About Square 1682

121 South 17th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19103
View Larger Map

Square 1682 presents a Modern American Kitchen menu thoughtfully and masterfully created by Executive Chef Caitlin Mateo. The menu features small & large plates, as well as dishes designed for sharing during dinner. With emphasis on local and organic products, Chef Mateo entices the taste buds with every bite, through her lens of culinary America.

The bar showcases a pure wellness program of all natural ingredients, where fresh fruit and juices, infused spirits, and housemade flavored simple syrups are created daily from our Lead Bartender Daniel Kulisek. Square 1682 invites guests to a full experience of dining, libations, and lively ambiance on every visit.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Organic, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday-Friday: 6:30am-10:30am

Brunch:
Saturday & Sunday: 8am-2:30pm

Lunch:
Monday-Friday: 11:30am-2:30pm

Dinner:
Sunday-Thursday: 5:30pm-10:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:30pm-11:00pm

Bar:
Monday through Friday: 11:30am - ?
Saturday and Sunday: 9:00am - 2:00am

Cross Street:
17th & Sansom Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 563-5008

Website:
http://www.square1682.com/

Catering:
Enjoy stunning views and exceptional service for any of your meeting and event needs at the adjacent Hotel Palomar and enjoy catered food from Square 1682!

Parking Details:
Valet parking available

Public Transit:
We are convenient to all SEPTA bus & regional rail lines! Closest train station is Suburban Station (34 N. 16th Street & J.F.K. Boulevard). You will head west on John F. Kennedy Blvd toward North 17th Street, then turn left onto North 17th Street.

Executive Chef:
Caitlin Mateo

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Square 1682's Power Lunch; A brand new way to power through the day! Enjoy one of our classic 3-course trays for $18.50 or $2050. Need an extra kick? Add on one of our fresh pressed raw juices!

Restaurant Photos

Lancaster Duck Breast
Bread Basket
Panna Cotta
Fried Chicken and Biscuits
Superfood Salad
Seared Tuna
Peas And Carrot Gnocchi
Carrot Cake
Blue Sage
Black Rose
Peak Organic Ipa
Deviled Eggs
1682 Burger
Pears & Frisée
Brandywine River Texas Longhorn Burger
Beer
Yards Thomas Jefferson Ale
Eggs Benedict Porn
Eggs Bendict
Skuna Bay Salmon, Red Quinoa, Charred Fennel and Citrus
Pork Tenderloin, Cornmeal Cake, Cippolini Onion, and Watercress
Mississippi Blueberry Griddle Cakes
Seafood Cup
Oysters
Ahi Tuna Appetizer
Seared Ahi Tuna Appetizer
Seafood Bowl
Serrano Ham
Fish
Pita Bread Appetizer
Lamb Shortribs Over Cheddar Grits
Truffle Popcorn
Meat entree
Fish Entree
Wild Alaskan Salmon with Fries
Skewers
Chicken Entree
Bacalao Cake
Bell Pepper Smash
Black Cod in Porchetta
Appetizer
Roasted Squab
Oyster Shooter Cocktail
Once Around The Block
Apple Fritters
Beef Shortrib Sandwich
Victory Swing Saison
Yards Brawler Pub Ale
Nv Segura Viudas Cava Rose Brut
2 Eggs Over Medium, Roasted Potatoes, Bacon, Rye Toast
Mango Panna Cotta
Carrot Soup With Asparagus And Sausage
Apple Fritters With Caramel Cinnamon Ice Cream
Vegetable Lasagne
Omelet Of The Day
Tröegs Nugget Nectar
Organic Mixed Greens
Bbq Berkshire Pulled Pork Sandwich
chickensalad sandwich
Fried Calamari
Juice Bar
Chilled Sweet Pea And Mint Soup
Indian Spiced Pumpkin Soup
"People's Choice" Cheesesteak Sandwich
Bread
Roasted Vegetable Quesadilla
Napolean Black Mint Lemon Tea
Caramel Pecan Gelato
Steak Frittata
Eggs Cochon De Lait
Beef Cheek Sandwich
Lemon Scented Hummus
Rosted Pork
Grilled Salmon
FrenchToast
Pain Perdu
Burger with Fried Egg and Blue Cheese
roasted cauliflower
The Delores Del Ruby
Classic Spin On An Awesomely New Cocktail
Petite Salad
Tomato & Cantaloupe Gazpacho
Organic Chicken Confit
Shrimp Cesar Salad
Bacon Wrapped Roasted Dates
Bacon-wrapped, Chorizo-stuffed Medjool Dates
Blueberry Ginger Smoothie And Mango Banana Smoothie
Haricot Vert
Halibut
Brunch Pastries
Duck Breast
Free Range Amish Chicken
Dipping Trio W Toasted Pita
Raspberry Gelato
Lamb Ribs

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:30PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 6:00PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

Located in the heart of Rittenhouse Square, Square 1682 and Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, offers those planning private parties, corporate events, weddings, and more, a refreshing array of original venues that suit private gatherings of many kinds.

