Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.05mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About Square 1682

Square 1682 presents a Modern American Kitchen menu thoughtfully and masterfully created by Executive Chef Robert Surdam. The menu features small & large plates, as well as dishes designed for sharing during dinner. With emphasis on local and organic products, Chef Surdam entices the taste buds with every bite, through his lens of culinary America.

The bar showcases a pure wellness program of all natural ingredients, where fresh fruit and juices, infused spirits, and housemade flavored syrups are created daily from our Lead Bartender Daniel Kulisek. Square 1682 invites guests to a full experience of dining, libations, and lively ambiance on every visit.

121 South 17th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19103
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Organic, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday-Friday: 6:30am-10:30am

Brunch:
Saturday & Sunday: 8am-2:30pm

Lunch:
Monday-Friday: 11:30am-2:30pm

Dinner:
Sunday-Thursday: 5:30pm-10:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:30pm-11:00pm

Bar:
Sunday through Thursday: 11:30am - 12:00am
Friday and Saturday: 9:00am - 1:00am

Cross Street:
17th & Sansom Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 563-5008

Website:
http://www.square1682.com/

Catering:
Enjoy stunning views and exceptional service for any of your meeting and event needs at the adjacent Hotel Palomar and enjoy catered food from Square 1682!

Parking Details:
Valet parking available

Public Transit:
We are convenient to all SEPTA bus & regional rail lines! Closest train station is Suburban Station (34 N. 16th Street & J.F.K. Boulevard). You will head west on John F. Kennedy Blvd toward North 17th Street, then turn left onto North 17th Street.

Executive Chef:
Robert Surdam

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Celebrate the weekend with Square 1682's Prosecco Punch Brunch! $22 for a carafe of Prosecco mixed with our seasonal flavors!

Specials

BYOD Brunch

Saturdays and Sundays from 7:30 AM - 2:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

BYOD Brunch

Saturdays and Sundays from 7:30 AM - 2:00 PM

Details

Square 1682 partners with The Pennsylvania SPCA for our BYOD Brunch, with special items for our four legged friends! $1 of each BYOD menu item sold will be donated to Pennsylvania SPCA. All donations will be matched by Tito's handmade vodka. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid May 20, 2017 - Sep 3, 2017 on Saturdays and Sundays from 7:30 AM - 2:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:30PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 6:00PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

Located in the heart of Rittenhouse Square, Square 1682 and Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, offers those planning private parties, corporate events, weddings, and more, a refreshing array of original venues that suit private gatherings of many kinds.

Square 1682 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (14)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
See All
Fit for Foodies (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Business Meals (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Cozy (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
People Watching (4)
Fun (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Romantic (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Healthy (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Family Style (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Scenic View (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1369 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We had three dishes: the fingerling truffled potatoes, the maitake and the corn ravioli. Potatoes we far and away the best of the three, perfectly cooked served with a sauce that complemented the potatoes perfectly. The maitake was a bit of a let down. It was ok but really lacked any real seasoning and the egg barely added any flavor. The bread crumbs we a good textural addition but we're soggy almost immediately. The ravioli was decent but again, was lacking something. The corn asparagus almost "salsa" that the ravioli sat in was pretty good but the ravioli itself got lost in the mix. Nothing about the glacé stood out at all. I was excited to try the last two thinking they would be favorite but they fell flat.

The waitress was very nice and the atmosphere was decent. The hostess never made eye contact and put the menus on the table without acknowledging us, which is fine at a Red Robin or Applebee's but I didn't expect that when you are asking 20+ per entree. I'll still give them 4 stars but I debated 3. The potatoes and the waitress might be enough to have me try it again.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Delicious food. Beautiful space. Excellent service. Thanx!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The food and service was superb. We found this gem on a previous weekend getaway to Phila but based on our wonderful experience for our 22nd anniversary this weekend, Square 1682 will be our new anniversary dinner from here out!

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Service was great! We had dinner and it was fabulous, but we had breakfast the next day and it was sub-par. $4 for a cup of coffee and $5.25 for a cup of OJ seemed a little extreme. Great atmosphere - except it was VERY hot and the street light shone in, kind of ruining the romantic vibe. Otherwise, great evening, good food, excellent customer service.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Will return because of pet friendly environment!!

Was disappointed in Brunch cocktail options, Bloody a fail.. definitely recommend a little tuning there.

