Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.90mi
  2. Distance: 2.53mi
  3. Distance: 5.82mi
  4. Distance: 7.10mi
  1. Distance: 1.90mi
  2. Distance: 2.53mi
  3. Distance: 5.82mi
  4. Distance: 7.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.90mi
  2. Distance: 2.53mi
  3. Distance: 5.82mi
  4. Distance: 7.10mi
  1. Distance: 1.90mi
  2. Distance: 2.53mi
  3. Distance: 5.82mi
  4. Distance: 7.10mi

About SpringHouse

Rising out of the hilltop, the 200-seat SpringHouse Restaurant will treat diners to a local cuisine served in rustic, casual elegance. The first architectural element guests will see as they enter the main dining room is the inglenook—a large fully-functional walk-in fireplace, which served as the center of the home in medieval times. At SpringHouse, the inglenook serves as a hot appetizer station during dining hours and a classroom during the day. As they pass the inglenook guests will notice handsome bars, rough-hewn beams, hand-forged ironwork, and a magnificent open kitchen, replete with a wood-fired oven and grill. The upstairs bar and dining area will focus on small plates and provide adults a place to relax and gather. Patios with working fireplaces flank the main dining room and upstairs bar. For special events, guests are invited to reserve the Well House—a private 12-seat dining room connected to the restaurant by an underground tunnel.

12 Benson Mill Road
Alexander City, AL 35010
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday -Saturday: 5:30pm -- 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Highyway 63

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 215-7080

Website:
http://www.springhouseatcrossroads.com/

Executive Chef:
Rob McDaniel

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

SpringHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (46)
Creative Cuisine (44)
Good for a Date (43)
See All
Worth the Drive (39)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Local Ingredients (38)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Romantic (33)
Scenic View (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Notable Wine List (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Great for Brunch (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Bar Seating (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Seasonal (16)
Casual (16)
Cozy (15)
Authentic (15)
Fun (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Comfort Food (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Business Meals (9)
Hot Spot (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Great Beer (6)
Private Room (5)
Fireplace (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
People Watching (5)
Organic (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Family Style (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
596 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Superb! Chef Rob McDaniel has created a dining opportunity equal to any in NYC, Atlanta, New Orleans, Charleston, etc. Just excellent every time. Cocktails superb as well. Don't miss this one.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

I was just passing through, knew I could get a great meal, so I used Open Table the day before to get a reservation for one for early evening. Restaurant was full when I left at 6:30 on Saturday night. Vegetable plate was very good.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

My husband and I stumbled upon SpringHouse while we were looking for a date spot. SpringHouse was more than we were expecting in every way! Everything about the night was really outstanding and we look forward to going back again and again. Make sure to leave room for dessert, it was by far the best dessert I've ever tasted.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

As a repeat customer , this was very unusual but services was lacking and my table ordered the cheese plate app, then our meal and before we even got our cocktails, everything came out at once, no real apology and never checked back with us until the end! Won't b back for a while!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Second visit, of what we ordered all was very good except pork was tough.
Will go again.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

A bit a drive, but so worth it. The food was excellent and honestly one the best meals we've ever had. Excellent wine selection. Wonderful atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Perfect Sunday Brunch! Casual, but elegant. Great Atmosphere with delicious fare. Food is unique in offerings and presentation.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Sonya (service) A+, kitchen A+.... beef carpaccio for appetizer is a must have and the scamp is always good no matter what sides it's served with .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Awesome place and the views were fantastic. The waiters/waitresses were professional and the food was fantastic. We plan on returning soon! Thank you.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 15, 2017

If you have never been here you have to! It is the best! The vegetable plate is killer! Daniel does a superb job pairing the wines.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Great experience! We enjoyed it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Our mother turned 89 the week earlier, and since this restaurant is on the way to our lake house, we wanted to try it. Every person got a different dish for brunch and they were all excellent. We had a pimento cheese appetizer which was outstanding, with a bit of an unexpected kick of heat. Comfortable setting, and they were responsive to our need to have my mother close to the door since she is in a wheelchair, and it's cumbersome to maneuver through a crowded restaurant. The staff was exceedingly friendly from the hostesses to our servers. I hope to try it again the next time I'm back in Alabama.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Wonderful experience for Sunday brunch. Hope to return soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The experience was outstanding, the service was great the staff was extremely accommodating and the food was delicious

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Wonderful restaurant with excellent staff and the food is awesome!
It's hard to believe you are dining in the Alabama countryside.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Absolutely the best food and atmosphere to be had in the Southeast by far. Can not wait to visit again. Thanks for the great experienced we had on our anniversary.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 30, 2017

