Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About Square 1682

Square 1682 presents a Modern American Kitchen menu thoughtfully and masterfully created by Executive Chef Robert Surdam. The menu features small & large plates, as well as dishes designed for sharing during dinner. With emphasis on local and organic products, Chef Surdam entices the taste buds with every bite, through his lens of culinary America.

The bar showcases a pure wellness program of all natural ingredients, where fresh fruit and juices, infused spirits, and housemade flavored syrups are created daily from our Lead Bartender Daniel Kulisek. Square 1682 invites guests to a full experience of dining, libations, and lively ambiance on every visit.

121 South 17th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Organic, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday-Friday: 6:30am-10:30am

Brunch:
Saturday & Sunday: 8am-2:30pm

Lunch:
Monday-Friday: 11:30am-2:30pm

Dinner:
Sunday-Thursday: 5:30pm-10:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:30pm-11:00pm

Bar:
Sunday through Thursday: 11:30am - 12:00am
Friday and Saturday: 9:00am - 1:00am

Cross Street:
17th & Sansom Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 563-5008

Website:
http://www.square1682.com/

Catering:
Enjoy stunning views and exceptional service for any of your meeting and event needs at the adjacent Hotel Palomar and enjoy catered food from Square 1682!

Parking Details:
Valet parking available

Public Transit:
We are convenient to all SEPTA bus & regional rail lines! Closest train station is Suburban Station (34 N. 16th Street & J.F.K. Boulevard). You will head west on John F. Kennedy Blvd toward North 17th Street, then turn left onto North 17th Street.

Executive Chef:
Robert Surdam

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Celebrate the weekend with Square 1682's Prosecco Punch Brunch! $22 for a carafe of Prosecco mixed with our seasonal flavors!

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:30PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 6:00PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Square 1682 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Casual (6)
See All
Fun (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Cozy (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Romantic (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Business Meals (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Authentic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
1385 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and even better service!

Sasha, our host for the evening, was an absolute pleasure. She made sure we were taken care of and stayed to chat since we were out of town. A++ service

The food was delicious. The complimentary bread is toasted on a pan and served with butter.
We stumbled into restaurant week in Philly so tried the salmon and the pork chops. The salmon was the perfect blend of tender with a crunchy skin. The pork was a little dry on the corners but the pomegranate farro was an excellent touch.

Definitely coming back to try the calamari!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was delicious but the service was awful. We waited over 10 minutes for a waitress to come to the table. She told us our bread would come right out, waited again for that and had to ask twice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious food, excellent service---we loved it, and will definitely return soon!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Authentic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Very delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2017

First time eating brunch here and we enjoyed it. Will definitely return, maybe for dinner. The tables are all high tops but the chairs are super comfortable so one hardly noticed the table height.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Went for Sunday brunch - the calamari was amazing and the French toast was even better. Waitstaff was friendly. Overall a great experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Went for breakfast after spending the night in the adjacent hotel. It was convenient, they are pet friendly, the food was very good! Excellent French Toast!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The food overall was very good. They cooked our lamb well done instead of medium rare which was a shame and took time to wait for them to refire our order. But they were very accommodating and gave us complimentary appetizers as we waited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The food here is delicious, and our server was excellent. However, the hostess was wretched. She was very rude, and did not even offer to sit us at the bar when we arrived before dinner service started (we were only 20 minutes early). When our table was ready, she didn't even let us know it was ready, nor did she show it to us. She literally just pointed to it when my fiance asked her if we could sit. She is the first person you meet as a representative of the restaurant, they should consider hiring someone else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We arrived at Square 1682 with high hopes since reading the positive reviews on Open Table, but we were sadly disappointed. We chose this restaurant because it came up after doing an "organic" search. We order gazpacho for a starter that had a nice flavor but was the consistency of WATER! With a price tag of $10 a bowl, we were completely dissatisfied. Our entrée was the braised short ribs. My company ordered the dish as describe; I ordered without grits, but with double veggies. The short ribs were tasty, but the veggies were served ever so slightly warm and completely raw! We did not have drinks because of a strict no alcohol diet, and our bill was still over $80. I normally NEVER write a bad review, but this restaurant is NOT a winner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2017

One of the worst dining experiences I have ever had. Discombobulated, poor service, over an hour wait between ordering and receiving food (beef that was frozen in the middle), wrong order for my dining partner. And the place wasn't packed so we had no clue what the problem was. Would never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Our experience at Square 1682 was less than it could have been because my wife's side dishes were different than on the menu, were cold in the middle indicating prior preparation and microwaving, something I can't stand; when we objected, the waitress said she's bring replacements but never did, acting as if she never said it. I believe from their menu that they are a good restaurant. I believe from the experience, they do not expect their customers to be very demanding.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Came for here for a business lunch, the food was delicious and service was spot on! Very healthy options and happy that everyone was happy with their food selection-that can be difficult when you have a large group with different palates. Highly recommend for a group lunch, or casual business lunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Great food and very accommodating of my food sensitivities.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Food was good, not great. Appetizers were better than entrees. Bacon wrapped dates were really good. I had the corn ravioli.

What was really good was the cheesecake for dessert. Very fresh. good flavor

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We had three dishes: the fingerling truffled potatoes, the maitake and the corn ravioli. Potatoes we far and away the best of the three, perfectly cooked served with a sauce that complemented the potatoes perfectly. The maitake was a bit of a let down. It was ok but really lacked any real seasoning and the egg barely added any flavor. The bread crumbs we a good textural addition but we're soggy almost immediately. The ravioli was decent but again, was lacking something. The corn asparagus almost "salsa" that the ravioli sat in was pretty good but the ravioli itself got lost in the mix. Nothing about the glacé stood out at all. I was excited to try the last two thinking they would be favorite but they fell flat.