Food very good.. taste portions all spot on.. bacon wrapped dates a win! Pooch menu fantastic.. THANK YOU for servicing our 4 legged friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Food and service were great. The bacon wrapped figs are just incredible. We're looking forward to our next trip here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

the server was attentive but not too attentive; she made good suggestions. All the food we ordered was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Breakfast was a little cold which was very strange given place was not busy at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 22, 2017

I recommend the $20 lunch menu deal. It includes an appetizer, entre and desert. All are full size and are not smaller portions. For $20, you get quite a bit of food, and it all comes out at once. The reason I only gave 2 stars for ambiance, and high ranking on noise, was due to the obnoxiously loud juicer that was being used on the bar. Why they have it there and why they use it while people are trying to have a lunch meeting over a meal is very perplexing. The space is on the small side, so when that juicer goes off...it kills all conversation. Get rid of that juicer! The service was good, not great. Seating was comfortable with lots of windows. We were happy with the food. The bacon wrapped dates app. was REALLY good. The side salad was quite boring...only mixed greens with dressing, nothing else. In other words, just a pile of lettuce.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 21, 2017

I was thrilled to finally try this place out while my parents were in town. The menu looked outstanding, and it did not disappoint. The croque madame I had was exquisite, and extremely reasonably priced for such a fine dish. I'm not sure how crazy the brunch crowd here gets, but we were seated before 10 AM and left before 11:30 AM, and it was still very relaxed. Lovely atmosphere and service, extremely reasonably priced, and, most importantly, delicious. I'll definitely be doing brunch here again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Despite good wine and service, the dinner entrees were not all they should have been. I ordered a prime rib that was not flavorful and somewhat tough. The branzino was "just ok." I love his restaurant for lunch - very consistently good with healthy options. I'll be back for lunch, not dinner.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

First we were seat quickly which was good and the waitress was on point and very hospitable. The Lancaster Duck Breast was amazing and the bacon wrapped dates to my surprise was also delectable. The noise level was low but I wasn't thrilled by the overall ambiance of the place. Still it's a wonderful restaurant and I will be going back for more.
K. Irvin Collins Jr.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

All good. A little pricey. Actually a lot pricy. Breakfast for 3 $90 plus

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was okay. Drinks are horrific and overpriced (bloody mary served in a water glass, no celery, weak on the vodka; sangria not really sangria; coffee tasted like water). Service, as with most restaurants, depends on the server, and ours was apparently having a bad day. No smiles, nothing welcoming (and this was for a special occasion brunch!). Chef/owner and the manager were friendly. Almost like this restaurant is still trying to get its act together. Some food overprices (small dry chocolate chip cookies for $4 apiece!?).

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had a lovely brunch with my daughter after completing the Race for the Cure. Food was excellent and the staff were very friendly

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent food, nice ambience, very pleasant servers - all in all a great experience and we enjoyed it. The only negative is the noise level - hate all of these places where you have to yell to talk. Otherwise, great value and I would return and recommend to others.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Very nice food and friendly service. Good value for an in-hotel restaurant. Noise levels were very high the night we were there, but several college reunions had converged at the bar which is central to the restaurant, so this may not have been the normal experience for the venue.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 8, 2017

On a Monday night. We enjoyed the service and the food was creative and excellent

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Our waiter was amazing. Very lively and offered great feedback on the meal options.
We had come from Painting with a Twist and it was easy to get to, and we didn't wait long to be seated.
Drinks were great, great food and nice ambience.
High recommend!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great location and meal presentation was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food was great. My party of 5 was seated right in front of the kitchen, so we were able to get the "behind the scenes" experience. we started off with the fried Brussels sprouts with a saffron aioli. Many people in my party stated they did not like Brussels sprouts but once they tried these fried ones they were in love. for my main course I got a rack of lamb with a Mediterranean couscous. The lamb was perfect medium rare and the couscous with a basil pesto was outstanding. My grandfather got the duck breast and he said that it was cooked perfectly and was not dry. Overall the service was great and the food was a amazing. I definitely would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Square 1682 is our go to restaurant when we visit Philadelphia. The food is delicious and there are always new items on the menu. We brought friends with us this trip and they expressed their joy at being introduced to this gem of a restaurant.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I really enjoyed my experience! My server was very friendly, enthusiastic and helpful with menu choices. The only bad thing for me was the Hostess. She didn't seem welcoming at all and she never once cracked a smile from the time I entered and when she sat us down...seemed cold. I didn't think I would like my experience at that point, but I will truly day, everyone esle made my experience worth it.

