About SpringHouse

12 Benson Mill Road
Alexander City, AL 35010
View Larger Map

Rising out of the hilltop, the 200-seat SpringHouse Restaurant will treat diners to a local cuisine served in rustic, casual elegance. The first architectural element guests will see as they enter the main dining room is the inglenook—a large fully-functional walk-in fireplace, which served as the center of the home in medieval times. At SpringHouse, the inglenook serves as a hot appetizer station during dining hours and a classroom during the day. As they pass the inglenook guests will notice handsome bars, rough-hewn beams, hand-forged ironwork, and a magnificent open kitchen, replete with a wood-fired oven and grill. The upstairs bar and dining area will focus on small plates and provide adults a place to relax and gather. Patios with working fireplaces flank the main dining room and upstairs bar. For special events, guests are invited to reserve the Well House—a private 12-seat dining room connected to the restaurant by an underground tunnel.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday -Saturday: 5:30pm -- 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Highyway 63

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 215-7080

Website:
http://www.springhouseatcrossroads.com/

Executive Chef:
Rob McDaniel

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

SpringHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Alabama
Best Service
Alabama
Best Ambiance
Alabama
4 More
Best Value
Alabama
Notable Wine List
Alabama
Contemporary American
Alabama
Most Booked
Alexander City
Best Restaurants in Alexander City ›

special occasion (60)
scenic view (44)
romantic (43)
See All
fit for foodies (41)
notable wine list (37)
great for brunch (32)
good for groups (26)
great for outdoor dining (20)
neighborhood gem (16)
hot spot (11)
great for lunch (7)
vibrant bar scene (4)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
419 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic, couldn't have aske ...

Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely fantastic, couldn't have asked for more. Beautiful facility to host my wedding dinner. Thank you, staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love this restaurant. The food is better ...

Dined 5 days ago

Love this restaurant. The food is better than it looks on the menu. Have your waiter describe the dishes. Here, at last, a restaurant that has good vegetables! I want to sit on the terrace next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

(Our first visit) - We expected good foo ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

(Our first visit) - We expected good food, but got so much more: ambiance, VERY friendly staff, a view to die for, and exquisite wine choices. We've both spent a part of each day since our visit recommending SpringHouse to friends and family! Truly cannot wait until our next visit. . .

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Springhouse fails to disappoint again! W ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Springhouse fails to disappoint again! We had a wonderful dinner with friends visiting from AZ. The evening flowed perfectly. Service was prompt and efficient and the food was great. We were in and out in less than 2 1/2 hours and did not feel rushed or did not feel like the evening dragged. The creamed corn was the surprise of the evening. Yes, the creamed corn. It was an appetizer but we almost ordered it for dessert. We would've if it wasn't for the adult s'mores. They were not on the menu but available - another example of the great service. Book reservations early and often.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very nice dining experience

Dined on May 12, 2016

Excellent food; skilled, excellent service; dessert was OMG great! very good beer selection, outstanding wine choices; very quiet

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Above and Beyond

Dined on May 8, 2016

Thank you Daniel for making our Mother's Day Brunch an experience we'll always remember.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Scamp for the first time

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

The pan-fried scamp served over haricot vert was a delectable entree that had been preceded by wonderfully crispy frog legs. The signature cocktails are always creative and fun but it was Derby Day so it had to be a mint julep. The vanilla cheesecake was very light and fluffy and complemented by peanuts and a caramel sauce (I had to request additional caramel sauce it was so good!).

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic setting, beautiful building. F ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Fantastic setting, beautiful building. Food top notch, not overly complex . But simple, direct tastes that are very well thought out and crafted. Really a tremendous dining experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Date Night

Dined on April 29, 2016

The atmosphere was wonderful, the service was great and the food was delicious. The view from the veranda gave us a feel of dining in Europe. Will be back for sure

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening

Dined on April 27, 2016

My friend and I chose this place because it was in between both of our houses. It was a fabulous choice. From the cheese appetizer to the entree (I had the delicious pork chop and she had the triple tail) everything was superbly cooked and beautifully presented. Well worth the extra money compared to a chain restaurant. We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Chesney preconcert meal

Dined on April 23, 2016

behind on reservation seating time. Seems that this night was over loaded with guests and largely understaffed with service. Medium steak arrived 10 minutes underdone and without a knife. Not their best night and the late crowd became boisterous.

Tags: scenic view, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Spring house review

Dined on April 23, 2016

We enjoyed our evening. Daniel, the manager on duty, made us feel special. We sat in the dinning area near the entrance. It was very noisy. The food was acceptable but a bit over priced. The service was excellent .

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Beautiful setting for delicious cuisine

Dined on April 22, 2016

We had a large group of family with 3 small children. Springhouse was very accommodating in seating us at a table for 10. The food was outstanding and the cocktails and wine also very good. We felt the server could have been more knowledgeable on the various dishes and unusual ingredients that the chef is using. Gulf shrimp with pasta was wonderful, but the steak ordered was not cooked evenly to order (medium rare). The menu is limited, and a more varied children's menu would be good, since the restaurant is located on Lake Martin and near so many family activities. Prices are high, but we felt the preparation and ingredients were excellent. We will return.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Great service. Beautiful loc ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Great food. Great service. Beautiful location.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service

Dined on April 17, 2016

I am never disappointed with the food and service at this restaurant. I usually order the fish and it is always fresh and light.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef dials up the delicious!