Square 1682 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (25)
Great for Lunch (13)
Special Occasion (12)
See All
Good for Groups (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Romantic (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Notable Wine List (4)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1181 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Square 1682 was kind of loud inside (I w ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Square 1682 was kind of loud inside (I was there around 7:00), but the food and service were excellent. As a vegan who is also a very picky eater, I often have difficulty finding restaurants to eat at--especially when looking for ones to accommodate others as well. However, the spring lentil stew (lentils with snap peas, summer squash, green bans, asparagus, tomatoes, and probably other vegetables in a spicy chimicurri sauce) was great. My parents ordered the filet mignon, which they both enjoyed as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our brunch! Square 1682 provi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We enjoyed our brunch! Square 1682 provides great service, copious portions and wonderful food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The French Toast was delicious! It took ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The French Toast was delicious! It took a bit longer than expected for the food to be served. Maybe just allowing patrons a leisurely brunch?

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Everything about this place was great. T ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Everything about this place was great. The only downfall was the time from when we ordered until we got our food. It was a long wait, especially for a smaller place with not too many people. It just meant more drinks and appetizers while we waited!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Came from out of town. Saw restaurant o ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Came from out of town. Saw restaurant on hotel Palomar's website while searching for accommodations in Philly. Made reservations for our first dinner in Philly. Great experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good, and the service ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was very good, and the service was excellent! Our waitress was very attentive and patient with us since it was the first time we had been to this restaurant. I would recommend this place as a great place to get together with friends to just relax and enjoy the evening. The only thing that I didn't like was the music was either really loud or you could barely hear it which made for awkward conversation because you would be talking over the music and then it was gone and you were practically screaming.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Starter good. Potatoes in entrée were se ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Starter good. Potatoes in entrée were semi-raw. Complained to wait staff but got nothing more than "sorry". Would have expected something back (lass of wine, something off the bill ...). Service only semi-attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

food was okay, but service was very slow ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

food was okay, but service was very slow. Did not seem to be crowded. Decor is unremarkable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Great lunch vey veggie friendly with exc ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great lunch vey veggie friendly with excellent service and convenient location in center city

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The bacon wrapped dates were amazing, a ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The bacon wrapped dates were amazing, a must have! The grilled octopus was also fantastic, the flavors were spot on!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food, great service, and a great d ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great food, great service, and a great dining experience overall. Highly recommended. Our table of 4 especially loved the grilled octopus appetizer with its unique sauce. Go for it...won't be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was just ok. Restaurant needs remo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food was just ok. Restaurant needs remodeling. Didn't feel welcome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Great for kids! They have a fantastic m ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Great for kids! They have a fantastic menu and the cookie decorating was a special touch for our 3yr old.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was quite good. Food was go ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The service was quite good. Food was good - just had the frittata which came with a salad. Ambiance is ok.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Brunch was good. Tried the hummus appeti ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Brunch was good. Tried the hummus appetizer and it was excellent. Enjoyed our meal.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Fantastic! The service was done with a s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Fantastic! The service was done with a smile. The food was phenomenal. I will definitely be back! Can't wait actually!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wasn't happy with pretty much any of the ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Wasn't happy with pretty much any of the meal. Butter with bread was "freezer burnt"/refrigerator taste; hummus was supposed to come with garlic naan and came with dry led out crumbly forcacci that had water dripped on it I guess to moisten it but actually just made soggy spots; kale was greasy. Pork chop tasted good. Service was slow and inattentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Loved the fritatta

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Loved the fritatta

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food magnificent!! Chef Caitlin Mateo s ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Food magnificent!! Chef Caitlin Mateo stopped at our table, very young and very very talented. Wine was superb, Cabernet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

the food took a little long to be served ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

the food took a little long to be served, but service was very good and they hard to accommodate food allergies. The food was great - better than expected.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Our brunch selections were delicious and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Our brunch selections were delicious and the staff was very attentive and considerate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome Food for Sunday Brunch

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food with diverse options for a Sunday brunch. Had the gamut across our party from a nice quinoa and greens salad with shrimp (and awesome blueberry vinaigrette) to the chicken salad sandwich with nice side salad to the traditional eggs/bacon/potatoes and toast (with house-made jam, and the wheat toast was 9-grain) to the frittata of the day loaded with veggies. Coffee was pricey but good and service was very attentive.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