The waitress was very nice and the atmosphere was decent. The hostess never made eye contact and put the menus on the table without acknowledging us, which is fine at a Red Robin or Applebee's but I didn't expect that when you are asking 20+ per entree. I'll still give them 4 stars but I debated 3. The potatoes and the waitress might be enough to have me try it again.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Delicious food. Beautiful space. Excellent service. Thanx!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food and service was superb. We found this gem on a previous weekend getaway to Phila but based on our wonderful experience for our 22nd anniversary this weekend, Square 1682 will be our new anniversary dinner from here out!

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Service was great! We had dinner and it was fabulous, but we had breakfast the next day and it was sub-par. $4 for a cup of coffee and $5.25 for a cup of OJ seemed a little extreme. Great atmosphere - except it was VERY hot and the street light shone in, kind of ruining the romantic vibe. Otherwise, great evening, good food, excellent customer service.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Will return because of pet friendly environment!!

Was disappointed in Brunch cocktail options, Bloody a fail.. definitely recommend a little tuning there.

Food very good.. taste portions all spot on.. bacon wrapped dates a win! Pooch menu fantastic.. THANK YOU for servicing our 4 legged friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Food and service were great. The bacon wrapped figs are just incredible. We're looking forward to our next trip here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

the server was attentive but not too attentive; she made good suggestions. All the food we ordered was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Breakfast was a little cold which was very strange given place was not busy at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 22, 2017

I recommend the $20 lunch menu deal. It includes an appetizer, entre and desert. All are full size and are not smaller portions. For $20, you get quite a bit of food, and it all comes out at once. The reason I only gave 2 stars for ambiance, and high ranking on noise, was due to the obnoxiously loud juicer that was being used on the bar. Why they have it there and why they use it while people are trying to have a lunch meeting over a meal is very perplexing. The space is on the small side, so when that juicer goes off...it kills all conversation. Get rid of that juicer! The service was good, not great. Seating was comfortable with lots of windows. We were happy with the food. The bacon wrapped dates app. was REALLY good. The side salad was quite boring...only mixed greens with dressing, nothing else. In other words, just a pile of lettuce.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 21, 2017

I was thrilled to finally try this place out while my parents were in town. The menu looked outstanding, and it did not disappoint. The croque madame I had was exquisite, and extremely reasonably priced for such a fine dish. I'm not sure how crazy the brunch crowd here gets, but we were seated before 10 AM and left before 11:30 AM, and it was still very relaxed. Lovely atmosphere and service, extremely reasonably priced, and, most importantly, delicious. I'll definitely be doing brunch here again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Despite good wine and service, the dinner entrees were not all they should have been. I ordered a prime rib that was not flavorful and somewhat tough. The branzino was "just ok." I love his restaurant for lunch - very consistently good with healthy options. I'll be back for lunch, not dinner.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

First we were seat quickly which was good and the waitress was on point and very hospitable. The Lancaster Duck Breast was amazing and the bacon wrapped dates to my surprise was also delectable. The noise level was low but I wasn't thrilled by the overall ambiance of the place. Still it's a wonderful restaurant and I will be going back for more.
K. Irvin Collins Jr.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

All good. A little pricey. Actually a lot pricy. Breakfast for 3 $90 plus

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was okay. Drinks are horrific and overpriced (bloody mary served in a water glass, no celery, weak on the vodka; sangria not really sangria; coffee tasted like water). Service, as with most restaurants, depends on the server, and ours was apparently having a bad day. No smiles, nothing welcoming (and this was for a special occasion brunch!). Chef/owner and the manager were friendly. Almost like this restaurant is still trying to get its act together. Some food overprices (small dry chocolate chip cookies for $4 apiece!?).

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had a lovely brunch with my daughter after completing the Race for the Cure. Food was excellent and the staff were very friendly

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent food, nice ambience, very pleasant servers - all in all a great experience and we enjoyed it. The only negative is the noise level - hate all of these places where you have to yell to talk. Otherwise, great value and I would return and recommend to others.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Very nice food and friendly service. Good value for an in-hotel restaurant. Noise levels were very high the night we were there, but several college reunions had converged at the bar which is central to the restaurant, so this may not have been the normal experience for the venue.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 8, 2017

On a Monday night. We enjoyed the service and the food was creative and excellent

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Our waiter was amazing. Very lively and offered great feedback on the meal options.
We had come from Painting with a Twist and it was easy to get to, and we didn't wait long to be seated.
Drinks were great, great food and nice ambience.
High recommend!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great location and meal presentation was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food was great. My party of 5 was seated right in front of the kitchen, so we were able to get the "behind the scenes" experience. we started off with the fried Brussels sprouts with a saffron aioli. Many people in my party stated they did not like Brussels sprouts but once they tried these fried ones they were in love. for my main course I got a rack of lamb with a Mediterranean couscous. The lamb was perfect medium rare and the couscous with a basil pesto was outstanding. My grandfather got the duck breast and he said that it was cooked perfectly and was not dry. Overall the service was great and the food was a amazing. I definitely would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Square 1682 is our go to restaurant when we visit Philadelphia. The food is delicious and there are always new items on the menu. We brought friends with us this trip and they expressed their joy at being introduced to this gem of a restaurant.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I really enjoyed my experience! My server was very friendly, enthusiastic and helpful with menu choices. The only bad thing for me was the Hostess. She didn't seem welcoming at all and she never once cracked a smile from the time I entered and when she sat us down...seemed cold. I didn't think I would like my experience at that point, but I will truly day, everyone esle made my experience worth it.

Tags: Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.