About Square One Brewery & Distillery

1727 Park Avenue
St. Louis, MO 63104
View Larger Map

We are committed to our guests with an obsession for unique brews and spirits, and a passion for good food. The setting is a restored historic building with large outdoor beer garden making our restaurant a one of a kind dining destination. Our menu is large and varied with each dish having a special twist to make it our own. Our on site brewery provides up to 12 beers on tap including ales, pilsners, imperials, cask conditioned ales and seasonal beers. As St. Louis' first micro-distillery we ferment and distill rum and vodka (both straight and with spices and all natural botanicals) gin, and some very tasty liqueurs to be tasted in our Spirits Flight or mixed into your favorite cocktails. We have a full service bar and an excellent wine list all available by the glass or bottle. Square One Brewery and Distillery is a fun relaxed place and a great way to indulge in all the aspects of a fine dinging experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Gastro Pub, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday ~ Kitchen: 11am-10pm, bar open until 1:30am.
Friday-Saturday ~ Kitchen: 11am-11pm, Light Night Menu until midnight, Bar open until 1:30am.
Sunday ~ Kitchen: 10am-9pm, Brunch served 10am-2pm, Bar open until Midnight.

Cross Street:
18th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 231-2537

Website:
http://www.squareonebrewery.com/

Catering:
We want to work with you to create the perfect catered event. You can relax and be confident that your guests or business associates will have great fresh food delivered on time and we will work with you to stay within your budget but still offer something that you will be proud to serve.

Parking Details:
The parking lot is directly across Park Avenue from the restaurant.

Public Transit:
The restaurant is on a major bus route your destination is 18th & Park Streets.

Executive Chef:
Marc Cook & Demetrius Rivers

Private Party Facilities:
Look to Square One for you next party event. We have a separate party room with a private deck overlooking our courtyard. It is our goal to create your party your way and our options are endless. We can provide an elegant sit down dinner or a wide variety of choices for an appetizer buffet. Our dining room holds 48 people for a sit down dinner or up to 60 for a cocktail appetizer party.

Private Party Contact:
Cassandra Ronning: 3142312537x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Square One Brewery & Distillery Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
St. Louis
Outdoor Dining
St. Louis
Best Value
Downtown
1 More
Neighborhood Gem
Downtown
Best Restaurants in Soulard / Benton Park ›

neighborhood gem (35)
good for groups (31)
great for outdoor dining (30)
See All
fit for foodies (22)
great for lunch (22)
great for brunch (16)
vibrant bar scene (13)
kid-friendly (9)
hot spot (7)
special occasion (7)
late-night find (6)
romantic (5)
scenic view (3)
notable wine list (2)
Sort By:
Newest
422 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience for Sunday brunch! The ...

Dined 3 days ago

Great experience for Sunday brunch! The food and drink was wonderful and the staff was extremely helpful.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding craft beer selection. I had ...

Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding craft beer selection. I had a plank and thought all 4 beers were excellent. The food selection had a few unique options including a Scotch egg! Our entrees were cooked to perfection. We enjoyed siting in the courtyard, a perfect spring evening. Looking forward to returning to Square One to further explore the beers and menu. Such a relaxing atmosphere.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience

Dined 4 days ago

I have been to Square One multiple times and they never disappoint. Great food and drinks and beautiful outdoor patio.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Mother's Day brunch was superb. Many in ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day brunch was superb. Many in my party ordered the buffet and all were pleased with the variety and quality of the offerings. I ordered Huevos Rancheros from the menu and couldn't have been happier. Cocktails were delicious and the service outstanding.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great spot for Mother's Day brunch.

Dined on May 8, 2016

The brunch buffet is reasonably priced and a great selection. Delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Mike Palomino

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Best patio in St Louis. Very good eclectic menu and top notch micro brews seasonally changed. Try the Single Malt Scotch Ale year round, my personal favorite, or the Maibock available in Spring. Casual venue and a great place liesurely hang with friends. Staff is outstanding.and never seems to turn.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely courtyard!

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Lovely courtyard!

food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Good beer, horrible service

Dined on April 17, 2016

We had a great time at Square One, the beer was excellent. The food was above average, but the service was atrocious. It took a very long time to get our drinks. Then we ordered an appetizer and it never came. The appetizer still showed up on our bill but they did remove it. I would go back for the beer but that is it.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

We had a great experience here! The food ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

We had a great experience here! The food was delicious and our waitress was the best! The beer is great also which doesn't hurt.

food3
ambience4
service4

Ordered off the menu for brunch. The lun ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Ordered off the menu for brunch. The lunch items were better than breakfast. Had the Huervos Rancheros which overall wasn't bad but the beans had way too much sage I think I'm them and it just overpowered everything. My husband had chicken an waffles which were dry but he said tasted good overall.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easter tradition

Dined on March 27, 2016

This was our 3rd Easter brunch buffet. We are never disappointed at Square One. We "brunch" at Square One at least once a month and come from Glen Carbon, IL. Will be back Mother's Day.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Great food/drinks/atmosphere-poor service.

