About SpringHouse

12 Benson Mill Road
Alexander City, AL 35010
View Larger Map

Rising out of the hilltop, the 200-seat SpringHouse Restaurant will treat diners to a local cuisine served in rustic, casual elegance. The first architectural element guests will see as they enter the main dining room is the inglenook—a large fully-functional walk-in fireplace, which served as the center of the home in medieval times. At SpringHouse, the inglenook serves as a hot appetizer station during dining hours and a classroom during the day. As they pass the inglenook guests will notice handsome bars, rough-hewn beams, hand-forged ironwork, and a magnificent open kitchen, replete with a wood-fired oven and grill. The upstairs bar and dining area will focus on small plates and provide adults a place to relax and gather. Patios with working fireplaces flank the main dining room and upstairs bar. For special events, guests are invited to reserve the Well House—a private 12-seat dining room connected to the restaurant by an underground tunnel.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday -Saturday: 5:30pm -- 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Highyway 63

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 215-7080

Website:
http://www.springhouseatcrossroads.com/

Executive Chef:
Rob McDaniel

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

SpringHouse
Pork Belly, Qual Egg, Noodles In Miso Soup
Eggs Benedict
Irish Coffee
Pimento Cheese
Pecan Pie With Vanilla Bean Ice Cream
Coconut Cake
Pimmiento Cheese And Crackers
s'mores
Shrimp and Grits
Freshly Baked Bread Loaves
Cornmeal Pancakes
Roasted Fig And Goat Cheese Flatbread
Springhouse Carbonara
Cookie Plate & Chocolate Martini
Fried Green Tomatoes W/ Shrimp Remoulade
Meyer Lemon Tart
Roasted Tanglewood Chicken
Fried Oyster Sandwich
Blackberry And Blueberry Cobbler
PAN SEARED SNAPPER

SpringHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Alabama
Best Food
Alabama
Best Service
Alabama
5 More
Best Ambiance
Alabama
Best Value
Alabama
Notable Wine List
Alabama
Contemporary American
Alabama
Most Booked
Alexander City
Best Restaurants in Alexander City ›

special occasion (65)
fit for foodies (55)
scenic view (55)
See All
notable wine list (44)
romantic (40)
great for brunch (35)
good for groups (32)
great for outdoor dining (28)
neighborhood gem (17)
hot spot (16)
great for lunch (10)
vibrant bar scene (8)
kid-friendly (4)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
437 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent place to celebrate anniversary ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent place to celebrate anniversary dinner! Food was delicious, atmosphere romantic, and service was outstanding!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The dining experience at SpringHouse was ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The dining experience at SpringHouse was top-shelf. I took my wife there for her birthday and I couldn't have been more pleased. Great food, great wines, great service

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have eaten there 3-4 times best steak an ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Have eaten there 3-4 times best steak and one of the most disappointing steak, wife returned her food the duck.

Expensive but a great place for a special occasion.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Outstanding evening. We have eaten here ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Outstanding evening. We have eaten here before, but this was the best yet. Chef Rob McDaniel did his usual great job and the Front of House Manager, Daniel Goslin made sure that all our needs were taken care of.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went there for an anniversary celebratio ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Went there for an anniversary celebration and loved it. Food was excellent and the service was even better. A bit expensive but the wonderful service and surroundings made it worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful service, delicious food , what ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Wonderful service, delicious food , what more can one ask for?

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food and dinning experience. 5 s ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Awesome food and dinning experience. 5 star experience that is worth the drive to try. You will come back for sure!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The Spring House is a wonderful restaura ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The Spring House is a wonderful restaurant in the Lake Martin area of Alabama. It stands out from other restaurants in the area. The food is always fresh and the menu's change on a regular basis based on what is the available at the time. There wine and drink selection is great. The ambiance of the restaurant is perfect for get togethers with friends, family, and loved ones. The views are breath taking at any time during the day. There is no dress code, however most people who eat in the restaurant are dressed up, classic, preppy. The only thing that can be downside to the Spring House, is the timing of meals. The time from sitting down, to getting your food, can take some time. Be prepared to spend some time. But, the food hands down makes up for that time!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food Farm to table Great waitstaff ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great food

