Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.90mi
  2. Distance: 2.53mi
  3. Distance: 5.82mi
  4. Distance: 7.10mi
  1. Distance: 1.90mi
  2. Distance: 2.53mi
  3. Distance: 5.82mi
  4. Distance: 7.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.90mi
  2. Distance: 2.53mi
  3. Distance: 5.82mi
  4. Distance: 7.10mi
  1. Distance: 1.90mi
  2. Distance: 2.53mi
  3. Distance: 5.82mi
  4. Distance: 7.10mi

About SpringHouse

Rising out of the hilltop, the 200-seat SpringHouse Restaurant will treat diners to a local cuisine served in rustic, casual elegance. The first architectural element guests will see as they enter the main dining room is the inglenook—a large fully-functional walk-in fireplace, which served as the center of the home in medieval times. At SpringHouse, the inglenook serves as a hot appetizer station during dining hours and a classroom during the day. As they pass the inglenook guests will notice handsome bars, rough-hewn beams, hand-forged ironwork, and a magnificent open kitchen, replete with a wood-fired oven and grill. The upstairs bar and dining area will focus on small plates and provide adults a place to relax and gather. Patios with working fireplaces flank the main dining room and upstairs bar. For special events, guests are invited to reserve the Well House—a private 12-seat dining room connected to the restaurant by an underground tunnel.

12 Benson Mill Road
Alexander City, AL 35010
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday -Saturday: 5:30pm -- 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Highyway 63

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 215-7080

Website:
http://www.springhouseatcrossroads.com/

Executive Chef:
Rob McDaniel

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

SpringHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Worth the Drive (27)
Fit for Foodies (27)
See All
Good for a Date (27)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Romantic (23)
Notable Wine List (22)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Scenic View (20)
Local Ingredients (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Open Kitchen (15)
Great for Brunch (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Seasonal (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Fun (9)
Fireplace (9)
Cozy (9)
Authentic (8)
Business Meals (8)
Healthy (7)
Private Room (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Organic (5)
Casual (5)
Great Beer (4)
Family Style (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Wood Oven (3)
People Watching (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Tapas (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
558 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Sunday brunch never disappoints! Redfish was so good. Also, the quiche was tasty. I always love the Bloody Mary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

It was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

SpringHouse is an treat for us in this area. We have eaten there several times and have always enjoyed our meals, and the cocktails have always been good and inventive. On our most recent trip, we had four different entrees from the menu, and they were all excellent. Both the s'mores and chocolate cake (at the waiter's suggestion) we shared for desert were good, but the tastes were too similar to do so again. We were well pleased with the bar service and the food, but were a little disappointed with the lack of attentiveness of our waiter, Scott. In his defense, it was later on a very busy night. But, with the prices and reputation, you expect a higher standard of service. Overall, we will definitely go back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 2 days ago

Trey makes sure all of your needs are met and that you have a wonderful dining experience. The scamp (white fish) is wonderful! The dish is light yet filling. Love the squash with a light lemon taste.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined 2 days ago

I still can't believe there's a restaurant of this caliber at the lake. We've never had a bad meal here, and this was no exception! Skyler was our server and he immediately recommended a great cocktail (The Oh "Mio" My), which I wouldn't have ordinarily ordered. I took his advice and didn't regret it. I had one of the best pork chops ever (with awesome white jalapeño gravy) and my wife had an amazing NY strip. Everything cooked perfectly. We'll keep coming back.

Tags: Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

Overall was not impressed. First of all, I made a reservation and received multiple phone calls over the two days before our reservation time continuing to ask me to confirm my reservation. The day of, they called me twice, one of those calls was 30 minutes before the reservation time asking me to confirm AGAIN after I had already confirmed a couple hours before that. That was very off putting and made us almost not show up in the first place. The food was dissapointing, extremely tiny portions that were way overpriced for the quality. I ended up spending 100 bucks and left still hungry, went home and made a grilled cheese which I enjoyed way more than my 30 dollar piece of fish on some yellow squash that tasted sour and had a strong "fishy" smell and taste to it which made me think it wasn't very fresh. Overall, it was a waste of money and time. You really shouldn't call a potential customer four times in two days asking them to continue to confirm their reservation, it really comes across that you are hoping they won't show up. You guys need to get it together if you're going to charge what you charge, again, not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

SpringHouse failed to disappoint again. A gorgeous spring evening to celebrate Mothers Day and an anniversary resulted in a wonderful dinner at SpringHouse.

The quality, service and ambiance is a constant while enjoying @LakeMartinLife.