Dined on March 26, 2016

Seated promptly with 6:15 reservation. Chose to sit on the patio with our party of 7. They turn the outdoor heater on when requested. Drinks were great as was the food. Menu and food were much improved since I was there maybe 2 years ago. The problem was the really poor service. There was a long wait for our drinks and appetizers, and even longer for the entrees. Really odd because the place wasn't that busy. They recognized how long we waited for our entrees so appetizers were free and they gave us a couple of complimentary desserts.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

The Scotch Egg was awesome! Loved my No ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

The Scotch Egg was awesome! Loved my Not so Dark & Stormy. Great find!

food4
ambience4
service4

Great comfort food. Awesome beer!

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

Great comfort food. Awesome beer!

food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Interesting food & drink menu

Dined on March 6, 2016

We liked the looks of the menu & the location fit where we needed to be that particular evening. Our drinks were very good, whiskey based. The fried chicken sandwich was unique with delicious sauce. The pub chips were nice & crisp, not grease laden as I have found in other restaurants. My husband had the Cuban pork dinner, also tasty. The service was good, surprising for as packed as the place was. We were pleased w/ the prices as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service4

Over cooked frittata , mushy pancakes

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Over cooked frittata , mushy pancakes

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great pub food and beer

Dined on February 26, 2016

We had the fish and chips (grouper!), pot roast sandwich, grown up grilled cheese and fried chicken sandwich. All were excellent pub food!!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Great selections of food and drinks. Wil ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great selections of food and drinks. Will definitely go back!!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

More then good beer

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

We live in Kansas City but are often in St. Louis and hit Square One at least once every trip. It's relatively small and has a friendly neighborhood bar feel. The beers are good as are their distilled products. I personally am hooked on their Old Fashioneds. The menu is diverse and they have frequent specials that reach gourmet level. We have always had good service, both in the bar or in the dining area. It's away from the traditional tourist destinations but worth the trip. In good weather, a walk around Lafayette Park is an additional bonus.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Fish Friday Too Long Lunch

Dined on February 12, 2016

With a table reserved for 7 and arriving early for lunch we were seated as soon as we walked in the door. With the drink orders in, we didn't get our server to return for the meal order until the drinks were served. We thought it was looking good so far and it didn't look like they were short staffed, but then we didn't get the food served until many other tables in the dining room had been served, even though they had arrived later. Several of our group have frequented Square One, and some had never been. Many of our party had received our Fish&Chips orders at a much lower temperature than normal. Our total time in the restaurant was one hour twenty minutes, this was too long for a lunch. Will have to try to plan ahead earlier if we want to try this again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service5

Everything was great. The hostess was a ...

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

Everything was great. The hostess was a little rude and said I wasn't supposed to be able to make a same-day reservation through OpenTable on Sundays, and said it several times. I told her to take it up with OT. Then she took forever to seat us even though there were amble open tables. But our waitress was very nice and efficient, and the food was good.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great find!

Dined on January 4, 2016

A new place to revisit as their menu has a lot to choose from and the food was very good. The Sunday night fried chicken was the best I have had and we are looking forward to trying the rest of the menu. Crab cakes were cooked very well.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4

Hit the Spot

Dined on April 30, 2015

Whether you are wanting a beer and to watch the Cards/Blues game and share appetizers or sit down in the quieter outdoor patio, sip a delicious cocktail, and eat great food, Square One Brewery is for you. There is Mac Mondays, Late night bites, delicious craft beer and liquor made by Square One. The menu has a plethora of appetizers to share along with delicious burgers, salads, and soups (for meat eaters and vegetarians), as well as YUMMY entrees.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

great old bar and beautiful garden dining options

vip
Dined on April 22, 2015

Visit was with business associates and it offered the perfect place to discuss things and enjoy great food and drink.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service2

Easter Brunch every year from now on!

Dined on April 5, 2015

Easter Brunch was fabulous!!!! We will be back every year for Easter and Mothers' Day! Wide variety of foods, fresh fruits, grilled veggies, GREAT desserts. Took a while to get a waiter; but, thereafter was awesome!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

If you want elegance, the elegance is in ...

Dined on April 5, 2015

If you want elegance, the elegance is in the food here. If you also want an old building with garden seating and happy diners all around you, you will get it here. Our server was smart and aimed to please making it a very enjoyable experience. Square One does not try to get by solely with its home brewed and distilled drinks. It is a neighborhood gem for sure and should be on everyone's list.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Went for my daughter's 29th birthday for brunch

Dined on March 29, 2015

Our reservation was ready when we arrived and our server was great. I wish I remembered his name. We had a 7 year old and a 4 year old and he really catered to their needs as well as us adults. Hope to go back and will recommend to others.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Great find!

