Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About Square 1682

Square 1682 presents a Modern American Kitchen menu thoughtfully and masterfully created by Executive Chef Robert Surdam. The menu features small & large plates, as well as dishes designed for sharing during dinner. With emphasis on local and organic products, Chef Surdam entices the taste buds with every bite, through his lens of culinary America.

The bar showcases a pure wellness program of all natural ingredients, where fresh fruit and juices, infused spirits, and housemade flavored syrups are created daily from our Lead Bartender Daniel Kulisek. Square 1682 invites guests to a full experience of dining, libations, and lively ambiance on every visit.

121 South 17th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Organic, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday-Friday: 6:30am-10:30am

Brunch:
Saturday & Sunday: 8am-2:30pm

Lunch:
Monday-Friday: 11:30am-2:30pm

Dinner:
Sunday-Thursday: 5:30pm-10:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:30pm-11:00pm

Bar:
Monday through Friday: 11:30am - ?
Saturday and Sunday: 9:00am - 2:00am

Cross Street:
17th & Sansom Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 563-5008

Website:
http://www.square1682.com/

Catering:
Enjoy stunning views and exceptional service for any of your meeting and event needs at the adjacent Hotel Palomar and enjoy catered food from Square 1682!

Parking Details:
Valet parking available

Public Transit:
We are convenient to all SEPTA bus & regional rail lines! Closest train station is Suburban Station (34 N. 16th Street & J.F.K. Boulevard). You will head west on John F. Kennedy Blvd toward North 17th Street, then turn left onto North 17th Street.

Executive Chef:
Robert Surdam

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Celebrate the weekend with Square 1682's Prosecco Punch Brunch! $22 for a carafe of Prosecco mixed with our seasonal flavors!

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:30PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 6:00PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

Located in the heart of Rittenhouse Square, Square 1682 and Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, offers those planning private parties, corporate events, weddings, and more, a refreshing array of original venues that suit private gatherings of many kinds.

Square 1682 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (23)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Creative Cuisine (17)
See All
Modern Decor (16)
Casual (14)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Business Meals (11)
Cozy (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Open Kitchen (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Romantic (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Fun (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
People Watching (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Healthy (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Authentic (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Organic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Historic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Scenic View (1)
Family Style (1)
Fireplace (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1323 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Close to being really nice experience. Menu offered some interesting options which we did enjoy. Service was friendly, but slow (some food arrived like warm) and a bit sloppy (missed item, wrong item...).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was incredible. Drinks were exceptional. Service impeccable. I'd give 10/10 if it were permitted.
Baby octopus, diver scallops and tres leches. Win win win.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Short rib cheese steak is a must try
Customer service is outstanding
Great spacing between patrons (for seating)
Decor was decent and wait for food was short

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We come to Philadelphia once a year and love staying at the Kimpton Palomar Hotel near Rittenhouse Square. It was a cold and snowy March (2017) day when we arrived. We had no plans for dinner. So, we thought we'd stay in and eat at the hotel restaurant. Wow! The food was so good. The employees from the cook (we sat near the kitchen; so awesome) to the wait staff were so nice. We will definitely dine there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The scallops were excellent even though I asked for them with additional greens instead of the gnocchi that was on the menu. The chef rose to the occasion and created a tasty and artfully presented dish that was excellent. The duck didn't really work out. If was not tender and lacked taste. Service was outstanding and friendly and I look forward to returning to this restaurant to see what else is on the menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 13, 2017

From the time we entered until we left everyone was quite friendly. Adam, our waiter, was great and the food delicious!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Amazing!!! I got the pork shank and grits and the grits were actually better than ones I've had in Charleston. My husband got the steak and it was cooked perfect and melted in our mouth. If we didn't live out of state we'd go here all the time!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food and service. Interesting drinks. Beautiful presentation. Wonderful dining experience overall.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Good food and service surpringly only bottled beer and small but ok menu

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Went here prior to seeing a show , our meals were outstanding. The flavor and mix of the organic ingredients made for a unique and delicious dish. We each had the Sweet Potato Bisque, for entrees my wife had the Shrimp And Grits and I had the Braised Beef Short Rib. We both raved about the explosive taste . It's a quaint little place in the Palomar Hotel with a decent bar in a great location , very close to Rittenhouse Square. If the service was little more attentive I would rate it 5 stars but I highly recommend and will return

