About SpringHouse

12 Benson Mill Road
Alexander City, AL 35010
View Larger Map

Rising out of the hilltop, the 200-seat SpringHouse Restaurant will treat diners to a local cuisine served in rustic, casual elegance. The first architectural element guests will see as they enter the main dining room is the inglenook—a large fully-functional walk-in fireplace, which served as the center of the home in medieval times. At SpringHouse, the inglenook serves as a hot appetizer station during dining hours and a classroom during the day. As they pass the inglenook guests will notice handsome bars, rough-hewn beams, hand-forged ironwork, and a magnificent open kitchen, replete with a wood-fired oven and grill. The upstairs bar and dining area will focus on small plates and provide adults a place to relax and gather. Patios with working fireplaces flank the main dining room and upstairs bar. For special events, guests are invited to reserve the Well House—a private 12-seat dining room connected to the restaurant by an underground tunnel.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Wednesday -Saturday: 5:30pm -- 9:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Highyway 63

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(256) 215-7080

Website:
http://www.springhouseatcrossroads.com/

Executive Chef:
Rob McDaniel

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

SpringHouse
Pork Belly, Qual Egg, Noodles In Miso Soup
Eggs Benedict
Irish Coffee
Pimento Cheese
Pecan Pie With Vanilla Bean Ice Cream
Coconut Cake
Pimmiento Cheese And Crackers
s'mores
Shrimp and Grits
Freshly Baked Bread Loaves
Cornmeal Pancakes
Roasted Fig And Goat Cheese Flatbread
Springhouse Carbonara
Cookie Plate & Chocolate Martini
Fried Green Tomatoes W/ Shrimp Remoulade
Meyer Lemon Tart
Roasted Tanglewood Chicken
Fried Oyster Sandwich
Blackberry And Blueberry Cobbler
PAN SEARED SNAPPER

SpringHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Alabama
Best Food
Alabama
Best Service
Alabama
5 More
Best Ambiance
Alabama
Best Value
Alabama
Notable Wine List
Alabama
Contemporary American
Alabama
Most Booked
Alexander City
Best Restaurants in Alexander City ›

special occasion (55)
scenic view (47)
fit for foodies (46)
See All
romantic (41)
notable wine list (37)
great for brunch (34)
good for groups (28)
great for outdoor dining (24)
neighborhood gem (18)
hot spot (13)
great for lunch (8)
vibrant bar scene (5)
kid-friendly (4)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
429 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food Farm to table Great waitstaff ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Great food Farm to table Great waitstaff that gave great recommendations

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Pork chop was fabulous! Wife said vegeta ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Pork chop was fabulous! Wife said vegetable plate was a top 10 meal in her life!

food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Beautiful location and grounds with a ni ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Beautiful location and grounds with a nice, comfy, rustic inside feel. Service is very good and food is wonderful. Great place to go for a romantic getaway, date night or special occasion. My only suggestion is that maybe they expand their menu choices somewhat. We've eaten here twice now and the menu was almost exactly the same both times. Also, there's not many entrée or small plate/appetizer choices. Perhaps add a couple of dishes to the menu!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service with a 5-star flare. ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent service with a 5-star flare. Perfect setting for celebrating our 37 anniversary. Well done. We shall return! Keep up the great efforts... Noticeable & appreciated! Go get'em! Dan Leonardi 770-990-7275

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

A jewel of a restaurant!

Dined on June 10, 2016

I love the lodge feeling of this restaurant, elegant and earthy at the same time. We love to bring friends and family here when at our lakehouse, as the noise level is good where you can actually have a conversation. Very rare, in most restaurants, nowadays. The food is always good, and I appreciate Chef Rob's creative talents with seasonal and local offerings. Well done!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Gem at Lake Martin.

Dined on June 5, 2016

We enjoyed the Brunch with friends after attending Church in the Pines. Nice relaxing atmosphere with first class service and excellent fare. Makes any occasion a "Special Occasion". Hospitality abounds from the moment you enter throughout the entire dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

A beautiful restaurant but way overhyped

Dined on June 4, 2016

My husband and I made reservations for our 18th anniversary and were excited about revisiting Springhouse. Our first experience there was wonderful but this past experience on June 3rd was a complete let down. Our server had absolutely no personality; he barely spoke and instead of asking if we were ready to order, he stood at our table and stared at us. I've never seen a waiter do that before! He did this several times. The food was bland and looked like it was thrown on the plate; there was no presentation whatsoever and the taste was just as bland (my husband ordered a chicken dish and I ordered tuna). We could have made these dishes at home and saved a lot of money. We drove an hour to get to the restaurant and will not be making the trip again. We should have gone to Ariccia.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So glad we took a ride out to the Spring ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

So glad we took a ride out to the Spring House from Auburn. We had an amazing night. The food and service were top notch. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Almost.

