About Square One Brewery & Distillery

We are committed to our guests with an obsession for unique brews and spirits, and a passion for good food. The setting is a restored historic building with large outdoor beer garden making our restaurant a one of a kind dining destination. Our menu is large and varied with each dish having a special twist to make it our own. Our on site brewery provides up to 12 beers on tap including ales, pilsners, imperials, cask conditioned ales and seasonal beers. As St. Louis' first micro-distillery we ferment and distill rum and vodka (both straight and with spices and all natural botanicals) gin, and some very tasty liqueurs to be tasted in our Spirits Flight or mixed into your favorite cocktails. We have a full service bar and an excellent wine list all available by the glass or bottle. Square One Brewery and Distillery is a fun relaxed place and a great way to indulge in all the aspects of a fine dinging experience.

1727 Park Avenue
St. Louis, MO 63104
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday ~ Kitchen: 11am-10pm, bar open until 1:30am.
Friday-Saturday ~ Kitchen: 11am-11pm, Light Night Menu until midnight, Bar open until 1:30am.
Sunday ~ Kitchen: 10am-9pm, Brunch served 10am-2pm, Bar open until Midnight.

Cross Street:
18th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 231-2537

Website:
http://www.squareonebrewery.com/

Catering:
We want to work with you to create the perfect catered event. You can relax and be confident that your guests or business associates will have great fresh food delivered on time and we will work with you to stay within your budget but still offer something that you will be proud to serve.

Parking Details:
The parking lot is directly across Park Avenue from the restaurant.

Public Transit:
The restaurant is on a major bus route your destination is 18th & Park Streets.

Executive Chef:
Demetrius Rivers

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Private Dining

Look to Square One for you next party event. Our private banquet space with an outdoor deck overlooking our courtyard is perfect for your next event. With seating for up to 48 or a cocktail party for up to 60, our space is flexible for any event.

Square One Brewery & Distillery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
See All
Good for Groups (9)
Casual (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Authentic (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fun (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Cozy (3)
Historic (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
511 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Mahi Mahi fish tacos were so spicy t ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The Mahi Mahi fish tacos were so spicy they were inedible. When asked for sour cream to subdue the heat it arrived room temperature, not chilled, and tasted a bit off. Had to order another dish altogether, Salmon BLT (minus the bacon), which was just okay. The lamb burger wasn't special. The drink service was incredibly slow. Our server, who was a doll & did her best, said they only had one bartender so the bar was backed up. Overall, wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

I'm not saying this is the greatest res ...

 
 (London)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I'm not saying this is the greatest restaurant this town ever saw, but is still great. Always enjoyable and the varied menu of food is always consistently well prepared and tasty. If someone says, "How about Square One?", everyone else always says, "Yes! That's good!"

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a bit too noisy for conversation. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

It was a bit too noisy for conversation. Food was okay. Enjoyed the beer.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The pot roast and the appetizer chicken ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The pot roast and the appetizer chicken fingers were excellent. The fingers are enough for a meal.

Tags: , Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I made a reservation and had to wait sti ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I made a reservation and had to wait still which was fine. But then it took 30 min to get a drink because "the bar was backed up" but then when we got our drinks they were clear clearly made 15 min before we got them because my ice was melted and the drink was watered down. We barely saw our waitress and when we finally got the food it had items missing so we had to flag down someone else. I went to square one about 9 years ago and I was super impressed with the ambiance, food and service but evidently a lot of things have changed. The women's bathroom was dusty and the little things that made this place very charming then have fallen by the wayside. The icing on the cake was that after not seeing our waitress but 3 times in two hours she was just standing at the hostess stand doing something on a personal cell phone. I know this place can be a lot better but unfortunately I will probably not return to see if it ever improves.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Pleasantly surprised. By no means was ty ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Pleasantly surprised. By no means was typical bar food served here. Extremely good food and beer at a great price. Veteran friendly venue is also a plus. Thanks for the discount!