As noted it was very noisy. Service was top rate but our entree was a bit dispointing for the price. Great small portion and desert, and coffee was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Upscale gourmet dining in a sophisticated rustic setting. Food, ambiance, and service all are wonderful. The creative signature cocktails are the perfect introduction to a relaxing meal. The wine list is amazingly diverse. The crabmeat and white corn remoulade appetizer was delectable. Both the redfish and rabbit entrees were perfectly prepared and creatively presented. The "blondie sundae" is a sinful culmination of an outstanding meal. It is always a pleasure to return to SpringHouse for dinner, especially with the Wednesday/Thursday $40 per person special. This is truly a Lake Martin and Alabama culinary gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Have always loved dining at Springhouse. Food has always been very good but this time the fish dishes were dry. No sauce on 2 out of 3 dishes. Peach dessert was also very dry.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 28, 2017

SpringHouse is one of our favorite restaurants when we are in the area. They always have something new on the menu and it is always delicious. Our waitress has several recommendations which we tried and were delighted. Great food and service makes for a great dining experience.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 23, 2017

It always such a treat coming here! My husband, and our kids love Springhouse. Food is simply amazing!!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Authentic, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Went to SpringHouse for Father's Day Brunch. We had been for Mother's Day as well and wanted to return. We took some friends with us and will return again soon. Great food and service that is very reasonably priced. Good wine and craft beer selection.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Wonderful as always. Love to take family and friends.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Fun, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Sorry to complain this time :-/ Trey is always wonderful so service gets a A+
Kitchen gets a D :-( not only did it take over a hour to get our food but my order came out wrong. To correct the issue, the kitchen took my fish off the tomato set on to the squash set with some tomato still on it... mixing the sets made my fish not as desirable. Also 1/2 of my fish was lost in the transfer... not a good move for an upscale restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 17, 2017

One of Alabamas best kept secrets! You won't be disappointed! Exceeds our expectations every time!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Head Chef Rob McDaniel and his gang of sous knocked it out of the park again. Never disappointed in my dinner in 10+ visits. There is a reason that the chef is celebrated far and wide. His local garden right behind the restaurant is stock full of goodies now through the summer. A Vegetable plate offering is all organic, local and lightly seasoned the good old fashion way without the heavy stuff. Have to mention the baby butter beans (not limas!) in light mayo or buttermilk dressing, onions and crumbled cornbread on top is how my Mama! used to serve us butter beans to get us to eat them...darn good! Bone in pork chop was ridiculous and all I left was a bone that was gnawed on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Head and shoulders above every other option in Alexander City.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We arrived early, but we were immediately taken to our table. The entire wait staff was friendly, accommodating, and customer oriented. Our dining experience was superior from the cocktails to the recommended appetizers to our dinners to the dessert. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Springhouse never disappoints! Fabulous food. The service is always outstanding. Cocktail and wine menu is always interesting and choices are exceptional. I had the Mr. Jim's veggie plate. It is always so good with the best seasonal vegetables. Husband had pork chop and liked it as well.

Do not miss the dessert menu! Wow. I had the homemade s'mores and I'm still thinking about it. Husband had the mason jar sundae and he could have licked the jar.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Love the atmosphere!! The menu selection was not good. Oysters were FABULOUS

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 14, 2017

This place was great overall. The food was exceptional for sure and I'll admit that when reservations are recommended two weeks in advance I really expect to be completely blown away. This is why I left my rating as Very Good as opposed to outstanding.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 10, 2017

A bit noisy on a Saturday night, so I would recommend a table away from the bar area if conversation is desired. Food and service was very good. Our server was attentive and knowledgeable, the quality of the food and wine very good. Prices are in line with most other restaurants of this caliber.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Great place to eat. Wonderful creative food and excellent service. Rob McDaniel is a great chef.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Always a special treat. Never been disappointed. Food, atmosphere, service-all impeccable.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Always superb!!! Love coming with the fam/kids for Sunday brunch!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Had a wonderful time with our 2 teenage boys. Food as always delicious, service was great... always a good time at Spring House.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Authentic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Always wonderful!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Sunday brunch never disappoints! Redfish was so good. Also, the quiche was tasty. I always love the Bloody Mary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 27, 2017

It was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 27, 2017

SpringHouse is an treat for us in this area. We have eaten there several times and have always enjoyed our meals, and the cocktails have always been good and inventive. On our most recent trip, we had four different entrees from the menu, and they were all excellent. Both the s'mores and chocolate cake (at the waiter's suggestion) we shared for desert were good, but the tastes were too similar to do so again. We were well pleased with the bar service and the food, but were a little disappointed with the lack of attentiveness of our waiter, Scott. In his defense, it was later on a very busy night. But, with the prices and reputation, you expect a higher standard of service. Overall, we will definitely go back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.