About Square 1682

121 South 17th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19103
View Larger Map

Square 1682 presents a Modern American Kitchen menu thoughtfully and masterfully created by Executive Chef Caitlin Mateo. The menu features small & large plates, as well as dishes designed for sharing during dinner. With emphasis on local and organic products, Chef Mateo entices the taste buds with every bite, through her lens of culinary America.

The bar showcases a pure wellness program of all natural ingredients, where fresh fruit and juices, infused spirits, and housemade flavored simple syrups are created daily from our Lead Bartender Daniel Kulisek. Square 1682 invites guests to a full experience of dining, libations, and lively ambiance on every visit.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Organic, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast:
Monday-Friday: 6:30am-10:30am

Brunch:
Saturday & Sunday: 8am-2:30pm

Lunch:
Monday-Friday: 11:30am-2:30pm

Dinner:
Sunday-Thursday: 5:30pm-10:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:30pm-11:00pm

Bar:
Monday through Friday: 11:30am - ?
Saturday and Sunday: 9:00am - 2:00am

Cross Street:
17th & Sansom Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 563-5008

Website:
http://www.square1682.com/

Catering:
Enjoy stunning views and exceptional service for any of your meeting and event needs at the adjacent Hotel Palomar and enjoy catered food from Square 1682!

Parking Details:
Valet parking available

Public Transit:
We are convenient to all SEPTA bus & regional rail lines! Closest train station is Suburban Station (34 N. 16th Street & J.F.K. Boulevard). You will head west on John F. Kennedy Blvd toward North 17th Street, then turn left onto North 17th Street.

Executive Chef:
Caitlin Mateo

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Square 1682's Power Lunch; A brand new way to power through the day! Enjoy one of our classic 3-course trays for $18.50 or $2050. Need an extra kick? Add on one of our fresh pressed raw juices!

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:30PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 5:30PM - 6:00PM 10:00PM - 11:00PM

Private Dining

Located in the heart of Rittenhouse Square, Square 1682 and Hotel Palomar Philadelphia, offers those planning private parties, corporate events, weddings, and more, a refreshing array of original venues that suit private gatherings of many kinds.

Square 1682 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Philadelphia
Best Restaurants in Center City ›

fit for foodies (48)
great for lunch (26)
neighborhood gem (19)
See All
good for groups (19)
great for brunch (19)
special occasion (17)
romantic (14)
hot spot (13)
vibrant bar scene (13)
late-night find (8)
notable wine list (8)
Sort By:
Newest
1154 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food, crab enchiladas are amazing.

vip
Dined 18 hours ago

Great food, crab enchiladas are amazing.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Nice average hotel place

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Nothing extraordinary about this place. Good solid stuff on a limited menu. If you don't want to go out of the Palomar, just eat here.

food1
ambience1
service1

Food was terrible. Ugh! Sorry I went. T ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Food was terrible. Ugh! Sorry I went. Too bad. It used to be good. Something changed since I last was here. Won't be going back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I stopped by for a quick dinner. I had ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

I stopped by for a quick dinner. I had two small plate dishes, and a dessert, and they were all delicious. The service was quick, efficient and pleasant. I would go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

The 1862 Burger and garlic Parmesan frie ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The 1862 Burger and garlic Parmesan fries are a fantastic combination. The staff is very attentive and ready with excellent recommendations. Great experience overall.

food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Food imaginatively prepared, interesting ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Food imaginatively prepared, interesting. Noise level so high that a normal conversation between two people is not possible.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everthing About The Experience Was Superb

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

The entire staff was courteous, helpful and very attentive throughout the evening. There were no delays yet we were not at all rushed. Our waitress was very knowledgeable and totally enjoyable. A+ to everyone at Square 1682. The meal was excellent. The presentations were all attractive and the flavors were perfectly balanced and delicious at a gourmet level. My wife and I both had the soft-shell crab special and it was among the best we've ever tasted. It's not inexpensive but worth every dollar for a fantastic dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4

Walked by this place many times and deci ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Walked by this place many times and decided to give it a try. We were pleasantly surprised by the taste a variety of the food. Everything was delicious. We had 8 of us and all tried something different on the menu. The Lancaster duck breast was cooked to perfection, Skuna Bay Salmon, Skate Wing fish, braised beef short ribs, wild mushroom tart. The special was soft shelled crabs that were amazing. Appetizers of deviled eggs, grilled octopus, and duck toast come highly recommended.

food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Dates wrapped in bacon were delicious!

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was really good but from the time we ordered our entrees to getting served was over 45 min and we had to ask for it from our waitress since it took so long. Was really disappointed with timing but the quality of food was really good and we will go again hoping for a better experience

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was fantastic! Stuffed dates and po ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food was fantastic! Stuffed dates and pork chop a must have!

food5
ambience5
service5

The Rittenhouse burger was exceptional. ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

The Rittenhouse burger was exceptional. The fresh local goat cheese sprouts and red onion jam provided an outstanding flavor profile I will crave for years. The detail, service and atmosphere here is unmatched.

food5
ambience5
service5

Kito, my server was exceptional. The Fre ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

Kito, my server was exceptional. The French Toast with Banana Creme was outstanding. Chicken apple sausage was savory and delicious. The experience was lovely, I wouldn't expect less from Kimpton and the amazing 1682 staff!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely brunch with some out-of-town friends

Dined on May 1, 2016

This was our first visit to Square 1682; we found it online and thought the menu looked interesting. We were meeting friends from California who were staying in town, for Sunday brunch, and one of the initial selling points was that they take reservations. The food was delicious, interesting without being precious or pretentious, portions were ample and the service was excellent. We were very pleased with the whole experience, as were our friends. We will definitely return!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

square 1862

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Very noisy; no more upstairs dining room so near the bar. Food good , but not unusual or excellent. Would not go back ahead of many other restaurants.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Hidden Gem