Looking forward to our next reservation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Absolutely amazing from start to finish !!!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Have been at SpringHouse the past two weeks and plan on going back again this week. Always excellent. The soft shell crap was the best we have ever had as was the duck!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was good and service from the server was great! They did mess up the reservation. I made a request to sit near a window and then called later that day to request porch dining for my wife's birthday! The lady said that wasn't a problem since the reservation was 12 days in advance. The day or two before our reservation I got a call to confirm reservation and was called wrong name and time. She cleared that up and confirm reservation. We get to the resturant and no room on the porch and we were put in the middle of the resturant with no view. I was very disappointed because I had made the reservation in advance and verified twice by phone( one my call and one they called me). Don't know if I will go back because of the whole experience.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I have always loved Springhouse but this weekends menu was uninteresting, lacking creativity and severely overpriced for the offerings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Our meal was outstanding. Service was great. The $40 deal is a great value. We have enjoyed wonderful meals and excellent service at Spring House.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Another fantastic experience - business vendors from Seattle were blown away. The weekday 3 course special was perfect at $40 a person. Soft shell crab, pork chop, everything was exceptional! Definitely recommend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Authentic, Private Room, People Watching, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Business Meals, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Service was abysmal
We ordered biscuits and gravy
Not a very labor intensive meal
It took over an hour before the waiter mentioned they were still making biscuits
No excuse
If there was a delay on this entree we should have been told at the beginning
Manager was delightful
Apologized and comped our meal which was appropriate and very nice
Beautiful setting but they need serious serious work on meal prep and service
We were there with a big group to celebrate my daughters college graduation and it was hugely dissapointing to have this kind of experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great restaurant in a beautiful location. Chef Rob McDaniel is very creative.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Outstanding food and ambiance! Excellent presentation! Servers are superb....the water glass is never empty.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great brunch. Great service. Everything just as expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Absolutely wonderful!!! The Dude Martini is fabulous and Cobia was to die for <3

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Springhouse is the top dining destination in Alex City/Lake Martin area with outstanding service, beautiful setting, and a nationally recognized chef in Rob McDaniel. Always a pleasure to dine there.

Tags: Bar Seating, Private Room, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Organic, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Wood Oven, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Red fish was not the best . Had a strong after taste :-/ Dessert was absolutely delicious!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our waiter Jacob was excellent. Quality of food outstanding as usual.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was great. Wait staff needs basic skill training.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Spring house is a pure GEM in the middle of nowhere. This was our second visit, once for dinner now brunch and both were superb!! Food and service great, prices very reasonable. As lake regulars it is nice finding a higher scale restaurant that we and our guests can enjoy!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Restaurant was beautiful, food was fantastic and service was outstanding. Highly recommended for anyone!

Tags: Great Beer, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Seating was prompt. Service was good Food was different for a brunch menu with ingredients in traditional dishes changed. i.e. Beef instead of canadian bacon in Eggs Benedict. I felt a wider choice of selections would have been better, Especially if attempting to draw guest on a more frequent basis. Downside- Coffee poor for a 4.00 cost

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Everything was outstanding. Our waiter Skyler was such a professional and pleasure o deal with.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Business Meals, Private Room, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Food was amazing!! The s'mores dessert was to die for!! Service is on spot!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Dinner with friends; two of us had shr

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Always great food and service. While the restaurant was full, always feel like you are the only group there. Also good wine selection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Wonderful dining experience. Highly recommend. Food was outstanding. They have a new pastry chef and I had a strawberry soufflé. It was divine. Still thinking about it.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We have dined at Spring House several times. They always deliver. Great ambiance, excellent service and creative and delicious cuisine.
This was my first experience with cobia and it was amazing! We will return again and again...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Beautiful area and facilities with professional helpful, knowledgeable waiters with outstanding selections and specialty drinks.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 26, 2017

You can't beat a beautiful spring day and Sunday brunch at Springhouse. Fresh ingredients and wonderful spices make the dishes unique and flavorful! Our favorite spot to take the family for a treat at the lake!

Tags: Family Style, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The food was amazing and surprisingly hearty portions. Great cocktails too.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Spring House is a lovely experience. We will definitely be returning. The food was fresh, unique and suitable for varying palates.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Tapas, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Springhouse is always amazing and I am never disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent friendly service from everyone. We were late for reservation due to weather and a long drive. We did give notice and they were very accommodating with the change of reservation. We were seated on the patio with others by the fireplace and this was very comfortable even on a rainy winter night. Great service from all of the wait staff. Compliments to the chef it was all delicious. We enjoyed the duck and beef entre. It is expensive but great value. Uncommon menu, service, atmosphere, and quality. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 8, 2017

My friends and I totally enjoyed the evening, food, service and atmosphere. The room was full yet we could carry on an enjoyable conversation.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We had an outstanding meal, and a fun time. The duck was super!!

Tags: Seasonal, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Casual, Authentic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Our dinner as always was so good but the desserts were outstanding! Cheesecake and Smores desserts were so go yummy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.