Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About Square 1682

Square 1682 presents a Modern American Kitchen menu thoughtfully and masterfully created by Executive Chef Robert Surdam. The menu features small & large plates, as well as dishes designed for sharing during dinner. With emphasis on local and organic products, Chef Surdam entices the taste buds with every bite, through his lens of culinary America.

The bar showcases a pure wellness program of all natural ingredients, where fresh fruit and juices, infused spirits, and housemade flavored syrups are created daily from our Lead Bartender Daniel Kulisek. Square 1682 invites guests to a full experience of dining, libations, and lively ambiance on every visit.

121 South 17th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Organic, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday-Friday: 6:30am-10:30am

Brunch:
Saturday & Sunday: 8am-2:30pm

Lunch:
Monday-Friday: 11:30am-2:30pm

Dinner:
Sunday-Thursday: 5:30pm-10:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:30pm-11:00pm

Bar:
Sunday through Thursday: 11:30am - 12:00am
Friday and Saturday: 9:00am - 1:00am

Cross Street:
17th & Sansom Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 563-5008

Website:
http://www.square1682.com/

Catering:
Enjoy stunning views and exceptional service for any of your meeting and event needs at the adjacent Hotel Palomar and enjoy catered food from Square 1682!

Parking Details:
Valet parking available

Public Transit:
We are convenient to all SEPTA bus & regional rail lines! Closest train station is Suburban Station (34 N. 16th Street & J.F.K. Boulevard). You will head west on John F. Kennedy Blvd toward North 17th Street, then turn left onto North 17th Street.

Executive Chef:
Robert Surdam

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Celebrate the weekend with Square 1682's Prosecco Punch Brunch! $22 for a carafe of Prosecco mixed with our seasonal flavors!

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:30PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 6:00PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

Located in the heart of Rittenhouse Square, Square 1682 and Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, offers those planning private parties, corporate events, weddings, and more, a refreshing array of original venues that suit private gatherings of many kinds.

Square 1682 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (12)
Good for a Date (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Casual (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Fun (6)
Romantic (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Business Meals (5)
People Watching (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Cozy (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Authentic (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great Beer (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort by
S
1444 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We enjoyed our meal very much. The food and service were great. Wine by the glass a bit pricey but other than that it was a very good experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2018

From the second we walked in until we left our experience our experience at Square 1682 was spot on. I highly recommend!!!!

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 8, 2018

Gem of a little restaurant. Good food, good cocktails, and comfortable seats. The potatoes offered at breakfast are amazing.... order them.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 7, 2018

The service was great. The food was great. The ambiance was great. They accommodated my special dietary needs ver well. They went above and beyond. I will be back!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 6, 2018

Made reservations here for dinner with a work group. Food was decent, environment was a little strange. It was pretty empty for a Monday evening, and they sat us back near the kitchen. It was loud and odd to watch the chefs/cooks be a little silly and not professional while preparing meals. Server was very nice and attentive! Probably would not come back though.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on February 4, 2018

Lovely intimate atmosphere, great drinks, great menu, AMAZING service.

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 3, 2018

6 of us ate on a Saturday night - we had great service and excellent food! I was the only one who had been there before and everyone else loved it and will return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 31, 2018

We enjoyed the food at this restaurant and everyone in our party was pleased with the beautiful mushroom and glazed carrots that adorned the plates. The Thai Curry Mussels that I selected were delicious and I would order them again. Two in our party had enjoyable beef ribs.
The main problem was the uncomfortable seats at the table and the noise level.
First, the seats.... when we first sat down we thought the seats were broken since we sunk down into the stools cushion. We tried several other chairs in the restaurant but the others nearby were the same.
Second, the noise level was quite high when we arrived for our 6 pm reservation and we considered leaving and going somewhere else where we could talk. Things eventually calmed down once the bar crowd started to leave but at the begining it was us shouting at one another. It was a first meet for some of us in our group and not easy to communicate.
Third, the toilet facilities are rather obscure and difficult to find. Luckily our waiter was standing near the door to the steps that we needed to take. He did offer the use of the elevator to get there to one member of our party, but not to me. It was two flights up!
George was an attentive waiter and we liked having him come around every so often to refill waters and check on is but he didn't hover.
The restaurant is connected to a hotel, Palomar, which I didn't know when I made the reservation and that might account for the busy bar scene.
All in all, there are so many good restaurants in Philadelphia, I might choose another next time, but since this is around the corner from my husbands office, he might try it for a business lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 31, 2018

The lamb shank was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 26, 2018

Food was just okay. Would I go back? Probably not. I felt it was overpriced for what it was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 26, 2018

Nice waiters and staff, poorly seasoned overly salted steak, very uncomfortable chairs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 25, 2018

