About Square 1682

121 South 17th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19103
View Larger Map

Square 1682 presents a Modern American Kitchen menu thoughtfully and masterfully created by Executive Chef Robert “Bobby” Surdam. The menu features small & large plates, as well as dishes designed for sharing during dinner. With emphasis on local and organic products, Chef Surdam entices the taste buds with every bite, through his lens of culinary America.

The bar showcases a pure wellness program of all natural ingredients, where fresh fruit and juices, infused spirits, and housemade flavored simple syrups are created daily from our Lead Bartender Daniel Kulisek. Square 1682 invites guests to a full experience of dining, libations, and lively ambiance on every visit.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Organic, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday-Friday: 6:30am-10:30am

Brunch:
Saturday & Sunday: 8am-2:30pm

Lunch:
Monday-Friday: 11:30am-2:30pm

Dinner:
Sunday-Thursday: 5:30pm-10:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:30pm-11:00pm

Bar:
Monday through Friday: 11:30am - ?
Saturday and Sunday: 9:00am - 2:00am

Cross Street:
17th & Sansom Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 563-5008

Website:
http://www.square1682.com/

Catering:
Enjoy stunning views and exceptional service for any of your meeting and event needs at the adjacent Hotel Palomar and enjoy catered food from Square 1682!

Parking Details:
Valet parking available

Public Transit:
We are convenient to all SEPTA bus & regional rail lines! Closest train station is Suburban Station (34 N. 16th Street & J.F.K. Boulevard). You will head west on John F. Kennedy Blvd toward North 17th Street, then turn left onto North 17th Street.

Executive Chef:
Robert Surdam

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Square 1682's Power Lunch; A brand new way to power through the day! Enjoy one of our classic 3-course trays for $18.50 or $20.50. Need an extra kick? Add on one of our fresh pressed raw juices!

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:30PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 6:00PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

Located in the heart of Rittenhouse Square, Square 1682 and Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, offers those planning private parties, corporate events, weddings, and more, a refreshing array of original venues that suit private gatherings of many kinds.

Square 1682 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (20)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Creative Cuisine (15)
See All
Modern Decor (14)
Casual (13)
Bar Seating (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Open Kitchen (9)
Business Meals (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Cozy (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Romantic (6)
Fun (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
People Watching (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Healthy (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Authentic (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Seasonal (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Fireplace (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Vegan (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Scenic View (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1307 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The brunch menu is extremely limited. W ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

The brunch menu is extremely limited. We asked for the lunch or dinner menu, but they could not accommodate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

I was rather disappointed that the menu ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

I was rather disappointed that the menu was special for Valentine's Day. It was not listed on the website. The menu was limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was fantastic. Service excellent. A ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was fantastic. Service excellent. A bit pricey.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

It was a good experience. Had to wait ab ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was a good experience. Had to wait about 10 minutes beforehand in the hotel lobby, but we were early and it was a busy Saturday night so the short wait was understandable. Seated at the table furthest from the front door and directly next to where the servers/busboys would enter/exit the dining room. It turned out to be a blessing in disguise - our waiter seemed to be available whenever he was needed due to the proximity. The patrons at the table next to us were loud, on the border of being obnoxiously so, but nothing invasive so as to ruin the dining experience. Wine selection was suburb - had a glass of the Malbec which went perfectly with our appetizer of Grilled Baby Octopus. My girlfriend thoroughly enjoyed the Wild Mushroom Risotto, portion size was larger than she thought. I had the Scottish Salmon - was tender and succulent. Would've liked it to have been a little drier, but the portion size made up for it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Organic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The hummus and eggplant, grilled octopus ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The hummus and eggplant, grilled octopus and brussel sprouts were amazing. I would highly recommend these dishes. The octopus was grilled to perfection. The duck entree was very good as well. It was a bit noisy, however we dined on a Saturday evening so it was quite crowded. The cocktails were creative and delicious. Would definitely go again. Service was excellent; friendly and prompt.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great vibes and atmosphere. Service was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great vibes and atmosphere. Service was awesome. I got the shrimp and grits which I highly recommend. Absolutely delicious. My boyfriend got the duck. I was hesitant about trying but after one bite of trying it I wished a ordered that instead. Amazing. We got a side of mashed potatoes which was more than enough food. Highly recommend even though it's a small menu I'm sure everything else on it was just as good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun energetic good food