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Organic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Nice place for a business meal. This was my third visit with clients for lunch and I was always able to get a table with short notice. The food is creative, but not pretentious with an American Bistro flavor. The service is good and the noise level is conducive to having a conversation without straining to hear what is said. Prices are reasonable and the service is friendly and attentive. My only criticism is with the high top stool cushions - they are worn out and should be replaced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Overall experience was good. The food was okay. Asked to have the ribeye medium well and it came out well done. Our waitress was helpful and attentive. We made reservations and included in the notes it was my boyfriend's birthday. It was not acknowledged and he did not want to make a big deal of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We were staying at the Hotel Palomar and decided to give Square 1682 a try, expecting standard hotel dining fare. Wow, were we pleasantly surprised! The food was delicious and service outstanding. I definitely recommend this restaurant and will be back next time we are in Philly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Went there for my mom's birthday. They had the St. Valentine's prefix menu, so my parents tried those while i tried duck confit and mocktail. Overall, the food was really good - I loved the duck confit. It was My parents both loved beef taretare and fried calliflower but they were a little too heavy for me. Main courses for them were ribeye and fish (sorry don't remember the name of it), which were great. Their creme bulee was also pretty good, but i am not an expert on desert. Oh and the waitress put a small candle on the desert for my mom's birthday. We didnt want any obnoxious celebration so it was low-key enough.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We first tried Square 1682 on a visit to Philadelphia in 2016. We had such good memories that we were excited to return again this year. The food is delicious and innovative. The strawberry champagne creme brûlée was a particular standout. We had the same server two years in a row and enjoyed her service once more. Our only negative comment is that our entrees were not hot enough.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The brunch menu is extremely limited. We asked for the lunch or dinner menu, but they could not accommodate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I was rather disappointed that the menu was special for Valentine's Day. It was not listed on the website. The menu was limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was fantastic. Service excellent. A bit pricey.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was a good experience. Had to wait about 10 minutes beforehand in the hotel lobby, but we were early and it was a busy Saturday night so the short wait was understandable. Seated at the table furthest from the front door and directly next to where the servers/busboys would enter/exit the dining room. It turned out to be a blessing in disguise - our waiter seemed to be available whenever he was needed due to the proximity. The patrons at the table next to us were loud, on the border of being obnoxiously so, but nothing invasive so as to ruin the dining experience. Wine selection was suburb - had a glass of the Malbec which went perfectly with our appetizer of Grilled Baby Octopus. My girlfriend thoroughly enjoyed the Wild Mushroom Risotto, portion size was larger than she thought. I had the Scottish Salmon - was tender and succulent. Would've liked it to have been a little drier, but the portion size made up for it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Organic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The hummus and eggplant, grilled octopus and brussel sprouts were amazing. I would highly recommend these dishes. The octopus was grilled to perfection. The duck entree was very good as well. It was a bit noisy, however we dined on a Saturday evening so it was quite crowded. The cocktails were creative and delicious. Would definitely go again. Service was excellent; friendly and prompt.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great vibes and atmosphere. Service was awesome. I got the shrimp and grits which I highly recommend. Absolutely delicious. My boyfriend got the duck. I was hesitant about trying but after one bite of trying it I wished a ordered that instead. Amazing. We got a side of mashed potatoes which was more than enough food. Highly recommend even though it's a small menu I'm sure everything else on it was just as good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Fun energetic good food

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 1, 2017

I went with co-workers to meet a friend of its we haven't seen in a while. It was restaurant week. None of us had ever been to the restaurant before. We LOVED it !! The food was amazing and the staff was very friendly. We all tasted each others food and we definitely decided that we will be returning and not just for restaurant week.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We chose this restaurant when we participated in Phl "restaurant week". The location was ideal for visiting midtown, the service was gracious and the food was delicious, the truffle infused popcorn was addictive. Will be back!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Went during restaurant week, food and service was great.

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Nice Sunday brunch - tasty and healthy or comfort food options

Tags: Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was my first time and it was a wonderful experience. Service and food was great!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I brought my mom for a special night on the town. We stayed in the Hotel Palomar and the restaurant was the obvious choice. We were lucky to end up being there during restaurant week. The price and amount of food was awesome! The entire wait staff was excellent. We enjoyed the food so much we went for brunch. Equally amazing. A lot of food for a decent price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Solid brunch. Fresh OJ served immediately is a nice touch. Service was quick and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I met a few friends for my Boyfriend's birthday. It was a Friday during restaurant week so we made reservations on OpenTable to ensure a table. We were seated as soon as we walked in. The food and drinks were great! I would definitely go again.

Tags: Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, People Watching, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We went to try out the restaurant week

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great atmosphere. I really enjoyed the service and the server's drive to make sure the food was what I expected and when it didn't they made sure to accommodate me with another choice. Very comfortable place. More for sit down conversations and having a dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Not a big fan of hotel restaurants, and while this isn't marketed as one it sits in the lobby of the Palomar Hotel on Sansom Street across from the Sofitel. Food is eclectic and good, and the service is good as well, but it just doesn't feel like anything special. If you are staying at the Palomar or Sofitel it is a conveniently good place to eat, but if you are coming down for a dinner on the town there are a lot of other more interesting options to go with.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I've been there twice in the last few weeks and enjoyed every bite of food both times. Great drinks and good wines. Good ambience, roomy, excellent service. Has energy, but not so overcrowded and loud that you can't have a conversation over dinner. My only suggestion would be a more extensive wine list to add more options to some of the really good choices they already have.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Went during restaurant week with friends enjoyed every aspect. Great service, food and atmosphere!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Enjoy the food and atmosphere at Square. They treat you like family and make sure you are completely satisfied.

Dessert was AMAZING - s'mores cheesecake and burrata with eggplant wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The pork cheeks appetizer and the pear crumble were amazing! The entree itself (stuffed quail) was ok. The stuffing has a canned tuna consistency that's not all that appealing. But overall, we had a good meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was DELICIOUS! Bartender Ben was great fun and made good drinks!

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Fun, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Went for brunch - the short rib cheesesteak and absolutely fell in love

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The Build your own Benny was delicious!! Totally worth the price. I was very unimpressed with paying $4 for a cup of coffee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.