Dined on April 17, 2016

We had dinner Saturday night, the place was crowded but it did not deter a well trained service staff from hitting the mark. Chef really has a knack for making simple ingredients, sourced locally taste amazing. We started with craft cocktails which were excellent. For food a bibb lettuce salad that had a light citrus dressing-- amazing local cheeses and fresh bread, preserves and smoked salt. The Somm turned us on to a really reasonable boutique wine that was only $60 and outstanding. Our table tried four of the entrees: Chicken Confit, Lamb Sausage, Shrimp Stew and the Crazy bone in Pork Chop. All were excellent. Lamb sausage was the favorite. Don't miss the coconut cake for dessert!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Chef Rob is a rock star

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Chef Rob is a rock star

food5
ambience5
service5

Always the highlight of our weekend

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Always the highlight of our weekend

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Pricey good time

Dined on March 27, 2016

Ambience is wonderful. Food quality is great However The menu is quite limited Great for a special occasion. The whole experience costs a whole lot of money

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful family celebration

Dined on March 27, 2016

Excellent service and attention to special requests. Very well informed about wine selections and menu offerings. Wonderful attention to detail. Very professional service!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Favorite brunch spot. Live in auburn and ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Favorite brunch spot. Live in auburn and it's a pleasant drive and great way to spend a Sunday.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service excellent. Best bartend ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Food and service excellent. Best bartenders with their unique touch on classic cocktails. You must order a cocktail from the bar, or have a seat at the bar and enjoy your dinner there.

food4
ambience5
service5

Super great service, fabulous appetizers ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Super great service, fabulous appetizers, and a great environment. Love this place!

food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Bad Lamb

Dined on February 28, 2016

Are usually like this place but on this night the lamb was poorly prepared and a poor cut of meat. Since two of the four of us got this that made the meal disappointing overall. Others about their entrées were just average this restaurant on nice is somewhat overrated

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

good food but too salty

Dined on February 21, 2016

The food was good. Had the hamburger first time I ate there. The second time I had the srimp and rice dish. Both were good but just a little to salty for my taste. My husband had the hamburger both times and really enjoyed it both times.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

always great

Dined on February 20, 2016

I have never had a bad meal from the fine folks at Springhouse.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Springhouse has a great reputation / expectations.

Dined on February 20, 2016

This restaurant is highly rated and lives up to the hype. The location is great. The service second to none. The only problem is during certain times of the year (especially the summer) it is hard to get a reservation. Great chef who is second to none. It is a place you want to dine.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal food paired with exceptional service

Dined on February 18, 2016

Our Valentine's Day date was on a Wednesday night at Springhouse. The server (Richard) and a gentleman who I believe was their Somme, took phenomenal care of us. Both gentlemen were very informative and helpful with suggestions about the menu. The standout moment of our evening was definitely the braised beef short rib served with a chimichurri. The duck entree was also phenomenal but that short rib was something I have craved every day since that evening. The icing on the cake of the evening was the beautiful ambience in the restaurant. Overall I give Springhouse a 5 out of 5. I can't wait to go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Day

Dined on February 14, 2016

A special Valentines brunch, outstanding service and the food was over the top. Started with GREAT Bloody Mary's and the bread is so good. Fresh fish and fresh shrimp made it a perfect meal. Outstanding service and quality food is all you ask for.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal! Trigger Fish was excell ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Excellent meal! Trigger Fish was excellent! Service was great! Everything was on time with no waiting. .. valentine's day!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Springhouse at Lake Martin

Dined on February 13, 2016

A unique venue away from the big city that is worth driving to. Award winning chef and menus along with a superb staff makes for a great dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Springhouse

Dined on February 12, 2016

Always fabulous, always fantastic service, and always incredible food - Springhouse is a special place and worth the travel if you do not live nearby.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Completely unexpected, great food great stop!

Dined on February 11, 2016

In an area dominated by chain restaurants and excellent family diners, this fine dining experience is totally unexpected, what a great place lovely atmosphere and great people working there. will definitely be there again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Servers that knew the menu ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

Great food. Servers that knew the menu and could help with decisions. Drinks excellent. Good wine selection

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The chicken and dumpling dish was just n ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

The chicken and dumpling dish was just not good. Everything else at the restaurant was very good, especially the fish. We have been here several times and this was the first time one of the dishes was not up to par. First time I guess for everyone...........

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Always a favorite.!Today's food was not ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

Always a favorite.!Today's food was not quite as perfect as usual, but still outstanding.

food5
ambience5
service5

SpringHouse is always able to vary the m ...

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

SpringHouse is always able to vary the menu with each visit and maintain impeccable quality. Excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding cuisine in an elegant rustic setting

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

This establishment continues to provide an outstanding dining experience in a magnificent rustic setting overlooking a wooded valley with the sun setting over central Alabama in the distance. Chef Rob McDaniel has created delectable dishes that tempt that palate. The bratwurst appetizer was served over a unique warm slaw. The crab on toast appetizer was mounds of crabmeat in a tasty sauce on a large crostini. The accompanying cocktails that Will has created were a great start. The entree scallops were perfectly tender and fresh. The red velvet roulade for dessert was filled with a wonderful cream cheese filling. Dinner was accompanied by an excellent white burgundy. Service was attentive and friendly. Overall, one always feels comfortable and confident of an outstanding meal. It is certainly worth a drive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Fair

Dined on January 16, 2016

I had high hopes and was so excited to try this place. I would recommend this place only because there are not many options in the area. The food was good, but not great to be honest. My fish was such a small portion. My friend's pork loin was a real fatty piece even though it was a tenderloin. I was under-whelmed. Unfortunately.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Springhouse

Dined on January 9, 2016

Excellent food and service - party upstairs was a bit noisy but not the fault of the restauraunt.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.