Tags: Cozy, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Casual, Great Beer, , Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Mondays from 5p-9p is Build your own Mac ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Mondays from 5p-9p is Build your own Mac & Cheese while Tuesdays are Build your own burger night...If I don't go on Mondays or Tuesdays, I usually get the Reuben (one of the best in the city) or the Cuban...Sunday Brunch (10a-2p) is a hidden gem, which some of the best pancakes I have had in the city...

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great pre-fix menu option for New Year's ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great pre-fix menu option for New Year's Eve. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Reservations went smoothly, New Year's s ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Reservations went smoothly, New Year's special menu was delicious, service was great, and the beers and cocktails were tasty. Could not have had a better night with my loved ones and friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great beer for a fun new yea ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food, great beer for a fun new years eve dinner!

Plus great server.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were looking for a nice spot (as two ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were looking for a nice spot (as two previous visits were very positive) near the AB brewery as we were planning to follow dinner with a visit to tour the holiday light display. Arrived for a 6:30pm and showed the hostess my Open Table app on my cell phone which indicated our 6:30pm reservation, only to be told that they were busy tonight and wouldn't be able to honor our reservation, but would be seated when a table became available. Seated at 7:00pm, after we sat for 10-15 minutes my son jokingly asked me if you also had to reserve a server for the table. Had a nice waitress who was doing her best on an obviously understaffed evening, apps, drinks, and food were all good with the following exceptions. My wife's fish (grouper) and chips we not so good, mostly breading which was falling off the filet. My son ordered the same , but received the Airline chicken. So back to the kitchen to replace his entree, the manager then stopped by and explained that his fish was not acceptable for serving and asked the cook to prepare another (which by the way was this case with my wife's fish, but they served it to her anyway). So after all of us finished dining and our plates were removed, my son's fish and chips arrived. The manager did credit the entree but at that point our experience was pretty much ruined. So the delays caused us to miss an hour of time we allocated for our AB light display tour, funny (or rather not so funny) how the domino effect from our Square One experience ruined our evening. Although the service recovery attempt from the manager was appreciated, I will not return as there are many other better choices in the the area. I would also advise all other Open Table subscribers to beware and would hope that Open Table would review their relationship with this restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

Thank you to our waitress who did an exc ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Thank you to our waitress who did an excellent job serving 12 people, all on separate checks. We love this spot.

Tags: Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service!

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very attentive service for our two grand ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Very attentive service for our two grandchildren was much appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food, drink, and service were all fabulo ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Food, drink, and service were all fabulous! We had a family-friendly lunch experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went for lunch with others and all wer ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I went for lunch with others and all were quite happy with the food. Between us we ordered the turkey club and grown up grilled cheese, both of which were delicious. One had the pot roast sandwich and said it was the best pot roast they had ever had. We didn't have drinks on this visit so can't comment on those. Great food and the newbies who joined me will be back for sure.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good beer, ok food. Was a little busy so ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Good beer, ok food. Was a little busy so the server was a little hectic but if you're wanting some craft beers, go there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Best beer I've ever taste. Service was g ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Best beer I've ever taste. Service was good considering how extremely busy the place was that night. Bar service was a little slow but it was a packed house. Appitizers were delicious and arrived in a timely manner althouth my burger was just a little dry but I'm picky with my burgers. Prices were average. Did I mention how great the beer was?

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent evening out with friends. Foo ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Excellent evening out with friends. Food was great and the service was excellent as well. We had a party of 10 and our waiter was attentive and speedy with everything. We will definitely be going back soon!

Tags: Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There were 7 of us in our party. We wer ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 2, 2016

There were 7 of us in our party. We were seated quickly and at a table that provided enough room for all of us to be comfortable. The waitress was very friendly & knowledgeable about the beer selection. We all paid on separate tickets. She did not have an issue with making sure that all 7 bills were correct. We all ordered something different & she did not have any issues making sure that she served us the correct meal. It was a wonderful first experience for several of us. The only thing that I would have changed is the prices. The prices were just a bit high in my opinion. I paid $22 for a drink, a cup of soup & a sandwich. In my opinion that tends to be a bit high.