Have been here before and glad I visited again. The waiter was very friendly and accommodating. We requested the special omelette of the day with egg whites only, no problem, and also my gluten-free diet was accommodated. Delicious breakfast and good staff.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2018

The ambiance was nice. The timing of food presentation was perfect. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. I'd recommend this fine eatery to anyone who is looking for a quiet place with good food.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2018

My husband got the burger with no bacon. I had a bite. I️t was delicious. I got the brie grilled cheese. Too much caramelized onion marmalade and not enough cheese. I️t should be named the caramelized marmalade sandwich with cheese and not grilled cheese. Tomato soup was delicious and the grains and greens salad was good. We were the only ones in there for lunch. Service was ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 21, 2018

Excellent food! The eggs Benedict was one of the best I’ve ever eaten!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 19, 2018

First time in Friday, was super Impressed the dinner menu as well as the restaurant week menu .
Usually never order from restaurant week menu..nevertheless the menu was extremely cohesive and the food was amazing.
The Staff : our Waitress Sasha was Super
*extremely Knowledgeable about food and drink pairings
* very attentive - we felt like the only guest in the room! (The place was packed) 😃
*The Management on point - helping the wait staff and Survey the room etc.
*The host was friendly and suggested we try lunch there as well because we live and work so Close .

Also I posted some food photos on Instagram and the Hotel page thanked me the picture which was cool 😎
Thanks again
Parris

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2018

People who greet you and serve are very friendly and helpful. Good service and food.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 13, 2018

Getaway with family

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2018

This restaurant is the Hotel Palomar's restaurant. The TV was on with a crowd of people watching the NFL playoff game. While I understand a Philadelphia crowd wanting to see the game, it doesn't exactly signal fine dining. The food was all right, neither great nor awful. The service was pretty slow though reasonably capable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 10, 2018

THE DATES!!!!!!! Sublime!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Great experience, our server, Cynthia could not have been better. She was very efficient and friendly. Food was prepared well and tasted good. Would highly recommend this location

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Both the food and the ambiance were phenomenal---and our server, Sasha, was beyond excellent! We'll definitely return (as we have in the past!)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2017

We had brunch here once and I decided to try for dinner with friends. The bacon wrapped dates and Calamari are amazing! The Salmonand Hanger Steak were perfect!

Tags: Late-night Find, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 26, 2017

Sasha did her usual great job. Perfect explanations of the various food offerings and excellent recommendations. Beet salad should be an entree! Kudos to the chef for a perfect ribeye that seemed far more than 10 ounces. Food and service are excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 16, 2017

Food keeps getting better and better. Rockin’ cocktails!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Delicious breakfast. The poached eggs were perfect. Fresh juices were a treat.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Very good breakfast. Had pancakes, bacon and eggs, egg sandwich and frittata. All was good. Waiters very attentive and good service. In bottom of klimpton hotel so had to go into hotel for bathrooms but they were close.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 2, 2017

Delicious!!! Always a favorite when we are in the city and our teenage boys love it too!

Tags: Happy Hour, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 29, 2017

The food was just alright. There seemed to be only one waitress for the whole place, so it took a while when we needed something because our waitress was so busy! Wouldn’t go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 23, 2017

We should've ordered a la carte instead of the Thanksgiving special
Tbe turkey waz cut off a breast in a faux "cutlet" style and roasted until the pointy end was hard. It was a thick slab instead of nice moist slice roasted turkey that you expect on Thanksgiving. Very disappointing. .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Thanksgiving dinner served cold in a bowl. Expensive. Unimaginative menu. Jealous of the person eating an egg sandwich. Should not be hard to serve a traditional meal.

Tags: Bar Seating, Tapas, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 22, 2017

Cocktails were amazing. Food and service was very good. Bill was expensive for two drinks and two main courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 22, 2017

second visit and there will be more. Great Happy Hour

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2017

Salads and hummus great! Pasta dish not so great. Better to leave this off the menu. Plenty of other ways to offer carbs to the runners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Food and service were good
I was a disappointed not one the staff member mentioned anything about our 17 year anniversary

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Sports, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 10, 2017

We like to come to the city a couple of times a year and try new restaurants but we find ourselves always coming back to Square 1682. Only restaurant we have visited more than one since coming to the city and I am sure we will be back here next month for our yearly date anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 10, 2017

I always enjoy Square 1682. The ambiance is very nice, the restaurant is vibrant but not noisy, and the food and service - superior. Try the bronzino....I loved it! Our server made every attempt to make us feel well attended to, and was open to our substitutions on our entrees. I will be back again!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 7, 2017

Excellent service, ambiance, and delicious food . . .

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 3, 2017

We had a v. good experience here with delicious food, good service & a nice view of the outside. Give it a try!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Everyone was accommodating, but the best was our server, Brian. He has a wonderful sense of humor, is very witty, and just a lot of fun.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Casual, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.