About SpringHouse

12 Benson Mill Road
Alexander City, AL 35010
View Larger Map

Rising out of the hilltop, the 200-seat SpringHouse Restaurant will treat diners to a local cuisine served in rustic, casual elegance. The first architectural element guests will see as they enter the main dining room is the inglenook—a large fully-functional walk-in fireplace, which served as the center of the home in medieval times. At SpringHouse, the inglenook serves as a hot appetizer station during dining hours and a classroom during the day. As they pass the inglenook guests will notice handsome bars, rough-hewn beams, hand-forged ironwork, and a magnificent open kitchen, replete with a wood-fired oven and grill. The upstairs bar and dining area will focus on small plates and provide adults a place to relax and gather. Patios with working fireplaces flank the main dining room and upstairs bar. For special events, guests are invited to reserve the Well House—a private 12-seat dining room connected to the restaurant by an underground tunnel.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday -Saturday: 5:30pm -- 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Highyway 63

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 215-7080

Website:
http://www.springhouseatcrossroads.com/

Executive Chef:
Rob McDaniel

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

SpringHouse
Eggs Benedict
Pork Belly, Qual Egg, Noodles In Miso Soup
Pecan Pie With Vanilla Bean Ice Cream
Pimento Cheese
Irish Coffee
Coconut Cake
Pimmiento Cheese And Crackers
s'mores
Shrimp and Grits
Freshly Baked Bread Loaves
Cornmeal Pancakes
Meyer Lemon Tart
Fried Green Tomatoes W/ Shrimp Remoulade
Springhouse Carbonara
Roasted Tanglewood Chicken
Cookie Plate & Chocolate Martini
Fried Oyster Sandwich
Roasted Fig And Goat Cheese Flatbread
Blackberry And Blueberry Cobbler
PAN SEARED SNAPPER

SpringHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Alabama
Best Food
Alabama
Best Service
Alabama
4 More
Best Ambiance
Alabama
Fit for Foodies
Alabama
Contemporary American
Alabama
Most Booked
Alexander City
Best Restaurants in Alexander City ›

Special Occasion (60)
Fit for Foodies (51)
Scenic View (49)
See All
Notable Wine List (41)
Romantic (34)
Great for Brunch (32)
Good for Groups (31)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Hot Spot (13)
Great for Lunch (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Kid-friendly (3)
Late-night Find (1)
Fireplace (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
Newest
448 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

After horseback riding at the Stables at ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined 3 days ago

After horseback riding at the Stables at the Crossroads we enjoyed a lovely brunch at Springhouse. I proposed to my partner (he said yes!) and the staff was incredibly attentive, even providing a celebratory champagne on the house. Fabulous venue, a charming memory.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Seasonal, Private Room, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quite possibly the finest Sunday Brunch ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined 3 days ago

Quite possibly the finest Sunday Brunch I've ever had the pleasure of eating. Flawless dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time coming to restaurant and it ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 3 days ago

Second time coming to restaurant and it wasn't as good as the first. Food was great but service/attention and seating was not great. First time was amazing; we were upstairs and the service was great and very intimate setting. This past time was downstairs, loud, service was not good and we were right on top of people eating next to us. Recommend upstairs.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Amazing every time. From the food and se ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing every time. From the food and service... Shrimp and grits amazing, every dessert fab.... The grilled peaches with the cheese plate. I could go on and on...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Phenomenal food and service!

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined 5 days ago

Phenomenal food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent , fresh and local food. Highly ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent , fresh and local food. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is a hidden gem. We went for ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This place is a hidden gem. We went for Sunday brunch and everything - food, drinks, waiter - was amazing. (The food prices were fairly reasonable, but add in drinks, and things got a little pricey!) Appetizers and entrees were perfect. Our waiter, Caleb, was a sweetheart and very knowledgeable about the menu. Even though it's an hour drive both ways for us, we cannot wait to go back; will probably have to wait for a special occasion to justify the expense, but that's okay! #worthit ;)