Overall the experience it was a very good experience,

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Really enjoyed ourselves and the food wa ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Really enjoyed ourselves and the food was excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Sunday brunch offers breakfast and lunch ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Sunday brunch offers breakfast and lunch options. Great choices. Great food.

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I love the patio at Square One and it's ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I love the patio at Square One and it's a bonus to be able to sit outside in October! Our server was wonderful. We had a great time celebrating my husband's birthday at Square One.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were looking for something with inter ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 3, 2016

We were looking for something with interesting food and drink options for a quick meal before a concert at the Scottrade Center. Square One didn't disappoint. The service was outstanding and we loved the wings! We will definitely keep it at the top of the list for our next visit to St. Louis.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Square one was wonderful in every way! T ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Square one was wonderful in every way! The service was excellent, the food was delicious & the vibe was youthful, even for we 50-somethings!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Friendly and helpful bartender, lots of ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Friendly and helpful bartender, lots of space and has an inviting atmosphere. Beautiful outdoor patio that feels private but still allows for people watching. The food was good, most of it is basic but they do it well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Historic, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, People Watching, Late-night Find, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Had a great brunch here last Sunday. Gre ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Had a great brunch here last Sunday. Great options and very generous portions. I had the sausage omelette. Great coffee too. Low wait time. Attentive service. Have had slow service in the past but was much improved.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great food and drinks, can get very loud ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great food and drinks, can get very loud. Good prices

Tags: Bar Seating, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

They did a great job, we had one small p ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 11, 2016

They did a great job, we had one small problem with an order of pancakes but the staff kept us informed and comped the pancake order. Have eaten there many times but never for Sunday brunch, it was outstanding and we will be back!!

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Always have great meals here!

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Always have great meals here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We had a party of four, and all very muc ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 2, 2016

We had a party of four, and all very much enjoyed our food. I ordered the PBLT and it was delicious!! Their home made bacon was wonderful. Although I did but have any beer, everyone else really liked their brews and Vodkas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Square One has a great patio space for d ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Square One has a great patio space for dining. The staff is always friendly and prompt. This is always a top pick for lunch out with coworkers.

Tags: Cozy, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We were celebrating a friend's 21st. Our ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We were celebrating a friend's 21st. Our server was pretty absent at first. All of us have worked in the industry, so we are fairly understanding, but this server was really lacking & abrupt in her table side manor. I know we all have bad days, and Sunday must have been hers. I get it.

When our drinks & later, food arrived everything was spot on! LOVE the Bloody Mary sampler - pure genius! We had multiple orders of the coffee mixed drink & brunch punch - both fabulous. As for food, My tuna was overdone but my husband raved about his crabcakes eggs benny and so did everyone else about their food. Nice work!

We will definitely come back, but we'll certainly try to avoid the rush next time. By the time we left our server was being slightly more attentive and the restaurant had all but cleared out so it was much quieter.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

We waited a long time to order. Even aft ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 23, 2016

We waited a long time to order. Even after we were seated, we waited almost 15 minutes to order drinks and the. Another 20 to order food. Food was fine. My steak was overdone. Beer was good. Service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

The appetizers were very good. We had t ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The appetizers were very good. We had the pretzels and crab cakes. The entrees were also good, especially the scrimp and grits and the chicken entree

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Arrived earlier than reservation content ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Arrived earlier than reservation content to wait in the bar, but seated quickly after one drink. The outdoor dining area is was nicely decorated with interesting water features. We sat under cover of the roof and had a front row seat to a thunderstorm which was truly a plus. The wait staff was very attentive. The food was nicely done if not terribly unique. The shrimp and grits got high raves from the table as did the Scottish egg. Overall a good experience for our group of 6.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We love the food, drinks atmosphere and ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We love the food, drinks atmosphere and especially the outdoor seating! Great value as well and love that they take reservations (we went before a play)

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've dined here several times. What make ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 29, 2016

I've dined here several times. What makes it so special is the great outdoor patio, matched by very good food and service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love the people, food and friendliness! ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Love the people, food and friendliness! Yummy pancakes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great brunch for a large group. Service ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great brunch for a large group. Service was great. Very accommodating for an infant guest.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.