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Fun energetic good food

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I went with co-workers to meet a friend ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 1, 2017

I went with co-workers to meet a friend of its we haven't seen in a while. It was restaurant week. None of us had ever been to the restaurant before. We LOVED it !! The food was amazing and the staff was very friendly. We all tasted each others food and we definitely decided that we will be returning and not just for restaurant week.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, , Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose this restaurant when we partici ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We chose this restaurant when we participated in Phl "restaurant week". The location was ideal for visiting midtown, the service was gracious and the food was delicious, the truffle infused popcorn was addictive. Will be back!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went during restaurant week, food and se ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Went during restaurant week, food and service was great.

Tags: Casual,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nice Sunday brunch - tasty and healthy o ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Nice Sunday brunch - tasty and healthy or comfort food options

Tags: Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This was my first time and it was a wond ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was my first time and it was a wonderful experience. Service and food was great!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I brought my mom for a special night on ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I brought my mom for a special night on the town. We stayed in the Hotel Palomar and the restaurant was the obvious choice. We were lucky to end up being there during restaurant week. The price and amount of food was awesome! The entire wait staff was excellent. We enjoyed the food so much we went for brunch. Equally amazing. A lot of food for a decent price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Solid brunch. Fresh OJ served immediatel ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Solid brunch. Fresh OJ served immediately is a nice touch. Service was quick and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I met a few friends for my Boyfriend's b ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I met a few friends for my Boyfriend's birthday. It was a Friday during restaurant week so we made reservations on OpenTable to ensure a table. We were seated as soon as we walked in. The food and drinks were great! I would definitely go again.

Tags: Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, People Watching, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to try out the restaurant week

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We went to try out the restaurant week

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere. I really enjoyed the s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great atmosphere. I really enjoyed the service and the server's drive to make sure the food was what I expected and when it didn't they made sure to accommodate me with another choice. Very comfortable place. More for sit down conversations and having a dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Not a big fan of hotel restaurants, and ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Not a big fan of hotel restaurants, and while this isn't marketed as one it sits in the lobby of the Palomar Hotel on Sansom Street across from the Sofitel. Food is eclectic and good, and the service is good as well, but it just doesn't feel like anything special. If you are staying at the Palomar or Sofitel it is a conveniently good place to eat, but if you are coming down for a dinner on the town there a lot of other options to go with.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

I've been there twice in the last few we ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I've been there twice in the last few weeks and enjoyed every bite of food both times. Great drinks and good wines. Good ambience, roomy, excellent service. Has energy, but not so overcrowded and loud that you can't have a conversation over dinner. My only suggestion would be a more extensive wine list to add more options to some of the really good choices they already have.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went during restaurant week with friends ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Went during restaurant week with friends enjoyed every aspect. Great service, food and atmosphere!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoy the food and atmosphere at Square. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Enjoy the food and atmosphere at Square. They treat you like family and make sure you are completely satisfied.

Dessert was AMAZING - s'mores cheesecake and burrata with eggplant wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The pork cheeks appetizer and the pear c ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The pork cheeks appetizer and the pear crumble were amazing! The entree itself (stuffed quail) was ok. The stuffing has a canned tuna consistency that's not all that appealing. But overall, we had a good meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was DELICIOUS! Bartender Ben was gr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was DELICIOUS! Bartender Ben was great fun and made good drinks!

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Fun, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for brunch - the short rib cheesest ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Went for brunch - the short rib cheesesteak and absolutely fell in love

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Build your own Benny was delicious!! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The Build your own Benny was delicious!! Totally worth the price. I was very unimpressed with paying $4 for a cup of coffee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The food was excellent and the portions ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The food was excellent and the portions were generous.

