Square 1682

4.4
1485 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Business Meals
  • Bar Seating
  • Special Occasion
Square 1682 presents a Modern American Kitchen menu thoughtfully and masterfully created by Executive Chef Robert Surdam. The menu features small & large plates, as well as dishes designed for sharing during dinner. With emphasis on local and organic products, Chef Surdam entices the taste buds with every bite, through his lens of culinary America.

The bar showcases a pure wellness program of all natural ingredients, where fresh fruit and juices, infused spirits, and housemade flavored syrups are created daily from our Lead Bartender Daniel Kulisek. Square 1682 invites guests to a full experience of dining, libations, and lively ambiance on every visit.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Organic, Tapas / Small Plates
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast:
Monday-Friday: 6:30am-10:30am

Brunch:
Saturday & Sunday: 8am-2:30pm

Lunch:
Monday-Friday: 11:30am-2:30pm

Dinner:
Sunday-Thursday: 5:30pm-10:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:30pm-11:00pm

Bar:
Sunday through Thursday: 11:30am - 12:00am
Friday and Saturday: 9:00am - 1:00am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(215) 563-5008
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Robert Surdam
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Enjoy stunning views and exceptional service for any of your meeting and event needs at the adjacent Hotel Palomar and enjoy catered food from Square 1682!
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
17th & Sansom Streets
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet parking available
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
We are convenient to all SEPTA bus & regional rail lines! Closest train station is Suburban Station (34 N. 16th Street & J.F.K. Boulevard). You will head west on John F. Kennedy Blvd toward North 17th Street, then turn left onto North 17th Street.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Celebrate the weekend with Square 1682's Prosecco Punch Brunch! $22 for a carafe of Prosecco mixed with our seasonal flavors!
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Located in the heart of Rittenhouse Square, Square 1682 and Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, offers those planning private parties, corporate events, weddings, and more, a refreshing array of original venues that suit private gatherings of many kinds.

View Private Dining Details

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Sun - Thu 5:30PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM
Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 6:00PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

What 1485 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.4
service
4.2
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
83% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined on June 15, 2018

The sides for our dishes got switched, but it was no big deal. I got the lunch special again and had to ask for the cookie and coffee it comes with. I learned to ask for it because it's never offered despite it being listed on the menu. It only took me 3 trips to figure out you have to ask. And now I know what burnt coffee tastes like. It was awful. I guess they don't serve the popcorn anymore so that was disappointing. Unless you have to ask for that now too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Great night and perfect food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Great food, good popcorn and good location.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2018

My husband and I shared the cheese board, and the Brie was the best, and the other two (blue cheese and parmasian) wee also very good. The honey served with that was excellent!. I had the Bronzion special was excellent; very generous piece of fish, and nicely prepared. My husband had the swordfish, which he enjoyed, but thought it a bit on the dry side. Overall, the food was good, the service was good, and the value was good. An enjoyable evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Dee is the best bartender in the planet. Dan knows how to whip up great Manhattans. Chef Mack has the best Bronzino I have ever ordered. Our server was extremely attentive and the restaurant manager, Jason, is phenomenal. Chef Bobby has created an awesome menu and I cannot wait to go back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Unexpected SURPRISE!! The food was delicious and the service impeccable!! I will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Wonderful service and great food!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 24, 2018

This was one of those consumer moments where it was "the little thing" that spoiled the overall experience. First, a small glass of "lavender lemonade" shouldn't cost $5. Second, it should not taste like Country Time powder mix lemonade with a drop of essence of lavender. Third, when you ask for another glass of lemonade, it should not bring the beverage bill to $10. Lemonade is a "free refill" in just about every restaurant in the United States that serves it.

Our server was good, but not especially attentive to our needs.