Dined on May 26, 2016

First, I have to say that the staff was incredibly kind and exceptionally professional. When asked to move to a spot more conducive to conversation we were moved to the patio where they opened the shutters to offer a gorgeous view of the sunset on the grounds. They treated us with every consideration, though some of their guests were not as pleasant. This is a safe and warm venue for LGBTQ guests! The food was phenomenal because we arrived before the dinner rush and had the head chef basically to ourselves (that makes a difference here). The swordfish was perfect, the crab claw appetizer very well matched and the rabbit a delightful experience. We had a nice white wine with dinner but be wary of the upsell here, the young man who handles this is inexperienced. The rose we had with dessert was an affront to the senses. It smelled like gruyère cheese and tasted worse. Aside from that slight misstep all was charming.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic, couldn't have aske ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Absolutely fantastic, couldn't have asked for more. Beautiful facility to host my wedding dinner. Thank you, staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love this restaurant. The food is better ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Love this restaurant. The food is better than it looks on the menu. Have your waiter describe the dishes. Here, at last, a restaurant that has good vegetables! I want to sit on the terrace next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

(Our first visit) - We expected good foo ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

(Our first visit) - We expected good food, but got so much more: ambiance, VERY friendly staff, a view to die for, and exquisite wine choices. We've both spent a part of each day since our visit recommending SpringHouse to friends and family! Truly cannot wait until our next visit. . .

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Springhouse fails to disappoint again! W ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Springhouse fails to disappoint again! We had a wonderful dinner with friends visiting from AZ. The evening flowed perfectly. Service was prompt and efficient and the food was great. We were in and out in less than 2 1/2 hours and did not feel rushed or did not feel like the evening dragged. The creamed corn was the surprise of the evening. Yes, the creamed corn. It was an appetizer but we almost ordered it for dessert. We would've if it wasn't for the adult s'mores. They were not on the menu but available - another example of the great service. Book reservations early and often.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was absolutely amazing! ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Our experience was absolutely amazing! From the beauty as you drive up to the restaurant to the welcome at the front door to the amazing service at our table. It was great! The food is delicious!!!! The pimento cheese is a must try and the crab claws were yummy too! We had the chicken as our main dish and it was tender and flavorful and unique. The kitchen is open so you can watch the chefs preparing the meals. The dishes they use to serve on are handmade pottery that are all unique and beautiful. The decor of the restaurant is very neat as well! We will definitely go back there when we are in that area!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very nice dining experience

Dined on May 12, 2016

Excellent food; skilled, excellent service; dessert was OMG great! very good beer selection, outstanding wine choices; very quiet

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Above and Beyond

Dined on May 8, 2016

Thank you Daniel for making our Mother's Day Brunch an experience we'll always remember.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Scamp for the first time

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

The pan-fried scamp served over haricot vert was a delectable entree that had been preceded by wonderfully crispy frog legs. The signature cocktails are always creative and fun but it was Derby Day so it had to be a mint julep. The vanilla cheesecake was very light and fluffy and complemented by peanuts and a caramel sauce (I had to request additional caramel sauce it was so good!).

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic setting, beautiful building. F ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Fantastic setting, beautiful building. Food top notch, not overly complex . But simple, direct tastes that are very well thought out and crafted. Really a tremendous dining experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Date Night

Dined on April 29, 2016

The atmosphere was wonderful, the service was great and the food was delicious. The view from the veranda gave us a feel of dining in Europe. Will be back for sure

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening

Dined on April 27, 2016

My friend and I chose this place because it was in between both of our houses. It was a fabulous choice. From the cheese appetizer to the entree (I had the delicious pork chop and she had the triple tail) everything was superbly cooked and beautifully presented. Well worth the extra money compared to a chain restaurant. We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Chesney preconcert meal

Dined on April 23, 2016

behind on reservation seating time. Seems that this night was over loaded with guests and largely understaffed with service. Medium steak arrived 10 minutes underdone and without a knife. Not their best night and the late crowd became boisterous.