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, , Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

My meal was about $31, the high end of a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 11, 2017

My meal was about $31, the high end of a $$ rating. I had the salmon. It was small and the fingerling potatoes were bland. I did like the squid on top. The sweet potato bisque was quite tasty. The waitress was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

It was freezing in the restaurant!

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

It was freezing in the restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Dates wrapped in bacon were divine. The ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Dates wrapped in bacon were divine. The Winter salad was perfect. My salad presentation was fab and I loved the goat cheese being smeared on the side of my bowl verses all up in my mixed greens and quinoa. Erin was our server and was super awesome and very helpful with familiarizing my daughter who is new to the city. We will definitely return!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate lunch on a Saturday morning aroun ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We ate lunch on a Saturday morning around 10:00. The restaurant was not at all busy, which surprises me now that I have eaten there: the food was very good. One friend ordered basic breakfast (eggs, sausage, toast, etc.), I had Croque Madame, and another friend ordered the frittata of the day. The food was very good--the frittata was especially tasty--and the service good, but not outstanding. The decor is fairly lackluster, but we were far more interested in catching up and eating than in the furnishings. We all agreed we would eat there again if we return to Philadelphia.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Excellent food and service.... ambience ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent food and service.... ambience is ok. Small eating space next to bar area. Fortunately not crowded or would have been too loud. Recommend seating in back by window

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

I've been here multiple times and haven' ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 4, 2017

I've been here multiple times and haven't had a bad experience until now. I ordered the Ribeye (a few weeks prior, they offered a NY Strip, and prior to that I had a filet mignon. They change the steaks fairly often). I asked for it medium-rare and it came out raw. When one of the waitstaff came to check on us (not our waiter), I asked if they could heat it since it was too raw. I assumed they'd bring a new steak, but they merely reheated it.

Even after reheating, it was still raw. I left the steak and just ate the fries and some of the salad. About 20 minutes went by and neither the waiter nor the other guy came to check on my friend and me. It wasn't until the bill came that I got to inform the waiter about the disappointing steak.

He apologized and seemed genuine, but his lack of service while we ate (and his apparent obliviousness of me leaving an entire steak on my plate uneaten) was a total disappointment.

Thankfully, the waiter removed my entree from the bill, but I regret to say that I'm unsure whether I'll return.

Given my previous positive experiences, I might still recommend Square 1682, with the caveat of avoiding the steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value3

Perfect all around. Great early afterno ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Perfect all around. Great early afternoon brunch. Service was typically top notch.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Family Style, , Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Slow service, had to request lots of thi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Slow service, had to request lots of things that we would have assumed should have been on the table or came out with food (cream for coffee, ketchup, silverware). Price of a mimosa on New Year's Day was $20....ABSURD

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

We had a delicious Christmas Day brunch; ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had a delicious Christmas Day brunch; the service was very efficient, given that they were terrifically busy! The food was very good, and I'm sure we'll go back at some point!

Tags: Healthy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The beef short ribs were the only good t ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The beef short ribs were the only good thing on the menu. Scallops were cold, ny strip steak was burned, etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Very welcoming, cozy and warm! Service a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Very welcoming, cozy and warm! Service and food were both exceptional. Cocktail, wine and beer list had a variety of options. The pear prosecco was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

It was a very elegant environment...the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 11, 2016

It was a very elegant environment...the waitress was fabulous in her service and big smile

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

food was great but we were right by the ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 10, 2016

food was great but we were right by the front door on a cold night and it was really noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Our party of 4 went here for a pre-theat ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Our party of 4 went here for a pre-theatre dinner a few blocks from the theatre. The day before the restaurant called to confirm our reservation & I advised the time we needed to leave to make the theatre. When we arrived staff was fully aware of out timing needs, & the meal moved along perfectly- kitchen & server staff did an excellent job! Very interesting & diverse menu with small and large plates. We ordered about 7 items total, which was perfect. All dishes very nicely presented with excellent flavors. Very relaxed atmosphere. We will definitely return.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.