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed family dinner. Wonderful ser ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We enjoyed family dinner. Wonderful service and excellent preparation of food. Vegetable plate was especially delicious. Grouper cooked to perfection-tender and moist. Banana pudding was scrumptious!!!!!! Coconut cake was good. Wine list very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice setting with excellent food, b ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Very nice setting with excellent food, but a bit overpriced. Every morsel of food and dessert was a delight. Service was good and the staff was friendly. If you are a wine connnoisseur they have a massive wine collection with a cellar in the basement and they also have a large private dining area that can be reserved for groups. Nice place for our anniversary date - we plan to come back again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Absolutely fantastic as usual.. Brunch w ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Absolutely fantastic as usual.. Brunch was amazing. Biscuits and gravy, yellow fin, a cheeseburger... And do not miss the pimento cheese. It's the best I've ever had.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food, service and atmosphere were outsta ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Food, service and atmosphere were outstanding. A "little" pricey but for special occasion was well worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent place to celebrate anniversary ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent place to celebrate anniversary dinner! Food was delicious, atmosphere romantic, and service was outstanding!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The dining experience at SpringHouse was ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The dining experience at SpringHouse was top-shelf. I took my wife there for her birthday and I couldn't have been more pleased. Great food, great wines, great service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have eaten there 3-4 times best steak an ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Have eaten there 3-4 times best steak and one of the most disappointing steak, wife returned her food the duck.

Expensive but a great place for a special occasion.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Outstanding evening. We have eaten here ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Outstanding evening. We have eaten here before, but this was the best yet. Chef Rob McDaniel did his usual great job and the Front of House Manager, Daniel Goslin made sure that all our needs were taken care of.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went there for an anniversary celebratio ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Went there for an anniversary celebration and loved it. Food was excellent and the service was even better. A bit expensive but the wonderful service and surroundings made it worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful service, delicious food , what ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Wonderful service, delicious food , what more can one ask for?

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food and dinning experience. 5 s ...

 
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Awesome food and dinning experience. 5 star experience that is worth the drive to try. You will come back for sure!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The Spring House is a wonderful restaura ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The Spring House is a wonderful restaurant in the Lake Martin area of Alabama. It stands out from other restaurants in the area. The food is always fresh and the menu's change on a regular basis based on what is the available at the time. There wine and drink selection is great. The ambiance of the restaurant is perfect for get togethers with friends, family, and loved ones. The views are breath taking at any time during the day. There is no dress code, however most people who eat in the restaurant are dressed up, classic, preppy. The only thing that can be downside to the Spring House, is the timing of meals. The time from sitting down, to getting your food, can take some time. Be prepared to spend some time. But, the food hands down makes up for that time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food Farm to table Great waitstaff ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great food

Farm to table

Great waitstaff that gave great recommendations

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pork chop was fabulous! Wife said vegeta ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Pork chop was fabulous! Wife said vegetable plate was a top 10 meal in her life!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful location and grounds with a ni ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Beautiful location and grounds with a nice, comfy, rustic inside feel. Service is very good and food is wonderful. Great place to go for a romantic getaway, date night or special occasion. My only suggestion is that maybe they expand their menu choices somewhat. We've eaten here twice now and the menu was almost exactly the same both times. Also, there's not many entrée or small plate/appetizer choices. Perhaps add a couple of dishes to the menu!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent service with a 5-star flare. ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent service with a 5-star flare. Perfect setting for celebrating our 37 anniversary. Well done. We shall return! Keep up the great efforts... Noticeable & appreciated!

Go get'em!

Dan Leonardi

770-990-7275

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A jewel of a restaurant!

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I love the lodge feeling of this restaurant, elegant and earthy at the same time. We love to bring friends and family here when at our lakehouse, as the noise level is good where you can actually have a conversation. Very rare, in most restaurants, nowadays. The food is always good, and I appreciate Chef Rob's creative talents with seasonal and local offerings. Well done!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

A Gem at Lake Martin.

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We enjoyed the Brunch with friends after attending Church in the Pines. Nice relaxing atmosphere with first class service and excellent fare. Makes any occasion a "Special Occasion". Hospitality abounds from the moment you enter throughout the entire dining experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A beautiful restaurant but way overhyped

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

My husband and I made reservations for our 18th anniversary and were excited about revisiting Springhouse. Our first experience there was wonderful but this past experience on June 3rd was a complete let down. Our server had absolutely no personality; he barely spoke and instead of asking if we were ready to order, he stood at our table and stared at us. I've never seen a waiter do that before! He did this several times. The food was bland and looked like it was thrown on the plate; there was no presentation whatsoever and the taste was just as bland (my husband ordered a chicken dish and I ordered tuna). We could have made these dishes at home and saved a lot of money. We drove an hour to get to the restaurant and will not be making the trip again. We should have gone to Ariccia.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

So glad we took a ride out to the Spring ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

So glad we took a ride out to the Spring House from Auburn. We had an amazing night. The food and service were top notch. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Almost.

