Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Thu, 4/26
Time
9:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 8 times today
Special offers available. See details

Square 1682

4.4
1468 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Perfect For:
  • Good for a Date
  • Pre/post Theatre
  • Great for Brunch
Square 1682 presents a Modern American Kitchen menu thoughtfully and masterfully created by Executive Chef Robert Surdam. The menu features small & large plates, as well as dishes designed for sharing during dinner. With emphasis on local and organic products, Chef Surdam entices the taste buds with every bite, through his lens of culinary America.

The bar showcases a pure wellness program of all natural ingredients, where fresh fruit and juices, infused spirits, and housemade flavored syrups are created daily from our Lead Bartender Daniel Kulisek. Square 1682 invites guests to a full experience of dining, libations, and lively ambiance on every visit.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Organic, Tapas / Small Plates
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast:
Monday-Friday: 6:30am-10:30am

Brunch:
Saturday & Sunday: 8am-2:30pm

Lunch:
Monday-Friday: 11:30am-2:30pm

Dinner:
Sunday-Thursday: 5:30pm-10:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:30pm-11:00pm

Bar:
Sunday through Thursday: 11:30am - 12:00am
Friday and Saturday: 9:00am - 1:00am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(215) 563-5008
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Robert Surdam
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Enjoy stunning views and exceptional service for any of your meeting and event needs at the adjacent Hotel Palomar and enjoy catered food from Square 1682!
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
17th & Sansom Streets
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Valet parking available
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
We are convenient to all SEPTA bus & regional rail lines! Closest train station is Suburban Station (34 N. 16th Street & J.F.K. Boulevard). You will head west on John F. Kennedy Blvd toward North 17th Street, then turn left onto North 17th Street.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Celebrate the weekend with Square 1682's Prosecco Punch Brunch! $22 for a carafe of Prosecco mixed with our seasonal flavors!
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Located in the heart of Rittenhouse Square, Square 1682 and Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, offers those planning private parties, corporate events, weddings, and more, a refreshing array of original venues that suit private gatherings of many kinds.

View Private Dining Details

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Sun - Thu 5:30PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM
Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 6:00PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

What 1468 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.2
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
90% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

We were a large ish party spanning totally different ages, toddlers and seniors. The restaurant was a perfect mix of family friendly but still special. It was my mother’s birthday and we wanted some place warm and welcoming but also still on the nicer side to celebrate her day. This was that - you don’t roll in wearing schlubby clothes, but it’s also not so stuffy you feel tense. Good food, nice ambiance. Would def come again

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 19, 2018

A perfect place for lunch! My friend and I had delicious, very fresh salads with added chicken that tasted freshly roasted. We also had a fabulous Provence rose by the glass. Our server was friendly and helpful and we sat by the window and people-watched. The room had a low-key sophistication that added to our experience. Prices were reasonable and we will both return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Great value for the food! The Brussels sprouts were delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Great service. Great atmosphere. Great food. Very accommodating of my special dietary needs. Loved it. Will be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 5, 2018

The food wasn’t that great to be honest they don’t have a lot of dishes and options are minimal

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

I order the hanger steak and they give me a special short rib appetizer for being part of Kimpton Karma. I can’t say that one was better than the other, as both were phenomenal! Excellent service, I am going to say James but perhaps it was Jeff as the manager could not have been more gracious. Kevin is an amazing cook with a great crew. It’s always nice yet unexpected with all who go through here to be remembered—hopefully for good reasons of course.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

The crab benedict is great! We were celebrating a birthday and they sent out some sparkling wine. Nice touch.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Not good for how much you pay. Definitely won’t be going back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Melt in your mouth food! Great service..chill place, really enjoyed it

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 19, 2018

The Octupus was very good and the salmon with lobster risotto.
The pistachio cake was excellent

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Asked my server for another drink, ended up having to go to the bar to get it myself while my server stood at the bar chatting with the bartender.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

I got the half chicken and it was phenomenal! Best I’ve ever had!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 16, 2018

It was great, and the mussels were delish!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Good food and good service. Solid restaurant

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

The French toast was great! I went for brunch with a friend and we both ordered great food. The drinks were great too! Waitstaff was nice and quick and we were seated quickly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Good place for a nice dinner. Small plates are good as well

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Very attentive waiter and great service.
Noise level was pretty high.
Food was decent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Great food. Great service. Great ambiance. Very loud. Very hard to hear each other.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 27, 2018

Great food and service. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2018

The restaurant is adjoined to the Kimpton Hotel and has an interesting all high top table set up.