The food was quite tasty, if a bit overpriced.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 22, 2018

My husband surprised me with a night in Philly for my birthday! We had breakfast at Square 1682. The food was well prepared and delicious. The bar also gave us complimentary mimosas to have with our breakfast! The coffee is sooo good because it's La Colombe, of course! I may have had several cups that morning! I definitely recommend the restaurant as well as the Kimpton Palomar Hotel!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Everything was delicious! Our server was very attentive. We made a reservation to come back before we even left

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Good place for catching up with friends

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day brunch

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Overpriced for what it is. Calamari was average, Hasselback potato wasn't finished cooking, waitress was not friendly. So many other better restaurants in the city.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Nice for a little dinner was a little load because of a game on at the bar but still nice dessert and drinks were especially good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Attached to the Palomar Hotel. VERY Good Menu. Well prepared. Good for a business meal as noise level is comfortable. Close to Rittenhouse Square with out the cramped, noisy seating.

Salmon was outstanding. Rack of lamb portion was a little underwhelming. Mussels for appetizer were great.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Very loud and uncomfortable seats reduced a four star review.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

We were a large ish party spanning totally different ages, toddlers and seniors. The restaurant was a perfect mix of family friendly but still special. It was my mother’s birthday and we wanted some place warm and welcoming but also still on the nicer side to celebrate her day. This was that - you don’t roll in wearing schlubby clothes, but it’s also not so stuffy you feel tense. Good food, nice ambiance. Would def come again

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

I’d recent found out I got into grad school and took myself here to celebrate. The food was excellent and so was the service! I would definitely eat here again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 19, 2018

A perfect place for lunch! My friend and I had delicious, very fresh salads with added chicken that tasted freshly roasted. We also had a fabulous Provence rose by the glass. Our server was friendly and helpful and we sat by the window and people-watched. The room had a low-key sophistication that added to our experience. Prices were reasonable and we will both return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Great value for the food! The Brussels sprouts were delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Great service. Great atmosphere. Great food. Very accommodating of my special dietary needs. Loved it. Will be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 5, 2018

The food wasn’t that great to be honest they don’t have a lot of dishes and options are minimal

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

I order the hanger steak and they give me a special short rib appetizer for being part of Kimpton Karma. I can’t say that one was better than the other, as both were phenomenal! Excellent service, I am going to say James but perhaps it was Jeff as the manager could not have been more gracious. Kevin is an amazing cook with a great crew. It’s always nice yet unexpected with all who go through here to be remembered—hopefully for good reasons of course.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

The crab benedict is great! We were celebrating a birthday and they sent out some sparkling wine. Nice touch.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Not good for how much you pay. Definitely won’t be going back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Melt in your mouth food! Great service..chill place, really enjoyed it

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 19, 2018

The Octupus was very good and the salmon with lobster risotto.
The pistachio cake was excellent

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Asked my server for another drink, ended up having to go to the bar to get it myself while my server stood at the bar chatting with the bartender.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

I got the half chicken and it was phenomenal! Best I’ve ever had!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 16, 2018

It was great, and the mussels were delish!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Good food and good service. Solid restaurant

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

The French toast was great! I went for brunch with a friend and we both ordered great food. The drinks were great too! Waitstaff was nice and quick and we were seated quickly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Good place for a nice dinner. Small plates are good as well

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Very attentive waiter and great service.
Noise level was pretty high.
Food was decent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Great food. Great service. Great ambiance. Very loud. Very hard to hear each other.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 27, 2018

Great food and service. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2018

The restaurant is adjoined to the Kimpton Hotel and has an interesting all high top table set up.

The menu and food were absolutely wonderful, and the service above average - only miss was bringing out apps without any serving utensils.

I would recommend the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2018

Consistently good food in a comfortable atmosphere. Great place for a business lunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2018

Always consistent, always good food and service level is always good! The truffle popcorn that they provide is excellent! Hostess is excellent as is the wait staff!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Delicious Bloody Mary, frittata and the best burger my husband has ever eaten—lovely lunch menu

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
38

Tweets by Square 1682