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

First, I have to say that the staff was incredibly kind and exceptionally professional. When asked to move to a spot more conducive to conversation we were moved to the patio where they opened the shutters to offer a gorgeous view of the sunset on the grounds. They treated us with every consideration, though some of their guests were not as pleasant. This is a safe and warm venue for LGBTQ guests! The food was phenomenal because we arrived before the dinner rush and had the head chef basically to ourselves (that makes a difference here). The swordfish was perfect, the crab claw appetizer very well matched and the rabbit a delightful experience. We had a nice white wine with dinner but be wary of the upsell here, the young man who handles this is inexperienced. The rose we had with dessert was an affront to the senses. It smelled like gruyère cheese and tasted worse. Aside from that slight misstep all was charming.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Absolutely fantastic, couldn't have aske ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Absolutely fantastic, couldn't have asked for more. Beautiful facility to host my wedding dinner. Thank you, staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this restaurant. The food is better ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Love this restaurant. The food is better than it looks on the menu. Have your waiter describe the dishes. Here, at last, a restaurant that has good vegetables! I want to sit on the terrace next time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

(Our first visit) - We expected good foo ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

(Our first visit) - We expected good food, but got so much more: ambiance, VERY friendly staff, a view to die for, and exquisite wine choices. We've both spent a part of each day since our visit recommending SpringHouse to friends and family! Truly cannot wait until our next visit. . .

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Springhouse fails to disappoint again! W ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Springhouse fails to disappoint again! We had a wonderful dinner with friends visiting from AZ. The evening flowed perfectly. Service was prompt and efficient and the food was great. We were in and out in less than 2 1/2 hours and did not feel rushed or did not feel like the evening dragged.

The creamed corn was the surprise of the evening. Yes, the creamed corn. It was an appetizer but we almost ordered it for dessert. We would've if it wasn't for the adult s'mores. They were not on the menu but available - another example of the great service.

Book reservations early and often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was absolutely amazing! ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Our experience was absolutely amazing! From the beauty as you drive up to the restaurant to the welcome at the front door to the amazing service at our table. It was great! The food is delicious!!!! The pimento cheese is a must try and the crab claws were yummy too! We had the chicken as our main dish and it was tender and flavorful and unique. The kitchen is open so you can watch the chefs preparing the meals. The dishes they use to serve on are handmade pottery that are all unique and beautiful. The decor of the restaurant is very neat as well! We will definitely go back there when we are in that area!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very nice dining experience

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Excellent food; skilled, excellent service; dessert was OMG great! very good beer selection, outstanding wine choices; very quiet

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Above and Beyond

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Thank you Daniel for making our Mother's Day Brunch an experience we'll always remember.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Scamp for the first time

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The pan-fried scamp served over haricot vert was a delectable entree that had been preceded by wonderfully crispy frog legs. The signature cocktails are always creative and fun but it was Derby Day so it had to be a mint julep. The vanilla cheesecake was very light and fluffy and complemented by peanuts and a caramel sauce (I had to request additional caramel sauce it was so good!).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic setting, beautiful building. F ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Fantastic setting, beautiful building. Food top notch, not overly complex . But simple, direct tastes that are very well thought out and crafted. Really a tremendous dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Date Night

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The atmosphere was wonderful, the service was great and the food was delicious.

The view from the veranda gave us a feel of dining in Europe.

Will be back for sure

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful evening

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

My friend and I chose this place because it was in between both of our houses. It was a fabulous choice. From the cheese appetizer to the entree (I had the delicious pork chop and she had the triple tail) everything was superbly cooked and beautifully presented. Well worth the extra money compared to a chain restaurant. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chesney preconcert meal

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

behind on reservation seating time. Seems that this night was over loaded with guests and largely understaffed with service. Medium steak arrived 10 minutes underdone and without a knife. Not their best night and the late crowd became boisterous.

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.