About Square One Brewery & Distillery

1727 Park Avenue
St. Louis, MO 63104
View Larger Map

We are committed to our guests with an obsession for unique brews and spirits, and a passion for good food. The setting is a restored historic building with large outdoor beer garden making our restaurant a one of a kind dining destination. Our menu is large and varied with each dish having a special twist to make it our own. Our on site brewery provides up to 12 beers on tap including ales, pilsners, imperials, cask conditioned ales and seasonal beers. As St. Louis' first micro-distillery we ferment and distill rum and vodka (both straight and with spices and all natural botanicals) gin, and some very tasty liqueurs to be tasted in our Spirits Flight or mixed into your favorite cocktails. We have a full service bar and an excellent wine list all available by the glass or bottle. Square One Brewery and Distillery is a fun relaxed place and a great way to indulge in all the aspects of a fine dinging experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday ~ Kitchen: 11am-10pm, bar open until 1:30am.
Friday-Saturday ~ Kitchen: 11am-11pm, Light Night Menu until midnight, Bar open until 1:30am.
Sunday ~ Kitchen: 10am-9pm, Brunch served 10am-2pm, Bar open until Midnight.

Cross Street:
18th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 231-2537

Website:
http://www.squareonebrewery.com/

Catering:
We want to work with you to create the perfect catered event. You can relax and be confident that your guests or business associates will have great fresh food delivered on time and we will work with you to stay within your budget but still offer something that you will be proud to serve.

Parking Details:
The parking lot is directly across Park Avenue from the restaurant.

Public Transit:
The restaurant is on a major bus route your destination is 18th & Park Streets.

Executive Chef:
Marc Cook & Demetrius Rivers

Private Party Facilities:
Look to Square One for you next party event. We have a separate party room with a private deck overlooking our courtyard. It is our goal to create your party your way and our options are endless. We can provide an elegant sit down dinner or a wide variety of choices for an appetizer buffet. Our dining room holds 48 people for a sit down dinner or up to 60 for a cocktail appetizer party.

Private Party Contact:
Cassandra Ronning: 3142312537x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Square One Brewery & Distillery
Cuban Pulled Pork
Sampler Plank
Garden Spritzer
Scotch Egg
Southern Breakfast
Wild Boar Burger
Black & Tan Nachos
Grilled Polenta
Scotch Eggs
Oktoberfest Bier
Andoulle Grinder
Goat Cheese Ravioli
Pulled BBQ Pork Sandwich
Beer Pretzels
Philly Cheese Steak
Burger of the Week
Goat Cheese Spinach Artichoke Dip
House Side Salad With Champagne Basil Dressing
Tomato And Goat Cheese Salad
Falafel Sandwich
Fish and Chips
Fried Chicken Platter
Fried Chicken, Coleslaw, Potatoes And A Honey Bun
Trio Of Dips
Light Squared
Muffuletta Sandwich
Iced tea
Cucumber & Tomato Salad with Garlic Crostini
Beer Cheese Soup
Double Red Cask
Salmon BLT
Park Ave Ale
Chocolate Stout Brownie Ala Mode
Huevos rancheros

Square One Brewery & Distillery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
St. Louis
Outdoor Dining
St. Louis
Best Value
Downtown
2 More
Neighborhood Gem
Downtown
Outdoor Dining
Downtown
Best Restaurants in Soulard / Benton Park ›

Neighborhood Gem (34)
Great for Outdoor Dining (32)
Good for Groups (20)
See All
Great for Lunch (20)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Great for Brunch (18)
Kid-friendly (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Late-night Find (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Historic (2)
Cozy (2)
Romantic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Great Beer (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Authentic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Casual (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
Newest
449 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

They did a great job, we had one small p ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

They did a great job, we had one small problem with an order of pancakes but the staff kept us informed and comped the pancake order. Have eaten there many times but never for Sunday brunch, it was outstanding and we will be back!!

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Always have great meals here!

