish tacos were so spicy they were inedible. When asked for sour cream to subdue the heat it arrived room temperature, not chilled, and tasted a bit off. Had to order another dish altogether, Salmon BLT (minus the bacon), which was just okay. The lamb burger wasn't special. The drink service was incredibly slow. Our server, who was a doll & did her best, said they only had one bartender so the bar was backed up. Overall, wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.