Farm to table

Great waitstaff that gave great recommendations

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pork chop was fabulous! Wife said vegeta ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Pork chop was fabulous! Wife said vegetable plate was a top 10 meal in her life!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful location and grounds with a ni ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Beautiful location and grounds with a nice, comfy, rustic inside feel. Service is very good and food is wonderful. Great place to go for a romantic getaway, date night or special occasion. My only suggestion is that maybe they expand their menu choices somewhat. We've eaten here twice now and the menu was almost exactly the same both times. Also, there's not many entrée or small plate/appetizer choices. Perhaps add a couple of dishes to the menu!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent service with a 5-star flare. ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent service with a 5-star flare. Perfect setting for celebrating our 37 anniversary. Well done. We shall return! Keep up the great efforts... Noticeable & appreciated!

Go get'em!

Dan Leonardi

770-990-7275

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A jewel of a restaurant!

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I love the lodge feeling of this restaurant, elegant and earthy at the same time. We love to bring friends and family here when at our lakehouse, as the noise level is good where you can actually have a conversation. Very rare, in most restaurants, nowadays. The food is always good, and I appreciate Chef Rob's creative talents with seasonal and local offerings. Well done!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

A Gem at Lake Martin.

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We enjoyed the Brunch with friends after attending Church in the Pines. Nice relaxing atmosphere with first class service and excellent fare. Makes any occasion a "Special Occasion". Hospitality abounds from the moment you enter throughout the entire dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A beautiful restaurant but way overhyped

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

My husband and I made reservations for our 18th anniversary and were excited about revisiting Springhouse. Our first experience there was wonderful but this past experience on June 3rd was a complete let down. Our server had absolutely no personality; he barely spoke and instead of asking if we were ready to order, he stood at our table and stared at us. I've never seen a waiter do that before! He did this several times. The food was bland and looked like it was thrown on the plate; there was no presentation whatsoever and the taste was just as bland (my husband ordered a chicken dish and I ordered tuna). We could have made these dishes at home and saved a lot of money. We drove an hour to get to the restaurant and will not be making the trip again. We should have gone to Ariccia.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

So glad we took a ride out to the Spring ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

So glad we took a ride out to the Spring House from Auburn. We had an amazing night. The food and service were top notch. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Almost.

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

First, I have to say that the staff was incredibly kind and exceptionally professional. When asked to move to a spot more conducive to conversation we were moved to the patio where they opened the shutters to offer a gorgeous view of the sunset on the grounds. They treated us with every consideration, though some of their guests were not as pleasant. This is a safe and warm venue for LGBTQ guests! The food was phenomenal because we arrived before the dinner rush and had the head chef basically to ourselves (that makes a difference here). The swordfish was perfect, the crab claw appetizer very well matched and the rabbit a delightful experience. We had a nice white wine with dinner but be wary of the upsell here, the young man who handles this is inexperienced. The rose we had with dessert was an affront to the senses. It smelled like gruyère cheese and tasted worse. Aside from that slight misstep all was charming.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Absolutely fantastic, couldn't have aske ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Absolutely fantastic, couldn't have asked for more. Beautiful facility to host my wedding dinner. Thank you, staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this restaurant. The food is better ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Love this restaurant. The food is better than it looks on the menu. Have your waiter describe the dishes. Here, at last, a restaurant that has good vegetables! I want to sit on the terrace next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

(Our first visit) - We expected good foo ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

(Our first visit) - We expected good food, but got so much more: ambiance, VERY friendly staff, a view to die for, and exquisite wine choices. We've both spent a part of each day since our visit recommending SpringHouse to friends and family! Truly cannot wait until our next visit. . .

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Springhouse fails to disappoint again! W ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Springhouse fails to disappoint again! We had a wonderful dinner with friends visiting from AZ. The evening flowed perfectly. Service was prompt and efficient and the food was great. We were in and out in less than 2 1/2 hours and did not feel rushed or did not feel like the evening dragged.

The creamed corn was the surprise of the evening. Yes, the creamed corn. It was an appetizer but we almost ordered it for dessert. We would've if it wasn't for the adult s'mores. They were not on the menu but available - another example of the great service.