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Always have great meals here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We had a party of four, and all very muc ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We had a party of four, and all very much enjoyed our food. I ordered the PBLT and it was delicious!! Their home made bacon was wonderful. Although I did but have any beer, everyone else really liked their brews and Vodkas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

We were celebrating a friend's 21st. Our ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We were celebrating a friend's 21st. Our server was pretty absent at first. All of us have worked in the industry, so we are fairly understanding, but this server was really lacking & abrupt in her table side manor. I know we all have bad days, and Sunday must have been hers. I get it.

When our drinks & later, food arrived everything was spot on! LOVE the Bloody Mary sampler - pure genius! We had multiple orders of the coffee mixed drink & brunch punch - both fabulous. As for food, My tuna was overdone but my husband raved about his crabcakes eggs benny and so did everyone else about their food. Nice work!

We will definitely come back, but we'll certainly try to avoid the rush next time. By the time we left our server was being slightly more attentive and the restaurant had all but cleared out so it was much quieter.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

We waited a long time to order. Even aft ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We waited a long time to order. Even after we were seated, we waited almost 15 minutes to order drinks and the. Another 20 to order food. Food was fine. My steak was overdone. Beer was good. Service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

The appetizers were very good. We had t ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The appetizers were very good. We had the pretzels and crab cakes. The entrees were also good, especially the scrimp and grits and the chicken entree

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Arrived earlier than reservation content ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Arrived earlier than reservation content to wait in the bar, but seated quickly after one drink. The outdoor dining area is was nicely decorated with interesting water features. We sat under cover of the roof and had a front row seat to a thunderstorm which was truly a plus. The wait staff was very attentive. The food was nicely done if not terribly unique. The shrimp and grits got high raves from the table as did the Scottish egg. Overall a good experience for our group of 6.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We love the food, drinks atmosphere and ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We love the food, drinks atmosphere and especially the outdoor seating! Great value as well and love that they take reservations (we went before a play)

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've dined here several times. What make ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I've dined here several times. What makes it so special is the great outdoor patio, matched by very good food and service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love the people, food and friendliness! ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Love the people, food and friendliness! Yummy pancakes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great brunch for a large group. Service ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great brunch for a large group. Service was great. Very accommodating for an infant guest.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding. Our waitress was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was outstanding. Our waitress was very knowledgeable about drinks and food. I personally find it very helpful when wait staff can give honest opinions and suggestions about menu items. I'll definitely be back:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food and atmosphere was great! I got ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food and atmosphere was great! I got their Oh Hawaii beer and it was perfect for summer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food and the waiter was really hel ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great food and the waiter was really helpful recommending menu and cocktail choices. Great spot for a family too as they have lots of options on menu. Really cool atmosphere with the brewery and murals.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were looking for a restaurant to have ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We were looking for a restaurant to have lunch/brunch near the baseball stadium. This restaurant popped up on a best places for lunch list on Google. It did not disappoint! Everyone loved their food and service was fast and friendly.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great service, delicious drinks and a fa ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great service, delicious drinks and a fabulous patio. I couldn't want anything more! The shrimp and grits were to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great selection of craft beers to enjoy, ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great selection of craft beers to enjoy, good food and a nice outdoor patio.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time here for my birthday! E ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Had a great time here for my birthday! Enjoyed a nice brunch and then spent some time at the bar. I liked my beer so much we took home a growler.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was ok.. Beer cheese soup had good ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Food was ok.. Beer cheese soup had good flavor , but came out cold, and is used as the pretzel cheese dip as well. Outside patio and bar are nice, but dining area was drab and had no clear focus on design.

Waitress was disingenuous and inattentive, I would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Everything about Square One is great! S ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Everything about Square One is great! Sunday Brunch is especially good. We dine there most Sunday morning's. Every item on menu is delicious. Bar tender serves us splendid drinks & great beer's. Seafood omelet is especially good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great selection of in-house brews and li ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great selection of in-house brews and liquors. Good food, great service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined on Father's Day. Given that it ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We dined on Father's Day. Given that it was a "holiday" I was pleased but that's about it. I've eaten there a few times and perfer the dinner memu over the brunch menu. My avocado and bacon omelette was very basic.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Always a fun place to have breakfast, lu ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Always a fun place to have breakfast, lunch or dinner. Great as usual!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and drinks

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The four of us were very satisfied with our food and drinks. The portobello flatbread was outstanding and my flight of craft beers was very good also.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was fantastic and the service was g ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Food was fantastic and the service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed the great upscale pub food an ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We enjoyed the great upscale pub food and their in house made beer and spirits. I will be coming back again. The reservation was honored and we were seated right away, even on this busy weekend night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Patio... BE STILL MY HEART!!