The menu and food were absolutely wonderful, and the service above average - only miss was bringing out apps without any serving utensils.

I would recommend the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2018

Consistently good food in a comfortable atmosphere. Great place for a business lunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2018

Always consistent, always good food and service level is always good! The truffle popcorn that they provide is excellent! Hostess is excellent as is the wait staff!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Delicious Bloody Mary, frittata and the best burger my husband has ever eaten—lovely lunch menu

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

We enjoyed our meal very much. The food and service were great. Wine by the glass a bit pricey but other than that it was a very good experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

From the second we walked in until we left our experience our experience at Square 1682 was spot on. I highly recommend!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 8, 2018

Gem of a little restaurant. Good food, good cocktails, and comfortable seats. The potatoes offered at breakfast are amazing.... order them.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 7, 2018

The service was great. The food was great. The ambiance was great. They accommodated my special dietary needs ver well. They went above and beyond. I will be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 5, 2018

Made reservations here for dinner with a work group. Food was decent, environment was a little strange. It was pretty empty for a Monday evening, and they sat us back near the kitchen. It was loud and odd to watch the chefs/cooks be a little silly and not professional while preparing meals. Server was very nice and attentive! Probably would not come back though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 4, 2018

Lovely intimate atmosphere, great drinks, great menu, AMAZING service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 3, 2018

6 of us ate on a Saturday night - we had great service and excellent food! I was the only one who had been there before and everyone else loved it and will return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 31, 2018

We enjoyed the food at this restaurant and everyone in our party was pleased with the beautiful mushroom and glazed carrots that adorned the plates. The Thai Curry Mussels that I selected were delicious and I would order them again. Two in our party had enjoyable beef ribs.
The main problem was the uncomfortable seats at the table and the noise level.
First, the seats.... when we first sat down we thought the seats were broken since we sunk down into the stools cushion. We tried several other chairs in the restaurant but the others nearby were the same.
Second, the noise level was quite high when we arrived for our 6 pm reservation and we considered leaving and going somewhere else where we could talk. Things eventually calmed down once the bar crowd started to leave but at the begining it was us shouting at one another. It was a first meet for some of us in our group and not easy to communicate.
Third, the toilet facilities are rather obscure and difficult to find. Luckily our waiter was standing near the door to the steps that we needed to take. He did offer the use of the elevator to get there to one member of our party, but not to me. It was two flights up!
George was an attentive waiter and we liked having him come around every so often to refill waters and check on is but he didn't hover.
The restaurant is connected to a hotel, Palomar, which I didn't know when I made the reservation and that might account for the busy bar scene.
All in all, there are so many good restaurants in Philadelphia, I might choose another next time, but since this is around the corner from my husbands office, he might try it for a business lunch.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 31, 2018

The lamb shank was fantastic!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Food was just okay. Would I go back? Probably not. I felt it was overpriced for what it was.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Nice waiters and staff, poorly seasoned overly salted steak, very uncomfortable chairs

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 25, 2018

Have been here before and glad I visited again. The waiter was very friendly and accommodating. We requested the special omelette of the day with egg whites only, no problem, and also my gluten-free diet was accommodated. Delicious breakfast and good staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 22, 2018

The ambiance was nice. The timing of food presentation was perfect. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. I'd recommend this fine eatery to anyone who is looking for a quiet place with good food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 22, 2018

My husband got the burger with no bacon. I had a bite. I️t was delicious. I got the brie grilled cheese. Too much caramelized onion marmalade and not enough cheese. I️t should be named the caramelized marmalade sandwich with cheese and not grilled cheese. Tomato soup was delicious and the grains and greens salad was good. We were the only ones in there for lunch. Service was ok

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 21, 2018

Excellent food! The eggs Benedict was one of the best I’ve ever eaten!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2018

First time in Friday, was super Impressed the dinner menu as well as the restaurant week menu .
Usually never order from restaurant week menu..nevertheless the menu was extremely cohesive and the food was amazing.
The Staff : our Waitress Sasha was Super
*extremely Knowledgeable about food and drink pairings
* very attentive - we felt like the only guest in the room! (The place was packed) 😃
*The Management on point - helping the wait staff and Survey the room etc.
*The host was friendly and suggested we try lunch there as well because we live and work so Close .

Also I posted some food photos on Instagram and the Hotel page thanked me the picture which was cool 😎
Thanks again
Parris

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 14, 2018

People who greet you and serve are very friendly and helpful. Good service and food.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
37

Tweets by Square 1682