My wife and I recently went here for bru ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

My wife and I recently went here for brunch on our anniversary weekend. We were visiting the area, and had no idea where to go for brunch on our final day in Philadelphia. A search for area restaurants with gluten-free options turned up Square 1682. We made reservations, taking a chance...and were highly rewarded for doing so. We loved the ambiance of the restaurant and the many gluten-free options on the menu. The service was excellent. We were seated promptly, and our waitress took care of us during our meal. We would definitely eat here again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We liked it a lot! Service was great, f ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We liked it a lot! Service was great, food was delicious. Loved the duck and the short ribs! Dates wrapped in bacon are to die for!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

great positive surprise

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I ate last week twice in Square 1682. Both times the food was just superb and was beautifully served, with lots of colors and in charming plates. In the large plates section, the Braised Beef Short Rib was one of the best I have ever had and both the Skuna Bay Salmon and the Herb Crusted Tuna were excellent (I personally slightly prefer the Salmon). The small plate of Grilled Octopus (with the right spiciness to it) and duck toast were very unique. Oh, and the deserts are out of this world (particularly the cheese cake!!!).

The atmosphere is very nice with a lovely bar scene. The presence of the hotel lobby, which one should cross on the way to restrooms, actually helps to build a more special atmosphere. Highly recommended; I will definitely come back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, crab enchiladas are amazing.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Great food, crab enchiladas are amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Nice average hotel place

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Nothing extraordinary about this place. Good solid stuff on a limited menu. If you don't want to go out of the Palomar, just eat here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was terrible. Ugh! Sorry I went. T ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Food was terrible. Ugh! Sorry I went. Too bad. It used to be good. Something changed since I last was here. Won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

I stopped by for a quick dinner. I had ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I stopped by for a quick dinner. I had two small plate dishes, and a dessert, and they were all delicious. The service was quick, efficient and pleasant. I would go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food never disappoints and the servi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The food never disappoints and the service is always great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The 1862 Burger and garlic Parmesan frie ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

The 1862 Burger and garlic Parmesan fries are a fantastic combination. The staff is very attentive and ready with excellent recommendations. Great experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food imaginatively prepared, interesting ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Food imaginatively prepared, interesting. Noise level so high that a normal conversation between two people is not possible.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Everthing About The Experience Was Superb

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The entire staff was courteous, helpful and very attentive throughout the evening. There were no delays yet we were not at all rushed. Our waitress was very knowledgeable and totally enjoyable. A+ to everyone at Square 1682.

The meal was excellent. The presentations were all attractive and the flavors were perfectly balanced and delicious at a gourmet level. My wife and I both had the soft-shell crab special and it was among the best we've ever tasted.

It's not inexpensive but worth every dollar for a fantastic dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Walked by this place many times and deci ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Walked by this place many times and decided to give it a try. We were pleasantly surprised by the taste a variety of the food. Everything was delicious. We had 8 of us and all tried something different on the menu. The Lancaster duck breast was cooked to perfection, Skuna Bay Salmon, Skate Wing fish, braised beef short ribs, wild mushroom tart. The special was soft shelled crabs that were amazing. Appetizers of deviled eggs, grilled octopus, and duck toast come highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Dates wrapped in bacon were delicious!

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was really good but from the time we ordered our entrees to getting served was over 45 min and we had to ask for it from our waitress since it took so long. Was really disappointed with timing but the quality of food was really good and we will go again hoping for a better experience

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was fantastic! Stuffed dates and po ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was fantastic! Stuffed dates and pork chop a must have!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The Rittenhouse burger was exceptional. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

The Rittenhouse burger was exceptional. The fresh local goat cheese sprouts and red onion jam provided an outstanding flavor profile I will crave for years. The detail, service and atmosphere here is unmatched.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Kito, my server was exceptional. The Fre ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Kito, my server was exceptional. The French Toast with Banana Creme was outstanding. Chicken apple sausage was savory and delicious. The experience was lovely, I wouldn't expect less from Kimpton and the amazing 1682 staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely brunch with some out-of-town friends

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

This was our first visit to Square 1682; we found it online and thought the menu looked interesting. We were meeting friends from California who were staying in town, for Sunday brunch, and one of the initial selling points was that they take reservations. The food was delicious, interesting without being precious or pretentious, portions were ample and the service was excellent. We were very pleased with the whole experience, as were our friends. We will definitely return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

square 1862

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Very noisy; no more upstairs dining room so near the bar. Food good , but not unusual or excellent. Would not go back ahead of many other restaurants.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.