Tags: scenic view, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Spring house review

Dined on April 23, 2016

We enjoyed our evening. Daniel, the manager on duty, made us feel special. We sat in the dinning area near the entrance. It was very noisy. The food was acceptable but a bit over priced. The service was excellent .

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Beautiful setting for delicious cuisine

Dined on April 22, 2016

We had a large group of family with 3 small children. Springhouse was very accommodating in seating us at a table for 10. The food was outstanding and the cocktails and wine also very good. We felt the server could have been more knowledgeable on the various dishes and unusual ingredients that the chef is using. Gulf shrimp with pasta was wonderful, but the steak ordered was not cooked evenly to order (medium rare). The menu is limited, and a more varied children's menu would be good, since the restaurant is located on Lake Martin and near so many family activities. Prices are high, but we felt the preparation and ingredients were excellent. We will return.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Great service. Beautiful loc ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Great food. Great service. Beautiful location.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service

Dined on April 17, 2016

I am never disappointed with the food and service at this restaurant. I usually order the fish and it is always fresh and light.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef dials up the delicious!

Dined on April 17, 2016

We had dinner Saturday night, the place was crowded but it did not deter a well trained service staff from hitting the mark. Chef really has a knack for making simple ingredients, sourced locally taste amazing. We started with craft cocktails which were excellent. For food a bibb lettuce salad that had a light citrus dressing-- amazing local cheeses and fresh bread, preserves and smoked salt. The Somm turned us on to a really reasonable boutique wine that was only $60 and outstanding. Our table tried four of the entrees: Chicken Confit, Lamb Sausage, Shrimp Stew and the Crazy bone in Pork Chop. All were excellent. Lamb sausage was the favorite. Don't miss the coconut cake for dessert!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Chef Rob is a rock star

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Chef Rob is a rock star

food5
ambience5
service5

Always the highlight of our weekend

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Always the highlight of our weekend

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Pricey good time

Dined on March 27, 2016

Ambience is wonderful. Food quality is great However The menu is quite limited Great for a special occasion. The whole experience costs a whole lot of money

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful family celebration

Dined on March 27, 2016

Excellent service and attention to special requests. Very well informed about wine selections and menu offerings. Wonderful attention to detail. Very professional service!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Favorite brunch spot. Live in auburn and ...

Dined on March 20, 2016

Favorite brunch spot. Live in auburn and it's a pleasant drive and great way to spend a Sunday.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service excellent. Best bartend ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Food and service excellent. Best bartenders with their unique touch on classic cocktails. You must order a cocktail from the bar, or have a seat at the bar and enjoy your dinner there.

food4
ambience5
service5

Super great service, fabulous appetizers ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Super great service, fabulous appetizers, and a great environment. Love this place!

food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Bad Lamb

Dined on February 28, 2016

Are usually like this place but on this night the lamb was poorly prepared and a poor cut of meat. Since two of the four of us got this that made the meal disappointing overall. Others about their entrées were just average this restaurant on nice is somewhat overrated

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

good food but too salty

Dined on February 21, 2016

The food was good. Had the hamburger first time I ate there. The second time I had the srimp and rice dish. Both were good but just a little to salty for my taste. My husband had the hamburger both times and really enjoyed it both times.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

always great

Dined on February 20, 2016

I have never had a bad meal from the fine folks at Springhouse.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Springhouse has a great reputation / expectations.

Dined on February 20, 2016

This restaurant is highly rated and lives up to the hype. The location is great. The service second to none. The only problem is during certain times of the year (especially the summer) it is hard to get a reservation. Great chef who is second to none. It is a place you want to dine.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal food paired with exceptional service

Dined on February 18, 2016

Our Valentine's Day date was on a Wednesday night at Springhouse. The server (Richard) and a gentleman who I believe was their Somme, took phenomenal care of us. Both gentlemen were very informative and helpful with suggestions about the menu. The standout moment of our evening was definitely the braised beef short rib served with a chimichurri. The duck entree was also phenomenal but that short rib was something I have craved every day since that evening. The icing on the cake of the evening was the beautiful ambience in the restaurant. Overall I give Springhouse a 5 out of 5. I can't wait to go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special Day

Dined on February 14, 2016

A special Valentines brunch, outstanding service and the food was over the top. Started with GREAT Bloody Mary's and the bread is so good. Fresh fish and fresh shrimp made it a perfect meal. Outstanding service and quality food is all you ask for.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal! Trigger Fish was excell ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Excellent meal! Trigger Fish was excellent! Service was great! Everything was on time with no waiting. .. valentine's day!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.