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We had a 9:30 reservation (for 12) following my son's high school graduation ceremony at Chaifetz Arena last Thursday evening... Keeping in mind that their kitchen closes at 10pm during the week, Square One cheerfully accepted & welcomed our large group & remained the same even after we ran a little late assembling there. We were BLESSED with very nice weather for the evening after a stormy day AND to be set up / seated in their INCREDIBLY BEAUTIFUL outdoor space!! While we did have to plan & order quickly we never felt rushed beyond that. Our service was wonderful, our craft brews were GREAT & almost everyone was mostly satisfied with their meals. Having been in the food service industry & management for a large portion of my own life I fully understand the parameters AND the long hours & you'll most likely never receive the best product from a kitchen who's winding down from an already long day... Perhaps not acceptable to ALL but robots do not prepare meals. Even when 'drizzle' started to threaten our party & even though already 'late' they began making efforts to move our large group under cover. Rather, we decided to disband & head back to Wildwood but ALL will happily return to Square One Brewery again in our futures; perhaps at earlier hours & that exceptional courtyard & atmosphere will be beckoning me till then.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience for Sunday brunch! The ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great experience for Sunday brunch! The food and drink was wonderful and the staff was extremely helpful.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding craft beer selection. I had ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Outstanding craft beer selection. I had a plank and thought all 4 beers were excellent. The food selection had a few unique options including a Scotch egg! Our entrees were cooked to perfection. We enjoyed siting in the courtyard, a perfect spring evening. Looking forward to returning to Square One to further explore the beers and menu. Such a relaxing atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a great experience

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

I have been to Square One multiple times and they never disappoint. Great food and drinks and beautiful outdoor patio.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day brunch was superb. Many in ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day brunch was superb. Many in my party ordered the buffet and all were pleased with the variety and quality of the offerings. I ordered Huevos Rancheros from the menu and couldn't have been happier. Cocktails were delicious and the service outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great spot for Mother's Day brunch.

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The brunch buffet is reasonably priced and a great selection. Delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mike Palomino

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Best patio in St Louis. Very good eclectic menu and top notch micro brews seasonally changed. Try the Single Malt Scotch Ale year round, my personal favorite, or the Maibock available in Spring. Casual venue and a great place liesurely hang with friends. Staff is outstanding.and never seems to turn.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely courtyard!

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Lovely courtyard!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good beer, horrible service

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We had a great time at Square One, the beer was excellent. The food was above average, but the service was atrocious. It took a very long time to get our drinks. Then we ordered an appetizer and it never came. The appetizer still showed up on our bill but they did remove it. I would go back for the beer but that is it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

We had a great experience here! The food ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

We had a great experience here! The food was delicious and our waitress was the best! The beer is great also which doesn't hurt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Ordered off the menu for brunch. The lun ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Ordered off the menu for brunch. The lunch items were better than breakfast. Had the Huervos Rancheros which overall wasn't bad but the beans had way too much sage I think I'm them and it just overpowered everything. My husband had chicken an waffles which were dry but he said tasted good overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Easter tradition

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

This was our 3rd Easter brunch buffet. We are never disappointed at Square One. We "brunch" at Square One at least once a month and come from Glen Carbon, IL. Will be back Mother's Day.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food/drinks/atmosphere-poor service.

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Seated promptly with 6:15 reservation. Chose to sit on the patio with our party of 7. They turn the outdoor heater on when requested. Drinks were great as was the food. Menu and food were much improved since I was there maybe 2 years ago. The problem was the really poor service. There was a long wait for our drinks and appetizers, and even longer for the entrees. Really odd because the place wasn't that busy. They recognized how long we waited for our entrees so appetizers were free and they gave us a couple of complimentary desserts.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

The Scotch Egg was awesome! Loved my No ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

The Scotch Egg was awesome! Loved my Not so Dark & Stormy. Great find!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.