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

This is our second time back within the last month. My husband and I dine in Philly all the time, and this restaurant was recommended to us by a friend. We just love it here, one of my favorite places in Philly right now. The cocktails are amazing, and the food is delicious, along with perfect service. We had a birthday dinner here last Saturday night for my friend, and everything was perfect. Our server was a total sweetheart, she was very attentive and provided the best service ever. Her name was Sasha, she was great. She had the most welcoming smile and voice, nothing was a problem. We ordered so much food , a lot of appetizers, and rounds of cocktails, everything was amazing. I can't wait to go back!! Love it!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is delicious and the staff is f ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

The food is delicious and the staff is friendly.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Romantic and special

Dined on April 28, 2016

Excellent service, was seated promptly for our reservation. The dates that everyone mentions are divine, and the entrees were fantastic! The wait staff was very attentive and able to answer my questions on the menu items.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Had the frittata for brunch. It hit the ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Had the frittata for brunch. It hit the spot and was a huge portion. The strawberry mint prosecco pitcher was amazing.

food5
ambience3
service4
value5

We came into the city to see our son who ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

We came into the city to see our son who is studying at U of Penn. The food was great. The place was noisier than we expected (we are old) but overall we got used to it and had a wonderful time. The chairs were by far the most comfortable of any restaurant I have ever been to. Amazing. Would come back. Do you serve brunch?

Tags: late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Square 1682 is a hidden gem. It's has a ...

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

Square 1682 is a hidden gem. It's has a great lunch menu with diverse, flavorful options. The bacon wrapped dates are amazing although very small. All the entrees I've tried are amazing and well portioned. It's also reasonably priced.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Delicious breakfast

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

We both had the breakfast sandwich and it was absolutely delicious as was the coffee. Service was also excellent. My only complaint was that all the tables are high tops and I hate high tops.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Brunch Before Orchestra

Dined on April 10, 2016

Went for brunch with my wife before a Sunday orchestra concert. Food was excellent - I had the pulled pork sandwich and my wife had the special salad. We shared the carrot cake for dessert. All were delicious. Portions were generous. Service was friendly but not always attentive - we finally had to ask a second time when it didn't come out after 10 minutes or so.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Almost There

Dined on March 18, 2016

My filet mignon was lacking a little something. Something was missing. My date (my wife) enjoyed the scallops. The staff was attentive and pleasant. We would visit Square 1682 again.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience3
service4

The food was very good overall. We had t ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

The food was very good overall. We had the deviled eggs, bacon wrapped dates, and the Salmon. Each dish was great.

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food!

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Delicious food!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always my fav lunch spot

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

Healthy, delicious food. Great service. Privacy to talk unlike other restaurants. It's my go-to place for business lunch AND a cocktail after work.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

An overall good experience. They were di ...

vip
Dined on March 9, 2016

An overall good experience. They were diligent about calling us when we left our backpack and also held on to the credit card we left behind.

food4
ambience3
service4

Bacon wrapped figs were quite good. Menu ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Bacon wrapped figs were quite good. Menu was somewhat limited, but things were otherwise good. Service was fine. Noise levels were a little high near the bar, though.

food5
ambience5
service5

The salmon was delicious. The appetizer ...

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

The salmon was delicious. The appetizer with dates wrapped in bacon and goat cheese was fabulous. Great meal.

food4
ambience4
service5

Service was great. Salmon and asparagus ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Service was great. Salmon and asparagus grits were excellent.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

nice spot near Rittenhouse Square. Corn ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

nice spot near Rittenhouse Square. Corner restaurant in Hotel Palomar. Food well-made, good quality not too complex brunch fare.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4

Short rib brunch a must try

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Short rib brunch a must try

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Good food bad timing

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

The food is always great and they are great with a party of six however, the timing for the food was awful. Our appetizers were brought out with our main dishes and so we were overwhelmed with food and couldn't really enjoy the space of the table and our drinks ...it was simply unfortunate.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Nice place

Dined on February 20, 2016

The restaurant was nice, though it lacked some of the ambiance and imagination I was hoping for on our only night in Philly. The food was good. The duck entree was delicious, but the pork shank was average.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food in redesigned space

Dined on February 16, 2016

I was delighted to find that the restaurant reopened in the downstairs space of the Palomar. Some of the dishes from the old menu were there, including goat cheese stuffed dates. The duck breast and grilled octopus were delicious. A wonderful addition to center city close enough to dine before events at the Academy or Kimmel Center.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service3

Great food, good service, a little tight ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food, good service, a little tight but overall great place!

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

All good - wrapped dates and truffled popcorn hits

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

The menu was a modified version for Valentine's Day but all the good things we remember from before were there. The bacon wrapped dates are a MUST! and ask for their truffled popcorn!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Stayed at the hotel and ate at this rest ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Stayed at the hotel and ate at this restaurant on a regular basis. The staff is so friendly and helpful! The hamburgers are to die for. Best in the downtown area. Also loved the Kale Salad - add chicken. So good!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really outstanding place. Good drinks, i ...

vip
Dined on February 9, 2016

Really outstanding place. Good drinks, interesting tapas, and great entrees. Superb service, and nice vibe to the place.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3

The food was excellent. Unfortunately fo ...

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

The food was excellent. Unfortunately for us, the noise level was deafening. It may have been due to the bachelorette party at the bar right next to our table but I suspect it's generally noisy because the place is essentially a bar with tables for dining. I'd go there again for the food any day but the noise level may be a deterrent.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.