Book reservations early and often.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was absolutely amazing! ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Our experience was absolutely amazing! From the beauty as you drive up to the restaurant to the welcome at the front door to the amazing service at our table. It was great! The food is delicious!!!! The pimento cheese is a must try and the crab claws were yummy too! We had the chicken as our main dish and it was tender and flavorful and unique. The kitchen is open so you can watch the chefs preparing the meals. The dishes they use to serve on are handmade pottery that are all unique and beautiful. The decor of the restaurant is very neat as well! We will definitely go back there when we are in that area!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very nice dining experience

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Excellent food; skilled, excellent service; dessert was OMG great! very good beer selection, outstanding wine choices; very quiet

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Above and Beyond

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Thank you Daniel for making our Mother's Day Brunch an experience we'll always remember.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Scamp for the first time

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The pan-fried scamp served over haricot vert was a delectable entree that had been preceded by wonderfully crispy frog legs. The signature cocktails are always creative and fun but it was Derby Day so it had to be a mint julep. The vanilla cheesecake was very light and fluffy and complemented by peanuts and a caramel sauce (I had to request additional caramel sauce it was so good!).

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic setting, beautiful building. F ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Fantastic setting, beautiful building. Food top notch, not overly complex . But simple, direct tastes that are very well thought out and crafted. Really a tremendous dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Date Night

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The atmosphere was wonderful, the service was great and the food was delicious.

The view from the veranda gave us a feel of dining in Europe.

Will be back for sure

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful evening

 
·Dined on April 27, 2016

My friend and I chose this place because it was in between both of our houses. It was a fabulous choice. From the cheese appetizer to the entree (I had the delicious pork chop and she had the triple tail) everything was superbly cooked and beautifully presented. Well worth the extra money compared to a chain restaurant. We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chesney preconcert meal

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

behind on reservation seating time. Seems that this night was over loaded with guests and largely understaffed with service. Medium steak arrived 10 minutes underdone and without a knife. Not their best night and the late crowd became boisterous.

Tags: scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Spring house review

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We enjoyed our evening. Daniel, the manager on duty, made us feel special. We sat in the dinning area near the entrance. It was very noisy. The food was acceptable but a bit over priced. The service was excellent .

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Beautiful setting for delicious cuisine

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

We had a large group of family with 3 small children. Springhouse was very accommodating in seating us at a table for 10. The food was outstanding and the cocktails and wine also very good. We felt the server could have been more knowledgeable on the various dishes and unusual ingredients that the chef is using. Gulf shrimp with pasta was wonderful, but the steak ordered was not cooked evenly to order (medium rare). The menu is limited, and a more varied children's menu would be good, since the restaurant is located on Lake Martin and near so many family activities. Prices are high, but we felt the preparation and ingredients were excellent. We will return.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food. Great service. Beautiful loc ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Great food. Great service. Beautiful location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

I am never disappointed with the food and service at this restaurant. I usually order the fish and it is always fresh and light.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chef dials up the delicious!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We had dinner Saturday night, the place was crowded but it did not deter a well trained service staff from hitting the mark. Chef really has a knack for making simple ingredients, sourced locally taste amazing. We started with craft cocktails which were excellent. For food a bibb lettuce salad that had a light citrus dressing-- amazing local cheeses and fresh bread, preserves and smoked salt. The Somm turned us on to a really reasonable boutique wine that was only $60 and outstanding. Our table tried four of the entrees: Chicken Confit, Lamb Sausage, Shrimp Stew and the Crazy bone in Pork Chop. All were excellent. Lamb sausage was the favorite. Don't miss the coconut cake for dessert!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Rob is a rock star

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Chef Rob is a rock star

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always the highlight of our weekend

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Always the highlight of our weekend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pricey good time

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Ambience is wonderful. Food quality is great However The menu is quite limited Great for a special occasion. The whole experience costs a whole lot of money

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful family celebration

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Excellent service and attention to special requests. Very well informed about wine selections and menu offerings. Wonderful attention to detail. Very professional service!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Favorite brunch spot. Live in auburn and ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Favorite brunch spot. Live in auburn and it's a pleasant drive and great way to spend a Sunday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service excellent. Best bartend ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Food and service excellent. Best bartenders with their unique touch on classic cocktails. You must order a cocktail from the bar, or have a seat at the bar and enjoy your dinner there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.