Dined on March 26, 2015

The food was excellent and the drinks delicious. We always love trying new places and will be back here for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Kid-friendly, great food and amazing beer!

Dined on March 21, 2015

We were very impressed from the start... Our table for 7 (2 adults, 5 kids) was ready even when we arrived several minutes before our reservation. Our server, Sarah, was wonderful! She had great recommendations and was friendly. The menu worked for our kids, although actual kid entrees were very limited. Our food came out quickly, and while we waited the incredible beer kept us occupied. The pale ale rivaled for the top spot on our beer list. The trio of dips was only so-so (chips weren't fried until crispy and were soft) however the wings, pulled pork, and pretzels were fab! I loved the atmosphere, even though it was very loud (to be expected with that many people). There was outdoor seating that we would've loved had the weather been warmer. We will visit again for sure!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service1

Reservations were on time, the hostess w ...

Dined on March 15, 2015

Reservations were on time, the hostess was attentive. Our waitress seemed to be okay the first visit. After that she didn't come back our drinks were dry and she was not very attentive or friendly. Her tip went from 20% to 10% sad to say. The pancakes were very good. I would go back and try lunch.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service3

Wasn't impressed with the service, but i ...

vip
Dined on March 14, 2015

Wasn't impressed with the service, but it was a very busy time when we were there, and the server was genuinely apologetic. The food was good, especially the edamame hummus, and we all liked their beers. I would go back but just not before a game, or on St. Patty's weekend. The outdoor space looks nice too.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

First Time

Dined on March 7, 2015

This was our first time to Square One. We met friends and had a great time. Food and drinks were wonderful. Service was great. Can't wait to return.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service!

Dined on March 7, 2015

Great service and very friendly. The host/hostess was able to accommodate us to a larger table (to include more friends) despite the last minute change. We appreciated their willingness, and ended up having a wonderful night among good friends we haven't seen in years!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

Awesome for Valentine's Day

Dined on February 15, 2015

2nd year doing their Valentine's course, loved it both times. They don't try to cram in extra tables like other restaurants I've been to on this day which is a big plus. Food, beer, cocktails- all delicious! Not sure all the pairing were "right", but that's just the geek coming out.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4

Always solid but never over

Dined on February 15, 2015

Went here for dinner for Valentine's day. We were sat right next to the patio door so had to hear "thump" ever 3 minutes or so. Someone has to sit there, I guess, but when you make a reservation over a month in advance you wonder why you get stuck with the "worst" table. The beer was good, as always. Barlywine was quiet good. We both got the pot roast. Which was very good. Portion was a little small. So small my girlfriend was still hungry afterword. So we ordered an appetizer after the meal. Service was good. Overall a solid experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for dinner and beer

Dined on February 14, 2015

The beer selection was outstanding. Everything available for people with various tastes. Menu had lots of interesting items. The food we selected off the daily menu was perfect. I can hardly wait to go back and try more of the beer and food choices.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service5

Great gem tucked into the city

Dined on February 12, 2015

We chose Square One for lunch on our way to the Budweiser brewery tour and were not disappointed. The beers were certainly well thought out, but lean toward the hoppy side. My husband's sandwich was very tasty and filling, but my cajun chicken sandwich left much to be desired. The only redeeming feature was the sauce, which they happily brought more of. If we return, I certainly would not repeat that order. We were unable to enjoy the spirits due to our plans for the day, but look forward to a return trip to sample those as well. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They were ready with suggestions and knew their beers and menu well. Overall, a good lunch stop!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Lunch/Beer spot

Dined on February 9, 2015

Two friends and I went for lunch. The host was a nice greeter. The waitress was very pleasant and helpful with both the beer selection and food. We each has the bison burger. The bison was cooked exactly as I had requested. It was one of the best bison burgers that I have had. the beer reccomended was very good as well. We were there for about two hours and the waitress was attentive and pleasant. The atmosphere was quiet and decor was average bar atmosphere. Overall it was great experience and will be returning soon. Keep it up Square One.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5

Great Food and Friendly, Fast Service

Dined on January 25, 2015

You won't regret visiting Square One. We had reservations for 7:30 and arrived early at 7:00 when we were promptly seated for my husband's 50th. We enjoyed pre-dinner drinks and appetizers and then ordered our dinners. Friends raved about the duck and shrimp and grits. I and another friend had the mahi mahi tacos and crab cakes, which weren't the best in our opinion, but just okay. This wouldn't stop us from coming back though. The waitress was incredible and atmosphere was great as well. I'll just try something else next time! Beer selection was great as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4

Great dinner

Dined on January 19, 2015

Tried the Shrimp and Grits for the first time and I have to say it was delicious! Never diappointed when we visit.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.