Tags: Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Our server was great and the food was delish. It was a great exerience.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Tasty food with interesting ingredients. Our server was just right, attentive without being a nuisance. Easy in and out in a schedule.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Large portions, everything is delicious, very friendly and attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We went here for my birthday dinner and I didn't know at the time but had a surprise party afterwards. They forgot our entree and even acknowledged they forgot. Then even after they acknowledged it happened and waited twenty mins the waitress told us they were plating our food now which, we could obviously see wasn't happening since they have an open kitchen. About 45 mins after our appetizers were cleared they manager came over and comped us a round of drinks. That only happened since we asked them to clear the popcorn they tried offering. We've eaten here before and the service was really bad then. We wanted to give them another try since the food is really good but guess you need to have the evening cleared in order to go here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The dessert was the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 17, 2017

The menu has changed, removing my draw to the restaurant, the black bean burger. The falafel sandwich that took its place was served on a rather hard bun, rather than traditional pita, which smushed the falafel as you ate and generally overwhelmed the flavors of the tzatziki sauce. The "giant cookie" was regular-sized and fine, for oatmeal raisin. The "Express Lunch" took ~45 minutes to come out (yes, we had 8 people, most of whom ordered the Express Lunch): this is not express and not useful when lunching on a time limit. It would've been nice if the server had noted that Express Lunches are served all 3 courses together, so they would not come out as prepared, rather they're held under a heating lamp till all pieces are ready. It would've been faster if we'd ordered 1 appetizer, 1 main, and 1 dessert NOT as the Express Lunch--we saw other groups (including some of our colleagues) come and go int the time it took for us to get our food. I still like the space, as it's quieter than many restaurants, so you can hear one another more easily, but this latest experience took a hit on my recommending it for future meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Got brunch and ordered the burger, eggs with bacon and home fries, and pancakes. Everything was amazing and more than we expected for the price in terms of quality and quantity. Would go back for dinner and lunch again in a heartbeat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Square 1682 was a fun casual place for a bite and some vibrant ambience. the menu was not extensive but the items that were on it covered all the bases and tasted terrific. the bathroom placement is a little inconvenient but that can't really be helped. All of the things that were within their control, they did very well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Good food and nice decor. $4 for an iced tea seems a bit overpriced but food was good. Recommend the dates wrapped in bacon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Tasty calamari great service good happy hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 14, 2017

My boyfriend had a 545 reservation which was great because there was only one other table. We like earlier reservations because there are usually less people. Our server (didn't catch her name) was so sweet. She was attentive without being overbearing. She seemed to have more tables than the other servers or she was just the only one to keep busy. I understand it was slow, but there were a lot of people standing around.

The kitchen is open, so you can see and hear everything....including the staff flipping each other off...not my favorite thing to see even if they're kidding around. My main problem was that the chef on expo or the sous chef was constantly on his phone at his expo station and then continued to touch the plates....without washing hands. It's one of my big pet peeves, get off your phone. I work in the industry as well, so I get how hard it can be to stand around....but go in the back instead of being on your phone at your post.

The portions at this place are HUGE and definitely worth the money. My steak was over cooked and the fat wasn't rendered, which sucks. And my boyfriend's pork shank was over cooked. BUT the sides and appetizers were bomb!

The management and servers are delightful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Our server was fantastic and the ambiance was great. Accommodated a large party last minute as well!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My friend and I enjoyed Sunday Brunch there. The setting is lively and interestingly decorated. It was a beautiful day and many people were enjoying their meal outside. The restaurant is part of the Palomar Hotel, which was also interesting to explore (on our way to the bathroom)! A very pleasant experience. We both had a typical breakfast meal (scrambled eggs, sausage, etc.) which was very tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Lunch was fresh and fantastic! Would definitely recommend!!

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 8, 2017

On the expensive side (but big portions make up for it). Wouldn't come if not very hungry because even the granola is a whole plate. Short rib cheesesteak was exceptional, the other dishes were pretty good.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Our waitress was awesome but the food was so-so. If the food was actually good, I wouldn't mind paying $30 for a plate.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.